About Bistro Maison

729 NE Third Street
McMinnville, OR 97128
View Larger Map

This authentic French bistro has been located in the heart of Historic Downtown McMinnville since January 2003. Owners operators Deborah & Jean-Jacques Chatelard have decades of solid success in the NYC landmarks of Cafe des Artist, Lowell Hotel, the Essex House Hotel, Russian Tea Room, & Ferrier. The huge success of this restaurant is largely based on repeat visits from the savvy food & wine centric local, Portland, Salem and coastal clientele. Providing a real "family" feel which the best restaurants foster is present and embracing from your arrival.

Jean-Jacques' emphasizes the use of outstanding locally sourced foods to prepare the bistro classics He also provides a modern twist to the market driven French-American daily specials. Items include coq au vin, moules or steak frites, cassoulet, duck confit, steak tartar, white truffle fondue, and his stellar repertoire of soup and sauces.

We welcome you to our Bistro & our Maison.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Bistro Maison accepts limited OpenTable reservations. If you would like a dining reservation for a time that is not available online, please call us directly at (503) 474-1888 or email deborah@bistromaison.com

Cross Street:
Galloway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 474-1888

Website:
http://www.bistromaison.com/

Catering:
From intimate dinners to special celebrations, we provide our critically acclaimed cuisine paired with personalized service attending to every detail of your entertaining needs. The Paris Suite or the magnificent outdoor dining options of the garden and camellia patio accommodates up to 45 people for lunch and dinner or 80 for cocktail reception. It"s a perfect setting for both private and corporate celebrations. Please call us to arrange a tour and menu options.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Jacques Chatelard

Private Party Facilities:
Call Deborah at 503-474-1888 to arrange tour and menu planning options

Private Party Contact:
Deborah Chatelard: 5034741888x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Maison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Willamette Valley

special occasion (36)
fit for foodies (34)
romantic (28)
See All
notable wine list (26)
great for outdoor dining (22)
great for lunch (18)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for brunch (6)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were seated in the outdoor garden whi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were seated in the outdoor garden which was perfect in the summer evening. Staff was welcoming and friendly and extremely helpful. I had difficulty deciding on entrée and staff was very helpful. Food was fresh, and excellently prepared. Salmon was very fresh and done perfectly. Wine list is mostly local, with some French offerings, and is reasonable. We were very happy overall with our dinner here. My only complaint is that one of the staff began clearing table settings toward the end of the evening while we were still eating, and wiped down the tables with cleaning solution. This is an absolute no-no while guests are still at table. Had the owner come back to our table I would have brought this up to her at the time. This table cleaning can wait! Except for this error, we had a wonderful dinner at a quiet restaurant in a wonderful garden on a summer evening enjoying great food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been coming back to Bistro Maiso ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been coming back to Bistro Maison for 15 years, and have never been disappointed with our experience. Deborah is always welcoming and knowledgeable about the food and great wine pairings. The sauces are outstanding, the food is fresh and exquisitlely prepared, and the menu always has something new and delicious. If you love French cuisine and wines, you will not find better in the Northwest (and they have a great selection of local Pinot Noirs also).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Such a great outdoor setting, on the Mai ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Such a great outdoor setting, on the Main Street, but the garden setting keeps things quiet. Our server was very attentive and everyone loved the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and different. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was outstanding and different. The desserts were excellent and service outstanding. The owner made sure to talk to every diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was very tasty and we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

As usual, the food was very tasty and we came away feeling satisfyingly filled. I raved about the King salmon, and my husband loved the hanger steak. We especially appreciate the special attention we get when choosing the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was beyond reproach. Everyo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was beyond reproach. Everyone went above and beyond. The food was good but nothing notable. We had a variety of items in the appetizers, main course and desserts. They were are good, but nothing spectacular. The ambiance was warm like eating in a friends home. The restaurant was a little noisy, but it was full. I would recommend this restaurant for a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was a little spotty but other th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was a little spotty but other than that it was a great choice. Salads were huge so be sure to split one (they don't seem to mind). They have these awesome spritzers you should try too. The steak my date had was one of the best, most tender steaks ever. My salmon was perfectly cooked - not dry, but not raw either.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food is always wonderful..We have dined ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food is always wonderful..We have dined there 4 or 5 times! We are not friends or relatives of the owners so this is a very true review!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Bistro Maison for our 2nd Annive ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went to Bistro Maison for our 2nd Anniversary dinner. Started with Fondue and a spritzer. Both were excellent! The setting was great, we sat on the front porch. Service was top notch! The main course was excellent, but the vegetables were just a little on the bland side. The morel mushroom sauce was amazing. Huge wine list to select from. Great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our favorite for special occasions in Mc ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our favorite for special occasions in McMinnville. The food always is excellent and so it was on our most recent visit. My bithday girl and I both started withe the onion soup, which was delectable. She had the ravioli and i had the cassoulet. Bith were saviry. We shared a creme brulee and finished our experience with very good coffee. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We're frequent visitors and the food is ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We're frequent visitors and the food is consistently perfect! The service is top-notch, with a personalized touch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food and service is exceptional, along with the charming and intimate ambience.

We started with a vichyssoise soup that was complex and tasty. The salad which was big enough for 3-4 people to share was made with fresh local ingredients. The salmon glav lax was delicious; it was served with capers, chopped onion, cream cheese.

The wine was perfectly matched for the dishes we ordered.

You can depend on Debra to always pick out the perfect wine to match your taste and you food.

It all was a very good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected surprise

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were surprised and impressed with our dinner experience at Bistro Maison. The service and interaction with the staff was only surpassed by the decadent food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous French with fresh local ingredi ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Fabulous French with fresh local ingredients, a cozy ambiance and full of energy from the happy patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Bad experience here. Service was terribl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Bad experience here. Service was terrible. Food was average. Not worth the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Bistro Maison

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had an amazing time at Bistro Maison. Great food, great service, we really felt like the staff cared about us having a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Service Noisy

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

As above. great food selection and service. The noise level was higher than I would have expected at a establishment of this caliber. The large group in the back room waslouder than I like Decore needs to help reduce moise levels. Note, I am particularlyu sensitive to noisel GReat evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have found our new favorite restauran ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We have found our new favorite restaurant in Oregon and have eaten there three times in the past month and one-half. The duck confit is fabulous, as is the scallop (they are very tender and sweet) and shrimp entree. The steak au poivre (greeen peppercorn sauce) is also excellent, as are the mussel dishes. My father proclaimed the pork chop "the best he has ever had." The service is wonderful and the staff are attentive, but not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was hectic but the restaurant offered a prix fixe menu which simplified ordering on such a busy day. The meal was well prepared, salmon and prime rib were perfect. There were lovely touches, special fruit spritzer so, perfect for a hot day, and gifts for Mother's. It is definitely a place we will return to.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had an enjoyable mother's day brunch. Food was excellent and authentically French with nice attention to detail.

Unfortunately, we didn't love the other parts of the place. Service was very casual and didn't highlight the quality of the food. It took 10 minutes to receive menus and dishes lingered for a long time after completion.

The price was very expensive relative to the casual approach to service and ambiance.

They had a lovely gift and wonderful bonus cookies to complete the meal though. While slightly disappointed, I'm glad it is in McMinnville and wish them all the best. You can tell they really care about the food, which is the most important thing.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Mixed review! First of all the owner was ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mixed review! First of all the owner was pretty rude by making fun of another customers choice of wine. Bad start. She then took our order asking what we liked in a wine - I said delicate with minerality- I got served a glass of big jammy Grenache!?! Whatever. It was $14 (a glass). The other thing was that we told her we were not very hungry and would share the small fondue to start- she told us we had to get the large one for $26 more. We don't eat ham- the main thing that one had that the small on didn't. Bottom line, she was very bossy and not a nice person.

The up side was that the food was good. Thank god for that!

The other bright side was that after the owner bullied us and upsold us, she disappeared. Other servers took over from there and they were all very nice. I left a 20% tip ONLY because I wanted those servers to not suffer because of their bosses behavior.

I'll never go back. There are way too many places with good food and much better wine. Ugh.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Lovely Restaurant in Oregon Wine Country

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Bistro Maison has been a consistently excellent restaurant since they opened in McMinnville ~15 years ago. The menu is a nice blend of old favorites and seasonal offerings.

We shared a lovely salad with fresh local strawberries and hazelnuts. My companion had the Confit de Canard which was perfectly done. I chose one of the season selections, a fresh scallops and jumbo shrimp sauce with a terrific sauce made from local morel mushrooms. We tried a bottle of a season special Rose which was very reasonably priced and excellent.

The service was attentive and prompt.

We both recommend Bistro Maison highly!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We have been coming to McMinnville for about a year now and I do not know why it took us so long to try this restaurant. We went for lunch on a warm day and sat outside. Food, sevice and ambiance were terrific. Gravlax and mussels were especially good and memorable. We look forward to comming back and trying other dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first time to Bistro Maison. Will definitely go back, even though it's an hour drive. We did a little wine tasting then had dinner here. Everything we ate was excellent, especially the escargot. Had several people waiting on us throughout the evening; all were very professional & friendly. Our main waiter had such a knowledge of their wine. We wanted a pinot noir, and she asked us what we like in a pinot, rather than trying to just pair it with what we ordered. Also, she recommended a half bottle, rather than trying to talk us into one of the more expensive whole bottles; which was appreciated. Loved the atmosphere - romantic, but not too quiet, French decor, comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We first enjoyed a white truffle fondue ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We first enjoyed a white truffle fondue which was fabulous then we had a delicious salmon entree which was the special for the night which was awesome.

The owner/hostess recommended a superb wine based on what we told her our likes and dislikes were. She was spot on with her recommendation.

The staff was attentive and very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine pairings.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We dined at Bistro Maison on many occasions, and the food and wine has always been top notch. Deborah is a genius at unexpected wine and food pairings. Love the escargo, hanger steak and pomme frites. Service can sometimes be a bit disjointed, especially during rushes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food in a small town

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I had the escargot en croute de Bourgogne , which are served in excellent garlic butter and pernod. I also had the steak special, essentially the same cut as the steak au poivre, but with a wine reduction and sauteed fresh morels. We had a great bottle of well aged local pinot noir from a wine list well stocked in properly aged wines. All in all, a great meal. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our Host

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Debra was very engaging and knowledgeable on the menu items, knew there was a strong relationship with the Chef. The Wine selection was outstanding and the recommendations were the perfecting pairings for our meals. It was a fabulous introduction to the wine country and the history how this restaurant has maintained a presence of significance in the McMinnville area for over 15 years.

Highly recommend this jewel. Important to allow enough time for the leisurely meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best spot in McMinnville

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We dine at this restaurant every time we visit McMinnville. We have not been disappointed any time. The food is always exceptional. The owner and staff are extremely professional, efficient and most of all, friendly. We have tried many dishes and all are great. We will continue to come here over and over.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best of Paris in Yamhill County

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The ambiance, the food, the people ... this is a place where food is prepared with sensitivity and love and paired with local wines that are world-class values. Bistro Maison never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor Performance

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant was "over reaching", in our opinion. Tried to do three seatings of a fixed price menu. Told us we could arrive at 1600, which we did, but they were well into their service by then, mixed up the courses and the wine, which, from the menu, appeared to be part of a wine pairing with the courses, was extra, the lamb was under cooked, the mushroom soup was cold and the price to value was not good.

In fairness, they might be better without the price fix format.....But, we'll never know, won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Expensive but great

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

You'll spend a decent amount of money here but the service and food is fantastic. Was there for Valentines celebration and we had a great time. I would highly recommend it if you want a nice romantic dinner with someone special. Service was fantastic and I can't give enough praise to the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful little spot

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

We live in Portland and made the trip out to Bistro Maison for Thanksgiving. It was our second time there, and we were not disappointed. The good was amazing and the staff were fabulous. We love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving dinner overbooked; all else A-OK

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

They overbooked their Thanksgiving dinner; thus making us wait 30+ minutes for our table. Not sure we would do this again, but everything else was fine, once seated and served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Fondue

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

The fondue was really really good with lovely bread. However, the coq au vin and the onion soup were barely so-so. We wondered if we were being too picky however our foody friend agreed with us. He knew where we were just from the picture my husband texted him and said, "oh yeah - the fondue is the only thing worth getting." Not one person asked me why I hadn't eaten the soup, and we didn't see our waitress after she took our order until we asked for the check. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

It was truly spectacular! We had a la ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

It was truly spectacular! We had a large party and EVERYTHING was perfect - unique spritzer a, classic French fare, best salmon ever and desserts that we talked about all the way home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

We had a large group for dinner and the host was great. They prepared some special appetizers for the group, explained where they sources there foods and lead us through our complete dinning experience. Great food, great service, and a very memorable experience. I would recommend this to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine French Food

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

We went to the Bistro Maison for our anniversary while in McMinnville to visit the Evergreen Museum and it was a wonderful experience. I had the tasty Ravioli, but the pork chop my wife ordered was outstanding. The service and atmosphere were very nice. A definite must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not what we expected

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

We enjoy French food, but I think the chef had an off night. My scallops were so salty , my mouth puckered after eating one. My husband's ravioli was overlooked and watery. Our dessert the s'mores, the graham crackers were stale and they had to complete our order with small cookies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Food, as always, was outstanding. Servi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Food, as always, was outstanding. Service was sketchy. We had a 7:30 reservation and were seated immediately on the patio. Our waitress took our wine order and, after bringing the bottle, took our food order which was fine. Our first two courses (soup then some rather delicious baked oysters) both came within 15 minutes of us sitting down, which was a bit too fast. Then nothing. We literally did not see an employee for 45 minutes. It honestly became concerning. A hostess finally came out and asked if we were warm enough. We asked her if everything was OK since we hadn't seen anyone. She said she'd check on our meal. The meal then came less than a minute later. Everything was hot and well cooked. Here's where it got weird. Before we could get a bite in, someone came out to see how everything was. No fewer than 5 other employees came out to check on us during our main course. I think they forgot we were out there (there was only one other couple sitting outside), then tried to make for it. Despite the sketchy service, the meal was delicious, and we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.