About Bistro Maison

729 NE Third Street
McMinnville, OR 97128
View Larger Map

This authentic French bistro has been located in the heart of Historic Downtown McMinnville since January 2003. Owners operators Deborah & Jean-Jacques Chatelard have decades of solid success in the NYC landmarks of Cafe des Artist, Lowell Hotel, the Essex House Hotel, Russian Tea Room, & Ferrier. The huge success of this restaurant is largely based on repeat visits from the savvy food & wine centric local, Portland, Salem and coastal clientele. Providing a real "family" feel which the best restaurants foster is present and embracing from your arrival.

Jean-Jacques' emphasizes the use of outstanding locally sourced foods to prepare the bistro classics He also provides a modern twist to the market driven French-American daily specials. Items include coq au vin, moules or steak frites, cassoulet, duck confit, steak tartar, white truffle fondue, and his stellar repertoire of soup and sauces.

We welcome you to our Bistro & our Maison.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Bistro Maison accepts limited OpenTable reservations. If you would like a dining reservation for a time that is not available online, please call us directly at (503) 474-1888 or email deborah@bistromaison.com

Cross Street:
Galloway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 474-1888

Website:
http://www.bistromaison.com/

Catering:
From intimate dinners to special celebrations, we provide our critically acclaimed cuisine paired with personalized service attending to every detail of your entertaining needs. The Paris Suite or the magnificent outdoor dining options of the garden and camellia patio accommodates up to 45 people for lunch and dinner or 80 for cocktail reception. It"s a perfect setting for both private and corporate celebrations. Please call us to arrange a tour and menu options.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Jacques Chatelard

Private Party Facilities:
Call Deborah at 503-474-1888 to arrange tour and menu planning options

Private Party Contact:
Deborah Chatelard: 5034741888x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Maison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Willamette Valley
Best Food
Willamette Valley
5 More
Best Service
Willamette Valley
Best Ambiance
Willamette Valley
Best Value
Willamette Valley
Fit for Foodies
Willamette Valley
Most Booked
Willamette Valley

Special Occasion (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
See All
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dining experience. The duck was wo ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great dining experience. The duck was wonderful! We would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner was delicious. I had the salmon ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Dinner was delicious. I had the salmon and it melted in my mouth. Great service, wine and they outdoor patio was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were outside, very nice even though w ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We were outside, very nice even though we were right on Third St. you felt you were in a country setting. The environment was nice, the food was fantastic! We both had the pork chop, it had to be two inches thick. Cooked perfectly and just thinking about the taste makes my mouth water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Service was lacking. Unf ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent food. Service was lacking. Unfortunately we were there on a Sunday night when the co owner and chefs wife, who we have heard usually oversees the front of the house, was not there.

The wait staff acted like we were a burden and even forgot to turn in our desert order until we asked almost 30 minutes later

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Nothing special in a town of many choice ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Nothing special in a town of many choices. A little pricey to boot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Very good French cuisine prepared by an ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good French cuisine prepared by an experienced chef and presented by courteous staff. Chef uses local fresh ingredients and made to order courses and sauces. That coupled with a great wine list adds up to a restaurant to visit if you are in central Oregon wine country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Deborah is always so welcoming and manag ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Deborah is always so welcoming and manages to recommend yet another amazing wine to accompany dinner. We love Bistro Maison!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to meet friends for lunch! R ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great place to meet friends for lunch! Really nice patio dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite McMinnville restaurant. The ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our favorite McMinnville restaurant. The garden is very pleasant in the summer and quieter than inside. Food was, as usual, exquisite. Great wine pairing recommendation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time eating here. Good meal and g ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Second time eating here. Good meal and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Some of the best French food we have eve ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Some of the best French food we have ever eaten and we have all visited France many times. The service and recommendations were excellent. A little gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic French food in a wonderful set ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Authentic French food in a wonderful setting!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you go through McMinnville on the way ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

If you go through McMinnville on the way to the beach, don't miss the opportunity to eat at Bistro Maison. The setting, food and ambiance are perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our very favorite spots and it do ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of our very favorite spots and it does not disappoint. A little shorthanded, perhaps, which led to an exceptionally leisurely meal. And we loved every minute of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Superb food, service, atmosphere ,highly ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Superb food, service, atmosphere ,highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here 3 times in the past 8 mon ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Have been here 3 times in the past 8 months (live locally) and am baffled by the inconsistency in service . Food is good, however, you want to at least 'feel' like they are happy you chose their restaurant instead of being an intrusion. Not sure we'll go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

This restaurant is a true gem. We were ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This restaurant is a true gem. We were a group of 10 and sat outside on the patio. Enjoyed oysters, salads (especially liked the watermelon and Caesar salads) and wonderful entrees (salmon, pork chops, shrimp). Everything cooked and seasoned perfectly. Deborah's wine and food knowledge is outstanding. Not only did she outline from where virtually everything we ate was sourced, she expertly (but nonchalantly) guided us through their excellent menu and wines. She recommended great wines that were also great values. You absolutely cannot go wrong here. We loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to eat when you ar ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is a great place to eat when you are in Mc Minnvile. It has excellent French food and a great wine list. The owner really knows her wines!! A real find on vacation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were seated in the outdoor garden whi ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were seated in the outdoor garden which was perfect in the summer evening. Staff was welcoming and friendly and extremely helpful. I had difficulty deciding on entrée and staff was very helpful. Food was fresh, and excellently prepared. Salmon was very fresh and done perfectly. Wine list is mostly local, with some French offerings, and is reasonable. We were very happy overall with our dinner here. My only complaint is that one of the staff began clearing table settings toward the end of the evening while we were still eating, and wiped down the tables with cleaning solution. This is an absolute no-no while guests are still at table. Had the owner come back to our table I would have brought this up to her at the time. This table cleaning can wait! Except for this error, we had a wonderful dinner at a quiet restaurant in a wonderful garden on a summer evening enjoying great food and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been coming back to Bistro Maiso ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been coming back to Bistro Maison for 15 years, and have never been disappointed with our experience. Deborah is always welcoming and knowledgeable about the food and great wine pairings. The sauces are outstanding, the food is fresh and exquisitlely prepared, and the menu always has something new and delicious. If you love French cuisine and wines, you will not find better in the Northwest (and they have a great selection of local Pinot Noirs also).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Such a great outdoor setting, on the Mai ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Such a great outdoor setting, on the Main Street, but the garden setting keeps things quiet. Our server was very attentive and everyone loved the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and different. ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was outstanding and different. The desserts were excellent and service outstanding. The owner made sure to talk to every diner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was very tasty and we ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

As usual, the food was very tasty and we came away feeling satisfyingly filled. I raved about the King salmon, and my husband loved the hanger steak. We especially appreciate the special attention we get when choosing the wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was beyond reproach. Everyo ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was beyond reproach. Everyone went above and beyond. The food was good but nothing notable. We had a variety of items in the appetizers, main course and desserts. They were are good, but nothing spectacular. The ambiance was warm like eating in a friends home. The restaurant was a little noisy, but it was full. I would recommend this restaurant for a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was a little spotty but other th ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was a little spotty but other than that it was a great choice. Salads were huge so be sure to split one (they don't seem to mind). They have these awesome spritzers you should try too. The steak my date had was one of the best, most tender steaks ever. My salmon was perfectly cooked - not dry, but not raw either.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food is always wonderful..We have dined ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food is always wonderful..We have dined there 4 or 5 times! We are not friends or relatives of the owners so this is a very true review!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Bistro Maison for our 2nd Annive ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went to Bistro Maison for our 2nd Anniversary dinner. Started with Fondue and a spritzer. Both were excellent! The setting was great, we sat on the front porch. Service was top notch! The main course was excellent, but the vegetables were just a little on the bland side. The morel mushroom sauce was amazing. Huge wine list to select from. Great experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our favorite for special occasions in Mc ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our favorite for special occasions in McMinnville. The food always is excellent and so it was on our most recent visit. My bithday girl and I both started withe the onion soup, which was delectable. She had the ravioli and i had the cassoulet. Bith were saviry. We shared a creme brulee and finished our experience with very good coffee. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We're frequent visitors and the food is ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We're frequent visitors and the food is consistently perfect! The service is top-notch, with a personalized touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food and service is exceptional, along with the charming and intimate ambience.

We started with a vichyssoise soup that was complex and tasty. The salad which was big enough for 3-4 people to share was made with fresh local ingredients. The salmon glav lax was delicious; it was served with capers, chopped onion, cream cheese.

The wine was perfectly matched for the dishes we ordered.

You can depend on Debra to always pick out the perfect wine to match your taste and you food.

It all was a very good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected surprise

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were surprised and impressed with our dinner experience at Bistro Maison. The service and interaction with the staff was only surpassed by the decadent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous French with fresh local ingredi ...

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Fabulous French with fresh local ingredients, a cozy ambiance and full of energy from the happy patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Bad experience here. Service was terribl ...

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Bad experience here. Service was terrible. Food was average. Not worth the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Bistro Maison

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had an amazing time at Bistro Maison. Great food, great service, we really felt like the staff cared about us having a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Service Noisy

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

As above. great food selection and service. The noise level was higher than I would have expected at a establishment of this caliber. The large group in the back room waslouder than I like Decore needs to help reduce moise levels. Note, I am particularlyu sensitive to noisel GReat evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have found our new favorite restauran ...

 
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We have found our new favorite restaurant in Oregon and have eaten there three times in the past month and one-half. The duck confit is fabulous, as is the scallop (they are very tender and sweet) and shrimp entree. The steak au poivre (greeen peppercorn sauce) is also excellent, as are the mussel dishes. My father proclaimed the pork chop "the best he has ever had." The service is wonderful and the staff are attentive, but not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was hectic but the restaurant offered a prix fixe menu which simplified ordering on such a busy day. The meal was well prepared, salmon and prime rib were perfect. There were lovely touches, special fruit spritzer so, perfect for a hot day, and gifts for Mother's. It is definitely a place we will return to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had an enjoyable mother's day brunch. Food was excellent and authentically French with nice attention to detail.

Unfortunately, we didn't love the other parts of the place. Service was very casual and didn't highlight the quality of the food. It took 10 minutes to receive menus and dishes lingered for a long time after completion.

The price was very expensive relative to the casual approach to service and ambiance.

They had a lovely gift and wonderful bonus cookies to complete the meal though. While slightly disappointed, I'm glad it is in McMinnville and wish them all the best. You can tell they really care about the food, which is the most important thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Mixed review! First of all the owner was ...

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mixed review! First of all the owner was pretty rude by making fun of another customers choice of wine. Bad start. She then took our order asking what we liked in a wine - I said delicate with minerality- I got served a glass of big jammy Grenache!?! Whatever. It was $14 (a glass). The other thing was that we told her we were not very hungry and would share the small fondue to start- she told us we had to get the large one for $26 more. We don't eat ham- the main thing that one had that the small on didn't. Bottom line, she was very bossy and not a nice person.

The up side was that the food was good. Thank god for that!

The other bright side was that after the owner bullied us and upsold us, she disappeared. Other servers took over from there and they were all very nice. I left a 20% tip ONLY because I wanted those servers to not suffer because of their bosses behavior.

I'll never go back. There are way too many places with good food and much better wine. Ugh.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Lovely Restaurant in Oregon Wine Country

 
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Bistro Maison has been a consistently excellent restaurant since they opened in McMinnville ~15 years ago. The menu is a nice blend of old favorites and seasonal offerings.

We shared a lovely salad with fresh local strawberries and hazelnuts. My companion had the Confit de Canard which was perfectly done. I chose one of the season selections, a fresh scallops and jumbo shrimp sauce with a terrific sauce made from local morel mushrooms. We tried a bottle of a season special Rose which was very reasonably priced and excellent.

The service was attentive and prompt.

We both recommend Bistro Maison highly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.