Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Bistro Maison

This authentic French bistro has been located in the heart of Historic Downtown McMinnville since January 2003. Owners operators Deborah & Jean-Jacques Chatelard have decades of solid success in the NYC landmarks of Cafe des Artist, Lowell Hotel, the Essex House Hotel, Russian Tea Room, & Ferrier. The huge success of this restaurant is largely based on repeat visits from the savvy food & wine centric local, Portland, Salem and coastal clientele. Providing a real "family" feel which the best restaurants foster is present and embracing from your arrival.

Jean-Jacques' emphasizes the use of outstanding locally sourced foods to prepare the bistro classics He also provides a modern twist to the market driven French-American daily specials. Items include coq au vin, moules or steak frites, cassoulet, duck confit, steak tartar, white truffle fondue, and his stellar repertoire of soup and sauces.

We welcome you to our Bistro & our Maison.

729 NE Third Street
McMinnville, OR 97128
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Bistro Maison accepts limited OpenTable reservations. If you would like a dining reservation for a time that is not available online, please call us directly at (503) 474-1888 or email deborah@bistromaison.com

Cross Street:
Galloway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 474-1888

Website:
http://www.bistromaison.com/

Catering:
From intimate dinners to special celebrations, we provide our critically acclaimed cuisine paired with personalized service attending to every detail of your entertaining needs. The Paris Suite or the magnificent outdoor dining options of the garden and camellia patio accommodates up to 45 people for lunch and dinner or 80 for cocktail reception. It"s a perfect setting for both private and corporate celebrations. Please call us to arrange a tour and menu options.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Jacques Chatelard

Private Party Facilities:
Call Deborah at 503-474-1888 to arrange tour and menu planning options

Private Party Contact:
Deborah Chatelard: (503) 474-1888

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Maison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Good for a Date (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great other than then the ridiculously loud group that the chef catered too, even though they made everyone else miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

French bistro with authentic food. Outdoor lunch was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Wonderful place to eat, we go for special occasions, the food is delicious, the people are attentive and very nice and the atmosphere is relaxing and intimate. We both had the pork chop which is 2 inches thick, the strawberry sauce was amazing. I have never had anything but great experiences at Bistro Maison!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great find in Oregon wine country. First rate, true French bistro....homey and comfortable, with fabulous food. Go hungry. And definitely try one of their signature spritzers. Thank you for a great dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our group of 12 vacationing selected this well recommended place for our special dinner out. Authentic French food and good comfort food. Debra did a great job of taking charge of our group, selecting our appetizers and giving menu recommendations. Loved the duck and loved the scallops. We very much enjoyed our experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We loved our meal at Bistro Maison! Located inside the cutest bungalow-style house with a gorgeous garden, this cozy bistro did not disappoint. The staff is incredibly knowledgeable about both the food and wine selections, and the service was impeccable - there when you needed them, but not hovering in any way. It reminded me of some of my favorite French bistros in New York City. They were easily able to accommodate my gluten free diet and provided helpful suggestions. We had a wonderful roasted beet salad, escargot (not gf because of puff pastry, so I did not have it but my husband loved it), mussels with frites, and duck confit. Every bite was delicious, as was the wine. Next time we're in McMinnville, we'll dine here again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Bistro Maison continues to offer very high quality food and service. The menu offers a large number of options but still relies primarily on local ingredients. The wine list is excellent, and the restaurant manager is an expert on its contents. Portions are generous; come with an appetite for rich, authentic French cuisine with a Pacific NW twist.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 4, 2017

My wife and I decided to dine at Bistro Maison on a trip to the Willamette Valley because it was recommended to us by the owner of the B&B where we were staying. My wife had the Confit de Canard and I had the Coq Au Vin. While my wife's meal was prepared very well she felt she ordered the wrong item as she very seldom orders duck. My meal was prepared in a completely different way than previous Coq Au Vin meals I've had......it was similar to a stew and I was pleasantly surprised when it was delivered by our server. It was very good and I wouldn't hesitate ordering it again. Along with our meal we ordered a bottle of Oliver Savory Chablis which was a brand I wasn't familiar with. It turned out to be a very good bottle of wine and it complimented our meal very well. The service was very good and I would patronize this establishment again the next time we're in McMinnville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Terrific all around--food, service. Best food in McMinnville, Oregon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Every time I go to Bistro Maison, to gather with close friends, anniversary dinner with my husband, or a special birthday lunch for a friend, it is such a beautiful memorable experience. It is like stepping into Europe, The food is wonderful with a delicate and complex mix of seasonings, sauces and visually delightful to behold! The host and the servers are friendly and fun without being intrusive. My favorite dining experience in McMinnville, because it is so much more than just a place to eat!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Hands down our favorite restaurant on a recent Portland area vacation. Incredible flavors, impeccable service, fabulous wine, fresh authentic and original creations from a talented chef and kitchen. Don't miss a chance to dine here!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Organic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

One comment when I order a frisée salad I expect frisée not romaine, fresh bread in place of croutons and enough dressing for a dozen salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Always a great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We celebrated my sister's birthday outdoors on a sunny afternoon in perfect weather. Fresh Dungeness crab cocktails were superb, and the entrees were delicious. Would love to have sampled dessert, but we had an evening celebration coming up yet. Wait staff explained the menu well (which offers many choices). Some people might be bothered by the train rumbling past on a nearby railroad track, but we were having too much fun to be troubled. I'd love to return!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was exceptional, had the hanger steak, escargot, and a very good pecan pie.
The peach spritz was also very good. The server was very friendly and helpful as we made our food decisions. On a hot day, the shaded outside seating was very comfortable. We will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Good food and exceptional service. The terrace is beautiful and a pleasant place to dine away from the noise.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent menu and VERY French, as one would expect. Delightful garden setting as a useful adjunct to indoor space. Coterie of servers highly knowledgeable and solicitous. Portions sizeable and borderline too-large. Ownership might benefit from more conspicuous street sign age. All in all, tres bien😀!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Absolutely outstanding French cuisine. There is both indoor and outdoor dining, and the patio is a lovely oasis. It was very hot on the day we ate dinner, so we chose to eat inside. I started with a violet spritzer and my husband had a sazerac; We shared an order of escargot which was accompanied by some crusty French bread. I had a shrimp special as an entree, and my husband had the salmon. Everything was delicious. We finished our meal by sharing a dessert of profiteroles stuffed with vanilla ice cream that was topped with a chocolate ganache. Everything we had was perfectly prepared. Our service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Table for 4 outside on a beautiful Saturday evening. Luscious spritzers for the ladies, craft beer for the men. All great!! The fresh halibut, the cassoulet were scrumptious. Served with veggies and of course the white beans surrounding the duck confit. A true taste treat. Very attentive service throughout. We left st 9:30, totally dated. Cannot wait to return on our next visit to McMinnville.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Terrific French cuisine, prepared to your specifications, with attentive, warmhearted service in a fine outdoors (or indoors) setting. We had a great meal and a lot of fun!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Bistro Maison is our go to place for celebrations and any time we want outstanding food. It's always a pleasure to sit out on the patio, but the inside seating is cozy too. The wine list is terrific and Deborah always does an amazing job recommending wine to pair with dinner. Wonderful place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Extensive authentic French menu expertly prepared and served. Fit for foodies. We had a wonderful anniversary dinner including oysters, escargot , steak ou poivre, and duck.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful people, great service, exceptional food and a birthday candle in my ice cream as a surprise treat.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Debrah is a champ. Superb wine knowledge. Above and beyond customer service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Sat outside. lovely shaded setting. Staff very attentive, extensive menu, both classical French and more creative. Great starters, very extensive wine list. Would absolutely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I can't remember a time being disappointed by dining at Bistro Maison. It's spendy so it's always a treat. Deborah and her team ensure her guests are well taken care of.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Love this charming restaurant! Fantastic fondue and wonderful sparkling wine recommendation pairing from our wait person. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Dinner was slow paced. Not hurried. Ordered a bottle of the local wine that was recommended. It was great. Wife had a Dungeness crab cocktail. I had escargot. Both were great. Cocktail was loaded with crab meat and avocado. Each escargot was topped with a pastry.
Wife had the halibut special , I had a steak. Halibut was perfect. The steak, not so much. Little tough but tasty. We finished the meal with two great desserts. Mine was a lemon cake and she had the Napoleons. If you are in the area, it is definitely worth checking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We ended up going here twice in the 4 days during our visit to the Willamette Valley - it was that outstanding. The food was fabulous and service outstanding. Do not miss this one! Try the beet salad and hazelnut encrusted pork chop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2017

It no secret we love Bistro Maison. We have been visiting since the early 2000s and it's like going home each time. Down to earth, quality, local and just plain incredible. Create a wonderful memory and visit Bistro Maison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

What a lovely place to have dinner. The outside garden area is beautiful. We had delicious food and great service. I would definitely encourage anyone in the area to stop here for dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Never disappointed with Bistro Maison. French food, good wine and great service.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Bistro Maison was excellent. My friend is gluten and Daury fre and they accommodated her diet perfectly. Loved how we were given several choices for a glass of wine with entrees Service was perfect. Only dish that wasn't excellent was gazpacho- not enough flavor. Rest of choices- duck, salmon, and oysters were perfection.

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Bistro Maison never disappoints. Deborah's service is exceeded only by Jean Jaques' food. If you want an authentic French Bistro experience, this is it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We might have been suspicious of the plastic chairs and tablecloths. As our table was in the courtyard we accepted the accommodation to nature. Or, we might have been concerned about the proximity of seating at the tables - much too close for our comfort. Or, we might have wondered about the lack of wines by the glass in the heart of Oregon's Willamette Valley - just a single mediocre Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. While the menu proudly announced the dishes en francais, the wait-staff were not in the least French enabled.

We persevered, hoping that the meal would be worth the thirty minute drive from our hotel. We decided to share a Caesar salad. My wife ordered the halibut while I opted for the scallops, both served in a tarragon sauce.

The salad arrived: a mountain of butter lettuce - not romaine - slathered in a milky white dressing, reminiscent of bottled versions found in the isles of Safeway. A whole, not quite soft boiled egg perched on top with two lonely anchovies. No croutons. Not a good sign.

Our entrees were served with a small puddle of mashed potato and a combination of unremarkable green beans and asparagus. The scallops were barely average; the halibut flavorless. Very disappointing.

For $120 (with gratuity) we expected much, much more. We lamented after the meal that we'd been better off heading to the brew pub a few doors down for a burger. If you're looking for a French experience in McMinnville, avoid the Bistro Maison at all costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

A fantastic meal! Oysters, champagne, the Vichyssoise chilled soup - best I ever had! Mussels Provence excellent and the cassoulet incredible. From start to finish, the experience was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was the first time since leaving France that we found a restaurant with the ambiance, service, wine list, and menu that was authentic and delicious. We have been back twice in two weeks and will go again soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We sat outside under the trees in the patio/back yard. It was quiet and enjoyable. The food was good, but not anything extraordinary. I ordered the beet and goat cheese salad. There were only four cubed red beets, lots of lettuce and goat cheese. The salad was fresh, but I was looking for more beets. My entree was hangar steak with French fries. It was finished in a wine shallot reduction. Nothing about it was outstanding. The fries were vover salted. The meat was good, but not outstanding. When I eat at a restaurant that it on this level with this pricing I want a cut above what I can prepare at home. I could easily have prepared this meal and better. I would have carmelized the beets. I would have added nuts for crunch. I also would add fresh herbs to the salad like tarragon. Thd ambiance was very good, but would have liked some french music playing in the background. I did not have any dessert. I would be willing to try this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Bistro Maison was a great dinning experience. We were able to eat on the patio. The food was very delicious and special. The service is outstanding. the suggestion on the different foods and wine was very welcomed.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.