Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Bistro Maison

This authentic French bistro has been located in the heart of Historic Downtown McMinnville since January 2003. Owners operators Deborah & Jean-Jacques Chatelard have decades of solid success in the NYC landmarks of Cafe des Artist, Lowell Hotel, the Essex House Hotel, Russian Tea Room, & Ferrier. The huge success of this restaurant is largely based on repeat visits from the savvy food & wine centric local, Portland, Salem and coastal clientele. Providing a real "family" feel which the best restaurants foster is present and embracing from your arrival.

Jean-Jacques' emphasizes the use of outstanding locally sourced foods to prepare the bistro classics He also provides a modern twist to the market driven French-American daily specials. Items include coq au vin, moules or steak frites, cassoulet, duck confit, steak tartar, white truffle fondue, and his stellar repertoire of soup and sauces.

We welcome you to our Bistro & our Maison.

729 NE Third Street
McMinnville, OR 97128
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Bistro Maison accepts limited OpenTable reservations. If you would like a dining reservation for a time that is not available online, please call us directly at (503) 474-1888 or email deborah@bistromaison.com

Cross Street:
Galloway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 474-1888

Website:
http://www.bistromaison.com/

Catering:
From intimate dinners to special celebrations, we provide our critically acclaimed cuisine paired with personalized service attending to every detail of your entertaining needs. The Paris Suite or the magnificent outdoor dining options of the garden and camellia patio accommodates up to 45 people for lunch and dinner or 80 for cocktail reception. It"s a perfect setting for both private and corporate celebrations. Please call us to arrange a tour and menu options.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Jacques Chatelard

Private Party Facilities:
Call Deborah at 503-474-1888 to arrange tour and menu planning options

Private Party Contact:
Deborah Chatelard: (503) 474-1888

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

After your Easter egg hunt, join us at Bistro Maison for a very special Easter Sunday Celebration. Chef Jean-Jacques’ special Easter menu will be served from late morning to evening 11:30 am to 9:30 pm. items may also be ordered a’ la carte

Bistro Maison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my most favorite spots in town. Bistro Madison never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A real treat when our travels have us in the area. Food and wine always outstanding. Staff knowledgeable and suggestions regarding menu items so helpful. The staff and intimate atmosphere make for wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our 2nd visit. Our first was during the summer and outdoors. This visit was at the end of winter and both visits were great. Both meals were great and the venue and food choices were perfect for a gathering of out-of-town / out-of-state folks.

The on-line reservation system worked perfect. Too many restaurants have sloppy or non-existent reservation systems.

The six people at our table could actually have a conversation. Too many restaurants have fallen victim to the belief that "noise" makes people happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best escargot I've had. Shrimp and scallops were delicious. Liked the setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

When the waitress misunderstood our order, the kitchen prepared a second entree gratis. Very sweet of them!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great dinner! New things to try which we're wonderful. The gluten & dairy free soup? Awesome! Amazing!
Fresh oysters? Great
Thai Mussels? Wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We enjoyed our excellent meal at Bistro Maison. It is a quiet, cozy place and the food was fantastic. Next time we're in McMinnville, Oregon we will surely eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have had lunch with friends at Bistro Maison several times and always was impressed. This time, my husband and I took our nieces to dinner and we were very satisfied with the meal. We ordered several bottles of wine and the advice of the owner was spot on! Excellent wines, truly French food and warm ambiance. We will plan to go there more often!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We love this place, and try to come for birthdays and special occasions. The food is always good, the service excellent, and the ambiance is comfortable. My favorite restaurant in McMinnville!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great... well prepared, presented and served. Quality from start to finish. A real joy.

Had some trouble making reservations. Had not known you were closed in January.

Web site, out of date, and I did not find your holiday schedule was not reflected.

The reservation service did not reflect closure as well. Thanks again and see you again.

We enjoy introducing new friends to your restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Dinner 2017 will always be a memorable date for my wife and I. The meal was fantastic the service superb the total package for a small venue restaurant.
Excellent job by all!!! We will be looking forward to our next trip there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Valentine celebration!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was wonderful and the portions are quite generous.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner... evenings like this are hard to pull off, but they did a good job. I'd definitely try again during the summer, to sit out on their patio!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Such a thoughtful wine pairing, Deb has a great knowledge of sherry, port and brandy. Jacques as usual came through with his truly French food. Bravo.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My dinner here with my family was amazing from the way that the waiters treated us to to the way that the food tasted amazing. My mom even liked it- it's hard for her to like something. This place is very elegant and peaceful.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful holiday decor, as usual, a delightful experience. Deborah is a wonderful wine guide, knowledgeable about local as well as the French regionals they specialize in.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I had a leisurely lunch with two friends a few days before Christmas. The decor, food and drinks were awesome. The owner was very friendly, and we would come back again. We had the truffle fondue, and we tried three desserts. We could have shared one! I highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We've dined here many times because the wonderful food and service keep us coming back. This is a dining experience that shouldn't be missed.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Locals love this place. An incredible venue. The service was fantastic, the food was amazing..but the sauces.......just unbelievable....the best restaurant in Yamhill County.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A nice time but not worth price of the meal. I won't be going back the next time I visit. I was not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our experience was colored by a group of 5 who were loud. Tables are tight, so go late if you want quiet. Food was excellent; service good although someone else's first course was delivered to us in error. Nevertheless, we've been before and will go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

WOW! We have had dinner here on several occasions so the lunch was a bonus. The service and the meal were excellent as always. THANK YOU BISTRO MAISON

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were in Willamette Valley chasing Pinot Noir tastings. All of us (4) from out of state. Good to very good dining in wine country is often found, and Willamette Valley is no exception. Bistro Maison was recommended and it was over-the-top, delicious. From the mussels, to the cheese fondue to the cassoulette.......to the great recommendation of a rose de pinot noir champagne, everything was just perfect. Well worth adventuring to McMinnville from the Alison Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

For people who like excellent French cuisine Bistro Maison is the place to go. The ambiance is quiet and elegant. The food is superb and the wine list is excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love the Bistro. Fabulous food, great service well worth the drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This restaurant is a great find. The food is amazing, and I love the ambiance and decor. The food reminds me of being in France, and the chef makes an effort to search out local and seasonal ingredients.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Bistro Maison is our very favorite restaurant. Too bad it's 1,000 miles away from our home in California, but dining at this fantastic, charming establishment is the highlight of our yearly trip to McMinnville. The cuisine is consistently and deliciously beyond expectation, the ambience so cozy and welcoming, and Deborah's professional yet warm presence is just another highlight of this wonderfully special restaurant. We look forward to our next visit . . . even though it's a year away. If there is a way to give over five stars for a restaurant, my husband and I would give it ten!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Historic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Bistro Maison always serves a great meal with excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Though our bill was substantial (ordered salad, soup, pork chop, mushrooms, dessert and wine), the owner refused to take a cocktail, which I found distasteful and returned, off the bill. This penny wise, pound foolish behavior, left a bad taste in our mouths.

As an example of the owner's lack of integrity, she cancelled our Open Table reservation after we dined there, paid the bill and left the premises. She did this in order to try to prevent us from leaving a review on Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 3, 2016

They were out of the drink I ordered, and my wife was extremely disappointed in the Coq Au Vin she ordered - just one very small piece of chicken. We were so looking forward to a nice anniversary dinner, but sadly, were very disappointed. They did comp the Coq Au Vin after we asked.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and service were great. But the music ! Snooze.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was our second visit to Bistro Maison. Our first was in August 2016. Very busy but quiet evening, exceptional attention by the staff. The food was done to perfection and very authentic. Our second visit was October 1, 2016. We had taken my Mother-in-law there for her 70th Birthday. The Bistro was totally booked and every possible table was occuppied! Even though we were seated at a table right inside the door, it kind of muted out the noise from the other guests so that was a great benefit since my Father-in-law wears hearing- aids. After we ordered, we waited over 30mins before before our appittizer of french fries came and at least 45 mins after that before our meals came. Our meals were good but you could tell they were rushed and were only warm not hot. I heard how well they treat those that have special occasion there but my Mother-in-law and my husband and I felt like an afterthought. It was crazy busy and everyone was running around like crazy and you could tell everyone was doing their best. Not the special celebration we had been hoping for but nice regardless. A crazy busy full resturant is a good thing, right? We will go again and continue to recommend friends. It is a lovely place in a wonderful town!!!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

All was very good except the size of the salad. It could easily have fed a family of five. And salad is not a good item to put in a to go container. The escargot were nicely prepared and served, the fresh oysters were excellent. Service was very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent dinner and wine selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Classic Bistro obvious attention to sourcing. Wonderful melon, strawberries, tomato, food simple unpretentious and very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great dining experience. The duck was wonderful! We would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We came and celebrated my daughter's 19th birthday with ease and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. It was wonderful that the owner called us when we made a mistake on our reservation date, also. She made special menus for us and even had a cute bday hat for our daughter to wear and take pics in. It made her feel special and made the occasion elevated with presentation and class.

The unfortunate thing was they were out of several menu items. we had to adjust our reservation to a later time because it was a busy Saturday night. We could not order from the special menu created for our daughter, but that was ok because there was plenty of other wonderful options. Our drink orders were delayed and information kind of scattered. It seemed we were secondary to whatever was going on with the few other guests in the Restraunt - which could have been because it was busy in the restaurant only an hour before we arrived (we were told). Perhaps that could have gone a little better, but it ended ok and with some consumption of some amazing drinks!

We wanted it to be a special occasion for celebration - and it was! The service was genuine when we ordered and received our orders, the food tasted divine, and in spite of the minor concerns, we had a wonderful time.

Thank you Madam Debra and Bistro Maison for all you do - the time you dedicate to make French cuisine amazing in Yamhill county is so appreciated!! Merci Beaucoup!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Dinner was delicious. I had the salmon and it melted in my mouth. Great service, wine and they outdoor patio was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Found this gem on the internet and it did not disappoint. Lovely spot and delicious food!!! Sat outside in the beautiful garden on a beaufiful September day. Would definitely recommend to others and come back if out in Oregon again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.