Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Bistro Maison

This authentic French bistro has been located in the heart of Historic Downtown McMinnville since January 2003. Owners operators Deborah & Jean-Jacques Chatelard have decades of solid success in the NYC landmarks of Cafe des Artist, Lowell Hotel, the Essex House Hotel, Russian Tea Room, & Ferrier. The huge success of this restaurant is largely based on repeat visits from the savvy food & wine centric local, Portland, Salem and coastal clientele. Providing a real "family" feel which the best restaurants foster is present and embracing from your arrival.

Jean-Jacques' emphasizes the use of outstanding locally sourced foods to prepare the bistro classics He also provides a modern twist to the market driven French-American daily specials. Items include coq au vin, moules or steak frites, cassoulet, duck confit, steak tartar, white truffle fondue, and his stellar repertoire of soup and sauces.

We welcome you to our Bistro & our Maison.

729 NE Third Street
McMinnville, OR 97128
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Bistro Maison accepts limited OpenTable reservations. If you would like a dining reservation for a time that is not available online, please call us directly at (503) 474-1888 or email deborah@bistromaison.com

Cross Street:
Galloway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 474-1888

Website:
http://www.bistromaison.com/

Catering:
From intimate dinners to special celebrations, we provide our critically acclaimed cuisine paired with personalized service attending to every detail of your entertaining needs. The Paris Suite or the magnificent outdoor dining options of the garden and camellia patio accommodates up to 45 people for lunch and dinner or 80 for cocktail reception. It"s a perfect setting for both private and corporate celebrations. Please call us to arrange a tour and menu options.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Jacques Chatelard

Private Party Facilities:
Call Deborah at 503-474-1888 to arrange tour and menu planning options

Private Party Contact:
Deborah Chatelard: (503) 474-1888

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Maison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Romantic (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fun (8)
Cozy (8)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Historic (5)
Organic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Never disappointed with Bistro Maison. French food, good wine and great service.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Bistro Maison was excellent. My friend is gluten and Daury fre and they accommodated her diet perfectly. Loved how we were given several choices for a glass of wine with entrees Service was perfect. Only dish that wasn't excellent was gazpacho- not enough flavor. Rest of choices- duck, salmon, and oysters were perfection.

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Bistro Maison never disappoints. Deborah's service is exceeded only by Jean Jaques' food. If you want an authentic French Bistro experience, this is it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We might have been suspicious of the plastic chairs and tablecloths. As our table was in the courtyard we accepted the accommodation to nature. Or, we might have been concerned about the proximity of seating at the tables - much too close for our comfort. Or, we might have wondered about the lack of wines by the glass in the heart of Oregon's Willamette Valley - just a single mediocre Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. While the menu proudly announced the dishes en francais, the wait-staff were not in the least French enabled.

We persevered, hoping that the meal would be worth the thirty minute drive from our hotel. We decided to share a Caesar salad. My wife ordered the halibut while I opted for the scallops, both served in a tarragon sauce.

The salad arrived: a mountain of butter lettuce - not romaine - slathered in a milky white dressing, reminiscent of bottled versions found in the isles of Safeway. A whole, not quite soft boiled egg perched on top with two lonely anchovies. No croutons. Not a good sign.

Our entrees were served with a small puddle of mashed potato and a combination of unremarkable green beans and asparagus. The scallops were barely average; the halibut flavorless. Very disappointing.

For $120 (with gratuity) we expected much, much more. We lamented after the meal that we'd been better off heading to the brew pub a few doors down for a burger. If you're looking for a French experience in McMinnville, avoid the Bistro Maison at all costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

A fantastic meal! Oysters, champagne, the Vichyssoise chilled soup - best I ever had! Mussels Provence excellent and the cassoulet incredible. From start to finish, the experience was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was the first time since leaving France that we found a restaurant with the ambiance, service, wine list, and menu that was authentic and delicious. We have been back twice in two weeks and will go again soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We sat outside under the trees in the patio/back yard. It was quiet and enjoyable. The food was good, but not anything extraordinary. I ordered the beet and goat cheese salad. There were only four cubed red beets, lots of lettuce and goat cheese. The salad was fresh, but I was looking for more beets. My entree was hangar steak with French fries. It was finished in a wine shallot reduction. Nothing about it was outstanding. The fries were vover salted. The meat was good, but not outstanding. When I eat at a restaurant that it on this level with this pricing I want a cut above what I can prepare at home. I could easily have prepared this meal and better. I would have carmelized the beets. I would have added nuts for crunch. I also would add fresh herbs to the salad like tarragon. Thd ambiance was very good, but would have liked some french music playing in the background. I did not have any dessert. I would be willing to try this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Bistro Maison was a great dinning experience. We were able to eat on the patio. The food was very delicious and special. The service is outstanding. the suggestion on the different foods and wine was very welcomed.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Thank you for an incredible dinner. Our party of six selected several different things and there was lots of sharing around the table. From appetizers, to main course, to dessert. All of was delicious. We will be back on our next trip to McMinnville!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Best restaurant in the North west. A Jewel of a find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

cannot be more French than bistro Maison.. and what a talent!!!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Bottom line: Eat here you will enjoy it!
This restaurant is my personal local favorite. Eat outside if the weather permits, the decor always reminds us of eating in Provence. They serve some of the Parisian bistro standards, as well as specials created from local seafood and produce. There is a well balanced wine list with plenty of local pinot noir, as well as a good selection of French. Service is a non-rushed and friendly.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

As always food delicious and wine pairing suggestions always spot on. Outside dining is open!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Bistro Maison never disappoints.
5 of us enjoyed a wonderful meal the night before Linfield graduation.
The entire town of McMinnville was packed with grads and celebrating families. Bistro Maison was not perfect, but they pulled it off with kindness and grace.
Their recommendations are always spot on. It was a truly unforgettable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Had a lovely couple's dinner on the garden patio this early Summer evening. While quite busy, the ambience was relaxed. The meal was delightful and we both opted for some French countryside food accompanied by a bottle of delicious Oregon Pinot Noir, of course. Servings were large enough that we took a box home. We'll be back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Fantastic dining experience as always. The oysters were phenomenal and all our dishes were 100% on point. Thank you Emily and Deborah for making it such a special night for me and my fiends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The entire dinner experience was wonderful. The ambience on the outdoor patio is intimate and cozy; it is quiet enough you can converse with your dinner partners easily.
Debra always helps you pick the best wine. The wine list is extensive and covers a broad price range.
The starters and appetizers are delicious and creative. The entrees are so well done and the sauces are the best.
All finished off with the best desserts. I like the way they naturally pace your evening; no rushing; and there when you need something.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We went there on a recommendation of a mutual friend. Loved the ambiance and the staff was warm and friendly. Our group had a very satisfying lunch. We definitely will go back. The whole experience was very delightful.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Organic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Bistro Maison is hands down our favorite place for exquisite food and atmosphere... anywhere... period. We've been coming here for the last 10 years or so and it's always like coming home. The food is.... absolutely amazing and always new. Culinary artistry. Deborah and Jean-Jacques and all of their staff are simply second to none and go out of their way for all their guests. It's truly humbling. Perfect.

We just came in tonight for our 3rd or 4th Mother's Day celebration and everything ... the service the food, the wine and the cocktails... was amazing.

If you have never been, you must go and experience this amazing McMinnville jewel. Your palate will never be the same.

Thank you Bistro Maison for another perfect evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day so it was quite full - even still service was excellent and noise level was just bustling, not loud. As always the food was outstanding and it was a lovely lunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We chose to come here for Mother's Day and it was absolutely a terrific experience! It was very busy as most restaurants are on this day, however staff took good care of us and provided a very enjoyable time. They even had an area upstairs for our 6 year old to paint pictures for his mom! The food was delicious and we look forward to going back to enjoy the usual menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I ate at Bistro Maison a few years ago on a trip to McMinnville and loved it. I was looking forward to a return visit, but alas, the Maison is not keeping up. The menu seems tired -- same old French bistro fare you find anywhere, a duck confit that really isn't duck confit (it's two duck legs in orange sauce), a cassoulet that one of the locals warned us not to order, etc. Most distressing, the wine boom has affected the whole town and this restaurant. Everyone has their palm out, everything is an upsell ("Would you like fois gras on that?"), especially the wine list. The Bistro is in need of a makeover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Selected the halibut and it was cooked to perfection. followed up with pecan pie that was also good. Wine was a little on the pricey side but they had a good selection

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here. Our portions were surprisingly large and the food was delicious. Service was first rate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The best mussels either spouse or I have ever eaten -- nice wine selections and friendly but not obtrusive service

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Everything was excellent! The food was perfectly prepared. The hostess was very engaged with ALL customers whether 1st timers or local customers. Loved the atmosphere & especially the personal attention. One would think the cost would be outlandish for such quality of service, atmosphere, & excellently prepared food, surprisely, prices were not!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

One of my most favorite spots in town. Bistro Madison never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A real treat when our travels have us in the area. Food and wine always outstanding. Staff knowledgeable and suggestions regarding menu items so helpful. The staff and intimate atmosphere make for wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our 2nd visit. Our first was during the summer and outdoors. This visit was at the end of winter and both visits were great. Both meals were great and the venue and food choices were perfect for a gathering of out-of-town / out-of-state folks.

The on-line reservation system worked perfect. Too many restaurants have sloppy or non-existent reservation systems.

The six people at our table could actually have a conversation. Too many restaurants have fallen victim to the belief that "noise" makes people happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Best escargot I've had. Shrimp and scallops were delicious. Liked the setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

When the waitress misunderstood our order, the kitchen prepared a second entree gratis. Very sweet of them!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great dinner! New things to try which we're wonderful. The gluten & dairy free soup? Awesome! Amazing!
Fresh oysters? Great
Thai Mussels? Wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was not very good but at least it was really expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We enjoyed our excellent meal at Bistro Maison. It is a quiet, cozy place and the food was fantastic. Next time we're in McMinnville, Oregon we will surely eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I have had lunch with friends at Bistro Maison several times and always was impressed. This time, my husband and I took our nieces to dinner and we were very satisfied with the meal. We ordered several bottles of wine and the advice of the owner was spot on! Excellent wines, truly French food and warm ambiance. We will plan to go there more often!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We love this place, and try to come for birthdays and special occasions. The food is always good, the service excellent, and the ambiance is comfortable. My favorite restaurant in McMinnville!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great... well prepared, presented and served. Quality from start to finish. A real joy.

Had some trouble making reservations. Had not known you were closed in January.

Web site, out of date, and I did not find your holiday schedule was not reflected.

The reservation service did not reflect closure as well. Thanks again and see you again.

We enjoy introducing new friends to your restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Dinner 2017 will always be a memorable date for my wife and I. The meal was fantastic the service superb the total package for a small venue restaurant.
Excellent job by all!!! We will be looking forward to our next trip there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great Valentine celebration!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.