About Bistro Maison

729 NE Third Street
McMinnville, OR 97128
View Larger Map

This authentic French bistro has been located in the heart of Historic Downtown McMinnville since January 2003. Owners operators Deborah & Jean-Jacques Chatelard have decades of solid success in the NYC landmarks of Cafe des Artist, Lowell Hotel, the Essex House Hotel, Russian Tea Room, & Ferrier. The huge success of this restaurant is largely based on repeat visits from the savvy food & wine centric local, Portland, Salem and coastal clientele. Providing a real "family" feel which the best restaurants foster is present and embracing from your arrival.

Jean-Jacques' emphasizes the use of outstanding locally sourced foods to prepare the bistro classics He also provides a modern twist to the market driven French-American daily specials. Items include coq au vin, moules or steak frites, cassoulet, duck confit, steak tartar, white truffle fondue, and his stellar repertoire of soup and sauces.

We welcome you to our Bistro & our Maison.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Bistro Maison accepts limited OpenTable reservations. If you would like a dining reservation for a time that is not available online, please call us directly at (503) 474-1888 or email deborah@bistromaison.com

Cross Street:
Galloway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 474-1888

Website:
http://www.bistromaison.com/

Catering:
From intimate dinners to special celebrations, we provide our critically acclaimed cuisine paired with personalized service attending to every detail of your entertaining needs. The Paris Suite or the magnificent outdoor dining options of the garden and camellia patio accommodates up to 45 people for lunch and dinner or 80 for cocktail reception. It"s a perfect setting for both private and corporate celebrations. Please call us to arrange a tour and menu options.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Jacques Chatelard

Private Party Facilities:
Call Deborah at 503-474-1888 to arrange tour and menu planning options

Private Party Contact:
Deborah Chatelard: 5034741888x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Maison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Willamette Valley
Best Food
Willamette Valley
Best Service
Willamette Valley
3 More
Best Ambiance
Willamette Valley
Best Value
Willamette Valley
Most Booked
Willamette Valley

Special Occasion (23)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Romantic (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Historic (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A nice time but not worth price of the m ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A nice time but not worth price of the meal. I won't be going back the next time I visit. I was not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Our experience was colored by a group of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our experience was colored by a group of 5 who were loud. Tables are tight, so go late if you want quiet. Food was excellent; service good although someone else's first course was delivered to us in error. Nevertheless, we've been before and will go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

WOW! We have had dinner here on several ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

WOW! We have had dinner here on several occasions so the lunch was a bonus. The service and the meal were excellent as always. THANK YOU BISTRO MAISON

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Willamette Valley chasing Pin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were in Willamette Valley chasing Pinot Noir tastings. All of us (4) from out of state. Good to very good dining in wine country is often found, and Willamette Valley is no exception. Bistro Maison was recommended and it was over-the-top, delicious. From the mussels, to the cheese fondue to the cassoulette.......to the great recommendation of a rose de pinot noir champagne, everything was just perfect. Well worth adventuring to McMinnville from the Alison Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For people who like excellent French cui ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

For people who like excellent French cuisine Bistro Maison is the place to go. The ambiance is quiet and elegant. The food is superb and the wine list is excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love the Bistro. Fabulous food, grea ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love the Bistro. Fabulous food, great service well worth the drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a great find. The foo ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This restaurant is a great find. The food is amazing, and I love the ambiance and decor. The food reminds me of being in France, and the chef makes an effort to search out local and seasonal ingredients.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Maison is our very favorite resta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Bistro Maison is our very favorite restaurant. Too bad it's 1,000 miles away from our home in California, but dining at this fantastic, charming establishment is the highlight of our yearly trip to McMinnville. The cuisine is consistently and deliciously beyond expectation, the ambience so cozy and welcoming, and Deborah's professional yet warm presence is just another highlight of this wonderfully special restaurant. We look forward to our next visit . . . even though it's a year away. If there is a way to give over five stars for a restaurant, my husband and I would give it ten!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Historic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Maison always serves a great meal ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Bistro Maison always serves a great meal with excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Though our bill was substantial (ordered ...

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Though our bill was substantial (ordered salad, soup, pork chop, mushrooms, dessert and wine), the owner refused to take a cocktail, which I found distasteful and returned, off the bill. This penny wise, pound foolish behavior, left a bad taste in our mouths.

As an example of the owner's lack of integrity, she cancelled our Open Table reservation after we dined there, paid the bill and left the premises. She did this in order to try to prevent us from leaving a review on Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

They were out of the drink I ordered, an ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 3, 2016

They were out of the drink I ordered, and my wife was extremely disappointed in the Coq Au Vin she ordered - just one very small piece of chicken. We were so looking forward to a nice anniversary dinner, but sadly, were very disappointed. They did comp the Coq Au Vin after we asked.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value4

The food and service were great. But th ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and service were great. But the music ! Snooze.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

This was our second visit to Bistro Mais ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was our second visit to Bistro Maison. Our first was in August 2016. Very busy but quiet evening, exceptional attention by the staff. The food was done to perfection and very authentic. Our second visit was October 1, 2016. We had taken my Mother-in-law there for her 70th Birthday. The Bistro was totally booked and every possible table was occuppied! Even though we were seated at a table right inside the door, it kind of muted out the noise from the other guests so that was a great benefit since my Father-in-law wears hearing- aids. After we ordered, we waited over 30mins before before our appittizer of french fries came and at least 45 mins after that before our meals came. Our meals were good but you could tell they were rushed and were only warm not hot. I heard how well they treat those that have special occasion there but my Mother-in-law and my husband and I felt like an afterthought. It was crazy busy and everyone was running around like crazy and you could tell everyone was doing their best. Not the special celebration we had been hoping for but nice regardless. A crazy busy full resturant is a good thing, right? We will go again and continue to recommend friends. It is a lovely place in a wonderful town!!!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

All was very good except the size of the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

All was very good except the size of the salad. It could easily have fed a family of five. And salad is not a good item to put in a to go container. The escargot were nicely prepared and served, the fresh oysters were excellent. Service was very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent dinner and wine selection!

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent dinner and wine selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic Bistro obvious attention to sour ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Classic Bistro obvious attention to sourcing. Wonderful melon, strawberries, tomato, food simple unpretentious and very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. The duck was wo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great dining experience. The duck was wonderful! We would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came and celebrated my daughter's 19t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We came and celebrated my daughter's 19th birthday with ease and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. It was wonderful that the owner called us when we made a mistake on our reservation date, also. She made special menus for us and even had a cute bday hat for our daughter to wear and take pics in. It made her feel special and made the occasion elevated with presentation and class.

The unfortunate thing was they were out of several menu items. we had to adjust our reservation to a later time because it was a busy Saturday night. We could not order from the special menu created for our daughter, but that was ok because there was plenty of other wonderful options. Our drink orders were delayed and information kind of scattered. It seemed we were secondary to whatever was going on with the few other guests in the Restraunt - which could have been because it was busy in the restaurant only an hour before we arrived (we were told). Perhaps that could have gone a little better, but it ended ok and with some consumption of some amazing drinks!

We wanted it to be a special occasion for celebration - and it was! The service was genuine when we ordered and received our orders, the food tasted divine, and in spite of the minor concerns, we had a wonderful time.

Thank you Madam Debra and Bistro Maison for all you do - the time you dedicate to make French cuisine amazing in Yamhill county is so appreciated!! Merci Beaucoup!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Dinner was delicious. I had the salmon ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Dinner was delicious. I had the salmon and it melted in my mouth. Great service, wine and they outdoor patio was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this gem on the internet and it di ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Found this gem on the internet and it did not disappoint. Lovely spot and delicious food!!! Sat outside in the beautiful garden on a beaufiful September day. Would definitely recommend to others and come back if out in Oregon again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were outside, very nice even though w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We were outside, very nice even though we were right on Third St. you felt you were in a country setting. The environment was nice, the food was fantastic! We both had the pork chop, it had to be two inches thick. Cooked perfectly and just thinking about the taste makes my mouth water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Service was lacking. Unf ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent food. Service was lacking. Unfortunately we were there on a Sunday night when the co owner and chefs wife, who we have heard usually oversees the front of the house, was not there.

The wait staff acted like we were a burden and even forgot to turn in our desert order until we asked almost 30 minutes later

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Nothing special in a town of many choice ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Nothing special in a town of many choices. A little pricey to boot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Very good French cuisine prepared by an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good French cuisine prepared by an experienced chef and presented by courteous staff. Chef uses local fresh ingredients and made to order courses and sauces. That coupled with a great wine list adds up to a restaurant to visit if you are in central Oregon wine country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Deborah is always so welcoming and manag ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Deborah is always so welcoming and manages to recommend yet another amazing wine to accompany dinner. We love Bistro Maison!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to meet friends for lunch! R ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great place to meet friends for lunch! Really nice patio dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite McMinnville restaurant. The ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our favorite McMinnville restaurant. The garden is very pleasant in the summer and quieter than inside. Food was, as usual, exquisite. Great wine pairing recommendation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time eating here. Good meal and g ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Second time eating here. Good meal and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Some of the best French food we have eve ...

vip
 (Manchester)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Some of the best French food we have ever eaten and we have all visited France many times. The service and recommendations were excellent. A little gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic French food in a wonderful set ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Authentic French food in a wonderful setting!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you go through McMinnville on the way ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2016

If you go through McMinnville on the way to the beach, don't miss the opportunity to eat at Bistro Maison. The setting, food and ambiance are perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our very favorite spots and it do ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of our very favorite spots and it does not disappoint. A little shorthanded, perhaps, which led to an exceptionally leisurely meal. And we loved every minute of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Superb food, service, atmosphere ,highly ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Superb food, service, atmosphere ,highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here 3 times in the past 8 mon ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Have been here 3 times in the past 8 months (live locally) and am baffled by the inconsistency in service . Food is good, however, you want to at least 'feel' like they are happy you chose their restaurant instead of being an intrusion. Not sure we'll go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

This restaurant is a true gem. We were ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 31, 2016

This restaurant is a true gem. We were a group of 10 and sat outside on the patio. Enjoyed oysters, salads (especially liked the watermelon and Caesar salads) and wonderful entrees (salmon, pork chops, shrimp). Everything cooked and seasoned perfectly. Deborah's wine and food knowledge is outstanding. Not only did she outline from where virtually everything we ate was sourced, she expertly (but nonchalantly) guided us through their excellent menu and wines. She recommended great wines that were also great values. You absolutely cannot go wrong here. We loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to eat when you ar ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is a great place to eat when you are in Mc Minnvile. It has excellent French food and a great wine list. The owner really knows her wines!! A real find on vacation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were seated in the outdoor garden whi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were seated in the outdoor garden which was perfect in the summer evening. Staff was welcoming and friendly and extremely helpful. I had difficulty deciding on entrée and staff was very helpful. Food was fresh, and excellently prepared. Salmon was very fresh and done perfectly. Wine list is mostly local, with some French offerings, and is reasonable. We were very happy overall with our dinner here. My only complaint is that one of the staff began clearing table settings toward the end of the evening while we were still eating, and wiped down the tables with cleaning solution. This is an absolute no-no while guests are still at table. Had the owner come back to our table I would have brought this up to her at the time. This table cleaning can wait! Except for this error, we had a wonderful dinner at a quiet restaurant in a wonderful garden on a summer evening enjoying great food and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been coming back to Bistro Maiso ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been coming back to Bistro Maison for 15 years, and have never been disappointed with our experience. Deborah is always welcoming and knowledgeable about the food and great wine pairings. The sauces are outstanding, the food is fresh and exquisitlely prepared, and the menu always has something new and delicious. If you love French cuisine and wines, you will not find better in the Northwest (and they have a great selection of local Pinot Noirs also).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Such a great outdoor setting, on the Mai ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Such a great outdoor setting, on the Main Street, but the garden setting keeps things quiet. Our server was very attentive and everyone loved the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and different. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was outstanding and different. The desserts were excellent and service outstanding. The owner made sure to talk to every diner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.