Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Bistro Maison

This authentic French bistro has been located in the heart of Historic Downtown McMinnville since January 2003. Owners operators Deborah & Jean-Jacques Chatelard have decades of solid success in the NYC landmarks of Cafe des Artist, Lowell Hotel, the Essex House Hotel, Russian Tea Room, & Ferrier. The huge success of this restaurant is largely based on repeat visits from the savvy food & wine centric local, Portland, Salem and coastal clientele. Providing a real "family" feel which the best restaurants foster is present and embracing from your arrival.

Jean-Jacques' emphasizes the use of outstanding locally sourced foods to prepare the bistro classics He also provides a modern twist to the market driven French-American daily specials. Items include coq au vin, moules or steak frites, cassoulet, duck confit, steak tartar, white truffle fondue, and his stellar repertoire of soup and sauces.

We welcome you to our Bistro & our Maison.

729 NE Third Street
McMinnville, OR 97128
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Bistro Maison accepts limited OpenTable reservations. If you would like a dining reservation for a time that is not available online, please call us directly at (503) 474-1888 or email deborah@bistromaison.com

Cross Street:
Galloway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 474-1888

Website:
http://www.bistromaison.com/

Catering:
From intimate dinners to special celebrations, we provide our critically acclaimed cuisine paired with personalized service attending to every detail of your entertaining needs. The Paris Suite or the magnificent outdoor dining options of the garden and camellia patio accommodates up to 45 people for lunch and dinner or 80 for cocktail reception. It"s a perfect setting for both private and corporate celebrations. Please call us to arrange a tour and menu options.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Jacques Chatelard

Private Party Facilities:
Call Deborah at 503-474-1888 to arrange tour and menu planning options

Private Party Contact:
Deborah Chatelard: (503) 474-1888

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Maison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Romantic (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Casual (1)
Sort by
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent gourmet food, service, timeliness, and environment. Quiet environment so you can talk, no rushing, and romantic table settings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2018

We really enjoyed everything from food to service. Looking forward to going again

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Bistro Maison is the best place in McMinnville. We visit about four times a year for the past 10 year or so. We have never had an experience that was anything other than exquisite. Deborah defines what it is to be a host. Your every wish is catered to in a warm inviting casual atmosphere. We love everything about the place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We spent Christmas Eve with friends. It was the perfect spot. Staff is always friendly, food reliably good. The fixed price menu for the holiday not quite as good as the regular menu, but it was all very special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2017

I lived my Prime Rib. My Hubble likes his duck rare and was not a fan of the 6 hour roasted.. but I'm sure others love it. I prefer the full menu other than the small "holiday menu". I missed my cheese fondue .. lol.. beautiful decorated. Lovely cocktails... will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Classic and casual elegance in all areas; exceptionally fresh and well prepared food. Consistently meets expectations. Owners and staff impressive. Always pleased.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 9, 2017

The salmon was over cooked and dry. There were no light or healthy item on the menu. No whole grain bread was available and there were no lighter and healthier desserts. No a restaurant for health conscious diners. I expected better food preparation for the high price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We had a great experience. The food was creative and excellent. The service was friendly and informative.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2017

easily my favorite restaurant in McMinnville and surrounding area of Yamhill county. Have been going here for lunches and dinners for about 15 years. I always recommend this restaurant for the outstanding quality of food served. My personal favorite is the pouched salmon on a bed of green lentils- perfectly cooked every time and the soups are beyond delicious and creative in their ingredients. Deborah is the co-owner working the dining room and will make you feel welcome and taken care of.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Meal was excellent as always. Brother in law from San Francisco was impressed. Small town of McMinnville with French on par with SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Very good food. Nice atmosphere. Worth the drive.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving dinner at Bistro Maison has become an annual affair. I usually order the salmon, (which is scrumptious), but this time I ordered the turkey, which was tender and tasty--excellent. The green ("string") beans were some of the best I've had--great flavor and no strings! Wine pairings were excellent. The only down side to the dinner was the salad, which was a bit ordinary--have had better here before--otherwise the food would have rated 5-stars. As usual, the service was attentive but not rushed. We were seated in a dark corner by the entry, so there wasn't enough light for me to read the menu. The waiter brought me his flashlight, and this solved the problem. Otherwise, the ambiance would have received 5-stars.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Our second Thanksgiving lunch at Bistro Maison. Table for two at 2pm.
Varied selection of appetizers and entrees to choose from. Very pretty table settings. Kitchen produced very good food despite restaurant being packed on a holiday. Outstanding service***. Well worth our 1 hour drive to and back from McMinville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2017

I can't remember ever having a better meal. The wait staff were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive, although this definitely isn't the place to come if you're in a hurry. It's a place to savor excellent cuisine. Everyone I was with loved their dish. In particular, we had the fondue, seared scallops, chicken, duck confit and creme brulee. I don't drink wine, but those who did loved it. Very pleasant atmosphere and the prices are quite reasonable given the quality of the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Bistro Maison is an absolute gem. Charming ambiance, incredible cuisine, unbelievable wine list, and Deborah pulls it all together for your outstanding dining experience. And it really IS an experience. This is our very favorite restaurant on earth. Such a treat!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Bistro Maison is my absolute favorite restaurant in McMinnville and the entire surrounding area. Deborah and her husband and chef, Jean-Jacques, are consummate professionals. The four in my party had perectly executed meals and the wines suggested by our waitress were spot on. It’s always a wonderful experience and I’m already looking forward to my next visit.

P.S. have the cassoulette...it’s to die for.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2017

This place was our favorite in McMinnville. We had some great French food from duck to steak tartare to escargot. Wine selection and prices were excellent for this caliber of dining. The only negative I have is that we were seated by a party of 6 who were extremely loud and obnoxious, but that could happen anywhere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Top notch food in lovely setting and helpful service. They are really well-versed in what they serve. Can't beat this place for a special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2017

One of our favorite places to get a great meal in Yamhill County! We always feel welcome and our expectations are not only met but exceeded each and every time!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Our very favorite restaurant - never disappoints!! Love it!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent food and service. The wine list was quite extensive. The restaurant was very quaint and cozy with appropriate music for fine dining. We had fresh oysters on the half shell.......fantastic. Also had a great crab coctail, which was also excellent. For entrees, the salmon and the confit de canard were both excellent, with generous portions that allowed us to have a second dinner the next day at home.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Delicious!!!! 2nd time in 2 years. I’ve been dreaming of those mussels for months!!
Great pairing with wine and had he delicious and very fatte fondue also!!!! Truffle oil in the cheese!
Later, a s’more platter!!!
Can’t wait to come back next year on our annual trip to Oregon next year!!! Always the best meal of the trip !! The people are so knowledgable and friendly. We even came back the next day to buy walnuts from her. Her grower has delivered 2 weeks ago!!! So fresh!!

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2017

The food and service could not have been better. Thank you for making our trip to Oregon special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food couldn’t be better - classic French cuisine. Cassoulet, coq au vin, duck confit and scallops all superb. Sommelier was a helpful, empathetic and entertaining woman. Front desk gentleman not terribly welcoming but rest of the evening more than made up for a slightly rocky start.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Three couples had a wonderful meal, with attentive service, local ingredients creatively prepared and nicely served, with good advice on wine, all in a relaxed and charming atmosphere in the Dundee Hills

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Excellent service, food, and wine. Deborah is amazing. We always ask her to choose our wine and are always thrilled.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Healthy, Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 18, 2017

While the food was good and the service fine, the main dining room is small and tables are close together. A party of 6 dominated the scene with their conversation and laughter. Wish we had been seated elsewhere. Might have improved our exoerience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2017

A must visit food destination. We just returned from a 3 week trip to the French Alps, Burgundy, and Paris. Bistro Maison is overall a better bistro (and a better value, too) than most we visited in France. Amazingly global, yet succinctly presented wine list with many excellent value choices! Charming decor, excellent food, service, and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Nice little surprise in the middle of the Willamette Valley wine country.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We love Bistro Maison! The service is fabulous, always attentive. The wine list is wonderful and recommendations are always spot on. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My favorite restaurant for special occasions or to share with good friends. It's a welcoming and delicious experience from start to finish. Absolutely fabulous food and great service. You can't go wrong with anything you order.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Authentic French cuisine in an authentic French atmosphere. Top notch service. Friendly staff. Great wine selection. A special place to take people for a special occasion or a great place to treat yourself to something extra. I highly recommend this restaurant . The only down side was the extreme noise level which was mostly attributable to one patron in a large group that got louder and more droll with each glass of wine. Nice place. Great owners!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was great. The service staff seemed very rushed throughout the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Decided to drive a couple of hours to celebrate our anniversary at an authentic French restaurant. Unfortunately, though the food fit that bill, the noise level was over-the-top. When we arrived, the table wasn't yet available. Waited briefly upstairs, then shown to a table in the front. It felt a little odd sitting near the entrance especially after reserving on Open Table. But we were willing to 'make do.' Next thing we knew, hostess & waitress told us they had a 'quiet table' in the next room. They seated us at a 2-person table in a tiny corner, then proceeded to literally move my husband's chair (while he was in it) next to mine. We had maybe 12" between us. Then they sat a large silk-floral arrangement in front of me so i'd have more "privacy" (this table was next to the restrooms)! To our dismay, there was a large party of 9 (6 men & 3 women) in this same room. As we sat there, we were more than slightly stunned. The group got progressively more rowdy/loud. Our waitress had to lean right into our faces for us to hear her answer questions about the menu. The food? Well, the salad was great. My entree (salmon was done to perfection but luke warm) and the chicken dish my husband had wasn't a match for his palate. We also tried their regular fondue; tasteless (to us). So after a few bites, we stopped eating. Had a cake dessert with strawberry ice cream which was "ok." You can tell the owners put a lot of thought into creating this place and sincerely care about their patrons. But not being able to have a nice conversation with your partner because it's just too loud & having ones' chairs squeezed into a tiny corner? Not at all something we want to repeat. On top of that, as we left, we noticed the same table they'd told us was already 'taken' wasn't - it had never been filled. That front room, even though it was by the entrance, was FAR QUIETER than where they placed us. A sad experience; not at all celebratory for either of us.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Excellent French cuisine , wonderful wait staff who were friendly and accommodating. The wine list was great. The courses were timed perfectly

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 4, 2017

What a delightful afternoon. My sisters and I were seated outside on a beautifuly sunnyt day. We loved our server. . .the food was delicious and the desserts are unbelievable . . .the three of us ordered 2 desserts to share and we still took some home!
I wish it were right down the road rather than an hour drive. . .but I look forward to returning!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2017

After a day of wine tasting, we had a dinner reservation at Bistro Maison. We arrived and were seated 10 minutes before our reservation. The space is well appointed and very welcoming. Our waitperson was very knowledgeable about the menu and the specials. We ordered the figs for an appetizer though one of our party does not like blue cheese. The waitress immediately offered to put that element on the side. The preparation was the best I have tasted. All of the food was fresh and extremely well prepared. I would go back and take friends there whenever in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Without a doubt our favorite restaurant in McMinnville. Friendly, excellent service, very creative and extensive menu for a small restaurant and very fresh local ingredients prepared in classical French style but still healthy and not heavy. Long, well selected wine list including local as well as French choices. A must stop if you are visiting Oregon's wine country.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great other than then the ridiculously loud group that the chef catered too, even though they made everyone else miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 23, 2017

When I made reservations (several weeks ahead of time), I asked for a table in a quiet corner. We were given a table directly next to the door of the restaurant! I asked if there was another table available in a different area, and he said no they were full ... I could see empty tables elsewhere, but didn't want to cause a fuss. This is a small old house and what would have been the small living room - had 3 tables of four .. directly next to this area through a wide doorway was the dining room area with a huge table with about 14 seated that was VERY loud. That, combined with sitting next to the front door with people coming in and going out made for a very chaotic and unpleasant atmosphere for us. The service was good when we first arrived, but after it got busy, it was as if we were not even there. We had to ask the "host" to please get our waiter so we could get our check. On the upside, the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.