About Bistro Jeanty

6510 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

In everyday French life, it is the Bistro that is woven into the daily pattern of meals and celebrations. The only French owned and operated restaurant in Napa Valley, Bistro Jeanty has been received by patrons from all over as a true French bistro. The warm interior is a reflection of the casual elegance you find in every meal. Classic dishes such as Mussels au vin rouge, Cassoulet, or of course Philippe’s famed Tomato soup make you feel as if you really have traveled into the French countryside. From all of us here at Bistro Jeanty we invite you to come and share in the excitement of dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 944-0103

Website:
http://bistrojeanty.com/

Parking Details:
Bistro Jeanty has a few designated spots for the restaurant as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Jeanty

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Jeanty
Bistro Jeanty
Bone Marrow
Escargot
coq au vin
French Onion Soup
Tomato Soup En Croute
French Food. I Forget What.
boeuf bourguignon
Salade De Betteraves
Hericote Vert Salad With Goat Cheese
Beef Bourguignon
Daube de Boeuf
Warm Lamb's Tongue Salad
Foie gras Torchon
Macaroni and Cheese
Salade Lyonnaise
Quenelle De Brochet
Creamy Potato Gratin
Tarte Tartin
Foie Gras With Pork Belly
Apple Tartin
Cassoulet
vino
Smoked salmon
Lentils With Confit Pork Belly And Foie
Slow Roasted Pork Shoulder With Brussel Spouts
Braised Guinea Fowl, Mushroom Stuffing, Mashed Potatoes
Beef Stew
Pike Dumplings In Lobster Sauce
Mumm Napa Brut Rose Sparkling Wine
Parisian Tea
pate de campagne
Cornichons
Crepe Suzette
tarte tatin
mushroom risotto
Lobster Spegetti
Friture D’éperlans
Butternut Squash Soup
Pieds De Cochon Persillés
Puff Pastry Tomato Soup
Tarte Tatin with Creme Fraiche
Close Up Of  Pieds De Cochon Persillés
Pitcher of Bistro Red Wine
Crepes Susette
Grilled Sea Bass with Ratatouille
Rabit Wrapped With Bacon Over Pasta With Mushroom Sauce
Bistro Jeanty
Tomato Soup With Puff Pastry
Brussel Sprouts And Bacon
Scargots
Plats Du Jour
Steak Au Poivre
Moules Frites
Epaule De Porc
Creme de Tomate En Croute
Chocolate Creme Brulee
Fried Smelts
Artichoke Terrine
Soupe à l'oignon
Salade De Lyonnaise
Steak Frites
Hard Boiled Eggs
Venison
Side Dishes
Lemon Meringue Tart
Short Ribs
Rack of Lamb
Buttered Egg Noodles
Brillat Savarin Cheese
Plate
steak tartare
Mimosa
Apple tart
Duck foie gras pate
Escargots
Potato Croquettes
Sorbet
Lemonade
Vanilla Ice-Cream With Armagnac
House Red Pitcher
Affogato
Beignets
Butter Lemon Sole
Cheese Platter
Ratatouille
Beef Tartare
Pork Belly
Foie gras pate
Entrecote Frites
Steamed Mussels
Bread
Braised and Roasted Pig's Feet
Seared Pancetta Wrapped Rabbit Loin, Morels, Asparagus, Pappardelle, Touch Of Cream
Bread Pudding
Duck Breast
Sweetbread Vol-Au-Vent
Millefuille
Mussels in White Wine Sauce

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Jeanty Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Wine Country
Most Booked
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Yountville ›

Fit for Foodies (227)
Great for Outdoor Dining (171)
Special Occasion (171)
See All
Notable Wine List (126)
Neighborhood Gem (124)
Romantic (110)
Great for Lunch (101)
Good for Groups (46)
Hot Spot (45)
Good for a Date (34)
Authentic (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Comfort Food (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Casual (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fun (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Scenic View (7)
Seasonal (6)
Fireplace (5)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent and the service s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent and the service started out that way. After the appetizers, service fell off and we felt neglected. Tables around us were being well taken care of and we were ignored. I think they forgot our main course, which I thought would have been brought to the table soon after the appetizers were cleared, but it took more than 20 minutes and by then the restaurant was only half full. The "kitchen gets backed up" and "your food will be out in a minute" excuses rang hollow. After we finished our main courses, with silverware placed in our empty plates, we still didn't get any attention and our plates weren't cleared. Very disappointing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Great French Bistro that reminds me of t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great French Bistro that reminds me of the year I spent living and working in France.

We keep coming back to Bistro Jeanty inspire of the 2 hour drive. We had pork chop with morels which was one of specials this trip. It was delicious. Generally you can't go wrong here with the specialty of the date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual French in a town with loads of go ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Casual French in a town with loads of good restaurants. Excellent onion soup and old fashioned French peasant food. I had Boeuf Bourguignon and it was delicious. Service was very rushed although we did not really have to wait for our food and the timing of the courses was correct.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Very nice little place with very good fo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice little place with very good food, excellent service etc. but a bit pricey. We were able to sit in a quieter outdoor place so that helped on the noise level.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All good but greeting was as if they are ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

All good but greeting was as if they are doing you a favor. All other service was good and meal very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I have been disappointed with Bistro Jea ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I have been disappointed with Bistro Jeanty for the last three times I've dined here. By now I've figured it out--quit going there. Mediocre favors, noisy, overpriced. Ahhhh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful family dinner celebration! Tha ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Wonderful family dinner celebration! Thank you Philipe for special treats for our family celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Been here many times and never disappoin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Been here many times and never disappointed. One of our very favorite restaurants in the world

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Horrible service which stared when the w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Horrible service which stared when the waiter didn't like my wine selection (it was too cheap, and he tried to upsell me). We were ignored for at least 20 minutes when we were ready for the check. There are many much better options in Yountville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Food and service were great. very busy ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food and service were great. very busy on a Friday night so make reservations. Classic French Bistro.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very enjoyable experience, weather permi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very enjoyable experience, weather permitting get an outside table, a lot quieter. Food presentation and taste was excellent. Rib-eye steak had too much fat. After cutting it away the portion was half the size of the original steak. Taste was very good. I would recommend to friends. Remember, its a bistro, casual gourmet dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here before in the past, this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Have been here before in the past, this visit was somewhat disappointing, the value proposition here is somewhat basic bistro food but of very high quality at a high price. The food continues to be basic but the quality in some of the dishes was sorely lacking. My wife had the steak frites and the steak was as tough as shoe leather (very high priced shoe leather), the vegetable side dishes had the quality of one being barely cooked (brussel sprouts) and one being way overcooked (tasted like they came off of a steam table). Not worth the $200+ price tab.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful environment, superb service, d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful environment, superb service, delicious menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing experience, like stepping int ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

An amazing experience, like stepping into a cafe on the streets of Paris, except with nicer waiters. Excellent food, memorable atmosphere and just a stunningness about the place that was beautiful in every way. I will definitely be returning, though with slightly fuller pockets (not a cheap place)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truffles eggs, short rib beef Bourgogne, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Truffles eggs, short rib beef Bourgogne, banana cream pie with Carmelized bananas.....yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place to have fun and enjoy grea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A great place to have fun and enjoy great food.

I would recommend this to anyone who wants to experience the valley in style.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A typical French bistro dinner. Nothing ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A typical French bistro dinner. Nothing different but all prepared well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent French bistro food, tasty and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent French bistro food, tasty and generous. Beef stew, coq au vin and sorbets were particularly good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic French food. First time having ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Fantastic French food. First time having French food and we decided to pick the 'adventurous' dishes- amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places in Napa Valle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

One of our favorite places in Napa Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely lively (aka loud) for the dinn ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Extremely lively (aka loud) for the dinner hour - it's a small space with a lot of tables packed in. Some of the food was quite good, but my main dish, the sole, was not. When we walked in a few moments early for our reservation, there were at least 10 open tables, yet we were told we would need to wait until our reservation time. For such a highly rated place, we were unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

See my Yelp review...under George M

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

See my Yelp review...under George M

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The various aromas that greeted us while ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The various aromas that greeted us while waiting on our table only made us more anxious to start the evening. Lively crowd, fun ambience good dining experience. The tomato soup en croute was the perfect starter. My sweetheart had the sole which was delicious and I had the off menu special veal chop. There was just no way to go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ok atmosphere for a bistro!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Ok atmosphere for a bistro!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Amazing food, authentic French, outstand ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing food, authentic French, outstanding service, great wines! Loved it!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have enjoyed Bistro Jesnty since 2001 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have enjoyed Bistro Jesnty since 2001. It's where we celebrate our birthdays every year. The best cassoulet & smelt. The best Tomatoe bisque & the best butter leaf salad! And the best wait people... The best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great first experience at Bistro Jeanty ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great first experience at Bistro Jeanty - it lived up to the hype! It isn't cheap so expect to spend at least 50$ per person and more with good wine. Loved the Coq Au Vin but would skip the French Onion Soup next time. It wasn't brothy enough, the cheese was and it was a bit too salty. Atmosphere and service we both lovely. We really enjoyed our small outdoor table!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very delicious way to end a day touring ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very delicious way to end a day touring . Portions were very generous and the service was friendly and prompt. We felt a little rushed with the meal...they clearly had a later reservation or two for our table, but overall it was a lovely, authentic french experience. We enjoyed sitting on the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was cooked to perfection. Excellen ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was cooked to perfection. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fabulous meal, perfect service, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Another fabulous meal, perfect service, and a fun vibe on the patio. The deviled eggs with truffle as well as the chocolate creme brûlée were to die for. My Alaskan halibut and sautéed vegetables were perfect, partner enjoyed Boeuf Bourguignon. Truly a 5-star meal experience in a casual and relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were so looking forward to our dinner ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We were so looking forward to our dinner meal at this iconic Yountville restaurant, especially the Boeuf Bourguignon, which has always been outstanding in the past. This evening was such a disappointment! The dish had no flavor whatsoever, simply bland, almost as if it had simply been boiled. Our waiter explained the normal chef wasn't there that evening, so the sous chef was preparing everything. They needed to send him back to Culinary School.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

The best meal that i have eaten in 2016 ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The best meal that i have eaten in 2016 came from Bistro Jeanty. They had a special appetizer on the menu for the season; black truffle deviled eggs. The server warned us that we wouldn't be able to eat just one order, and he was right. Following this was coq au vin, which was nothing short of amazing. After one visit, Bistro Jeanty has become a "must go" for me anytime my travels take me close enough to get there for a meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was GREAT. Beware of large po ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This place was GREAT. Beware of large portions - we had pate, tomato soup, steak frites & beef stew and it was WAY too much. it was all amazing but didn't anticipate such huge portions. Great value though & great experience!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food itself was excellent. However the f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food itself was excellent. However the food was pricey, especially the unpriced specials. Service was very poor. Perhaps overwhelmed on a bad day. Bill included an extra bottle of wine that was not ordered. But on the positive side, the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Very country French and very delicious! ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Very country French and very delicious! Our server paced the meal well and we enjoyed everything we ordered. We will definitely return when we are back in the wine country.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is fine just not Great. The At ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food is fine just not Great. The Atmosphere was fine just not Great. The service was very Good just not "Excellant". The price was high for "fine" , "fine" , and "very Good"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was amazing and overall an awesome ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was amazing and overall an awesome restaurant. Our server totally ruined our experience. I took my wife for our 5th anniversary and let the restaurant know it was our anniversary. Our server walked up to our table and the first thing he said was "Happy Anniversary, let's get you a drink to celebrate! Do you want sparkling wine or champagne?"

My wife and I were very flattered and although neither of us wanted it, we thought it was a nice gesture so we obliged and ordered some sparkling wine. I didn't truly expect the restaurant to cover the full amount, but after the way it was presented, it seemed like they would comp something. Neither of us thought to ask if we would be charged, so we ordered it and enjoyed the drinks.

The bill came and we were charged $19/glass for the wine. Additionally, my wife ordered another glass of wine because we wanted to be appreciative of the nice gesture, and she didn't want that wine either.

We were totally upsold a drink that we did not want and it ruined the meal. To make things worse, I found a manager on the way out and after explaining the situation, he asked me who our server was. I pointed out the server and the manager looked at me and said "Sorry about that" and dismissed me.

This is not a cheap restaurant and the food is great, but this is totally unacceptable behavior. We would have never ordered the sparkling wine if we had known it would cost $40 and would have had an incredible experience. The manager's indifference made it that much worse. Be careful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We stopped at Bistro Jeanty for a lunch ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We stopped at Bistro Jeanty for a lunch date while in Napa Valley. The food was incredible and the service was exceptional! We had the French onion soup, escargot, and the rib eye steak frites... Absolutely amazing! Make reservations to avoid having to wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the dishes were delicious. It was a ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

All the dishes were delicious. It was a busy weekend so it felt cramped. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.