About Bistro Jeanty

6510 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

In everyday French life, it is the Bistro that is woven into the daily pattern of meals and celebrations. The only French owned and operated restaurant in Napa Valley, Bistro Jeanty has been received by patrons from all over as a true French bistro. The warm interior is a reflection of the casual elegance you find in every meal. Classic dishes such as Mussels au vin rouge, Cassoulet, or of course Philippe’s famed Tomato soup make you feel as if you really have traveled into the French countryside. From all of us here at Bistro Jeanty we invite you to come and share in the excitement of dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 944-0103

Website:
http://bistrojeanty.com/

Parking Details:
Bistro Jeanty has a few designated spots for the restaurant as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Jeanty

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Jeanty
Bistro Jeanty
Bone Marrow
Escargot
coq au vin
French Onion Soup
Tomato Soup En Croute
boeuf bourguignon
Salade De Betteraves
Daube de Boeuf
Beef Bourguignon
Hericote Vert Salad With Goat Cheese
Warm Lamb's Tongue Salad
Foie gras Torchon
Macaroni and Cheese
Salade Lyonnaise
Quenelle De Brochet
Creamy Potato Gratin
Foie Gras With Pork Belly
Apple Tartin
Tarte Tartin
Smoked salmon
vino
Lentils With Confit Pork Belly And Foie
Cassoulet
Slow Roasted Pork Shoulder With Brussel Spouts
Beef Stew
Braised Guinea Fowl, Mushroom Stuffing, Mashed Potatoes
Pike Dumplings In Lobster Sauce
Mumm Napa Brut Rose Sparkling Wine
Parisian Tea
Cornichons
pate de campagne
Epaule De Porc
Steak Au Poivre
Moules Frites
Crepe Suzette
tarte tatin
mushroom risotto
Lobster Spegetti
Friture D’éperlans
Butternut Squash Soup
Pieds De Cochon Persillés
Puff Pastry Tomato Soup
Tarte Tatin with Creme Fraiche
Close Up Of  Pieds De Cochon Persillés
Pitcher of Bistro Red Wine
Grilled Sea Bass with Ratatouille
Crepes Susette
Rabit Wrapped With Bacon Over Pasta With Mushroom Sauce
Bistro Jeanty
Tomato Soup With Puff Pastry
Brussel Sprouts And Bacon
Scargots
Plats Du Jour
Creme de Tomate En Croute
Artichoke Terrine
Chocolate Creme Brulee
Fried Smelts
Soupe à l'oignon
Salade De Lyonnaise
Steak Frites
Hard Boiled Eggs
Venison
Side Dishes
Short Ribs
Lemon Meringue Tart
Brillat Savarin Cheese
Rack of Lamb
Plate
Buttered Egg Noodles
Mimosa
steak tartare
Apple tart
Duck foie gras pate
Escargots
Potato Croquettes
House Red Pitcher
Vanilla Ice-Cream With Armagnac
Sorbet
Lemonade
Affogato
Beignets
Butter Lemon Sole
Cheese Platter
Ratatouille
Beef Tartare
Foie gras pate
Pork Belly
Entrecote Frites
Steamed Mussels
Bread
Braised and Roasted Pig's Feet
Seared Pancetta Wrapped Rabbit Loin, Morels, Asparagus, Pappardelle, Touch Of Cream
Duck Breast
Bread Pudding
Sweetbread Vol-Au-Vent
House Smoked Trout With Potatoes And Frisee
Mussels in White Wine Sauce
Millefuille

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Jeanty Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Wine Country
Most Booked
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Yountville ›

fit for foodies (287)
special occasion (202)
great for outdoor dining (197)
See All
notable wine list (157)
neighborhood gem (143)
great for lunch (139)
romantic (123)
good for groups (66)
hot spot (53)
great for brunch (39)
kid-friendly (21)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
scenic view (11)
Sort By:
Newest
4145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food good. Hostess extremely unfriendly ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food good. Hostess extremely unfriendly - made us feel unwelcome. Better places to experience in Yountville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We had a wonderful time and had the best ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful time and had the best (always) French food last night. Coq Au Vin paired with egg noodles, Mussels, pork shoulder and Beef Bourguinon - Yummmm! Always consistent! These are our faves when we come here (since 2012). Our server was Jair - he's the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I enjoyed Bistro Jeanty rece ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I enjoyed Bistro Jeanty recently. We got exactly what we expected - solid French comfort food prepared in a bistro that is as good or better than any bistro I've been to in Lyon or Paris. We had the sole and cassoulet with the butter lettuce salad and steak tartare for starters. The service was perfect. The only off note on the evening was when I tried to get a crepe au chocolate for dessert instead of the crepe suzette on the menu. No custom orders. That seems a little...much...for a bistro especially when I was willing to pay extra, but it is their kitchen and you can't really dispute their right to do what they think is best. The food and service is outstanding here, no question. Like classic bistro food? It gets no better than Bistro Jeanty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very attentive service. Very good food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very attentive service. Very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was not a good visit. Very loud insid ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was not a good visit. Very loud inside and out. Service was just ok most servers looked tired and irritated Drinks tasted mildewed Food was ok. I would not recomend this place. It was a disapointment. The guy with the green pants was one of the friendlier staffmembers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Visited the last two times my wife and I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Visited the last two times my wife and I were in the area. We just recreated our first experience we liked it so much: sat at the bar, ordered the Crispy Smelts and the Steak Tartare and washed it down with a carafe of Chablis. Unbelievable! So tasty and perfect for lunch on a warm summer day. We'll be back again soon to do it all over again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THE FOOD, CONSISTENTLY GREAT. LOVE ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

LOVE THE FOOD, CONSISTENTLY GREAT. LOVE THE SETTING, SERVICE. HATE THE NOISE

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic bistro menu, very well executed. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Classic bistro menu, very well executed. Pleasant outdoor seating. Helpful server who had good knowledge of wines.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had dinner July 22 after a day wine tast ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had dinner July 22 after a day wine tasting in Napa. Overall good experience, was pleased there is a dining room behind the "front" dining room as every table was booked and noise was moderate to loud. My wife had the Tomato Soup which is highly recommended, isn't standard fare for dinner but trust me, try it, the puff pastry on top makes the presentation unique, be careful it also keeps the soup very hot... the wait staff was accommodating, efficient and friendly. good bread. app and dinner portions are mod to large, you shouldn't leave hungry. The food wasn't the best we had this week, but its a solid A. If you can't get into Keller's 2 spots in Yountville, Bistro Jeanty is an excellent alternative.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall, Bistro Jeanty was very good, al ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Overall, Bistro Jeanty was very good, although, we were stuck in a hot place in the corner with the sun blaring in our faces. I got up and adjusted the shade so it wasn't blaring on me any more, because we were getting little attention from the server.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Birstro is a must any time I am in N ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The Birstro is a must any time I am in Nappa. Depending upon who I am with, my wife alone or group of business associates, the Bistro never let's me down and always gives me a lift!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Jeanty is probably has one of the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Bistro Jeanty is probably has one of the most creative chefs in the Napa Valley. Almost every dish that comes out of the kitchen is a delight, which makes it difficult not wanting to share everyone else's plate on the table.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in the Yo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the Yountville; have been going there for years and

it's always a go to place when I have company. It's consistent both in quality of food

served and wait staff friendliness. Never rushed. An added bonus is their daily specials

so the menu, is always changing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bistro Jeanty is a fantastic place. The ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Bistro Jeanty is a fantastic place. The service is friendly, the wine list has variety and the food is great! We have been here many times and will continue to visit this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic! Always eat here w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Always eat here when visiting the Napa area!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Been there often and everything is consi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Been there often and everything is consistently outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing noteworthy.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nothing noteworthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The hosted was rude, we were seated in a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The hosted was rude, we were seated in a cramped corner, although other seating was available. And whatever was on on the special (fried pig feet) made the entire restaurant smell unpleasant. The waiter was sweet and attentive, but wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a great meal and impeccable servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a great meal and impeccable service. The escargot is delicious and the sole is fantastic. Don't forget to try the mussels, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had was outstanding, I had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything we had was outstanding, I had the Flamiche aux Poireaux (quiche) with salad and a carafe (250 ml) of Gary Farrell Pinot Noir, just perfect

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best tomato soup ever! True French bistr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best tomato soup ever! True French bistro dining at its best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had dined at Bistro Jeanty for the tom ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had dined at Bistro Jeanty for the tomato soup and was so delighted I wanted to come back and bring my husband and children. I dined for lunch and sat inside because the outside was full and I was so delighted we sat inside. The atmosphere was so quaint and welcoming. I ordered the tomato soup and let my son have some. He stated it was the best soup he ever tasted. It was an overall wonderful experience. We will definitely be back. It is so wonderful and such a lasting impression and great experience. Thank you to all the staff and all the chefs.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, very accomoding. Upscale ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food, very accomoding.

Upscale atmosphere & attentive !

I highly recommend the restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant. Authentic Fren ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We love this restaurant. Authentic French Food with great outdoor space if you want to bring your dog for lunch. My wife got sick about 6 hours after dinner, but we're not sure if it was a result of the sole on a Monday night or something else that day . It smelled and tasted fine at the time, but it does reinforce my "no fish on Monday" rule. Also the waiter said the chef was unwilling to substitute anything for the green beans with my dish although several side items were at the same price or lower. Disappointing given the prices, but does fit with the "Authentic French Chef" experience . Overall, we do like the restaurant and will likely return. But they could make it a better experience and with the strong competition nearby they may want to think about that.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fantastic as usual, but the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was fantastic as usual, but the service this time was exceptional! I was expecting good service, but I was blown away by our waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and excellent wines under $10 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food and excellent wines under $100. Can't rave enough about pork shoulder - absolutely perfect. Beef Bourgeon, excellent as usual. Salads and starters first rate as usual. The orange crepe sets off an excellent meal. Our companions were impressed with this bit of France in the Napa Valley. Service was incredibly friendly and always professional. Excellent experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always come back to Bistro Jeantty w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We always come back to Bistro Jeantty when ever we are in town. We always order the steak tartare the Lyonnaise salad and the smoked salmon.

Fabulous. That is why we keep returning again and again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband got very sick from the mussel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My husband got very sick from the mussels. When I called the restaurant to report that the girl who answered the phone didn't seem to know what to do so I asked her to tell management and the chef. No apologies were offered to me nor was there any follow up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We loved our waiter and sitting outside. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We loved our waiter and sitting outside. The prices are just crazy high for what you

get. But I am sure there are many folks with a business credit card who might find all of this just fine. In comparison, a restaurant in Napa called ZuZu's offers a more satisfying meal.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Waiter was ok...Not really friendly or u ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Waiter was ok...Not really friendly or unfriendly, just blah. The steak and frites were great! The beef with mashed potatoes and carrots was tasteless and we should have sent it back to the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great service and delicious food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we were in Napa for our 50th Anniversary ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

we were in Napa for our 50th Anniversary, and we decided to meet friends who live part time in St. Helena. they suggested Bistro Jeanty, and since we hadn't been there in years, we decided that was a good idea. our meals were exceptional, and our waiter was very attentive and informative. absolutely perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to Bistro Jeanty almost ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I've been going to Bistro Jeanty almost as long as it's been open and it has never disappointed. This lunch was no exception. The service was friendly and prompt and not intrusive. The tomato soup was as delicious as ever; full of fresh tomato flavor and creamy but not overly rich. The Cafoutis we had for dessert was divine. I can't wait to go back and dream of living in Yountville so it could be my neighborhood place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our worst dining experience in ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was our worst dining experience in Napa during our 4 day visit to the area. The waiter was clearly bored with his job, and had no energy. While appetizers came out quickly, the wait for our main dish was over 45 minutes, and then it came out lukewarm. The bouillabaisse was very disappointing with small portion, and overcooked meat. My wife's sole was drowning in butter. I think they have fallen victim of their success as a tourist destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent dinner at a reasonable price. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent dinner at a reasonable price. Service was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's a lovely restaurant. The onion sou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

It's a lovely restaurant. The onion soup was fabulous, the rest was only fair.

Had beef stew and sole. Both were simply average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My husband and I couldn't wait for our e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My husband and I couldn't wait for our evening at Bistro Jeanty. What a disappointment!

We were happy to be seated in a quiet and pretty area by the fireplace. When our waitress finally arrived at our table she informed us that the dinner special we wanted was no longer available and it was only 7:00! I have to say the Salad de Betteraves was beautifully plated and delicious. My Boeuf Bourguigon was very good but my husband's Filet au Poivre was overcooked and dry. Our coffee was lukewarm and the sorbet, when it finally arrived, was fair. Our waitress seemed to be doing us a favor. She was unfriendly and inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

It took us 2.5 hours to have a meal at t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

It took us 2.5 hours to have a meal at this restaurant. Either the kitchen is not prepared to handle the load or the waiters have no attention when placing orders. Likely the latter because several tables that arrived after us were long gone and we were still waiting for our dinner. Food is OK. Nothing bad but nothing wonderful. The long wait ruined our day in the wine country though. It looked like the staff is not well trained there. I would not come back to this restaurant nor recommend it. High risk of closing the day with a bad note. There are plenty other places to eat in Napa where service is reasonable competent and you will have a fine experience, this is not one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Just terrific, creative and very attenti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Just terrific, creative and very attentive to detail...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and we chose to vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Service was excellent and we chose to visit s 2nd time during our weeks visit. Food was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.