About Bistro Jeanty

6510 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

In everyday French life, it is the Bistro that is woven into the daily pattern of meals and celebrations. The only French owned and operated restaurant in Napa Valley, Bistro Jeanty has been received by patrons from all over as a true French bistro. The warm interior is a reflection of the casual elegance you find in every meal. Classic dishes such as Mussels au vin rouge, Cassoulet, or of course Philippe’s famed Tomato soup make you feel as if you really have traveled into the French countryside. From all of us here at Bistro Jeanty we invite you to come and share in the excitement of dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 944-0103

Website:
http://bistrojeanty.com/

Parking Details:
Bistro Jeanty has a few designated spots for the restaurant as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Jeanty

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Jeanty Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Wine Country
Most Booked
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Yountville ›

fit for foodies (287)
special occasion (194)
great for outdoor dining (160)
See All
notable wine list (153)
great for lunch (142)
neighborhood gem (140)
romantic (126)
good for groups (69)
hot spot (59)
great for brunch (45)
kid-friendly (23)
late-night find (18)
vibrant bar scene (16)
scenic view (9)
Sort By:
Newest
3997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Best Quiche ever, nice relaxed atmospher ...

Dined 3 days ago

Best Quiche ever, nice relaxed atmosphere, good staff.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

NICE LITTLE FRENCH BISTRO, BUT NOISY

Dined 4 days ago

This is our third time to Bistro Jeanty. Perhaps we just got them on an off night, but it was really crowded and loud. We sat next to a large celebration of 8 and another party of 6, the wait staff was overwhelmed and we got very indifferent service. The escargot, which we have had before, was not very flavorful, we had the French onion soup, which was very little soup, mostly cheese and bread, my partners Coq a Vin was good, but my dish was so unmemorable that I don't even remember what I had. Perhaps we will try a different place next time we are in town.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly Place

Dined 4 days ago

WE have dined here over the years and the experience is always good. The atmosphere is easy--even more if your outside on a warm afternoon or a Summer evening. This is a local restaurant with a French finish on many of the dishes, and if your ever there when the veal chop (seasonal) is available, don't miss it. It is absolutely the best I have ever tasted.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service .It was amazin ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service .It was amazing experience .

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing food

Dined 7 days ago

What a great place!! Service was ok but I keep reading that. I had the tomato soup and one of the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Classically great country French

Dined 7 days ago

Second time to Biatro Jeanty a few years apart. This time we ate outdoors which had a bit of a strip mall garden area feel---different from the cozy, warm atmosphere of the small inside. Once food and drinks arrived, outside was very nice with heaters and much quieter. Service was superb; she regularly checked in to ensure we were delighted . And we were: rabbit and Coq au vin stole the show; cassoulet is a tradition but the overall effect not as great as other dishes. French onion soup to start had unique flavor. Closed out meal with most delicious orange and chocolate sorbets-- could swear was eating a dark chocolate bar! Orange was fabulous. Even our foodie guests couldn't stop raving about this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming, delicious French cuisine and memorable.

Dined 7 days ago

My friend and I were on a wine tasting trip at Napa Valley, and we both love to eat well! Bistro Jeantry was exceptional and the food is utterly delicious. We both agreed that we would go back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great French Cusine in Napa. Our server ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great French Cusine in Napa. Our server was Sean. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine. Food was absolutely great. We are going to keep Bistro Jeanty on our list when we return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fine meal in nice setting; second visit ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Fine meal in nice setting; second visit and just as satisfactory as the first.

food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic French bistro with excellent f ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Authentic French bistro with excellent food and service. Very good value. Great experience.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Very nice staff. Very disappointed in t ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Very nice staff. Very disappointed in the food. Steak frites was very below average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yountville is “full” of great restaurant ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Yountville is “full” of great restaurants, but Bistro Jeanty is definitively on the podium!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was delicious. Had the mussels, whi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was delicious. Had the mussels, which was generous. The scallops special were delicious. Ate outside and it was comfy, spacious and perfect noise level.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in Californi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of the best restaurants in California! French food at its best and worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the food is always good traditional fren ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

the food is always good traditional french - nothing too experimental - good service -

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a drink at the bar before dinner. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a drink at the bar before dinner. Bartender was informative. Dinner was on the patio. Wonderful food and wine. The waiter was Matthew. He was delightful and very caring to an elderly woman. Not sure who the horrible waiter was, but we had the best! Will return again when in Napa.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great French Food

Dined on May 14, 2016

If you like traditional French Bistro food this is your place. My wife and I stopped in for lunch and the food was so good we came back the next day for dinner. Everything we had both sittings was wonderful. The muscles and coq au von were served in the Le Cassoulet cookware the were prepared in. It is hard to rave about tomato soup but if you order it you'll understand We can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This is the first place we tried when we ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is the first place we tried when we first went to Yountville 17 years ago, and it remains a favorite. This was the first visit I've had that I wouldn't give all five star ratings to, so I'll note that in general the food, wine, and service are typically terrific here, and compared to other spots in the valley, not a bad deal at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is a fabulous French bistro. delici ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is a fabulous French bistro. delicious food. charming digs. great wine list. Reasonably priced. If located in France , Bistro Jeanty would be considered to be among France's best bistros. Wonderful time

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

About food: - regular overall - the lo ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

About food: - regular overall - the lobster dumplings were not that good, lack of meat and maybe too much creamy sauce. - bad bread for the foie gras - exceptional the angus with the pepper custard that is the best thing we had. -our waiter, a male, even though nice guy, he gave us the check without asking for it, and also bottled up our wine. - the worst coffee ever

food5
ambience4
service3

The service was poor just because she ha ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The service was poor just because she had way to many people to serve. Its seems like this is a trend in Napa. Had an 8, 4, and 3 duces. Seriously.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Yountville

Dined on May 11, 2016

Jeanty is located in Yountville, where you may find the 3 stared Michelin restaurant The French Laundry. Jeanty has also a sort of a french vibe and the food is good and very well served (which is not frenchy)... The place is cozy, has a nice outdoor area and is OK but the service is a bit careless and too focused on money gaining... If you don't mind...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Classic French Menu

Dined on May 11, 2016

We went to Bistro Jeanty During her recent stay in Napa Valley. I was looking for provincial French. Score. Highlights: Excellent bottled wine list With the added bonus of A few dozen wines by the glass or carafe. The following selection of dishes were perfectly executed and I would rate them among the best versions I've sampled/prepared In the course of a long kitchen career Pike dumplings in lobster sauce Poached foie gras (something I normally Dislike was delicious) Petrale sole fish sticks Veal chop Special Beef Bourguignon With short ribs Coq au vin: my personal favorite Potato Gratin Ratatouille More than several other dishes at the table that I didn't taste and can't recall receive not a single complaint from our moderately sized party. Though not cheap eats, the price was more than reasonable compared to the usual Napa Valley markup. Our party ate dinner for about $100 per person including 1-2 drinks, appetizer, salad, entrée, a couple shared desserts and tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

cozy local gem

Dined on May 9, 2016

Definitely try the tomato soup, so tasty but very rich, left little room for my dinner. Had best scallops that we had ever had, and we order scallops frequently.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great French Experience!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and selections! Service to match. Nice spot for special occasions or weekly dining. Give it a try!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service2

The server was very curt and disgruntled ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The server was very curt and disgruntled when we first arrived and she eventually got better as the night progressed

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was absolutely incredible and the service was even better!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

never a miss

Dined on May 7, 2016

Always wonderful! Monsieur Jeanty has done a wonderful job with this restaurant as the food is always consistently excellent! And, unlike places like Bouchon or Bottega, one can almost always get in without a lot of wait. The charm of the decor will take you straight to France! This is one place everyone should try at least once (or more)whether visiting or a bay area local.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisitely prepared traditional French ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Exquisitely prepared traditional French cuisine served in a welcoming casual environment. Excellent wine list.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My favorite French Bistro

Dined on May 5, 2016

Bistro Jeanty has been my favorite French Bistro for over 10 years. Best authentic French country fare: Cassoulet, Coq au Vin, delicately fried smelt, fantastic wine list with local wines as well as treasures from the Old World. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always so good!

Dined on May 5, 2016

We eat at Bistro Jeanty each visit to the area and it is reliably delicious with expert service. Delicious beef bourgundy, salads, and it was fun to stop in midafternoon for the fresh oysters and a glass of wine,

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Slipping

Dined on May 5, 2016

Just what I think a French Bistro should look like, and I was looking forward to their wonderful tomato soup. I was dismayed to discover that after I broke through the golden pastry crust that covered the bowl and tasted the bisque, the overpowering flavor was basil. After that I hoped the filet of sole would wow me, but although it was good, it wasn't great. The service was prompt and friendly. I guess I was looking for great food and got average.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, Bistro Jeanty never disappoints!

Dined on May 3, 2016

As always, Bistro Jeanty never disappoints in serving up fresh, quality and well presented Country French food in bucolic Yountville. Service is seamless and the outdoor patio even accommodates our two little furry kiddos. What more can one asks for...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1

Food was beautiful and delicious. Unfort ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was beautiful and delicious. Unfortunately the server was putting on the French attitude. When by boyfriend ordered an appetizer, I then ordered my main dish. The waiter looked at me saying "the sole as your appetizer?" Seriously? Attitude was not appreciated.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Ate dinner here 2 out of 3 n ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Great food. Ate dinner here 2 out of 3 nights. Coq Au Vin was incredible.

food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was spectacular. He explained eve ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Waiter was spectacular. He explained everything on the menu. The food was fabulous. Only complaint I might have was the $25 corkage charge.

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Amazing food!

food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Service killed it for us

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Very good food - nothing to complain about there. Some beautiful and innovative dishes we very much enjoyed. Our server, however, was noticeably unwilling to warm up to us and came off as somewhat patronizing -like he was putting on a show for the revolving door of customers. We understand 'being professional' and 'businesslike' in a busy restaurant, but he even made a couple mistakes at the end of the evening... so, we probably won't go back - not for awhile at least. At this price we expect better. This was our 4th visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Still has fabulous traditional French fo ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Still has fabulous traditional French food. Hard not to order more than you can eat. A must stop when near Yountville.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

IAlways go there when I visit Napa

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food is excellent and you can trust the servers to pair with the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.