About Bistro Jeanty

6510 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

In everyday French life, it is the Bistro that is woven into the daily pattern of meals and celebrations. The only French owned and operated restaurant in Napa Valley, Bistro Jeanty has been received by patrons from all over as a true French bistro. The warm interior is a reflection of the casual elegance you find in every meal. Classic dishes such as Mussels au vin rouge, Cassoulet, or of course Philippe’s famed Tomato soup make you feel as if you really have traveled into the French countryside. From all of us here at Bistro Jeanty we invite you to come and share in the excitement of dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 944-0103

Website:
http://bistrojeanty.com/

Parking Details:
Bistro Jeanty has a few designated spots for the restaurant as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Jeanty

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Jeanty
Bistro Jeanty
Bone Marrow
Escargot
coq au vin
French Onion Soup
Tomato Soup En Croute
boeuf bourguignon
French Food. I Forget What.
Salade De Betteraves
Hericote Vert Salad With Goat Cheese
Beef Bourguignon
Daube de Boeuf
Warm Lamb's Tongue Salad
Foie gras Torchon
Macaroni and Cheese
Salade Lyonnaise
Quenelle De Brochet
Creamy Potato Gratin
Foie Gras With Pork Belly
Apple Tartin
Tarte Tartin
vino
Smoked salmon
Lentils With Confit Pork Belly And Foie
Cassoulet
Slow Roasted Pork Shoulder With Brussel Spouts
Beef Stew
Braised Guinea Fowl, Mushroom Stuffing, Mashed Potatoes
Pike Dumplings In Lobster Sauce
Mumm Napa Brut Rose Sparkling Wine
Parisian Tea
pate de campagne
Cornichons
Epaule De Porc
Steak Au Poivre
Moules Frites
Crepe Suzette
tarte tatin
mushroom risotto
Lobster Spegetti
Friture D’éperlans
Butternut Squash Soup
Pieds De Cochon Persillés
Puff Pastry Tomato Soup
Tarte Tatin with Creme Fraiche
Close Up Of  Pieds De Cochon Persillés
Pitcher of Bistro Red Wine
Crepes Susette
Grilled Sea Bass with Ratatouille
Rabit Wrapped With Bacon Over Pasta With Mushroom Sauce
Bistro Jeanty
Tomato Soup With Puff Pastry
Brussel Sprouts And Bacon
Scargots
Plats Du Jour
Creme de Tomate En Croute
Chocolate Creme Brulee
Fried Smelts
Artichoke Terrine
Soupe à l'oignon
Salade De Lyonnaise
Steak Frites
Hard Boiled Eggs
Venison
Side Dishes
Short Ribs
Lemon Meringue Tart
Rack of Lamb
Buttered Egg Noodles
Brillat Savarin Cheese
Plate
steak tartare
Mimosa
Duck foie gras pate
Escargots
Apple tart
Potato Croquettes
Sorbet
Lemonade
Vanilla Ice-Cream With Armagnac
House Red Pitcher
Affogato
Beignets
Butter Lemon Sole
Cheese Platter
Ratatouille
Beef Tartare
Pork Belly
Foie gras pate
Entrecote Frites
Steamed Mussels
Bread
Braised and Roasted Pig's Feet
Seared Pancetta Wrapped Rabbit Loin, Morels, Asparagus, Pappardelle, Touch Of Cream
Bread Pudding
Duck Breast
Sweetbread Vol-Au-Vent
House Smoked Trout With Potatoes And Frisee
Millefuille

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Jeanty Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Wine Country
Most Booked
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Yountville ›

Fit for Foodies (245)
Great for Outdoor Dining (182)
Special Occasion (175)
See All
Notable Wine List (133)
Neighborhood Gem (131)
Great for Lunch (120)
Romantic (108)
Good for Groups (54)
Hot Spot (49)
Great for Brunch (30)
Kid-friendly (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (7)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I made a reservation on open table for 9 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

I made a reservation on open table for 9pm which we were on time, the hostess was rude and wanted me to sit right by the main door entrance while the restaurant was only at 55% full. We requested to sit in the back room and was told to wait 15 extra minute, for what reason I have no idea. While she selected the worst seat for us, we took it upon ourselves to move near the fireplace which was much quainter. We had the tomato soup and roasted bone marrow which was delicious, but the beef stew and mussels were overcooked and over seasoned.... dinner went down hill from there. This used to be a great place to eat, but not anymore... Go to Bouchon or Don Giovanni!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was very good especially the beet s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good especially the beet salad. Server oversold the veal chop, it had good flavor and cook perfect, too much grissle through center of chop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have been to Bistro Jeanty several tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have been to Bistro Jeanty several times and have enjoyed it each time. Great food, and great service. It's my go-to restaurant when I'm near Yountville!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice atmosphere and a great cuisine, gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Nice atmosphere and a great cuisine, great for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious! Bistro Jeanty is my favorite ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious! Bistro Jeanty is my favorite restaurant in Napa and never fails to impress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We often visit Bistro Jeanty when stayin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We often visit Bistro Jeanty when staying in Napa Valley as it is one of our staples. As usual last Friday night we were not disappointed. The heirloom tomatoes were great and my wife has the cassoulet which was solid (though she has better) and I had the veal chop special (which we had never seen on the menu before) which was excellent. The server was good once he realized we were there to relax, enjoy ourselves, and not rush through the meal. The Chateauneuf-du-Pape we had was great.Very good time as usual.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been twice now and this one was eve ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

I've been twice now and this one was even better. I read wait staff can come off snobby and while I can see why folks would say that- I feel they're misunderstood. I enjoyed our guy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. Fantastic service. Great ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food. Fantastic service. Great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We lo ved it! Felt like bring in Paris

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We lo ved it! Felt like bring in Paris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The staff were excellent and knowledgeab ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

The staff were excellent and knowledgeable. The oysters were great and the bread kept coming. I wish we had enquired about the special prices, before ordering as were surprised at the cost of a basic salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Best meal in Yountville! My wife and I t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Best meal in Yountville! My wife and I thought it was better than Redd.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were looking forward to a nice dinner ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were looking forward to a nice dinner since people raved about the food! It was just okay. We were not impressed! We live in a New England state that has outstanding fresh seafood. My fish dish-halibut-was not of good quality and over cooked!! My husband's tomato soup was good but not fantastic and his beef bourguignon was also good but not quite what we expected given the reviews of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Have been going here for years. Always ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

Have been going here for years. Always return for their petrale sole, ratatouille and dessert. Always good-

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great French bistro atmosphere will wond ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great French bistro atmosphere will wonderful classic dishes.

Wonderful wait staff. This is a do not miss experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Superb as always

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Superb as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid as usual! Had an excellent Veal Ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Solid as usual! Had an excellent Veal Chop special but everything is great. Great authentic French Bistro!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Sean expertly and humorously ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Our waiter Sean expertly and humorously guided us through dining experience. Each of us was pleased by our meal choices, with each course outdoing the other. The French cuisine was authentic and abundantly served. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Bistro Jeanty! We are Napa loca ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We love Bistro Jeanty! We are Napa locals and it is our favorite restaurant. Beats the French Laundry!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our server! He made our evening ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We loved our server! He made our evening wonderful. We felt like we were in France having a leisurely dinner. He even gave us a great suggestion on preparing brussel sprouts with Gorgonzola, yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, a little bit more cr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food was excellent, a little bit more crowded than anticipated. Service good also

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A longtime favorite. Authentic country F ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

A longtime favorite. Authentic country French cuisine, done the way Mama used to do it. We had crispy pigs feet, lambs tongue salad and quenelles in lobster sauce, all spectacular. We also had fois gras torchon, which went well beyond spectacular into the divine category. For wine we had a very nice Sancerre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place but it would be nice ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We love this place but it would be nice if they had prices on "specials" board. I was not expecting my veal chop to be $52. Next time I will ask!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We've always enjoyed Bistro Jeanty and w ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We've always enjoyed Bistro Jeanty and wanted to share the experience with our daughter and her fiancé. This was the opportunity and we weren't disappointed. The fried smelt is a MUST every time. The foie gras, escargots, steak tartare, pancetta-wrapped rabbit, lamb tongue & potato salad, and the pork shoulder were all superb!!!! The staff were professional AND personable. They were attentive and served each course with pride (well deserved) and pleasure. The four of us shared each of the three courses we ordered and the servers were happy to provide four new settings for each course. It is definitely not au revoir because a bientot! See you soon! Merci beaucoup!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little salty my taste But service good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Little salty my taste

But service good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Crisp pigs feet under a tightly balanced ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Crisp pigs feet under a tightly balanced mustard vinaigrette, preceded by lambs tongues tossed with potatoes, all chased by 500ml of Chappellet's newest Chard: What more could a fellow ask? Not much, excepting a more comfortable seat and less gab from our server. Jeanty is its own destination in a town where Keller's Olympian shadow is ubiquitous. Well done et Manger La Vie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Friday night dining with Bistro Jeanty w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Friday night dining with Bistro Jeanty was a Pleasure!

I had the Moules and they were huge - sweet and yummy, more than I could eat!

My hubby had the Steak Frittes with Bernaise Sauce and he loved it.

Our guest had the Sole Meuniere was very pleased.

We each had lovely beginning salads with a Peach Galette ala mode to share at the end.

We don't go as often as we'd like so this was a definite treat - we'll be back so my hubby is able to have steak frittes again!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in the wo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was amazing and the staff was very ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was amazing and the staff was very friendly and well-versed on menu and wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

chairs were extremely uncomfortable and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

chairs were extremely uncomfortable and the floor of the outdoor patio is actually slightly slanted to one side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

wonderful restaurant! amazing food and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

wonderful restaurant! amazing food and friendly service! The only thing is the restautant the way too small. So it is a bit noisy. However. The food is so delicious! Highly recommended!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. We were really look ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very disappointing. We were really looking forward to it, but unfortunately we got a waiter that was clearly just looking to pad the bill with wine recommendations and the food was not up to expectations. My wife could not eat hers at all. We are pretty dedicated foodies, and with a Zagat food score of 4.7 and a recommendation from a local we figured it would be a special meal I will say, the manager was extremely gracious about it and did not charge us for entrees and was apologetic. For that we will give it another try, but had to be honest on our review for this visit. Place was full and everyone seemed pretty happy. Maybe just a bad luck of the draw for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We enjoyed our lunch very much. I had th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch very much. I had the Petrale sole and it was excellent. My husband had the beef stew, he liked his also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Will definitely return. Really enjoyed ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Will definitely return. Really enjoyed the seafood dishes and appetizers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good but it was served ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was very good but it was served warm which I have to assume was because it sat for awhile after it was prepared. Unfortunately the server did not check with us until we had completed our meal so we could not tell him about it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I thought the food was good, but the sca ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I thought the food was good, but the scallops were overpriced ($36 for 3 large scallops), and the beef bourguignon lacked sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had to give just three stars... I ordere ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Had to give just three stars...

I ordered the grilled veal chop, and it was delightful. However, my fiance ordered a filet mignon, medium rare. The filet was delivered well done and quite grey, not grilled. We never send food back, but because of the price, we did. Unfortunately, we had to wait almost 35 mins for the steak to come. I stopped eating my chop to wait for my fiance's dinner to come back and by the time it came back, my chop was cold and the succulent drippings had solidified. We were left sitting for around 20 mins until I waved down another waiter and she very promptly voiced our concerns to our waiter, who unfortunately showed a lack of urgency. Overall, I was disappointed with our service and the wait for the second filet. On a side note, an offer of a cappuccino, a few dollars of the meal or a dessert would have gone a long way in trying to make up for the let down - this was never offered.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I think the food was great but was disap ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I think the food was great but was disappointed with the service. I had made reservations ahead of time noting that it was my mother's 60th birthday. Upon arrival, my mother went to use the restroom while the hostess sat me to my table and told me she would escort my mother once she came out of the restroom. The hostess ended up not recognizing my mother and therefore my mother stood in the small lobby for 15 minutes while I waited at the table. The hostess apologized, which was fine but then I reminded her it was my mother's birthday and she said that they would put a candle on the dessert we decided on. When the dessert came, there was no candle or acknowledgement, which again was really disappointing especially after seeing other tables being acknowledged for their bdays. I also had to flag the waiter for a second glass of wine and by the time I got it, i was already more than half way through the meal and the whole reason I ordered the second glass was to enjoy it with my main course.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Enjoyed Sunday lunch on the patio. Wait ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Enjoyed Sunday lunch on the patio. Wait staff efficient and knowable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant, it is my favorit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love this restaurant, it is my favorite restaurant in Napa valley. I love the food and I love sitting outside. I highly recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.