Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Bistro Foufou

Fun French bistro in the heart of downtown Traverse City

118 Cass Street
Traverse City, MI 49648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday 4-10pm


Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 421-6583

Website:
http://www.bistrofoufou.com/

Catering:
Full bar available with a large selection of wines, beer, and liquors. Restaurant catering in the French dining style with private menus available on request.

Parking Details:
Street Parking available, with downtown parking ramp...

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazaël-Massieux

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
September- May monthly wine dinner

Bistro Foufou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Cozy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tapas (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

1st time trying Bistro Fou Fou & it did not disappoint !!!!!! Would for sure go again and for anyone visiting the Glen Arbor area try the original La Becasse.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great evening with friends! We had plenty of time for talking. Server was appropriately attentive while allowing us to proceed at our pace. He provided great wine recommendations , too. Delighted with our experience !

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Bistro Foufou was ok. I'd read about this being the best restaurant in TC or in the top five. We have been to Amical many times and I think that is a better atmosphere and better food. Two of us had the seabass and my husband had a hamburger. The fries were good but not great. The seabass had an interesting nut & fennel dusting that was really good. And the fish itself was delicious and fresh. Hamburger was good but a little greasy. The back part of the bistro has a view of the kitchen that isn't very pretty.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I took my wife out for our bi-weekly date. It was a lot of fun! We enjoyed a couple of cocktails and tried the Chef's Risotto. It came with a giant scallop and had a lot of flavor. She had the duck pasta and I tried hte beef bourguignon. Everything was fantastic! Service was top notch, too.

Note that the "moderate" noise level I selected was due to the fact we chose outside (street) seating. Indoors, it is very quiet!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

this was perhaps our fifth time dining at bistro foufou. the cocktails were ok. food was less than ok and took forever to arrive at our table. the fault was not with our server, but rather with the kitchen even though the restaurant was half full. food preparation was not good either. salmon was overcooked, boulliabaise (sp) ingredients were either overcooked or undercooked etc. with all that traverse city has to offer we will not be back in the near future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Made a reservation for 6, and were seated on arrival.

Wait staff was helpful and attentive. We started with cocktails; the Aviation and Arch de Triomphe were exceptional. For the first course, we chose reliable escargot and the Plateau Provencal; everything on the dish was exceptional (could’ve used more than the 3 cornichons we got). Bread was warm and plentiful; great to sop up the drippings from the escargots, beef Bourguignon and bouillabaisse, all of which were fantastic. The serving size was enough to satisfy, but probably small by American standards. Desserts were exceptional, the sour lavender custard and crème brulee were standouts.

Would heartily recommend, with the sole caveat being that, when crowded, as it was on our visit, the dining space is not conducive to conversation with anyone not in your immediate vicinity. It gets loud.

Bottom line: the food was very good, as was the service. It was a little on the pricey side, but worth what you’re paying for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Our waiter was great. We love French food and everything was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great happy hour! However, duration of happy hour was confusing as it said 4-7pm outside but 4-6pm inside by the bar (but apparently 7pm is the correct end time). But sole bar tender seemed overworked. Reserved via Open Table and indicated we were celebrating a birthday. There was ZERO acknowledgment of the birthday - either by the receptionist who checked the reservation when we arrived or the water. Food was overall good but desserts were nothing special (and no candle in mine). Waiter wasn't very attentive - had to wait a long time for him to reappear after our meal was finished so we could get the check. And he always seemed agitated when he did appear. Interior is very pleasant and not too fancy but a LOT of the tables are crammed together so one person is facing the wall and you could be within inches of neighboring diners if it's crowded. We requested and got a table where we weren't facing the wall so that was nice. Overall good dining experience but could've been better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was my Birthday and the reservation said that...perhaps one free dessert might be nice for the Birthday person.

Thanks.
KathleenD

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Bistro Foufou is always a great place to get a tasty meal. The wine list is a nice mix and priced nicely. Nick, our server, is always outstanding. Would recommend highly

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The steak frites were the best -- we'll be back for more!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Overall I can offer you nothing better than "ok" it was simply nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our favourite in TC. Happy hour is a great value with a nice selection of appetisers and wine/beer/ cocktails. Everything on happy hour $4-7. Tim was a great server as was the bartender.
Dinner selections well done also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I love the French feel to Bistro Fou Fou. We've eaten here several times and are never disappointed. From the food to the service, everything was superb! We sat outside and people-watching was enjoyable too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had an amazing evening at Bistro Fou Fou. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding!! Thank you for a wonderful evening of celebration.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is a restaurant for the "experience", rather than value. Very pricey with small portions. Out of 5 meals, one (beef bourguignon) was actually poor...hard to eat, strange taste, missing texture...and one (coippino) included a cracked, unopened mussel (as portion sizes are small, this should have been seen in the kitchen). Salmon was excellent (caution, salty) and the duck pasta was reported excellent. The beet salad (8 bites of a beets on a plate, no greens) and ratatoullie were flavorful & enjoyable but very overpriced. Server was pleasant but didn't know how to pronounce the cheeses on the cheese board and actually stacked ALL of our plates and silverware in front of us at the table to clear it. Not the service I'd expect at a $30 a plate restaurant. Glad I tried it but likely won't return, too bad. Great atmosphere & could have been a fun place to meet friends but I wouldn't enjoy thinking of the bill at the end of my small meal which may or may not be tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Special friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was really a great place. The oysters were exactly what I wanted. The best steak frites I've had in a long time. Well done Bistro Foufou!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were really looking forward to going to this restaurant after reading reviews by others. We waited about 10 minutes after being seated ... not the 1 minute rule followed by great restaurants. My oysters were "warm" ... with trepidation, I ate them ... they were just average and no I did not get sick. Not a good choice if you want a quite place to talk and celebrate.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place! Good food great service! We will definitely be back! Good wine list too

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

On vacation; found this place after dinner the first nght. Felt compelled to try it the second night. It's not to be missed! Food was delicieuse, atmosphere perfect. Too bad I live so far away...

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Delicious. Both happy hour and dinner. Service was perfect. Food felt like Paris.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We checked out the menu ahead of time and liked what we saw. We ordered strictly from the First Course (appetizers) and two out of the three items were great. The Goat Cheese was lacking on the goat cheese and was mostly marinara style sauce. The flavor wasn't bad but with not that much goat cheese we felt the name of the dish was misleading. The cheese plate and charcuterie did not disappoint. The atmosphere was nice and the noise level was really low. We visited on a Friday night just before 6pm and it wasn't that packed out. Our server was excellent. We enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We went to FouFou for an early small plate bite during their happy hour between 4-6 pm last Friday evening. Located on Cass St. In downtown Traverse City, Michigan it had on street pay parking which we used. This afforded us some time to walk the main drag and peek into the great shoppes before and after dinner! (A parking ramp is a couple of blocks away,too...probably you would need it in the tourist season.) Now to the food...we chose to share the nutty and robust ossau iraty cheese marinated in rosemary evo, a red and yellow beet salad, walnuts, and mandarin oranges , dressing topped with parm/reg. cheese, and lastly foie gras presented in a small jam jar and accompanied with a touch of julianned apple on a bed of mixed greens. All were delicious but we did have to ask for more toasted baguettes for the foie gras...the soft bread previously served didn't work! My Pinot noir was rather pricey at $15 for the glass, but really true to it's French origin...lots of lyme !!! Our other glass of Rose was just right. The portions could have been a smidge larger for the salad and cheese (6 cubes), but we weren't that hungry then. We enjoyed to urban/bistro/olde vibe , including the painted tin ceilings, service was not rushed and where we sat in the partially separated dining area the increasing happy hour bar noise and laughter was not a problem. Check it out!!!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have always loved the food & beverages at Bustro Foufou, this visit was no different. Scott was a great server, food was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was excellent. It was an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Desserts were a bit disappointing. The rest was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The place is in a good location with easy parking for dinner time.
The food was ok, the service was fine, the prices were fine, wish it were even a little higher for a better over all food tasting and authenticity. The atmosphere was ok! 3/5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great happy hour. Calamari was tough, but everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The apps. were very good - especially the mussels and calamari, but the smoked salmon was not tasty, no flavor.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We really enjoyed the fine food and friendliness of the staff. Everything was delicious and served very beautifully .
This is a fine place and we'll be back soon.

Also important for me is a notable wine list with American, European and South American selections- all carefully chosen.
We drank a 2009 Ch Le Thil from Pessac-Leognan, which was delicious and very fairly priced.

This

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We originally stopped in for the Happy Hour which offered some excellent wines and small plates. We decided to stay on for dinner which proved to be a great decision.

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The French onion soup and mussels were great. We also very much enjoyed the charcuterie and cheese plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Noise level higher from just one St. Patty's Day noisy group. Otherwise terrific ambiance. Excellent wine choices, different from the usual. Very good food. Great place for the four of us to celebrate 3 birthdays!

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Upon a recommendation of a friend, we thought we'd give this restaurant a try. It did not disappoint! From the ambiance, the service and food..two thumbs-up from us. We'll definitely be back😬

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We went for food week. While the atmosphere and service were excellent we were disappointed in the food. my husband had the lobster and I had the beef. Neither had flavor. The wine was good and we liked our server. I wish I had better things to say about the food....we will give it another try as we love our down town businesses and will continue to support. Thank you

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We visited for restaurant week. For $30.00 a person we had a choice of salad or soup, a choice from 3 entrees & choice from 2 desserts. The 2 women got the lobster which was a barley risotto, it was good, but did not have much lobster, I also thought the barley could have been creamier. The 2 men got the beef bourguignon which they thought was delicious. Both desserts where fabulous, so rich. Our waiter was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My husband and I eat out often, and this is our favorite date-night restaurant! It's so welcoming and always delicious food. The service couldn't be improved upon.

Brenda Biederman

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The beef bourguignon was very good. We also enjoyed the cheese plate and French onion soup. Some in our party were disappointed with the steak frites. I think they ordered them too well done. Overall we were very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Bistro Fou Fou has become my wife and my favorite in Traverse City! No matter the occasion this restaurant always makes the evening feel special. The food is exceptional. The service is exceptional without being snooty. And the atmosphere is one of the most charming in northern Michigan. Bistro Fou Fou is truly the whole package, the exceptional experience you are hoping for when dining out.

Every time we come, there is a new temptation on the menu. I usually order my favorite, Steak Fritte. However, my wife usually tries something new from the menu. It never fails that we switch halfway through. The food is always spectacular! This is our favorite go to restaurant in our foodie town!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.