About Bistro Foufou

118 Cass Street
Traverse City, MI 49648
View Larger Map

Fun French bistro in the heart of downtown Traverse City

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday 4-10pm


Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 421-6583

Website:
http://www.bistrofoufou.com/

Catering:
Full bar available with a large selection of wines, beer, and liquors. Restaurant catering in the French dining style with private menus available on request.

Parking Details:
Street Parking available, with downtown parking ramp...

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazaël-Massieux

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
September- May monthly wine dinner

Bistro Foufou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
3 More
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Traverse City ›

fit for foodies (30)
special occasion (18)
notable wine list (17)
See All
romantic (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great location. My elderly step father ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great location. My elderly step father has trouble walking, but we had no problem finding a parking spot nearby. The food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful traditional and a few innovati ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful traditional and a few innovative French bistro dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great French Bistro in downtown Traverse ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great French Bistro in downtown Traverse City. It does not get any better than that! Great food; terrific service; impressive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, wonderful presentation and w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food, wonderful presentation and warm ambiance. A true hidden gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Lovely presentation. Som ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food. Lovely presentation. Some of the very best risotto!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. I look forward to Bis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I love this place. I look forward to Bistro Foufou every time I am visiting Traverse City. I can always count on a great meal with really great wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner and service. Will defin ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent dinner and service. Will definitely go back. . Bouillabaisse was outstanding. Foie gras was delicious as were the beet salad and the special risotto of the day. Memorable meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found the Bistro Foufou online and de ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We found the Bistro Foufou online and decided to try it. Our reservation was at 9 on a Friday. The restaurant was only about 1/5 occupied when we arrived. Even so, service was quite slow ... "Bistro " means "pronto" (in Russian), right? The service was also bit off - we were instructed to retain our forks between the appetizer and entree, when the server should simply have brought new forks, and the server failed to remember that we didn't want ice in our drinks.

Food was just ok. We had a first course of escargot, a goat cheese and tomatoes spread on toast, and a green salad. The salad was quite good, and the escargot were large and well-prepared. The goat cheese spread was disappointing. Two of us had steak frites as an entree - mine was only warm, but it was cooked correctly as ordered. The frites were standard fries, not the (French) bistro standard, but they were served with what seemed to be house-made mayonnaise. The third of us had trout, which came in two pieces, one of which did not taste fresh. The server said that this was the last trout meal, so maybe it wasn't their best.

The glasses of wine (an Oregon pinot noir and a Costieres de Nimes chardonnay) were good, if a bit pricey.

It wasn't busy, so the restaurant was quiet, which was nice.

We would probably return, but I don't think the restaurant measures up to its ratings and comments online. The overall cost was reasonable, but it isn't any bargain. I score it fair in service and good in the other categories provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Bistrot FouFou was a spectacular dining ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Bistrot FouFou was a spectacular dining experience. Casual but elegant. Good and wine choices were excellent. We hope to make the Traverse City area our home town and restaurants like FouFou make the choice to move much easier. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. Definitely will be back ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great as always. Definitely will be back again! !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was very delicious and the small plate format was great . All our choices were wonderful. The only complaint would be regarding the cost of the scallops, $14.00 for 2 scallops is way too much. Other than that everything was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great tapas menu. We tasted a variety o ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great tapas menu. We tasted a variety of French foods. Loved the mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eaten there many times. Always delicious ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Eaten there many times. Always delicious. I love the beet salad. Don't ever take it off the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro Foufou is a great Traverse City d ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Bistro Foufou is a great Traverse City destination. Elegant dining and fantastic food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu always has some surprises! The ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The menu always has some surprises! The extra touches make it special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went expecting a bistro, and found a brunch.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The menu listings were less impressive than I anticipated, reflecting the fact that we were there during a brunch offering, but all the food was delicious. There were three of us, and we ate and had a total of four drinks (5 with an orange juice) for $66, which I thought was quite reasonable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sure thing!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoy Bistou Foufou for the ambience & the energy, the wine list & the food - always great! The knowledgeable & attentive staff makes it happen! The oysters & cocktails are cold, cold, the steaks are rare(like, truly rare!) & the salads are ... what salads should be: crisp & balanced & sensational. This is not the usual fare. Foufou is great bistro food with flare. We like to sit at the large bar for drinks & oysters then move to a table for dinner. We've never had a miss here which makes Bistro Foufou perfect for taking friends or for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed an ( overall!) nice dining ex ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed an ( overall!) nice dining experience. Got off to a bit of a rocky start with our cocktails prepared not as we had ordered. After we explained this to our server, he righted the situation and we were good to go!

We enjoyed a duck liver pâté as a started and we were not disappointed.

We ordered remainder courses as we went and did feel pressured to order and keep the ball rolling.

Server did not share his name. Coaching from us is the please share at least your first name. This way, you're parents cannot overtake the music!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

My bookclub likes to meet at Fou Fou bis ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

My bookclub likes to meet at Fou Fou bistro because the service is always good and the food and wine is excellent. It's a great location, as it is in the downtown Traverse City bustling area, is very convenient for after work hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

bon

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Terrific food. Mussels were great. Tartare splendid andca big serving. Beet salad was special. Salmon cooked perfectly. Well done!

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Super friendly to our kids. We love that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Super friendly to our kids. We love that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Easter Brunch Was a Hit

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Brunch on Easter Sunday. They do not have a buffet but a special brunch menu on weekends. I wasn't sure if I would find anything I like since I'm not a fan of fish or seafood but I was pleasantly surprised. I couldn't decide between 4 different items and finally settled on a hearty American breakfast - eggs, potatoes, sausage and toast. My husband had the corned beef hash . Both meals were scrumptious. We had fresh squeezed orange juice and the best, most flavorful coffee I've found at any restaurant in town. Although there were no "Easter" specials on the menu, our meal was delicious and the ambiance delightful. The portions were so large, we had another filling meal the next day from our leftovers. Well done, Bistro FouFou!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dining experience

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was very good. I'm not a food expert, but I know good food:) This is it. Service pace was perfect. Will go back again and again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Fou Fou experience transports!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

A friend and I went to Bistro Fou Fou during Restaurant Week 2016, the first time for both of us. Even though they were out of Boeuf Bourguigon, we were both happy with our entrees. The half rack of lamb was well seasoned and beautifully plated. The bean soup to start was wonderful. And they should have included a spatula with the peanut butter parfait dessert - because I didn't want to leave a single trace. The atmosphere is delightful - and really conjures a European dining experience. I will definitely visit Bistrou Fou Fou again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good rack of lamb and crepe and ice ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Very good rack of lamb and crepe and ice cream

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we decided to escape and go to Trav ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

When we decided to escape and go to Traverse City for just a couple nights, I really researched restaurants that we would like . Foufou came up on every list. It offered everything we wanted....good menu, good prices, seemed unpretentious. When we got there we were so very happy. Charming place, attentive wait staff, very good food and reasonable prices. We will definitely visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our starter (foie gras--to die for) and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our starter (foie gras--to die for) and dessert (creme brulee) were the stars of the evening. The beet salad was good and was as described, with chunks of red and yellow beets with mandarin orange and ground hazelnuts--no greens. The Lyonnaise salad was rather bland, and had too much frisee for our taste. For mains, the quail (a special) was extraordinary, with wonderful flavor; the steak frites were very good. Next time I would go with the bouillabaisse, which our neighbors ordered and raved about. (It smelled wonderful.) Service pace was leisurely -- which was fine with us, it's like the French dine. Our server was attentive throughout and helpful with choices. Overall a most enjoyable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Total surprise!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our first time at Bistro Fou Fou and it was Valentines weekend so I was nervous. We had a marvelous time. The place is beautiful. The service is top notch. And the food was outstanding! Great wine and beer list. Just a real gem! It's small but not as small as I expected. Beautiful curtains over the main entrance so customers eating don't get the chill from the door. We made friends with a 90 year old couple sitting next to us that were obviously regulars there. Not only were they adorable, but the way our waiter cared for them and made them feel so special was touching. We will be back for sure and look forward to this restaurant being around for a long time so we can be that 90 year old couple frequenting there someday.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice surprise!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Chose to eat here to celebrate Valentine's Day with my wife. We haven't heard of the place but then again we are from out of town and it has been awhile since we visited TC.

The food was fantastic! Probably the best scallops we've had and we have eaten at quite a few high end restaurants across the country. Beet salad was fantastic and main entrees great as well including quail and beef tips in a port wine and bleu cheese reduction that was to die for.

Service was top notch and we were shocked at the value for what we received. Our $105 bill for two could have easily been $150+ and we would have been happy.

Can't wait to try FouFou for a second time on our next getaway!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & service!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Our dinner was excellent and our service was wonderful. Prices were a little high consider the serving sizes. Tables were too close together for privacy.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Date Night

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Fabulous wine list, dinners were prepared and presented beautifully...strongly suggest trying if you haven't yet been. Servers were knowledgeable and made great suggestions.They offer some fun mid week specials too!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent server, with amazing ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We had an excellent server, with amazing food, and a lovely lowlight ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Location - Food Should Have Been Better

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

We love french food and thought the menu looked intriguing. This restaurant was not recommended to us by a number of people we asked in the local businesses. However, our first choice had no availability until late night. The hostess was efficient but I wouldn't say overly friendly. Same with our server. She was efficient but not someone who helped make your dinner a lovely night. The french onion soup had virtually no taste. Mostly a bread topping and not much broth or onion. My husband opted for steak frites. In other french restaurants the fries would have been prepared with some duck fat for a great taste. These were nothing special. The steak was prepared as he asked, medium rare, but virtually unseasoned. We had to ask the staff three times for salt and pepper - it's not on the table. I chose the beef bourguignon - which arrived with one small, overly dry, piece of beef short rib. There were three new potatoes, not cut, and a few mushrooms. The sauce was good. The rest wasn't worth eating and went home to our dog. We chose to forego dessert thinking we had spent enough on a so-so dinner. That was the celebration of our 29th anniversary. A so-so and overly priced dinner for what we got. We don't recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Very good restaurant with authentic French flair!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We came here during a weekend in Traverse city for dinner. The place wasn't crowded. We were very well served. The food is absolutely delicious, from the appetizers to the desserts. We are French and since we've been living in the US, we've been hunting for places where food really tastes like France. And Bistro Foufou definitely has it. This is fine cuisine. But with the casual bistro atmosphere. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It is one of our favorite restaurants.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Bistro Foufou is an exceptional resturant. The food is unusual and always great. The service is excellant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Becoming one of our favorites.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Excellent food, drinks and service. Bistro Fou Fou is a gem. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday Brunch Gem

vip
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

A lovely menu for Sunday Brunch. Finally somewhere in TC serves a proper Brunch. Seated service NOT a nasty buffet. Magnifique!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent choice in a town of excellent food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Traverse City is a great food town and Bistro Foufou, despite the name, is an excellent choice that rivals the best in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

FouFou

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

Excellent, execpt MMA fighting on the Bar tv does not add to the ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious dinner

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

My husband and I had a delicious dinner here Friday night. The food was flavorful and well presented. The entree without additional soup or salad was very filling. There is a shared bench for multiple tables reducing the romantic vibe as you are close to the people dining next to you. The service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.