About Bistro Foufou

118 Cass Street
Traverse City, MI 49648
View Larger Map

Fun French bistro in the heart of downtown Traverse City

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday 4-10pm


Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 421-6583

Website:
http://www.bistrofoufou.com/

Catering:
Full bar available with a large selection of wines, beer, and liquors. Restaurant catering in the French dining style with private menus available on request.

Parking Details:
Street Parking available, with downtown parking ramp...

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazaël-Massieux

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
September- May monthly wine dinner

Bistro Foufou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
7 More
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Traverse City ›

Fit for Foodies (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (6)
Historic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, the service was impeccable an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, the service was impeccable and the ambience charming. All three of us had the salmon and it was perfectly prepared. The flavors and textures in the dish are very balanced. Exquisite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Bistro Fou Fou for our daughte ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Dining at Bistro Fou Fou for our daughter's 16th birthday was just what we hoped for-- easy reservation, a good table, lots of attention and excellent food.

Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location and service. Entree order ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great location and service. Entree ordered by four of six of us-beef bourgeois- was poor. Dried beef, over done and over priced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic escargot, delicious sweet pota ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fantastic escargot, delicious sweet potato gnocchi and truly outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A little disappointed that time regardin ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 7, 2016

A little disappointed that time regarding the bill in details. For the kids: the kid plate (steak/ fries) was small and expensive ($11) and the small cup of milk was as expensive as a glass of wine for happy hour( $3)! And nothing to keep them busy (usually a color book, pencils were offered) even if the restaurant was not full at that time (6pm).. also all the plates were served in the same time (mussels, pâté, duck Poutine, cooked brie) so the warm food was cold when we ate it...too bad.

And last, when my husband ordered a double espresso, we discovered then we paid twice the price of a coffee, or $6!!! Too bad as we love that place and its food for us who are French.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

It was excellent. We truly enjoyed a won ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was excellent. We truly enjoyed a wonderful dinner with great food and service and hope to return again soon.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding find in Traverse City! I sel ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Outstanding find in Traverse City! I selected this restaurant from reviews of Open Table and Yelp reviews, as well as a review of menus. We are not from the area, nor have ever been in Traverse City. We were going to be spending the night after tooling around Sleeping Bear Dunes that day, overnighting on the way to Mackinac Island the next day. We started with the mussels, which were very plump and had a great flavor (suggestion to the kitchen: serve in a wider, shallower dish to allow more of the mussels to swim in the broth). My wife had the trout and I had the beef bourguignon. The trout was really good; the beef bourguignon was outstanding! We also had wine suggested by our great server. Against our better judgement, we ordered dessert - had the Nutella crepe. Wow - that was fantasticly flavorful. I wouldn't have minded the Nutella being a bit more evenly spread out, but that would be nitpicking. Overall, a fantastic meal and nearly worth the 100's of miles of driving to come again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the Happy Hour and sampled the ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went for the Happy Hour and sampled the small plates. The only drawback is they were out of the Calamari and Roasted Garlic however their were still many choices for small plates. Sampled the Mussels in wine sauce (excellent) Pork Sliders that surprisingly came with an order of Frites (very good) Brie En croute (very good) Tuna Tartar (very good) and finally deviled eggs (very good) All small plates are $5.00 or less. We ultimately added one to our group which didn't interrupt service. 3 people 2 drinks each, 2 small plates each great food all for less than $50.00.

Tags: Historic, Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Never disappointing! Good food, great wi ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Never disappointing! Good food, great wine list. Realistically priced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is our second time here, and althou ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is our second time here, and although our first visit was better, this is a lovely restaurant with delicious food and a great wine list. My wife had the sweet potato gnocchi and I had the trois de pork. Portions were perfect. We ordered the creme brulee and the chocolate trifle. Again, portions were perfect. My only complaint was our table was right by the door which made it a little cool and breezy and slightly distracting, seeing everyone walk in and out.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was incredibly good. Manage ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The service was incredibly good. Manager was involved, the wait staf was attentive. It was a great experience. Love the feel of the restaurant.

The squash soup was good--not fabulous--but I would go back because of the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were disappointed that they were out ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We were disappointed that they were out of some many items on the menu. Everyone in my party had to pick a different dish when we were told what dishes they were out of. Overall, fair is a good term for our experience, the food and service were just that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We came here for a special occasion on a ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We came here for a special occasion on a recommendation from friends. We found the food decent but not stellar. The cocktails were delicious and the wine list extensive and well presented. The charcuterie and cheese selections were spot on and authentically French. Likewise the desserts were delicious and interesting. The entrees were subpar, though, and we were a little disappointed. The ambiance is nice but the bathrooms need a little work given the prices here. I might come back, but I'm not in a hurry to do so.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Boeuf Bourguignon was as good as par ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Boeuf Bourguignon was as good as parisian bistro. My wife's trout was superb. Vinaigrette on the salad was excellent. We thought the baguette was homemade it tasted so fresh and good. Beer and wine selection was also excellent. Did not try dessert as we needed to return home, although there looked to be some excellent choices. Ambiance was extremely nice, except for a table of loudmouths who left 10 minutes after we sat down (thank goodness!). Service was excellent- our server obviously knew how each was prepared, in detail. If you want authentic french cuisine, would highly recommend Fou Fou.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and ambience are excel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food, service and ambience are excellent. Bistro Fou Fou (French for Hummingbird) is a must when visiting Traverse City.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Historic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the server ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was outstanding and the server was great. I had a burger and my wife had the Bouillabaissse both were outstanding value. They had a great wine list. Next time we are in town we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time visit but a past customer of ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 7, 2016

First time visit but a past customer of La Bêcasse (same owner). Enjoyed the Bistro setting and the French cooking.....nice!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good dinner! The trout was amazing ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very good dinner! The trout was amazing! Our table was ready for us, our service was great, and I would definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food; high quality French crus ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent food; high quality French crusine;nice place to go

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great when we finally got it... ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was great when we finally got it...they did not have enough staff...waited 11/2 hours for main course

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We LOVE this place! It has the ambiance ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We LOVE this place! It has the ambiance we want when we have a romantic dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing french bistro cuisine, you won't ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing french bistro cuisine, you won't want to miss this place if you're in Traverse City. Each course is nicely spaced and full of flavor, great wine list and outstanding service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great bistro food, attentive service, ex ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great bistro food, attentive service, extensive wine list, and prices a bit high. The snails and charcuterie appetizers were great, but a couple more snails would be nice; there were 3.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The bouillabaisse was outstanding! Truly ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The bouillabaisse was outstanding! Truly. The trout & cheese plate were also delicious. Great & varied wine selection...can't wait to return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved when it was hanna's bistro, and lo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 15, 2016

loved when it was hanna's bistro, and love foufou!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the mussels and frites! Excellent ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the mussels and frites! Excellent bread to eat with butter or broth. Yum! Great service, relaxed and knowledgeable waiter. Courses arrived perfectly timed. Sweet evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner was very good and the 2 couples s ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dinner was very good and the 2 couples shared entrees that were served attractively. Restaurant was a little noisy so conv

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A treasure excellent food and a great le ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 13, 2016

A treasure excellent food and a great level of service. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I've been here twice before this, and th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2016

I've been here twice before this, and the service was as great as the food. On this particular evening, the waiter was decidedly uninterested in us, perhaps because we were there for the mussels, fries, and beer special. Still great food though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

My mom and I went to Bistro Fou Fou whil ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2016

My mom and I went to Bistro Fou Fou while visiting Traverse City. The food was amazing, especially the risotto. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that the tables are really close together.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've celebrated our anniversary here tw ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2016

We've celebrated our anniversary here two years in a row. I wish I lived closer to it--I'd go all the time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated promptly with our reserva ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were seated promptly with our reservation. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Our server was friendly, efficient and proactive in letting us know the bar was a bit backed up in providing our cocktails.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A very electric menu combined with excel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

A very electric menu combined with excellent service. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and will certainly be back.

While we didn't spend time at the bar, friends highly recommend it and we will make it part of our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Only restaurant in Traverse City on Open ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Only restaurant in Traverse City on Open Table! It was well worth having a Saturday evening reservation during the film festival.

The food was very good - modest portions served at exactly the right temperature. Our table shared frites with an excellent garlic aioli. Main dishes included mussels, spaetzle, and vichyssoise, supplemented with the addition of both the beet salad and watermelon salad - all excellent. Traditional créme brûlée and Nutella crepes completed the meal.

Service was excellent. All in all, this was a wonderful dining experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite Traverse City ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is one of my favorite Traverse City restaurants that never fails to delight. The service was outstanding, the food excellent and I love the French bistro atmosphere. Starting with the French rose brut champagne is a "must" for me! I had requested a window table for a special "thank you" dinner, which was immediately acknowledged at the desk and I was delighted that they gave me special attention for my party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic French cuisine in a bistro set ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Authentic French cuisine in a bistro setting. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way. We made a res ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Outstanding in every way. We made a reservation on Open Table but knew we'd be 15 minutes late, so we called and they graciously said, "No problem." Menu is right out of a French cafe and the ambience is lovely. Great food, good wine list and prices, excellent staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Traverse City for the annual ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We were in Traverse City for the annual Film Festival, and always make a point of dining a couple of times at Bistro Foufou. They have one of the best Happy Hour deals around with a delicious selection of appetizers all for $5.00 from which one can easily create a tapas type meal. We did Happy Hour twice and a regular sit down meal once and everything was superb.

Foufou has a large selection of wines by the glass (45 or so, I think), so it could accurately be described as a wine bar as well as a restaurant.

Service is excellent: well trained and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location. My elderly step father ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great location. My elderly step father has trouble walking, but we had no problem finding a parking spot nearby. The food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.