Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Bistro Foufou

Fun French bistro in the heart of downtown Traverse City

118 Cass Street
Traverse City, MI 49648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday 4-10pm


Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 421-6583

Website:
http://www.bistrofoufou.com/

Catering:
Full bar available with a large selection of wines, beer, and liquors. Restaurant catering in the French dining style with private menus available on request.

Parking Details:
Street Parking available, with downtown parking ramp...

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazaël-Massieux

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
September- May monthly wine dinner

Bistro Foufou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful restaurant. Best restaurant of a 4 day stay in the area. Food was truly a cut above as was the service

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

This was our second time dining, the first was much better. The first time was during the film festival, and while it was very crowded and we had to sit at the bar, the service and food were excellent. We were excited to go back. This time on a not crowded Tues night, while the food was good, the service was inattentive and disinterested. The server seemed like he would have rather been doing anything other than waiting on a table, couldn't answer any questions about the menu - and when he did, all he did was mumble. He is either very new or burned out - either way - not what one would expect for dining at this price range. Management needs to monitor service- too many other great choices in TC for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our dinner was very good. My wife's beet salad was on I should have ordered. My salmon was grilled with crispy on the outside and not dried out on the inside. Interesting they grilled the spaghetti squash and I liked it. Mostly a french wine list but found a bottle Petite Sirah from the Fuabalest that we really liked. Our waitress Shannon provided very good service. Only compliant is the entrees took a long time to arrive. Shannon had to go back and remind the kitchen we were waiting awhile. The kitchen from my perspective looks too small for a restaurant of this size. Most of the tables stood buys throughout our time there.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Good food, good service. Would definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great place! Food was excellent and staff was knowledgeable

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wonderful food. Excellent service. Not to be missed when visiting Traverse City.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

What a fantastic experience! Why did we wait so long to try it? Wonderful food, fantastic staff, priced as expected, wonderful historic setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Two people in our party are vegan so we were excited to see a vegan option on the menu while searching online. When we arrived, the vegan option was different than shown online and in fact came with mashed potatoes that contained milk and butter. Had I not asked, I would never have known! Our meal arrived with quinoa instead and was actually quite tasty but a little too oily for my liking.

Overall, the ambiance is nice but I don't think I'll be returning any time soon. For non vegans, with more options, it may suit your needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I booked through open table and had to change the time as we were on a tour that was appearing to end late, but we ended up getting there at the original time. Told we'd have to wait until rebooked time due to backup in kitchen. So we went to the bar, ordered food that came quickly. We were gone by the time they would have seated us. But the food was fabulous. The bartender great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Delicious food. Lovely casual atmosphere. Busy wait staff but complimentary desserts on Wednesdays so no problem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The meal was delicious, each course was engaging and the meal was well paced. We enjoyed a very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Had dined here several days earlier and had a wonderful experience. This time we were disappointed. I had come for their mussel special: mussels, fries and beer. The portion of mussels was very small. I have had much larger portions as an appetizer. The beer was good as was the aioli served with the fries. My husband was pleased with his meal. The service was poor as the waiter seemed very slow and inexperienced. The restaurant was not overly busy so that could not be used as an excuse.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food, staff and ambiance- excellent; dinner came out slow, but the tast was worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 29, 2017

@ $250 for 3 (tax and 20% tip), it just wasn't that special.
The duck combo was locally sourced but very tough. The whitefish was marginally overlooked. My hanger steak was tasty, but more like medium than the ordered med rare, and inexplicably small portion, maybe 5 oz
The housepate was very good and recommended. . The wine list is pages if you are an aficionado.

Desserts were yummy!

Nice understated space and service, but I was so looking forward to what turned out to be an over-priced B- meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here and really enjoyed ourselves. The atmosphere is cute and cozy, albeit pretty loud with a big party near us. The drinks were very good as was the beef tartare. I had the lamb and my wife had the scallops. Both excellent and the suggested wine pairings were spot on. We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have dined here several time. The food is unparalleled. I eat here everu time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very good except for noise of a large group seated next to our cozy table for 2

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We are from the NYC area and Foufou is a restaurant what could survive in our area. We both eat French onion soup and one main course was a rack of lamb which was very tasty and tender and the other main was the salmon dish. The fish and the potatoes were delicious however the squash tasted fishy. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive. We very much enjoyed the meal. The price was reasonable for this gourmet meal.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food, atmosphere, and service were all terrific. Our only very minor complaints related to the cocktails, which were not very well done.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Wonderful meal with out of town guests from NYC --impressive!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We came with 6 people. Great ambiance. Great food. Fun decor. Staff while helpful and nice might need a little work. Loved it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Definitely felt like this place was over rated. Really looked forward to going there and it was just ok at best. There is nothing Fou Fou about this place besides the name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

1st time trying Bistro Fou Fou & it did not disappoint !!!!!! Would for sure go again and for anyone visiting the Glen Arbor area try the original La Becasse.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great evening with friends! We had plenty of time for talking. Server was appropriately attentive while allowing us to proceed at our pace. He provided great wine recommendations , too. Delighted with our experience !

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Bistro Foufou was ok. I'd read about this being the best restaurant in TC or in the top five. We have been to Amical many times and I think that is a better atmosphere and better food. Two of us had the seabass and my husband had a hamburger. The fries were good but not great. The seabass had an interesting nut & fennel dusting that was really good. And the fish itself was delicious and fresh. Hamburger was good but a little greasy. The back part of the bistro has a view of the kitchen that isn't very pretty.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I took my wife out for our bi-weekly date. It was a lot of fun! We enjoyed a couple of cocktails and tried the Chef's Risotto. It came with a giant scallop and had a lot of flavor. She had the duck pasta and I tried hte beef bourguignon. Everything was fantastic! Service was top notch, too.

Note that the "moderate" noise level I selected was due to the fact we chose outside (street) seating. Indoors, it is very quiet!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

this was perhaps our fifth time dining at bistro foufou. the cocktails were ok. food was less than ok and took forever to arrive at our table. the fault was not with our server, but rather with the kitchen even though the restaurant was half full. food preparation was not good either. salmon was overcooked, boulliabaise (sp) ingredients were either overcooked or undercooked etc. with all that traverse city has to offer we will not be back in the near future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Made a reservation for 6, and were seated on arrival.

Wait staff was helpful and attentive. We started with cocktails; the Aviation and Arch de Triomphe were exceptional. For the first course, we chose reliable escargot and the Plateau Provencal; everything on the dish was exceptional (could’ve used more than the 3 cornichons we got). Bread was warm and plentiful; great to sop up the drippings from the escargots, beef Bourguignon and bouillabaisse, all of which were fantastic. The serving size was enough to satisfy, but probably small by American standards. Desserts were exceptional, the sour lavender custard and crème brulee were standouts.

Would heartily recommend, with the sole caveat being that, when crowded, as it was on our visit, the dining space is not conducive to conversation with anyone not in your immediate vicinity. It gets loud.

Bottom line: the food was very good, as was the service. It was a little on the pricey side, but worth what you’re paying for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Our waiter was great. We love French food and everything was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great happy hour! However, duration of happy hour was confusing as it said 4-7pm outside but 4-6pm inside by the bar (but apparently 7pm is the correct end time). But sole bar tender seemed overworked. Reserved via Open Table and indicated we were celebrating a birthday. There was ZERO acknowledgment of the birthday - either by the receptionist who checked the reservation when we arrived or the water. Food was overall good but desserts were nothing special (and no candle in mine). Waiter wasn't very attentive - had to wait a long time for him to reappear after our meal was finished so we could get the check. And he always seemed agitated when he did appear. Interior is very pleasant and not too fancy but a LOT of the tables are crammed together so one person is facing the wall and you could be within inches of neighboring diners if it's crowded. We requested and got a table where we weren't facing the wall so that was nice. Overall good dining experience but could've been better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was my Birthday and the reservation said that...perhaps one free dessert might be nice for the Birthday person.

Thanks.
KathleenD

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Bistro Foufou is always a great place to get a tasty meal. The wine list is a nice mix and priced nicely. Nick, our server, is always outstanding. Would recommend highly

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The steak frites were the best -- we'll be back for more!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Overall I can offer you nothing better than "ok" it was simply nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our favourite in TC. Happy hour is a great value with a nice selection of appetisers and wine/beer/ cocktails. Everything on happy hour $4-7. Tim was a great server as was the bartender.
Dinner selections well done also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I love the French feel to Bistro Fou Fou. We've eaten here several times and are never disappointed. From the food to the service, everything was superb! We sat outside and people-watching was enjoyable too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had an amazing evening at Bistro Fou Fou. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding!! Thank you for a wonderful evening of celebration.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is a restaurant for the "experience", rather than value. Very pricey with small portions. Out of 5 meals, one (beef bourguignon) was actually poor...hard to eat, strange taste, missing texture...and one (coippino) included a cracked, unopened mussel (as portion sizes are small, this should have been seen in the kitchen). Salmon was excellent (caution, salty) and the duck pasta was reported excellent. The beet salad (8 bites of a beets on a plate, no greens) and ratatoullie were flavorful & enjoyable but very overpriced. Server was pleasant but didn't know how to pronounce the cheeses on the cheese board and actually stacked ALL of our plates and silverware in front of us at the table to clear it. Not the service I'd expect at a $30 a plate restaurant. Glad I tried it but likely won't return, too bad. Great atmosphere & could have been a fun place to meet friends but I wouldn't enjoy thinking of the bill at the end of my small meal which may or may not be tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Special friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was really a great place. The oysters were exactly what I wanted. The best steak frites I've had in a long time. Well done Bistro Foufou!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.