About Bistro Foufou

118 Cass Street
Traverse City, MI 49648
View Larger Map

Fun French bistro in the heart of downtown Traverse City

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday 4-10pm


Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 421-6583

Website:
http://www.bistrofoufou.com/

Catering:
Full bar available with a large selection of wines, beer, and liquors. Restaurant catering in the French dining style with private menus available on request.

Parking Details:
Street Parking available, with downtown parking ramp...

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazaël-Massieux

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
September- May monthly wine dinner

Bistro Foufou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tapas (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The beef bourguignon was very good. We ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

The beef bourguignon was very good. We also enjoyed the cheese plate and French onion soup. Some in our party were disappointed with the steak frites. I think they ordered them too well done. Overall we were very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at Bistro Foufou on severa ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten at Bistro Foufou on several occasions and have always been pleased. This time, although the meal was very tasty, it was served luke-warm. I know that had we brought this to the attention of the server, this would have been rectified immediately, but we had a time constraint and said nothing. We will return again but for this visit, we can only rate the food as "good". A diner ought not to have to tell the kitchen that the food is not hot. The service was great as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and pacing are impeccable. T ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service and pacing are impeccable. The ambiance is perfect for a date or special night out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an excellent dining experience!! ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was an excellent dining experience!! I would definetly go there again!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of eight to celebrate two ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a group of eight to celebrate two birthdays. The accommodations were great and our waiter was fun and very professional. The food and wine was fantastic!! Thank you for a great evening!!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine pairing dinner

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wine pairing dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Guillaume hosted another in his series o ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Guillaume hosted another in his series of Wine Dinners. This one highlighted Italy. Food absolutely succulent & special. Hate huge amerikan portions - most enjoyed the parade of 5 small servings of a Unique, Yummy Dish paired with 5 different Italian wines; unknown, inexpensive, full of history. Going next month - March 8th, 2017 for more yum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I loved our date night exp ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My fiancé and I loved our date night experience at Bistro Foufou! The atmosphere was lovely and our waiter was perfectly attentive without being a pest. They have an extensive wine list and most importantly, the food is absolutely outstanding! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone. Well done Bistro Foufou!! :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful evening! Excellent wine list, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful evening! Excellent wine list, portions generous! Quiet and good for conversation!

Tags: Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. If you go, ask for Nick as your server. He is fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Happy Hour, wide variety of sma ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous Happy Hour, wide variety of small plates and excellent french wine at $4 a glass. The only truly French bistro in Traverse City. Friendly and attentive service, not pretentious and great food. Love the fries, short rib burger with french bacon is terrific and the cassoulet is wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of four adults dining on ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were a group of four adults dining on NYE before the CherryT Drop. Everyone got a different entree and all of them were DELICIOUS! The #4's in overall & ambiance were because we were originally seated at an "extra" table right next to the wait staff's work station. There was a very nice table for 4 sitting empty in the main dining area and when I asked the hostess to please move us, she said she was not allowed to make any table adjustments. I asked for the manager and had to be a bit pushy, but was then moved. This all seemed an unnecessary hassle to put customers through especially since the original table remained empty. The 4 for service was only because the restaurant seemed to be a bit understaffed and we had to wait a bit longer than acceptable - however, our waiter was incredibly pleasant, honest, & apologetic & did a fantastic job of balancing his responsibilities. We understand the challenges of proper staffing during holidays in a resort town and wouldn't have bothered to mention it IF we had not been forced to start the evening with the unpleasantness of "fighting" for a decent table.

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We enjoyed the New Years three course sp ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed the New Years three course special. First course was outstanding. Second course was not so good. Beef was very fatty and third course was outstanding. The special was too expensive for the beef to stand out so poorly. Yet, I would go back and try other menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very much enjoyed the French cuisine. My ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very much enjoyed the French cuisine. My pork tenderloin with risotto and crispy sweet potato curls was well prepared, though a touch dry. Maybe a sauce would have helped. My wife's bouillabaisse was excellent. Nice selection of wines by the glass. Server Tim was attentive but not too attentive, very helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy hour is awesome. There is a wide v ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Happy hour is awesome. There is a wide variety of happy hour snacks / appetizers, very affordable. Restaurant was busy. Waitstaff was timely. Ordered the sweet potato gnocchi...divine! Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First time i had been there. Very diver ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

First time i had been there. Very diverse menu and options for all food types.

Very great flavor

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love going to Bistro Foufou. The beet s ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love going to Bistro Foufou. The beet salad is SO good! Not a lot of vegetarian options, however, the sweet potato gnocchi is outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a special French holiday wine d ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This was a special French holiday wine dinner (special menu by the chef/owner) and it was fantastic. FouFou is always extremely good, but when events like this occur FouFou is really outstanding. The food was artistically presented classic French holiday fare (oysters, foie gras, fish, goose, beef, etc.) pared perfectly with French and French/Swiss wines. Comfortably organized, creatively described and unobtrusively presented wine was a welcome relief from the more often overly winded wine presentations that usually occur at such events. This was a really, really well thought out and delivered dinner fit for any discerning Epicurean!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, , Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the service was impeccable an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

As always, the service was impeccable and the ambience charming. All three of us had the salmon and it was perfectly prepared. The flavors and textures in the dish are very balanced. Exquisite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Bistro Fou Fou for our daughte ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Dining at Bistro Fou Fou for our daughter's 16th birthday was just what we hoped for-- easy reservation, a good table, lots of attention and excellent food.

Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location and service. Entree order ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great location and service. Entree ordered by four of six of us-beef bourgeois- was poor. Dried beef, over done and over priced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic escargot, delicious sweet pota ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fantastic escargot, delicious sweet potato gnocchi and truly outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A little disappointed that time regardin ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 7, 2016

A little disappointed that time regarding the bill in details. For the kids: the kid plate (steak/ fries) was small and expensive ($11) and the small cup of milk was as expensive as a glass of wine for happy hour( $3)! And nothing to keep them busy (usually a color book, pencils were offered) even if the restaurant was not full at that time (6pm).. also all the plates were served in the same time (mussels, pâté, duck Poutine, cooked brie) so the warm food was cold when we ate it...too bad.

And last, when my husband ordered a double espresso, we discovered then we paid twice the price of a coffee, or $6!!! Too bad as we love that place and its food for us who are French.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

It was excellent. We truly enjoyed a won ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was excellent. We truly enjoyed a wonderful dinner with great food and service and hope to return again soon.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding find in Traverse City! I sel ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Outstanding find in Traverse City! I selected this restaurant from reviews of Open Table and Yelp reviews, as well as a review of menus. We are not from the area, nor have ever been in Traverse City. We were going to be spending the night after tooling around Sleeping Bear Dunes that day, overnighting on the way to Mackinac Island the next day. We started with the mussels, which were very plump and had a great flavor (suggestion to the kitchen: serve in a wider, shallower dish to allow more of the mussels to swim in the broth). My wife had the trout and I had the beef bourguignon. The trout was really good; the beef bourguignon was outstanding! We also had wine suggested by our great server. Against our better judgement, we ordered dessert - had the Nutella crepe. Wow - that was fantasticly flavorful. I wouldn't have minded the Nutella being a bit more evenly spread out, but that would be nitpicking. Overall, a fantastic meal and nearly worth the 100's of miles of driving to come again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the Happy Hour and sampled the ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went for the Happy Hour and sampled the small plates. The only drawback is they were out of the Calamari and Roasted Garlic however their were still many choices for small plates. Sampled the Mussels in wine sauce (excellent) Pork Sliders that surprisingly came with an order of Frites (very good) Brie En croute (very good) Tuna Tartar (very good) and finally deviled eggs (very good) All small plates are $5.00 or less. We ultimately added one to our group which didn't interrupt service. 3 people 2 drinks each, 2 small plates each great food all for less than $50.00.

Tags: Historic, Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, , Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Never disappointing! Good food, great wi ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Never disappointing! Good food, great wine list. Realistically priced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is our second time here, and althou ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is our second time here, and although our first visit was better, this is a lovely restaurant with delicious food and a great wine list. My wife had the sweet potato gnocchi and I had the trois de pork. Portions were perfect. We ordered the creme brulee and the chocolate trifle. Again, portions were perfect. My only complaint was our table was right by the door which made it a little cool and breezy and slightly distracting, seeing everyone walk in and out.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was incredibly good. Manage ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The service was incredibly good. Manager was involved, the wait staf was attentive. It was a great experience. Love the feel of the restaurant.

The squash soup was good--not fabulous--but I would go back because of the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were disappointed that they were out ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We were disappointed that they were out of some many items on the menu. Everyone in my party had to pick a different dish when we were told what dishes they were out of. Overall, fair is a good term for our experience, the food and service were just that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We came here for a special occasion on a ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We came here for a special occasion on a recommendation from friends. We found the food decent but not stellar. The cocktails were delicious and the wine list extensive and well presented. The charcuterie and cheese selections were spot on and authentically French. Likewise the desserts were delicious and interesting. The entrees were subpar, though, and we were a little disappointed. The ambiance is nice but the bathrooms need a little work given the prices here. I might come back, but I'm not in a hurry to do so.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Boeuf Bourguignon was as good as par ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Boeuf Bourguignon was as good as parisian bistro. My wife's trout was superb. Vinaigrette on the salad was excellent. We thought the baguette was homemade it tasted so fresh and good. Beer and wine selection was also excellent. Did not try dessert as we needed to return home, although there looked to be some excellent choices. Ambiance was extremely nice, except for a table of loudmouths who left 10 minutes after we sat down (thank goodness!). Service was excellent- our server obviously knew how each was prepared, in detail. If you want authentic french cuisine, would highly recommend Fou Fou.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and ambience are excel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food, service and ambience are excellent. Bistro Fou Fou (French for Hummingbird) is a must when visiting Traverse City.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Historic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the server ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was outstanding and the server was great. I had a burger and my wife had the Bouillabaissse both were outstanding value. They had a great wine list. Next time we are in town we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good but loud. Good!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good but loud. Good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First time visit but a past customer of ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 7, 2016

First time visit but a past customer of La Bêcasse (same owner). Enjoyed the Bistro setting and the French cooking.....nice!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good dinner! The trout was amazing ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very good dinner! The trout was amazing! Our table was ready for us, our service was great, and I would definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food; high quality French crus ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent food; high quality French crusine;nice place to go

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great when we finally got it... ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was great when we finally got it...they did not have enough staff...waited 11/2 hours for main course

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We LOVE this place! It has the ambiance ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We LOVE this place! It has the ambiance we want when we have a romantic dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.