Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Bistro Foufou

Fun French bistro in the heart of downtown Traverse City

118 Cass Street
Traverse City, MI 49648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday 4-10pm


Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 421-6583

Website:
http://www.bistrofoufou.com/

Catering:
Full bar available with a large selection of wines, beer, and liquors. Restaurant catering in the French dining style with private menus available on request.

Parking Details:
Street Parking available, with downtown parking ramp...

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazaël-Massieux

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
September- May monthly wine dinner

Bistro Foufou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Romantic (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tapas (5)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall I can offer you nothing better than "ok" it was simply nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 5 days ago

I love the French feel to Bistro Fou Fou. We've eaten here several times and are never disappointed. From the food to the service, everything was superb! We sat outside and people-watching was enjoyable too!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Our favourite in TC. Happy hour is a great value with a nice selection of appetisers and wine/beer/ cocktails. Everything on happy hour $4-7. Tim was a great server as was the bartender.
Dinner selections well done also.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had an amazing evening at Bistro Fou Fou. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding!! Thank you for a wonderful evening of celebration.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is a restaurant for the "experience", rather than value. Very pricey with small portions. Out of 5 meals, one (beef bourguignon) was actually poor...hard to eat, strange taste, missing texture...and one (coippino) included a cracked, unopened mussel (as portion sizes are small, this should have been seen in the kitchen). Salmon was excellent (caution, salty) and the duck pasta was reported excellent. The beet salad (8 bites of a beets on a plate, no greens) and ratatoullie were flavorful & enjoyable but very overpriced. Server was pleasant but didn't know how to pronounce the cheeses on the cheese board and actually stacked ALL of our plates and silverware in front of us at the table to clear it. Not the service I'd expect at a $30 a plate restaurant. Glad I tried it but likely won't return, too bad. Great atmosphere & could have been a fun place to meet friends but I wouldn't enjoy thinking of the bill at the end of my small meal which may or may not be tasty.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Special friends

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was really a great place. The oysters were exactly what I wanted. The best steak frites I've had in a long time. Well done Bistro Foufou!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were really looking forward to going to this restaurant after reading reviews by others. We waited about 10 minutes after being seated ... not the 1 minute rule followed by great restaurants. My oysters were "warm" ... with trepidation, I ate them ... they were just average and no I did not get sick. Not a good choice if you want a quite place to talk and celebrate.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place! Good food great service! We will definitely be back! Good wine list too

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

On vacation; found this place after dinner the first nght. Felt compelled to try it the second night. It's not to be missed! Food was delicieuse, atmosphere perfect. Too bad I live so far away...

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Delicious. Both happy hour and dinner. Service was perfect. Food felt like Paris.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We checked out the menu ahead of time and liked what we saw. We ordered strictly from the First Course (appetizers) and two out of the three items were great. The Goat Cheese was lacking on the goat cheese and was mostly marinara style sauce. The flavor wasn't bad but with not that much goat cheese we felt the name of the dish was misleading. The cheese plate and charcuterie did not disappoint. The atmosphere was nice and the noise level was really low. We visited on a Friday night just before 6pm and it wasn't that packed out. Our server was excellent. We enjoyed our dinner.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We went to FouFou for an early small plate bite during their happy hour between 4-6 pm last Friday evening. Located on Cass St. In downtown Traverse City, Michigan it had on street pay parking which we used. This afforded us some time to walk the main drag and peek into the great shoppes before and after dinner! (A parking ramp is a couple of blocks away,too...probably you would need it in the tourist season.) Now to the food...we chose to share the nutty and robust ossau iraty cheese marinated in rosemary evo, a red and yellow beet salad, walnuts, and mandarin oranges , dressing topped with parm/reg. cheese, and lastly foie gras presented in a small jam jar and accompanied with a touch of julianned apple on a bed of mixed greens. All were delicious but we did have to ask for more toasted baguettes for the foie gras...the soft bread previously served didn't work! My Pinot noir was rather pricey at $15 for the glass, but really true to it's French origin...lots of lyme !!! Our other glass of Rose was just right. The portions could have been a smidge larger for the salad and cheese (6 cubes), but we weren't that hungry then. We enjoyed to urban/bistro/olde vibe , including the painted tin ceilings, service was not rushed and where we sat in the partially separated dining area the increasing happy hour bar noise and laughter was not a problem. Check it out!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have always loved the food & beverages at Bustro Foufou, this visit was no different. Scott was a great server, food was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Historic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was excellent. It was an enjoyable meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Desserts were a bit disappointing. The rest was great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The place is in a good location with easy parking for dinner time.
The food was ok, the service was fine, the prices were fine, wish it were even a little higher for a better over all food tasting and authenticity. The atmosphere was ok! 3/5

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great happy hour. Calamari was tough, but everything else was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The apps. were very good - especially the mussels and calamari, but the smoked salmon was not tasty, no flavor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We really enjoyed the fine food and friendliness of the staff. Everything was delicious and served very beautifully .
This is a fine place and we'll be back soon.

Also important for me is a notable wine list with American, European and South American selections- all carefully chosen.
We drank a 2009 Ch Le Thil from Pessac-Leognan, which was delicious and very fairly priced.

This

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We originally stopped in for the Happy Hour which offered some excellent wines and small plates. We decided to stay on for dinner which proved to be a great decision.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The French onion soup and mussels were great. We also very much enjoyed the charcuterie and cheese plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Noise level higher from just one St. Patty's Day noisy group. Otherwise terrific ambiance. Excellent wine choices, different from the usual. Very good food. Great place for the four of us to celebrate 3 birthdays!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Upon a recommendation of a friend, we thought we'd give this restaurant a try. It did not disappoint! From the ambiance, the service and food..two thumbs-up from us. We'll definitely be back😬

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We went for food week. While the atmosphere and service were excellent we were disappointed in the food. my husband had the lobster and I had the beef. Neither had flavor. The wine was good and we liked our server. I wish I had better things to say about the food....we will give it another try as we love our down town businesses and will continue to support. Thank you

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We visited for restaurant week. For $30.00 a person we had a choice of salad or soup, a choice from 3 entrees & choice from 2 desserts. The 2 women got the lobster which was a barley risotto, it was good, but did not have much lobster, I also thought the barley could have been creamier. The 2 men got the beef bourguignon which they thought was delicious. Both desserts where fabulous, so rich. Our waiter was wonderful!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My husband and I eat out often, and this is our favorite date-night restaurant! It's so welcoming and always delicious food. The service couldn't be improved upon.

Brenda Biederman

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The beef bourguignon was very good. We also enjoyed the cheese plate and French onion soup. Some in our party were disappointed with the steak frites. I think they ordered them too well done. Overall we were very pleased.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Bistro Fou Fou has become my wife and my favorite in Traverse City! No matter the occasion this restaurant always makes the evening feel special. The food is exceptional. The service is exceptional without being snooty. And the atmosphere is one of the most charming in northern Michigan. Bistro Fou Fou is truly the whole package, the exceptional experience you are hoping for when dining out.

Every time we come, there is a new temptation on the menu. I usually order my favorite, Steak Fritte. However, my wife usually tries something new from the menu. It never fails that we switch halfway through. The food is always spectacular! This is our favorite go to restaurant in our foodie town!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We have eaten at Bistro Foufou on several occasions and have always been pleased. This time, although the meal was very tasty, it was served luke-warm. I know that had we brought this to the attention of the server, this would have been rectified immediately, but we had a time constraint and said nothing. We will return again but for this visit, we can only rate the food as "good". A diner ought not to have to tell the kitchen that the food is not hot. The service was great as usual.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service and pacing are impeccable. The ambiance is perfect for a date or special night out.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was an excellent dining experience!! I would definetly go there again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a group of eight to celebrate two birthdays. The accommodations were great and our waiter was fun and very professional. The food and wine was fantastic!! Thank you for a great evening!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wine pairing dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Guillaume hosted another in his series of Wine Dinners. This one highlighted Italy. Food absolutely succulent & special. Hate huge amerikan portions - most enjoyed the parade of 5 small servings of a Unique, Yummy Dish paired with 5 different Italian wines; unknown, inexpensive, full of history. Going next month - March 8th, 2017 for more yum.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My fiancé and I loved our date night experience at Bistro Foufou! The atmosphere was lovely and our waiter was perfectly attentive without being a pest. They have an extensive wine list and most importantly, the food is absolutely outstanding! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone. Well done Bistro Foufou!! :)

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful evening! Excellent wine list, portions generous! Quiet and good for conversation!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. If you go, ask for Nick as your server. He is fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous Happy Hour, wide variety of small plates and excellent french wine at $4 a glass. The only truly French bistro in Traverse City. Friendly and attentive service, not pretentious and great food. Love the fries, short rib burger with french bacon is terrific and the cassoulet is wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were a group of four adults dining on NYE before the CherryT Drop. Everyone got a different entree and all of them were DELICIOUS! The #4's in overall & ambiance were because we were originally seated at an "extra" table right next to the wait staff's work station. There was a very nice table for 4 sitting empty in the main dining area and when I asked the hostess to please move us, she said she was not allowed to make any table adjustments. I asked for the manager and had to be a bit pushy, but was then moved. This all seemed an unnecessary hassle to put customers through especially since the original table remained empty. The 4 for service was only because the restaurant seemed to be a bit understaffed and we had to wait a bit longer than acceptable - however, our waiter was incredibly pleasant, honest, & apologetic & did a fantastic job of balancing his responsibilities. We understand the challenges of proper staffing during holidays in a resort town and wouldn't have bothered to mention it IF we had not been forced to start the evening with the unpleasantness of "fighting" for a decent table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.