About Bistro Foufou

118 Cass Street
Traverse City, MI 49648
View Larger Map

Fun French bistro in the heart of downtown Traverse City

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday 4-10pm


Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 421-6583

Website:
http://www.bistrofoufou.com/

Catering:
Full bar available with a large selection of wines, beer, and liquors. Restaurant catering in the French dining style with private menus available on request.

Parking Details:
Street Parking available, with downtown parking ramp...

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazaël-Massieux

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
September- May monthly wine dinner

Bistro Foufou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
11 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Traverse City ›

Fit for Foodies (42)
Special Occasion (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
See All
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great when we finally got it... ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was great when we finally got it...they did not have enough staff...waited 11/2 hours for main course

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We LOVE this place! It has the ambiance ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We LOVE this place! It has the ambiance we want when we have a romantic dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing french bistro cuisine, you won't ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing french bistro cuisine, you won't want to miss this place if you're in Traverse City. Each course is nicely spaced and full of flavor, great wine list and outstanding service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great bistro food, attentive service, ex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great bistro food, attentive service, extensive wine list, and prices a bit high. The snails and charcuterie appetizers were great, but a couple more snails would be nice; there were 3.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The bouillabaisse was outstanding! Truly ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The bouillabaisse was outstanding! Truly. The trout & cheese plate were also delicious. Great & varied wine selection...can't wait to return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved when it was hanna's bistro, and lo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

loved when it was hanna's bistro, and love foufou!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the mussels and frites! Excellent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the mussels and frites! Excellent bread to eat with butter or broth. Yum! Great service, relaxed and knowledgeable waiter. Courses arrived perfectly timed. Sweet evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner was very good and the 2 couples s ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dinner was very good and the 2 couples shared entrees that were served attractively. Restaurant was a little noisy so conv

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A treasure excellent food and a great le ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A treasure excellent food and a great level of service. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I've been here twice before this, and th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I've been here twice before this, and the service was as great as the food. On this particular evening, the waiter was decidedly uninterested in us, perhaps because we were there for the mussels, fries, and beer special. Still great food though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

My mom and I went to Bistro Fou Fou whil ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My mom and I went to Bistro Fou Fou while visiting Traverse City. The food was amazing, especially the risotto. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that the tables are really close together.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've celebrated our anniversary here tw ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We've celebrated our anniversary here two years in a row. I wish I lived closer to it--I'd go all the time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated promptly with our reserva ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were seated promptly with our reservation. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Our server was friendly, efficient and proactive in letting us know the bar was a bit backed up in providing our cocktails.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A very electric menu combined with excel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A very electric menu combined with excellent service. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and will certainly be back.

While we didn't spend time at the bar, friends highly recommend it and we will make it part of our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Only restaurant in Traverse City on Open ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Only restaurant in Traverse City on Open Table! It was well worth having a Saturday evening reservation during the film festival.

The food was very good - modest portions served at exactly the right temperature. Our table shared frites with an excellent garlic aioli. Main dishes included mussels, spaetzle, and vichyssoise, supplemented with the addition of both the beet salad and watermelon salad - all excellent. Traditional créme brûlée and Nutella crepes completed the meal.

Service was excellent. All in all, this was a wonderful dining experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite Traverse City ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is one of my favorite Traverse City restaurants that never fails to delight. The service was outstanding, the food excellent and I love the French bistro atmosphere. Starting with the French rose brut champagne is a "must" for me! I had requested a window table for a special "thank you" dinner, which was immediately acknowledged at the desk and I was delighted that they gave me special attention for my party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic French cuisine in a bistro set ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Authentic French cuisine in a bistro setting. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way. We made a res ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Outstanding in every way. We made a reservation on Open Table but knew we'd be 15 minutes late, so we called and they graciously said, "No problem." Menu is right out of a French cafe and the ambience is lovely. Great food, good wine list and prices, excellent staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Traverse City for the annual ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We were in Traverse City for the annual Film Festival, and always make a point of dining a couple of times at Bistro Foufou. They have one of the best Happy Hour deals around with a delicious selection of appetizers all for $5.00 from which one can easily create a tapas type meal. We did Happy Hour twice and a regular sit down meal once and everything was superb.

Foufou has a large selection of wines by the glass (45 or so, I think), so it could accurately be described as a wine bar as well as a restaurant.

Service is excellent: well trained and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location. My elderly step father ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great location. My elderly step father has trouble walking, but we had no problem finding a parking spot nearby. The food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful traditional and a few innovati ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful traditional and a few innovative French bistro dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great French Bistro in downtown Traverse ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great French Bistro in downtown Traverse City. It does not get any better than that! Great food; terrific service; impressive wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, wonderful presentation and w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food, wonderful presentation and warm ambiance. A true hidden gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Lovely presentation. Som ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food. Lovely presentation. Some of the very best risotto!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. I look forward to Bis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I love this place. I look forward to Bistro Foufou every time I am visiting Traverse City. I can always count on a great meal with really great wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner and service. Will defin ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent dinner and service. Will definitely go back. . Bouillabaisse was outstanding. Foie gras was delicious as were the beet salad and the special risotto of the day. Memorable meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found the Bistro Foufou online and de ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We found the Bistro Foufou online and decided to try it. Our reservation was at 9 on a Friday. The restaurant was only about 1/5 occupied when we arrived. Even so, service was quite slow ... "Bistro " means "pronto" (in Russian), right? The service was also bit off - we were instructed to retain our forks between the appetizer and entree, when the server should simply have brought new forks, and the server failed to remember that we didn't want ice in our drinks.

Food was just ok. We had a first course of escargot, a goat cheese and tomatoes spread on toast, and a green salad. The salad was quite good, and the escargot were large and well-prepared. The goat cheese spread was disappointing. Two of us had steak frites as an entree - mine was only warm, but it was cooked correctly as ordered. The frites were standard fries, not the (French) bistro standard, but they were served with what seemed to be house-made mayonnaise. The third of us had trout, which came in two pieces, one of which did not taste fresh. The server said that this was the last trout meal, so maybe it wasn't their best.

The glasses of wine (an Oregon pinot noir and a Costieres de Nimes chardonnay) were good, if a bit pricey.

It wasn't busy, so the restaurant was quiet, which was nice.

We would probably return, but I don't think the restaurant measures up to its ratings and comments online. The overall cost was reasonable, but it isn't any bargain. I score it fair in service and good in the other categories provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Bistrot FouFou was a spectacular dining ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Bistrot FouFou was a spectacular dining experience. Casual but elegant. Good and wine choices were excellent. We hope to make the Traverse City area our home town and restaurants like FouFou make the choice to move much easier. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. Definitely will be back ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great as always. Definitely will be back again! !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was very delicious and the small plate format was great . All our choices were wonderful. The only complaint would be regarding the cost of the scallops, $14.00 for 2 scallops is way too much. Other than that everything was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great tapas menu. We tasted a variety o ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great tapas menu. We tasted a variety of French foods. Loved the mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eaten there many times. Always delicious ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Eaten there many times. Always delicious. I love the beet salad. Don't ever take it off the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro Foufou is a great Traverse City d ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Bistro Foufou is a great Traverse City destination. Elegant dining and fantastic food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu always has some surprises! The ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The menu always has some surprises! The extra touches make it special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went expecting a bistro, and found a brunch.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The menu listings were less impressive than I anticipated, reflecting the fact that we were there during a brunch offering, but all the food was delicious. There were three of us, and we ate and had a total of four drinks (5 with an orange juice) for $66, which I thought was quite reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sure thing!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoy Bistou Foufou for the ambience & the energy, the wine list & the food - always great! The knowledgeable & attentive staff makes it happen! The oysters & cocktails are cold, cold, the steaks are rare(like, truly rare!) & the salads are ... what salads should be: crisp & balanced & sensational. This is not the usual fare. Foufou is great bistro food with flare. We like to sit at the large bar for drinks & oysters then move to a table for dinner. We've never had a miss here which makes Bistro Foufou perfect for taking friends or for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed an ( overall!) nice dining ex ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed an ( overall!) nice dining experience. Got off to a bit of a rocky start with our cocktails prepared not as we had ordered. After we explained this to our server, he righted the situation and we were good to go!

We enjoyed a duck liver pâté as a started and we were not disappointed.

We ordered remainder courses as we went and did feel pressured to order and keep the ball rolling.

Server did not share his name. Coaching from us is the please share at least your first name. This way, you're parents cannot overtake the music!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

My bookclub likes to meet at Fou Fou bis ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

My bookclub likes to meet at Fou Fou bistro because the service is always good and the food and wine is excellent. It's a great location, as it is in the downtown Traverse City bustling area, is very convenient for after work hours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

bon

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Terrific food. Mussels were great. Tartare splendid andca big serving. Beet salad was special. Salmon cooked perfectly. Well done!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.