Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Bistro Foufou

Fun French bistro in the heart of downtown Traverse City

118 Cass Street
Traverse City, MI 49648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday 4-10pm


Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 421-6583

Website:
http://www.bistrofoufou.com/

Catering:
Full bar available with a large selection of wines, beer, and liquors. Restaurant catering in the French dining style with private menus available on request.

Parking Details:
Street Parking available, with downtown parking ramp...

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazaël-Massieux

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
September- May monthly wine dinner

Specials

Burger Night!

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Oysters and Bubbles!

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Dessert Night!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

1/2 Off Bottle of Wine!

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Burger Night!

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Monday night is Burger Night at Bistro Foufou! Get the bistro burger with our amazing pommes frites AND a draft beer for only $15!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not valid with any other promotions or discounts. Special valid Oct 9, 2017 - Feb 5, 2018 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Oysters and Bubbles!

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Our Tuesday night special at Bistro Foufou is Oysters and Bubbles! Get a half dozen oysters, served on the half shell, with a refreshing glass of JP Chenet Sparkling Brut or Sparkling Brut Rosé for only $20!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not valid with any other promotions or discounts. Special valid Oct 10, 2017 - Feb 6, 2018 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Dessert Night!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Wednesday night is Dessert Night at Bistro Foufou! Get a free dessert with the purchase of two dinner entrees!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not valid with any other promotions or discounts. Special valid Oct 11, 2017 - Feb 7, 2018 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

1/2 Off Bottle of Wine!

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

This is our best deal of the week at Bistro Foufou!! Get half off ANY bottle of wine when you purchase two of our dinner entrees!!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not valid with any other promotions or discounts. Special valid Oct 5, 2017 - Feb 1, 2018 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Bistro Foufou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Romantic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (6)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Went with my wife for our Anniversary. Loved the food, decor, just a great restaurant plain and simple.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Cozy, Casual, Organic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Very comfortable French restaurant in the heart of TC. The hostess and servers were very attentive and friendly. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed our food. Great place for dinner with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great restaurant. The food was very tasty. Service was flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Our experience was good, not great. The hostess was very cordial and welcoming. After we told our server that we wanted to relax with cocktails and appetizers he seemed to disappear for extended periods. After we placed our entree orders, it seemed to take a very long time for our food to arrive. When it did get there it was properly prepared and served hot. The bread was excellent, escargot was good. There wasn't much to the Bouilabaise, but it tasted ok. The rack of lamb was good, but we feel we can make better at home. Nice atmosphere and decor. Not sure if we would return as there are plenty of other dining options in Traverse City.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Another great place in TC. The bib salad has a terrific celery dressing. A nice wine selection. Great crusty bread and butter. The beef bourguignon is very good and not something you see very often in restaurants. Our service slow - our waiter seemed to be stretched too thin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Found this spot on Trip Advisor. We had an excellent meal. My wife had the beet salad and I had the French onion soup, which I must say may be the best I have had in a restaurant . She had the pork shank special and I had the steak frites, both very good and well prepared. Service was excellent. Lovely bottle of wine with dinner and topping off with an apple/pear crisp and a glass of port. If you are in the area, we highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Fou Fou is not a snobby, foo foo French restaurant, but it certainly is French, excellent French food prepared by a Frenchman! You can't much better than that. I loved it. All of the menu selections you'd expect on a French menu BUT plenty of other choices if you 'think' you don't like French food. This place is great. The decor is authentic and lovely. The servers were wonderful. Daily specials are a bonus and the wine list has it all. I live in Chicago and Fou Fou is better than any here. GREAT! What are you waiting for . . . GO!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Wonderful dinner at our favorite Traverse City eatery. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. The food, as always, was delicious. I particularly enjoyed the braised pork with sweet potato gnocchi and Brussels sprouts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Everything was fine. My scallops for $28.00 were too fishy and salty. The coffee was nothing special. Other than that, it was good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Amazeballs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Always a wonderful meal, wine/cocktails, service and leave fully satisfied. No matter what the risotto special is, try it. They are always amazing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Best escargots in town! On par with its sister restaurant, La Because, in Burdickville on Glen Lake. Guest loved the craft beer Storm Cloud. Very nice wine list. Two had fab looking burgers all tricked out. Two had tasty local whitefish with al dente broccolini. Ambiance of reclaimed historic 1900's fire station absolutely charming in its mix of chic industrial yet comfortable interiors. Staff delightfully attentive, not intrusive; very professional. Good place to entertain guests.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

My husband and I were disappointed. When the waitress first came to take an order for drinks, we told her we were ordering a bottle of Bordeaux to go with the entrees we were going to order. After she brought the bottle, opened it, and poured, she asked to take our entree order. We both wanted beef bourguignon - as we based our wine selection on it- only to be told that it was not available and that she was sorry that she forgot to tell us. That was a disappointment, especially when and she had an opportunity to tell us what entrees were not going to be available when we first told her that we were ordering a bottle to go with our entree. She was not attentive like the waiter we had seen one table down from us. Then, when we ordered desserts and coffee, she rolled her eyes when I included to add cream and sugar. My husband saw this and later informed me. I tried to give her the benefit of the doubt about forgetting to inform us of the unavailable entrees but to roll your eyes in front of customers, especially in what is to be a quality restaurant, is simply insensitive service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had an excellent meal with excellent service and sat at an excellent table with eight family members, many who had never been there before. Everyone was satisfied!
Would like to try the Sunday brunch next.
Appreciate the ability to make a reservation. Very important to us. Thank you.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We ate off the happy hour menu. Everything we had was amazing! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were blown away by the fantastic service and amazing flavors in both of our meals!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Fantastic food and service! Mussels were the best I have had! Will be on my list of places during my next TC visit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Every one was very focused on closing. We were told that we could come anytime before 9 pm and we would be fine but the whole time we were there everything was preceeded by the statement...well we are closing soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food was good, not exceptional, for an upscale French restaurant. Disappointed in the foi gras. It was whipped, served in a small glass dish and lacked any flavor. The server was attentive but when visiting the table neglected to re-pour our wine. None of this was a big deal, just expected more from an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Best restaurant of a 4 day stay in the area. Food was truly a cut above as was the service

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

This was our second time dining, the first was much better. The first time was during the film festival, and while it was very crowded and we had to sit at the bar, the service and food were excellent. We were excited to go back. This time on a not crowded Tues night, while the food was good, the service was inattentive and disinterested. The server seemed like he would have rather been doing anything other than waiting on a table, couldn't answer any questions about the menu - and when he did, all he did was mumble. He is either very new or burned out - either way - not what one would expect for dining at this price range. Management needs to monitor service- too many other great choices in TC for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our dinner was very good. My wife's beet salad was on I should have ordered. My salmon was grilled with crispy on the outside and not dried out on the inside. Interesting they grilled the spaghetti squash and I liked it. Mostly a french wine list but found a bottle Petite Sirah from the Fuabalest that we really liked. Our waitress Shannon provided very good service. Only compliant is the entrees took a long time to arrive. Shannon had to go back and remind the kitchen we were waiting awhile. The kitchen from my perspective looks too small for a restaurant of this size. Most of the tables stood buys throughout our time there.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Good food, good service. Would definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great place! Food was excellent and staff was knowledgeable

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wonderful food. Excellent service. Not to be missed when visiting Traverse City.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

What a fantastic experience! Why did we wait so long to try it? Wonderful food, fantastic staff, priced as expected, wonderful historic setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Two people in our party are vegan so we were excited to see a vegan option on the menu while searching online. When we arrived, the vegan option was different than shown online and in fact came with mashed potatoes that contained milk and butter. Had I not asked, I would never have known! Our meal arrived with quinoa instead and was actually quite tasty but a little too oily for my liking.

Overall, the ambiance is nice but I don't think I'll be returning any time soon. For non vegans, with more options, it may suit your needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I booked through open table and had to change the time as we were on a tour that was appearing to end late, but we ended up getting there at the original time. Told we'd have to wait until rebooked time due to backup in kitchen. So we went to the bar, ordered food that came quickly. We were gone by the time they would have seated us. But the food was fabulous. The bartender great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Delicious food. Lovely casual atmosphere. Busy wait staff but complimentary desserts on Wednesdays so no problem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The meal was delicious, each course was engaging and the meal was well paced. We enjoyed a very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Had dined here several days earlier and had a wonderful experience. This time we were disappointed. I had come for their mussel special: mussels, fries and beer. The portion of mussels was very small. I have had much larger portions as an appetizer. The beer was good as was the aioli served with the fries. My husband was pleased with his meal. The service was poor as the waiter seemed very slow and inexperienced. The restaurant was not overly busy so that could not be used as an excuse.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food, staff and ambiance- excellent; dinner came out slow, but the tast was worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 29, 2017

@ $250 for 3 (tax and 20% tip), it just wasn't that special.
The duck combo was locally sourced but very tough. The whitefish was marginally overlooked. My hanger steak was tasty, but more like medium than the ordered med rare, and inexplicably small portion, maybe 5 oz
The housepate was very good and recommended. . The wine list is pages if you are an aficionado.

Desserts were yummy!

Nice understated space and service, but I was so looking forward to what turned out to be an over-priced B- meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here and really enjoyed ourselves. The atmosphere is cute and cozy, albeit pretty loud with a big party near us. The drinks were very good as was the beef tartare. I had the lamb and my wife had the scallops. Both excellent and the suggested wine pairings were spot on. We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have dined here several time. The food is unparalleled. I eat here everu time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Poore service, food just okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very good except for noise of a large group seated next to our cozy table for 2

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We are from the NYC area and Foufou is a restaurant what could survive in our area. We both eat French onion soup and one main course was a rack of lamb which was very tasty and tender and the other main was the salmon dish. The fish and the potatoes were delicious however the squash tasted fishy. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive. We very much enjoyed the meal. The price was reasonable for this gourmet meal.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food, atmosphere, and service were all terrific. Our only very minor complaints related to the cocktails, which were not very well done.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Wonderful meal with out of town guests from NYC --impressive!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.