About Bistro Foufou

118 Cass Street
Traverse City, MI 49648
View Larger Map

Fun French bistro in the heart of downtown Traverse City

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday 4-10pm


Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 421-6583

Website:
http://www.bistrofoufou.com/

Catering:
Full bar available with a large selection of wines, beer, and liquors. Restaurant catering in the French dining style with private menus available on request.

Parking Details:
Street Parking available, with downtown parking ramp...

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazaël-Massieux

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
September- May monthly wine dinner

Bistro Foufou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Traverse City ›

fit for foodies (25)
notable wine list (14)
special occasion (11)
See All
romantic (10)
great for brunch (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (5)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. Definitely will be back ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great as always. Definitely will be back again! !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was very delicious and the small plate format was great . All our choices were wonderful. The only complaint would be regarding the cost of the scallops, $14.00 for 2 scallops is way too much. Other than that everything was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great tapas menu. We tasted a variety o ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Great tapas menu. We tasted a variety of French foods. Loved the mussels.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Eaten there many times. Always delicious ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Eaten there many times. Always delicious. I love the beet salad. Don't ever take it off the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Foufou is a great Traverse City d ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Bistro Foufou is a great Traverse City destination. Elegant dining and fantastic food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu always has some surprises! The ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The menu always has some surprises! The extra touches make it special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went expecting a bistro, and found a brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The menu listings were less impressive than I anticipated, reflecting the fact that we were there during a brunch offering, but all the food was delicious. There were three of us, and we ate and had a total of four drinks (5 with an orange juice) for $66, which I thought was quite reasonable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sure thing!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoy Bistou Foufou for the ambience & the energy, the wine list & the food - always great! The knowledgeable & attentive staff makes it happen! The oysters & cocktails are cold, cold, the steaks are rare(like, truly rare!) & the salads are ... what salads should be: crisp & balanced & sensational. This is not the usual fare. Foufou is great bistro food with flare. We like to sit at the large bar for drinks & oysters then move to a table for dinner. We've never had a miss here which makes Bistro Foufou perfect for taking friends or for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

We enjoyed an ( overall!) nice dining ex ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed an ( overall!) nice dining experience. Got off to a bit of a rocky start with our cocktails prepared not as we had ordered. After we explained this to our server, he righted the situation and we were good to go! We enjoyed a duck liver pâté as a started and we were not disappointed. We ordered remainder courses as we went and did feel pressured to order and keep the ball rolling. Server did not share his name. Coaching from us is the please share at least your first name. This way, you're parents cannot overtake the music!!!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My bookclub likes to meet at Fou Fou bis ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

My bookclub likes to meet at Fou Fou bistro because the service is always good and the food and wine is excellent. It's a great location, as it is in the downtown Traverse City bustling area, is very convenient for after work hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

bon

Dined on April 7, 2016

Terrific food. Mussels were great. Tartare splendid andca big serving. Beet salad was special. Salmon cooked perfectly. Well done!

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Super friendly to our kids. We love that ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Super friendly to our kids. We love that!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch Was a Hit

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Brunch on Easter Sunday. They do not have a buffet but a special brunch menu on weekends. I wasn't sure if I would find anything I like since I'm not a fan of fish or seafood but I was pleasantly surprised. I couldn't decide between 4 different items and finally settled on a hearty American breakfast - eggs, potatoes, sausage and toast. My husband had the corned beef hash . Both meals were scrumptious. We had fresh squeezed orange juice and the best, most flavorful coffee I've found at any restaurant in town. Although there were no "Easter" specials on the menu, our meal was delicious and the ambiance delightful. The portions were so large, we had another filling meal the next day from our leftovers. Well done, Bistro FouFou!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dining experience

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was very good. I'm not a food expert, but I know good food:) This is it. Service pace was perfect. Will go back again and again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Bistro Fou Fou experience transports!

Dined on February 28, 2016

A friend and I went to Bistro Fou Fou during Restaurant Week 2016, the first time for both of us. Even though they were out of Boeuf Bourguigon, we were both happy with our entrees. The half rack of lamb was well seasoned and beautifully plated. The bean soup to start was wonderful. And they should have included a spatula with the peanut butter parfait dessert - because I didn't want to leave a single trace. The atmosphere is delightful - and really conjures a European dining experience. I will definitely visit Bistrou Fou Fou again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good rack of lamb and crepe and ice ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Very good rack of lamb and crepe and ice cream

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we decided to escape and go to Trav ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

When we decided to escape and go to Traverse City for just a couple nights, I really researched restaurants that we would like . Foufou came up on every list. It offered everything we wanted....good menu, good prices, seemed unpretentious. When we got there we were so very happy. Charming place, attentive wait staff, very good food and reasonable prices. We will definitely visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our starter (foie gras--to die for) and ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our starter (foie gras--to die for) and dessert (creme brulee) were the stars of the evening. The beet salad was good and was as described, with chunks of red and yellow beets with mandarin orange and ground hazelnuts--no greens. The Lyonnaise salad was rather bland, and had too much frisee for our taste. For mains, the quail (a special) was extraordinary, with wonderful flavor; the steak frites were very good. Next time I would go with the bouillabaisse, which our neighbors ordered and raved about. (It smelled wonderful.) Service pace was leisurely -- which was fine with us, it's like the French dine. Our server was attentive throughout and helpful with choices. Overall a most enjoyable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Total surprise!

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our first time at Bistro Fou Fou and it was Valentines weekend so I was nervous. We had a marvelous time. The place is beautiful. The service is top notch. And the food was outstanding! Great wine and beer list. Just a real gem! It's small but not as small as I expected. Beautiful curtains over the main entrance so customers eating don't get the chill from the door. We made friends with a 90 year old couple sitting next to us that were obviously regulars there. Not only were they adorable, but the way our waiter cared for them and made them feel so special was touching. We will be back for sure and look forward to this restaurant being around for a long time so we can be that 90 year old couple frequenting there someday.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice surprise!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Chose to eat here to celebrate Valentine's Day with my wife. We haven't heard of the place but then again we are from out of town and it has been awhile since we visited TC. The food was fantastic! Probably the best scallops we've had and we have eaten at quite a few high end restaurants across the country. Beet salad was fantastic and main entrees great as well including quail and beef tips in a port wine and bleu cheese reduction that was to die for. Service was top notch and we were shocked at the value for what we received. Our $105 bill for two could have easily been $150+ and we would have been happy. Can't wait to try FouFou for a second time on our next getaway!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food & service!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Our dinner was excellent and our service was wonderful. Prices were a little high consider the serving sizes. Tables were too close together for privacy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

Dined on January 30, 2016

Fabulous wine list, dinners were prepared and presented beautifully...strongly suggest trying if you haven't yet been. Servers were knowledgeable and made great suggestions.They offer some fun mid week specials too!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent server, with amazing ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had an excellent server, with amazing food, and a lovely lowlight ambience.

food2
ambience4
service3

Nice Location - Food Should Have Been Better

Dined on December 11, 2015

We love french food and thought the menu looked intriguing. This restaurant was not recommended to us by a number of people we asked in the local businesses. However, our first choice had no availability until late night. The hostess was efficient but I wouldn't say overly friendly. Same with our server. She was efficient but not someone who helped make your dinner a lovely night. The french onion soup had virtually no taste. Mostly a bread topping and not much broth or onion. My husband opted for steak frites. In other french restaurants the fries would have been prepared with some duck fat for a great taste. These were nothing special. The steak was prepared as he asked, medium rare, but virtually unseasoned. We had to ask the staff three times for salt and pepper - it's not on the table. I chose the beef bourguignon - which arrived with one small, overly dry, piece of beef short rib. There were three new potatoes, not cut, and a few mushrooms. The sauce was good. The rest wasn't worth eating and went home to our dog. We chose to forego dessert thinking we had spent enough on a so-so dinner. That was the celebration of our 29th anniversary. A so-so and overly priced dinner for what we got. We don't recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service5

Very good restaurant with authentic French flair!

Dined on November 29, 2015

We came here during a weekend in Traverse city for dinner. The place wasn't crowded. We were very well served. The food is absolutely delicious, from the appetizers to the desserts. We are French and since we've been living in the US, we've been hunting for places where food really tastes like France. And Bistro Foufou definitely has it. This is fine cuisine. But with the casual bistro atmosphere. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

It is one of our favorite restaurants.

Dined on November 27, 2015

Bistro Foufou is an exceptional resturant. The food is unusual and always great. The service is excellant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Becoming one of our favorites.

Dined on November 25, 2015

Excellent food, drinks and service. Bistro Fou Fou is a gem. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday Brunch Gem

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

A lovely menu for Sunday Brunch. Finally somewhere in TC serves a proper Brunch. Seated service NOT a nasty buffet. Magnifique!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent choice in a town of excellent food

Dined on November 14, 2015

Traverse City is a great food town and Bistro Foufou, despite the name, is an excellent choice that rivals the best in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

FouFou

Dined on November 5, 2015

Excellent, execpt MMA fighting on the Bar tv does not add to the ambiance

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious dinner

Dined on October 30, 2015

My husband and I had a delicious dinner here Friday night. The food was flavorful and well presented. The entree without additional soup or salad was very filling. There is a shared bench for multiple tables reducing the romantic vibe as you are close to the people dining next to you. The service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Pleasant Evening in Bistro Foufou

Dined on October 29, 2015

Impeccable Service. Presentation Artful. Cooking Creative. Lots of Ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome bouillabaise, and the lyonnaise ...

Dined on October 28, 2015

Awesome bouillabaise, and the lyonnaise salad was actually warm...great find in TC "fit for foodies." Even my husband, a meat and potatoes man, enjoyed the steak frites, and I loved the seasonal creme brulee (pumpkin, of course). Great for special occasions, with a bustling bar scene. My husband loved the French onion soup--the secret was a soupcon of cognac...I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fou fou....yes yes

Dined on October 23, 2015

The food! That couscous would be worth the two-hour drive just for itself. Everything was wonderful, we didn't sample an desserts. Service was OUTSTANDING, we'll be back, and we've told our friends!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The trout was exceptional! My husband h ...

Dined on October 21, 2015

The trout was exceptional! My husband had the short ribs and were the best he's ever had. We'll be back to this fine restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great service and excellent food.

Dined on October 19, 2015

Consistently one of my top dining experiences in Traverse City. Great french bistro, excellent food and wine list, and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined on October 15, 2015

The the stuff was outstanding and good was delicious

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Birthday getaway - terrible table!

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

We were traveling from out of town for a birthday getaway. Had a late-ish dinner but there was still plenty of activity in the bar and restaurant. We were given a terrible table right between the kitchen and the bar. Every time anyone walked past, the floor shook due to the traffic pattern. It wasn't until we were settled in that we started to wonder why we were placed here, when there were plenty of other empty and more suitable tables. While everything else about this restaurant was truly nice, being at this table in the end certainly took away from our experience. We are not sure what the hostess was thinking.....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Very nice

Dined on October 10, 2015

My wife and I had dinner here on a Saturday night. Walked right in and sat down. It took a little longer than normal for our waiter but they were busy. We had the risotto appetizer and our server recommended a wine which paired perfectly. I had the pork and my wife had the steak frites. Again, our waiter suggested another complementary wine. We had creme brûlée for dessert. We then sat at the bar and did a wine flight. All in all it was a wonderful experience. Food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and friendly, personable ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

Excellent food and friendly, personable service. Dinner for four - we had the pork, duck, trout, and risotto. All were well prepared and quite delicious.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.