Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Bistro Foufou

Fun French bistro in the heart of downtown Traverse City

118 Cass Street
Traverse City, MI 49648
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday 4-10pm


Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 421-6583

Website:
http://www.bistrofoufou.com/

Catering:
Full bar available with a large selection of wines, beer, and liquors. Restaurant catering in the French dining style with private menus available on request.

Parking Details:
Street Parking available, with downtown parking ramp...

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazaël-Massieux

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
September- May monthly wine dinner

Bistro Foufou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Romantic (6)
Fun (5)
Tapas (5)
Business Meals (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 2 days ago

Special friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place! Good food great service! We will definitely be back! Good wine list too

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

On vacation; found this place after dinner the first nght. Felt compelled to try it the second night. It's not to be missed! Food was delicieuse, atmosphere perfect. Too bad I live so far away...

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Delicious. Both happy hour and dinner. Service was perfect. Food felt like Paris.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We checked out the menu ahead of time and liked what we saw. We ordered strictly from the First Course (appetizers) and two out of the three items were great. The Goat Cheese was lacking on the goat cheese and was mostly marinara style sauce. The flavor wasn't bad but with not that much goat cheese we felt the name of the dish was misleading. The cheese plate and charcuterie did not disappoint. The atmosphere was nice and the noise level was really low. We visited on a Friday night just before 6pm and it wasn't that packed out. Our server was excellent. We enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We went to FouFou for an early small plate bite during their happy hour between 4-6 pm last Friday evening. Located on Cass St. In downtown Traverse City, Michigan it had on street pay parking which we used. This afforded us some time to walk the main drag and peek into the great shoppes before and after dinner! (A parking ramp is a couple of blocks away,too...probably you would need it in the tourist season.) Now to the food...we chose to share the nutty and robust ossau iraty cheese marinated in rosemary evo, a red and yellow beet salad, walnuts, and mandarin oranges , dressing topped with parm/reg. cheese, and lastly foie gras presented in a small jam jar and accompanied with a touch of julianned apple on a bed of mixed greens. All were delicious but we did have to ask for more toasted baguettes for the foie gras...the soft bread previously served didn't work! My Pinot noir was rather pricey at $15 for the glass, but really true to it's French origin...lots of lyme !!! Our other glass of Rose was just right. The portions could have been a smidge larger for the salad and cheese (6 cubes), but we weren't that hungry then. We enjoyed to urban/bistro/olde vibe , including the painted tin ceilings, service was not rushed and where we sat in the partially separated dining area the increasing happy hour bar noise and laughter was not a problem. Check it out!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have always loved the food & beverages at Bustro Foufou, this visit was no different. Scott was a great server, food was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was excellent. It was an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Desserts were a bit disappointing. The rest was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The place is in a good location with easy parking for dinner time.
The food was ok, the service was fine, the prices were fine, wish it were even a little higher for a better over all food tasting and authenticity. The atmosphere was ok! 3/5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great happy hour. Calamari was tough, but everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The apps. were very good - especially the mussels and calamari, but the smoked salmon was not tasty, no flavor.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We really enjoyed the fine food and friendliness of the staff. Everything was delicious and served very beautifully .
This is a fine place and we'll be back soon.

Also important for me is a notable wine list with American, European and South American selections- all carefully chosen.
We drank a 2009 Ch Le Thil from Pessac-Leognan, which was delicious and very fairly priced.

This

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We originally stopped in for the Happy Hour which offered some excellent wines and small plates. We decided to stay on for dinner which proved to be a great decision.

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The French onion soup and mussels were great. We also very much enjoyed the charcuterie and cheese plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Noise level higher from just one St. Patty's Day noisy group. Otherwise terrific ambiance. Excellent wine choices, different from the usual. Very good food. Great place for the four of us to celebrate 3 birthdays!

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Upon a recommendation of a friend, we thought we'd give this restaurant a try. It did not disappoint! From the ambiance, the service and food..two thumbs-up from us. We'll definitely be back😬

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We went for food week. While the atmosphere and service were excellent we were disappointed in the food. my husband had the lobster and I had the beef. Neither had flavor. The wine was good and we liked our server. I wish I had better things to say about the food....we will give it another try as we love our down town businesses and will continue to support. Thank you

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We visited for restaurant week. For $30.00 a person we had a choice of salad or soup, a choice from 3 entrees & choice from 2 desserts. The 2 women got the lobster which was a barley risotto, it was good, but did not have much lobster, I also thought the barley could have been creamier. The 2 men got the beef bourguignon which they thought was delicious. Both desserts where fabulous, so rich. Our waiter was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My husband and I eat out often, and this is our favorite date-night restaurant! It's so welcoming and always delicious food. The service couldn't be improved upon.

Brenda Biederman

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The beef bourguignon was very good. We also enjoyed the cheese plate and French onion soup. Some in our party were disappointed with the steak frites. I think they ordered them too well done. Overall we were very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Bistro Fou Fou has become my wife and my favorite in Traverse City! No matter the occasion this restaurant always makes the evening feel special. The food is exceptional. The service is exceptional without being snooty. And the atmosphere is one of the most charming in northern Michigan. Bistro Fou Fou is truly the whole package, the exceptional experience you are hoping for when dining out.

Every time we come, there is a new temptation on the menu. I usually order my favorite, Steak Fritte. However, my wife usually tries something new from the menu. It never fails that we switch halfway through. The food is always spectacular! This is our favorite go to restaurant in our foodie town!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We have eaten at Bistro Foufou on several occasions and have always been pleased. This time, although the meal was very tasty, it was served luke-warm. I know that had we brought this to the attention of the server, this would have been rectified immediately, but we had a time constraint and said nothing. We will return again but for this visit, we can only rate the food as "good". A diner ought not to have to tell the kitchen that the food is not hot. The service was great as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service and pacing are impeccable. The ambiance is perfect for a date or special night out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was an excellent dining experience!! I would definetly go there again!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a group of eight to celebrate two birthdays. The accommodations were great and our waiter was fun and very professional. The food and wine was fantastic!! Thank you for a great evening!!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wine pairing dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Guillaume hosted another in his series of Wine Dinners. This one highlighted Italy. Food absolutely succulent & special. Hate huge amerikan portions - most enjoyed the parade of 5 small servings of a Unique, Yummy Dish paired with 5 different Italian wines; unknown, inexpensive, full of history. Going next month - March 8th, 2017 for more yum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My fiancé and I loved our date night experience at Bistro Foufou! The atmosphere was lovely and our waiter was perfectly attentive without being a pest. They have an extensive wine list and most importantly, the food is absolutely outstanding! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone. Well done Bistro Foufou!! :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful evening! Excellent wine list, portions generous! Quiet and good for conversation!

Tags: Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. If you go, ask for Nick as your server. He is fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous Happy Hour, wide variety of small plates and excellent french wine at $4 a glass. The only truly French bistro in Traverse City. Friendly and attentive service, not pretentious and great food. Love the fries, short rib burger with french bacon is terrific and the cassoulet is wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were a group of four adults dining on NYE before the CherryT Drop. Everyone got a different entree and all of them were DELICIOUS! The #4's in overall & ambiance were because we were originally seated at an "extra" table right next to the wait staff's work station. There was a very nice table for 4 sitting empty in the main dining area and when I asked the hostess to please move us, she said she was not allowed to make any table adjustments. I asked for the manager and had to be a bit pushy, but was then moved. This all seemed an unnecessary hassle to put customers through especially since the original table remained empty. The 4 for service was only because the restaurant seemed to be a bit understaffed and we had to wait a bit longer than acceptable - however, our waiter was incredibly pleasant, honest, & apologetic & did a fantastic job of balancing his responsibilities. We understand the challenges of proper staffing during holidays in a resort town and wouldn't have bothered to mention it IF we had not been forced to start the evening with the unpleasantness of "fighting" for a decent table.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed the New Years three course special. First course was outstanding. Second course was not so good. Beef was very fatty and third course was outstanding. The special was too expensive for the beef to stand out so poorly. Yet, I would go back and try other menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very much enjoyed the French cuisine. My pork tenderloin with risotto and crispy sweet potato curls was well prepared, though a touch dry. Maybe a sauce would have helped. My wife's bouillabaisse was excellent. Nice selection of wines by the glass. Server Tim was attentive but not too attentive, very helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Happy hour is awesome. There is a wide variety of happy hour snacks / appetizers, very affordable. Restaurant was busy. Waitstaff was timely. Ordered the sweet potato gnocchi...divine! Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

First time i had been there. Very diverse menu and options for all food types.
Very great flavor

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love going to Bistro Foufou. The beet salad is SO good! Not a lot of vegetarian options, however, the sweet potato gnocchi is outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This was a special French holiday wine dinner (special menu by the chef/owner) and it was fantastic. FouFou is always extremely good, but when events like this occur FouFou is really outstanding. The food was artistically presented classic French holiday fare (oysters, foie gras, fish, goose, beef, etc.) pared perfectly with French and French/Swiss wines. Comfortably organized, creatively described and unobtrusively presented wine was a welcome relief from the more often overly winded wine presentations that usually occur at such events. This was a really, really well thought out and delivered dinner fit for any discerning Epicurean!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

As always, the service was impeccable and the ambience charming. All three of us had the salmon and it was perfectly prepared. The flavors and textures in the dish are very balanced. Exquisite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.