About Bistro Cacao

320 Massachusetts Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
View Larger Map

Where Romance meets Flavor… At Bistro Cacao, chef-owner Kemal Deger brings nearly 25 years of culinary expertise to your table. In Bistro Cacao’s historic location we now invite you to enjoy our new concept of modern bistro-style French cuisine in a romantically charming and comfortable setting blending old France with modern creative touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd and 4th NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 546-4737

Website:
http://www.bistrocacao.com/

Catering:
Yes we do Cater

Public Transit:
Union Station red line three blocks away

Executive Chef:
Kemal Deger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pan-fried Duck Breast
Beet Salad
Mango Mousse Cake
Grilled Trout
Grilled Shrimp Salad
pheasant pate
French Onion Soup
Warm Chocolate Cake
Filet Mignon Grille'
Soaked Pear Dessert
Profiteroles
Trio Crèmes Brûlèes
Soupe à l'oignon
Apple tart
Bread and Butter
Shrimp Ravioli
Tuna Nicoise Salad
Rack Of Lamb With Spicy Mustard, Potatoes And Asparugus.
Pastry Basket
Veggie Omelette
Roasted Quail, Potato Pancake, Green Beans With Red Wine Reduction

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

All type of private events welcome, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cocktail etc. Green Room, up to 26 people Red Room, up to 40 people Rouge Room, up to 16 people Cacao Wine Bar, up to 50 people cocktail, receptions, happy hours etc. Private outdoor available.

Bistro Cacao Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
District of Columbia
Romantic
District of Columbia
French
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Capitol Hill ›

Romantic (78)
Special Occasion (72)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
See All
Fit for Foodies (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Notable Wine List (35)
Great for Brunch (31)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Scenic View (8)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fabulous, the staff was inc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fabulous, the staff was incredibly accommodating and the overall ambiance of the restaurant was calm and intimate. It's a great place for a romantic dinner, or in my case birthday brunches with my girlfriends! Thanks for having us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was me and my girlfriends 8th anniver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was me and my girlfriends 8th anniversary and I picked this as the place were we will celebrate it. Both of us enjoyed our dinner in Bistro Cacao and I personally highly recommend this place. Our server if I remember it right Damian was excellent and went above and beyond. It was one of the very best service that we ever had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was a great find! Thanks ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant was a great find! Thanks for the great food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood French bistro with ample at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Neighborhood French bistro with ample attractive outdoor dining space a nice wine list and some good cocktails. Food is rustic but tasty. This is not haute cuisine (although the foie gras terrine was excellent). Nice spot if you are in the area but I would not say this is a destination restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This place is the one of the most overva ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

This place is the one of the most overvalued restaurant I have ever been. Just pick random restaurant in your town and that place would work better than this place. Surprised when I tasted a dessert since the quality was worse than Costco. The quality of fork or knife were comparable with those of university dining. We had a high expectation since it is $$$ restaurant in YELP. But our experience was far below than our expectation.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My friend and I tried Bistro Cacao durin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I tried Bistro Cacao during Restaurant Week, and it was terrific! We appreciated that Bistro Cacao included several selections from their regular menu for Restaurant Week. Service was excellent from greeting by host to servers. The ambience made us feel as though we were actually dining in France. Scrumptious food with nice menu variety. Will definitely return. Very eager to visit for weekend brunch.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were there for restaurant week. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were there for restaurant week.

The gazpacho was not what I would have expected (I added this to me meal at a cost) from this french restaurant. It taste like it came out of a can of diced tomatoes. The chief could take a lesson from Busy Boy and Poets version of summer gazpacho.

The spicy shrimp were nothing special. The cocktail we ordered was not the same as when we dined there earlier in the year, only to return expecting the drink to be prepared the same. It was not and was too expense to waste, so we drank them.

The dessert, the mango cheese cake was just awful, tasteless and as if the baker did not care.

Overall, the $210.00 + tip spent I felt was a waste of money this time Bistro Cacaco. I was so looking forward to dining there for restaurant week, so very much so I had made reservations 2 weeks in advance. However, this time I felt the atmosphere was "rushed " and that the food was not prepared in the same delicious french cuisine efforts as has been in the past when we have dined there over the years. Not sure at this point if I would return anytime soon. But, I do recommend the restaurant over all, and perhaps not going during restaurant week.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Not really impressed with French Cuisine ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Not really impressed with French Cuisines provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Process of meat is great, spot on. Desse ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Process of meat is great, spot on. Dessert can be less sweet.

Overall good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing dishes. Friendly staff. Took car ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing dishes. Friendly staff. Took care of every request

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious until my main c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Everything was delicious until my main course arrived. I got Maui Maui and it was a accompanied by a horrendous mango sauce that tasted like a mango smoothie. Talked to the waiter and he brought me a different sauce. My fish was fantastic after that!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

4 of us went for Restaurant Week. One ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

4 of us went for Restaurant Week. One had trout. One had hanger steak. Two had salads with salmon. All 4 really enjoyed the food very much. Also, the service was outstanding. I believe that all 4 will return here again on other occasions. I recommend Bistro Cacao without hesitation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was unusually slow. The waitres ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was unusually slow. The waitress was not attentive. This is not the norm for lunch.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Cozy restaurant with several intimate ro ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Cozy restaurant with several intimate rooms. Great service. Tasty restaurant choices. Lobster bisque was delicious, as well as the trout. Yummy desserts were a bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, romantic evening! I wish more ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Wonderful, romantic evening! I wish more restaurants would hang curtains - it's a great atmosphere for romance with the added bonus of wonderful food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love that they don't dumb down for Res ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Love that they don't dumb down for Restaurant Week . Lots of selections from regular menu and normal portions. We had the duck and the lambchops, both perfectly prepared. We have been there a number of times and are most impressed with their sauces. Great desserts as well. Only negative for the evening was an enthusiastic and loud table of 8 but other dining room was full and they couldn't move us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of my favorites and never disappoint ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of my favorites and never disappointed me or my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best selections for restaurants week! ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best selections for restaurants week! Always a great experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, french, beautifu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent, french, beautifully prepared and served. The wine list was exceptional, and the overall experience was just top shelf.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. I simply love the foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Never disappoints. I simply love the food and enjoy the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and excellent service.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome meal as always at Bistro Cacao. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Awesome meal as always at Bistro Cacao. Food is amazing as was the service. My only wish is that there was a couple more bottles of wine under $50.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was amazing, place wasn ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service and food was amazing, place wasn't bad, but definitely not as upscale as I was expecting. That's not a bad thing, but not what I expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I chose the Chef's tastin ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My husband and I chose the Chef's tasting menu and it was simply "parfait." Make sure you have time to eat at a leisurely pace if you go with this option. Bistro Cacao has my highest recommendation for both the excellence of the food and "la Belle Époque" ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ambiance. Perfect for couples.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing ambiance. Perfect for couples.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had never heard of the restaurant, bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had never heard of the restaurant, but were looking for a place close to the capital area. We, and the couple we were with, were very impressed with the food, service, atmosphere and ambiance. It has a very cozy and romantic setting and would be a great place for an anniversary, engagement, and/or birthday. The restaurant staff were very accommodating, knowledgeable and friendly which made the dining experience very enjoyable/ We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Always delicious ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience!!! The restaurant i ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Wonderful experience!!! The restaurant is beautifully decorated. The service was wonderful and the food was absolutely amazing. Having worked in the fine dining restaurant industry and experiencing many fine restaurants I can say this was one if the best restaurants I have visited in a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience is delightful. The sta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The ambience is delightful. The staff are low key and keep you very comfortable as you dine. The food is very tasty and I always enjoy the wine. So we make return visits quite often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a family favorite and also good ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is a family favorite and also good for date night. Food and staff are wonderful. Brunch is superior. Sit outside and enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The BEST way to celebrate an anniversary ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The BEST way to celebrate an anniversary. Sam our waiter couldn't have been more pleasant, efficient and accomodating. The Best.. Thank you Sam. The rest of the staff that served our table was just as pleasant and wonderful. The Chef even came out to the restaurant floor at least 3 or 4 times while we where there and made very nice small talk. The food was out of this world. The venisen was so fresh and delishious. Not even the slightest bit gamey. The flavors were wonderful, clean, not overly spiced or sauced and a great combination of texture and flavors to round out a wonderful dinner. This is my "special" restaurant for "special" occasions.... (and more especially when I am hungry for molten chocolate cake.) Thank you Bistro Cacao.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for our 5 year a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 5 year anniversary and they did an outstanding job of making it special. The waiter was very attentive but we didn't feel like we were getting interrupted from conversation. The night ended with a special dessert with Happy 5th Anniversary written around the edge of the plate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the decor of this place. Curtaine ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love the decor of this place. Curtained booth and French artwork make it very inviting and cozy. The waiters were very pleasant and knowledgeable. One thing I wish was better was the temperature of the desserts. Some is the items were not warm that should have been warm. Also, a more robust menu with unique and French items would be awesome.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food! Highly recommend the hanger steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

charming restaurant setting. The food w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

charming restaurant setting. The food was very tasty and we enjoyed good service. One can easily have a private lunch/dinner as there are plenty of curtains to make it private.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Bistro Cacao is my "go to" restaurant wh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Bistro Cacao is my "go to" restaurant when I want a place to dine with friends where the food,

service and ambiance are excellent that takes reservations. A wonderful thing about Bistro Cacao is that unlike all the newly rehabbed restaurants that deliberately go out of their way not to build in any soundproofing so the restaurant will seem like a "happening place" and table turnover happens because who wants to linger over a meal with coffee and dessert when your dining companions and you can't hear one another Bistro Cacao is a restaurant very conducive to conversation over a great meal. There is lots of built in soundproofing in this restaurant and that is a rarity compared to all the "happening noisy" restaurants on Capitol Hill on Barracks Row near Eastern Market metro and elsewhere on the Hill.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had the chef's table with the wine pa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

we had the chef's table with the wine pairing for our group of 6, and it was outstanding. The food was fabulous (including scallops, duck, and 3 mini creme brulee), the wine was good and the meal was a great value. The waitstaff was attentive but not overbearing, and the chef came out and explained each course. Overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and relaxed, but with great service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Cozy and relaxed, but with great service and outstanding menu! Loved the gazpacho, and the lamb rack....perfect! Sam, our waiter was knowledgeable and efficient and had a great sense of humor. Will definitely return....highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing....definitely a hidd ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food is amazing....definitely a hidden gem. The waiter was amazing and knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best spot on Capitol Hill for a business ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Best spot on Capitol Hill for a business lunch. Very quiet and delicious food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.