About Bistro Cacao

320 Massachusetts Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
View Larger Map

Where Romance meets Flavor… At Bistro Cacao, chef-owner Kemal Deger brings nearly 25 years of culinary expertise to your table. In Bistro Cacao’s historic location we now invite you to enjoy our new concept of modern bistro-style French cuisine in a romantically charming and comfortable setting blending old France with modern creative touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday 11 am - 4 pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday 11:30 am - 2 pm, Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd and 4th NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 546-4737

Website:
http://www.bistrocacao.com/

Catering:
Yes we do Cater

Public Transit:
Union Station red line three blocks away

Executive Chef:
Kemal Deger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pan-fried Duck Breast - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Beet Salad - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Mango Mousse Cake - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Grilled Trout - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Filet Mignon Grille' - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Soaked Pear Dessert - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Grilled Shrimp Salad - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
pheasant pate - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
French Onion Soup - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Warm Chocolate Cake - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Profiteroles - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Trio Crèmes Brûlèes - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Soupe à l'oignon - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Apple tart - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Bread and Butter - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Shrimp Ravioli - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Tuna Nicoise Salad - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Rack Of Lamb With Spicy Mustard, Potatoes And Asparugus.  - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Pastry Basket - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Veggie Omelette - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Roasted Quail, Potato Pancake, Green Beans With Red Wine Reduction - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

On Christmas Eve we will be open from 4 pm till 10 pm, serving
Chef's 3 course Christmas menu ($44.95 pp). Kids menu will be available upon request.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Bistro Cacao invites you to say goodbye to 2016. Chef Deger will be offering his 5 Course Holiday menu from 4 pm to 11 pm. Make sure to reserve your sport, seats are filling up fast!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

All type of private events welcome, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cocktail etc. Green Room, up to 26 people Red Room, up to 40 people Rouge Room, up to 16 people Cacao Wine Bar, up to 50 people cocktail, receptions, happy hours etc. Private outdoor available.

Bistro Cacao Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Ambiance
District of Columbia
Special Occasion
District of Columbia
1 More
French
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Capitol Hill ›

Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (55)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Notable Wine List (34)
Cozy (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Authentic (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Casual (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (7)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1895 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our best experience in DC and o ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our best experience in DC and one of the most romantic dinners we've ever had! We were celebrating my husband's birthday and they made it very special. They also seated us at the private table in the bay window overlooking the street. It has a privacy curtain that makes it feel very intimate. The service was wonderful and the food was fabulous!!! We had the lobster bisque, French onion soup, scallops appetizer, filet mignon, duck, and creme brûlée for my husband's birthday dessert. All of it was excellent. My filet was FANTASTIC!!! Can't say enough good things about this place. Best way to spend his birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great French food, high quality (and acc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great French food, high quality (and accordingly pricey) and wonderful service. Only negative was the size of the table, which was very small for two adults and a toddler. But the food was divine!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent, with great options for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Always excellent, with great options for lunch and a cozy setting with a touch of mystery. Perfect little nooks for quiet conversations or a romantic interlude. Service is gracious, food is very tasty and nicely presented. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent French cuisine! The service is ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent French cuisine! The service is beyond top notch. I will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Bistro Cacao. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

This was my first time at Bistro Cacao. It's a very lovely place. It has a very old and antique feeling and style. It's a cozy place in a row style home. The food is great. The portions are just right not too much. The filet mignon was excellent. The waiter was nice. This place is great for special occasions. They play french music in the background. Some of the seating arrangements have curtains to give you that private dining experience. I would eat at this place again. I didn't try the desserts but would love to next time. Some of the desserts require 20 minutes to cook. They have a good selection of wines, cocktails, and whiskey/bourbon drinks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely place, dine at Bistro Cacao and h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Lovely place, dine at Bistro Cacao and have always enjoyed my meal and service. It's my go to place for celebrations or a simply a good meal

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. Makes college stud ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was amazing. Makes college student like me reappreciate food. The waiters were friendly too. Always ready to answer our qustion about the food, since we are not quite familiar with French food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal at Bistro Cacao. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Bistro Cacao. We ate hear Thanksgiving day. The menu had several choices. We opted for the pumpkin soup and rack of lamb. The meal was beautifully prepared and served impeccably. If you haven't yet discovered this reasonably priced French gem on Capitol Hill, you need to --toute de suite.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We three celebrated Thanksgiving with di ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We three celebrated Thanksgiving with dinner at Bistro Cacao. The menu was perfect for we each order something different. The soups and sauces were first class with a depth of flavor. We can't get the pumpkin crab soup or the pumpkin cheesecake out of our heads. The lamb was cooked perfectly, the beef wellington also perfect but, I selfishly like more pastry. The staff is lovely, with a good sesnse of humor and attentive without being obtrusive. The latter a dying art in this town. We also love the inviting decor, comfortable seating that works with dining, lighting and noise level. It's a favorite spot for dinner, a night out to reconnect - yes, conversation is easy too due to the clever sound softing treatments. During weeks when I have business in the area I enjoy a quick lunch of soup and salad on the patio, too.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious, as usual! We live nearby and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious, as usual! We live nearby and have never had a bad meal here. Great food and unique ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience but food was disappointin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great ambience but food was disappointing. French onion soup was not so bad.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Bistro Cacao is a wonderful little Frenc ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Bistro Cacao is a wonderful little French restaurant. The menu is great, the wine list is extensive, and the staff are super friendly and attentive. My wife and I are pescatarians. I had steamed muscles, lobster bisque, and the bouillabaisse - each excellent. My wife had the bisque and the mushroom ravioli. The chef would not let us leave without having desert - gratis - and the mousse was amazing. This little place is romantic, warm, and semi-private if you get one of the curtained booths. It's a great place for a date-night or special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bistro Cacao is my favorite restaurant o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Bistro Cacao is my favorite restaurant on Capitol Hill. Great food, service and ambiance. Takes reservations. Reasonably priced for a french restaurant. And very important, it is quiet and you can have a conversation with the people you're dining with unlike so many restaurants that are unbearably noisy.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great service, very romantic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

great food, great service, very romantic and very affordable

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place for a casual Sunday brunch, w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good place for a casual Sunday brunch, with or without kids.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All the above

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 12, 2016

All the above

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro Cacao is a wonderful, small Frenc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Bistro Cacao is a wonderful, small French restaurant. Built out of two Cap. Hill row houses, the restaurant is carved into a number of comfortable spaces. Food was excellent. We enjoyed the duck breast and the bouillabaisse. Both were fabulous, with the broth in the bouillabaisse giving it a slight edge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service, with an excellent variety ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great service, with an excellent variety of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I found the food excellent. The service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I found the food excellent. The service handy, but not obtrusive. All in all I perfect place for chatter, good wine and a fine meal to round out your meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 5 turned out to be only a p ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our party of 5 turned out to be only a party of 4 and one member was quite late. The restaurant was very welcoming, especially considering these circumstances. It is a lovely spot quite close to Union Station. The service was wonderful

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambiance, very cozy French bist ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love the ambiance, very cozy French bistro feel. Nice quiet environment making conversation easy. Excellent food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We habw been to Bistro Cacao numerous ti ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We habw been to Bistro Cacao numerous times and are never disappointed. The intimacy provided by the curtained tables is unique and enjoyable for a romantic dinner. Service is excellent. My date and I both enjoyed our swordfish and mushroom ravioli. The artichoke heart side is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro Caco feels, tastes, smells, hears ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Bistro Caco feels, tastes, smells, hears, and looks Parisian from the moment you lay your eyes on it. Every member of its staff is in character, especially the chef. I can't think of a better place to dine for romantic getaway. Oh, and the food--delicious and authentic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked in the door, i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

From the moment we walked in the door, it was as if we were being welcomed into someone's cozy home. The decor was authentically French and could be very private and romantic if you were on a date. The staff (especially Kamir!) was very authentic and friendly. And...the food was fantastic!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was all around exceptional ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My experience was all around exceptional; service; food; decor, very appropriate for a romantic date night or cultured groups. Staff was very attentive to all areas of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WE HAD A VERY GOOD MEAL. WOULD GO BACK ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

WE HAD A VERY GOOD MEAL. WOULD GO BACK FOR SURE, WONDERFUL HELP, FUN PLACE TO BE.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious French cuisine set in a beauti ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious French cuisine set in a beautiful, intimate atmosphere. Service is incredible and you do not feel rushed. A definite for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took y boyfriend here for his birthday ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I took y boyfriend here for his birthday. This is the perfect place for a romantic, intimate dinner. I love the decor and private dinning setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great meal! Everything from the c ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 17, 2016

What a great meal! Everything from the cocktails to the dessert were top notch! Service was amazing! My wife and I will definitely return when in D.C.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Authentic French Restaurant with great o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Authentic French Restaurant with great outdoor seating. Great neighborhood gem!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious. Our server Dami ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food was delicious. Our server Damien was outstanding and made our dinner special! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was superb. Ambiance excellent.

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was superb. Ambiance excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance and decor was great. Music was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Ambiance and decor was great. Music was audible, but not overpowering. The food was GREAT, loved the french onion soup and the scallops were amazing. Dinner was solid, delicious and filling, but was a little outdone by the amazing wine, appetizers and dessert. Loved the whole experience, will definitely return!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightfully decorated, intimate dining ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Delightfully decorated, intimate dining with superb, inconspicuously attentive service and excellent food. While expensive, it more than met expectations.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My sea bass was flavorful but over cooke ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

My sea bass was flavorful but over cooked. Otherwise dinner was okay

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated our 1-year wedding anniver ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We celebrated our 1-year wedding anniversary here and had a fantastic experience! The atmosphere was perfectly romantic--fit with candle light, a private table, and rose petals. We did the tasting menu which was a lot of fun and delicious. I highly recommend this for the perfect date spot for a special occasion!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Great ambiance. Great s ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Delicious food. Great ambiance. Great staff. Chef is fenomenal. Really enjoyed all appetizers. Will return again. Great experience!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 23rd wedding anniversary, and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It was our 23rd wedding anniversary, and they saved a curtained booth for us such was very thoughtful. Our server Hamid was knowledgeable, personally engaging, and he was spot on recommending the prix fixe menu with wine pairings. Even though we enjoyed our meal for 3 hours, we we're never rushed and always attended to without needing to ask. Wonderful place, staff, food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding - as always!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Outstanding - as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and personal service. Impressi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent and personal service. Impressive menu with great wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.