About Bistro Cacao

320 Massachusetts Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
View Larger Map

Where Romance meets Flavor… At Bistro Cacao, chef-owner Kemal Deger brings nearly 25 years of culinary expertise to your table. In Bistro Cacao’s historic location we now invite you to enjoy our new concept of modern bistro-style French cuisine in a romantically charming and comfortable setting blending old France with modern creative touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd and 4th NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 546-4737

Website:
http://www.bistrocacao.com/

Catering:
Yes we do Cater

Public Transit:
Union Station red line three blocks away

Executive Chef:
Kemal Deger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pan-fried Duck Breast
Beet Salad
Mango Mousse Cake
Grilled Trout
Grilled Shrimp Salad
pheasant pate
French Onion Soup
Warm Chocolate Cake
Filet Mignon Grille'
Soaked Pear Dessert
Profiteroles
Trio Crèmes Brûlèes
Soupe à l'oignon
Apple tart
Bread and Butter
Shrimp Ravioli
Tuna Nicoise Salad
Rack Of Lamb With Spicy Mustard, Potatoes And Asparugus.
Pastry Basket
Veggie Omelette
Roasted Quail, Potato Pancake, Green Beans With Red Wine Reduction

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

All type of private events welcome, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cocktail etc. Green Room, up to 26 people Red Room, up to 40 people Rouge Room, up to 16 people Cacao Wine Bar, up to 50 people cocktail, receptions, happy hours etc. Private outdoor available.

Bistro Cacao Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
District of Columbia
French
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Capitol Hill ›

Romantic (71)
Special Occasion (68)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Notable Wine List (31)
Great for Brunch (22)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Scenic View (7)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1847 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband had Sea Bass, which must have ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband had Sea Bass, which must have been good, as he didn't leave crumb on the dish. My steak and frites were excellent. Frites crispy and hot!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Bistro Cacao is an informal restaurant w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Bistro Cacao is an informal restaurant with French cuisine. We dined with a party of 21 in a nice private room and very much enjoyed it. Great service and food.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went to Bistro Cacao a few days ago from ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Went to Bistro Cacao a few days ago from my anniversary and it was lovely. The dining room is intimate and romantic, with lovely french music. I had the salad cacao and the salmon both were amazing and flavorful. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was great for our anniversary, we got a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Was great for our anniversary, we got a private both and could draw the curtains if we wanted. The outdoor seating looked enjoyable too. Wait staff was attentive and the food was delicious. They were out of my first choice (the sea bass) but I was happy with the one I actually ordered (hanger steak).

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday event. Lived the ambience - co ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Birthday event. Lived the ambience - comfortable chairs with curtains -:very private feeling. Great food@

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice if you are looking for a ne ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great choice if you are looking for a neat date spot. Expect a quintessential french dinner. Cheapest wine is almost 40$ for the bottle, the food is better priced. Very recommended for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful spot for our 1st Anniversary ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

A wonderful spot for our 1st Anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely ambiance and decently priced entr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Lovely ambiance and decently priced entrees made for a nice night. Unless the weather is perfect, I'd suggest sitting indoors, as the decor is romantic and fun.

Book a reservation a little later at night and the lighting in the dining room will feel even more romantic!

The service was also top notch throughout our meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Outside din ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. Outside dining was comfortable and nice atmosphere

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was wonderful. Intimat ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food and service was wonderful. Intimate atmosphere, attentive waitstaff and a wonderful dinner. The swordfish special was to die for!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was taken here for my birthday dinner an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Was taken here for my birthday dinner and we were able to sit in one of the booths with the curtains. Ambiance was very romantic and I enjoyed all the food with the exception of the lamb. This may have been very good lamb but I didn't enjoy it as much because the meat was so fatty. It is something I don't eat regularly so it may be very good to others. I will say it was well seasoned and greatly paired with the herb potato cake so I wasn't moved to send it back either.The trio of creme brulee is a must have and yes I agree with others the chocolate is the best! I also enjoyed the grilled scallops appetizer and lobster and asparagus soup(special). I definitely plan to come back as there were a few other entrees I wanted to try!! I think for the experience of fine dining in DC it was also very affordable. A must try!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We are getting into french food and this ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We are getting into french food and this was phenomenal! It was not cheep but well worth the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience all around--proba ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Outstanding experience all around--probably the best service we've had since moving to DC and equally delicious food and wine. 6 stars all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a friends get together for lunc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was a friends get together for lunch and there were several things on the menu that I entertained. I decided on the salmon but the blackened mahi also looked good (my friend got that).

I visited this a lot in the past when it was the Two Quail. The ambiance is similar and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall our experience was very good: D ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Overall our experience was very good: Dell gave us great service and the food was vastly improved from

when the restaurant first opened.

French music was nice but a tad loud. I found the drink/ wine prices a bit high.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here for an anniversary dinner. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went here for an anniversary dinner. The food was excellent in the traditional French style (rich). We were there early and ate outside and it was delightful. Service was very good. Have been there before and the food was also excellent. However, we once went for restaurant week and found it not so good. But, we are often disappointed with restaurant week food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Yet another top notch restaurant on the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Yet another top notch restaurant on the Hill! All three dishes were outstanding, not to mention the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our 15th anniversary was great night bec ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our 15th anniversary was great night because the Cacao was great in ambience, food, and service.

The food was expertly prepared ,and Damien was at our beck and call.

We had our own little niche and the chairs were very comfortable.

We will remember this restaurant and visit it again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very much enjoyed! Mussels and frites v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Very much enjoyed! Mussels and frites very good. The dishes of my companions also looked very good. Great neighborhood place! Will be back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous, the staff was inc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was fabulous, the staff was incredibly accommodating and the overall ambiance of the restaurant was calm and intimate. It's a great place for a romantic dinner, or in my case birthday brunches with my girlfriends! Thanks for having us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was me and my girlfriends 8th anniver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was me and my girlfriends 8th anniversary and I picked this as the place were we will celebrate it. Both of us enjoyed our dinner in Bistro Cacao and I personally highly recommend this place. Our server if I remember it right Damian was excellent and went above and beyond. It was one of the very best service that we ever had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was a great find! Thanks ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant was a great find! Thanks for the great food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood French bistro with ample at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Neighborhood French bistro with ample attractive outdoor dining space a nice wine list and some good cocktails. Food is rustic but tasty. This is not haute cuisine (although the foie gras terrine was excellent). Nice spot if you are in the area but I would not say this is a destination restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This place is the one of the most overva ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place is the one of the most overvalued restaurant I have ever been. Just pick random restaurant in your town and that place would work better than this place. Surprised when I tasted a dessert since the quality was worse than Costco. The quality of fork or knife were comparable with those of university dining. We had a high expectation since it is $$$ restaurant in YELP. But our experience was far below than our expectation.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My friend and I tried Bistro Cacao durin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My friend and I tried Bistro Cacao during Restaurant Week, and it was terrific! We appreciated that Bistro Cacao included several selections from their regular menu for Restaurant Week. Service was excellent from greeting by host to servers. The ambience made us feel as though we were actually dining in France. Scrumptious food with nice menu variety. Will definitely return. Very eager to visit for weekend brunch.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were there for restaurant week. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were there for restaurant week.

The gazpacho was not what I would have expected (I added this to me meal at a cost) from this french restaurant. It taste like it came out of a can of diced tomatoes. The chief could take a lesson from Busy Boy and Poets version of summer gazpacho.

The spicy shrimp were nothing special. The cocktail we ordered was not the same as when we dined there earlier in the year, only to return expecting the drink to be prepared the same. It was not and was too expense to waste, so we drank them.

The dessert, the mango cheese cake was just awful, tasteless and as if the baker did not care.

Overall, the $210.00 + tip spent I felt was a waste of money this time Bistro Cacaco. I was so looking forward to dining there for restaurant week, so very much so I had made reservations 2 weeks in advance. However, this time I felt the atmosphere was "rushed " and that the food was not prepared in the same delicious french cuisine efforts as has been in the past when we have dined there over the years. Not sure at this point if I would return anytime soon. But, I do recommend the restaurant over all, and perhaps not going during restaurant week.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Not really impressed with French Cuisine ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Not really impressed with French Cuisines provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great neighborhood french bistro. It wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great neighborhood french bistro. It was our first time there and we plan on going back. Food, wine, and service were wonderful.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Process of meat is great, spot on. Desse ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Process of meat is great, spot on. Dessert can be less sweet.

Overall good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing dishes. Friendly staff. Took car ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing dishes. Friendly staff. Took care of every request

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious until my main c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Everything was delicious until my main course arrived. I got Maui Maui and it was a accompanied by a horrendous mango sauce that tasted like a mango smoothie. Talked to the waiter and he brought me a different sauce. My fish was fantastic after that!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

4 of us went for Restaurant Week. One ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

4 of us went for Restaurant Week. One had trout. One had hanger steak. Two had salads with salmon. All 4 really enjoyed the food very much. Also, the service was outstanding. I believe that all 4 will return here again on other occasions. I recommend Bistro Cacao without hesitation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was unusually slow. The waitres ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was unusually slow. The waitress was not attentive. This is not the norm for lunch.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Cozy restaurant with several intimate ro ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Cozy restaurant with several intimate rooms. Great service. Tasty restaurant choices. Lobster bisque was delicious, as well as the trout. Yummy desserts were a bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, romantic evening! I wish more ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Wonderful, romantic evening! I wish more restaurants would hang curtains - it's a great atmosphere for romance with the added bonus of wonderful food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love that they don't dumb down for Res ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Love that they don't dumb down for Restaurant Week . Lots of selections from regular menu and normal portions. We had the duck and the lambchops, both perfectly prepared. We have been there a number of times and are most impressed with their sauces. Great desserts as well. Only negative for the evening was an enthusiastic and loud table of 8 but other dining room was full and they couldn't move us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of my favorites and never disappoint ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of my favorites and never disappointed me or my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best selections for restaurants week! ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best selections for restaurants week! Always a great experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, french, beautifu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent, french, beautifully prepared and served. The wine list was exceptional, and the overall experience was just top shelf.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. I simply love the foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Never disappoints. I simply love the food and enjoy the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.