About Bistro Cacao

320 Massachusetts Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
View Larger Map

Where Romance meets Flavor… At Bistro Cacao, chef-owner Kemal Deger brings nearly 25 years of culinary expertise to your table. In Bistro Cacao’s historic location we now invite you to enjoy our new concept of modern bistro-style French cuisine in a romantically charming and comfortable setting blending old France with modern creative touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd and 4th NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 546-4737

Website:
http://www.bistrocacao.com/

Catering:
Yes we do Cater

Public Transit:
Union Station red line three blocks away

Executive Chef:
Kemal Deger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

All type of private events welcome, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cocktail etc. Green Room, up to 26 people Red Room, up to 40 people Rouge Room, up to 16 people Cacao Wine Bar, up to 50 people cocktail, receptions, happy hours etc. Private outdoor available.

Bistro Cacao Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Ambiance
District of Columbia
Romantic
District of Columbia
1 More
French
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Capitol Hill ›

romantic (136)
special occasion (121)
neighborhood gem (94)
See All
fit for foodies (80)
great for outdoor dining (49)
notable wine list (47)
great for brunch (35)
great for lunch (26)
good for groups (24)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (12)
scenic view (11)
kid-friendly (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and ambiance. Definitely pe ...

Dined a day ago

Amazing food and ambiance. Definitely perfect date spot. The food was out of this world! Really know how to cook seafood and meat! Just really great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined 3 days ago

I'm a frequent costumer at Bistro Cacao. They always consistently serve excellent dishes, with outstanding customer service. Having a deep understanding of French dinning allowed me to visit the top spots in the DC area and I continue to go to Bistro Cacao as they offer the whole package experience better than anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Surprisingly Good

Dined 3 days ago

I've been to other restaurants on the block and they were nothing special, but Bistro Cacao was surprisingly good. Service was attentive, but not over the top which allowed for a great business lunch. I think I will go back to try the brunch. The nicoise salad was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really good French food and great servic ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Really good French food and great service. Our book club loves this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Perfect Local Bistro

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Romantic interiors, wonderful food, great service. Wish we were in the neighborhood more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always superb in every way.

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Always superb in every way.

food4
ambience4
service4

Vice nice classic French Bistro. All of ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Vice nice classic French Bistro. All of our meals were great. My mussels in a sauce were fresh and very tasty Classic, country French decor and the service was very good

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, service, and ambiance. Reall ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food, service, and ambiance. Really wish they had hot chocolate though!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Place

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good food and service. Excellent wine list. Romantic setting. Looked like the outdoor section would be fun, but it was raining the night I went

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bistro Cacao was a delight! Atmosphere ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Bistro Cacao was a delight! Atmosphere was elegant and charming and the waiter was very attentive. I will definitely return on my next trip to DC!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Eclectic atmosphere is like no other.

Dined on May 18, 2016

Eclectic atmosphere is like no other.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE BEST!!!!!!!!! I will be back!!!!!!! ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

THE BEST!!!!!!!!! I will be back!!!!!!!!! The food was wonderful. The staff was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Very romantic- great ambiance for a spec ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Very romantic- great ambiance for a special date or small get-together! But overpriced for the quality of the food. Disappointed in the lack of flavor

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was exceptional and will ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The experience was exceptional and will be a lifetime memory

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True to the authentic French theme with ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

True to the authentic French theme with incredible service to match the food. A vibrant outdoor seating area and great indoor semi-private dining spaces for groups. Well done!! Nice walk from Union Station, perfect on a nice night!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall fantastic - 4.9 if I could give ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Overall fantastic - 4.9 if I could give tenth points. The only hiccup was a poorly made Sazerac - the staff recognized this and were very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been at Bistro Cacao for Mother's Day Brunch. It was amazing! They serve the best brunch in Capitol Hill, DC. Pastry basket has delicious warm chocolate croissants and bread! Also they have bottomless mimosa. So I will recommend the best food with the best service in perfect patio!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro Cacao for the Mother's Day Brunch Win

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bistro Cacao served up a fantastic prix-fixe brunch on Mother's Day. The meal began with a choice of soup or salad, there were several entree choices and two choices for dessert. Everything was cooked and presented to perfection. in addition, our server Damien went out of his way to make the guest of honor (Mom) feel special. Finally, kudos to BC for not overbooking and causing people to have to wait for tables to clear. Bistro Cacao continues to be my go-to restaurant on Capitol Hill for special occasions. Merci beaucoup!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an AMAZING dinner and dessert here. ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Had an AMAZING dinner and dessert here. Everything was delicious and the service was excellent and funny. Ambieance was perfectly intimate! Recommend: french onion soup, Bouillabaisse, rack of lamb, apple tart, and poached pear.

food4
ambience1
service4
value3

A strange decoration but food amasing.

Dined on May 2, 2016

The ambiance was strange with red curtains, walls covered with dark fabrics and an atmosphere a little dark. But the food was amasing . The waiters and the host were very polite. When we were getting out of the restaurant it was pouring and the host was very kind to call a taxi for us.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Staff from start to finish. One of ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great Staff from start to finish. One of the best meals in every aspect I've ever had. The French onion soup is hands down the best.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our evening at Bistro Cacao is one of th ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our evening at Bistro Cacao is one of the top dining experiences we've ever had. We chose the tasting menu and wine pairing and enjoyed every bite. The chef spoke with us on several occasions about what he prepared was flavorful, balanced, and beyond delicious. Our server, Damien, was a pleasure and walked the line between too little and too much conversation expertly. He added to our experience. We had a fantastic meal, and even more importantly a wonderful time. I cannot wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best French Restaurant in DC

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

From beginning the end everything was very good. I will recommend to friend and family to dine in at Bistro Cacao one of the best restaurant in DC area. Romantic decor is excellent for special occasion and very good food

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place to meet up

Dined on April 27, 2016

Excellent food, enclosed spaces for semblance of privacy, very good service. Have brought groups here for business dinners and also come here socially.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot near Union Station

Dined on April 25, 2016

Little gem of a restaurant both inside and out. Good service, nice menu and nice ambience. Great place to meet someone for a "nicer" meal within walking distance of Union Station. I will return!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Cacao Is Lovely

Dined on April 24, 2016

Just wonderful French food, and we were there for brunch. It was so tasty, the service excellent, and we were outdoors. The interior looked dark and cosy, which also would have suited me fine if it hadn't been so beautiful outside. I had steak and eggs, my mom had quiche, both were absolutely fantastic and made with care. Sweet waiter and hostess. 10 minute (or less) walk up Mass Ave if you head left out of Union Station front doors. Highly recommend, we'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was beautiful the food was love.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Had a great time at my wife 22nd BDAY will come again

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bistro Cacao Never Disappoints

Dined on April 19, 2016

Disguised as a little rowhouse restaurant, Bistro Cacao actually has ample seating and the outdoor space is really inviting along with its neighbors along the north coast of Massachusetts Ave., NE. An easy stroll from Union Station, it's worth the trip, and park on D Street with no problem after 6:00 p.m. You will enjoy authentic French cuisine and attentive service in an atmosphere where you can feel as secluded as you want to. The mussels were plentiful and excellent on my last visit, but there's nothing on the menu which isn't worth a taste.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great French neighborhood find

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Found this restaurant on Open Table and Trip Advisor and it was excellent. Ambiance was beautiful and intimate Service was fantastic Food was excellent and prices were reasonable. We had the Duck and the Rack of Lamp and both were very good. The Lobster Bisque was the best we've ever had. The Apple Pastry dessert was worth waiting for !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Cacao

Dined on April 14, 2016

Spent a very pleasant evening at Cacao. Very nice for a romantic dinner with the curtained booths. French ambiance and music, wonderful food and service. Pistaschio crusted sea bass melted in my mouth and the version rack was enjoyed by my partner. And who can go wrong with chocolate cake for dessert?

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to Bistro Cacao countless time ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

I've been to Bistro Cacao countless times for dinner and brunch and they've never disappointed. If you're looking for well done French food and excellent service, this is the place for you.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Charming and Delicious

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Long-time DC denizens will know this space as the former home of Two Quail. It retains all of its ecclectic charm, with lots of mismatched plush furniture and booths that can curtained off for extra privacy. The ambiance is thoroughly romantic. The menu is classic French with a few tweaks hear and there. Grilled swordfish was very well prepaed and served with a delicious lemon caper butter. Magret de Canard (sliced duck breast) came with a blueberry sauce that was perfect -- not too sweet, not too tart. We started with very nice versions of onion soup and pate de foie gras -- it doesn't get any more French than that. Server was charming and professional. We didn't have wine, but the choices looked extensive. A new gem on Capital Hill.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great anniversary dinner!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We celebrated our 28th anniversary here, and it was a fantastic experience. The menu is varied and creative, my wife had a filet mignon that was perfectly prepared and I had a delicious rack of lamb. Our soup starters were both excellent, I had the lobster bisque and my wife had one of the best French Onion soups ever. For dessert, I had a sampler plate, and my wife had the blueberry crepe, which was by far the best dessert of the things we tried. The service was outstanding, as the chef/owner is engaged and treated us with special attention due to our special occasion, but was not overbearing. He is very engaging and nice. The ambiance is quiet, nicely appointed, and cozy in a good way... We enthusiastically recommend Bistro Cacao to anybody looking for an intimate dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and outstanding service! ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent food and outstanding service! Hamid was a great server!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

A Gem

Dined on April 7, 2016

Bistro Cacao is a quaint, romantic, and cozy restaurant with a delicious menu and nice wine list. The staff was very nice, but not overbearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

35th Wedding Anniversary dinner

Dined on March 28, 2016

A great spot for a romantic dinner. The appetizers were wonderful - better than the main courses and they were good, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I decided to try escargot for the first ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I decided to try escargot for the first time and it was absolutely to die for! The butternut squash soup with goat cheese on special was incredible and the duck breast was cooked to perfection. Our server was attentive and pleasant, and the ambiance was the perfect complement for our anniversary! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone!

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

great but...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

This place is great. The reason that it lost two stars is this: While the brunch is great in general with a great value. They do a special menu for special occasions like Easter for more than twice the price. Which is fine, except that they force you to order it with no option for regular brunch.A special menu should enhance he regular menu, not take it away.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Easter Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

I had Easter brunch here and it was lovely. The brunch was prix-fix and the options were great - I had the lobster bisque and duck and both were wonderful. The service was attentive and polite without being overbearing (which would be easy to do in such a tight space - the restaurant interior is certainly "cozy"). It was chilly went we went and a bit wet, so unfortunately we couldn't sit outside, but from the patio (which did have fireplaces set up to keep guests warm) you can see the cherry blossom trees in Stanton Park, making it a nice place to grab happy hour or brunch and enjoy a less touristy view of DC's (in)famous cherry blossoms. I am hoping to go back soon for the happy hour - mostly $4-5 drinks and they had pate and a cheese platter on the happy hour menu, so it's more upscale than the usual happy hour places around DC but without breaking the bank. Overall, I would recommend for a small group working or visiting near the Capitol who want to get away from the crowds for a bit.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ate from the filet mignon ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Everything we ate from the filet mignon to the poached pear for dessert was delicious!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.