About Bistro Cacao

320 Massachusetts Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
View Larger Map

Where Romance meets Flavor… At Bistro Cacao, chef-owner Kemal Deger brings nearly 25 years of culinary expertise to your table. In Bistro Cacao’s historic location we now invite you to enjoy our new concept of modern bistro-style French cuisine in a romantically charming and comfortable setting blending old France with modern creative touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd and 4th NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 546-4737

Website:
http://www.bistrocacao.com/

Catering:
Yes we do Cater

Public Transit:
Union Station red line three blocks away

Executive Chef:
Kemal Deger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pan-fried Duck Breast
Beet Salad
Mango Mousse Cake
Grilled Trout
French Onion Soup
Warm Chocolate Cake
Grilled Shrimp Salad
pheasant pate
Filet Mignon Grille'
Soaked Pear Dessert
Profiteroles
Soupe à l'oignon
Trio Crèmes Brûlèes
Apple tart
Shrimp Ravioli
Bread and Butter
Tuna Nicoise Salad
Rack Of Lamb With Spicy Mustard, Potatoes And Asparugus.
Veggie Omelette
Pastry Basket
Roasted Quail, Potato Pancake, Green Beans With Red Wine Reduction

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

All type of private events welcome, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cocktail etc. Green Room, up to 26 people Red Room, up to 40 people Rouge Room, up to 16 people Cacao Wine Bar, up to 50 people cocktail, receptions, happy hours etc. Private outdoor available.

Bistro Cacao Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
District of Columbia
French
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Capitol Hill ›

romantic (90)
special occasion (77)
neighborhood gem (65)
See All
fit for foodies (57)
great for outdoor dining (49)
notable wine list (36)
great for brunch (32)
great for lunch (24)
good for groups (19)
scenic view (8)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always delicious ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always delicious ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience!!! The restaurant i ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful experience!!! The restaurant is beautifully decorated. The service was wonderful and the food was absolutely amazing. Having worked in the fine dining restaurant industry and experiencing many fine restaurants I can say this was one if the best restaurants I have visited in a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience is delightful. The sta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The ambience is delightful. The staff are low key and keep you very comfortable as you dine. The food is very tasty and I always enjoy the wine. So we make return visits quite often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The BEST way to celebrate an anniversary ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The BEST way to celebrate an anniversary. Sam our waiter couldn't have been more pleasant, efficient and accomodating. The Best.. Thank you Sam. The rest of the staff that served our table was just as pleasant and wonderful. The Chef even came out to the restaurant floor at least 3 or 4 times while we where there and made very nice small talk. The food was out of this world. The venisen was so fresh and delishious. Not even the slightest bit gamey. The flavors were wonderful, clean, not overly spiced or sauced and a great combination of texture and flavors to round out a wonderful dinner. This is my "special" restaurant for "special" occasions.... (and more especially when I am hungry for molten chocolate cake.) Thank you Bistro Cacao.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for our 5 year a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 5 year anniversary and they did an outstanding job of making it special. The waiter was very attentive but we didn't feel like we were getting interrupted from conversation. The night ended with a special dessert with Happy 5th Anniversary written around the edge of the plate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the decor of this place. Curtaine ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love the decor of this place. Curtained booth and French artwork make it very inviting and cozy. The waiters were very pleasant and knowledgeable. One thing I wish was better was the temperature of the desserts. Some is the items were not warm that should have been warm. Also, a more robust menu with unique and French items would be awesome.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food! Highly recommend the hanger steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

charming restaurant setting. The food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

charming restaurant setting. The food was very tasty and we enjoyed good service. One can easily have a private lunch/dinner as there are plenty of curtains to make it private.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Bistro Cacao is my "go to" restaurant wh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Bistro Cacao is my "go to" restaurant when I want a place to dine with friends where the food,

service and ambiance are excellent that takes reservations. A wonderful thing about Bistro Cacao is that unlike all the newly rehabbed restaurants that deliberately go out of their way not to build in any soundproofing so the restaurant will seem like a "happening place" and table turnover happens because who wants to linger over a meal with coffee and dessert when your dining companions and you can't hear one another Bistro Cacao is a restaurant very conducive to conversation over a great meal. There is lots of built in soundproofing in this restaurant and that is a rarity compared to all the "happening noisy" restaurants on Capitol Hill on Barracks Row near Eastern Market metro and elsewhere on the Hill.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had the chef's table with the wine pa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

we had the chef's table with the wine pairing for our group of 6, and it was outstanding. The food was fabulous (including scallops, duck, and 3 mini creme brulee), the wine was good and the meal was a great value. The waitstaff was attentive but not overbearing, and the chef came out and explained each course. Overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and relaxed, but with great service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Cozy and relaxed, but with great service and outstanding menu! Loved the gazpacho, and the lamb rack....perfect! Sam, our waiter was knowledgeable and efficient and had a great sense of humor. Will definitely return....highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing....definitely a hidd ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food is amazing....definitely a hidden gem. The waiter was amazing and knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best spot on Capitol Hill for a business ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Best spot on Capitol Hill for a business lunch. Very quiet and delicious food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always expect good service and e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

You can always expect good service and excellent food and drink at Bistro Cacao!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening. I and my guest enjoyed t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great evening. I and my guest enjoyed the food and the pleasant atmosphere. We will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Romantic place and delicious food. Nice ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Romantic place and delicious food. Nice dishes decoration, quiet and private corner for couples or small group.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Cacao is always a consistent gem. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Bistro Cacao is always a consistent gem. The food is delicious, hosts and servers very knowledgeable and polite, and the setting is warm and welcoming whether inside or out. Go here. You will love it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, romantic dining experience - ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful, romantic dining experience - and amazing French cuisine! Request the 'red room' for a quiet and secluded table for two. Great service, very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet and romantic setting. Food was p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Quiet and romantic setting. Food was prepared perfectly. Service was attentive and professional. Highly recommend for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was fantastic! Celebrated my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place was fantastic! Celebrated my wife's and daughters birthdays here. The staff was terrific. They accommodate all our special requests, seating arrangements, sides for kid's entries, special deserts.l, they really made the evening special. The food was perfect and the drinks were done just right. Overall a five star experience for sure. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very romantic setting with rose petals a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very romantic setting with rose petals and candles on all tables. Excellent service. Good food. Outside seating is more casual but inside is all about date night. Love the red curtains. Only complaint is that the place is small and there isn't much privacy, despite the curtains. We were unfortunately privy to every word exchanged between the couple on a first date across the restaurant from us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really were impressed with everything ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We really were impressed with everything about this restaurant. Had the grilled octopus/pineapple/blue cheese appetizer, unusual combo but great tasting, had the rack of lamb for entree, done to perfection, juicy succulent lamb. Husband had smoked salmon appetizer and bass entree both very well done. The chef came out to talk to patrons and oversaw the dinning room, a very charming man. The wine list is good and has lots of selection and price points to choose from, from below $40 to over $100. Our waiter pointed us to an excellent choice well within the price point we gave him. Service was very friendly and efficient. Romantic atmosphere, comfy chairs and very private booths for couples complete with cute curtains. Rose petals on the tables. Could be our new favorite restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I dined here one evening ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I dined here one evening on a short trip to Washington. It was not in the main tourist area, and gave us a different feel/vibe that was nice to experience.

We shared the Grillade de Calamars, Duck Foie Gras Terrine to start, and a swordfish and venison rack special of the day for our mains. The calamari sounded like a bizarre combination with pineapple and blue cheese... but it was absolutely delicious! Everything in our meal was flavourful and perfectly cooked. We finished with a cheesecake that was the creamiest texture. The presentation was a bit old school, but whatever it lacked in look the dinner made up for in taste. The restaurant has a warm decor; perfect for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a solid, if a bit tired, French ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is a solid, if a bit tired, French restaurant with a quaint ambiance. The food was unexceptional, but the service and maitre'd were great. I found the rose petals on the table top to be a bit cheesy at dinner, but they'd be sweet or romantic for brunch. I felt like the price was steep for the quality of the food--my sea bass was in the mid- to high-twenties but was strangely sweet? However, I heard from one of my dining companions that the steak and frites was excellent. They have a nice-looking patio out front, and I thought the happy hour specials were really competitive: the choices were good, the pate I ordered was really delicious, and they excellent wine by the glass for a great price.

My recommendations: go for brunch or happy hour.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A pleasant surprise. Attentive staff an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A pleasant surprise. Attentive staff and good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, attentive service, intim ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service, intimate setting, fair prices - a stand-out choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was engaging and charming, an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The server was engaging and charming, and very quick-witted(jokes were appropriate and relevant). The food tasted phenomenal. No complaints here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food Wonderful presentation Fri ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food

Wonderful presentation

Friendly Servers and Management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious anniversary dinner. We didn't ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Delicious anniversary dinner. We didn't have time for dessert so they gave us glasses of kir. I'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food, wine list and service is outst ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food, wine list and service is outstanding. A terrific dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary refined french food. Each ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Extraordinary refined french food. Each dish perfectly prepared and presented. All of the staff friendly and a pleasure to see each time we return. The Red Room is the most private for intimate conversation and assures a most unusual setting of a bygone era. Go and you will see.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome per usual

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Awesome per usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Was a beautiful, private, and romantic setting with great food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and ambiance. Definitely pe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Amazing food and ambiance. Definitely perfect date spot. The food was out of this world! Really know how to cook seafood and meat! Just really great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our meals!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We all enjoyed our meals and the attentive service - even the chef visited our table to be sure we had enjoyed ourselves. Wonderful experience. Highly recommend

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I'm a frequent costumer at Bistro Cacao. They always consistently serve excellent dishes, with outstanding customer service. Having a deep understanding of French dinning allowed me to visit the top spots in the DC area and I continue to go to Bistro Cacao as they offer the whole package experience better than anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly Good

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I've been to other restaurants on the block and they were nothing special, but Bistro Cacao was surprisingly good. Service was attentive, but not over the top which allowed for a great business lunch. I think I will go back to try the brunch.

The nicoise salad was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Really good French food and great servic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Really good French food and great service. Our book club loves this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Perfect Local Bistro

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Romantic interiors, wonderful food, great service. Wish we were in the neighborhood more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always superb in every way.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Always superb in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.