About Bistro Cacao

320 Massachusetts Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
View Larger Map

Where Romance meets Flavor… At Bistro Cacao, chef-owner Kemal Deger brings nearly 25 years of culinary expertise to your table. In Bistro Cacao’s historic location we now invite you to enjoy our new concept of modern bistro-style French cuisine in a romantically charming and comfortable setting blending old France with modern creative touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday 11 am - 4 pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday 11:30 am - 2 pm, Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd and 4th NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 546-4737

Website:
http://www.bistrocacao.com/

Catering:
Yes we do Cater

Public Transit:
Union Station red line three blocks away

Executive Chef:
Kemal Deger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pan-fried Duck Breast - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Beet Salad - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Mango Mousse Cake - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Grilled Trout - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Filet Mignon Grille' - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Soaked Pear Dessert - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Grilled Shrimp Salad - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
pheasant pate - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
French Onion Soup - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Warm Chocolate Cake - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Profiteroles - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Trio Crèmes Brûlèes - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Soupe à l'oignon - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Apple tart - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Bread and Butter - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Shrimp Ravioli - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Tuna Nicoise Salad - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Rack Of Lamb With Spicy Mustard, Potatoes And Asparugus.  - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Pastry Basket - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Veggie Omelette - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC
Roasted Quail, Potato Pancake, Green Beans With Red Wine Reduction - Bistro Cacao, Washington, DC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Say the three most anticipated words in voted most romantic restaurant in DC! Due to the highest demand hurry to reserve your spots, limited space available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

All type of private events welcome, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cocktail etc. Green Room, up to 26 people Red Room, up to 40 people Rouge Room, up to 16 people Cacao Wine Bar, up to 50 people cocktail, receptions, happy hours etc. Private outdoor available.

Bistro Cacao Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (61)
Good for a Date (58)
Special Occasion (55)
See All
Cozy (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Notable Wine List (33)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Authentic (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Private Room (10)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Healthy (6)
Fireplace (6)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, delicious food, warm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, delicious food, warm ambience. Would highly recommend for a special occasion!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant has a very interesting de ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant has a very interesting decor, most smaller tables are draped by red curtains with moulin rouge paintings on the wall. The dim lights on the tables give it a romantic ambiance. The ambiance and good service make visiting this restaurant fun.

The food was a bit less exciting. The French soup and beet salad were quite good, but the escargots were overly dry and tasteless.

The pistachio encrusted sea bass was over cooked and almost dry. The duck was tasty but under cooked which made it but hard to cut even with a sharp knife.

The poached pear desert was ok. Could have been better with less chocolate. Overall the food was fair.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

One of the best restaurants I've ever be ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best restaurants I've ever been to😍😍😍

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, , Family Style, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and romantic atmosphere, beautiful ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Cozy and romantic atmosphere, beautiful decor, and great food. One of my new favorite restaurants!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very welcoming staff, food truly excelle ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Very welcoming staff, food truly excellent, sauced beautifully. Portions just right. Save room for desserts prepared on site. It's our go to on Capitol Hill when we visit annually.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put, the place is pretty -- both ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Simply put, the place is pretty -- both the dining areas and the food. I prefer the main dining area. Extremely attentive and friendly service, but not imposing. Although we had wine, their cocktails sounded unique and interesting. The presentation of the food was beautiful.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place for brunch or any ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is a great place for brunch or any other dining experience. The food is always spot on and the staff are always attentive and friendly. Great ambience and love the bottomless mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is fabulous with great great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This place is fabulous with great great food and even better service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is beautiful, welcoming ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This restaurant is beautiful, welcoming and has delicious food.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my husband's birthday and w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday and was pleasantly surprised. One of the most romantic restaurants we've been to and we've been to a lot. Would definitely revisit

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good time. We left feeling ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a good time. We left feeling happy and satisfied.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our first visit - 25th anniversary New Y ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first visit - 25th anniversary New Year's Day dinner - starter soup du jour cream of mushroom was lovely with a subtle taste - the consistency was a bit thick but overall well done - the arugula apple walnut salad and in-house raspberry vinegrette was fresh crisp and the textures and flavors complimented each other thankfully the dressing was not overly heavy on raspberry - on to the scallops which were presented on a bed of white beans and strawberries - not a favorite due to the over-sweetness of the berries but scallops were perfectly prepared. Entrees - venison chop which was so similar to a filet mignon in butter-tender consistency and so flavorful - we fell in love with this dish - the airline chicken breast while not the most exotic meat on the menu was stuffed with sun dried tomatoes and goat cheese was surprisingly tender and juicy. Difficult choice of dessert but the trio of creme brûlée topped of the dinner perfectly and the staff wrote Happy Anniversary on the plate with raspberry coulis.

Drinks consisted of cocktails ginger jack and blue and cucumber mint and gin then we paired a lovely French red with dinner and my husband finished with a delightful Balvenie Doublewood Scotch.

We will return to this restaurant and can't wait to bring friends and family along - already a favorite!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were here New Year's Eve. I was extre ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were here New Year's Eve. I was extremely disappointed with the quality of the food. The lobster bisque had no flavor, the rolls looked like something out of the freezer, there were odd sauces "smeared" on top of things. The bright side is that the staff is exceptional...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Overall I think Bistro Cacao is great. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall I think Bistro Cacao is great. This was my 3rd or 4th dining experience. Food is always great and service superb. During this visit we had the 3 course New Year's Eve menu. The food was great. The only negative was that my date had the scallop first course but there was only one scallop. For the price I thought the course at least warranted 2 scallops.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and excellent service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding food and excellent service. This is still my favorite restaurant in the city.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we had a great experience on Ne ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall, we had a great experience on New Year's Eve at Bistro Cacao! The food was delicious, the wait staff was friendly and attentive, but not pushy, and we had nice wine too. The restaurant is cozy, so good for a date or special occasion with family and/or friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sampled the chef's tasting with wine ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We sampled the chef's tasting with wine pairing. It was one of the top 3 meals we have enjoyed in 40 years of marriage.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Quaint and romantic. Excellent service. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Quaint and romantic. Excellent service. Definitely try the chefs tasting menu, you will not be disappointed. Everything was delicious. The duck was my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, the service was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was excellent, the service was excellent, and the decor is cool. The place is a lot larger than you think but it's still very cozy. I'd eaten Sunday brunch there a couple of times (which was good), but the dinner was amazing. Try the pan-seared duck breast. It was delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had a lovely dinner for ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife and I had a lovely dinner for our anniversary. The service was prompt, and our server was très gentil. The atmosphere was very fin de siècle Paris, which we both appreciated, and the noise level was low - neverminding the loud American party seated across from us.

The menu selections were outstandingly varied and the meals themselves were of the highest quality.

We recommend Bistro Cacao to all who love a romantic French spot!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Romantic, Modern Decor, Private Room, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not my first visit to Bistro Ca ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was not my first visit to Bistro Cacao, nor will it be my last...it was the perfect place to get together with family gathered from around the globe: quiet, relaxed, and delightful in every way. The food is amazing, and there were wonderful choices for the carnivores and vegetarians in our group - everyone came away feeling as though we had experienced truly fine dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt like I was eating at a French res ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I felt like I was eating at a French restaurant in Paris!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic every time. Food and beverages ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Fantastic every time. Food and beverages both. Great setting as well. Convienent for Union station and several bus lines.

Great service top quality food.

Save room for desert.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very French dining experience in an Am ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A very French dining experience in an American restaurant. It has a great wine list, and extremely well prepared meals. The booths are comfortable and snug, providing a very private feeling even in a well populated dining room. As you would expect from a "French dining experience", the service was exceptional -- we took every recommendation from our server and every one was superlative. The prices are typical of a French dining experience in America, but well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday brunch at Bistro Cacao has become ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sunday brunch at Bistro Cacao has become a Sunday habit. Great food and drinks, and outstanding service. The unexpected decor is great and adds to the dining experience . The bottomless mimosas are a hit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cannot get more french than this. We liv ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Cannot get more french than this. We lived in Paris for three years and we went to many Michelin starred restaurants. Bistro Cacao filled all the expectations, food, service , and ambience. We have no reservation to recommend Bistro Cacao over other restaurants that could look "fancier", but could fall short on the true French cuisine experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Cacao has amazingly consistent gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Bistro Cacao has amazingly consistent great food. The hostess remembered us and my family from months ago and made our visit more personable. The ambiance is cozy and the food is classic French food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Came here for a date and we were both ve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Came here for a date and we were both very pleased. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect. If you are looking for a romantic date, request one of the side tables for two behind the drapes. It was a very good experience and I would certainly visit again, perhaps for an anniversary of this date, if we are to be so lucky. Recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great, intimate atmosphere and excellent ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great, intimate atmosphere and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was first-rate, from our rece ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Everything was first-rate, from our reception at the front door, to the service, to the food. We had a wonderful, quiet dinner at this gem, and when we find ourselves back in DC, we will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This Resturant was Absolutely amazing fr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This Resturant was Absolutely amazing from the Decor to the food the ambiance the champagne everything was to perfection. We order something from everything off the menu from the, salad to appetizer to the main course to desert. I felt like i was in France. Amazing experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband here for his birthday, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday, the food was amazing so tasty and fresh! The service was phenomenal, we are looking forward to bringing our family here! Highly recommend !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fireplace, Private Room, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've reviewed this restaurant before and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I've reviewed this restaurant before and still love it. Was there just this past weekend with hubby and a friend. This place is always enjoyable, good food and service. They had a trout dish on special that I had with goat cheese and raisins, a different method and very delish. Had my favorite appetizer of the grilled calamari and pineapple with blue cheese, I always look forward to having that. Hubby and friend were also happy with their dinners, the duck and the sea bass. Will continue to come here when we want a very nice meal out!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Good service. Love the Frenc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food. Good service. Love the French onion soup. Good portions. Nice brunch overall.

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Charming capital hill gem! Excellent me ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Charming capital hill gem! Excellent menu with obvious french preparation focus but good selection for varied tastes. And the wine list that's matches in quality. From the the minute you walk in and experience the warm and welcoming hostess to the experienced and knowledgeable serving staff; you can't but feel good to be there. The French soup, lamb chops, pecan fish special and boulibase were all delicious and well recieved.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb setting, outstanding food and ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Superb setting, outstanding food and service. Able to have a quiet conversation. One of the best restaurants I have been in.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food (we tried the Chef's Tasting Me ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food (we tried the Chef's Tasting Menu) was outstanding, as was the wine selection available. The ambiance and service was impeccable. This is the perfect spot for a romantic evening, special dinner or a first date.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I regularly host business lunches at Bis ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

I regularly host business lunches at Bistro Cacao. The atmosphere is just right for discussion. The attentive staff let us sit at the table long after lunch to continue our discussion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our best experience in DC and o ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was our best experience in DC and one of the most romantic dinners we've ever had! We were celebrating my husband's birthday and they made it very special. They also seated us at the private table in the bay window overlooking the street. It has a privacy curtain that makes it feel very intimate. The service was wonderful and the food was fabulous!!! We had the lobster bisque, French onion soup, scallops appetizer, filet mignon, duck, and creme brûlée for my husband's birthday dessert. All of it was excellent. My filet was FANTASTIC!!! Can't say enough good things about this place. Best way to spend his birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great French food, high quality (and acc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great French food, high quality (and accordingly pricey) and wonderful service. Only negative was the size of the table, which was very small for two adults and a toddler. But the food was divine!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.