About Bistro Cacao

320 Massachusetts Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
View Larger Map

Where Romance meets Flavor… At Bistro Cacao, chef-owner Kemal Deger brings nearly 25 years of culinary expertise to your table. In Bistro Cacao’s historic location we now invite you to enjoy our new concept of modern bistro-style French cuisine in a romantically charming and comfortable setting blending old France with modern creative touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd and 4th NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 546-4737

Website:
http://www.bistrocacao.com/

Catering:
Yes we do Cater

Public Transit:
Union Station red line three blocks away

Executive Chef:
Kemal Deger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pan-fried Duck Breast
Beet Salad
Mango Mousse Cake
Grilled Trout
French Onion Soup
Warm Chocolate Cake
Grilled Shrimp Salad
pheasant pate
Filet Mignon Grille'
Soaked Pear Dessert
Profiteroles
Soupe à l'oignon
Trio Crèmes Brûlèes
Apple tart
Shrimp Ravioli
Bread and Butter
Tuna Nicoise Salad
Rack Of Lamb With Spicy Mustard, Potatoes And Asparugus.
Veggie Omelette
Pastry Basket
Roasted Quail, Potato Pancake, Green Beans With Red Wine Reduction

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

All type of private events welcome, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cocktail etc. Green Room, up to 26 people Red Room, up to 40 people Rouge Room, up to 16 people Cacao Wine Bar, up to 50 people cocktail, receptions, happy hours etc. Private outdoor available.

Bistro Cacao Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
District of Columbia
Romantic
District of Columbia
French
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Capitol Hill ›

romantic (100)
special occasion (87)
neighborhood gem (76)
See All
fit for foodies (63)
great for outdoor dining (51)
notable wine list (36)
great for brunch (33)
great for lunch (23)
good for groups (21)
scenic view (8)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

A pleasant surprise. Attentive staff an ...

Dined 3 days ago

A pleasant surprise. Attentive staff and good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, attentive service, intim ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, attentive service, intimate setting, fair prices - a stand-out choice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was engaging and charming, an ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The server was engaging and charming, and very quick-witted(jokes were appropriate and relevant). The food tasted phenomenal. No complaints here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food Wonderful presentation Fri ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food Wonderful presentation Friendly Servers and Management

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious anniversary dinner. We didn't ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Delicious anniversary dinner. We didn't have time for dessert so they gave us glasses of kir. I'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, wine list and service is outst ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food, wine list and service is outstanding. A terrific dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary refined french food. Each ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Extraordinary refined french food. Each dish perfectly prepared and presented. All of the staff friendly and a pleasure to see each time we return. The Red Room is the most private for intimate conversation and assures a most unusual setting of a bygone era. Go and you will see.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome per usual

Dined on June 8, 2016

Awesome per usual

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Was a beautiful, private, and romantic setting with great food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and ambiance. Definitely pe ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Amazing food and ambiance. Definitely perfect date spot. The food was out of this world! Really know how to cook seafood and meat! Just really great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our meals!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We all enjoyed our meals and the attentive service - even the chef visited our table to be sure we had enjoyed ourselves. Wonderful experience. Highly recommend

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on May 27, 2016

I'm a frequent costumer at Bistro Cacao. They always consistently serve excellent dishes, with outstanding customer service. Having a deep understanding of French dinning allowed me to visit the top spots in the DC area and I continue to go to Bistro Cacao as they offer the whole package experience better than anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Surprisingly Good

Dined on May 27, 2016

I've been to other restaurants on the block and they were nothing special, but Bistro Cacao was surprisingly good. Service was attentive, but not over the top which allowed for a great business lunch. I think I will go back to try the brunch. The nicoise salad was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really good French food and great servic ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Really good French food and great service. Our book club loves this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Perfect Local Bistro

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Romantic interiors, wonderful food, great service. Wish we were in the neighborhood more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always superb in every way.

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Always superb in every way.

food4
ambience4
service4

Vice nice classic French Bistro. All of ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Vice nice classic French Bistro. All of our meals were great. My mussels in a sauce were fresh and very tasty Classic, country French decor and the service was very good

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, service, and ambiance. Reall ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food, service, and ambiance. Really wish they had hot chocolate though!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro Cacao always delivers high-qualit ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Bistro Cacao always delivers high-quality fine dining. We love this establishment and visit whenever we can.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Place

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good food and service. Excellent wine list. Romantic setting. Looked like the outdoor section would be fun, but it was raining the night I went

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bistro Cacao was a delight! Atmosphere ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Bistro Cacao was a delight! Atmosphere was elegant and charming and the waiter was very attentive. I will definitely return on my next trip to DC!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Eclectic atmosphere is like no other.

Dined on May 18, 2016

Eclectic atmosphere is like no other.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE BEST!!!!!!!!! I will be back!!!!!!! ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

THE BEST!!!!!!!!! I will be back!!!!!!!!! The food was wonderful. The staff was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Very romantic- great ambiance for a spec ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Very romantic- great ambiance for a special date or small get-together! But overpriced for the quality of the food. Disappointed in the lack of flavor

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was exceptional and will ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The experience was exceptional and will be a lifetime memory

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True to the authentic French theme with ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

True to the authentic French theme with incredible service to match the food. A vibrant outdoor seating area and great indoor semi-private dining spaces for groups. Well done!! Nice walk from Union Station, perfect on a nice night!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall fantastic - 4.9 if I could give ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Overall fantastic - 4.9 if I could give tenth points. The only hiccup was a poorly made Sazerac - the staff recognized this and were very attentive.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Nice meal but our corner on the patio neglected

Dined on May 8, 2016

A Mother's Day meal in a lovely neighborhood bistro with a nice spot on the patio, however our meals and another table nearby were very slowly delivered. Mango was featured in both my fish dish and the desert, both quite nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been at Bistro Cacao for Mother's Day Brunch. It was amazing! They serve the best brunch in Capitol Hill, DC. Pastry basket has delicious warm chocolate croissants and bread! Also they have bottomless mimosa. So I will recommend the best food with the best service in perfect patio!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro Cacao for the Mother's Day Brunch Win

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bistro Cacao served up a fantastic prix-fixe brunch on Mother's Day. The meal began with a choice of soup or salad, there were several entree choices and two choices for dessert. Everything was cooked and presented to perfection. in addition, our server Damien went out of his way to make the guest of honor (Mom) feel special. Finally, kudos to BC for not overbooking and causing people to have to wait for tables to clear. Bistro Cacao continues to be my go-to restaurant on Capitol Hill for special occasions. Merci beaucoup!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an AMAZING dinner and dessert here. ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Had an AMAZING dinner and dessert here. Everything was delicious and the service was excellent and funny. Ambieance was perfectly intimate! Recommend: french onion soup, Bouillabaisse, rack of lamb, apple tart, and poached pear.

food4
ambience1
service4
value3

A strange decoration but food amasing.

Dined on May 2, 2016

The ambiance was strange with red curtains, walls covered with dark fabrics and an atmosphere a little dark. But the food was amasing . The waiters and the host were very polite. When we were getting out of the restaurant it was pouring and the host was very kind to call a taxi for us.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Staff from start to finish. One of ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great Staff from start to finish. One of the best meals in every aspect I've ever had. The French onion soup is hands down the best.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our evening at Bistro Cacao is one of th ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our evening at Bistro Cacao is one of the top dining experiences we've ever had. We chose the tasting menu and wine pairing and enjoyed every bite. The chef spoke with us on several occasions about what he prepared was flavorful, balanced, and beyond delicious. Our server, Damien, was a pleasure and walked the line between too little and too much conversation expertly. He added to our experience. We had a fantastic meal, and even more importantly a wonderful time. I cannot wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best French Restaurant in DC

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

From beginning the end everything was very good. I will recommend to friend and family to dine in at Bistro Cacao one of the best restaurant in DC area. Romantic decor is excellent for special occasion and very good food

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place to meet up

Dined on April 27, 2016

Excellent food, enclosed spaces for semblance of privacy, very good service. Have brought groups here for business dinners and also come here socially.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot near Union Station

Dined on April 25, 2016

Little gem of a restaurant both inside and out. Good service, nice menu and nice ambience. Great place to meet someone for a "nicer" meal within walking distance of Union Station. I will return!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Cacao Is Lovely

Dined on April 24, 2016

Just wonderful French food, and we were there for brunch. It was so tasty, the service excellent, and we were outdoors. The interior looked dark and cosy, which also would have suited me fine if it hadn't been so beautiful outside. I had steak and eggs, my mom had quiche, both were absolutely fantastic and made with care. Sweet waiter and hostess. 10 minute (or less) walk up Mass Ave if you head left out of Union Station front doors. Highly recommend, we'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was beautiful the food was love.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Had a great time at my wife 22nd BDAY will come again

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bistro Cacao Never Disappoints

Dined on April 19, 2016

Disguised as a little rowhouse restaurant, Bistro Cacao actually has ample seating and the outdoor space is really inviting along with its neighbors along the north coast of Massachusetts Ave., NE. An easy stroll from Union Station, it's worth the trip, and park on D Street with no problem after 6:00 p.m. You will enjoy authentic French cuisine and attentive service in an atmosphere where you can feel as secluded as you want to. The mussels were plentiful and excellent on my last visit, but there's nothing on the menu which isn't worth a taste.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.