About Bistro By The Tracks

215 Brookview Centre Way, Suite 109
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

"At Bistro by the Tracks Executive Chef Danny Wilhoit masterfully blends culinary traditions from
across the globe with the familiar tastes of East Tennesee. Reviewers say " consistently spectacular"
with friendlt "non-stuffy" service. Bistro by the Tracks is Knoxville's answer to great metropolitan dining."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 558-9500

Website:
http://www.bistrobythetracks.com/

Executive Chef:
Danny Wilhoit

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro By The Tracks
Beef And Gnocchi
Duck Ramen
Pork Chops
Sausage
Deconstructed Carrot Cake
Turkey Sandwich with Brie
Lemon Meringue
Bourbon Coke Cake
Pumpkin Panacotta
Curry Chicken Salad
Pb&J Cheesecake
Diet Coke
Creme Brulee
Spiced Hummingbird Cake
Blt Stack
Bistro Chicken

Bistro By The Tracks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Knoxville
Best Service
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
3 More
Best Value
Knoxville
Special Occasion
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

Special Occasion (43)
Notable Wine List (37)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Romantic (32)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another great meal at Bistro. Pork chop ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 5 days ago

Another great meal at Bistro. Pork chop and the filet were outstanding. As usual, we brought our own bottle of wine, but were surprised to find the cork fee had apparently increased to $30. Ouch! That will bring other restaurants into play for us.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was top notch. Her product k ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was top notch. Her product knowledge and attention to detail was excellent. Food was FANTASTIC too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great!

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice atmosphere. Elegant restaurant. Gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Elegant restaurant. Great service. Excellent wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always. The chef and staff ar ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome as always. The chef and staff are phenomenal and it is by my opinion the freshest seasonal ingredients and best dining experience in Knoxville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were great. We wer ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food and service were great. We were not rushed, and staff was welcoming and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro by the Tracks truly is a fine din ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bistro by the Tracks truly is a fine dining experience. It's one of the handful of Knoxville restaurants that is a reliably superb dining experience, every single time. We were there with another couple, and we all had a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the ambiance and service but the f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Loved the ambiance and service but the food is what wins! Use of seasonings, herbs and blends of flavors - wonderful fresh vegetables & meats cooked perfectly. Truly enjoyed this quiet but chic Bistro and EVERYTHING we were served!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food not up to normal standards.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food not up to normal standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is so good!! It's worth ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This restaurant is so good!! It's worth every cent you spend! The service is terrific and every dish we ordered from appitizers to dessert were amazing. We almost licked the plates!!! Enjoy!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really great dinner place. The wine coll ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really great dinner place. The wine collection is amazing. The food is delicious and the service is really great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Knoxville's better venues with a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of Knoxville's better venues with a (for Knoxville) more sophisticated approach on food.

Well-prepared, reasonable portions, nicely presented... not easy to find in Knoxville, but at the Bistro they just do a find job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quick but relaxing intimate birthday din ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Quick but relaxing intimate birthday dinner. Refreshing cocktails, impressive wine list and seasonally varied menu. The scallops first course were great and the salmon was cooked perfectly. Service was attentive not oppressive and helpful not pushy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy BBtT. Great food service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We always enjoy BBtT. Great food service and always see our friends.

Will go back again and again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best place in Knoxville for a quiet busi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Best place in Knoxville for a quiet business or other lunch. Food is excellent, again. Service was attentive and appropriate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife's fav dish in Knoxville, seared ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife's fav dish in Knoxville, seared scallops (with tomatoes, frisee, Georgia olive oil, black & white quinoa, oyster mushrooms, lemon, & radish), is served here so it was her choice when it came time to celebrate her birthday with friends. It really is a special dish. She also likes the beet & carrot salad (red, gold, white & candy stripe beets; croutons; Parmigiano-Reggiano; brown butter & tatsoi---think spinach), which is too, and is why we both ordered---light---the same thing. One, a small plate, the other, salad . . . a perfect amount of food for a dinner. A friend had the melon gazpacho, a knockout of a surprise and one of the most unusual and delicious dishes I've ever had. Order all three!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible. I don't see how this place is ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Terrible. I don't see how this place is still in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent food, well seasoned, filet was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food, well seasoned, filet was melt in your mouth tender and tasty, the duck was flavorful with a delicious sauce. Friendly and attentive staff. Not very busy despite it being a Saturday night. We made a reservation, but didn't need it. Wine list was extensive, but prices were high and there were no descriptions other than the vintner's name and year bottled. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always Consistent

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We love Bistro! The drink and food menu change seasonally and the food is always fresh! We are regulars and always sit at the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Knoxville favorite.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful white table cloth dining experience. Everything at the Bistro is world class, from the greeting and seating, through the service, and especially the food. Definitely one of the best restaurants in the world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sub-par food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Ambiance was lovely, server was fantastic, food was sub-par. Duck ramen was flavorless and the prime strip steak was fatty and over cooked (ordered med-rare) and not worth the price. Six of us dined there and not one of enjoyed the food. Third time we have been and have yet to have a good meal. Will not be dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Consistently great dining experience!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Consistently great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was attentive and prompt.

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Service was outstanding. The entrees were were good and the wine list was larger and more varied than at other Knoxville restaurants. The prices were higher than I expected; overall about 4-5 dollars higher for each entree than we felt the dinner merited. We will return, but not on a monthly basis. Perhaps a couple times per year.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place has awesome ambience. The po ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This place has awesome ambience. The portions were of perfect size unless you are an all you can eat kind of person. The only negative was that our food took an hour to be delivered after we received our salad. There were 5 of us and we all ordered the same thing, fish.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I think I was expecting more than we rec ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I think I was expecting more than we received. It was an alright experience. Nothing to write home about. Probably will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Really quality food, excluding dessert w ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Really quality food, excluding dessert which left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Never Disappoints

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We frequent Bistro by the Tracks when friends visit or to celebrate special occasions. The wait staff is always very professional and helpful with suggestions. The menu choices seemed somewhat more limited on this last visit but the food is always well prepared. I chose the halibut which was very flavorful and moist and cooked perfectly. In the past we have had the beef short ribs which are amazing. Had they been on the menu on our last visit we would have ordered them once again. Portions seem to appear small but the food is so well prepared that the portion size seems appropriate That said, my husband would have welcomed a somewhat larger steak. We shared a cheese plate for dessert and I do think the portions on it could have been somewhat larger. Bistro has an impressive wine list for oenophiles. We enjoy the ambiance as it is simple and not "stuffy" or pretentious. We will continue to return and hopefully the short ribs will be on the menu again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

chef's right

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

certainly the chef's right to run a restaurant as he chooses but I get the feeling he's more interested in his opinion of how things should be than what his customer's value. this begs the question "who are you running this restaurant to serve- the chef or the customers?"

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pretty good

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was very good quality, but the menu was limited. The beef dish I ordered was cooked to my liking, but somewhat bland. Just would have expected better for the price. Had to bring my own wine due to a problem with their liquor license.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Perfect for special occasions

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I have frequently celebrated special occasions at Bistro by the Tracks with our family, special friends, or just the two of us. The food is always delicious, we love the seasonal selections, the staff is always attentive and helpful, and the atmosphere is lovely. It never disappoints!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely find on a long road trip! Thank ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Lovely find on a long road trip! Thank you Open Table for yet another fantastic restaurant find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hot Date in Knoxville

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We were in town for 1 night and found BbtT on OT.. very nice indeed. Sadly, we were limited to only the menu as no chef's specials were offered on a Thursday, and there were few items that met our requirements. No problem as Jason was able to tweak some things to improve our experience. As such, tho', we only ordered a salad and entrée each, but thoroughly enjoyed them. We skipped dessert to visit their wine bar next door. 2 salads + 2 entrees + wine for 2 + tip = $145.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a terrific choice

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Attentive service, nice presentation, very pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful Wine

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Service and meals are wonderful. The wine pairings are spot on and the desserts are so so yummmy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. One of the b ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. One of the best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food styling and preparation, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Excellent food styling and preparation, modern and a great experience overall. Desserts could have been better but overalls a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great experience, average food...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The Bistro has a great environment and generally a great menu. I ordered the Gumbo on my last visit and though it was good, it was not great and didn't live up to it's price tag. My date had a similar opinion of the salmon dish. However, I do feel like it was just a case of ordering the wrong thing. All of the other dishes I saw come out of the kitchen looked fantastic, I was just in the mood to try something a little different. We will also definitely be going back. One of the better upscale dining options in Knoxville...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Great Knoxville Eatery

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Been here multiple times. Food and service are terrific.

This time it was unusually noisy...due to one table of well lubricated men and another table of very loud women. Restaurant has no control over this so it is not to blame.

Definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro fell a bit short on Thursday night

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

We love Bistro by the Tracks for its great food and atmosphere. However, the food temperature coming from the kitchen is a bit hit or miss. The quail dish I ordered was lukewarm at best and was not balanced with a very slightly bitter almost acid finish. I asked our server about a bottle of French white wine I was interested in and he did not know anything about it. He said he could go next door and ask if I really wanted him to. I said no I would look it up on my own on my phone which I did. This is not what I expect from this restaurant for food or service. Last time we were there our food was cold and we were comped but that is not what we want. We did not say anything to management and left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice birthday place. Needs more seafood.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I've only been here twice. The first time was for lunch. All three of us ordered the delicious shrimp and grits. For the dinner birthday, my friend and I both ordered salmon, which was crispy on the outside and generally quite good. If I have a criticism of this restaurant, it is that there are not enough fish or seafood options on the menu. Also, when the server says they are going to bring pepper for your salad, they should bring it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.