About Bistro By The Tracks

215 Brookview Centre Way, Suite 109
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

"At Bistro by the Tracks Executive Chef Danny Wilhoit masterfully blends culinary traditions from
across the globe with the familiar tastes of East Tennesee. Reviewers say " consistently spectacular"
with friendly "non-stuffy" service. Bistro by the Tracks is Knoxville's answer to great metropolitan dining."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 558-9500

Website:
http://www.bistrobythetracks.com/

Executive Chef:
Danny Wilhoit

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bistro By The Tracks - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Duck Ramen - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Beef And Gnocchi  - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Pork Chops - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Sausage - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Deconstructed Carrot Cake - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Turkey Sandwich with Brie - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Lemon Meringue - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Bourbon Coke Cake - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Pumpkin Panacotta - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Curry Chicken Salad - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Pb&J Cheesecake - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Diet Coke - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Creme Brulee - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Spiced Hummingbird Cake - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Blt Stack - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Bistro Chicken - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN

Bistro By The Tracks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (0)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Sunday Lunch (0)
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our occasion was for a birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Our occasion was for a birthday dinner. We enjoyed our evening very much. The positives were a very nice meal, outstanding service, a nice wine and a very attentive staff. The down notes were that the butternut bisque was only luke warm (which we did not comment on) and the duck confit was much saltier than any we had gotten from other places. However, the staff immediately exchanged the duck for another entree and handled the entire thing very quickly and extremely well - we could not have asked for more. We truly appreciate the attentiveness of the staff. Everything else about our evening was perfect. Highly recommend Bistro by the Tracks.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is one of the higher end restaurant ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

This is one of the higher end restaurants in Knoxville. The menu changes regularly and is characterized by variations of more traditional dishes. Usually you will find a variety of various meat, poultry and seafood/fish dishes with a 1-2 vegetarian options. The food is high end and we have never been disappointed in the 20+ times we have been here. The wine list is extensive. Service is excellent (every guest is being treated like a VIP). One of the major pros is the quiet atmosphere allowing conversation which is not necessarily true for some other restaurants of similar scale in town. We'll be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal was wonderful and our server wa ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Our meal was wonderful and our server was great! Have enjoy dining there for a number of years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Contemporary menu and space. Warm and in ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Contemporary menu and space. Warm and inviting suburban location. We were pleased that we found such a delightful restaurant and wine list near our hotel.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have had many special dinn ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My wife and I have had many special dinners at BBT. The food is imaginative and well prepared. The wine is a bit pricey but good. The $25 corkage fee is reasonable. I encourage you to keep the wine prices reasonable and have good value in wines. That said BBT is the best restaurant in the Knoxville area.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little weird that both my girlfriend n ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

A little weird that both my girlfriend n I got "carded" ordering an adult beverage, especially since we are both well into our 50's! We're flattered, but seriously!!??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately, we were very disappointed ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Unfortunately, we were very disappointed in our dinner. Service was poor as well. What has happened?? Used to be out "go to" restaurant in town...... sigh.......

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Your restaurant made a special evening s ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Your restaurant made a special evening simply great. Ambiance was excellent. Food and service left nothing to be desired. We were not hurried a totally enjoyable evening

Thank you. We will be back

Lee R

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great!! We were passing through ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was great!! We were passing through Knoxville and stopped by based on a Yelp review. We're pleasantly surprised to find such a sophisticated dining option in a strip mall. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I come here frequently, and it never dis ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I come here frequently, and it never disappoints. The menu changes seasonally, and always features locally sourced foods. The wine menu is out of control, and they have one of the most solid scotch selections in Knoxville. Once you start thinking about dessert, I have three words: Cereal. Milk. Cheesecake. The only think I don't like is the green, leafy upholstery in the dining room; it is repugnant. Fabric aside, Bistro is one of my favorite restaurants in Knoxville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great meal and our service was ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a great meal and our service was terrific. I would highly recommend the Fall BBT Burger.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I cannot recommend this restaurant. The ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I cannot recommend this restaurant. The price in no way corresponds with the quality of the food. It is pricy but the food quality and portion sizes are inferior. There are no table cloths and the atmosphere reminded me of an upscale diner. It is very loud. Service was ok. For Knoxville is is probably above average but unless you just want to throw your money away, go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

This was a wonderful place to have a nic ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was a wonderful place to have a nice dinner with good friends the week before Christmas. It would be a great place for a dinner for two as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the second time I was at The Bi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was the second time I was at The Bistro. Bistro is of the a rather upscale restaurant in Knoxville and we choose this because my previous lunch experience there was a very pleasant one.

It's a nice restaurant, with a decent menu, wine list, ambiance and waiting staff, BUT...

$150 for 2 cocktails, 2 salads, 2 entrees, and 2 glasses of wine and no table cloth...just felt overpriced.

Don't get me wrong, the food was good and we didn't have any complaints, but in my opinion at a certain price level you expect something that you can't make at home... which was not the case.

I'm pretty sharp on the value for money ratio, but I also realize that Bistro offers an eating experience that you won't find in too many restaurants in Knoxville. So, yes, I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone who:

  • is interested in eating without screaming TVs on the wall and pushy waiters that must tell you their last dating adventures (and are curious about yours);

  • appreciate an ambiance in which people actually dress nice for the occasion;

  • serve good and clever food with a nice selection of wines;

  • wants to stay away from the cargo shorted and orange shirted crowds.

And if the pricing is not an issue at all, it's a no brainer: go and enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

So disappointed. Had been a couple of y ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 5, 2016

So disappointed. Had been a couple of years ago and this time our food was terrible. There were 5 of us and we all agreed that we would not go back. Nice staff and excellent waiter, but that was it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Bistro by the Tracks is one of our favor ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Bistro by the Tracks is one of our favorite restaurants in Knoxville - tasteful ambiance, service friendly/professional, and food great. For larger groups recommend requesting the wine cellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

BIstro never disappoints! It's my favor ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

BIstro never disappoints! It's my favorite place to eat on a date night in Knoxville. The food is spectacular and cocktails are delish! Wait staff is amazing!!!! Mike is my favorite server and always recognizes us even when we haven't been in a long time. I ❤️ This place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my birthday at Bistro by the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Celebrating my birthday at Bistro by the Tracks was a phenomenal experience. The chefs prepared incredible dishes for us! My family emphasized that it was some of the best food they had ever eaten. We ate the house-made pasta, beef tenderloin, and salmon. All the flavors complimented each other beautifully. The desserts were also incredible! Incredibly happy with our server Anthony's enthusiasm and professionalism. He is a gem in that establishment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Organic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only reason this place did not get f ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The only reason this place did not get five stars is the all the main dishes including the appetizer were a little salty, but as we know thats a personal taste thing however I was not the only one who mentioned it. The other small issue was the place seems to be based around wine, however there was no Somali or anyone that could answer questions about the wine. At 150.00 a bottle I also expected my wine to come with a decanter. I had to ask for one after the second pour. Other than those two very small issues, this place was not bad for "Knoxville" fine dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is always a reliable good place to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is always a reliable good place to meet friends for good food and a good wine selection. The service is always exceptional and the staff are constant and experienced! always recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aweome food and service.. one of my favo ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Aweome food and service.. one of my favorite restaurants in Knoxville..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our dining very much. It was ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We enjoyed our dining very much. It was a chance to slow down and enjoy each other and the wonderful food. Our service was great but not too intrusive. We will be going again in the near future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great and Ivan and TJ took wonder ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always great and Ivan and TJ took wonderful care of us.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro has been my favorite dining spot. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Bistro has been my favorite dining spot. Not any more. Food was undercooked (even when I as asked for well-done salmon); served skin side up and not crispy; had to ask for bread twice (told it was undercooked and had to be redone); server MIA so had to catch eye of a different server to ask about bread would have asked for salmon to be cooked more but with MIA server just moved food around the plate to not make it uncomfortable for my guest). Very disappointing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

After a rocky start when I had to flag d ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 24, 2016

After a rocky start when I had to flag down a waiter for service, things settled down and my wife and I enjoyed a delicious meal. Our waiter was eager to make up for the gaff and was very attentive thereafter. We had an enjoyable outing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I have eaten at the Bistro By The Tracks ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have eaten at the Bistro By The Tracks many times, including before it landed at this location. The food and service are great, and the location is central and allows for easy parking. Although it is pricey by Knoxville standards, you do get good-very good value for your dollar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow some in our lunch party ordered salm ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Wow some in our lunch party ordered salmon, etc, my husband and I ordered the shrimp curry. All plates were superb.

If I could give them 10 stars for service, I would, because our lunch & work session went from 12:30 until 4 PM. Not a single employee interrupted us or even hinted that we had overstayed our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been twice. Great food and amazing servi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Been twice. Great food and amazing service both times. Try the pork chop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the perfect spot after a long d ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was the perfect spot after a long day of tailgating! The food was delicious and reasonable. The specialty cocktails were absolutely the best! Don't miss this dining experience. We dine out quite a bit and are particular about an overall dining experience, but this measured up and then some!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Scallops smelled like fish, were not fre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Scallops smelled like fish, were not fresh and were overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Good meal nice atmosphere and food servi ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good meal nice atmosphere and food service. The burger was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I met for lunch for our w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My husband and I met for lunch for our wedding anniversary, and we really enjoyed it. I had a shrimp and red curry dish and he had gnocci with beef and beets (I think). We love food, and my husband is an excellent cook, so we don't go out much---it's hard to spend money on a meal out when you could do better at home! That was not the case here. Everything was delicious and interesting and well-balanced, and we'll be back. We also had excellent service from our waiter, who I think was named York (?).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions are very small. Somewhat disapp ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Portions are very small. Somewhat disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

A group of ladies picked Bistro by the T ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 20, 2016

A group of ladies picked Bistro by the Tracks for our quarterly luncheon. The food was very good, service very good. One of our members is gluten free and there were several items on the menu to accommodate her. It is a little pricey for lunch, but a nice change of pace from chain restaurants. I would recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My first visit to Bistro By the Tracks w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My first visit to Bistro By the Tracks was fantastic! The selection and quality of food was notable; the wine list was the best I have seen in this geographic area. The wait staff were personable and attentive with excellent selection advice. They provided extra service when they knew we enjoyed a great wine and provided some 'sips' that were a taster's delight.

My one caveat - the vegetarian selections were limited but they were amenable to creating a meal that met my needs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Knoxville for our 50th high s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were in Knoxville for our 50th high school reunion and met former classmates and their spouses for dinner. Some of us had not seen each other for over 40 years. The host at Bistro by the Tracks placed us in a private room which offered us the chance for a quieter atmosphere more suited to catching up with old friends. We all thought the food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. The wine selection is expensive for those who are interested. I have been to this restaurant twice and both times thought their dessert selection was disappointing with nothing that tempted me to stray from my Paleo diet. I would definitely go there again since their entree selection offers me several good choices.

Tags: Private Room, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with two other mom friends for mo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I went with two other mom friends for moms night out. Once we told our server, she was superb and made it a fantastic experience! She was by far the highlight of the evening despite the overall great experience!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Healthy, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Special Occasion, Spicy, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've lived in Knoxville over 2 years an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We've lived in Knoxville over 2 years and Bistro by the Tracks is as fine a dining experience as we have encountered here. The selection of food and wine was excellent. The service was exceptional. Price was commensurate with the quality. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal at Bistro. Pork chop ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Another great meal at Bistro. Pork chop and the filet were outstanding. As usual, we brought our own bottle of wine, but were surprised to find the cork fee had apparently increased to $30. Ouch! That will bring other restaurants into play for us.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was top notch. Her product k ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was top notch. Her product knowledge and attention to detail was excellent. Food was FANTASTIC too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.