About Bistro By The Tracks

"At Bistro by the Tracks Executive Chef Danny Wilhoit masterfully blends culinary traditions from
across the globe with the familiar tastes of East Tennesee. Reviewers say " consistently spectacular"
with friendly "non-stuffy" service. Bistro by the Tracks is Knoxville's answer to great metropolitan dining."

215 Brookview Centre Way, Suite 109
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday through Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly Monday through Saturday: 5:00pm - Close
Brunch Sunday: 10 - 2pm

Cross Street:
S. Northshore Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 558-9500

Website:
http://www.bistrobythetracks.com/

Executive Chef:
Danny Wilhoit

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro By The Tracks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort by
S
771 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great meal and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere of the restaurant is great. Contemporary but not overly trendy. Soft, even, thoughtful lighting that gives the interior a relaxing glow at night. Our appetizer and entrees were great... I ordered venison, which I normally do not even like very much, and it was a very pleasant surprise. We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual, this mainstay of our best-of-the-best dining choices in east Tennessee was a great experience on Valentine's Day. Both the halibut and the lobster tails were delicious and carefully paired with a great NAPA Valley white wine. The service was terrific, again as usual with no detail left to chance. This is a "must-go" for fine food, fine wine, and excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

We live an hour away, have dined here 6+ times
It was Valentine’s Day , they craned in extra tables so I got to look straight at the bar while my wife had headlights in her eyes . Her salad was awful , rest of food ok

Greed to cram more tables in led to a bad experience for us..,
We don’t plan to return
Too bad it had been a favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Sadly disappointed. Everything was great EXCEPT the food. I've understood that they're reputation isn't as great as it used to be. Now I know why. We had friends go during the same week. They said the same thing. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Excellent food, excellent wine, excellent service. I always have a great meal at Bistro by the Tracks. Always good for a date night. A little pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 10, 2018

I have never left a bad review of a restaurant in my life. This was the absolute worst meal I have ever been a part of. There were 6 in our party. Our food took 45 minutes, but that is to be expected occasionally. While we waited, we had the best bread you could imagine. Bread was soft with a crunchy edge and butter that was room temperature and soft. Perfect start. We started with the pimento cheese appetizer and it was just okay. The rest of the meal would be the worst tasting food I have ever had especially at an upscale restaurant. My mom had the Chicken. It looked amazing, but was so over cooked and no flavor at all except for the grease it had beed dipped in. The chicken was dry and stringy. My son and sister got the lamb shank. This was a piece of meat that tasted like it had been in a crock pot for three days. The meat was incredibly overdone and was drowned in some kind of black sauce that was inedible. My son's girl friend ordered the chef's pasta with shrimp. The shrimp was so undercooked, that it was still slimy. Needless to say she couldn't eat it. I got the ribs, which was by far the best of the orders, but it was only because they had a very good mustard bbq sauce on it, which is hard to find. My wife ordered the halibut, and it was the worst at the table. They brought out a piece of fish that was so over cooked and dry she could only eat half of it, but the amazing thing was the vegetables were so undercooked, they were crunchy. She left most of hers on the table. Like I said I would never leave a negative review for one incident or maybe even two, but we spent over $200 dollars for this dinner, and every order was horrible except for mine. I hope that this saves someone from going through this horrible experience. We typically eat out almost every night because we work late, so I have experienced bad meals before, but nothing has ever come close to this. I honestly think maybe the chef was trying to sabotage the owner it was so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Good as always. Very creative menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Our evening was great and our meal was fabulous! Cocktails at the bar were fabulous! Our service at the table was awesome and the wine list is great! The Halibut special was really great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Great food; accompaniments to entree r different from what one would expect. Need to review prior to ordering food. Disappointed in beet salad as didn’t expect the beets to be pickled. They do nothing special for birthdays except placing a candle on an ordered dessert. Dessert offerings r very limited. Excellent coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 3, 2018

My wife and I just moved to Knoxville and were eager to check out the food scene. Bistro by the Tracks is a superb spot for truly good food. It is on the expensive side, but the meal preparations are certainly worth the price. The wine list could have a few more bottles at more approachable price points, but so far we have found that to be the case in a lot of Knoxville restaurants. Service was reasonable, but it could have been a bit more attentive. The dining room itself is extremely comfortable. I can say with confidence that this restaurant will become part of our regular rotation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 27, 2018

One of our very favorite places to dine. We enjoy to celebrate special occasions here. The sorroundings are delightful and the food is delicious. We highly recommend Bistro by the Tracks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2018

I remember the old Bistro by The Tracks. It was great, authentic food. After many years of being gone from Knoxville, we decided to go back. Could not be more disappointed. The food was cold, the drinks were amateur and the ambience is that of any typical chain. The only thing that saved the night was Jerry the server. He was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Our waiter was amazing can’t remember his name which is a shame bc he totally deserves the recommendation...- he knew exactly when to come to the table and gave us a great date night therefore. Cannot wait to go back. Don’t want to describe him as a bald guy but will bc he deserves the recognition...sorry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Food presentation is excellent but our appetizers were Luke warm and even when they tried to correct it came back the same. Salad was average and entry was also Luke warm. Great atmosphere but food was not up to look of the restaurant or the prices.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 13, 2018

My spouse and I returned to Bistro By The Tracks for another fine dining experience. BBTT is conveniently located between I-40 and Kingston Pike (or Hwy 70 and 11) and has plenty of parking close to the restaurant. We were greeted at the door and seated immediately in one of the cozy c-shaped booths along the wall. The menu changes seasonally, I think. We started by ordering the corn breads which was served in a small iron skillet with 2 nice house-made accompaniments -- butter and jam. I was disappointed when there was none left to take home. I enjoyed the cauliflower soup and my spouse the wedge salad. Note that the salad was large and can be shared. The soup serving, however, was not so generous but was very tasty. I had the salmon and my spouse the filet. Both were perfectly prepared. The accompanying sides were equally excellent. Yes, I sometimes select an entree because of the sides but BBTT is accommodating if you wish to substitute which I did to get roasted cauliflower. We enjoyed a bottle of Rodney Strong Estate Pinot Noir 2014 (but the menu listed 2013). The BBTT wine list is not as extensive as some but offers good quality and variety. As we have come to expect at BBTT, the service is excellent and professional. Our server executed the fine points of quality service including placement of the entrees. My spouse ordered a dessert of chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. The cake was rich and the ice cream so good I expected that it was house made or from a local dairy. But instead it was the same brand that I can buy at the local supermarket. No problem except that I may need to consider this brand more often. BBTT offers a predictably fine and relaxing dining experience with comfortable seating in a quiet setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Great meal, above average service. A little expensive for everyday dining out, but totally worth the cost for a great experience. Extensive wine list with many well known labels. The lamb shank was so tender it fell off the bone and the sweet potatoes were the best I’ve ever had. Will definitely be returning to the Bistro.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 6, 2018

The menu options are creative and beautifully prepared. The ambiance is very nice - dim lighting, carpeted floors, and linen tablecloths. I ordered a cornbread appetizer for the table. It came with homemade spreads which were delicious, but the cornbread was not done in the middle (still wet). I had the duck ramen for my meal, and while it was very tasty, there were only 4 or 5 paper-thin, very small slices of duck on the plate. I don't eat much, and it was a small portion even for me. It would be better placed in their "small plate" section and priced lower. My companions' meals were all fantastic, per their reports. They had the chicken, hamburger, and scallops. I would love to try this restaurant again and order something different next time.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

I don't usually review, but this was exceptional. Food was outstanding, the wine and cocktails were superb, service was attentive, and the ambiance was a pleasure. Bistro earned its place at the top of the Knoxville food scene, and keeps earning it in 2017. You don't have to put up with downtown to get a first-rate meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Awesome food and atmosphere! Creative and nice environment, looks like you were in a wine cellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Absolutely incredible experience! Will recommend to everyone for their next special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Second time around for this place for me. This experience was really good. Great server and excellent food this time. When I first chose this place, I was hoping for more of a small-scale, "homey" type of atmosphere but thats not what they offer. However, they do an excellent job. Ask for a booth on the wall facing the bar area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 11, 2017

A fun atmosphere for a staff party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 2, 2017

I was never at this restaurant
I fear my identify may have been breached. Please, beware of using online reservation companies or website restaurant rservation services. Think twice before putting any information out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Love this place! Any meal at Bistro by the Tracks is a special occasion. Beautiful setting, friendly and informed service, inventive menu. This is the real deal and always a pleasure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Brunch for four and excellent service food wa outstanding will definitely re-visit soon!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Bistro by the Tracks looks upscale & inviting upon arrival. The server was knowledgeable and helpful. The menu was inventive & interesting... then things fell apart. It took 40+ min for the entrees to arrive and all six of our plates were room temp to cold. The food was not appetizing enough to send it back for reheating. This was a terrible evening & I don’t think the servers had any idea that anything was amiss. Just a message from us, do yourself a favor & pass on this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Excellent meal - 4th time to Bistro by Tracks. One of the best restaurants in Knoxville area

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Have friend who just moved to Knoxville. Will go back again for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2017

This place is a hidden gem. The service was attentive without being overbearing,

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We ate here for my daughter's 21st birthday. The setting was lovely, our service was EXCELLENT, and the food was fantastic. We all shared the stuffed acorn squash and the shrimp toast. Both were unique and delicious. The champagne ordered ahead by my husband as a surprise was iced and waiting on the table when we arrived. Our entrees were all delicious, and we took advantage of one of the specials - halibut - perfectly prepared! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 10, 2017

This is a "go-to" restaurant for special occasions. It is quiet enough to talk but certainly not dead! The service by Amanda (and Sheila) was attentive and spot on. The food choices were delicious. I especially liked the gourd Bisque and the warm beet salad. The only minor complaint was that the dessert menu had only 4 items (ice cream was not available because of a freezer problem) and 3 of them contained nuts. With a nut allergy, the selection was limited to only cheesecake. Oh well, not a major issue!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2017

We had a very pleasant evening of food, wine and conversation. The service was attentive without being overbearing. No rush to finish and get out. Nice ambiance. A bit dark - I had to use my cell phone light to read the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Meh. It was all right. $$$, and slowish. Not my cup of tea so I tried to weight it with what someone who does like fancier restaurants might think.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food and service was awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We had a party of 8, celebrating my wife’s birthday. Everything was excellent; service, food, and ambiance. She was thrilled with her evening, and Bistro helped make her smile special day more special.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 25, 2017

As always, food was terrific and the service outstanding beyond all comparison. Scallops were cooked to perfection and the wine selection covers a wide variety of price points and tastes. Number 1 recommended restaurant in all of East Tennessee.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Bistro by the Tracks is entirely predictable in a good way. You always know you will get a first rate meal. it is one of the best places in town. And the meals did not disappoint this time either. The main courses were excellent. Normally I would give it five stars, but the dessert was very disappointing so it dropped a bit. But I would recommend the restaurant with no reservations (no pun intended).

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Very good food, excellent service. Great selection of wines. Definitely one of the better restaurants in Knoxville for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Outstanding meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.