About Bistro By The Tracks

"At Bistro by the Tracks Executive Chef Danny Wilhoit masterfully blends culinary traditions from
across the globe with the familiar tastes of East Tennesee. Reviewers say " consistently spectacular"
with friendly "non-stuffy" service. Bistro by the Tracks is Knoxville's answer to great metropolitan dining."

215 Brookview Centre Way, Suite 109
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday through Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly Monday through Saturday: 5:00pm - Close
Brunch Sunday: 10 - 2pm

Cross Street:
S. Northshore Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 558-9500

Website:
http://www.bistrobythetracks.com/

Executive Chef:
Danny Wilhoit

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro By The Tracks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Romantic (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Business Meals (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Private Room (5)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
·Dined 4 days ago

For the first of many times in Knoxville I have finally had a good meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and great wine choices! We loved the atmosphere. The menu is not very large but good variety. The flourless torte was amazing!!! We were visiting family in town and would come back if the opportunity arises.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

We love this place . The patio is so comfortable and the seevic was excellent. The c

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on July 11, 2017

Bistro by the Tracks is one of the better restaurants in Knoxville. It is a really good place to bring friends, colleagues and professional visitors for a very nice evening meal. Relatively new young chef is working out a few of the new menus kinks and the management is pro active about getting customer feedback. Just one notch below VERY GOOD this visit but we will undoubtedly return in the near future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 11, 2017

Popped off the highway on way to Nashville. What a lunch treat! Salmon was cooked superb! And the turkey sandwich was half the cost and just as good. The server was fun even though we came in late at 2pm. The rose he recommended and poured was awesome and the Riedel glasses he served them in were super fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 10, 2017

A perfect dinner. Every item we had was fantastic. The food was absolutely delicious. The service was impeccable and attentive. Recommend the pimento cheese appetizer, iceberg wedge salad, seared tuna, and the ribs. Save room for dessert. The banana pudding cheesecake was worth every calorie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 9, 2017

We wanted a "special" meal for our family. We were not disappointed although they were only serving brunch. We will return to try the lunch or dinner menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 8, 2017

"I love the relaxed feel of this place. Service was great and friendly, I will definitely go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful meal! My husband and I enjoyed a great date night at BBT! Selected a familiar Pinot noir that was a great value, loved the beef tenderloin, which was cooked perfectly, broccoli, and potatoes as sides. Delicious! And, the torte was fabulous! Efficient and friendly server. Highly recommend...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good service from Anthony. Excellent meal-I had a superb Duck Ramen and my wife the special Rockfisk. Try the Pimento Cheese "For the Table"; coming from GA a pimento cheese aficionado, great dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 2, 2017

We went to brunch at Bistro for the first time. The food was incredible, The drinks were perfection, And our waiter was amazing. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 26, 2017

The drinks, food, and service were excellent. They know how to make superb cocktails. All and all a great experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very good food. Beef tenderloin was delicious and cooked just right. Wonderful sides. Corn bread and pimento cheese dip tasty. Nice bar,and wine. Good choice in Knoxville.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on June 17, 2017

Generous neatly prepared dishes within an appealing room providing great service. Indoor air temperature could be adjusted slightly cooler on hot humid muggy evenings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 10, 2017

A most disappointing experience. The scallop appetizer ($16) contained a measly 2 rather smallish scallop mussels that, although edible, tasted steamed. At $8 per scallop, a diner deserves more. The Duck Ramen ($26) was the worst entree I've eaten in a long time. I expected a moist duck breast on top of noodles, but what I got was a few stringy and dry bits of meat (that could well have been leftover pork or any other precooked meat that had been resting in the refrigerator, for all I could tell) hiding in a dilute broth with some bland noodles. It was no better than the ramen noodle packets one can buy for <$1 in a grocery store. Our server was fine, but was clearly suffering from the inadequate air conditioning, as was I. My last meal in the Northshore neighborhood was at the now defunct but excellent Rouxbarb; the contrast between the two restaurants couldn't be greater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
·Dined on June 10, 2017

Incredibly good food! Salmon entree always perfect. Redfish special outstanding! Service top notch. Little warm in the restaurant for best dining ambience but everything else was so perfect, not complaining!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 2, 2017

Ambience is the finest in Knoxville. We now have many good to very good restaurants in this city, but Bistro is the only place to go for a delicious meal in a quiet, comfortable setting where one can actually converse in a normal tone of voice. What a treat! As always, we had a lovely time. Service was a bit slow to get started, but just right as the evening progressed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food as always and terrific service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 26, 2017

I live in New Orleans so I know great food. Bistro by the Tracks is my favorite restaurant in my hometown on Knoxville and I go avery time I visit. The food and service never disappoint. PS: They have a terrific whisky list, including a High West rye that I’ve been looking for for a year but never seen at a restaurant or bar till I found it at Bistro.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 26, 2017

Very good service. We found the staff to be friendly and still formal in their service roll. The food presentation on the plate was nice and the portions were generous. The appetizers on the menu didn't appeal to me. I'd like more selection there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great atmosphere, food and service. We would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've visited this restaurant many times in all its locations, right from the start. While it has changed a lot over the years, the food quality is always at a high standard, good service, etc. This time we took my mother for Mother's Day brunch. She is 88 and enjoyed it all, as did my wife and I. It's always a good choice in this part of Knoxville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our first time to this restaurant, but certainly not our last. Cost was on the high side for Knoxville, but was reasonable given the decor, level of service, and quality of food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 26, 2017

Elegantly plated delicious dinner with outstanding service. While this is a special place don't only go for special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on April 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to have dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 22, 2017

Anniversary. Service excellent. Recommendations excellent. Food excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for brunch. There were 12 of us. The place wasn't crowded but it took over an hour to get our food. No explanation as to why. Food was ok. Very salty.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
·Dined on April 16, 2017

Superb Easter brunch--- both service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience again! Quiet sophisticated atmosphere with GREAT food and service and wine list. Bring your honey and wooo her.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were having a business meeting. Perfect setting. Could easily hear each other. Surroundings very pleasant with calming lights

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a delicious dinner that included halibut and salmon prepared perfectly. We really enjoyed our server TJ, she is superb in all aspects including timely/thoughtful service and injecting fun into our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very charming and great ambiance. But, my steak was way overpriced for the quality received.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service and tasty food with good wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

The carrot cake was absolutely divine!! Our server was super attentive and we loved the round booth seating. Their wine selection is well stocked and the ambiance was very low key and comfortable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

First time and I will return. Would recommend a little more variety with the menu.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 7, 2017

Steaks came out rare and took a while to bring us to temperature

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on April 1, 2017

Birthday dinner with the family
Nice wine selection
Excellent food options

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 22, 2017

A surprising gem. Great burger and marvelous waitress.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great service and food! Fillet was phenomenal and mouth watering.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our group thoroughly enjoyed the Bistro! The server was very helpful and attentive. The food was fine and I would definitely recommend the Bistro to others!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.