About Bistro By The Tracks

"At Bistro by the Tracks Executive Chef Danny Wilhoit masterfully blends culinary traditions from
across the globe with the familiar tastes of East Tennesee. Reviewers say " consistently spectacular"
with friendly "non-stuffy" service. Bistro by the Tracks is Knoxville's answer to great metropolitan dining."

215 Brookview Centre Way, Suite 109
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday through Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly Monday through Saturday: 5:00pm - Close
Brunch Sunday: 10 - 2pm

Cross Street:
S. Northshore Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 558-9500

Website:
http://www.bistrobythetracks.com/

Executive Chef:
Danny Wilhoit

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro By The Tracks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

Brunch for four and excellent service food wa outstanding will definitely re-visit soon!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent meal - 4th time to Bistro by Tracks. One of the best restaurants in Knoxville area

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Have friend who just moved to Knoxville. Will go back again for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

This place is a hidden gem. The service was attentive without being overbearing,

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We ate here for my daughter's 21st birthday. The setting was lovely, our service was EXCELLENT, and the food was fantastic. We all shared the stuffed acorn squash and the shrimp toast. Both were unique and delicious. The champagne ordered ahead by my husband as a surprise was iced and waiting on the table when we arrived. Our entrees were all delicious, and we took advantage of one of the specials - halibut - perfectly prepared! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

This is a "go-to" restaurant for special occasions. It is quiet enough to talk but certainly not dead! The service by Amanda (and Sheila) was attentive and spot on. The food choices were delicious. I especially liked the gourd Bisque and the warm beet salad. The only minor complaint was that the dessert menu had only 4 items (ice cream was not available because of a freezer problem) and 3 of them contained nuts. With a nut allergy, the selection was limited to only cheesecake. Oh well, not a major issue!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2017

We had a very pleasant evening of food, wine and conversation. The service was attentive without being overbearing. No rush to finish and get out. Nice ambiance. A bit dark - I had to use my cell phone light to read the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Meh. It was all right. $$$, and slowish. Not my cup of tea so I tried to weight it with what someone who does like fancier restaurants might think.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food and service was awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 27, 2017

We had a party of 8, celebrating my wife’s birthday. Everything was excellent; service, food, and ambiance. She was thrilled with her evening, and Bistro helped make her smile special day more special.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 25, 2017

As always, food was terrific and the service outstanding beyond all comparison. Scallops were cooked to perfection and the wine selection covers a wide variety of price points and tastes. Number 1 recommended restaurant in all of East Tennessee.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Bistro by the Tracks is entirely predictable in a good way. You always know you will get a first rate meal. it is one of the best places in town. And the meals did not disappoint this time either. The main courses were excellent. Normally I would give it five stars, but the dessert was very disappointing so it dropped a bit. But I would recommend the restaurant with no reservations (no pun intended).

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Very good food, excellent service. Great selection of wines. Definitely one of the better restaurants in Knoxville for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Outstanding meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2017

An excellent wine bistro with a creative delicious menu. Service is always fantastic! Definitely recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very slow service and seats are hard to sit on. Would help if they had cushions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our first visit was a success - lovely space, friendly service, and delicious food. We shared an appetizer/salad of a medley of beets with some goat cheese - delicious. We also shared the entree - a half chicken in broth with mixed fresh veggies. Finally, we shared a lovely pumpkin cheesecake for dessert. It was a wonderful meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Food was excellent, choices varied and good. Nice ambience, comfortable for conversation, but still feels festive and special. Service attentive but not invasive. Lovely evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great spot, good food! The yelp reviews are a little misleading on the pricing. But overall a good place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent brunch menu probably a little too heavy on the egg offerings but nevertheless a great brunch option. Perfect Bloody Mary and fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food and service were fine, lighting and decor is too dark for our tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It's good food, good looking restaurant, nice staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It's the 3rd time we've eaten at this restaurant . Each time the service and food have been great. Highly recommend .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Found his gen on Yelp as we were passing through town from Chicago and wanted to eat somewhere good. We thought this Bistro was more than good... it was outstanding. Staff was polite, professional and knowledgeable. Wine selection was outstanding and the traditional tequila margarita was perfect. The food was delicious, fresh, innovative and beautifully presented. Can not rave enough about this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service is always exceptional. Food was delicious and excellent beverage options. They even have unique and fun virgin cocktails for non-drinkers and pregnant women.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We were told about a special and then immediately told it was sold out. Hmmm.. Duck ramen was cold when served. Questions about menu were met with waiter reading menu to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The scallop appetizers were superb. Wonder fresh taste. Food quality was excellent. Was hoping for a bit more of a older "local joint" (I mean "by the tracks"!) but it was a new upscale suburbia type of place. Wait staff was excellent and they went out of their way to please.
Overall, this one gets biggest points for quality of the cuisine. Hats off to the chef!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The dinner was amazing, the service was as well. Will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2017

This has and will always be one of Knoxville's great restaurants!!! Highly recommended for any occasion. Updated menu will be sure to please. I would always secure reservations as this place could fill up quickly. Won't be disappointed!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Have enjoyed Bistro by the Tracks for years (through their moves) as an evening dinner restaurant. Decided to try their Sunday lunch - glad we did. I'm not sure quite how long they've been open Sunday noon, but not many people seem to have found it yet (which was fine with us). The open space and hard surfaces can make it a bit noisy at night, but there were only four other tables occupied when we were there and conversation was correspondingly easy. As always, the food was great (the Farmer's Market Omelet was particularly good), and the service was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Took daughter here for her birthday. She enjoyed it. The food was great. The server the best. Nice quiet dining environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Years of dining here have grown into a very familiar and fun outing. Great waitstaff, accommodating management, skilled kitchen, and respected wine list. Seeing nice people time and time again bringing forth the best available under a restaurant's roof is a comforting feeling. My girlfriend and I thank all of you at Bistro By The Tracks for each and every plate, gesture, and service. We look forward to dining with you in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Good wine and small plates. A nice romantic dinner with my husband.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great restaurant... always a changing interesting menu. Very deliciously prepared. Great service and wine menu as well! Great place to try new things since everything is delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

TJ was our server. She is a delight !
So knowledgeable and passionate about the food. So refreshing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We recently dined at BBT for our anniversary and it was a marvelous night out. We made a reservation and walked straight in and right to the table. The table was already set, there was zero waiting for anything. Great preparation. The waiter (Jerry) was superb. He was extremely knowledgeable about all of the items on the menu and all the wines they offer. He was very personable but not intrusive. My wife had several questions about menu items and he did well fielding the questions and made an excellent suggestion. He went over the nights specials in such a way that the dishes weren't pushed or "sold" to us. We started with the turkey and dumplings small plate, my wife had the rabbit saddle on Jerry's suggestion and I had the bison rib eye (house special that night). Every item was absolutely, hands down, 5 stars!! The Chef does an amazing job preparing all the foods that are all cooked and season completely different. This is without a doubt, I will argue with anyone, the best restaurant in Knoxville. Superb job Bistro By the Tracks. We will now be regulars!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was a busy evening, and we sat at a table instead of a booth. Our server was excellent! Food was fabulous, as usual, especially the chocolate torte with cheesecake ice cream, salted caramel, and macerated raspberries!! How amazing! And, our Pinot noir paired nicely with dinner and dessert. Great date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very good atmosphere, service was outstanding and the food was delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 25, 2017

My husband had a delicious steak. My dinner, the duck ramen, was hard to describe. Weird is the word that comes to mind. Because I had never seen duck ramen on a menu before, I asked the waiter if it was smoked or roasted. Answer: roasted. And served over ramen noodles? Answer: Yes, and with a confit sauce. I did not expect a noodles in a thin broth with very small bits of soggy duck. Could I have sent it back? Probably. But my husband had already been served and that would have meant that both of us would have been eating alone. It's a nice place but I would highly recommend that they take that expensive but ridiculous dish off the menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We enjoyed a Sunday brunch on 7/23/2017. I had the Tennessee English Breakfast and the wife had the Tennessee Eggs Benedict. We both had the gazpacho - all were gourmet quality. Our server was TJ, who is always vibrant, efficient and spot on!!! Dave (who can't dance) and Caren (as in Carpenter).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.