About Bistro By The Tracks

215 Brookview Centre Way, Suite 109
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

"At Bistro by the Tracks Executive Chef Danny Wilhoit masterfully blends culinary traditions from
across the globe with the familiar tastes of East Tennesee. Reviewers say " consistently spectacular"
with friendlt "non-stuffy" service. Bistro by the Tracks is Knoxville's answer to great metropolitan dining."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 558-9500

Website:
http://www.bistrobythetracks.com/

Executive Chef:
Danny Wilhoit

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro By The Tracks - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Duck Ramen - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Beef And Gnocchi  - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Pork Chops - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Sausage - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Deconstructed Carrot Cake - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Turkey Sandwich with Brie - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Lemon Meringue - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Bourbon Coke Cake - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Pumpkin Panacotta - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Curry Chicken Salad - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Pb&J Cheesecake - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Diet Coke - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Creme Brulee - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Spiced Hummingbird Cake - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Blt Stack - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN
Bistro Chicken - Bistro By The Tracks, Knoxville, TN

Bistro By The Tracks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
East Tennessee
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
6 More
Best Overall
Knoxville
Best Service
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Best Value
Knoxville
Special Occasion
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Private Room (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bistro by the Tracks is one of our favor ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Bistro by the Tracks is one of our favorite restaurants in Knoxville - tasteful ambiance, service friendly/professional, and food great. For larger groups recommend requesting the wine cellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

BIstro never disappoints! It's my favor ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

BIstro never disappoints! It's my favorite place to eat on a date night in Knoxville. The food is spectacular and cocktails are delish! Wait staff is amazing!!!! Mike is my favorite server and always recognizes us even when we haven't been in a long time. I ❤️ This place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my birthday at Bistro by the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Celebrating my birthday at Bistro by the Tracks was a phenomenal experience. The chefs prepared incredible dishes for us! My family emphasized that it was some of the best food they had ever eaten. We ate the house-made pasta, beef tenderloin, and salmon. All the flavors complimented each other beautifully. The desserts were also incredible! Incredibly happy with our server Anthony's enthusiasm and professionalism. He is a gem in that establishment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only reason this place did not get f ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The only reason this place did not get five stars is the all the main dishes including the appetizer were a little salty, but as we know thats a personal taste thing however I was not the only one who mentioned it. The other small issue was the place seems to be based around wine, however there was no Somali or anyone that could answer questions about the wine. At 150.00 a bottle I also expected my wine to come with a decanter. I had to ask for one after the second pour. Other than those two very small issues, this place was not bad for "Knoxville" fine dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is always a reliable good place to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is always a reliable good place to meet friends for good food and a good wine selection. The service is always exceptional and the staff are constant and experienced! always recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aweome food and service.. one of my favo ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Aweome food and service.. one of my favorite restaurants in Knoxville..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our dining very much. It was ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We enjoyed our dining very much. It was a chance to slow down and enjoy each other and the wonderful food. Our service was great but not too intrusive. We will be going again in the near future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great and Ivan and TJ took wonder ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always great and Ivan and TJ took wonderful care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro has been my favorite dining spot. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Bistro has been my favorite dining spot. Not any more. Food was undercooked (even when I as asked for well-done salmon); served skin side up and not crispy; had to ask for bread twice (told it was undercooked and had to be redone); server MIA so had to catch eye of a different server to ask about bread would have asked for salmon to be cooked more but with MIA server just moved food around the plate to not make it uncomfortable for my guest). Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

After a rocky start when I had to flag d ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 24, 2016

After a rocky start when I had to flag down a waiter for service, things settled down and my wife and I enjoyed a delicious meal. Our waiter was eager to make up for the gaff and was very attentive thereafter. We had an enjoyable outing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I have eaten at the Bistro By The Tracks ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have eaten at the Bistro By The Tracks many times, including before it landed at this location. The food and service are great, and the location is central and allows for easy parking. Although it is pricey by Knoxville standards, you do get good-very good value for your dollar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow some in our lunch party ordered salm ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Wow some in our lunch party ordered salmon, etc, my husband and I ordered the shrimp curry. All plates were superb.

If I could give them 10 stars for service, I would, because our lunch & work session went from 12:30 until 4 PM. Not a single employee interrupted us or even hinted that we had overstayed our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been twice. Great food and amazing servi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Been twice. Great food and amazing service both times. Try the pork chop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the perfect spot after a long d ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was the perfect spot after a long day of tailgating! The food was delicious and reasonable. The specialty cocktails were absolutely the best! Don't miss this dining experience. We dine out quite a bit and are particular about an overall dining experience, but this measured up and then some!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Scallops smelled like fish, were not fre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Scallops smelled like fish, were not fresh and were overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Good meal nice atmosphere and food servi ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good meal nice atmosphere and food service. The burger was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I met for lunch for our w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My husband and I met for lunch for our wedding anniversary, and we really enjoyed it. I had a shrimp and red curry dish and he had gnocci with beef and beets (I think). We love food, and my husband is an excellent cook, so we don't go out much---it's hard to spend money on a meal out when you could do better at home! That was not the case here. Everything was delicious and interesting and well-balanced, and we'll be back. We also had excellent service from our waiter, who I think was named York (?).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions are very small. Somewhat disapp ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Portions are very small. Somewhat disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

A group of ladies picked Bistro by the T ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 20, 2016

A group of ladies picked Bistro by the Tracks for our quarterly luncheon. The food was very good, service very good. One of our members is gluten free and there were several items on the menu to accommodate her. It is a little pricey for lunch, but a nice change of pace from chain restaurants. I would recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My first visit to Bistro By the Tracks w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My first visit to Bistro By the Tracks was fantastic! The selection and quality of food was notable; the wine list was the best I have seen in this geographic area. The wait staff were personable and attentive with excellent selection advice. They provided extra service when they knew we enjoyed a great wine and provided some 'sips' that were a taster's delight.

My one caveat - the vegetarian selections were limited but they were amenable to creating a meal that met my needs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Knoxville for our 50th high s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were in Knoxville for our 50th high school reunion and met former classmates and their spouses for dinner. Some of us had not seen each other for over 40 years. The host at Bistro by the Tracks placed us in a private room which offered us the chance for a quieter atmosphere more suited to catching up with old friends. We all thought the food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. The wine selection is expensive for those who are interested. I have been to this restaurant twice and both times thought their dessert selection was disappointing with nothing that tempted me to stray from my Paleo diet. I would definitely go there again since their entree selection offers me several good choices.

Tags: Private Room, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with two other mom friends for mo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I went with two other mom friends for moms night out. Once we told our server, she was superb and made it a fantastic experience! She was by far the highlight of the evening despite the overall great experience!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Healthy, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Special Occasion, Spicy, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've lived in Knoxville over 2 years an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We've lived in Knoxville over 2 years and Bistro by the Tracks is as fine a dining experience as we have encountered here. The selection of food and wine was excellent. The service was exceptional. Price was commensurate with the quality. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal at Bistro. Pork chop ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Another great meal at Bistro. Pork chop and the filet were outstanding. As usual, we brought our own bottle of wine, but were surprised to find the cork fee had apparently increased to $30. Ouch! That will bring other restaurants into play for us.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was top notch. Her product k ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was top notch. Her product knowledge and attention to detail was excellent. Food was FANTASTIC too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great!

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice atmosphere. Elegant restaurant. Gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Elegant restaurant. Great service. Excellent wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always. The chef and staff ar ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome as always. The chef and staff are phenomenal and it is by my opinion the freshest seasonal ingredients and best dining experience in Knoxville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were great. We wer ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food and service were great. We were not rushed, and staff was welcoming and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro by the Tracks truly is a fine din ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bistro by the Tracks truly is a fine dining experience. It's one of the handful of Knoxville restaurants that is a reliably superb dining experience, every single time. We were there with another couple, and we all had a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the ambiance and service but the f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Loved the ambiance and service but the food is what wins! Use of seasonings, herbs and blends of flavors - wonderful fresh vegetables & meats cooked perfectly. Truly enjoyed this quiet but chic Bistro and EVERYTHING we were served!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food not up to normal standards.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food not up to normal standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is so good!! It's worth ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 29, 2016

This restaurant is so good!! It's worth every cent you spend! The service is terrific and every dish we ordered from appitizers to dessert were amazing. We almost licked the plates!!! Enjoy!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really great dinner place. The wine coll ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really great dinner place. The wine collection is amazing. The food is delicious and the service is really great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Knoxville's better venues with a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of Knoxville's better venues with a (for Knoxville) more sophisticated approach on food.

Well-prepared, reasonable portions, nicely presented... not easy to find in Knoxville, but at the Bistro they just do a find job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quick but relaxing intimate birthday din ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Quick but relaxing intimate birthday dinner. Refreshing cocktails, impressive wine list and seasonally varied menu. The scallops first course were great and the salmon was cooked perfectly. Service was attentive not oppressive and helpful not pushy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy BBtT. Great food service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We always enjoy BBtT. Great food service and always see our friends.

Will go back again and again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best place in Knoxville for a quiet busi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Best place in Knoxville for a quiet business or other lunch. Food is excellent, again. Service was attentive and appropriate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife's fav dish in Knoxville, seared ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife's fav dish in Knoxville, seared scallops (with tomatoes, frisee, Georgia olive oil, black & white quinoa, oyster mushrooms, lemon, & radish), is served here so it was her choice when it came time to celebrate her birthday with friends. It really is a special dish. She also likes the beet & carrot salad (red, gold, white & candy stripe beets; croutons; Parmigiano-Reggiano; brown butter & tatsoi---think spinach), which is too, and is why we both ordered---light---the same thing. One, a small plate, the other, salad . . . a perfect amount of food for a dinner. A friend had the melon gazpacho, a knockout of a surprise and one of the most unusual and delicious dishes I've ever had. Order all three!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible. I don't see how this place is ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Terrible. I don't see how this place is still in business.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.