About Bistro By The Tracks

"At Bistro by the Tracks Executive Chef Danny Wilhoit masterfully blends culinary traditions from
across the globe with the familiar tastes of East Tennesee. Reviewers say " consistently spectacular"
with friendly "non-stuffy" service. Bistro by the Tracks is Knoxville's answer to great metropolitan dining."

215 Brookview Centre Way, Suite 109
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday through Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly Monday through Saturday: 5:00pm - Close
Brunch Sunday: 10 - 2pm

Cross Street:
S. Northshore Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 558-9500

Website:
http://www.bistrobythetracks.com/

Executive Chef:
Danny Wilhoit

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro By The Tracks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent brunch menu probably a little too heavy on the egg offerings but nevertheless a great brunch option. Perfect Bloody Mary and fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food and service were fine, lighting and decor is too dark for our tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It's good food, good looking restaurant, nice staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It's the 3rd time we've eaten at this restaurant . Each time the service and food have been great. Highly recommend .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Found his gen on Yelp as we were passing through town from Chicago and wanted to eat somewhere good. We thought this Bistro was more than good... it was outstanding. Staff was polite, professional and knowledgeable. Wine selection was outstanding and the traditional tequila margarita was perfect. The food was delicious, fresh, innovative and beautifully presented. Can not rave enough about this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service is always exceptional. Food was delicious and excellent beverage options. They even have unique and fun virgin cocktails for non-drinkers and pregnant women.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We were told about a special and then immediately told it was sold out. Hmmm.. Duck ramen was cold when served. Questions about menu were met with waiter reading menu to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The scallop appetizers were superb. Wonder fresh taste. Food quality was excellent. Was hoping for a bit more of a older "local joint" (I mean "by the tracks"!) but it was a new upscale suburbia type of place. Wait staff was excellent and they went out of their way to please.
Overall, this one gets biggest points for quality of the cuisine. Hats off to the chef!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The dinner was amazing, the service was as well. Will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2017

This has and will always be one of Knoxville's great restaurants!!! Highly recommended for any occasion. Updated menu will be sure to please. I would always secure reservations as this place could fill up quickly. Won't be disappointed!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Have enjoyed Bistro by the Tracks for years (through their moves) as an evening dinner restaurant. Decided to try their Sunday lunch - glad we did. I'm not sure quite how long they've been open Sunday noon, but not many people seem to have found it yet (which was fine with us). The open space and hard surfaces can make it a bit noisy at night, but there were only four other tables occupied when we were there and conversation was correspondingly easy. As always, the food was great (the Farmer's Market Omelet was particularly good), and the service was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Took daughter here for her birthday. She enjoyed it. The food was great. The server the best. Nice quiet dining environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Years of dining here have grown into a very familiar and fun outing. Great waitstaff, accommodating management, skilled kitchen, and respected wine list. Seeing nice people time and time again bringing forth the best available under a restaurant's roof is a comforting feeling. My girlfriend and I thank all of you at Bistro By The Tracks for each and every plate, gesture, and service. We look forward to dining with you in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Good wine and small plates. A nice romantic dinner with my husband.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great restaurant... always a changing interesting menu. Very deliciously prepared. Great service and wine menu as well! Great place to try new things since everything is delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

TJ was our server. She is a delight !
So knowledgeable and passionate about the food. So refreshing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We recently dined at BBT for our anniversary and it was a marvelous night out. We made a reservation and walked straight in and right to the table. The table was already set, there was zero waiting for anything. Great preparation. The waiter (Jerry) was superb. He was extremely knowledgeable about all of the items on the menu and all the wines they offer. He was very personable but not intrusive. My wife had several questions about menu items and he did well fielding the questions and made an excellent suggestion. He went over the nights specials in such a way that the dishes weren't pushed or "sold" to us. We started with the turkey and dumplings small plate, my wife had the rabbit saddle on Jerry's suggestion and I had the bison rib eye (house special that night). Every item was absolutely, hands down, 5 stars!! The Chef does an amazing job preparing all the foods that are all cooked and season completely different. This is without a doubt, I will argue with anyone, the best restaurant in Knoxville. Superb job Bistro By the Tracks. We will now be regulars!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was a busy evening, and we sat at a table instead of a booth. Our server was excellent! Food was fabulous, as usual, especially the chocolate torte with cheesecake ice cream, salted caramel, and macerated raspberries!! How amazing! And, our Pinot noir paired nicely with dinner and dessert. Great date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very good atmosphere, service was outstanding and the food was delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 25, 2017

My husband had a delicious steak. My dinner, the duck ramen, was hard to describe. Weird is the word that comes to mind. Because I had never seen duck ramen on a menu before, I asked the waiter if it was smoked or roasted. Answer: roasted. And served over ramen noodles? Answer: Yes, and with a confit sauce. I did not expect a noodles in a thin broth with very small bits of soggy duck. Could I have sent it back? Probably. But my husband had already been served and that would have meant that both of us would have been eating alone. It's a nice place but I would highly recommend that they take that expensive but ridiculous dish off the menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We enjoyed a Sunday brunch on 7/23/2017. I had the Tennessee English Breakfast and the wife had the Tennessee Eggs Benedict. We both had the gazpacho - all were gourmet quality. Our server was TJ, who is always vibrant, efficient and spot on!!! Dave (who can't dance) and Caren (as in Carpenter).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food and service, has a nice casual, sophisticated feel. Love it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The only place in Knoxville that knows how to make a Blood & Sand. The bartender, Chris, knows her stuff. The food is top notch too. A great place to impress a first date.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 18, 2017

For the first of many times in Knoxville I have finally had a good meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great service and great wine choices! We loved the atmosphere. The menu is not very large but good variety. The flourless torte was amazing!!! We were visiting family in town and would come back if the opportunity arises.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Bistro By The Tracks has a world class menu that inspires the foodie in all of us. And the ambiance is perfect for a romantic evening or for a lively crowd. Recently though, Bistro By The Tracks blew us away for my son's and his lady's special evening.... they gifted their entire meal to them ON THE HOUSE including appetizers, salads, and steak dinners, in honor of my son's service to our country!! Our hearts overflowed with gratitude and love. We will never forget their kindness and generosity!!! Bistro always treats us like family but, they took it to the next level on this occasion. Bistro's Bistro By The Tracks is and will always be FIRST CHOICE fine dining in our hearts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We love this place . The patio is so comfortable and the seevic was excellent. The c

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Bistro by the Tracks is one of the better restaurants in Knoxville. It is a really good place to bring friends, colleagues and professional visitors for a very nice evening meal. Relatively new young chef is working out a few of the new menus kinks and the management is pro active about getting customer feedback. Just one notch below VERY GOOD this visit but we will undoubtedly return in the near future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Popped off the highway on way to Nashville. What a lunch treat! Salmon was cooked superb! And the turkey sandwich was half the cost and just as good. The server was fun even though we came in late at 2pm. The rose he recommended and poured was awesome and the Riedel glasses he served them in were super fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

A perfect dinner. Every item we had was fantastic. The food was absolutely delicious. The service was impeccable and attentive. Recommend the pimento cheese appetizer, iceberg wedge salad, seared tuna, and the ribs. Save room for dessert. The banana pudding cheesecake was worth every calorie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We wanted a "special" meal for our family. We were not disappointed although they were only serving brunch. We will return to try the lunch or dinner menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

"I love the relaxed feel of this place. Service was great and friendly, I will definitely go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful meal! My husband and I enjoyed a great date night at BBT! Selected a familiar Pinot noir that was a great value, loved the beef tenderloin, which was cooked perfectly, broccoli, and potatoes as sides. Delicious! And, the torte was fabulous! Efficient and friendly server. Highly recommend...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good service from Anthony. Excellent meal-I had a superb Duck Ramen and my wife the special Rockfisk. Try the Pimento Cheese "For the Table"; coming from GA a pimento cheese aficionado, great dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We went to brunch at Bistro for the first time. The food was incredible, The drinks were perfection, And our waiter was amazing. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The drinks, food, and service were excellent. They know how to make superb cocktails. All and all a great experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very good food. Beef tenderloin was delicious and cooked just right. Wonderful sides. Corn bread and pimento cheese dip tasty. Nice bar,and wine. Good choice in Knoxville.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Generous neatly prepared dishes within an appealing room providing great service. Indoor air temperature could be adjusted slightly cooler on hot humid muggy evenings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A most disappointing experience. The scallop appetizer ($16) contained a measly 2 rather smallish scallop mussels that, although edible, tasted steamed. At $8 per scallop, a diner deserves more. The Duck Ramen ($26) was the worst entree I've eaten in a long time. I expected a moist duck breast on top of noodles, but what I got was a few stringy and dry bits of meat (that could well have been leftover pork or any other precooked meat that had been resting in the refrigerator, for all I could tell) hiding in a dilute broth with some bland noodles. It was no better than the ramen noodle packets one can buy for <$1 in a grocery store. Our server was fine, but was clearly suffering from the inadequate air conditioning, as was I. My last meal in the Northshore neighborhood was at the now defunct but excellent Rouxbarb; the contrast between the two restaurants couldn't be greater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Incredibly good food! Salmon entree always perfect. Redfish special outstanding! Service top notch. Little warm in the restaurant for best dining ambience but everything else was so perfect, not complaining!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.