About Bistro By The Tracks

"At Bistro by the Tracks Executive Chef Danny Wilhoit masterfully blends culinary traditions from
across the globe with the familiar tastes of East Tennesee. Reviewers say " consistently spectacular"
with friendly "non-stuffy" service. Bistro by the Tracks is Knoxville's answer to great metropolitan dining."

215 Brookview Centre Way, Suite 109
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
S. Northshore Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 558-9500

Website:
http://www.bistrobythetracks.com/

Executive Chef:
Danny Wilhoit

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Market Oysters

Thursdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Market Oysters

Thursdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Please join us for Market Oysters every Tuesday and Thursday! We offer a rotating selection of fresh oysters to choose from. We offer them in increments of 3, 6, 9 and 12. Get them all of a kind or mix and match! Market price applies. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 on Thursdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

We are currently taking reservations for both Easter Brunch and Easter Dinner.
Brunch is served from 11:30AM until 2:30PM.
Dinner is served 5:00PM until 9:30PM. Please make a reservation, seating is limited.

Bistro By The Tracks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Private Room (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (0)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Sunday Lunch (0)
Sort By:
S
663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

A surprising gem. Great burger and marvelous waitress.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great service and food! Fillet was phenomenal and mouth watering.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our group thoroughly enjoyed the Bistro! The server was very helpful and attentive. The food was fine and I would definitely recommend the Bistro to others!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were very disappointed this time. We had just been there for dinner one week before and really enjoyed it. So as a thank you gift to another couple we took them to Bistro. We even ordered the same entrees but both were seriously lacking. It will be quite a while before we return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This restaurant was absolutely fantastic! Definitely some of the best food in Knoxville. Perfect for a nice dinner date

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Server was great, checking on us exactly when needed. Food was delicious. Was in a slight rush at the end and server was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wait staff was very knowledgeable of menu items. Food was good and great atmosphere for a date night.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was quite good. Everyone enjoyed their entries and appetizers. It is a very good restaurant and thankfully, it is open on Monday so when you have an ocassion or need a classy place, something very good is available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Could not have asked for better service, food, and ambiance. Wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

My order was somehow messed up so took a very long time to get served. They bought me desert to make up. Wait staff was pleasent

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

BBT is ou r go to for a great dinner for a special occasion. The wine list is spectacular and includes some of our favorites such as Napa based Constintino and Hewitt and Ken Wright Pinots.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Overall, our meal was good, not great. Appetizer/small plates very good, particularly free form ravioli. Filet very good, as was the duck confit. The pork chop was good, but served over grits that were (literally) raw like gravel (which the server/kitchen admitted). Server offered free dessert, but we were doing birthday cake at home. Bistro is familiar to me and very nice inside. However, Knoxville has fabulous restaurants of late (JC Holdway, Lonesome Dove, Emilia, to name just a few). Bistro eats more like an 'expense account' restaurant. It has a following, but will have to up its game to keep up.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great celebratory dinner at Bistro By The Tracks! Good cocktails, quality wine selection. Appetizers were excellent and dinner followed suit. Great place to dine for special occasions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

As usual, great food and great service. This restaurant is definitely a Knoxville gem with a great wine selection to match its unique menu selection.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This dinner was for a business dinner and everything turned out great. The food is good, service is wonderful, and overall it was an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been there multiple times and have never been disappointed.
The food is excellent as well as the service. One of the best restaurants in Knoxville.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place, service was outstanding, as was the food. We will definitely be back to do this again. If you are looking for a great place to spend the evening, don't bypass this one.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We dined here two nights in a row, and we were blown away with the experiences! The pork chop on Thursday was delicious and the filet the following night you could cut with a feather!!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice, the wait staff was very courteous and made sure our glasses never ran out. The food was exotic (a bit over seasoned but much better than bland). Overall, the evening was very enjoyable, the food was excellent, and the bill wasn't too expensive. I definitely would recommend going for the experience of the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Another amazing meal at Bistro by the Tracks. From the time we entered we were given warm and attentive service. Food was exceptional Always a wonderful place for any special occasion

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good is always outstanding. Menu is impressive even though limited - think more exclusive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Atmosphere was great...service good except had to wait for bread until almost finished salads...steak was cooked properly but VERY salty...side dish was non existent??? A couple bites of broccoli and about 4 little pieces of newt potato. ..i think

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our service was very good until an obvious mistake in the food prep was pointed out. The atmosphere was very quiet and elegant. The salad selections were good, not great. The NY strip was prepared well. The Risotto dish was served very overcooked, basically a mashed up mess. When this was pointed out to our server, the response we received was, " I am sorry we missed that". Really? That is all you have to offer for an uneaten mashed up mess of $20? Our total bill for 2 was over $200, which I had no problem paying, but at that dollar amount, one would expect more than "Sorry". BBT is now officially on our not worth it list. For the money BBT needs to become much better at food and service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Bistro by the Tracks can be relied upon to offer excellent food. Most recently, the salmon and rabbit stew were particularly good as were the scallops and open face ravioli as starters. The chocolate cake is deadly, but delicious. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have just moved to Knoxville and tried this restaurant for our Valentines Dinner. The menu is creative but somewhat limited. The butternut squash soup was excellent. We both ordered the cornmeal encrusted trout which honestly was disappointing. It tasted a bit fishy and the greens that came with it were much too spicy. For dessert we shared the chef's homemade raspberry ice cream which was delicious. We moved here from Atlanta and prices were on the high side even by those standards. Overall we had good service and it was a good experience. We will go back and try some of the other entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We returned to BBTT and once again, were not disappointed. The menu is limited (and seasonal) yet diverse - seafood, red and non-red meat, vegetarian. The wine list is exceptional but pricey. I enjoy browsing through this list. We selected a modestly priced Pinot Noir and were pleasantly surprised that it was older (2013 instead of 2015) than listed on the menu (it's usually just the opposite). The wine was perfect. The service consistently exceeds my expectations (I waited tables in high school and college and as a result, my bar is very high). Greg, our server, was attentive, courteous, knowledgeable, and effectively managed our courses. We started with the free form ravioli - delicious. It would make a great main course too. My spouse had beef tenderloin filet and I had the salmon special. Both excellent. The best thing about BBTT is the ambiance. It may be the best in Knoxville (just lacks a scenic view). This is a modern open restaurant with very comfortable seating. It's perfect for conversation even at peak dinner time on Saturday night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Although it is on the more expensive side, it was well worth it. All of the food was absolutely phenomenal. The restaurant is beautiful and intimate. Definitely great for a serious fate or ape ial occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Our occasion was for a birthday dinner. We enjoyed our evening very much. The positives were a very nice meal, outstanding service, a nice wine and a very attentive staff. The down notes were that the butternut bisque was only luke warm (which we did not comment on) and the duck confit was much saltier than any we had gotten from other places. However, the staff immediately exchanged the duck for another entree and handled the entire thing very quickly and extremely well - we could not have asked for more. We truly appreciate the attentiveness of the staff. Everything else about our evening was perfect. Highly recommend Bistro by the Tracks.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is one of the higher end restaurants in Knoxville. The menu changes regularly and is characterized by variations of more traditional dishes. Usually you will find a variety of various meat, poultry and seafood/fish dishes with a 1-2 vegetarian options. The food is high end and we have never been disappointed in the 20+ times we have been here. The wine list is extensive. Service is excellent (every guest is being treated like a VIP). One of the major pros is the quiet atmosphere allowing conversation which is not necessarily true for some other restaurants of similar scale in town. We'll be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our meal was wonderful and our server was great! Have enjoy dining there for a number of years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Contemporary menu and space. Warm and inviting suburban location. We were pleased that we found such a delightful restaurant and wine list near our hotel.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My wife and I have had many special dinners at BBT. The food is imaginative and well prepared. The wine is a bit pricey but good. The $25 corkage fee is reasonable. I encourage you to keep the wine prices reasonable and have good value in wines. That said BBT is the best restaurant in the Knoxville area.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

A little weird that both my girlfriend n I got "carded" ordering an adult beverage, especially since we are both well into our 50's! We're flattered, but seriously!!??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Unfortunately, we were very disappointed in our dinner. Service was poor as well. What has happened?? Used to be out "go to" restaurant in town...... sigh.......

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Your restaurant made a special evening simply great. Ambiance was excellent. Food and service left nothing to be desired. We were not hurried a totally enjoyable evening
Thank you. We will be back
Lee R

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Overall, BBT is a very good restaurant for a nice evening out. We have been going for years and have found the quality and service consistent throughout. The only drawback to BBT is the portions seemed to have been reduced somewhat which is why it was only 4 stars overall (and 4 stars in value). Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was great!! We were passing through Knoxville and stopped by based on a Yelp review. We're pleasantly surprised to find such a sophisticated dining option in a strip mall. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I come here frequently, and it never disappoints. The menu changes seasonally, and always features locally sourced foods. The wine menu is out of control, and they have one of the most solid scotch selections in Knoxville. Once you start thinking about dessert, I have three words: Cereal. Milk. Cheesecake. The only think I don't like is the green, leafy upholstery in the dining room; it is repugnant. Fabric aside, Bistro is one of my favorite restaurants in Knoxville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a great meal and our service was terrific. I would highly recommend the Fall BBT Burger.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I cannot recommend this restaurant. The price in no way corresponds with the quality of the food. It is pricy but the food quality and portion sizes are inferior. There are no table cloths and the atmosphere reminded me of an upscale diner. It is very loud. Service was ok. For Knoxville is is probably above average but unless you just want to throw your money away, go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.