About Bistro By The Tracks

"At Bistro by the Tracks Executive Chef Danny Wilhoit masterfully blends culinary traditions from
across the globe with the familiar tastes of East Tennesee. Reviewers say " consistently spectacular"
with friendly "non-stuffy" service. Bistro by the Tracks is Knoxville's answer to great metropolitan dining."

215 Brookview Centre Way, Suite 109
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
S. Northshore Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 558-9500

Website:
http://www.bistrobythetracks.com/

Executive Chef:
Danny Wilhoit

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro By The Tracks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Romantic (25)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Business Meals (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Private Room (11)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
683 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

I live in New Orleans so I know great food. Bistro by the Tracks is my favorite restaurant in my hometown on Knoxville and I go avery time I visit. The food and service never disappoint. PS: They have a terrific whisky list, including a High West rye that I’ve been looking for for a year but never seen at a restaurant or bar till I found it at Bistro.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good service. We found the staff to be friendly and still formal in their service roll. The food presentation on the plate was nice and the portions were generous. The appetizers on the menu didn't appeal to me. I'd like more selection there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great atmosphere, food and service. We would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've visited this restaurant many times in all its locations, right from the start. While it has changed a lot over the years, the food quality is always at a high standard, good service, etc. This time we took my mother for Mother's Day brunch. She is 88 and enjoyed it all, as did my wife and I. It's always a good choice in this part of Knoxville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our first time to this restaurant, but certainly not our last. Cost was on the high side for Knoxville, but was reasonable given the decor, level of service, and quality of food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Elegantly plated delicious dinner with outstanding service. While this is a special place don't only go for special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to have dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Anniversary. Service excellent. Recommendations excellent. Food excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for brunch. There were 12 of us. The place wasn't crowded but it took over an hour to get our food. No explanation as to why. Food was ok. Very salty.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Superb Easter brunch--- both service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience again! Quiet sophisticated atmosphere with GREAT food and service and wine list. Bring your honey and wooo her.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were having a business meeting. Perfect setting. Could easily hear each other. Surroundings very pleasant with calming lights

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a delicious dinner that included halibut and salmon prepared perfectly. We really enjoyed our server TJ, she is superb in all aspects including timely/thoughtful service and injecting fun into our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very charming and great ambiance. But, my steak was way overpriced for the quality received.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service and tasty food with good wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The carrot cake was absolutely divine!! Our server was super attentive and we loved the round booth seating. Their wine selection is well stocked and the ambiance was very low key and comfortable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

First time and I will return. Would recommend a little more variety with the menu.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Steaks came out rare and took a while to bring us to temperature

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Birthday dinner with the family
Nice wine selection
Excellent food options

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

A surprising gem. Great burger and marvelous waitress.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great service and food! Fillet was phenomenal and mouth watering.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our group thoroughly enjoyed the Bistro! The server was very helpful and attentive. The food was fine and I would definitely recommend the Bistro to others!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were very disappointed this time. We had just been there for dinner one week before and really enjoyed it. So as a thank you gift to another couple we took them to Bistro. We even ordered the same entrees but both were seriously lacking. It will be quite a while before we return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This restaurant was absolutely fantastic! Definitely some of the best food in Knoxville. Perfect for a nice dinner date

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Server was great, checking on us exactly when needed. Food was delicious. Was in a slight rush at the end and server was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wait staff was very knowledgeable of menu items. Food was good and great atmosphere for a date night.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was quite good. Everyone enjoyed their entries and appetizers. It is a very good restaurant and thankfully, it is open on Monday so when you have an ocassion or need a classy place, something very good is available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Could not have asked for better service, food, and ambiance. Wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

My order was somehow messed up so took a very long time to get served. They bought me desert to make up. Wait staff was pleasent

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

BBT is ou r go to for a great dinner for a special occasion. The wine list is spectacular and includes some of our favorites such as Napa based Constintino and Hewitt and Ken Wright Pinots.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Overall, our meal was good, not great. Appetizer/small plates very good, particularly free form ravioli. Filet very good, as was the duck confit. The pork chop was good, but served over grits that were (literally) raw like gravel (which the server/kitchen admitted). Server offered free dessert, but we were doing birthday cake at home. Bistro is familiar to me and very nice inside. However, Knoxville has fabulous restaurants of late (JC Holdway, Lonesome Dove, Emilia, to name just a few). Bistro eats more like an 'expense account' restaurant. It has a following, but will have to up its game to keep up.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great celebratory dinner at Bistro By The Tracks! Good cocktails, quality wine selection. Appetizers were excellent and dinner followed suit. Great place to dine for special occasions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

As usual, great food and great service. This restaurant is definitely a Knoxville gem with a great wine selection to match its unique menu selection.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This dinner was for a business dinner and everything turned out great. The food is good, service is wonderful, and overall it was an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been there multiple times and have never been disappointed.
The food is excellent as well as the service. One of the best restaurants in Knoxville.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place, service was outstanding, as was the food. We will definitely be back to do this again. If you are looking for a great place to spend the evening, don't bypass this one.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We dined here two nights in a row, and we were blown away with the experiences! The pork chop on Thursday was delicious and the filet the following night you could cut with a feather!!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice, the wait staff was very courteous and made sure our glasses never ran out. The food was exotic (a bit over seasoned but much better than bland). Overall, the evening was very enjoyable, the food was excellent, and the bill wasn't too expensive. I definitely would recommend going for the experience of the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Another amazing meal at Bistro by the Tracks. From the time we entered we were given warm and attentive service. Food was exceptional Always a wonderful place for any special occasion

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good is always outstanding. Menu is impressive even though limited - think more exclusive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.