About Bistro By The Tracks

215 Brookview Centre Way, Suite 109
Knoxville, TN 37919
View Larger Map

"At Bistro by the Tracks Executive Chef Danny Wilhoit masterfully blends culinary traditions from
across the globe with the familiar tastes of East Tennesee. Reviewers say " consistently spectacular"
with friendlt "non-stuffy" service. Bistro by the Tracks is Knoxville's answer to great metropolitan dining."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 558-9500

Website:
http://www.bistrobythetracks.com/

Executive Chef:
Danny Wilhoit

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro By The Tracks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Knoxville
Best Food
Knoxville
6 More
Best Service
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Best Value
Knoxville
Romantic
Knoxville
Special Occasion
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

special occasion (34)
notable wine list (31)
romantic (23)
See All
fit for foodies (21)
neighborhood gem (12)
good for groups (9)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was attentive and prompt.

Dined 3 days ago

Service was outstanding. The entrees were were good and the wine list was larger and more varied than at other Knoxville restaurants. The prices were higher than I expected; overall about 4-5 dollars higher for each entree than we felt the dinner merited. We will return, but not on a monthly basis. Perhaps a couple times per year.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This place has awesome ambience. The po ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This place has awesome ambience. The portions were of perfect size unless you are an all you can eat kind of person. The only negative was that our food took an hour to be delivered after we received our salad. There were 5 of us and we all ordered the same thing, fish.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

I think I was expecting more than we rec ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I think I was expecting more than we received. It was an alright experience. Nothing to write home about. Probably will not be back.

food4
ambience3
service5

Really quality food, excluding dessert w ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Really quality food, excluding dessert which left

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never Disappoints

Dined on May 5, 2016

We frequent Bistro by the Tracks when friends visit or to celebrate special occasions. The wait staff is always very professional and helpful with suggestions. The menu choices seemed somewhat more limited on this last visit but the food is always well prepared. I chose the halibut which was very flavorful and moist and cooked perfectly. In the past we have had the beef short ribs which are amazing. Had they been on the menu on our last visit we would have ordered them once again. Portions seem to appear small but the food is so well prepared that the portion size seems appropriate That said, my husband would have welcomed a somewhat larger steak. We shared a cheese plate for dessert and I do think the portions on it could have been somewhat larger. Bistro has an impressive wine list for oenophiles. We enjoy the ambiance as it is simple and not "stuffy" or pretentious. We will continue to return and hopefully the short ribs will be on the menu again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

chef's right

Dined on April 29, 2016

certainly the chef's right to run a restaurant as he chooses but I get the feeling he's more interested in his opinion of how things should be than what his customer's value. this begs the question "who are you running this restaurant to serve- the chef or the customers?"

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Pretty good

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was very good quality, but the menu was limited. The beef dish I ordered was cooked to my liking, but somewhat bland. Just would have expected better for the price. Had to bring my own wine due to a problem with their liquor license.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for special occasions

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I have frequently celebrated special occasions at Bistro by the Tracks with our family, special friends, or just the two of us. The food is always delicious, we love the seasonal selections, the staff is always attentive and helpful, and the atmosphere is lovely. It never disappoints!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely find on a long road trip! Thank ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Lovely find on a long road trip! Thank you Open Table for yet another fantastic restaurant find!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hot Date in Knoxville

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

We were in town for 1 night and found BbtT on OT.. very nice indeed. Sadly, we were limited to only the menu as no chef's specials were offered on a Thursday, and there were few items that met our requirements. No problem as Jason was able to tweak some things to improve our experience. As such, tho', we only ordered a salad and entrée each, but thoroughly enjoyed them. We skipped dessert to visit their wine bar next door. 2 salads + 2 entrees + wine for 2 + tip = $145.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a terrific choice

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Attentive service, nice presentation, very pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Wine

Dined on April 9, 2016

Service and meals are wonderful. The wine pairings are spot on and the desserts are so so yummmy.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. One of the b ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. One of the best in town.

food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food styling and preparation, ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Excellent food styling and preparation, modern and a great experience overall. Desserts could have been better but overalls a great meal!

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Great experience, average food...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The Bistro has a great environment and generally a great menu. I ordered the Gumbo on my last visit and though it was good, it was not great and didn't live up to it's price tag. My date had a similar opinion of the salmon dish. However, I do feel like it was just a case of ordering the wrong thing. All of the other dishes I saw come out of the kitchen looked fantastic, I was just in the mood to try something a little different. We will also definitely be going back. One of the better upscale dining options in Knoxville...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Knoxville Eatery

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Been here multiple times. Food and service are terrific. This time it was unusually noisy...due to one table of well lubricated men and another table of very loud women. Restaurant has no control over this so it is not to blame. Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Bistro fell a bit short on Thursday night

Dined on March 3, 2016

We love Bistro by the Tracks for its great food and atmosphere. However, the food temperature coming from the kitchen is a bit hit or miss. The quail dish I ordered was lukewarm at best and was not balanced with a very slightly bitter almost acid finish. I asked our server about a bottle of French white wine I was interested in and he did not know anything about it. He said he could go next door and ask if I really wanted him to. I said no I would look it up on my own on my phone which I did. This is not what I expect from this restaurant for food or service. Last time we were there our food was cold and we were comped but that is not what we want. We did not say anything to management and left.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice birthday place. Needs more seafood.

Dined on February 28, 2016

I've only been here twice. The first time was for lunch. All three of us ordered the delicious shrimp and grits. For the dinner birthday, my friend and I both ordered salmon, which was crispy on the outside and generally quite good. If I have a criticism of this restaurant, it is that there are not enough fish or seafood options on the menu. Also, when the server says they are going to bring pepper for your salad, they should bring it.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Special Aniversary

Dined on February 18, 2016

At age 74 anniversary events are precious. I have been to the restaurant in the past and always had a good experience. This time there were two servers waiting on a table of approximately 18-20 guests. One of the two was the server for our table and the other the table next to us. The guests at the table next to us arrived after we did but their food was served much earlier. My first thought was that the difference was due to what may have been ordered. Our server was too busy dedicated to the large table he was co-server for. The duration between us getting a glass of wine, getting food order final placed was extremely long. Once the food was ordered, the duration of food preparation to delivery to the table was also extremely long too. I ordered something that I had never had in a restaurant before, the Quail dish. When it finally arrived, it was cold and extremely tough. I couldn't eat it. The bed of grits that it was served on were also cold. Maybe that is the way it is supposed to be served but since that is the only time that I have ever had Quail in a restaurant I don't know what is correct. I was very disappointed and so was my wife. Each celebration for us is special at my age. This one was one to forget.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious!

Dined on February 16, 2016

Always delicious!

food5
ambience4
service3

Great food and atmosphere was very nice. ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and atmosphere was very nice. Great wine selection and wonderful mix drinks. Service was a little distant but not disrespectful or bad just not as attentive as you would hope for in an upscale restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. Very attentive. ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Service was outstanding. Very attentive. Food was delicious and proportions were moderate. Not overwhelming, but not miniscule.

food5
ambience5
service5

TJ was great, food was exceptional as al ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

TJ was great, food was exceptional as always.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Not going back

Dined on February 12, 2016

I would pass on this place. The food is fine. I didn't think it was so special that I would not mind paying so much. I found the portion for my salmon small and with that the price way too high. I had the flourless chocolate tort that frankly was not good. It was so dense it must have been sitting in the refrigerator all day. I have had much better elsewhere. Now for the most bizarre things... The restaurant was basically empty. We were eating early so we could go to a play. As we were brought to our table my wife asked if we could sit at a booth, she was told no, those were saved for other customers. Of course the booths remained available the entire time we were there. Flat out ridiculous. Next in this empty restaurant they sat a party right next to us. They were so loud I couldn't hear my wife, I looked over to see why they were so noisy and it turned out the noisiest person was a waitress. Beware the seating is open, not intimate, and subsequently it's noisy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

Dined on February 6, 2016

We always love a chance to dine at Bistro by the Tracks. This time did not disappoint. Everything about it was great, the wine, the salad, the entree and the desert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

great dinner

Dined on January 30, 2016

Dinner was great. Scallops, salmon, and gumbo all very well done. Great service, and extensive wine list.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An old favorite ......better than ever

Dined on January 26, 2016

Our go-to restaurant whenever we are in Knoxville is By the Tracks Bistro. We first discovered BtTB years ago, when it truly was "by the tracks" in a small, unimpressive building, but with very impressive food. The latest home for BtTB is sophisticated, modern, comfortable - with very impressive food. On our most recent trip, we happily ate there two nights in a row! The red snapper with black rice was a winner, as was the quail entree. The wedge salad, which can appear in varying degrees of quality, is top of the line here - and enough for two. The extensive wine list is excellent, and if you need one more glass of something to end the evening, try Drink, next-door. They serve a wide range of wines by the glass, craft beers and cocktails, plus a bar menu from BtTB's kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful evening with friends

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had a table of four and two enjoyed the salmon and two had steak (one tenderloin and one ribeye). We all had salads and everything was well prepared, presented and delicious! We love the ambiance and had an overall lovely evening! Until the next time...!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable

Dined on January 9, 2016

Our group of 6 very much enjoyed our experience. The food, atmosphere, and service were all at a high level. Really like being able to make a reservation on Open Table

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on January 9, 2016

Previously we had had a wonderful meal here so I requested going for my birthday dinner. We did not know that there was a new chef and whole new kitchen crew. We thought it strange that the restaurant was only about half full. Now we know why. The menu was not special. My husband had Duck Ramen. $36 is a lot to pay for ramen noodles. I had a salad and appetizer. The Caesar Salad had very little dressing. We had to ask for a salt shaker because nothing had been seasoned. A very disappointing experience.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find

Dined on January 4, 2016

Driving through Knoxville and stopped for dinner. Came upon this gem. Delicious, accommodating and lovely atmosphere. Would definitely return to this spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good food in a warm friendly environment

Dined on January 3, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner with wonderful food and great service done really well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Eve Dinner

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

From the first time you enter the restaurant you feel welcomed. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The selections tonight were on a prix fix nenu. We began with a chopped salad with blue cheese and a balsamic glaze. Main entrees ordered were salmon and filet mignon. Excellent choices!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and service was excel ...

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Food was delicious and service was excellent.

food5
ambience4
service4

Yummy menu. Thoroughly enjoyed everythin ...

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Yummy menu. Thoroughly enjoyed everything. Could have ordered one of everything! Don't miss the Caesar salad it was delicious. Also enjoyed a Coke in a glass bottle. Beef tartar and scallop appetizers were a hit!

food5
ambience4
service5

Good for romantic special occasion

Dined on December 11, 2015

The food and service were outstanding. It was a little pricey for the amount of food received but everything was top-drawer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

It was ok this time!

Dined on December 11, 2015

I went a couple weeks ago and the food and service was fantastic. This time on 12/11/15 the food and service was just ok. The food choices were very slim and really nothing we liked out of 5 people, on the menu. The scallops were very good, but was not impressed. We were the last table in there. Very slow day. I had to ask the server 4 times to bring me a straw. We were her only table. She let our drinks get empty 3 times and my sister kept drinking my drink too because she would not refill our drinks. For the price we paid, I am very unsatisfied with our experience. It was my graduation lunch. I should have picked another place!!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food

Dined on December 2, 2015

This was our second visit. The small plates were satisfying after a long drive and the beet salad was delicious. An early dinner allowed for a quiet setting. I would return when we next drive through Knoxville.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

You Gotta Try!

vip
Dined on December 2, 2015

The food offerings are unique and the wine selection is terrific for each choice of meat and accompanying vegetable that you might choose. Our group of 6 enjoyed beef, fish, chicken, and other seafood along with a selection of both readily available Chardonnay and a rare find Cabernet Sauvignon (Katheryn Kennedy). Everyone talked about this meal for the next two days as they all enjoyed the vino and the food. As always, the service was outstanding as well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a gem of a restaurant located in ...

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

This is a gem of a restaurant located in an off the beaten path location. Everything was wonderful from the mixed drinks, wines and creative food.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.