About Bistro Blanc

3800 Ten Oaks Road
Glenelg, MD 21737
View Larger Map

A Sleek and Sensual Alternative to Traditional Wine Bars in Howard County, Maryland- Envision a stylish oasis devoted to the culinary world's three most sensual indulgences - wine, cheese, and food.

At Bistro Blanc, you'll experience a dazzling taste and sensory experience with fine wines, exotic cheeses, and exquisite food. Why patronize a traditional wine bar restaurant in the Glenelg, MD area when you can enjoy Bistro Blanc's refined yet lively location?

Our knowledgeable wine staff and servers can recommend pairings and answer questions about any aspect of our menus.The ideal setting for private parties, gatherings of friends, or romantic dates, Bistro Blanc has shattered traditional notions of wine clubs and bars.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
RT 32

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 489-7907

Website:
http://www.bistroblancmd.com/

Entertainment:
Light Jazz live music on Friday Nights between 6pm & 9pm..

Catering:
Committed to designing and executing flawless, memorable events by combining exquisite food with the highest level of customer service throughout Baltimore / Washington Corridor

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking!

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Diego Ramirez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Committed to designing and executing flawless, memorable events by combining exquisite food with the highest level of customer service throughout Baltimore / Washington Corridor

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Private Dining

Wedding, business meetings, social events or any variety of events, we can accommodate as small as 6 persons and as much as 75 guests.

Bistro Blanc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Contemporary American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Food
Baltimore Suburbs
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Glenelg ›

fit for foodies (75)
notable wine list (65)
special occasion (56)
See All
neighborhood gem (53)
romantic (42)
great for brunch (28)
good for groups (22)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

CLOSING! GO NOW WHILE YOU CAN! This is s ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

CLOSING! GO NOW WHILE YOU CAN! This is such a terrific restaurant. I am sad they are closing. Saturday, May 28 is the last day of business for this gem. GO NOW!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

unfortunately, this restaurant, which wa ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

unfortunately, this restaurant, which was a gem, in our local area, is closing it's doors May 28 because they lost their lease. We went for one last hurrah, and were told they were out of several items on the menu and wine list. None the less, we had avery good meal. We hope that Raj, the owner, will find a place nearby to open it up soon so the locals who have been frequenting this place will continue supporting it.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been trying to get to Bistro Bla ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been trying to get to Bistro Blanc for a few years. We came for Mother's Day! Superb choice. The food was excellent! We have been to many restaurants in the District, Maryland and VIrginia. We were exceptionally pleased with the results. The service was prompt and friendly. What a terrific place! We will be returning. Hats off to the chef and the entire staff! You helped make a memorable evening for my 86 year young mom!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mothers Dad Brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent brunch! Great service and good value. Service was very good. Its always a treat to dine at Bistro Blanc.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

One entree was great, the other not so much.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Rockfish was great. Duck was disappointing. One dessert was great. The other not so much. The wine was fine.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Excellent Experience at Bistro Blanc

Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I went for date night . We were seated near the keyboard player (a very talented gentleman with a good assortment of arrangements). Wait staff was friendly and efficient and the steak and duck breast dinners were both perfect. We really enjoyed our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Been here a number of times... this is the last

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We have been here a number of times over the years for special events. While consistently good in the beginning, it has been hit or miss the last 3-4 times. This last event, with 14 people, was a miss and the last time we will be using the restaurant. We had reserved the private room for our event and when we got there, someone else was in the room. We were seated in the main dining room. Since it was a Monday night, the place was pretty dead. You would think that we would get good service and the kitchen would be pretty much dedicated to our party. The opposite was true. We arrived at 7pm and took over half an hour just to get drinks and appetizers. Then, it took forever for the food order to come out. Feedback on the food ranged from great to disappointment.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great for 1/2 price burger and craft beer night.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Good for a Wednesday date night with the wife. Can't beat 1/2 price beer and burgers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Howard County!

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Best restaurant in Howard County!

food5
ambience5
service5

Phil our waiter was absolutely tremendou ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Phil our waiter was absolutely tremendous. He truly deserves a raise. The bread was outstanding and the vegetable dish was so unique. They make a tremendous Caesar salad. Give Phil a raise now

food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Wine bar

Dined on April 16, 2016

We got there and asked our stand in waiter how we access the wine tastung and explained everything in detail. When our waiter finally came to wait on us he said the tasting bar was broken and had been down for a few weeks. I had out of town family here and i have ravex so much about this tasting opportunity that we made reservatins only to find this out. How very,very dissappointing. Things like this should be posted on your reservation post and on the front door.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Good Food and Music

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent food as well as an excellent jazz band!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We have been to Bistro Blanc for dinner many times but not for brunch. Our brunch was excellent. Ample selection, good food/wine and service in a quiet setting. It's well worth the trip to Glenelg.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Interesting and creative food.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Interesting and creative food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 6, 2016

Met with girlfriends to celebrate birthdays. Food awesome as usual and when dinner was done champagne toasts arrived courtesy of Andy. First class all the way!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Brunch was delightful. The quiche and the smoky bacon omelet were both wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food

Dined on March 25, 2016

the new bar menu with the accompanying delicious shots was a great way to try out the restaurant's new planned offerings! As usual, the Sapidus oysters were scrumptious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always!

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

The service, food, and ambiance at Bistro Blanc are over the top. The staff are always very accommodating and knowledgeable, and the food is always absolutely delicious. We love this place!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A reliable dining spot

Dined on March 18, 2016

When my girlfriends and I are looking for some good wine, good food and a restaurant where we can talk rather than shout, we head to Bistro Blanc. We love the lamb burgers, the fact that there is always a vegetarian dish or two on the menu, and the great selection of wines by the bottle or glass.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great dining spot

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Bistro Blanc is a wonderful local restaurant. The food is creative and well prepared. The staff is friendly, courteous and timely. The owner continues to amaze us with his wine selection. The restaurant offers special nights each week like half price wine night to entice folks in on typically off nights...what a great idea! I highly recommend Bistro Blanc to my friends and family. We always enjoy dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tremendous food and service

Dined on March 12, 2016

This was our second time visiting Bistro Blanc. The food is delicious and innovative. Among the highlights were the roasted brussell sprouts, foie gras lobe and bone marrow appetizers. After cleaning out the marrow bone, our waiter poured me a "bone marrow whiskey luge". Never had anything like it! They also have an extensive wine collection -- wines by the bottle surrounding the dining room, plus a tap system of about 20-25 wines you can get in various sized pours (these were fun, but not a bargain). Service was excellent both times we've been there. Our waiter from last December recognized us and even remembered a little bit about us, despite not being our waiter this time. Highly recommend Bistro Blanc!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasted the bitter side...

Dined on March 11, 2016

I have been to Bistro Blanc several times, and am always happy with the elegant food and the remarkable wine list. This time however, my husband ordered a Bistro Manhattan, and was served a drink that was loaded with bitters (Manhattans only require a "dash" of bitters). When he complained that the drink did not taste quite right, he was confronted by a defensive bartender, who questioned my husband's knowledge of Manhattans, and then brought him a "deconstructed" Manhattan, with the various ingredients in separate glasses so that my husband could make his own. Again, the bartender brought a glass with 1/4 cup of bitters (way too much buddy). Nonetheless, we left with a bad taste in our mouths...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Their grilled Brie appetizer was SO deli ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Their grilled Brie appetizer was SO delicious!! Definitely coming back for just that and wine next time :) my husband also loved his risotto!

food5
ambience5
service5

we come quite s distance because BB is c ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

we come quite s distance because BB is consistent! Thoughtful service, just right! Food quality and menu top notch, different without being OVERLY COMPLEX. Drinks are affordable.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food

Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent. Wine machine being used by servers, and giving the whole table only one card is not ideal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentines

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoy our Valentines Day meal at Bistro Blanc. Every dish was very well prepared and delicious. The main course of Rockfish was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Standout restaurant.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food and wine are very good here. We've been going for years and it still remains excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great spot for Valentine's Day!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very nice romantic restaurant in western Howard County. Great atmosphere and terrific spot to take a date.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Bistro Blanc on Valentine's Day and, as always, was very pleased with everything about our experience. Bistro Blanc is our go to spot for great food in the area and appreciate all that they do to make certain that we are happy with everything,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our meal included shrimp & grits, red snapper, thin cut ribeye, and toffee bread pudding. All terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Although the food was awesome the servic ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Although the food was awesome the service was the slowest. Probably will not return . Was really bummed at how bad the service was. Its a cool, trendy place with a creative menu. We arrived for brunch at 1:00pm - ordered simple brunch dishes - literally waited an hour plus for the meal.....had to re-fill our own waters.....it was just like we were invisible. I am typically not a complainer as I worker in the business for many years----yikes this was just undeniably bad!

food4
ambience2
service3
value4

overall experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had been there before and had a fabulous experience. This time was not the same. Our table was dark (we were seated where there were no windows). Better and more lighting would be welcome. ......lower sconces and maybe some pendants directly over tables. It took a very long time to be served and nothing was offered while waiting (bread, etc.) Our wait staff appeared to be attentive but delivered iced tea and had to be asked to bring sweetener. .....asked if we wanted another beverage but took 5 minutes to deliver it.....brought the bill but never asked if we wanted dessert. The wait staff is young and seem untrained - unaware of the basic nuances of serving. The food was tasty but my poached eggs were stone cold. She brought me warmer ones and the manager deducted my meal from our tab. Their reaction to my food complaint was, in my opinion, an indicator as to how much the manager is trying to deliver something special. We will try it again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, quiet ambiance ... Good plac ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, quiet ambiance ... Good place for dates or for family meals too. Portions are on the smaller side but the food is presented well and is tasty. Steak and Eggs were very good for brunch.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Brunch!

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had Brunch at Bistro Blanc on Valentine's Day. The food and service were perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

Food is great, value not so great

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was a Valentine's dinner and the first time we visited this establishment. My wife and I ordered the lamb shank and scallops. The food was outstanding, no doubt. I was just disappointed $30 bought three scallops. They have a great wine selection and the ability to have wine tasting using a prepaid card system. Service was okay. I don't think we will go back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time diner and I have to say it wa ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

First time diner and I have to say it was wonderful. Althought it was a limited menu due to Valentines day, everything we tried was wonderfully prepared and presented. We started with the shareable appitzers of the mushroom flatbread (five stars and large enough to be an individual entre portion) and the cheese plate (nothing special). For main courses we got the rib eye (4 stars) and lamb shank (5 stars). For desert we had "the chocolate bomb" which was an amazing way to end the meal. Portion sizes were just right - more than tasting but not too large. The desert was a smaller-type portion but still shareable. Overall a wonderful experience and we will return in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing wine and amazing staff complimen ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Amazing wine and amazing staff complimented the amazing menu!

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Brunch menu

Dined on February 13, 2016

...menu was very limited....and food was not bad but not as good as we have previously experienced....could be just brunch menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food but slow service

Dined on February 11, 2016

The food was different and tasty, but the service was very very slow. Visit the restaurant when you are not in a rush and don't mind spending 2 hours for dinner, so that you can truly enjoy the food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Excellent and Knowledgeable!

Dined on February 11, 2016

I try to go at least once a month for the 1/2 price burger and 1/2 price beer night! Their burger is outstanding! The service is always excellent and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.