Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Bistro Bella Vita

At Bistro Bella Vita delivers the maximum guest experience with superior food, beverage and service. Their specialty is natural Mediterranean Country Cuisine made from scratch daily. French Flair and Italian Twist. Fresh. Natural. Local. Bistro Bella Vita takes pride in their cuisine. The house-made recipes feature delicious flavors of the Mediterranean prepared in a brick oven, grill and rotisserie with the highest quality ingredients, because fresher ingredients make the freshest cuisine. In-season, the restaurant uses chemical-free produce from local farmers because it's healthier and tastes best. But don't take their word for it... come in and taste for yourself.

Pair your meal with a glass or bottle of wine from our wine list featuring over 100 bottles from around the world. Or enjoy a hand-shaken martini from West Michigan’s largest martini bar. Specialty menu items are available for gluten-free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian and vegan diets.

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: Special Occasions Only

Cross Street:
Weston and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Van Timmeren

Private Party Facilities:
A Dining Experience Like No Other. Treat yourself and your guests to the ultimate dining experience: Bistro's chef’s table. Enjoy an exclusive, multi-course meal featuring creative dishes prepared Bistro-style with only the very best, hand-selected, seasonal ingredients. Executive Chef Aaron Van Timmeren personally presents each course as it’s served with a history of the food, details about the dish and the complexity of its flavors. You also can enjoy your chef’s table experience like no other.

Private Party Contact:
Kyle Dobrowolski: (616) 222-4600

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (34)
Local Ingredients (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Business Meals (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Romantic (20)
Authentic (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Casual (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Fun (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Great Beer (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Healthy (10)
People Watching (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Private Room (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Our meal was lovely. We were going to see a show across the street so dined earlier than usual for us. The service (Josh) and the entire team were exceptional. They were attentive without being overbearing.
My only negative was the special salad was the tomato heirloom. The dressing and presentation was great, but the heirlooms were less than exceptional. I would recommend putting them on the menu when the tomatoes are in season locally.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Besides the fantastic food, our waiter , Spencer was outstanding! Truly enjoyed everything. We will certainly be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed our experience and our waiter, Spencer, was great. We decided to go to Bistro Bella Vita since it was so close to 20 Monroe and we were heading there to a concert. Martinis are great, so great I wanted to stay and skip the concert, lol! Food was great and wonderful service too. We'll be back for sure!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had quick service prior to going to a show...in and out in under an hour, including three courses and drinks. Wine list is just a little limited, depending on what you like. Fresh tasting pasta. I had the salmon dish...cooked perfectly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Had not dined here for a while. There is a reason we choose this place! Was not disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My husband and I stopped before a Griffins Game. Good meal and in and out quickly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Such a great place to take someone for their birthday. Great food and white pairings.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 27, 2017

As always outstanding with great food and great service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and I had requested a nice table. When we arrived the hostess wished us a happy anniversary and showed us to a very special table with a linen cloth and fresh flowers. We were treated like royalty all evening long. Our waiter, Luke, presented us with a most delicious appetizer of pork belly and polenta which was absolutely outstanding. I ordered the beef fillet and my husband ordered the gnocchi with lamb ragout. Both meals were excellent paired with delicious wines. For dessert we ordered the bread pudding which was outstanding and we were also presented with a tiramisu and gelato. So we got to try three desserts. Luke was a perfect waiter giving us plenty of attention but not too much. We so appreciated the restaurant going to extra lengths to help make our anniversary extra special. Bistro Bella Vita has been a favorite of ours for years. It's a beautiful and festive setting with excellent local food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Fun restaurant with good food selections. A little on the loud side. Hard for conversation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Healthy, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch with special menu. Very nice!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It is one my top favorite restaurants downtown GR. Everything is exceptional, food, service, wine list,cotail list, desserts. We were there for my daughters birthday and enjoed a very nice dinner. One of the hot spots for sure.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent food, service and location for pre or post Griffens night out.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good carpaccio appetizer. Great mixed grill. Waygu and brisket, octopus and soft shell crap, another pasta entree. Tiramisu dessert also very good. Pour over coffee a disappointment as it doesn't remain hot long enough.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was fabulous...perfection. Although the restaurant was packed, we never felt the least bit rushed. Our waitress was very kind and attentive. Love this restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner. Fast, professional service. Food tastes great. Valet parking-for a fee-is a plus.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My husband and I were really enjoyed our food. The service was great. The whole ambiance was a little odd. For the caliber of the food and price you pay it felt a little cramped, loud and bright. I guess we expected a more intimate "bistro" vibe. Our first impression based on the ambiance alone was so-so but the food and great service far outweighed that. Overall very happy with our experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Service was super fast, friendly, and efficient. Drinks were good, and imaginative. The food was mediocre, however; and not a lot of choices for those who do not eat beef or pork. Sauces were gloopy/muddy; not very refined. Dessert was meh.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We were all disappointed in our meal . My husband & our friends all got the Brisket Bourginone...it was dry ....a large portion but not much flavor. I ordered the filet & it was prepared perfect but again not much flavor. We have been here before & the food was so much better. Expensive meal for the quality.😕

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had to wait for drinks, they bought out our salads before drinks. Then served dinner and we had to wait for silverware. Chicken pasta was not good. Table in bar area was quieter than main dining room which was loud. Definitely not 4.6 stars this night. Won't be going back for awhile

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Loud at that time of day. Overall enjoyed the dining though

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I didn't appreciate getting the worst table in the restaurant- next to the kitchen, facing a wall. I thought I'd get a better table having made a reservation in advance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great over all !

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great atmosphere. Went for a first date (!) and was quiet enough for nice conversation during the early dinner hours. Filled up fast after that and was a bit noisy but still a great atmosphere. Nice selection of wines and different menu choices. I'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My favorite place downtown GR. Best martinis and food in town.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Bar Seating, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was excellent and everything was high quality. We feel we made the right choice coming here for a special meal and would definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our go to place in Grand Rapids. You can't go wrong. Excellent daily specials, menu, drink menu, and ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and will definetly go here again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

When we got there we were seated immediately. However, our waiter did not come over for 20 minutes. Meanwhile the table next to us was seated, received their drinks and appetizers before anyone spoke to us. Our food was good, not great, I had the ribeye and my fiance had the gnocchi. Overall, I think it is a little pricey for what you are getting and would probably check out some other local places before coming back to this one.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always an amazing place to have dinner and drinks. Couldn't ask for a better restaurant in GR.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The Dilley's love Birsto and any of the EG Collection... (Grove, The Green Well)

Always the BEST food, the wine list, crafted cocktails, and the accommodating staff, make me feel at ease with my food allergies, all together it makes for such an unforgettable experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Private Room, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was great and the noise level was not bad. Seemed brighter in there this time and that was good. Looking forward to eating at BBV again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. The food is consistently delicious.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Amy was our server wonderful she made a bad turn of events for my husband and myself into a great dining experience and thanks again so much for the birthday wishes and treat

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent ambiance, attentive server and great pizza. Dinned on the bar side, cozy booth perfect for people watching.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Recently visited for a valentine's day meal, and loved it so much I went back for dinner when my dad came to town. Items on the menu run a spectrum of pricing, and even the top tier items (filet mignon), left me without a trace of diners remorse. Would recommend to treat yourself and yours!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We did enjoy our dinner for the most part, waitress was great! I had to change my reservation time from 8 to 8:30, I did so and received confirmation of this change. During dinner I got an email basically scolding me for missing my reservation and asking me to share "what happened"
I didn't appreciate that.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food is outstanding if you are willing to spend the money on an entree. I had the salmon and roasted brussel sprouts. Very good!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had dinner with a party of four this past weekend. The restaurant had an extensive menu and everything we ordered was delicious! The rice in my paella was a little undercooked but the seafood was cooked perfectly. Someone else at our table ordered the beef brisket, which we all decided was our favorite dish out of what we all ordered. We'll definitely be back again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.