About Bistro Bella Vita

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

At Bistro Bella Vita delivers the maximum guest experience with superior food, beverage and service. Their specialty is natural Mediterranean Country Cuisine made from scratch daily. French Flair and Italian Twist. Fresh. Natural. Local. Bistro Bella Vita takes pride in their cuisine. The house-made recipes feature delicious flavors of the Mediterranean prepared in a brick oven, grill and rotisserie with the highest quality ingredients, because fresher ingredients make the freshest cuisine. In-season, the restaurant uses chemical-free produce from local farmers because it's healthier and tastes best. But don't take their word for it... come in and taste for yourself.

Pair your meal with a glass or bottle of wine from our wine list featuring over 100 bottles from around the world. Or enjoy a hand-shaken martini from West Michigan’s largest martini bar. Specialty menu items are available for gluten-free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian and vegan diets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: Special Occasions Only

Cross Street:
Weston and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Van Timmeren

Private Party Facilities:
A Dining Experience Like No Other. Treat yourself and your guests to the ultimate dining experience: Bistro's chef’s table. Enjoy an exclusive, multi-course meal featuring creative dishes prepared Bistro-style with only the very best, hand-selected, seasonal ingredients. Executive Chef Aaron Van Timmeren personally presents each course as it’s served with a history of the food, details about the dish and the complexity of its flavors. You also can enjoy your chef’s table experience like no other.

Private Party Contact:
Kyle Dobrowolski: 6162224600x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Bella Vita
Roasted Mushroom Crostini
Lobster Gnocchi
charcuterie
Seafood Spaghetti
Calamari
Urban Mushroom Crostini
Rotisserie Roasted Amish Chicken
Dirty Martini
Paella
Vanilla cheese cake
Chicken
Motor City Mule
Ricotta Pound Cake
Salmon, Potato Latke And Broccoli Slaw
Duck Two Ways
Amber Agave Margarita
Bianca Pizza
Pine Crest Beef 3 Ways
Goose Island Matilda
Beef Carpaccio
Proscutto And Fruit Salad
Arugula Salad
S&S Beef App
Fusilli
Atlantic Salmon
Cider Braised Pork Belly
Sea bass
Cheesecake
Pork Tenderloin
Pizza
Chilled Cantelope And Black Mission Fig Soup
Spread
Young's Double Chocolate Stout
Butternut Squash Pizza
Tiramisu
Vegan Succotash
Hummus Bowl
Bell's Porter & Huma Lupa Licious IPA
Deep Fried Artichoke Hearts
3 Course $25 Menu
Formaggi
Gnocchi
Orriechiette
Ceaser Side Salad
Honeycrisp Salad
Rotini Con Pollo With Out Pollo
Vanilla Gelato
Butternut Squash&Roasted Kail Pizza
Beet Bisque W/Chevre
Kiddy Cocktail With Lemonaid
Salmon With A Michigan Cherry Glaze

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
10 More
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Best Value
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (75)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Notable Wine List (41)
See All
Romantic (40)
Good for Groups (37)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Scenic View (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Wood Oven (3)
People Watching (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Make sure waiters (Mike) are less awkwar ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

Make sure waiters (Mike) are less awkward. It makes for a creepy experience on a first date.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was very good but there was way ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good but there was way too much noise. It was hard to carry on a conversation with the person sitting right across the table.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service the restaurant was busy bu ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service the restaurant was busy but our order came out quick and hot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great business lunch. Food was deliciou ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great business lunch. Food was delicious and the service was fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Molto Bene! Creative, never-had-before c ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Molto Bene!

Creative, never-had-before combinations, great tastes, good service. Will gladly return next time in GR.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food and outstanding service. Al ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Awesome food and outstanding service. Always a great meal. Never disappointed and always happy!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always! Can't say much more, b ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great as always! Can't say much more, but if you have been there before, you know exactly what I mean. Then if you haven't, it is a must try. Local foods, great tastes, handmade pasta, wonderful combinations & creations. Truly a foodie paradise!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal and atmosphere with ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always a great meal and atmosphere with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great place to eat. Had pizza t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always a great place to eat. Had pizza this trip and it was as usual the best ever. Bistro never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Bistro was once again fabulous ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Dinner at Bistro was once again fabulous!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was quite good but the menu seems a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was quite good but the menu seems a bit limited.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went to Bistro Bella Vita on a Saturday ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went to Bistro Bella Vita on a Saturday night out with my husband. On arrival the place looked quite busy and had a decent atmosphere. Unfortunately the hostess chose to seat us in a different part of the restaurant that was completely empty. There was no atmosphere whatsoever and the table she sat us at was right behind the hostess stand. The service was ok but from start to finish we spent ONLY 50 minutes in the restaurant. We had a drink to start, appetizer, entrees and shared a dessert. Felt very much rushed. Much prefer dining at The Grove, The Green Well and Terra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

First time visit. Excellent experience. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time visit. Excellent experience. Duck ravioli and spaghetti Diavlo were fantastic. Excellent service from Preston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was the poorest dining experience w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was the poorest dining experience we have ever had....and, believe it or not we are not complainers.......The noise level was so loud we could not talk...had to move to the bar area...very dark so the waitress turned up the lights....both couples split our meals...small eaters....our pasta was not cooked thru, and the portion was very small, the other couple said the brisket had a lot of fat...not edible....our beet salads were very small and dry, two chips of a dry golden beet....no bread with meal....had to order separate....our waitress never came back to our table....had to ask someone to get her......this was a birthday celebration, so it was disappointing to have such a bad experience......way overpriced $140.00 including our$20.00 tip

for two split meals........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

I have been there four times and the foo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I have been there four times and the food was always amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Odd to charge for bread? But food is alw ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Odd to charge for bread? But food is always first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Flavorful and inventive food!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Flavorful and inventive food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good food and great service.

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good service, great atmospher ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good food, good service, great atmosphere, but the portion of duck ravioli was very small; not nearly enough food for my husband. The other pasta plates I saw seemed to be much more sizeable, so this was disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a delightful evening with friends ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It was a delightful evening with friends. The waitress made excellent suggestions from the menu and all of the food came out perfectly. It is on the pricey side but the food and experience is worth the price.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The structure of the interior was eye ca ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The structure of the interior was eye catching, the service was flawless and the food was simply amazing! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside on a beautiful night. Out ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We sat outside on a beautiful night. Outside seating was preferred by use and it was great. Other couples in the table next to use didn't care for the Sun.

The food was fantastic and the choices were good.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here on several occasions ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We have dined here on several occasions and have always been impressed with the food, service and ambiance. One can never go wrong when choosing Bistro Bella Vita before any concert or show, either, because they make sure your meal is out on time so you don't have to rush to your event. Bravo again, Bistro Bella Vita!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were both incredibl ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service and food were both incredible! We ordered the calamari for an appetizer and then split the brisket for our dinner. The beef brisket was so tender and so delicious. There was plenty for two people. The calamari was great, as well. We don't live in Grand Rapids, but I can't wait to return there to go to Bisto Bella Vita again!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation two days before ou ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We made a reservation two days before our visit. When we arrived, the restaurant was not full. We were seated by the kitchen. It was terrible. When we left, there were still many tables available. Food was ver good, server was very attentive. Unfortunately should we ever go back to Grand Rapids, we will never go back to this establishment. People who walked in off the street had better seating than my husband and I. Shame on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Love Bistro food is always amazing good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love Bistro food is always amazing good variety of wine or any cocktails. We had friends visiting from Texas they loved it

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The concierge recommended Bistro Bella V ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The concierge recommended Bistro Bella Vita and it was a good choice. Our server was friendly and helpful as we made menu selections. The Fisherman's Stew was outstanding. The Pork Chop was huge. We were too full to have dessert but saw some of the options and they looked delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Prompt seating. Comfortable table. Promp ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Prompt seating. Comfortable table. Prompt, courteous service. Pasta Tasting plus wine pairing simple but satisfying. Waiter friendly and patient during busy period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time and our waiter w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time and our waiter was FABULOUS....He was very helpful and pleasant...

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Up scale resturant, with excellent wait ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Up scale resturant, with excellent wait staff and a well organized service to the table. Food quality is always consistantly good and enjoy the overall feel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Would highly recommend it!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved it! Would highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was very loud had a hard ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The atmosphere was very loud had a hard time conversing with my wife. The wait staff was very friendly and did an amazing job. However, some of the staff seemed to be "running" past my table frequently, which made it hard to relax. Furthermore, I looked on line for a romantic place to take my wife for a birthday dinner, I would not take her here again for that purpose. The food was amazing, hats off to the chefs. I would visit the restaurant again but only if I were to bring a large group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

The food here is never a let-down. They ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food here is never a let-down. They always do a fantastic job with service also - no matter if you have a table of 2, or a room of 30. I never walk away disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The margarita pizza was delicious. Our w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The margarita pizza was delicious. Our waitress took very good care of us. I would definitely recommend BBV!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AWESOME food. The best we've had at a re ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

AWESOME food. The best we've had at a restaurant ever, I think. Great atmosphere, cool character. A bit pricier than our norm but we'll be back for special occasions for sure. One of our meals came with something on it that we asked to have removed and they happily corrected their mistake and treated us to a free dessert for the inconvenience which was also top-notch delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited here twice during a recent a bus ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Visited here twice during a recent a business trip to Grand Rapids. Once for lunch and once for a light dinner. Food was outstanding both times and I look forward to going back to try even more menu items. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service is always spot one. The best in ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service is always spot one. The best in G.R. Essence Group restaurants are the best overall in G.R. for service and food quality.

Dinner was perfect. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting was quite nice, the staff ve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The setting was quite nice, the staff very friendly and accommodating, and the food delicious. I loved my meal, though it really upset my stomach, but I'm guessing that's because my pasta sauce was so rich (it tasted amazing). I had asked for a nice table for a special occasion for 2; they gave us a table for 4, a vase of flowers, and didn't put anyone by us, which was quite nice. I saw a few large groups come in, and despite it not being very busy, was still kind of loud. I found it kind of strange that our table was kind out in the open, right by the entrance, so it wasn't very private. But, I hadn't asked for private, nor did I mention it was for a date, so I'm still quite pleased. I loved my first experience and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious arugula salad and duck ravioli ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious arugula salad and duck ravioli! Not as loud on outside deck. Very nice wine list. Excellent service! So glad they had valet parking!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been many times, but not in quite ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We've been many times, but not in quite some time. This experience was disappointing.

1) The food presentation was careless. We ordered three appetizers, and all looked thrown together.

2) The server seemed to guess when we asked what was on the antipasti plate. No mention of the local origin of the cheeses and meats, etc.

3) The wine presentation was awkward.

Our bill was around $400, which is typical for a business dinner for us. However, the treatment, the food quality and the service were not on par with our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.