Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Bistro Bella Vita

At Bistro Bella Vita delivers the maximum guest experience with superior food, beverage and service. Their specialty is natural Mediterranean Country Cuisine made from scratch daily. French Flair and Italian Twist. Fresh. Natural. Local. Bistro Bella Vita takes pride in their cuisine. The house-made recipes feature delicious flavors of the Mediterranean prepared in a brick oven, grill and rotisserie with the highest quality ingredients, because fresher ingredients make the freshest cuisine. In-season, the restaurant uses chemical-free produce from local farmers because it's healthier and tastes best. But don't take their word for it... come in and taste for yourself.

Pair your meal with a glass or bottle of wine from our wine list featuring over 100 bottles from around the world. Or enjoy a hand-shaken martini from West Michigan’s largest martini bar. Specialty menu items are available for gluten-free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian and vegan diets.

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: Special Occasions Only

Cross Street:
Weston and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Van Timmeren

Private Party Facilities:
A Dining Experience Like No Other. Treat yourself and your guests to the ultimate dining experience: Bistro's chef’s table. Enjoy an exclusive, multi-course meal featuring creative dishes prepared Bistro-style with only the very best, hand-selected, seasonal ingredients. Executive Chef Aaron Van Timmeren personally presents each course as it’s served with a history of the food, details about the dish and the complexity of its flavors. You also can enjoy your chef’s table experience like no other.

Private Party Contact:
Kyle Dobrowolski: (616) 222-4600

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for Mother's Day! Celebrate Mom with an exceptional dining experience.

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (67)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
See All
Creative Cuisine (35)
Local Ingredients (35)
Romantic (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Modern Decor (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Casual (23)
Business Meals (20)
Authentic (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Cozy (19)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Fun (14)
People Watching (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Private Room (11)
Healthy (11)
Great Beer (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Open Kitchen (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Organic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Scenic View (3)
Historic (3)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

We were all disappointed in our meal . My husband & our friends all got the Brisket Bourginone...it was dry ....a large portion but not much flavor. I ordered the filet & it was prepared perfect but again not much flavor. We have been here before & the food was so much better. Expensive meal for the quality.😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Had to wait for drinks, they bought out our salads before drinks. Then served dinner and we had to wait for silverware. Chicken pasta was not good. Table in bar area was quieter than main dining room which was loud. Definitely not 4.6 stars this night. Won't be going back for awhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Loud at that time of day. Overall enjoyed the dining though

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

I didn't appreciate getting the worst table in the restaurant- next to the kitchen, facing a wall. I thought I'd get a better table having made a reservation in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Great over all !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great atmosphere. Went for a first date (!) and was quiet enough for nice conversation during the early dinner hours. Filled up fast after that and was a bit noisy but still a great atmosphere. Nice selection of wines and different menu choices. I'll be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My favorite place downtown GR. Best martinis and food in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Bar Seating, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was excellent and everything was high quality. We feel we made the right choice coming here for a special meal and would definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our go to place in Grand Rapids. You can't go wrong. Excellent daily specials, menu, drink menu, and ambiance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and will definetly go here again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

When we got there we were seated immediately. However, our waiter did not come over for 20 minutes. Meanwhile the table next to us was seated, received their drinks and appetizers before anyone spoke to us. Our food was good, not great, I had the ribeye and my fiance had the gnocchi. Overall, I think it is a little pricey for what you are getting and would probably check out some other local places before coming back to this one.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always an amazing place to have dinner and drinks. Couldn't ask for a better restaurant in GR.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The Dilley's love Birsto and any of the EG Collection... (Grove, The Green Well)

Always the BEST food, the wine list, crafted cocktails, and the accommodating staff, make me feel at ease with my food allergies, all together it makes for such an unforgettable experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Private Room, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was great and the noise level was not bad. Seemed brighter in there this time and that was good. Looking forward to eating at BBV again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. The food is consistently delicious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Amy was our server wonderful she made a bad turn of events for my husband and myself into a great dining experience and thanks again so much for the birthday wishes and treat

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent ambiance, attentive server and great pizza. Dinned on the bar side, cozy booth perfect for people watching.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Recently visited for a valentine's day meal, and loved it so much I went back for dinner when my dad came to town. Items on the menu run a spectrum of pricing, and even the top tier items (filet mignon), left me without a trace of diners remorse. Would recommend to treat yourself and yours!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We did enjoy our dinner for the most part, waitress was great! I had to change my reservation time from 8 to 8:30, I did so and received confirmation of this change. During dinner I got an email basically scolding me for missing my reservation and asking me to share "what happened"
I didn't appreciate that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food is outstanding if you are willing to spend the money on an entree. I had the salmon and roasted brussel sprouts. Very good!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had dinner with a party of four this past weekend. The restaurant had an extensive menu and everything we ordered was delicious! The rice in my paella was a little undercooked but the seafood was cooked perfectly. Someone else at our table ordered the beef brisket, which we all decided was our favorite dish out of what we all ordered. We'll definitely be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I have celebrated our anniversary here for the last 6 years. We also eat out here on other occasions with friends and family. We have never been disappointed with the service or the food. This place is a gem in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Vegan, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We ate here for my birthday. The food was wonderful we had the beet salads, One with chicken and one with salmon and for an appetizer we had the roasted brussels sprouts. The food came fast and the service was wonderful. Thank you

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always consistent and friendly!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 17, 2017

App: Bruschetta - melt in your mouth magnificent!
Wife: Amish Chicken - hot, delicious, perfect!
Husband: Walleye (special menu) - hot, delicious, perfect!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

So so good, I had the duck ravioli and she just had a cheese pizza but wow they Outdid themselves. The smoked tomato sauce on the pizza was so good it made it taste like there was meat on it when there wasn't!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our server, Jessica, provided a wonderful service and answered all of the questions we had about the menu/restaurant. She was very friendly and I would recommend her to anybody looking for an exceptional dining experience! The food was exquisite as it is every time I come to Bistro. I will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food and service was excellent. A little noisy, but it didn't seem to take away from the overall experience. Calamari is a highly recommended!

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have celiac and was told a dish was gluten free from the daily special. All of the ingredients weren't listed so I wasn't aware there was ground mustard which isn't GF except certain brands. I'm thinking it was the mustard sauce but there was another white sauce so maybe that was it. I really liked the restaurant and will come back, will not trust anything not labeled gf though.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We were there for a business meeting and it worked out very well. Our server was helpful and courteous and our meals were very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Grand Rapids. Best calimari around. Magnificent duck ravioli and casoulet. Where else can you even get casoulet around here? Excellent knowledgable service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fun date night restaurant...a bit pricey, but we've been here several times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent venue in downtown Grand Rapids with fabulous food

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful gluten free options. Celiac safe. Knowledgeable staff. Highly recommend! We will be back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Went to Bistro Bella Vita for an early anniversary dinner. Our waiter Harrison was amazing - attentive but not intrusive. The menu was full of options for all tastes, and I was able to find something easily that was lactose-free. The cocktails were delicious, the food was worth every penny, and even though the restaurant was full by time we were done eating, the noise level remained very low and our waiter never forgot about us! All in all, it was an amazing experience that I would recommend to anyone looking for an enjoyable night out with their significant other, the family or good friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Decidedly average. Chicken was very dry, service was slow, and bar prices are too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Table was ready. Food was excellent. Our waiter could have been a little more attentive, but we didn't and are not complaining. It was a nice evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved the Formaggi Pizza and Rigatoni Bolagnese. Our server was wonderful, and I am sorry I don't remember his name.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had dinner with my sister, brother in law, and fiancé at Bistro Bella Vita and it was fabulous. The food was delicious, the service was spot on, and the atmosphere was posh in a downtown with some real duds for food. Go to BBV and enjoy everything they have to offer!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As always it was a pleasure. Spencer is an outstanding server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.