Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Bistro Bella Vita

Food First. Guests Always.

At Bistro Bella Vita, we’re driven by passion, servant leadership and most importantly—exceptional dining experiences. We believe that good enough simply isn’t good enough. It’s time to discover something special and taste commitment and creativity. Choose passion and purpose. Live the good life.

It’s time to accept nothing short of exceptional at Bistro Bella Vita.

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday 11 am - midnight
Saturday 5 pm - midnight
Sunday 4 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
Weston and Grandville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Van Timmeren

Private Party Facilities:
You expect exceptional dining experiences when it comes to special, private events. We promise to deliver nothing short of exceptional every time you dine with us at Bistro Bella Vita, and the same goes for Private Dining.

Bistro’s Private Dining Room and Cellar Table offer unique private dining experiences for intimate gatherings like birthday dinners and meetings, to grand celebrations like wedding receptions and company parties.

Reserve our Private Dining Room or VIP Cellar Table today! Call 616.222.4600 to speak with Alanna Timmer.

Private Party Contact:
Alanna Timmer: (616) 222-4600

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (40)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Local Ingredients (27)
Romantic (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Business Meals (22)
Casual (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Authentic (17)
Fun (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Cozy (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great Beer (7)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Organic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely amazing service from friendly and informed staff. Great food offering a mix of fresh and local Italian and French Cuisine.
The only downside was the open Bistro seating which was very loud - I don't even know if music was playing in the background because the surrounding noise was so loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Our dining experience was fantastic! We will definetly be back, Leah took fantastic care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Always good food and great service. Not the cheapest place, but still worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Bistro Bella Vita has outstanding food. They really go the extra mile on food preparation. The only problem I've had when I've been in there is that it seems like they are always short staffed.
The waiters and waitresses always seem to be in a hurry to get to their other tables because they are stretched so thin.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Late-night Find, People Watching, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great service but we were seated in an extremely dark side of the restaurant. They could use some better lighting--even the waiter couldn't read the menus. Wish the seafood in the risotto had been added a bit earlier--the mussels and shrimp were still raw. Otherwise, a nice place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great food and service as always! Specials were yummy. Will go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 5, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Grand Rapids. Always good service, excellent wine list, wonderful menu for anyone. We dine here at least once a month even though it’s a bit of a drive. Lanell our server, was the best server, personable, considerate.
I ordered the duck ravioli, my friends enjoyed the cassoulet, and Special Duck Breast. We shared goat cheese and focaccia appetizer. Everyone will dine here again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Consistently great food and great service. Always a favorite restaurant for special events

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Eaten here many times over the years but not since 2012. Ate dinner at 5:30 on 10/5/17 after Art Prize. Food quality has slipped. "Heirloom" tomato salad was a plate of frisee greens atop a few chunks of fresh mozzarella and two quartered Campari tomatoes; underwhelming, esp. in the midst of heirloom tomato season. Fisherman's stew was over salted, almost inedible. Rigatoni Bolognese sauce was an odd bittersweet...not like any I've had previously. "Bread pudding" dessert was essentially French Toast; forgettable. Server was initially attentive but forgot one diner's requested lime wedge for his drink, didn't check back once entrees were served. Very loud space in general (hard surfaces everywhere), not easy to have a quiet conversation. This used to be one of our favorite restaurants in GR. Will not return until we hear things have improved significantly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

We had a great experience here... Loved the food, (many gluten free options) nice ambience,service was great and a wonderful desert that was worth the calories!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Travis was an excellent waiter, friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Ambiance was lively. Food was creative and tasty but a bit heavily salted. overall experience was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My meal was good. However, the menu was limited. I remember prior menus offering more - including lamb dishes. We try to go on our visits to Art Prize and Grand Rapids.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Overall very good. My entree (beef brisket) was just a bit on the salty side for my taste, but still good and very generous portion.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Lovely, lovely evening! Food was great, the atmosphere was great, and we really appreciated the valet parking.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 29, 2017

It was lovely! Food and drinks were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Visiting GR for Art Prize with my brother from Kirkland, WA. We've dined at Bistro Bella Vita a number of times & even celebrated a major anniversary with all our kids there in the past. Dining choices are always fun and perfectly prepared. Staff well trained & helpful if there's a question or concern. More than enough excellent choices for "adult beverages". We live an hour+ away & when in town a always head here. By the way, Happy 20th Bistro B. V..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This is our “go to” spot when we do special night outs in Grand Rapids. They just never disappoint.

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Scenic View, Live Music, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Awesome job all around! I will be back again soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Bistro Bella Vita is always one of our favorite go-to places for a special meal, especially with friends. Our meal was wonderful (kudos to Chef Taylor!) and our courteous, friendly service by Joshua made the night memorable. Our out-of-town guests were impressed!😊We will return!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 28, 2017

One of our favorites and was happy to celebrate their 20th Anniversary in Grand Rapids. The mushroom risotto on the chefs menu was to die for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

We love Bistro Bella Vita, but this last visit was pretty disappointing. My girlfriend ordered the chicken and it came out raw in the center. When it came back out it was cold in the middle. The service is always exceptional and the atmosphere is amazing but the food was a let down the last time we visited.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Food was amazing and we had a great time! Thank you for making our anniversary perfect

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Friendly greeting when we arrived. They sat us in a booth which I had as a preference in my profile. Really appreciate that they try to act upon your requests like that.

Wonderful soup and chopped salad was what I ordered. Try this place it will not disappoint.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Never had wild boar before. The flavor was outstanding! Very diverse menu. Great atmosphere. Service was superb!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

very good food, pretty looking, service was great, super kind. Our server Amy was very helpful in all aspects.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 19, 2017

The food and service is excellent. However, it would be nice if the meal would include something besides just the main course.....perhaps a salad or some bread/rolls brought to the table. Especially for the cost, this would be nice to include. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great place!! Although new menu is missing the Bucatini Carbonara. That was a favorite. Need to bring it back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great wine and food recommendations. Wait staff was positive, friendly , willing to go the extra mile. Offered to come up with different entrees if nothing on the menu stood out. It's wonderful every time we go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always good. Group was kids and 2 grandchildren. Menu options fit all tastes. Very good waitress. still a go to spot.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

First time visitor and was not disappointed. The food was fresh and tasty. The service was exceptional. I would definitely go again and tell others about our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food is high price for what you get. I had the pizza which was a better value and good. My wife had a tomato based soup that she left because of the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant for anniversary and special occasions. The food is amazing the martinis are strong and the service is exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Bistro Bella Vita never disappoints. This past week was no exception, when my daughter and niece and I gathered for the evening. Helpful staff, relaxing ambience, interesting menu, excellent wine, cocktail, and beer selections, tasty desserts. Wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I will start out by saying, the service was good. Four of us sat in the bar at a high top. Our server, was really good. Our food on the other hand was not. We've always loved Bistro. Ben going for 15 years. It's where we could always go and have great food with an energetic atmosphere and good service. This was not what we experienced. Two out of the four meals, (pizzas) tasted terrible! One meal was good and one subpar. We'll try again because we've never had this happen and we'd be so sad to not have Bistro on our "go to" list. Hope it was just one bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The restaurant was able to work with me and my dietary issues amazingly. My meal was delicious and they didn't make me feel like a bother because of them. Our server was very helpful and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always a good time at Bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Me and the wife went for our anniversary and the drinks were good, the wait staff was friendly, food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Had a great date with my wife, she absolutely loved it!! Which makes me a hero!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We saw several groups and families, all having a good time, talking and laughing -- until the food came. Then they were quiet while they dug into dinner. Soon the conversation and laughter started up again.
We both had individual pizzas - both very good.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

It was Restaurant Week. Visited with one friend. We each ordered a different item for each course. After sampling one item we thought that was the best--until trying the next item! I have not had such amazing, delicious food since--I can't remember when! Excellent cuisine, and a fabulous wait person.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.