Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Bistro Bella Vita

Food First. Guests Always.

At Bistro Bella Vita, we’re driven by passion, servant leadership and most importantly—exceptional dining experiences. We believe that good enough simply isn’t good enough. It’s time to discover something special and taste commitment and creativity. Choose passion and purpose. Live the good life.

It’s time to accept nothing short of exceptional at Bistro Bella Vita.

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday 11 am - midnight
Saturday 5 pm - midnight
Sunday 4 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
Weston and Grandville

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Van Timmeren

Private Party Facilities:
You expect exceptional dining experiences when it comes to special, private events. We promise to deliver nothing short of exceptional every time you dine with us at Bistro Bella Vita, and the same goes for Private Dining.

Bistro’s Private Dining Room and Cellar Table offer unique private dining experiences for intimate gatherings like birthday dinners and meetings, to grand celebrations like wedding receptions and company parties.

Reserve our Private Dining Room or VIP Cellar Table today! Call 616.222.4600 to speak with Alanna Timmer.

Private Party Contact:
Alanna Timmer: (616) 222-4600

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Business Meals (20)
Casual (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Fun (17)
Romantic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great Beer (7)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great date with my wife, she absolutely loved it!! Which makes me a hero!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We saw several groups and families, all having a good time, talking and laughing -- until the food came. Then they were quiet while they dug into dinner. Soon the conversation and laughter started up again.
We both had individual pizzas - both very good.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was Restaurant Week. Visited with one friend. We each ordered a different item for each course. After sampling one item we thought that was the best--until trying the next item! I have not had such amazing, delicious food since--I can't remember when! Excellent cuisine, and a fabulous wait person.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very good kitchen and service, comfortable seating inside and patio, a moderate conversational buzz from diners enjoying their food and conversation! We're glad we went and would return when passing by again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wonderful service from Amy! Delicious food and cocktails, everything was cooked to perfection! Highly recommend this place for a date night or special occasion!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Bela Vita went all out to help us celebrate our anniversary--complete with table cloth, best-wishes card, and glasses of prosecco. Service was impeccable. We have lived in Europe for 11 years and have lived in many places in the US and have experienced fine dining everywhere. Our meal at Bela Vita was among the finest that we have ever had. We have gone here for every anniversary for several years. We will return again--and not just for annversaries.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences that we've had in a long time! Great service, a very nice wine list and wonderful food. The calamari appetizer was spectacular!! It was Restaurant Week, so there was an additional menu with special items. One of the special entrees was a spinach bucatini with a rabbit ragu. WOW! The noise level can be high, but this adds to the energy level in the restaurant. Don't miss this spot if you're in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The paella was good. The dessert combo is amazing! We ordered tiramisu, chocolate cake and bread pudding for the combo. The price is a good value for that. The Rose is also good, though I cannot remember the name...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 8, 2017

A clean, fresh dining experience. Good ambience with a noise level good for individual talking. The food is excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great service as always. Love the dinner menu and drink menu refreshes. We will keep coming back to one of our favorites.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Organic, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Have always been a fan of Bistro, but this experience was just okay. Food was wonderful, but the wait staff missed on friendliness, attentiveness to refilling water, and asking if any take home boxes were needed before reaching to clear 1/2 full plates. Wasn't a fan of sitting in the bar area either, even though reservations had been made in advance for dinner. Bummed it wasn't as good as I've experienced in the past - hoping it was just an off night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Wonderful italian eatery with great service in downtown Grand Rapids. Very close to the stadium and eqsy access to parking after 6pm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We met some college friends here for dinner. The menu was varied, although I had expected to see more seafood. The service was above average and the food was above average and nicely presented. This was a return trip for us and we would go there again for quiet dining. It is in a convenient location downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Good food good location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The service as well as the food were amazing. I RSVPd for an Anniversary dinner and wasn't let down at all. Very happy with my experience

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It was our Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Fantastic meal and excellent service time and time again.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent service by our waiter from the very beginning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Visiting from Chicago, Bistro Bella Vita was highly recommended by our local Grand Rapids family friends. A more modern upscale on the classic Italian bistro environment but perfect for what we wanted for dinner for our one-day in Grand Rapids. Great with kids. Great serving team with excellent customer service attitude. Excellent food and wine recommendations. Enjoyed thoroughly. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always a favorite spot to dine for lunch or dinner. Our food was served efficiently, and service was especially good.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Used to love this place. Service and food were disappointing this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food and great service, good atmosphere. Come again.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We would highly recommend! Excellent trained staff, nice menu with a number of options we would order. Our server (Harrison) had great recommendations!

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Chicken was dry, substitute for potatoes not good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Bistro Bela Vita treated us exceptionally for our anniversary celebration. We arrived to a white table cloth and roses and hand written card on our table! We were pleasantly surprised. Our drinks and dinner were excellent and we especially loved our special anniversary desserts.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Late-night Find, Spicy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was great and so was the service! It was a bit loud at the beginning but there was a big concert going on that night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our meal was lovely. We were going to see a show across the street so dined earlier than usual for us. The service (Josh) and the entire team were exceptional. They were attentive without being overbearing.
My only negative was the special salad was the tomato heirloom. The dressing and presentation was great, but the heirlooms were less than exceptional. I would recommend putting them on the menu when the tomatoes are in season locally.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We went for a pre-concert meal.
It's a little pricey, expect to pay upwards of $70 for 2 meals, +$20 tip, but the food is phenomenal!!! Everything we ordered sat really really well and we both have sensitive stomachs. The food is also tops in presentation!!!
I had the bruschetta appetizers, the grilled Salmon dinner, broccoli soup, and The Bistro Splash Mocktail, while my companion had the chicken with just carrots and broccoli (she didn't want too much). Both meals were wonderful, the meats were tender and juicy, my salmon was so flaky and buttery!
The only thing was they needed to cook my mother's broccoli just a little more - seniors have problems chewing anything but extra-cooked vegetables - but they prepared her carrots very well. We did ask the waitress to inform the cook she wanted them cooked extra extra done and she was gracious enough to understand, it just needed a little more cooking time. I ended up finishing her broccoli.
It was a wonderful experience! If I had the money, I would definitely go back for more than just a special occasion.
Our seater, waitress, and bus boys were also very nice and unobtrusive while picking up the dishes. Everyone was just great!
It WAS very busy with the concert at Van Andel Arena around the block at 7:30, I made reservations for 4:30, so if something like that is going on, I wouldn't expect to just walk in and get a table. Make free reservations through Google Maps - that was the easiest for me, and it was the first time I ever made reservations for a restaurant.
I really enjoyed myself and the food especially. I would love to come back with a group of friends. Extremely good sit-down dining with healthy options; bar seating available. Casual dining, but can go up to high end. Handicap accessible front entrance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I had seen some not-so-great reviews in the past months, but decided to give it a try anyway for our anniversary. We were quite pleased. Our table was set with an anniversary card from the restaurant and our waiter, Luke, greeted us with a "Happy Anniversary!" The waiter impressed me by giving me honest opinions and recommendations on the menu selections I had questions about. Luke was quite engaging with conversation, but not overbearing that left us with a great impression of the restaurant. We enjoyed this venue greatly and plan to return with some friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Besides the fantastic food, our waiter , Spencer was outstanding! Truly enjoyed everything. We will certainly be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed our experience and our waiter, Spencer, was great. We decided to go to Bistro Bella Vita since it was so close to 20 Monroe and we were heading there to a concert. Martinis are great, so great I wanted to stay and skip the concert, lol! Food was great and wonderful service too. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had quick service prior to going to a show...in and out in under an hour, including three courses and drinks. Wine list is just a little limited, depending on what you like. Fresh tasting pasta. I had the salmon dish...cooked perfectly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Had not dined here for a while. There is a reason we choose this place! Was not disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My husband and I stopped before a Griffins Game. Good meal and in and out quickly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Such a great place to take someone for their birthday. Great food and white pairings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 27, 2017

As always outstanding with great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Fun restaurant with good food selections. A little on the loud side. Hard for conversation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Healthy, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and I had requested a nice table. When we arrived the hostess wished us a happy anniversary and showed us to a very special table with a linen cloth and fresh flowers. We were treated like royalty all evening long. Our waiter, Luke, presented us with a most delicious appetizer of pork belly and polenta which was absolutely outstanding. I ordered the beef fillet and my husband ordered the gnocchi with lamb ragout. Both meals were excellent paired with delicious wines. For dessert we ordered the bread pudding which was outstanding and we were also presented with a tiramisu and gelato. So we got to try three desserts. Luke was a perfect waiter giving us plenty of attention but not too much. We so appreciated the restaurant going to extra lengths to help make our anniversary extra special. Bistro Bella Vita has been a favorite of ours for years. It's a beautiful and festive setting with excellent local food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Several servers and bussers asked to take our plates (that still had food on them) literally 10 times in a row after we said no. It got awkward and I felt like we were being shoved out when we weren't there long at all!

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.