About Bistro Bella Vita

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

At Bistro Bella Vita delivers the maximum guest experience with superior food, beverage and service. Their specialty is natural Mediterranean Country Cuisine made from scratch daily. French Flair and Italian Twist. Fresh. Natural. Local. Bistro Bella Vita takes pride in their cuisine. The house-made recipes feature delicious flavors of the Mediterranean prepared in a brick oven, grill and rotisserie with the highest quality ingredients, because fresher ingredients make the freshest cuisine. In-season, the restaurant uses chemical-free produce from local farmers because it's healthier and tastes best. But don't take their word for it... come in and taste for yourself.

Pair your meal with a glass or bottle of wine from our wine list featuring over 100 bottles from around the world. Or enjoy a hand-shaken martini from West Michigan’s largest martini bar. Specialty menu items are available for gluten-free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian and vegan diets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: Special Occasions Only

Cross Street:
Weston and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Van Timmeren

Private Party Facilities:
A Dining Experience Like No Other. Treat yourself and your guests to the ultimate dining experience: Bistro's chef’s table. Enjoy an exclusive, multi-course meal featuring creative dishes prepared Bistro-style with only the very best, hand-selected, seasonal ingredients. Executive Chef Aaron Van Timmeren personally presents each course as it’s served with a history of the food, details about the dish and the complexity of its flavors. You also can enjoy your chef’s table experience like no other.

Private Party Contact:
Kyle Dobrowolski: 6162224600x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Bella Vita
Roasted Mushroom Crostini
Seafood Spaghetti
Lobster Gnocchi
charcuterie
Urban Mushroom Crostini
Calamari
Rotisserie Roasted Amish Chicken
Dirty Martini
Paella
Vanilla cheese cake
Chicken
Motor City Mule
Ricotta Pound Cake
Salmon, Potato Latke And Broccoli Slaw
Duck Two Ways
Amber Agave Margarita
Bianca Pizza
Pine Crest Beef 3 Ways
Goose Island Matilda
Beef Carpaccio
Proscutto And Fruit Salad
Arugula Salad
S&S Beef App
Fusilli
Atlantic Salmon
Cider Braised Pork Belly
Sea bass
Cheesecake
Pork Tenderloin
Pizza
Chilled Cantelope And Black Mission Fig Soup
Spread
Young's Double Chocolate Stout
Butternut Squash Pizza
Tiramisu
Vegan Succotash
Hummus Bowl
Bell's Porter & Huma Lupa Licious IPA
Deep Fried Artichoke Hearts
3 Course $25 Menu
Formaggi
Gnocchi
Orriechiette
Ceaser Side Salad
Honeycrisp Salad
Rotini Con Pollo With Out Pollo
Vanilla Gelato
Butternut Squash&Roasted Kail Pizza
Beet Bisque W/Chevre
Kiddy Cocktail With Lemonaid
Salmon With A Michigan Cherry Glaze

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
7 More
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Value
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (100)
Fit for Foodies (81)
Good for Groups (58)
See All
Notable Wine List (56)
Romantic (53)
Hot Spot (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Lunch (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Late-night Find (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Flavorful and inventive food!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Flavorful and inventive food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good food and great service.

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good service, great atmospher ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, good service, great atmosphere, but the portion of duck ravioli was very small; not nearly enough food for my husband. The other pasta plates I saw seemed to be much more sizeable, so this was disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The structure of the interior was eye ca ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 7 days ago

The structure of the interior was eye catching, the service was flawless and the food was simply amazing! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside on a beautiful night. Out ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We sat outside on a beautiful night. Outside seating was preferred by use and it was great. Other couples in the table next to use didn't care for the Sun.

The food was fantastic and the choices were good.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here on several occasions ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We have dined here on several occasions and have always been impressed with the food, service and ambiance. One can never go wrong when choosing Bistro Bella Vita before any concert or show, either, because they make sure your meal is out on time so you don't have to rush to your event. Bravo again, Bistro Bella Vita!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were both incredibl ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service and food were both incredible! We ordered the calamari for an appetizer and then split the brisket for our dinner. The beef brisket was so tender and so delicious. There was plenty for two people. The calamari was great, as well. We don't live in Grand Rapids, but I can't wait to return there to go to Bisto Bella Vita again!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation two days before ou ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We made a reservation two days before our visit. When we arrived, the restaurant was not full. We were seated by the kitchen. It was terrible. When we left, there were still many tables available. Food was ver good, server was very attentive. Unfortunately should we ever go back to Grand Rapids, we will never go back to this establishment. People who walked in off the street had better seating than my husband and I. Shame on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Love Bistro food is always amazing good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love Bistro food is always amazing good variety of wine or any cocktails. We had friends visiting from Texas they loved it

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The concierge recommended Bistro Bella V ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The concierge recommended Bistro Bella Vita and it was a good choice. Our server was friendly and helpful as we made menu selections. The Fisherman's Stew was outstanding. The Pork Chop was huge. We were too full to have dessert but saw some of the options and they looked delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Prompt seating. Comfortable table. Promp ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Prompt seating. Comfortable table. Prompt, courteous service. Pasta Tasting plus wine pairing simple but satisfying. Waiter friendly and patient during busy period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time and our waiter w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time and our waiter was FABULOUS....He was very helpful and pleasant...

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Up scale resturant, with excellent wait ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Up scale resturant, with excellent wait staff and a well organized service to the table. Food quality is always consistantly good and enjoy the overall feel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Would highly recommend it!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved it! Would highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was very loud had a hard ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The atmosphere was very loud had a hard time conversing with my wife. The wait staff was very friendly and did an amazing job. However, some of the staff seemed to be "running" past my table frequently, which made it hard to relax. Furthermore, I looked on line for a romantic place to take my wife for a birthday dinner, I would not take her here again for that purpose. The food was amazing, hats off to the chefs. I would visit the restaurant again but only if I were to bring a large group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

The food here is never a let-down. They ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food here is never a let-down. They always do a fantastic job with service also - no matter if you have a table of 2, or a room of 30. I never walk away disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The margarita pizza was delicious. Our w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The margarita pizza was delicious. Our waitress took very good care of us. I would definitely recommend BBV!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AWESOME food. The best we've had at a re ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

AWESOME food. The best we've had at a restaurant ever, I think. Great atmosphere, cool character. A bit pricier than our norm but we'll be back for special occasions for sure. One of our meals came with something on it that we asked to have removed and they happily corrected their mistake and treated us to a free dessert for the inconvenience which was also top-notch delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited here twice during a recent a bus ...

vip
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Visited here twice during a recent a business trip to Grand Rapids. Once for lunch and once for a light dinner. Food was outstanding both times and I look forward to going back to try even more menu items. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service is always spot one. The best in ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service is always spot one. The best in G.R. Essence Group restaurants are the best overall in G.R. for service and food quality.

Dinner was perfect. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting was quite nice, the staff ve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The setting was quite nice, the staff very friendly and accommodating, and the food delicious. I loved my meal, though it really upset my stomach, but I'm guessing that's because my pasta sauce was so rich (it tasted amazing). I had asked for a nice table for a special occasion for 2; they gave us a table for 4, a vase of flowers, and didn't put anyone by us, which was quite nice. I saw a few large groups come in, and despite it not being very busy, was still kind of loud. I found it kind of strange that our table was kind out in the open, right by the entrance, so it wasn't very private. But, I hadn't asked for private, nor did I mention it was for a date, so I'm still quite pleased. I loved my first experience and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious arugula salad and duck ravioli ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious arugula salad and duck ravioli! Not as loud on outside deck. Very nice wine list. Excellent service! So glad they had valet parking!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been many times, but not in quite ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We've been many times, but not in quite some time. This experience was disappointing.

1) The food presentation was careless. We ordered three appetizers, and all looked thrown together.

2) The server seemed to guess when we asked what was on the antipasti plate. No mention of the local origin of the cheeses and meats, etc.

3) The wine presentation was awkward.

Our bill was around $400, which is typical for a business dinner for us. However, the treatment, the food quality and the service were not on par with our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Gnocchi was good. Was not impressed at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Gnocchi was good. Was not impressed at all with paella - too much chorizo and not enough flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I had made a reservation at Bistro Bella ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I had made a reservation at Bistro Bella Vita to celebrate my partners birthday. I explained to them how my partner and I were moving states a while to pursue career goals etc. I told them I really wanted to make her birthday special. I told them her favorite dessert. A warm apple crostata with vanilla bean gelato. I never heard anything back so I assumed they just didn't have time. I was proven SO wrong. We came in, were greeted like old friends and taken to a table with an extra special set up. They brought u s a small bouquet and lined the tables with eloquent linen. Everything during the meal was delicious. We were just about to ask for a dessert menu when our server asked us if we were ready for the crostata. My partners eyes lit up like the fourth of july. We loved it so much and are so thankful you gave us this experience. We will always come back to celebrate. Thank you Bistro Bella Vita.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best restaurant expe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was one of the best restaurant experiences we've ever had. The staff was on point with being visible and attentive without being overbearing or hovering. Drinks were refilled quickly, empty plates disappeared immediately, the kitchen was efficient at preparing very flavorful and properly prepared food in a timely manner, and the atmosphere was pleasant and conducive to an enjoyable conversation without straining to hear or speaking up. The paella was fantastic, as was my wife's gnocchi, and they had mocktails for those who aren't able to have alcohol (pregnant or driving, etc.) but want something more than water or tea. We will definitely come back to Bistro Bella Vita!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of our favorite places in GR. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Still one of our favorite places in GR. Very few times are we disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and celebrated our 18th annivers ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and celebrated our 18th anniversary. We both had menu items picked, and based on our selections our waiter suggested specials that we might enjoy. We selected the specials and were not disappointed! Try the carrot cake - absolutely incredible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another outstanding meal at Bistro Bell ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Another outstanding meal at Bistro Bell Vita! My wife and I eat a gluten free diet, on this visit we tried started with a chopped salad and moved on to the Cassoulet and the Paella. Both dishes were outstanding and did not lack anything by being gluten free. The drinks were excellent and the service was great. We will definitely return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been there a few times now and I ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have been there a few times now and I have never had anything that I didn't like. The quality of the food is very good and service is great as well. The main meal portions are perfect in size although I wish that I could say the same about the appetizer portions which I feel are a bit small for what you pay for. Be sure to make room for dessert as they are very tasty (I love the tiramisu and the creme brûlée).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were vacationing in the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

My husband and I were vacationing in the Grand Rapids area and had dinner at Bistro Bella Vista twice. We both loved it. The food is delicious, the servers excellent and attentive. We liked the atmosphere and decor, too. My favorite meal was the duck ravioli - incredible! Altogether one of the best restaurants we have ever experienced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good. Our issue was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was really good. Our issue was for the price the portion size was rather small - seemed like a lunch portion at a dinner price. We have eaten here a few times and this is the first time we were saddened by the small portions. We are hoping that it was just an off day because it was Father's Day and getting busy. We will go back, for sure. Wait staff is wonderful and the food was well prepared flavor wise.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bistro Bella Vita is a great place for s ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Bistro Bella Vita is a great place for special occasions or everyday dining. The food is always great! They cater to food allergies and sensitivities so I am always sure the food will taste great and also be good for me and my father who also has food intolerances. My husband who can eat everything also loves the food here. It is our go to place in GR when dining out! Great ambience! Great wait staff! Fabulous chefs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious! My two dining partn ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious! My two dining partners and I all ordered something different. All dishes were well prepared and delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were extremely satisfied . The servic ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were extremely satisfied . The service was excellent. Our waiter was more than helpful and the serving staff as a whole was truly professional and added to a relaxed and enjoyable dinner. The most difficult part of the evening was deciding on what gem to choose from the menu. The Tajine was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good....but Expensive! We ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was very good....but Expensive! We arrived before 6pm. By 7:15 the noise level was quite high. But our waiter, Brian, was WONDERFUL and very helpful when we realized we were running late for our show at the Civic Theater.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, great service! This was the ...

 
 (Springfield)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food, great service! This was the second sit there and I have to say it was even better than the first. There were three in our group. Everyone ordered something different and each of us enjoyed every bite. Well prepared, good portions. The service was excellent. The server was attentive but not intrusive. Everything was timely and he anticipated our needs. Never once had to ask for anything. Definitely will go back. Strongly recommend to anyone looking for a great experience in downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It wasn't horrible but it was very loud ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It wasn't horrible but it was very loud and I got the mushroom ravioli and I only got like 5 ravioli in my meal and it was 20+ dollars for them they were not that good. I think I would have like going to the Olive Garden better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great service and food for our anniversa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service and food for our anniversary dinner. A little pricy but for a special event night it was worth the price. Great setting, staff, and food!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Paella and prepared the way I ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent Paella and prepared the way I prefer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.