Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today

Bistro Bella Vita

4.6
1870 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Modern European
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Food First. Guests Always.

At Bistro Bella Vita, we’re driven by passion, servant leadership and most importantly—exceptional dining experiences. We believe that good enough simply isn’t good enough. It’s time to discover something special and taste commitment and creativity. Choose passion and purpose. Live the good life.

It’s time to accept nothing short of exceptional at Bistro Bella Vita.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Modern European, French, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday 11 am - midnight
Saturday 5 pm - midnight
Sunday 4 pm - 10 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(616) 222-4600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Aaron Van Timmeren
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Weston and Grandville
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

You expect exceptional dining experiences when it comes to private events. We promise to deliver nothing short of exceptional every time you dine with us and the same goes for Private Dining. We offer for intimate gatherings like birthday dinners and meetings, as well as wedding receptions.

View Private Dining Details
What 1870 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
99% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We went for our anniversary, and they made it very special, by adding a tablecloth and special touches. It's not cheap, but we felt like they had VERY generous portions--enough for leftovers even! The service was wonderful, and since we got there a little before the evening rush, it was quiet enough for conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

It was a very pleasant late afternoon, we ate ate on the patio. The food was served fast, hot and delicious. The drinks kept filled and cold. What more could you ask for?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Looked up resturants before we landed in Grand Rapids Michigan, and the Bistro came highly rated. It was easy to find and had plenty of parking near by. I had the duck melody and my husband had the beef Bourgogne. My duck breast was tender and flavorful, but the other duck portion was small. My husbands beef came in a dish that could easily be shared. He said it was delicious, tender and way too much for one person. The wine list was good and we had a very nice white burgundy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Staff was friendly, good was great. We made a reservation and got right in with zero issues. Perfect Mother's Day/Retirement gift for my mom. We'll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had a WONDERFUL night! Our server Gabby was incredible!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The decode has been updated some since I was last here. Still an old warehouse underneath but with a fresh clean look with all the woods and stainless steel. Very professional staff and parking is easy with valet. Great food and lively croud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great food. Great service. Staff is so attentive and professional. Another enjoyable dinner. So looking forward to our next visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Incredible service, great food, a bit loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Really great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

This was a fantastic experience. I had the cassoulet and the duck three ways. It was outstanding. I can't wait to go back to Grand Rapids and eat here again. Four stars!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Food and service were both amazing. It was prom night for some school, so that kind of took away from the atmosphere. It’s always great, just a little expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

All food was Delicious but especially the fresh pasta. Our waiter was so polite and accommodating. Finished off dinner with a complimentary birthday dessert and the best espresso martini ever! This was or first visit and will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The server we had was non-existent. She took our drink orders and then disappeared for 15 mins. We only saw her one or two more times during the entire meal. Drinks went empty for 10 mins at a time. Food was great, but one of the worst service issues I've had in awhile. It was our first time dining there and we were expecting a better experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We went there to celebrate both our birthdays and sat in the dining area; not normal for us as we like to interact with others at the bar rail. We had bruschetta to start and it was uniquely prepared and delicious; most places just dump salsa on top...not here! We followed with two flatbreads and both were excellent. After dinner we moved to the bar rail for a last drink before heading home. I will say this...the bartenders here are some of the least friendly in all of Grand Rapids. We eat out ALOT and it has been this way for years so I say it probably stems from a fault at the top level as it seems to be their culture. Drinks though are some of the best and most generous so that keeps us coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I have been dining at Bistro Bella Vita since it opened 22+ years ago. They have consistently been a favorite spot of mine throughout the years. Up until recently, they've also had my favorite dish (rotini/fusilli con pollo) on the menu since they opened. Although it's not technically on the menu now, the kitchen staff was more than happy to make my favorite "old school" dish on request. Thank you and keep up the great service and cuisine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Staff was very helpful with reserving a table for 11 people. Food was excellent and the staff very attentive. Will definitely dine here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Never disappointed with the Bistro. This visit was a wonderful pasta and one of the best dirty martinis in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Tristan and his staff are excellent. Connor the bartender makes fantastic drinks and we thoroughly love sitting in bar area

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 11, 2018

When we arrived at 5:30 the daily menu was not ready. My Italian dinner was very small and overpriced. The waitress was not overly friendly. I would not recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

My wife and I went to GR for her birthday and Bistro Bella Vita was our choice for the meal and it was the right choice. Great food ( I had the pork chop) and perfect for my wife's food allergy issues (celiac, dairy and soy free). They custom made her food just right!!! and she didn't get sick. :) They even had a Birthday card waiting for her at our table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I love this place! Menu items like the Bistro steak, cheese plate (always has something fresh/different), and martinis are amazing! Higher end, so can be pricey, but it’s worth it! I can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

New menu and it was excellent! Service was also outstanding. Best experience I have had at bistro Bella vita in sometime. We will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was great, atmosphere was excellent, and our waitress was outstanding. We'll definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

An all-around great dining experience. Great menu, good service, and nice decor. Will definitely be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Beautiful atmosphere. Wonderful food. Amazing waitress! We love this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Really good food. Special birthday dinner. Too pricey for a casual meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We dined there to celebrate a birthday. It was our first time at BBV. Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. She split a salad for us on two plates so it could be shared and suggested a less expensive way to order desserts. The birthday girl received a complimentary dessert. All our food and drinks were delicious! We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The Pizza Rustica was one of the best pizzas I have had in a long time. The chopped salad was really good as well. The service was awesome too.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

A very beautiful restaurant too bad the food is just ordinary. Even the drinks are overwrought and so complicated that in the end they taste really bad. Avoid this place even though it looks like the perfect spot for a lovely dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Consistently our favorite place downtown to dine. Always quiet and comfortable, the wait staff is patient and never pushy. Portion size is spot on and the food is fresh and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Always great food, great service, great place! Never disappoints us. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Excellent at reservations made in advance, excellent service, and excellent food choices and food was very good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

We went to meet up with friends we have not seen in a while. We wanted good food and moderate noise level and easy parking. We stayed for over 3 hours and our server was wonderfully patient with us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Very nice place. Food is good. High prices and not big portions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Absolutely loved this Resturant. The pasta were fantastic. The service was top notch. And the ambiance was exactly what I needed for my business meeting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Our server, Spencer, was excellent. Excellent knowledge of menu, drinks, etc. Good conversation, was very patient with me as I was waiting for my daughter to arrive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Went with a friend before a concert. Great experience with the staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Excellent food, and great service. It was extremely busy as we were in GR to see a concert, but we were in and out very quickly, but did not feel rushed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Overall the experience was great. I would have enjoyed it more if there wasn’t a loud obnoxious girl at the table next to me. Food was great. Many options. Service was standard. Nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Friendly staff
Great food. Always something new and interesting.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
47