About Bistro Bella Vita

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

At Bistro Bella Vita delivers the maximum guest experience with superior food, beverage and service. Their specialty is natural Mediterranean Country Cuisine made from scratch daily. French Flair and Italian Twist. Fresh. Natural. Local. Bistro Bella Vita takes pride in their cuisine. The house-made recipes feature delicious flavors of the Mediterranean prepared in a brick oven, grill and rotisserie with the highest quality ingredients, because fresher ingredients make the freshest cuisine. In-season, the restaurant uses chemical-free produce from local farmers because it's healthier and tastes best. But don't take their word for it... come in and taste for yourself.

Pair your meal with a glass or bottle of wine from our wine list featuring over 100 bottles from around the world. Or enjoy a hand-shaken martini from West Michigan’s largest martini bar. Specialty menu items are available for gluten-free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian and vegan diets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: Special Occasions Only

Cross Street:
Weston and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Wise

Private Party Facilities:
A Dining Experience Like No Other. Treat yourself and your guests to the ultimate dining experience: Bistro's chef’s table. Enjoy an exclusive, multi-course meal featuring creative dishes prepared Bistro-style with only the very best, hand-selected, seasonal ingredients. Executive Chef Patrick Wise personally presents each course as it’s served with a history of the food, details about the dish and the complexity of its flavors. You also can enjoy your chef’s table experience like no other.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Wise: 6162224600x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roasted Mushroom Crostini
Seafood Spaghetti
charcuterie
Lobster Gnocchi
Urban Mushroom Crostini
Calamari
Dirty Martini
Rotisserie Roasted Amish Chicken
Paella
Vanilla cheese cake
Chicken
Motor City Mule
Ricotta Pound Cake
Salmon, Potato Latke And Broccoli Slaw
Duck Two Ways
Amber Agave Margarita
Bianca Pizza
Pine Crest Beef 3 Ways
Goose Island Matilda
Beef Carpaccio
Proscutto And Fruit Salad
Arugula Salad
Fusilli
Atlantic Salmon
S&S Beef App
Cider Braised Pork Belly
Sea bass
Cheesecake
Pork Tenderloin
Chilled Cantelope And Black Mission Fig Soup
Spread
Pizza
Young's Double Chocolate Stout
Bell's Porter & Huma Lupa Licious IPA
Hummus Bowl
Tiramisu
Vegan Succotash
Deep Fried Artichoke Hearts
Butternut Squash Pizza
3 Course $25 Menu
Formaggi
Honeycrisp Salad
Butternut Squash&Roasted Kail Pizza
Rotini Con Pollo With Out Pollo
Ceaser Side Salad
Kiddy Cocktail With Lemonaid
Beet Bisque W/Chevre
Orriechiette
Gnocchi
Vanilla Gelato
Salmon With A Michigan Cherry Glaze

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
5 More
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (87)
fit for foodies (84)
good for groups (66)
See All
notable wine list (47)
romantic (47)
hot spot (41)
neighborhood gem (29)
great for lunch (28)
vibrant bar scene (27)
late-night find (14)
great for outdoor dining (11)
kid-friendly (9)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been there a few times now and I ...

Dined 4 days ago

I have been there a few times now and I have never had anything that I didn't like. The quality of the food is very good and service is great as well. The main meal portions are perfect in size although I wish that I could say the same about the appetizer portions which I feel are a bit small for what you pay for. Be sure to make room for dessert as they are very tasty (I love the tiramisu and the creme brûlée).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were vacationing in the ...

Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I were vacationing in the Grand Rapids area and had dinner at Bistro Bella Vista twice. We both loved it. The food is delicious, the servers excellent and attentive. We liked the atmosphere and decor, too. My favorite meal was the duck ravioli - incredible! Altogether one of the best restaurants we have ever experienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was really good. Our issue was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was really good. Our issue was for the price the portion size was rather small - seemed like a lunch portion at a dinner price. We have eaten here a few times and this is the first time we were saddened by the small portions. We are hoping that it was just an off day because it was Father's Day and getting busy. We will go back, for sure. Wait staff is wonderful and the food was well prepared flavor wise.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious! My two dining partn ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious! My two dining partners and I all ordered something different. All dishes were well prepared and delightful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were extremely satisfied . The servic ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were extremely satisfied . The service was excellent. Our waiter was more than helpful and the serving staff as a whole was truly professional and added to a relaxed and enjoyable dinner. The most difficult part of the evening was deciding on what gem to choose from the menu. The Tajine was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was very good....but Expensive! We ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was very good....but Expensive! We arrived before 6pm. By 7:15 the noise level was quite high. But our waiter, Brian, was WONDERFUL and very helpful when we realized we were running late for our show at the Civic Theater.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service! This was the ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food, great service! This was the second sit there and I have to say it was even better than the first. There were three in our group. Everyone ordered something different and each of us enjoyed every bite. Well prepared, good portions. The service was excellent. The server was attentive but not intrusive. Everything was timely and he anticipated our needs. Never once had to ask for anything. Definitely will go back. Strongly recommend to anyone looking for a great experience in downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

It wasn't horrible but it was very loud ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It wasn't horrible but it was very loud and I got the mushroom ravioli and I only got like 5 ravioli in my meal and it was 20+ dollars for them they were not that good. I think I would have like going to the Olive Garden better

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food for our anniversa ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service and food for our anniversary dinner. A little pricy but for a special event night it was worth the price. Great setting, staff, and food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Paella and prepared the way I ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent Paella and prepared the way I prefer.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu with unique and delicious foo ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great menu with unique and delicious food selections...and really good service. Not too noisy. Great overall experience!

food4
ambience3
service4
value1

The entree doesn't come with a soup or salad.

Dined on May 28, 2016

The entree doesn't come with a soup or salad to start so be prepared to pay $6 or more for a salad on top of the appetizer cost and entree costs. Very expensive for just a filet mignon that tasted like every other cheap restaurants (i.e. Applebees & Texas Corral) filet. The beef brisket was mostly fat but comes looking huge. The potatoes were homemade and outstanding. This coming from a person who will not eat fake potatoes and always have to order a baked potato to get a real one. Service was outstanding too!! They had designated employees to walk around and no joke as soon as you are done with your last bite they scoop your dishes away so you don't have them messing up your table. OCD didn't kick in once!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service5

Preston was the best waiter ever! The fo ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Preston was the best waiter ever! The food is great but I always believe these ice can make it excellent - would def go back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was impeccable;the

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was delivered in a timely fashion. Wine suggestions parred well with our entries . We both felt welcomed and appreciated for choosing to dine @ the Bistro.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We so enjoy the vibrant atmosphere, the ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We so enjoy the vibrant atmosphere, the awesome menu, and ever changing specials. It's our Downtown "go to" for fun, and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service

Dined on May 27, 2016

We had not been to Bella Vita for a while and are happy to say its as great as its always been - great spot before a downtown show! We will be back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Take that, Ruth's Chris...Phantom meal that rules!

Dined on May 25, 2016

OK, so a couple of weeks ago my wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Ruth's Chris. To summarize, it was a great experience and a 5 out of 5 in almost every category. The service was great, the atmosphere wonderful and the food excellent...except for my NY Strip. It wasn't that it was bad, it was just not great. And when paying $49 for a steak at arguably the most well known, quality steak house in America you would expect it to be FAB-U-LOUS. Then, this past week we ate at Bistro Bella Vita before heading to see "Phantom". Now, I have been to BBV many times over the years and there are many reasons it is one of my favorite restaurants. And this time reaffirmed that...in spades. As usual, the service, atmosphere and total experience was excellent. But, for whatever reason I again ordered a NY Strip. And that was when RC suffered a blow. The steak was perfection. Serious perfection. Done correctly, tender a NY Strip as I have ever had and at almost half the price! Oh, and the cucumber martini is also FAB. My wife and I were in heaven as we enjoyed the meal and the time together. And personally, I liked the meal much better than the show (don't tell my wife ;^)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was tasty and service was outstandi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was tasty and service was outstanding. Would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The duck ravioli is incredible, it had a ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The duck ravioli is incredible, it had a buttery sauce and was very savory. I would definitely recommend it to most friends who enjoy quality food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a busy, concert night and we felt ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was a busy, concert night and we felt slightly rushed. Other than that, it was a typical, wonderful night at Bistro.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I will go back but.....

Dined on May 15, 2016

My server dumped some of my martini in my lap well she shook it. Not her fault, but I was very surprised she didn't remove it off my bill. I was once a server and that's what I would have done if it had been me. I've been to Bistro Bella Vita multiple times and will continue to go and recommend it to friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great - will go again next time in Grand Rapids

Dined on May 14, 2016

Good foof great service thou we felt a little rushed - will go to again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect location before a concert at Van ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Perfect location before a concert at VanAndel! Got in and out quickly and the food was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time there, would definitely go ba ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

First time there, would definitely go back. Our service was wonderful (Thanks Elizabeth!) the food was amazing as well. Our server was very helpful for the Gluten Free member of our party, and the Menu had some good GF options. We highly recommend the Cassoulet (with the egg!) and the Paella. They were both top notch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always a great place to dine. one of our ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

always a great place to dine. one of our favorite go to places.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulously consitent

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bistro is the rare restaurant where food and service are outstanding every time. Thank you for a wonderful meal with a gracious waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we'll be back!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable place to celebrate our Anniversary. Very good desserts, especially the pick 3 smaller portions option.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Preston was an amazing server. He did a great job. He was our favorite part of the dining experience. The food was ok for the price. I was expecting a little more for the price. The drinks were overpriced for what you got. I was looking for a little more and they just didn't hit the mark.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love it, as always.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Foodwasexcellent servicewasprompt onlycommentisthatthemartiniwasenoughforthree leftmebleary-eyedandstumbling getsmallercocktailglasses.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking for a place on a Sunday to cele ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Looking for a place on a Sunday to celebrate my sons graduation. Most nicer restaurants in GR are closed on Sunday's. The Bistro exceeded my expectations, the service was great and the food was exceptional.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and service. Super mar ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Always great food and service. Super martinis and the best crème brûlée.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and service! The beef brisket is incredible. One of my favorite places in GR.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food

Dined on April 30, 2016

I had the Fusilli con Pollo. Delicious. GIad I ordered that. I want more. Right now. Look forward to trying something else sometime.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently one of our favorite restaur ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Consistently one of our favorite restaurants in GR. Food is always excellent, as is the service and atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all-around dining experience!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent service, menu options and flavors. We had to dine relatively quickly to get to an event. Service was very accommodating and made sure we received our food and bill timely so we could get to our next destination on time. Meal was amazing and presentation beautiful. Server was very polite and knowledgeable. Great teamwork with other staff. Will continue to be one of our top go-to places!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food is consistently delicious, and they allow changes which makes us very happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sisters' Night Out

Dined on April 19, 2016

Service, food presentation and quality , and atmosphere were all excellent. We're glad to have found this nearby restaurant - we are four well-pleased customers who will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date Night Find...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Looking for a restaurant to complement a show at Devos Performing Arts Center--close enough to walk to both from parking. Bistro Bella Vito fit the bill, had an interesting menu and good reviews. Seated right away be courteous staff, and Tiffany served us throughout the night. We were very impressed by the serving staff--all were happy, helpful and had a clear and positive rapport. Tiffany was terrific. Wine list is outstanding, although we'd have preferred more local options (LocalFirst!). The menu was eclectic, diverse and appealing (although perhaps too much kale--but that might've been us!) We did note support for locally produced ingredients--thank you! We chose the mushroom polenta for an appetizer, which could have been a serving, it was so large--and exquisite. The parmesan mixed in with the polenta, topped with mushrooms--outstanding. Oh, and kale. My wife had the chicken marsala with past and I had the boulliabase. Both outstanding choices. Chicken was very tasty and the boulliabase was topnotch. Lobster base with scallops, shrimp, mussels, salmon, potatoes and eggplant (which held the delicate flavors wonderfully), and... kale. It was wonderful. Topped with the delightful dessert feature (one dessert with pour-over coffee for two). We had the no bake chocolate cake with vanilla gelato. It was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for foodies. Not great for c ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place for foodies. Not great for conversation. Much to loud.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast Lunch

Dined on April 8, 2016

First choice for lunch, though this time for business. A smaller select menu offered for fast lunch. Ordering from full menu was fast for me as well. Would definitely return. Good food, healthy proportions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.