About Bistro Bella Vita

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

At Bistro Bella Vita delivers the maximum guest experience with superior food, beverage and service. Their specialty is natural Mediterranean Country Cuisine made from scratch daily. French Flair and Italian Twist. Fresh. Natural. Local. Bistro Bella Vita takes pride in their cuisine. The house-made recipes feature delicious flavors of the Mediterranean prepared in a brick oven, grill and rotisserie with the highest quality ingredients, because fresher ingredients make the freshest cuisine. In-season, the restaurant uses chemical-free produce from local farmers because it's healthier and tastes best. But don't take their word for it... come in and taste for yourself.

Pair your meal with a glass or bottle of wine from our wine list featuring over 100 bottles from around the world. Or enjoy a hand-shaken martini from West Michigan’s largest martini bar. Specialty menu items are available for gluten-free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian and vegan diets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: Special Occasions Only

Cross Street:
Weston and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Wise

Private Party Facilities:
A Dining Experience Like No Other. Treat yourself and your guests to the ultimate dining experience: Bistro's chef’s table. Enjoy an exclusive, multi-course meal featuring creative dishes prepared Bistro-style with only the very best, hand-selected, seasonal ingredients. Executive Chef Patrick Wise personally presents each course as it’s served with a history of the food, details about the dish and the complexity of its flavors. You also can enjoy your chef’s table experience like no other.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Wise: 6162224600x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
6 More
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (115)
fit for foodies (106)
good for groups (87)
See All
romantic (76)
notable wine list (63)
hot spot (57)
neighborhood gem (36)
vibrant bar scene (35)
great for lunch (29)
late-night find (22)
great for outdoor dining (7)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was tasty and service was outstandi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was tasty and service was outstanding. Would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The duck ravioli is incredible, it had a ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The duck ravioli is incredible, it had a buttery sauce and was very savory. I would definitely recommend it to most friends who enjoy quality food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a busy, concert night and we felt ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was a busy, concert night and we felt slightly rushed. Other than that, it was a typical, wonderful night at Bistro.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I will go back but.....

Dined on May 15, 2016

My server dumped some of my martini in my lap well she shook it. Not her fault, but I was very surprised she didn't remove it off my bill. I was once a server and that's what I would have done if it had been me. I've been to Bistro Bella Vita multiple times and will continue to go and recommend it to friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great - will go again next time in Grand Rapids

Dined on May 14, 2016

Good foof great service thou we felt a little rushed - will go to again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect location before a concert at Van ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Perfect location before a concert at VanAndel! Got in and out quickly and the food was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time there, would definitely go ba ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

First time there, would definitely go back. Our service was wonderful (Thanks Elizabeth!) the food was amazing as well. Our server was very helpful for the Gluten Free member of our party, and the Menu had some good GF options. We highly recommend the Cassoulet (with the egg!) and the Paella. They were both top notch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always a great place to dine. one of our ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

always a great place to dine. one of our favorite go to places.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulously consitent

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bistro is the rare restaurant where food and service are outstanding every time. Thank you for a wonderful meal with a gracious waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we'll be back!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable place to celebrate our Anniversary. Very good desserts, especially the pick 3 smaller portions option.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Preston was an amazing server. He did a great job. He was our favorite part of the dining experience. The food was ok for the price. I was expecting a little more for the price. The drinks were overpriced for what you got. I was looking for a little more and they just didn't hit the mark.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love it, as always.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Foodwasexcellent servicewasprompt onlycommentisthatthemartiniwasenoughforthree leftmebleary-eyedandstumbling getsmallercocktailglasses.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking for a place on a Sunday to cele ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Looking for a place on a Sunday to celebrate my sons graduation. Most nicer restaurants in GR are closed on Sunday's. The Bistro exceeded my expectations, the service was great and the food was exceptional.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and service. Super mar ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Always great food and service. Super martinis and the best crème brûlée.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and service! The beef brisket is incredible. One of my favorite places in GR.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food

Dined on April 30, 2016

I had the Fusilli con Pollo. Delicious. GIad I ordered that. I want more. Right now. Look forward to trying something else sometime.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently one of our favorite restaur ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Consistently one of our favorite restaurants in GR. Food is always excellent, as is the service and atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all-around dining experience!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent service, menu options and flavors. We had to dine relatively quickly to get to an event. Service was very accommodating and made sure we received our food and bill timely so we could get to our next destination on time. Meal was amazing and presentation beautiful. Server was very polite and knowledgeable. Great teamwork with other staff. Will continue to be one of our top go-to places!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food is consistently delicious, and they allow changes which makes us very happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sisters' Night Out

Dined on April 19, 2016

Service, food presentation and quality , and atmosphere were all excellent. We're glad to have found this nearby restaurant - we are four well-pleased customers who will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date Night Find...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Looking for a restaurant to complement a show at Devos Performing Arts Center--close enough to walk to both from parking. Bistro Bella Vito fit the bill, had an interesting menu and good reviews. Seated right away be courteous staff, and Tiffany served us throughout the night. We were very impressed by the serving staff--all were happy, helpful and had a clear and positive rapport. Tiffany was terrific. Wine list is outstanding, although we'd have preferred more local options (LocalFirst!). The menu was eclectic, diverse and appealing (although perhaps too much kale--but that might've been us!) We did note support for locally produced ingredients--thank you! We chose the mushroom polenta for an appetizer, which could have been a serving, it was so large--and exquisite. The parmesan mixed in with the polenta, topped with mushrooms--outstanding. Oh, and kale. My wife had the chicken marsala with past and I had the boulliabase. Both outstanding choices. Chicken was very tasty and the boulliabase was topnotch. Lobster base with scallops, shrimp, mussels, salmon, potatoes and eggplant (which held the delicate flavors wonderfully), and... kale. It was wonderful. Topped with the delightful dessert feature (one dessert with pour-over coffee for two). We had the no bake chocolate cake with vanilla gelato. It was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for foodies. Not great for c ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place for foodies. Not great for conversation. Much to loud.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast Lunch

Dined on April 8, 2016

First choice for lunch, though this time for business. A smaller select menu offered for fast lunch. Ordering from full menu was fast for me as well. Would definitely return. Good food, healthy proportions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Despite noise level, Bistro BV is a great choice

Dined on April 5, 2016

Bistro Bella Vita never disappoints. Food was outstanding, service was excellent. A bit too noisy for our tastes.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is the best place to eat in G ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

This place is the best place to eat in GR

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I had wanted an Easter buffet, but it was a brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

I had anticipated an Easter buffet, but it was a brunch with a few special menu items and then the full regular menu. My selection was very good, but it wasn't what I had thought I was getting. The entrees were a bit spicy for my elderly aunt, but my son loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Easter Dinner Experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

We don't like buffets, so this was perfect for our family to be able to "order off the menu" and to have a great selection to fit every taste. Excellent service. Wonderful experience

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Over rated

Dined on March 26, 2016

We went to the Bella Vita for the first time, meeting old friends, and came away disappointed. In general the food was only ok (with some serious problems) but was too expensive for what we received. We started with glasses of wine and calamari, which was the highlight of the night - very fresh, light and tasty. The pour in the glasses was less than half-full but they charged $9.00. We had the cassoulet and found each kind of meat tasty in its own right, but the dish was not cooked together - it was assembled after the parts had been cooked. This left the slightly uncooked beans bland and not melded with the juices of the meats, as a slow-cooked cassoulet should have been. To compensate for the lack of subtle flavors, the cook added a strongly flavored sauce, which obscured the flavor of the meats and beans. We ordered a side of roasted cauliflower which was mistakenly served at room temperature and not fully cooked. Think crunchy! We wanted some bread, but were surprised to learn that they wanted to charge $1.50 per person for a portion of bread which to us was a violation of a worldwide tradition of generously offering guests a basket of bread and butter for starters. Our service was good, but we felt that we were hurried through dinner by other restaurant personnel who kept trying to take our plates before we were finished, making us feel rushed. We were asked if we wanted desert before we had finished our dinners, adding to the stress. When I objected and said we were still eating, the server said, "well here are some menus when you are ready". We didn't feel welcome, didn't feel that the personnel cared if we enjoyed our time there. Our bill for two was $91 before tip, which we felt was too much for the meal we received.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice dinner

Dined on March 25, 2016

My second time to Bistro Bella Vita. It was a Friday night so it was relatively busy, and the atmosphere can get a little loud due to the open nature of the place. Service was excellent, food was very good and I would highly recommend this place to anyone interested in an excellent meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Favorite spot

Dined on March 25, 2016

Bistro Bella Vita is a must stop when we are in downtown GR. A favorite spot for lunch, dinner or drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on March 23, 2016

We went to Bistro Bella Vita for a special birthday luncheon and it was fantastic. We were in the restaurant at a very quiet time, which was wonderful. The food was unexpected and fantastic. We will return to the restaurant next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Out of Towner

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

I was in town on a business trip and this restaurant was recommended. It is convenient to downtown and I was able to walk to it. Food was steady and service was timely. Seems like a very consistent place. Give it a shot.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection of food, all of which wa ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great selection of food, all of which was very good. Great place for a date night or a group gathering

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great birthday dinner. Love the cocktail list and specials board. The bread was okay, not special, but not bad. the salad and entree were both great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

We appreciated how the waitress had assi ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We appreciated how the waitress had assistance so our needs were met timely. Good customer service and nice decor. The food was excellent and the variety was good. I must go back there were several other items we want to try.

food5
ambience4
service4

Always have specials to pick from so the ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Always have specials to pick from so the menu never gets boring! Their homemade pasta dishes are always good, but me and my wife love everything from the duck ravioli to the filet mignon, that is underpriced compared to steaks I've paid more for that weren't as good.

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent mussels, entrees were so-so. B ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Excellent mussels, entrees were so-so. Bolognese was not up to par. Pork Schnitzel special was perfectly prepared, but the mushroom gravy was not good at all, had a heavy sage flavor that ruined the dish. Service was excellent. A good choice for dinner before a show at Van Andel.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the most reliably great choice in town.

Dined on March 4, 2016

I've been to Bistro Bella Vita so many times because it is always a great choice. My first choice to entertain out-of-town clients, meet friends for drinks and/or dinner, enjoy a martini on the patio, or celebrate a special occasion. I am always happy with the food, the service and the atmosphere. I recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good, not great

Dined on February 28, 2016

I have enjoyed dining at Bistro for many years and almost always have a great experience, which is why my expectations are so high. I have to say, this time, all of the dishes we ordered could have been improved. We started with the wild mushroom polenta, which lacked any contrasting texture, and "wild mushroom" gave the impression there would be something exotic about the mushrooms but they were just baby bellas. Our entrees, Ricotta Gnudi and the Salmon were good, but the amount of truffle oil in the Gnudi was imperceptible and the dish was under seasoned. Although the salmon needed a starch component to the dish, the lobster broth was very good. These comments aside, my salmon was prepared perfectly and the gnudi itself is always spot on. I love the atmosphere here and the service is always dependable. Maybe it was just an off night for the kitchen.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Was Amazing! Can't wait to go back!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Was Amazing! Can't wait to go back!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.