Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Bistro Bella Vita

At Bistro Bella Vita delivers the maximum guest experience with superior food, beverage and service. Their specialty is natural Mediterranean Country Cuisine made from scratch daily. French Flair and Italian Twist. Fresh. Natural. Local. Bistro Bella Vita takes pride in their cuisine. The house-made recipes feature delicious flavors of the Mediterranean prepared in a brick oven, grill and rotisserie with the highest quality ingredients, because fresher ingredients make the freshest cuisine. In-season, the restaurant uses chemical-free produce from local farmers because it's healthier and tastes best. But don't take their word for it... come in and taste for yourself.

Pair your meal with a glass or bottle of wine from our wine list featuring over 100 bottles from around the world. Or enjoy a hand-shaken martini from West Michigan’s largest martini bar. Specialty menu items are available for gluten-free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian and vegan diets.

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: Special Occasions Only

Cross Street:
Weston and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Van Timmeren

Private Party Facilities:
A Dining Experience Like No Other. Treat yourself and your guests to the ultimate dining experience: Bistro's chef’s table. Enjoy an exclusive, multi-course meal featuring creative dishes prepared Bistro-style with only the very best, hand-selected, seasonal ingredients. Executive Chef Aaron Van Timmeren personally presents each course as it’s served with a history of the food, details about the dish and the complexity of its flavors. You also can enjoy your chef’s table experience like no other.

Private Party Contact:
Kyle Dobrowolski: (616) 222-4600

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Creative Cuisine (34)
Local Ingredients (30)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Romantic (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Modern Decor (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Casual (22)
Cozy (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Business Meals (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Fun (15)
Authentic (14)
Wood Oven (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
People Watching (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great Beer (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Recently visited for a valentine's day meal, and loved it so much I went back for dinner when my dad came to town. Items on the menu run a spectrum of pricing, and even the top tier items (filet mignon), left me without a trace of diners remorse. Would recommend to treat yourself and yours!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We did enjoy our dinner for the most part, waitress was great! I had to change my reservation time from 8 to 8:30, I did so and received confirmation of this change. During dinner I got an email basically scolding me for missing my reservation and asking me to share "what happened"
I didn't appreciate that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is outstanding if you are willing to spend the money on an entree. I had the salmon and roasted brussel sprouts. Very good!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

We had dinner with a party of four this past weekend. The restaurant had an extensive menu and everything we ordered was delicious! The rice in my paella was a little undercooked but the seafood was cooked perfectly. Someone else at our table ordered the beef brisket, which we all decided was our favorite dish out of what we all ordered. We'll definitely be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I have celebrated our anniversary here for the last 6 years. We also eat out here on other occasions with friends and family. We have never been disappointed with the service or the food. This place is a gem in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Vegan, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

We ate here for my birthday. The food was wonderful we had the beet salads, One with chicken and one with salmon and for an appetizer we had the roasted brussels sprouts. The food came fast and the service was wonderful. Thank you

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always consistent and friendly!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 17, 2017

App: Bruschetta - melt in your mouth magnificent!
Wife: Amish Chicken - hot, delicious, perfect!
Husband: Walleye (special menu) - hot, delicious, perfect!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

So so good, I had the duck ravioli and she just had a cheese pizza but wow they Outdid themselves. The smoked tomato sauce on the pizza was so good it made it taste like there was meat on it when there wasn't!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our server, Jessica, provided a wonderful service and answered all of the questions we had about the menu/restaurant. She was very friendly and I would recommend her to anybody looking for an exceptional dining experience! The food was exquisite as it is every time I come to Bistro. I will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food and service was excellent. A little noisy, but it didn't seem to take away from the overall experience. Calamari is a highly recommended!

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have celiac and was told a dish was gluten free from the daily special. All of the ingredients weren't listed so I wasn't aware there was ground mustard which isn't GF except certain brands. I'm thinking it was the mustard sauce but there was another white sauce so maybe that was it. I really liked the restaurant and will come back, will not trust anything not labeled gf though.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We were there for a business meeting and it worked out very well. Our server was helpful and courteous and our meals were very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Grand Rapids. Best calimari around. Magnificent duck ravioli and casoulet. Where else can you even get casoulet around here? Excellent knowledgable service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fun date night restaurant...a bit pricey, but we've been here several times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent venue in downtown Grand Rapids with fabulous food

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful gluten free options. Celiac safe. Knowledgeable staff. Highly recommend! We will be back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Went to Bistro Bella Vita for an early anniversary dinner. Our waiter Harrison was amazing - attentive but not intrusive. The menu was full of options for all tastes, and I was able to find something easily that was lactose-free. The cocktails were delicious, the food was worth every penny, and even though the restaurant was full by time we were done eating, the noise level remained very low and our waiter never forgot about us! All in all, it was an amazing experience that I would recommend to anyone looking for an enjoyable night out with their significant other, the family or good friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Decidedly average. Chicken was very dry, service was slow, and bar prices are too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Table was ready. Food was excellent. Our waiter could have been a little more attentive, but we didn't and are not complaining. It was a nice evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved the Formaggi Pizza and Rigatoni Bolagnese. Our server was wonderful, and I am sorry I don't remember his name.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had dinner with my sister, brother in law, and fiancé at Bistro Bella Vita and it was fabulous. The food was delicious, the service was spot on, and the atmosphere was posh in a downtown with some real duds for food. Go to BBV and enjoy everything they have to offer!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As always it was a pleasure. Spencer is an outstanding server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Phenomenal service! I love coming here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful Valentine's Day! Table was ready at reservation time. Had a drink at the bar first. Couldn't have been better

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Food and service was Very good. Thought the overall price was too much for this kind of restaurant. Spending 170.00 for three people and having to pay for the bread, (free at most comparable restaurants) seemed odd. Tables were very close together so privacy was not an option.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was ok. My steak was a little burnt, but not intolerable. The mashed potatoes were soaked in the wine sauce but again, it wasn't so bad that I didn't eat them. Also, my wife's Salmon portion was stingy. However our server was great! Very pleasant, infinitive & quick. Overall, everything was fine. But nothing to rave about.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service was very slow but waiter was pleasant. Just long wait between seeing him. The food taste and quality was not inline with the price. Some of the food was very good for price but most expensive dish was not. You have to pay $1.50 pp for bread. Sorry but that is just ridiculous especially since it was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our waiter was fantastic and everyone at our tables absolutely loved their food. We had appetizers as well, and they were incredible too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a nice evening with friends. We like coming downtown to Bistro Belle Vita and always enjoy our meal. The only downside is parking. I needed handicap parking and there's none. In fact, parking is difficult and challenging most of the time. We had to use valet parking at $12 plus tip....no choice unfortunately. Now, add that to the meal price and it starts to become an issue for some!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The setting was really nice. When you reserve on the site and have a special occasion, they set up your table with linens and flowers. Also I didn't have to wait in any line as well by reserving the table early. It was nice to have that extra look for the occasion. Food was good, but seems like some portions were smaller that expected but the food was still good. Desserts we had were really good and a nice touch to end the dinner experience. Thank you!

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and service were great! Lots of options for drinks.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was amazing! Our waitress was very good and helpful. It was a little loud and the hvac blew over us at the table making it a bit cool, but they moved us and it was fine. Looking forward to going back. Happy hour deals are only in the bar, so sit there if you want to utilize those great deals.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food here is decent. I wouldn't say amazing. The prices were ok, but you don't necessarily feel like you walked out feeling like you got more than you paid for. There were a lot of kids when we ate there around 6 PM on a Saturday night. It was also loud in general. The service was good. Our waiter brought us the wrong appetizer, but allows us to eat it and gave us the correct one afterwards. We were not charged for the wrong dish.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Grand Rapids. Good no matter what you are in the mood for from informal wood fired pizza and salad to a special 3-4 course dinner.
Very nice creative selections full of flavor. Great atmosphere and service. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

A great experience. Food, service, and atmosphere were fantastic. The waitress was extremely helpful and attentive but did not make a "pest " of herself. This is still one of our favorite restaurants in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We enjoy Bella Vita for lunch or dinner. Eat here often , late lunch or dinner excellent menu, good wine list and cocktails. Favorite pear martini!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Pasta was phenomenal, paella was alright. Waitress was awesome.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Bistro Bella vita delivered for us! We took our grandson here and had a wonderful time. We ordered bruschetta and it was inadvertently delivered to the wrong table. We know this only because our server told us, ordered a new one, and comped us on it. That type of integrity is terrific and we really appreciated it. Great meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Wonderful time with friends and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.