About Bistro Bella Vita

At Bistro Bella Vita delivers the maximum guest experience with superior food, beverage and service. Their specialty is natural Mediterranean Country Cuisine made from scratch daily. French Flair and Italian Twist. Fresh. Natural. Local. Bistro Bella Vita takes pride in their cuisine. The house-made recipes feature delicious flavors of the Mediterranean prepared in a brick oven, grill and rotisserie with the highest quality ingredients, because fresher ingredients make the freshest cuisine. In-season, the restaurant uses chemical-free produce from local farmers because it's healthier and tastes best. But don't take their word for it... come in and taste for yourself.

Pair your meal with a glass or bottle of wine from our wine list featuring over 100 bottles from around the world. Or enjoy a hand-shaken martini from West Michigan’s largest martini bar. Specialty menu items are available for gluten-free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian and vegan diets.

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: Special Occasions Only

Cross Street:
Weston and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Van Timmeren

Private Party Facilities:
A Dining Experience Like No Other. Treat yourself and your guests to the ultimate dining experience: Bistro's chef’s table. Enjoy an exclusive, multi-course meal featuring creative dishes prepared Bistro-style with only the very best, hand-selected, seasonal ingredients. Executive Chef Aaron Van Timmeren personally presents each course as it’s served with a history of the food, details about the dish and the complexity of its flavors. You also can enjoy your chef’s table experience like no other.

Private Party Contact:
Kyle Dobrowolski: 6162224600x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Lobster Gnocchi - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Roasted Mushroom Crostini - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
charcuterie - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Seafood Spaghetti - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Calamari - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Urban Mushroom Crostini - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Rotisserie Roasted Amish Chicken - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Vanilla cheese cake - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Paella - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Chicken - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Motor City Mule - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Dirty Martini - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Ricotta Pound Cake - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Salmon, Potato Latke And Broccoli Slaw - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Duck Two Ways  - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Amber Agave Margarita - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Bianca Pizza - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Pine Crest Beef 3 Ways - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Goose Island Matilda - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Beef Carpaccio - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Proscutto And Fruit Salad - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Arugula Salad - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
S&S Beef App - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Fusilli - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Atlantic Salmon - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Cider Braised Pork Belly - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Sea bass - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Cheesecake - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Pork Tenderloin - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Pizza - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Chilled Cantelope And Black Mission Fig Soup - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Spread - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Young's Double Chocolate Stout - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Butternut Squash Pizza - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Tiramisu - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Vegan Succotash - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Hummus Bowl - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Bell's Porter & Huma Lupa Licious IPA - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Deep Fried Artichoke Hearts - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
3 Course $25 Menu - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Formaggi - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Gnocchi - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Orriechiette - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Ceaser Side Salad - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Honeycrisp Salad - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Rotini Con Pollo With Out Pollo - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Vanilla Gelato - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Butternut Squash&Roasted Kail Pizza - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Beet Bisque W/Chevre - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Kiddy Cocktail With Lemonaid - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI
Salmon With A Michigan Cherry Glaze - Bistro Bella Vita, Grand Rapids, MI

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (41)
Creative Cuisine (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Modern Decor (23)
Casual (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Comfort Food (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Romantic (17)
Fun (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Cozy (16)
Business Meals (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Healthy (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Wood Oven (11)
Authentic (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Fireplace (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Live Sports (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous food. Great atmosphere and wond ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous food. Great atmosphere and wonderful service! Definitely a must try.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Organic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great martinis! Tom took great care of u ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Great martinis! Tom took great care of us. He chose our appetizer. Yummy calamari! The seafood paella was delish as well!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bistro Bella Vita was as great as always ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Bistro Bella Vita was as great as always, we've never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and Connor did a fantasti ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and Connor did a fantastic job. We celebrated 3 birthdays and everyone felt very special with free birthday treats courtesy of Connor and the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance and I went there to celebrate ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My fiance and I went there to celebrate our 1 year engagement anniversary. Our waiter was short with us, not much of a personality. I asked what entree he would recommend, and he said " ehh, its all good." Well, as I understand the food is of good quality, I was looking for some help from him, yet received fairly little. The food was expensive compared to the quality. Her pasta was below average, the pesto sauce was very thick, almost too pasty to eat. I had the Amish chicken, which was essentially just a rotisserie chicken with mash potatoes. It was very average. The appetizer was decent and the dessert was alright, but both of our entrees were below what our expectations were for such a revered restaurant. Additionally our wait service was less than enthusiastic and it equals up to not a very positive impression for a first time visit. Most likely will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Went here on a friday night for date nig ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went here on a friday night for date night at 7:30. Our reservation was promptly served and we were seated near one of the sides away from the bar. Wait service was attentive and knowledgable making food recommendations to both of us. Our cocktails before dinner were good tasting and reasonably priced. We both had pastas for our entrees that were tasty and cooked perfectly and seemingly authentic (I am not an italian or medeterrainian food expert by any means). The overall layout was nice, but it was very loud even with the place not being that busy for the entirety of our dinner service with us having to speak louder than normal for conversations. Parking was tricky since this was the same night as an event downtown so the lots and side streets were all full nearby (probably won't be an issue normally), so I went with valet, which was still reasonably priced and convenient. Overall it was a great dining experience and we had a good time, I will go back in the future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our wedding reception at Bistro B ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had our wedding reception at Bistro Bella Vita 13 years ago, and love to visit as often as possible. The food and drinks are always amazing. Our server was appropriately attentive, welcoming, and helpful. We definitely plan to return for more amazing dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and ambience. My ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambience. My friends and I loved the food. The salmon, chicken and brisket were all delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am sorry, but this restaurant has gone ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I am sorry, but this restaurant has gone down hill; my food had no flavor at all and the carrots were so mushy it was like eating baby food. Service was super slow, I am cutting them a break there since it was New Years Eve and busy. The one good thing was my Chocolate Martini; I may be pack for drinks, but probably not for dinner. I can get a lot tastier meal else where for a lot fairer price; sorry.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food and service. From the appetiz ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service. From the appetizers to dessert everything was superb.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our anniversary dinner was delightful. V ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was delightful. Very attentive staff, delicious food and wine, and lovely ambiance. A great evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Private Room, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was better than anywhere else. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was better than anywhere else. On top of that the waitress was great and the atmosphere was one that couldn't be beaten. It was an amazing experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent! The server Luke ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was excellent! The server Luke was the perfect amount attentive, while not overbearing. I know when salt and pepper is absent from the dining room the experience will either be absolutely lacking because of over confidence, or a great food experience from sure hands. This was the latter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very nice dinner and a knowledge, help ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 22, 2016

A very nice dinner and a knowledge, helpful waitress. A minor annoyance that the bussers were overly ambitious. Felt that we were being rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had an excellent meal, and our server, P ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had an excellent meal, and our server, Preston, was outstanding.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Made a reservation for 8 people. Bistro ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Made a reservation for 8 people. Bistro had us down for 2 people? Were informed that open table is not the preferred method of reserving a table and the limit is 4 people for such reservations? Were seated at two high tops near the rear exit. Was rather awkward. Couln't hear each other talk? Staff were gracious. Food was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Special evening with my wife. Profession ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Special evening with my wife. Professional host took care of every request made prior to arrival and or server was phenomenal. Great Dinner, definitely worth the price

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to treat my love for a birthday din ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Went to treat my love for a birthday dinner and was yet again impressed. Have been here before and enjoyed it very much again this visit. Great food, great atmosphere and a great server who was kind and prompt. When we return to Grand Rapids again I am sure Bella Vita will be where we dine. Fantastic job guys.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food at Bistro!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Always great food at Bistro!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I recently enjoyed a grea ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I recently enjoyed a great meal celebrating our anniversary at Bistro Bella Vita. The extra touches (white tablecloth, flowers on the table, and dessert on the house) were so appreciated and helped make the night special. Food and service were phenomenal...my husband's beef bourgionne was so tender and flavorful! I had the four cheese ravioli which was very good, though portion size was small compared to other dishes. My only complaint is that the restaurant gets pretty loud on a Saturday night, so we went somewhere afterwards for quieter conversation. I'd definitely recommend bistro to anyone for a great night out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We so enjoy Bistro Bella Vita. We will ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We so enjoy Bistro Bella Vita. We will come back and recommend to everyone!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitstaff was attentive and friendly, me ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Waitstaff was attentive and friendly, menu selection was good but slightly expensive. Noise level was a bit much on a busy weekend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic as always. Our favorite when w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fantastic as always. Our favorite when we get to GR. Chloe was our server and she did an outstanding service as well as being very personable.

See you all again soon

Tags: Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, , Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dining experience. Food ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience. Food was delicious and presentation was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our lunch with my wife and a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch with my wife and a friend, our food was really tasty and original, especially the ravioli 4 cheeses!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, creative meal. Really good se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent, creative meal. Really good service. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious, atmosphere was great ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was delicious, atmosphere was great, the service was a little less then I would have expected for a restaurant of this caliber. Hostess was great and our reservation was handled perfectly but the server was a little lackadaisical with the food and drink orders(They were not overly busy). It did not seem like our experience was much of a priority for said person BUT he was very nice when he was attending to our orders. All in all i just would have expected a little bit more attentativeness and maybe an emphasis on the experience/special occasion we were there for as it was blatantly obvious we were there for a birthday but not once did the server ask/say/or do anything to acknowledge it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Booked a reservation with OpenTable and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Booked a reservation with OpenTable and was very pleased. Bistro Bella Vita honored my request for my wife's 60th birthday and put us in a little corner with a linen tablecloth to make it extra special . Nice wine selection, some really creative salads and main entrées and great service. I was so pleased that I called the manager over to thank her for making my wife's special occasion so nice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner, first time visit it ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Anniversary dinner, first time visit it was worth it and we will probably return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Ah, this was my first visit to the Grand ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Ah, this was my first visit to the Grand Rapids area in, well, 46 years. It has changed and so have I. Pretty, smoothly functioning and serviced large-scale restaurant with an Italian name, French names on the bathrooms and a dish called gnocchi francaise; well, that kinda says it all. The special paella was quite good. Downtown Grand Rapids 2016!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I went here with my boyfriend for my bir ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I went here with my boyfriend for my birthday, and was not disappointed! I ordered the salmon with butter soup, which came with roasted cauliflower, mushrooms, and kale. The salmon was wonderful, and the other parts paired fantastically. The portion of salmon wasn't huge, but I didn't mind since we were going to get dessert. My boyfriend ordered the Rustica pizza, and was very happy with it. The pizzas are a decent size, maybe a medium at pizzaria, but he ate the whole thing. They have a great dessert deal where you can get 3 for $16, where 1 is ordinarily $7.50. We got the tiramisu, the crème brûlée, and the flourless chocolate cake, all of which were amazing. I'd definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food . Will defini ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent service and food . Will definitely be revisiting this place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. It was a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food and service was excellent. It was a bit loud for dinner conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Food + Great Server = wonderful ex ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great Food + Great Server = wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, Preston was really aweso ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food was great, Preston was really awesome, always love my times at the Bistro

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very pleasurable dining experie ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a very pleasurable dining experience with an outstanding waitress who understood we were not in a hurry yet was very attentive to our needs. Excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pecan pie was outstanding! All of o ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

The pecan pie was outstanding!

All of our servers were great and personable

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal at Bistro Bella Vist ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always a great meal at Bistro Bella Vista, great location if you have a night out downtown. They always have a specials menu and we like to try new things.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing service as well as incredible fo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing service as well as incredible food. Truly an experience set in a great atmosphere. I had Wegyu beef as well as Amish chicken and I can honestly say it was the best dinner I've ever had.

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited recently on a trip to Grand Rapi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Visited recently on a trip to Grand Rapids. My wife and I had the Antipasta, Goat Cheese, and the bread for two to start and all three were great. For our entrees I had the Cassoulet which was amazing and my wife had the Pot au Feu from the specials list, which she said was amazing. The only knock I could see on the food was that you could say it lacked color as there was a lot of browns and beige on the plate but to me it was just amazing, unpretentious comfort food. Everything was cooked and seasoned perfectly and the portion sizes were much bigger than we anticipated. For dessert we had the Cheese Cake and the Pecan Pie special, again, both of which were very good. The service was great also. We never felt rushed or like the waiter was trying to up sell us on drinks, apps or desserts and when we asked him for help choosing between a few options he was honest, not pushy and didn't just steer us towards the most expensive item. Overall it was a great experience and I'd highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.