About Bistro Bella Vita

44 Grandville Ave SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

At Bistro Bella Vita delivers the maximum guest experience with superior food, beverage and service. Their specialty is natural Mediterranean Country Cuisine made from scratch daily. French Flair and Italian Twist. Fresh. Natural. Local. Bistro Bella Vita takes pride in their cuisine. The house-made recipes feature delicious flavors of the Mediterranean prepared in a brick oven, grill and rotisserie with the highest quality ingredients, because fresher ingredients make the freshest cuisine. In-season, the restaurant uses chemical-free produce from local farmers because it's healthier and tastes best. But don't take their word for it... come in and taste for yourself.

Pair your meal with a glass or bottle of wine from our wine list featuring over 100 bottles from around the world. Or enjoy a hand-shaken martini from West Michigan’s largest martini bar. Specialty menu items are available for gluten-free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian and vegan diets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: Special Occasions Only

Cross Street:
Weston and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 222-4600

Website:
http://www.bistrobellavita.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking and 4 lots and ramps are located either adjacent to the building or within a short walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Wise

Private Party Facilities:
A Dining Experience Like No Other. Treat yourself and your guests to the ultimate dining experience: Bistro's chef’s table. Enjoy an exclusive, multi-course meal featuring creative dishes prepared Bistro-style with only the very best, hand-selected, seasonal ingredients. Executive Chef Patrick Wise personally presents each course as it’s served with a history of the food, details about the dish and the complexity of its flavors. You also can enjoy your chef’s table experience like no other.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Wise: 6162224600x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roasted Mushroom Crostini
Seafood Spaghetti
Lobster Gnocchi
charcuterie
Urban Mushroom Crostini
Calamari
Rotisserie Roasted Amish Chicken
Dirty Martini
Paella
Vanilla cheese cake
Chicken
Motor City Mule
Ricotta Pound Cake
Salmon, Potato Latke And Broccoli Slaw
Duck Two Ways
Amber Agave Margarita
Bianca Pizza
Pine Crest Beef 3 Ways
Goose Island Matilda
Beef Carpaccio
Proscutto And Fruit Salad
Arugula Salad
Fusilli
Atlantic Salmon
S&S Beef App
Cider Braised Pork Belly
Sea bass
Cheesecake
Pork Tenderloin
Chilled Cantelope And Black Mission Fig Soup
Spread
Pizza
Young's Double Chocolate Stout
Bell's Porter & Huma Lupa Licious IPA
Hummus Bowl
Tiramisu
Vegan Succotash
Deep Fried Artichoke Hearts
Butternut Squash Pizza
3 Course $25 Menu
Formaggi
Honeycrisp Salad
Butternut Squash&Roasted Kail Pizza
Rotini Con Pollo With Out Pollo
Ceaser Side Salad
Kiddy Cocktail With Lemonaid
Beet Bisque W/Chevre
Orriechiette
Gnocchi
Vanilla Gelato
Salmon With A Michigan Cherry Glaze

Bistro Bella Vita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
6 More
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (80)
fit for foodies (75)
good for groups (54)
See All
romantic (49)
notable wine list (46)
hot spot (32)
great for lunch (25)
neighborhood gem (25)
vibrant bar scene (19)
great for outdoor dining (12)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (9)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Visited here twice during a recent a bus ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 4 days ago

Visited here twice during a recent a business trip to Grand Rapids. Once for lunch and once for a light dinner. Food was outstanding both times and I look forward to going back to try even more menu items. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service is always spot one. The best in ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service is always spot one. The best in G.R. Essence Group restaurants are the best overall in G.R. for service and food quality.

Dinner was perfect. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting was quite nice, the staff ve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The setting was quite nice, the staff very friendly and accommodating, and the food delicious. I loved my meal, though it really upset my stomach, but I'm guessing that's because my pasta sauce was so rich (it tasted amazing). I had asked for a nice table for a special occasion for 2; they gave us a table for 4, a vase of flowers, and didn't put anyone by us, which was quite nice. I saw a few large groups come in, and despite it not being very busy, was still kind of loud. I found it kind of strange that our table was kind out in the open, right by the entrance, so it wasn't very private. But, I hadn't asked for private, nor did I mention it was for a date, so I'm still quite pleased. I loved my first experience and can't wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious arugula salad and duck ravioli ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious arugula salad and duck ravioli! Not as loud on outside deck. Very nice wine list. Excellent service! So glad they had valet parking!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been many times, but not in quite ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We've been many times, but not in quite some time. This experience was disappointing.

1) The food presentation was careless. We ordered three appetizers, and all looked thrown together.

2) The server seemed to guess when we asked what was on the antipasti plate. No mention of the local origin of the cheeses and meats, etc.

3) The wine presentation was awkward.

Our bill was around $400, which is typical for a business dinner for us. However, the treatment, the food quality and the service were not on par with our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Gnocchi was good. Was not impressed at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Gnocchi was good. Was not impressed at all with paella - too much chorizo and not enough flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I had made a reservation at Bistro Bella ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I had made a reservation at Bistro Bella Vita to celebrate my partners birthday. I explained to them how my partner and I were moving states a while to pursue career goals etc. I told them I really wanted to make her birthday special. I told them her favorite dessert. A warm apple crostata with vanilla bean gelato. I never heard anything back so I assumed they just didn't have time. I was proven SO wrong. We came in, were greeted like old friends and taken to a table with an extra special set up. They brought u s a small bouquet and lined the tables with eloquent linen. Everything during the meal was delicious. We were just about to ask for a dessert menu when our server asked us if we were ready for the crostata. My partners eyes lit up like the fourth of july. We loved it so much and are so thankful you gave us this experience. We will always come back to celebrate. Thank you Bistro Bella Vita.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best restaurant expe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was one of the best restaurant experiences we've ever had. The staff was on point with being visible and attentive without being overbearing or hovering. Drinks were refilled quickly, empty plates disappeared immediately, the kitchen was efficient at preparing very flavorful and properly prepared food in a timely manner, and the atmosphere was pleasant and conducive to an enjoyable conversation without straining to hear or speaking up. The paella was fantastic, as was my wife's gnocchi, and they had mocktails for those who aren't able to have alcohol (pregnant or driving, etc.) but want something more than water or tea. We will definitely come back to Bistro Bella Vita!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of our favorite places in GR. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Still one of our favorite places in GR. Very few times are we disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and celebrated our 18th annivers ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and celebrated our 18th anniversary. We both had menu items picked, and based on our selections our waiter suggested specials that we might enjoy. We selected the specials and were not disappointed! Try the carrot cake - absolutely incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another outstanding meal at Bistro Bell ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Another outstanding meal at Bistro Bell Vita! My wife and I eat a gluten free diet, on this visit we tried started with a chopped salad and moved on to the Cassoulet and the Paella. Both dishes were outstanding and did not lack anything by being gluten free. The drinks were excellent and the service was great. We will definitely return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been there a few times now and I ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have been there a few times now and I have never had anything that I didn't like. The quality of the food is very good and service is great as well. The main meal portions are perfect in size although I wish that I could say the same about the appetizer portions which I feel are a bit small for what you pay for. Be sure to make room for dessert as they are very tasty (I love the tiramisu and the creme brûlée).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were vacationing in the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

My husband and I were vacationing in the Grand Rapids area and had dinner at Bistro Bella Vista twice. We both loved it. The food is delicious, the servers excellent and attentive. We liked the atmosphere and decor, too. My favorite meal was the duck ravioli - incredible! Altogether one of the best restaurants we have ever experienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good. Our issue was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was really good. Our issue was for the price the portion size was rather small - seemed like a lunch portion at a dinner price. We have eaten here a few times and this is the first time we were saddened by the small portions. We are hoping that it was just an off day because it was Father's Day and getting busy. We will go back, for sure. Wait staff is wonderful and the food was well prepared flavor wise.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bistro Bella Vita is a great place for s ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Bistro Bella Vita is a great place for special occasions or everyday dining. The food is always great! They cater to food allergies and sensitivities so I am always sure the food will taste great and also be good for me and my father who also has food intolerances. My husband who can eat everything also loves the food here. It is our go to place in GR when dining out! Great ambience! Great wait staff! Fabulous chefs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious! My two dining partn ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious! My two dining partners and I all ordered something different. All dishes were well prepared and delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were extremely satisfied . The servic ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were extremely satisfied . The service was excellent. Our waiter was more than helpful and the serving staff as a whole was truly professional and added to a relaxed and enjoyable dinner. The most difficult part of the evening was deciding on what gem to choose from the menu. The Tajine was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good....but Expensive! We ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was very good....but Expensive! We arrived before 6pm. By 7:15 the noise level was quite high. But our waiter, Brian, was WONDERFUL and very helpful when we realized we were running late for our show at the Civic Theater.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, great service! This was the ...

 
 (Springfield)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food, great service! This was the second sit there and I have to say it was even better than the first. There were three in our group. Everyone ordered something different and each of us enjoyed every bite. Well prepared, good portions. The service was excellent. The server was attentive but not intrusive. Everything was timely and he anticipated our needs. Never once had to ask for anything. Definitely will go back. Strongly recommend to anyone looking for a great experience in downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It wasn't horrible but it was very loud ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It wasn't horrible but it was very loud and I got the mushroom ravioli and I only got like 5 ravioli in my meal and it was 20+ dollars for them they were not that good. I think I would have like going to the Olive Garden better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great service and food for our anniversa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service and food for our anniversary dinner. A little pricy but for a special event night it was worth the price. Great setting, staff, and food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Paella and prepared the way I ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent Paella and prepared the way I prefer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu with unique and delicious foo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great menu with unique and delicious food selections...and really good service. Not too noisy. Great overall experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entree doesn't come with a soup or salad.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The entree doesn't come with a soup or salad to start so be prepared to pay $6 or more for a salad on top of the appetizer cost and entree costs. Very expensive for just a filet mignon that tasted like every other cheap restaurants (i.e. Applebees & Texas Corral) filet. The beef brisket was mostly fat but comes looking huge. The potatoes were homemade and outstanding. This coming from a person who will not eat fake potatoes and always have to order a baked potato to get a real one. Service was outstanding too!! They had designated employees to walk around and no joke as soon as you are done with your last bite they scoop your dishes away so you don't have them messing up your table. OCD didn't kick in once!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Preston was the best waiter ever! The fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Preston was the best waiter ever! The food is great but I always believe these ice can make it excellent - would def go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Service was impeccable;the

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was delivered in a timely fashion. Wine suggestions parred well with our entries . We both felt welcomed and appreciated for choosing to dine @ the Bistro.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We so enjoy the vibrant atmosphere, the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We so enjoy the vibrant atmosphere, the awesome menu, and ever changing specials.

It's our Downtown "go to" for fun, and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and great service

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had not been to Bella Vita for a while and are happy to say its as great as its always been - great spot before a downtown show! We will be back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Take that, Ruth's Chris...Phantom meal that rules!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

OK, so a couple of weeks ago my wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Ruth's Chris. To summarize, it was a great experience and a 5 out of 5 in almost every category. The service was great, the atmosphere wonderful and the food excellent...except for my NY Strip. It wasn't that it was bad, it was just not great. And when paying $49 for a steak at arguably the most well known, quality steak house in America you would expect it to be FAB-U-LOUS.

Then, this past week we ate at Bistro Bella Vita before heading to see "Phantom". Now, I have been to BBV many times over the years and there are many reasons it is one of my favorite restaurants. And this time reaffirmed that...in spades. As usual, the service, atmosphere and total experience was excellent. But, for whatever reason I again ordered a NY Strip. And that was when RC suffered a blow.

The steak was perfection. Serious perfection. Done correctly, tender a NY Strip as I have ever had and at almost half the price! Oh, and the cucumber martini is also FAB.

My wife and I were in heaven as we enjoyed the meal and the time together. And personally, I liked the meal much better than the show (don't tell my wife ;^)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasty and service was outstandi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was tasty and service was outstanding. Would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The duck ravioli is incredible, it had a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The duck ravioli is incredible, it had a buttery sauce and was very savory. I would definitely recommend it to most friends who enjoy quality food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a busy, concert night and we felt ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

It was a busy, concert night and we felt slightly rushed. Other than that, it was a typical, wonderful night at Bistro.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I will go back but.....

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My server dumped some of my martini in my lap well she shook it. Not her fault, but I was very surprised she didn't remove it off my bill. I was once a server and that's what I would have done if it had been me. I've been to Bistro Bella Vita multiple times and will continue to go and recommend it to friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great - will go again next time in Grand Rapids

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Good foof great service thou we felt a little rushed - will go to again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect location before a concert at Van ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Perfect location before a concert at VanAndel! Got in and out quickly and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

First time there, would definitely go ba ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

First time there, would definitely go back. Our service was wonderful (Thanks Elizabeth!) the food was amazing as well. Our server was very helpful for the Gluten Free member of our party, and the Menu had some good GF options. We highly recommend the Cassoulet (with the egg!) and the Paella. They were both top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always a great place to dine. one of our ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

always a great place to dine. one of our favorite go to places.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fabulously consitent

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Bistro is the rare restaurant where food and service are outstanding every time. Thank you for a wonderful meal with a gracious waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we'll be back!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable place to celebrate our Anniversary. Very good desserts, especially the pick 3 smaller portions option.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Service

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Preston was an amazing server. He did a great job. He was our favorite part of the dining experience. The food was ok for the price. I was expecting a little more for the price. The drinks were overpriced for what you got. I was looking for a little more and they just didn't hit the mark.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.