About Bistro 821

821 5th Avenue South
Naples, FL 34102
View Larger Map

Bistro 821 is the Popular local restaurant
where the locals come to dine. We feature an extensive menu of the best dishes from our 15 years of being on 5th Ave in Naples Florida. Large parties over 10 people must call us directly. Private Dining Room Avaialble
Our service is friendly, attentive and unpretentious. We have a full liquor bar
and a fantastic wine list.

Bistro 821 is a restaurant you will come too again and again, a place where you will be remembered.
Locally owned and operated, you will always find owners Billy Holcomb or Chef Jesse Housman ready to take care of all your needs.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 261-5821

Website:
http://www.bistro821.com/

Catering:
Private Chef Services, Private Parties, Private dining room available

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking behind restaurant
as well as 2- 4 level parking garages behind our parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Housman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining Room on second floor with sweeping view of busy 5th Ave in Naples, seats up to 35 people. Special Menus available. High Speed Internet 50 inch Plasma TV

Bistro 821 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (70)
Special Occasion (66)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Casual (61)
Great for Outdoor Dining (59)
People Watching (56)
Outstanding Value (52)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Worth the Drive (48)
Fun (46)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Hot Spot (32)
Comfort Food (31)
Happy Hour (28)
Good for Groups (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Cozy (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Romantic (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Authentic (14)
Seasonal (14)
Scenic View (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Healthy (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (0)
Sort By:
S
2500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dined with different friends twice la ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

We dined with different friends twice last week.

Both nights the meals were excellent and service top notch.

Steaks were prepared exactly as ordered and sea bass is as good as advertised !

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Server Scott was great. We have been ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Our Server Scott was great. We have been several times and always had a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sea Bass entree was superb, one of best ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Sea Bass entree was superb, one of best fish dishes I've eaten. The snapper was crusted with a flavorful and extraordinary seasoning. Scallop special was perfectly prepared. Salad was delicious. Inside was very noisy, but we enjoyed outside on a lovely evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Sat by the sidewalk,beautiful evening, g ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Sat by the sidewalk,beautiful evening, good food, we were not rushed, leasurely finished our bottle of wine...had a wonderful evening with our friends....have come here many times.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food and server Mark were amazing as alw ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and server Mark were amazing as always. Early dining is such a great deal. We sat outside and the traffic was heavy and noisy. However, did not disturb our dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent meal outside on a be ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had an excellent meal outside on a beautiful night. Our server,Scott was attentive and helpful with my dietary needs. As a person with Celiac,dining out can be challenging. Scott took the time to confirm the safety of my meal. It was delicious!

Ask for an outside table, great people watching!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

always wonderful, never disappoints us, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

always wonderful, never disappoints us, we have been coming here for 15 years.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, great food, seating outsi ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service, great food, seating outside. Bistro 821 is one of my favorite places to take guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had awesome lobster with potatoes and as ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Had awesome lobster with potatoes and asparagus for $30. Off of 5th Ave in Naples, can't beat that. I liked the outdoor area, but I wasn't in love with the indoor area. The food was great and Jack our server was awesome! Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Best snapper I ever had

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Best snapper I ever had

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were given a gift card for Christmas ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

We were given a gift card for Christmas so we decided to order off the regular menu. Our choices were sea bass and pot roast. Both were delicious, plus the two different salads we ordered. We will definitely go back and next time try the special's that include a bottle of wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, , Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food is excellent, a grea ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, the food is excellent, a great menu and the service is wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have an excellent meal and gre ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We always have an excellent meal and great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sea bass with Miso sauce is deliciou ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The sea bass with Miso sauce is delicious!. One member of our party had the steak special and thought it was outstanding...tender and cooked perfectly. Service was good, pleasant server. Noise level is very high and traffic between tables was very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in Florid ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Florida. Never disappoints. This time was for Valentines Day. Service was great with perfect timing. Food is always wonderful. I will always make it a point to come back here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a friend visit from Chicago and we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had a friend visit from Chicago and we had a fabulous meal with incredible service. Our meals came as described on the menu and also the special that I ordered came exactly as described. Our waitress was kind, friendly and very attentive. Overall a five star experience.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sea Bass was better than Nemo's that ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Sea Bass was better than Nemo's that has the reputation for the best Sea Bass. It is the #1 sea food restaurant in Naples.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good menu. I had a cowboy ribeye which ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good menu. I had a cowboy ribeye which was over mashed potatoes and asparagus and it was cooked perfectly. My wife had the nut and berry salad which was perfect. Well done Bistro 821.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food, wonderful eve ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service, great food, wonderful evening. We were given a gift voucher a few years ago and it was still honored this year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our new Naples favorite even though we h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our new Naples favorite even though we have eaten there many times. Outstanding entrees include their miso bass, Thai prawns and the snapper.

Only minor disappointment was the bread as I like a real crisp crust.

Many of choices on Fifth but there is a reason Bistro 821 is always busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nick at the bar was great! Very efficie ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nick at the bar was great! Very efficient and friendly! Delicious appetizer!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience was a disappointment, won't b ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Experience was a disappointment, won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We have dined at Bistro 821 several time ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have dined at Bistro 821 several times in the past. But our experience this time was not a good one. The restaurant was overly crowded -- no space between tables and high noise level to the point that conversation was difficult at best. Our waiter tended to the needs of two larger tables and ignored us. He couldn't even get our order correct. When the entrees arrived, my husband's meat loaf was correct, but my Chicken pot pie was not even close. So of course, my husband had to eat his dinner while it was warm while I waited for mine to arrived as he was finishing his. It will be while before we return to Bistro 821. s

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

My sister and her husband came to visit~ ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My sister and her husband came to visit~I chose Bistro 821 for one of our meals out because my husband and I enjoyed it so much last year when we were in Naples. We all thought it was outstanding~ best value in Naples. Do not miss Bistro 821.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, excellent service, a bit nois ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Good food, excellent service, a bit noisy, but 5th Ave. was buzzing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service was very good as usual. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food and service was very good as usual. Always great value at Bistro 821.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was fantastic. Waited a bit for our ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was fantastic. Waited a bit for our entrees, otherwise service very good.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had the "Wine & Dine" special. Everythin ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Had the "Wine & Dine" special. Everything about it was fantastic! Great restaurant!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here while visiting my parents in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Dined here while visiting my parents in Naples. More of a steakhouse than a bistro, the food was good. Nothing fancy here. Steak, mashed potato and asparagus. But the steak was cooked perfectly, and I love comfort food like this. It plays well with the retired crowd who want simple, straightforward food. It's on 5th Avenue in Naples, so it was less pricey than other available options but they get their $$ either way. If you are int he area and want a good meal at a more reasonable rpice than most places on 5th Avenue, try this.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the early dining specials. We upgra ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Love the early dining specials. We upgraded to the delicious sea bass- yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine and dine special is awesome. We alw ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Wine and dine special is awesome. We always get the sole. Delicious! Mashed potatoes and vegetables are perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Bistro 821 because their food is ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love Bistro 821 because their food is delicious and also a great value. Wait staff is always excellent, too. Quarters are a little snug and noise level is on the high side but we always make reservations here when friends come to town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Four diners, all happy with our meals. F ...

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Four diners, all happy with our meals. Fresh tomatos on pasta, tender delicious mussels and more seafood than pasta on the plate. By all means, wait for an outside table for people watching on Fifth Avenue and to be able to have a conversation as the restaurant can be very noisy. Service can be a little haphazard--had to ask for fresh pepper and grated cheese but overall delicious dinner. We didn't have dessert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were outstanding. N ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Noise level was uncomfortably high. The waiter, Mark, was very attentive, refilling bread and the accompanying olive oil immediately as needed. All of our entres were delicious, snapper, sea bass, fillet, and seafood risotto. The food was special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We ate outside which is something we rea ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We ate outside which is something we really enjoy and the weather was perfect. Traffic was noisy but the food and wine made up for the one downer. Our server was fantastic. I don't remember his name but he had lived in Middletown , Ohio at one time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is fabulous. Great food. Gr ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This place is fabulous. Great food. Great service. Great value. We were there for a special birthday and they treated us so well. Our waiter, Mark, was the best. The menu is extensive and diverse. Everyone had a great meal. Will definitely return!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites on 5th Ave Always go ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of my favorites on 5th Ave

Always go when in town. Great seafood and usually very nice specials

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Been going for years when living in Old ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Been going for years when living in Old Naples. Love their special, especially out of Season. .Now in North Naples and find it very noisy for us, so looking forward to the slower months.

Our food was excellent as usual - Beef tips with Gorganzola and asparagus.

We ALWAYS book via Open Table whenever we can,anywhere, especially here in Season. There are now so many fine restaurants available from the site that it is idiotic to try the old. wait for a half hour or more to get seated.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

always a good meal with nice surrounding ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

always a good meal with nice surroundings Ate outside with great people watching on Fifth avenue Excellent service Jen was our server and was excellent. Nick is superb behind the bar

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff worded hard to accommodate our ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The staff worded hard to accommodate our party of 5 . We wanted outside seating. Meals were all excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.