About Bistro 67

1604 Champlain Ave
Whitby, ON L1N 6A7
View Larger Map

Bistro '67, located in the green certified Centre for Food at Durham College's Whitby campus, offers guests a unique dining experience.
Our menu revolves around the 'field to fork' concept, features the produce and delicious flavours from across the Durham Region, creating fresh and inspiring dishes
Visit Bistro '67 for a dining experience that will delight your taste buds.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Tapas / Small Plates, Continental

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tues - Fri: 11:30am - 5:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm Dinner:Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Thickson Road, Consumers Drive,Champlain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 721-3312

Website:
http://www.bistro67.ca/

Parking Details:
The driveway leading to the CFF and Bistro ’67 parking lot will be closed as of Friday, April 22. All those requiring access to the parking lot will be rerouted to the main Whitby campus entrance, located off of Champlain Avenue. Signage will be posted at the current entrance to indicate the detour.
The CFF validates parking tickets for all guests.
Thank you for your patience and co-operation during this time. Further updates will be posted as they become available.

Public Transit:
Close to the Whitby and Oshawa GO station.

Executive Chef:
Ron Subden

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private Chefs room looking into the kitchen which holds 8-10 guests suitable for Chefs Table, Boardroom, Party Room. Other areas within the Centre for Food for reception/cocktail hour and events 20-150

Private Party Contact:
Kelly O'Brien: 9057212000x4255

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check in on our facebook and twitter accounts for the latest events here at the Bistro. Ontario farmers, local craft brewers and some of Ontario's finest wineries will be hosting very special evenings that you won't want to miss.

"field to fork happens" at Bistro 67

Restaurant Photos

  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Grilled Birch Glazed Salmon
  • Cornish Game Hen
  • Warm Baked Flatbread
  • Steak Frites
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Grilled Birch Glazed Salmon
Cornish Game Hen
Warm Baked Flatbread
Steak Frites

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $25.00

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $25.00

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $25.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Garden fresh menu harvested from the Centre for Food gardens by our students. Special valid Sep 29, 2016 - Nov 3, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Bistro 67 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Canadian
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Whitby ›

Fit for Foodies (68)
Special Occasion (67)
Great for Lunch (48)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for Groups (43)
Scenic View (39)
Romantic (29)
Local Ingredients (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Healthy (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Casual (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (5)
Organic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One meal over cooked and another under c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

One meal over cooked and another under cooked. Nothing to write home about and will never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great meal! Enjoyed everything from cock ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal! Enjoyed everything from cocktails to dessert.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great service and meal. My gues ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always great service and meal. My guest really enjoyed the meal also. We will both be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of 5. 3 had the weekly ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were a group of 5. 3 had the weekly special of salad, trout and apple dessert for 25. By all accounts it was delicious and a good value. I had the beef tenderloin medalions which was also very tasty at 31 dollars. The birthday girl took the burger and fries which was a disappointment. The fries were so salty, none of us could eat them. The beef patty was under seasoned and was bland although good quality. She didn't eat the bun or the the peameal bacon. We all shared an onion ring starter with yogurt dip - delicious. We were a bit surprised that the waitress did not discount the bill for the inedible fries since they were hardly touched. That would have made the evening perfect. Just 5.00 off would have made such a difference.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We all enjoyed the food and the decor an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

We all enjoyed the food and the decor and brightness of the restaurant

The staff was friendly and informed but the wait time between finishing our meals and receiving the bill was quite long

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Beyond excellent service. Really went ab ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Beyond excellent service. Really went above and beyond to ensure we were taken care of.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Organic, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the mussels dish, the turkey ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We enjoyed the mussels dish, the turkey panini with soup special ( pork and chicken broth with vegies) and the duck egg quiche with kale, and tomatoes. The room is bright and modern in design. Our table overlooked the large vegie garden. My only suggestion would be to have the server come around a little more often, to fill water glasses and to check if we wanted anything else. All of us look forward to returning for their cooking classes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Had beef tenderloin. Was really good. Ni ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had beef tenderloin. Was really good. Nice private table that overlooked their "farm". Could have had a better wine selection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was great. Food was great. We re ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was great. Food was great. We really enjoyed it!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Value for the money, maintaining highest ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Value for the money, maintaining highest level of quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem in Whitby! Excellent custo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A hidden gem in Whitby! Excellent customer service from Gemma. Fantastic fresh food. Highly recommend the Grilled Cheese with Applewood Smoked Bacon and Blackberry.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Parking is ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent food and service. Parking is a bit awkward.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our beef dinner but our veget ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoyed our beef dinner but our vegetables were more raw than cooked. The small cobs of corn were not fresh.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My first time at this restaurant, my fri ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My first time at this restaurant, my friends and I had a great time. The food was really good and the waitress was very friendly and helpful. I will be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The carrot soup was excellent. The black ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The carrot soup was excellent. The blackberry grilled cheese sandwich was awful. It tasted like you were eating jam on toast. The blackberries soaked through the bread and was visually unappealing.

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

First visit and it's a ten in all areas, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

First visit and it's a ten in all areas, food, ambiance, service! Will definitely come back. The only thing that was not 100% was the a/c being cranked a little too high. I wore short sleeves and my arms were freezing at the end of our visit.

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favourite places to go. They ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

One of our favourite places to go. They use a lot of ingredients they either grow themselves or are sourced locally. Brillant, creative and very delicious dishes! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved it was local. Loved the field to f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Loved it was local. Loved the field to fork concept.

Server was just perfect

Not noisy. Good great

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Entrance is somewhat confusing and the p ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Entrance is somewhat confusing and the parking is a bit of a nuisance,but overall well worth it. The food was delicious and creative. Will definitely go again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the concept of from field to table ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Love the concept of from field to table and the use of local produce and ingredients. We enjoyed the lunch and would definitely be back! I wish the restaurant was open for lunch on Saturdays and Sundays.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I rarely get out for "dat ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I rarely get out for "date nights." We had been wanting to try Bistro 67 for a while and were not disappointed. We both really enjoyed our meals!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We both had the daily special. It was ve ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We both had the daily special. It was very obvious by the dried and wilted look of the meat and vegetables that our meal had been cooked several hours ahead and had been held "warm". The dishes were uninspired and the presentation was lackluster at best. I use the term "warm" loosely because neither the plate nor the food was even close to being served hot. As a mother who's son graduated from a renowned 3 year Culinary Arts program and is now a successful Red Seal Chef in the recipe development industry I am well acquainted with teaching restaurants and the goals associated with them. In this case, the staff is not from the school, rather they are employed from the public sector and therefore the concept of this establishment is misleading.

Very disappointed and I feel I was deliberately mislead and misinformed. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

our meals were delicious and serving siz ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

our meals were delicious and serving sizes were appropriate. the food was hot and all courses were plated beautifully would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really liked the atmosphere. In the re ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I really liked the atmosphere. In the restaurant. It was very interesting learning about all the crops that you grow. The food was delicious and everything was tasty and hot.The waitress was very friendly and answered all our questions. We will certainly come back again.

Barbara Westervelt

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant and gardens - thoro ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent Restaurant and gardens - thoroughly enjoyed it. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We completed a survey while at the resta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We completed a survey while at the restaurant - enjoyed everything.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience overall! Up to par ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent experience overall! Up to par with the bistros in Toronto we usually go to. I am excitedly looking forward to my next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food but limited menu selection, e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food but limited menu selection, especially for children and teens. Nicely decorated, too noisy for an intimate meal but good for small gatherings or business meals. Our waitress never asked for drinks so we all drank water until it was time for dessert. Best part is the field to fork theme and the effort taken to source locally. Lunch for 5 cost $150 with tip, one shared appetizer, no drinks except coffee and only one dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our Server Sarah was great. The food ma ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our Server Sarah was great. The food marvelous.

Can't wait to try the Autumn menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place. I've been 3x for business ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great place. I've been 3x for business meetings. The only issue i seem to find every time I visit is that the food does come out quite slow. Not sure if it's to protect the quality of the food or not.

Other than that, fantastic place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Associated with college culinary program ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Associated with college culinary program. All local products, produce grown on site. Limited but creative menu selections. Students work both front and back of house as part of their training. You should definitely go and try it, but know that it is open and noisy, so not the place for a romantic or quiet date. It's for foodies looking for a unique experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere lovely spot wi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and atmosphere lovely spot will return service was amazing portions were huge and the wine pairings were perfect

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro 67 was our destination for a girl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bistro 67 was our destination for a girls night out. The food was amazing and well presented. The service and friendliness of the staff was exemplary. I would say that the overall value for the quality of food was excellent! I had no idea that we could have find fine dining on a reasonable budget so close to home!

I would definitely recommend bistro 67 to any of my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Bistro 67 twice, once for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I have been to Bistro 67 twice, once for lunch and recently for dinner. I went having heard very good reviews. I really want to like this restaurant because I know the staff/students try hard but both times, my meals have been misses - odd flavor combinations and not particularly well presented.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

They offered a 3 course meal for $25.00 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

They offered a 3 course meal for $25.00 each on Wednesdays which is a good option. We enjoyed every course. We had a red and yellow beet sorbet for dessert which was very good. I loved it but my husband would have liked a sweeter dessert. The only suggestion that I would have is to offer half litres of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was so fresh and tasted great. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was so fresh and tasted great. The chicken was the best I have ever had. I have only good things to say about Bistro 67. We will be going back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the interesting food p ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We really enjoyed the interesting food pairings! Loved the beet and mint sorbet for dessert :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was excellent, as always. One perso ...

 
 (Acapulco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was excellent, as always. One person at our table found the description of the food a bit too flowery for his tastes. He would have appreciated a more "down to earth" description.

The wine by the glass was quite pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for SummerFresh wednesdays. Grea ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went for SummerFresh wednesdays. Great value for 3 courses. Loved the entrée. The steak rivalled any steakhouse I've ever been to. The Beet and mint icecream was unusual but incorporated fresh items from the DC garden. Service was stellar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We totally enjoyed everything. Food w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We totally enjoyed everything. Food was very tasty. We will definitely come back and will recommend to everyone.

Thank You.

Wendy

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.