About Bistro 67

1604 Champlain Ave
Whitby, ON L1N 6A7
View Larger Map

Bistro '67 offers guests a memorable field-to-fork dining experience within Durham College's award-winning Centre for Food (CFF), where community, local agriculture and learning come together. A Three Star Certified Green Restaurant, Bistro '67 is also a recipient of the Feast On designation in recognition of our support for local food and beverage.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Tapas / Small Plates, Continental

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tues - Fri: 11:30am - 5:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm Dinner:Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Thickson Road, Consumers Drive,Champlain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 721-3312

Website:
http://www.bistro67.ca/

Parking Details:
The driveway leading to the CFF and Bistro ’67 parking lot will be closed as of Friday, April 22. All those requiring access to the parking lot will be rerouted to the main Whitby campus entrance, located off of Champlain Avenue. Signage will be posted at the current entrance to indicate the detour.
The CFF validates parking tickets for all guests.
Thank you for your patience and co-operation during this time. Further updates will be posted as they become available.

Public Transit:
Close to the Whitby and Oshawa GO station.

Executive Chef:
Ron Subden

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private Chefs room looking into the kitchen which holds 8-10 guests suitable for Chefs Table, Boardroom, Party Room. Other areas within the Centre for Food for reception/cocktail hour and events 20-150

Private Party Contact:
Kelly O'Brien: 9057212000x4255

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check in on our facebook and twitter accounts for the latest events here at the Bistro. Ontario farmers, local craft brewers and some of Ontario's finest wineries will be hosting very special evenings that you won't want to miss.

"field to fork happens" at Bistro 67

Restaurant Photos

  • Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Grilled Birch Glazed Salmon - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Cornish Game Hen - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Warm Baked Flatbread - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Steak Frites - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON

Report a photo problem

Grilled Birch Glazed Salmon - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Cornish Game Hen - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Warm Baked Flatbread - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Steak Frites - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON

Bistro 67 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (65)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Modern Decor (41)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Healthy (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Seasonal (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Organic (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Business Meals (23)
Casual (23)
Authentic (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Romantic (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Outstanding Value (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Cozy (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Tasting Menu (11)
Scenic View (10)
Vegan (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Fun (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Family Style (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I am a regular at Bistro 67 because it i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

I am a regular at Bistro 67 because it is an unusual restaurant in Durham Region. Great food at a reasonable price, all the service staff are students and trying very hard to do a good job.

I do not understand why it isn't full everyday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were able to get a reservation on sho ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were able to get a reservation on short notice in a convenient fashion and received quick confirmation. The staff we friendly and very helpful the food was well prepared and we didn't feel like we were being rushed. A very positive experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Would have been 5 overall but for the 'a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Would have been 5 overall but for the 'averageness' of the steak dinner my husband had. The pickerel was the besf I've ever had. Caesar salad was okay but not great. Nice quiet atmosphere and excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been to b67 a number of times and i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Have been to b67 a number of times and it is always worth it. Always!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual we we not disappointed with our ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual we we not disappointed with our New Year's Eve dinner at Bisro 67.

We've had the pleasure of dining here 3 or 4 times already and each time we are treated with a very friendly and enthusiastic staff and the most amazing menu selections. This meal was a set course and all 5 courses were beautifully presented and delicious. Especially loved the beet soup....this from a person who does not like beets!

Very proud of what Durham College is doing with this restaurant and it's students. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

An intimate setting to eat. The food was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An intimate setting to eat.

The food was tasty, plentiful and very good.

The service was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I loved the ambiance of this restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I loved the ambiance of this restaurant - initially it feels like you're walking through a college building to get there (because you are) but then it's this cute little spot tucked in the corner. The value for what we got was excellent. I especially love that it's local ingredients and was impressed with the creativity of the dishes. We had the soup, Charcuterie to start and then Vegan stirfry for dinner. The stir fry was just okay but that wouldn't stop me from going back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, , Gluten Free Options, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I love this place but was a bit disappoi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I love this place but was a bit disappointed with my last meal. The charcuterie platter for two was very good but my main meal was so-so. Not up to the usual standard for Bistro '67. Odd choice of (nearly) raw, unadorned, unsweetened rhubarb as an accompaniment to the fish. Might have been an off day.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Chef Peter worked well with our friend's ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Chef Peter worked well with our friend's heart/salt/sugar challenges. Made his evening so enjoyable, ours too. Many thanks to Peter.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my gf there for her birthday - grea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Took my gf there for her birthday - great food. Nothing at all to complain about. It is more of a fine dining experience at a lower price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service at this restaurant was outst ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The service at this restaurant was outstanding--very friendly; attentive but not intrusive; respectful and intuitive. The food, however, could use a lot of work. My stir fry was cooked properly (crunchy and fresh) but had almost no flavour. My friend's duck was tasty enough, but the skin was soggy. We ordered a cheese board to share for starters, and the cheese was cold. The wine selection is mostly Canadian, which is usually a poor choice, no matter how pricey the bottle, and the cocktails were inventive on paper, but a little too sweet in flavour. A good part of dining out for me is the service, so the night was still fun and a good experience, but I would never recommend this place based on the food. Also, for a teaching-restaurant, the prices were a little heavy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Everything was fantastic! Amazing servic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was fantastic! Amazing service, great food and everybody went above and beyond to ensure our son and daughter's birthday was memorable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Proportions could be a little more gener ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Proportions could be a little more generous. Had the catch of the day - would have enjoyed a few more vegetables. Everything was however just delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything at Bistro 67 was spectacular. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Everything at Bistro 67 was spectacular. The menu, service and food were the best I have had in Durham. It will be our new place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Soup of the day was good (squash) but ne ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Soup of the day was good (squash) but needed more flavour. Pike-Perch fish of the day was very good, but again, could have used more flavour. Vegetables were tender-cooked - my favourite. Good Ontario wine list. Turkey burger was overdone and my companion only ate a small portion. Fries with her meal were basic. Service was friendly and not intrusive. Price was on the high-end - a bit out of sync with the meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A hidden gem here in Whitby, with outsta ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A hidden gem here in Whitby, with outstanding food and service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten at Bristo 67 last year and wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Have eaten at Bristo 67 last year and was impressed then. Happy to return and be impressed again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lunch; a bit pricey; crust on ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent lunch; a bit pricey; crust on a very tasty dessert was somewhat resistant to a fork jab and made for an awkward moment or two .

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

the restaurant service and food were goo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2016

the restaurant service and food were good we had an enjoyable time and overall good experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I enjoyed the restaurant very much. It ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I enjoyed the restaurant very much. It was recommend by a family member and I was not disappointed. Food, service and facility was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great concept. Food showed care in sele ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great concept. Food showed care in selection and preparation. Acoustics of the room are sub-par -- very noisy. Will be back for lunch / group outing, but maybe not for a quiet evening / date

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our meal and the service we received wer ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our meal and the service we received were absolutely perfect. The lamb shank was the best I have ever had. It melted in my mouth. The rest of the meal was just as delicious. This is a very special place and I'm thrilled that it is close to home. Our friends from Toronto are already looking forward to returning to Bistro 67. ME TOO!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife and kids for the first time ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Took my wife and kids for the first time and they had a wonderful experience. .Nicole our server was very nice and patient and Kelsey the Manager was really sweet and and accommodating ..they showed our kids the kitchen and rhetorical glass enclosure that separates it from the board room...kitchen staff is really nice..

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the food and service was fabulous ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved the food and service was fabulous. Sharon I think her name was

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time to this unique res ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

It was our first time to this unique restaurant, it was a lovely evening, service was great, food was delicious and we were not made to feel rushed. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. Beyond my expec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food was excellent. Beyond my expectations. The room was much quieter than last time which I greatly appreciate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great place to meet with frie ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

This was a great place to meet with friends and talk while enjoying a delicious lunch. We were able to talk in a normal voice without competition with loud music in the background. There was a sense of privacy with the part wall between the window tables and even though there were other patrons nearby we didn't hear their conversations. The server was not hovering over us but was available if needed. We did not feel rushed and had a lovely experience. We would all go back again. I would highly recommend Bistro 67.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The evening was great! I had requested ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The evening was great! I had requested a table for 4 by the window. They were able to accommodate my request. It was a perfect location (past the bar and to the north side).

Thank you to our server who made the night special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent service, food and waitr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had excellent service, food and waitress. We were really impressed with the fact the vegetables and herbs are grown by the College. We were given a legend to view with all the vegetables and herbs. I would highly recommend this Restaurant. Our experience was top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food was great, but my pork ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Overall the food was great, but my pork special, the meat was overdone and my friend's caesar salad didn't appear to have romaine lettuce . unless she was mistaken or another type of salad or lettuce was substituted.

Tags: Vegan, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Organic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly surprised. Food was delicious ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Food was delicious. Will definitely be back with more friends!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place for special occasions. Foo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great place for special occasions. Food is fantastic, staff very friendly and professional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Usually food is amazing. This time the b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Usually food is amazing. This time the buns were stale and rock hard, and my pickerel was not cooked very well. Also the vegetables were hard.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall everything was excellent. My bur ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Overall everything was excellent. My burger was a tad over cooked, but that might be my fault as I didn't ask whether I could have it med rare.(it may not be an option) The only other quibble I have is although I love Caesar salad, their version with the kale and spinach was a bit too bitter, or needed a little more of their delicious dressing.

The soup was superb, and I have eaten here before and loved my meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We and our guests enjoyed a great meal. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We and our guests enjoyed a great meal. We look forward to making reservations soon.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Went there for my wife ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great experience. Went there for my wife,s birthday & everything was great, food , service & ambience.

Tags: Live Music, Sunday Lunch, , Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always! Prix fix menu cannot ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Awesome as always! Prix fix menu cannot be beat. I recommend Bistro 67 to everyone. Hidden gem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three out of four in our party through i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Three out of four in our party through it was good. I thought the veggies were overcooked and dry and the lamb exceedingly fatty and poorly trimmed.

We won't rush back

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Was a unique and flavorful menu

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Was a unique and flavorful menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

We opted for the prix fix meal @$35. Sou ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We opted for the prix fix meal @$35. Soup, main, dessert, a drink each and a bottle of wine. My husband enjoyed the soup, I didn't have it as I don't like mushroom soup, nothing was offered in place of. The main was flank steak and it was horrible, overcooked and so salty we couldn't eat it. We advised our server and the sous chef came out and apologized. We had dessert and it was just okay. When the bill came it was $170 with tip and tax. Nothing was removed from the bill, so we paid full price, my husband was not very happy about it. Unfortunately we won't be returning as that's a lot to pay for one soup, 2 drinks, wine and dessert. It's a very nice location, and the service was great but not the way to encourage returning customers when they send the food back and it remains on the bill.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.