About Bistro 67

1604 Champlain Ave
Whitby, ON L1N 6A7
View Larger Map

Bistro '67 offers guests a memorable field-to-fork dining experience within Durham College's award-winning Centre for Food (CFF), where community, local agriculture and learning come together. A Three Star Certified Green Restaurant, Bistro '67 is also a recipient of the Feast On designation in recognition of our support for local food and beverage.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Tapas / Small Plates, Continental

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tues - Fri: 11:30am - 5:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm Dinner:Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Thickson Road, Consumers Drive,Champlain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 721-3312

Website:
http://www.bistro67.ca/

Parking Details:
The driveway leading to the CFF and Bistro ’67 parking lot will be closed as of Friday, April 22. All those requiring access to the parking lot will be rerouted to the main Whitby campus entrance, located off of Champlain Avenue. Signage will be posted at the current entrance to indicate the detour.
The CFF validates parking tickets for all guests.
Thank you for your patience and co-operation during this time. Further updates will be posted as they become available.

Public Transit:
Close to the Whitby and Oshawa GO station.

Executive Chef:
Ron Subden

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private Chefs room looking into the kitchen which holds 8-10 guests suitable for Chefs Table, Boardroom, Party Room. Other areas within the Centre for Food for reception/cocktail hour and events 20-150

Private Party Contact:
Kelly O'Brien: 9057212000x4255

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check in on our facebook and twitter accounts for the latest events here at the Bistro. Ontario farmers, local craft brewers and some of Ontario's finest wineries will be hosting very special evenings that you won't want to miss.

"field to fork happens" at Bistro 67

Restaurant Photos

  • Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Grilled Birch Glazed Salmon - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Cornish Game Hen - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Warm Baked Flatbread - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
  • Steak Frites - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Grilled Birch Glazed Salmon - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Cornish Game Hen - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Warm Baked Flatbread - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON
Steak Frites - Bistro 67, Whitby, ON

Specials

Wine and Cheese Thursday's

Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Specials

Wine and Cheese Thursday's

Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Details

Two glasses of wine and a cheeseboard for $25.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy a Bistro '67 cheese board and two glasses of local feature wine. Special valid Oct 13, 2016 - Dec 29, 2016 on Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM.

Bistro 67 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Whitby ›

Local Ingredients (68)
Special Occasion (52)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Creative Cuisine (52)
Modern Decor (42)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Healthy (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Business Meals (25)
Seasonal (25)
Organic (25)
Romantic (23)
Casual (22)
Scenic View (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Authentic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Cozy (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Vegan (7)
Fun (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great concept. Food showed care in sele ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Great concept. Food showed care in selection and preparation. Acoustics of the room are sub-par -- very noisy. Will be back for lunch / group outing, but maybe not for a quiet evening / date

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our meal and the service we received wer ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Our meal and the service we received were absolutely perfect. The lamb shank was the best I have ever had. It melted in my mouth. The rest of the meal was just as delicious. This is a very special place and I'm thrilled that it is close to home. Our friends from Toronto are already looking forward to returning to Bistro 67. ME TOO!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife and kids for the first time ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Took my wife and kids for the first time and they had a wonderful experience. .Nicole our server was very nice and patient and Kelsey the Manager was really sweet and and accommodating ..they showed our kids the kitchen and rhetorical glass enclosure that separates it from the board room...kitchen staff is really nice..

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the food and service was fabulous ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the food and service was fabulous. Sharon I think her name was

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time to this unique res ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our first time to this unique restaurant, it was a lovely evening, service was great, food was delicious and we were not made to feel rushed. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. Beyond my expec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent. Beyond my expectations. The room was much quieter than last time which I greatly appreciate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The evening was great! I had requested ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The evening was great! I had requested a table for 4 by the window. They were able to accommodate my request. It was a perfect location (past the bar and to the north side).

Thank you to our server who made the night special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent service, food and waitr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had excellent service, food and waitress. We were really impressed with the fact the vegetables and herbs are grown by the College. We were given a legend to view with all the vegetables and herbs. I would highly recommend this Restaurant. Our experience was top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food was great, but my pork ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Overall the food was great, but my pork special, the meat was overdone and my friend's caesar salad didn't appear to have romaine lettuce . unless she was mistaken or another type of salad or lettuce was substituted.

Tags: Vegan, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Organic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly surprised. Food was delicious ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Food was delicious. Will definitely be back with more friends!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place for special occasions. Foo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great place for special occasions. Food is fantastic, staff very friendly and professional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Usually food is amazing. This time the b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Usually food is amazing. This time the buns were stale and rock hard, and my pickerel was not cooked very well. Also the vegetables were hard.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall everything was excellent. My bur ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Overall everything was excellent. My burger was a tad over cooked, but that might be my fault as I didn't ask whether I could have it med rare.(it may not be an option) The only other quibble I have is although I love Caesar salad, their version with the kale and spinach was a bit too bitter, or needed a little more of their delicious dressing.

The soup was superb, and I have eaten here before and loved my meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We and our guests enjoyed a great meal. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We and our guests enjoyed a great meal. We look forward to making reservations soon.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Went there for my wife ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great experience. Went there for my wife,s birthday & everything was great, food , service & ambience.

Tags: Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always! Prix fix menu cannot ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Awesome as always! Prix fix menu cannot be beat. I recommend Bistro 67 to everyone. Hidden gem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a unique and flavorful menu

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Was a unique and flavorful menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Three out of four in our party through i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Three out of four in our party through it was good. I thought the veggies were overcooked and dry and the lamb exceedingly fatty and poorly trimmed.

We won't rush back

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We opted for the prix fix meal @$35. Sou ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We opted for the prix fix meal @$35. Soup, main, dessert, a drink each and a bottle of wine. My husband enjoyed the soup, I didn't have it as I don't like mushroom soup, nothing was offered in place of. The main was flank steak and it was horrible, overcooked and so salty we couldn't eat it. We advised our server and the sous chef came out and apologized. We had dessert and it was just okay. When the bill came it was $170 with tip and tax. Nothing was removed from the bill, so we paid full price, my husband was not very happy about it. Unfortunately we won't be returning as that's a lot to pay for one soup, 2 drinks, wine and dessert. It's a very nice location, and the service was great but not the way to encourage returning customers when they send the food back and it remains on the bill.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We went to the restaurant for the first ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We went to the restaurant for the first time with friends. The concept of a school makes the dining experience unique. While I have a preference for traditional Caesar Salad, their Kale version was interesting. My hasband's fish was a little lacking in seasoning and the skin could have been crisp or blackened for added flavour. My pasta was delicious and I would certainly order that again. The banana cake dessert was one of the tastiest things I've eaten. Their wine selection was good although it wasn't extensive. I would definitely recommend as something different from the norm. The service was great and our waiter was happy and enthusiastic to talk about the on-site vegetable garden and the local ingredients.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fresh, good food served by attentive, kn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Fresh, good food served by attentive, knowledgeable waiter in a pleasant environment. Coupled with the knowledge that you are helping to train the next round of culinary greats, what more could you want for a fine dining experience?

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and atmosphere. Excell ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always great food and atmosphere. Excellent service!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere, the food was outst ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, the food was outstanding. Good

Experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was well prepared , excellent prese ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was well prepared , excellent presentation, delicious. Service was extremely good, server had good knowledge of items on menu and was attentive during the meal. A small starter salad with our meal might have rounded it out a little better but overall it was a very nice dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the third time that we've visite ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is the third time that we've visited Bistro 67 and we are still of the same opinion, best restaurant for the money we've been to. The food is always delicious, fresh and full of flavor. Keep up the great work and we'll see you soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For starters we were not impressed with ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

For starters we were not impressed with the waitress. Then she said something that was very inappropriate, and I quote "you look very sad" to me. Actually I was not sad, but what if I was? What if there was a very good reason for me to be sad? Do you think we would want to discuss this with her.

Next, the salad was pretty much inedible. It was supposed to be a caesar salad but it was unlike any caesar salad that I have ever had. The lettuce was very bitter and very stale and there was very little dressing on the lettuce. I mentioned this to my wife and she agreed immediately. We did not mention this to the staff because we did not want to cause a scene.

We expected a fine dining experience based on the cost ($107 for two of us) but because of the food and the waitress it was way below expectations.

I would not recommend Bistro 67.

W S

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Service and atmosphere were both great. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Service and atmosphere were both great. The potato/leek soup was very tasty. Our entreés took well over an hour to arrive and the server was apologetic and the chef later told us he forgot to make them when the order came in. I felt like maybe to help compensate for the long wait, our non-alcoholic drinks could have been removed from the bill or something but nothing was done. The chicken dish was a very small portion so I was glad I got a starter. All in all the food was tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I've been to the Bistro several times - ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I've been to the Bistro several times - a date night favorite for my husband and I - so I suggested it for a ladies evening out. As always the good was good, however i did find service to be very slow and the temperature in the restaurant was uncomfortably cool.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

This was my second visit, and I brought ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was my second visit, and I brought a friend for her birthday...she loved it.

The pickerell & fries, with delicious slaw sure hit the spot. Beautifully done

The flat bread was a treat. I bought a bottle of pickled beets from the Pantry...YUM!☆☆☆☆☆

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great restaurant with excellent, reaso ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

A great restaurant with excellent, reasonably priced food. Only complaint was the "Caesar Salad". Dressing was fine, but instead of the expected romaine lettuce the greens consisted entirely of a mix of kale and Swiss chard.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great spot for in season vegetables. The ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great spot for in season vegetables. The proportion of meat was generous and dessert &Presentation top notch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

My husband and I had a great time. The f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My husband and I had a great time. The food was amazing and the waiter was very quick and kind. I have been telling everyone I know to try this place out. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Modern Decor, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro 67 is unlike any other restaurant ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Bistro 67 is unlike any other restaurant in Durham region. The menu changes regularly, it is innovative, reasonably priced and delicious. The restaurant also uses the field to fork concept and usually uses locally grown produce, including their own gardens, and it shows.

The wait staff are hospitality students and their enthusiasm and eagerness to please makes up for any lack of professional waiting skills.

I recommend Bistro 67 to anyone.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My burger was overcooked, however, the r ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My burger was overcooked, however, the rest of the meals were very good. One issue is the lack of attention of the servers. They waited until most people came to wait on our table and others wanted a drink. We had to call over the servers each time versus them following up. In the end we felt rushed as some people had to go back to work.

Tags: Family Style, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

It was a very quiet Tues evening and we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

It was a very quiet Tues evening and we were there for a birthday. First visit for us both, I had the manicotti and my partner had the pickerel, We really enjoyed the freshness of the ingredients and said we would both like to come back and try some more items on the menu.

The atmosphere was a little to "bright" for my liking, I think some softer or dimmer lighting would help with the atmosphere.

Overall we enjoyed our dining experience and will be returning

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We've been to Bistro 67 many times and i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We've been to Bistro 67 many times and it never disappoints. The food is outstanding as is the ambiance. It's definitely our go to place in Durham!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came back to Bistro 67 because we lik ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We came back to Bistro 67 because we liked it so much the first time and this experience was equally as fantastic. The ambiance was great, the service prompt and friendly and the food was delicious. I think we've found our new favourite place in Durham.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved it! The server was so knowledg ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We loved it! The server was so knowledgeable and even talked about how and where the food was grown. Everyone loved their dish - so fresh and creative - without being weird or unusual. The cocktails were also creative and yummy! I had the duck, washed it down with a blackberry bourbon martini. The menu is a bit pricey for the area, but totally worth every penny. The portion sizes were perfect, enough that you could share apps, have a meal, and share a dessert and feel full and satisfied.

We are already planning our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time there. Will visit again. Gre ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Second time there. Will visit again. Great service and food

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, People Watching, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did fill out a survey at the restaura ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We did fill out a survey at the restaurant - table was not very clean - crumbson table - placemats needed to be wiped - lots is sediment in the wine bottle and glass - they never lit our candle - did many other tables but not ours - 3rd time dining here - previous times excellent all round

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.