Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 1.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 1.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 1.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 1.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.97mi

About Bistro 67

Bistro '67 offers guests a memorable field-to-fork dining experience within Durham College's award-winning Centre for Food (CFF), where community, local agriculture and learning come together. A Three Star Certified Green Restaurant, Bistro '67 is also a recipient of the Feast On designation in recognition of our support for local food and beverage.

1604 Champlain Ave
Whitby, ON L1N 6A7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Tapas / Small Plates, Continental

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tues - Fri: 11:30am - 5:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm Dinner:Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Thickson Road, Consumers Drive,Champlain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 721-3312

Website:
http://www.bistro67.ca/

Parking Details:
The driveway leading to the CFF and Bistro ’67 parking lot will be closed as of Friday, April 22. All those requiring access to the parking lot will be rerouted to the main Whitby campus entrance, located off of Champlain Avenue. Signage will be posted at the current entrance to indicate the detour.
The CFF validates parking tickets for all guests.
Thank you for your patience and co-operation during this time. Further updates will be posted as they become available.

Public Transit:
Close to the Whitby and Oshawa GO station.

Executive Chef:
Raul Sojo

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private Chefs room looking into the kitchen which holds 8-10 guests suitable for Chefs Table, Boardroom, Party Room. Other areas within the Centre for Food for reception/cocktail hour and events 20-150

Private Party Contact:
Kelly O'Brien: (905) 721-2000 ext. 4255

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check in on our facebook and twitter accounts for the latest events here at the Bistro. Ontario farmers, local craft brewers and some of Ontario's finest wineries will be hosting very special evenings that you won't want to miss.

"field to fork happens" at Bistro 67

Bistro 67 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (45)
Local Ingredients (41)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Healthy (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Business Meals (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Seasonal (17)
Organic (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Casual (14)
Scenic View (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fun (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great Beer (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vegan (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
502 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent, lots of room between tables. Despite being fairly busy it was a quiet peaceful atmosphere. Service was really good, overall we were very happy.
Only negative I think liquor is a little expensive there, $12 for a glass of wine is a little rich.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2017

great tasting food, well presented. superb coffee...I find the portions a bit small for the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This was my second time here and I took a friend for her birthday. The service was excellent and they went above and beyond to make the occasion special. The food was fantastic and everything tasted really great. We had the charcuterie board which was very generous portion wise with a lot of in house made items. The burger special and the tacos. All of these were excellent and the bread pudding birthday dessert was also amazing. Thanks!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful as always....innovative menu, deliciously different!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Today was our second anniversary so I wanted something quiet and relaxing, I have never been to Bistro 67 and had no idea that it was the training restaurant for the culinary arts department of Durham college. The students went all out. The music was local, "the hip, blue rodeo" the food was local, even the wine.

This was a night to remember and when the server, Cole, asked us how everything was, all i could say was, Wow!

My wife ordered the pasta of the week, and it came as a linguine with a green sauce covered in shaved parmesan. I got the Cornish hen on a bed of barley. Again, Wow!

For dessert we both had Tiramisu, and it was the cherry on top.

Cole was the one who suggested both the wine and the dessert and I would say has a bright future. Cole was the best part of the night and made my wife and I feel special.

Great night all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great service very accommodating and most importantly the food was delicious

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Eating here is an experience and the great plus is the market where you can purchase wonderful meals (us especially for our senior mom) to go.
The staff is fabulous as was the food delish !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I normally leave excellent reviews for this restaurant. It's a refreshing change to the endless restaurants that server same or similar food. We were disappointed with the cleanliness of our table this time. There were crumbs on the table, the wine and water glasses weren't cleaned properly, and there were no menus left on the table like there were on other tables. It looked like someone was there, browsed the menu, had some of their excellent bread and then left without ordering. Had this been our first time there, we wouldn't have returned.
Otherwise, service was good, the food was excellent as always, and very prompt.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have lived in the area for many years but had not yet visited Bistro 67 and I am so glad we decided to go. I had heard about the restaurant - its fresh field to fork concept - and also that it's a 'teaching' restaurant for hospitality and culinary arts students at Durham College. It's a gem and a totally professionally-run operation. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was delicious and so creatively presented. Vegetables and fruits from the DC garden! Even the wine we had was lovely and from a Niagara area winery we hadn't heard of, so we definitely will check it out now. All in all, a great evening and a lovely view of the surrounding gardens and fields. Well worth a visit plus they are open for lunch too. Definitely recommend it as one of the region's top restaurants!

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We received a gift card for here. We throughly enjoyed our late lunch. The food was tasty and plenty of it. Love the fact that it is locally grown plus the view from our table was of the gardens. One mistake was made on our order when I asked for the soup and got fries instead but she quickly corrected it with bringing the soup and leaving the fries for us to enjoy. Our server was very friendly!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We loved it. The food was awesome. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food is amazing that you will have a hard time trying to decide what you want to eat. However the wait staff are very helpful and patient with you. Cole was very knowledgeble and gave us great recommendations. The quality of the food is excellent. Its definitely a hidden gem of Whitby.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service was outstanding. The person who provided us with water did not say hi or acknowledge us ! The amazing waitress made up for her rudeness !

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Local spot run by Durham College. It has a great ambiance too! Both my boyfriend and I enjoyed our meals and the service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Beautiful food and excellent service. It's very nice to spend time here for a meal with a significant other here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Scenic View, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Dinner was excellent, service was prompt and courteous,waitress there when needed.
A great dining experience. I highly recommend Bistro 67.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We were a group of 8 ladies celebrating the wind-up of our bridge season. We were seated in the perfect spot at the end of the restaurant and we could all see and talk with each other. Our server was Cole and she was excellent, well informed and responsive. The food was good and there were enough options. The starter of the lettuce wrap was especially delicious. The price was moderate and the experience was well worth the price. Everyone who was working there was friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the whole evening there.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fantastic experience, food and service! They gave our kids a glimpse into the kitchen through a window by the chef's table which they loved! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great atmosphere , great service, I understand that they want to serve only Ontario everything. The selection of beer was not good there are lots of great beer in Ontario and the three they had I never even heard of. I also found their appetizer selection was lacking and had very small sizes. BUT the entire was out of this world ! my wife and I could not get over the freshness the taste and the portion (not to small but not to big). The desert was ok. Overall we will be back because we had a great time. It was a beautiful setting for us and we love the view of the well kept garden and it's nice seeing the college I graduate from every now and then. I look forward to seeing what new options they will bring the the menu in the fall season.

I don't want to over kill the Ontario thing but I'm pretty sure all the music they played were great artists and bands from Ontario ... lol : )

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Enjoyed the food and the ambiance. The service was excellent. This is a wonderful restaurant to have a quite romantic evening with your special person.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The main complaints were about service - salad missed being served on time, issue with the "special" entrée which resulted in substituted desert, then improper billing that needed sorting (billed for 3 entrées for the 2 of us). The food itself was absolutely delicious but the lack of professionalism about the service was a disappointment and was unexpected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We took my parents there after my convocation. They loved it. Said they would go back in a heartbeat.
Everyone enjoyed their meals. Overall, it was fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was amazing and the waitress professional but personable as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Overall we loved Bistro 67. Top notch service, great menu. Flat bread starter was a little bland, seemed to be missing something, and we felt the same about the pasta special. But we had another dish of wild rice, corn, beans, smoked chicken, etc. that was absolutely delicious. The dessert was also fantastic, a chocolate cream brulee. Despite the two dishes that we're a little underwhelming, we would still recommend and plan on going again as the menu changes depending on what's in season locally, and there are many other dishes we still want to try!

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vegan, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was creative. The only complaint was the fries which were overcooked and chewy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

It was our first visit and was impressed by the quality of the food and service. It will not be our last visit and will look forward to the next time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was easily some of the best I've eaten. The staff and atmosphere were great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Amazing food. Very professional. Shelby was very friendly and informative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our waitress was very attentive and did not miss a thing. The timing of the meal was perfect with each course coming out at just the right time. The dinner selection is small but the ingredients are locally sourced, and the presentation is excellent. Everyone was very friendly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Organic, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Food was delicious and the service excellent. Two suggestions - better signage on the main floor for directions to the restaurant. A maintenance man approached us and very politely gave us directions. While the wait for the food was worth it, there needs to be something on the table for guests to munch at - bread, whatever - while waiting.

I would certainly go to Bistro 67 again. The setting in marvellous, tables at the west end feel like being on the prow of a ship.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was delicious but my portion size on the artic char wouldn't have filled a 4 year old. I understand finer dining isn't like a buffet but it was barely an appitizer and I'm a 220lb guy. Plus my friends pork tenderloin was overlooked and dry. I hope my next experience is better or it will likely be my last.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Bistro 67 provided us with a fantastic meal paired with a very good bottle of wine. the ambiance and service was top notch and we can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 17, 2017

appetizer and desert were really great. Main course was tasty portion could have been a bit bigger. Beer was cold. Service was friendly very professional. Everyone (manger/ chef too) extremely pleasant. Avery enjoyable dinner. I will go back.

Tags: Organic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Bistro 67 never fails to impress us. Their food is always top notch and creative, they incorporate as many fresh, Ontario ingredients as possible (including those grown on site!), and the service is always amazing. Our server Amanda was delightful and made suggestions that didn't feel like upselling, but instead enhanced our meal.

It's our go-to place for a special occasion meal and always will be as long as the college has the restaurant up and running.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I was a little disappointed at first as we arrived in time for our 7:15 pm reservation but we were asked to sit at the front and wait! Waited close to 15mins to be seated when there were vacant tables. The waiterss who served us was sxtremely professional and knew her stuff re food, wine etc. The cheese platter was delicious ... overall we were pleased

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great experience! Our 3rd time dining at Bistro 67. Great space, fabulous food and very good service. If you haven't been here before....you are missing out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Was very impressed Will definitely return many more times

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service is quite slow, 1/2 hour before order taken for cocktails.. I like a leisurely lunch but this was just too long a wait to be served, making a lunch more than 2 hours. I have been before and the food was great, it was just mediocre today.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Amazing food. Fabulous service. Great selection on the menu and drinks were delish. Can't wait to see what Chef Raul has in store for future menus!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It's a newer placer...my son a recent Fanshawe College grad mentioned it was not nearly as impressive as Fanshawe's restaurant for the food grads...maybe someone from Durham should check out Fanshawes place???

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.