About Bistro 67

1604 Champlain Ave
Whitby, ON L1N 6A7
View Larger Map

Bistro '67, located in the green certified Centre for Food at Durham College's Whitby campus, offers guests a unique dining experience.
Our menu revolves around the 'field to fork' concept, features the produce and delicious flavours from across the Durham Region, creating fresh and inspiring dishes
Visit Bistro '67 for a dining experience that will delight your taste buds.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Tapas / Small Plates, Continental

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tues - Fri: 11:30am - 5:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm Dinner:Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Thickson Road, Consumers Drive,Champlain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 721-3312

Website:
http://www.bistro67.ca/

Parking Details:
The driveway leading to the CFF and Bistro ’67 parking lot will be closed as of Friday, April 22. All those requiring access to the parking lot will be rerouted to the main Whitby campus entrance, located off of Champlain Avenue. Signage will be posted at the current entrance to indicate the detour.
The CFF validates parking tickets for all guests.
Thank you for your patience and co-operation during this time. Further updates will be posted as they become available.

Public Transit:
Close to the Whitby and Oshawa GO station.

Executive Chef:
Ron Subden

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private Chefs room looking into the kitchen which holds 8-10 guests suitable for Chefs Table, Boardroom, Party Room. Other areas within the Centre for Food for reception/cocktail hour and events 20-150

Private Party Contact:
Kelly O'Brien: 9057212000x4255

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check in on our facebook and twitter accounts for the latest events here at the Bistro. Ontario farmers, local craft brewers and some of Ontario's finest wineries will be hosting very special evenings that you won't want to miss.

"field to fork happens" at Bistro 67

Restaurant Photos

  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Grilled Birch Glazed Salmon
  • Cornish Game Hen
  • Warm Baked Flatbread
  • Steak Frites
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Grilled Birch Glazed Salmon
Cornish Game Hen
Warm Baked Flatbread
Steak Frites

Bistro 67 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Toronto / Ontario
Canadian
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Whitby ›

Fit for Foodies (71)
Special Occasion (66)
Good for Groups (50)
See All
Great for Lunch (45)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Scenic View (32)
Romantic (22)
Great for Brunch (12)
Hot Spot (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I rarely get out for "dat ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I rarely get out for "date nights." We had been wanting to try Bistro 67 for a while and were not disappointed. We both really enjoyed our meals!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We both had the daily special. It was ve ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

We both had the daily special. It was very obvious by the dried and wilted look of the meat and vegetables that our meal had been cooked several hours ahead and had been held "warm". The dishes were uninspired and the presentation was lackluster at best. I use the term "warm" loosely because neither the plate nor the food was even close to being served hot. As a mother who's son graduated from a renowned 3 year Culinary Arts program and is now a successful Red Seal Chef in the recipe development industry I am well acquainted with teaching restaurants and the goals associated with them. In this case, the staff is not from the school, rather they are employed from the public sector and therefore the concept of this establishment is misleading.

Very disappointed and I feel I was deliberately mislead and misinformed. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

our meals were delicious and serving siz ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

our meals were delicious and serving sizes were appropriate. the food was hot and all courses were plated beautifully would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really liked the atmosphere. In the re ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I really liked the atmosphere. In the restaurant. It was very interesting learning about all the crops that you grow. The food was delicious and everything was tasty and hot.The waitress was very friendly and answered all our questions. We will certainly come back again.

Barbara Westervelt

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant and gardens - thoro ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent Restaurant and gardens - thoroughly enjoyed it. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We completed a survey while at the resta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We completed a survey while at the restaurant - enjoyed everything.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience overall! Up to par ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent experience overall! Up to par with the bistros in Toronto we usually go to. I am excitedly looking forward to my next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food but limited menu selection, e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food but limited menu selection, especially for children and teens. Nicely decorated, too noisy for an intimate meal but good for small gatherings or business meals. Our waitress never asked for drinks so we all drank water until it was time for dessert. Best part is the field to fork theme and the effort taken to source locally. Lunch for 5 cost $150 with tip, one shared appetizer, no drinks except coffee and only one dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our Server Sarah was great. The food ma ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our Server Sarah was great. The food marvelous.

Can't wait to try the Autumn menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place. I've been 3x for business ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great place. I've been 3x for business meetings. The only issue i seem to find every time I visit is that the food does come out quite slow. Not sure if it's to protect the quality of the food or not.

Other than that, fantastic place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Associated with college culinary program ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Associated with college culinary program. All local products, produce grown on site. Limited but creative menu selections. Students work both front and back of house as part of their training. You should definitely go and try it, but know that it is open and noisy, so not the place for a romantic or quiet date. It's for foodies looking for a unique experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere lovely spot wi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and atmosphere lovely spot will return service was amazing portions were huge and the wine pairings were perfect

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro 67 was our destination for a girl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bistro 67 was our destination for a girls night out. The food was amazing and well presented. The service and friendliness of the staff was exemplary. I would say that the overall value for the quality of food was excellent! I had no idea that we could have find fine dining on a reasonable budget so close to home!

I would definitely recommend bistro 67 to any of my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Bistro 67 twice, once for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I have been to Bistro 67 twice, once for lunch and recently for dinner. I went having heard very good reviews. I really want to like this restaurant because I know the staff/students try hard but both times, my meals have been misses - odd flavor combinations and not particularly well presented.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

They offered a 3 course meal for $25.00 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

They offered a 3 course meal for $25.00 each on Wednesdays which is a good option. We enjoyed every course. We had a red and yellow beet sorbet for dessert which was very good. I loved it but my husband would have liked a sweeter dessert. The only suggestion that I would have is to offer half litres of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was so fresh and tasted great. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was so fresh and tasted great. The chicken was the best I have ever had. I have only good things to say about Bistro 67. We will be going back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the interesting food p ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We really enjoyed the interesting food pairings! Loved the beet and mint sorbet for dessert :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was excellent, as always. One perso ...

 
 (Acapulco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was excellent, as always. One person at our table found the description of the food a bit too flowery for his tastes. He would have appreciated a more "down to earth" description.

The wine by the glass was quite pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for SummerFresh wednesdays. Grea ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went for SummerFresh wednesdays. Great value for 3 courses. Loved the entrée. The steak rivalled any steakhouse I've ever been to. The Beet and mint icecream was unusual but incorporated fresh items from the DC garden. Service was stellar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We totally enjoyed everything. Food w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We totally enjoyed everything. Food was very tasty. We will definitely come back and will recommend to everyone.

Thank You.

Wendy

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is quite special. We wen ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The restaurant is quite special. We went for dinner. The local source menu is unique and the food is good.

The menu however is limited. While the menu has a good selection of meat, fish, chicken and vegetarian options, because the restaurant tries to keep the ingredients with those grown onsite, the actual menu variety is quite lacking.

Kale is in nearly every dish and we found that very limiting and similar taste experience with the whole menu.

The location of the restaurant and the view from the seats is great! The ambiance and decor is outstanding and makes your dining experience very special. It's a nice touch that the contribution to the decor comes from other students.

Service was great and our server made us feel special and was attentive. Our server's knowledge of the restaurant cuisine philosophy and menu was great and a helpful to our selections.

All-in-all, my spouse and I had a great experience and would recommend it to others as a special occasion treat.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My only serious complaint is that the ai ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My only serious complaint is that the air-conditioning was so cold that we couldn't enjoy the meal and left earlier than planned. Why spend money to make diners uncomfortable?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food, service, ambience all very good. S ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food, service, ambience all very good.

Served potato with broccoli which was undercooked and the whole was very dry.

Menu somewhat limited but of high quality.

Had beef which was really good.

Entrance to property is well described and virtually would be almost impossible to locate on your own.

I urge you to try it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is beautiful. Staff is very ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Restaurant is beautiful. Staff is very friendly. Did not like the specialty drink I ordered and waitress happily brought me a different drink no charge for the first one. Salad very fresh. Main meal could have been hotter but still tasty. We enjoyed a very leisurely dinner. Would go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Bistro 67 with my family for my ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went to Bistro 67 with my family for my birthday. Everyone loved their food, and I can't wait to go back. Our waitress was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. All of the food was fresh and full of flavour. I ordered the chicken, my sister ordered the beef ribs, and my mother ordered the lamb shank. I can't speak for anyone else's plate, but mine was cooked perfectly, the skin was nice and crispy, and the side of sweet potato mash with broccoli was delicious. For dessert I had the maki rolls, which were a nice, light ending to the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I feel the menu should have more variety ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I feel the menu should have more variety. Other than that, everything was excellent, and I'd recommend going there. (I already filled out a feedback form at the restaurant.)

Some of the things I like best about Bistro 67 are the fact that some of the food is grown on the property, the view shows the gardens, and there are lots of windows. Also, the food is tasty with interesting combinations of ingredients.

It's great to be sharing in the training of Durham College student chefs and student servers by supporting this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having indicated that the dinner was a b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Having indicated that the dinner was a business meeting, the wait staff were very helpful and accommodated us extremely well. In addition to a great space for a meeting, we also got to enjoy delicious local food. The focaccia was incredibly good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The team try's very hard to deliver an e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The team try's very hard to deliver an experience, however the food was not wonderful - lacking flavour/richness to command the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was good to enjoy the atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Was good to enjoy the atmosphere and the view of the fields and greenhouses after graduating from the Horticulture program (initiation year) in 2014. It's nice to see things coming together.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic first experience at bistro 67. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fantastic first experience at bistro 67. Had the onion rings as starter, I had the lamb shank and my husband had the beef medallions. with the chocolate maki for desert. Everything was excellent and the service is exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some friends here for dinner. They w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Met some friends here for dinner. They wondered where we were going. After dinner they were all impressed with the restaurant, service and especially the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic time on July 7th. Our ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a fantastic time on July 7th. Our server, Amanda, was professional and friendly. she was very knowledgeable and accommodating when we asked about the local source of the food. Cannot thank Amanda and her manager enough, for their hospitality on our engagement dinner evening. Thank you Bistro 67 staff !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a nice find for an evening out for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It's a nice find for an evening out for a couple or two couples. The market to table menu, with a limited but varied selection, ensures freshness and quality. Excellent service and a worthwhile experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always pleased with my experience at Bis ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always pleased with my experience at Bistro 67. Great food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful. Wonderful menu. Spinach, sc ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Delightful. Wonderful menu.

Spinach, scallion soup with smokey blue cheese was amazing.

Request a poultry entree choice.

Request a drier white wine choice as well as a larger glass of wine and a half litre option.

Yummy. Thankyou

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Check the menu because they change it pe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Check the menu because they change it periodically. Also, I made my reservation through open table, however the restaurant did not have my reservation. I am unsure now about how reliable Open Table is. Check with the restaurant, any restaurant, to ensure they have a record of your reservation!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very kind and right away ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server was very kind and right away said that in our file "notes" it mentioned that I was vegetarian, and then he outlined what on the menu is suitable for vegetarians. I really appreciated that. Each course we had came out in a timely manner and was hot, fresh, and tasty. The only reason that I didn't give 5 stars is because even though I ordered a vegetarian meal (and confirmed with the server), the baked/stuffed potato that came with my meal had meat in it. I got about 1/3 through it before I realized, which kind of put a damper on my experience because I don't eat meat at all (ethical reasons). I know that mistakes happen, but I really had hoped for some sort of resolution- such as a non-meat replacement of that side or a partial comp- but none of that was offered and since it was Father's Day, I didn't want to make a big deal of it. Anyway, everything else was good, and the dessert (Apple/almond cake) was heavenly. Definitely the highlight of the meal. Everyone else at our table seemed to really enjoy their meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The place is very well lighted and clean ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The place is very well lighted and clean ,the service is great and very good knowledge about food and wine suggestion , the staff were always smiling and friendly , quiet atmosphere and good view of the garden .

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience overall! Highly re ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Fantastic experience overall! Highly recommend and will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the evening. Food was great, se ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Enjoyed the evening. Food was great, service wonderful and accommodating my food allergy was greatly appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.