About Bistro 67

1604 Champlain Ave
Whitby, ON L1N 6A7
View Larger Map

Bistro '67, located in the green certified Centre for Food at Durham College's Whitby campus, offers guests a unique dining experience.
Our menu revolves around the 'field to fork' concept, features the produce and delicious flavours from across the Durham Region, creating fresh and inspiring dishes
Visit Bistro '67 for a dining experience that will delight your taste buds.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Tapas / Small Plates, Continental

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tues - Fri: 11:30am - 5:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm Dinner:Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Thickson Road, Consumers Drive,Champlain Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 721-3312

Website:
http://www.bistro67.ca/

Parking Details:
The driveway leading to the CFF and Bistro ’67 parking lot will be closed as of Friday, April 22. All those requiring access to the parking lot will be rerouted to the main Whitby campus entrance, located off of Champlain Avenue. Signage will be posted at the current entrance to indicate the detour.
The CFF validates parking tickets for all guests.
Thank you for your patience and co-operation during this time. Further updates will be posted as they become available.

Public Transit:
Close to the Whitby and Oshawa GO station.

Executive Chef:
Ron Subden

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private Chefs room looking into the kitchen which holds 8-10 guests suitable for Chefs Table, Boardroom, Party Room. Other areas within the Centre for Food for reception/cocktail hour and events 20-150

Private Party Contact:
Kelly O'Brien: 9057212000x4255

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Check in on our facebook and twitter accounts for the latest events here at the Bistro. Ontario farmers, local craft brewers and some of Ontario's finest wineries will be hosting very special evenings that you won't want to miss.

"field to fork happens" at Bistro 67

Restaurant Photos

  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Bistro 67
  • Grilled Birch Glazed Salmon
  • Cornish Game Hen
  • Warm Baked Flatbread
  • Steak Frites
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Bistro 67
Grilled Birch Glazed Salmon
Cornish Game Hen
Warm Baked Flatbread
Steak Frites

Bistro 67 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Whitby ›

fit for foodies (67)
special occasion (63)
good for groups (50)
See All
great for lunch (44)
neighborhood gem (39)
scenic view (25)
romantic (22)
great for brunch (17)
notable wine list (4)
hot spot (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for SummerFresh wednesdays. Grea ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

We went for SummerFresh wednesdays. Great value for 3 courses. Loved the entrée. The steak rivalled any steakhouse I've ever been to. The Beet and mint icecream was unusual but incorporated fresh items from the DC garden. Service was stellar!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My only serious complaint is that the ai ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My only serious complaint is that the air-conditioning was so cold that we couldn't enjoy the meal and left earlier than planned. Why spend money to make diners uncomfortable?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food, service, ambience all very good. S ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food, service, ambience all very good.

Served potato with broccoli which was undercooked and the whole was very dry.

Menu somewhat limited but of high quality.

Had beef which was really good.

Entrance to property is well described and virtually would be almost impossible to locate on your own.

I urge you to try it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is beautiful. Staff is very ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Restaurant is beautiful. Staff is very friendly. Did not like the specialty drink I ordered and waitress happily brought me a different drink no charge for the first one. Salad very fresh. Main meal could have been hotter but still tasty. We enjoyed a very leisurely dinner. Would go back again.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Bistro 67 with my family for my ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went to Bistro 67 with my family for my birthday. Everyone loved their food, and I can't wait to go back. Our waitress was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. All of the food was fresh and full of flavour. I ordered the chicken, my sister ordered the beef ribs, and my mother ordered the lamb shank. I can't speak for anyone else's plate, but mine was cooked perfectly, the skin was nice and crispy, and the side of sweet potato mash with broccoli was delicious. For dessert I had the maki rolls, which were a nice, light ending to the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I feel the menu should have more variety ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I feel the menu should have more variety. Other than that, everything was excellent, and I'd recommend going there. (I already filled out a feedback form at the restaurant.)

Some of the things I like best about Bistro 67 are the fact that some of the food is grown on the property, the view shows the gardens, and there are lots of windows. Also, the food is tasty with interesting combinations of ingredients.

It's great to be sharing in the training of Durham College student chefs and student servers by supporting this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having indicated that the dinner was a b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Having indicated that the dinner was a business meeting, the wait staff were very helpful and accommodated us extremely well. In addition to a great space for a meeting, we also got to enjoy delicious local food. The focaccia was incredibly good!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was good to enjoy the atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Was good to enjoy the atmosphere and the view of the fields and greenhouses after graduating from the Horticulture program (initiation year) in 2014. It's nice to see things coming together.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic first experience at bistro 67. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fantastic first experience at bistro 67. Had the onion rings as starter, I had the lamb shank and my husband had the beef medallions. with the chocolate maki for desert. Everything was excellent and the service is exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some friends here for dinner. They w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Met some friends here for dinner. They wondered where we were going. After dinner they were all impressed with the restaurant, service and especially the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic time on July 7th. Our ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a fantastic time on July 7th. Our server, Amanda, was professional and friendly. she was very knowledgeable and accommodating when we asked about the local source of the food. Cannot thank Amanda and her manager enough, for their hospitality on our engagement dinner evening. Thank you Bistro 67 staff !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a nice find for an evening out for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It's a nice find for an evening out for a couple or two couples. The market to table menu, with a limited but varied selection, ensures freshness and quality. Excellent service and a worthwhile experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always pleased with my experience at Bis ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always pleased with my experience at Bistro 67. Great food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful. Wonderful menu. Spinach, sc ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Delightful. Wonderful menu.

Spinach, scallion soup with smokey blue cheese was amazing.

Request a poultry entree choice.

Request a drier white wine choice as well as a larger glass of wine and a half litre option.

Yummy. Thankyou

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Check the menu because they change it pe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Check the menu because they change it periodically. Also, I made my reservation through open table, however the restaurant did not have my reservation. I am unsure now about how reliable Open Table is. Check with the restaurant, any restaurant, to ensure they have a record of your reservation!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very kind and right away ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server was very kind and right away said that in our file "notes" it mentioned that I was vegetarian, and then he outlined what on the menu is suitable for vegetarians. I really appreciated that. Each course we had came out in a timely manner and was hot, fresh, and tasty. The only reason that I didn't give 5 stars is because even though I ordered a vegetarian meal (and confirmed with the server), the baked/stuffed potato that came with my meal had meat in it. I got about 1/3 through it before I realized, which kind of put a damper on my experience because I don't eat meat at all (ethical reasons). I know that mistakes happen, but I really had hoped for some sort of resolution- such as a non-meat replacement of that side or a partial comp- but none of that was offered and since it was Father's Day, I didn't want to make a big deal of it. Anyway, everything else was good, and the dessert (Apple/almond cake) was heavenly. Definitely the highlight of the meal. Everyone else at our table seemed to really enjoy their meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The place is very well lighted and clean ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The place is very well lighted and clean ,the service is great and very good knowledge about food and wine suggestion , the staff were always smiling and friendly , quiet atmosphere and good view of the garden .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience overall! Highly re ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Fantastic experience overall! Highly recommend and will be back soon!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the evening. Food was great, se ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Enjoyed the evening. Food was great, service wonderful and accommodating my food allergy was greatly appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Watch the salt chefs. Someone has to ta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Watch the salt chefs. Someone has to taste it before plating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always have a wonderful experience at Bi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Always have a wonderful experience at Bistro67!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A true gem for great farm to table dinin ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A true gem for great farm to table dining! Locally grown produce and informative serving staff. we truly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal was amazing. Our only regret wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our meal was amazing. Our only regret was that we ordered too much and weren't able to finish the entire entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We have eaten at Bistro 67 many times. We will go for date night, anniversary and family dinners with our teen boys. We all enjoy the variety of unique dishes available and would readily recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing! Service was impeccable!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went with friends who said it was a MUST to try it!

We were surprised at how informative and attentive the waitress was.

Everything was freshly picked that day from their own gardens or greenhouses.

The food was delicious, I'd definitely eat there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The motto is "From farm to fork". The pr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The motto is "From farm to fork". The price fix menu option is very affordable compared to what you get. The seared trout on a bed of greens was the appetizer but at other restaurants it would have been a main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were fantastic. W ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food and service were fantastic. Will definitely return and highly recommend this restaurant.

Great overall experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant was awesome! We had been mean ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Restaurant was awesome! We had been meaning to go for a few years now and we were not disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we had girls lunch and it was a lovely ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

we had girls lunch and it was a lovely experience. our server Craig was able to get us a dessert that we spotted being served to a group, it wasn't usually on the menu but he worked his magic. Excellent food, we asked questions about the college programme and everyone was very knowledgeable. We will return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit and my husband's first.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Both times service and food excellent. Enjoyed the professional and happy attitude of our hostess and server. Also, was impressed that I booked on the net and they followed up on the phone. This is a new go to place for us.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sasha

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our waitress Sasha was amazing!!!!

Super friendly and relaxed. Patient, witty, outgoing. Followed up on us frequently but was not over baring. Her counterpart ( sorry forgot his name) was super attentive to our needs also. Great customer service from this team of servers. We did not feel rushed and had a great night out. Group of 6 adults.

Look forward to coming back and recommending to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We finally tried Bistro 67

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We enjoyed ever bite at this Bistro.

The "icing on the cake", was Creme Brûlée - Best I have ever tasted.

And, I have eaten Creme Brûlée all over the world!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Location is not convenient.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The meal was excellent but rather pricey. There are not a lot of choices but everyone I was with enjoyed the food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent and professional service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent and professional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Well Done

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Enjoyed everything, keep up the good work. We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable Friday Night Dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Took my parents there for my Mom's birthday as she enjoys fine dining and I had heard good things about Bistro. Can't complain, food was excellent, it was fairly quiet, excellent ambiance. Would go there again anytime. Service was some of the best I have had in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Returning Customer

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Our 3rd Visit.....first since the remodel. Varied menu with lots of interesting choices. Liked the idea of the Fixed Price option. Neither of us selected that option, but I was very tempted. Some may find that the menu doesn't offer enough conventional choices. I always look forward to sampling the unique choices they do offer.

Our Waitress was GREAT....pleasant and attentive and full of personality.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always impressed

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Recently stopped off at Bistro 67 after theater in Toronto. Didn't stay in Toronto for dinner as the '67 has everything I like in a restaurant. The food is consistently good, the service is excellent and the ambiance is quietly understated. I have been to '67 quite a few times for both lunch and dinner and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

For the first time I was disappointed

In your menu selection.

The turkey sandwich was ok...seemed it had been sitting for awhile before It was served.

The quinoa was a disappointment,

Not what I expected,and I found the price did not justify the choice.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful overall.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere, the friendly staff, excellence service and menu options. The food was amazing as well as the value. Upscale dining with moderate pricing. Would suggest a chef's tasting menu to try a cluster of smaller portion options. So many innovative options to try. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.