Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Bistro 234

Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.

234 E. Main Street
Turlock, CA 95381
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight

Cross Street:
Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 668-4234

Website:
http://www.bistro234.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef LeRoy Walker

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Hobbs: (209) 668-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro 234 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Romantic (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Fun (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Bistro 234 never disappoints. So far, the best potato gnocchi I have ever had.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have never had a bad meal here. I tried the special tonight, seared venision with cherry reduction, potatoes, and asparagus. My guests had short ribs, and sea bass. All of our dish were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Can't go wrong! They have an amazing menu and great specials every time we go! We are never disappointed!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Nice we were able to make a reservation and we got there and got seated immediately. The food is excellent quality and good portions, we were able to have a conversation and hear each other, wonderful atmosphere. Waiters we kind and did an awesome job, never had to ask for anything.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very good as usual. Will continue coming here for business and casual dinning.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The water and bread was already on our table when we got there. Service was great!! And food was really great too. Not one complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Another great meal at Bistro 234, along with outstanding service. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Jayton continues to keep the Bistro going strong. Shawn, our server, was steady and attentive to our needs and ensured we enjoyed ourselves. We will continue to dine at the Bistro without any hesitation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I was at Bistro a couple of years ago and I remembered this really good burger they offer with pickled onions. . Decided to give it another try with the Hubbs. This time we ordered something different. He had the ribeye with this rich mustard sauce over it. Overall I would say It was ok.
The pasta with shrimp I ordered was nothing special. Penne pasta with this rich white sauce basically. The truffle macaroni was also ok. I did like the Albarino wine though! That was worth it. May be I will try it again during their wine tasting nights.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great location. Seated immediately. Wait staff outstanding and personable. One in the party ordered a glass of wine and after serving it, the waiter brought out a sampling of a similar wine. His recommendation (and the taste of his sample wine) encouraged us to seek out the winery the same weekend to purchase a couple of bottles to take home. Great experience and fantastic food!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome food as usual.
Server was ok. Not very friendly.
Love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We came in late but as it was our anniversary, we wanted to still have a nice evening out and were not disappointed. Service was exceptional as well as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very good flavorable food. Loved the shallot aioli. The salad had the perfect amount of dressing (tossed) not drowning in dressing. Everything was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was our first time at Bistro and it lived up to all of the hype. The food was delicious, the cocktails were great and the service was top notch. I had the halibut and my husband had the sea bass - both delicious. We had the iceberg wedge salad to start and it was so fresh and tasty. The blue cheese on it was amazing. We ended the meal with creme brule. Perfect. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Table was pushed into a corner, limited air conditioning which made us very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food and service are always amazing. The staff always goes out of their way to make sure you are happy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2017

great food and great drinks. The waiter left a lot to be desired.. He asked everyone around us how their food was but not us. He offered dessert to all around us but not us. Never smiled once. We left a $25 tip. Hope that made him smile

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always wonderful, always top-notch. Jayton is the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Jay and his crew always go a step above and provide a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful graduation lunch yesterday!!! Best service, best food and we had an amazing time. We live in Tracy and can't wait to visit Bistro 234 again. I gave you a huge shout out on FB too. Truly a wonderful restraurant!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I was very disappointed. I had not been to this restaurant in a long time. I had always thought it was overpriced but the service was usually pretty good. This time it was awful. The guy didn't tell us there were specials nor was he at all attentive, and definitely not friendly. Perhaps it was because we were two older women since he treated the couple at the next table very differently. It was hot and I ordered a salad. For $20 I got a lot of lettuce, a little dressing slopped on the plate and 3 shrimp...not worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came in on a Saturday for an early Mother's Day lunch. Pretty busy so had to wait a few minutes for the hostess, not a problem except for my elderly father who cannot stand long. Service was slow, but very good. The three of us really enjoyed our food and my parents said they would certainly come back. However, the highlight of the meal was the Bloody Mary. My father is still talking about them, and said he would go back just for those! Thumbs up, and see you again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cozy bistro on Main in Turlock. Good food, excellent service, nice decor. Altogether a classy way to dine. I had Ahi; my wife had Chilean sea bass. All well prepared. also the olive assortment with chewy sourdough bread...absolutely yummy. Just come for a cocktail, olives and bread. A classy addition to old town Turlock. Nicely done.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Took my prom date to dinner here before the dance. We both enjoyed the food; she ordered the grilled mahi mahi and I the Bistro 234 New York Strip. It's a very pleasant environment, definitely recommend.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Organic, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Seems that if you make a reservation through Open Table, you get the worst tables even if reserve early. Food is so-so. Servers are really friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It is the perfect little place for a nice date or even just more of a classy dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A little pricey, but food was delicious and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My wife and I enjoy Bistro 2,3,4, the service is great, the ambiance is great, the food is delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Jayton is the best! What can we say?!? He always takes care of us and ensures a high quality experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 14, 2017

By far the best place to eat in Turlock for dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The Chicken Marsala was off the chart. Will definitely tell others and be back for more!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Can't go wrong with the Chicken Marcela. Save room for the homemade Peanut Butter Pie!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Always a good dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Fast and friendly service and the best Mac n cheese ever! It is a bit pricey but overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This place never dissapoints! Great ambiance as well

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great job all around. I'm not sure if I noticed any vegetarian options. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We've been here many times. I was a little disappointed with the specials. We ordered the portabella mushroom raviolis, they were ok, 15 small raviolis is a generous guess and it cost almost $25. I was disappointed with the choice of music playing as well. 80's rock on a station with commercials is not what I was expecting for a romantic dinner out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Another great meal and fantastic service at Bistro 234. I wish other resturants could figure it out. The Mahi Mahi was very good, and the service was outstanding, as usual.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was excellent. Three of us ordered fish. My sea bass was over salted and the other two orders of seared ahi were over cooked and under seasoned. The pork chops were very good. Next time I will probably steer away from the fish, but will certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.