About Bistro 234

234 E. Main Street
Turlock, CA 95381
View Larger Map

Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight

Cross Street:
Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 668-4234

Website:
http://www.bistro234.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef LeRoy Walker

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Hobbs: (209)668-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poke Salad - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Spicy Mango Margarita - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Baby Back Ribs with Beer Battered Onion Rings - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Chilean Seabass - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Spinach Salad - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Grilled Atlantic Salmon - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
French Onion Soup - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Grilled Ribeye - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Caprese Salad - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus with Grilled Chorizo - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Pomegranate Martini with Lime Twist - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Thai Chicken - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Bistro Burger - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Blueberry Lemon Drop Martini - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Filet Mignon - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Hot Pastrami On Rye - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Mussels and Clams - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Swordfish - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Creme Brulee - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Potato Gnocci  - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Chicken Marsala - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Slow braised pork shank - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Mussels & Clams - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Iceburg Wedge with Blue Cheese - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Crab Cakes - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA

Bistro 234 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
2 More
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Turlock
Best Restaurants in Turlock ›

Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice ambiance, attentive servers, good f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice ambiance, attentive servers, good food and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Food and service is always very good and ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food and service is always very good and consistent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Kudos to our waiter Pamela and the whole ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Kudos to our waiter Pamela and the whole crew. The food was great, the wine choices were very fine, and the care offered was genuine.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sea bass was excellent. great servic ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Sea bass was excellent. great service at the bar from Britt, we had a lot of fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wanted to take my daughter somewhere spe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wanted to take my daughter somewhere special and new. The staff was amazingly attentive and friendly. The ambience in the place was warm and friendly. The food was absolutely stunning! Both presentation and flavor was well worth the special trip. The portions were large and we left feeling stuffed and happy.

I had the ribeye. My daughter had the half chicken. For apps we had their olives and bacon-wrapped scallops. There was not a disappointing element to our dinner experience. I will definitely recommend Bistro 234 and hope to be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food was fabulou ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was excellent.

Food was fabulous.

Extensive menu.

Nice selection of wines by the glass as well as bottles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WHEN WE WENT THE ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WHEN WE WENT THERE FOR MY DAD'S 92 BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION. I ALWAYS LOVED THE FOOD AND THE SERVICE, BUT THIS WAS NOT GOOD....

WE GOT A TABLE BY THE SERVICE AREA IN THE BACK, NOT A PRETTY VIEW. THE WAITER AND SERVICE STAFF WERE SCARCE, HAVING US WAIT FOR AWHILE FOR FOOD, WATER AND OTHER BEVERAGES. THEN, TO TOP IT OFF A WAITER( NOT OURS) KEPT TURNING DOWN THE LIGHTS WITHOUT ASKING US , TO THE POINT WE COULD NOT SEE THE MENU OR WHAT WE WERE EATING, WE HAD TO TELL HIM 2X TO NOT DO THAT! WHEN ONE OF OUR PARTY GOERS GOT THE HALIBUT IT WAS SO DRY IT WAS BEGGING FOR WATER. THE WAITER TOLD US, THAT IT ALWAYS IS DRY, REALLY????NOT A GOOD ANSWER TO TELL YOUR GUESTS. BY THE TIME WE GOT DESSERT-WHICH WAS THE KEY LIME PIE AND THE TINIEST SLICE I EVER DID SEE, IT HAD BEEN OVER 2 HOURS DINING THERE. THAT IS RIDICULOUS. ALSO, THERE WAS HARDLY ANYONE THERE AND THE STAFF WERE TALKING AMONG THEMSELVES INSTEAD OF CLEANING OR HELPING PATRONS. RECOMMENDATION: WORK ON STAFF, AND SERVICE.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Wine selection was great! Food & appetiz ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wine selection was great! Food & appetizers were great! Service was excellent! Mixed drinks not so good!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food choices. Everything was d ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Wonderful food choices. Everything was delicious. The wine selection was very good. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had a filet that was cooked perf ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My wife had a filet that was cooked perfectly. I had chicken marsala that was a bit dry. They should put grated parmesan on it instead of shredded parmesan as the grated didn't melt. We split a wedge salad that was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The potato gnocchi was so delicious! And ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The potato gnocchi was so delicious! And the peanut butter pie is heavenly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was good. Waiter was attentive. Rud ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was good. Waiter was attentive. Rude hostess left a bad impression on us. Sat us at a tall table in the bar where people would stand next to our table and have conversations while we tried to eat dinner. It made it hard to enjoy a conversation. Hostess didn't do anything when we asked if we could be moved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The service was excellent. Our waitress ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was excellent. Our waitress was cheerful and attentive without being annoying. She knew the specials and even chased us to bring us our left overs. The food was so good we couldn't stop thinking about it. Haha

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the service best of all. Meal p ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Enjoyed the service best of all. Meal presentation was great. Always a treat to have a meal here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance! Very good service. Not t ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great ambiance! Very good service. Not too loud and great for any occasion. A bit pricey, but food is delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was nonexistent and it was 1 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The service was nonexistent and it was 12:30 lunch. We were there over 2 hours and they weren't busy. The plus was outstanding fresh potato chips, best I've ever eaten.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food, service and ambiance were exce ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were excellent and we enjoyed it very much. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a fine meal in a lovely place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I've never been disappointed with my ord ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've never been disappointed with my order. I always try to order something new and i'm always so impressed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food is phenomenal. The service is ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is phenomenal. The service is always 5 star. My wife craves the ratatouille like nobody's business. I had the best venison I have ever had there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. Always! Very friendly an ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food. Always! Very friendly and personable wait staff. Good entree options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too expensive for the options. Need chea ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Too expensive for the options. Need cheaper options also for those not looking for such a big meal or to spend that much!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love going to the Bistro. Great food ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love going to the Bistro. Great food and service. Just cant go wrong with picking this place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Ribeye and rest of the meal for cook ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our Ribeye and rest of the meal for cooked to perfection! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro is a good food restaurant and won ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Bistro is a good food restaurant and won't disappoint. Service is friendly and efficient and while we were awaiting colleagues they were patient and attentive. Meals came out promptly for nine diners and we all enjoyed the entrees. We shared the crab cakes as an appetizer and I would recommend them. Bistro has never changed menu in the last two years but equally it is a nice venue with good food and enough choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, the wait staff was friendly ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food, the wait staff was friendly and attentive. A nice selection of food and drinks. The seem to handle all size parties very easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious! Congrats to the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was delicious! Congrats to the chef! Service was excellent. It is nice to have this restaurant in turlock. Thank you!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Bistro, have been regular custom ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 14, 2016

We love Bistro, have been regular customers since its opening and will continue to come here for our date nights and special occasions. That being said, we were slightly disappointed in our service at our last visit. We had a 7:15 pm reservation, arrived on time and were told our table was not ready yet. The hostess returned after a few minutes to say our table was still not ready and offered us a high top table. If we were just having drinks we might have taken the high top table, but we came for dinner and my fiance does not find the tall bistro chairs to be comfortable at all. I said we would rather take a patio table, which was available. After being seated outside, we waited at least 10-15 minutes before having a drink order taken. We were not the only customers outside, in fact there were several groups on the patio and a handful of servers walking back and forth the entire time. Not a single person talked to us, acknowledged us, said "someone will be right with you", nothing. We weren't even offered water until the server Shawn walked by and asked if we had been helped yet. Thank goodness for Shawn! He saved the night! By this time we were ready to order, and he took our drink, appetizer and entree orders all at once. Our wine came out promptly (the only other slight disappointment of the evening was the disappearance of Louis Martini from the wine list) and the hummus appetizer was delicious. My fiance ordered his favorite, the ahi special, which does not ever disappoint. I tried the Alaskan halibut, which was slightly overcooked but still tasty, despite being served on a plate that felt like it came straight from the broiler. The steak knife that was served with my dinner was also extremely hot, like it and the entire plate had been in the oven.

Overall, it was a nice evening. This was just a slightly disappointing visit. Please put Louis Martini back on the wine list! And don't ignore customers on the patio. Shawn is awesome and deserves a lot of praise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous food and fabulous service! I hi ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fabulous food and fabulous service! I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in our food. My husband's N ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Disappointed in our food. My husband's New York strip was filled with gristle and tendons, making it very hard to eat. Our waitress was subpar. When asked which drink would be better between their Old Fashioned and their Manhattan, she proceeded to ask "Well can you hold your liquor?" I found this inappropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The French onion soup and chicken marsal ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The French onion soup and chicken marsala were very good, as was the Diana torte. The service was top-notch, and we will definitely be going back again to try other items on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love sitting out on the patio enjoying a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Love sitting out on the patio enjoying a great drink and fabulous food each time at Bistro 234. One of my favorite spots in the valley!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal at Bistro 234. It is ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Another great meal at Bistro 234. It is nice to have a resturant of this caliber in this area. Although the food is great, what keeps us coming back is the exceptional service. Thanks again to our server!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pefection!

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal... from the start with the bottle of wine that we ordered, through the appetizer and the main course! The sea bass was delicious! ALL 4 of us were thrilled with our meals... our only regret is that we didn't leave room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambience and not super noisy! Food ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Nice ambience and not super noisy!

Food was good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our waitress was funny and picked out th ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waitress was funny and picked out the perfect wines for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food & Service wee good. They have rais ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food & Service wee good. They have raised their prices since our last visit in Dec.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

When money is no object, it's a very nic ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 14, 2016

When money is no object, it's a very nice experience but I didn't find anything compelling about the place. And at the prices they ask, I'm not inclined to go back anytime soon. The food was good but not standout better than other places I've eaten at half the price. Service was excellent. Seating was odd. We arrived on time for our reservation, we were then asked to wait almost 10 minutes while other late arrivals walked in and were seated. I'm not sure what the reasons are behind that.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Food

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the food, and loved the service. There was a huge party of 30 or so close to us so it was a little hard to hear at times but you can't really help that :) I think the atmosphere would be better if they took down the walls and made it one open space - and a little darker for ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Staff was accommodating for a b-day grou ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Staff was accommodating for a b-day group of 7.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food...mussels in Thai coconut ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful food...mussels in Thai coconut sauce app was awesome. As was Ahi special tonight. Waitress was very helpful guiding us to good choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.