About Bistro 234

234 E. Main Street
Turlock, CA 95381
View Larger Map

Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight

Cross Street:
Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 668-4234

Website:
http://www.bistro234.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef LeRoy Walker

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Hobbs: (209) 668-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro 234 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (14)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Business Meals (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A wonderful and appetizing meal. Best L ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

A wonderful and appetizing meal. Best Lemon Drop according to my wife.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even after making open table reservation ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 3 days ago

Even after making open table reservation for 645 still had to wait another 30 mins, then the hostess forgot that we were waiting until we spoke up. Another than the hostess not being friendly or courteous the meal, wait people and ambience were excellent

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten here in the past and alway ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

We have eaten here in the past and always come away totally satisfied with the whole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious like usual, best restaurant in ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious like usual, best restaurant in Turlock. The menu and wine lists are the best in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, , Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic our waitress was th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely fantastic our waitress was the best part. She let me know my half chicken would take some time, brought us all the bread we wanted, and kept our drinks full.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I came here for Valentine ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I came here for Valentine's Day. It took the server 10-15 mins to get our drink order after we sat down. The food was amazing and this place is one of my favorite restaurants overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always a great experience at Bistro 234. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a great experience at Bistro 234. One of our favorites for special occasions or a nice dinner with friends. Chicken Marsala is a favorite of ours.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as usual. My son-in-law and I ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food as usual. My son-in-law and I took the ladies out for Valentine's Day. Easy reservations via OpenTable. My ribeye was cooked perfectly. We split a wedge salad that was tasty. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service!!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint setting, quiet enough for good co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Quaint setting, quiet enough for good conversation. Attentive wait staff, but our food was disappointing. Long wait, which appeared to be caused by a kitchen issue. When our food arrived my husband's chicken was bloody and had to be sent back. Although the waitress was apologetic, no discount was given. My salad and dessert were very good. My husband's key lime pie was 1/4-1/2 in high. Having been there before, that is not typical. Not sure why they would serve something so small, given the price of the desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food - love this restaurant!

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food - love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for 4. Glitch in the Open Table ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner for 4. Glitch in the Open Table reservation had us for a table of 6 instead of 4 and another party for a table of 4 instead of 6 but the restaurant handled it very well. Our server was a little busy so not quite as attentive as he probably would have liked. Appetizers were very good, salads okay. Tuna was slightly undercooked (cold) and my ribeye was lukewarm by the time it hit the table. The other two entrees were fine. Overall, the food was quite good and we would happily dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Even though it's been a year since we we ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Even though it's been a year since we were in Turlock Bistro 234 never disappoints. Half price wine on Wednesday's is a real bonus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Still one of my favorite local date spot ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Still one of my favorite local date spots. Food quality was a little less than expected this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nicole behind the bar was wonderful! Fun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nicole behind the bar was wonderful! Funny, knowledgeable, and efficient. She helped to make our evening memorable. Jeanette smoothed my ruffled feathers about or initial seating, and led is to the bar, where we me Nicole. And she later came up to ask if all was well. It was. Finally, Jayton, the master behind the bar, shared some tastings of gin with us and proved to be an engaging and friendly barman. Kudos to these three...and by the way, the food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Highly rec ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and great service. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. I had the ribeye and it ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was great. I had the ribeye and it was tasty and juicy. My husband had the filet wrapped in bacon. He loved the potatoes. We also had the creme brulee and peanut butter pie. They were both delicious. It was about $100 for both meals and dessert. The only complaints were the service and there was a hair on the butter that came with the bread. Our waitress didn't acknowledge us for 10 minutes to get our drink order. She wasn't very friendly or attentive. We would return for the food, but not too often due to the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

I had Seared Sesame Ahi with rice and a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had Seared Sesame Ahi with rice and a plum sauce - perfectly cooked, outstanding. My wife had gnocchi with chicken in a cream sauce - outstanding. They ran out of scallops, so they made a steamed clam dish for my friend's wife - it was wonderful. Everything about our meal was excellent. Definitely will come back if back in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. Francesca was a su ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great. Francesca was a super star, service was superb. Food was outstanding with one exception, the filet was a little tough. Always enjoy the experience each time we go.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going here for years, espec ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been going here for years, especially New Year's Eve. We thought it was strange there were a lot of empty tables as usually it's hard to even get a reservation for NYE. Then we got our food.....Wife got the usual chicken Marsala. Not even close to being the same. She didn't even eat the chicken, just the pasta. Super salty and chicken was hard. Has been her go to favorite. Everything was so different we asked if there were new owners, waitress said there were not. Only good part of the experience was the waitress and young man who set up tables and cleared them. We were in back room. Both were super sweet and attentive. We will be looking for a new go to place unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

The menu rarely changes, food is good. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The menu rarely changes, food is good. Service is ok. Drinks are great and the patio makes it a nice place too enjoy on a warm evening with friends, but the price is a bit high for a menu that hasn't change much in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was good, but... the bacon had fallen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was good, but... the bacon had fallen off on of the fillets and when we asked about it we were told: It was not missing it had just fallen off. What?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The usual,inconsistent service but good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The usual,inconsistent service but good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great place! Definitely plan to go back. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place! Definitely plan to go back. Chicken Marsala had a wonderful flavor! Peanut Butter pie is so rich and yummy - a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was good, as usual. Several spec ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was good, as usual. Several specials for the evening and at least three were good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 3 and we had fish tac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We were a party of 3 and we had fish tacos, macaroni and cheese, and a portabella sandwich. All were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had reservation and still waited 1he to ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had reservation and still waited 1he to be seated. Then table was back by exit and bathroom. People going out smoking letting in cold air. Not pleasant. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Great food and atmosphere. Nice to have ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Nice to have such a great place to eat in downtown Turlock. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance, attentive servers, good f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice ambiance, attentive servers, good food and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Food and service is always very good and ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food and service is always very good and consistent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Kudos to our waiter Pamela and the whole ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Kudos to our waiter Pamela and the whole crew. The food was great, the wine choices were very fine, and the care offered was genuine.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sea bass was excellent. great servic ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Sea bass was excellent. great service at the bar from Britt, we had a lot of fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wanted to take my daughter somewhere spe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wanted to take my daughter somewhere special and new. The staff was amazingly attentive and friendly. The ambience in the place was warm and friendly. The food was absolutely stunning! Both presentation and flavor was well worth the special trip. The portions were large and we left feeling stuffed and happy.

I had the ribeye. My daughter had the half chicken. For apps we had their olives and bacon-wrapped scallops. There was not a disappointing element to our dinner experience. I will definitely recommend Bistro 234 and hope to be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food was fabulou ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was excellent.

Food was fabulous.

Extensive menu.

Nice selection of wines by the glass as well as bottles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WHEN WE WENT THE ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WHEN WE WENT THERE FOR MY DAD'S 92 BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION. I ALWAYS LOVED THE FOOD AND THE SERVICE, BUT THIS WAS NOT GOOD....

WE GOT A TABLE BY THE SERVICE AREA IN THE BACK, NOT A PRETTY VIEW. THE WAITER AND SERVICE STAFF WERE SCARCE, HAVING US WAIT FOR AWHILE FOR FOOD, WATER AND OTHER BEVERAGES. THEN, TO TOP IT OFF A WAITER( NOT OURS) KEPT TURNING DOWN THE LIGHTS WITHOUT ASKING US , TO THE POINT WE COULD NOT SEE THE MENU OR WHAT WE WERE EATING, WE HAD TO TELL HIM 2X TO NOT DO THAT! WHEN ONE OF OUR PARTY GOERS GOT THE HALIBUT IT WAS SO DRY IT WAS BEGGING FOR WATER. THE WAITER TOLD US, THAT IT ALWAYS IS DRY, REALLY????NOT A GOOD ANSWER TO TELL YOUR GUESTS. BY THE TIME WE GOT DESSERT-WHICH WAS THE KEY LIME PIE AND THE TINIEST SLICE I EVER DID SEE, IT HAD BEEN OVER 2 HOURS DINING THERE. THAT IS RIDICULOUS. ALSO, THERE WAS HARDLY ANYONE THERE AND THE STAFF WERE TALKING AMONG THEMSELVES INSTEAD OF CLEANING OR HELPING PATRONS. RECOMMENDATION: WORK ON STAFF, AND SERVICE.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Wine selection was great! Food & appetiz ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wine selection was great! Food & appetizers were great! Service was excellent! Mixed drinks not so good!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food choices. Everything was d ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Wonderful food choices. Everything was delicious. The wine selection was very good. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had a filet that was cooked perf ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My wife had a filet that was cooked perfectly. I had chicken marsala that was a bit dry. They should put grated parmesan on it instead of shredded parmesan as the grated didn't melt. We split a wedge salad that was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The potato gnocchi was so delicious! And ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The potato gnocchi was so delicious! And the peanut butter pie is heavenly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was good. Waiter was attentive. Rud ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was good. Waiter was attentive. Rude hostess left a bad impression on us. Sat us at a tall table in the bar where people would stand next to our table and have conversations while we tried to eat dinner. It made it hard to enjoy a conversation. Hostess didn't do anything when we asked if we could be moved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.