Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Bistro 234

Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.

234 E. Main Street
Turlock, CA 95381
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight

Cross Street:
Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 668-4234

Website:
http://www.bistro234.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef LeRoy Walker

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Hobbs: (209) 668-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro 234 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 4 days ago

We've been here many times. I was a little disappointed with the specials. We ordered the portabella mushroom raviolis, they were ok, 15 small raviolis is a generous guess and it cost almost $25. I was disappointed with the choice of music playing as well. 80's rock on a station with commercials is not what I was expecting for a romantic dinner out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Another great meal and fantastic service at Bistro 234. I wish other resturants could figure it out. The Mahi Mahi was very good, and the service was outstanding, as usual.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service was excellent. Three of us ordered fish. My sea bass was over salted and the other two orders of seared ahi were over cooked and under seasoned. The pork chops were very good. Next time I will probably steer away from the fish, but will certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food and service! The gnocchi is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I love this place for special occasions. The food is excellently prepared and presented in a creative style. The atmosphere is upscale, yet casual. My favorite is the Potato Gnocchi--rich and delicious! The service is friendly and prompt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was outstanding.
Enjoyed atmosphere.
Food was presented in a professional manner with good portions and hot.
We will come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love to eat here. Always great food and the desserts our outstanding! Our favorite dessert is always the Diane Torte it is delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The bistro is a nice place to have dinner. We appreciate the service, and the setting. However the quality of the food is irregular. The gnocchi was so salty it should have been returned to the kitchen. The steak was good, but fatty. The vegetables and salad are always good, but a $25 pasta dish should be perfect and this was far from it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A wonderful and appetizing meal. Best Lemon Drop according to my wife.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Even after making open table reservation for 645 still had to wait another 30 mins, then the hostess forgot that we were waiting until we spoke up. Another than the hostess not being friendly or courteous the meal, wait people and ambience were excellent

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have eaten here in the past and always come away totally satisfied with the whole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Delicious like usual, best restaurant in Turlock. The menu and wine lists are the best in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely fantastic our waitress was the best part. She let me know my half chicken would take some time, brought us all the bread we wanted, and kept our drinks full.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I came here for Valentine's Day. It took the server 10-15 mins to get our drink order after we sat down. The food was amazing and this place is one of my favorite restaurants overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a great experience at Bistro 234. One of our favorites for special occasions or a nice dinner with friends. Chicken Marsala is a favorite of ours.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food as usual. My son-in-law and I took the ladies out for Valentine's Day. Easy reservations via OpenTable. My ribeye was cooked perfectly. We split a wedge salad that was tasty. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Quaint setting, quiet enough for good conversation. Attentive wait staff, but our food was disappointing. Long wait, which appeared to be caused by a kitchen issue. When our food arrived my husband's chicken was bloody and had to be sent back. Although the waitress was apologetic, no discount was given. My salad and dessert were very good. My husband's key lime pie was 1/4-1/2 in high. Having been there before, that is not typical. Not sure why they would serve something so small, given the price of the desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food - love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner for 4. Glitch in the Open Table reservation had us for a table of 6 instead of 4 and another party for a table of 4 instead of 6 but the restaurant handled it very well. Our server was a little busy so not quite as attentive as he probably would have liked. Appetizers were very good, salads okay. Tuna was slightly undercooked (cold) and my ribeye was lukewarm by the time it hit the table. The other two entrees were fine. Overall, the food was quite good and we would happily dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Even though it's been a year since we were in Turlock Bistro 234 never disappoints. Half price wine on Wednesday's is a real bonus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Still one of my favorite local date spots. Food quality was a little less than expected this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nicole behind the bar was wonderful! Funny, knowledgeable, and efficient. She helped to make our evening memorable. Jeanette smoothed my ruffled feathers about or initial seating, and led is to the bar, where we me Nicole. And she later came up to ask if all was well. It was. Finally, Jayton, the master behind the bar, shared some tastings of gin with us and proved to be an engaging and friendly barman. Kudos to these three...and by the way, the food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and great service. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was great. I had the ribeye and it was tasty and juicy. My husband had the filet wrapped in bacon. He loved the potatoes. We also had the creme brulee and peanut butter pie. They were both delicious. It was about $100 for both meals and dessert. The only complaints were the service and there was a hair on the butter that came with the bread. Our waitress didn't acknowledge us for 10 minutes to get our drink order. She wasn't very friendly or attentive. We would return for the food, but not too often due to the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had Seared Sesame Ahi with rice and a plum sauce - perfectly cooked, outstanding. My wife had gnocchi with chicken in a cream sauce - outstanding. They ran out of scallops, so they made a steamed clam dish for my friend's wife - it was wonderful. Everything about our meal was excellent. Definitely will come back if back in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great. Francesca was a super star, service was superb. Food was outstanding with one exception, the filet was a little tough. Always enjoy the experience each time we go.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been going here for years, especially New Year's Eve. We thought it was strange there were a lot of empty tables as usually it's hard to even get a reservation for NYE. Then we got our food.....Wife got the usual chicken Marsala. Not even close to being the same. She didn't even eat the chicken, just the pasta. Super salty and chicken was hard. Has been her go to favorite. Everything was so different we asked if there were new owners, waitress said there were not. Only good part of the experience was the waitress and young man who set up tables and cleared them. We were in back room. Both were super sweet and attentive. We will be looking for a new go to place unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The menu rarely changes, food is good. Service is ok. Drinks are great and the patio makes it a nice place too enjoy on a warm evening with friends, but the price is a bit high for a menu that hasn't change much in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was good, but... the bacon had fallen off on of the fillets and when we asked about it we were told: It was not missing it had just fallen off. What?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The usual,inconsistent service but good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place! Definitely plan to go back. Chicken Marsala had a wonderful flavor! Peanut Butter pie is so rich and yummy - a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was good, as usual. Several specials for the evening and at least three were good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We were a party of 3 and we had fish tacos, macaroni and cheese, and a portabella sandwich. All were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had reservation and still waited 1he to be seated. Then table was back by exit and bathroom. People going out smoking letting in cold air. Not pleasant. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Nice to have such a great place to eat in downtown Turlock. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice ambiance, attentive servers, good food and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food and service is always very good and consistent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Kudos to our waiter Pamela and the whole crew. The food was great, the wine choices were very fine, and the care offered was genuine.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Sea bass was excellent. great service at the bar from Britt, we had a lot of fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.