About Bistro 234

Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.

234 E. Main Street
Turlock, CA 95381
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight

Cross Street:
Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 668-4234

Website:
http://www.bistro234.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef LeRoy Walker

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Hobbs: (209)668-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Poke Salad - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Spicy Mango Margarita - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Baby Back Ribs with Beer Battered Onion Rings - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Chilean Seabass - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Spinach Salad - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Grilled Atlantic Salmon - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
French Onion Soup - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Grilled Ribeye - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Caprese Salad - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus with Grilled Chorizo - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Pomegranate Martini with Lime Twist - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Thai Chicken - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Bistro Burger - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Blueberry Lemon Drop Martini - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Filet Mignon - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Hot Pastrami On Rye - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Mussels and Clams - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Swordfish - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Creme Brulee - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Potato Gnocci  - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Chicken Marsala - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Slow braised pork shank - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Mussels & Clams - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Iceburg Wedge with Blue Cheese - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA
Crab Cakes - Bistro 234, Turlock, CA

Bistro 234 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Romantic (10)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
491 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nicole behind the bar was wonderful! Fun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Nicole behind the bar was wonderful! Funny, knowledgeable, and efficient. She helped to make our evening memorable. Jeanette smoothed my ruffled feathers about or initial seating, and led is to the bar, where we me Nicole. And she later came up to ask if all was well. It was. Finally, Jayton, the master behind the bar, shared some tastings of gin with us and proved to be an engaging and friendly barman. Kudos to these three...and by the way, the food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Highly rec ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. I had the ribeye and it ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great. I had the ribeye and it was tasty and juicy. My husband had the filet wrapped in bacon. He loved the potatoes. We also had the creme brulee and peanut butter pie. They were both delicious. It was about $100 for both meals and dessert. The only complaints were the service and there was a hair on the butter that came with the bread. Our waitress didn't acknowledge us for 10 minutes to get our drink order. She wasn't very friendly or attentive. We would return for the food, but not too often due to the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

I had Seared Sesame Ahi with rice and a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had Seared Sesame Ahi with rice and a plum sauce - perfectly cooked, outstanding. My wife had gnocchi with chicken in a cream sauce - outstanding. They ran out of scallops, so they made a steamed clam dish for my friend's wife - it was wonderful. Everything about our meal was excellent. Definitely will come back if back in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going here for years, espec ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been going here for years, especially New Year's Eve. We thought it was strange there were a lot of empty tables as usually it's hard to even get a reservation for NYE. Then we got our food.....Wife got the usual chicken Marsala. Not even close to being the same. She didn't even eat the chicken, just the pasta. Super salty and chicken was hard. Has been her go to favorite. Everything was so different we asked if there were new owners, waitress said there were not. Only good part of the experience was the waitress and young man who set up tables and cleared them. We were in back room. Both were super sweet and attentive. We will be looking for a new go to place unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was great. Francesca was a su ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great. Francesca was a super star, service was superb. Food was outstanding with one exception, the filet was a little tough. Always enjoy the experience each time we go.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good, but... the bacon had fallen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was good, but... the bacon had fallen off on of the fillets and when we asked about it we were told: It was not missing it had just fallen off. What?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The usual,inconsistent service but good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The usual,inconsistent service but good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great place! Definitely plan to go back. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place! Definitely plan to go back. Chicken Marsala had a wonderful flavor! Peanut Butter pie is so rich and yummy - a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was good, as usual. Several spec ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was good, as usual. Several specials for the evening and at least three were good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 3 and we had fish tac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We were a party of 3 and we had fish tacos, macaroni and cheese, and a portabella sandwich. All were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had reservation and still waited 1he to ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had reservation and still waited 1he to be seated. Then table was back by exit and bathroom. People going out smoking letting in cold air. Not pleasant. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Great food and atmosphere. Nice to have ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Nice to have such a great place to eat in downtown Turlock. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance, attentive servers, good f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice ambiance, attentive servers, good food and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Food and service is always very good and ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food and service is always very good and consistent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Kudos to our waiter Pamela and the whole ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Kudos to our waiter Pamela and the whole crew. The food was great, the wine choices were very fine, and the care offered was genuine.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sea bass was excellent. great servic ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Sea bass was excellent. great service at the bar from Britt, we had a lot of fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wanted to take my daughter somewhere spe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wanted to take my daughter somewhere special and new. The staff was amazingly attentive and friendly. The ambience in the place was warm and friendly. The food was absolutely stunning! Both presentation and flavor was well worth the special trip. The portions were large and we left feeling stuffed and happy.

I had the ribeye. My daughter had the half chicken. For apps we had their olives and bacon-wrapped scallops. There was not a disappointing element to our dinner experience. I will definitely recommend Bistro 234 and hope to be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food was fabulou ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was excellent.

Food was fabulous.

Extensive menu.

Nice selection of wines by the glass as well as bottles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WHEN WE WENT THE ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WHEN WE WENT THERE FOR MY DAD'S 92 BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION. I ALWAYS LOVED THE FOOD AND THE SERVICE, BUT THIS WAS NOT GOOD....

WE GOT A TABLE BY THE SERVICE AREA IN THE BACK, NOT A PRETTY VIEW. THE WAITER AND SERVICE STAFF WERE SCARCE, HAVING US WAIT FOR AWHILE FOR FOOD, WATER AND OTHER BEVERAGES. THEN, TO TOP IT OFF A WAITER( NOT OURS) KEPT TURNING DOWN THE LIGHTS WITHOUT ASKING US , TO THE POINT WE COULD NOT SEE THE MENU OR WHAT WE WERE EATING, WE HAD TO TELL HIM 2X TO NOT DO THAT! WHEN ONE OF OUR PARTY GOERS GOT THE HALIBUT IT WAS SO DRY IT WAS BEGGING FOR WATER. THE WAITER TOLD US, THAT IT ALWAYS IS DRY, REALLY????NOT A GOOD ANSWER TO TELL YOUR GUESTS. BY THE TIME WE GOT DESSERT-WHICH WAS THE KEY LIME PIE AND THE TINIEST SLICE I EVER DID SEE, IT HAD BEEN OVER 2 HOURS DINING THERE. THAT IS RIDICULOUS. ALSO, THERE WAS HARDLY ANYONE THERE AND THE STAFF WERE TALKING AMONG THEMSELVES INSTEAD OF CLEANING OR HELPING PATRONS. RECOMMENDATION: WORK ON STAFF, AND SERVICE.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Wine selection was great! Food & appetiz ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wine selection was great! Food & appetizers were great! Service was excellent! Mixed drinks not so good!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food choices. Everything was d ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Wonderful food choices. Everything was delicious. The wine selection was very good. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had a filet that was cooked perf ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My wife had a filet that was cooked perfectly. I had chicken marsala that was a bit dry. They should put grated parmesan on it instead of shredded parmesan as the grated didn't melt. We split a wedge salad that was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The potato gnocchi was so delicious! And ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The potato gnocchi was so delicious! And the peanut butter pie is heavenly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was good. Waiter was attentive. Rud ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was good. Waiter was attentive. Rude hostess left a bad impression on us. Sat us at a tall table in the bar where people would stand next to our table and have conversations while we tried to eat dinner. It made it hard to enjoy a conversation. Hostess didn't do anything when we asked if we could be moved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The service was excellent. Our waitress ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was excellent. Our waitress was cheerful and attentive without being annoying. She knew the specials and even chased us to bring us our left overs. The food was so good we couldn't stop thinking about it. Haha

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the service best of all. Meal p ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Enjoyed the service best of all. Meal presentation was great. Always a treat to have a meal here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance! Very good service. Not t ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great ambiance! Very good service. Not too loud and great for any occasion. A bit pricey, but food is delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was nonexistent and it was 1 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The service was nonexistent and it was 12:30 lunch. We were there over 2 hours and they weren't busy. The plus was outstanding fresh potato chips, best I've ever eaten.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food, service and ambiance were exce ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were excellent and we enjoyed it very much. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a fine meal in a lovely place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I've never been disappointed with my ord ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've never been disappointed with my order. I always try to order something new and i'm always so impressed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food is phenomenal. The service is ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is phenomenal. The service is always 5 star. My wife craves the ratatouille like nobody's business. I had the best venison I have ever had there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. Always! Very friendly an ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food. Always! Very friendly and personable wait staff. Good entree options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too expensive for the options. Need chea ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Too expensive for the options. Need cheaper options also for those not looking for such a big meal or to spend that much!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love going to the Bistro. Great food ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love going to the Bistro. Great food and service. Just cant go wrong with picking this place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Ribeye and rest of the meal for cook ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our Ribeye and rest of the meal for cooked to perfection! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro is a good food restaurant and won ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Bistro is a good food restaurant and won't disappoint. Service is friendly and efficient and while we were awaiting colleagues they were patient and attentive. Meals came out promptly for nine diners and we all enjoyed the entrees. We shared the crab cakes as an appetizer and I would recommend them. Bistro has never changed menu in the last two years but equally it is a nice venue with good food and enough choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, the wait staff was friendly ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food, the wait staff was friendly and attentive. A nice selection of food and drinks. The seem to handle all size parties very easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious! Congrats to the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was delicious! Congrats to the chef! Service was excellent. It is nice to have this restaurant in turlock. Thank you!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Bistro, have been regular custom ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 14, 2016

We love Bistro, have been regular customers since its opening and will continue to come here for our date nights and special occasions. That being said, we were slightly disappointed in our service at our last visit. We had a 7:15 pm reservation, arrived on time and were told our table was not ready yet. The hostess returned after a few minutes to say our table was still not ready and offered us a high top table. If we were just having drinks we might have taken the high top table, but we came for dinner and my fiance does not find the tall bistro chairs to be comfortable at all. I said we would rather take a patio table, which was available. After being seated outside, we waited at least 10-15 minutes before having a drink order taken. We were not the only customers outside, in fact there were several groups on the patio and a handful of servers walking back and forth the entire time. Not a single person talked to us, acknowledged us, said "someone will be right with you", nothing. We weren't even offered water until the server Shawn walked by and asked if we had been helped yet. Thank goodness for Shawn! He saved the night! By this time we were ready to order, and he took our drink, appetizer and entree orders all at once. Our wine came out promptly (the only other slight disappointment of the evening was the disappearance of Louis Martini from the wine list) and the hummus appetizer was delicious. My fiance ordered his favorite, the ahi special, which does not ever disappoint. I tried the Alaskan halibut, which was slightly overcooked but still tasty, despite being served on a plate that felt like it came straight from the broiler. The steak knife that was served with my dinner was also extremely hot, like it and the entire plate had been in the oven.

Overall, it was a nice evening. This was just a slightly disappointing visit. Please put Louis Martini back on the wine list! And don't ignore customers on the patio. Shawn is awesome and deserves a lot of praise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.