About Bistro 234

234 E. Main Street
Turlock, CA 95381
View Larger Map

Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight

Cross Street:
Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 668-4234

Website:
http://www.bistro234.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef LeRoy Walker

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Hobbs: (209)668-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poke Salad
Spicy Mango Margarita
Baby Back Ribs with Beer Battered Onion Rings
Chilean Seabass
Spinach Salad
Grilled Atlantic Salmon
French Onion Soup
Grilled Ribeye
Caprese Salad
Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus with Grilled Chorizo
Pomegranate Martini with Lime Twist
Thai Chicken
Bistro Burger
Blueberry Lemon Drop Martini
Filet Mignon
Hot Pastrami On Rye
Mussels and Clams
Swordfish
Creme Brulee
Potato Gnocci
Chicken Marsala
Slow braised pork shank
Mussels & Clams
Iceburg Wedge with Blue Cheese
Crab Cakes

Bistro 234 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
2 More
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Turlock
Best Restaurants in Turlock ›

Special Occasion (30)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was nonexistent and it was 1 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was nonexistent and it was 12:30 lunch. We were there over 2 hours and they weren't busy. The plus was outstanding fresh potato chips, best I've ever eaten.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food, service and ambiance were exce ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were excellent and we enjoyed it very much. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a fine meal in a lovely place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I've never been disappointed with my ord ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've never been disappointed with my order. I always try to order something new and i'm always so impressed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food is phenomenal. The service is ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is phenomenal. The service is always 5 star. My wife craves the ratatouille like nobody's business. I had the best venison I have ever had there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. Always! Very friendly an ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food. Always! Very friendly and personable wait staff. Good entree options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too expensive for the options. Need chea ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Too expensive for the options. Need cheaper options also for those not looking for such a big meal or to spend that much!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love going to the Bistro. Great food ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love going to the Bistro. Great food and service. Just cant go wrong with picking this place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Ribeye and rest of the meal for cook ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our Ribeye and rest of the meal for cooked to perfection! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro is a good food restaurant and won ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Bistro is a good food restaurant and won't disappoint. Service is friendly and efficient and while we were awaiting colleagues they were patient and attentive. Meals came out promptly for nine diners and we all enjoyed the entrees. We shared the crab cakes as an appetizer and I would recommend them. Bistro has never changed menu in the last two years but equally it is a nice venue with good food and enough choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, the wait staff was friendly ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food, the wait staff was friendly and attentive. A nice selection of food and drinks. The seem to handle all size parties very easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious! Congrats to the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was delicious! Congrats to the chef! Service was excellent. It is nice to have this restaurant in turlock. Thank you!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Bistro, have been regular custom ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We love Bistro, have been regular customers since its opening and will continue to come here for our date nights and special occasions. That being said, we were slightly disappointed in our service at our last visit. We had a 7:15 pm reservation, arrived on time and were told our table was not ready yet. The hostess returned after a few minutes to say our table was still not ready and offered us a high top table. If we were just having drinks we might have taken the high top table, but we came for dinner and my fiance does not find the tall bistro chairs to be comfortable at all. I said we would rather take a patio table, which was available. After being seated outside, we waited at least 10-15 minutes before having a drink order taken. We were not the only customers outside, in fact there were several groups on the patio and a handful of servers walking back and forth the entire time. Not a single person talked to us, acknowledged us, said "someone will be right with you", nothing. We weren't even offered water until the server Shawn walked by and asked if we had been helped yet. Thank goodness for Shawn! He saved the night! By this time we were ready to order, and he took our drink, appetizer and entree orders all at once. Our wine came out promptly (the only other slight disappointment of the evening was the disappearance of Louis Martini from the wine list) and the hummus appetizer was delicious. My fiance ordered his favorite, the ahi special, which does not ever disappoint. I tried the Alaskan halibut, which was slightly overcooked but still tasty, despite being served on a plate that felt like it came straight from the broiler. The steak knife that was served with my dinner was also extremely hot, like it and the entire plate had been in the oven.

Overall, it was a nice evening. This was just a slightly disappointing visit. Please put Louis Martini back on the wine list! And don't ignore customers on the patio. Shawn is awesome and deserves a lot of praise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous food and fabulous service! I hi ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fabulous food and fabulous service! I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in our food. My husband's N ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Disappointed in our food. My husband's New York strip was filled with gristle and tendons, making it very hard to eat. Our waitress was subpar. When asked which drink would be better between their Old Fashioned and their Manhattan, she proceeded to ask "Well can you hold your liquor?" I found this inappropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The French onion soup and chicken marsal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The French onion soup and chicken marsala were very good, as was the Diana torte. The service was top-notch, and we will definitely be going back again to try other items on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love sitting out on the patio enjoying a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Love sitting out on the patio enjoying a great drink and fabulous food each time at Bistro 234. One of my favorite spots in the valley!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal at Bistro 234. It is ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Another great meal at Bistro 234. It is nice to have a resturant of this caliber in this area. Although the food is great, what keeps us coming back is the exceptional service. Thanks again to our server!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pefection!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal... from the start with the bottle of wine that we ordered, through the appetizer and the main course! The sea bass was delicious! ALL 4 of us were thrilled with our meals... our only regret is that we didn't leave room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambience and not super noisy! Food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Nice ambience and not super noisy!

Food was good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our waitress was funny and picked out th ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waitress was funny and picked out the perfect wines for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food & Service wee good. They have rais ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food & Service wee good. They have raised their prices since our last visit in Dec.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

When money is no object, it's a very nic ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

When money is no object, it's a very nice experience but I didn't find anything compelling about the place. And at the prices they ask, I'm not inclined to go back anytime soon. The food was good but not standout better than other places I've eaten at half the price. Service was excellent. Seating was odd. We arrived on time for our reservation, we were then asked to wait almost 10 minutes while other late arrivals walked in and were seated. I'm not sure what the reasons are behind that.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Food

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the food, and loved the service. There was a huge party of 30 or so close to us so it was a little hard to hear at times but you can't really help that :) I think the atmosphere would be better if they took down the walls and made it one open space - and a little darker for ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Staff was accommodating for a b-day grou ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Staff was accommodating for a b-day group of 7.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food...mussels in Thai coconut ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful food...mussels in Thai coconut sauce app was awesome. As was Ahi special tonight. Waitress was very helpful guiding us to good choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love being able to sit outside and enjoy ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Love being able to sit outside and enjoy a nice meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Hands down our fav spot. We rarely get a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Hands down our fav spot. We rarely get a chance for a date night having a child, so this place is perfect. Amazing food staff and consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great drinks, great food, overall a nice ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great drinks, great food, overall a nice place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

It would be awesome if they made a glute ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

It would be awesome if they made a gluten free menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place to have dinner, entrance was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Nice place to have dinner, entrance was a little crowded. Food had great flavor, took a little while to be served but worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food/ Bad service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was moderately well but seating is limited. We made reservations weeks in advance and got stuck sitting in a walk way were the servers walk and your constantly on edge waiting to get hit by one of them. The servers hatdly check on you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Great evening Kennedy New Zealand sav bl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great evening

Kennedy New Zealand sav blanch was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

They had never heard of open table

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Really! We went to enjoy our 31st wedding anniversary. We enjoyed the food, had a nice time. We went to pay the bill and they acted like they never heard of Open Table. Treated us like we had printed out the paper before we got there. I doubt if we'll ever go back because of the embarrassment we felt. I had received this around Christmas time for a thank you gift, downloaded the app, filled out the code to make sure I had money on it before we left and really didn't appreciate the total disregard they gave us. Ended up paying with our debit card, on which I really hadn't budgeted for. Went to New York city a week later, were you have a lot of restaurants to chose from and wouldn't even consider trying to use it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great meal. Our whole family enjoyed the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Great meal. Our whole family enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Birthday Dinner

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We have eaten at Bistro 234 several times in the past and have enjoyed ourselves. This was another nice occasion. Service was a little slower than I would expect for the time we were dining. Was not offered a wine list, but had their "house" wine which was fine for the occasion. Food was very good, everyone enjoyed their meal. Will go back, don't you worry.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great find in Turlock

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

This was our second time visiting Turlock and we've eaten at this establishment both times. We brought some friends this time and it didn't disaapoint. Excellent service, excellent food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Adam meirinho

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The service was great, the steak by far was the worst I ever had. Very tuff and very over cooked. I was so displeased I left and ate elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

celebrating our 21st anniversary of first date

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

we made reservations to celebrate our 21st anniversary of our 1st date. from the moment we walked in we were treated amazing. everything from meal, service all around ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top shelf, high end resturant.

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I booked my reservations through OpenTable. NEVER AGAIN! The OpenTable booking put my wife and I in the "cheap seats". Not what we wanted for an Anniversary dinner. But, Sean, understood our grievance and showed us the the spot of our liking! He was sophisticated and professional.

Bistro 234 will not disappoint. I elevate it to the level of some of the finer restaurants of the Bay area, with the perfect marriage of low key lighting and quiet setting.

Beautifully developed flavors, great presentation, and portions that will leave you satisfied. Don't pass up the dessert menu either. Bistro234 has a full selection of dessert offerings that is the perfect end piece to a great meal. Truly my "go to place" when it has to be "just right".

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Reliable

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

A nice atmosphere and reliable dinning in a small town. Good wine list and knowledge of wines. The food is consistent; the menu stays the same and the specials just seem to rotate. Personally, I would love to see a few new creative plates featured; because it is clear the chef can cook.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.