Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Bistro 234

Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.

234 E. Main Street
Turlock, CA 95381
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight

Cross Street:
Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 668-4234

Website:
http://www.bistro234.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef LeRoy Walker

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Hobbs: (209) 668-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro 234 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (11)
Fun (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 20 hours ago

Awesome food as usual.
Server was ok. Not very friendly.
Love this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We came in late but as it was our anniversary, we wanted to still have a nice evening out and were not disappointed. Service was exceptional as well as the food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good flavorable food. Loved the shallot aioli. The salad had the perfect amount of dressing (tossed) not drowning in dressing. Everything was great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was our first time at Bistro and it lived up to all of the hype. The food was delicious, the cocktails were great and the service was top notch. I had the halibut and my husband had the sea bass - both delicious. We had the iceberg wedge salad to start and it was so fresh and tasty. The blue cheese on it was amazing. We ended the meal with creme brule. Perfect. We will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Table was pushed into a corner, limited air conditioning which made us very uncomfortable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food and service are always amazing. The staff always goes out of their way to make sure you are happy.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 16, 2017

great food and great drinks. The waiter left a lot to be desired.. He asked everyone around us how their food was but not us. He offered dessert to all around us but not us. Never smiled once. We left a $25 tip. Hope that made him smile

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Always wonderful, always top-notch. Jayton is the best!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Jay and his crew always go a step above and provide a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful graduation lunch yesterday!!! Best service, best food and we had an amazing time. We live in Tracy and can't wait to visit Bistro 234 again. I gave you a huge shout out on FB too. Truly a wonderful restraurant!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came in on a Saturday for an early Mother's Day lunch. Pretty busy so had to wait a few minutes for the hostess, not a problem except for my elderly father who cannot stand long. Service was slow, but very good. The three of us really enjoyed our food and my parents said they would certainly come back. However, the highlight of the meal was the Bloody Mary. My father is still talking about them, and said he would go back just for those! Thumbs up, and see you again soon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Cozy bistro on Main in Turlock. Good food, excellent service, nice decor. Altogether a classy way to dine. I had Ahi; my wife had Chilean sea bass. All well prepared. also the olive assortment with chewy sourdough bread...absolutely yummy. Just come for a cocktail, olives and bread. A classy addition to old town Turlock. Nicely done.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Took my prom date to dinner here before the dance. We both enjoyed the food; she ordered the grilled mahi mahi and I the Bistro 234 New York Strip. It's a very pleasant environment, definitely recommend.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Organic, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Seems that if you make a reservation through Open Table, you get the worst tables even if reserve early. Food is so-so. Servers are really friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It is the perfect little place for a nice date or even just more of a classy dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A little pricey, but food was delicious and service was great!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My wife and I enjoy Bistro 2,3,4, the service is great, the ambiance is great, the food is delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Jayton is the best! What can we say?!? He always takes care of us and ensures a high quality experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

By far the best place to eat in Turlock for dinner!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The Chicken Marsala was off the chart. Will definitely tell others and be back for more!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Can't go wrong with the Chicken Marcela. Save room for the homemade Peanut Butter Pie!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Always a good dinner

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fast and friendly service and the best Mac n cheese ever! It is a bit pricey but overall a great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This place never dissapoints! Great ambiance as well

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great job all around. I'm not sure if I noticed any vegetarian options. Thank you

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We've been here many times. I was a little disappointed with the specials. We ordered the portabella mushroom raviolis, they were ok, 15 small raviolis is a generous guess and it cost almost $25. I was disappointed with the choice of music playing as well. 80's rock on a station with commercials is not what I was expecting for a romantic dinner out.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Another great meal and fantastic service at Bistro 234. I wish other resturants could figure it out. The Mahi Mahi was very good, and the service was outstanding, as usual.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service was excellent. Three of us ordered fish. My sea bass was over salted and the other two orders of seared ahi were over cooked and under seasoned. The pork chops were very good. Next time I will probably steer away from the fish, but will certainly be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food and service! The gnocchi is awesome!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I love this place for special occasions. The food is excellently prepared and presented in a creative style. The atmosphere is upscale, yet casual. My favorite is the Potato Gnocchi--rich and delicious! The service is friendly and prompt.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was outstanding.
Enjoyed atmosphere.
Food was presented in a professional manner with good portions and hot.
We will come back again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love to eat here. Always great food and the desserts our outstanding! Our favorite dessert is always the Diane Torte it is delicious

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The bistro is a nice place to have dinner. We appreciate the service, and the setting. However the quality of the food is irregular. The gnocchi was so salty it should have been returned to the kitchen. The steak was good, but fatty. The vegetables and salad are always good, but a $25 pasta dish should be perfect and this was far from it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A wonderful and appetizing meal. Best Lemon Drop according to my wife.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Even after making open table reservation for 645 still had to wait another 30 mins, then the hostess forgot that we were waiting until we spoke up. Another than the hostess not being friendly or courteous the meal, wait people and ambience were excellent

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have eaten here in the past and always come away totally satisfied with the whole

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Delicious like usual, best restaurant in Turlock. The menu and wine lists are the best in town.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely fantastic our waitress was the best part. She let me know my half chicken would take some time, brought us all the bread we wanted, and kept our drinks full.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I came here for Valentine's Day. It took the server 10-15 mins to get our drink order after we sat down. The food was amazing and this place is one of my favorite restaurants overall.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.