Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Bistro 234

Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.

234 E. Main Street
Turlock, CA 95381
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight

Cross Street:
Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 668-4234

Website:
http://www.bistro234.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef LeRoy Walker

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Hobbs: (209) 668-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro 234 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came in on a Saturday for an early Mother's Day lunch. Pretty busy so had to wait a few minutes for the hostess, not a problem except for my elderly father who cannot stand long. Service was slow, but very good. The three of us really enjoyed our food and my parents said they would certainly come back. However, the highlight of the meal was the Bloody Mary. My father is still talking about them, and said he would go back just for those! Thumbs up, and see you again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Cozy bistro on Main in Turlock. Good food, excellent service, nice decor. Altogether a classy way to dine. I had Ahi; my wife had Chilean sea bass. All well prepared. also the olive assortment with chewy sourdough bread...absolutely yummy. Just come for a cocktail, olives and bread. A classy addition to old town Turlock. Nicely done.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Took my prom date to dinner here before the dance. We both enjoyed the food; she ordered the grilled mahi mahi and I the Bistro 234 New York Strip. It's a very pleasant environment, definitely recommend.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Organic, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Seems that if you make a reservation through Open Table, you get the worst tables even if reserve early. Food is so-so. Servers are really friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It is the perfect little place for a nice date or even just more of a classy dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A little pricey, but food was delicious and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My wife and I enjoy Bistro 2,3,4, the service is great, the ambiance is great, the food is delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Jayton is the best! What can we say?!? He always takes care of us and ensures a high quality experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

By far the best place to eat in Turlock for dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The Chicken Marsala was off the chart. Will definitely tell others and be back for more!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Can't go wrong with the Chicken Marcela. Save room for the homemade Peanut Butter Pie!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Always a good dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fast and friendly service and the best Mac n cheese ever! It is a bit pricey but overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This place never dissapoints! Great ambiance as well

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great job all around. I'm not sure if I noticed any vegetarian options. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We've been here many times. I was a little disappointed with the specials. We ordered the portabella mushroom raviolis, they were ok, 15 small raviolis is a generous guess and it cost almost $25. I was disappointed with the choice of music playing as well. 80's rock on a station with commercials is not what I was expecting for a romantic dinner out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Another great meal and fantastic service at Bistro 234. I wish other resturants could figure it out. The Mahi Mahi was very good, and the service was outstanding, as usual.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service was excellent. Three of us ordered fish. My sea bass was over salted and the other two orders of seared ahi were over cooked and under seasoned. The pork chops were very good. Next time I will probably steer away from the fish, but will certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food and service! The gnocchi is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I love this place for special occasions. The food is excellently prepared and presented in a creative style. The atmosphere is upscale, yet casual. My favorite is the Potato Gnocchi--rich and delicious! The service is friendly and prompt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was outstanding.
Enjoyed atmosphere.
Food was presented in a professional manner with good portions and hot.
We will come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love to eat here. Always great food and the desserts our outstanding! Our favorite dessert is always the Diane Torte it is delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The bistro is a nice place to have dinner. We appreciate the service, and the setting. However the quality of the food is irregular. The gnocchi was so salty it should have been returned to the kitchen. The steak was good, but fatty. The vegetables and salad are always good, but a $25 pasta dish should be perfect and this was far from it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A wonderful and appetizing meal. Best Lemon Drop according to my wife.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Even after making open table reservation for 645 still had to wait another 30 mins, then the hostess forgot that we were waiting until we spoke up. Another than the hostess not being friendly or courteous the meal, wait people and ambience were excellent

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have eaten here in the past and always come away totally satisfied with the whole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Delicious like usual, best restaurant in Turlock. The menu and wine lists are the best in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely fantastic our waitress was the best part. She let me know my half chicken would take some time, brought us all the bread we wanted, and kept our drinks full.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I came here for Valentine's Day. It took the server 10-15 mins to get our drink order after we sat down. The food was amazing and this place is one of my favorite restaurants overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a great experience at Bistro 234. One of our favorites for special occasions or a nice dinner with friends. Chicken Marsala is a favorite of ours.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food as usual. My son-in-law and I took the ladies out for Valentine's Day. Easy reservations via OpenTable. My ribeye was cooked perfectly. We split a wedge salad that was tasty. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Quaint setting, quiet enough for good conversation. Attentive wait staff, but our food was disappointing. Long wait, which appeared to be caused by a kitchen issue. When our food arrived my husband's chicken was bloody and had to be sent back. Although the waitress was apologetic, no discount was given. My salad and dessert were very good. My husband's key lime pie was 1/4-1/2 in high. Having been there before, that is not typical. Not sure why they would serve something so small, given the price of the desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food - love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner for 4. Glitch in the Open Table reservation had us for a table of 6 instead of 4 and another party for a table of 4 instead of 6 but the restaurant handled it very well. Our server was a little busy so not quite as attentive as he probably would have liked. Appetizers were very good, salads okay. Tuna was slightly undercooked (cold) and my ribeye was lukewarm by the time it hit the table. The other two entrees were fine. Overall, the food was quite good and we would happily dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Even though it's been a year since we were in Turlock Bistro 234 never disappoints. Half price wine on Wednesday's is a real bonus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Still one of my favorite local date spots. Food quality was a little less than expected this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nicole behind the bar was wonderful! Funny, knowledgeable, and efficient. She helped to make our evening memorable. Jeanette smoothed my ruffled feathers about or initial seating, and led is to the bar, where we me Nicole. And she later came up to ask if all was well. It was. Finally, Jayton, the master behind the bar, shared some tastings of gin with us and proved to be an engaging and friendly barman. Kudos to these three...and by the way, the food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and great service. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.