Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Bistro 234

Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.

234 E. Main Street
Turlock, CA 95381
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight

Cross Street:
Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 668-4234

Website:
http://www.bistro234.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef LeRoy Walker

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Hobbs: (209) 668-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro 234 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Romantic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I love the food here. However the past 3 times we have been there the service has been terrible. I'm not sure if it's because they are under staffed or just bad customer service. We we had to wait over 30min after being seated for our waitress to come over and take our drink order and put drinks didn't come for another 15min. After that we had to have a young man going around refilling water call the waitress so we can order appetizers and check on a drink that never came.

Although they tried to make up for it at the end for spending $400+ the service should be good from the get go. I hope they can improve their service since the food is exceptional here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a great time at the restaurant. It was my dates first time there, and she absolutely loved it. We will definately come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great food, great drinks, great service, great place!

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything was amazing, as always! Just wish fresh fruit was an option for dessert. The only improvement possible, and would earn a 5th star rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Prices a little bit high, but not bad for the type of food and setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The food was tasty and fresh. The service was impeccable! Thank you Jayden for the wine recommendation and for the birthday creme brûlée. You made my cousin's birthday so special. Thank you for a wonderful experience, Bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The best place to enjoy your evening in Turlock. Great ambience, great food and exceptional service. Always run into friends and family always a plus...

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were stuck next to the kitchen and the large party room. People kept hitting us as they walked by. It smelled very fishy and it took over 45 minutes to get our food. The only upside to our overpriced dinner was the tiramisu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Food and Service was exceptional but we we had no choice but to sit outside.
The evening was very hot and it really detracted from the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

It had been a while since we had last been out to Bistro 234, kids will put a damper on ones eating out out places that dont have play places. This was our anniversary and we had ditched the kids for once so we revisited an old favorite. It was better then we remembered and while they seemed a little short staffed on a Tuesday night the bartender/waiter was on point and did an outstanding job.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Hands down one if the best meals that I've EVER had! My wife and I went to celebrate two months being married (silly, I know. we're still in that honeymoon phase). The food was downright AMAZING! Great wine selection, both by the glass and by the bottle. To top it off, the service was still excellent. It is a bit pricey, but well worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

First time I've there, and made already reservations for my 25 years anniversary . And also told the people from Belgium that we are going in oktober .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My filet was cooked perfectly medium rare! Melt in your mouth. I am never disappointed. The food, drink and especially the service was exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 11, 2017

WAS one of our favorite places... but on this night we were told the chef would not make a lunch version of our favorite salmon (which we do all the time) and when the food came out it was awful. The salmon was swimming in a huge puddle of sauce with only 2 asparagus spears.
It was very disappointing and actually turned out stomachs. My husbands steak was "chewy" in his words. The waitress never came back to ask how things were or offered dessert. Unfortunately both couples have now crossed this restaurant off our lists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was amazing and the place was very elegant but the service sucked our waitress only came to our table like once

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Server seemed to have gotten up on the wrong side of bed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The service was a little inattentive and slow. They don't have a kids' menu and don't even offer any smaller meals for children. I've been to plenty of restaurants that don't have kids' menus, but the waiters at least offer kids options (pasta with butter, etc). We were told the gnocchi was our option (a full serving for an 8 year old). Food was delicious though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Bistro 234 never disappoints. So far, the best potato gnocchi I have ever had.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have never had a bad meal here. I tried the special tonight, seared venision with cherry reduction, potatoes, and asparagus. My guests had short ribs, and sea bass. All of our dish were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Can't go wrong! They have an amazing menu and great specials every time we go! We are never disappointed!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Nice we were able to make a reservation and we got there and got seated immediately. The food is excellent quality and good portions, we were able to have a conversation and hear each other, wonderful atmosphere. Waiters we kind and did an awesome job, never had to ask for anything.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very good as usual. Will continue coming here for business and casual dinning.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The water and bread was already on our table when we got there. Service was great!! And food was really great too. Not one complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Another great meal at Bistro 234, along with outstanding service. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Jayton continues to keep the Bistro going strong. Shawn, our server, was steady and attentive to our needs and ensured we enjoyed ourselves. We will continue to dine at the Bistro without any hesitation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I was at Bistro a couple of years ago and I remembered this really good burger they offer with pickled onions. . Decided to give it another try with the Hubbs. This time we ordered something different. He had the ribeye with this rich mustard sauce over it. Overall I would say It was ok.
The pasta with shrimp I ordered was nothing special. Penne pasta with this rich white sauce basically. The truffle macaroni was also ok. I did like the Albarino wine though! That was worth it. May be I will try it again during their wine tasting nights.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great location. Seated immediately. Wait staff outstanding and personable. One in the party ordered a glass of wine and after serving it, the waiter brought out a sampling of a similar wine. His recommendation (and the taste of his sample wine) encouraged us to seek out the winery the same weekend to purchase a couple of bottles to take home. Great experience and fantastic food!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome food as usual.
Server was ok. Not very friendly.
Love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We came in late but as it was our anniversary, we wanted to still have a nice evening out and were not disappointed. Service was exceptional as well as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very good flavorable food. Loved the shallot aioli. The salad had the perfect amount of dressing (tossed) not drowning in dressing. Everything was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was our first time at Bistro and it lived up to all of the hype. The food was delicious, the cocktails were great and the service was top notch. I had the halibut and my husband had the sea bass - both delicious. We had the iceberg wedge salad to start and it was so fresh and tasty. The blue cheese on it was amazing. We ended the meal with creme brule. Perfect. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Table was pushed into a corner, limited air conditioning which made us very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food and service are always amazing. The staff always goes out of their way to make sure you are happy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2017

great food and great drinks. The waiter left a lot to be desired.. He asked everyone around us how their food was but not us. He offered dessert to all around us but not us. Never smiled once. We left a $25 tip. Hope that made him smile

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always wonderful, always top-notch. Jayton is the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Jay and his crew always go a step above and provide a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful graduation lunch yesterday!!! Best service, best food and we had an amazing time. We live in Tracy and can't wait to visit Bistro 234 again. I gave you a huge shout out on FB too. Truly a wonderful restraurant!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I was very disappointed. I had not been to this restaurant in a long time. I had always thought it was overpriced but the service was usually pretty good. This time it was awful. The guy didn't tell us there were specials nor was he at all attentive, and definitely not friendly. Perhaps it was because we were two older women since he treated the couple at the next table very differently. It was hot and I ordered a salad. For $20 I got a lot of lettuce, a little dressing slopped on the plate and 3 shrimp...not worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on May 21, 2017

Ordered a Marker's Mark old fashion (on the menu) and bartender poured an inferior whiskey. Drinks were order during happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.