About Bistro 234

234 E. Main Street
Turlock, CA 95381
View Larger Map

Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight

Cross Street:
Center

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 668-4234

Website:
http://www.bistro234.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef LeRoy Walker

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Hobbs: (209)668-4234

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Spicy Mango Margarita
Poke Salad
Baby Back Ribs with Beer Battered Onion Rings
Chilean Seabass
Spinach Salad
Grilled Atlantic Salmon
French Onion Soup
Caprese Salad
Grilled Ribeye
Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus with Grilled Chorizo
Blueberry Lemon Drop Martini
Pomegranate Martini with Lime Twist
Thai Chicken
Bistro Burger
Mussels and Clams
Filet Mignon
Hot Pastrami On Rye
Swordfish
Creme Brulee
Potato Gnocci
Chicken Marsala
Slow braised pork shank
Mussels & Clams
Iceburg Wedge with Blue Cheese
Crab Cakes

Bistro 234 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Turlock
Best Restaurants in Turlock ›

special occasion (22)
neighborhood gem (15)
fit for foodies (13)
See All
great for lunch (13)
notable wine list (11)
romantic (10)
good for groups (9)
great for outdoor dining (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Bistro 234. It is ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Another great meal at Bistro 234. It is nice to have a resturant of this caliber in this area. Although the food is great, what keeps us coming back is the exceptional service. Thanks again to our server!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pefection!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal... from the start with the bottle of wine that we ordered, through the appetizer and the main course! The sea bass was delicious! ALL 4 of us were thrilled with our meals... our only regret is that we didn't leave room for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice ambience and not super noisy! Food ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Nice ambience and not super noisy! Food was good too!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was funny and picked out th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waitress was funny and picked out the perfect wines for us.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food & Service wee good. They have rais ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food & Service wee good. They have raised their prices since our last visit in Dec.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

When money is no object, it's a very nic ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

When money is no object, it's a very nice experience but I didn't find anything compelling about the place. And at the prices they ask, I'm not inclined to go back anytime soon. The food was good but not standout better than other places I've eaten at half the price. Service was excellent. Seating was odd. We arrived on time for our reservation, we were then asked to wait almost 10 minutes while other late arrivals walked in and were seated. I'm not sure what the reasons are behind that.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the food, and loved the service. There was a huge party of 30 or so close to us so it was a little hard to hear at times but you can't really help that :) I think the atmosphere would be better if they took down the walls and made it one open space - and a little darker for ambiance.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Staff was accommodating for a b-day grou ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Staff was accommodating for a b-day group of 7.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food...mussels in Thai coconut ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful food...mussels in Thai coconut sauce app was awesome. As was Ahi special tonight. Waitress was very helpful guiding us to good choices.

food4
ambience3
service4

Love being able to sit outside and enjoy ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Love being able to sit outside and enjoy a nice meal

food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down our fav spot. We rarely get a ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Hands down our fav spot. We rarely get a chance for a date night having a child, so this place is perfect. Amazing food staff and consistent.

food4
ambience3
service3

Great drinks, great food, overall a nice ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great drinks, great food, overall a nice place for dinner.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It would be awesome if they made a glute ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

It would be awesome if they made a gluten free menu.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice place to have dinner, entrance was ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Nice place to have dinner, entrance was a little crowded. Food had great flavor, took a little while to be served but worth the wait.

food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food/ Bad service

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was moderately well but seating is limited. We made reservations weeks in advance and got stuck sitting in a walk way were the servers walk and your constantly on edge waiting to get hit by one of them. The servers hatdly check on you.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great evening Kennedy New Zealand sav bl ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great evening Kennedy New Zealand sav blanch was excellent

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

They had never heard of open table

Dined on February 10, 2016

Really! We went to enjoy our 31st wedding anniversary. We enjoyed the food, had a nice time. We went to pay the bill and they acted like they never heard of Open Table. Treated us like we had printed out the paper before we got there. I doubt if we'll ever go back because of the embarrassment we felt. I had received this around Christmas time for a thank you gift, downloaded the app, filled out the code to make sure I had money on it before we left and really didn't appreciate the total disregard they gave us. Ended up paying with our debit card, on which I really hadn't budgeted for. Went to New York city a week later, were you have a lot of restaurants to chose from and wouldn't even consider trying to use it again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Great meal. Our whole family enjoyed the ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

Great meal. Our whole family enjoyed the evening.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 7, 2016

We have eaten at Bistro 234 several times in the past and have enjoyed ourselves. This was another nice occasion. Service was a little slower than I would expect for the time we were dining. Was not offered a wine list, but had their "house" wine which was fine for the occasion. Food was very good, everyone enjoyed their meal. Will go back, don't you worry.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great find in Turlock

Dined on February 7, 2016

This was our second time visiting Turlock and we've eaten at this establishment both times. We brought some friends this time and it didn't disaapoint. Excellent service, excellent food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Adam meirinho

Dined on January 30, 2016

The service was great, the steak by far was the worst I ever had. Very tuff and very over cooked. I was so displeased I left and ate elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

celebrating our 21st anniversary of first date

Dined on January 24, 2016

we made reservations to celebrate our 21st anniversary of our 1st date. from the moment we walked in we were treated amazing. everything from meal, service all around ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Top shelf, high end resturant.

Dined on January 23, 2016

I booked my reservations through OpenTable. NEVER AGAIN! The OpenTable booking put my wife and I in the "cheap seats". Not what we wanted for an Anniversary dinner. But, Sean, understood our grievance and showed us the the spot of our liking! He was sophisticated and professional. Bistro 234 will not disappoint. I elevate it to the level of some of the finer restaurants of the Bay area, with the perfect marriage of low key lighting and quiet setting. Beautifully developed flavors, great presentation, and portions that will leave you satisfied. Don't pass up the dessert menu either. Bistro234 has a full selection of dessert offerings that is the perfect end piece to a great meal. Truly my "go to place" when it has to be "just right".

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Reliable

Dined on January 16, 2016

A nice atmosphere and reliable dinning in a small town. Good wine list and knowledge of wines. The food is consistent; the menu stays the same and the specials just seem to rotate. Personally, I would love to see a few new creative plates featured; because it is clear the chef can cook.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Bistro 234

Dined on January 14, 2016

Bistro 234 has amazing food..but can be quite crowded when busy.. Would recommend to ask to not sit by the door as we kept getting bumped into as we were trying to enjoy our dinner.. Service was ok as they were crowded.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased.

Dined on January 9, 2016

Everything was great, especially the service. The young lady that waited on us was a delight. Being Italian I enjoyed hearing about her Italian ancestors. Four in our party and everyone was very pleased.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Evening

Dined on January 9, 2016

Haven't dined here in a while. Food and service were top notch. Pretty noisy though. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We are pretty consistent Bistro 234 patr ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

We are pretty consistent Bistro 234 patrons and typically have always had a really great meal. We were disappointed this time as the food was not as superb as the norm. The salmon was an itty bitty cut and was not as fresh and flavorable as usual. Same with the Mahi Mahi - the diced spicy sauce was unusually overwhelming to the fish.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not our best experience but still not bad

Dined on January 1, 2016

My filet mignon was extremely rare (I ordered medium rare) and sinewy. The group behind us was getting loud off of their wine, and my wine glass was served to me with old lipstick marks on it, showing it had not been cleaned well enough. They quickly switched it out, were very apologetic, and topped off my glass with a little extra. This restaurant has done way better, but this time wasn't bad enough for me not to come back. When you spend $120+ on dinner for two, you expect everything to be impeccable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Made our night

Dined on January 1, 2016

The whole staff was great and made for a special night for us. We don't get out much as busy work and parenting life takes up a lot of our time. We greatly appreciated the accommodations, service and good quality. The misses enjoys organic food and she has a great selection and my steak was cooked to perfection. The wine recommendation was excellent, will book a reservation again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Not worth a my time

Dined on January 1, 2016

If you've frequented restaurants in NYC/LA/SF, are passionate about food, and have a refined palate....just don't bother with this place. We were on the fence for a few weeks about trying this place as the reviews were so-so and based on pictures and menu selection it didn't seem great. However, friends and coworkers kept recommending it and we finally caved. If you do find yourself here, the mashed potatoes are good and my fiancé's steak was okay. They overcooked my fish so I sent it back for a burger (thinking that was safer), but it was also overcooked though they didn't even melt the cheese-how did they manage this?! The crust on the key lime pie was soggy rendering it inedible. They have a good wine selection but their bartenders don't make drinks very well - for example, they usually shake their Manhattans- WHAT? Who does that? Why would you beat up the whiskey? Ugh. Anyway, service was fine but the food was not. Table 26 actually has much better food - I recommend going there instead.

Tags: kid-friendly, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening very much.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Our dinner was very nice. Food was excellent, the service was friendly and prompt. Everything was as hoped for and the prices are very reasonable. This was our first experience at Bistro 234, and we will undoubtedly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyable

Dined on December 30, 2015

Always enjoyable. Took family from the Bay Area and they were impressed. Food and service excellent. Table location for 7 not too good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

Dined on December 30, 2015

Had a very delicious early New Year's dinner with my wife. She always orders the filet. The rack of lamb was on special, so I had a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Bistro-tastic

Dined on December 23, 2015

The Bistro has seen some changes over the years but has remained a Turkock staple. The upswing in this reviewers opinion stems from some new faces most importantly, Jayton, on site manager, bartender, and even waiter when things are really hopping. The bar has seen some new drinks on the menu and different infused vodkas and other concoctions make this diner coming back for more. The menu has changed somewhat, but always keeping the heroes of the menu, the chicken marsala and their burger. Specials are always seasonal and enticing. A guaranteed good evening for two or even twelve, but use open table to ensure good seating!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good Food

Dined on December 23, 2015

Food was good but took a considerable amount of time and did not seem that busy. A must have is Jennifer's Peanut Butter Pie!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service2

Less than we expected

Dined on December 12, 2015

My wife and I went to Bistro 234 on a recent weekend evening. The restaurant was busy but not overcrowded and we were quickly seated. After ordering, it took about an hour for our food to be served. We were not offered bread or butter, which we assumed meant it wasn't standard procedure to offer it. Our server was pleasant. When we walked out we noticed bread/butter on quite a few tables. I called the restaurant after getting home and spoke with the manager on duty, James. He graciously heard our thoughts and apologized for the oversight.

food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite place for a special dinner!

Dined on November 28, 2015

I love Bistro 234! It is great for a girls lunch out, or a quick romantic lunch with my husband. Our family especially enjoys dinner at Bistro 234 with drinks to celebrate special occasions. There is always something on the menu for all the different food preferences we all have!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely birthday party for my daughter. ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

Lovely birthday party for my daughter. Great service and food.

food5
ambience4
service4

Gem in a small town

Dined on November 19, 2015

We visit the Bistro 234 whenever we go to Turlock as it is always delicious and the entrees are interesting the the desserts homemade or made by someone in Turlock. Yum :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.