HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 2/25
Time
8:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Bistro 234

4.5
606 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Continental
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
Bistro 234 is honored to have earned the prestigious Wine Spectator's 2012 & 2013 Award of Excellence. Located in the center of historic downtown Turlock, Bistro 234 offers a dining experience that is sure to foster great memories. The fun atmosphere, high ceilings, heated patio and vibrant colors pair well with the eclectic cuisine of our talented Executive Chef, LeRoy Walker. At Bistro 234, we love to share our passion for food and dining with seasonal New American and French-influenced cooking. Bistro 234 is the ideal place to host your event, be it large or small. The Cellar is available for exclusive dining.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Continental, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - midnight
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(209) 668-4234
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef LeRoy Walker
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Wine Cellar at Bistro 234 is perfect for you professional and personal private parties. Seating for 36 is available in an intimate dining area.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Erin Hobbs: (209) 668-4234
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Center
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 606 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
AlissaA 
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

We had a group of 8 (which turned into 10) for a business dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful with such a large group. The food was also delicious (appetizers, dinner and wine). I would definitely come back to visit!

Report
Helpful
Wendy (San Joaquin)
5.0  Dined on February 18, 2018

Great food, great service!

Report
Helpful
PriceJ 
5.0  Dined on February 18, 2018

The dinning experience exceeded my expectations. Great service, good food and drinks. The seating arrangement was perfect.

Report
Helpful
vipPamToo (Sacramento)
4.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

Food was good, but not stellar. We felt they were rushing us. Love the restaurant, but this was not our best experience. Will go back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
3.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

This is a nice place, our experience was okay although the server in our opinion was overwhelmed with tables. There were two people at the front door greeting everyone which is good on a busy night (it wasn’t that busy) but IMO could have helped out by getting menus and drinks to tables. Over all an okay experience the drinks we ordered were lousy we did not finish them the food was good though.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Great food and great service. We enjoyed the whole evening and had a great waitress.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Joaquin)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

I cannot brag on this restaurant enough! Our servers, Britta and Tye, were amazing! They are both a huge asset, bringing their “A” game to the table! They were lots of fun with their wit and just as charming with their knowledge, accommodating manners and professionalism!
The food is a 10 across the board and we thoroughly enjoy it each and every Valentines Day!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentines Day and initial table was next to kitchen entrance. The hostess kindly moved us and also accommodated my having flowers delivered by setting them on the table! We love 234 and eat there often. It is the best place in the valley!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Bistro is always fantastic....the best dining within a 200 mile radius.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

The food was so greasy! The whole bottom of my plate -bacon wrapped prime rib and my husband’s chilean sea bass was SOAKED in olive oil. When I showed my waitress she shrugged it off saying that the food is cooked in Olive oil. Cooked I understand swimming was too much. My prime rib was only about 4oz which was disappointing since I paid $31 for it and our food took an hour to arrive at our table. I was so disappointed since our first experience was wonderful. It’ll be a long time before we return.

Report
Helpful
vipThoms (Hawaii)
3.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Food wasn't as good as usual. Rib eye was thin, without much taste. Lettuce in house salad was old ,brown on edges, tomato as spoiling.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Excellent service and excellent food, we can’t wait to go back! I highly recommend the bruschetta, market salad, chicken Marsala, and peanut butter pie!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

As always, excellent service, food, drinks and ambiance! We had a party of 14. We were seated in the wine cellar. The server handled our chatty table so well! We never had to wait long for anything and never felt rushed. Love Bistro 234!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Joaquin)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

The food and service are always great! Love the menu. I had the special for Turlock restaurant week and it was excellent!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
4.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

My husband and I love the Bistro. We typically go here on date nights. Our server was not that great this time though. Food and wine was delicious as usual.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Joaquin)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and our daughter and son-in-law recommended your restaurant. It was a good choice.

Report
Helpful
vipWineandDine (Hawaii)
2.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

We made reservations to celebrate a birthday and got a table next to the cold air and a really unhappy and unfriendly inattentive waitress. Very unwelcoming. No hello. No thank you. It was obvious she had better things to do than wait on customers Saturday evening. Pity we ended up with such a sour waitress. Why would we even bother to return?

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Joaquin)
5.0  Dined on January 16, 2018

First visit for lunch; we will be back. I had the special - mushroom ravioli with a garlic cram sauce. It was delicious. Nice wine list and good food selection.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Yosemite)
3.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

Despite our reservation for 6 several days in advance, we were seated next to the restroom. An endless stream of toilet seekers was a bummer. The velvet curtain shielding the view was useless. The food was merely decent.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
4.0  Dined on January 5, 2018

The ribeye was exceptional and the service was great!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31