About Bistro 222

222 S. Main Street
#140
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Simple yet elegant food, An upscale yet casual environment and a fantastic team of hospitality professionals. That’s what you can expect from Bistro 222. We offer a full bar, 80 bottle wine list and a seasonal contemporary American menu. Bistro 222 is a LEED Certified restaurant set in the lobby of the 222 Main building. Sit and enjoy our beautiful floor to ceiling windows that look out onto historic Main Street, from the comfort of one of our many high back booths.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Dinner Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm , Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
200 South and Main - Downtown

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 456-0347

Website:
http://www.bistro-222.com/

Catering:
Please contact our management team for catering information.

Parking Details:
Street parking. 1/2 block from Gallivan Avenue Trax station. Several pay lots with in walking distance. We Validate the lot behind Bistro 222. Check our website for map!

Public Transit:
Gallivan Avenue Trax Station

Executive Chef:
Johnathan Leblanc

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact our management team for private dining information.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro 222 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Utah
Fit for Foodies
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (21)
fit for foodies (20)
romantic (15)
See All
neighborhood gem (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
great for lunch (7)
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (5)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro 222 has great food. The Dark and ...

Dined 4 days ago

Bistro 222 has great food. The Dark and Stormy was one of the best I've ever had, and I make a pretty tasty one myself. i love the chic style & ambiance. I am always puzzled that this restaurant isn't packed, as it really is a great spot to go.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Ordered hamburger medium rare and it wa ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Ordered hamburger medium rare and it was rare. Kitchen redid it to my specifications and it was one of the best hamburgers I've ever had. My partner had Cobb salad and she said it was ordinary and not enough dressing.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Our food was good, drinks were really ni ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our food was good, drinks were really nice. Our waitress was not the best but it did not ruin our experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for Business Lunch

Dined on June 2, 2016

Met first time clients here for lunch. Service and food was delivered in perfect quantities. Noise level allowed for great conversation. Interior design and street views created a friendly atmosphere. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great evening out.

Dined on May 29, 2016

We enjoyed our evening here. The food was very good and the service good without being over solicitous. Really enjoyed the lobster hush puppies (even though only 1 of the 4 of us wanted to order them). They had great flavor and texture and the blue cheese sauce that came with them was very good. The waiter had some great suggestions and really steered us in the right direction. It was pretty quiet for a Saturday but it was also Memorial weekend. The music was good without being too loud and overwhelming. Will definitely come back again. There were other things on the menu I would've liked to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New favorite brunch spot

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous spot for brunch where you can actually hear each other speak. The new chef Chris is spectacular and knows what makes an amazing brunch menu. The service is amazing and the drink list is unbeatable at 2 dollar mimosas and bloody Mary's. Do yourself a favor and book a reservation. Their dinner is divine as well! Can not go wrong.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Tables far enough apart so you don't hav ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Tables far enough apart so you don't have to listen to other people's conversations. Service was a little slow but that is OK because you will want to savor the food and take advantage of the atmosphere. The food was good but at other times I have eaten here it was better, so it may have been an off night. It is certainly worth a try for locals and visitors.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The trout (with brussels and bacon) was ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The trout (with brussels and bacon) was stupendous. Would highly recommend. Dessert was very nice. Really well managed place, as you can tell from the service and the attention. Surprising to have this level of food in SLC downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fun and interesting.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Love Bistro 222 which is set in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City. The menu is varied and the spirits are delicious. The outdoor dining in good weather is wonderful. Most everything on the menu is very good, however, I would not order the Cobb salad again. Need a little more privacy or talk time -- ask about a reservation in the back room where you are away from the crowd. I highly recommend this restaurant and it is a good experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Average in just about every way

Dined on April 22, 2016

The bar is contemporary and tastefully designed. The service is friendly and helpful while being mostly on time. The wine list is large and varied. Everything else was just about average. The truffle fries might as well have been store bought with the grated cheese not adding much.The herb aoili was all too lemony and plain ketchup was prefered. My dates steak, while delicous, was overcooked. My spare rib with pastashio crust was good, although the meat itself was bland and tasteless on its own. Despite it being very tender I could not bring myself to finish it once the sides were gone.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly surprised

Dined on April 16, 2016

First time in SLC and chose this restaurant randomly. Halibut was excellent. Reasonable wine selection, but I'm a California wine snob ;)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Local cheese and charcuterie plate = cheeseplate?

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our "local cheese and charcuterie" plate only had cheese with hard crusts and no charcuterie. The french baguette was hard as a rock and we found a piece of plastic wrapping on the plate. I will not recommend this place to anyone. We had out main course at another restaurant nearby.

food5
ambience4
service4

The food and menu are excellent. The out ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food and menu are excellent. The outdoor patio was quiet at times and noisy at times as noisy Sunday Brunch can be. Try this brunch and the special Bloody Mary or a nice mimosa

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on March 20, 2016

Live Piano, unique drinks, and a caring staff all help to bring this modern eatery together. Our meal was delicious! And the waitstaff was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!

Dined on March 18, 2016

We were in SLC for a convention and went to Bistro 222 twice for dinner--the second time because the first was so enjoyable! The layout is perfect for groups. We had 3 groups of 8, and it was very comfortable. The food was extraordinary and service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Find

Dined on March 12, 2016

This was one of the best restaurants I have visited in Salt Lake City. We were looking for a place that could get us right in, and took a chance on Bistro 222. The overall service was fantastic, and the menu was great. We were both in the mood for fish, so I got the Sea Bass and my wife the salmon. One of the best Sea Bass meals I have eaten. The salmon was a pretty thick cut, and ended up being slightly under cooked for my wife's taste. The cook was very apologetic, and gave her a new cut, and comped the whole meal. They went above and beyond expectations, and the meal was incredible. Will definitely be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, as always. Highly recommended ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent, as always. Highly recommended, especially for pre-theater. Entire staff is very accomodating

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

A dying enterprise?

Dined on February 23, 2016

I like the concept of this place, the decor is cool and modern but it appears to be failing badly based on our experience last week. We were the only group in the entire restaurant and the staff tried hard but eventually seemed to lose interest just as all the anticipated customers have lost interest. It is a shame as the food was reasonable (not great) and even with people at previous visits, it was a quiet place to chat with visitors and have business meals.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I didn't like it

Dined on February 15, 2016

There food was gross. The server was very attentive but awkward and kept inturupting me and my date. It looked great. And it was very expensive for food that wasn't good. I will never go there again and I will only recommend my enimies to eat such distasteful food. They had a good wine selection, but the lamb meatballs kinda tasted like arm pit, the steak tasted too sweet and wasn't an even cut, but they did cook the thicker side to what I asked for. The live music was nice, it looked great, but it was a restaurant and for somewhere that serves food I wasn't impressed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jazz Piano & Bass Add to Dining Pleasure

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Delicious food and lovely jazz -- could have stayed for hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dwntwn restaurant treats you as a valued neighbor

Dined on February 15, 2016

I work near Bistro 222 and have dined there several times. It has become our go to for special dinners. But it is also excellent for business lunches. Food creative and well presented. Service very attentive. Food a little pricey, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and servers were attentive without being intrusive! The main course took a little longer to arrive, but this is a definite case of "good things come to those who wait". Perfect flavor profiles and creative combinations kept the meal exciting and delicious! I would definitely recommend this place for a special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Treat

Dined on February 14, 2016

My girlfriend and I made a reservation here for Valentine's and had never been there. It is nestled right in downtown Salt Lake, and sort of fun to park and get to. We were offered a table that was too close to the front door so I asked if we could be moved and they happily moved us to a back quiet corner and didn't make a fuss about it. The service by the manager and the waiting staff and the hosts were all very very positive and especially the manager who gave us specific attention and took the time to chat instead of the often quick "How's your food. Bye" that we get at other places. The menu was fancier than expected! Lots of options across many types of food. We wanted some pasta that was only on the lunch menu. When we had the waiter ask the cook if he could still do it, he said sure!! It was one of the most delicious pasta dishes I have ever eaten. We also had the beet salad which honestly was not that flavorful, needed a stronger dressing. We also had the truffle fries which had the PERFECT amount of truffle oil on them which is hard to do. Also had a caprese salad and the salmon special which we thought was a notch above the rest. We sat in a corner overlooking a quaint side alley and were content with with piano music from the player up front, and the soft light coming through the floor to ceiling windows. The staff truly made our night, from the food, the service, and the accommodations. Will be happy to go back again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Comfortable with great ambiance. Great ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Comfortable with great ambiance. Great Music. Help was nice and attentive. Service of food was slow. Cauliflower soup was great, but the others meals were just okay. Might try again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful dinner with my daughter. ...

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with my daughter. Oso Buco (I think that was the name of it) was awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on January 31, 2016

We loved the food we had for dinner at 222. But, the real impressive part was the exceptional service. Andrew was an outstanding server and is a wonderful asset to the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Excellent food...but the service...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

I cannot say enough about the delicious, beautifully-prepared and reasonably priced food here. In my estimate, the reason why they weren't busy for a Friday night with a jazz pianist performing was the lackluster service. While the staff is all very friendly, the service was slow, and seemed disorganized. Otherwise, this would have been a perfect meal out. I think more of SLC needs to try out Bistro 222 and maybe the restaurant will up the ante by training their staff to be more efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Consistently good

Dined on January 9, 2016

Food is always good here. The servers are nice too. The place is a little too dark but manageable.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Small portions

Dined on January 8, 2016

Portions of short ribs embarrassingly small (like 3 bites). Plates came out over 10 minutes, so those that politely waited ate cold dinners.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Poor food + bad service + high prices = bad

Dined on January 8, 2016

Business dinner with customers during the Outdoor Retailer Show in Salt Lake City. We had a party of 5. The restaurant was not overly busy, and although our waiter was nice, our drink orders were confused more than once, and delivered piece-meal. The timing of the meal was not good; 3 of the entrees were brought out, and we waited several minutes before the other 2 entrees were brought to the table. Two of our party had the ribeye-filet, and ordered it rare-medium. The cuts of meat were sub-par, with poor marbling and significant gristle in the cut. I would go so far as to say the steak was not the cut as advertised. The steaks were also far too overcooked, arriving at our table as medium-well. There was not even a hint of pink in the center of the steaks. Overall, for the quality of food and service, this place is way overpriced, and there are many other much better options in Downtown SLC. Would have expected far better during one of the biggest events of the year in SLC.

food2
ambience4
service3

The food was absolutely so so so so just ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The food was absolutely so so so so just not even there. The burger was kinda really just uh well just not put together well at all just like all thrown together and bland. The coconut chicken sounded great on menu but it was like a boiled chicken breast with crumbs on it. No taste at all. The salmon was GREAT!!!! So perfect. So over priced for food that is no better and for sure worse than chilis. So disappointed in New Year's Eve. Many reviews say the same thing as mine bland bland bland. Take notice bistro 222 and make something that tastes good. Sheesh. Service above average ambiance was perfect. Food makes u forget all that was good. It's bland!! the chicken how do u let it go out of the kitchen like that. Sheesh too wierd.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Some of the best service in Salt Lake!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Not only was our server incredible, but every member of their team went the extra mile. From switching our table from close to the cold door, without hesitation and a great attitude from the hostess to the manager making sure every part of our meal was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

New Years Eve Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

I came here for NYE and it was a set menu. What was offered was great but probably a bit overpriced for what you received. The portions were a bit small for $85 a person and the salad was kind of thrown together. I got the rib-eye steak and though it was good it came with a small scoop of mashed potatoes and that was it. I wouldn't return for a holiday meal but probably on a regular day when I have the option of the full menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Not worth the money

Dined on January 1, 2016

The service was good but the quality of the food does not measure up to the price you pay.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice!

Dined on December 29, 2015

Good food and great service. Four if us sat in the front booth and watched the passerbys on the street. Very pleasant.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best burger!

Dined on December 25, 2015

Best burger we have ever had and we love gourmet burgers! Also fabulous cauliflower sup. We were visiting for the Holidays and did a last minute yelp. We highly recommend this place. Very nice inside.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service4

The Peacock and the Crane

Dined on November 15, 2015

A peacock bragged to a crane, that its colorful plumage was far superior to the latter drab hue. To which the crane replied, that he could soar to heights, while the peacock has to walk with the birds of the barnyard. This resume the story of this restaurant. Reading the menu sounded amazing, but when the food arrived, it was far away from what was promised. Per example their 'Beet Salad' : a very pronounced bed of arugula, no elegant at all, with 2 very thing slices of what appear to be canned beets instead of 'roasted' on top, with a shower of parmesan cheese, that was it. No oranges, no pecans, no goat cheese, and no yogurt vinagratte as the menu promised. Sad, because I ate it, with the hopes that the main course were going to exceed my hopes. But not, the seared salmon was promising looking, then my first bite, appear to be that everything was excidingly salted, after my third bite, I could not resist but to drink water, I couldn't have another bite, my husband tasted and his expression was, Oh God!. The waitress, was so kind to make sure that my dish was promptly prepare, my husband dish has arrived so he was dinning basicly alone, in our wedding anniversary :( . Speaking of the front of the house service, those guys were inpecable, but the kitchen was lacking of quality control; and it was a Saturday night, 7:45PM dinner reservation, was not like they ran out of food. Long story short, Fine feathers does not make fine birds. This place has a long way to go.

food3
ambience3
service3

Not impressed

Dined on November 9, 2015

Portions were small. Food was mediocre. Have been before and the food was much better. Sister restaurant Tuscano Bistro is one of our favorites so I'm probably more disappointed in Bistro 222 than I would be otherwise.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food convenient to Capital Theater

Dined on November 7, 2015

Four of us dined at this restaurant and all loved our meals - gnocchi, short ribs, salmon and chicken Marsala. Good service, pleasant atmosphere. Restaurant is located in the lobby of an office building, and has validated parking. They are between chefs so the chef at their sister restaurant, Boulevard Bistro, is filling in. Downside - we were the only diners there, but it was before the theater and early.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service5

The service was good, the hostess was fr ...

Dined on November 4, 2015

The service was good, the hostess was friendly and our waitress was great. The food though was completely uninspired. After having gone to several other restaurants for appetizers and small plates, which were all high quality, we were surprised to find how run of the mill this restaurant was. Especially for the prices and how it seems to be trying to brand itself. The food was food I would expect in a small town restaurant that is trying to be fancy. After reviewing the menu we decided to not waste our time or money. We got a salad for $10. It was arugula and sea salt. Meh.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.