Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

BambaraBambara
(1780)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 15 times today
The Roof RestaurantThe Roof Restaurant
(1834)
$$$$
American | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 12 times today
Benihana - Salt Lake CityBenihana - Salt Lake City
(670)
$$$$
Japanese | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 14 times today
BRIO Tuscan Grille - Salt Lake City - City CreekBRIO Tuscan Grille - Salt Lake City - City Creek
(429)
$$$$
Italian | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 9 times today
Caffe MoliseCaffe Molise
(1121)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 6 times today
EvaEva
(67)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 6 times today
Current Fish & OysterCurrent Fish & Oyster
(609)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 8 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake CityRuth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City
(652)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 11 times today
FincaFinca
(353)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 11 times today
PalletPallet
(948)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 6 times today
Stanza Restaurant & Wine BarStanza Restaurant & Wine Bar
(220)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 1 time today
Texas De Brazil - Salt Lake CityTexas De Brazil - Salt Lake City
(348)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 3 times today
Fleming's Steakhouse - Salt Lake CityFleming's Steakhouse - Salt Lake City
(524)
$$$$
Steak | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 2 times today
Stoneground KitchenStoneground Kitchen
(259)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Oasis Cafe - Salt Lake CityOasis Cafe - Salt Lake City
(424)
$$$$
American | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 3 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Permanently Closed - Bistro 222

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Bistro 222 is an American Contemporary restaurant located in Salt Lake City, Utah. The restaurant offers a seasonal contemporary American menu and a full bar featuring an 80 bottle wine list. Bistro 222 is located in the lobby of the 222 Main building and offers an upscale, yet casual dining environment with floor to ceiling windows overlooking historic Main Street.

Bistro 222 serves lunch and dinner daily with a brunch service added on Sunday. Brunch at the restaurant features such fare as huevos rancheros, biscuits and gravy, omelets, eggs Benedict and flapjacks. Lunch and dinner at the restaurant offers an assortment of starters, pizza, salads, soups and entrées.

222 S. Main Street
#140
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Dinner Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm , Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
200 South and Main - Downtown

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 456-0347

Website:
http://www.bistro-222.com/

Catering:
Please contact our management team for catering information.

Parking Details:
Street parking. 1/2 block from Gallivan Avenue Trax station. Several pay lots with in walking distance. We Validate the lot behind Bistro 222. Check our website for map!

Public Transit:
Gallivan Avenue Trax Station

Executive Chef:
Johnathan Leblanc

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact our management team for private dining information.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 11th anniversary. Everything was perfect. They were overly kind to us even though we thought we were a little underdressed for the restaurant. The service was amazing, and the food was even better. Bistro 222 will be one of or first choices for special dinners in the future. Thanks so much!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Bistro 222 has great food. The Dark and Stormy was one of the best I've ever had, and I make a pretty tasty one myself.
i love the chic style & ambiance.
I am always puzzled that this restaurant isn't packed, as it really is a great spot to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Ordered hamburger medium rare and it was rare. Kitchen redid it to my specifications and it was one of the best hamburgers I've ever had. My partner had Cobb salad and she said it was ordinary and not enough dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our food was good, drinks were really nice. Our waitress was not the best but it did not ruin our experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Met first time clients here for lunch. Service and food was delivered in perfect quantities. Noise level allowed for great conversation. Interior design and street views created a friendly atmosphere. Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We enjoyed our evening here. The food was very good and the service good without being over solicitous. Really enjoyed the lobster hush puppies (even though only 1 of the 4 of us wanted to order them). They had great flavor and texture and the blue cheese sauce that came with them was very good. The waiter had some great suggestions and really steered us in the right direction. It was pretty quiet for a Saturday but it was also Memorial weekend. The music was good without being too loud and overwhelming. Will definitely come back again. There were other things on the menu I would've liked to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous spot for brunch where you can actually hear each other speak. The new chef Chris is spectacular and knows what makes an amazing brunch menu. The service is amazing and the drink list is unbeatable at 2 dollar mimosas and bloody Mary's. Do yourself a favor and book a reservation. Their dinner is divine as well! Can not go wrong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Tables far enough apart so you don't have to listen to other people's conversations. Service was a little slow but that is OK because you will want to savor the food and take advantage of the atmosphere. The food was good but at other times I have eaten here it was better, so it may have been an off night. It is certainly worth a try for locals and visitors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2016

The trout (with brussels and bacon) was stupendous. Would highly recommend. Dessert was very nice. Really well managed place, as you can tell from the service and the attention. Surprising to have this level of food in SLC downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Love Bistro 222 which is set in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City. The menu is varied and the spirits are delicious. The outdoor dining in good weather is wonderful. Most everything on the menu is very good, however, I would not order the Cobb salad again. Need a little more privacy or talk time -- ask about a reservation in the back room where you are away from the crowd. I highly recommend this restaurant and it is a good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 21, 2016

The bar is contemporary and tastefully designed. The service is friendly and helpful while being mostly on time. The wine list is large and varied. Everything else was just about average. The truffle fries might as well have been store bought with the grated cheese not adding much.The herb aoili was all too lemony and plain ketchup was prefered. My dates steak, while delicous, was overcooked. My spare rib with pastashio crust was good, although the meat itself was bland and tasteless on its own. Despite it being very tender I could not bring myself to finish it once the sides were gone.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2016

First time in SLC and chose this restaurant randomly. Halibut was excellent. Reasonable wine selection, but I'm a California wine snob ;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Our "local cheese and charcuterie" plate only had cheese with hard crusts and no charcuterie. The french baguette was hard as a rock and we found a piece of plastic wrapping on the plate.
I will not recommend this place to anyone. We had out main course at another restaurant nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 20, 2016

The food and menu are excellent. The outdoor patio was quiet at times and noisy at times as noisy Sunday Brunch can be. Try this brunch and the special Bloody Mary or a nice mimosa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Live Piano, unique drinks, and a caring staff all help to bring this modern eatery together. Our meal was delicious! And the waitstaff was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2016

We were in SLC for a convention and went to Bistro 222 twice for dinner--the second time because the first was so enjoyable! The layout is perfect for groups. We had 3 groups of 8, and it was very comfortable. The food was extraordinary and service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2016

This was one of the best restaurants I have visited in Salt Lake City. We were looking for a place that could get us right in, and took a chance on Bistro 222. The overall service was fantastic, and the menu was great. We were both in the mood for fish, so I got the Sea Bass and my wife the salmon. One of the best Sea Bass meals I have eaten. The salmon was a pretty thick cut, and ended up being slightly under cooked for my wife's taste. The cook was very apologetic, and gave her a new cut, and comped the whole meal. They went above and beyond expectations, and the meal was incredible. Will definitely be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Excellent, as always. Highly recommended, especially for pre-theater. Entire staff is very accomodating

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 22, 2016

I like the concept of this place, the decor is cool and modern but it appears to be failing badly based on our experience last week. We were the only group in the entire restaurant and the staff tried hard but eventually seemed to lose interest just as all the anticipated customers have lost interest. It is a shame as the food was reasonable (not great) and even with people at previous visits, it was a quiet place to chat with visitors and have business meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

There food was gross. The server was very attentive but awkward and kept inturupting me and my date. It looked great. And it was very expensive for food that wasn't good. I will never go there again and I will only recommend my enimies to eat such distasteful food. They had a good wine selection, but the lamb meatballs kinda tasted like arm pit, the steak tasted too sweet and wasn't an even cut, but they did cook the thicker side to what I asked for. The live music was nice, it looked great, but it was a restaurant and for somewhere that serves food I wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious food and lovely jazz -- could have stayed for hours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I work near Bistro 222 and have dined there several times. It has become our go to for special dinners. But it is also excellent for business lunches. Food creative and well presented. Service very attentive. Food a little pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

My girlfriend and I made a reservation here for Valentine's and had never been there. It is nestled right in downtown Salt Lake, and sort of fun to park and get to. We were offered a table that was too close to the front door so I asked if we could be moved and they happily moved us to a back quiet corner and didn't make a fuss about it. The service by the manager and the waiting staff and the hosts were all very very positive and especially the manager who gave us specific attention and took the time to chat instead of the often quick "How's your food. Bye" that we get at other places. The menu was fancier than expected! Lots of options across many types of food. We wanted some pasta that was only on the lunch menu. When we had the waiter ask the cook if he could still do it, he said sure!! It was one of the most delicious pasta dishes I have ever eaten. We also had the beet salad which honestly was not that flavorful, needed a stronger dressing. We also had the truffle fries which had the PERFECT amount of truffle oil on them which is hard to do. Also had a caprese salad and the salmon special which we thought was a notch above the rest. We sat in a corner overlooking a quaint side alley and were content with with piano music from the player up front, and the soft light coming through the floor to ceiling windows. The staff truly made our night, from the food, the service, and the accommodations. Will be happy to go back again soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food and servers were attentive without being intrusive! The main course took a little longer to arrive, but this is a definite case of "good things come to those who wait". Perfect flavor profiles and creative combinations kept the meal exciting and delicious! I would definitely recommend this place for a special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2016

Comfortable with great ambiance. Great Music. Help was nice and attentive. Service of food was slow. Cauliflower soup was great, but the others meals were just okay. Might try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with my daughter. Oso Buco (I think that was the name of it) was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2016

We loved the food we had for dinner at 222. But, the real impressive part was the exceptional service. Andrew was an outstanding server and is a wonderful asset to the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2016

I cannot say enough about the delicious, beautifully-prepared and reasonably priced food here. In my estimate, the reason why they weren't busy for a Friday night with a jazz pianist performing was the lackluster service. While the staff is all very friendly, the service was slow, and seemed disorganized. Otherwise, this would have been a perfect meal out. I think more of SLC needs to try out Bistro 222 and maybe the restaurant will up the ante by training their staff to be more efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2016

Food is always good here. The servers are nice too. The place is a little too dark but manageable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2016

Portions of short ribs embarrassingly small (like 3 bites). Plates came out over 10 minutes, so those that politely waited ate cold dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2016

Business dinner with customers during the Outdoor Retailer Show in Salt Lake City. We had a party of 5. The restaurant was not overly busy, and although our waiter was nice, our drink orders were confused more than once, and delivered piece-meal.
The timing of the meal was not good; 3 of the entrees were brought out, and we waited several minutes before the other 2 entrees were brought to the table.
Two of our party had the ribeye-filet, and ordered it rare-medium. The cuts of meat were sub-par, with poor marbling and significant gristle in the cut. I would go so far as to say the steak was not the cut as advertised. The steaks were also far too overcooked, arriving at our table as medium-well. There was not even a hint of pink in the center of the steaks.
Overall, for the quality of food and service, this place is way overpriced, and there are many other much better options in Downtown SLC. Would have expected far better during one of the biggest events of the year in SLC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2015

The food was absolutely so so so so just not even there. The burger was kinda really just uh well just not put together well at all just like all thrown together and bland. The coconut chicken sounded great on menu but it was like a boiled chicken breast with crumbs on it. No taste at all. The salmon was GREAT!!!! So perfect. So over priced for food that is no better and for sure worse than chilis. So disappointed in New Year's Eve. Many reviews say the same thing as mine bland bland bland. Take notice bistro 222 and make something that tastes good. Sheesh. Service above average ambiance was perfect. Food makes u forget all that was good. It's bland!! the chicken how do u let it go out of the kitchen like that. Sheesh too wierd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Not only was our server incredible, but every member of their team went the extra mile. From switching our table from close to the cold door, without hesitation and a great attitude from the hostess to the manager making sure every part of our meal was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2015

I came here for NYE and it was a set menu. What was offered was great but probably a bit overpriced for what you received.

The portions were a bit small for $85 a person and the salad was kind of thrown together. I got the rib-eye steak and though it was good it came with a small scoop of mashed potatoes and that was it.

I wouldn't return for a holiday meal but probably on a regular day when I have the option of the full menu.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2015

The service was good but the quality of the food does not measure up to the price you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Good food and great service. Four if us sat in the front booth and watched the passerbys on the street. Very pleasant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Best burger we have ever had and we love gourmet burgers! Also fabulous cauliflower sup. We were visiting for the Holidays and did a last minute yelp. We highly recommend this place. Very nice inside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 14, 2015

A peacock bragged to a crane, that its colorful plumage was far superior to the latter drab hue. To which the crane replied, that he could soar to heights, while the peacock has to walk with the birds of the barnyard. This resume the story of this restaurant. Reading the menu sounded amazing, but when the food arrived, it was far away from what was promised. Per example their 'Beet Salad' : a very pronounced bed of arugula, no elegant at all, with 2 very thing slices of what appear to be canned beets instead of 'roasted' on top, with a shower of parmesan cheese, that was it. No oranges, no pecans, no goat cheese, and no yogurt vinagratte as the menu promised. Sad, because I ate it, with the hopes that the main course were going to exceed my hopes. But not, the seared salmon was promising looking, then my first bite, appear to be that everything was excidingly salted, after my third bite, I could not resist but to drink water, I couldn't have another bite, my husband tasted and his expression was, Oh God!. The waitress, was so kind to make sure that my dish was promptly prepare, my husband dish has arrived so he was dinning basicly alone, in our wedding anniversary :( . Speaking of the front of the house service, those guys were inpecable, but the kitchen was lacking of quality control; and it was a Saturday night, 7:45PM dinner reservation, was not like they ran out of food. Long story short, Fine feathers does not make fine birds. This place has a long way to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 9, 2015

Portions were small. Food was mediocre. Have been before and the food was much better. Sister restaurant Tuscano Bistro is one of our favorites so I'm probably more disappointed in Bistro 222 than I would be otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2015

Four of us dined at this restaurant and all loved our meals - gnocchi, short ribs, salmon and chicken Marsala. Good service, pleasant atmosphere. Restaurant is located in the lobby of an office building, and has validated parking. They are between chefs so the chef at their sister restaurant, Boulevard Bistro, is filling in.
Downside - we were the only diners there, but it was before the theater and early.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.