Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.09mi

About Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar

Carmelo Rago of Sorrentino's Restaurant Group is pleased to introduce their newest restaurant concept, BISTECCA Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar by Sonny Sung. It Is Truly in a class of its own. Located in the heart of Century Park in Edmonton's Southside.

BISTECCA's menu is inspired by Sorrentino's Restaurant Group Corporate Executive Chef Sonny Sung, and is a combination of Savory Antipasti, Divine Pasta and Succulent Entrées containing only the finest cuts beautifully aged to perfection. BISTECCA proudly serves Sterling Silver Beef which is the highest graded premium beef in Canada.

BISTECCA's 'Wine Bar' has a very inviting, casual elegant and relaxed atmosphere. We offer an 9 oz glass of wine which can be enjoyed for half price during 'HAPPY HOUR' from 4 - 6PM everyday. The 'Wine Bar' menu is a combination of Assagini (Little Tastes), Pizza and our signature appetizers.

2345 111 St NW
Edmonton, AB T6J 5E5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue 111 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-7335

Website:
http://www.sorrentinos.com/bistecca.php

Parking Details:
Century Park has a many large parking lots. To find parking is never a problem.

Public Transit:
Just steps away from Century Park LRT Station

Executive Chef:
Sonny Sung

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private dining area which holds up to 35 people.
Restaurant rental available.
Terms and conditions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Stephan Merlo: (780) 439-7335

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Romantic (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

Staff were very professional and had great knowledge of the menu and how they were prepared. Ordering was very easy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wonderful restaurant for a special occasion.
We ordered our regular... bison ribeye steak cooked to perfection.
Our waiter was well trained.
Unfortunately the restaurant is not open for lunch anymore.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

As part of the Sorrentino chain this upscale restaurant delivers! Excellent choices for dinner. Menu was concise but had a variety of choices for all appetites. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

High quality food, exceptional service from our waiter. He had in depth knowledge of the menu and made great recommendations. He was genuinely kind and welcoming. We are so thankful we found your restaurant. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Thank you for a lovely evening. Everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Well greeted. Service was timely yet not rushed. Wine selection good. Great vibe.
Also food was not overly complicated, just a few good ingredients well paired.
Made my day.
Thanks

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My wife's gluten free pasta was very good. My arctic char was tasty, but very salty. The sodium content must have neen through the roof. I assumed it would be a healthy choice. Service was great, as usual, and overall good experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent food, great service. Would be great to have BYOW every evening,and not just Wed. Wine list is very pricey. Would also be a treat to seniors to have senior prices for those of us on a limited budget.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our group of six had a great supper, celebrating both a birthday and an anniversary. The service was superb and the food delicious. A good time was had.

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Welcoming atmosphere - very comfortable restaurant. Appetizers - bruschetta, prawns, & calamari were superb. The lamb shank, veal, chicken, and steaks were a "hit"!! The tiramisu and creme brulee were popular. Food was wonderful - very tasty & presentation was appealing. Deborah was engaging, helpful & responded well to everyone's needs - really led to an enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Retirement Dinner for a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2017

FIRST THE FOOD IS SO LOVINGLY PREPARED AND PRESENTED , SECOND, THE SERVICE IS AMONG THE BEST IN THE CITY, THE AMBIENCE IS WARM AND LIVELY, THE DECOR HAS BEEN CAREFULLY SELECTED. I| USUALLY HAVE THE VEAL SCALOPPINE OR THE ARCTIC CHAR, SOMETIMES WITH A QUINOA SALAD. PLEASE TREAT YOURSELF AND HAVE A NIGHT OUT AT BISTECA.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service and food. Our first time but we will be returning.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Awesome service! Glen is the best!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful recommendations of wine by our waiter; would have liked that he came by my table sooner to take the food order.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Popped in for a light evening meal. We were delighted with their very reasonably priced small plates menu and shared a few of these. Sat on their patio which was quite lovely. Service was attentive but not obtrusive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The staff were friendly and welcoming. Our waiter was very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. The atmosphere was cozy, service excellent and the dining experience was superb.
Thank you to everyone for a wonderful evening and dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Needed a local friendly place for wine and dinner ....Bistecca never disappoints. Thank you chef Sonny Sung

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Bistecca is a great neighborhood restaurant, that is worth the trip from neighborhoods that are further afield. Friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere. Varied menu, with two seafood additions this month. Often has specialty menus, including summer celebrations. Even with menu changes, they keep a few of the favorites, for comfort and familiarity. (Shrimp in gorgonzola sauce, for example.) Food is fresh and well-presented. Portions are appropriate. The entrees focus on meat - beef, lamb, buffalo, for example - but there's an adequate selection of seafood and vegetarian. I can't comment on vegan menu choices.

A reliable and good dining establishment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Versatile menu and always willing to please the customer. Friendly and very good food. Nice to not feel rushed! Lots of great wines to choose from and some very interedying and different after dinner digestive drinks. Enjoy trying new things! Definitely worth recommending and bonus that therebis plenty of free parking

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food. Good , friendly service. Value for money. Good portions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

it was a bit chaotic at the beginning when arranging table. overall ambience was good but menu choices were limited. the beef carpacio was superb though! at the end, we waited long for our cappuccinos and they were served not hot enough! a bit disappointment at the end!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day bruch was absolutely wonderful. The chefs went all out - from the pastries to the hot entres to the amazing dessert table, with lots inbetween. We had a late seating and were pleased to see that all the dishes were constantly being refilled. No lack of food for us late comers. My two favorite dishes were the butternut squash ravioli c/w brown butter and sage and the melt in your mouth duck confit with sour cherry reduction. The service was outstanding, not over the top, but very attentive. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch
The food was excellent when they brought out fresh the buffet line was terrible. In a very poor spot in restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came here for Mother's Day brunch. The food was decent but the setup of the buffet was absolutely horrendous. There was not enough space and it was setup in a small square so people were running into each other and I felt bad for the table that was placed right next to it. They very likely had no privacy. I also felt like we were a fire hazard because you had to walk past the bar and line up against a buffet table so there was limited room to squeeze in and turn around to the buffet without bumping into other guests and/or other tables.
The food is decent but didn't seem like there was a ton of experience in working with buffets - there were some inconsistencies with quality as the batches were served (there was one tray where the eggs benedict was fine and then next batch was partially burnt).
The service here is variable - our first visit was for dinner and we had an excellent server who made the experience wonderful and gave great recommendations. The past couple of times we had a waitress that seemed to ignore us regularly and kept forgetting drinks/check-ins.

I still like coming for dinner but would never come back for a buffet setting ever again.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Warm and inviting...with great wine selection...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 16, 2017

knowledgeable server - great food- stufato was great - once served mix the spinach

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I had only seen this place driving by so decided last minute to try it out and was extremely surprised as soon as I stepped inside. I was expecting more of a pub style place but it is a very nice, Italian style restaurant with a warm, modern feel. The salads are huge and to die for. Highly recommend the grilled Caesar. Enjoyed dinner very much!
Our waiter was very friendly and funny. Great place, I will be back.

Tags: Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 15, 2017

All in all a great time , the good the waitress recommended was a great choice 😊

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Been a Bistecca customer fir over 8 years & our culinary & customer service experience has always been above and beyond. Expectations always exceeded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Early week night visits to Bistecca were a gourmand's delight with excellent food that was well-plated and flavourful. The service during the week nights were also top-notch. We were very pleased with the delectable food and with our server who was most attentive.
However, when we returned to Bistecca with friends last Saturday, we did not receive the quality food and service we had experienced on our past visits. Granted the restaurant was at full capacity, but on this occasion, it was most apparent that Bistecca was under-staffed in the kitchen, which took short-cuts in their prep and cooking, resulting in over-cooked steaks served with over-cookedd kale and a burnt tomato, which had been substituted for the roasted potato and butternut squash. The grilled caesar salad which was typically served hot off the grill with a tantalizing dressing, was wilted and unremarkable. We were so let down by the appetizers and entrees which we sampled, that we asked to speak with the manager. Initially, he made excuses, but after consideration of our comments, he admitted that on this occasion, service had been compromised.
My husband and I want to give Bistecca another try, as this particular weekend night, was not comparable to what we had typically experienced on our last three visits during our early week night bookings.
Consistency is the key here. Hoping to hear back from the manager.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Broke a tooth on something in the lobster rissotto sauce. Had higher expectations for the food. Definitely would not be back. Great service and surroundings, yet the food didn't make the cut.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food & friendly staff. Enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our goodnight came very slowly, over an hour and a half after we arrived. they had run out of the starch of the day and didn't tell us until well after we had ordered, delaying the meal. Overall we did not enjoy ourselves. We appreciated the free flambé but it was not enough to overcome the poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

we spent 200.00 per couple; found the food not up to what we had experiened before !! food had little taste;lamb shank was tender but little flavor,pasta dishes were the same; veal was o.k

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was spot on and the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food, good selection of wines and excellent staff, very attentive!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

To be honest, I won't be going back here. From the table of 4 babies crying, to a steak that was barely cook to escargot that is impossible to eat to the slow service in a seemingly empty restaurant and finally the price is waaaayy to high for the quality

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My spouse and I ate at Bistecca this past Sunday. We were looking forward to dinner as we have had good experience before but we came away disappointed. The restaurant was relatively empty when we arrived and we were seated at an intimate corner booth. I had beef carpaccio to begin and a lobster risotto, from the specials menu. The carpaccio was excellent but the lobster risotto was bland, and the seafood tasted like plain chicken. My spouse had wild mushroom soup, another special, and the stuffed chicken breast. The soup was quite good, but the chicken was uninspired.
The atmosphere to begin our meal was quite pleasant, but midway through our meal they seated a very large, very loud family directly outside our booth, in an otherwise empty restaurant. All in all a disappointing meal.
Service was excellent, which improved the review I gave by one star.
We will not be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As always Bistecca was incredible! The food is outstanding. The only thing that bothered me was that we were early for our reservation and were told we could sit at the bar but on the restaurant side as the lounge side was full. We sat there for at least 20 minutes and not once did anyone ask if we would like to order a beverage. My husband and I frequent Bistecca quite often and we were recognized by staff and still no service while seated at the bar. That was a little disappointing. However, after we were seated the service and food was amazing as always.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.