About Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar

2345 111 St NW
Edmonton, AB T6J 5E5
View Larger Map

Carmelo Rago of Sorrentino's Restaurant Group is pleased to introduce their newest restaurant concept, BISTECCA Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar by Sonny Sung. It Is Truly in a class of its own. Located in the heart of Century Park in Edmonton's Southside.

BISTECCA's menu is inspired by Sorrentino's Restaurant Group Corporate Executive Chef Sonny Sung, and is a combination of Savory Antipasti, Divine Pasta and Succulent Entrées containing only the finest cuts beautifully aged to perfection. BISTECCA proudly serves Sterling Silver Beef which is the highest graded premium beef in Canada.

BISTECCA's 'Wine Bar' has a very inviting, casual elegant and relaxed atmosphere. We offer an 9 oz glass of wine which can be enjoyed for half price during 'HAPPY HOUR' from 4 - 6PM everyday. The 'Wine Bar' menu is a combination of Assagini (Little Tastes), Pizza and our signature appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue 111 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-7335

Website:
http://www.sorrentinos.com/bistecca.php

Parking Details:
Century Park has a many large parking lots. To find parking is never a problem.

Public Transit:
Just steps away from Century Park LRT Station

Executive Chef:
Sonny Sung

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private dining area which holds up to 35 people.
Room rentals available.
Restaurant rental available.
Terms and conditions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Kristine Challenor : 7804397335x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every last Thursday of the Month is our Feature Dinner.
January = “Famiglia” Style - The Art of Sharing
February = Chocolate
March = Alberta Pork IS CANCELLED, Instead we are hosting a Beer Dinner on Tuesday, March 25th.
April = Garlic
May = Lobster
June = Porchetta
July = Porchetta
August = Porchetta
September = Mushrooms
October = Wild Game
November = Truffles (only at Bistecca - please call for details as it is not on the last Thursday of the month.)
December = Fresh Oysters (only at Bistecca on December 5)

Restaurant Photos

  • Procuitto, Grilled Calamari, Kobe Meatballs 4 Cheese Sauce - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
  • Lamb Loin With Gnocchi - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
  • Baked Meringue - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
  • Daily Special (Poached Sea Bass & Poached Beef Tenderloin) - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
  • Gnocci With Roasted Garlic - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
  • Baked Veal Meatballs W/ 4 Cheese Cream Sauce - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Procuitto, Grilled Calamari, Kobe Meatballs 4 Cheese Sauce - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Lamb Loin With Gnocchi - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Baked Meringue - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Daily Special (Poached Sea Bass & Poached Beef Tenderloin) - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Gnocci With Roasted Garlic - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Baked Veal Meatballs W/ 4 Cheese Cream Sauce - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB

Specials

Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

25% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday. Bring your Own Wine on Wednesday's Only. No Corkage Fee. Special valid Oct 26, 2016 - Feb 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

25% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

25% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 26, 2016 - Feb 22, 2017 on Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food! Friendly service, great re ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing food! Friendly service, great recommendations for what is good on the menu. But pricy, quite a bit, but I guess good tasting food is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice spot ,food was limited in choice, p ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice spot ,food was limited in choice, perhaps pricey, however enjoyed. thxs team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Was wonderful as usual. Have never had a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Was wonderful as usual. Have never had a bad experience. Have brought people from out of town and they were very impressed.👍👍👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistecca is and has been one of our favo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Bistecca is and has been one of our favorite restaurants in Edmonton. Great service, awsome food and wine list. We love the atmosphere and feel of the restaurant. Great for a special night out or anytime you're looking for a good meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner/evening at Bistecc ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner/evening at Bistecca very much. Our server was patient and helpful. One member of our party ordered something not on the menu and she was very obliging in trying to accommodate him. my lemon veal was tender and delicious. My husband's bison ravioli was also excellent. All dishes were presented beautifully also. We had the cheese plate for dessert and enjoyed the variety of cheeses presented.

If I had one suggestion for Bistecca it would be that they reupholster their booths. It doesn't make a good impression when the first thing you see at your table is a booth that is cracked and worn.

All in all a very positive experience. We shall return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been there many times before and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been there many times before and I always enjoy it , genuine service , incredible dishes, great atmosphere friendly without over doing it all around great place

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night with a new lady friend, was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Date night with a new lady friend, was our second date and was totally impressed with the restaurant. Our booking was there as requested, we had a nice cozy romantic booth, our sever was attentive, but not pushy. Wine list was good, and I ordered a wonderful bottle of wine from Quails Gate, which just happens to be my favourite winery!! Fortunately my date enjoyed my choice. The food was fantastic. The young lady and I were both very happy with our choices. I would certainly recommend anyone looking for a great date experience to visit Bistecca.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A meal at Bistecca never goes wrong! We ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

A meal at Bistecca never goes wrong! We love the food, the ambiance and especially the Chef, Sonny Chung is absolutely awesome!

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service! A bit pricey ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great food great service!

A bit pricey

Wednesday's free corkage is a great deal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is always amazing! Love the flavore ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food is always amazing! Love the flavored oil and baguette for dipping. Would highly recommend the Capolini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Awesome food, great service, a tad price ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome food, great service, a tad pricey but to be expected

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have been to Bistecca many times befor ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I have been to Bistecca many times before but I must say this was the strangest visit I have had to date. I made a reservation at Open Table for 3. Two of us arrived first and we were taken to a table for 2, I pointed out that there was 3 of us in my reservation so we would need a bigger table. The host then took us to an table and we asked if we could have a booth because we had a lot of catching up to do. He said that the booths were reserved but we could sit in the lounge. This was at 5 oclock and we were the only patrons in the restaurant so that seemed a bit odd as I had reserved a week in advance and nowhere did it ask me if I wanted a booth. Anyhow they then decided that they could move us to a booth so by then our third party had arrived and they seated us poured our water etc and then came and said that they would need our booth by 7 and did we think we would be finished by then. We said probably not since we hadn't seen each other in a long time and had a lot of catching up to do. So they moved us again to a booth on the other side that apparently wasn't reserved. Oddly we were there till about 9:30 and I don't think that booth that we were moved from ever had two seatings and there was quite a few open tables that night so not sure why so much confusion but it made us feel like second class citizens, like someone important needed those booths and it wasn't us! Very odd.

I had the Bison Ribeye as I have had everytime I had been there and although it was tasty and cooked properly it was very tough and grissely in spots and I could barely cut through it with my steak knife. So pretty disappointing for a $49 piece of meat with a few brussel sprouts and brocollini as I asked for no starch just extra veg and sauce.

Our waiter was good and he split our bill in three which was great as we were all paying by credit card but it was very odd or maybe presumptious that when he handed all three of us the machine it was already preset at the 20% tip option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Over priced, waiter spent too much time ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Over priced, waiter spent too much time trying up sell - table was not not available when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The service was great and the the restau ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was great and the the restaurant is very tasteful and modern in the decor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service! It was our first ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food and service! It was our first time here, but we all agreed that we'd be back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've lost some great fine dining experi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We've lost some great fine dining experiences in Edmonton but then I found Bistecca. What a wonderful ambience. Very quiet between 5:30pm and 7:00pm but even after 7:00pm it wasn't overly noisy. Excellent service, couldn't have asked for friendlier staff. Great menu and plated beautifully. Everything I could have asked for in a fine dining experience. Taste buds were amused with the bruschetta and quinoa salad. One had veal and one had tenderloin steak. It was a lot but we licked the platters clean. I had the rib eye and grilled to perfection. Topped everything off with tiramisu and creme brule. Savored every mouthful. I'm already booking my return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was beautiful and romanti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and romantically designed. The food was absolutely delicious and all the servers were extremely attentive. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for amazing Italian dishes and a romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A couple of years ago I stopped going to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

A couple of years ago I stopped going to Bistecca due to the rudeness of the general manager. Thankfully that GM was let go and they are now under a fantastic GM named Stephane. He was very friendly, professional and attentive. We had fabulous service from our two servers - who unfortunately I can't remember their names. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening and it was reflected in the tip. We even had the pleasure of witnessing a young man down on one knee proposing to his girlfriend.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and anyone looking for a nice evening out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant was absolutely amazing. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This restaurant was absolutely amazing. The service was phenomenal, he knew the menu very well and it was obvious that he loves to work there. The food was to die for, and the fact that the owner was the head chef definitely made it better.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was terrific, and timing between co ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was terrific, and timing between courses was about right. Wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. Good wine list. Nice variety on menu. Fairly quiet so able to carry on a conversation. Helped us celebrate three birthdays! Had a very nice time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good but not the arctic char. S ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was good but not the arctic char. Service was fine.

Wine list on the pricey side.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good all round. Very good service and ma ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Good all round. Very good service and management. Food much better than average. Very good wine and beer lists.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waaay too overpriced. Waiters are good ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Waaay too overpriced. Waiters are good salesmen.....trying to convince us to go for bigger more expensive items when our minds were already made up. Wine we chose was "possibly no longer available" so waiter recommended something else (obviously with a big price tag!).

When wanting to share a meal, they had to add $10.00 for cutting the steak, supposedly for ensuring that accompaniments were well proportioned......one small potato per plate certainly doesn't have that kind of value! Irish coffee at the end of the meal was cold...obviously had been sitting for a while. Overall experience was extremely disappointing, although the food was tasty. Won't be going back there when there are so many other (and better) restaurants to choose from.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

if you are looking for something special ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 27, 2016

if you are looking for something special and not a typical chain experience, treat yourself. I recommend the veal chop...its huge.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Definitely not good value for your dolla ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Definitely not good value for your dollar. The dessert seemed to have lived in the kitchen for at least a couple of days: it was garnished with expired "popcorn " ? Have had good food in the past, but has drastically deteriorated in quality. Was a 50th anniversary disappointment! ..Sorry, won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My wife and I decided to take a break fr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My wife and I decided to take a break from cooking and go out for dinner. We chose Bistecca because we have been there before and enjoyed those previous occassions. This dinner was excellent as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Lived up to our expectations and the rev ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Lived up to our expectations and the reviews that were given. We will recommend Bistecca to our friends and we will be back. Service was great, food was as good as expected and the ambience was calm and the restaurant not crowded or noisy. It was a very nice date night for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment, the short rib ra ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Never a disappointment, the short rib ravioli is to die for!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Took my best friend for her birthday. aw ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Took my best friend for her birthday. awesome experience. The staff was great and catered to our need. I would love to come back again!!! <3

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Recently visited Bistecca with my wife. ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Recently visited Bistecca with my wife. We were very impressed with the service quality and ambiance of the restaurant. I left wanting a copy of their house music playlist!

In terms of the service, it was astounding. Our two waiters traded off well and we weren't asked the same thing by both of them as happens with many shared-table restaurants. They were prompt and polite and well-informed about the menu. They handled my allergies very well and were good to reassure me of the steps the kitchen was taking to take them into account.

I found the food mixed. The "tasting menu" meats felt like they had been left out too long, the prusciotto in particular was waxy and dry. My wife quite enjoyed her calamari though. The garlic-onion soup was extremely good. The broth was thick and hearty and I was worried about the onion overpowering the garlic but they complimented each other well. When it came to the mains we also had different experiences. She absolutely loved the short rib ravioli, whereas my 14oz rib eye was cooked exactly right at medium-rare but lacked the flavoring I would expect from a steak at nearly $50 a plate. My vegetables were also overcooked and just lathered in butter given them a slimy texture. Capping the evening off was the creme brulee which my wife found very good. So my wife raved about her meal which meant I was happy with the evening, even if my own meal was solidly "ok".

Finally, the wine list was impressive. While not extensive, they had good coverage of Italian wines, which is good to see in an Italian steakhouse, as well as some local Canadian content. The wines represented a broad price point and their markup was reasonable - better than many places. My Super Tuscan recommended by the wait staff was big and red and well developed. Paired great with my meal.

Overall, I would recommend Bistecca especially for a romantic evening, although I might go back and try the pasta and other Italian staples rather than the steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food as always. Had selections ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing food as always. Had selections off of their seasonal "mushroom" festival. Great as always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A phenomenal meal - the food is so so go ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A phenomenal meal - the food is so so good! And the recommended wine was very nice. Excellent choice for a special occasion and service is great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. A great evening. ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great food and service. A great evening. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my family's favorite places!! Ex ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 25, 2016

One of my family's favorite places!! Excellent service and food consistently great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW, what a great find! Glen was an exce ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 20, 2016

WOW, what a great find! Glen was an excellent server! So attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Everything we tried was perfect and amazing! Very accommodating to my gluten allergy! Will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All very good. Service very pleasant and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 20, 2016

All very good. Service very pleasant and welcoming but a little slow. Very good food and reasonable value. One of few neighbourhood restaurants of this high calibre.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My sister was visiting from Victoria and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 19, 2016

My sister was visiting from Victoria and I wanted to take her to Bistecca because I knew the food is outstanding there. It truly was! Our waiter was extremely good and we felt very pampered. I would like to come back and try steak sometime, so you can tell I will be coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my fourth visit to Bistecca. Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was my fourth visit to Bistecca. The previous experiences were very good. The service has usually been good (not outstanding) and the food has previously been exemplary. This visit was nothing like the previous. Our server was a combination of awkward, inattentive and uneducated about the menus. Despite all of the mains having the same sides, she didn't know what the sides were and went to check with the kitchen. She came back to tell us and in the end the sides were not what she had told us. Was unaware that they had a Barolo on the wine list. Didn't bring out or open the wine until our food was already on the table.

All of the servers were dressed in bright blue Smirnoff polo shirts. Okay for the bar or the patio, but for the restaurant in a $50/plate dining room? Not classy at all.

My steak was well over done (barely pink, despite the "rare" request) and my friends was well under done (free flowing blood despite the "medium" request). Ordered two appetizers for a table of four - one (Black Apron Beef) came out with three crackers for the beef/cheese. A request for an additional cracker for the fourth person at the table was met with surprise from the server. The thirteen dollar creme brulee was enough for about a teaspoon and a half for each of us.

Overall the value of the meal was poor, given the quality we experienced. But it was the service that really ruined the experience for us. The 2/5 "Fair" rating is for my previous positive experiences, and my hope that our experience was brought to us by the "Monday" serving and cooking crew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I have been there numerous times, but ne ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have been there numerous times, but never before on the patio. It was great. Defiantly a patio to relax on and have a glass of wine or a couple of beer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sonny Sung makes a meal special through ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Sonny Sung makes a meal special through quality & flexability and through communication

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.