About Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar

2345 111 St NW
Edmonton, AB T6J 5E5
View Larger Map

Carmelo Rago of Sorrentino's Restaurant Group is pleased to introduce their newest restaurant concept, BISTECCA Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar by Sonny Sung. It Is Truly in a class of its own. Located in the heart of Century Park in Edmonton's Southside.

BISTECCA's menu is inspired by Sorrentino's Restaurant Group Corporate Executive Chef Sonny Sung, and is a combination of Savory Antipasti, Divine Pasta and Succulent Entrées containing only the finest cuts beautifully aged to perfection. BISTECCA proudly serves Sterling Silver Beef which is the highest graded premium beef in Canada.

BISTECCA's 'Wine Bar' has a very inviting, casual elegant and relaxed atmosphere. We offer an 9 oz glass of wine which can be enjoyed for half price during 'HAPPY HOUR' from 4 - 6PM everyday. The 'Wine Bar' menu is a combination of Assagini (Little Tastes), Pizza and our signature appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue 111 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-7335

Website:
http://www.sorrentinos.com/bistecca.php

Parking Details:
Century Park has a many large parking lots. To find parking is never a problem.

Public Transit:
Just steps away from Century Park LRT Station

Executive Chef:
Sonny Sung

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private dining area which holds up to 35 people.
Room rentals available.
Restaurant rental available.
Terms and conditions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Kristine Challenor : 7804397335x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Every last Thursday of the Month is our Feature Dinner.
January = “Famiglia” Style - The Art of Sharing
February = Chocolate
March = Alberta Pork IS CANCELLED, Instead we are hosting a Beer Dinner on Tuesday, March 25th.
April = Garlic
May = Lobster
June = Porchetta
July = Porchetta
August = Porchetta
September = Mushrooms
October = Wild Game
November = Truffles (only at Bistecca - please call for details as it is not on the last Thursday of the month.)
December = Fresh Oysters (only at Bistecca on December 5)

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Loin With Gnocchi
  • Baked Meringue
  • Daily Special (Poached Sea Bass & Poached Beef Tenderloin)
  • Gnocci With Roasted Garlic
  • Baked Veal Meatballs W/ 4 Cheese Cream Sauce
Lamb Loin With Gnocchi
Baked Meringue
Daily Special (Poached Sea Bass & Poached Beef Tenderloin)
Gnocci With Roasted Garlic
Baked Veal Meatballs W/ 4 Cheese Cream Sauce

Promotions

25% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Alberta Gift Show Participants

Sundays - Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

25% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
25% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 on Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday. Bring your Own Wine on Wednesday's Only. No Corkage Fee. Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Alberta Gift Show Participants

Sundays - Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
We will be offering %25 off all bottled wine to all gift show participants who show their badge!!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 14, 2016 - Aug 17, 2016 on Sundays - Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
3 More
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Italian
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

special occasion (56)
romantic (41)
fit for foodies (38)
See All
good for groups (37)
neighborhood gem (35)
notable wine list (30)
great for lunch (15)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

It was not busy. The service and the goo ...

Dined 4 days ago

It was not busy. The service and the good were fantastic. Waitress was very friendly and not afraid to chat. We will definitely be going back !!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sonny's food never disappoints. He is a ...

Dined 6 days ago

Sonny's food never disappoints. He is a master at everything he makes. Stefan is warm and welcoming and his staff are very professional. My family and I go there frequently. I feel so fortunate to have such a wonderful restaurant in my backyard. Thank you Sonny!!! Sandy Hardy

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceptional food and service. We ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Always exceptional food and service. We have been inside and outside patio and both were exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was delightful. She was exce ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Our server was delightful. She was exceptional, friendly and made our dad's Father's Day celebration extra special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and attention to detai ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent service and attention to detail, which is hard to find these days. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly with great recommendations on wine and food. Would definitely return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious lamb steak! Server was polite ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Delicious lamb steak! Server was polite and explained the menu really well, we ordered almost everything he recommended since we have five people, constantly checking up on us probably because we were the only table during that time ( we had a late dinner) a bit expansive though, but the service and the food also reflect that !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a nice find. Food was very good ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was a nice find. Food was very good but the butternut ravioli was not a very big portion. Will certainly be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crew at Bistecca once again offered ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The crew at Bistecca once again offered great food (the Flat-Iron steak is superb) and friendly, informed service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent and the chef displayed his culinary French/Italian cooking eloquently in the food served such as the bread, the brisket, and the French desserts.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Relaxing get together with friends...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We met after golf for a relaxed meal. Looking for more than quick bite to eat but not fine dining . Portions were adequate if you ordered the large. The service worked well with our loud mood. We would go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special occaission

Dined on May 7, 2016

Definitely for special occaissions. A little high priced, but a good wine list and great ambiance. Terrific Mussels!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent evening

Dined on May 7, 2016

We took our friends out for their 25th Anniversary. We all agreed the service was impeccable, the food was amazing,wine selection was great and the atmosphere was pleasurable. Honestly, we haven't had that nice an experience in a long time. We thank you. We will defiantly be back in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistecca is definitely a favourite. Cons ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Bistecca is definitely a favourite. Consistently great food and great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was excellent as always. Love this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 2, 2016

We took our two adult sons to Bistecca for their combined birthday celebration (1 week apart). The food and service were excellent, and the noise level was quite reasonable, allowing easy conversation without having to raise our voices. We have been here several times before and the quality of the experience is always consistently high. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 2, 2016

They treated us great. Had kids with us and looked after them well. Gave anniversary couple a free dessert. Excellent place eat.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Well organized and awesome service for m ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Well organized and awesome service for my table of 15.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A good value restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

Of the Sorrentino's restaurants Bistecca is our favorite. Good value meal, pleasant ambiance. Service has always been good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Garlic Menu!

Dined on April 25, 2016

We were at Bistecca on a sunday night to celebrate my husband's birthday. They had a set 3-course garlic menu for $35. It was delicious from the appetizer to the dessert. The appetizer was Goat Cheese Stuffed small red peppers on Onion Jam with dried sliced garlic pieces, meant to be spread on a slice of bread. Yum! The entrees chosen were Roast Veal & Salmon & both were delicious. Dessert was Crepes Suzettes made at our table with garlic ice cream. Again very good! We enjoy coming here during garlic festival. It usually falls around my husband's birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Bistecca Restaurant. Overpriced and over peppered!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Did not like their "roasted Ceasar salad. Everyone's meal came droned in pepper corns which spoiled the taste of the meals. Very disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Jack

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Great food and service for lunch. We'll be back soon to try out dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to this restaurant in April during ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Went to this restaurant in April during their garlic festival and ordered off of the garlic menu. Wow! Flavours galore, including garlic. Very inventive use of garlic in the different dishes, yet not overpowering. Appetizer, entrée, and dessert were perfect sizes so that you could enjoy all three courses. Delicious wine (although it contained no garlic!). Overall, a very tasty meal. The service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great experience. Glenn was not ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

We had a great experience. Glenn was nothing but the best, we'll be returning because of him and the quality of the food. It was delicious.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Edmonton Italian steak house

Dined on March 26, 2016

Pretty dependable restaurant. Recommended the steak to a companion as it had been very good the last time we ate there & had come medium rare (as advertised) - very disappointed when this arrived done to death. Liked the small bites to start. Waitress was very good and not overbearingly and refreshingly she didn't ask 'how our first bite' was. Wine list is good but there should be more bottles in the $30 - 40 range rather than pretty much starting at upwards of $50.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Waiters were too gushy......".."......". ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Waiters were too gushy......".."......".........................Dubfwkogfdubytecgkmnnhfsa,kiuvfrbnhgdgjnhfrshyjm

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Took forever for our food to arrive - on ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Took forever for our food to arrive - on a slow, Tuesday night. The steak was cold and the octopus in the seafood dish was cold.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was great but server was clueless .

Dined on March 15, 2016

Server was not aware of specials for happy hour timing ad offering or food. The meal lasted an hour longer than it should of due the e traordinarily long waits between courses. Have been many times before so this was a surprise to have such poor service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Way over priced for the Steak Selections.

Dined on March 13, 2016

A Rib-Eye Steak @ $43.00 should be at least 1 inch thick. Mine was cooked well, however the size was not proportionate to the price. I have had 15.99 Steak Sandwiches that had a larger cut of Beef, that tasted just as good.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious Food

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

All items on the menu are wonderful. Good for a romantic date setting or a wonderful meal. I went there for a nice girls dinner. Dessert was amazing! We each had the brownie and it was to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

We had the steak and the duck. The duck ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

We had the steak and the duck. The duck wasn't bad but the steak was quite chewy. The taste was very good just the quality of the steak we expected would be better. The service was very good and of course the selection of wine is quite impressive.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was a bit rushed but once I ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The service was a bit rushed but once I slowed her down it was good. The food was terrific as always

food4
ambience4
service4

Best steak I've had in a long time :-)

Dined on February 23, 2016

Best steak I've had in a long time :-)

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not our first time at Bistecca, and as u ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Not our first time at Bistecca, and as usual, it didn't disappoint! Always warmly welcomed and the staff is always there to take care of you. We had a great of eight and everything was awesome! One our favourites in Edmonton

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite spot! We come here for all ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Our favorite spot! We come here for all our special occasions! This visit we had the Arctic char which was fantastic, and the sirloin special with crab and escargots, also incredibly delicious. We finished with the tiramisu and espresso creme brûlée. Highly recommend!! We of course will be back again soon!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Night out with the Wife

Dined on February 20, 2016

The ambiance was great, and the food was good. Enjoyed dinner and the evening.

Tags: romantic
food1
ambience4
service2

If you like your $45 rib eye steak to ju ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

If you like your $45 rib eye steak to just have a little salt on it, then you'll love this place. I'm not sure how the serving plate was hotter than the meat, so be careful you don't burn yourself on it. The atmosphere was modern, nice and enjoyable.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

mmmm, mmmm, good...

Dined on February 16, 2016

The steak is truly melt in your mouth! Aged to perfection. If you like your steak, then this is the steak house for you! Highly recommend this restaurant. I have never been disappointed here. My only criticism is that I also like vegetables and the veggie portion was a bit lacking, but all else was great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was succulent!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

I loved the restaurant! Ambiance was very good!! Menu is wow!! It was succulent!! Carppaccio was wow!! 5 stars

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

Everything was going smoothly in the beg ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was going smoothly in the beginning but in the end it didn't end well. When we first walked in we were greeted and Seated right away. Atmosphere was good. You can have a conversation without hearing the neighbours. The service was good but nothing really stood out as being exceptional. We had the 4 courses meal for a Valentines dinner. The waitress brought bread but only gave us 1 piece each instead of a small basket like the other fancy restaurants. She didn't come back and asked if we would like some more. We had shrimp and breaded oyster for appy. The shrimps was good and cooked well but oysters were very salty. The main dish, we picked steak. So I asked how do they cook their steak? She said they only cook medium rare is that okay? So I was surprised on how you can't tell them on how you want your steak done but I do like medium rare anyway so I said sure. But when our food came out. The steak were tough and chewy because they were cooked medium well. My shrimps also a little over cook but my bf said his was the best shrimps he ever had. The desert came out, I asked what is it she wasn't very knowledgeable of the dish. As a complimentary, they gave two shots of raspberries liquor and 2 little pieces of chocolate. So overall I would rate this restaurant 2 stars out of 5 and would not go back considering we paid over $200 and the food was not that great. Just over price.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice Valentine service

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went on short notice very well done Valentine Special dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.