About Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar

2345 111 St NW
Edmonton, AB T6J 5E5
View Larger Map

Carmelo Rago of Sorrentino's Restaurant Group is pleased to introduce their newest restaurant concept, BISTECCA Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar by Sonny Sung. It Is Truly in a class of its own. Located in the heart of Century Park in Edmonton's Southside.

BISTECCA's menu is inspired by Sorrentino's Restaurant Group Corporate Executive Chef Sonny Sung, and is a combination of Savory Antipasti, Divine Pasta and Succulent Entrées containing only the finest cuts beautifully aged to perfection. BISTECCA proudly serves Sterling Silver Beef which is the highest graded premium beef in Canada.

BISTECCA's 'Wine Bar' has a very inviting, casual elegant and relaxed atmosphere. We offer an 9 oz glass of wine which can be enjoyed for half price during 'HAPPY HOUR' from 4 - 6PM everyday. The 'Wine Bar' menu is a combination of Assagini (Little Tastes), Pizza and our signature appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue 111 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-7335

Website:
http://www.sorrentinos.com/bistecca.php

Parking Details:
Century Park has a many large parking lots. To find parking is never a problem.

Public Transit:
Just steps away from Century Park LRT Station

Executive Chef:
Sonny Sung

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private dining area which holds up to 35 people.
Room rentals available.
Restaurant rental available.
Terms and conditions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Kristine Challenor : 7804397335x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every last Thursday of the Month is our Feature Dinner.
January = “Famiglia” Style - The Art of Sharing
February = Chocolate
March = Alberta Pork IS CANCELLED, Instead we are hosting a Beer Dinner on Tuesday, March 25th.
April = Garlic
May = Lobster
June = Porchetta
July = Porchetta
August = Porchetta
September = Mushrooms
October = Wild Game
November = Truffles (only at Bistecca - please call for details as it is not on the last Thursday of the month.)
December = Fresh Oysters (only at Bistecca on December 5)

Restaurant Photos

  • Procuitto, Grilled Calamari, Kobe Meatballs 4 Cheese Sauce
  • Lamb Loin With Gnocchi
  • Baked Meringue
  • Daily Special (Poached Sea Bass & Poached Beef Tenderloin)
  • Gnocci With Roasted Garlic
  • Baked Veal Meatballs W/ 4 Cheese Cream Sauce
Procuitto, Grilled Calamari, Kobe Meatballs 4 Cheese Sauce
Lamb Loin With Gnocchi
Baked Meringue
Daily Special (Poached Sea Bass & Poached Beef Tenderloin)
Gnocci With Roasted Garlic
Baked Veal Meatballs W/ 4 Cheese Cream Sauce

Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
1 More
Italian
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (30)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Groups (17)
See All
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for a Date (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
554 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Definitely not good value for your dolla ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 3 days ago

Definitely not good value for your dollar. The dessert seemed to have lived in the kitchen for at least a couple of days: it was garnished with expired "popcorn " ? Have had good food in the past, but has drastically deteriorated in quality. Was a 50th anniversary disappointment! ..Sorry, won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My wife and I decided to take a break fr ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I decided to take a break from cooking and go out for dinner. We chose Bistecca because we have been there before and enjoyed those previous occassions. This dinner was excellent as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Lived up to our expectations and the rev ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Lived up to our expectations and the reviews that were given. We will recommend Bistecca to our friends and we will be back. Service was great, food was as good as expected and the ambience was calm and the restaurant not crowded or noisy. It was a very nice date night for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment, the short rib ra ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Never a disappointment, the short rib ravioli is to die for!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Took my best friend for her birthday. aw ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Took my best friend for her birthday. awesome experience. The staff was great and catered to our need. I would love to come back again!!! <3

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Recently visited Bistecca with my wife. ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Recently visited Bistecca with my wife. We were very impressed with the service quality and ambiance of the restaurant. I left wanting a copy of their house music playlist!

In terms of the service, it was astounding. Our two waiters traded off well and we weren't asked the same thing by both of them as happens with many shared-table restaurants. They were prompt and polite and well-informed about the menu. They handled my allergies very well and were good to reassure me of the steps the kitchen was taking to take them into account.

I found the food mixed. The "tasting menu" meats felt like they had been left out too long, the prusciotto in particular was waxy and dry. My wife quite enjoyed her calamari though. The garlic-onion soup was extremely good. The broth was thick and hearty and I was worried about the onion overpowering the garlic but they complimented each other well. When it came to the mains we also had different experiences. She absolutely loved the short rib ravioli, whereas my 14oz rib eye was cooked exactly right at medium-rare but lacked the flavoring I would expect from a steak at nearly $50 a plate. My vegetables were also overcooked and just lathered in butter given them a slimy texture. Capping the evening off was the creme brulee which my wife found very good. So my wife raved about her meal which meant I was happy with the evening, even if my own meal was solidly "ok".

Finally, the wine list was impressive. While not extensive, they had good coverage of Italian wines, which is good to see in an Italian steakhouse, as well as some local Canadian content. The wines represented a broad price point and their markup was reasonable - better than many places. My Super Tuscan recommended by the wait staff was big and red and well developed. Paired great with my meal.

Overall, I would recommend Bistecca especially for a romantic evening, although I might go back and try the pasta and other Italian staples rather than the steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food as always. Had selections ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing food as always. Had selections off of their seasonal "mushroom" festival. Great as always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A phenomenal meal - the food is so so go ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A phenomenal meal - the food is so so good! And the recommended wine was very nice. Excellent choice for a special occasion and service is great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. A great evening. ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great food and service. A great evening. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my family's favorite places!! Ex ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

One of my family's favorite places!! Excellent service and food consistently great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW, what a great find! Glen was an exce ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

WOW, what a great find! Glen was an excellent server! So attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Everything we tried was perfect and amazing! Very accommodating to my gluten allergy! Will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All very good. Service very pleasant and ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

All very good. Service very pleasant and welcoming but a little slow. Very good food and reasonable value. One of few neighbourhood restaurants of this high calibre.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My sister was visiting from Victoria and ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My sister was visiting from Victoria and I wanted to take her to Bistecca because I knew the food is outstanding there. It truly was! Our waiter was extremely good and we felt very pampered. I would like to come back and try steak sometime, so you can tell I will be coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my fourth visit to Bistecca. Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was my fourth visit to Bistecca. The previous experiences were very good. The service has usually been good (not outstanding) and the food has previously been exemplary. This visit was nothing like the previous. Our server was a combination of awkward, inattentive and uneducated about the menus. Despite all of the mains having the same sides, she didn't know what the sides were and went to check with the kitchen. She came back to tell us and in the end the sides were not what she had told us. Was unaware that they had a Barolo on the wine list. Didn't bring out or open the wine until our food was already on the table.

All of the servers were dressed in bright blue Smirnoff polo shirts. Okay for the bar or the patio, but for the restaurant in a $50/plate dining room? Not classy at all.

My steak was well over done (barely pink, despite the "rare" request) and my friends was well under done (free flowing blood despite the "medium" request). Ordered two appetizers for a table of four - one (Black Apron Beef) came out with three crackers for the beef/cheese. A request for an additional cracker for the fourth person at the table was met with surprise from the server. The thirteen dollar creme brulee was enough for about a teaspoon and a half for each of us.

Overall the value of the meal was poor, given the quality we experienced. But it was the service that really ruined the experience for us. The 2/5 "Fair" rating is for my previous positive experiences, and my hope that our experience was brought to us by the "Monday" serving and cooking crew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I have been there numerous times, but ne ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have been there numerous times, but never before on the patio. It was great. Defiantly a patio to relax on and have a glass of wine or a couple of beer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sonny Sung makes a meal special through ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Sonny Sung makes a meal special through quality & flexability and through communication

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Bistecca was AMAZING! We went for dinner ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Bistecca was AMAZING! We went for dinner and was not disappointed. The little tastes menu was such a good starter and everything we had was very tasty. I would recommend the brownie for dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four of us enjoyed pasta and a bottle of ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Four of us enjoyed pasta and a bottle of wine. My husband loved his short rib ravioli. He was sorry that he had not ordered the full order as his dish was delicious. I had the pasta with chicken and wild mushrooms and it was melt in your mouth delicious. Our friends also enjoyed their pasta with seafood. We had a great evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is super!! Try the veal and grilled ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food is super!! Try the veal and grilled romaine salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This was a return trip with family membe ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was a return trip with family members (8 people). Judging from the feedback from the other guests the place was a hit. Great service from Glenn D! Food was hot and very enjoyable. All of the steak dishes were cooked according to order. Appetizers were excellent. Recommend the shrimp & calamari. Overall very pleased. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My meal was a little salty but still ver ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My meal was a little salty but still very good. Our service was excellent ! Best we've had in a long time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our Anniversary. When I made the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was our Anniversary. When I made the reservation I mentioned this and it was not acknowledged. My pasta that came with my steak was still hard and not edible. Since we had waited a long time for our meal I just did not say anything and did not eat it though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food and atmosphere, Sunny is an a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, Sunny is an awesome chef and personality, we really enjoy coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A complete disappointment.

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A complete disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Overall the meal was OK. Not sure I'm a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall the meal was OK. Not sure I'm a fan of having one piece of bread offered to me and then coming back for a second round - what happened to having a bread basket? Service from the Manager was excellent, he stopped by to chat and build a relationship. Our server alright, not really that attentive I noticed, particularly after we did not order alcohol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We really enjoyed our meal here in celeb ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal here in celebration of my sons birthday.

Very good food and the service was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I split an appetizer (mussel ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I split an appetizer (mussels), a bottle of wine and had two entrees (the braised weft ravioli a.d the New York Strip Steak steak). Honestly the low point was the steak. It was good but I have had better at a better price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was not busy. The service and the goo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was not busy. The service and the good were fantastic. Waitress was very friendly and not afraid to chat.

We will definitely be going back !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sonny's food never disappoints. He is a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sonny's food never disappoints. He is a master at everything he makes. Stefan is warm and welcoming and his staff are very professional. My family and I go there frequently. I feel so fortunate to have such a wonderful restaurant in my backyard.

Thank you Sonny!!!

Sandy Hardy

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always exceptional food and service. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always exceptional food and service. We have been inside and outside patio and both were exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was delightful. She was exce ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our server was delightful. She was exceptional, friendly and made our dad's Father's Day celebration extra special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and attention to detai ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent service and attention to detail, which is hard to find these days. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly with great recommendations on wine and food. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious lamb steak! Server was polite ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Delicious lamb steak! Server was polite and explained the menu really well, we ordered almost everything he recommended since we have five people, constantly checking up on us probably because we were the only table during that time ( we had a late dinner) a bit expansive though, but the service and the food also reflect that !

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was quite good! The food wa ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The service was quite good! The food was very delicious as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a nice find. Food was very good ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was a nice find. Food was very good but the butternut ravioli was not a very big portion. Will certainly be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The crew at Bistecca once again offered ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The crew at Bistecca once again offered great food (the Flat-Iron steak is superb) and friendly, informed service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent and the chef displayed his culinary French/Italian cooking eloquently in the food served such as the bread, the brisket, and the French desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxing get together with friends...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We met after golf for a relaxed meal. Looking for more than quick bite to eat but not fine dining . Portions were adequate if you ordered the large. The service worked well with our loud mood.

We would go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Special occaission

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Definitely for special occaissions. A little high priced, but a good wine list and great ambiance. Terrific Mussels!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent evening

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We took our friends out for their 25th Anniversary. We all agreed the service was impeccable, the food was amazing,wine selection was great and the atmosphere was pleasurable. Honestly, we haven't had that nice an experience in a long time. We thank you. We will defiantly be back in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.