About Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar

2345 111 St NW
Edmonton, AB T6J 5E5
View Larger Map

Carmelo Rago of Sorrentino's Restaurant Group is pleased to introduce their newest restaurant concept, BISTECCA Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar by Sonny Sung. It Is Truly in a class of its own. Located in the heart of Century Park in Edmonton's Southside.

BISTECCA's menu is inspired by Sorrentino's Restaurant Group Corporate Executive Chef Sonny Sung, and is a combination of Savory Antipasti, Divine Pasta and Succulent Entrées containing only the finest cuts beautifully aged to perfection. BISTECCA proudly serves Sterling Silver Beef which is the highest graded premium beef in Canada.

BISTECCA's 'Wine Bar' has a very inviting, casual elegant and relaxed atmosphere. We offer an 9 oz glass of wine which can be enjoyed for half price during 'HAPPY HOUR' from 4 - 6PM everyday. The 'Wine Bar' menu is a combination of Assagini (Little Tastes), Pizza and our signature appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue 111 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-7335

Website:
http://www.sorrentinos.com/bistecca.php

Parking Details:
Century Park has a many large parking lots. To find parking is never a problem.

Public Transit:
Just steps away from Century Park LRT Station

Executive Chef:
Sonny Sung

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private dining area which holds up to 35 people.
Restaurant rental available.
Terms and conditions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Stephan Merlo: (780) 439-7335

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Procuitto, Grilled Calamari, Kobe Meatballs 4 Cheese Sauce - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Lamb Loin With Gnocchi - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Baked Meringue - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Daily Special (Poached Sea Bass & Poached Beef Tenderloin) - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Gnocci With Roasted Garlic - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB
Baked Veal Meatballs W/ 4 Cheese Cream Sauce - Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar, Edmonton, AB

Specials

Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

25% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

50% Off All Wine Bottles

Sundays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday. Bring your Own Wine on Wednesday's Only. No Corkage Fee. Special valid Oct 26, 2016 - Feb 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for a fabulous 3 course Valentines set menu with multiple choices. Price of the menu is determined by the entree which is selected.
Menu price starts at $50 per person.

25% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

25% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 26, 2016 - Feb 22, 2017 on Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

50% Off All Wine Bottles

Sundays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off All Wine Bottles. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 7, 2017 - Jan 31, 2017 on Sundays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (15)
Cozy (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to Bistecca for so many spec ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined a day ago

I have been to Bistecca for so many special occasions and often just for the French Onion Soup (full of garlic). Always great food and excellent service. Wonderful. It's like being home but like your family has missed you and are so happy to see you.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Private Room, Business Meals, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fine, never a issue with service ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

Always fine, never a issue with service or wine selections in the 3 yr's of dining at Bistecca.

With my wife, enjoys several different choice's of wine or tasty Italian creations. Its always fine dining experiences that i enjoy. This is one of better in Edmonton.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Spicy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our first visit. Our food was del ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was our first visit. Our food was delicous and our waiter was super friendly! He made a lot of wonderful suggestions and made us feel like old friends. Will definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome! Love the attentive service and ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome! Love the attentive service and food. Especially, the food... fresh ingredients, thoughtfully prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely decor, on the expensive side, my ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Lovely decor, on the expensive side, my meal wasn't prepared as was identified on menu. Their resolution was to pack a replacement chicken breast to take home. Of course, this was thrown away. It would have been so easy for them to comp an inexpensive side and have us leave quite happy.

Would think twice before returning....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Very good food, the restaurant is very c ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very good food, the restaurant is very chic and romantic, great for a date! Great selection of wine, and the service was great also! Will definitely come back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Duck and rib steak were phenomenal

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Duck and rib steak were phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were very impressed with t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I were very impressed with the excellent service and very delicious food. The New York steak was one of the best I have ever eaten in a restaurant. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the Beef Ribs Ravioli which was very tasty and original. We thought that the entire New Years Eve dinner was reasonably priced for the splendid food, service and ambiance. The decor of the restaurant was very appropriate.

When we held our daughter's birthday celebration at Bistecca Steakhouse in Edmonton on an eaarlier occasion, the food and service were also exceptionally good. We will certainly recommend Bistecca to our friends and relatives.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Bistecca for a New Years Eve ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came to Bistecca for a New Years Eve dinner.

Right from the moment we walked in and handed our coats to the hostess, we felt welcome and comfortable.

Our server Melanie (maybe Melody?) was gracious and efficient with the exact amount of attention given to us.

Our meals, from start to finish were perfection - couldn't have found anything to improve.

There was a special menu for the evening with plenty to choose from, satisfying any desire or taste.

The ambiance was soft lighting, quiet enough for conversation yet enough background noise to feel very private.

It was a perfect date out, on a special evening.

This was our first visit - but we'll be back for certain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for New Years Eve. The spe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for New Years Eve. The special menu had great options and we both enjoyed our selections. Servers were very friendly and offered great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went as a company Christmas function. F ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went as a company Christmas function. First time experience at this restaurant. Loved the atmosphere and dining room. Went in early to seat at the lounge and have a drink and tapas until dinner but was disappointed with service in the lounge. Perhaps it was because only two of us had alcoholic beverages (3 people in our group do not drink) and we were a quiet group but everyone wanted to be part of the experience. After quite some time, we flagged down our waiter and said we would like to order tapas. He asked that we go to the dining lounge. We stated we had a reservation for later so he said he would get us in early and ushered us to the dining room.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Service, price and ambiance suggested a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service, price and ambiance suggested a 'special experience'. However food was exceedingly mediocre. We were told that 'Sonny' the head chef for the Sorrintino's chain was cooking so we should have steak. They were dry and chewy. The special risotto was bland and overcooked. Wine was very marked up, even by Edmonton standards. Over all a mediocre meal at premium prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent service and wonderful food. A ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent service and wonderful food. A gem in Edmonton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food great service pleasant and ef ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food great service pleasant and efficient service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Its worth the visit.. and the engaging c ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Its worth the visit.. and the engaging conversation with the wine sommelier. Thanks Stephan. Nice talk about Italian wines..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Absolutely Great Again. Food was excell ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Absolutely Great Again. Food was excellent. Service was excellent ( Glenn was our waiter). The room is excellent. Looking forward to next time.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dining experience with fri ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Another great dining experience with friends! The food is always great and there is a very good selection of Italian wines. One of the best Italian restaurants in Edmonton!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to Bistecca several times a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We have been to Bistecca several times and have never been disappointed. Everything was great yet again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great but wait staff was outsta ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was great but wait staff was outstanding in managing our evening.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our table was a circular table in the lo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our table was a circular table in the lounge, not great for 4 people and our main course dishes. This was our second time dining at Bistecca, the first was absolutely amazing. This time our steaks were just ok, the table was right by the bar. Wasn't the same experience as the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I typically don't write reviews but this ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I typically don't write reviews but this time I have to as I got food poisoning when I ate the hand made bison cannelloni. The service and atmosphere was excellent though.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Another consistently terrific dinner. Gr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Another consistently terrific dinner. Great dinner recommendation from our server.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Friendly service, great re ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing food! Friendly service, great recommendations for what is good on the menu. But pricy, quite a bit, but I guess good tasting food is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice spot ,food was limited in choice, p ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice spot ,food was limited in choice, perhaps pricey, however enjoyed. thxs team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Was wonderful as usual. Have never had a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Was wonderful as usual. Have never had a bad experience. Have brought people from out of town and they were very impressed.👍👍👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistecca is and has been one of our favo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Bistecca is and has been one of our favorite restaurants in Edmonton. Great service, awsome food and wine list. We love the atmosphere and feel of the restaurant. Great for a special night out or anytime you're looking for a good meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner/evening at Bistecc ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner/evening at Bistecca very much. Our server was patient and helpful. One member of our party ordered something not on the menu and she was very obliging in trying to accommodate him. my lemon veal was tender and delicious. My husband's bison ravioli was also excellent. All dishes were presented beautifully also. We had the cheese plate for dessert and enjoyed the variety of cheeses presented.

If I had one suggestion for Bistecca it would be that they reupholster their booths. It doesn't make a good impression when the first thing you see at your table is a booth that is cracked and worn.

All in all a very positive experience. We shall return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been there many times before and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been there many times before and I always enjoy it , genuine service , incredible dishes, great atmosphere friendly without over doing it all around great place

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night with a new lady friend, was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Date night with a new lady friend, was our second date and was totally impressed with the restaurant. Our booking was there as requested, we had a nice cozy romantic booth, our sever was attentive, but not pushy. Wine list was good, and I ordered a wonderful bottle of wine from Quails Gate, which just happens to be my favourite winery!! Fortunately my date enjoyed my choice. The food was fantastic. The young lady and I were both very happy with our choices. I would certainly recommend anyone looking for a great date experience to visit Bistecca.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A meal at Bistecca never goes wrong! We ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

A meal at Bistecca never goes wrong! We love the food, the ambiance and especially the Chef, Sonny Chung is absolutely awesome!

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service! A bit pricey ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great food great service!

A bit pricey

Wednesday's free corkage is a great deal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is always amazing! Love the flavore ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food is always amazing! Love the flavored oil and baguette for dipping. Would highly recommend the Capolini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Awesome food, great service, a tad price ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome food, great service, a tad pricey but to be expected

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have been to Bistecca many times befor ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I have been to Bistecca many times before but I must say this was the strangest visit I have had to date. I made a reservation at Open Table for 3. Two of us arrived first and we were taken to a table for 2, I pointed out that there was 3 of us in my reservation so we would need a bigger table. The host then took us to an table and we asked if we could have a booth because we had a lot of catching up to do. He said that the booths were reserved but we could sit in the lounge. This was at 5 oclock and we were the only patrons in the restaurant so that seemed a bit odd as I had reserved a week in advance and nowhere did it ask me if I wanted a booth. Anyhow they then decided that they could move us to a booth so by then our third party had arrived and they seated us poured our water etc and then came and said that they would need our booth by 7 and did we think we would be finished by then. We said probably not since we hadn't seen each other in a long time and had a lot of catching up to do. So they moved us again to a booth on the other side that apparently wasn't reserved. Oddly we were there till about 9:30 and I don't think that booth that we were moved from ever had two seatings and there was quite a few open tables that night so not sure why so much confusion but it made us feel like second class citizens, like someone important needed those booths and it wasn't us! Very odd.

I had the Bison Ribeye as I have had everytime I had been there and although it was tasty and cooked properly it was very tough and grissely in spots and I could barely cut through it with my steak knife. So pretty disappointing for a $49 piece of meat with a few brussel sprouts and brocollini as I asked for no starch just extra veg and sauce.

Our waiter was good and he split our bill in three which was great as we were all paying by credit card but it was very odd or maybe presumptious that when he handed all three of us the machine it was already preset at the 20% tip option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Over priced, waiter spent too much time ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Over priced, waiter spent too much time trying up sell - table was not not available when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The service was great and the the restau ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was great and the the restaurant is very tasteful and modern in the decor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service! It was our first ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food and service! It was our first time here, but we all agreed that we'd be back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've lost some great fine dining experi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We've lost some great fine dining experiences in Edmonton but then I found Bistecca. What a wonderful ambience. Very quiet between 5:30pm and 7:00pm but even after 7:00pm it wasn't overly noisy. Excellent service, couldn't have asked for friendlier staff. Great menu and plated beautifully. Everything I could have asked for in a fine dining experience. Taste buds were amused with the bruschetta and quinoa salad. One had veal and one had tenderloin steak. It was a lot but we licked the platters clean. I had the rib eye and grilled to perfection. Topped everything off with tiramisu and creme brule. Savored every mouthful. I'm already booking my return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was beautiful and romanti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and romantically designed. The food was absolutely delicious and all the servers were extremely attentive. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for amazing Italian dishes and a romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A couple of years ago I stopped going to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

A couple of years ago I stopped going to Bistecca due to the rudeness of the general manager. Thankfully that GM was let go and they are now under a fantastic GM named Stephane. He was very friendly, professional and attentive. We had fabulous service from our two servers - who unfortunately I can't remember their names. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening and it was reflected in the tip. We even had the pleasure of witnessing a young man down on one knee proposing to his girlfriend.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and anyone looking for a nice evening out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.