Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.09mi

About Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar

Carmelo Rago of Sorrentino's Restaurant Group is pleased to introduce their newest restaurant concept, BISTECCA Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar by Sonny Sung. It Is Truly in a class of its own. Located in the heart of Century Park in Edmonton's Southside.

BISTECCA's menu is inspired by Sorrentino's Restaurant Group Corporate Executive Chef Sonny Sung, and is a combination of Savory Antipasti, Divine Pasta and Succulent Entrées containing only the finest cuts beautifully aged to perfection. BISTECCA proudly serves Sterling Silver Beef which is the highest graded premium beef in Canada.

BISTECCA's 'Wine Bar' has a very inviting, casual elegant and relaxed atmosphere. We offer an 9 oz glass of wine which can be enjoyed for half price during 'HAPPY HOUR' from 4 - 6PM everyday. The 'Wine Bar' menu is a combination of Assagini (Little Tastes), Pizza and our signature appetizers.

2345 111 St NW
Edmonton, AB T6J 5E5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue 111 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-7335

Website:
http://www.sorrentinos.com/bistecca.php

Parking Details:
Century Park has a many large parking lots. To find parking is never a problem.

Public Transit:
Just steps away from Century Park LRT Station

Executive Chef:
Sonny Sung

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private dining area which holds up to 35 people.
Restaurant rental available.
Terms and conditions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Stephan Merlo: (780) 439-7335

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

FIRST THE FOOD IS SO LOVINGLY PREPARED AND PRESENTED , SECOND, THE SERVICE IS AMONG THE BEST IN THE CITY, THE AMBIENCE IS WARM AND LIVELY, THE DECOR HAS BEEN CAREFULLY SELECTED. I| USUALLY HAVE THE VEAL SCALOPPINE OR THE ARCTIC CHAR, SOMETIMES WITH A QUINOA SALAD. PLEASE TREAT YOURSELF AND HAVE A NIGHT OUT AT BISTECA.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and food. Our first time but we will be returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome service! Glen is the best!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful recommendations of wine by our waiter; would have liked that he came by my table sooner to take the food order.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Popped in for a light evening meal. We were delighted with their very reasonably priced small plates menu and shared a few of these. Sat on their patio which was quite lovely. Service was attentive but not obtrusive.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The staff were friendly and welcoming. Our waiter was very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. The atmosphere was cozy, service excellent and the dining experience was superb.
Thank you to everyone for a wonderful evening and dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Needed a local friendly place for wine and dinner ....Bistecca never disappoints. Thank you chef Sonny Sung

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Bistecca is a great neighborhood restaurant, that is worth the trip from neighborhoods that are further afield. Friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere. Varied menu, with two seafood additions this month. Often has specialty menus, including summer celebrations. Even with menu changes, they keep a few of the favorites, for comfort and familiarity. (Shrimp in gorgonzola sauce, for example.) Food is fresh and well-presented. Portions are appropriate. The entrees focus on meat - beef, lamb, buffalo, for example - but there's an adequate selection of seafood and vegetarian. I can't comment on vegan menu choices.

A reliable and good dining establishment.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Versatile menu and always willing to please the customer. Friendly and very good food. Nice to not feel rushed! Lots of great wines to choose from and some very interedying and different after dinner digestive drinks. Enjoy trying new things! Definitely worth recommending and bonus that therebis plenty of free parking

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tapas, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent food. Good , friendly service. Value for money. Good portions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

it was a bit chaotic at the beginning when arranging table. overall ambience was good but menu choices were limited. the beef carpacio was superb though! at the end, we waited long for our cappuccinos and they were served not hot enough! a bit disappointment at the end!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day bruch was absolutely wonderful. The chefs went all out - from the pastries to the hot entres to the amazing dessert table, with lots inbetween. We had a late seating and were pleased to see that all the dishes were constantly being refilled. No lack of food for us late comers. My two favorite dishes were the butternut squash ravioli c/w brown butter and sage and the melt in your mouth duck confit with sour cherry reduction. The service was outstanding, not over the top, but very attentive. We will definitely be returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch
The food was excellent when they brought out fresh the buffet line was terrible. In a very poor spot in restaurants

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came here for Mother's Day brunch. The food was decent but the setup of the buffet was absolutely horrendous. There was not enough space and it was setup in a small square so people were running into each other and I felt bad for the table that was placed right next to it. They very likely had no privacy. I also felt like we were a fire hazard because you had to walk past the bar and line up against a buffet table so there was limited room to squeeze in and turn around to the buffet without bumping into other guests and/or other tables.
The food is decent but didn't seem like there was a ton of experience in working with buffets - there were some inconsistencies with quality as the batches were served (there was one tray where the eggs benedict was fine and then next batch was partially burnt).
The service here is variable - our first visit was for dinner and we had an excellent server who made the experience wonderful and gave great recommendations. The past couple of times we had a waitress that seemed to ignore us regularly and kept forgetting drinks/check-ins.

I still like coming for dinner but would never come back for a buffet setting ever again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Warm and inviting...with great wine selection...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 17, 2017

knowledgeable server - great food- stufato was great - once served mix the spinach

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had only seen this place driving by so decided last minute to try it out and was extremely surprised as soon as I stepped inside. I was expecting more of a pub style place but it is a very nice, Italian style restaurant with a warm, modern feel. The salads are huge and to die for. Highly recommend the grilled Caesar. Enjoyed dinner very much!
Our waiter was very friendly and funny. Great place, I will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 16, 2017

All in all a great time , the good the waitress recommended was a great choice 😊

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Been a Bistecca customer fir over 8 years & our culinary & customer service experience has always been above and beyond. Expectations always exceeded

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Early week night visits to Bistecca were a gourmand's delight with excellent food that was well-plated and flavourful. The service during the week nights were also top-notch. We were very pleased with the delectable food and with our server who was most attentive.
However, when we returned to Bistecca with friends last Saturday, we did not receive the quality food and service we had experienced on our past visits. Granted the restaurant was at full capacity, but on this occasion, it was most apparent that Bistecca was under-staffed in the kitchen, which took short-cuts in their prep and cooking, resulting in over-cooked steaks served with over-cookedd kale and a burnt tomato, which had been substituted for the roasted potato and butternut squash. The grilled caesar salad which was typically served hot off the grill with a tantalizing dressing, was wilted and unremarkable. We were so let down by the appetizers and entrees which we sampled, that we asked to speak with the manager. Initially, he made excuses, but after consideration of our comments, he admitted that on this occasion, service had been compromised.
My husband and I want to give Bistecca another try, as this particular weekend night, was not comparable to what we had typically experienced on our last three visits during our early week night bookings.
Consistency is the key here. Hoping to hear back from the manager.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Broke a tooth on something in the lobster rissotto sauce. Had higher expectations for the food. Definitely would not be back. Great service and surroundings, yet the food didn't make the cut.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food & friendly staff. Enjoyed it!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our goodnight came very slowly, over an hour and a half after we arrived. they had run out of the starch of the day and didn't tell us until well after we had ordered, delaying the meal. Overall we did not enjoy ourselves. We appreciated the free flambé but it was not enough to overcome the poor experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

we spent 200.00 per couple; found the food not up to what we had experiened before !! food had little taste;lamb shank was tender but little flavor,pasta dishes were the same; veal was o.k

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service was spot on and the food was very good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food, good selection of wines and excellent staff, very attentive!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

To be honest, I won't be going back here. From the table of 4 babies crying, to a steak that was barely cook to escargot that is impossible to eat to the slow service in a seemingly empty restaurant and finally the price is waaaayy to high for the quality

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My spouse and I ate at Bistecca this past Sunday. We were looking forward to dinner as we have had good experience before but we came away disappointed. The restaurant was relatively empty when we arrived and we were seated at an intimate corner booth. I had beef carpaccio to begin and a lobster risotto, from the specials menu. The carpaccio was excellent but the lobster risotto was bland, and the seafood tasted like plain chicken. My spouse had wild mushroom soup, another special, and the stuffed chicken breast. The soup was quite good, but the chicken was uninspired.
The atmosphere to begin our meal was quite pleasant, but midway through our meal they seated a very large, very loud family directly outside our booth, in an otherwise empty restaurant. All in all a disappointing meal.
Service was excellent, which improved the review I gave by one star.
We will not be returning anytime soon.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As always Bistecca was incredible! The food is outstanding. The only thing that bothered me was that we were early for our reservation and were told we could sit at the bar but on the restaurant side as the lounge side was full. We sat there for at least 20 minutes and not once did anyone ask if we would like to order a beverage. My husband and I frequent Bistecca quite often and we were recognized by staff and still no service while seated at the bar. That was a little disappointing. However, after we were seated the service and food was amazing as always.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

it was great! main course was excellent, calamari was a little salty, tiramisu was delicious! we'll be back, thank you.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Thanks for a wonderful evening. The food was great and service was perfect. Chris our waiter was so helpful with the menu and the wine list, just the right amount of checking in! Kudos to the chef, lovely food. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We regularly choose Bistecca for dinner whenever we are attending events in Edmonton, like performances at the Jube. Quality is consistent, a wonderful menu and service impeccable. Welcoming, friendly.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Totally enjoyed our meal and wine. Our waiter was attentive and gave great recommendations on the food choices.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Stephen made the night enjoyable as our sommelier.. thx., Bistecca

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

What we ordered was delicious! As a celiac, to have soup and gluten free bread as an appetizer is a real treat. I also have a tree nut allergy. I was accommodated safely and wonderfully. The server was excellent and was knowledgeable for my dietary concerns. We have visited Bistecca many times, but will definitely put this restaurant on our frequent list.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I chose this restaurant for our 10 years marriage anniversary. It was ... perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Historic, Great Beer, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love dining here. This is always our go-to restaurant when we want a great meal with great atmosphere, and exceptional staff.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Bistecca's upscale ambiance and menu are an absolute treat when compared to other dining choices.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was well presented though not as hot as the plate. Overall a very good evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The usual awesome food and great service from Glen.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.