About Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar

2345 111 St NW
Edmonton, AB T6J 5E5
View Larger Map

Carmelo Rago of Sorrentino's Restaurant Group is pleased to introduce their newest restaurant concept, BISTECCA Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar by Sonny Sung. It Is Truly in a class of its own. Located in the heart of Century Park in Edmonton's Southside.

BISTECCA's menu is inspired by Sorrentino's Restaurant Group Corporate Executive Chef Sonny Sung, and is a combination of Savory Antipasti, Divine Pasta and Succulent Entrées containing only the finest cuts beautifully aged to perfection. BISTECCA proudly serves Sterling Silver Beef which is the highest graded premium beef in Canada.

BISTECCA's 'Wine Bar' has a very inviting, casual elegant and relaxed atmosphere. We offer an 9 oz glass of wine which can be enjoyed for half price during 'HAPPY HOUR' from 4 - 6PM everyday. The 'Wine Bar' menu is a combination of Assagini (Little Tastes), Pizza and our signature appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue 111 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-7335

Website:
http://www.sorrentinos.com/bistecca.php

Parking Details:
Century Park has a many large parking lots. To find parking is never a problem.

Public Transit:
Just steps away from Century Park LRT Station

Executive Chef:
Sonny Sung

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private dining area which holds up to 35 people.
Room rentals available.
Restaurant rental available.
Terms and conditions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Kristine Challenor : 7804397335x

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every last Thursday of the Month is our Feature Dinner.
January = “Famiglia” Style - The Art of Sharing
February = Chocolate
March = Alberta Pork IS CANCELLED, Instead we are hosting a Beer Dinner on Tuesday, March 25th.
April = Garlic
May = Lobster
June = Porchetta
July = Porchetta
August = Porchetta
September = Mushrooms
October = Wild Game
November = Truffles (only at Bistecca - please call for details as it is not on the last Thursday of the month.)
December = Fresh Oysters (only at Bistecca on December 5)

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Loin With Gnocchi
  • Baked Meringue
  • Daily Special (Poached Sea Bass & Poached Beef Tenderloin)
  • Gnocci With Roasted Garlic
  • Baked Veal Meatballs W/ 4 Cheese Cream Sauce
Lamb Loin With Gnocchi
Baked Meringue
Daily Special (Poached Sea Bass & Poached Beef Tenderloin)
Gnocci With Roasted Garlic
Baked Veal Meatballs W/ 4 Cheese Cream Sauce

Promotions

25% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

25% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

25% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 on Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Bring Your Own Wine Wednesday. Bring your Own Wine on Wednesday's Only. No Corkage Fee. Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Groups (27)
Romantic (27)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

WOW, what a great find! Glen was an exce ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

WOW, what a great find! Glen was an excellent server! So attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Everything we tried was perfect and amazing! Very accommodating to my gluten allergy! Will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All very good. Service very pleasant and ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

All very good. Service very pleasant and welcoming but a little slow. Very good food and reasonable value. One of few neighbourhood restaurants of this high calibre.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My sister was visiting from Victoria and ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 6 days ago

My sister was visiting from Victoria and I wanted to take her to Bistecca because I knew the food is outstanding there. It truly was! Our waiter was extremely good and we felt very pampered. I would like to come back and try steak sometime, so you can tell I will be coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my fourth visit to Bistecca. Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was my fourth visit to Bistecca. The previous experiences were very good. The service has usually been good (not outstanding) and the food has previously been exemplary. This visit was nothing like the previous. Our server was a combination of awkward, inattentive and uneducated about the menus. Despite all of the mains having the same sides, she didn't know what the sides were and went to check with the kitchen. She came back to tell us and in the end the sides were not what she had told us. Was unaware that they had a Barolo on the wine list. Didn't bring out or open the wine until our food was already on the table.

All of the servers were dressed in bright blue Smirnoff polo shirts. Okay for the bar or the patio, but for the restaurant in a $50/plate dining room? Not classy at all.

My steak was well over done (barely pink, despite the "rare" request) and my friends was well under done (free flowing blood despite the "medium" request). Ordered two appetizers for a table of four - one (Black Apron Beef) came out with three crackers for the beef/cheese. A request for an additional cracker for the fourth person at the table was met with surprise from the server. The thirteen dollar creme brulee was enough for about a teaspoon and a half for each of us.

Overall the value of the meal was poor, given the quality we experienced. But it was the service that really ruined the experience for us. The 2/5 "Fair" rating is for my previous positive experiences, and my hope that our experience was brought to us by the "Monday" serving and cooking crew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I have been there numerous times, but ne ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have been there numerous times, but never before on the patio. It was great. Defiantly a patio to relax on and have a glass of wine or a couple of beer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sonny Sung makes a meal special through ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Sonny Sung makes a meal special through quality & flexability and through communication

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Bistecca was AMAZING! We went for dinner ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Bistecca was AMAZING! We went for dinner and was not disappointed. The little tastes menu was such a good starter and everything we had was very tasty. I would recommend the brownie for dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four of us enjoyed pasta and a bottle of ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Four of us enjoyed pasta and a bottle of wine. My husband loved his short rib ravioli. He was sorry that he had not ordered the full order as his dish was delicious. I had the pasta with chicken and wild mushrooms and it was melt in your mouth delicious. Our friends also enjoyed their pasta with seafood. We had a great evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is super!! Try the veal and grilled ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food is super!! Try the veal and grilled romaine salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This was a return trip with family membe ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was a return trip with family members (8 people). Judging from the feedback from the other guests the place was a hit. Great service from Glenn D! Food was hot and very enjoyable. All of the steak dishes were cooked according to order. Appetizers were excellent. Recommend the shrimp & calamari. Overall very pleased. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My meal was a little salty but still ver ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My meal was a little salty but still very good. Our service was excellent ! Best we've had in a long time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our Anniversary. When I made the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was our Anniversary. When I made the reservation I mentioned this and it was not acknowledged. My pasta that came with my steak was still hard and not edible. Since we had waited a long time for our meal I just did not say anything and did not eat it though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food and atmosphere, Sunny is an a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, Sunny is an awesome chef and personality, we really enjoy coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A complete disappointment.

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A complete disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Overall the meal was OK. Not sure I'm a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall the meal was OK. Not sure I'm a fan of having one piece of bread offered to me and then coming back for a second round - what happened to having a bread basket? Service from the Manager was excellent, he stopped by to chat and build a relationship. Our server alright, not really that attentive I noticed, particularly after we did not order alcohol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We really enjoyed our meal here in celeb ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal here in celebration of my sons birthday.

Very good food and the service was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I split an appetizer (mussel ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I split an appetizer (mussels), a bottle of wine and had two entrees (the braised weft ravioli a.d the New York Strip Steak steak). Honestly the low point was the steak. It was good but I have had better at a better price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was not busy. The service and the goo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was not busy. The service and the good were fantastic. Waitress was very friendly and not afraid to chat.

We will definitely be going back !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sonny's food never disappoints. He is a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sonny's food never disappoints. He is a master at everything he makes. Stefan is warm and welcoming and his staff are very professional. My family and I go there frequently. I feel so fortunate to have such a wonderful restaurant in my backyard.

Thank you Sonny!!!

Sandy Hardy

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always exceptional food and service. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always exceptional food and service. We have been inside and outside patio and both were exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was delightful. She was exce ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our server was delightful. She was exceptional, friendly and made our dad's Father's Day celebration extra special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and attention to detai ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent service and attention to detail, which is hard to find these days. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly with great recommendations on wine and food. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious lamb steak! Server was polite ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Delicious lamb steak! Server was polite and explained the menu really well, we ordered almost everything he recommended since we have five people, constantly checking up on us probably because we were the only table during that time ( we had a late dinner) a bit expansive though, but the service and the food also reflect that !

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was quite good! The food wa ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The service was quite good! The food was very delicious as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a nice find. Food was very good ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was a nice find. Food was very good but the butternut ravioli was not a very big portion. Will certainly be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The crew at Bistecca once again offered ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The crew at Bistecca once again offered great food (the Flat-Iron steak is superb) and friendly, informed service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent and the chef displayed his culinary French/Italian cooking eloquently in the food served such as the bread, the brisket, and the French desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxing get together with friends...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We met after golf for a relaxed meal. Looking for more than quick bite to eat but not fine dining . Portions were adequate if you ordered the large. The service worked well with our loud mood.

We would go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Special occaission

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Definitely for special occaissions. A little high priced, but a good wine list and great ambiance. Terrific Mussels!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent evening

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We took our friends out for their 25th Anniversary. We all agreed the service was impeccable, the food was amazing,wine selection was great and the atmosphere was pleasurable. Honestly, we haven't had that nice an experience in a long time. We thank you. We will defiantly be back in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Bistecca is definitely a favourite. Cons ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Bistecca is definitely a favourite. Consistently great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was excellent as always. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Dinner

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We took our two adult sons to Bistecca for their combined birthday celebration (1 week apart). The food and service were excellent, and the noise level was quite reasonable, allowing easy conversation without having to raise our voices. We have been here several times before and the quality of the experience is always consistently high. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

They treated us great. Had kids with us and looked after them well. Gave anniversary couple a free dessert. Excellent place eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well organized and awesome service for m ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Well organized and awesome service for my table of 15.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A good value restaurant

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Of the Sorrentino's restaurants Bistecca is our favorite. Good value meal, pleasant ambiance. Service has always been good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Garlic Menu!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We were at Bistecca on a sunday night to celebrate my husband's birthday. They had a set 3-course garlic menu for $35. It was delicious from the appetizer to the dessert. The appetizer was Goat Cheese Stuffed small red peppers on Onion Jam with dried sliced garlic pieces, meant to be spread on a slice of bread. Yum! The entrees chosen were Roast Veal & Salmon & both were delicious. Dessert was Crepes Suzettes made at our table with garlic ice cream. Again very good!

We enjoy coming here during garlic festival. It usually falls around my husband's birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistecca Restaurant. Overpriced and over peppered!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Did not like their "roasted Ceasar salad. Everyone's meal came droned in pepper corns which spoiled the taste of the meals. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Jack

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Great food and service for lunch. We'll be back soon to try out dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to this restaurant in April during ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Went to this restaurant in April during their garlic festival and ordered off of the garlic menu. Wow! Flavours galore, including garlic. Very inventive use of garlic in the different dishes, yet not overpowering. Appetizer, entrée, and dessert were perfect sizes so that you could enjoy all three courses. Delicious wine (although it contained no garlic!). Overall, a very tasty meal. The service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.