About Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar

2345 111 St NW
Edmonton, AB T6J 5E5
View Larger Map

Carmelo Rago of Sorrentino's Restaurant Group is pleased to introduce their newest restaurant concept, BISTECCA Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar by Sonny Sung. It Is Truly in a class of its own. Located in the heart of Century Park in Edmonton's Southside.

BISTECCA's menu is inspired by Sorrentino's Restaurant Group Corporate Executive Chef Sonny Sung, and is a combination of Savory Antipasti, Divine Pasta and Succulent Entrées containing only the finest cuts beautifully aged to perfection. BISTECCA proudly serves Sterling Silver Beef which is the highest graded premium beef in Canada.

BISTECCA's 'Wine Bar' has a very inviting, casual elegant and relaxed atmosphere. We offer an 9 oz glass of wine which can be enjoyed for half price during 'HAPPY HOUR' from 4 - 6PM everyday. The 'Wine Bar' menu is a combination of Assagini (Little Tastes), Pizza and our signature appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue 111 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 439-7335

Website:
http://www.sorrentinos.com/bistecca.php

Parking Details:
Century Park has a many large parking lots. To find parking is never a problem.

Public Transit:
Just steps away from Century Park LRT Station

Executive Chef:
Sonny Sung

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private dining area which holds up to 35 people.
Restaurant rental available.
Terms and conditions apply.

Private Party Contact:
Stephan Merlo: (780) 439-7335

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistecca Italian Steakhouse & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Romantic (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Casual (6)
Family Style (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

My spouse and I ate at Bistecca this past Sunday. We were looking forward to dinner as we have had good experience before but we came away disappointed. The restaurant was relatively empty when we arrived and we were seated at an intimate corner booth. I had beef carpaccio to begin and a lobster risotto, from the specials menu. The carpaccio was excellent but the lobster risotto was bland, and the seafood tasted like plain chicken. My spouse had wild mushroom soup, another special, and the stuffed chicken breast. The soup was quite good, but the chicken was uninspired.

The atmosphere to begin our meal was quite pleasant, but midway through our meal they seated a very large, very loud family directly outside our booth, in an otherwise empty restaurant. All in all a disappointing meal.

Service was excellent, which improved the review I gave by one star.

We will not be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As always Bistecca was incredible! The food is outstanding. The only thing that bothered me was that we were early for our reservation and were told we could sit at the bar but on the restaurant side as the lounge side was full. We sat there for at least 20 minutes and not once did anyone ask if we would like to order a beverage. My husband and I frequent Bistecca quite often and we were recognized by staff and still no service while seated at the bar. That was a little disappointing. However, after we were seated the service and food was amazing as always.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

it was great! main course was excellent, calamari was a little salty, tiramisu was delicious! we'll be back, thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Thanks for a wonderful evening. The food was great and service was perfect. Chris our waiter was so helpful with the menu and the wine list, just the right amount of checking in! Kudos to the chef, lovely food. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We regularly choose Bistecca for dinner whenever we are attending events in Edmonton, like performances at the Jube. Quality is consistent, a wonderful menu and service impeccable. Welcoming, friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Totally enjoyed our meal and wine. Our waiter was attentive and gave great recommendations on the food choices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Stephen made the night enjoyable as our sommelier.. thx., Bistecca

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

What we ordered was delicious! As a celiac, to have soup and gluten free bread as an appetizer is a real treat. I also have a tree nut allergy. I was accommodated safely and wonderfully. The server was excellent and was knowledgeable for my dietary concerns. We have visited Bistecca many times, but will definitely put this restaurant on our frequent list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I chose this restaurant for our 10 years marriage anniversary. It was ... perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Great Beer, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love dining here. This is always our go-to restaurant when we want a great meal with great atmosphere, and exceptional staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Bistecca's upscale ambiance and menu are an absolute treat when compared to other dining choices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was well presented though not as hot as the plate. Overall a very good evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The usual awesome food and great service from Glen.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We took a friend here for dinner. The food was very good, although my sirloin steak was a bit tough. The wine selection is good and we enjoyed the house wine selections. Overall, it was a good experience, although a bit pricey, but we will return in future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

What a gem! The ambiance, food and service was impeccable. You are treated royally from the moment you walk in until you leave - just puts a smile on your face.

The food is absolutely delicious. I don't know how they do it, but they do. We did not sample the wine, but they certainly have a variety available along with special dine and wine options. I also did notice that they are starting a BYOB evening.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

An amazing dining experience. If you are looking for good food and a place you can have an actual conversation this is the one.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Unique ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been to Bistecca for so many special occasions and often just for the French Onion Soup (full of garlic). Always great food and excellent service. Wonderful. It's like being home but like your family has missed you and are so happy to see you.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Private Room, Business Meals, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 21, 2017

small portions for what you pay but good quality food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was great, as always. Our server was just ok - not too attentive with refilling water or checking on us. Stephan stopped by a few times - his attention to detail and level of service has always been top notch!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very impressed with how the Manager on duty was very "hands on". He brought us to our table, introduced us to our server, brought and opened our bottle of wine and even prepared some of the tables ( linen, cutlery etc). He even came by a couple of times to make sure everything was to our liking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always fine, never a issue with service or wine selections in the 3 yr's of dining at Bistecca.

With my wife, enjoys several different choice's of wine or tasty Italian creations. Its always fine dining experiences that i enjoy. This is one of better in Edmonton.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Spicy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was our first visit. Our food was delicous and our waiter was super friendly! He made a lot of wonderful suggestions and made us feel like old friends. Will definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome! Love the attentive service and food. Especially, the food... fresh ingredients, thoughtfully prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Lovely decor, on the expensive side, my meal wasn't prepared as was identified on menu. Their resolution was to pack a replacement chicken breast to take home. Of course, this was thrown away. It would have been so easy for them to comp an inexpensive side and have us leave quite happy.

Would think twice before returning....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very good food, the restaurant is very chic and romantic, great for a date! Great selection of wine, and the service was great also! Will definitely come back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Duck and rib steak were phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I were very impressed with the excellent service and very delicious food. The New York steak was one of the best I have ever eaten in a restaurant. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the Beef Ribs Ravioli which was very tasty and original. We thought that the entire New Years Eve dinner was reasonably priced for the splendid food, service and ambiance. The decor of the restaurant was very appropriate.

When we held our daughter's birthday celebration at Bistecca Steakhouse in Edmonton on an eaarlier occasion, the food and service were also exceptionally good. We will certainly recommend Bistecca to our friends and relatives.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came to Bistecca for a New Years Eve dinner.

Right from the moment we walked in and handed our coats to the hostess, we felt welcome and comfortable.

Our server Melanie (maybe Melody?) was gracious and efficient with the exact amount of attention given to us.

Our meals, from start to finish were perfection - couldn't have found anything to improve.

There was a special menu for the evening with plenty to choose from, satisfying any desire or taste.

The ambiance was soft lighting, quiet enough for conversation yet enough background noise to feel very private.

It was a perfect date out, on a special evening.

This was our first visit - but we'll be back for certain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for New Years Eve. The special menu had great options and we both enjoyed our selections. Servers were very friendly and offered great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went as a company Christmas function. First time experience at this restaurant. Loved the atmosphere and dining room. Went in early to seat at the lounge and have a drink and tapas until dinner but was disappointed with service in the lounge. Perhaps it was because only two of us had alcoholic beverages (3 people in our group do not drink) and we were a quiet group but everyone wanted to be part of the experience. After quite some time, we flagged down our waiter and said we would like to order tapas. He asked that we go to the dining lounge. We stated we had a reservation for later so he said he would get us in early and ushered us to the dining room.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service, price and ambiance suggested a 'special experience'. However food was exceedingly mediocre. We were told that 'Sonny' the head chef for the Sorrintino's chain was cooking so we should have steak. They were dry and chewy. The special risotto was bland and overcooked. Wine was very marked up, even by Edmonton standards. Over all a mediocre meal at premium prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent service and wonderful food. A gem in Edmonton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food great service pleasant and efficient service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Its worth the visit.. and the engaging conversation with the wine sommelier. Thanks Stephan. Nice talk about Italian wines..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Absolutely Great Again. Food was excellent. Service was excellent ( Glenn was our waiter). The room is excellent. Looking forward to next time.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Another great dining experience with friends! The food is always great and there is a very good selection of Italian wines. One of the best Italian restaurants in Edmonton!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We have been to Bistecca several times and have never been disappointed. Everything was great yet again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was great but wait staff was outstanding in managing our evening.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our table was a circular table in the lounge, not great for 4 people and our main course dishes. This was our second time dining at Bistecca, the first was absolutely amazing. This time our steaks were just ok, the table was right by the bar. Wasn't the same experience as the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Another consistently terrific dinner. Great dinner recommendation from our server.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing food! Friendly service, great recommendations for what is good on the menu. But pricy, quite a bit, but I guess good tasting food is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice spot ,food was limited in choice, perhaps pricey, however enjoyed. thxs team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Was wonderful as usual. Have never had a bad experience. Have brought people from out of town and they were very impressed.👍👍👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Bistecca is and has been one of our favorite restaurants in Edmonton. Great service, awsome food and wine list. We love the atmosphere and feel of the restaurant. Great for a special night out or anytime you're looking for a good meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner/evening at Bistecca very much. Our server was patient and helpful. One member of our party ordered something not on the menu and she was very obliging in trying to accommodate him. my lemon veal was tender and delicious. My husband's bison ravioli was also excellent. All dishes were presented beautifully also. We had the cheese plate for dessert and enjoyed the variety of cheeses presented.

If I had one suggestion for Bistecca it would be that they reupholster their booths. It doesn't make a good impression when the first thing you see at your table is a booth that is cracked and worn.

All in all a very positive experience. We shall return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been there many times before and I always enjoy it , genuine service , incredible dishes, great atmosphere friendly without over doing it all around great place

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Date night with a new lady friend, was our second date and was totally impressed with the restaurant. Our booking was there as requested, we had a nice cozy romantic booth, our sever was attentive, but not pushy. Wine list was good, and I ordered a wonderful bottle of wine from Quails Gate, which just happens to be my favourite winery!! Fortunately my date enjoyed my choice. The food was fantastic. The young lady and I were both very happy with our choices. I would certainly recommend anyone looking for a great date experience to visit Bistecca.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

A meal at Bistecca never goes wrong! We love the food, the ambiance and especially the Chef, Sonny Chung is absolutely awesome!

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great food great service!

A bit pricey

Wednesday's free corkage is a great deal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.