Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Bissap Baobab - Oakland

Bissap Baobab Oakland brings the savory, succulent flavors of Senegal to Oakland, California. Our menu consists of traditional Senegalese cuisine and West African-California fusion specialties.

Choose from a full range of gourmet African dishes, including avocat créole, yassa, mafe, ceebu jen, and dessert crépes. Our newest addition, Afro Wraps, are our version of a West African burrito. Then wash it all down with one of our homemade juices: hibiscus, tamarind, or ginger. We also squeeze our own juice blends, so drop in to see the flavor of the day!

More than just a restaurant, Bissap Baobab Oakland is a community center, with a laid back, yet distinctly cosmopolitan, worldly vibe which upholds the concept of an African village.

Our name is a tribute to the meaningful symbol of life, community, and culture in Africa -- the Baobab tree.

381 15th Street
Oakland, CA 94612
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
African

Hours of Operation:


Mon 11:30am - 2:30pm
Tues 11:30am - 2:30pm
Wed 11:30am - 10pm
Thurs 11:30am - 10pm
Fri 11:30am - 2:00am
Sat 5:30pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 817-4722

Website:
http://www.bissapbaobaboakland.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking

Public Transit:
12th Street Oakland BART

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining available, 2-week preferred notice.

Private Party Contact:
Christy Osorio: (415) 483-6217

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Bissap Baobab - Oakland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Spicy (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Vegan (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort by
S
46 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Fabulous and creative African cuisine with fun drinks and great service. Casual and friendly atmosphere. Live music on the last friday of each month should not be missed.

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent, interesting food. Good service. Great value! Worth the trek.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, friendly service and amazing food ! Will definitely be back and also use for event catering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fun Place! Food not too spicy, lots of onions, lamb Yassa was really good. Kenyan beer was good. Don't be put off by the funky neighborhood. Take a cab/Uber/Lyft.
The yogurt dessert was not too sweet but very bland - probably authentic!
The decoration and music immediately revealed how much Senegal culture (via slaves) formed much of todays Caribbean culture.
Interesting and nice experience!

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

No one in our party of 3 had eaten "West African cuisine" before we went, although one had been to South Africa. All of us enjoyed it, all sampled one another's entrees and we like all three. On that basis, it was a very tasty and enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

This was my second time at the restaurant. I had lunch before and dinner this time. We asked for some help in ordering, since we weren't familiar with Sengalese cuisine. We ordered Bibi with lamb and it was excellent. We also had the one with the peanut sauce, it was very good, but had too much sauce (gravy) for me. I will definitely order the bibi next time. We also asked for non-alcoholic drinks. He suggested juices and he mixed the hibiscus with ginger--it was perfect! It was a quiet night, so things were quiet. I will be back to try some other new things (Along with the bibi) next time.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Really great food, fun atmosphere for celebration & dancing after dinner. Delicious home made drinks!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I celebrated my birthday here and enjoyed every moment! Dinner was delicious and dancing afterwards was so much fun!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Live Music, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food and service were great. I was able to have a great conversation with my date. The ambiance was nice. Though we did not stay for the live entertainment, it was nice to know that there was a place we could come back to for that. We took leftovers, and though sometimes leftovers look horrendous the next day, our food did not, which led me to believe that not too much of the bad stuff was used. The drinks were really good. Not too sweet, which was nice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Casual, Happy Hour, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We ordered the Seafood Coco and the Baobab Gambas. The Coco was quite good, however the Gambas was fairly bland. Unfortunately, the service was so incredibly apathetic that we will not be returning. Our food came out quickly, which was great, but then our server did not return to our table for OVER AN HOUR. My partner had to go to the bar with our cups to ask for more water. Our server finally came to take our dishes and bring the check, but then resumed ignoring us. We finally waved down another server to run our credit card.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

food is tasty but would like more fish and less rice. Music is too loud hard to carry out a conversation asked them to turn it down but still too noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

excellent food; good service; cozy seating; value for portions provided were great and excellent fried tilapia

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Good overall experience! Appetizers a bit disappointing. But meals were very tasty. Tho not look so good.
WE went on a thurs eve. So no live music. Next time for sure. That must be fun

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 9, 2016

really interesting- the flavors are familiar, yet very different at the same time. try it. go. now.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food at great prices. Different food well cooked and not pretentious. Nice people working there. The atmosphere was a little cold and sparse on a rainy Friday. Would definitely go back. We were a party of 10 and were happy with our choice for a large party.

Tags: Fun, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

One of my favorites. Vegans and omnivores alike can eat together without drama. Deeply flavored sauces and well prepared meals. The food is healthy, delicious and served by people who are pleasant and upbeat. I am afraid it is going to be discovered.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This was our first visit to Bissap Baobab. We were concerned about possible parking challenges, but we got lucky and found a car pulling out near the front of the restaurant. We liked the African motif of the restaurant and found the setting comfortable and pleasant. We ordered two different meals and found both were very delicious. My husband had the tilapia and I had the chicken with the peanut sauce. We also had the fruit smoothies and enjoyed them as well. We definitely plan to come back. It is a great find for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Good was absolutely delish and our waitress was the sweetest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2016

This West African bistro, with mildly but richly spiced food from Senegal was a real lunch-time treat for my friend and I . We both had the Chicken Mafe, which was a wonderful peanut-based stew with braised chicken. The walls and tables are a funky, brightly painted folk art that speaks to the modern West African culture. Highly recommended. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious delicious delicious . We were served quickly and food amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Love this place. I'm not a vegan but I can have lunch with one here and we both can be happy. The tofu made from black eyed peas is just dang good; doesn't matter if you are vegan or not. There are chicken and fish options as well. The fruit drinks are tasty but a bit too sweet for my taste. And the fried bananas are a fine dessert. Haven't had any alcoholic drinks here but they do have beer. The waitresses are really pleasant and clearly like their jobs. It is a no stress place to have a meal and a chat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I LOVE to stay connected with the culture and people of our roots. This spot is a Pan-African heaven for us! I took my wife for her 40th; just a small group of friends and relations. SCORE!! Not only was the atmosphere nice and the service great, but the 3 lady servers (Asna & crew) that were working that evening went above and beyond to make my wife feel loved and appreciated on her special day. I will make it a point to return everytime I visit Oakland. NIcely done!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2016

This Senegalese restaurant is special because it adds community involvement to the basic menu which is quite simple but well-prepared and served. We went because it was the monthly flamenco night and we were not disappointed. The 4 flamenco performers were terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2015

Fantastic food, a little chilly inside, but great service. The drinks were good but not amazing, that's why four and not five stars. Truly great food, though, definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Food was tasty and fresh, and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2015

It was our first time and we really liked it. We will come back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2015

I really enjoyed the flavor of the dishes. The one thing that I would change is using drumsticks in the main course. For me entrees served with chicken are best when served with chicken breast. A drumstick is not appropriate for saucy dishes and has very little meat.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2015

Didn't care for the food. Not to my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Definitely one of the gems of the Bay Area. Great food at a reasonable cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2015

Good food, good service on a funky block in downtown Oakland. All-around fun experience. Good selection of signature cocktails with ginger, rum, hibiscus and other interesting ingredients. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2015

We went here for my birthday recently and it was an overall great experience. I had been to the one in SF so wanted to try the one close to home and it was so convenient. The food was as tasty as I remembered it. The plantain and the yucca fries appetizers were great and there were plenty for our party of 4 (plus two kids). Our drinks were also good (I got the coconut rum and yes, like other reviews, it is fabulous! The second one was just as good). The other drinks were good but they ended up ordering different ones for the second round. We ordered 4 entrees (the curry shrimp, the spicy curry fish, the lamb onion dish, and the black eyed peas dish) and everything was really good. We cleaned our plates, for the most part. The server was extremely nice and helpful with our questions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2015

Try a curry. They are delicious. Definitely have a hibiscus cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2015

I ordered Dibi - onion sauce with black eyed pea tofu and fried plantain. It was one of the best things I've ever eaten, full of flavor, but not too spicy. I look forward to trying their other dishes.

The restaurant plays fairly loud music, so it's a fun place but not necessarily good for intimate conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2015

A friend and I had a nice relaxed lunch. The service was so friendly and accommodating and the food was tasty. Since it was lunch we didn't try the cocktails, but the non alcoholic home made drinks (hibiscus, ginger or tamarind) were delicious. I will definitely go back and have already recommended this restaurants to friends for a family lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2015

Everything about the place was charming. To those who complain about service being slow: ours was neither rushed nor slow. Remember that some cuisines are meant to be enjoyed at a relaxing pace. If you're in a hurry, go to some other kind of restaurant, and save this for when you're willing to relax. That said, I have no complaints about the service and would go back in a minute. The food, if not outstanding, was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2015

Quality food, delicious African dishes, nice decor and super friendly service. Will come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2015

I had lunch with a group of 8 here recently. Service was friendly and good. Nice ambience. The Yassa wrap (grilled chicken, beef or tofu with marinated onions, served in a lemon, garlic, mustard sauce with greens, tomato, and avocado.) was very delicious. Tamarind juice was very good, ginger was spectacular, and the plantains were perfect. I'm looking forward to coming back i teh evening for the music (apparently they have african drummming)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2015

The food was amazingly delicious and the customer service was spectacular. It was my birthday and our server informed the live band and the whole restaurant paused to sing and it was wonderful. The restaurant was clean.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2014

Yummy Tilapia and plantains. Great cocktails with rum and coconut.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 31, 2014

Food was wonderful! I know Senegalese food -- this was the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.