HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Bissap Baobab - Oakland

4.2
47 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
African
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Kid-friendly
  • Comfort Food
Bissap Baobab Oakland brings the savory, succulent flavors of Senegal to Oakland, California. Our menu consists of traditional Senegalese cuisine and West African-California fusion specialties.

Choose from a full range of gourmet African dishes, including avocat créole, yassa, mafe, ceebu jen, and dessert crépes. Our newest addition, Afro Wraps, are our version of a West African burrito. Then wash it all down with one of our homemade juices: hibiscus, tamarind, or ginger. We also squeeze our own juice blends, so drop in to see the flavor of the day!

More than just a restaurant, Bissap Baobab Oakland is a community center, with a laid back, yet distinctly cosmopolitan, worldly vibe which upholds the concept of an African village.

Our name is a tribute to the meaningful symbol of life, community, and culture in Africa -- the Baobab tree.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
African
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Mon 11:30am - 2:30pm
Tues 11:30am - 2:30pm
Wed 11:30am - 10pm
Thurs 11:30am - 10pm
Fri 11:30am - 2:00am
Sat 5:30pm - 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(510) 817-4722
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private dining available, 2-week preferred notice.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Christy Osorio: (415) 483-6217
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Franklin
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street Parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
12th Street Oakland BART
Additional
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access
What 47 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2  based on recent ratings
3.8
food
3.6
service
3.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

They didn't say they were closed for vacation. It was a frustrating experience. The street was empty.

Report
Helpful
vipRandyF (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on October 13, 2017

Fabulous and creative African cuisine with fun drinks and great service. Casual and friendly atmosphere. Live music on the last friday of each month should not be missed.

Report
Helpful
vipyourfoodchoices (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent, interesting food. Good service. Great value! Worth the trek.

Report
Helpful
Great (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on August 30, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, friendly service and amazing food ! Will definitely be back and also use for event catering.

Report
Helpful
vipdivegurl7 (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on August 19, 2017

Fun Place! Food not too spicy, lots of onions, lamb Yassa was really good. Kenyan beer was good. Don't be put off by the funky neighborhood. Take a cab/Uber/Lyft.
The yogurt dessert was not too sweet but very bland - probably authentic!
The decoration and music immediately revealed how much Senegal culture (via slaves) formed much of todays Caribbean culture.
Interesting and nice experience!

Report
Helpful
Billyboy (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on August 5, 2017

No one in our party of 3 had eaten "West African cuisine" before we went, although one had been to South Africa. All of us enjoyed it, all sampled one another's entrees and we like all three. On that basis, it was a very tasty and enjoyable dinner.

Report
Helpful
vipReneeS (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on July 20, 2017

This was my second time at the restaurant. I had lunch before and dinner this time. We asked for some help in ordering, since we weren't familiar with Sengalese cuisine. We ordered Bibi with lamb and it was excellent. We also had the one with the peanut sauce, it was very good, but had too much sauce (gravy) for me. I will definitely order the bibi next time. We also asked for non-alcoholic drinks. He suggested juices and he mixed the hibiscus with ginger--it was perfect! It was a quiet night, so things were quiet. I will be back to try some other new things (Along with the bibi) next time.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on June 10, 2017

Really great food, fun atmosphere for celebration & dancing after dinner. Delicious home made drinks!

Report
Helpful
ChanningR (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on June 10, 2017

I celebrated my birthday here and enjoyed every moment! Dinner was delicious and dancing afterwards was so much fun!

Report
Helpful
Byrdman (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on April 22, 2017

The food and service were great. I was able to have a great conversation with my date. The ambiance was nice. Though we did not stay for the live entertainment, it was nice to know that there was a place we could come back to for that. We took leftovers, and though sometimes leftovers look horrendous the next day, our food did not, which led me to believe that not too much of the bad stuff was used. The drinks were really good. Not too sweet, which was nice.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on April 21, 2017

We ordered the Seafood Coco and the Baobab Gambas. The Coco was quite good, however the Gambas was fairly bland. Unfortunately, the service was so incredibly apathetic that we will not be returning. Our food came out quickly, which was great, but then our server did not return to our table for OVER AN HOUR. My partner had to go to the bar with our cups to ask for more water. Our server finally came to take our dishes and bring the check, but then resumed ignoring us. We finally waved down another server to run our credit card.

Report
Helpful
vipDiscerning (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on February 25, 2017

food is tasty but would like more fish and less rice. Music is too loud hard to carry out a conversation asked them to turn it down but still too noisy.

Report
Helpful
Syla65 (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2017

excellent food; good service; cozy seating; value for portions provided were great and excellent fried tilapia

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on December 15, 2016

Good overall experience! Appetizers a bit disappointing. But meals were very tasty. Tho not look so good.
WE went on a thurs eve. So no live music. Next time for sure. That must be fun

Report
Helpful
Benv (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on December 9, 2016

really interesting- the flavors are familiar, yet very different at the same time. try it. go. now.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4