About Bissap Baobab - Oakland

381 15th Street
Oakland, CA 94612
View Larger Map

Bissap Baobab Oakland brings the savory, succulent flavors of Senegal to Oakland, California. Our menu consists of traditional Senegalese cuisine and West African-California fusion specialties.

Choose from a full range of gourmet African dishes, including avocat créole, yassa, mafe, ceebu jen, and dessert crépes. Our newest addition, Afro Wraps, are our version of a West African burrito. Then wash it all down with one of our homemade juices: hibiscus, tamarind, or ginger. We also squeeze our own juice blends, so drop in to see the flavor of the day!

More than just a restaurant, Bissap Baobab Oakland is a community center, with a laid back, yet distinctly cosmopolitan, worldly vibe which upholds the concept of an African village.

Our name is a tribute to the meaningful symbol of life, community, and culture in Africa -- the Baobab tree.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
African

Hours of Operation:


Mon 11:30am - 2:30pm
Tues 11:30am - 2:30pm
Wed 11:30am - 10pm
Thurs 11:30am - 10pm
Fri 11:30am - 2:00am
Sat 5:30pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 817-4722

Website:
http://www.bissapbaobaboakland.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking

Public Transit:
12th Street Oakland BART

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining available, 2-week preferred notice.

Private Party Contact:
Christy Osorio: 4154836217x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Bissap Baobab - Oakland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Special Occasion (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
29 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good was absolutely delish and our waitr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good was absolutely delish and our waitress was the sweetest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This West African bistro, with mildly bu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This West African bistro, with mildly but richly spiced food from Senegal was a real lunch-time treat for my friend and I . We both had the Chicken Mafe, which was a wonderful peanut-based stew with braised chicken. The walls and tables are a funky, brightly painted folk art that speaks to the modern West African culture. Highly recommended. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious delicious delicious . We were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious delicious delicious . We were served quickly and food amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. I'm not a vegan but I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Love this place. I'm not a vegan but I can have lunch with one here and we both can be happy. The tofu made from black eyed peas is just dang good; doesn't matter if you are vegan or not. There are chicken and fish options as well. The fruit drinks are tasty but a bit too sweet for my taste. And the fried bananas are a fine dessert. Haven't had any alcoholic drinks here but they do have beer. The waitresses are really pleasant and clearly like their jobs. It is a no stress place to have a meal and a chat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday in a Culturally Appealing Setting

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I LOVE to stay connected with the culture and people of our roots. This spot is a Pan-African heaven for us! I took my wife for her 40th; just a small group of friends and relations. SCORE!! Not only was the atmosphere nice and the service great, but the 3 lady servers (Asna & crew) that were working that evening went above and beyond to make my wife feel loved and appreciated on her special day. I will make it a point to return everytime I visit Oakland. NIcely done!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

community gathering spot

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

This Senegalese restaurant is special because it adds community involvement to the basic menu which is quite simple but well-prepared and served. We went because it was the monthly flamenco night and we were not disappointed. The 4 flamenco performers were terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic food, a little chilly inside, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Fantastic food, a little chilly inside, but great service. The drinks were good but not amazing, that's why four and not five stars. Truly great food, though, definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was tasty and fresh, and service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Food was tasty and fresh, and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was our first time and we really liked it.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

It was our first time and we really liked it. We will come back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Chicken served

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

I really enjoyed the flavor of the dishes. The one thing that I would change is using drumsticks in the main course. For me entrees served with chicken are best when served with chicken breast. A drumstick is not appropriate for saucy dishes and has very little meat.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Didn't care for the food. Not to my tast ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Didn't care for the food. Not to my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

The food and service are great.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Definitely one of the gems of the Bay Area. Great food at a reasonable cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Senegalese Treat, Prompt Service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Good food, good service on a funky block in downtown Oakland. All-around fun experience. Good selection of signature cocktails with ginger, rum, hibiscus and other interesting ingredients. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

We went here for my birthday recently and it was an overall great experience. I had been to the one in SF so wanted to try the one close to home and it was so convenient. The food was as tasty as I remembered it. The plantain and the yucca fries appetizers were great and there were plenty for our party of 4 (plus two kids). Our drinks were also good (I got the coconut rum and yes, like other reviews, it is fabulous! The second one was just as good). The other drinks were good but they ended up ordering different ones for the second round. We ordered 4 entrees (the curry shrimp, the spicy curry fish, the lamb onion dish, and the black eyed peas dish) and everything was really good. We cleaned our plates, for the most part. The server was extremely nice and helpful with our questions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Don't have to go to sf anymore for this great food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Try a curry. They are delicious. Definitely have a hibiscus cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

So Delicious!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

I ordered Dibi - onion sauce with black eyed pea tofu and fried plantain. It was one of the best things I've ever eaten, full of flavor, but not too spicy. I look forward to trying their other dishes.

The restaurant plays fairly loud music, so it's a fun place but not necessarily good for intimate conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun and friendly

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 5, 2015

A friend and I had a nice relaxed lunch. The service was so friendly and accommodating and the food was tasty. Since it was lunch we didn't try the cocktails, but the non alcoholic home made drinks (hibiscus, ginger or tamarind) were delicious. I will definitely go back and have already recommended this restaurants to friends for a family lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Thoroughly Enjoyable

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2015

Everything about the place was charming. To those who complain about service being slow: ours was neither rushed nor slow. Remember that some cuisines are meant to be enjoyed at a relaxing pace. If you're in a hurry, go to some other kind of restaurant, and save this for when you're willing to relax. That said, I have no complaints about the service and would go back in a minute. The food, if not outstanding, was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Quality food, delicious African dishes, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

Quality food, delicious African dishes, nice decor and super friendly service. Will come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Deliscious trip to Senegal

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 12, 2015

I had lunch with a group of 8 here recently. Service was friendly and good. Nice ambience. The Yassa wrap (grilled chicken, beef or tofu with marinated onions, served in a lemon, garlic, mustard sauce with greens, tomato, and avocado.) was very delicious. Tamarind juice was very good, ginger was spectacular, and the plantains were perfect. I'm looking forward to coming back i teh evening for the music (apparently they have african drummming)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazingly delicious and the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 25, 2015

The food was amazingly delicious and the customer service was spectacular. It was my birthday and our server informed the live band and the whole restaurant paused to sing and it was wonderful. The restaurant was clean.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dibs!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 14, 2014

Yummy Tilapia and plantains. Great cocktails with rum and coconut.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was wonderful! I know Senegalese fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

Food was wonderful! I know Senegalese food -- this was the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ok food and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2014

Asked for grilled chicken kabobs, got 3 chicken legs not grilled. My friends liked their food ok. Never got hot sauce we asked for. My meal was supposed to come with plantains and side salad, and I didn't get either. They didn't have 3 different items listed on their menu. One main dish, one desert and a drink. It's a piece of paper printed at the corner copy shop, it's not a leather bound laminated menu, how hard is it to correct it? The waitresses were overly attentive when we first arrived but by the time we left, had kinda disappeared. They also tried to charge us for the desert we ordered, but then they were out of. And it is VERY loud.

For $25 a person I really expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Doen't Life up to the City Location

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2014

I love Bissap Baobab in San Francisco. The food is great and it's a fun atmosphere. I'm not sure how long this location has been open but it was pretty much empty. The server forgot about us. The shrimp was over cooked and nothing seemed very fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Fun, tasty and unique

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

Been a fan of the SF loc so I've been eagerly waiting for dinner service to start in Oakland. 6 for dinner - there were some tables left at 7:30 on a Murmur Friday, but apparently we just beat the rush. Eclectic music on the Mac Book. Food was great. Shared the shrimp, yucca fries with guac, and the meat and the veg pastelles appetizers. All very tasty. Def get the veg pastelles again. Yucca fries are too addictive - good if there are enough people to share with. For my main, had the Niebe Thies with house-made bean cake - loved! All other dishes around the table got raves as well. Very nice folks. They got our first set of drinks a little mixed up s they got us a second round on the house to make up for it. Ask for the hot sauce!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

African experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2014

Bissap Baobab offers very good food, service is as welcoming as can be and reminiscent of my experience in West and Central Africa, decor is very warm, patrons add to the relaxed feeling of the ambience, and when there is music, one is transported. Everybody who works there seems to enjoy what they do.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

AtotheK

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2014

It was good but probably not ideal for the World Cup. I was expecting a more vibrant environment.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Best of Africa

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2014

It's long overdue that this joint comes to Oakland, with a vibrant, colorful ambiance that complements each plate. The chicken with marinated onions literally melted off the bone, and the rich spicy coconut gamba sauce was so delicious we were scrambling to scoop up every last drop. I'm a plantain junkie and these were perfectly fried, slightly blackened and caramelized. Each plate game with a small green salad so there was no need to order one as a side. The fresh ginger drink was warming and generous enough to share between two people. Service was solid, and the World Cup on the big screen was a welcome break from the work-day, with the volume low enough so as not to be distracting if you were deep in conversation. I will be back often!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.