Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Bishop's Post

We like to think of Bishop's Post not only as casual fine dining restaurant, but as a casual fine dining experience. From our spacious two private dining rooms to our
scenic patio and centerpiece stone fountain waterfall, to the cozy indoor fireplace. Bishop's Post has it all.

Our seasonal menu includes;
Hand cut steaks, homemade pasta, fresh seafood, house smoked trout, shrimp cocktail, fresh oysters, shrimp tempura, artisan cheeses and charcuterie. We also offer exquisite comfort food options that include our macaroni and cheese with lobster and St. Louis style ribs. Our salads use the farm to table philosophy including sourcing herbs and vegetables from our on site garden.

We are very proud to announce that Bishop's Post received THE 2017 WINE SPECTATORS AWARD with over 200 wines in-house to choose from.

16125 Chesterfield Parkway West
Chesterfield, MO 63017
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm: Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm -10:00pm: Sunday 4:00pm-8pm
NOW OPEN SUNDAYS
11 am - 8 pm






Cross Street:
Justus Post

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 536-9404

Website:
http://www.bishopspost.com/

Parking Details:
We offer guests a private parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Facundo Monroe

Private Party Facilities:
We have three separate, private dining areas. We have a room to fit your needs from 10-100 people. Contact Stacey@bishopspost.com for any more information.

Private Party Contact:
Stacey LaBarbera: (636) 536-9404

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bishop's Post Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Good for a Date (27)
Casual (25)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Scenic View (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Business Meals (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (10)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Private Room (6)
Seasonal (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Great Beer (4)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Sunday lunch on their beautiful patio watching the waterfall was excellent!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

First time to this restaurant. We sat outside on the back patio; it's very private with a very nice waterfall view. The atmosphere was very pleasant. We ordered 2 appetizers and both were outstanding- the calamari and the seafood campechana. Our entrees were the jumbo sea scallops, the salmon salad, and the pork rib chop. All of them were excellent. We ordered a piece of carrot cake to share for dessert. That to me, was the most disappointing part of the meal. While the cake was good and house made, the frosting was not cream cheese, like we love, but a buttercream that was too buttery, not enough sugar. I like buttercream, but this was not what I am accustomed to. Our server wash fantastic- overall a great meal! We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Always fabulous! GM Dan Kaveney and his staff provide for a superb dining experience with a wide-ranging menu and excellent service. Great wine list and cocktails. House smoked bacon wrapped shrimp are to die for. Seasonal specialities and nightly off-menu creations. Outdoor dining by the waterfall provides a soothing and relaxing backdrop. This is a place you will not be in a rush to leave as it invites laid back dining and conversation. Plenty of seating options with indoor, outdoor, covered patio and group rooms makes this one of the most versatile dining venues in St. Louis. Great Chesterfield location with easy access from I-64. I highly recommend. Moderately yet reasonably priced. Save room for dessert and after dinner drink!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Geriatric convention. Food average at best. Ambiance lacking severely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was delicious. We made our reservation on Open Table and requested an outside table. I talked to someone at the restaurant and they never mentioned the patio was first come so we sat inside. Not a big deal. The waitress seemed to be waiting on tables inside and outside. The service was very slow and the attention was on the outside tables. Never got water glasses refilled, never got requested ice or fresh pepper, table wasn't bussed. It's a shame the service was bad, because the food was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our waitress was fantastic, food delivered promptly, beautiful outdoor patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Dinner at Bishops Post was outstanding!!! The food,patio, and service is always fantastic! Really enjoyed the new menu items and your your wine list is one of the best in St Louis! Congrats one earning your first wine spectator award! One of the best kept secrets in Chesterfield!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner last Saturday night at Bishop's Post with several family members. We secured our reservation at short notice on Saturday, and the evening turned out wonderful. Our waitress was terrific, very attentive to our group of 6 (+ baby), kept the refreshments coming and was helpful with recommendations from menu. We had a mix of salads to start (Caesar, a couple of House salads and a special Caprese salad for me) then followed with a great selection of entree's: 2 orders of Seafood Campechana (an appetizer large enough to enjoy as an entree), an order of prime rib, an order of sea scallops, 1 order of shrimp & grits, and my pregnant daughter opted for macaroni & cheese as an entree. All were terrific, everyone enjoyed each entree tremendously. We'd all had plenty to eat, but still found room for 1 slice of a peanut butter & chocolate cheesecake, which was delicious.

All in all, a terrific dinner at Bishop's Post Saturday night, a special occasion that makes us want to return soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Lovely patio, it was a beautiful day. The patio allowed us, a small birthday party group to have a nice little wine & lunch celebration. The kitchen kindly made some adjustments to accommodate special needs. The service was prompt without being intrusive. It was a very nice place to have good food and conversation; the patio is gorgeous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Horrible waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Outstanding wine list and their shrimp and grits meal is very unique for this area. Wonderful staff and service.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great food, great wine list, great setting. There aren't too many places in west county that you can eat outside, or even the view if it's too hot and you wind up inside, that don't look directly at the parking lot of the main street going by. This place is a gem. Right outside Chesterfield mall, although you would never know that once you pull into their parking lot. Outstanding wine list, and while it's not a craft-beer-bar, they still keep a few good local brews on tap to keep it interesting. We love coming to visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The weather was too hot, unfortunately, to enjoy the BEAUTIFUL patio setting, so we sat inside. I was pleasantly surprised that it was not too load. Seating was spread out enough for decent conversation. The appetizers, hummus and shrimp were yummy; the gumbo was way too salty. I had a salad and the trout appetizer both were outstanding. My table mates said their food was very good. The wine list is extensive, best visited on a Thursday for discounted prices. Dessert was met with mixed reviews. The chocolate cheesecake was superb; the gooey butter cake was fair at best. Overall it was a very nice evening out to celebrate a special occasion with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a lovely dinner. The venue is beautiful with a great amount of outdoor seating with a nice waterfall. The food was delicious; the salad could have used a little more dressing for our taste. There is a wide variety of dishes so everyone should be able to find something to eat. Our server seemed to be a little overwhelmed with her tables but we ended up with everything we needed.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Bishop's Post has our favorite patio for dining in the metro area. The food is good, American classics. Service is attentive without being smothering. Finally the patio is just amazing featuring a stream going down a hillside dumping into a collection pool. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food (fried chicken, calamari salad ), wonderful looking desserts , great service . Will definitely return

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Service was unexpectedly slow as the restaurant did not appear to be staffed for a busy Saturday evening. Had to ask for water and a waiter after 20 minutes. Food was okay but not great for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Paella very different than the spanish Valenciana version but really tasty, the Mac & Cheese the best pasta I'd ever try! The fries of the burguers were so good and the Wine was delicious. The outdoor areas are so nice, 1st time at Bishop Post and we get in love with the place ❤️ We'll definetelly come back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was great. We need to come here more often.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Bishop's Post is our favorite restaurant to have dinner at during the patio season. We like their outdoor dining the best of any restaurant in St. Louis. The recently updated menu had many appealing options to choose from. Great for having good food, talking with friends and enjoying the weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This was our 3rd visit to Bishop's Post in 6 weeks. Needless to say this has become one of our favorite restaurant. The staff is great, the food is delicious and the overall experience is outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food average. Service good. Wine great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great food and half price wine. What more could you ask for except maybe free wine. Service was excellent and conversation was superb. A place we definitely will revisit, time and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The outdoor patio area is very nice and the tables are spaced apart just right.

Waterfall, trees, flowers, etc. are very relaxing.

Service is great, food is great, good choice especially when the weather is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

FATHERS DAY LUNCH FOR 7
OUR REQUEST FOR A TABLE NEAR THE WATERFALL WAS FOLLOWED.
WE WERE GREETED BY OUR FIRST NAMES.
OUR FAVORITE LIBATIONS WERE REMEMBERED
OUR PARTY WAS PAMPERED.
BUT THIS IS NORMAL FOR US AT BISHOP'S
THANKS TO ALL OF YOU WHO MAKE IT THE BEST

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Organic, Tapas, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

On checking in we were taken immediately to our table. We were visiting with our friends and our server did not immediately take our drink order. Since we were talking it did not concern us. There were four of us and we all order a different entree. My wife had the petite filet and it was cooked perfectly. I ordered the prime rib special. It was acceptable but somewhat chewy. Our one friend had the salmon special and it was very good. The other guest had the lamb chops and they were very good as well. Overall a very acceptable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Ate outside on the back patio: in general, a pleasant place. Food, service and value were all just so-so. Unfortunately one of us had the crab puteur, a weirdly named salad: half a milky lettuce pile and the other half a milky pile of crab. Both piles cry for acid, a wedge of lemon at a minimum. Maybe piling all that onto a po-boy bun, adding some tomato slices and a lemony/limey aioli could salvage the ingredients.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My wife and I went to Bishop's Post for the first time, and we weren't disappointed. Both of our meals were great. She had the Scallops, and I had the Filet. Both cooked perfectly. We split the chocolate cheesecake for desert. That was the icing on the cake for the meal. Our waitress was very friendly, and didn't hound us throughout our meal. I did like the fact that the owners came around to our table, and asked how our meal was. That shows great interest in their clients. We sat inside, but the patio looked real nice with the waterfall. That would be a great place for dinning on a cool evening. I understand that they have live music I believe on Wednesday's. We missed that, but still had a wonderful meal. We will return in the near future.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Perfect dinner- beautiful restaurant, amazing service, delicious food. We will be definitely making another trip to Bishop's Post in the future!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

sat outside on a beautiful night and enjoyed dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Only issue was requested patio table in advance and one was not held for us and we had to dine inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Held a small business dinner there with 9 people and the staff was very accommodating with a table in the Garden Room open to the patio/waterfall area. Great service and food. Excellent evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We ate out on the patio. The patio catches the afternoon sun perfectly and shields diners from the hustle and bustle of surrounding traffic. Service was attentive. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We sat on the outdoor patio for dinner. This is the best patio in St. Louis. Service was prompt and courteous. I had prime rib and it was perfectly done. Can't say the same for the bread pudding wishing was over cooked. That said, everyone else enjoyed their meals and we enjoyed a nice evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went to Bishop Post for Sunday lunch. Have been there several times before. The service (Nina) was great. I had a pastromi sandwich and my wife enjoyed a shrimp dish. Both were significant portions and tasted great. We enjoyed a very comfortable quiet lunch. Bishop Post has a very attractive outdoor dining area.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Terrible service, over cooked food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Lance was our server and he was great. You can tell he loves his job. Great employee to have.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

WE took some friends to Bishop's because it was a lovely night and their outdoor garden is gorgeous. Our waitress seemed stressed so perhaps they were short staffed or perhaps the kitchen was slow but it took a very long time to get our apps and our entrees. Don't know if I'd go back. If a restaurant is short staffed, it wouldn't hurt for the manager to stop by and say, "I realize you've been waiting a while but we are short staffed today. Can we buy you a drink or a dessert?"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Bishop 's Post was a special surprise. We were there with 2 other couples, all of us never having eaten there. The staff was wonderful, friendly, competent, welcoming from the time we walked in until we left. Our server, Jade, was by far the best server we have had in a lonnnnnngggggg time. Very personable. The managers came over several times to check on us and have small conversations. Food was excellent. We all enjoyed the appetizers, especially the artichoke dip and the calamari. Menu was very diverse so there was something for everyone. I will say that the ribs, while delicious, were just a tad too spicey for me . Everyone enjoyed their entrees. Deserts were excellent also. The bread pudding was one of the best I have had. Certainly would recommend Bishop's Post and will definitely return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.