About Bishop's Post

16125 Chesterfield Parkway West
Chesterfield, MO 63017
View Larger Map

An upscale casual bistro with two private dinning rooms, a large comtemporary bar and a beautifully landscaped patio with a waterfall.

Our seasonal menu includes; fresh seafood, hand cut steaks, homemade pasta, house smoked shrimp and trout, artisan cheeses and charcuterie. We also offer exquisite comfort food options that include our macaroni and cheese with beef tenderloin and St. Louis style ribs. Our salads use the farm to table philosophy including sourcing herbs and vegetables from our on site garden.

Our wine list includes over 200 old and new world wines..

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday:11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 11:00 am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Justus Post

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 536-9404

Website:
http://www.bishopspost.com/

Parking Details:
We offer guests a private parking lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We have three separate, private dining areas. We have a room to fit your needs from 10-100 people. Contact jenna@bishopspost.com for any more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jenna Hollingshead: 6365369404

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bishop's Post Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
St. Louis
American
St. Louis
Best Restaurants in Chesterfield ›

great for outdoor dining (43)
good for groups (25)
special occasion (24)
See All
neighborhood gem (20)
notable wine list (18)
fit for foodies (16)
romantic (15)
scenic view (14)
great for lunch (13)
great for brunch (6)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall food was above average but nothi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Overall food was above average but nothing really stood out. We did go on restaurant week so would consider going again to order off the full menu. Service and wine/cocktail list was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was great and our waiter was wonder ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was great and our waiter was wonderful!! Very nice evening!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the West County Restaurant week s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We did the West County Restaurant week special. My shrimp, grits and andouille entree was really good, as was the watermelon gazpacho. My wife's chicken entree was boasted of as "falling apart, it's so tender", but it was nowhere near that. This was a little disappointing. The fresh rolls brought to the table were good, but we had to ask for them. I did not like that. The desserts were good, but the creme brulee was a bit on the small side. Great Moscow Mules before dinner! We would eat there again, but it's too expensive to bring the kids. Outstanding service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

First time here. Loved it!!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First time here. Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose Bishop's Post for a belated birt ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I chose Bishop's Post for a belated birthday lunch with friends. Ashley was wonderful! Her suggestions were perfect. The others in the group had never eaten there before but I think they will go back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but price/value in question. S ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good food but price/value in question. Small portions. Need to increase size of entrees and vegetable accompaniedments

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Spectacular outside patio ,great service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Spectacular outside patio ,great service ,delicious ,wonderful food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fairly priced wine list with range of di ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fairly priced wine list with range of dining options. Prime rib special was nice- Mac and cheese options to please anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Never had a bad meal. Like the menu as ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Never had a bad meal. Like the menu as it has the comfort foods and some good specialty entrees.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there for a birthday celebration. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went there for a birthday celebration. Seven people at our event all ordered different items and all thought they were very good. Service was great. Bar seemed to be having a good time but the dining area was not noisy-- perfect for a big table to have a conversation. They have a beautiful outdoor seating area if weather permits.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful restaurant to dine at. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Just a wonderful restaurant to dine at. The service was friendly and timely. (Lauren H. was an excellent server.) The food was excellent as each of the six people in our group had a different appetizer and entree. The desserts were also very good. The outdoor patio was relaxing and comfortable. It provided a ambiance surprising for the location with its manmade babbling brook and soft background music. Our second visit as out of towners to St. Louis, and it will not be our last.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went for the first time ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I went for the first time. We heard mixed reviews across the board. Our food was great (pasta special-shrimp-crab risotto and beef short ribs) . We sat in the upper part so it was quiet. It wasn't crowded, only one other table by us, so it was a little odd. But overall we really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best Dinning experience I have had in a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Best Dinning experience I have had in a very long time. The food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Patio!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic Patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group was there on a Thursday evenin ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our group was there on a Thursday evening. The area experienced a power outage, including the restaurant, before we received our main entrée. We waited for a while in hopes that the power would come back on. Just as we were leaving the restaurant, the electric came back on. We stayed and were very glad we did. The scallops we all ordered were wonderful as was the house salad, wine and dessert. The manager was very accommodating and thoughtful given the situation. The wait staff was great! We will be back! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thursday 1/2 priced bottles of vino

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We went for the wine and the food was delicious. A number of us had the scallops and were impressed. The bottles of wine were what you spend at the grocery store. Service was slow am

Ned inefficient 😟

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food. Average service

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

As always menus and wine list were great service was slower than usual

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food is really great.comfort food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food is really great.comfort food on steroids. I had mac n cheese with carm.onions and tenderloin.best ever.thefriedchicken hadmashed potatoes and golden beets.also great. We sat outside by the waterfall. It beautiful. We had ooey gooey butter cake with rasbury sorbet and vanilla ice cream. Greatplacetogo.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have had consistently good service an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We have had consistently good service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful dining experience!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was amazing, the food was delicious, and the outdoor ambiance was perfect!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Place to eat and meet

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Number one choice in Chesterfield, MO. Top quality food and service.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what was expected

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The layout of the place was very nice. That was the best part. The food was mediocre as was the service.

It was my daughter’s birthday and no one was impressed with their entree's.

I would recommend going to the valley to almost any of the restaurants there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Just a little short on execution

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We've eaten at Bishop's Post before and enjoyed it; this time, was sort of up and down. The food was good to very good - high marks for the flatbread appetizer and the gumbo. The seafood pasta and scallops got raves from my dining partners, but the salmon was only so-so.

The highlights are the outdoor dining ambiance and the half-price wine by the bottle on Thursdays. The low lights, at least on this trip, were the service, which I'll politely call "leisurely," and the total inability to get the bill right. We sent the waiter back twice to make corrections.

All in all, less than fabulous.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The ribs were over cooked this time and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The ribs were over cooked this time and was very hard to get off the bone. I should have sent them back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Disappointed

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We dined on a Sunday night. The place was dead. We were the only customers. I just assumed they had steaks, but none were on the menu. We asked about the Chef's Sunday special, but it was an omelet ( Plus they have an omelet of the day?) Even though we were the only persons in the restaurant, our waitress, seemed to never be around to help us, serve us or answer questions. When she was she said it was her first week and "I am just learning the new menu" If you order the Sausage and Andouille soup - believe the warning about spicy. It was too spicy for my wife to tolerate. I had the ribs and ( the closest thing to a steak I could find on the menu) . You got a good helping, but they were overdone and tough ands lathered with BBQ sauce. The two sides you get come in the world's smallest containers, Maybe 2 spoonful's at best - and the recommended Side - Creamed corn was so creamed and liquidly, you could not eat with a fork, and since our waitress never came by we never got chance to ask her for a spoon

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Date night.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I went there on a Friday night. I had reservations for 7pm, got seated right away. Small menu, I had the scallops an they were outstanding. Server was very knowledgeable on wines and helped pick out a bottle for dinner. A little pricey to go there all the time, but great for date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent food and the service was outstanding, we certainly will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Restaurant Great Experience!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Went to dinner Thursday night music in the bar great dinner! Short Ribs are the best I've ever had! Just a great experience! Patio best in St Louis!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Good presentation. Friendly s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Good food. Good presentation. Friendly staff. Would visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Business Dinner delight

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

We're in St Louis for business frequently and wanted to try somewhere new. What a great find!

Fantastic comfort food - great menu options and a real bonus, half price bottles of wine on Thursday nights!

Everyone enjoyed their meal- and just the right pace.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First off, I ordered a glass of Pinot Gr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

First off, I ordered a glass of Pinot Grigio and it was so measured out that it only filled a quarter of a glass. If they want to give you so little they should use a smaller glass, because it gives a very poor presentation. My husband ordered a Moscow mule, he had two, and they tasted like different drinks, very inconsistent. I ordered the shrimp and grits, oofa, was that bad. It was overwhelmed by spices that were not appealing. If they made it simpler, with just shrimp and grits and none of the sauce it would have been so much better. It was Friday night, 7:00, and it was very empty. It's overpriced, and underwhelming. Spend your money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Great atmosphere! Food was good with a n ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great atmosphere! Food was good with a nice selection of seafood and comfort-style food, but elegant. Service in the bar area was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Anniversary excellence

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Wonderful evening that was made special by the table we were provided in semi- private room and the food was absolutely wonderful.... Exceeded our expectations....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list was very impressive but th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The wine list was very impressive but the food was less so. The scallops were severely overlooked. The prime rib was average. Our waiter was very nice but new and couldn't give us good suggestions. The group had a good time and enjoyed the ambiance but felt like the price was too high for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Very nice wine list. Don't miss Thursday ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Very nice wine list. Don't miss Thursday night Half-off Wines nights.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine's perfection

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a late reservation for Valentine's Day, we were seated next to the beautiful fireplace with a view of the outdoor patio (which I can't wait to visit when the weather is warmer). All of the staff came by to wish us a happy Valentine's Day and to ask if we needed any thing at all. Everything we ordered was perfection. The linguini panchetta and wild mushroom appetizer was ideal to share and would be an amazing entree! The salad was not drenched in dressing and delicious, my husband is a big bread eater and was accommodated for more rolls 3 times :) Our entrees were also fantastic, cooked exactly as we asked, flavorful and just the right amount. Our complimentary chocolate dipped strawberry was a welcome surprise and the Rum Chata creme brulee, need I say more? The staff was so friendly and helpful, I'd like to put this on our frequent visit list. If you're in Chesterfield, don't miss Bishop's Post!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short of Expectations

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We arrived 10 minutes before our 7:00 PM reservation on a Sunday night. We were told to wait because our table was not available. We were early, so no problem. But we waited to be seated. And waited and waited. We were finally seated at 7:25. Not what we expected. Food was above average, but the salad was disappointing and not worth the price. Not sure if we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Sat Night Dinner

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took the family out for a 8:00 dinner on a Saturday night. Had reservation and the table was being set when we arrived. Went to the bar and were sat right after the drinks were delivered. The food was good, would rate 3.5 stars if able. The service was okay but I do give the manager credit because he did stop by all the tables to check in. All in all it was a nice meal. Restaurant itself is very nice, classy atmosphere. Noise level is a little high. Definitely not a "quiet" restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

More Than We Expected!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Having never been, I looked at the menu online and when i saw fried chicken and meatloaf, i had visions of a cracker-barrel-esque environment. But, we made a reservation and gave it a chance. To my surprise, I walked in and found a very diverse environment. It was the kind of place you could wear jeans and a sweater, or a suit. Only depended on your occasion. This was valentines weekend and there were alot of couples. But, we did see kids and small groups. We were sat next to the fire which my wife appreciated in February. The table was not cramped at all and was lit perfectly. The service was attentive but not overbearing. The food was fantastic. We started with the calamari and enjoyed it very much. It had the perfect amount of breading and flavor, and the aioli was great. I ordered the filet, which was cooked perfectly. And my wife ordered the pan seared sea scallops in an apple cider reduction. We shared our plates and both were really very good. We also shared a bottle of wine. We chose based on what we liked as well as how much we wanted to spend. We chose the Muriel and were very happy with it. Great blend for people who like buttery/pear whites. We didn't have desert because we were expected somewhere and had to go. Our server Lauren, gave the right amount of friendly conversation while leaving us to enjoy our meal together. Great food, great service, great value. We will be back very soon. I cant wait till the weather is warm to try out their patio seating.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was outstanding - great twists on unusual appetizers. entrees were perfectly prepared, exactly what we were expecting and the wait staff was spot on. Overall an excellent experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.