About Bishop's Post

16125 Chesterfield Parkway West
Chesterfield, MO 63017
View Larger Map

An upscale casual bistro with two private dinning rooms, a large comtemporary bar and a beautifully landscaped patio with a waterfall.

Our seasonal menu includes; fresh seafood, hand cut steaks, homemade pasta, house smoked shrimp and trout, artisan cheeses and charcuterie. We also offer exquisite comfort food options that include our macaroni and cheese with beef tenderloin and St. Louis style ribs. Our salads use the farm to table philosophy including sourcing herbs and vegetables from our on site garden.

Our wine list includes over 200 old and new world wines..

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday:11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 11:00 am-10:00pm, open Sunday's starting September, 11th from 11:00 am- 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Justus Post

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 536-9404

Website:
http://www.bishopspost.com/

Parking Details:
We offer guests a private parking lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We have three separate, private dining areas. We have a room to fit your needs from 10-100 people. Contact jenna@bishopspost.com for any more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jenna Hollingshead: 6365369404

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bishop's Post Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
St. Louis
American
St. Louis
Best Ambiance
West County
Best Restaurants in Chesterfield ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Good for Groups (19)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Scenic View (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and food

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Patio is wonderful. Delicious food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Patio is wonderful. Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Was there for lunch the other day with a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Was there for lunch the other day with a group of business associates and eat on the patio what a wonderful experience! The patio is just beautiful water fall and all! A must experience! The food was great the chicken salad was really good and as always the desert tray was fabulous! The service was great, always attentive to our needs! Very nice experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was not around for most of th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was not around for most of the evening. The manager or other restaurant employees ended up coming over to our table multiple times to see how we were doing, and thank goodness they did. I don't know if we had someone in training or what, but it appeared that other tables were getting good service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We had a party of four but were served o ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a party of four but were served only three diners. Had to wait about 15 minutes for the rest of our order. Management apologized and gave us free desert. Food was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Had another wonderful evening at Bishop' ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Had another wonderful evening at Bishop's Post! Food was excellent sat in front of the waterfall just enjoying a wonderful evening one the best out door patio around! The service was great they noticed us at the right times but then let us enjoy the evening! The food was very good cheers to the chef! I think the restaurant has an amazing wine list and there manager Dan is very good at pairing great wines with what your having for dinner! Its a great place one of my favorites!

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in town for outdoor dining! ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Best place in town for outdoor dining! Hard to believe you're right on the edge of Chesterfield Mall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love the patio at Bishop's Post and thei ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Love the patio at Bishop's Post and their Happy Hour in the bar - great place to go!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great appetizers and deserts. Main dish ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great appetizers and deserts. Main dishes were just ok. The Salmon was under cooked (to our taste). It was a little slow so unfortunately the server hovered to much. That said, I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The ambience was fabulous looking at a w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The ambience was fabulous looking at a waterfall in the evening with the lights on. The waiters and servers were very friendly kind and attentive. The ribs were overcooked and the top too hard andchewy. the meat did not fall off the bone very well however ,there was a lot of meat on the bone. The desert in a praline cup was delicious but needed another topping Like ice cream hot fudge sauce or fresh strawberry sauce would be perfect

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went to Bishop's Post and had another wo ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Went to Bishop's Post and had another wonderful meal! The service was outstanding and the fried chicken was is as good as it gets ! Beautiful patio with a unbelievable water fall nothing like it in St. Louis! Also a wonderful wine list the was very reasonable priced an excellent value for you money!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service and really good food. We l ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Good service and really good food. We loved the shrimp and grits entree. Outdoor seating looks really nice for later evening or brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, service, and just overal ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food, service, and just overall a great experience....we have been there before and have always had a great experience....when it is cool enough, dining outside is a true delight!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very average meal at a high price. I wil ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very average meal at a high price. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Overall food was above average but nothi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Overall food was above average but nothing really stood out. We did go on restaurant week so would consider going again to order off the full menu. Service and wine/cocktail list was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was great and our waiter was wonder ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was great and our waiter was wonderful!! Very nice evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the West County Restaurant week s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We did the West County Restaurant week special. My shrimp, grits and andouille entree was really good, as was the watermelon gazpacho. My wife's chicken entree was boasted of as "falling apart, it's so tender", but it was nowhere near that. This was a little disappointing. The fresh rolls brought to the table were good, but we had to ask for them. I did not like that. The desserts were good, but the creme brulee was a bit on the small side. Great Moscow Mules before dinner! We would eat there again, but it's too expensive to bring the kids. Outstanding service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

First time here. Loved it!!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First time here. Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose Bishop's Post for a belated birt ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I chose Bishop's Post for a belated birthday lunch with friends. Ashley was wonderful! Her suggestions were perfect. The others in the group had never eaten there before but I think they will go back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but price/value in question. S ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good food but price/value in question. Small portions. Need to increase size of entrees and vegetable accompaniedments

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Spectacular outside patio ,great service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Spectacular outside patio ,great service ,delicious ,wonderful food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fairly priced wine list with range of di ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fairly priced wine list with range of dining options. Prime rib special was nice- Mac and cheese options to please anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Never had a bad meal. Like the menu as ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Never had a bad meal. Like the menu as it has the comfort foods and some good specialty entrees.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there for a birthday celebration. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went there for a birthday celebration. Seven people at our event all ordered different items and all thought they were very good. Service was great. Bar seemed to be having a good time but the dining area was not noisy-- perfect for a big table to have a conversation. They have a beautiful outdoor seating area if weather permits.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful restaurant to dine at. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Just a wonderful restaurant to dine at. The service was friendly and timely. (Lauren H. was an excellent server.) The food was excellent as each of the six people in our group had a different appetizer and entree. The desserts were also very good. The outdoor patio was relaxing and comfortable. It provided a ambiance surprising for the location with its manmade babbling brook and soft background music. Our second visit as out of towners to St. Louis, and it will not be our last.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went for the first time ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I went for the first time. We heard mixed reviews across the board. Our food was great (pasta special-shrimp-crab risotto and beef short ribs) . We sat in the upper part so it was quiet. It wasn't crowded, only one other table by us, so it was a little odd. But overall we really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best Dinning experience I have had in a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Best Dinning experience I have had in a very long time. The food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Patio!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic Patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group was there on a Thursday evenin ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our group was there on a Thursday evening. The area experienced a power outage, including the restaurant, before we received our main entrée. We waited for a while in hopes that the power would come back on. Just as we were leaving the restaurant, the electric came back on. We stayed and were very glad we did. The scallops we all ordered were wonderful as was the house salad, wine and dessert. The manager was very accommodating and thoughtful given the situation. The wait staff was great! We will be back! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thursday 1/2 priced bottles of vino

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We went for the wine and the food was delicious. A number of us had the scallops and were impressed. The bottles of wine were what you spend at the grocery store. Service was slow am

Ned inefficient 😟

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food. Average service

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

As always menus and wine list were great service was slower than usual

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food is really great.comfort food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food is really great.comfort food on steroids. I had mac n cheese with carm.onions and tenderloin.best ever.thefriedchicken hadmashed potatoes and golden beets.also great. We sat outside by the waterfall. It beautiful. We had ooey gooey butter cake with rasbury sorbet and vanilla ice cream. Greatplacetogo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have had consistently good service an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We have had consistently good service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful dining experience!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was amazing, the food was delicious, and the outdoor ambiance was perfect!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Place to eat and meet

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Number one choice in Chesterfield, MO. Top quality food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what was expected

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The layout of the place was very nice. That was the best part. The food was mediocre as was the service.

It was my daughter’s birthday and no one was impressed with their entree's.

I would recommend going to the valley to almost any of the restaurants there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Just a little short on execution

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We've eaten at Bishop's Post before and enjoyed it; this time, was sort of up and down. The food was good to very good - high marks for the flatbread appetizer and the gumbo. The seafood pasta and scallops got raves from my dining partners, but the salmon was only so-so.

The highlights are the outdoor dining ambiance and the half-price wine by the bottle on Thursdays. The low lights, at least on this trip, were the service, which I'll politely call "leisurely," and the total inability to get the bill right. We sent the waiter back twice to make corrections.

All in all, less than fabulous.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The ribs were over cooked this time and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The ribs were over cooked this time and was very hard to get off the bone. I should have sent them back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Disappointed

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We dined on a Sunday night. The place was dead. We were the only customers. I just assumed they had steaks, but none were on the menu. We asked about the Chef's Sunday special, but it was an omelet ( Plus they have an omelet of the day?) Even though we were the only persons in the restaurant, our waitress, seemed to never be around to help us, serve us or answer questions. When she was she said it was her first week and "I am just learning the new menu" If you order the Sausage and Andouille soup - believe the warning about spicy. It was too spicy for my wife to tolerate. I had the ribs and ( the closest thing to a steak I could find on the menu) . You got a good helping, but they were overdone and tough ands lathered with BBQ sauce. The two sides you get come in the world's smallest containers, Maybe 2 spoonful's at best - and the recommended Side - Creamed corn was so creamed and liquidly, you could not eat with a fork, and since our waitress never came by we never got chance to ask her for a spoon

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Date night.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I went there on a Friday night. I had reservations for 7pm, got seated right away. Small menu, I had the scallops an they were outstanding. Server was very knowledgeable on wines and helped pick out a bottle for dinner. A little pricey to go there all the time, but great for date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.