About Bishop's

2183 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC V6K 1N7
View Larger Map

The fare at Bishop's is regional and seasonal. In restaurateur John Bishop's view, it makes sense to showcase British Columbia's lush bounty of seafood, organic produce and meats. His exquisite West Side restaurant blends classic and modern flavours with a casual elegance that keeps clients coming back for a truly exceptional dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner Tuesday to Sunday from 5:30 till closing time.
Closed Mondays

Closed December 24th, 25th and 26th



Cross Street:
Yew Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 738-2025

Website:
http://www.bishopsonline.com/

Parking Details:
We are located along major bus routes, or fifteen minutes from Downtown Vancouver via taxi.

Executive Chef:
Ivan Chung

Additional:
Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pommes Frites
Apple Staircase
Onion Soup
Blue Goose Organic Beef
Fillet Of Cache Creek Beef
Death by Chocolate
Tenderloin Of Pitt Meadows Beef
French Fizz
Amuse Bouche
Pan Seared Bison
Complimentary Dessert
Bread
Carpaccio Of Bc Octopus
charcuterie
Assiette Of Pitt Meadows Beef
Albacore Tuna Tartare
Steak
Beef tenderloin
Pecan Tart
Beef Carpaccio
Prawns Panna Cotta Salad
Wild Boar Terrine
Seared Qualicum Bay Scallops
Cheesecake
Caramel Popcorn
Ginger Ale
Tarragon Loaf And Bacon Cornbread
Nettle Soup
Lemon Crem Tart With Blueberry Sorbet
Onion Caraway And Bacon Cornbread
Diced Pickles
Coca Cola
Bloody Mary Sorbet
Chilled Stoney Paradise Sungold Soup
Yellow Tomatoe Soup
Pan Roasted Haida Gwaii Halibut
Orichette Pasta Prosciutto
Beef Striploin
Scallop Entree
Elk Rib Chop
BC Mussels
Prawn Bisque

Bishop's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
12 More
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Notable Wine List
Vancouver
Romantic
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Northwest
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Kitsilano ›

special occasion (74)
romantic (58)
fit for foodies (55)
See All
neighborhood gem (45)
notable wine list (41)
good for groups (6)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1049 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was by far the worst food I have ev ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was by far the worst food I have ever encountered at a fine dining restaurant. My meal (the duck breast, which itself was tasteless & accompanied by dirty tasting turnips, grains mixed with cherries that tasted like mulched paper pulp & a sauce that tasted like brine, only without the delicious salty flavor that brine would at least have) was inedible - I sent it back with only a few bites taken from each item, but I did not complain as I was not paying for the meal and I didn't want to offend the person who had taken me to the restaurant. My companions also complained bitterly about the poor taste of their meals (my mother's lamb was dry & she was served two small, poor cuts of meat along with a ball-like-shape of dry, tasteless shredded meat that we could only imagine was some sort of off-cut. My partner's steak tasted distinctly like popcorn & was accompanied by soggy onions & watery vegetables). The portions were small, which turned out to be a blessing, because they were a strange combination of bland & ill-flavored. The bread we were served was nice, but the corn bread was too grainy (it had a nice flavor, but seemed to be made with some sort of chewy grain like quinoa). The mushroom ravioli that my partner ordered as an appetizer was the best item that we were served. However, it too was flawed. The sauce was watery and the pasta was incredibly thin and flavorless. Initially, we were all planning to eat dessert, but after sending back our dinner we all chose to skip it and go to our event hungry. The host spent around $200 on this meal (1 appetizer, 3 mains), which is outrageous for sub-par food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My family had been on vacation for nearl ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

My family had been on vacation for nearly a month and we all wanted to have a great ambience, wonderful flavorful NW cuisine within an environment that felt warm and inviting. We all chose Bishop's as the place a family favorite each time we're in Vancouver. The staff is always so kind, welcoming making us feel as if we're sharing our meal with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delight to go there. John Bish ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always a delight to go there. John Bishop is a great host and a true gentleman. John and all his staff make everyone feel very special. Food is always delicious and there is great selection of wines. Favourite restaurant in Vancouver.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Salmon I've had in Vancouver? Like ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Best Salmon I've had in Vancouver? Likely. Incredible green onion soup and everything was today fresh. Sommelier was friendly and helpful. Excellent night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

By far, having dinner at Bishop's was th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

By far, having dinner at Bishop's was the best dining experience we had during our trip to Vancouver. It also ranks as one of the top dining experiences we have ever had (and we have traveled a fair amount). From start to finish, the entire staff was extremely welcoming, attentive, and helpful. The ambiance was sophisticated, yet relaxed. We were given ample time to enjoy each course and were not rushed in any way. We enjoyed fresh, seasonal appetizers, delicious entrees of local salmon and beef, and classic desserts of crème brûlée and chocolate terrine. The salmon was particularly good. Our meal ended with fresh cherries and a box of fresh corn bread to take home with us. Such a positive dining experience all around due to the amazing staff who created a perfect dining experience and the use of fresh, local ingredients in each dish. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Known about Bishops for a long time, but ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Known about Bishops for a long time, but finally went. It was a great experience. Excellent food and service . It was our first time there but we were treated like regulars. Highly recommend visiting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time dining at Bishop' ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was my first time dining at Bishop's, the second for my wife. Generally, we had a very nice time (we have already rated the specifics of our experience, above).

The lower rating for the food, compared to the other aspects, needs qualification. Our first course was superb: fresh oysters for one; soup for the other. For our main course we each chose the feature of the day: shoulder of lamb. This was a huge disappointment, especially for the high price. Each of us got a thick slab of fat with very little meat. The vegetables with it were very nice. My wife returned the serving and was politely given another, more meaty serving. I should have returned mine, though from the pile of fat left it should have been obvious that something was wrong. By this point the thought of complaining and then eating a substituted plate of meat was beyond my appetite. To this day, I cannot fathom why a chef at such a posh and expensive restaurant would dream that this cut of meat (fat) was acceptable.

Everything else was very nice and the service great. However, I would think twice about going there again. Where was the quality control for the cuts of meat?

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Bishop's is always a good choice. It's a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Bishop's is always a good choice. It's a Vancouver icon after some 30 years and John Bishop is the perfect host. The food is seasonal, fresh and creative. The staff are pros, and the decor is simple and tasteful. You know you are somewhere special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although we had not been for sometime th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Although we had not been for sometime this is a restaurant that always guarantees great food, ambience and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Every single course ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was great. Every single course was outstanding. We had wild mushroom ravioli as the first course. It was the best we have ever had. The porcini filling was amazing and the pasta was perfectly al-dante. The main course, duck confit, was also perfectly done. The skin was crispy and delicious. The last course was the Valhrona Chocolate Terrine and it was chocolate goodness with the hazelnut praline on the bottom.

We had a great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came here to celebrate my husband's a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We came here to celebrate my husband's and mother's birthdays. I'd describe this as a fresh, modern take on French and Continental cuisine. The flavours were complex and delightful, yet clean and simply presented, letting the freshness of the "star" of each dish shine through. The duck confit, for example, was presented as a beautifully roasted and tastefully seasoned leg, not chopped up and mixed with an overly-rich brown sauce as so often is the case at other places. The wild mushroom ravioli appetizer was light, served with a sauce that was almost more a foam, letting the fresh and delicate mushroom flavours come through. The staff was attentive and efficient, but also fun and friendly without being obsequious or overly chummy, and they did great with my teenaged sons and our quirky sense of humour. We all very much enjoyed our dining experience, and my husband declared Bishop's his new favourite special occasion place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

While visiting Vancouver for a few days, ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

While visiting Vancouver for a few days, my wife and I decided to take a Vancouver friend to a restaurant we had long looked at, but somehow missed. What a miss. It was a memorable evening, with great food, service and hospitality. From being welcomed at the door by the owner, to departing for our restaurant-called cab, we were truly spoiled by a wide-ranging staff.

Note pds a great reminder to go back and the perfectly cut granny smith apple was a delightful conclusion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic services, and outstanding food ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

fantastic services, and outstanding food the lamp and duck cook to perfect. however very expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service and food quality; a pr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent service and food quality; a precious dinning place of Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was spectacular! Service was spot o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was spectacular! Service was spot on! Thanks for a very memorable occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

From the moment you enter the restaurant ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

From the moment you enter the restaurant, they open the door for you and greet you. The staff was very friendly and the place is nice to celebrate a special occasion.

The food and service were very good. However, I have had the opportunity to eat in many restaurants around the world, including some with Michelin stars. Unfortunately, I still haven't found a restaurant in Vancouver that I can say that the food is amazing.

Overall, I was pleased and we would probably be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent fine dining as usual, very ref ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent fine dining as usual, very refined and delicate flavors.

Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

After a few years since our last dining ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

After a few years since our last dining experience at Bishop's we were so happy to see the quality of food and service still remain exceptional. Kudos to the amazing team at Bishop's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly outstanding in every aspect; 1st C ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Truly outstanding in every aspect; 1st Class in everyway.

Service was excellent without ever being overbearing.

The food was amazing - absolute top marks for a relatively

small menu which means that every dish is perfection.

I will definitely be returning and will absolutely recommend

to my Friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was superb! We hav ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The entire experience was superb! We have wanted to try Bishop's for many years but there has always been a new restaurant on the horizon and now realize we missed a great opportunity to enjoy many meals there over the years. Wonderful of John Bishop to stop by our table and chat.

We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bishops never disappoints! The food, the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Bishops never disappoints! The food, the service and atmosphere are always memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, never fails to disappoint. G ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

As always, never fails to disappoint. Great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were probably not the typical Bishop' ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were probably not the typical Bishop's clients: large group (party of 9), family, school aged child. But it was Father's Day and I was treating not only my husband, but also my 93 year old father. I must comment on the exceptional service, in the way the staff made many accommodations for our party. Their max table size is normally 8 but they accepted 9 for us. The feature soup was supposed to be served cold but they heated it up for my father as was his preference and it still tasted fantastic. French fries are obviously not on the menu, but the waitress cheerfully assured us they could "make that happen" for the 11 year old in our group. A gorgeous halibut filet was served with a side of fries and not one whit of pretention (and the child licked the plate clean). The rest of our food: perfect. Mr. Bishop himself still comes out to greet all the tables. This is a first class restaurant that always makes you feel welcome.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Several of us in from the U.S. for a bus ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Several of us in from the U.S. for a business meeting were looking for a more 'established' restaurant to dine with our spouses. We had no particular idea of what to expect other than from online reviews (not always trustworthy) and the restaurant website.

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like honored guests. We all like wine, and were pleased with the B.C. selection that our somm recommended to go with our fresh oysters, as well as other food choices that our server was happy to suggest. Pacing was great and we were allowed to chat and dine with no sense of being rushed, even when we were one of the last tables left in the restaurant (we had a late reservation). The six in our group managed to order nearly all of the items from the short menu, which focuses on local, fresh ingredients in season. We shared, and all of the food was expertly prepared and in just the right portions for a multi-course meal.

What set this evening apart from other good meals in good restaurants, however, was the service. Two examples illustrate all you need to know: first, one from our group was having problem with her contact lenses but did not have her 'kit' to remedy it. The server sent someone to the local drugstore to buy one, thus rescuing her from a miserable evening. The second was wine related. After our first wine, the somm suggested another older vintage from a different winery. When it was brought to the table, however, we tasted and thought it was a bit off--perhaps corked. With no questions asked (or even a nasty look), the somm apologized, took the selection away and brought a different selection immediately. One should expect that type of service, but often we've experienced a very different reaction to trying to send wine back (especially an expensive one).

In sum, our dinner at Bishop's was one of the best restaurant experiences we've had in a very long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual, John Bishop's continues to do ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

As usual, John Bishop's continues to do a very fine job. However, it remains one of the pricier places in which to eat In Vancouver.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb service (I accidentally under tip ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Superb service (I accidentally under tipped. The hostess didn't say anything but very appreciative when I realized it after I settled my bill and returned and gave her more $$$. Sorry, Ms. and you were so honorable about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impressive service, wonderful food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved the simple, stylish intimate setting. Attentive, friendly staff allowed our 3-hour dinner to unfold unhurriedly and memorably. Wonderful food beautifully prepared and presented. The grilled spot prawn appetizer was spectacularly good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply a Classic Best

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

An iconic, classic restaurant with food and service which defy superlatives. Ever brilliant!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bishops

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Had an excellent meal on May 31st. Service was exceptional and Abel the maitre d' gave excellent wine advice. Strongly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fancy little Restaurant

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Reataurant looks great, seats are very comfortable, very nice, clean and cozy. Food looks great but taste could be better, service is good. A little over priced.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great attention to details. Delicious f ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great attention to details. Delicious flavours and great looking dishes. Service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant, exquisite! Great food and ambi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Elegant, exquisite! Great food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just amazing. It's been a while since I ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Just amazing. It's been a while since I felt that I got my money's worth at a fine dining restaurant. The food, service, and ambiance were perfect. Going back there for sure! Mr. John Bishop himself greeted us and explained a lot of things. There's a reason the business is still going strong after 31 years (the number of years in business according to Mr. Bishop).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and great service. A Va ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding food and great service. A Vancouver institution!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the time we stepped out of our taxi ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

From the time we stepped out of our taxi to the moment we left, everything here was amazing. The staff were amazingly attentive and the food was gorgeous. The atmosphere felt warm and inviting. The Bishop's cocktail is a must to begin your night. We enjoyed asparagus with prawn, smoked cod, lamb and halibut, all of which were done to perfection and with an imaginative twist. I like that. Thank you to everyone who made our night so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was exquisite and genuinely char ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was exquisite and genuinely charming. Not over- or under-done. Felt like we were being spoiled in the comfort of our own home. Food was perfectly cooked and nicely payed tribute to local and in-season ingredients. Recently, the halibut, lamb, and strip loin entrees were to die for, as were simple yet still delicious accompaniments (in-season ingredients such as sautéed morel mushrooms and asparagus). The wine list had something interesting and tasteful for every budget, be it modest or unlimited. Not an inexpensive evening overall, but it was worth every penny and more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable Experience,Friendly Atmosphere.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Very enjoyable experience, great dishes, attentive staff. All of my dining group enjoyed Bishop's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A Gem

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had an early reservation so the restaurant was quiet, however we were pleased to see John greeting his guests at the door. The whole atmosphere was relaxing and perfect for conversation. From the bread plate & amuse bouche to the entree, it was an enjoyable experience that we will repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bishop's Still Great After All These Years

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Bishops has consistently been, and remains, one of the best fine dining restaurants in Vancouver in all respects.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A gem in Kitsilano - Bishop's

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Our party of 7 was seated at the front table of Bishop's. A great table for group conversation. The service was impeccable including the recommendations for the wines. The menu may surprise you...just a few choices. However, this is Bishop's winning formula...the quality and presentation of those choices is outstanding! If you're looking for a great evening of conversation with those you care about accompanied by wonderful food, wine and attentive service reserve your table at Bishop's. I know I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.