Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Bishop's

The fare at Bishop's is regional and seasonal. In restaurateur John Bishop's view, it makes sense to showcase British Columbia's lush bounty of seafood, organic produce and meats. His exquisite West Side restaurant blends classic and modern flavours with a casual elegance that keeps clients coming back for a truly exceptional dining experience.

2183 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC V6K 1N7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner Tuesday to Sunday from 5:30 till closing time.
Closed Mondays

Closed December 24th, 25th and 26th



Cross Street:
Yew Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 738-2025

Website:
http://www.bishopsonline.com/

Parking Details:
We are located along major bus routes, or fifteen minutes from Downtown Vancouver via taxi.

Executive Chef:
Andrey Durbach

Additional:
Full Bar, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Bishop's will be featuring a special menu for $70
starting with a Glass of Sparkling Rose + smoked salmon canapé
plus 3 course dinner with choices

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Bishop's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Romantic (37)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Historic (5)
Organic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We've dined all over the world and this was one of the nicest meals ever !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I have not been lucky to visit often but John Bishop and team never disappointed whenever I did. We had an amazing time with outstanding personable service. You will not go wrong with Bishop's

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A great meal as always. Service was fantastic. Bishop's continues to be the best restaurant in the city as far as I'm concerned.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was very good to excellent, the value excellent, the ambiance very pleasant and the service was phenomenal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As usual Bishops carries on the time honored tradition of top drawer service and excellent menus choices. The caliber of food is five star. Restaurateur John Bishop, an icon on the Vancouver scene never fails to please, don't pass up an opportunity to dine there if it's presented to you.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The four of us throughly enjoyed the ambience the food and service was stellar, absolutely spectacular! Will definitely go again and advise friends to go.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner both from a cuisine standpoint and enjoyment. John, Abel and Chef were engaging, caring and delightful as always.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Bishop's lives up to its reputation. It is one of the finest fine-dining restaurants in Vancouver. The staff is very professional and formal, yet friendly. The prix-fixe menu is a superb deal...such excellent food for such a reasonable price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food! Everything was extremely flavorful. The staff were kind and really helpful in choosing the approriate pairings. The restaurant atmosphere was beautiful and condusive to a proper conversation. I would definetly go there again for special and important occassions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful experience overall. All staff we met were outstanding. The owner came and greeted us which was nice. We both had the lamb and it was amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Always a pleasure; John Bishop welcomed us and made us feel at home as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good. Atmosphere was good. Service was good. Too pricey (V-day set menu).

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best rack of lamb I've tasted. The service was very friendly and inviting. A nice touch for the manager/owner to come by and welcome us.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went there for Dine out menu. Wow simply amazing food and atmosphere! First time to a fine dining establishment in Vancouver. Looking forward to many more visits! Thank you John Bishop and to your amazing team! 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Restaurant was alright, food was ok, service good but to many different staff serving it wasn't very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I love going to Bishop's because it is always excellent. The service, the food, the ambience are all just what I want. And it is quiet enough that you can enjoy yourself. Vancouver is fortunate to have this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were there for Dine Out. Excellent service and food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, People Watching, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was romantic. The wait staff were attentive and John was a gracious host. We will be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

They had an incredible service with the most delicious food. It's a complete package for who's looking to dine out and enjoy!!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

All courses were excellent. The sauces were well executed and the herbs and spices were all identifiable yet the dishes were balanced, with no flavour overpowering. A DineOut Vancouver highlight.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything is done so well. Excellent service starts the dining experience. Always nice to meet John Bishop. Then the food. Appetizer corn meal encrusted shrimp. Roast chicken and rack of lamb done to perfection. Death by chocolate and poached pear. My pear was accompanied by a whipped gorgonzola cheese in the shape of a dollop of ice cream. The one thing that could be improved is the house coffee.
This was an anniversary dinner from our first date in December 1980, celebrated monthly. Not always at a Bishop's, but certainly one of the best places to dine out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Amazing service, incredible food. Vancouver dining scene was created and curated by restaurants like Bishops. If you've never been or it's been a while definitely a go to as you'll know what you should expect from a fine dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dine Out evening was made very special by the excellent food and attentive service. Charming staff.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our dinning experience (4 of us) was exceptional. Excellent service, food, ambiance...appreciated all the fine details...look forward to going back soon. Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Organic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved it! Everything we had heard it to be. Very special dinner, excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went for Dine-Out. It had been far too long since I was there, I'll be back again!
The only negative was that we were on the lower level and it was a cold/snowy night and when the door opened there was quite a draft. Otherwise great, love Bishop's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Really great service. The staff are personable and humble. No pretentiousness here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a great time at Bishop's ! The service was impeccable with the servers being extremely curtious and respectful. The owner himself, Mr. Bishop's personally greeted us and we had a delighted chat. During the service he kept on coming back to our table to see if we are doing okay or not. To which we told him, it was perfect. We enjoyed the ambiance and it was a really wonder experience for us. Servers were very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

John Bishop and his staff are fabulous. The restaurant is amazing. You can easily chat with your dinner companions as the music level is perfect. Room not too crowded but yet feels initiate. Went for Dine Out and will be back. Food was delicious, wine well priced and service Impecable. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

When a restaurant offers extraordinary food with exemplary service in an atmosphere of genuine welcome, it's a gem. Bishop's is such a gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great experience at Bishop's tonight! The food was delicious, service was attentive, and the atmosphere was perfect, although the seats were a bit too crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Was really looking forward to come try this restaurant. Read their review on best dine out menu for 2017. They don't say that for nothing. Service was extremely great, small restaurant but 5 star service. Food was well prepared, served all at once with good timing. Our table was ready upon arrival, highly recommend this to everyone and will come back very soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This dinner made me smile. Fabulous food, excellent wine - they have an amazing cellar! , attentive staff and a perfect noise level. The only thing that ruined it was my dining companion, but as I doubt you'll have the same misfortune there as me, get Bishops booked....you absolutely won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Haven't been to Bishops in a few years. I found seating better this time on the second level. Dine out meal was amazing, and terrific value at 40$ prix fixe. Veal with Marsala sauce mushrooms and sour cherries, artichoke with truffles velouté to start. Lovely lemon desser with huckleberries : perfect end

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good value and great service. Very pleasant experience! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Bishops was a pleasure as always with impeccable service and mouth-watering cuisine. Highly recommended for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Another great meal at Bishop's! John Bishop, manager and sommelier Abel Jacinto, chef Andrey Durbach and staff do a fantastic job every time we visit. Innovative Northwest recipes with locally and ethically sourced meat, fowl, fish, vegetables and fruit - always a treat. And a wine list of great length and depth - good value choices and blow the budget options.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Healthy, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was our first time to Bishops and the restaurant lived up to all I had heard about it. I surprised my boyfriend with a dress up dinner on me to celebrate and to thank him for taking such good care of me through recent surgery and the flu. The evening turned out to be everything I wanted it to be. Our table was perfect and the staff was friendly and welcoming.
We had a memorable dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Bishops is my go-to place when I want to ensure that the food will be fabulous, the service excellent and the environment pleasurable and a cut above the rest. I am always highly satisfied when I leave. Mr. Bishop is an icon in Vancouver and his restaurant is always at the top of Vancouver lists of fine dining. Thank you, Mr. Bishop.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.