About Bishop's

2183 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC V6K 1N7
View Larger Map

The fare at Bishop's is regional and seasonal. In restaurateur John Bishop's view, it makes sense to showcase British Columbia's lush bounty of seafood, organic produce and meats. His exquisite West Side restaurant blends classic and modern flavours with a casual elegance that keeps clients coming back for a truly exceptional dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner Tuesday to Sunday from 5:30 till closing time.
Closed Mondays

Closed December 24th, 25th and 26th



Cross Street:
Yew Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 738-2025

Website:
http://www.bishopsonline.com/

Parking Details:
We are located along major bus routes, or fifteen minutes from Downtown Vancouver via taxi.

Executive Chef:
Ivan Chung

Additional:
Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pommes Frites
Onion Soup
Blue Goose Organic Beef
Apple Staircase
Fillet Of Cache Creek Beef
Death by Chocolate
Tenderloin Of Pitt Meadows Beef
French Fizz
Amuse Bouche
Pan Seared Bison
Complimentary Dessert
Bread
Carpaccio Of Bc Octopus
charcuterie
Assiette Of Pitt Meadows Beef
Albacore Tuna Tartare
Steak
Beef tenderloin
Pecan Tart
Beef Carpaccio
Prawns Panna Cotta Salad
Wild Boar Terrine
Seared Qualicum Bay Scallops
Cheesecake
Tarragon Loaf And Bacon Cornbread
Yellow Tomatoe Soup
Coca Cola
Diced Pickles
Nettle Soup
Ginger Ale
Onion Caraway And Bacon Cornbread
Bloody Mary Sorbet
Chilled Stoney Paradise Sungold Soup
Caramel Popcorn
Lemon Crem Tart With Blueberry Sorbet
Orichette Pasta Prosciutto
Scallop Entree
Elk Rib Chop
Pan Roasted Haida Gwaii Halibut
Beef Striploin
BC Mussels
Prawn Bisque

Bishop's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
11 More
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Romantic
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Northwest
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Kitsilano ›

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (60)
Fit for Foodies (54)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best anniversary dinner EVER! Always exc ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best anniversary dinner EVER! Always exceptional. Outstanding in every way.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In from out of town. Hadn't been to Bish ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

In from out of town. Hadn't been to Bishop's in years due to an incident there long ago. Glad we went back. Service could not have been better. It make the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mushroom ravioli was delicious, as was t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Mushroom ravioli was delicious, as was the duck and their evening special lamb shank. Intimate atmosphere, great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting and varied menu, food beauti ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Interesting and varied menu, food beautifully prepared and presented.

Service is exceptional, unobtrusive yet efficient.

Bishop's is not inexpensive, but worth it for an unforgettable dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always love this restaurants service ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We always love this restaurants service and food for a perfect night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined with another couple and again h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We dined with another couple and again had a great experience. Our server Abel was very engaging and friendly. The rest of the staff also made us feel as if we were "regulars". The food was delicious and everything exceeded our expectations. Dining at Bishop's has become a tradition for us and our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very special evening at Bishop' ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had a very special evening at Bishop's. The service was impeccable including being met at the door by John Bishop! We loved that the restaurant was quiet...decor is elegant and understated. The food was beautifully presented, delicious and local. Perhaps the portions could be a little more generous? I loved the vegetarian main course which was created for me! It was our anniversary and we were treated with thoughtful little extras including a complimentary after dinner drink which added to a lovely evening!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bishops is actually off the scale in ter ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Bishops is actually off the scale in terms of a dining experience. 5 stars does not do them justice, they are in a different league to other restaurants in all ways.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just loved it! We spent a few days in Va ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Just loved it! We spent a few days in Vancouver going around and trying out the restaurants. There are many. Bishop's definitely stands out in terms of food quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were warmly welcomed from the moment ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were warmly welcomed from the moment we entered the restaurant all the way until we left.

Everyone was very attentive and courteous. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and it was appropriate that it was at Bishop's as it too came into existence in 1985 :)

The food was exquisite and even the bread was amazing.

Keep up the awesome work ladies and gentlemen of Bishop's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful, the ambiance (co ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was wonderful, the ambiance (complete with First Nations art) lovely and the service highly professional. I had 4 nights to dine in Vancouver, and this turned out to be best of 4.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have recently returned to Bishops a f ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have recently returned to Bishops a few times, after many years, and we wonder why we stayed away so long. It is what fine, and gracious dining is all about, and rare to find. From the moment John Bishop greets you at the door with a warm handshake and welcome, you know you are in for a treat. great food, wine, ambience and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sure, it's an expensive dining place but ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Sure, it's an expensive dining place but the staff makes sure you're taken cared off. The portions might be considered small by most diners but the quality of food, from ingredients to presentation is top value. And with good quality and ingredients it is just the right amount. I'm satisfied and I'm full. (Side note: Fantastic desserts!) All that aside, one thing that stuck with me too was at one point while I was dining with a couple of friends, I had an "itchy throat episode" that sent me coughing a little. From out of nowhere a hand dropped a pack of tissue on our table. Discrete, unobtrusive, and caring. Nice touch. They took care of us all the way to the end, the staff asked if we needed a taxi on our way home and was more than happy to arrange this for us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a wonderful anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Celebrated a wonderful anniversary dinner with my wife. Service, quality of food, and quality of wines were spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sensational - there simply is nowhere el ...

vip
 (Newcastle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Sensational - there simply is nowhere else this good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A perfect dining experience. The service ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A perfect dining experience. The service, ambiance and food were all top notch. Many thanks to the kitchen and dining staff at Bishops.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We reserved a table for our 5th annivers ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We reserved a table for our 5th anniversary. Everything was perfect! The food was excellent. The service was professional and the entire staff worked very well as a team. We were very well treated throughout the whole evening. I had mentioned it was our anniversary when I made the booking, and they helped make it very special with a courtesy touch on our dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was beautifully presented and u ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was beautifully presented and unique but the whole experience was very pretentious. Not a great place for people who enjoy an authentic dining experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

The hostess and servers were very kind t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The hostess and servers were very kind to our 3 year old son and the food was excellent. We will go back during X'mas time for sure.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent execution on all fronts. What ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent execution on all fronts. What a top restaurant in a top city should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was by far the worst food I have ev ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was by far the worst food I have ever encountered at a fine dining restaurant. My meal (the duck breast, which itself was tasteless & accompanied by dirty tasting turnips, grains mixed with cherries that tasted like mulched paper pulp & a sauce that tasted like brine, only without the delicious salty flavor that brine would at least have) was inedible - I sent it back with only a few bites taken from each item, but I did not complain as I was not paying for the meal and I didn't want to offend the person who had taken me to the restaurant. My companions also complained bitterly about the poor taste of their meals (my mother's lamb was dry & she was served two small, poor cuts of meat along with a ball-like-shape of dry, tasteless shredded meat that we could only imagine was some sort of off-cut. My partner's steak tasted distinctly like popcorn & was accompanied by soggy onions & watery vegetables). The portions were small, which turned out to be a blessing, because they were a strange combination of bland & ill-flavored. The bread we were served was nice, but the corn bread was too grainy (it had a nice flavor, but seemed to be made with some sort of chewy grain like quinoa). The mushroom ravioli that my partner ordered as an appetizer was the best item that we were served. However, it too was flawed. The sauce was watery and the pasta was incredibly thin and flavorless. Initially, we were all planning to eat dessert, but after sending back our dinner we all chose to skip it and go to our event hungry. The host spent around $200 on this meal (1 appetizer, 3 mains), which is outrageous for sub-par food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My family had been on vacation for nearl ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My family had been on vacation for nearly a month and we all wanted to have a great ambience, wonderful flavorful NW cuisine within an environment that felt warm and inviting. We all chose Bishop's as the place a family favorite each time we're in Vancouver. The staff is always so kind, welcoming making us feel as if we're sharing our meal with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delight to go there. John Bish ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always a delight to go there. John Bishop is a great host and a true gentleman. John and all his staff make everyone feel very special. Food is always delicious and there is great selection of wines. Favourite restaurant in Vancouver.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Salmon I've had in Vancouver? Like ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Best Salmon I've had in Vancouver? Likely. Incredible green onion soup and everything was today fresh. Sommelier was friendly and helpful. Excellent night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

By far, having dinner at Bishop's was th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

By far, having dinner at Bishop's was the best dining experience we had during our trip to Vancouver. It also ranks as one of the top dining experiences we have ever had (and we have traveled a fair amount). From start to finish, the entire staff was extremely welcoming, attentive, and helpful. The ambiance was sophisticated, yet relaxed. We were given ample time to enjoy each course and were not rushed in any way. We enjoyed fresh, seasonal appetizers, delicious entrees of local salmon and beef, and classic desserts of crème brûlée and chocolate terrine. The salmon was particularly good. Our meal ended with fresh cherries and a box of fresh corn bread to take home with us. Such a positive dining experience all around due to the amazing staff who created a perfect dining experience and the use of fresh, local ingredients in each dish. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon arriving, the owner John Bishop was ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Upon arriving, the owner John Bishop was out front in the restaurant and greeted us warmly with a "Hello, nice to see you". After we were seated two of our guests arrived and we greeted them by name and wished my brother a Happy Birthday. We were treated to a lovely complimentary tasting of a delightful cold soup along with a delicious cornbread/baguette basket. The starters we ordered were delicious and as well were the main courses. The plating was flawless! The service throughout was very attentive and friendly. The only small complaint I have is when we had all finished our main course our empty plates laid in front of us for at least 15 minutes. The wait staff was not busy and they attended to clearing empty tables and not for intended guests, as none had arrived within the next hour after. However, this seems like such a petty thing especially after the touching treatment we received after dinner. We had ordered a dessert to share amongst the four of us and when it arrived the plate had been decorated with a birthday greeting and the waiter continued to lead us into a Happy Birthday song to my brother. Later I had learned that none of us revealed to the restaurant that we were celebrating a birthday, I assume that the staff had overheard me greeting my brother with a "Happy Birthday". I was very, very impressed. At the end of our meal, a waiter had come bearing two takeout boxes each with a generous piece of delicious cornbread - "to be enjoyed for tomorrow's breakfast". And, before leaving we were treated to a few cold succulent local cherries! Yes, Mr Bishop has indeed trained his staff well and yes, the staff truly deserved their gratuity that evening. I would definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Known about Bishops for a long time, but ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Known about Bishops for a long time, but finally went. It was a great experience. Excellent food and service . It was our first time there but we were treated like regulars. Highly recommend visiting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time dining at Bishop' ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was my first time dining at Bishop's, the second for my wife. Generally, we had a very nice time (we have already rated the specifics of our experience, above).

The lower rating for the food, compared to the other aspects, needs qualification. Our first course was superb: fresh oysters for one; soup for the other. For our main course we each chose the feature of the day: shoulder of lamb. This was a huge disappointment, especially for the high price. Each of us got a thick slab of fat with very little meat. The vegetables with it were very nice. My wife returned the serving and was politely given another, more meaty serving. I should have returned mine, though from the pile of fat left it should have been obvious that something was wrong. By this point the thought of complaining and then eating a substituted plate of meat was beyond my appetite. To this day, I cannot fathom why a chef at such a posh and expensive restaurant would dream that this cut of meat (fat) was acceptable.

Everything else was very nice and the service great. However, I would think twice about going there again. Where was the quality control for the cuts of meat?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Bishop's is always a good choice. It's a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Bishop's is always a good choice. It's a Vancouver icon after some 30 years and John Bishop is the perfect host. The food is seasonal, fresh and creative. The staff are pros, and the decor is simple and tasteful. You know you are somewhere special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although we had not been for sometime th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Although we had not been for sometime this is a restaurant that always guarantees great food, ambience and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Every single course ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was great. Every single course was outstanding. We had wild mushroom ravioli as the first course. It was the best we have ever had. The porcini filling was amazing and the pasta was perfectly al-dante. The main course, duck confit, was also perfectly done. The skin was crispy and delicious. The last course was the Valhrona Chocolate Terrine and it was chocolate goodness with the hazelnut praline on the bottom.

We had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came here to celebrate my husband's a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We came here to celebrate my husband's and mother's birthdays. I'd describe this as a fresh, modern take on French and Continental cuisine. The flavours were complex and delightful, yet clean and simply presented, letting the freshness of the "star" of each dish shine through. The duck confit, for example, was presented as a beautifully roasted and tastefully seasoned leg, not chopped up and mixed with an overly-rich brown sauce as so often is the case at other places. The wild mushroom ravioli appetizer was light, served with a sauce that was almost more a foam, letting the fresh and delicate mushroom flavours come through. The staff was attentive and efficient, but also fun and friendly without being obsequious or overly chummy, and they did great with my teenaged sons and our quirky sense of humour. We all very much enjoyed our dining experience, and my husband declared Bishop's his new favourite special occasion place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

While visiting Vancouver for a few days, ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

While visiting Vancouver for a few days, my wife and I decided to take a Vancouver friend to a restaurant we had long looked at, but somehow missed. What a miss. It was a memorable evening, with great food, service and hospitality. From being welcomed at the door by the owner, to departing for our restaurant-called cab, we were truly spoiled by a wide-ranging staff.

Note pds a great reminder to go back and the perfectly cut granny smith apple was a delightful conclusion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic services, and outstanding food ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

fantastic services, and outstanding food the lamp and duck cook to perfect. however very expensive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service and food quality; a pr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent service and food quality; a precious dinning place of Vancouver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was spectacular! Service was spot o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was spectacular! Service was spot on! Thanks for a very memorable occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

From the moment you enter the restaurant ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

From the moment you enter the restaurant, they open the door for you and greet you. The staff was very friendly and the place is nice to celebrate a special occasion.

The food and service were very good. However, I have had the opportunity to eat in many restaurants around the world, including some with Michelin stars. Unfortunately, I still haven't found a restaurant in Vancouver that I can say that the food is amazing.

Overall, I was pleased and we would probably be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent fine dining as usual, very ref ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent fine dining as usual, very refined and delicate flavors.

Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

After a few years since our last dining ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

After a few years since our last dining experience at Bishop's we were so happy to see the quality of food and service still remain exceptional. Kudos to the amazing team at Bishop's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly outstanding in every aspect; 1st C ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Truly outstanding in every aspect; 1st Class in everyway.

Service was excellent without ever being overbearing.

The food was amazing - absolute top marks for a relatively

small menu which means that every dish is perfection.

I will definitely be returning and will absolutely recommend

to my Friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.