About Bishop's

2183 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC V6K 1N7
View Larger Map

The fare at Bishop's is regional and seasonal. In restaurateur John Bishop's view, it makes sense to showcase British Columbia's lush bounty of seafood, organic produce and meats. His exquisite West Side restaurant blends classic and modern flavours with a casual elegance that keeps clients coming back for a truly exceptional dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner Tuesday to Sunday from 5:30 till closing time.
Closed Mondays

Closed December 24th, 25th and 26th



Cross Street:
Yew Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 738-2025

Website:
http://www.bishopsonline.com/

Parking Details:
We are located along major bus routes, or fifteen minutes from Downtown Vancouver via taxi.

Executive Chef:
Ivan Chung

Additional:
Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bishop's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
12 More
Best Value
Vancouver / British Columbia
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Notable Wine List
Vancouver
Romantic
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Northwest
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Kitsilano ›

special occasion (65)
romantic (62)
fit for foodies (56)
See All
neighborhood gem (39)
notable wine list (36)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1018 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great attention to details. Delicious f ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great attention to details. Delicious flavours and great looking dishes. Service is excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant, exquisite! Great food and ambi ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Elegant, exquisite! Great food and ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5

Just amazing. It's been a while since I ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Just amazing. It's been a while since I felt that I got my money's worth at a fine dining restaurant. The food, service, and ambiance were perfect. Going back there for sure! Mr. John Bishop himself greeted us and explained a lot of things. There's a reason the business is still going strong after 31 years (the number of years in business according to Mr. Bishop).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and great service. A Va ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding food and great service. A Vancouver institution!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

From the time we stepped out of our taxi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

From the time we stepped out of our taxi to the moment we left, everything here was amazing. The staff were amazingly attentive and the food was gorgeous. The atmosphere felt warm and inviting. The Bishop's cocktail is a must to begin your night. We enjoyed asparagus with prawn, smoked cod, lamb and halibut, all of which were done to perfection and with an imaginative twist. I like that. Thank you to everyone who made our night so special.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was exquisite and genuinely char ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was exquisite and genuinely charming. Not over- or under-done. Felt like we were being spoiled in the comfort of our own home. Food was perfectly cooked and nicely payed tribute to local and in-season ingredients. Recently, the halibut, lamb, and strip loin entrees were to die for, as were simple yet still delicious accompaniments (in-season ingredients such as sautéed morel mushrooms and asparagus). The wine list had something interesting and tasteful for every budget, be it modest or unlimited. Not an inexpensive evening overall, but it was worth every penny and more!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had an early reservation so the restaurant was quiet, however we were pleased to see John greeting his guests at the door. The whole atmosphere was relaxing and perfect for conversation. From the bread plate & amuse bouche to the entree, it was an enjoyable experience that we will repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bishop's Still Great After All These Years

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Bishops has consistently been, and remains, one of the best fine dining restaurants in Vancouver in all respects.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem in Kitsilano - Bishop's

Dined on April 18, 2016

Our party of 7 was seated at the front table of Bishop's. A great table for group conversation. The service was impeccable including the recommendations for the wines. The menu may surprise you...just a few choices. However, this is Bishop's winning formula...the quality and presentation of those choices is outstanding! If you're looking for a great evening of conversation with those you care about accompanied by wonderful food, wine and attentive service reserve your table at Bishop's. I know I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Stunning Evening at Bishop's

Dined on April 16, 2016

The staff and food never disappoint. The quiet attention to every detail, by every staff member is simply impeccable. The wine staff, led by Abel Jacinto, are more than knowledgeable...never intimidating, always accommodating. While the wine list is deep and wide, don't miss looking at the "bin ends". There is always something interesting to try. Ok, so there's that....but the evening always starts with a small amuse bouche that never fails, along with bread and butter...not just any bread, but 2 choices, made in-house and accompanied by butter that might better be described as delicious mild cheese. It's that good! Desserts are terrific and seasonal menu offerings never fail to provide a delightful surprise. May John Bishop live long and prosper!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing find, amazing food!

Dined on April 16, 2016

What an amazing find. I Made a last minute booking based on information found online. We received a friendly welcome to this charming, elegant restaurant. We were not rushed, and the wonderfully attentive service made for a relaxed enjoyable evening. The food was flawless, the highlights being the halibut, the beef strip loin and the quince and pear mille-feuille. We will definitely return on future visits to Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best in town

Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful evening. such good attention. Only issue, the wines were a little expensive and we went through the first bottle too quickly!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food ? Yes.

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

I love going to Bishops. I haven't had a bad meal there. The serving staff are super attentive and quick to respond. I love the look of the place too. I think Bishops should be promoted to Archbishops. Bam!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food

Dined on April 1, 2016

Service was excellent and above&beyond. The food delicious. Each plate was memorable and unique. The food was prepared with great detail and care. The ambiance was especially romantic- the sun early on setting with the candles to illuminate the room to create a classy atmosphere. A most memorable night with good food and service in Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on March 30, 2016

You know you are going to enjoy an evening of exceptional flavours when you glance at the menu items. The food was fantastic and the service impeccable. Just the right blend of attentiveness and privacy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful place

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

We loved the classy ambiance of Bishop's and its innovative menu. Everything was great: the food, the presentation, the service, the décor and the presence of the owner who delighted us with his great stories.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Bishops is a lovely restaurant, we had t ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Bishops is a lovely restaurant, we had the set menu - starter and main were fairly average but the desert was fantastic (baked apple). Service fantastic. Slightly older clientele but nice for a romantic date night

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bishop's Delivers

Dined on March 21, 2016

We had heard that Bishop's was a very dependable, established dinner restaurant in Vancouver. It did not disappoint. The food was excellent, particularly the main course of black cod. We enjoyed the wine list with a good selection of wines from BC. The only disappointment was the cheese plate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely fantastic. The ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was absolutely fantastic. The ingredients were of extremely high quality, and the preparation was artful. I brought a number of international guests, in order to show off the wonderful foods of the Pacific Northwest, and it didn't disappoint. Gourmet meal, superb service and intimate ambiance. I'll be back for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable as always. I entertained a v ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Impeccable as always. I entertained a visiting international guest with local colleagues. The menu is broad enough to accommodate all, local sourcing and preparation are superlative, unobtrusively served. Wonderful place to converse. The West Coast native art adds a special local touch. A reliable gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Won't go back

Dined on March 12, 2016

Service and welcome was great. Unfortunately the cocktails and food were not. I ordered the cod and my husband ordered the duck and they were both completely bland. The starter (Walla Walla Onion Veloute) and dessert (Baked Okanagan Apple) was okay but nothing that wowed our experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time at Bishop's

Dined on March 12, 2016

From the moment you walk in the door you know you are going to have a lovely experience at Bishop's. A warm smile greeted us as the hostess took our soggy coats and then guided my Mom and I to our table in the corner. Throughout the evening the serving staff were very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. And the food...I enjoyed every bite. I wish I could have eaten the whole dinner twice! My Mom and I shared the greens, which although simple, had a delicious dressing. We both had the steak. It was grilled to perfection and oh, so tender. I devoured the root vegetables and potatoes...and I don't even like beets. To top off this amazing meal I had the baked Okanagan apple. Tangy and sweet and surrounded by strudel and a scoop of ice cream (made from goat's milk). I've prpbably walked by Bishop's hundreds of times and never really noticed it but now that I've eaten there I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food disappointing

Dined on February 21, 2016

appetizer: Winter Squash soup: Soup dish arrived with a garnish in the centre, including pumpkin seeds. The soup arrived in a jug and was poured into the soup bowl by the waiter. It was warm to start, and I expect a soup to be hot. I like to take my time when I dine, so the soup was cold long before I finished it. And it is too thick. And not very tasty. entrée: Strip Loin. Arrived on a bed of pureed sweet potato. Already sliced. I ordered it medium and it arrived medium rare at best. I had to send it back. For some reason, a lot of chefs find it offensive to cook meat any more well done than medium rare, and I was afraid of this even before I ordered it. The meat was not very tasty and fairly tough. I expect a cut of sirloin to not be tender, but a strip loin should be more tender than it was. The pureed sweet potato under the meat makes it very messy to eat. I am not one to put much salt if any on my meat, but I feel this meat needs some kind of seasoning. The servers are excellent. And many of them I recognized from my previous visit. I had a different glass of wine with each of the two courses. The timing of serving the wines was perfect. The lovely fresh bread and unsalted Fraser Valley butter is a wonderful touch. I love fresh bread and butter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service!

Dined on February 19, 2016

The waitress was very nice and friendly. The food was spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Honestly can't recommend this resturant

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went to Bishops for their Valentines set menu. There were 3 different selections for each group of appetizers, entrees, and desserts. My date and I made sure to choose different items - that is, we sampled 6 of the 9 different dishes available. On a scale of 1-5, there was a single 2, and the rest were 1's. Reactions ranged from "ingredient/flavors didn't come together at all" to "salty salted salt with a fine dusting of salt". We left dissatisfied, and while we love the excitement of trying new restaurants together, we couldn't help but lament over the various excellent places we've been to in the past that we could've otherwise spent $300+ on instead. The staff was friendly, attentive, and very professional. The decor was cozy and romantic. Sadly the food just wasn't up to par.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dishes are good. And they served complim ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Dishes are good. And they served complimentary food while we wait for our food which is great. The ambience is amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best thirty years on.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Bishop's is justly acclaimed is a or the top dining experience in Vancouver. After 30 years nothing has changed! John Bishop has created an experience of infomal friendliness and dining excellence that is unsurpassable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dining! A spiritually awakening experience!

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Attention to detail by an excellent kitchen brings back long ago memories of feelings of well-being that a dining experience can provide. The ordinary is made extraordinary by the imaginative preparation of such simple items as squash soup, chicken roulade and a baked apple! Mr. Bishop's charming presence and attention to diners reveals how this establishment acquired its preeminent reputation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best resturant in Kits

Dined on February 13, 2016

With the most pleasant staff and a very gracious owner, Bishop,s is our favourite spot for a special occasion or a wonderful meal. John Bishop makes a point of greeting all his guests and has a tremendous memory of past diners. His specials and food are always very well presented and tasty

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing day in, day out!

Dined on February 13, 2016

John Bishop's attention to detail, from the kitchen to drink and service is unparalleled in the City. It is like going home to dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been meaning to come here for a long time...

Dined on February 13, 2016

...and all I can say, is what was I waiting for !! Right from entering the restaurant the service was top notch and continued throughout the evening. The food was amazing - so delicious. Look forward to coming back again and having another romantic evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Elegant, quiet dinner

Dined on February 12, 2016

1 day before Valentine's Day weekend, we weren't sure we would get a prime-time table for our 44th anniversary. But the restaurant was half empty. Service was great, menu was a manageable size with adequate choices. There were many BC wines on the list, including a Foxtrot Wapiti Vineyards Viognier, which we both enjoyed with our scallops and our quail. Not inexpensive: more like a rare treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding fine dining experience.

Dined on February 5, 2016

My wife and I don't get out for many fine dining experiences much anymore, toddler at home and other priorities. Bishops is a Vancouver institution amongst all the noise of great new restaurants in a fickle market. John Bishop is one of only a few left that pioneered the fine dining experience in our city. There is tried and true experience under that roof and can be easily overlooked by the younger dining crowd of Vancouver amongst the over stimulating rooms and white noise of this city. The whole experience that evening reminded us why we love great food and rekindled our interest in fine dining. The layering and combination on every plate was music in our mouth's. I actually slowed down while eating because I didn't want the experience to end. The service, staff, room and most of all the food and wine pairing were spot on. If you eat for love and not just to sustain yourself, you must experience and evening at Bishops. It left me wanting for more. Cheers to John and his staff. A flawless experience for my wife and I.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an incredible evening at Bishops. ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

We had an incredible evening at Bishops. The food was excellent quality and service was very attentive. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Surprised by low quality

Dined on February 3, 2016

We ordered the 3 course special. We were both surprised by the bland flavourless main course.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Classy restaurant, mediocre food

Dined on January 24, 2016

Let me just say, the service here is top notch. The wait staff are courteous, professional, and above all else, very detailed. John Bishop himself was seen amongst the diners, chatting people up, and at one point, even interrupted himself to fold up a napkin left crumpled on a table. As would be inappropriate to say in an establishment of this class, mad props. It's a shame the food couldn't keep up. Everything is executed technically perfect, but the actual recipe is stock standard. Everything was done right, but not done special. The pork terrine didn't feel like anything but standard issue terrine. The steak come out a medium instead of medium-rare, aka: ruined. Root vegetables and mash is pretty standard stuff. The pumpkin cake was thoroughly mediocre with insufficient pumpkin flavour to be of note. The quail was pretty good though. It's all a big shame though, because it all looked so good on the menu. Was the kitchen off that day? Am I being too picky? All I know is that I won't be coming back until I hear something has changed. Sorry Mr. Bishop.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, surprising and classy as ever ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Delicious, surprising and classy as ever. We had the 3 course set menu. Highlight for me were the squash soup with toasted grains. Fantastic. The wine pairings were delightful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for New Years Eve!!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Booked a late table for New Years Eve, special four course menu but still with lots of choices. Staff was attentive, friendly, and fun. Food was delicious with attention to detail in presentation. Had wine by the glass and Champagne right before midnight. Lots of fun, will go back on a regular menu night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Good New Year's Eve Menu

Dined on January 1, 2016

We decided to try the New Year's Eve menu and we were not disappointed. The four course meal was excellent and the special last minute addition of the Death by Chocolate dessert item was spectacular. Service, as always was outstanding. Servers are there when you need them and check periodically but are not obtrusive. Definitely recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year Eve wonder! The staff was 5 stars++!!

Dined on January 1, 2016

The dinner was well thought out and exquisitely prepared. It was prix fixe and not inexpensive. 4 courses for $125/person. Drinks, wine, taxes and tip were on top of that. The wait staff was perfect: never too little. Never too much. The owner personally thanked us for being his guests, which stated how the wait staff acted toward us. The decorations and ambiance were celebratory, fitting the occasion. All in all absolutely lovely.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.