Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Bishop's

The fare at Bishop's is regional and seasonal. In restaurateur John Bishop's view, it makes sense to showcase British Columbia's lush bounty of seafood, organic produce and meats. His exquisite West Side restaurant blends classic and modern flavours with a casual elegance that keeps clients coming back for a truly exceptional dining experience.

2183 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC V6K 1N7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner Tuesday to Saturday from 5:30 till closing time.

Closed Sundays and Mondays.

Closed December 24th, 25th and 26th



Cross Street:
Yew Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 738-2025

Website:
http://www.bishopsonline.com/

Parking Details:
We are located along major bus routes, or fifteen minutes from Downtown Vancouver via taxi.

Executive Chef:
Andrey Durbach

Additional:
Full Bar, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Bishop's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (9)
Seasonal (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Organic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Thank heavens for John Bishop! We thank you for a perfect evening, the staff thanks you for being a wonderful place to make a career and the neighbourhood thanks you for 37 years of excellence in quality , service and extraordinary food,

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

We both had the lamb rack and both found it delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our server did not mention the specials for the day to us so we had no idea there were other items on the menu. He then told the couple sitting next to us about the specials after we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had dinner last night at Bishops while on vacation and it was a wonderful experience!! I can't say enough about the service. Everyone from the owner to the maitre d to the bartender made sure the experience was flawless.

And then there was the food. There were 4 of us so we tried a variety of items from.the menu and they were all outstanding. The food was fresh, the portions are generous, and there was a lot going on with each dish. The entrees were served with the most amazing sauces and lots of different vegetables on the plate.

Dinner at Bishops will certainly be one of the highlights of our vacation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Excellent food and service. Would rate it as best restaurant in Vancouver

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food is terrific and a great deal at $65 for a 3 course dinner. The staff are also top notch.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 24, 2017

It was for my friend birthday dinner. We shared oysters,and bisque soup, veal for main course. We Kia to star and shared a bottle of Queil's gate Cab for main. They gave her frozen grapes because her b day.
You could hear jazz music but softly do we did not need to raise your voice. Many restaurants have loud music these days. I appreciate that quietness. Food, service excellent. I will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food, great service, and great value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Superb food, service and ambience. Made my friend's birthday very memorable. One of my best restaurant experiences ever. The legend of Bishop's lives on! Online booking was awesome, because I'm a night owl, so it helped me immensely that I didn't have to wake up "early" (for me) to make a same day booking.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Had a splendid early Mother's Day dinner at Bishops. Big portions of delicious food. Lots of surpises! Will come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Absolutely recommend this place for date or any special occasions and will definitely come back for dinner again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Bishops is a must for anyone that loves great service and amazing food! I can't say enough about both!

I was celebrating my 1 year anniversary with my girlfriend and we were both blown away. Mr. John Bishop himself cut flowers for her and brought them to our table! What a surprise!

All the staff were knowledgeable about the menu and were very courteous and friendly.

The food was the best I've had, hands down! I had the lamb racks as my main and it was delicious! Every course that was brought to us was fantastic.

We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I have not been lucky to visit often but John Bishop and team never disappointed whenever I did. We had an amazing time with outstanding personable service. You will not go wrong with Bishop's

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A great meal as always. Service was fantastic. Bishop's continues to be the best restaurant in the city as far as I'm concerned.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was very good to excellent, the value excellent, the ambiance very pleasant and the service was phenomenal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As usual Bishops carries on the time honored tradition of top drawer service and excellent menus choices. The caliber of food is five star. Restaurateur John Bishop, an icon on the Vancouver scene never fails to please, don't pass up an opportunity to dine there if it's presented to you.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The four of us throughly enjoyed the ambience the food and service was stellar, absolutely spectacular! Will definitely go again and advise friends to go.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner both from a cuisine standpoint and enjoyment. John, Abel and Chef were engaging, caring and delightful as always.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Bishop's lives up to its reputation. It is one of the finest fine-dining restaurants in Vancouver. The staff is very professional and formal, yet friendly. The prix-fixe menu is a superb deal...such excellent food for such a reasonable price.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food! Everything was extremely flavorful. The staff were kind and really helpful in choosing the approriate pairings. The restaurant atmosphere was beautiful and condusive to a proper conversation. I would definetly go there again for special and important occassions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful experience overall. All staff we met were outstanding. The owner came and greeted us which was nice. We both had the lamb and it was amazing.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good. Atmosphere was good. Service was good. Too pricey (V-day set menu).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best rack of lamb I've tasted. The service was very friendly and inviting. A nice touch for the manager/owner to come by and welcome us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went there for Dine out menu. Wow simply amazing food and atmosphere! First time to a fine dining establishment in Vancouver. Looking forward to many more visits! Thank you John Bishop and to your amazing team! 😊

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I love going to Bishop's because it is always excellent. The service, the food, the ambience are all just what I want. And it is quiet enough that you can enjoy yourself. Vancouver is fortunate to have this restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were there for Dine Out. Excellent service and food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, People Watching, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was romantic. The wait staff were attentive and John was a gracious host. We will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

All courses were excellent. The sauces were well executed and the herbs and spices were all identifiable yet the dishes were balanced, with no flavour overpowering. A DineOut Vancouver highlight.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything is done so well. Excellent service starts the dining experience. Always nice to meet John Bishop. Then the food. Appetizer corn meal encrusted shrimp. Roast chicken and rack of lamb done to perfection. Death by chocolate and poached pear. My pear was accompanied by a whipped gorgonzola cheese in the shape of a dollop of ice cream. The one thing that could be improved is the house coffee.
This was an anniversary dinner from our first date in December 1980, celebrated monthly. Not always at a Bishop's, but certainly one of the best places to dine out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dine Out evening was made very special by the excellent food and attentive service. Charming staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved it! Everything we had heard it to be. Very special dinner, excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went for Dine-Out. It had been far too long since I was there, I'll be back again!
The only negative was that we were on the lower level and it was a cold/snowy night and when the door opened there was quite a draft. Otherwise great, love Bishop's!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a great time at Bishop's ! The service was impeccable with the servers being extremely curtious and respectful. The owner himself, Mr. Bishop's personally greeted us and we had a delighted chat. During the service he kept on coming back to our table to see if we are doing okay or not. To which we told him, it was perfect. We enjoyed the ambiance and it was a really wonder experience for us. Servers were very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

When a restaurant offers extraordinary food with exemplary service in an atmosphere of genuine welcome, it's a gem. Bishop's is such a gem.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great experience at Bishop's tonight! The food was delicious, service was attentive, and the atmosphere was perfect, although the seats were a bit too crowded.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Was really looking forward to come try this restaurant. Read their review on best dine out menu for 2017. They don't say that for nothing. Service was extremely great, small restaurant but 5 star service. Food was well prepared, served all at once with good timing. Our table was ready upon arrival, highly recommend this to everyone and will come back very soon!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This dinner made me smile. Fabulous food, excellent wine - they have an amazing cellar! , attentive staff and a perfect noise level. The only thing that ruined it was my dining companion, but as I doubt you'll have the same misfortune there as me, get Bishops booked....you absolutely won't regret it!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good value and great service. Very pleasant experience! Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Bishops was a pleasure as always with impeccable service and mouth-watering cuisine. Highly recommended for any occasion.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.