Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Bishop's

The fare at Bishop's is regional and seasonal. In restaurateur John Bishop's view, it makes sense to showcase British Columbia's lush bounty of seafood, organic produce and meats. His exquisite West Side restaurant blends classic and modern flavours with a casual elegance that keeps clients coming back for a truly exceptional dining experience.

2183 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC V6K 1N7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner Tuesday to Saturday from 5:30 till closing time.

Closed Sundays and Mondays.

Closed December 24th, 25th and 26th



Cross Street:
Yew Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 738-2025

Website:
http://www.bishopsonline.com/

Parking Details:
We are located along major bus routes, or fifteen minutes from Downtown Vancouver via taxi.

Additional:
Full Bar, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Bishop's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (134)
Good for Anniversaries (118)
Romantic (112)
See All
Fit for Foodies (98)
Good for a Date (96)
Quiet Conversation (95)
Local Ingredients (91)
Notable Wine List (84)
Creative Cuisine (79)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Cozy (60)
Worth the Drive (52)
Authentic (44)
Seasonal (35)
Business Meals (27)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Organic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Historic (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Fun (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It was fantastic from start to finish. Service as impeccable, the dishes were unique and elegantly presented, and the atmosphere was charming and very intimate.

Overall, a real gem and well deserving of all accolades!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

A lovely little restaurant with special food, great service, and a wonderful ambiance. An expensive cab ride for tourists, but a wonderful evening none the less.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

High-quality food, no overpowering flavours, just right! Foie gras with chicken liver pate was my fav. Very quiet and romantic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Amazing food!! Love the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

5 star restaurant. Highly recommend this place. Food and service was absolutely great. Ambience was awesome. Local ingredients. Must go restaurant. Make a reservation online.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Absolutely wonderful service. The food was superb. We recommend this restaurant for intimate dinners. Thank you Bishops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Both my wife and I had the halibut dinner and it was superb! Excellent service and an overall great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

A beautiful restaurant. The staff is very attentive. The food was delicious. Really nice atmosphere. I took a friend there for her birthday. She loved it. This is a special place.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was our first fine-dining experience in Canada and we were extremely impressed! The food was absolutely amazing but what stood out was the exceptionally high level of service. Everyone was so professional, knowledgable and attentive to our dining experience. It was unforgettable!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent food with fresh ingredients, beautiful presentation and flavourful.
The desserts were ok. The service was the best I ever had from any fine dinning restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. I have never had such a tender tasty rack of lamb cooked to perfection. The service was also very good and it was delightful to have John Bishop greet us at the door.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Never disappointed! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing food and impeccable service. We will treasure the evening at Bishop's for years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful service. Great selection. Emphasis on regional and seasonal ingredients . Don't know why we don't go more often. Have been going to Bishop's for 25 years and it never disappoints. $65 for three courses plus supplements for certain dishes. Nice selection of wines by the glass..... I would highly recommend a visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food was very well cooked and the ingredients were excellent. Not as innovative as some new restaurants but good quality standard fare.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Bishop's is always great. This visit was at the usual high standard. The food was absolutely fantastic; the service was attentive, but not bothersome. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was lovely but did not have a 'wow' factor. It is a solid neighbourhood restaurant. I also like plates cleared once everyone has completed their meal (for each course). I am not sure if removal of plates at different points is unique to North America but I think it is poor etiquette and not something I would expect for a high end restaurant that Bishop's seeks to be. It was an enjoyable experience but I won't be racing to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were a group of four (all > 65) celebrating a birthday. We live in the KIts area and can walk to Bishops.
What we like :
Ambiance - clean, pleasant
Food - good quality, fresh veg, nice presentation
Convenience - no drink/drive issue
What could improve :
Noise level (we had to raise our voices to talk to people at our own table)
Service - our waiter was as polite and attentive as any we have encountered anywhere on Planet Earth, but slow - our entres were about an hour after our drinks and appetizers. Not as if at our age we need to rush home to make love, but we arrived at 7:30 and got our bill at 10:30 without dessert.
Would we come back? Definitely, but please try to get us out by 9:30 on a 7:30 reservation. Leaves us more time for other things.
Thanks,
Ron, Louise, Heinz and Elke
PS not sure what you can do about the noise level, but its an issue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2017

What a great experience. Quality food is "table stakes" for any fine restaurant and no doubt Bishops delivered. Where I think Bishops shone beyond all others was in the service. The knowledge and engaging nature of the entire staff left us with a new fav in Vancouver. Wine list was great and pricing reasonable. A must do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

A wonderful meal, very attentatively served in a lovely atmosphere with fabulous wines

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were given the choice of a 3 course dinner for $65. Some options had up charges. We went with the special zucchini flowers, the halibut and Wagyu beef. All of it was delicious including the desserts. Even chef Bishop came by to say hello.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

intriguing wine list extravagant pricing service quite good,food fair ambience and decor marginally fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 11, 2017

As good as any dining experience we've had anywhere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent food and great service! Will definitely dine there again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I do not live in Vancouver and have never been able to dine at Bishops despite many attempts to make a reservation. Many friends have been there and everyone has been impressed.
One of the best dinners ever ! Hope they have more open reservations in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The evening was awesome! The attention by staff surpasses any other establishment, always nice for a special occasion like an Engagement. Except for a tough veal chop the food was superb. We don't say that lightly, it was a great evening all around. Will be back!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Awesome little restaurant. Food was fantastic, service exceptional. You get what you pay for in this place and it's a great treat for that special occasion. Will absolutely be back

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

A fantastic restaurant! The amazing food, cozy ambiance, outstanding service and remarkable wine list make this place one the top restaurants in the city.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Thank heavens for John Bishop! We thank you for a perfect evening, the staff thanks you for being a wonderful place to make a career and the neighbourhood thanks you for 37 years of excellence in quality , service and extraordinary food,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We both had the lamb rack and both found it delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our server did not mention the specials for the day to us so we had no idea there were other items on the menu. He then told the couple sitting next to us about the specials after we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Absolutely delicious food in a QUIET setting. Beautiful, friendly attentive service -- no hovering but very thoughtful servers. Simply terrific meal. The chef is Andre Durbach of La Buca fame.
The fish is perfectly cooked as was the lamb. The endive salad was so fresh and tasty.
The meal is somewhat expensive. $65 for three courses --but worth every cent.
We cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We have been dining at Bishop's for 30 years. It is always a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I took my wife to Bishop's for her birthday. I had read a lot of great reviews, many of which mentioned both the food and the service. The reviews were right. The food was incredible and the service was a delight. It isn't cheap but it is VERY good value. I would recommend it to anyone for a special occasion or just a really nice night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had dinner last night at Bishops while on vacation and it was a wonderful experience!! I can't say enough about the service. Everyone from the owner to the maitre d to the bartender made sure the experience was flawless.

And then there was the food. There were 4 of us so we tried a variety of items from.the menu and they were all outstanding. The food was fresh, the portions are generous, and there was a lot going on with each dish. The entrees were served with the most amazing sauces and lots of different vegetables on the plate.

Dinner at Bishops will certainly be one of the highlights of our vacation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I have been going to Bishop's for over 30 years now. Another amazing evening. Service, appies, main course, desserts... Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Excellent food and service. Would rate it as best restaurant in Vancouver

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

A foody vacation in Vancouver took us to five of the city's top restaurants: Market, Bishop's, Five Sails, Blue Water Cafe and Hawksworth. All were exceptional dining experiences, but here is how they broke down: The longstanding icon of the culinary scene, Bishop's, topped the charts with the most personable and attentive service and with incredible flavor profiles. From appetizers through dessert every course was memorable. Five Sails and Market were close behind. Few restaurants in any city can top Five Sails amazing harbor view, but the food was also beautifully presented and well prepared. We can recommend the tuna and beef tartares, the chilled seafood appetizers, the sea bass and the Catch. Market provided the most knowledgeable services with enticing descriptions of the food backed up with a deep understanding of the wines and the ingredients. The food was also strong; we especially enjoyed the pea soup, the octopus, and the sable fish. Blue Water boasted the best seafood and certainly lived up to its reputation with delectable ceviche, crustaceans, sable fish, halibut and more. Hawksworth was the clear winner on the cocktail scene with its many inventive offerings, but the food was disappointing on this occasion with both the halibut and duck overcooked. One could not go wrong with any of these restaurants and they certainly confirm that Vancouver is a city with magnificent dining experiences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food is terrific and a great deal at $65 for a 3 course dinner. The staff are also top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 23, 2017

It was for my friend birthday dinner. We shared oysters,and bisque soup, veal for main course. We Kia to star and shared a bottle of Queil's gate Cab for main. They gave her frozen grapes because her b day.
You could hear jazz music but softly do we did not need to raise your voice. Many restaurants have loud music these days. I appreciate that quietness. Food, service excellent. I will be back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.