About Bishop's

The fare at Bishop's is regional and seasonal. In restaurateur John Bishop's view, it makes sense to showcase British Columbia's lush bounty of seafood, organic produce and meats. His exquisite West Side restaurant blends classic and modern flavours with a casual elegance that keeps clients coming back for a truly exceptional dining experience.

2183 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC V6K 1N7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner Tuesday to Sunday from 5:30 till closing time.
Closed Mondays

Closed December 24th, 25th and 26th



Cross Street:
Yew Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 738-2025

Website:
http://www.bishopsonline.com/

Parking Details:
We are located along major bus routes, or fifteen minutes from Downtown Vancouver via taxi.

Executive Chef:
Andrey Durbach

Additional:
Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pommes Frites - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Albacore Tuna Tartare - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Fillet Of Cache Creek Beef - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
plum cake - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Pickle Inukshuk - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Onion Soup - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Blue Goose Organic Beef - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Apple Staircase - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Death by Chocolate - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Tenderloin Of Pitt Meadows Beef - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
French Fizz - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Amuse Bouche - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Pan Seared Bison - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Complimentary Dessert - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Bread - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Carpaccio Of Bc Octopus - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
charcuterie - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Assiette Of Pitt Meadows Beef - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Steak - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Beef tenderloin - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Pecan Tart - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Beef Carpaccio - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Prawns Panna Cotta Salad - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Wild Boar Terrine - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Seared Qualicum Bay Scallops - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Cheesecake - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Tarragon Loaf And Bacon Cornbread - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Yellow Tomatoe Soup - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Coca Cola - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Diced Pickles - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Nettle Soup - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Ginger Ale - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Onion Caraway And Bacon Cornbread - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Bloody Mary Sorbet - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Chilled Stoney Paradise Sungold Soup - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Caramel Popcorn - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Lemon Crem Tart With Blueberry Sorbet - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Orichette Pasta Prosciutto  - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Scallop Entree - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Elk Rib Chop - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Pan Roasted Haida Gwaii Halibut - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Beef Striploin - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
BC Mussels - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Prawn Bisque - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC

Specials

Dine Out Vancouver menu extended

Tuesdays - Sundays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Specials

Dine Out Vancouver menu extended

Tuesdays - Sundays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Duo to high demand for reservations Bishops is extending the Dine Out menu until February 12th. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 7, 2017 - Feb 12, 2017 on Tuesdays - Sundays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will be featuring a special menu with a glass of Sparking Rose for $115

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 15, 2017 - Feb 28, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Bishop's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Local Ingredients (37)
See All
Romantic (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Notable Wine List (22)
Cozy (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Healthy (14)
Seasonal (13)
Historic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Business Meals (7)
Organic (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wanted something nice and fancy for NYE ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wanted something nice and fancy for NYE and boy did Bishops deliver. This place was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch all around. 7 Course NYE menu. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Top Notch all around. 7 Course NYE menu. Each course was delicious and cooked perfectly.

Mr.Bishop and staff were very welcoming and attentive.

Excellent evening to celebrate anniversary..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was superb and service was impeccab ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was superb and service was impeccable. Most impressed with truffles on the beef tenderloin. Very pleasant overall experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal, chef Andre is back and t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic meal, chef Andre is back and the smoked salmon pancake was to die for

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my 2nd time there. Both were for ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was my 2nd time there. Both were for birthday celebrations. Bishops is probably the best restaurant I have been to in Vancouver. I had a risotto appetizer and then fish for main that was perfectly prepared. My friend had oysters for main and then more for desert. She loves them that much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal, superb service. I enjoye ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent meal, superb service. I enjoyed that fact that you're not rushed and that the meal became an 'event' not just dinner. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous! Delicious food, excellent wine ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fabulous!

Delicious food, excellent wine pairings as suggested by the attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the thirty+ years we have been going ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

In the thirty+ years we have been going to Bishop's the quality and tastes have always been consistently excellent. John greets guests by name, always has a few moments to catch up and share a story and ensures that the guests are treated in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The restaurant is never crowed with lots of room between tables so that there is always a feeling of intimacy. I would not hesitate to rate Bishop's as the top restaurant in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, , Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner, great service. Expe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Outstanding dinner, great service. Expensive, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have wanted to try this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We have wanted to try this restaurant for a long time. We weren't disappointed. We had a great night. Great food and service and John Bishop is a great host. Try this restaurant. You will love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall food is good, but portions are t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Overall food is good, but portions are too small, so can't get full even after a three course meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Awesome as usual!!

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Awesome as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

With a menu that is always changing to u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

With a menu that is always changing to use the best local, seasonal ingredients, masterfully prepared, Bishop's never disappoints.

Perfect, friendly, genuine service.

Warm candlelit atmosphere is perfect for a romantic evening or conversation with friends.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service. John Bish ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Exceptional food and service. John Bishop and his team are thoughtful, intuitive and care seriously about your choices and your level of enjoyment. A very special experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bishop's touched all the bases, service, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Bishop's touched all the bases, service, quality of food, ambiance. We arrived early to later attend a show at UBC and everything went smoothly, not rushed but still had a very romantic dinner including a fantastic bottle of wine. Thanks to maestro John Bishop, who visited every table multiple times, he even shucked our oysters for us. Thanks for every detail of our experience.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time at Bishop's, and certainly w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Second time at Bishop's, and certainly worth the repeat. John met us at the door, and was very congenial, as always. Tables are intelligently placed, and not too close to one another. The staff is knowledgeable and attentive without being pushy. The food: excellent. Yes, it is pricey, but worth it. I'll go again.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a pleasure to dine at Bishops. G ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Bishops. Great service - relaxed pace and atmosphere - attentive, but not intrusive. Food was excellent. Will return again for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very comfortable unpretentious atmosph ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A very comfortable unpretentious atmosphere!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, outstanding service and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service and a wonderful atmosphere! We always love to go there for our most special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb food and service. The room and t ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Superb food and service. The room and the staff are very welcoming. A great pleasure to eat there.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, execellent services, could n ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, execellent services, could not ask for more

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, , Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bishop's provides wonderful service, won ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Bishop's provides wonderful service, wonderful food, and a wonderful atmosphere and space in which to enjoy everything.

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Bishop's in the 80s, it was wo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We ate at Bishop's in the 80s, it was wonderful then and happily, still wonderful when we dined there last week (we live in northern BC) The service was attentive , but not intrusive, the Bishop's Manhattan was delicious, the food was lovely; a very good dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My first time at Bishops and I thought i ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My first time at Bishops and I thought it was absolutely fabulous. The food and service was amazing! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual! Duck special for $55 ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic as usual! Duck special for $55 was incredible. John and staff are always first class!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and special evening. Always re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wonderful and special evening. Always reliable and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to this restaura ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was my first visit to this restaurant.

Suggested having dinner here as had a friend from California visiting who is a real 'foodie'.

Food was delicious and well presented, good wine too !

Lovely ambiance along with a cosy and beautifully decorated dining room,

with very tasteful Native Canadian art on the walls.

Full praise to the staff as they were all extremely professional, very knowledgeable about the menu and attentive without beIng invasive - and our server was lovely :)

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

John Bishop is the consummate host and y ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

John Bishop is the consummate host and year in and year out he and his team at Bishop's produce one of the best food and service experiences in the city. It is like being at an elegant dinner party with good friends with impeccable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

John Bishop's wonderful spot on W. 4th a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

John Bishop's wonderful spot on W. 4th ave in Kits is always a pleasure. Specializing in West Coast Cuisine, it never disappoints. Fine dining, candlelight, starched white linen table cloths, the scene is set for a memorable dining experience. Great care is taken by handcrafting every item on the plate and the variation of accouterments never disappoints. John stops by every table personally to say hello and thanks each guest personally for spending the evening at his quaint fine dining establishment. The collection of West Coast art is as diverse as the menu offerings. It is a small, carefully selected menu featuring the finest and freshest ingredients available. Always a delight.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptionally good service and welcoming ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Exceptionally good service and welcoming. Well prepared food; always a pleasure.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This elegant timeless gem is a real cred ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This elegant timeless gem is a real credit to Vancouver's fine dining scene. John Bishop is the consummate host, front of the house staff are knowledgeable, friendly and professional. The kitchen is a credit to John's ability to recognize and develop talented, creative chefs. The beautiful restaurant is very comfortable with outstanding art and decor. We had a perfect evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John Bishop and his great staff combined ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

John Bishop and his great staff combined with superb food make for a truly memorable evening. The pacing of the food, the warmth of the staff, everything was great.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, wonderful atmosphere ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Impeccable service, wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff, great wine/liquor list and consistently excellent food. Food is locally sourced, seasonal,frequently organic and prepared with care and inspiration.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Bishop's a number of tim ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We have been to Bishop's a number of times of the years. The service is wonderful, the food is always delicious, interesting and local. We really enjoy coming here. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I visited this place to celebrate the we ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I visited this place to celebrate the wedding anniversary with my wife. We experienced

fresh and tastey food, very very very kind servers, extraordinarily great service!!!

I love this place so much!!!

Tags: , Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service and food presentation was ab ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

the service and food presentation was absolutely fabulous......I am still telling my work mates about our food and service that night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An absolutely wonderful evening. Service ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

An absolutely wonderful evening. Service was impeccable. Warm, friendly, welcoming and efficient from the moment we walked in through the door to the time we left the restaurant. Food was delicious and gorgeously presented. There were five of us and we all ordered something different for our main courses. Each entree was excellent. It was so lovely to enjoy a quiet meal without all that noise other restaurants seem to pride themselves on. We could talk to each other without having to shout, and we could hear each other clearly and easily. A perfect meal in a perfect setting. It doesn't get better than this.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our third date there and now our ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We had our third date there and now our tenth wedding anniversary and the food and service was brilliant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had not been to bishops for awhile an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had not been to bishops for awhile and were very disappointed in the lack of variety in the food. Lacked colour and flavour, our partridge was also over cooked. One goes to bishops for excellence this experience was far from that especially at the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great farm to table eating. Friendly an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great farm to table eating. Friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.