About Bishop's

2183 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC V6K 1N7
View Larger Map

The fare at Bishop's is regional and seasonal. In restaurateur John Bishop's view, it makes sense to showcase British Columbia's lush bounty of seafood, organic produce and meats. His exquisite West Side restaurant blends classic and modern flavours with a casual elegance that keeps clients coming back for a truly exceptional dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner Tuesday to Sunday from 5:30 till closing time.
Closed Mondays

Closed December 24th, 25th and 26th



Cross Street:
Yew Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 738-2025

Website:
http://www.bishopsonline.com/

Parking Details:
We are located along major bus routes, or fifteen minutes from Downtown Vancouver via taxi.

Executive Chef:
Ivan Chung

Additional:
Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pommes Frites
Apple Staircase
Onion Soup
Blue Goose Organic Beef
Fillet Of Cache Creek Beef
Death by Chocolate
Tenderloin Of Pitt Meadows Beef
French Fizz
Amuse Bouche
Pan Seared Bison
Complimentary Dessert
Bread
Carpaccio Of Bc Octopus
charcuterie
Assiette Of Pitt Meadows Beef
Albacore Tuna Tartare
Steak
Beef tenderloin
Pecan Tart
Beef Carpaccio
Prawns Panna Cotta Salad
Wild Boar Terrine
Seared Qualicum Bay Scallops
Cheesecake
Caramel Popcorn
Ginger Ale
Tarragon Loaf And Bacon Cornbread
Nettle Soup
Lemon Crem Tart With Blueberry Sorbet
Onion Caraway And Bacon Cornbread
Diced Pickles
Coca Cola
Bloody Mary Sorbet
Chilled Stoney Paradise Sungold Soup
Yellow Tomatoe Soup
Pan Roasted Haida Gwaii Halibut
Orichette Pasta Prosciutto
Beef Striploin
Scallop Entree
Elk Rib Chop
BC Mussels
Prawn Bisque

Bishop's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
12 More
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Notable Wine List
Vancouver
Romantic
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Northwest
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Kitsilano ›

special occasion (54)
romantic (49)
fit for foodies (48)
See All
neighborhood gem (37)
notable wine list (32)
good for groups (7)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1031 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After a few years since our last dining ...

Dined 3 days ago

After a few years since our last dining experience at Bishop's we were so happy to see the quality of food and service still remain exceptional. Kudos to the amazing team at Bishop's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly outstanding in every aspect; 1st C ...

Dined 4 days ago

Truly outstanding in every aspect; 1st Class in everyway. Service was excellent without ever being overbearing. The food was amazing - absolute top marks for a relatively small menu which means that every dish is perfection. I will definitely be returning and will absolutely recommend to my Friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was superb! We hav ...

Dined 5 days ago

The entire experience was superb! We have wanted to try Bishop's for many years but there has always been a new restaurant on the horizon and now realize we missed a great opportunity to enjoy many meals there over the years. Wonderful of John Bishop to stop by our table and chat. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, never fails to disappoint. G ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

As always, never fails to disappoint. Great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were probably not the typical Bishop' ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We were probably not the typical Bishop's clients: large group (party of 9), family, school aged child. But it was Father's Day and I was treating not only my husband, but also my 93 year old father. I must comment on the exceptional service, in the way the staff made many accommodations for our party. Their max table size is normally 8 but they accepted 9 for us. The feature soup was supposed to be served cold but they heated it up for my father as was his preference and it still tasted fantastic. French fries are obviously not on the menu, but the waitress cheerfully assured us they could "make that happen" for the 11 year old in our group. A gorgeous halibut filet was served with a side of fries and not one whit of pretention (and the child licked the plate clean). The rest of our food: perfect. Mr. Bishop himself still comes out to greet all the tables. This is a first class restaurant that always makes you feel welcome.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Several of us in from the U.S. for a bus ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Several of us in from the U.S. for a business meeting were looking for a more 'established' restaurant to dine with our spouses. We had no particular idea of what to expect other than from online reviews (not always trustworthy) and the restaurant website. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like honored guests. We all like wine, and were pleased with the B.C. selection that our somm recommended to go with our fresh oysters, as well as other food choices that our server was happy to suggest. Pacing was great and we were allowed to chat and dine with no sense of being rushed, even when we were one of the last tables left in the restaurant (we had a late reservation). The six in our group managed to order nearly all of the items from the short menu, which focuses on local, fresh ingredients in season. We shared, and all of the food was expertly prepared and in just the right portions for a multi-course meal. What set this evening apart from other good meals in good restaurants, however, was the service. Two examples illustrate all you need to know: first, one from our group was having problem with her contact lenses but did not have her 'kit' to remedy it. The server sent someone to the local drugstore to buy one, thus rescuing her from a miserable evening. The second was wine related. After our first wine, the somm suggested another older vintage from a different winery. When it was brought to the table, however, we tasted and thought it was a bit off--perhaps corked. With no questions asked (or even a nasty look), the somm apologized, took the selection away and brought a different selection immediately. One should expect that type of service, but often we've experienced a very different reaction to trying to send wine back (especially an expensive one). In sum, our dinner at Bishop's was one of the best restaurant experiences we've had in a very long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, John Bishop's continues to do ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

As usual, John Bishop's continues to do a very fine job. However, it remains one of the pricier places in which to eat In Vancouver.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service (I accidentally under tip ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Superb service (I accidentally under tipped. The hostess didn't say anything but very appreciative when I realized it after I settled my bill and returned and gave her more $$$. Sorry, Ms. and you were so honorable about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive service, wonderful food

Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved the simple, stylish intimate setting. Attentive, friendly staff allowed our 3-hour dinner to unfold unhurriedly and memorably. Wonderful food beautifully prepared and presented. The grilled spot prawn appetizer was spectacularly good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply a Classic Best

Dined on June 4, 2016

An iconic, classic restaurant with food and service which defy superlatives. Ever brilliant!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bishops

Dined on June 1, 2016

Had an excellent meal on May 31st. Service was exceptional and Abel the maitre d' gave excellent wine advice. Strongly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Fancy little Restaurant

Dined on May 29, 2016

Reataurant looks great, seats are very comfortable, very nice, clean and cozy. Food looks great but taste could be better, service is good. A little over priced.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great attention to details. Delicious f ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great attention to details. Delicious flavours and great looking dishes. Service is excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant, exquisite! Great food and ambi ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Elegant, exquisite! Great food and ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5

Just amazing. It's been a while since I ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Just amazing. It's been a while since I felt that I got my money's worth at a fine dining restaurant. The food, service, and ambiance were perfect. Going back there for sure! Mr. John Bishop himself greeted us and explained a lot of things. There's a reason the business is still going strong after 31 years (the number of years in business according to Mr. Bishop).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and great service. A Va ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding food and great service. A Vancouver institution!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

From the time we stepped out of our taxi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

From the time we stepped out of our taxi to the moment we left, everything here was amazing. The staff were amazingly attentive and the food was gorgeous. The atmosphere felt warm and inviting. The Bishop's cocktail is a must to begin your night. We enjoyed asparagus with prawn, smoked cod, lamb and halibut, all of which were done to perfection and with an imaginative twist. I like that. Thank you to everyone who made our night so special.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was exquisite and genuinely char ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was exquisite and genuinely charming. Not over- or under-done. Felt like we were being spoiled in the comfort of our own home. Food was perfectly cooked and nicely payed tribute to local and in-season ingredients. Recently, the halibut, lamb, and strip loin entrees were to die for, as were simple yet still delicious accompaniments (in-season ingredients such as sautéed morel mushrooms and asparagus). The wine list had something interesting and tasteful for every budget, be it modest or unlimited. Not an inexpensive evening overall, but it was worth every penny and more!

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyable Experience,Friendly Atmosphere.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Very enjoyable experience, great dishes, attentive staff. All of my dining group enjoyed Bishop's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had an early reservation so the restaurant was quiet, however we were pleased to see John greeting his guests at the door. The whole atmosphere was relaxing and perfect for conversation. From the bread plate & amuse bouche to the entree, it was an enjoyable experience that we will repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bishop's Still Great After All These Years

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Bishops has consistently been, and remains, one of the best fine dining restaurants in Vancouver in all respects.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem in Kitsilano - Bishop's

Dined on April 18, 2016

Our party of 7 was seated at the front table of Bishop's. A great table for group conversation. The service was impeccable including the recommendations for the wines. The menu may surprise you...just a few choices. However, this is Bishop's winning formula...the quality and presentation of those choices is outstanding! If you're looking for a great evening of conversation with those you care about accompanied by wonderful food, wine and attentive service reserve your table at Bishop's. I know I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Stunning Evening at Bishop's

Dined on April 16, 2016

The staff and food never disappoint. The quiet attention to every detail, by every staff member is simply impeccable. The wine staff, led by Abel Jacinto, are more than knowledgeable...never intimidating, always accommodating. While the wine list is deep and wide, don't miss looking at the "bin ends". There is always something interesting to try. Ok, so there's that....but the evening always starts with a small amuse bouche that never fails, along with bread and butter...not just any bread, but 2 choices, made in-house and accompanied by butter that might better be described as delicious mild cheese. It's that good! Desserts are terrific and seasonal menu offerings never fail to provide a delightful surprise. May John Bishop live long and prosper!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing find, amazing food!

Dined on April 16, 2016

What an amazing find. I Made a last minute booking based on information found online. We received a friendly welcome to this charming, elegant restaurant. We were not rushed, and the wonderfully attentive service made for a relaxed enjoyable evening. The food was flawless, the highlights being the halibut, the beef strip loin and the quince and pear mille-feuille. We will definitely return on future visits to Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best in town

Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful evening. such good attention. Only issue, the wines were a little expensive and we went through the first bottle too quickly!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food ? Yes.

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

I love going to Bishops. I haven't had a bad meal there. The serving staff are super attentive and quick to respond. I love the look of the place too. I think Bishops should be promoted to Archbishops. Bam!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food

Dined on April 1, 2016

Service was excellent and above&beyond. The food delicious. Each plate was memorable and unique. The food was prepared with great detail and care. The ambiance was especially romantic- the sun early on setting with the candles to illuminate the room to create a classy atmosphere. A most memorable night with good food and service in Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on March 30, 2016

You know you are going to enjoy an evening of exceptional flavours when you glance at the menu items. The food was fantastic and the service impeccable. Just the right blend of attentiveness and privacy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful place

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

We loved the classy ambiance of Bishop's and its innovative menu. Everything was great: the food, the presentation, the service, the décor and the presence of the owner who delighted us with his great stories.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Bishops is a lovely restaurant, we had t ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Bishops is a lovely restaurant, we had the set menu - starter and main were fairly average but the desert was fantastic (baked apple). Service fantastic. Slightly older clientele but nice for a romantic date night

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bishop's Delivers

Dined on March 21, 2016

We had heard that Bishop's was a very dependable, established dinner restaurant in Vancouver. It did not disappoint. The food was excellent, particularly the main course of black cod. We enjoyed the wine list with a good selection of wines from BC. The only disappointment was the cheese plate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely fantastic. The ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was absolutely fantastic. The ingredients were of extremely high quality, and the preparation was artful. I brought a number of international guests, in order to show off the wonderful foods of the Pacific Northwest, and it didn't disappoint. Gourmet meal, superb service and intimate ambiance. I'll be back for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable as always. I entertained a v ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Impeccable as always. I entertained a visiting international guest with local colleagues. The menu is broad enough to accommodate all, local sourcing and preparation are superlative, unobtrusively served. Wonderful place to converse. The West Coast native art adds a special local touch. A reliable gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Won't go back

Dined on March 12, 2016

Service and welcome was great. Unfortunately the cocktails and food were not. I ordered the cod and my husband ordered the duck and they were both completely bland. The starter (Walla Walla Onion Veloute) and dessert (Baked Okanagan Apple) was okay but nothing that wowed our experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time at Bishop's

Dined on March 12, 2016

From the moment you walk in the door you know you are going to have a lovely experience at Bishop's. A warm smile greeted us as the hostess took our soggy coats and then guided my Mom and I to our table in the corner. Throughout the evening the serving staff were very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. And the food...I enjoyed every bite. I wish I could have eaten the whole dinner twice! My Mom and I shared the greens, which although simple, had a delicious dressing. We both had the steak. It was grilled to perfection and oh, so tender. I devoured the root vegetables and potatoes...and I don't even like beets. To top off this amazing meal I had the baked Okanagan apple. Tangy and sweet and surrounded by strudel and a scoop of ice cream (made from goat's milk). I've prpbably walked by Bishop's hundreds of times and never really noticed it but now that I've eaten there I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food disappointing

Dined on February 21, 2016

appetizer: Winter Squash soup: Soup dish arrived with a garnish in the centre, including pumpkin seeds. The soup arrived in a jug and was poured into the soup bowl by the waiter. It was warm to start, and I expect a soup to be hot. I like to take my time when I dine, so the soup was cold long before I finished it. And it is too thick. And not very tasty. entrée: Strip Loin. Arrived on a bed of pureed sweet potato. Already sliced. I ordered it medium and it arrived medium rare at best. I had to send it back. For some reason, a lot of chefs find it offensive to cook meat any more well done than medium rare, and I was afraid of this even before I ordered it. The meat was not very tasty and fairly tough. I expect a cut of sirloin to not be tender, but a strip loin should be more tender than it was. The pureed sweet potato under the meat makes it very messy to eat. I am not one to put much salt if any on my meat, but I feel this meat needs some kind of seasoning. The servers are excellent. And many of them I recognized from my previous visit. I had a different glass of wine with each of the two courses. The timing of serving the wines was perfect. The lovely fresh bread and unsalted Fraser Valley butter is a wonderful touch. I love fresh bread and butter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service!

Dined on February 19, 2016

The waitress was very nice and friendly. The food was spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Honestly can't recommend this resturant

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went to Bishops for their Valentines set menu. There were 3 different selections for each group of appetizers, entrees, and desserts. My date and I made sure to choose different items - that is, we sampled 6 of the 9 different dishes available. On a scale of 1-5, there was a single 2, and the rest were 1's. Reactions ranged from "ingredient/flavors didn't come together at all" to "salty salted salt with a fine dusting of salt". We left dissatisfied, and while we love the excitement of trying new restaurants together, we couldn't help but lament over the various excellent places we've been to in the past that we could've otherwise spent $300+ on instead. The staff was friendly, attentive, and very professional. The decor was cozy and romantic. Sadly the food just wasn't up to par.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dishes are good. And they served complim ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Dishes are good. And they served complimentary food while we wait for our food which is great. The ambience is amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best thirty years on.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Bishop's is justly acclaimed is a or the top dining experience in Vancouver. After 30 years nothing has changed! John Bishop has created an experience of infomal friendliness and dining excellence that is unsurpassable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.