About Bishop's

2183 West 4th Avenue
Vancouver, BC V6K 1N7
View Larger Map

The fare at Bishop's is regional and seasonal. In restaurateur John Bishop's view, it makes sense to showcase British Columbia's lush bounty of seafood, organic produce and meats. His exquisite West Side restaurant blends classic and modern flavours with a casual elegance that keeps clients coming back for a truly exceptional dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner Tuesday to Sunday from 5:30 till closing time.
Closed Mondays

Closed December 24th, 25th and 26th



Cross Street:
Yew Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 738-2025

Website:
http://www.bishopsonline.com/

Parking Details:
We are located along major bus routes, or fifteen minutes from Downtown Vancouver via taxi.

Executive Chef:
Andrey Durbach

Additional:
Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pommes Frites - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Albacore Tuna Tartare - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Fillet Of Cache Creek Beef - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
plum cake - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Pickle Inukshuk - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Onion Soup - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Blue Goose Organic Beef - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Apple Staircase - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Death by Chocolate - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Tenderloin Of Pitt Meadows Beef - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
French Fizz - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Amuse Bouche - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Pan Seared Bison - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Complimentary Dessert - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Bread - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Carpaccio Of Bc Octopus - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
charcuterie - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Assiette Of Pitt Meadows Beef - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Steak - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Beef tenderloin - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Pecan Tart - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Beef Carpaccio - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Prawns Panna Cotta Salad - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Wild Boar Terrine - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Seared Qualicum Bay Scallops - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Cheesecake - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Tarragon Loaf And Bacon Cornbread - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Yellow Tomatoe Soup - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Coca Cola - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Diced Pickles - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Nettle Soup - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Ginger Ale - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Onion Caraway And Bacon Cornbread - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Bloody Mary Sorbet - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Chilled Stoney Paradise Sungold Soup - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Caramel Popcorn - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Lemon Crem Tart With Blueberry Sorbet - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Orichette Pasta Prosciutto  - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Scallop Entree - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Elk Rib Chop - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Pan Roasted Haida Gwaii Halibut - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Beef Striploin - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
BC Mussels - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC
Prawn Bisque - Bishop's, Vancouver, BC

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Bishops will be featuring a special 6 course menu with a glass of champagne for $125

Bishop's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
14 More
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Value
Vancouver / British Columbia
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Special Occasion
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Northwest
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Kitsilano ›

Special Occasion (57)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Romantic (44)
See All
Local Ingredients (40)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for a Date (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (23)
Authentic (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Seasonal (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Healthy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Organic (7)
Historic (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second time at Bishop's, and certainly w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Second time at Bishop's, and certainly worth the repeat. John met us at the door, and was very congenial, as always. Tables are intelligently placed, and not too close to one another. The staff is knowledgeable and attentive without being pushy. The food: excellent. Yes, it is pricey, but worth it. I'll go again.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A very comfortable unpretentious atmosph ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A very comfortable unpretentious atmosphere!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, outstanding service and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service and a wonderful atmosphere! We always love to go there for our most special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, execellent services, could n ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, execellent services, could not ask for more

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food and service. The room and t ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Superb food and service. The room and the staff are very welcoming. A great pleasure to eat there.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bishop's provides wonderful service, won ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Bishop's provides wonderful service, wonderful food, and a wonderful atmosphere and space in which to enjoy everything.

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Bishop's in the 80s, it was wo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We ate at Bishop's in the 80s, it was wonderful then and happily, still wonderful when we dined there last week (we live in northern BC) The service was attentive , but not intrusive, the Bishop's Manhattan was delicious, the food was lovely; a very good dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual! Duck special for $55 ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic as usual! Duck special for $55 was incredible. John and staff are always first class!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and special evening. Always re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wonderful and special evening. Always reliable and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to this restaura ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was my first visit to this restaurant.

Suggested having dinner here as had a friend from California visiting who is a real 'foodie'.

Food was delicious and well presented, good wine too !

Lovely ambiance along with a cosy and beautifully decorated dining room,

with very tasteful Native Canadian art on the walls.

Full praise to the staff as they were all extremely professional, very knowledgeable about the menu and attentive without beIng invasive - and our server was lovely :)

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

John Bishop is the consummate host and y ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

John Bishop is the consummate host and year in and year out he and his team at Bishop's produce one of the best food and service experiences in the city. It is like being at an elegant dinner party with good friends with impeccable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

John Bishop's wonderful spot on W. 4th a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

John Bishop's wonderful spot on W. 4th ave in Kits is always a pleasure. Specializing in West Coast Cuisine, it never disappoints. Fine dining, candlelight, starched white linen table cloths, the scene is set for a memorable dining experience. Great care is taken by handcrafting every item on the plate and the variation of accouterments never disappoints. John stops by every table personally to say hello and thanks each guest personally for spending the evening at his quaint fine dining establishment. The collection of West Coast art is as diverse as the menu offerings. It is a small, carefully selected menu featuring the finest and freshest ingredients available. Always a delight.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptionally good service and welcoming ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Exceptionally good service and welcoming. Well prepared food; always a pleasure.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This elegant timeless gem is a real cred ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This elegant timeless gem is a real credit to Vancouver's fine dining scene. John Bishop is the consummate host, front of the house staff are knowledgeable, friendly and professional. The kitchen is a credit to John's ability to recognize and develop talented, creative chefs. The beautiful restaurant is very comfortable with outstanding art and decor. We had a perfect evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John Bishop and his great staff combined ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

John Bishop and his great staff combined with superb food make for a truly memorable evening. The pacing of the food, the warmth of the staff, everything was great.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, wonderful atmosphere ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Impeccable service, wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff, great wine/liquor list and consistently excellent food. Food is locally sourced, seasonal,frequently organic and prepared with care and inspiration.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Bishop's a number of tim ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We have been to Bishop's a number of times of the years. The service is wonderful, the food is always delicious, interesting and local. We really enjoy coming here. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I visited this place to celebrate the we ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I visited this place to celebrate the wedding anniversary with my wife. We experienced

fresh and tastey food, very very very kind servers, extraordinarily great service!!!

I love this place so much!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service and food presentation was ab ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

the service and food presentation was absolutely fabulous......I am still telling my work mates about our food and service that night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An absolutely wonderful evening. Service ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

An absolutely wonderful evening. Service was impeccable. Warm, friendly, welcoming and efficient from the moment we walked in through the door to the time we left the restaurant. Food was delicious and gorgeously presented. There were five of us and we all ordered something different for our main courses. Each entree was excellent. It was so lovely to enjoy a quiet meal without all that noise other restaurants seem to pride themselves on. We could talk to each other without having to shout, and we could hear each other clearly and easily. A perfect meal in a perfect setting. It doesn't get better than this.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our third date there and now our ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We had our third date there and now our tenth wedding anniversary and the food and service was brilliant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had not been to bishops for awhile an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had not been to bishops for awhile and were very disappointed in the lack of variety in the food. Lacked colour and flavour, our partridge was also over cooked. One goes to bishops for excellence this experience was far from that especially at the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great farm to table eating. Friendly an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great farm to table eating. Friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit at Bishop's and ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This was our first visit at Bishop's and we look forward to going back at some point. The most outstanding aspect is the exceptional service/friendliness and relaxing ambience. The food was very good, particularly the seafood. Was a bit disappointed with the short ribs however; everything else was quite memorable. Loved the creativity being exercised in the kitchen. Special efforts to acknowledge our anniversary were very thoughtful and much appreciated!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

outstand, everything is perfect, the wel ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

outstand, everything is perfect, the welcome, the staff, the food, the everything is great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable experience. While the fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. While the food isn't "blow your mind good," it is very good, and prepared exceptionally well. I've had better at top-notch restaurants, which this is. The service, however, is unparalleled- in Vancouver anyway. Highly recommended.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bishop's is our favourite restaurant for ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Bishop's is our favourite restaurant for special occasions. The food is delicious, the ambience friendly, the service impeccable. We have never had a restaurant experience that we have enjoyed more anywhere in the world (and we have travelled a lot)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner with business associate ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent dinner with business associates. Wonderland food and service. Outstanding! Very knowledgeable staff. A pleasure to have dinner there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fabulous! The one minor ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Everything was fabulous! The one minor complaint we had was that, for the price, the appetizers were a bit disappointing. John Bishop was a wonderful host, as usual, and all of the serving staff were top notch. My sable fish was to die for!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal, great service and overal ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent meal, great service and overall perfect experience. No better place to celebrate an anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Other than Le Cinq in Paris, this is my ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Other than Le Cinq in Paris, this is my favourite restaurant anywhere, certainly my favourite in Vancouver. Birthdays, anniversaries or any other special occasions will always mean a reservation at Bishops for my wife and I. The food, service and ambience is truly impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Always, excellent 'must stop' for our ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

As Always, excellent 'must stop' for our trips to Vancouver . . . almost always do. Best of Van!

Sorry we missed John.

Robert Ross, formaly of Santa Fe, NM, now living on Bainbridge Island and much closer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have experienced much better service a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I have experienced much better service at Bishops then what we got on Friday. It was disappointing and surprising.

Also i have had the halibut there a few weeks ago that was moist and flaking. mine this time was dry. The other people at the table who are foodies however were happy with their meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The caring and service @ Bishops is stil ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The caring and service @ Bishops is still very high quality. Led by John who still takes the time to visit all diners and this makes it feel special. The food presentation and cooking continues To be good. My only criticism would be the amount of food on some dishes is quite small.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for a friend's birthday and had ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We went for a friend's birthday and had the most lovely evening. Wonderful food, exquisite ambience and exceptional service. A true Vancouver gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good team work in this restaurant. Go ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

A good team work in this restaurant. Good food and service. Seldom found in other restaurants

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal with friends. Classic fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Wonderful meal with friends. Classic food, service, ambiance. Excellent as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place in Vancouver to propose.

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The place in Vancouver to propose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bishop's is a lovely room--perfect for a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Bishop's is a lovely room--perfect for a special occasion. However, the food--I had the Sablefish my fiancee had the steak--was humdrum. There are better food and better value elsewhere. But the room itself and the ambience is second to none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The entire experience was magnificent. O ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The entire experience was magnificent.

Outstanding meal and service was impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.