About Birroteca - Baltimore

1520 Clipper Mill Rd
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Located in the Hampden/Woodberry area of Baltimore, we're the destination for modern, rustic Italian cuisine, crafted using ingredients sourced from local ranchers, farmers and local fisherman. Guests enjoy communal dining service in a refined, casual setting. We offer 24 craft beers on tap in addition to an Italian focused wine list, and unique craft cocktails prepared with artisan distilled spirits and house-made mixes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Clipper Mill Road & Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 708-1934

Website:
http://www.bmorebirroteca.com/

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk from the Light Rail MTA stop at Woodberry

Executive Chef:
Chris Steber

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in a historic 19th century mill building, Birroteca is the perfect venue for your next private function. Our menu offers rustic, Italian cuisine complemented by a selection of 24 craft beers on tap, an "Italian" focused wine list and unique craft cocktails.

Birroteca - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Baltimore / Maryland
Vibrant Bar Scene
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Hampden ›

fit for foodies (71)
neighborhood gem (67)
vibrant bar scene (47)
See All
good for groups (39)
special occasion (31)
hot spot (29)
notable wine list (19)
romantic (15)
kid-friendly (14)
great for lunch (11)
late-night find (10)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Feels tired. Food has slipped in flavor ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Feels tired. Food has slipped in flavor and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Totally dependable for excellent service ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Totally dependable for excellent service and even better food. One of our mainstays!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a picky pizza person, and theirs is ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I'm a picky pizza person, and theirs is excellent. Eclectic Italian menu, including duck eggs on pizza (we didn't try it). Everyone loved the desserts (port wine ice cream and Nutella cheescake). Great beer and wine selection. I think I'd prefer the dining room next time, since the music in the bar area was a bit loud.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always good mussels, cheese and meat pla ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always good mussels, cheese and meat plate, fabulous beer choices, and grilled brussel sprouts.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional Hospitality! They went above ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Exceptional Hospitality! They went above and beyond to accommodate our large party.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter put in our appetizers forgot ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter put in our appetizers forgot to put in our dinner order. We waited an extremely long time for our food. He apologized numerous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

For my husband and I, Birroteca has been ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

For my husband and I, Birroteca has been a go-to spot for a great meal. Unfortunately, our food was less than stellar our last visit. We ordered the brussel sprouts, a usual for us, and they were more burnt than crisp. We shared the arugula salad and a mushroom pizza with duck egg. The salad was delicious, but the pizza was burnt over 3/4 of the pizza. Since we only ate a few slices in the restaurant and boxed the rest up to take home, we thought the burnt crust on two pieces wasn't worth complaining about. However, it wasn't until we were home that we realized the bottom of the remaining pie was completely charred to the point of it being inedible. We had boxed the pizza to make room for a charcuterie plate because one of the two cheese selections that evening was a favorite of my husband. When the plate arrived, it only had one cheese (not the one we ordered the plate for) and two meats. We were only then told that they were out of the expected cheese and had replaced it with a salumi. We sent it back, paid our bill and left. Unfortunately, it will be a while before we decide to return.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Jason is wonderful; very personable and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Jason is wonderful; very personable and tuned to the customer's needs.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wrong night to go to this restaurant. To ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wrong night to go to this restaurant. Too noisy and crowded. Not possible to talk without shouting. Previous visit was very nice on a Sunday night.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The food and the service were absolutely ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food and the service were absolutely perfect! Every item was great and the waitress gave great suggestions. The table was very close to the next table which wasn't a particular problem, it just wasn't as comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Chef creates unique dishes that are deli ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Chef creates unique dishes that are delicious. Brussel sprouts are great!

Our son's pizza was burnt. I was disappointed they served it. They're pizzas are usually wonderful. The rest of the groups food was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A rather odd location, but such a wonder ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A rather odd location, but such a wonderful find. Deceiving from the outside, and exceptionally charming inside. Service was top notch and friendly. Our pizza was outstanding; the kale salad, not so much. Will definitely return and have already recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Well, Robin you did it again – this time ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Well, Robin you did it again – this time you made your Dad so proud of you. Thank you so much for honoring Fathers on Father’s Day with a free meal. It was so generous and kind of you. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Sarah, our server, was a delight – so attentive and caring. Josh, the manager, came over to fix our wobbly table. It was such a pleasant lunch. The restaurant has a lovely family vibe – all happy guests.

My husband started with a Redemption Rye Manhattan – perfect. We started with our favorite - the fresh Burrata cheese with melted tomato and basil bruschetta – simply divine. We then ordered the Chef’s Steak for two which was a 30 oz. rib eye served with Black Garlic Mushroom Risotto with asparagus and Brussel sprouts. Oh my, the steak and risotto were so delicious. To accompany our lovely dinner, we enjoyed a bottle of the Montepulciano d’Abruzzo - Illuminati Riparosso. Thank you again to you and your staff for treating Dads today.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

VERY NOISY Difficult to have conversati ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

VERY NOISY

Difficult to have conversation

Food was very slow to come out of the kitchen

But was reasonably tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent cocktails, attentive service, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent cocktails, attentive service, and outstanding artisan pizzas!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Husband and wife date nite! Food, servi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Husband and wife date nite! Food, service, always excellent.

One of our favorites....

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very interesting setting with multiple d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

very interesting setting with multiple dining locations within the restaurant. downstairs was quite lively. the upstairs was quieter but a bit stark. Food choices were very interesting and good quality but somewhat small portions of some items relative to the price (eg steak for two at $34 was small). others were generous in size. service was quite uneven.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We were celebrating my husband's birthda ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's birthday with our young children. The waiter was very warm and accommodating but it seemed the kitchen got backed up resulting in a delay of our pizzas and the check.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing! We'll definitely be back!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing! We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time was a miss, but the food was ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

First time was a miss, but the food was so good that we gave it a second shot. This time, everything was amazing. Our server Megan was outstanding. Super bubbly personality, gave great recommendations, and brought us a basket of oregano, parmesan, and red pepper flakes for our pizza that our server the last time never even dropped off. The herbed gnocchi was the most delicious gnocchi I've ever had-- melt in your mouth delicious. I'm glad we came back on a Sunday, the restaurant was more empty and calm. Yay Birroteca, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat on the patio - EXCELLENT service (th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Sat on the patio - EXCELLENT service (thanks, Sarah!), drinks and food! Will be back again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've enjoyed quite a few meals at Birrot ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I've enjoyed quite a few meals at Birroteca, but this one blew me away. We ordered two favorites: the calamari and the wild boar pappardelle as well as two new items: the spring risotto and the lemon sponge cake. Honestly, I thought I knew what we were getting with the two faves, but each of them were the best I've ever had. I don't know what was going on in that kitchen Tuesday night, but whatever it was, keep it up! I've worked in Italy for years, and I swear, they brought Italy straight to our table on those two dishes. The new spring risotto tastes just the way a spring dish should - bright, clean, but also plenty filling! And the lemon sponge cake was the perfect mix of sweet and refreshing to top off the meal. Our server, Megan, was wonderful from start to finish, both totally professional and extremely pleasant. She did make one honest mistake with our order, which didn't even bother us (we're all human), but the way in which everyone worked together to quickly and professionally remedy it was not only impressive, but so nice to see for a change. We ended up taking some pappardelle home for what we thought would be lunch, but in reality, only half made it that long (and lunch still came early!) Compliments to the chef, his kitchen, our awesomennserver Megan, and the rest of the Birro team. You gave a loyal client something to write home about and a new diner a perfect first experience! Looking forward to trying more of the spring menu soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation table for a party of 6 w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our reservation table for a party of 6 was not available until 40 mins aftrer arrival :( had to wait in the noisy bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to have happy hour and dinne ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great place to have happy hour and dinner. Extensive bottle and draft beer selection. Excellent value.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Locavore pizza was delicious. Dining com ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Locavore pizza was delicious. Dining companions said the steak was very disappointing. Wine list is limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Birroteca - Baltimore was such a fun and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Birroteca - Baltimore was such a fun and memorable experience. The atmosphere was romantic yet somewhat casual which creates a perfect environment for great conversation. We ordered the eggplant fries (better than regular fries!) and the shrimp pizza and were in heaven. The food is fantastic, the beer list is engaging, and the staff is accommodating and cheerful. We sat in the main dining area and it was perfect. They also have a paper cover on the table cloth and pencils and encourage patrons to draw and/or play games throughout the night. This brings a fun element to dinner and is extra fun after a few drinks! I definitely recommend this restaurant! Parking was also easy as they have two lots.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked it but it was so noisy I couldn' ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I liked it but it was so noisy I couldn't hardly have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal. Food always so good and fres ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great meal. Food always so good and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day meal

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

There was a wide selection on the menu, and it was easy to order dishes in any order and combination - entrées along with starters. This made it simpler to share dishes. The beer and wine were tasty.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day Treat!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Robin, your Mother must be very proud of you! Thank you to you and your staff for honoring all Mothers today with a free meal. It was extremely generous and thoughtful of you. It was so nice to see so many young families with their children enjoying dinner. We had changed our reservation to an earlier time – thanks for doing that for us. We were warmly greeted by our server, Jordan, who set the tone for the rest of our dining experience. She was genuine, attentive, friendly and happy. She made us happy. She answered all of our questions and attended to our every need. My husband started with a Redemption Rye Manhattan – perfect. After tasting two wines, we decided on a bottle of the Montepulciano, Illuminati Riparosso, Abruzzo. It was a crisp red with lots of legs. We both enjoyed the fresh Burrata cheese with melted tomato and basil bruschetta – simply divine. My husband had the Herbed Gnocchi with red shrimp, basil, and asparagus in a parmesan tomato brodo – the gnocchi were light as feathers. I had to have the Duck Duck Goose – a delightful artisan pizza with duck confit, fig onion jam, balsamic, fontina and Asiago with a duck egg – beyond delicious. To finish our delightful meal we decided to try two of your desserts – the Torta del Nonno – a chocolate Grenache, toasted pine nuts with crème Anglaise and the Taharka Brothers peanut butter cup ice cream. Both were perfect endings to perfect meals. Thank you so much for treating Moms today.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place USED to be great...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Success seems to be making the place a bit uneven. Tried to serve us the salad course before the appetizer. "Wild boar" in the pasta was on the small side. Mussels great...but late. Chocolate "tart" (which is basically a solid stick of dark chocolate) showed up without the advertised fresh strawberries...allegedly because the chef couldn't find any locally grown. No explanation why he couldn't erase the strawberries from the desert menu. Probably couldn't find a fresh eraser.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent Gluten Free Pizza

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great gluten free pizza and some interesting choices of pizza. Many other items on menu are also gluten free and gluten free pasta is available. Restaurant itself is very cool but has a low ceiling and stone walls so it's noisy inside. Service was excellent and our waitress recommended the gluten free pizza crust over the regular which is a bonus since good gf pizza is hard to find. Parking was easy on the lot adjacent to the building so all in all it was a nice experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I want to like this place so bad! Howev ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I want to like this place so bad! However, between the poor service and the difficulty getting a reservation. Every time, I leave feeling that I have spent to many dollars to a so-so meal. Better money spent at other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Slow and poor service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Service was extremely slow, did not receive our whole order, took over 45 minutes to receive our appetizer and was not wha was ordered. Never received the replacement. Took approximately 20 minutes in between orderin drinks to receive them. Truly disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

excellent, friendly service!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Not a scenic place in the least, but lovely inside

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Over Salted!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Menu is interesting for this foodie and ambiance is cool and rustic. We ordered eggplant fries and their mixed mushroom pizza. Both good, not great because the cooks for both seriously over salted our food. I'm a salt lover and it was too much for me.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Delish

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This place is always so good. Pizzas are a great size and everything else on the menu is amazing. Brussel sprouts are incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall excellent

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food and service! I loved the rustic vibe! Only negative is that it was so loud, and I felt like I was yelling to my friend throughout dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

some good, some bad

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

There were some good parts, some bad parts to our meal. Our server Sarah was absolutely fantastic. She was helpful, nice, accommodating, attentive and patient. One person in our party was really late and she was great about it.

The pizza was good, the brussels sprouts appetizer was good. The gnocchi was undercooked. We sent it back and the second round was equally gummy and inedible.

They charge $13 for the kale salad with "shaved beets, apples, radishes and pumpkin seeds". It was basically a giant pile of greens with minuscule pieces of apples etc. That was a complete rip off.

Stick with the pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Great place for dinner and near colleges

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was great. Love atmosphere. Is a bit loud due to stone walls but overall great experience.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.