About Birroteca - Baltimore

1520 Clipper Mill Rd
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Located in the Hampden/Woodberry area of Baltimore, we're the destination for modern, rustic Italian cuisine, crafted using ingredients sourced from local ranchers, farmers and local fisherman. Guests enjoy communal dining service in a refined, casual setting. We offer 24 craft beers on tap in addition to an Italian focused wine list, and unique craft cocktails prepared with artisan distilled spirits and house-made mixes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

HAPPY HOUR:
Monday-Friday, 5pm -7pm , Saturday & Sunday, 12pm- 5pm at the bar

Cross Street:
Clipper Mill Road & Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 708-1934

Website:
http://www.bmorebirroteca.com/

Catering:
Private Party Contact:Erin McCloskey , Erin@bmorebirroteca.com 443-708-1934

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk from the Light Rail MTA stop at Woodberry

Executive Chef:
Matt Campbell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Birroteca Special - Birroteca - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Birroteca Special - Birroteca - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in a historic 19th century mill building, Birroteca is the perfect venue for your next private function. Our menu offers rustic, Italian cuisine complemented by a selection of 24 craft beers on tap, an "Italian" focused wine list and unique craft cocktails.

Birroteca - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Hampden ›

Fit for Foodies (38)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great Beer (31)
See All
Bar Seating (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Fun (23)
Casual (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Romantic (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Cozy (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Historic (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Business Meals (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Wood Oven (6)
People Watching (5)
Family Style (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (4)
Organic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Sports (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Birroteca is a gem and the food was deli ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Birroteca is a gem and the food was delicious. We dined on a Monday and it was wonderful had the place to ourselves. I would recommend the lounge where you can have the Happy Hour as well as the full restaurant menu. I would highly recommend, the brussel sprouts, Caesar Salad and we had the Pistachio sausage pizza. Great fun and prices more to the moderate to high range. Great parking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Birroteca but this experience wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

We love Birroteca but this experience wasn't so great. There were missteps in service all evening.Some (but not all) included: My bowl of spaghetti appeared before we ever received our salads. Our bread appeared halfway through our salads with no butter or olive oil. When we asked, an olive oil bottle with about 2 tbl of oil was plopped on our table. My husband's entree came before mine and he was finished eating before my bowl of spaghetti showed up again. It was a casual anniversary dinner that didn't quite go as planned. But we love the restaurant and chalked this up to new servers or kitchen staff (we hope!)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

This is quickly becoming one of our favo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

This is quickly becoming one of our favorite spots in Baltimore! Perfect ambiance for date night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was good but unusual. The beet ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good but unusual. The beet salad was perfect. The pulled pork pizza was weird - chunks of pork, not slivers as we expected and a too sweet wine sauce on top. The Pistachio Pesto pizza was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner was great! We went for my birthda ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner was great! We went for my birthday and it was our first time there. Would highly recommend and look forward to going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love going to this place! Food is always ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Love going to this place! Food is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a large party - ended up being 11 ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We had a large party - ended up being 11 people, original reservation was for 8, and the staff there was super accommodating and friendly! The food was excellent as was the service! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to all my friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was, as usual, very good. The w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was, as usual, very good. The waiter, however, left a lot to be desired. He was too informal ex: "are you still happy" and not nearly enough even moderately polished. Also, he disappeared and we had to ask for the check from someone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This has been one of many visits. The f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This has been one of many visits. The food has always been good and tasty. I especially like that I could get any one of their creative and good tasting pizzas on a gluten free crust. Also they have many gluten free offerings and can sub very acceptable gluten free pasta in any of their regular pasta dishes

Though I rant about the gluten free offerings my dining partners have also always enjoyed their non gluten free food choices. There is an extensive beer selection as well

Whether sitting at the bar or a table we have always been happy here. The price is appropriate for the food and service

One complaint is the draft from the doors in cold weather! Why they don't create an even temporary vestibule to decrease the drafty cold breeze that exists is not clear. When you walk into a place and see people with their coats still on that might be a tip off to the management

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good, but on the expensive side f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always good, but on the expensive side for a somewhat casual place. Prices are definitely not casual. For this money, I would consider a higher end cuisine restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Fantastic find. We will definitely be ba ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fantastic find. We will definitely be back! Great food, beer list with growlers available to go , wonderful service and check out the bottled mules. Little bit of a drive for us but we will definitely be back again and again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The pizza crust was soggy which was surp ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The pizza crust was soggy which was surprising for a place known for the pizza

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Went here on a Thursday evening for dinn ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Went here on a Thursday evening for dinner and it was a full house....that's always a good sign. Ample parking and accessibility until you get inside. The tables are very close together and it can be tricky maneuvering around other diners to get to your seat. The tables have paper on top of the cloth and the restaurant provides pencil for you to doodle on. They have artwork of past diners up on the wall which is neat.

The food was amazing. The bruschetta is a must as it is perfectly cooked. The bread is thick with a toasty crust and light, airy insides. It's not doused in olive oil like some restaurants and depending on which type you get, had arugula, tomatoes, mozzarella or other cheeses.

The carbonara was definitely one of the best, if not the best, that I've ever had. The duck egg is a great binder and the pancetta is perfectly crispy.

There is a good beer list (local and non local) and everyone at our table thoroughly enjoyed the food.

Although the food came in a timely manner, our waitress was not as attentive as we would've liked. She was great at first but seemed a little rushed. It took at least 10 minutes for her to notice we had finished dinner and although a nearby table had some great looking desserts, it was never offered to us. When she finally came with the check, it took another 10 minutes to get her attention to process it.

However, this would not discourage me from coming back because the food was great. Hopefully the service will just be better next time. I would recommend this to anyone, whether casual eating with friends or a nice date.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent food and service. We keep comi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. We keep coming back year after year. Love Birroteca!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, unique delicious food. My ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place, unique delicious food. My only negative was that we got there early and there was no place for us to wait and bar was super crowed. Definitely need to make a reservation! But all in all delicious amazing food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent brussel sprouts and pizza--per ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent brussel sprouts and pizza--perfectly cooked and served (and quickly).

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing! The food was great and the plac ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Amazing! The food was great and the place was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food in a nice atmosphere. Many pi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food in a nice atmosphere. Many pizza choices and some unique items are on the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easy, relaxed, noisy atmosphere with rea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Easy, relaxed, noisy atmosphere with really good food. Order the fried eggplant appetizer; divine spicy dipping sauce. Great pastas and pizza!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was excellent. The dining spac ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was excellent. The dining space was cramped though and people kept bumping into my chair because our table was in the middle of everything. The food and appetizers came out quickly but the desserts took too long. Over 20 minutes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Was pleasantly surprised to have Free de ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised to have Free dessert for our Anniversary! :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Served burnt and over salted risotto. I ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Served burnt and over salted risotto. I was disappointed. This restaurant was talked about as so much more than it actually was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

When a restaurant gets it right, you are ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 2, 2016

When a restaurant gets it right, you are the beneficiary. Birroteca gets it right each and every time. I had made a 6:30 PM reservation, but our meeting ended early, so I called the restaurant to see if we could come early. They emphatically said “of course, that our requested table was waiting just for us”. We arrived to find the restaurant very quiet, which we love. We were seated, and Michael came over to greet us right away. My husband raves about their Rye Manhattan so, of course, he ordered one. We also ordered a bottle of Primitivo/Negroamaro - Farmers Of Wine from Puglia (a full bodied red). We used to share an appetizer, but no longer. We both ordered the Bruschetta with fresh Burrata Cheese, melted tomatoes and basil. This is one of our favorite dishes here – it is always so fresh and delicious. If you have never had Burrata, you should try it. Burrata is a fresh Italian cheese made from mozzarella and cream. The outside is slightly hard while the inside is so creamy. I was intrigued by the Local Beet salad and decided to order it. It was an explosion of flavors – large local beets, Burrata cheese, pistachio pesto, and EVOO. Wow, I wanted more. We split a pizza Bianco which had Mozzarella, Asiago & Fontina, and Gorgonzola cheeses along with sage leaves, lemon Thyme honey, and candied Walnuts. The only thing we would have liked more is a thinner crust on the pizza. We finished with Taharka Brothers ice cream – Oreo cheesecake. We were very impressed with our server, Michael, very attentive, very friendly and knowledgeable. By the time we left, the restaurant was full.. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was great but the food was ov ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The server was great but the food was over-priced and they had too many tables crammed in there so it was very uncomfortable. They clearly were trying to accommodate a wave of customers and lost us returning ones in the process. The manager came over and apologized for our table literally not fitting where it was and said the first round was on her but then it wasn't comped on the check...

There are way too many other great options out there where a pizza and two beers won't cost you $50, give those places a try.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Octopus appetizer was very delicious and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Octopus appetizer was very delicious and enjoyed the Sriracha sauce along with. Pizza was also excellent loved the kale Fredo. Most definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Music too loud in the bar. Other than th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Music too loud in the bar. Other than that, great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Historic, Seasonal, Cozy, People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is not my first time at Birroteca. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This is not my first time at Birroteca. I have brought many friends there. I like the happy hour, especially the meatballs. This visit was to meet my friend's son. We had drinks, sauteed calamari was was so tender and tasty, and the steak for two or more. The steak was huge and very tender cooked exactly med. rare. There was an assortment of vegetables and a creamed butternut squash polenta that was delicious. We shared two desserts: a pumpkin cheesecake and a lava cake that were sumptuous. The wait staff were excellent and right there.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to Birroteca multiple times, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I have been to Birroteca multiple times, but twice I have gone with a reservation and have been seated in the bar area. I find the dining room to be a much nicer setting, and expect to have a table in the dining room when I have made a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

I first went to Birroteca a number of ye ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I first went to Birroteca a number of years ago and it was fabulous - especially the brussels sprouts! This time it was not so good. They called to confirm the reservation and asked if there were any special requests. I said it was my birthday and I'd like to be somewhere low-traffic. When we arrived, they sat us at a bar table literally next to the kitchen so that staff were constantly coming and going. But ok, this is how it can work with a busy restaurant. Our server was great. Our food was delicious - we had brussels sprouts, and I had the boar pappardelle and my boyfriend had the mushroom risotto. We received a free birthday dessert. It was a lovely evening. Afterwards is when the GI effects of the brussels sprouts took hold. I had food poisoning, there is no other way to identify what happened (24 hours, various GI symptoms, etc.). My boyfriend had some similar accompanying symptoms but no running to the bathroom like me. It was very disappointing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent pizzas and great service.

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent pizzas and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dinning experience! While pizza a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great dinning experience! While pizza and pasta selections are plentiful, there are many options for those of us who are looking for fresh veggies and gluten free foods. The roasted vegetable platter was outstanding, Other favorites included the mushroom risotto dish, porky belly and arugula appetizer, and shrimp gnocchi. This restaurant is definitely on our 'lets go back' list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was a little loud but totally worth i ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It was a little loud but totally worth it for the delicious food and friendly staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was our third visit and I would say ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our third visit and I would say it has always bee excellent!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have now been here twice and the food, d ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Have now been here twice and the food, drinks and service are all very good. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Birroteca is an awesome restaurant. Grea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Birroteca is an awesome restaurant. Great food, great drinks and very friendly staff. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambiance of this place. The foo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Love the ambiance of this place. The food is delish! It's a little noisy though, but better I. The dining are than in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took a bit to be acknowledged at the bar ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Took a bit to be acknowledged at the bar, but once we were, the bartender was awesome. Our waiter started out very friendly, our cheese plate took forever to come out and when it did we were immediately given another dish we were not ready for. We sent it back and asked that our pizza didn't come out too soon, and then everything took forever. The waiter wasn't very observant about anything, and then did not seem as friendly. The food was not as good as in the past. This was our 3rd time here, if it had been our first, I am not sure we would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The food was top notch, as usual, but ou ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was top notch, as usual, but our server (Jason) was absolutely fantastic and made the evening that much more enjoyable. Friendly, personable, and somehow possessing a perfect sense of timing - he was great!

Thanks for an awesome night out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual, everything was fine. I think ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As usual, everything was fine.

I think the menu should be changed periodically. There are specials but the main menu [certainly not the beer selection] could do with a change.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.