About Birroteca - Baltimore

1520 Clipper Mill Rd
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Located in the Hampden/Woodberry area of Baltimore, we're the destination for modern, rustic Italian cuisine, crafted using ingredients sourced from local ranchers, farmers and local fisherman. Guests enjoy communal dining service in a refined, casual setting. We offer 24 craft beers on tap in addition to an Italian focused wine list, and unique craft cocktails prepared with artisan distilled spirits and house-made mixes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Clipper Mill Road & Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 708-1934

Website:
http://www.bmorebirroteca.com/

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk from the Light Rail MTA stop at Woodberry

Executive Chef:
Chris Steber

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Birroteca - Baltimore
Birroteca - Baltimore

Specials

$25 - Evolution Craft Draft Beer & Pizza

Specials

$25 - Evolution Craft Draft Beer & Pizza
Details

Choice of any Evolution Craft Draft Beer, Choice of any Pizza

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: September 9, 2016

Ends: December 8, 2016

Availability: Sun 12:00PM-4:00PM
Mon-Thu 5:00PM-10:00PM
Sat 12:00PM-4:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in a historic 19th century mill building, Birroteca is the perfect venue for your next private function. Our menu offers rustic, Italian cuisine complemented by a selection of 24 craft beers on tap, an "Italian" focused wine list and unique craft cocktails.

Birroteca - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Baltimore / Maryland
Vibrant Bar Scene
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Hampden ›

Fit for Foodies (61)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Good for Groups (43)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Kid-friendly (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been meaning to try this place o ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have been meaning to try this place out and finely made it there on Saturday evening. Sorry to say that we were a bit disappointed.

We had reservations and were seated at a high top in the bar area - not necessarily a bad thing but be aware that it is much noisier than the restaurant. We found the food to be average at best. The Cesar's Salad was very good and my wife loved the croutons. The meatball appetizer was just OK, but nothing we would feel compelled to order again. The Spicy Fennel Sausage pizza was edible...but neither of us thought it was very good at all. It was dry and devoid of flavor. We heard a couple at the next table say similar things about their pizza as well (don't know what kind it was).

Our server asked how everything was and we were honest about not loving the pizza. She offered to bring us something else in its place and, when we declined, insisted on providing us with a free dessert. We really appreciated that - kudos to them for trying to improve our experience.

Overall not a bad experience...but still surprised that the pizza wasn't better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my third or fourth meal at Birr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was my third or fourth meal at Birroteca. The service was very good but not great. There seemed to be a confusing number of servers coming to the table. The real disappointment was the food. My gnocchi was so overcooked it was little more than well shaped mush and the shrimp were bite size pieces of shrimp. The focaccia was also disappointing. The focaccia was not toasted and the toppings did not adhere to the focaccia, it was a mess. I was bummed out by the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

the food was excellent, dessert was deli ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

the food was excellent, dessert was delicious and the wait staff was very helpful and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A disappointment. I've been here several ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

A disappointment. I've been here several times before, but they have lost their mojo and commitment to quality. Tuna tartare was C-grade and not fresh. Pizza was flavorless and burned (which is different from the tasty char of brick oven pizza). Menu hasn't been updated in years. Not sure what happened, but I'm not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

I have been to Berroteca many times and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have been to Berroteca many times and each time is a true pleasure. The food, service, ambiance the beer and wine list make this place one of the top resturants not just in Maryland but also in the entire USA.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been wanting to try the pizza here ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I had been wanting to try the pizza here for a long time and was glad to finally have the opportunity. We ordered two pizzas--Duck Duck Goose and Puttanesca--with an arugula salad. I especially enjoyed the duck pizza and arugula salad. The puttanesca pizza was good too, though I missed a tomato sauce base (which I added to the leftovers I brought home). I love the thin crispy crust on the pizzas and would like to return to try some of their other offerings. Our server was excellent, but the noise level made conversation nearly impossible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a good time! Great Service and yu ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always a good time! Great Service and yummy food.

Would like to see some new food choices offered- maybe a seasonal menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I will say that the ambiance was off-put ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I will say that the ambiance was off-putting. It's a beer and pizza joint, basically. The music was extremely loud for some reason and I had to yell across the table to talk to people, but then they had the lighting so low that I could hardly read the menu or walk around. I didn't get it at all. Don't order a cocktail that isn't on the menu either. Maybe just stick with beer? I ordered a gin fizz and that completely puzzled the bar staff. They sent it out in a wine glass lol, it was pretty odd.

The beer menu is great though, and our pizza was good and the staff seemed nice and were quick and helpful.

I was just annoyed that a place that touts cocktails couldn't use google, and it was extremely loud due to loud oldies being blasted and extremely dark inside. I'm 34 years old and usually don't have vision problems and I had to use my phone to read the menu. bleh.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent food and service! We came with ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and service! We came with 2 kids, and they were very entertained by the pencils and paper table topper, which allowed us to enjoy our drinks. Highly recommend the housemade mules, a tasty cocktail with unique presentation. You can never go wrong with the calamari and meatballs to start, and their pizza crust is to die for. This place is a staple for us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great! There was a good sel ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was great! There was a good selection of common and unique pizza toppings to choose from. Our server was fantastic! She gave great suggestions for appetizers. The only complaint was the noise level because tables are close together.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Casual, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent! The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food and service were excellent! The dining room was quite loud which made conversations across the table difficult

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The wait staff was outstanding and the f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The wait staff was outstanding and the food delicious. Would not hesitate to dine there again.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Booked a large reservation for a surpris ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Booked a large reservation for a surprise birthday party. Everything was great, really enjoyed the pizza, beer, and atmosphere - the back bar area is great - will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great family eating, including the chees ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great family eating, including the cheese and meats board, tasty orecchiette, wonderfully simple prosciutto pizza. Ample kids' meals, to boot! Oh, and Ashley is the best server. Busy, professional, and no nonsense.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and service were excellent! The ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food and service were excellent! The best GF pizza in Baltimore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here a lot - often with the eggp ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We come here a lot - often with the eggplant fries and the gluten free pizzas specifically in mind. They have the best gluten-free pizza crust in Baltimore. In fact, we think it may be better than their regular crust. The only thing is they sometimes leave it in the oven just a minute too long and the edges burn. Services is attentive and usually excellent. This time our server was a retro-guy whose banter was HEAVILY laden with slang phrases like "fer sure" and "fer real" which was a bit jarring coming from a 20-something, and felt just a bit too casual and a bit off-putting. But we love this place, and we'll keep coming back "fer sure".

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

As always, the food was very good and th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

As always, the food was very good and the service was great. We always love the waiters and waitresses we get at Birroteca.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great. Our waiter was great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was great. Our waiter was great. The bartender was lovely. And the hostess was very friendly. Will definitely go back! :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was absent when needed and seemed ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Server was absent when needed and seemed to be totally disinterested . Food was good. Draft beer was not full and a second would have been nice if server was anywhere to be Tables are too close and dinner was not very enjoyable as a result. Not sure we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Most disappointed. The pizza ovens were ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Most disappointed. The pizza ovens were broken, so they just took all the pizzas off the menu. One of our group doesn’t really like the rest of their menu. We asked if they could provide half of one of the two-person meals. The manager (through the waiter – he didn’t even bother to come see us) refused. So rather than go hungry that person had a pasta dish they didn’t want or particularly like. Sorry, but if your restaurant is only providing half of your regular menu, you really need to step up the pace to work with your customers.

A suggestion: If you want to give pasta meals in large china plates, you should preheat the plates. Our food was tepid since it was cooled by the cold plates.

Service was adequate but not great. About the level of forgetfulness and disorganization one expects at Applebee’s or similar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We had prosciutto pizza and we were disa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had prosciutto pizza and we were disappointed. The crust was soggy--not crisp at all. (We had the same kind of pizza at Fazzini's 2 weeks earlier so we knew how good that pizza COULD be.) And it was so expensive--$22 for a not-particularly large pizza. The much better prosciutto pizza at Fazzini's is $15!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Terrible experience with the whole occas ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Terrible experience with the whole occasion. Seating sucks. Food preparation nasty. Food taste very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I made a reservation to celebrate a frie ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I made a reservation to celebrate a friend's birthday and made it known that it was my friend's birthday in the comment box of the online reservation. Also my friend reminded our waiter before we ordered our desserts, that it was her Birthday. He brought us the desserts as ordered, with no fanfare. This would have been okay, until a lit candle, dessert and a birthday greeting was ushered, to the table right next to us. The disappointment on my friends face was very noticeable and we were left wondering why we didn't get the same treatment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Bel Air is better. Liked this one better ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Bel Air is better. Liked this one better when the chef who cooked spetzel with escargot was on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great service, great food, overall a tot ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service, great food, overall a total package.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and craft beers. If they woul ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and craft beers. If they would take out just a couple tables it wouldn't feel so cramped and be a better dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was great and the portions are ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was great and the portions are a nice size. We enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Drinks weak Brussels sprouts burnt Egg ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Drinks weak

Brussels sprouts burnt

Eggplant fries no taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

We went here for my husband's birthday. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We went here for my husband's birthday. Everything on the menu sounds good. We ask our server for some suggestions since we have never been. The calamari is AMAZING! I could have just eaten that. We also had the Duck Duck Goose pizza. The sauce was a little sweet for my liking, but over all it was great and we ate the left overs for breakfast. We had the lemon cake to share for my husband's birthday dessert. He said it was the best cake he has had in a long time. We could of ordered more on the menu and we plan on coming back to try some of the homemade pasta dishes and some other pizzas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Birroteca is one of my favorites, but on ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Birroteca is one of my favorites, but on Saturday night we were evacuated because of flooding (this was necessary, not annoyed by this), but I was still made to pay for my bill even though my apps and drinks weren't even finished or touched. I think everyone was panicked and didn't' know what to do, but it bothered me. Staff was great about getting everyone out though and kept the situation from getting bad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The main dining room is very charming, a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The main dining room is very charming, and it was filled with people. Our waiter was helpful

and attentive. The food was disappointing. The caesar salad was tasteless without anchovies.

The pappardelle was too al dente. The profiteroles were good especially the hot fudge sauce.

The noise was overwhelming. It is not a place for older people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I think Birotecca -- or at least our ser ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I think Birotecca -- or at least our server -- was having a bad night. Restaurant was only half full but service was slow enough that we left after drinks and appetizer and had dinner elsewhere. It wasn't my first time at the restaurant and I've had a great experience and meal every other time so I plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Been there quite a few times, this visit ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Been there quite a few times, this visit was a disappointment for the service (slow and negligent) but worse, for the food . One pizza with figs, recommended by people at a nearby table, was weird and IMHO inedible. The other was just okay.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Feels tired. Food has slipped in flavor ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Feels tired. Food has slipped in flavor and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Totally dependable for excellent service ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Totally dependable for excellent service and even better food. One of our mainstays!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a picky pizza person, and theirs is ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I'm a picky pizza person, and theirs is excellent. Eclectic Italian menu, including duck eggs on pizza (we didn't try it). Everyone loved the desserts (port wine ice cream and Nutella cheescake). Great beer and wine selection. I think I'd prefer the dining room next time, since the music in the bar area was a bit loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always good mussels, cheese and meat pla ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always good mussels, cheese and meat plate, fabulous beer choices, and grilled brussel sprouts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional Hospitality! They went above ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Exceptional Hospitality! They went above and beyond to accommodate our large party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter put in our appetizers forgot ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter put in our appetizers forgot to put in our dinner order. We waited an extremely long time for our food. He apologized numerous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

For my husband and I, Birroteca has been ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

For my husband and I, Birroteca has been a go-to spot for a great meal. Unfortunately, our food was less than stellar our last visit. We ordered the brussel sprouts, a usual for us, and they were more burnt than crisp. We shared the arugula salad and a mushroom pizza with duck egg. The salad was delicious, but the pizza was burnt over 3/4 of the pizza. Since we only ate a few slices in the restaurant and boxed the rest up to take home, we thought the burnt crust on two pieces wasn't worth complaining about. However, it wasn't until we were home that we realized the bottom of the remaining pie was completely charred to the point of it being inedible. We had boxed the pizza to make room for a charcuterie plate because one of the two cheese selections that evening was a favorite of my husband. When the plate arrived, it only had one cheese (not the one we ordered the plate for) and two meats. We were only then told that they were out of the expected cheese and had replaced it with a salumi. We sent it back, paid our bill and left. Unfortunately, it will be a while before we decide to return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.