About Birroteca - Baltimore

1520 Clipper Mill Rd
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Located in the Hampden/Woodberry area of Baltimore, we're the destination for modern, rustic Italian cuisine, crafted using ingredients sourced from local ranchers, farmers and local fisherman. Guests enjoy communal dining service in a refined, casual setting. We offer 24 craft beers on tap in addition to an Italian focused wine list, and unique craft cocktails prepared with artisan distilled spirits and house-made mixes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Clipper Mill Road & Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 708-1934

Website:
http://www.bmorebirroteca.com/

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk from the Light Rail MTA stop at Woodberry

Executive Chef:
Chris Steber

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in a historic 19th century mill building, Birroteca is the perfect venue for your next private function. Our menu offers rustic, Italian cuisine complemented by a selection of 24 craft beers on tap, an "Italian" focused wine list and unique craft cocktails.

Birroteca - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (75)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Vibrant Bar Scene (50)
See All
Good for Groups (45)
Special Occasion (34)
Hot Spot (22)
Romantic (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Scenic View (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great. Our waiter was great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great. Our waiter was great. The bartender was lovely. And the hostess was very friendly. Will definitely go back! :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was absent when needed and seemed ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Server was absent when needed and seemed to be totally disinterested . Food was good. Draft beer was not full and a second would have been nice if server was anywhere to be Tables are too close and dinner was not very enjoyable as a result. Not sure we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Most disappointed. The pizza ovens were ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Most disappointed. The pizza ovens were broken, so they just took all the pizzas off the menu. One of our group doesn’t really like the rest of their menu. We asked if they could provide half of one of the two-person meals. The manager (through the waiter – he didn’t even bother to come see us) refused. So rather than go hungry that person had a pasta dish they didn’t want or particularly like. Sorry, but if your restaurant is only providing half of your regular menu, you really need to step up the pace to work with your customers.

A suggestion: If you want to give pasta meals in large china plates, you should preheat the plates. Our food was tepid since it was cooled by the cold plates.

Service was adequate but not great. About the level of forgetfulness and disorganization one expects at Applebee’s or similar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We had prosciutto pizza and we were disa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had prosciutto pizza and we were disappointed. The crust was soggy--not crisp at all. (We had the same kind of pizza at Fazzini's 2 weeks earlier so we knew how good that pizza COULD be.) And it was so expensive--$22 for a not-particularly large pizza. The much better prosciutto pizza at Fazzini's is $15!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Terrible experience with the whole occas ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Terrible experience with the whole occasion. Seating sucks. Food preparation nasty. Food taste very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I made a reservation to celebrate a frie ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I made a reservation to celebrate a friend's birthday and made it known that it was my friend's birthday in the comment box of the online reservation. Also my friend reminded our waiter before we ordered our desserts, that it was her Birthday. He brought us the desserts as ordered, with no fanfare. This would have been okay, until a lit candle, dessert and a birthday greeting was ushered, to the table right next to us. The disappointment on my friends face was very noticeable and we were left wondering why we didn't get the same treatment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Bel Air is better. Liked this one better ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Bel Air is better. Liked this one better when the chef who cooked spetzel with escargot was on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great service, great food, overall a tot ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service, great food, overall a total package.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and craft beers. If they woul ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and craft beers. If they would take out just a couple tables it wouldn't feel so cramped and be a better dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was great and the portions are ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was great and the portions are a nice size. We enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Drinks weak Brussels sprouts burnt Egg ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Drinks weak

Brussels sprouts burnt

Eggplant fries no taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

We went here for my husband's birthday. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We went here for my husband's birthday. Everything on the menu sounds good. We ask our server for some suggestions since we have never been. The calamari is AMAZING! I could have just eaten that. We also had the Duck Duck Goose pizza. The sauce was a little sweet for my liking, but over all it was great and we ate the left overs for breakfast. We had the lemon cake to share for my husband's birthday dessert. He said it was the best cake he has had in a long time. We could of ordered more on the menu and we plan on coming back to try some of the homemade pasta dishes and some other pizzas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Birroteca is one of my favorites, but on ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Birroteca is one of my favorites, but on Saturday night we were evacuated because of flooding (this was necessary, not annoyed by this), but I was still made to pay for my bill even though my apps and drinks weren't even finished or touched. I think everyone was panicked and didn't' know what to do, but it bothered me. Staff was great about getting everyone out though and kept the situation from getting bad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The main dining room is very charming, a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The main dining room is very charming, and it was filled with people. Our waiter was helpful

and attentive. The food was disappointing. The caesar salad was tasteless without anchovies.

The pappardelle was too al dente. The profiteroles were good especially the hot fudge sauce.

The noise was overwhelming. It is not a place for older people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I think Birotecca -- or at least our ser ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I think Birotecca -- or at least our server -- was having a bad night. Restaurant was only half full but service was slow enough that we left after drinks and appetizer and had dinner elsewhere. It wasn't my first time at the restaurant and I've had a great experience and meal every other time so I plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Been there quite a few times, this visit ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Been there quite a few times, this visit was a disappointment for the service (slow and negligent) but worse, for the food . One pizza with figs, recommended by people at a nearby table, was weird and IMHO inedible. The other was just okay.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Feels tired. Food has slipped in flavor ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Feels tired. Food has slipped in flavor and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Totally dependable for excellent service ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Totally dependable for excellent service and even better food. One of our mainstays!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a picky pizza person, and theirs is ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I'm a picky pizza person, and theirs is excellent. Eclectic Italian menu, including duck eggs on pizza (we didn't try it). Everyone loved the desserts (port wine ice cream and Nutella cheescake). Great beer and wine selection. I think I'd prefer the dining room next time, since the music in the bar area was a bit loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always good mussels, cheese and meat pla ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always good mussels, cheese and meat plate, fabulous beer choices, and grilled brussel sprouts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional Hospitality! They went above ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Exceptional Hospitality! They went above and beyond to accommodate our large party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter put in our appetizers forgot ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter put in our appetizers forgot to put in our dinner order. We waited an extremely long time for our food. He apologized numerous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

For my husband and I, Birroteca has been ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

For my husband and I, Birroteca has been a go-to spot for a great meal. Unfortunately, our food was less than stellar our last visit. We ordered the brussel sprouts, a usual for us, and they were more burnt than crisp. We shared the arugula salad and a mushroom pizza with duck egg. The salad was delicious, but the pizza was burnt over 3/4 of the pizza. Since we only ate a few slices in the restaurant and boxed the rest up to take home, we thought the burnt crust on two pieces wasn't worth complaining about. However, it wasn't until we were home that we realized the bottom of the remaining pie was completely charred to the point of it being inedible. We had boxed the pizza to make room for a charcuterie plate because one of the two cheese selections that evening was a favorite of my husband. When the plate arrived, it only had one cheese (not the one we ordered the plate for) and two meats. We were only then told that they were out of the expected cheese and had replaced it with a salumi. We sent it back, paid our bill and left. Unfortunately, it will be a while before we decide to return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Jason is wonderful; very personable and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Jason is wonderful; very personable and tuned to the customer's needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wrong night to go to this restaurant. To ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wrong night to go to this restaurant. Too noisy and crowded. Not possible to talk without shouting. Previous visit was very nice on a Sunday night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The food and the service were absolutely ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food and the service were absolutely perfect! Every item was great and the waitress gave great suggestions. The table was very close to the next table which wasn't a particular problem, it just wasn't as comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Always delicious food and drinks, great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Always delicious food and drinks, great communal environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef creates unique dishes that are deli ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Chef creates unique dishes that are delicious. Brussel sprouts are great!

Our son's pizza was burnt. I was disappointed they served it. They're pizzas are usually wonderful. The rest of the groups food was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A rather odd location, but such a wonder ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A rather odd location, but such a wonderful find. Deceiving from the outside, and exceptionally charming inside. Service was top notch and friendly. Our pizza was outstanding; the kale salad, not so much. Will definitely return and have already recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Well, Robin you did it again – this time ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Well, Robin you did it again – this time you made your Dad so proud of you. Thank you so much for honoring Fathers on Father’s Day with a free meal. It was so generous and kind of you. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Sarah, our server, was a delight – so attentive and caring. Josh, the manager, came over to fix our wobbly table. It was such a pleasant lunch. The restaurant has a lovely family vibe – all happy guests.

My husband started with a Redemption Rye Manhattan – perfect. We started with our favorite - the fresh Burrata cheese with melted tomato and basil bruschetta – simply divine. We then ordered the Chef’s Steak for two which was a 30 oz. rib eye served with Black Garlic Mushroom Risotto with asparagus and Brussel sprouts. Oh my, the steak and risotto were so delicious. To accompany our lovely dinner, we enjoyed a bottle of the Montepulciano d’Abruzzo - Illuminati Riparosso. Thank you again to you and your staff for treating Dads today.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

VERY NOISY Difficult to have conversati ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

VERY NOISY

Difficult to have conversation

Food was very slow to come out of the kitchen

But was reasonably tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent cocktails, attentive service, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent cocktails, attentive service, and outstanding artisan pizzas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Husband and wife date nite! Food, servi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Husband and wife date nite! Food, service, always excellent.

One of our favorites....

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very interesting setting with multiple d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

very interesting setting with multiple dining locations within the restaurant. downstairs was quite lively. the upstairs was quieter but a bit stark. Food choices were very interesting and good quality but somewhat small portions of some items relative to the price (eg steak for two at $34 was small). others were generous in size. service was quite uneven.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We were celebrating my husband's birthda ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's birthday with our young children. The waiter was very warm and accommodating but it seemed the kitchen got backed up resulting in a delay of our pizzas and the check.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing! We'll definitely be back!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing! We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time was a miss, but the food was ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

First time was a miss, but the food was so good that we gave it a second shot. This time, everything was amazing. Our server Megan was outstanding. Super bubbly personality, gave great recommendations, and brought us a basket of oregano, parmesan, and red pepper flakes for our pizza that our server the last time never even dropped off. The herbed gnocchi was the most delicious gnocchi I've ever had-- melt in your mouth delicious. I'm glad we came back on a Sunday, the restaurant was more empty and calm. Yay Birroteca, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat on the patio - EXCELLENT service (th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Sat on the patio - EXCELLENT service (thanks, Sarah!), drinks and food! Will be back again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've enjoyed quite a few meals at Birrot ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I've enjoyed quite a few meals at Birroteca, but this one blew me away. We ordered two favorites: the calamari and the wild boar pappardelle as well as two new items: the spring risotto and the lemon sponge cake. Honestly, I thought I knew what we were getting with the two faves, but each of them were the best I've ever had. I don't know what was going on in that kitchen Tuesday night, but whatever it was, keep it up! I've worked in Italy for years, and I swear, they brought Italy straight to our table on those two dishes. The new spring risotto tastes just the way a spring dish should - bright, clean, but also plenty filling! And the lemon sponge cake was the perfect mix of sweet and refreshing to top off the meal. Our server, Megan, was wonderful from start to finish, both totally professional and extremely pleasant. She did make one honest mistake with our order, which didn't even bother us (we're all human), but the way in which everyone worked together to quickly and professionally remedy it was not only impressive, but so nice to see for a change. We ended up taking some pappardelle home for what we thought would be lunch, but in reality, only half made it that long (and lunch still came early!) Compliments to the chef, his kitchen, our awesomennserver Megan, and the rest of the Birro team. You gave a loyal client something to write home about and a new diner a perfect first experience! Looking forward to trying more of the spring menu soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation table for a party of 6 w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our reservation table for a party of 6 was not available until 40 mins aftrer arrival :( had to wait in the noisy bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.