About Birroteca - Baltimore

1520 Clipper Mill Rd
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Located in the Hampden/Woodberry area of Baltimore, we're the destination for modern, rustic Italian cuisine, crafted using ingredients sourced from local ranchers, farmers and local fisherman. Guests enjoy communal dining service in a refined, casual setting. We offer 24 craft beers on tap in addition to an Italian focused wine list, and unique craft cocktails prepared with artisan distilled spirits and house-made mixes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

HAPPY HOUR:
Monday-Friday, 5pm -7pm , Saturday & Sunday, 12pm- 5pm at the bar

Cross Street:
Clipper Mill Road & Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 708-1934

Website:
http://www.bmorebirroteca.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning an intimate family gathering, rehearsal dinner or your next business social, you can coordinate with our attentive and knowledgeable staff to create a unique, one of a kind experience!
Private Party Contact: Jordan Depriest ,
Jordan@bmorebirroteca.com 443-708-1934

Parking Details:
Two private parking lots available. Free parking.

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk from the Light Rail MTA stop at Woodberry

Executive Chef:
Matt Campbell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay informed about our upcoming special events http://www.bmorebirroteca.com/baltimore-events

Restaurant Photos

  • Birroteca - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
  • Birroteca Special - Birroteca - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD

Report a photo problem

Birroteca Special - Birroteca - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in a historic 19th century mill building, Birroteca is the perfect venue for your next private function. Our menu offers rustic, Italian cuisine complemented by a selection of 24 craft beers on tap, an "Italian" focused wine list and unique craft cocktails.

Birroteca - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (39)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Bar Seating (28)
Casual (26)
Fun (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Cozy (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Comfort Food (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Historic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Tapas (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Organic (4)
Live Sports (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went here for Winter Restaurant Week. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Went here for Winter Restaurant Week. The menu had really good options (meat, veggie & vegan options). Our server was great. The only negative was that the timing of our food coming out together (for 3 people) was greatly varied. This was our first time here, so not sure if it was just this night or if this is a common issue. Would definitely return though. Enjoyed the food, ambiance and service.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delighted with the atmosphere, drinks we ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Delighted with the atmosphere, drinks were delicious and well prepared, our waiter was extremely attentive and helpful and the food was predictably delicious!!! Great dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe we should have ordered pizza becau ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Maybe we should have ordered pizza because that's what it's known for, but we didn't. The meatball appetizer was okay. Looked delicious as the meatballs were sitting in a shallow bath of red sauce and ricotta. But the meatballs just weren't exciting. Not bad, just bland. The eggplant fries were tasty and someone else at our table got the mussels and loved them. We then got the porterhouse family meal. It was beautifully presented but it was bland. The seasoning was just not there So at $52 for 20 oz, it was ok. The accompanying butternut squash polenta was delicate and tasty. The desserts on the other hand were amazing. Their rendition of a kit kat bar made you drool for more! And the cheesecake (pumpkin and somethin) was quite good. There was a very thin bottom layer of crispy goodness that worked well with the rich cheesecake . Our waiter, Jason, was wonderful. He made the night. It was a full house, but he never left us hanging. He was personable and gave good direction. I was given an old menu which had a pomegranite collins, but they still made it. It was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was delicious! General atmosphere w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious! General atmosphere was good, but tables were crammed so closely together in our section that we (as well as our server) had difficulties getting to our table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and atmosphere. They also had ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and atmosphere. They also had a really great beer and drink selection. Food was unique and lots of different option. Would definitely recommend. Only negative was that it was very crowded with small amounts of space between tables.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal with our family! Really inte ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal with our family! Really interesting pasta dishes and you can't go wrong with the pizza. Waiter was personable and helpful. We would definitely go back again!

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mussels are absolutely delicious- in fac ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Mussels are absolutely delicious- in fact- the highlight of our meal. Cocktail and beers were excellent. The" special " short ribs pizza was only ok- I've tried multiple pizza's at Birroteca and have been a underwhelmed each time. The dough/crust is tasty but not sure why entire pizza's aren't better. Service was great- friendly and happy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a very enjoyable time , our serve ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a very enjoyable time , our server, Jason was really the best . He was attentive but allowed our meal to proceed at our own pace. We had several appetizers that were all good. Especially liked the Eggplant fries. It was a busy Saturday evening, however our selections came out without delay and each was plated nicely. The space is a bit tight and the overall volume was a bit loud but nothing to keep me from making this a new "go too" location.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Don't miss the eggplant fries--unique an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Don't miss the eggplant fries--unique and delicious. Jordan does a great job.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great dinner here. Jordan took ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Another great dinner here. Jordan took great care of us, the food was amazing! Looking forward to trying their newest restaurant Nickel Taphouse.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For my first visit, I was impressed by t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For my first visit, I was impressed by the food. I came for the pizza and was far from disappointed. The calamari was also delicious and my handcrafted mule was very good. I will definitely return as the staff was extremely friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always love this place. The Duck piz ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We always love this place. The Duck pizza and the calamari are particular favorites but the new grilled octopus was awesome too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived to a very large parking lot - ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We arrived to a very large parking lot - nice for a city restaurant! We sat in the main room that has exposed stone walls and church like benches around the perimeter. Initially I thought it was going to be uncomfortable but our 2 person table was very comfortable and just the right size.

If you like beer, this place is the spot for you! It has an excellent selection of local brews.

I plan to go back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and delicious food! Loved ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great service and delicious food! Loved the

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First visit. Definitely will return. Hav ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

First visit. Definitely will return. Have already recommended to friends. Delicious food. Excellent service/friendly and knowledgeable servers.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their dinner special was a multi-course ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Their dinner special was a multi-course of seafood dishes. All were of the highest quality and flavors. Wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ever some of the most delicious pizza in ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Ever some of the most delicious pizza in Baltimore--with good vegetarian options that bleed into the appetizers--and a fine selection of beers, including many local beers. Ambiance is upbeat... but also tends to be too noisy in the bar area to be able to carry on meaningful conversations (unless you shout). The dining room, by contrast, is much more gentle and also warm and lovely.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

It was a nice meal. Our kids behaved. Th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was a nice meal. Our kids behaved. The food came quick and delicious. Really great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were coming from 4 different directio ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We were coming from 4 different directions soBirroteca was chosen as a central location with parking. It exceeded our expectations. The Brussels sprouts and calamari appetizers were amazing. Pizzas, pasta and salads delicious! Staff was friendly and attentive. Good beer and wine selection. Charming interior. It was very loud, both in the bar and dining room, but that was the only negative. We all raved about it and will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love that place and couldn't get in l ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We love that place and couldn't get in last year for the holidays. So we were very excited this year and you did. It disappoint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! It was beautiful inside!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Loved it! It was beautiful inside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eight of us went to Birroteca. I could ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Eight of us went to Birroteca. I could only get a reservation for 4 and thought ah, we'll figure it out. It was very busy but the host, Tim, could not have been more gracious and hospitable. He took great care of us, found a table so we could all sit together and we had a GREAT time. The food is terrific. It is a little loud but perhaps that's just part of the happy hour atmosphere. Not a big deal. A definite gem to check out with A+ service. Thanks again Tim!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, People Watching, Live Sports, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Totally disappointing dinner. The pizza ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Totally disappointing dinner. The pizza was cold and one was undercooked. We had friends in from Ohio and had raved about Birroteca but we all left disappointed. Bruschetta was cold too. Maybe this place is not a weeknight dinner location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a great time. Food was great. Our ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a great time. Food was great. Our server was excellent, however she was stretched too thin because she had to many assigned tables. Guests would receive better service if the server to table ratio was better.

We were told dessert would be 10 minutes because of our selection. It took 25 minutes to get our desserts after we ordered them.

All in all we had a great time and will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I brought my parents for a late lunch, a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I brought my parents for a late lunch, as they had been very impressed with the food earlier in the week. This time around there was a miscommunication with the kitchen and my pizza came out with cheese, though I am allergic. The service in response to this mistake was absolutely phenomenal. Without saying anything to my server, he apologized profusely offered me a charcuterie selection to tide me over until my food came out. Then at the end of the meal he took the pizza and charcuterie off the bill, and even offered me a free desert. I was stuffed by that point so I declined, but I was so touched by the level of concern of everyone involved! I have never been treated so well by any restaurant after such a simple mistake. I will definitely be coming back to Birotecca in the future, and recommending them to all of my friends! The food is amazing, but the level of care for their customers is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has great Yelp reviews, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This restaurant has great Yelp reviews, so I figured I would give it a try. We sat down at 4:45PM for an early dinner since we had tickets to the Nutcracker at 6:30PM. We ordered our appetizers and entrees at the same time. The mussels and Caesar salad were very good. Around 5:45PM, I had to flag the waitress down to ask about our entrees since we needed to leave around 6:00PM. She said there was an issue with my pizza and it hadn't been made yet. I cancelled the pizza. She brought out the gnocchi for my friend, which were fried and tasteful (fried gnocchi?). We were underwhelmed. They did remove my drink from our bill. The kitchen got confused and ended up making my pizza, so they gave that to us for free. The pizza was 'ok.' I was not impressed with the food or service. I won't be returning.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Birroteca is a gem and the food was deli ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Birroteca is a gem and the food was delicious. We dined on a Monday and it was wonderful had the place to ourselves. I would recommend the lounge where you can have the Happy Hour as well as the full restaurant menu. I would highly recommend, the brussel sprouts, Caesar Salad and we had the Pistachio sausage pizza. Great fun and prices more to the moderate to high range. Great parking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Birroteca but this experience wa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We love Birroteca but this experience wasn't so great. There were missteps in service all evening.Some (but not all) included: My bowl of spaghetti appeared before we ever received our salads. Our bread appeared halfway through our salads with no butter or olive oil. When we asked, an olive oil bottle with about 2 tbl of oil was plopped on our table. My husband's entree came before mine and he was finished eating before my bowl of spaghetti showed up again. It was a casual anniversary dinner that didn't quite go as planned. But we love the restaurant and chalked this up to new servers or kitchen staff (we hope!)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

This is quickly becoming one of our favo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is quickly becoming one of our favorite spots in Baltimore! Perfect ambiance for date night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was good but unusual. The beet ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was good but unusual. The beet salad was perfect. The pulled pork pizza was weird - chunks of pork, not slivers as we expected and a too sweet wine sauce on top. The Pistachio Pesto pizza was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner was great! We went for my birthda ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Dinner was great! We went for my birthday and it was our first time there. Would highly recommend and look forward to going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love going to this place! Food is always ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Love going to this place! Food is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a large party - ended up being 11 ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We had a large party - ended up being 11 people, original reservation was for 8, and the staff there was super accommodating and friendly! The food was excellent as was the service! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to all my friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was, as usual, very good. The w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was, as usual, very good. The waiter, however, left a lot to be desired. He was too informal ex: "are you still happy" and not nearly enough even moderately polished. Also, he disappeared and we had to ask for the check from someone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This has been one of many visits. The f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This has been one of many visits. The food has always been good and tasty. I especially like that I could get any one of their creative and good tasting pizzas on a gluten free crust. Also they have many gluten free offerings and can sub very acceptable gluten free pasta in any of their regular pasta dishes

Though I rant about the gluten free offerings my dining partners have also always enjoyed their non gluten free food choices. There is an extensive beer selection as well

Whether sitting at the bar or a table we have always been happy here. The price is appropriate for the food and service

One complaint is the draft from the doors in cold weather! Why they don't create an even temporary vestibule to decrease the drafty cold breeze that exists is not clear. When you walk into a place and see people with their coats still on that might be a tip off to the management

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good, but on the expensive side f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always good, but on the expensive side for a somewhat casual place. Prices are definitely not casual. For this money, I would consider a higher end cuisine restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Fantastic find. We will definitely be ba ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fantastic find. We will definitely be back! Great food, beer list with growlers available to go , wonderful service and check out the bottled mules. Little bit of a drive for us but we will definitely be back again and again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The pizza crust was soggy which was surp ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The pizza crust was soggy which was surprising for a place known for the pizza

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Went here on a Thursday evening for dinn ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Went here on a Thursday evening for dinner and it was a full house....that's always a good sign. Ample parking and accessibility until you get inside. The tables are very close together and it can be tricky maneuvering around other diners to get to your seat. The tables have paper on top of the cloth and the restaurant provides pencil for you to doodle on. They have artwork of past diners up on the wall which is neat.

The food was amazing. The bruschetta is a must as it is perfectly cooked. The bread is thick with a toasty crust and light, airy insides. It's not doused in olive oil like some restaurants and depending on which type you get, had arugula, tomatoes, mozzarella or other cheeses.

The carbonara was definitely one of the best, if not the best, that I've ever had. The duck egg is a great binder and the pancetta is perfectly crispy.

There is a good beer list (local and non local) and everyone at our table thoroughly enjoyed the food.

Although the food came in a timely manner, our waitress was not as attentive as we would've liked. She was great at first but seemed a little rushed. It took at least 10 minutes for her to notice we had finished dinner and although a nearby table had some great looking desserts, it was never offered to us. When she finally came with the check, it took another 10 minutes to get her attention to process it.

However, this would not discourage me from coming back because the food was great. Hopefully the service will just be better next time. I would recommend this to anyone, whether casual eating with friends or a nice date.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent food and service. We keep comi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. We keep coming back year after year. Love Birroteca!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.