About Birks Café par Europea

1240 Square Phillips
Montreal, QC H3B 3H4
View Larger Map

Whether you're from here ... or abroad, we hope that the moments spent at the Birks Café feel like a journey - a journey of discovery of culinary sweetness and pleasure. Enjoy your time at the Café, take in the surroundings and enjoy a moment of relaxation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM, Sunday : 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 2:30 PM -6:00 PM, Thursday - Friday: 2:30 PM - 9:00 PM, Saturday - Sunday: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Ste Catherine

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 397-2468

Website:
http://www.maisonbirks.com/en/cafe/

Public Transit:
McGill Metro

Executive Chef:
Olivier Chaussy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Birks Café par Europea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Montreal / Quebec
Great for Lunch
Montreal / Quebec
Great for Lunch
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (45)
great for lunch (34)
romantic (25)
See All
great for brunch (24)
fit for foodies (21)
good for groups (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It is a nice place to have friends gathe ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

It is a nice place to have friends gathering. However, the food is not as fresh as I expected.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mom and I used to spend our Saturdays at Birks looking around and shopping some 35 years ago- it was so nostalgic to go back, sit and be served to delicious and plentiful dishes on butcher's blocks on the same floor that we purchased my wedding China and cutlery. The food was absolutely delicious- from the piping hot sweet bread with homemade strawberry and orange jam to the scrambled eggs and Blt sandwich to the beef tartare served with salad and fries- to top it off, 2 mimosas and coffee served in China, only fit for Birks:) Thank you for a wonderful day and be sure that I have definitely spread the word- A gratified Birks jewelry and cafe customer:)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

As said in email tea selection severely lacking

Dined on May 3, 2016

For afternoon tea all tastes must be catered for. In our opinion you must provide a good variety of black teas as well as green, tisanes, etc.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Tartare de saumon, frais et délicieux. I ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Tartare de saumon, frais et délicieux. I will be back soon.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The experience was great and the service perfect

Dined on April 27, 2016

This was a perfect ending to a Montreal visit. We had the experience of taking the public transportation, doing some shopping and window looking. The tea and goodies was a wonderful way to end our visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service

Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was very quick & efficient. The scones were simply delicious with the cream & jam.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Afternoon tea for two - delicious and relaxing

Dined on April 22, 2016

I had the pleasure of enjoying "afternoon tea for two" with a friend at Birk's Café by Europea on a beautiful Friday afternoon, just after work. First let me gush about the service. Everyone was very pleasant, accommodating, and relaxed while still being very efficient. We stayed over 2h30 and not once did we feel any pressure from the staff to liberate the table for other clients. That made the ambiance quite relaxing for everyone. Maybe that is why it's a bit difficult to get a reservation but I like it better that way! Second, not only was the tea and food delicious, but it was plentiful so that I didn't need to eat later that evening. Don't get fooled by the small size of the portions! ** A quick note for those who think the sandwich bread is stale: it's just a type of dry bread used in traditional afternoon tea. Also, I really appreciated the fact that instead of sticking to the menu offered for the afternoon tea, the staff suggested alternatives to my friend and I, as I am diabetic and she is a vegetarian. That denotes class and excellent customer service. Finally, I found the price quite reasonable at 26.50$ each. My only constructive criticism: the teapots are lovely but the tea becomes cold quite quickly. I suggest another system to keep the tea hot.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet place

Dined on April 16, 2016

Nice and quiet place. Always the same afternoon tea menu, not to be missed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Better than expected

Dined on April 14, 2016

A friend had recommended going here for tea as she goes often, but I had also read numerous negative reviews concerning the food and service including one from the friend who was going to be joining me this time. I had to convince her to give it another chance. Her poor experience was on the weekend during the holidays. We went on a Thursday in April. We had two French servers and both were great - friendly, knowledgeable, no pretentions and we never had to wait long for service. The tea I chose was a smoked tea, so with a particular flavour. The server asked if I was familiar with it, which I was not, so he made sure that I smelled it first so that I would have an idea what it would be like. The food itself, while not amazing, was better than I was expecting, with a couple of items that stood out. You could tell that the sandwiches were pre-made as the bread was a bit dry, but otherwise I had no complaints. My friend had a couple of special requests and they were willing and able to accommodate her. The decor is a bit of a letdown as it's showing signs of age. Also one of the vents had not been cleaned in a while. That being said we both agreed that we would go back again.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Same old

Dined on April 13, 2016

The menu is good but it has not changed in two and half years. Time to refresh!!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable relaxing experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

A nice location to go for afternoon tea and enjoy a small lunch. The food was fantastic and although it doesn't look like much it was very filling. Very quiet and adult crowd. Great place to catch up with a girl friend or your mom.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was very good, service wasn't.

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had to wait a longtime to put in our order, the food took a longtime to come as well. When it came time to pay, it took a longtime to get our bill, and they had to be reminded 3 times to bring back change.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful Birks Café

Dined on March 26, 2016

Birks will always be a special place. The menu offers an unusual choice of food prepared with taste and imagination. Not your standard bacon and eggs. The jams, pâtés/creton, brioche were delicious. The service was flawless. We all enjoyed our experience and without hesitation would recommend Café Birks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Decor

Dined on March 22, 2016

I find the atmosphere lacking in the original Birks decor. Originally when the cafe was just opened, the displays were full, now they have the odd Birks box. The displays need to either be removed or decorated.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Great place to have a bite to eat, our brunch was top notch. Had the crepes suzette and wasn't disappointed. Olivier our waiter was very attentive and pleasant. Would definitely go back for lunch ...and dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem in downtown Montreal

Dined on March 13, 2016

High-class restaurant where we went for brunch with my boyfriend and his mother, wonderful experience, great poutine, excellent coffee!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very disappointed that they never came b ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Very disappointed that they never came back to fill our glass of water even if they had time. Before the service was impeccable now its pretty ordinairy. Its the second time that i am disappointed at Birks Café. It's sad.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

coffee

Dined on March 3, 2016

coffee a little expensive for quality @ $3.99, I feel as there is great $$ to food value the overall bill turns quite expensive when we realize the coffee price

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

So disappointing tea time especially for a Ferrer!

Dined on March 1, 2016

Really disappointed. Bad food, no taste, too plain or too much sugar. The decor is empty. Only a few small Birks Boxes in the windows. Ludicrous! I wanted to share an experience with my daughters and was very very disappointed. They were too. I had a wonderful experience at Europea last fall and this is a disgrace to all tea places. We had Tuango Tickets and I am sure that we did not get what was announced. I never write reviews but I had to this time.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We appreciated the quiet noise level, th ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

We appreciated the quiet noise level, the very good food and service. We appreciated also the gift offered to the celebrated person which I mentionned on the open table reservation

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Having been referred, I had high expecta ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Having been referred, I had high expectations for a great lunch experience. While our meals were good, the service was what I would expect from a diner i.e. we had to ask for butter with our rolls, milk and sugar for coffee and it was difficult to get any attention. With 2 glasses of wine, our lunch came to $100. At that price, I expect a beyond average overall experience.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Ambiance very good for business lunches, quiet.

Dined on February 17, 2016

Though the food was very good, the quantity was not enough for anyone with an appetite (and I'm not a big eater). We had to ask the waiter for bread after he brought the meal, then noticed there was no butter on the table; but didn't bother to ask as the waiter was not very fame around after he brought the meal to ask if we needed anything. For the value for the price; I would not recommend for regular lunch.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Afternoon Tea

Dined on February 7, 2016

First time experience for my sisters, mom and me with the English Afternoon Tea. It was fabulous! Salty and Sweets platter that comes with a very nice tea selection. The food is plentiful enough as you will not leave hungry - you might even leave some behind and the waiter will offer to bag the left over if you so wish. The staff is knowledgeable and very courteous and friendly, which enhances the experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food. Would gain in adding staff.

Dined on February 5, 2016

Service: it was long to acknowledge our presence. Long to take our order. Tea was lukewarm had to send it back for 2 of our party. The afternoon tea was very good apart lack of service. Staff seemed to be running.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Overrated

Dined on January 30, 2016

My breakfast poutine was overpriced both for its flavour and for its size. I've never seen such a small poutine sell for $15.50, let alone the fact that it could be beaten by virtually any other breakfast joint in Montreal. I was completely underwhelmed. In contrast, my friend had a large serving of beef tartare with salad and fries for the same price. The disparity in quantity was striking. That said, the tartare was far from perfect; it was over -seasoned. I am surprised that this restaurant is under the Europea banner. The service and ambiance, however, was exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fab lunch within Birks!

Dined on January 14, 2016

Great idea and feels luscious...would just need to fill the displays on the back wall for additional interest since we don't see downstairs... But great lunch menu and tea snacks.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Worst ever

Dined on January 12, 2016

I was called 15 minutes before my reservation to tell me that they do not do tea time at 11. They took us anyway. The sandwiches were stale and tea was cold after 5 minutes. When we asked for a specific table the waiter rolled his eyes so we had to take another table. they forgot about us when the lunch crowd appeared. We had to flag him down for our bill so we could get out of there! Worst experience ever! Would not recommend it to anyone

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Poor service

Dined on January 9, 2016

We waited a long time to be served. The café was full but there were only 2 waiters and one waitress to serve all the people. A knife was missing on our table and I asked my waiter for one but he never brought me one. The waitress happened to ask if everything was ok(our waiter did not come to our table to ask that) and I asked her for a knife and she brought me one. The food was not terrific. No, I would not recommend this place.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Off Day?

Dined on January 4, 2016

This was not the first time my friend and I have gone to Birks Cafe for the afternoon tea (it was our 6th or 7th time), so it was very apparent when the service and food was lacking and the actual afternoon tea menu changed. We were accustomed to getting the Madeleine cookie---which is no longer part of the menu, as well as the small bag of take-home treats (again, no longer included). But on top of those disappointments, the food we were served was less than fresh. The bread for the canapés and club sandwich were clearly stale. The club may have been toasted to perfection at one point, but it was tough by the time we were served the sandwich. We had difficulty biting into it! Finally, in terms of the service---lets just overlook the fact that we were served the tea without tea cups, and focus on the fact that we were waiting for our bill while the Maitre D showed the other waiter how to cover a table with a tablecloth. And then we had to wait even longer after we signaled for the bill. Honestly...bad experience this time. Too bad.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Closing service

Dined on January 2, 2016

We had reserved for 3.45pm, for afternoon tea. There was a delay with the service. We got served the tea And food close to 4.30pm. We were surprised when they came to see us at 10 to five, halfway through our service, saying they had to close. We rapped it up to go. If they cannot accomodate 3.45 seating, they shouldn't take take the booking for that time.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Nice quiet setting for an intimate conve ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Nice quiet setting for an intimate conversation or meeting. However, service was extremely slow. My companion and I ordered afternoon tea. It took more than half hour before our tea arrived and even later before our food arrived. I have ordered tea previously and it also took a while for the tea and food arrived. For those of you who are also thinking of ordering afternoon tea, keep in mind that you will have to wait for a while and not ideal for those of you who have time constraints.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

service

Dined on January 2, 2016

It tooks time before the server came to our table. We wait a long time before a coffee or water... I ask for the bill and I had to go and it took about 15 minutes before the bill came in and he was not coming back for the card so I went directly to the casher. Instead of that everything was excellent.Maybe, just puting more focus on the service. thank you

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Very disappointing

Dined on December 30, 2015

I've been to Birks before for the afternoon tea and I was very disappointed to see how everything has gone downhill since my last visit (Nov 2014). The sandwich bread was not very fresh, the hot water for the tea was not hot enough, we barely saw our waiter who didn't serve any milk and sugar and never refilled my water glass. Last time we had this amazing tropical jam served in a bowl (we loved it so much that we bought some to take home). This time we were served only a little bit of jam. The chinaware also wasn't as nice as it used to be. I used to love going here for tea and unfortunately I will no longer be a patron.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great experience

Dined on December 28, 2015

Great food, great service. We did not feel rushed even if we spent 4 hours for afternoon tea. We highly recommend.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a very good brunch. Therefore, my ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

It was a very good brunch. Therefore, my only concern was a that a chipped plate was put on my side, which is ankward for this kind of place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Lunch at Birks

Dined on December 18, 2015

The ambiance, table settings and hostess greeting and waiters are fabulous. The service staff is minimal so you might expect a longer luncheon period. If you are not in a hurry, this works out great but if you are on a schedule, you might want to reconsider. Overall though, I enjoyed my group lunch at Birks and will return soon for English Tea Time! The boutique is also a great stop after lunch to pick-up a few last minute gifts!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was barely okay. My crispy giar ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

The food was barely okay. My crispy giar cheese was soggy. It was tasty, though. But soggy is not good. The sandwiches although very ample, were on bread that the diners said was stale. The service not even okay. It seems they were understaffed that day. Sad to say, we were all disappointed. A special occasion will be memorable for the company but certainly not for the food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely stop on the shopping path

Dined on December 14, 2015

We had a lovely lunch at this chic, adorable venue. I would highly recommend dining at Birks whist on your shopping trek!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience1
service2

Sunday Tea Time: very disapointing

Dined on December 13, 2015

Service super slow. Food ok but no wow factor. Only open from 3 to 5 for the Sunday Tea, we were urged to leave. Overall, very disapointing for the price.

food4
ambience3
service1

poor service is surprising for a high end brand

Dined on December 5, 2015

The service was extremely slow. It took 20m for the waiter to come and introduce himself and another 30 before we got the tea. The food only came 30 m after the tea which we had already finished at that point. There was one waiter and one manager for the entire cafe. No one even apologized for the long wait. I will definitely NOT return to Birks Cafe, as the Ritz has superior service and a similar hightea food assortment. It was really upsetting especially since this was for a special occasion.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.