Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

JatobaJatoba
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Japanese | McMasterville, South Shore
Le Balcon Cabaret Souper-Spectacle/Dinner-ShowLe Balcon Cabaret Souper-Spectacle/Dinner-Show
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
International | Downtown, Montreal
Restaurant Toque!Restaurant Toque!
(1963)
$$$$
French / Canadian | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 38 times today
Brasserie T!Brasserie T!
(1198)
$$$$
French | Downtown, Montreal
Booked 28 times today
NotkinsNotkins
(429)
$$$$
Seafood | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 24 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Place Ville-MarieThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Place Ville-Marie
(361)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Montreal
Booked 58 times today
Beaver HallBeaver Hall
(911)
$$$$
Contemporary French | Downtown, Montreal
Booked 29 times today
Maison BouludMaison Boulud
(1118)
$$$$
French | Downtown, Montreal
Booked 56 times today
Restaurant BalsamRestaurant Balsam
(177)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Montreal
Booked 17 times today
Lov McGillLov McGill
(179)
$$$$
Vegetarian | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 39 times today
Bar GeorgeBar George
(97)
$$$$
British | Downtown, Montreal
Booked 18 times today
Graziella RestaurantGraziella Restaurant
(395)
$$$$
Italian | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 15 times today
ModavieModavie
(1865)
$$$$
French | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 41 times today
Le SerpentLe Serpent
(490)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | Old Montreal, Montreal
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - MontrealThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Montreal
(277)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Old Montreal, Montreal
Booked 23 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Permanently Closed - Birks Café par Europea

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Birks Café par Europea is a well-known café located in beautiful downtown Montreal. This sophisticated eatery is a popular location for locals and tourists alike. The elegant multi-level dining room is decorated with classic chandeliers, leather seats, detailed pillars and gorgeous accent pieces. Birks Café par Europea provides guests with a quiet and warm setting that feels as though you are dining in Europe. The menu offered at Birks Café par Europea is delectable and unique. All dishes are made to order. Chefs use only the freshest ingredients. Menu items include waffles, macaroons, poached eggs, smoked salmon, mini cucumber and shrimp sandwiches, beef tartar as well as a variety of crepes. There is also a full bar menu for customers to choose from and enjoy.

1240 Rue du Square-Phillips
0
Montr�al, H3B 3H4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM, Sunday : 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 2:30 PM -6:00 PM, Thursday - Friday: 2:30 PM - 9:00 PM, Saturday - Sunday: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Ste Catherine

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:

Website:
http://www.maisonbirks.com/en/cafe/

Public Transit:
McGill Metro

Executive Chef:
Olivier Chaussy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Il serait intéressant d'avoir plus de variétés en ce qui à trait au menu de l'Afternoon tea. De plus, bien que les pains sont toastés, en bouche, ils semblent plutôt secs, comme s'ils avaient été laissés sur le comptoir trop longtemps. Bien que je crois que la préparation des bouchées se fait à l'avance par souci de rapidité en cuisine et pour le service, cette méthode fait en sorte qu'il manque de fraîcheur dans les plats. pour la qualité du restaurant, on s'attend à plus de fraîcheur et variétés. Finalement, les chaises n'étaient pas confortables mais j'ai cru comprendre que vous alliez rénover bientôt!
Malgré tout, nous avons passé un bon moment, merci de l'accueil!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I came for high tea, the mini sandwiches were horrible. The bread was extremely stale. Very disappointed considering the price. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 1, 2016

the service was extremely slow for a business lunch...impossible to eat just a main dish within 90 minutes!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 25, 2016

J'aimerais que votre questionnaire soit entièrement EN FRANÇAIS et non pas dans deux langues. Vos traducteurs sont-ils en grève ? Je n'ai répondu qu'aux questions dans MA langue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had a thoroughly enjoyable tea. The sandwiches and desserts were delicious. Oliver could not have been more helpful and gracious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Le brunch bon mais pas la hauteur d'un restaurant en lien avec Europa dans enceintes du Birks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Horrible Service
Chipped China
Did not change our plates between services

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Nourriture excellente ainsi que le service. Belle expérience culinaire entre amies.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 12, 2016

they ran out of the daily special by 12:30. That was disappointing as the rest of the menu is very limited. The waiter was distracted so we didn't get our soup for 15 mins after ordering and then the manager came back to double check the order for our mains. All in all a mixed up service experience. The lunch took longer than expected because of this so I won't go back for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 9, 2016

It is always a great pleasure to brunch at Birks Café!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Been there several times before, all very good experiences except this time. Disappointed in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 1, 2016

triste de voir ce bel endroit en decripitude. Les chaises en pleine décomposition nous fait nous demander ou on est. certainement pas au centre ville a l interieur de la célèbre bijouterie. Ne cherchez pas les thés Mariage, il n'y en a pas. Ils ont été remplacé par les thes Kushmi, bons thés certe mais loin derrière Mariage. Bouchées faites y a plusieurs heures a base de pain sec. Les scones sont la plus grande déception. Sec et sans goût. Not a proper tea time there mais une pâle imitation. On s attendais a plus.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great ambiance, great service,good food, a little bit expensive comparing to others with same value.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Amazing for tea! Great food for good value........

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 19, 2016

This is such a pretty place to have brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner - think "Breakfast at Tiffany's." The service was impeccable and the food exactly right. We both had the appetizer of the day: a shrimp and cucumber salad with microgreens and a hint of dill. My friend had a blanquette de poulet, which she said was “creamy, rich and to die for.” I had the salmon tartar, served with zucchini “tagliatelle” and microgreens – lovely! They have a nice little by-the-glass wine list (which is optimal for lunch); we enjoyed the Sancerre and Riesling. Unusually, they had us taste the wine before our glasses were filled. A nice touch! I definitely recommend the Birks Café and will certainly be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Service peu chaleureux, rapport qualité/prix médiocre: potage sans goût, trop liquide. Portion de saumon pas très généreuse.



Nous préférons de loin le Beaver Hall pour le même prix , a l'heure du midi.




M. D'Anjou

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Very nice ambiance, food excellent. A very nice place downtown in a quiet environment

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Comfortable & enjoyed the ambiance. Amazing venue inside Birks very grand, loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I was expecting more quality food wise. The club sandwich was dry and my salad was overly salty. The dessert and coffee were very good though as well as the service. However, there were few peopl having lunch. I would not return myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I've been there several times. This time, I went for Sunday Afternoon Tea, and it was great as usual except for one thing. Probably because we were 7 people a bigger group for afternoon tea, they stuck the sandwiches on top of each other instead of placing them individually, so the bottom sandwich were kinda ruined. My friend ate it without saying anything, but for the price she was paying and ambiance we had, I'm sure she would have expected her sandwich to be nicely placed. Otherwise, it was enjoyable afternoon.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

While the food and presentation was very good, even though the waitresses were nice and smiling, there where big enough flaws in the service and lack of formality that you would not expect for the afternoon tea in an establishment like Birks. We can probably attribute it to insuffisant training, but overall, it is probably because there were only two persons attending the whole restaurant. Even though it wasn't busy, to achieve a quality service, I believe there is a certain amount of personnel you shouldn't go under.
I would still recommend it for the afternoon tea, if you're not expecting a formal service, because we did enjoy the teas and the food, the ambiance was pleasant and also, they had a very nice detail for my mother's birthday.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The quiet ambiance and historic Birks setting is a nice place to have lunch with friends or conduct business in peace. It was nice to be able to have a quiet conversation without having to strain to be heard over the "background" music. No loud music here. Service was unobtrusive, discrete and knowledgeable. The Risotto was delicious and creamy without be mushy. The squash soup and salads enjoyed by my friends were also lovely. $50 for a lunch is a little steep (includes a nice glass of wine, generously poured). But as a treat it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing Afternoon Tea experience with friends or family

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent pour les occasions à souligner; un réchaud pour la théière serait un atout supplémentaire. Service courtois et discret.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was not pleased with the service. I specifically mentioned this was a 60th birthday surprise when I reserved, and not even one person was welcoming or gave the invitee well wishes.
I chose this restaurant because I thought it had class, but during this visit, it was simply an over priced tea.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Le rapport qualité-prix est limite (chaque scone supplémentaire est facturé à prix fort), mais pour une occasion spéciale, on peut se l'offrir.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I did fill up my card at the Table on Saturday, and I did mention to the head Hotess that the Service & the attitude of the serving people was very low & need to get someone with experience & good attitude,,,,,,,,,,,,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Birk's Café: un bijou méconnu! Excellente cuisine et service à l'avenant dans un cadre propice à la conversation: un petit oasis de tranquilité dans l'animation du centre-ville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went for high tea. The tea was excellent, the scones and the jams really good but the sandwiches were dry and tasteless. Obviously prepared early in the day for consumption at 5:00p. Our waiter was attentive and pleasant but there was no ambiance and the room was almost empty. We were disappointed. Not a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lovely classy venue.

It's pricy. $50 lunch for two without drinks. Food was good.

We were served partly by a waiter and partly by the host. My personal preference is to be served by a single person.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 19, 2016

C'est la 4e fois thé au Birks Café et je l'ai souvent recommande. Cette fois, j'ai été déçue.
D'abord, je trouve déplorable qu'on ait pas d'eau minérale en format individuel au menu. Obliger l'achat d'une grande bouteille alors qu'une seule personne en désire, c'est du gaspillage (surtout à 8$, la bouteille...).
L'eau plate en carafe était tiedasse.
Le pain des canapés commençait à sécher. Pourtant, il n'etait que 15:00.
La portion de confiture était minuscule.
J'aurais apprécié que nous puissions faire la réservation Open table et recevoir la confirmation en français. La page de reservation traduite en français bloquait! Cette demande d'évaluation, d'ailleurs mal traduite, m'est aussi arrivée en anglais. J'avais fait la même remarque en décembre dernier mais, visiblement, ça n'a rien donné.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 15, 2016

To celebrate a nice occasion, to let someone know you care about them,this is the place. It is elegant, beautifully served and delicious. I have invited friends many times and have never been disappointed. The quality is excellent, and the apparence is just beautiful. You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 5, 2016

The setting for Birks Cafe is somewhat unusual being situated on the mezzanine level of Birks Jewellery Store but it works surprisingly well especially for that special treat or special occasion as in our case. The afternoon high tea service is a genuine highlight with a nice selection of savoury and sweet treats to tempt just about anyone. The service is attentive without being overly intrusive. I can thoroughly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Juste un peu déçu cette fois-ci.Pourtant habituellement c'est très bon!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I came for afternoon tea. I really the ambiance of the place and the food is good. I wish for more variety because my friend and i had only vanilla and chocolate for most desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Pour le prix la salade César était très ordinaire et le poulet trop cuit, il était dur j n'ai pu tout le manger. Je suis certaine que c'était une demie poitrine de poulet déjà cuite et réchauffée au micro onde. Bizarre de présentation, j'ai du faire moi même ma salade non coupée, tranche de fromage et bacon non coupé, vraiment très ordinaire pour le prix, pas à la hauteur de sa réputation, la vinaigrette était à part et très ordinaire.

Très déçu, Je n'y retournerai sûrement plus et beaucoup trop cher .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great service, amazing food, quiet and original place.
BUT carpet & flooring are disgusting (and I'm not one who notices these things usually) and the showcase displays on the walls around the tables are sad and empty! Kinda weird when you're at Birks, one would have figured they'd take advantage of this surrounding opportunity to display nice things.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 12, 2016

They should change the quality of the food as well as have more tea choices. When you have afternoon tea, it is a classic to have the earl grey tea..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great!!
As expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Having brunch at Birks Café is an experience well worth having. To me, eating there is special and memorable. However, my previous two visits were so outstanding, providing an unmatched blend of service and food, that it might have been too much to ask to expect such an out-of-this-world feeling yet a third time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.