About Birks Café par Europea

1240 Square Phillips
Montreal, QC H3B 3H4
View Larger Map

Whether you're from here ... or abroad, we hope that the moments spent at the Birks Café feel like a journey - a journey of discovery of culinary sweetness and pleasure. Enjoy your time at the Café, take in the surroundings and enjoy a moment of relaxation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM, Sunday : 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 2:30 PM -6:00 PM, Thursday - Friday: 2:30 PM - 9:00 PM, Saturday - Sunday: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Ste Catherine

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 397-2468

Website:
http://www.maisonbirks.com/en/cafe/

Public Transit:
McGill Metro

Executive Chef:
Olivier Chaussy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sushi
Scallops And Beats
Fish
brandade de morue
Smoked Salmon And Fennel Salad
Spinach Chorizo And Ricotta Ravioles
Far Breton
Pain Perdu With Ice Cream
Scallops And Shitake Mushrooms
Waffle
White Chocolate Mousse
Tea Time
Macarons
Assorted Chocolates
Chocolate And Macaron
Mandarine Verrine
Pistachio And Chocolate Mousse Verrine
Mimosa
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
Salmon Sandwich
Viennoiseroes, Butter And Homemade Jam
Chocolate With Candied Ginger
Three Guanaja Chocolate
Chocolate
Jasmin Mandarin Tea
dessert verrine
Jam And Chantilly
Afternoon Tea Service For 2
Verrines
Poultry Liver And Kiwi
Poached Egg
Saumon
Pain Perdu
Latte
Ricotta and shiitake ravioli
Les Oeufs

Birks Café par Europea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Montreal / Quebec
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (31)
Great for Lunch (16)
Romantic (13)
See All
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is such a pretty place to have brun ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is such a pretty place to have brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner - think "Breakfast at Tiffany's." The service was impeccable and the food exactly right. We both had the appetizer of the day: a shrimp and cucumber salad with microgreens and a hint of dill. My friend had a blanquette de poulet, which she said was “creamy, rich and to die for.” I had the salmon tartar, served with zucchini “tagliatelle” and microgreens – lovely! They have a nice little by-the-glass wine list (which is optimal for lunch); we enjoyed the Sancerre and Riesling. Unusually, they had us taste the wine before our glasses were filled. A nice touch! I definitely recommend the Birks Café and will certainly be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice ambiance, food excellent. A ve ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Very nice ambiance, food excellent. A very nice place downtown in a quiet environment

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Comfortable & enjoyed the ambiance. Amaz ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Comfortable & enjoyed the ambiance. Amazing venue inside Birks very grand, loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I was expecting more quality food wise. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I was expecting more quality food wise. The club sandwich was dry and my salad was overly salty. The dessert and coffee were very good though as well as the service. However, there were few peopl having lunch. I would not return myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I've been there several times. This time ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I've been there several times. This time, I went for Sunday Afternoon Tea, and it was great as usual except for one thing. Probably because we were 7 people a bigger group for afternoon tea, they stuck the sandwiches on top of each other instead of placing them individually, so the bottom sandwich were kinda ruined. My friend ate it without saying anything, but for the price she was paying and ambiance we had, I'm sure she would have expected her sandwich to be nicely placed. Otherwise, it was enjoyable afternoon.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

While the food and presentation was ver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

While the food and presentation was very good, even though the waitresses were nice and smiling, there where big enough flaws in the service and lack of formality that you would not expect for the afternoon tea in an establishment like Birks. We can probably attribute it to insuffisant training, but overall, it is probably because there were only two persons attending the whole restaurant. Even though it wasn't busy, to achieve a quality service, I believe there is a certain amount of personnel you shouldn't go under.

I would still recommend it for the afternoon tea, if you're not expecting a formal service, because we did enjoy the teas and the food, the ambiance was pleasant and also, they had a very nice detail for my mother's birthday.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The quiet ambiance and historic Birks se ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The quiet ambiance and historic Birks setting is a nice place to have lunch with friends or conduct business in peace. It was nice to be able to have a quiet conversation without having to strain to be heard over the "background" music. No loud music here. Service was unobtrusive, discrete and knowledgeable. The Risotto was delicious and creamy without be mushy. The squash soup and salads enjoyed by my friends were also lovely. $50 for a lunch is a little steep (includes a nice glass of wine, generously poured). But as a treat it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing Afternoon Tea experience with fr ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing Afternoon Tea experience with friends or family

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was not pleased with the service. I sp ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was not pleased with the service. I specifically mentioned this was a 60th birthday surprise when I reserved, and not even one person was welcoming or gave the invitee well wishes.

I chose this restaurant because I thought it had class, but during this visit, it was simply an over priced tea.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I did fill up my card at the Table on Sa ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I did fill up my card at the Table on Saturday, and I did mention to the head Hotess that the Service & the attitude of the serving people was very low & need to get someone with experience & good attitude,,,,,,,,,,,,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

We went for high tea. The tea was excell ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went for high tea. The tea was excellent, the scones and the jams really good but the sandwiches were dry and tasteless. Obviously prepared early in the day for consumption at 5:00p. Our waiter was attentive and pleasant but there was no ambiance and the room was almost empty. We were disappointed. Not a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Lovely classy venue. It's pricy. $50 ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lovely classy venue.

It's pricy. $50 lunch for two without drinks. Food was good.

We were served partly by a waiter and partly by the host. My personal preference is to be served by a single person.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

To celebrate a nice occasion, to let som ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

To celebrate a nice occasion, to let someone know you care about them,this is the place. It is elegant, beautifully served and delicious. I have invited friends many times and have never been disappointed. The quality is excellent, and the apparence is just beautiful. You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The setting for Birks Cafe is somewhat u ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The setting for Birks Cafe is somewhat unusual being situated on the mezzanine level of Birks Jewellery Store but it works surprisingly well especially for that special treat or special occasion as in our case. The afternoon high tea service is a genuine highlight with a nice selection of savoury and sweet treats to tempt just about anyone. The service is attentive without being overly intrusive. I can thoroughly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I came for afternoon tea. I really the a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I came for afternoon tea. I really the ambiance of the place and the food is good. I wish for more variety because my friend and i had only vanilla and chocolate for most desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, amazing food, quiet and o ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great service, amazing food, quiet and original place.

BUT carpet & flooring are disgusting (and I'm not one who notices these things usually) and the showcase displays on the walls around the tables are sad and empty! Kinda weird when you're at Birks, one would have figured they'd take advantage of this surrounding opportunity to display nice things.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

They should change the quality of the fo ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

They should change the quality of the food as well as have more tea choices. When you have afternoon tea, it is a classic to have the earl grey tea..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Great!! As expected!

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great!!

As expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Upscale brunch

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Having brunch at Birks Café is an experience well worth having. To me, eating there is special and memorable. However, my previous two visits were so outstanding, providing an unmatched blend of service and food, that it might have been too much to ask to expect such an out-of-this-world feeling yet a third time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I really enjoyed brunch. The food was de ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I really enjoyed brunch. The food was delicious and the service friendly and efficient. I definitely recommend this for a quiet group brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a nice place to have friends gathe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

It is a nice place to have friends gathering. However, the food is not as fresh as I expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mother's Day brunch

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mom and I used to spend our Saturdays at Birks looking around and shopping some 35 years ago- it was so nostalgic to go back, sit and be served to delicious and plentiful dishes on butcher's blocks on the same floor that we purchased my wedding China and cutlery. The food was absolutely delicious- from the piping hot sweet bread with homemade strawberry and orange jam to the scrambled eggs and Blt sandwich to the beef tartare served with salad and fries- to top it off, 2 mimosas and coffee served in China, only fit for Birks:)

Thank you for a wonderful day and be sure that I have definitely spread the word-

A gratified Birks jewelry and cafe customer:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As said in email tea selection severely lacking

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

For afternoon tea all tastes must be catered for. In our opinion you must provide a good variety of black teas as well as green, tisanes, etc.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Tartare de saumon, frais et délicieux. I ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Tartare de saumon, frais et délicieux. I will be back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The experience was great and the service perfect

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

This was a perfect ending to a Montreal visit. We had the experience of taking the public transportation, doing some shopping and window looking. The tea and goodies was a wonderful way to end our visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was very quick & efficient. The scones were simply delicious with the cream & jam.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Afternoon tea for two - delicious and relaxing

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I had the pleasure of enjoying "afternoon tea for two" with a friend at Birk's Café by Europea on a beautiful Friday afternoon, just after work.

First let me gush about the service. Everyone was very pleasant, accommodating, and relaxed while still being very efficient. We stayed over 2h30 and not once did we feel any pressure from the staff to liberate the table for other clients. That made the ambiance quite relaxing for everyone. Maybe that is why it's a bit difficult to get a reservation but I like it better that way!

Second, not only was the tea and food delicious, but it was plentiful so that I didn't need to eat later that evening. Don't get fooled by the small size of the portions! ** A quick note for those who think the sandwich bread is stale: it's just a type of dry bread used in traditional afternoon tea.

Also, I really appreciated the fact that instead of sticking to the menu offered for the afternoon tea, the staff suggested alternatives to my friend and I, as I am diabetic and she is a vegetarian. That denotes class and excellent customer service.

Finally, I found the price quite reasonable at 26.50$ each. My only constructive criticism: the teapots are lovely but the tea becomes cold quite quickly. I suggest another system to keep the tea hot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet place

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Nice and quiet place. Always the same afternoon tea menu, not to be missed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than expected

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

A friend had recommended going here for tea as she goes often, but I had also read numerous negative reviews concerning the food and service including one from the friend who was going to be joining me this time. I had to convince her to give it another chance. Her poor experience was on the weekend during the holidays. We went on a Thursday in April. We had two French servers and both were great - friendly, knowledgeable, no pretentions and we never had to wait long for service. The tea I chose was a smoked tea, so with a particular flavour. The server asked if I was familiar with it, which I was not, so he made sure that I smelled it first so that I would have an idea what it would be like. The food itself, while not amazing, was better than I was expecting, with a couple of items that stood out. You could tell that the sandwiches were pre-made as the bread was a bit dry, but otherwise I had no complaints. My friend had a couple of special requests and they were willing and able to accommodate her. The decor is a bit of a letdown as it's showing signs of age. Also one of the vents had not been cleaned in a while. That being said we both agreed that we would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Same old

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The menu is good but it has not changed in two and half years. Time to refresh!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable relaxing experience

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

A nice location to go for afternoon tea and enjoy a small lunch. The food was fantastic and although it doesn't look like much it was very filling. Very quiet and adult crowd. Great place to catch up with a girl friend or your mom.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good, service wasn't.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We had to wait a longtime to put in our order, the food took a longtime to come as well. When it came time to pay, it took a longtime to get our bill, and they had to be reminded 3 times to bring back change.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Delightful Birks Café

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Birks will always be a special place.

The menu offers an unusual choice of food prepared with taste and imagination. Not your standard bacon and eggs. The jams, pâtés/creton, brioche were delicious. The service was flawless.

We all enjoyed our experience and without hesitation would recommend Café Birks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Decor

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

I find the atmosphere lacking in the original Birks decor. Originally when the cafe was just opened, the displays were full, now they have the odd Birks box. The displays need to either be removed or decorated.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great!

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great place to have a bite to eat, our brunch was top notch. Had the crepes suzette and wasn't disappointed. Olivier our waiter was very attentive and pleasant. Would definitely go back for lunch ...and dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A gem in downtown Montreal

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

High-class restaurant where we went for brunch with my boyfriend and his mother, wonderful experience, great poutine, excellent coffee!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed that they never came b ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Very disappointed that they never came back to fill our glass of water even if they had time.

Before the service was impeccable now its pretty ordinairy. Its the second time that i am disappointed at Birks Café. It's sad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

coffee

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

coffee a little expensive for quality @ $3.99, I feel as there is great $$ to food value the overall bill turns quite expensive when we realize the coffee price

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointing tea time especially for a Ferrer!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Really disappointed. Bad food, no taste, too plain or too much sugar. The decor is empty. Only a few small Birks Boxes in the windows. Ludicrous! I wanted to share an experience with my daughters and was very very disappointed. They were too. I had a wonderful experience at Europea last fall and this is a disgrace to all tea places. We had Tuango Tickets and I am sure that we did not get what was announced. I never write reviews but I had to this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We appreciated the quiet noise level, th ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We appreciated the quiet noise level, the very good food and service. We appreciated also the gift offered to the celebrated person which I mentionned on the open table reservation

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.