About Birks Café par Europea

1240 Square Phillips
Montreal, QC H3B 3H4
View Larger Map

Whether you're from here ... or abroad, we hope that the moments spent at the Birks Café feel like a journey - a journey of discovery of culinary sweetness and pleasure. Enjoy your time at the Café, take in the surroundings and enjoy a moment of relaxation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM; Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM, Sunday : 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 2:30 PM -6:00 PM, Thursday - Friday: 2:30 PM - 9:00 PM, Saturday - Sunday: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Ste Catherine

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 397-2468

Website:
http://www.maisonbirks.com/en/cafe/

Public Transit:
McGill Metro

Executive Chef:
Olivier Chaussy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sushi
Scallops And Beats
Fish
brandade de morue
Smoked Salmon And Fennel Salad
Spinach Chorizo And Ricotta Ravioles
Far Breton
Scallops And Shitake Mushrooms
Pain Perdu With Ice Cream
Waffle
Chocolate And Macaron
Assorted Chocolates
White Chocolate Mousse
Macarons
Tea Time
Mandarine Verrine
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
Salmon Sandwich
Viennoiseroes, Butter And Homemade Jam
Chocolate With Candied Ginger
Mimosa
Pistachio And Chocolate Mousse Verrine
Three Guanaja Chocolate
dessert verrine
Jasmin Mandarin Tea
Chocolate
Jam And Chantilly
Afternoon Tea Service For 2
Verrines
Poached Egg
Poultry Liver And Kiwi
Saumon
Pain Perdu
Latte
Ricotta and shiitake ravioli
Les Oeufs

Birks Café par Europea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (46)
great for lunch (30)
great for brunch (23)
See All
romantic (22)
fit for foodies (17)
good for groups (7)
neighborhood gem (4)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for high tea. The tea was excell ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went for high tea. The tea was excellent, the scones and the jams really good but the sandwiches were dry and tasteless. Obviously prepared early in the day for consumption at 5:00p. Our waiter was attentive and pleasant but there was no ambiance and the room was almost empty. We were disappointed. Not a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Lovely classy venue. It's pricy. $50 ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lovely classy venue.

It's pricy. $50 lunch for two without drinks. Food was good.

We were served partly by a waiter and partly by the host. My personal preference is to be served by a single person.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

To celebrate a nice occasion, to let som ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

To celebrate a nice occasion, to let someone know you care about them,this is the place. It is elegant, beautifully served and delicious. I have invited friends many times and have never been disappointed. The quality is excellent, and the apparence is just beautiful. You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The setting for Birks Cafe is somewhat u ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The setting for Birks Cafe is somewhat unusual being situated on the mezzanine level of Birks Jewellery Store but it works surprisingly well especially for that special treat or special occasion as in our case. The afternoon high tea service is a genuine highlight with a nice selection of savoury and sweet treats to tempt just about anyone. The service is attentive without being overly intrusive. I can thoroughly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I came for afternoon tea. I really the a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I came for afternoon tea. I really the ambiance of the place and the food is good. I wish for more variety because my friend and i had only vanilla and chocolate for most desserts.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, amazing food, quiet and o ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great service, amazing food, quiet and original place.

BUT carpet & flooring are disgusting (and I'm not one who notices these things usually) and the showcase displays on the walls around the tables are sad and empty! Kinda weird when you're at Birks, one would have figured they'd take advantage of this surrounding opportunity to display nice things.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

They should change the quality of the fo ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

They should change the quality of the food as well as have more tea choices. When you have afternoon tea, it is a classic to have the earl grey tea..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Great!! As expected!

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great!!

As expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Upscale brunch

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Having brunch at Birks Café is an experience well worth having. To me, eating there is special and memorable. However, my previous two visits were so outstanding, providing an unmatched blend of service and food, that it might have been too much to ask to expect such an out-of-this-world feeling yet a third time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I really enjoyed brunch. The food was de ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I really enjoyed brunch. The food was delicious and the service friendly and efficient. I definitely recommend this for a quiet group brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a nice place to have friends gathe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

It is a nice place to have friends gathering. However, the food is not as fresh as I expected.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mother's Day brunch

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mom and I used to spend our Saturdays at Birks looking around and shopping some 35 years ago- it was so nostalgic to go back, sit and be served to delicious and plentiful dishes on butcher's blocks on the same floor that we purchased my wedding China and cutlery. The food was absolutely delicious- from the piping hot sweet bread with homemade strawberry and orange jam to the scrambled eggs and Blt sandwich to the beef tartare served with salad and fries- to top it off, 2 mimosas and coffee served in China, only fit for Birks:)

Thank you for a wonderful day and be sure that I have definitely spread the word-

A gratified Birks jewelry and cafe customer:)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As said in email tea selection severely lacking

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

For afternoon tea all tastes must be catered for. In our opinion you must provide a good variety of black teas as well as green, tisanes, etc.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Tartare de saumon, frais et délicieux. I ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Tartare de saumon, frais et délicieux. I will be back soon.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The experience was great and the service perfect

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

This was a perfect ending to a Montreal visit. We had the experience of taking the public transportation, doing some shopping and window looking. The tea and goodies was a wonderful way to end our visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was very quick & efficient. The scones were simply delicious with the cream & jam.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Afternoon tea for two - delicious and relaxing

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I had the pleasure of enjoying "afternoon tea for two" with a friend at Birk's Café by Europea on a beautiful Friday afternoon, just after work.

First let me gush about the service. Everyone was very pleasant, accommodating, and relaxed while still being very efficient. We stayed over 2h30 and not once did we feel any pressure from the staff to liberate the table for other clients. That made the ambiance quite relaxing for everyone. Maybe that is why it's a bit difficult to get a reservation but I like it better that way!

Second, not only was the tea and food delicious, but it was plentiful so that I didn't need to eat later that evening. Don't get fooled by the small size of the portions! ** A quick note for those who think the sandwich bread is stale: it's just a type of dry bread used in traditional afternoon tea.

Also, I really appreciated the fact that instead of sticking to the menu offered for the afternoon tea, the staff suggested alternatives to my friend and I, as I am diabetic and she is a vegetarian. That denotes class and excellent customer service.

Finally, I found the price quite reasonable at 26.50$ each. My only constructive criticism: the teapots are lovely but the tea becomes cold quite quickly. I suggest another system to keep the tea hot.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet place

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Nice and quiet place. Always the same afternoon tea menu, not to be missed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than expected

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

A friend had recommended going here for tea as she goes often, but I had also read numerous negative reviews concerning the food and service including one from the friend who was going to be joining me this time. I had to convince her to give it another chance. Her poor experience was on the weekend during the holidays. We went on a Thursday in April. We had two French servers and both were great - friendly, knowledgeable, no pretentions and we never had to wait long for service. The tea I chose was a smoked tea, so with a particular flavour. The server asked if I was familiar with it, which I was not, so he made sure that I smelled it first so that I would have an idea what it would be like. The food itself, while not amazing, was better than I was expecting, with a couple of items that stood out. You could tell that the sandwiches were pre-made as the bread was a bit dry, but otherwise I had no complaints. My friend had a couple of special requests and they were willing and able to accommodate her. The decor is a bit of a letdown as it's showing signs of age. Also one of the vents had not been cleaned in a while. That being said we both agreed that we would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Same old

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The menu is good but it has not changed in two and half years. Time to refresh!!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable relaxing experience

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

A nice location to go for afternoon tea and enjoy a small lunch. The food was fantastic and although it doesn't look like much it was very filling. Very quiet and adult crowd. Great place to catch up with a girl friend or your mom.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good, service wasn't.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We had to wait a longtime to put in our order, the food took a longtime to come as well. When it came time to pay, it took a longtime to get our bill, and they had to be reminded 3 times to bring back change.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Delightful Birks Café

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Birks will always be a special place.

The menu offers an unusual choice of food prepared with taste and imagination. Not your standard bacon and eggs. The jams, pâtés/creton, brioche were delicious. The service was flawless.

We all enjoyed our experience and without hesitation would recommend Café Birks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Decor

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

I find the atmosphere lacking in the original Birks decor. Originally when the cafe was just opened, the displays were full, now they have the odd Birks box. The displays need to either be removed or decorated.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great!

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great place to have a bite to eat, our brunch was top notch. Had the crepes suzette and wasn't disappointed. Olivier our waiter was very attentive and pleasant. Would definitely go back for lunch ...and dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A gem in downtown Montreal

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

High-class restaurant where we went for brunch with my boyfriend and his mother, wonderful experience, great poutine, excellent coffee!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed that they never came b ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Very disappointed that they never came back to fill our glass of water even if they had time.

Before the service was impeccable now its pretty ordinairy. Its the second time that i am disappointed at Birks Café. It's sad.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

coffee

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

coffee a little expensive for quality @ $3.99, I feel as there is great $$ to food value the overall bill turns quite expensive when we realize the coffee price

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointing tea time especially for a Ferrer!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Really disappointed. Bad food, no taste, too plain or too much sugar. The decor is empty. Only a few small Birks Boxes in the windows. Ludicrous! I wanted to share an experience with my daughters and was very very disappointed. They were too. I had a wonderful experience at Europea last fall and this is a disgrace to all tea places. We had Tuango Tickets and I am sure that we did not get what was announced. I never write reviews but I had to this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We appreciated the quiet noise level, th ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We appreciated the quiet noise level, the very good food and service. We appreciated also the gift offered to the celebrated person which I mentionned on the open table reservation

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Having been referred, I had high expecta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Having been referred, I had high expectations for a great lunch experience. While our meals were good, the service was what I would expect from a diner i.e. we had to ask for butter with our rolls, milk and sugar for coffee and it was difficult to get any attention. With 2 glasses of wine, our lunch came to $100. At that price, I expect a beyond average overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Ambiance very good for business lunches, quiet.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Though the food was very good, the quantity was not enough for anyone with an appetite (and I'm not a big eater). We had to ask the waiter for bread after he brought the meal, then noticed there was no butter on the table; but didn't bother to ask as the waiter was not very fame around after he brought the meal to ask if we needed anything.

For the value for the price; I would not recommend for regular lunch.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Afternoon Tea

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

First time experience for my sisters, mom and me with the English Afternoon Tea. It was fabulous! Salty and Sweets platter that comes with a very nice tea selection. The food is plentiful enough as you will not leave hungry - you might even leave some behind and the waiter will offer to bag the left over if you so wish. The staff is knowledgeable and very courteous and friendly, which enhances the experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. Would gain in adding staff.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Service: it was long to acknowledge our presence. Long to take our order.

Tea was lukewarm had to send it back for 2 of our party.

The afternoon tea was very good apart lack of service. Staff seemed to be running.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Overrated

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My breakfast poutine was overpriced both for its flavour and for its size. I've never seen such a small poutine sell for $15.50, let alone the fact that it could be beaten by virtually any other breakfast joint in Montreal. I was completely underwhelmed.

In contrast, my friend had a large serving of beef tartare with salad and fries for the same price. The disparity in quantity was striking. That said, the tartare was far from perfect; it was over -seasoned. I am surprised that this restaurant is under the Europea banner.

The service and ambiance, however, was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Fab lunch within Birks!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Great idea and feels luscious...would just need to fill the displays on the back wall for additional interest since we don't see downstairs...

But great lunch menu and tea snacks.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worst ever

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

I was called 15 minutes before my reservation to tell me that they do not do tea time at 11. They took us anyway. The sandwiches were stale and tea was cold after 5 minutes. When we asked for a specific table the waiter rolled his eyes so we had to take another table. they forgot about us when the lunch crowd appeared. We had to flag him down for our bill so we could get out of there! Worst experience ever! Would not recommend it to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Poor service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We waited a long time to be served. The café was full but there were only 2 waiters and one waitress to serve all the people.

A knife was missing on our table and I asked my waiter for one but he never brought me one. The waitress happened to ask if everything was ok(our waiter did not come to our table to ask that) and I asked her for a knife and she brought me one.

The food was not terrific. No, I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Off Day?

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

This was not the first time my friend and I have gone to Birks Cafe for the afternoon tea (it was our 6th or 7th time), so it was very apparent when the service and food was lacking and the actual afternoon tea menu changed. We were accustomed to getting the Madeleine cookie---which is no longer part of the menu, as well as the small bag of take-home treats (again, no longer included). But on top of those disappointments, the food we were served was less than fresh. The bread for the canapés and club sandwich were clearly stale. The club may have been toasted to perfection at one point, but it was tough by the time we were served the sandwich. We had difficulty biting into it! Finally, in terms of the service---lets just overlook the fact that we were served the tea without tea cups, and focus on the fact that we were waiting for our bill while the Maitre D showed the other waiter how to cover a table with a tablecloth. And then we had to wait even longer after we signaled for the bill. Honestly...bad experience this time. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Closing service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We had reserved for 3.45pm, for afternoon tea. There was a delay with the service. We got served the tea And food close to 4.30pm. We were surprised when they came to see us at 10 to five, halfway through our service, saying they had to close. We rapped it up to go. If they cannot accomodate 3.45 seating, they shouldn't take take the booking for that time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.