About Bin 36

161 N. Jefferson St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Bin 36 is a casual, friendly and affordable spot where wine novices can enjoy over 50 wines by the glass. Learning about wine does not have to be complicated! BIN 36's staff is enthusiastically prepared to offer people a great environment to learn and enjoy great food and fantastic wine. Open for lunch & dinner 7 days a week!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch
Mon- Fri: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
*Limited afternoon menu
available from 3:00 pm -5:00 pm

Dinner
Mon-Thu - 5:00 pm - 9.30 pm
*Limited evening menu
available from 9:30 pm - 10:45 pm

Fri - 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
*Limited evening menu
available from 10:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Sat - 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
*Limited evening menu
available from 10:00 pm -11:30 pm

Sun -3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Bar
Mon-Thu - open till 11:00 pm
Fr - Sat - open till 12:30 am
Sun - open till 10:00 pm

Afternoon
Sat: 12:00 am - 4:00 pm
*Limited afternoon Menu
available from 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Brunch
Sun: 10:00am - 3:00pm



Cross Street:
Between W Lake and W Randolph

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 995-6560

Website:
http://www.bin36.com/

Public Transit:
Clinton CTA, Pink Line/Green Line, Indoor bike parking available
CTA Bus #56 Northbound on Jefferson, Southbound on Desplains
Metra Oglivie Station

Executive Chef:
Shane Graybeal

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Ongoing series of classes on a monthly basis around wine, cheese, and food!

Restaurant Photos

  • Bin 36
  • Bin 36
  • Bin 36
  • Bin 36
  • Bin 36
  • Lemon Ricotta Pancakes
  • Chorizo Burger With Fries
  • Mimosas
Bin 36
Bin 36
Bin 36
Bin 36
Bin 36
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes
Chorizo Burger With Fries
Mimosas

Promotions

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$8 Lunch Special

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Half Priced Bottles

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Half Priced Bottles (All Day Monday)

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
$13 wine flights all day, every Wednesday! Create your own or select from our curated list of wine flights. Premium wine flight excluded. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 9, 2016 - Jul 9, 2016 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.
$8 Lunch Special

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details
Join us for lunch for just $8! A new menu item each day of the week for just $8. Valid Monday thru Friday during lunch hours only. Limited time offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 4, 2016 - Oct 4, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.
Half Priced Bottles

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Make your Sunday Funday even more fun with half priced bottles of wine every Sunday starting at 3pm! Valid on select bottles. Ask your server for details. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 5, 2016 - Oct 5, 2016 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Half Priced Bottles (All Day Monday)

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:30 PM

Details
We know how to make your Monday a little better...half priced bottles of wine! Join us for a select list of half priced bottles of wine all day, every Monday. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 6, 2016 - Oct 6, 2016 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:30 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 6:30PM - 9:00PM

Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Wed 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Thu 6:30PM - 9:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

BIN 36 can accommodate 10 to 250 people. *Wine Tastings and classes *Blending Events *Corporate & private reception and dinner parties *Great team building ideas *Wedding receptions and bat mitzvahs *Bachelorette and surprise parties *Casino nights & lots of other fun things

Bin 36 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago
Best Restaurants in West Loop ›

notable wine list (49)
fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (27)
See All
great for outdoor dining (24)
neighborhood gem (22)
special occasion (20)
romantic (15)
great for lunch (10)
great for brunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Wine and cheese are clearly the highligh ...

Dined 5 days ago

Wine and cheese are clearly the highlighted items. Food choices are limited, and the quality and variety of dinner entrees are not especially high. But the wine flights and appetizers, coupled with the high quality service, made this an enjoyable evening overall.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere is very quiet and it is b ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The atmosphere is very quiet and it is beautiful inside and out. The wine bottle prices are reasonably priced. The service is professional and not overbearing.

food5
ambience4
service5

Not just a wine bar. The lamb was excell ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Not just a wine bar. The lamb was excellent and my girlfriend had the market fish (tuna) also very good. Asparagus side dish makes a terrific appetizer. service very attentive and well informed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistency

Dined on June 9, 2016

Just hosted a business luncheon and food/service was great. Have "bin there" numerous times since the West Loop opening in Spring 2015 for luncheons, social dinners and private events. One of my favorite venues, ambience/staff good, pricing reasonable and nice consistency in varied food/beverage offerings.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

Disappointing in every way.

Dined on June 8, 2016

I had high hopes, having been a fan of the River North Location. The service was slow and inattentive. The food was slow and disappointing. Lunch took 90 excruciating minutes. There is little to no chance I will ever give 36 another shot.

food4
ambience5
service5

Sat outside Sunday wait staff very good

Dined on June 6, 2016

Sat outside Sunday wait staff very good

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Good Food - Okay Service

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had to ask our waiter for napkins and silverware AFTER our food came. It would take him 10-20 minutes before he would stop by our table each time when we needed something, and when he did he seemed rushed. Maybe they were understaffed that day? I understand that they were probably busy as it was one of the first warm summer nights of the season, but to have to ask for a knife and a napkin after getting your meal? Seems a little silly. The food and wine were phenomenal though and I LOVED the special sauce. Also we asked the waiter for a cheese recommendation and he perfectly suggested one that had exactly the taste that we had wanted at the moment. So kudos to him for that!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Love the new Bin

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Loved Province, sad they closed. Always wanted to love the old Bin, but it was kind of big and loud and hard to manage service. New Bin, which I believe arose when some old Bin employees bought the concept and name, works well in the space. Service always attentive and friendly. Similar wine and cheese concepts, better food, and now smaller -- more of a neighborhood gem.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a lovely evening! Cheese & charcute ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Such a lovely evening! Cheese & charcuterie flights were delicious!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The wine flights were awesome, and the w ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The wine flights were awesome, and the wine we picked was very reasonable. SERVICE was outstanding!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

The food I tried was delicious but a bit ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food I tried was delicious but a bit pricey. They also have a great variety of wine and flights.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic food, some unique choices. The ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Fantastic food, some unique choices. The wine flights were tasty and decent price. We had theater tickets and they were very cognizant of our time crunch. The only negative was that it was very loud and difficult to have a conversation. Easy to find, good location slightly away from the theater mobs which I liked and was a plus for me.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit. We found the ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This was our first visit. We found the wine and cheese flights to be exquisite, and the fish of the day was exceptional. We'll definitely be back. The server was friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Service was kind of slow and my meat was ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Service was kind of slow and my meat was underdone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I go for both business luncheons and ev ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I go for both business luncheons and evening social dining. Service, beverages and food along with a friendly, but not "overbearing" atmosphere, are the reasons I keep returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an absolutely amazing experience her ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Had an absolutely amazing experience here!! Came in looking for some good wine and good food and was not disappointed. My girlfriend and I saw they had a chef's menu and we were sold. Do yourself a favor and give it a try. The chefs make an excellent meal experience and if you can't trust the chefs then why go to a restaurant. Everything from start to finish was great. Every single person who came to our table was friendly and wanted to make sure we were taken care of. Our server Aaron was friendly and funny. I'm head over heels for this place. I can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food, the wine, and the service were ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The food, the wine, and the service were excellent. Very attentive staff. The cheese flight was generous and delicious. This is great for a group outing or romantic meal.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and great wine. Definitely a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food and great wine. Definitely a fun place for friends, couples or groups.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food, service was attentive wi ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Very good food, service was attentive without being annoying. Nice wine list with several reasonably priced glasses and bottles. We got a nice enough day to sit out on the patio.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very welcoming

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch! The waitstaff was above and beyond. Very friendly and helpful. We felt very relaxed and enjoyed our entire visit. Only wish we lived in Chicago and could visit again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot before lyric

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was great. They accept the WBEZ member card Easy walk to Lyric

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

Had the Carolina BBQ sandwich. Bun tast ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Had the Carolina BBQ sandwich. Bun tasted old and dry and BBQ had little flavor. Also had the grilled cheese. Sandwich was good, but crust on bread was hard and uneatable. Server took our order and we never saw him again until the check came. Then he told us no refills on iced tea. Not surprising place was dead at lunchtime. Would not go back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Wines and Cheese Pairings

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great place for a group to go for wine flights, cheeses, and entrees. They also sell wines by the bottle. They have many lesser known wines, as well as the old favorites.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Surprisingly Tasty

Dined on April 28, 2016

I am not a vegetarian guy, but my wife and I ended up selecting two vegetarian dishes, the cauliflower steak and the barley dish. They were both so good that we are planning to return to try them again. We truly enjoyed our meal here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even better now than before!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

I decided to check out Bin 36's happy hour (M-F 4:30-6:30) with a girlfriend one night, unsure of what to expect. I loved the old Bin 36 and didn't know if this would live up to expectation. Wow- it surpassed my expectations!! The food was delicious and a very good value (highly recommend the liver mousse and the cauliflower salad). Drinks were well priced and there was a lot of variety to choose from. None of that though compares to the attentive and thoughtful service. Our glasses were never empty, our server provides excellent recommendations and, when I told him I wanted to take a few bottles home but didn't want to spend more than X, he hooked me up. He chose great wines that stayed within my price range. Want to go back every night!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Not worth it outside of Wine Wednesday

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

On a relatively slow Monday evening, the service was terrible, food was moderately warmed (the warm bread appetizer was just cold), and it was just way too expensive

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Friendly Sunday Night

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We found ourselves in the West Loop on a rainy Sunday evening. We saw Bin 36 had moved, and liked the old one. It was kind of empty, which was fine. Our server was great, and helped us through wine selection with some free samples. We got a cheese sampler to start, which our 10-year-old boy loved, and then the entrees were fast and just as ordered. (Strip steak, duck, and scallops.) Great option for a quiet night out.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot near the Loop to have a get a ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great spot near the Loop to have a get acquainted conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent Quality

Dined on April 3, 2016

Just a great restaurant for evening dining out, business lunches or a late night cocktail or wine. Been at Bin regularly since reopening 4/15 and have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Not worth the price

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Reservations at Bin 36 for Easter brunch They only served a buffet, which by 1 pm did not look appealing . They would no allow us to order from the menu. The restaurant was extremely hot with no ventilation and very noisy. Not a good value or food.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I went to Bin 36 for Easter Brunch. This ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I went to Bin 36 for Easter Brunch. This was the 4th or 5th time I have done so. However, this was the first time at their new location. Sadly, the offerings were about half what they had been in the past. However, the price was the same. I really, really enjoyed it in the past, not so much with the limited selection. I won't go again.....and that makes me sad.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easter Brunch for two.

Dined on March 27, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to BIN36 for Easter Brunch. The restaurant décor and layout are very well done. The hostess and staff are very friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent. The service was excellent. Brunch pricing was comparable to other options in the city. My only negative comment is the brunch announcements I had read for BIN36 listed the mimosa and bloody Mary flights as part of the brunch pricing. They were additional. I would definitely go to BIN36 again and I recommend it for others.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday

Dined on March 26, 2016

Went for my cousin's birthday. Had an awesome night stayed for about 5 and half hours great night

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Our first visit. We had two wine flights, both interesting and very nice, the world-traveler cheese plate - nice selections. Creamy smooth potato-kale soup - excellent. We tried the duck based on the waiter's recommendation and we both loved it. Interesting tastes and textures on the plate. Thank you for encouraging us to try something new! Finished off with chocolate-caramel cake - not heavy with a light caramel flavor - also excellent. Overall excellent experience! We will definitely be telling our friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Grilled cheese sandwich was excellent. T ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Grilled cheese sandwich was excellent. The free cookie for dessert was a pleasant unexpected surprise.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice place for a lunch meeting. Qui ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Very nice place for a lunch meeting. Quiet, good food and great service. Would give it five stars after another visit. Would also enjoy having some wine the next time I arrive in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thrilled to rediscover Bin 36

Dined on March 12, 2016

Months ago, I walked by Bin 36's River North location and was sad to see that it no longer was there. What a delight when a friend suggested that we meet there for dinner the other night! They'd merely moved to the West Loop. Whoo hoo! To top it off, we had the pleasure of a table visit by the genuinely warm and hospitable owner, Enoch Shully. I love the new location--and, as always, the food and wine were divine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Meh

Dined on March 10, 2016

Everything about my visit was meh. First, I was excited to find out the night I dined all wine flights were $13. All of the wines were ok; for $13 I could have stopped by Trader Joe's and gotten two, better bottles of wine. Next, my group ordered a couple plates to share. I ordered the brussel sprouts, which came out in a pool of oil and drenched with cheese and salt; needless to say I didn't end up eating much of those. We also ordered the duck nuggets, recommended by our waitress. They were overpriced and beyond underwhelming- I didn't even finish one. Our entrees came out and were all ok albeit overpriced for what we got. I am disappointed I selected this restaurant for a dinner with friends; I really wish I had chosen more wisely. There are so many other great options in the West Loop, just pass on this one. I'm still bummed about my experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

the staff is friendly and gracious, food is delish

Dined on March 6, 2016

Service is great and so is the food/wine. The Sunday Supper is a great value and delicious. Wine flights are fun to try but can't go wrong with 1/2 price bottles of wine on Sunday and Monday. Also have a live music on the weekend which adds to the ambiance. Great evening with family or friends. Bon Appetit!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine, but mostly empty

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Great food, wine flight was a great value, live music was a nice touch. Couldn't believe it wasn't crowded.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.