About Bin 36

161 N. Jefferson St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Bin 36 is a casual, friendly and affordable spot where wine novices can enjoy over 50 wines by the glass. Learning about wine does not have to be complicated! BIN 36's staff is enthusiastically prepared to offer people a great environment to learn and enjoy great food and fantastic wine. Open for lunch & dinner 7 days a week!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, American

Hours of Operation:
Mon–Thu 11:30am–10:45pm
Fri 11:30am–11:30pm
Sat 3pm–11:30pm
Sun 10am–9pm

Cross Street:
Between W Lake and W Randolph

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 995-6560

Website:
http://www.bin36.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and street parking available.

Public Transit:
- CTA El: Clinton Pink Line/Green Line
- CTA Bus #56 Northbound on Jefferson, Southbound on Desplains
- Metra: Ogilvie Station is 2 blocks away

Executive Chef:
Shane Graybeal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ongoing series of classes on a monthly basis around wine, cheese, and food! Our private dining room and out door patio is the perfect place to host your next event. We welcome any event from 15 to 250.

Restaurant Photos

  • Bin 36, Chicago, IL
  • Bin 36, Chicago, IL
  • Dining Room - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
  • Bar - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
  • Patio - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
  • Patio - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
  • Lemon Ricotta Pancakes - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
  • Chorizo Burger With Fries - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
  • Mimosas - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
Bin 36, Chicago, IL
Bin 36, Chicago, IL
Dining Room - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
Bar - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
Patio - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
Patio - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
Chorizo Burger With Fries - Bin 36, Chicago, IL
Mimosas - Bin 36, Chicago, IL

Specials

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Half price appetizers, happy hour wines, & much mo

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$13 wine flights all day, every Wednesday! Create your own or select from our curated list of wine flights. Premium wine flight excluded. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 30, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Half price appetizers, happy hour wines, & much mo

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us every day Monday through Friday for half price appetizers, happy hour wines, happy hour draft beers and $8 classic cocktails from our experienced mixologist. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 30, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 6:45PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Sat 10:00AM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

BIN 36 offers seated dinners, cocktail receptions, networking events, holiday parties and a variety of social events. We can accommodate groups from 10 to 250 guests. We also offer a variety of fun activities, such as wine tastings, blending events, wine and cheese pairings and mixology classes.

Bin 36 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
1544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food, the steak was cooked to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful food, the steak was cooked to perfection, the muscles in pumpkin coconut broth was to die for. The wine is always good, and the staff does an excellent job. We have been going to Bin 36 for years and it is always good.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went last year and the food was much ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went last year and the food was much better. Portions were smaller this year and the dessert I had was not good

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I visited Bin 36 for Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I visited Bin 36 for Thanksgiving dinner after a friend recommended it and I had a great night. The food was delicious and the wine pairings perfect. Would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To say it was a disappointing Thanksgivi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

To say it was a disappointing Thanksgiving dinner experience is a bit understated.

Did not feel welcomed when we entered even though had made a reservation days in advance. Seated right by the door even with other tables available. Waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged by the waitstaff.

Honestly should have left, as nothing following made the above tolerable.

We had reviewed the pre fixe menu so we knew what we were ordering.

Best dish was the cauliflower soup even at room temperature.

The turkey dish including the sides were cold and I have seen better presentations at cafeterias.

The prime rib was ok but again presentation and cold food.

It was too late to turn back eat what we could and move on.

Desert well, pumpkin pie had an off taste and the pecan pastry seemed right out of the fridge,

Lastly, the pours for the wine pairings were not much more than a shot glass,

This may be a good place at other times but doing thanksgiving is not a strength.

At least we did not get sick

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Love this restaurant. Tasty, interesting ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Love this restaurant. Tasty, interesting food delicious wine and great service. The thanksgiving menu was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have only positive things to say about ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have only positive things to say about Bin 36: I had been to the old location in River North years ago, but the West Loop ambiance is even better. The service was great, the wine flights are fun, the food is delicious, and the owner is very friendly and has so much knowledge to share (if you want him to!)... The dessert flight is truly amazing. We had a perfect night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went went my wife for our wedding annive ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went went my wife for our wedding anniversary. Service and staff were excellent, attentive, and had great meal suggestions. Couldn't have had a better experience. Ambiance was great, drink selection was a plus. Would suggest Bin 36 to anyone for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server explained the menus very well ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our server explained the menus very well. We had a cheese flight and 3 small plates and all were superb! Highly re recommended and a great value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very disappointing brunch. the restau ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A very disappointing brunch. the restaurants opened at 10:00 a.m. on Sunday and we arrived at 10:30 and were the first customers. They were not ready for customers. We order the beignets and were told that they would not be ready for a long while. So we went ahead and ordered our meal and told them we would order beignets after the meal if we were still hungry. Two of us ordered "Lemon and Ricotta Pancakes Blueberry compote, whipped mascarpone"). I ordered one egg over easy. When our pancakes arrived the plates were cold - not a major problem but it is nice to serve hot food on warm plates. The pancakes were large with 3 very small dollops of lemon mascarpone and about 10 fresh blueberries (not a compote as we expected!) The whole dish was very dry so I asked for some of the lemon sauce that the pancakes were served with in the past, but they said they did not have any and gave us some warm maple syrup instead. The over easy egg was hard and cold - perhaps because of the cold plate it was served on. A desultory meal at best. They did bring us 3 beignets at the end of our meal but as none of us as finished our meals we did not really need the beignets but we tasted them as they were offering the beignets to us free of charge. They were disappointing too. They were more like the hush puppies you get at Long John Silver than beignets which are supposed to be light and airy. And they were heavily coated in cinnamon - not what we had hoped for. We did not eat them. In addition to the problems with our meal and the service, we found the menu very limited. On our previous morning in Chicago we had had brunch at The Kitchen on Clarke Street and found the food and service there to be excellent. We had also enjoyed breakfast at Grand Lux - again excellent. We will not be returning to Bin 36.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Overall, Bin 36 was a very nice atmosphe ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Overall, Bin 36 was a very nice atmosphere. I went with my sister for dinner and drinks, but the portions were very small and I don't think the cost was worth the amount of food served.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful Sunday brunch at Bin 36. The a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful Sunday brunch at Bin 36. The apple beignets are to die for! Also had their delicious Fancy Toasts and a unique fruit plate. Cannot recommend them enough; service is always great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As the name implies, this restaurant has ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

As the name implies, this restaurant has a nice wine list. The grilled cheese and fried brussel sprouts were excellent. If you have more than one glass of wine, this place can get expensive.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was good. Service mediocre. Prices ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was good. Service mediocre. Prices high. Overall, just not worth the spend.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

This was a great place to celebrate our ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was a great place to celebrate our two runners after the Chicago marathon. The menu had something to offer everyone. The french fries are DELICIOUS! Everyone loved their meals, and we had some picky people with us. The space is very nicely decorated. Great outdoor space also. They have a private area also. The staff was excellent. Nothing bad to say about this place.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff went above and beyond to ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The wait staff went above and beyond to make our granddaughter's 16th birthday special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good location specially after or before ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good location specially after or before the opera. Excellent wine collection and good guide for wine and food pairing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best brussel sprouts in the city! Bin 3 ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Best brussel sprouts in the city!

Bin 36 is a bit far from my office but worth the long walk or short cab ride. The brussel sprouts appetizer is to die for and great for sharing among 2-3 people. I also enjoy receiving the e-mails about their daily (Monday through Friday) $8 lunch specials, which are a great value and always seem to offer an interesting variety from week to week. Overall, great food and great service and I can't recall a dining experience at Bin 36 where I left feeling disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bin 36 is a wine bar that happens to mak ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Bin 36 is a wine bar that happens to make great food. They have an excellent and simple recommended wine pairing system. Our service was impeccable. The menu is small, but the food was good, if not especially noteworthy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great dining experience Excellent serv ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great dining experience Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine selection. Brunch options wer ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great wine selection. Brunch options were phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good location, a bit expensive, food is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

good location, a bit expensive, food is good, but not great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Perfectly lovely place for a Friday nigh ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Perfectly lovely place for a Friday night al fresco dinner with friends. Don't get the scallops - there were only 3 little ones. Delish, but come on!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious and expansive wine selection. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Delicious and expansive wine selection. Would love the charcuterie plates to be a bit more full, but overall delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Probably a great after-work wine bar wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Probably a great after-work wine bar with a good wine, cheese and dried meats selection. Food was good too but not a good option for a date night - we got there around 9 and it was pretty empty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Always great food, fine service, pleasan ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always great food, fine service, pleasant atmosphere and it all comes at a fair price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced, food just plain off, wine go ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Overpriced, food just plain off, wine good but overpriced as well. This is not a value, there are so many great restaurents in Chicago, this is a puzzle they are not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Though a long-time fan of Bin 36, this w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Though a long-time fan of Bin 36, this was my first time experiencing since their move to the West Loop. The wine list is always outstanding, and the food is excellent. I highly recommend their Sangria blend, as it has a very unique, spiced flavor. The cheese plates, imported salami, and roasted Brussel sprouts were excellent for sharing. I also highly recommend the Hangar Steak / Flank Steak, as the portion size is not too overwhelming, and the subtle flavors blended with the duck fat roasted potatoes are heavenly. Of the many excellent choices in the West Loop, Bin 36 is definitely worth the stop.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed brunch here and look f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We really enjoyed brunch here and look forward to returning to try dinner. I thought the mimosa flight was fun.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Bin 36 continues yo be one of favorites ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Bin 36 continues yo be one of favorites for personal and business dining. A great atmosphere, great people and, most importantly, great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service, we will re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Outstanding food and service, we will return! The Chef at this place is brilliant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great and healthy and tasty food at a ve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great and healthy and tasty food at a very fair price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a good restaurant for business ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is a good restaurant for business lunch. The portion seems too small. Need to provide bread along with main salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun spot for a girls night. We had wine ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fun spot for a girls night. We had wine flights, a meat and cheese plate and the halibut special. The fish was nicely cooked and the staff was quite attentive. Even had a small glass of bubbly for my birthday! It rained so we couldn't enjoy the patio. Next time, I'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant...love the ambience! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing restaurant...love the ambience! Manager is very attentive, walks by to ensure all guests are satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The brussel sprouts appetizer is to die ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The brussel sprouts appetizer is to die for and perfect to share. We also each had $8 meals as part of the Wednesday special -- great food at a great value! Very friendly service, too. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine but the food was only mediocr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great wine but the food was only mediocre. We had the watermelon gazpacho soup which was watery and not as cold as it should have been. The brussel sprouts were tasty as was the burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

I have some dietary restrictions and the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have some dietary restrictions and the chef took the time to come out and talk to me and make it work. And it was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a patch on the original operation ou ...

 
 (Cambridge)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Not a patch on the original operation out on Dearborn. Location is good....if anyone finds it. The menu is reduced and honestly, the food should be better; the staff more responsive too. Such a shame as Enoch has worked so hard building it up....

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I loved my white wine, bubbly flight. My ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I loved my white wine, bubbly flight. My boyfriend was less impressed with his Argentinian flight. The triple x cheese flight was great minus the mozzarella. I liked the grilled calamari. My lamb was very good too and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Blueberry Pavolava. Nuff' Said

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Blueberry Pavolava. Nuff' Said

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.