About Bin 36

161 N. Jefferson St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Bin 36 is a casual, friendly and affordable spot where wine novices can enjoy over 50 wines by the glass. Learning about wine does not have to be complicated! BIN 36's staff is enthusiastically prepared to offer people a great environment to learn and enjoy great food and fantastic wine. Open for lunch & dinner 7 days a week!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, American

Hours of Operation:
Mon–Thu 11:30am–10:45pm
Fri 11:30am–11:30pm
Sat 3pm–11:30pm
Sun 10am–9pm

Cross Street:
Between W Lake and W Randolph

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 995-6560

Website:
http://www.bin36.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and street parking available.

Public Transit:
- CTA El: Clinton Pink Line/Green Line
- CTA Bus #56 Northbound on Jefferson, Southbound on Desplains
- Metra: Ogilvie Station is 2 blocks away

Executive Chef:
Shane Graybeal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ongoing series of classes on a monthly basis around wine, cheese, and food!

Restaurant Photos

  • Bin 36
  • Bin 36
  • Bin 36
  • Bin 36
  • Bin 36
  • Lemon Ricotta Pancakes
  • Chorizo Burger With Fries
  • Mimosas
Bin 36
Bin 36
Bin 36
Bin 36
Bin 36
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes
Chorizo Burger With Fries
Mimosas

Promotions

$8 Lunch Special

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Half Priced Bottles

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

$8 Lunch Special

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Join us for lunch for just $8! A new menu item each day of the week for just $8. Valid Monday thru Friday during lunch hours only. Limited time offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 4, 2016 - Oct 4, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Half Priced Bottles

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Make your Sunday Funday even more fun with half priced bottles of wine every Sunday starting at 3pm! Valid on select bottles. Ask your server for details. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 5, 2016 - Oct 5, 2016 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Sat 10:00AM - 2:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

BIN 36 can accommodate 10 to 250 people. *Wine Tastings and classes *Blending Events *Corporate & private reception and dinner parties *Great team building ideas *Wedding receptions and bat mitzvahs *Bachelorette and surprise parties *Casino nights & lots of other fun things

Bin 36 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Notable Wine List
Chicago
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in West Loop ›

Notable Wine List (57)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Good for Groups (33)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfectly lovely place for a Friday nigh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

Perfectly lovely place for a Friday night al fresco dinner with friends. Don't get the scallops - there were only 3 little ones. Delish, but come on!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent wine selection and great servi ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent wine selection and great service during our special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Probably a great after-work wine bar wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Probably a great after-work wine bar with a good wine, cheese and dried meats selection. Food was good too but not a good option for a date night - we got there around 9 and it was pretty empty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Always great food, fine service, pleasan ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always great food, fine service, pleasant atmosphere and it all comes at a fair price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced, food just plain off, wine go ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Overpriced, food just plain off, wine good but overpriced as well. This is not a value, there are so many great restaurents in Chicago, this is a puzzle they are not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Though a long-time fan of Bin 36, this w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Though a long-time fan of Bin 36, this was my first time experiencing since their move to the West Loop. The wine list is always outstanding, and the food is excellent. I highly recommend their Sangria blend, as it has a very unique, spiced flavor. The cheese plates, imported salami, and roasted Brussel sprouts were excellent for sharing. I also highly recommend the Hangar Steak / Flank Steak, as the portion size is not too overwhelming, and the subtle flavors blended with the duck fat roasted potatoes are heavenly. Of the many excellent choices in the West Loop, Bin 36 is definitely worth the stop.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bin 36 continues yo be one of favorites ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Bin 36 continues yo be one of favorites for personal and business dining. A great atmosphere, great people and, most importantly, great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service, we will re ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Outstanding food and service, we will return! The Chef at this place is brilliant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great and healthy and tasty food at a ve ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great and healthy and tasty food at a very fair price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a good restaurant for business ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is a good restaurant for business lunch. The portion seems too small. Need to provide bread along with main salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun spot for a girls night. We had wine ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fun spot for a girls night. We had wine flights, a meat and cheese plate and the halibut special. The fish was nicely cooked and the staff was quite attentive. Even had a small glass of bubbly for my birthday! It rained so we couldn't enjoy the patio. Next time, I'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant...love the ambience! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing restaurant...love the ambience! Manager is very attentive, walks by to ensure all guests are satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The brussel sprouts appetizer is to die ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The brussel sprouts appetizer is to die for and perfect to share. We also each had $8 meals as part of the Wednesday special -- great food at a great value! Very friendly service, too. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine but the food was only mediocr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great wine but the food was only mediocre. We had the watermelon gazpacho soup which was watery and not as cold as it should have been. The brussel sprouts were tasty as was the burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

I have some dietary restrictions and the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have some dietary restrictions and the chef took the time to come out and talk to me and make it work. And it was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a patch on the original operation ou ...

 
 (Cambridge)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Not a patch on the original operation out on Dearborn. Location is good....if anyone finds it. The menu is reduced and honestly, the food should be better; the staff more responsive too. Such a shame as Enoch has worked so hard building it up....

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I loved my white wine, bubbly flight. My ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I loved my white wine, bubbly flight. My boyfriend was less impressed with his Argentinian flight. The triple x cheese flight was great minus the mozzarella. I liked the grilled calamari. My lamb was very good too and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Blueberry Pavolava. Nuff' Said

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Blueberry Pavolava. Nuff' Said

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Superb service and the food was amazing. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Superb service and the food was amazing. I love that you can get tastings of wine. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service & Great wine! Try the sa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Amazing service & Great wine! Try the sangria too! Well kept secret 😊

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times and have enjoy ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Have been here many times and have enjoyed it, but this was first visit to new location and was disappointed. Service was incredibly slow - took well over 20 minutes to get a drink (and they were not busy) and server seemed to be in a rush (walked away before I even finished ordering). Food was mediocre. Portions were a lot smaller than I remembered as well, including the cheese platters which seemed extra-sparse. Bummed because I've had great experiences here in the past at old location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I took my (adult) niece there for a cele ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I took my (adult) niece there for a celebration. We ate in a nice, shady outdoor space and opted for the 5 course fixed price meal ($60 each). I do not drink but my niece does and she ordered a wine flight. The flight was modified (with her happy OK) to reflect the tasting menu. She was very pleased with the wine selections and we both very much enjoyed the imaginative food, which included king salmon prepared 3 ways. Note: the chef brought out each course to the table. I would add that I found the food to be creatively prepared but with enough restraint so that the primary tastes were not obscured.

Total cost, including 5 glasses of wine, tax and tip was about $200.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dined with a group of 8 in town for a co ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dined with a group of 8 in town for a conference. Most other patrons were sitting outside, so inside was very quiet, felt like a private dinner for the team. Food was spectacular, and the arrangement of the flights is beautifully easy. Will definitely visit Bin 32 again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine flights and cheese plates how can ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wine flights and cheese plates how can you go wrong Although little pricey for what you get. Lemon custard blueberry and meringue dessert is light and tasty .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wine and cheese are clearly the highligh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Wine and cheese are clearly the highlighted items. Food choices are limited, and the quality and variety of dinner entrees are not especially high. But the wine flights and appetizers, coupled with the high quality service, made this an enjoyable evening overall.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere is very quiet and it is b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The atmosphere is very quiet and it is beautiful inside and out. The wine bottle prices are reasonably priced. The service is professional and not overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not just a wine bar. The lamb was excell ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Not just a wine bar. The lamb was excellent and my girlfriend had the market fish (tuna) also very good. Asparagus side dish makes a terrific appetizer. service very attentive and well informed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistency

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Just hosted a business luncheon and food/service was great.

Have "bin there" numerous times since the West Loop opening in Spring 2015 for luncheons, social dinners and private events. One of my favorite venues, ambience/staff good, pricing reasonable and nice consistency in varied food/beverage offerings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing in every way.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I had high hopes, having been a fan of the River North Location. The service was slow and inattentive. The food was slow and disappointing. Lunch took 90 excruciating minutes. There is little to no chance I will ever give 36 another shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

Sat outside Sunday wait staff very good

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Sat outside Sunday wait staff very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good Food - Okay Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had to ask our waiter for napkins and silverware AFTER our food came. It would take him 10-20 minutes before he would stop by our table each time when we needed something, and when he did he seemed rushed. Maybe they were understaffed that day? I understand that they were probably busy as it was one of the first warm summer nights of the season, but to have to ask for a knife and a napkin after getting your meal? Seems a little silly. The food and wine were phenomenal though and I LOVED the special sauce. Also we asked the waiter for a cheese recommendation and he perfectly suggested one that had exactly the taste that we had wanted at the moment. So kudos to him for that!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Love the new Bin

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Loved Province, sad they closed. Always wanted to love the old Bin, but it was kind of big and loud and hard to manage service.

New Bin, which I believe arose when some old Bin employees bought the concept and name, works well in the space. Service always attentive and friendly. Similar wine and cheese concepts, better food, and now smaller -- more of a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Such a lovely evening! Cheese & charcute ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Such a lovely evening! Cheese & charcuterie flights were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine flights were awesome, and the w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The wine flights were awesome, and the wine we picked was very reasonable. SERVICE was outstanding!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food I tried was delicious but a bit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food I tried was delicious but a bit pricey. They also have a great variety of wine and flights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food, some unique choices. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Fantastic food, some unique choices. The wine flights were tasty and decent price. We had theater tickets and they were very cognizant of our time crunch. The only negative was that it was very loud and difficult to have a conversation. Easy to find, good location slightly away from the theater mobs which I liked and was a plus for me.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was our first visit. We found the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This was our first visit. We found the wine and cheese flights to be exquisite, and the fish of the day was exceptional. We'll definitely be back. The server was friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was kind of slow and my meat was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Service was kind of slow and my meat was underdone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I go for both business luncheons and ev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I go for both business luncheons and evening social dining. Service, beverages and food along with a friendly, but not "overbearing" atmosphere, are the reasons I keep returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an absolutely amazing experience her ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Had an absolutely amazing experience here!! Came in looking for some good wine and good food and was not disappointed. My girlfriend and I saw they had a chef's menu and we were sold. Do yourself a favor and give it a try. The chefs make an excellent meal experience and if you can't trust the chefs then why go to a restaurant. Everything from start to finish was great. Every single person who came to our table was friendly and wanted to make sure we were taken care of. Our server Aaron was friendly and funny. I'm head over heels for this place. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.