About Bin 14

1314 Washington Street
Hoboken, NJ 07030
View Larger Map

Hoboken’s First and Only Wine Bar. Chef Anthony Pino’s menu highlights Italian style tapas dishes. A variety of small plates that create a unique dining experience. Bin 14 is serving over 100 bottles of wine, with over 70 by the glass pours. Wine selections are focused on Italy but encompass all of the best wine regions of the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(201) 963-9463

Website:
http://bin14.com/

Catering:
Private catering options are available.

Parking Details:
New Jersey Transit Bus stop, half a block away. 1 mile from Path Trains. 2 blocks from New York Waterways, 14th Street Pier.

Executive Chef:
Chef Anthony Pino

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Octopus
Mozzarella With Truffle Honey
Smoked salmon
Lobster Bruschetta
Bruschetta With Tomato And Basil
Margarita Pizza
Mushroom Bruschetta
Dinosaur Kale Caesar Salad
Veggies And Meatballs
Tuna Tartare Bruschetta
Pork Be
Spicy Lamb Sausage Pizza
Gnocco Fritto
mushroom risotto
Baked Oysters Rockefeller
Braised Shortribs And Gorgonzola Spiked Polenta
Truffle And Tallegio Pizza
Seared Scallops With Braised Baby Carrots And Baby Fennel
Cheesecake With Macerated Cherries
Truffle Fries
Meatball
Herb & Apple Braised Pulled Pork Served In An Acorn Squash
William Valley Vineyards 2009 Riesling
Bloody Mary

Bin 14 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Jersey - North
Best Restaurants in Hoboken ›

notable wine list (14)
fit for foodies (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
See All
romantic (7)
special occasion (5)
hot spot (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
good for groups (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Im not that picky and rarely review, bu ...

Dined 4 days ago

Im not that picky and rarely review, but was a chef for a long time, so I thought you may want my opinion. The jerked octopus stopped me in my tracks. Kidney beans and corn with jerked octopus?? It was not good (didn't read the menu through). Octopus was cooked well, so partial score. Waiter was the real issue. He was dismissive, at best. I got the feeling he just came off an overnight bender and an eight ball, which was forcing himself to engage against his will. Other than that, it was a great space, which I'm sure does very well in Hoboken.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

regular go to for business dinner- walka ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

regular go to for business dinner- walkable from the UBS Weehawken building and always great food and service

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

My favorite wine bar in Hoboken. I chose ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

My favorite wine bar in Hoboken. I chose this place for a recent birthday dinner. Great wine selection and small plates to share. I highly recommend the burrata and cauliflower pizza.

food3
ambience2
service1

Unfortunately service was not good. We h ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Unfortunately service was not good. We had no waitstaff thru dinner. The host kept apologizing saying they were understaffed for the holiday weekend. We received the "warm" mozzarella icey cold. Sent that back twice Just a bad experience. We should have left after the second apology. The wine list looked good and extensive but we could bArely get our water filled and the wine list arrived as we were finishing eating. This was our first visit as our daughter just moved to the area. Not sure if we would try again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Really good food, wine and service. Bin ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Really good food, wine and service. Bin 14 never disappoints! Ov been here solo, with girlfriends, with my husband and with family and each time has been better than the last :)

food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Service was awful.

Dined on May 4, 2016

The hostess was rude before we even sat down. The waiter basically ignored our table towards the end of our meal. No good at all.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Everything was ok but not great.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Ordered warm mozzarella which was cold. Meatball appetizer was also cold, and nothing special. Entrees ok, but did not sing out. Wine was ok, but nothing special. Just a lot of ok. Some of it tasted like microwaved leftovers.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Too expensive especially for small porti ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Too expensive especially for small portion size. Quality of food was decent but nothing extraordinary.

food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was great! They have a build your ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Brunch was great! They have a build your own Bloody Mary bar too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expert staff

Dined on March 14, 2016

Excellent service from a gentlemen who really knew the restaurant's wines. Great conversation and really fantastic wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance! Delicious food and wine :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bin14 still a firm favorite in Hoboken

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

The dos is always varied and lovingly prepared. One of the best steak tartare around, amazing mozzarella. Very much a kind of tapas experience where you are tempted to go for lots of small plates. The god is ways perfect as is the service. Really friendly and helpful but not over the top. Good wine menu of maybe a wee bit over-priced but the atmosphere and food more than make up for that. If you want good food, wine and atmosphere in a more informal and fun setting then his really is perfect.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was good, service great, and th ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

The food was good, service great, and the ambience great. Nice wine bar in Hoboken with a NYC vibe. The grilled octopus appetizer is a must. Wasn't a big fan of the chicken sausage entree, was a bit too saucy for my liking and the sausage was broken up into little pieces the size of rice grains. However the ribs over grits were excellent. I would go back.

food2
ambience4
service1

Service was very poor.

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was very poor.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic menu and wine suggestions for ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

Fantastic menu and wine suggestions for Hudson Restaurant Week. I will be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Skimpy portions

Dined on December 30, 2015

The food is consistently imaginative and delicious. But the entrees are not main plates. They are, as I said to the server, "stingy." "But it's tapas," she replied. No, it's not. It's billed as an entree and a spoonful of pureed turnip alongside three small scallops does not constitute an entree. My "small plate" tapas pork belly was larger and half the price.This packed restaurant is a valuable contribution to uptown Hoboken,but it should be more generous to those who patronize it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Great wine bar and small plates

Dined on December 8, 2015

Went with a friend and had great small plates along with a good wine Good range of wine choices Relaxes service to enjoy small plates no rush. Mozzarella choices excellent and creative along with food salads We were able to have a vegetarian meal with wonderful choices. Staff great attentive and made good suggestions

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great wine and consistently good food.

Dined on November 29, 2015

Service is always friendly and food is very good, especially whatever they offer as a special. Great wine list!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, great wine selection. Servic ...

Dined on November 13, 2015

Great food, great wine selection. Service was friendly and helpful in explaining specials and providing recommendations. Was quite busy at which time it got noisy inside but still able to have a conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved Bin 14 in Hoboken

Dined on November 5, 2015

Food was fantastic! Service great & wait staff very knowledgeable about both the food & wine. Will definitely visit again and recommend to friends

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4

Fine wine with a side of noise.

Dined on September 10, 2015

Excellent food, good service. Ridiculously and unpleasantly loud. Very nice beer list, despite being a wine joint -- I appreciated that.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1

Terrible Service

Dined on September 6, 2015

Bin 14 food is excellent but nobody that worked there was friendly or accommodating. We had to wait awhile to get out good and the waitress never even said hello. She was so unfriendly. If the food was not so well I would never recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection in every way

Dined on September 3, 2015

Food was prepared perfectly, every dish was insanely flavorful and although the portions are small/tapas, very rich and filling. No matter what you order you will be very happy!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food but make sure you have table in front

vip
Dined on August 16, 2015

Once we were moved from the noisy and unpleasant back room (avoid at all costs) we had a nice table in front. Friendly service and very enjoyable food. Small plates are very nice and perfect for sharing. Great pizza too. Nice wine list and reasonably priced. This will be a new favorite for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was good however it's a small r ...

vip
Dined on August 5, 2015

The food was good however it's a small restaurant and despite having a reservation we had to wait and then sat in the semi-outside section in the back of the restaurant. This would have been fine however, there was something leaking so we heard a dripping noise the entire meal along with other distracting noises and the overall atmosphere wasn't as cozy as the inside of the restaurant/outside portion in the front. Apart from that, the service was great! We were given great wine suggestions our server was able to answer all food allergy, wine pairing, etc. questions.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

Gone here a few times and this was the f ...

Dined on August 3, 2015

Gone here a few times and this was the first negative experience. First wine I had tasted off so I informed the waiter. Normally would just drink it but it was burning my throat and dining companions agreed there was something wrong. Didn't want to pay $15 for a horrible glass of wine. Waiter replaced it but not before he mocked the way I asked (I was trying to be kind and said I'm not sure but this tastes a little off and he answered by mimicking my voice and gestures which was really insulting). Then my shrimp and grits were overcooked so the shrimp were rubber. Pizza was OK. Get the bill and even though waiter replaced 1st wine with a different kind charged me the more expensive amount for the first glass. It also took about 15 min to get his attention to order food after we had received our wine and the place was not full.

food4
ambience2
service4

Nice casual wine bar

Dined on July 20, 2015

Having just arrived in Jersey we had booked this little wine bar on the off chance. It was pretty busy for a Monday evening and we were given the last table, unfortunately tucked way at the back and not so pleasant. The food here is very good and we enjoyed each dish we ordered, nice wine list too and our server was very gracious. Just lacks something in the decor and seating.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4

Good service (except for hostess). Most food good

vip
Dined on June 2, 2015

The hostess looked angry - No smile or greeting from hostess, which set the tone of the whole dining experience. The server was very good and the food came out quickly. Bruschetta was questionable but we enjoyed other food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing.

Dined on May 13, 2015

The service and food was fantastic. The outdoor space is really nice. This is definitely an excellent date night spot, or a girls night dinner spot. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best food experience I've had in Hob ...

Dined on April 13, 2015

The best food experience I've had in Hoboken. The food is exceptional and the wine pairings are spot on.

food4
ambience4
service1

Bin 14 Review

Dined on March 20, 2015

This is one of if not my favorite restaurant in Hoboken. The server we had was awful and very rude. As a server myself I am usually beyond nice to any server at any restaurant so was completely surprised at the way she was acting towards my boyfriend and I. Aside from the service that night, the food and drinks are always great! Definitely a great date night or girls night out for din!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and a great atmosphere!

vip
Dined on March 13, 2015

The staff is amazing. Very tentative. They are very smart with there wines me and my friend told them what we like and they paired us each with amazing choices of wine. The food is incredible I love how it's small plates!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite hoboken spot

Dined on March 12, 2015

A friend of mine recommended Bin14 to me 2 years ago. I love this spot! I have been for my birthday many times (for a large group of women) as well as for date nights. It was romantic but lively! The wine list is extensive and the waiters always give a good recommendation if you are unsure of what to order. I love the idea of italian "tapas" and sharing. The meatball is excellent. We always order a variety of cheeses/meats for the table. Short rib entree is delicious, all of the bruschettas are great (I tend to order the classic) but beware each order only comes with 1), pork and beef bolgnese is great. And sometimes they have bolognese fries on the menu which are so good! Fries with bolognese who can complain?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

vip
Dined on March 9, 2015

Bin 14 was great! All of the food on the menu looked so great it was hard to make a decision. I'm glad I went with friends that have been before to make the menu choice much easier. The burrata with truffle honey was great and I really enjoyed a pasta dish but I think it was taken off of the menu, the spaghetti carbonara I think it was. All was so great, the wine was delicious and and service was wonderful. I already went back a second time and recommend it to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I must say, this place has the best staf ...

vip
Dined on January 20, 2015

I must say, this place has the best staff and service I've ever experienced! Our waiter Mike was extremely friendly, knowledgeable about wine and always available if we needed something. With that said, I have to say that we never had to ask for anything. The staff was very hospitable and never overbearing. It was a very comfortable environment. Plus, the food and wine was delicious! I will definitely be back!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Biscotti with wine..

vip
Dined on January 20, 2015

Surprised there was no dessert options other than a cheese course. Biscotti goes wonderfully with wine.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite

vip
Dined on January 8, 2015

My wife and I have "date night" once a week, and more often than not, we end up at Bin 14. The food is great, but the wine is even better. The entire staff is incredibly knowledgeable about the extensive wine list, and they are more than happy to have you taste multiple pours (virtually everything comes by the glass) until you are sure what you want. We have our favorite waitress, Kate, who knows our tastes, and when we walk in and say - what do you think we should try, she has always been spot on. However, even if she is not there, there is always someone on the wait staff who knows what we are drinking, and makes us feel at home. It's somewhat of tight quarters, but between the amazing food, great wine, and attentive service, that has never bothered us. Just thinking about the next time I get a pour of Baby Bleaux with the Sausage and Pepper Bruschetta puts me in a good mood!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Gluten Free Heaven

Dined on December 30, 2014

I love this place! Very cozy, decent prices, a lot of food choices. Oh and did I mention they have gluten free crust!! They can make gluten free pizza, gluten free bruschetta or just toast up the crust and cut into pieces to eat as bread. Great wine list. All small plates which is great for people who love tapas style eating. I would give this place 5 stars but two things bothered me: very small table size and in the winter, all tables close to the door were hit in the face with freezing air.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on December 23, 2014

I went here for my birthday with my family and girlfriend. Highly recommend ordering a bunch of plates and sharing them. We had about 4/5 appetizers/sides and 1 entree and were stuffed! The wine is also delicious. Great service, amazing food. The cauliflower is a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

great wine bar!

vip
Dined on November 11, 2014

One of my favorite places for a casual meal. They have excellent food, small plates and great wine list. If wine is not your thing, they also have a full bar. Service is excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.