About bills Sydney

280 Beachwalk Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

A slice of Australia served up in Hawaii.


*Reservations are for our upstairs dining only*
**Please type reservations in English**

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Australian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am

Lunch: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalakaua Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 922-1500

Website:
http://billshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
Bank of Hawaii Building.

$7 for the first 4 hours with validation.
Normal rates will apply after the first 4 hours.
Monday - Friday: After 3pm
Saturday - Sunday: Anytime


First Hawaiian Bank

$6 for the first 4 hours with validation.
Normal rates will apply after the first 4 hours.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • bills Sydney, Honolulu, HI
  • bills Sydney, Honolulu, HI
  • bills Sydney, Honolulu, HI
bills Sydney, Honolulu, HI
bills Sydney, Honolulu, HI
bills Sydney, Honolulu, HI

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

bills Sydney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
Good for Groups (22)
See All
Casual (22)
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Healthy (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Fun (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Family Style (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Organic (4)
Authentic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Found fleas in my food. That was enough ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Found fleas in my food. That was enough to make my whole dining experience here unpalatable and unrepairable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good meal in a lovely comfortable and st ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good meal in a lovely comfortable and stylish setting. Good service and nice presentation of food. Happy hour offers some nice deals.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service. Minor problem with the or ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great service. Minor problem with the order but was suitably sorted out and in a timely manner.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was nice but it was so dark outside w ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was nice but it was so dark outside we could see our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Our waitress, Kara (spelling?) was very ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our waitress, Kara (spelling?) was very good, despite just being on the job for only a week or so. It showed that she loves the food, the crew and the environment.

The food was delicious and the ambiance perfect for our conversation.

Looking forward to my next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant with really unique menu

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great restaurant with really unique menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience here. Service ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Always a great experience here. Service is wonderful, and the food is very good! Clean and pretty heathy! Definitely coming again. Don't forget to try their ricotta pancakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Third time I have eaten here, and each t ...

vip
 (Acapulco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Third time I have eaten here, and each time I have been disappointed, not only by the food but by the music and its excessive volume level. I fail to understand why so many restaurants feel the need to create a bar-type atmosphere, and Blues is not good music for dining. The service at this Bills is fine, but the food is lackluster, and the loud Blues at dinner time just kills it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great unique food and ambience. Creative ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great unique food and ambience. Creative menu and locally sourced for farm to table.

Enjoyed the whole experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I came back for the second time with my ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I came back for the second time with my family because Bill's Hawaii has the best pancakes in town. I would like to return more often but it is bit pricey for breakfast.

Tags: Family Style, Disabled Access, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is about the only place in Waikiki ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is about the only place in Waikiki to get good, Australian style coffee! And Aussie style brunch too. So delicious.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ギリシャヨーグルトのグラノラとフルーツコンポート添え。今までで1番美味しいヨーグ ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 2, 2016

ギリシャヨーグルトのグラノラとフルーツコンポート添え。今までで1番美味しいヨーグルトでした!ハワイへ行くときは毎回朝食に頂きます!

Tags: 日曜日ランチがあるお店, 静かに会話を楽しめる, デート, カジュアルな雰囲気
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First time at Bills and I loved it. Was ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on November 1, 2016

First time at Bills and I loved it. Was in Honolulu for 7 nights and went to Bills twice for dinner. The food and service was great. Will definitely be heading back there on my next visit to Honolulu.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always fantastic. I love a g ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is always fantastic. I love a good poached egg. The service is always great. Sometimes the waiters will suggest something, like extra butter, before I even realize I want it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As fans of Bill's Sydney in Sydney, we'v ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As fans of Bill's Sydney in Sydney, we've been coming here since its opening, although disappointed most times. However, this time, everything was terrific. The new coffee menu is right up there with the Sydney cafe society. And the food is fresh and delicious. The atmosphere is modern and tasteful. For the first time, the service was excellent. We will be back much more often. I just wish that there were some round tables. We were a party of 5, and the seating is awkward for odd numbers. So glad about the improvements because now I can recommend Bill's without hesitation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food with interesting flavours. Gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food with interesting flavours. Great pavlova!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great coffee, brilliant for breakfast an ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great coffee, brilliant for breakfast and lunch. Very clean and fresh food, simple but done well. We are super fussy about coffee and ended up walking here most days of our holiday. Had dinner one night though which didn't really blow our mind taste wise, calamari was pretty so so, bruschetta great tho and banana fritters for desert very light and yummy. Still a favourite.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious and ingredients w ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food was delicious and ingredients were so fresh. The waitress was great . Wonderful experience

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Breakfast at Bills is always consistent. ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Breakfast at Bills is always consistent. Menu is good and they make an excellent flat white. Service with Brooke was great and attentive. Kama'aina pick when in Waikiki!

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We'll be back! This was a nice change o ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We'll be back! This was a nice change of pace. Great concept.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This place does breakfast the right way ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This place does breakfast the right way - beautiful fresh food that's delicious, wholesome and filling!! We had the hotcakes and the eggs on toast and both were perfectly made. Service was friendly and efficient and the place is lovely! Cannot recommend this place enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My name is Nancy Kan. I am a live God. I ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My name is Nancy Kan. I am a live God. I am announcing It's a totally done deal that White House must physically oust Obama from the office today & move official President Paul Ryan in by tomorrow! Please share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant with fresh food choices ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great restaurant with fresh food choices, the watermelon spritz cocktail had me come back to dine again a few days later.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

always delicious food and great service. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 19, 2016

always delicious food and great service.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Matt and the bar crew recommended the h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Matt and the bar crew recommended the hibiscus margarita and it was so good. I liked the creative twist on almost every dish and especially liked the crispy pork watermelon salad. What a great combination of favors!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bills was recommended by a few friends b ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Bills was recommended by a few friends back home in Australia and we loved it

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had been there before with frien ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 13, 2016

My wife had been there before with friends and had enjoyed her first experience. Overall the service was great and the décor is well presented. Our food was so delicious with simple flavours and fresh produce. The value for money and quality of food in comparison to the general dining community in Waikiki is outstanding. We enjoyed our dinner experience so much we back for breakfast.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Wobbly table Had steak- served on plate ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Wobbly table

Had steak- served on plate that was too small and moved on the table when I tried to cut it

Therefore made for a frustrating experience , dispite the food being good

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

3時頃に赤ちゃん連れで伺いました。お料理はどれも美味しかつたですが、店員が感じ悪 ...

 
 (大阪)·Dined on October 8, 2016

3時頃に赤ちゃん連れで伺いました。お料理はどれも美味しかつたですが、店員が感じ悪かったです。受付のお姉さんはよかったですが。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Great fresh food. The tuna apitizer was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great fresh food. The tuna apitizer was outstanding. It was great to get some fresh healthy food. Sitting outside on the balcony was stunning .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We went bills really awesome food & outs ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We went bills really awesome food & outstanding wait staff .

Could not fault anything about the place we will back to try breakfast menu.👍🏿👍🏿

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We ate pancake and Full Aussie that is ...

 
 (千葉)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We ate pancake and Full Aussie that is one of the bill's classics. We felt those were oily.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

We enjoy Bill's food in various of his r ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We enjoy Bill's food in various of his restaurants in Australia and London, and we're looking forward to the visit. The most distracting part of our dinner was the lighting - so, so dark! It was harmed to navigate the menu, could barely see the food, not fun for the kids... Not sure why the lighting is set this way. The good was ok - didn't feel it was up to usual levels of cooking precision and freshness on this visit (except for the hot cakes).

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Complimentary birthday dessert!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Complimentary birthday dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Loved the ricotta hotcakes! Like no othe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Loved the ricotta hotcakes! Like no other! Seriously, if you don't entirely swear off sweet things then order the hotcakes or you've never eaten at bill's. We also got the fresh Aussie to balance things out and the selection of healthy ingredients was great although the presentation could be a little more tasteful (everything seemed dumped onto the plate high school cafeteria style). Stumptown cold brew coffee was a disappointment though. Skip the coffee and head off to Island Vintage for much more sophisticated caffeine instead - if bill's and IV could be enjoyed in one place I would be in heaven!

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place to eat in Honolulu when you ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great place to eat in Honolulu when you want something that had an Aussie influence.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Bills of Sydney, we have eaten th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I love Bills of Sydney, we have eaten there often and love the food. Terence our waiter on many occasions was again great, fun and informative

I send a lot of my clients to Bills and also many friends. But what I did not like , and it happened before , that they tried to seat us at the worst table in the room, by exit and stairway. There were plenty of tables to offer us. It is not a good start whenyou have to refuse a table. They did seat us at an outdoor table which was fine but never discussed a choice. The right table is also part of an enjoyable evening. They did not do that one right.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I had a gift certificate ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My husband and I had a gift certificate from a friend and had the most lovely evening. We had drinks, appetizers, main meals, coffee and desert. Everything we put in our mouth was delicious and our server was kind and helpful. We will definitely be back soon! our first dinner was date night but next time we may bring our kids with us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but very small portions for th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Good food but very small portions for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Went there for a nice dinner out. Server ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went there for a nice dinner out. Server was attentive, food was very good. Nothing but good vibes!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.