About Bijan's Brooklyn

81 Hoyt St
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

Bijan's Brooklyn nestled in the heart of Boerum Hill is Brooklyn's "best secret". We have a cozy, intimate neighborhood feel with a warm wood burning fireplace paired with modern-bistro style cuisine offering a delicious culinary combination of American plates fused with Persian style spices & flare. Creative culinary plates such as the Persian spiced chicken wings leave the palette craving for more. Don't forget the mind blowing craft cocktails. For a great atmosphere, fabulous & friendly service, the staff would be happy to make you something to cure what ails ya!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Persian

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Friday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Atlantic Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 855-5574

Website:
http://www.bijansbrooklyn.com/

Entertainment:
Open MIC every Tuesday evening

Public Transit:
A/C to Hoyt/Schermerhorn, train 2 or 3

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Bijan's Brooklyn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.8

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (3)
See All
fit for foodies (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
special occasion (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
16 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had brunch at this restaurant to kick of ...

Dined 3 days ago

Had brunch at this restaurant to kick off a bachelorette party because of the great food reviews and fixe prix menu that included a specialty cocktail. As soon as we walked in, everyone was remarking about the cool ambiance: the Moroccan lamps, hanging plants, and beautiful paintings. At 1pm on a Saturday, the restaurant wasn't very crowded; it had another big group and another pair of diners. The wait staff was very friendly. All 7 guests loved their food (lamb burger and persian omelet were big hits) and drinks, some ordering more than one.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice atmosphere, good food, very loud music

Dined on May 29, 2016

I really like the feel of the place, and in the winter the fireplace is great. But we were there on a night that was fairly empty and while the server was very friendly it felt very hard to get her attention, get more water, order another drink, get the check...The food is good and it is a nice menu of options. We all felt the music was too loud for a pleasant dinner conversation, so I think it might be better for larger groups or for drinks.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Review for dinner. The food was fine, b ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Review for dinner. The food was fine, but not worth the cost. The mezze portions were very small and the flavors were more confusing than innovative. My friend said the chicken wings tasted like Chinese food.

food4
ambience4
service4

They have a nice brunch selection. It to ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

They have a nice brunch selection. It took quite a long time for the food to come out, but the food was very good, especially the Bijan burger. The atmosphere was very laid back and chillin'. I would definitely go back.

food5
ambience3
service4

Chicken dish is delicious

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Chicken dish is delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Brunch!

Dined on January 1, 2016

We have come for both brunch and dinner! Absolutely love this spot!! It truly is a gem in our neighborhood! $15 all inclusive brunch is hard to beat! ... And they have a fireplace for those cold days! The food is always on point!!! Try the chicken for dinner or the Persian omelette for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time with great food

Dined on January 1, 2016

I chose Bijan on a whim and both my husband and I had a great time. The tiramisu was excellent and I would go back just for that. The server worked her booty off with a busy crowd and was pleasant all the same time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Bland Christmas Dinner.

Dined on December 25, 2015

While my friends ordered burgers and fries, I wanted to order more authentic food, and made the biggest mistake. The soup, rice, and beef kabobs had no flavor, even after I added salt. The waitress asked how it was and I said I wasn't thrilled, but there was no effort to make another suggestion. It was kind of pointless to ask what I thought. Very disappointing experience for a Christmas dinner. I do not go to a restaurant like this for the best option to be a burger and fries. The dessert was fine, at least. We did tip the server extremely well, as it was Christmas.

food1
ambience4
service1

WORSE SERVICE IN BROOKLYN

Dined on November 21, 2015

We waited for over 45 minutes and our food and drinks never arrived. Everything smelled delicious but after complaining and getting our drinks (and waiting another 15 minutes, an hour in total) we decided to leave. I guess our waitress was too busy and she forgot about us after taking our order ... but It seemed like they didn´t make any kind of effort to fix the problem in due time . It is actually the first time I´ve had such a terrible experience in a restaurant in Brookyln.

food3
ambience4
service4

Unique

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

Bijan has the feel of a turkish cafe and a menu that is unique and diversified. Most offering have that Turkish / Persian spice cast. I had a salad with Salmon tossed in, it was delicious and extremely well priced.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Irony

vip
Dined on May 30, 2015

I came here on a Friday with my Girlfriend to meet my Mom and step father, as we came to visit from SF. It was great as they were meeting for the first time. As fate would have it, I am writing this 6 hours after he died today, unexpectedly. At least, he experienced a great restaurant and atmosphere which afforded him the space to act in a more jovial manner than I ever saw him before he passed. ThanK you Bijan.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

I love this place! I've never had to wai ...

Dined on April 12, 2015

I love this place! I've never had to wait to eat brunch. They have a great brunch special: coffee/tea, food, and a cocktail for $15. On a beautiful street in downtown Brooklyn. Love it!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great neighbourhood gem

Dined on April 11, 2015

Great food and cocktails here, they have a happy hour from 5-7pm and they certainly don't water the cocktails down at this time! We ate the pulled pork sandwich, the Bijan burger and Rosemary chicken with truffle mash, all were delicious and we had the carrot cake and tiramisu for dessert, yum! Definitely recommended popping in even if you're not from the neighbourhood.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

nice spot

Dined on February 15, 2015

Nice spot - some community table seating - relaxed and unpretentious but still nice enough for a date.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Everything we chose was delicious.

Dined on December 30, 2014

The food was really well-prepared and advice from the waitstaff was spot-on. This was my second time taking a guest to Bijan's Brooklyn and I have not been disappointed.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Great for drinks, okay for lunch

vip
Dined on August 29, 2014

I had been to Bijan's for drinks twice before making this reservation for lunch. My drinks experiences were fantastic; lunch was mediocre. The waitstaff was limited so I understand why our server was rushed to walk away before I finished ordering, "Can I get that with fries not chips?" He nodded but I had a feeling he wouldn't include fries. Obviously my order didn't include fries when it came out, and when I asked him about it, he asserted that I didn't order fries. With witnesses to confirm and the lunch crowd rush quelled, he obliged and was nice enough to comp the fries. After all that, the fries were sadly mediocre; as was my grilled chicken sandwich.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.