About Big Fish

620 NE 78 St
Miami, FL 33138
View Larger Map

Culinary visionary Big Fish. has created a restaurant that adds a twist to dining out. Big Fish Restaurant makes each meal an experience, fulfilling the senses with enticing fragrances, delicious food and excellent presentations. Cuisine is Italian and the primary chef focus is on the seafood. Big Fish Restaurant is the perfect dining experience for seafood lovers. Located on the Little River (Biscayne B.), away from the noise boulevard, the Big Fish Restaurant features a romantic,trendy dining room rich with subtle details and a beautiful patio ideal for alfresco dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 373-1770

Website:
http://www.thebigfishrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Free Valet

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Andrea Chiriatti

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wine, Wine Bar

Big Fish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.2

service

3.0

ambience

3.1

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

63% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
See All
special occasion (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There were only two sets of customers (i ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

There were only two sets of customers (including us) that Sunday afternoon until the time we left around 4:00 PM. The gentleman (who I assume was the manager) and our waitress were very attentive to our requests (changing tables, etc.). We had the tuna and salmon and they were outstanding. I feel that Big Fish would enjoy more success if it was located in a more appealing location.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Ambiance & food was good bit unorganized.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Ambiance and food was good. The service was a bit slow and they seemed very unorganized. Especially for not being crowded!

We had a reservation and had to wait at least 30 min. Might be better for drinks and apps.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Horrible service, very dissapointed

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Waiters were not professional. Waited 2 hours for the food and it was cold...i do not recommend this place to anyone. Very dissapointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Gem!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I loved Big Fish before but love it even more in its new spot <3

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

I would double check my bill. I got charge for something I did not order. After great staff great location nice view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Good

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

It's a nice place to go, I went during the day but I imagine at night will be a very nice romantic place. Main Food was a little bit salty for my taste and the Cod Fish was over cooked. Calamary and Octopus appetizer i liked them very much.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Best meal I've had in a while, great ser ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Best meal I've had in a while, great service, trilingual waiter, overall an amazing experience. Need to go back and will recommend to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Has progressively declined

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

I have been here atleast 8-10 times, but the last 2 visits were not good. Not sure if the chef has changed but the fish was not very fresh and preparation was tasteless. It has not busy and I think they are serving leftover fish. Service was spotty and it was hard to get the attention of anyone even though the restaurant was empty on a Saturday night. We wont be returning.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We arrived party of 6 and we all had suc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

We arrived party of 6 and we all had such a wonderful experience at Big Fish. The service was outstanding and food was delicious. We plan and coming back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food excellent though menu a tad limited ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

Food excellent though menu a tad limited, wine list overly pricey. Our problem was management attitude. Rather than treating us like welcome diners- the place was not crowded at all - they treated us with an active indifference, as if we should be honored that they let us in, or maybe they were annoyed that we were bothering them. If one is interested only in the food, place is excellent. Their attitude detracted from it being a pleasant dining experience overall.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I went for my 7th year anniversary the f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

I went for my 7th year anniversary the food was great for both of us as for the house wine we sat outside and it was a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2015

I lived in Italy for many years and I found the menu to be totally authentic. We had 2 pasta dishes that would be made exactly the same in Italy. Pasta al vongole was amazing & the ragu bolognese sauce on the taglietelle was delicious. We were sad to learn there was no tiramisu that day as that is our favorite dessert. We therefore settled for the chocolate mousse that was just ok. Service was excellent and very attentive. Atmosphere outside is very pretty and romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm giving it 2 stars because the outsid ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

I'm giving it 2 stars because the outside setting is very nice and romantic. The food is awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great food. Ordered baked Red Snapper for four

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

Baked Red Snapper - - 1 big fish - -w/ vegies and four persons sides might have been best fish meal I've ever had. No bones - melted in our mouths. sides were very good. Nice outdoor patio environment on the river. Will go again - hopefully soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Lovely dining

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 9, 2015

Outstanding service, accommodating in every way. Terrific menu and excellent suggestions from our fabulous waiter. We sat by the canal and enjoyed a lovely evening. The food was delicious!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful location. Great Food

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

The view is beautifully romantic and the food is excellent. The service needs improvement but would still return. The wine list is average and they serve the wine too warm.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

ONLY FOR SURROUNDINGS AND GRILLED FISH WITH SALAD

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 2, 2015

Atmosphere, Ambiance, Decoration, Service, very nice......food only grilled fish and basic salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

AWAY FROM THE MADDENING CROWDS A LITTLE GEM

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 17, 2015

Discovered the quiet oasis on an intracoastal canal. Lovely outdoor dining. Food was reasonable prepared all except the salmon tartar. The waiter was brusquely Italian. The appetizers were excellent and since we were a little late for lunch we kept the food to a minimum. The desserts were excellent as well as the coffee. Would like to take a look at this restaurant for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Go in the cooler months

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

Living in Miami believe it or not, is not that easy to find a place next to the water. So, we decided to give this one a try. Even in the cooler months, you will get bit by mosquito's. Service was fair, rather slow and it was an early dinner and place was not full at all. The food was very very salty. Couldn't eat much of it. My advise would be go for appetizers and drinks, The grilled Octopus was very good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

River Disappointment

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

As beautiful and charming as the outdoor ambiance of the restaurant is, unfortunately, the food is at best fair, if not disappointing. We had the fried calamari and eggplant parmigiana as appetizers. Calamari was O.K., sauce only fair....eggplant I would not order again. All the main dished may respectfully described as forgettable. We were a party of six and will not return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Big time at Big Fish.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We were very pleased with our experience at Big Fish. The staff was very attentive. We will definitely revisit and recommend to our friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely on the river

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 11, 2015

Was a very enjoyable dinner in

A beautiful setting. Great waiter.

The only complaint wS the

Branzino was not fileted properly..

Very Boney.,

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Dissapointing for a place with an Italian chef

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

Would have expected more. Food overall lacked depth of flavor although ingredients were of high quality. Somewhat costly for the level of cooking. `don't mind paying as long as it is memorable. Service was excellent though. If they improve the quality of their dishes, I woill come back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Nice place

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

Eggplant appetizer was delicious,

I had the almond crusted salmon fillet with asparaguses and mashed potatoes. Fantastic!

Fish was cooked to perfection. Very nice dish

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outdoorsie and romantic

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

3rd time at the place, always perfect. Customer service is the best, food taste great and speedy service. This restaurant is a great choice for a first date, conveniently located.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT EXPERIENCE

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 11, 2015

ONE OF TWO TOP MEALS WE HAD DURING OUR SIXTEEN DAYS IN MIAMI. REALLY GREAT FISH

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

We thought the service and ambiance was great. The food was good but over priced. The location was hidden behind a large old building. We enjoyed the outdoor seating and the gentle breeze by the canal was lovely.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

A great place

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on December 15, 2014

I went with a group of six and must say that even though I had been there before, it just gets better. The service was outstanding and what a unique place it is right on the water hidden away. It is particular good for those of us that live nearby. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, view and atmosphere

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Experience was great. The food was very tasty.

There was a confusion with a plate we ordered, the waitress corrected this immediately.

We were very happy with their service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

We love this place. The food is wonderful the service divine, and the ambiance is great in all seasons. ♥

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nicely surprised!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

This place was a great surprise! I took my husband on a surprise date to this Seafood Italian style restaurant between Midtown and North Miami Beach and it was wonderful. We had the Pappardelle with shrimp and the spaghetti vongole and both pastas were cooked perfectly, outstanding flavors and good portions enough to share. The tiramisu was fantastic. We did find that although friendly, the service was a little too fast and not too clever at times. I had to request cheese and pepper to be added to the pasta and we did not get any spoons to roll our pasta. I really felt that for an Italian restaurant these things should have been offered automatically. Other than that, the ambiance is really enjoyable and the outdoor dining is very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyable

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 23, 2014

This was a great find! Seafood Italian style. Pasta was cooked perfectly! Service a little too fast. I prefer to relax a bit between courses.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent Ambiance and FOOD!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

THIS PLACE WAS A WONDERFUL SURPRISE, FIVE STAR FOOD QUALITY AND SERVICE TUCKED AWAY IN BETWEEN MIDTOWN AND NORTH MIAMI BEACH.

THE FOOD WAS FANTASTIC, WE TRIED THE BEEF CARPACCIO, THE ITALIAN MEAT PLATTER AND THE SEAFOOD GRILL FOR TWO. ENORMOUS PORTIONS AND GREAT PRICES. THE STAFF WAS EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL AND CATERED TO EVERY NEED WITH CONSTANT FOLLOWUP. SMALL CROWD EARLY ON A SAT. NIGHT, WAS FILLING UP AS WE LEFT AT 8 PM, BOOK RESERVATION ONLINE HERE TOO.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT AND WE WILL VISIT AGAIN REAL SOON.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

lovely setting

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 29, 2014

but the food only ok, disappointed with the fish selection and no fish on the bone. Our server, although efficient, was not very pleasant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Bad Food!!!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 26, 2014

Bad food!!! Risotto super under cook (hard as a rock), the gnocchi didn't have any taste at all, not even salt. The only good thing was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Not everybody at our party were satisfie ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 21, 2014

Not everybody at our party were satisfied with their selection, some entree' were good others so and so. Dining there is a good experience but we had higher expectations .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Excellent!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

Four of us went dinner. We had only been once before when they first opened. Even though they did not automatically provide the Miami Spice menu (we had to ask), and we all ordered from it, they were happy to oblige. Everything we had was excellent! Main courses at our table included the salmon and the spaghetti vongole, with the salmon being superior. Desserts of panna cotta and tiramisu were great, with the tiramisu being better. Our server was friendly and attentive enough. The setting is nice on the river, there are not many waterfront places in Miami. We weren't that impressed by our table, though, near the serving station at the edge of most filled tables, and next to a speaker that was loud and distracting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A Miami Favorite in New Location

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2014

I loved Big Fish when it was on the Miami river and I still love it at it's new location on a canal on NE 78th Street. The food was fantastic... always consistent... and they did a great job redoing a wonderful neighborhood restaurant that we all miss - Ouzos, which use to be one of the best hidden Mediterranean restaurants in the city! And Big Fish did a GREAT job filling those shoes

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Meal

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

Always a solid meal. The octopus appetizer is the best. Pasta dish was awesome as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

The food was excellent. However the service was a little... off. Not the most knowledgeable or accommodating staff. We had to request several things that I felt should have been offered. However the wine, salad, entries, and dessert were all delicious! The outdoor dining is very nice. (Not many tables inside, most are outside.)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.