About Big Bear Cafe

1700 1st Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Small neighborhood restaurant serving candle-lit dinners on a vine covered garden patio.

We source from local farms and vendors, use herbs from our own gardens, cure our own meat & fish, and do our own baking, preserves and pickling.

We also source from the farmers and vendors of the Bloomingdale Farmers' Market that we helped to establish in 2009.

We do private events and special dinners upon request including weddings, receptions, rehearsal dinners, coursed dinners, and cocktail receptions.

For special events or parties of 10 or more please contact the restaurant at bigbearcafe.events@gmail.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Organic

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST/LUNCH:
Monday thru Friday, 7am-3:45pm
Saturday 7:30am-3:45pm
Sunday 7:30am-5pm
DINNER:
Monday thru Thursday, 4-9pm
Friday & Saturday, 4-10pm
Sunday CLOSED at 7pm
HAPPY HOUR:
every day 4-7pm

Cross Street:
R St. NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 643-9222

Website:
http://www.bigbearcafe-dc.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Private Events please contact: http://www.opentable.com/rest_profile_privatedining.aspx?rid=146182

Private Dining

Flowering herbs, grape vines and fruit trees cover our garden patio as we we serve candle-lit, family style dinners using farm-sourced ingredients.

Sort By:
Newest
10 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were a party of 3. The worst thing wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

We were a party of 3. The worst thing was 2 of us ordered the same thing but only one of us was left with no food. The third person's dish didn't come till one of us was nearly done eating. Besides that it was a wonderful night out. The burger was delish. The farrow rissotto was surprisingly yummy. The Old Fashioneds were very smooth. The waiter was very apologetic and we'll blame the snafu on the tiny kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing Restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

I took my wife here for her birthday and we also had our wedding reception here. They have taken great care of us every time, it is clear they care about their customers. Plus, the food is amazing! The outside area is beautiful as well. They also have a great selection at the bar and great mixed drinks. We will be going back to Big Bear many times I'm sure and I would recommend it for any occasion. Great place, great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved that you could reach up and pick a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

Loved that you could reach up and pick a few grapes from the vines there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Variety for different ta ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2015

Delicious food. Variety for different tastes and diets. Waitress and chef were able to make slight adjustment for no saturated cream fat and low sodium, while staying true to the entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique, summertime ambiance outside. Def ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2015

Unique, summertime ambiance outside. Definitely a neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great laid back upscale rustic vibe

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2015

This is our fourth or fifth visit to Big Bear Cafe and we will keep coming back. The outdoor seating is very pretty, surrounded by an herb garden and underneath a network of grapevines. Indoors is rustic, but really well done. I'm not a huge foodie, but I've always liked the food and foodie friends have said they like it as well. They used to have awesome interesting drinks and while they were in between bartenders, the wait staff was nice enough to whip up some really interesting cocktails. We love the feel and the food and look forward to the next visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Comfortable Scene

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 25, 2015

Good food, great service, casual neighborhood vibe, not too loud at 8:00 on a Saturday night. Would definitely recommend the risotto and burgers. However, have only eaten here once on a cold winter night with 3 friends. Have not had the brunch menu which is highly recommended online or had the pleasure of sitting in the outdoor dining space, which is also highly recommended online. Look forward to returning for brunch in better weather.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love it!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2014

Healthy and tasty food, nice ambiance, cute terrace and good energy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This is the third time I've been to Big ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2014

This is the third time I've been to Big Bear for dinner. It was an excellent experience, per usual. We were celebrating a birthday with 13 people, and we sat outside on their patio. It's so wonderful out there - vines all around you, lights hung above you, not noisy. The drinks were delicious - especially the old oak tree cocktail and their sour white beer. Ordered the mac and cheese to start, which comes in the cutest little cast iron skillet. Definitely tasty, with a spicy kick, and not overly cheesy. Had the short ribs for dinner, which were cooked and seasoned so perfectly, as well as awesome greens and couscous. The plum cobbler dessert was my favorite. Service was excellent, though food took a while to come out. Overall delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2014

Big Bear is our normal morning spot for coffee and breakfast out on their patio, but we decided to give dinner a shot! The lighting, vines, patio, etc. is beautiful and would be great for friends or for a date. The food was absolutely delicious. We had a group of 7, so we tried much of the menu. Seriously- food is awesome; however, it took forever for us all to get our food (1+ hr)... likely because we had a larger group (and they have a small kitchen). I'd suggest going in a smaller group or plan to hang out for a while.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.