About Bien Salsa

119 West Virginia St.
McKinney, TX 75069
View Larger Map

Located in the Heart of the Historic Downtown McKinney, Bien Salsa has a unique concept of striving to serve traditional dishes from different regions of Mexico.
We distinguish ourselves by offering food and service that is excellent in quality, while offering fresh, natural Mexican cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Regional Mexican, Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Wood St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 548-4258

Website:
http://www.biensalsa.com/home

Catering:
Bien Salsa has all your Catering needs. Events up to 200 people. Contact our catering Department Today for pricing information. Check our website for more information.

Parking Details:
Bien Salsa parking lot is conveniently located on the corner of Virginia St. and Church St. less than a Block away from our facility.

Executive Chef:
Chef Mirella Velazquez

Private Party Facilities:
Our facility counts with a upper level mezzanine dining area that hold up to 40 people. The room has a private entrance stairwell with a beautiful chandelier to greet your guest with style and elegance. Larger parties can be accommodated in the main dinning room. Subject to availability

Private Party Contact:
Raul de la Rosa: (214) 548-4258

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bien Salsa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Special Occasion (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Romantic (3)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

We have a group of 6-15 that meet every Friday for after work Happy Hour into Dinner. We have been going to the same restaurant for over 2 years. We have now started to venture out to different restaurants every other Friday. Our group of 6 will return to Bien Salsa.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I brought our adult daughter, from Atlanta, to show her how much the cuisine has changed in McKinney since she lived here. My daughter visits many trendy restaurants in Atlanta and other cities, so she knows "good" when she experiences it. She was not disappointed and loved the food and the service. The cuisine is regional Mexican and is far removed from traditional Tex-Mex.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Took my nephews out for dinner. The waiter said he would bring the youngest something to color with and then forgot all about it. The boys did say that their ketchup, was the best they have ever had. So that's a plus.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was so very nice. Was a different cuisine then we were not accustomed to. Very nice. The food was not what I expected. But nothing to to do with the quality. Just wasn't our taste of food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Sadly this was not a good experience. We ordered two items that were below average. Mole enchiladas that were dry, dry, dry and shrimp enchiladas that were meh. Plus the ceviche appetizer came out only 2 minutes before the food. My three prior experiences were really good. I think we made poor selection.. (Although our waiter said these were good choices). So all in all just Ho hum...too expensive for Ho hum..

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Loved the colorful decor.. very cool place. Cozy but bright at the same time. Awesome tortilla chips. Great tasting margaritas!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food / beverages / staff were all very good. Our only issue was that the kitchen was very slow in delivering the food. Otherwise, was perfect!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We can't get enough of the brocheta, and it's not just the tableside final preparation with the flaming tequila. Everything about this place is authentic--the regional Mexican entrees, the beverages, and the people. It's no wonder it's getting busier. The word is out and it is bien!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Beef was quite tough, but the shrimp was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have dined on many occasions and the food and service have always been Fabulous! All of flavor and beautiful presentation. The decor is funky and comfortable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is the first Mexican restaurant I ever dined at where chips and salsa were extra. Remarkable. Food was ok. My dish was cold my wifes was warm. Did not complain just wanted to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food is good. The Ingredients are fresh. The drinks are tasty. The staff are friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We love Bien Salsa. We go there every Friday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I love the authenticity and freshness of Bien Salsa. This is not Tex-Mex! My favorite entree is the Enchiladas Poblanas. The Queso Fundido is cheesy and delicious! And you have to try the tequila infused flan, so good. Bien Salsa also has hand-crafted "adult beverages" that are fresh and unique. The food presentation and regional artwork make Bien Salsa such a welcoming and special place.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was great! Enjoyed our time at Bien Salsa. A bit pricey but worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was absolutely horrible. We had a party of 12 that was seated about 15 minutes before another large party of about 12 yet we were served last. Our meals came out 2 at a time with 10-15 minutes lag between each new set of food being brought out. It was ridiculous. The person who ordered first ordered a salad and was served last after most of the table had finished. I also had to ask several times for a drink refill. I got up and complained and was told that's just the way the kitchen is working. I asked to speak to the manager and he never showed up! Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had an 845 reservation. Seated late, no big deal. We got a table around 9. Waited. Waited. Servers passed us. Nothing. After about 15 minutes of no one even bringing water, we walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was great but service was a little lacking. Though we had reservations at 6:15 for a table of 4, we had to wait 10 mins past reserved time because there were no clean water glasses. The bar was fully stocked with glasses which could have been used. Also there were several tables around us that needed to be bussed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great for a nicer version of everyday dining!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This place is great! I visit a lot of Mexican Restaurant's, and their queso and chips is my favorite! Their Bein Salsa Margarita is also delicious.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The service here was outstanding. The server was the best. He helped us choice great food and drinks.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Overall dining experience was fair at best.

Drinks: My wife and I both ordered margaritas. They literally tasted like lemonade. I asked the waiter if they added alcohol in them because we couldn't taste any at all and he assured us they did (I am still not convinced)

Appetizer: We ordered the fundido and it was actually quite good. However, they only give you 3 small tortillas with it. We asked for some more and then saw on our bill at the end of the meal that they charged us for the extra tortillas. Not cool.

Main course: My wife and I both had some enchiladas (The flavors were quite good, but the temperature of them was luke warm.... the cheese wasn't even melted all the way through)

Won't be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great authentic Mexican regional cuisine. Excellent, friendly wait staff. Relaxing setting to enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Tapas, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had dinner with 4 friends. Food was fantastic and the ambience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The restaurant had a nice ambiance so we had a nice time while we caught up and talked. We ordered a salsa sampler appetizer. It was something we would have gotten free at any other Mexican type eatery. I am not a picky eater, but my meal was sub-par at best. I actually don't know what others in our party thought of their food. I guess its not a good sign if no one talks about their experience after they finish their meal. I ordered a glass of wine which was pretty good. Afterwards I ordered a dirty martini with a mid-level vodka. Not sure there was any vodka in the drink as it was mostly olive brine. It was pure salt. Gross!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fun place for casual dinner with friends. Different menu choice from true Mexican fare.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our table was ready when we got there. Service was great! We were a party of 8. Food didn't take long and it was really good plus yummy drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Nice , but expensive. Drinks were weak. Ok to try, but won't be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food, very fresh, flavorful and unique! However it is very expensive! It is not an everyday routine restaurant. I would recommend this place for special occasions when you're ready to spend some money and get great food out of it! Margaritas were so-so. But food was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 20, 2016

He food was very flavorful. We have two small chicken who are picky eaters and they ate everything from the chips and salsa to the tortas and churros. Our waiter was very attentive and offered up detailed suggestions. Overall the restaurant was one of best we have ever been to in years. Definitely has become a new favorite spot to eat at.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2016

food tasted very fresh and was very tasty. Also was very original

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I really like this restaurant and a really nice option for the downtown McKinney scene. My one complaint is you must pay extra for chips and salsa whereas most Mexican restaurants provide complimentary chips & salsa.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2016

My Husband and I went to Bien Salsa just for a night out. Our server was friendly and just attentive enough. Dinner was fabulous! We ordered a pitcher of margarita's. Which should have been way too much for 2 people. That the only downfall of the evening. SO much ice and no taste of alcohol. We will definitely go back for the great food. Perhaps pick different beverages?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very good quality ingredients. Gourmet presentation. Authentic Mexican dishes, which is hard to find in the Frisco, McKinney, Plano area. No Tex-Mex here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love this place. When I go, I get the queso, shrimp tacos (extra sauce) and a bien salsa margarita! Perfect MEAL!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had eaten there before and were impressed. So I suggested we do a huge family brunch there for Father's Day. The service was horrible. You also weren't allowed to order anything off of the menu. I apologized to our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 8, 2016

The service was incredibly slow and the food marginal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The ambiance was great, the server greeted us promptly and was attentive. My son's order arrived at the table first, then the server came back; apologized and stated he had the wrong order then proceeded to remove the plate and take it to another table. From that point, it was all down hill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food and service were both great. There are some unique and interesting offerings on the menu which are quite different from the usual Tex-Mex fare. The building construction and décor are pleasing as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The location, atmosphere and food were all excellent however the service left a LOT to be desired and it took us over an hour to receive our meal. Unacceptable in my opinion, it wasn't even overly busy in there at the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2016

the food was very good and unusual - not too crowded and not noisy - we will definitely return

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 17, 2016

They took on a large party that walked right in (30 or so people), and in turn we received slow service. Given the dessert was on the house to make up for the slowness, they should have not taken in the 30+ party if it was going to affect the rest of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Great food with different options of authentic Mexican from various regions. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food and the margaritas were great too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 5, 2016

Joe did a phenomenal job taking care of my family. We went for my Dad's birthday and Joe was there before we asked for anything. He was accommodating about the menu and was the perfect balance of attentive and non-intrusive. Outstanding food as always! I recommend the Arrachera to any meat lovers out there!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2016

We took my dad out to celebrate his 69th birthday. The service was slow and the music was so loud we had to yell at each other. When leaving, the tables were so close together, my dad, who has Parkinsons and walks with a cane, almost fell trying to get through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 20, 2016

great authentic mexican cuisine!!! will continue to return until i try the entire menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2016

This is one of the best authentic Mexican restaurants I've found in the area. The variety is great and the service is excellent. My only complaint is that on a Saturday night starting at 7 PM the place becomes an uncomfortably loud venue with screaming small children. I almost had a high chair dropped on me as it was being lifted over my head. Management should really consider their seating to accommodate all their guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Its a nice restaurant and good choice of mexican cuisine if you are meat lover.

We are vegetarian and had only one entree which was very good. will recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We discover bien salsa since it opened and it has been a go to place when we are craving the real Mexican food. The food it's always great. The chef has done an impeccable job with her creations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We enjoyed our Friday dinner here. The ambiance was nice and the service was good as well. Although the food was tasty, we felt it a little high in price in comparison to similarly themed Mexican Restaurants.

We would eat here again, but won't take the drive up just to eat here. If we're in McKinney for another event, this is a great place to grab something to eat - just not a destination restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.