About Bien Salsa

119 West Virginia St.
McKinney, TX 75069
View Larger Map

Located in the Heart of the Historic Downtown McKinney, Bien Salsa has a unique concept of striving to serve traditional dishes from different regions of Mexico.
We distinguish ourselves by offering food and service that is excellent in quality, while offering fresh, natural Mexican cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Regional Mexican, Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Wood St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 548-4258

Website:
http://www.biensalsa.com/home

Catering:
Bien Salsa has all your Catering needs. Events up to 200 people. Contact our catering Department Today for pricing information. Check our website for more information.

Parking Details:
Bien Salsa parking lot is conveniently located on the corner of Virginia St. and Church St. less than a Block away from our facility.

Executive Chef:
Chef Mirella Velazquez

Private Party Facilities:
Our facility counts with a upper level mezzanine dining area that hold up to 40 people. The room has a private entrance stairwell with a beautiful chandelier to greet your guest with style and elegance. Larger parties can be accommodated in the main dinning room. Subject to availability

Private Party Contact:
Raul de la Rosa: 2145484258x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bien Salsa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.5

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Dallas - Fort Worth
Neighborhood Gem
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in McKinney ›

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Romantic (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
95 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant had a nice ambiance so we ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The restaurant had a nice ambiance so we had a nice time while we caught up and talked. We ordered a salsa sampler appetizer. It was something we would have gotten free at any other Mexican type eatery. I am not a picky eater, but my meal was sub-par at best. I actually don't know what others in our party thought of their food. I guess its not a good sign if no one talks about their experience after they finish their meal. I ordered a glass of wine which was pretty good. Afterwards I ordered a dirty martini with a mid-level vodka. Not sure there was any vodka in the drink as it was mostly olive brine. It was pure salt. Gross!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Fun place for casual dinner with friends ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fun place for casual dinner with friends. Different menu choice from true Mexican fare.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Our table was ready when we got there. S ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our table was ready when we got there. Service was great! We were a party of 8. Food didn't take long and it was really good plus yummy drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice , but expensive. Drinks were weak. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Nice , but expensive. Drinks were weak. Ok to try, but won't be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food, very fresh, flavorful an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food, very fresh, flavorful and unique! However it is very expensive! It is not an everyday routine restaurant. I would recommend this place for special occasions when you're ready to spend some money and get great food out of it! Margaritas were so-so. But food was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

He food was very flavorful. We have two ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

He food was very flavorful. We have two small chicken who are picky eaters and they ate everything from the chips and salsa to the tortas and churros. Our waiter was very attentive and offered up detailed suggestions. Overall the restaurant was one of best we have ever been to in years. Definitely has become a new favorite spot to eat at.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food tasted very fresh and was very tast ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

food tasted very fresh and was very tasty. Also was very original

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I really like this restaurant and a real ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I really like this restaurant and a really nice option for the downtown McKinney scene. My one complaint is you must pay extra for chips and salsa whereas most Mexican restaurants provide complimentary chips & salsa.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My Husband and I went to Bien Salsa just ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My Husband and I went to Bien Salsa just for a night out. Our server was friendly and just attentive enough. Dinner was fabulous! We ordered a pitcher of margarita's. Which should have been way too much for 2 people. That the only downfall of the evening. SO much ice and no taste of alcohol. We will definitely go back for the great food. Perhaps pick different beverages?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good quality ingredients. Gourmet ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very good quality ingredients. Gourmet presentation. Authentic Mexican dishes, which is hard to find in the Frisco, McKinney, Plano area. No Tex-Mex here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. When I go, I get the ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love this place. When I go, I get the queso, shrimp tacos (extra sauce) and a bien salsa margarita! Perfect MEAL!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had eaten there before and were impre ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had eaten there before and were impressed. So I suggested we do a huge family brunch there for Father's Day. The service was horrible. You also weren't allowed to order anything off of the menu. I apologized to our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

The service was incredibly slow and the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The service was incredibly slow and the food marginal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

The ambiance was great, the server greet ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The ambiance was great, the server greeted us promptly and was attentive. My son's order arrived at the table first, then the server came back; apologized and stated he had the wrong order then proceeded to remove the plate and take it to another table. From that point, it was all down hill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Food and service were both great. There ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food and service were both great. There are some unique and interesting offerings on the menu which are quite different from the usual Tex-Mex fare. The building construction and décor are pleasing as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food -HORRIBLE service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The location, atmosphere and food were all excellent however the service left a LOT to be desired and it took us over an hour to receive our meal. Unacceptable in my opinion, it wasn't even overly busy in there at the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

enjoyable evening

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

the food was very good and unusual - not too crowded and not noisy - we will definitely return

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Poor Service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

They took on a large party that walked right in (30 or so people), and in turn we received slow service. Given the dessert was on the house to make up for the slowness, they should have not taken in the 30+ party if it was going to affect the rest of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Loved it

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Great food with different options of authentic Mexican from various regions. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food and the margaritas were great too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Joe was outstanding.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Joe did a phenomenal job taking care of my family. We went for my Dad's birthday and Joe was there before we asked for anything. He was accommodating about the menu and was the perfect balance of attentive and non-intrusive. Outstanding food as always! I recommend the Arrachera to any meat lovers out there!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Not returning

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We took my dad out to celebrate his 69th birthday. The service was slow and the music was so loud we had to yell at each other. When leaving, the tables were so close together, my dad, who has Parkinsons and walks with a cane, almost fell trying to get through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

great authentic mexican cuisine!!! will ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

great authentic mexican cuisine!!! will continue to return until i try the entire menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Authentic Mexican Food but very noisy

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

This is one of the best authentic Mexican restaurants I've found in the area. The variety is great and the service is excellent. My only complaint is that on a Saturday night starting at 7 PM the place becomes an uncomfortably loud venue with screaming small children. I almost had a high chair dropped on me as it was being lifted over my head. Management should really consider their seating to accommodate all their guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Good restaurant

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Its a nice restaurant and good choice of mexican cuisine if you are meat lover.

We are vegetarian and had only one entree which was very good. will recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amaizing Authentic Mexican Food

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We discover bien salsa since it opened and it has been a go to place when we are craving the real Mexican food. The food it's always great. The chef has done an impeccable job with her creations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restuarant

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We enjoyed our Friday dinner here. The ambiance was nice and the service was good as well. Although the food was tasty, we felt it a little high in price in comparison to similarly themed Mexican Restaurants.

We would eat here again, but won't take the drive up just to eat here. If we're in McKinney for another event, this is a great place to grab something to eat - just not a destination restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good find.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We always enjoy spots in downtown McKinney. This was a good find that fit our big group on a Friday evening. The food was great. If you like Mexican food but get bored with Tex-Mex, this is a great spot! Only negative was having to pay for chips and salsa...but they were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great 2nd experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We had dinner in NYE and it was absolutely fabulous! Service, food and drinks were a huge hit for all four of us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent authentic Mexican fare on New Year's Eve

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We enjoyed another fantastic outing to Bien Salsa with family on New Year's Eve. Giovanni provided exquisite service, recommendations, and explanations of the menu for our first time guests; everything was cooked to perfection and presented with care. I could eat here monthly if my schedule allowed it. There were audible "Oohs and Ahs" when the flaming tequila was drizzled over my brocheta before plating. Only thing better was the savory taste of every grilled meat and vegetable. We'll be back as soon as possible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Going Downhill Fast

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We have been frequenting Bien since the open of it. Taken large family dinners there and it was very good. However the last two occasions two things stood out. One, it was empty. Two, the food and management were much different. The food tasted of old grease and management had severel this time we will but not next time on requests that were offered up on our first visits. Like I told the server, who was awesome, tell her(mngr) there likely wont be a next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Food was really good but not all that in ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Food was really good but not all that interesting or adventurous. But it's nice to have solid Mexican food in DT McKinney. I hope this place makes it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent food but service is slow

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Excellent food but service is slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The Food is fantastic, the Mexican test ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

The Food is fantastic, the Mexican test is the best.

The dessert also were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great Place

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Really good food. Located in an old, refurbished building in downtown McKinney. Not so loud as to inhibit conversation. Service is a little spotty but not enough to ruin the evening. Definitely a restaurant worth checking out. We'll go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food Great! Drinks, no.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

My husband and I ate here with a friend and the food was very good. They have their menu sectioned off into three different food regions of Mexico. We each ordered from each section and there really was a very distinct taste between all three dishes, which was very cool. Their tortilla chips are very delicious, too.. we emptied our basket very quickly.

Now, for the bad news--the drinks.

My husband and I both ordered their Bien Salsa Margarita ($12.95, or whatever) on the rocks, one w/salt, one w/o. It tasted like mix and water. Like they made a margarita, let it sit in the sun four 4 hours, then served it to me. Neither of us could taste any alcohol. Our friend arrived and we got a second one--only this time we thought- "hey, if we're thowing our money down the drain might as well have top shelf." So, we all ordered a top shelf ($13.95) in cucumber and original favors. They come out and my cucumber margarita with Patron Silver literally tasted like the juice of a cucumber, only. I stirred, nothing. We flag down the waitress and tell her our issue--she gets us a shot to put in the margarita---ahhh, there we go.

So, the drinks were disappointing, but the food was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food, service slow....

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

I love this place....they consistently deliver on food quality. I almost always get the Lobster Enchiladas - yummy! My sister got what I call the "flaming beef" - I think the actual name is Bruchetta maybe? It's a skewer kabob with beef, veggies, onions that they flame tableside with tequila. She shared with us and it is to die for - I may get that next time. The only beef I have with this place is that the service is notoriously slow. There was only one other table going at the time we were there but still took about 15 minutes to get our drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Excellent food, first-rate service and a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Excellent food, first-rate service and a charming decor made this a memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique way to delivery and serve especia ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Unique way to delivery and serve especially my plate food overall was ok service not the greatest I guess we pick busy day .little pricey for the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Bien Salsa

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Went here for a birthday lunch. Food and service were wonderful. Had a great specialty frozen margarita with orange in it. Best margarita ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Food was outstanding.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Waitress was attentive but not overbearing. Food was amazing with tons of flavor. Had the cucumber margaritas which were great. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.