Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Bien Salsa

4.4
158 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Regional Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Located in the Heart of the Historic Downtown McKinney, Bien Salsa has a unique concept of striving to serve traditional dishes from different regions of Mexico.
We distinguish ourselves by offering food and service that is excellent in quality, while offering fresh, natural Mexican cuisine.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Regional Mexican, Mexican, Contemporary Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(214) 548-4258
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our facility counts with a upper level mezzanine dining area that hold up to 45 people. The room has a private entrance stairwell with a beautiful chandelier to greet your guest with style and elegance. Larger parties can be accommodated in the main dinning room. Subject to availability
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Raul de la Rosa: (214) 548-4258
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Bien Salsa has all your Catering needs. Events up to 200 people. Contact our catering Department Today for pricing information. Check our website for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
S. Wood St.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 158 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Awesome food & drinks! You MUST try the chips and salsa! YUM!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was very tasty and interesting selection. Excellent service

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Third time dining here. The previous visit was great so we came back. We might have known something changed, it was 7pm and they had lots of open tables available.
Anyway, just our previous visit we ordered a pitcher of Margaritas. The waitress quickly snapped (with plenty of attitude) “Oh, we don’t sell pitchers at a table for two”. I replied; Well, you use to because we ordered one! They charge $2.50 for chips, food was fine, drinks are okay but expensive and service from (ticket says “Weeble Wobble”) was below average. We are looking for another Option - prob will not be back here. Bye Wobble!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Very attentive service yet jot rushed at all. Every dish is was tasty. Two of us had chilaquiles (no meat one either) and enjoyed it. Dining room was fairly quiet as the weather was bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The only complaint was we were sat right beside a table that was occupied when the restaurant was 95% empty... makes for an awkward night when I’m on a date.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Consistently flavorful food and attentive service. Love the Tamirand Margarita with the spiced rim. Very cool atmosphere and furnishings. The half booths are my fav!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Always great food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Awesome margaritas, great service and generous portions!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Nice place with a unique touch to Mexican food. Not your average Tex-Mex. A little pricey, but very good. Get the chips and salsa, best buy in the house and really good. Bar can be noisy, but service was smooth and sharp.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

This was a last minute choice for a downtown McKinney square evening. This was the highlight! Just GO!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Incredible spot in downtown Mckinney. We've been twice and both times we've had incredible service. The food is absolutely incredible. Everything is fresh. The chips and salsa are made in house and are incredible. We had a party of 5 and everyone was raving about their meals, so if there's a weakness on the menu, we have yet to find it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 12, 2018

We went on a Friday night and the restaurant was dead. Only 2 other parties in there. We had a group of 8 and not one person was satisfied with their meal. 2 people ordered the fish, and when we asked the waitress if it was spicy she said yes, "Most people usually end up sending it back". Why then would a place continue to serve it without adjustment if that's the case? One person tried the spicy and it was VERY HOT, the other ordered the suggested garlic sause and it was flavorless. 4 people ordered different types of enchiladas and they all came out cold. Then when it was time for the check and we wanted 4 checks (one per couple) it took the waitress 3 trips back to our table to get it correct; even after we wrote it down for her! Overall, I do not recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 4, 2018

Great food and great service. The wait staff was very friendly and the food was great. A great selection of speciality cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

They serve chips (warm) and 3 different kinds of dip/salsa while you wait for your food that is very good.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 27, 2017

Really poor food and drink. Plus the restaurant looks amazing inside, very authentic, but they played Beatles music all dinner long? Where’s the upbeat salsa music?

The “special” margarita was watered down and tasteless. The food was served super fast, almost too fast, and was unmemorable. Go figure when 4 tables have people at them and the rest are empty. Someone is asleep at the managerial wheel. Super surprised they’ve been open 4 years. 😬

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Another repeat visit for us. Food is consistently great. Our server , Kim, was attentive and friendly. The margaritas are awesome - my wife especially liked the coconut margarita.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 9, 2017

First, they charge for their chips and salsa -- yes, you read that correctly. Secondly, when asked to sample their sangria (everyone knows each restaurant makes their sangria differently), they said 'no--each glass is made separately'. Lastly, on a Saturday night, the place is mostly empty--suspect this is, in part due to the prices being 25% higher than they need to be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food, margaritas were very good, recommend the house special. Enjoyed the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was overpriced

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Ordered unsweetened tea and what received tasted like was uncarbonated Dr Pepper. Asked for a different glass same thing. Food was ok. Waiter was a space cadet. Will not go again. Had so much potential but fell so far on its face.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was ok. Restaurant smells musty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was terrific. Service was efficient but not overly friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

We never go wrong with anything on the menu. Try a skinny coconut margarita!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2017

While the noise level was a bit loud the food was outstanding and our server Becky was even better. Give her a raise!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

Outstanding food. Not your Tex mex more northern Mexico. Love this place and you will too!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server Tony was great! The Cucumber margaritas were delicious! Guacamole was awesome. Entrees were ok, mine was very spicy. (I asked for very mild)
The temperature in the restaurant was very warm, on a 100 degree day in Texas, we were hoping for a cool place to have dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2017

Went on a double date here after seeing a Groupon for ~50% off. Everyone that was with me really enjoyed their meals, but I think it's comparing apples to oranges with your everyday Mexican food. If you bucket this into its own bucket, it was pretty good. I definitely wouldn't recommend the steak as it was tough and I only ate a few bites. The sauces on the enchiladas were VERY good - mole and then some Chihuahua cheese sauce. The samplers of salsa and the overall sampler were great. Don't be afraid to ask for more chips - those were probably my favorite part of the meal. The ambiance is great here. It did seem like the guy behind the bar was a bit grumpy when our waiter was trying to get the Groupon in as I guess it required his approval and it seemed like it was a big problem for him to do. All in all, I'd go back here because of how much my wife enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2017

Red Snapper was a bit fishy. The enchiladas I had we're a bit dry with the chicken overcooked, and the cerviche appetizer was good, but too small for the price. Overall, it felt like they used premium ingredients, but the execution was a failure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

It was our first time at Bien Salsa since moving to McKinney 7 months ago, but will not be our last. Smaller, cozier restaurant with good ambiance, but what is really amazing is the food, cocktails and service. House margaritas are so good. Try the queso that is melted cheese with their homemade chorizo! My husband had the surf and turf and I had shrimp enchiladas and both were excellent and we splurged with the churro dessert, which I would highly recommend! Our server was great with awesome suggestions - our new favorite Mexican restaurant in town!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Overprice and underwhelming. There for Cinco de Mayo and they had an hour wait...we had reservations so no worries there...but 1 bartender? Really? The worst thing is ordering a second drink when the entered arrived but not getting the drink until you have finished your meal. Seriously bad timing and service. There are too many good Mexican restaurants in this town for such a bad one to last very long

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2017

The menu items are well thought out and reflect the different regional cuisines. Presentations are quite attractive and are as delicious as they look.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2017

The owner came to our table, introduced himself and spent a few minutes talking with us which we really appreciated and enjoyed. He is a remarkable young man who will be successful because of his hands on approach, personality and general attitude toward life and people. We wish him the best.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2017

It was my dads birthday and also we were having our Easter brunch. I put on the reservation that it was his birthday but nothing was mentioned about it which is fine. When we go there the waiter yelled out to the bartender "should I just put them anywhere?" It felt like we didn't make a reservation at all. Overall good was good. I did feel bad for the waiter, this was one of his first brunches. There was no one in the restaurant when he took our order but he had to come back and ask for what we ordered again with a notepad this time. 2 of the meals came out and then the waiter came back and asked my sister more questions about her order which was weird because they were already putting my parents food and my food on the table. Her meal of course came last. I would come back here again but it definitely wasn't my best experience wth them.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 31, 2017

Disappointed in our visit, it was our first visit, and we do not plan to return. Food lacked flavor (even their spiciest sauce), service was sub par. Food was very overpriced.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2017

Our experience ranged from poor (service) to good (food). We had a reservation, which basically served no purpose. The hostess wasn't aware we were coming, nor did they have a table ready. We had to wait about 10 mins for a table. We didn't mind the wait, but I just didn't understand why they take reservations if they don't mean anything.

Overall the staff and restaurant seemed ill prepared for a Friday night dinner hour. They were cleaning tables and getting the restaurant ready for customers even though it was 7pm. They were literally spraying cleaning solution on several of the tables around us to the point that we could smell the cleaning agent and it started making us cough. I'm glad cleanliness is important, but that's not how you clean tables while you have customers in the restaurant. It was also strange that half of the staff was in uniform, and other staff members were wearing street clothes. That seemed very unusual to us. Especially for a restaurant catering to more of an upscale Mexican food dining experience. I hate to single out anyone in particular but the hostess wasn't very professional and her attire looked more suited to walking the street corners of NY than working as a hostess at a restaurant like this

The real issue with our experience was that after we were seated, we had to wait (no exaggeration) almost 20 minutes for anyone in the restaurant to come to our table. Numerous other tables were seated, brought drinks, and appetizers before anyone ever came to wait on us. We were within seconds of getting up & walking out as someone finally asked if we had been helped. He quickly apologized & told us he would personally take care of us. He did a good job of taking care of our table from that point forward.

The food is a little pricey (but we knew that going in) but it was also really good. We ate as much as we could and still couldn't finish it all! The kitchen has things sorted out, but the front of the restaurant is sorely lacking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2017

We love you and salsa it is one of our go to date night places I really like the flaming bruschetta

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2017

Yeah, so you charge for chips and salsa... Really?
Happy hours are different - ends at 5pm - so dont go looking for specials in early evening.
At any price - we liked the margaritas!
Guacamole was excellent but serving size was small.
Menu is unique and high quality. Our dishes were well prepared and presented in a reasonable time. (Not fast or slow - about right but the place wasnt crowded at the time)
Worth a try in a great area - we will go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Love their Tres Leches Coco for dessert. Real tortilla chips. Quality food and appropriate portions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2017

We have a group of 6-15 that meet every Friday for after work Happy Hour into Dinner. We have been going to the same restaurant for over 2 years. We have now started to venture out to different restaurants every other Friday. Our group of 6 will return to Bien Salsa.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2017

My wife and I brought our adult daughter, from Atlanta, to show her how much the cuisine has changed in McKinney since she lived here. My daughter visits many trendy restaurants in Atlanta and other cities, so she knows "good" when she experiences it. She was not disappointed and loved the food and the service. The cuisine is regional Mexican and is far removed from traditional Tex-Mex.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4