Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Bien Salsa

Located in the Heart of the Historic Downtown McKinney, Bien Salsa has a unique concept of striving to serve traditional dishes from different regions of Mexico.
We distinguish ourselves by offering food and service that is excellent in quality, while offering fresh, natural Mexican cuisine.

119 West Virginia St.
McKinney, TX 75069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Regional Mexican, Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Wood St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 548-4258

Website:
http://www.biensalsa.com/home

Catering:
Bien Salsa has all your Catering needs. Events up to 200 people. Contact our catering Department Today for pricing information. Check our website for more information.

Parking Details:
Bien Salsa parking lot is conveniently located on the corner of Virginia St. and Church St. less than a Block away from our facility.

Executive Chef:
Chef Mirella Velazquez

Private Party Facilities:
Our facility counts with a upper level mezzanine dining area that hold up to 40 people. The room has a private entrance stairwell with a beautiful chandelier to greet your guest with style and elegance. Larger parties can be accommodated in the main dinning room. Subject to availability

Private Party Contact:
Raul de la Rosa: (214) 548-4258

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bien Salsa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (6)
See All
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Romantic (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overprice and underwhelming. There for Cinco de Mayo and they had an hour wait...we had reservations so no worries there...but 1 bartender? Really? The worst thing is ordering a second drink when the entered arrived but not getting the drink until you have finished your meal. Seriously bad timing and service. There are too many good Mexican restaurants in this town for such a bad one to last very long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The menu items are well thought out and reflect the different regional cuisines. Presentations are quite attractive and are as delicious as they look.

Tags: Spicy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The owner came to our table, introduced himself and spent a few minutes talking with us which we really appreciated and enjoyed. He is a remarkable young man who will be successful because of his hands on approach, personality and general attitude toward life and people. We wish him the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was my dads birthday and also we were having our Easter brunch. I put on the reservation that it was his birthday but nothing was mentioned about it which is fine. When we go there the waiter yelled out to the bartender "should I just put them anywhere?" It felt like we didn't make a reservation at all. Overall good was good. I did feel bad for the waiter, this was one of his first brunches. There was no one in the restaurant when he took our order but he had to come back and ask for what we ordered again with a notepad this time. 2 of the meals came out and then the waiter came back and asked my sister more questions about her order which was weird because they were already putting my parents food and my food on the table. Her meal of course came last. I would come back here again but it definitely wasn't my best experience wth them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Disappointed in our visit, it was our first visit, and we do not plan to return. Food lacked flavor (even their spiciest sauce), service was sub par. Food was very overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our experience ranged from poor (service) to good (food). We had a reservation, which basically served no purpose. The hostess wasn't aware we were coming, nor did they have a table ready. We had to wait about 10 mins for a table. We didn't mind the wait, but I just didn't understand why they take reservations if they don't mean anything.

Overall the staff and restaurant seemed ill prepared for a Friday night dinner hour. They were cleaning tables and getting the restaurant ready for customers even though it was 7pm. They were literally spraying cleaning solution on several of the tables around us to the point that we could smell the cleaning agent and it started making us cough. I'm glad cleanliness is important, but that's not how you clean tables while you have customers in the restaurant. It was also strange that half of the staff was in uniform, and other staff members were wearing street clothes. That seemed very unusual to us. Especially for a restaurant catering to more of an upscale Mexican food dining experience. I hate to single out anyone in particular but the hostess wasn't very professional and her attire looked more suited to walking the street corners of NY than working as a hostess at a restaurant like this

The real issue with our experience was that after we were seated, we had to wait (no exaggeration) almost 20 minutes for anyone in the restaurant to come to our table. Numerous other tables were seated, brought drinks, and appetizers before anyone ever came to wait on us. We were within seconds of getting up & walking out as someone finally asked if we had been helped. He quickly apologized & told us he would personally take care of us. He did a good job of taking care of our table from that point forward.

The food is a little pricey (but we knew that going in) but it was also really good. We ate as much as we could and still couldn't finish it all! The kitchen has things sorted out, but the front of the restaurant is sorely lacking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We love you and salsa it is one of our go to date night places I really like the flaming bruschetta

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Yeah, so you charge for chips and salsa... Really?
Happy hours are different - ends at 5pm - so dont go looking for specials in early evening.
At any price - we liked the margaritas!
Guacamole was excellent but serving size was small.
Menu is unique and high quality. Our dishes were well prepared and presented in a reasonable time. (Not fast or slow - about right but the place wasnt crowded at the time)
Worth a try in a great area - we will go back

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love their Tres Leches Coco for dessert. Real tortilla chips. Quality food and appropriate portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We have a group of 6-15 that meet every Friday for after work Happy Hour into Dinner. We have been going to the same restaurant for over 2 years. We have now started to venture out to different restaurants every other Friday. Our group of 6 will return to Bien Salsa.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My wife and I brought our adult daughter, from Atlanta, to show her how much the cuisine has changed in McKinney since she lived here. My daughter visits many trendy restaurants in Atlanta and other cities, so she knows "good" when she experiences it. She was not disappointed and loved the food and the service. The cuisine is regional Mexican and is far removed from traditional Tex-Mex.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Took my nephews out for dinner. The waiter said he would bring the youngest something to color with and then forgot all about it. The boys did say that their ketchup, was the best they have ever had. So that's a plus.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was so very nice. Was a different cuisine then we were not accustomed to. Very nice. The food was not what I expected. But nothing to to do with the quality. Just wasn't our taste of food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Sadly this was not a good experience. We ordered two items that were below average. Mole enchiladas that were dry, dry, dry and shrimp enchiladas that were meh. Plus the ceviche appetizer came out only 2 minutes before the food. My three prior experiences were really good. I think we made poor selection.. (Although our waiter said these were good choices). So all in all just Ho hum...too expensive for Ho hum..

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Loved the colorful decor.. very cool place. Cozy but bright at the same time. Awesome tortilla chips. Great tasting margaritas!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food / beverages / staff were all very good. Our only issue was that the kitchen was very slow in delivering the food. Otherwise, was perfect!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We can't get enough of the brocheta, and it's not just the tableside final preparation with the flaming tequila. Everything about this place is authentic--the regional Mexican entrees, the beverages, and the people. It's no wonder it's getting busier. The word is out and it is bien!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Beef was quite tough, but the shrimp was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have dined on many occasions and the food and service have always been Fabulous! All of flavor and beautiful presentation. The decor is funky and comfortable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is the first Mexican restaurant I ever dined at where chips and salsa were extra. Remarkable. Food was ok. My dish was cold my wifes was warm. Did not complain just wanted to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food is good. The Ingredients are fresh. The drinks are tasty. The staff are friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We love Bien Salsa. We go there every Friday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I love the authenticity and freshness of Bien Salsa. This is not Tex-Mex! My favorite entree is the Enchiladas Poblanas. The Queso Fundido is cheesy and delicious! And you have to try the tequila infused flan, so good. Bien Salsa also has hand-crafted "adult beverages" that are fresh and unique. The food presentation and regional artwork make Bien Salsa such a welcoming and special place.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was great! Enjoyed our time at Bien Salsa. A bit pricey but worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was absolutely horrible. We had a party of 12 that was seated about 15 minutes before another large party of about 12 yet we were served last. Our meals came out 2 at a time with 10-15 minutes lag between each new set of food being brought out. It was ridiculous. The person who ordered first ordered a salad and was served last after most of the table had finished. I also had to ask several times for a drink refill. I got up and complained and was told that's just the way the kitchen is working. I asked to speak to the manager and he never showed up! Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had an 845 reservation. Seated late, no big deal. We got a table around 9. Waited. Waited. Servers passed us. Nothing. After about 15 minutes of no one even bringing water, we walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was great but service was a little lacking. Though we had reservations at 6:15 for a table of 4, we had to wait 10 mins past reserved time because there were no clean water glasses. The bar was fully stocked with glasses which could have been used. Also there were several tables around us that needed to be bussed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great for a nicer version of everyday dining!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This place is great! I visit a lot of Mexican Restaurant's, and their queso and chips is my favorite! Their Bein Salsa Margarita is also delicious.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The service here was outstanding. The server was the best. He helped us choice great food and drinks.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Overall dining experience was fair at best.

Drinks: My wife and I both ordered margaritas. They literally tasted like lemonade. I asked the waiter if they added alcohol in them because we couldn't taste any at all and he assured us they did (I am still not convinced)

Appetizer: We ordered the fundido and it was actually quite good. However, they only give you 3 small tortillas with it. We asked for some more and then saw on our bill at the end of the meal that they charged us for the extra tortillas. Not cool.

Main course: My wife and I both had some enchiladas (The flavors were quite good, but the temperature of them was luke warm.... the cheese wasn't even melted all the way through)

Won't be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great authentic Mexican regional cuisine. Excellent, friendly wait staff. Relaxing setting to enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Tapas, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had dinner with 4 friends. Food was fantastic and the ambience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The restaurant had a nice ambiance so we had a nice time while we caught up and talked. We ordered a salsa sampler appetizer. It was something we would have gotten free at any other Mexican type eatery. I am not a picky eater, but my meal was sub-par at best. I actually don't know what others in our party thought of their food. I guess its not a good sign if no one talks about their experience after they finish their meal. I ordered a glass of wine which was pretty good. Afterwards I ordered a dirty martini with a mid-level vodka. Not sure there was any vodka in the drink as it was mostly olive brine. It was pure salt. Gross!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fun place for casual dinner with friends. Different menu choice from true Mexican fare.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our table was ready when we got there. Service was great! We were a party of 8. Food didn't take long and it was really good plus yummy drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Nice , but expensive. Drinks were weak. Ok to try, but won't be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food, very fresh, flavorful and unique! However it is very expensive! It is not an everyday routine restaurant. I would recommend this place for special occasions when you're ready to spend some money and get great food out of it! Margaritas were so-so. But food was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 20, 2016

He food was very flavorful. We have two small chicken who are picky eaters and they ate everything from the chips and salsa to the tortas and churros. Our waiter was very attentive and offered up detailed suggestions. Overall the restaurant was one of best we have ever been to in years. Definitely has become a new favorite spot to eat at.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2016

food tasted very fresh and was very tasty. Also was very original

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.