Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Bien Salsa

Located in the Heart of the Historic Downtown McKinney, Bien Salsa has a unique concept of striving to serve traditional dishes from different regions of Mexico.
We distinguish ourselves by offering food and service that is excellent in quality, while offering fresh, natural Mexican cuisine.

119 West Virginia St.
McKinney, TX 75069
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Regional Mexican, Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Friday - Saturday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Wood St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 548-4258

Website:
http://www.biensalsa.com/home

Catering:
Bien Salsa has all your Catering needs. Events up to 200 people. Contact our catering Department Today for pricing information. Check our website for more information.

Parking Details:
Bien Salsa parking lot is conveniently located on the corner of Virginia St. and Church St. less than a Block away from our facility.

Executive Chef:
Chef Mirella Velazquez

Private Party Facilities:
Our facility counts with a upper level mezzanine dining area that hold up to 40 people. The room has a private entrance stairwell with a beautiful chandelier to greet your guest with style and elegance. Larger parties can be accommodated in the main dinning room. Subject to availability

Private Party Contact:
Raul de la Rosa: (214) 548-4258

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bien Salsa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (7)
See All
Fun (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
People Watching (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Business Meals (3)
Spicy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Romantic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, margaritas were very good, recommend the house special. Enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Ordered unsweetened tea and what received tasted like was uncarbonated Dr Pepper. Asked for a different glass same thing. Food was ok. Waiter was a space cadet. Will not go again. Had so much potential but fell so far on its face.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was ok. Restaurant smells musty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was terrific. Service was efficient but not overly friendly

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

While the noise level was a bit loud the food was outstanding and our server Becky was even better. Give her a raise!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Outstanding food. Not your Tex mex more northern Mexico. Love this place and you will too!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server Tony was great! The Cucumber margaritas were delicious! Guacamole was awesome. Entrees were ok, mine was very spicy. (I asked for very mild)
The temperature in the restaurant was very warm, on a 100 degree day in Texas, we were hoping for a cool place to have dinner.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Went on a double date here after seeing a Groupon for ~50% off. Everyone that was with me really enjoyed their meals, but I think it's comparing apples to oranges with your everyday Mexican food. If you bucket this into its own bucket, it was pretty good. I definitely wouldn't recommend the steak as it was tough and I only ate a few bites. The sauces on the enchiladas were VERY good - mole and then some Chihuahua cheese sauce. The samplers of salsa and the overall sampler were great. Don't be afraid to ask for more chips - those were probably my favorite part of the meal. The ambiance is great here. It did seem like the guy behind the bar was a bit grumpy when our waiter was trying to get the Groupon in as I guess it required his approval and it seemed like it was a big problem for him to do. All in all, I'd go back here because of how much my wife enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Red Snapper was a bit fishy. The enchiladas I had we're a bit dry with the chicken overcooked, and the cerviche appetizer was good, but too small for the price. Overall, it felt like they used premium ingredients, but the execution was a failure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was our first time at Bien Salsa since moving to McKinney 7 months ago, but will not be our last. Smaller, cozier restaurant with good ambiance, but what is really amazing is the food, cocktails and service. House margaritas are so good. Try the queso that is melted cheese with their homemade chorizo! My husband had the surf and turf and I had shrimp enchiladas and both were excellent and we splurged with the churro dessert, which I would highly recommend! Our server was great with awesome suggestions - our new favorite Mexican restaurant in town!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Overprice and underwhelming. There for Cinco de Mayo and they had an hour wait...we had reservations so no worries there...but 1 bartender? Really? The worst thing is ordering a second drink when the entered arrived but not getting the drink until you have finished your meal. Seriously bad timing and service. There are too many good Mexican restaurants in this town for such a bad one to last very long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The menu items are well thought out and reflect the different regional cuisines. Presentations are quite attractive and are as delicious as they look.

Tags: Spicy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The owner came to our table, introduced himself and spent a few minutes talking with us which we really appreciated and enjoyed. He is a remarkable young man who will be successful because of his hands on approach, personality and general attitude toward life and people. We wish him the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was my dads birthday and also we were having our Easter brunch. I put on the reservation that it was his birthday but nothing was mentioned about it which is fine. When we go there the waiter yelled out to the bartender "should I just put them anywhere?" It felt like we didn't make a reservation at all. Overall good was good. I did feel bad for the waiter, this was one of his first brunches. There was no one in the restaurant when he took our order but he had to come back and ask for what we ordered again with a notepad this time. 2 of the meals came out and then the waiter came back and asked my sister more questions about her order which was weird because they were already putting my parents food and my food on the table. Her meal of course came last. I would come back here again but it definitely wasn't my best experience wth them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Disappointed in our visit, it was our first visit, and we do not plan to return. Food lacked flavor (even their spiciest sauce), service was sub par. Food was very overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our experience ranged from poor (service) to good (food). We had a reservation, which basically served no purpose. The hostess wasn't aware we were coming, nor did they have a table ready. We had to wait about 10 mins for a table. We didn't mind the wait, but I just didn't understand why they take reservations if they don't mean anything.

Overall the staff and restaurant seemed ill prepared for a Friday night dinner hour. They were cleaning tables and getting the restaurant ready for customers even though it was 7pm. They were literally spraying cleaning solution on several of the tables around us to the point that we could smell the cleaning agent and it started making us cough. I'm glad cleanliness is important, but that's not how you clean tables while you have customers in the restaurant. It was also strange that half of the staff was in uniform, and other staff members were wearing street clothes. That seemed very unusual to us. Especially for a restaurant catering to more of an upscale Mexican food dining experience. I hate to single out anyone in particular but the hostess wasn't very professional and her attire looked more suited to walking the street corners of NY than working as a hostess at a restaurant like this

The real issue with our experience was that after we were seated, we had to wait (no exaggeration) almost 20 minutes for anyone in the restaurant to come to our table. Numerous other tables were seated, brought drinks, and appetizers before anyone ever came to wait on us. We were within seconds of getting up & walking out as someone finally asked if we had been helped. He quickly apologized & told us he would personally take care of us. He did a good job of taking care of our table from that point forward.

The food is a little pricey (but we knew that going in) but it was also really good. We ate as much as we could and still couldn't finish it all! The kitchen has things sorted out, but the front of the restaurant is sorely lacking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love you and salsa it is one of our go to date night places I really like the flaming bruschetta

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Yeah, so you charge for chips and salsa... Really?
Happy hours are different - ends at 5pm - so dont go looking for specials in early evening.
At any price - we liked the margaritas!
Guacamole was excellent but serving size was small.
Menu is unique and high quality. Our dishes were well prepared and presented in a reasonable time. (Not fast or slow - about right but the place wasnt crowded at the time)
Worth a try in a great area - we will go back

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Love their Tres Leches Coco for dessert. Real tortilla chips. Quality food and appropriate portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We have a group of 6-15 that meet every Friday for after work Happy Hour into Dinner. We have been going to the same restaurant for over 2 years. We have now started to venture out to different restaurants every other Friday. Our group of 6 will return to Bien Salsa.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My wife and I brought our adult daughter, from Atlanta, to show her how much the cuisine has changed in McKinney since she lived here. My daughter visits many trendy restaurants in Atlanta and other cities, so she knows "good" when she experiences it. She was not disappointed and loved the food and the service. The cuisine is regional Mexican and is far removed from traditional Tex-Mex.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Took my nephews out for dinner. The waiter said he would bring the youngest something to color with and then forgot all about it. The boys did say that their ketchup, was the best they have ever had. So that's a plus.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was so very nice. Was a different cuisine then we were not accustomed to. Very nice. The food was not what I expected. But nothing to to do with the quality. Just wasn't our taste of food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Sadly this was not a good experience. We ordered two items that were below average. Mole enchiladas that were dry, dry, dry and shrimp enchiladas that were meh. Plus the ceviche appetizer came out only 2 minutes before the food. My three prior experiences were really good. I think we made poor selection.. (Although our waiter said these were good choices). So all in all just Ho hum...too expensive for Ho hum..

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved the colorful decor.. very cool place. Cozy but bright at the same time. Awesome tortilla chips. Great tasting margaritas!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food / beverages / staff were all very good. Our only issue was that the kitchen was very slow in delivering the food. Otherwise, was perfect!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We can't get enough of the brocheta, and it's not just the tableside final preparation with the flaming tequila. Everything about this place is authentic--the regional Mexican entrees, the beverages, and the people. It's no wonder it's getting busier. The word is out and it is bien!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Beef was quite tough, but the shrimp was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have dined on many occasions and the food and service have always been Fabulous! All of flavor and beautiful presentation. The decor is funky and comfortable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This is the first Mexican restaurant I ever dined at where chips and salsa were extra. Remarkable. Food was ok. My dish was cold my wifes was warm. Did not complain just wanted to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is good. The Ingredients are fresh. The drinks are tasty. The staff are friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love Bien Salsa. We go there every Friday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I love the authenticity and freshness of Bien Salsa. This is not Tex-Mex! My favorite entree is the Enchiladas Poblanas. The Queso Fundido is cheesy and delicious! And you have to try the tequila infused flan, so good. Bien Salsa also has hand-crafted "adult beverages" that are fresh and unique. The food presentation and regional artwork make Bien Salsa such a welcoming and special place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was great! Enjoyed our time at Bien Salsa. A bit pricey but worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service was absolutely horrible. We had a party of 12 that was seated about 15 minutes before another large party of about 12 yet we were served last. Our meals came out 2 at a time with 10-15 minutes lag between each new set of food being brought out. It was ridiculous. The person who ordered first ordered a salad and was served last after most of the table had finished. I also had to ask several times for a drink refill. I got up and complained and was told that's just the way the kitchen is working. I asked to speak to the manager and he never showed up! Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had an 845 reservation. Seated late, no big deal. We got a table around 9. Waited. Waited. Servers passed us. Nothing. After about 15 minutes of no one even bringing water, we walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was great but service was a little lacking. Though we had reservations at 6:15 for a table of 4, we had to wait 10 mins past reserved time because there were no clean water glasses. The bar was fully stocked with glasses which could have been used. Also there were several tables around us that needed to be bussed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great for a nicer version of everyday dining!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This place is great! I visit a lot of Mexican Restaurant's, and their queso and chips is my favorite! Their Bein Salsa Margarita is also delicious.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The service here was outstanding. The server was the best. He helped us choice great food and drinks.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.