About BICE - San Diego

425 Island Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Ideally located in the heart of San Diego's downtown Gaslamp Quarter, BiCE San Diego offers a skillful mix of traditional and contemporary Italian cuisine prepared with the best seasonal ingredients. As recipients of the 2015 Wine List Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, we boast a temperature controlled wine cellar as well as an award-winning, full-service Italian cheese bar, which offers a constantly rotating selection of formaggi. The BiCE menu includes both classic and trend-driven Italian dishes, with standouts including homemade pastas, unique meat and seafood dishes, and decadent desserts. BiCE was recently recognized by the renowned James Beard Kitchen, where Chefs Mario Cassineri and Francesca Penoncelli were invited to share their Italian creations with some of New York City's greatest culinary minds. Awarded the 2015 ZAGAT RATED Extraordinary to Perfection for food, combined with our warm and inviting atmosphere, BiCE is guaranteed to impress.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 am - 2:00 pm; Sunday & Monday closed.
Dinner: Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2423

Website:
http://www.bicesandiego.com/

Catering:
We offer catering at events both at BiCE and events located elsewhere. Restaurant buyout is available, as well as private and semi-private reservations. For more information, please refer to our website, bicesandiego.com, or email Fabrizio Donato at events@bicesd.com.

Parking Details:
Street or valet parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop at Market and 4th ave. San Diego Trolley at Harbor and 5th ave.

Executive Chef:
Mario Cassineri

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-Close
Free Corkage: Sundays, All Day

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bice restaurant offers a skillful mix of classic and modern trends in Italian Cuisine, combining local and seasonal ingredients, bold spices and European sauces. From our homemade pasta dishes and tempting desserts to our award winning “Cheese & Salumi bar and authentic Italian wine selection.

BICE - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Diego
Notable Wine List
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

fit for foodies (60)
notable wine list (58)
special occasion (56)
See All
romantic (46)
good for groups (34)
neighborhood gem (25)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheese bar was amazing Food was amazing ...

Dined 5 days ago

Cheese bar was amazing Food was amazing Service was amazing All aspect of Bice was authentic Italian

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday early dinner and ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We went for a birthday early dinner and had a great cheese board experience. We enjoyed a very nice Tuscan white and went on to an excellent dinner. Two had the specials and one from the menu. Please eat here you will not regret it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

second time at this restaurant and no de ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

second time at this restaurant and no deception. Everything we ordered was wll cooked, nice presentation on the plates and we had no problem sharing our plates. Service was nice and friendly, recommendation for the wine was a hit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

super spot, GREAT cheese "bar" great win ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

super spot, GREAT cheese "bar" great wine list, as bottle and by glass wonderful authentic service

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time in the same week at Bice. T ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Second time in the same week at Bice. The food was great, we tried aubergines a la parmagiana, salad and lamb perfectly cooked. We don't eat much and had no problem sharing our plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1

Well we had a 5 pm reservation for dinne ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Well we had a 5 pm reservation for dinner for the 8 pmvBilly Joel concert. Because the service was so slow and inattentive, I bet we will miss the first 1/2 hour of the concert. The food was ok but the service was slow and pretty bad. This was s birthday celebration and it is really too bad that the restaurants slow service will put a damper on what should be a terrific night. Thanks so much😔

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dinner to celebrate my wife's bir ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Lovely dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday. Wine recommendation was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

Worth experiencing just for the cheese. ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Worth experiencing just for the cheese. Our server Ryan was fabulous - Knowledgeable, let us order and dine at our own pace. The cod special delicious. We absolutely enjoyed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with friends and it was amazing! T ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Went with friends and it was amazing! The food and the service...we couldn't have asked for a better evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The detail is on the small detail

Dined on May 6, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday with my wife and it was our first time there. I asked for a quite area with a view but were given neither. The food was good but for the price it should have been better than good. The service was ok, like the food, nothing to write home about. A dessert was offered complimentary because it was my wife's birthday...no, it was actually mine. Again, pay attention to the details--guests/clients will often tell you what they want, don't make it harder than that.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellant, elegant meal and a great atmosphere.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was excellent, service was great and the waitress was very helpful with the meals selection and answering questions as well as very helpful with the wine selection. The cheese were amazing and the waiter in charge was very knowledgeable and helpful. We wanted our cheeses for desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BICE is NICE!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were looking for an Italian fine dining experience and we were not disappointed with anything at BICE. Fantastic service, atmosphere and ambiance, but even better was the food. Prepared with great attention to details and beautifully presented. Everything was spot on and perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Felt very special

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was incredibly authentic. I will be going back. The bread was divine and the man serving it was so knowledgable and he cared. The wait staff scraped our crumbs off the table in between courses, and always had one hand behind their back. The food was art. The look and the taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

Just was not impressed. Took my clients ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Just was not impressed. Took my clients here for dinner, service was SO SLOW. OVER 3 hours to get full dinner service. Everything took forever, including the food. Could never get waiter to come (because he was so busy) entire place CLEARLY UNDERSTAFFED. My dish was also- horrible! Expected so much more for a $300 dinner considering I canceled my McCormick's Steakhouse reservation to give this place a try. Big mistake, especially when I had important clients with me. SO DISAPPOINTED.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food , not enough choices

Dined on April 28, 2016

While the food was delicious , I never think food is worth such high prices, but it was delicious. Would have liked to seen a somewhat normal salad, for some of our guests... And would have liked some soup offered.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Probably the best service I've had anywh ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Probably the best service I've had anywhere in San Diego in 5 years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was superb.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was delicious and service was superb. We ordered Lobster Pizza, Blue Cheese Cotton Candy, Calamari, Spinach Gnocchi, and 7 cheese plate with honey and marmalade. Everything was heaven in our mouth. We love the lobster pizza and blue cheese cotton candy. Also, the cheeses. Love our server. She made us feel welcome and she never forgets to ask if we want more drinks or if there is anything we need. Will come back for sure. Probably one of the best happy hour food in SD.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing Cheese and Charcuterie

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We heard Bice got good reviews, and we planned on ordering some nice pasta dishes, but then we saw the cheese bar! Amazing, high quality cheeses. We ordered 7 cheeses, plus the de luxe charcuterie plate. It turned into an amazing meal. Can't miss. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Poor service - slow kitchen

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Only 3 out of 4 meals came out - we all waited 15 minutes for ten 4 th meal to come out - very inconvenient and awkward on a business lunch.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Portions very small. Absolutely Overpriced.

Dined on April 10, 2016

I am Italian and I did not like the food. The portions were so small that we had to eat when back home. My husband ordered tortellini pasta and he got six pieces of pasta in his plate. I ordered a lamb dish and I got three small pieces of meat (that I doubt was lamb because very hard) . On top of that I did not like the taste. In my dish there were tangy nectarines and sweet figs. I didn't like it but this is purely personal and should not influence the reader. The initial starters (bruschetta and prosciutto with burrata) were really small. The bruschetta plate is just a slice of bread loaf cut into three small pieces. Prosciutto was good. The dessert was also good but at the end of the dinner we paid 700$ (total) and we were all still hungry. The ambiance is good and fine. The place is not noisy and kid-friendly. The waitresses are very nice.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner at Bice

Dined on April 6, 2016

The atmosphere was soft and pleasant. We had a group of 7 with discussion occurring for business as well as personal topics. The noise level was such that we didn't have to strain to hear over background noise, and we did not feel inhibited in our discussion. Food and service were very good. Value was good and while I thought the price was a bit high, it was not out of line for a restaurant in a convention area. Overall, a very good value.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The overall experience was good, the food however

Dined on April 3, 2016

The overall experience was good, the food however wasn't that good I tried a few of the plates and the only one that caught my attention was the gnocchi I order the fruti di mare and the pasta was too dry

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The cheese and dueling prosciutto is ama ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The cheese and dueling prosciutto is amazing. I was even turned on to Italian wines. I'll be coming back for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BiCE the Best!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Thanks again for an outstanding dining experience. We received excellent service and the food was superb. We enjoyed the cheese platter, the lamb shank and the wine. All was served in a friendly, gracious manner. We dined not ate our food and the deserts were wonderful. Thanks again for making our experience super.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bice is Nice!

Dined on March 26, 2016

The sommelier assisted my wife and I with a modest priced bottle to go with our salad and entrees. The wait staff was very attentive, yet not intrusive. Even though the tables were a bit close together along the banquette, we had a wonderful time. We will be back! We started with a three cheese plate from the wide variety of cheeses. I had a simple salad and added chicken. Very tasty. My wife had the risotto style barley with Maine lobster. The flavor was amazing. It could have a little more lobster meat in it to really impress. The wine list has enough by the glass, half-bottle and bottle for all price ranges. PS- the "beer-aminu" is clever but lacks in execution. Go for the pistachio cake dessert instead.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best veal salad in town. Extensive vino ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Best veal salad in town. Extensive vino list Awesome service

food1
ambience1
service4
value1

The manager was extremely rude. He came ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The manager was extremely rude. He came off as patronizing and a know it all. Never going back again nor would I recommend it to a friend. The food was nothing worth getting excited about. However, the service was good.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Questionable

Dined on March 25, 2016

We were first turned off by the call from the hostess saying if we didn't show up we would be charged for 6 meals. This is the only restaurant we know of that requires a credit card to hold the reservation. The food was OK, not great. They totally screwed up the billing and had to re run our cards 3 times. They had excuses for everything. It is certainly not worth the hassle as there are PLENTY of great places nearby.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food well presented and very tasty. Port ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Food well presented and very tasty. Portions a bit small. Service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointed.

Dined on March 20, 2016

The ambience was very upscale, nice surroundings, very intimate. The menu looked and sounded delicious, the presentation was excellent. However the flavor of the food was very disappointing, overpriced and not as gourmet as they had previously indicated. We won't be returning.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Pre-Race Meal

Dined on March 20, 2016

Bice was very good for what we needed when we needed it. The Service was outstanding, and they treated everyone in the restaurant very well. The cheese course was absolutely divine. I would go back to eat at the cheese bar alone. They know what they are doing and how to do it. The waiters and staff are attentive and work well as a team. We were specifically looking for Pasta that night to carbo -load for a race the next morning. Bice had a great selection that we could pick from and still stay in the healthy category. We left feeling full but not stuffed. I had the special lasagna with a meat sauce. My girlfriend had the seafood spaghetti. Both were perfectly cook and prefect. The waiter suggested a white win for my girlfriend and she enjoyed it with her dinner. It was a perfect choice. We will be back (Hopefully sooner than later).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Salt,salt and let's add some more salt. ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Salt,salt and let's add some more salt. We could not taste the fennel in the salad it was so salty. Our Dover sole tasted like a counterfeit. I know Dover sole and that was no Dover sole. The bread service was delicious as were the cookies at the end. Sadly everything in between failed miserably. We have eaten here before and enjoyed it but don't know what happened this evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on March 16, 2016

I was told this would be a romantic experience with a certain formality to it - great for a special birthday for 2. But it's as if the restaurant was neither here nor there: neither terrible nor great by any measure. Feel of the place: Both a formality and a "corporate" feel to this restaurant, but not really caring about you. Food wise: One of our two dishes was notably unique and well done (rabbit ravioli) and the lamb parppadelle was nothing special. Our waiter had zero finesse, and while delivering what we needed, he did so in an interrupting way (even while my husband was romantically feeding me bites!) He was "all about his need to get things done". I expect a dinner for 2 at ~$125 to excel on both food and service. On balance mediocre on all counts.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointing food portion

Dined on March 12, 2016

I received 5--that's right--5 small raviolis as my dinner portion. You could barely see them on the plate! For a $25 meal, I paid $5 per ravioli. And the ravioli was okay. Edible and that's about it (maybe because I was so hungry?). My husband got the seafood spaghetti and that was much better (I ate half his meal). The bread was an assorted selection, and it was good. The prosciutto appetizer was also a winner. The restaurant was empty on a Friday night in downtown San Diego. Speaks volumes to me on what the locals think.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Bice was recommended to me because they' ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

Bice was recommended to me because they're consistent. I brought a friend there for a birthday dinner because she adores fine Italian food and wine. I am very particular about ambiance and service for special occasions like this. Well kudos to Bice for hitting the mark in every respect. The spacious seating, high ceilings, and modern decor set a lovely tone and expectation for the meal to come. The cheese and wine variety were delicious, many of which aren't commonly found in this area. We had pasta and veal for our main courses and they were perfectly prepared. The service was excellent. They were attentive but not invasive and gave us all the space we enjoy lingering over drinks and dessert to chat long after the meal is cleared. Both my friend and I enjoyed ever aspect of our dining experience here, a delightful evening without compromise.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

for how great the reviews were on this r ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

for how great the reviews were on this restaurant, I was very disappointed. I had one night for a nice dinner in San Diego, and picked Bice: I am sad that I did. While the bruschetta and fish were fantastic, the pasta was a let down, very bland. The sommelier was wonderful, but our server was horrendous, never around, barely stopped by, we had to ask for help several times for basic things. Not quite what I would expect at this type of restaurant, and ultimately what made the evening such a disappointment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Kelly

Dined on February 27, 2016

They had me at cheese bar. Excellent selections for a cheese course. Wonderful dinner menu with fantastic northern Italian dishes. Order whatever is on the nightly chef specials. You will not be disappointed! Good service with wait staff from Italy. You will feel like you are on vacation. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding service and authentic Italian cuisine!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Service was outstanding! The food was a true high end Italian experience. Restaurant was a little too loud but everything was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NC Mountains Foodie

Dined on February 22, 2016

Great experience in the heart of the Gas Lamp District. Recommended by a friend and it lived up to his accolades!! Paola was part of our service team and he was great. Made wonderful suggestions including a perfect wine pairing with our entre' choices. Highly suggest including it in your dining experiences while in San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Average

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

If you are a regular they take care of you. If not, average service at best. The food was less than flavorful. I had a nice bottle of wine decanted and not once did they ever come back to refill glasses. We had to do it ourselves all night long. They are quick to give you your check but slow to deliver anywhere near the level of service i would have expected.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.