About BICE - San Diego

425 Island Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Ideally located in the heart of San Diego's downtown Gaslamp Quarter, BiCE San Diego offers a skillful mix of traditional and contemporary Italian cuisine prepared with the best seasonal ingredients. As recipients of the 2015 Wine List Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, we boast a temperature controlled wine cellar as well as an award-winning, full-service Italian cheese bar, which offers a constantly rotating selection of formaggi. The BiCE menu includes both classic and trend-driven Italian dishes, with standouts including homemade pastas, unique meat and seafood dishes, and decadent desserts. BiCE was recently recognized by the renowned James Beard Kitchen, where Chefs Mario Cassineri and Francesca Penoncelli were invited to share their Italian creations with some of New York City's greatest culinary minds. Awarded the 2015 ZAGAT RATED Extraordinary to Perfection for food, combined with our warm and inviting atmosphere, BiCE is guaranteed to impress.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 am - 2:00 pm; Sunday & Monday closed.
Dinner: Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2423

Website:
http://www.bicesandiego.com/

Catering:
We offer catering at events both at BiCE and events located elsewhere. Restaurant buyout is available, as well as private and semi-private reservations. For more information, please refer to our website, bicesandiego.com, or email Fabrizio Donato at events@bicesd.com.

Parking Details:
Street or valet parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop at Market and 4th ave. San Diego Trolley at Harbor and 5th ave.

Executive Chef:
Mario Cassineri

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-Close
Free Corkage: Sundays, All Day

Restaurant Photos

BICE - San Diego
Lightly fried calamari,local Shrimp,crab,cod, mixed Seafood and Cauliflower
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Lobster Flat Bread
Lamb Loin
Beeramisu
Beef Tenderloin Mustard crust
Beef Carpaccio
calamarata pasta fava Prawn
Mosaic Octopus
Basil tagliolini santa barbara Prawn
orzotto all aragosta
Branzino
Trio of Fish Tartar
Gnocchi With Black Squid Ink And Salmon
Burrata & Prosciutto
Imported Italian Cheeses & Tomato Jam
pineapple tarte,maple ice cream
Fresh Mediterranean Sea Bass, Cooked on a Cedar Wood Plank
Tortelloni With Gorgonzola Sauce
Mixed Dessert Platter
Rigatoni
Cheese Bar! Lugein, Romero, Verde Calde
Cheese
francesca Penoncelli
Fish Tartare
Kale
Wine
Scallops
Rabbit Ravioli
Chocolate Egg
Cheese bar
Beet Risotto
pennoni
piave cheese in tempura
Special Dinner
Chocolate Clam

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bice restaurant offers a skillful mix of classic and modern trends in Italian Cuisine, combining local and seasonal ingredients, bold spices and European sauces. From our homemade pasta dishes and tempting desserts to our award winning “Cheese & Salumi bar and authentic Italian wine selection.

BICE - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Fit for Foodies (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The veal chop is perfectly done. A rare ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The veal chop is perfectly done. A rare find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visiting San Diego for a Giants baseball ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Visiting San Diego for a Giants baseball weekend and found this place across the street from our hotel. Wow, glad I found it. Food was amazing. Authentic Italian cuisine using the freshest ingredients. My rabbit ravioli was amazing and the flavors jumped off the plate. Next time I am in San Diego, I will definitely go to Bice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Were ignored for the first 15 minutes. H ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Were ignored for the first 15 minutes. Had to go to the front desk to complains I that someone could take our cocktail order. Service was spotty. Trying too hard to be innovative with their food and they missed it. The best part of the dinner was the cheese course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent service from Linda. Great food ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent service from Linda. Great food with wonderful presentation

.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Subpar service spoilt the dining experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Subpar service spoilt the dining experience. Quality of food did not make up for the mediocre service. Will not return and would not recommend, especially not for any special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Menu seems to have changed; bred and che ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Menu seems to have changed; bred and cheese offering always great. Food good but not outstanding. What WAS outstanding was our server, Linda...even on a busy Sat evening, she had to among the most helpful, fun, and friendly servers I have ever had at a fine dining restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good service and food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Very good service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Actually we never got to eat there. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Actually we never got to eat there. There were several large tables and the restaurant has not been designed with acoustics in mind. As a result, we could not even hear the waitress explain the menu to us so ended up leaving without eating anything. A real pity as the menu looked exciting.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

We had an excellent dinner, with great f ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had an excellent dinner, with great food and excellent service

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved our date night! Highly recomme ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We loved our date night! Highly recommend the Chefs Choice Cheese plate with a nice bottle of wine, of which Bice has many! Fodd is great. Service was the best we've experienced in a long time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

At first I was afraid this place was goi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

At first I was afraid this place was going to be snooty, but the wait staff turned out to be friendly and approachable. Mainly, though, it's the food that would bring me back. Simply outstanding. I highly recommend Bice Ristorante.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our overall experience was quite pleasan ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our overall experience was quite pleasant. The service staff is very attentive. I had the Lasagna which I enjoyed very much. My husband ordered the swordfish which was prepared with very little seasoning so that was a bit disappointing . We will not let that stop us from enjoying the delicious food and ambience of this wonderful restaurant.

We had been to Bice before and we will dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Met friends for dinner. Had a great tim ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Met friends for dinner. Had a great time. Everyone loved their meals. Can't ask for more than that.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very attentive staff. Plenty of menu op ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Very attentive staff. Plenty of menu options. Dinner options of spinach ravioli and mint infused parperdelle was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic! Large selection of Italian bu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic! Large selection of Italian but creative dishes in a tantalizingly wide menu. The assortment of cheeses is magnificent, the choices of starters has everyone covered. We had several flavorful dishes that would highly recommend, such as: burrata bruschetta, grilled octopus and arugula, the unbelievable fritto misto di pesce e cavolfiore (see picture!), and the mouth watering beet and ricotta ravioli, a perfectly balanced mixture of flavors and colors. And don't forget the lasagna. melting in your mouth for your Epicurean pleasure! To finish it off, please please do get the out of this world gelato with pistacchio tortino! Great, though not cheap, selection of mostly Italian wines. including stellar ones like Barbaresco, Brunello, Ornellaia, etc. You simply must eat there if in San Diego!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious, sea food was fresh. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was delicious, sea food was fresh. Great selection of wines. Place is higher end but worth it if you are looking for persona service. We were treated like VIPS. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. Al four of us loved our dinn ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic. Al four of us loved our dinner. The wine list was great. Our waiter was very attentive. They did a special little dessert for the birthday boy at the table. And yes, he was 29!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is the second time we have dined at ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is the second time we have dined at BICE, and both times have been wonderful. Nice ambiance, excellent food and superb service.

Our group purposely ordered four different meals to taste various items, and all were wonderful. I am a fan of good Lasagna, and their meat lasagna is the best I have tasted.

We use the Passport Dining card, and BICE accepts the card, which saves us money each meal.

We have found a real gem, and will be eating there more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and great staff! Food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fantastic service and great staff! Food was outstanding as well. Will be back in the future for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will go back, but definitely my first ex ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Will go back, but definitely my first experience was better. Must have been understaffed or had an inexperienced waiter...long wait times for drinks, food and no on checked back in on us. And the restaurant was empty. Will try it one more time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Every course was flavorful waitstaff was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Every course was flavorful waitstaff was knowledgeable friendly and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale yet casual dining experience. Ex ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Upscale yet casual dining experience. Excellent service at all stages of the meal. Cheese course amazing! Rabbit ravioli delicious, but not overwhelmingly so. Will definitely return and try something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I read about Bice somewhere, because it ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I read about Bice somewhere, because it was on my list of restaurants to try the next time I was in San Diego. The food and ambiance were wonderful. We had no trouble hearing each other talk. It would be a good place for a romantic evening, even though we were there for dinner with a friend/a quasi-business meeting on the last night of Comic-con. An added plus was its convenient location about two blocks from our hotel. I ordered the branzino, a plank-grilled filleted whole fish, and all three of the men I was with ordered the lasagna. We were equally happy with our choices. My son ordered the gnocchi as an appetizer, and they were light and fluffy in a pesto sauce. I had the heirloom tomato caprese with burrata, which was heavenly. They also served burrata with the amazing selection of breads that came to the table. I will definitely eat there again when I am next in San Diego.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table of 8 for 8 which took a w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a table of 8 for 8 which took a while to gather together during a very hectic Comic-Con. But the space allocated was great and they were very patient, allowing time for everyone to arrive before taking our orders. The food was of a high quality and served with grace and good humour. Did not feel rushed at any time which is important when out with clients. Just the acoustics tainted the evening slightly, somewhat echoey. Otherwise great and I will definitely go again next year as will my colleagues around the table. Thanks BICE

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Food was well prepared, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great service. Food was well prepared, very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i have been there several times and the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

i have been there several times and the food is consistently great! The service was impeccable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great Gnocchi. Went to ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great service. Great Gnocchi. Went to Bice for my wife's birthday. What a great night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BICE has been a long-standing (2+ years) ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

BICE has been a long-standing (2+ years), favorite Italian restaurant in San Diego! GREAT food selection, GREAT wine selection and KNOWLEDGEABLE and FRIENDLY wait staff. Highly recommend BICE to all my friends (local friends, business associates and out-of-towners) to make sure BICE is on their "must eat" places in San Diego. My wife, an ardent Italian foody, joined me at BICE and well, she now has become a BICE-follower! GREAT job my all, keep up the GREAT work.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food Nice ambience Helpful servers

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food

Nice ambience

Helpful servers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the restaurant. The ambience, th ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the restaurant. The ambience, the food is excellent!

We had a great time

Thank you so much! 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough good things. I'm defini ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Can't say enough good things. I'm definitely going back when I'm next in San Diego. Special mention to the bar staff and the staff at the cheese bar (unfortunately I don't remember names).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always appreciate the pasta preparatio ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I always appreciate the pasta preparation at Bice, and tonight was no exception! Flavorful fillings, a nice appetizer and great selection of cheeses!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cheese bar was amazing Food was amazing ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Cheese bar was amazing

Food was amazing

Service was amazing

All aspect of Bice was authentic Italian

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday early dinner and ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We went for a birthday early dinner and had a great cheese board experience. We enjoyed a very nice Tuscan white and went on to an excellent dinner. Two had the specials and one from the menu. Please eat here you will not regret it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

second time at this restaurant and no de ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

second time at this restaurant and no deception. Everything we ordered was wll cooked, nice presentation on the plates and we had no problem sharing our plates. Service was nice and friendly, recommendation for the wine was a hit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

super spot, GREAT cheese "bar" great win ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

super spot, GREAT cheese "bar"

great wine list, as bottle and by glass

wonderful authentic service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time in the same week at Bice. T ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Second time in the same week at Bice. The food was great, we tried aubergines a la parmagiana, salad and lamb perfectly cooked. We don't eat much and had no problem sharing our plates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well we had a 5 pm reservation for dinne ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Well we had a 5 pm reservation for dinner for the 8 pmvBilly Joel concert. Because the service was so slow and inattentive, I bet we will miss the first 1/2 hour of the concert. The food was ok but the service was slow and pretty bad. This was s birthday celebration and it is really too bad that the restaurants slow service will put a damper on what should be a terrific night. Thanks so much😔

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Lovely dinner to celebrate my wife's bir ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Lovely dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday. Wine recommendation was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth experiencing just for the cheese. ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Worth experiencing just for the cheese. Our server Ryan was fabulous - Knowledgeable, let us order and dine at our own pace. The cod special delicious. We absolutely enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.