About BICE - San Diego

425 Island Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Ideally located in the heart of San Diego's downtown Gaslamp Quarter, BiCE San Diego offers a skillful mix of traditional and contemporary Italian cuisine prepared with the best seasonal ingredients. As recipients of the 2015 Wine List Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, we boast a temperature controlled wine cellar as well as an award-winning, full-service Italian cheese bar, which offers a constantly rotating selection of formaggi. The BiCE menu includes both classic and trend-driven Italian dishes, with standouts including homemade pastas, unique meat and seafood dishes, and decadent desserts. BiCE was recently recognized by the renowned James Beard Kitchen, where Chefs Mario Cassineri and Francesca Penoncelli were invited to share their Italian creations with some of New York City's greatest culinary minds. Awarded the 2015 ZAGAT RATED Extraordinary to Perfection for food, combined with our warm and inviting atmosphere, BiCE is guaranteed to impress.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 am - 2:00 pm; Sunday & Monday closed.
Dinner: Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2423

Website:
http://www.bicesandiego.com/

Catering:
We offer catering at events both at BiCE and events located elsewhere. Restaurant buyout is available, as well as private and semi-private reservations. For more information, please refer to our website, bicesandiego.com, or email Fabrizio Donato at events@bicesd.com.

Parking Details:
Street or valet parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop at Market and 4th ave. San Diego Trolley at Harbor and 5th ave.

Executive Chef:
Mario Cassineri

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-Close
Free Corkage: Sundays, All Day

Restaurant Photos

BICE - San Diego
Lightly fried calamari,local Shrimp,crab,cod, mixed Seafood and Cauliflower
Beef Tenderloin Mustard crust
Lobster Flat Bread
Beeramisu
Lamb Loin
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Beef Carpaccio
calamarata pasta fava Prawn
Mosaic Octopus
Basil tagliolini santa barbara Prawn
orzotto all aragosta
Cheese bar
Branzino
Trio of Fish Tartar
Gnocchi With Black Squid Ink And Salmon
Burrata & Prosciutto
Tortelloni With Gorgonzola Sauce
Fresh Mediterranean Sea Bass, Cooked on a Cedar Wood Plank
pineapple tarte,maple ice cream
Mixed Dessert Platter
Imported Italian Cheeses & Tomato Jam
Rigatoni
Cheese Bar! Lugein, Romero, Verde Calde
Cheese
pennoni
Chocolate Clam
Beet Risotto
piave cheese in tempura
Kale
Scallops
Wine
Fish Tartare
Rabbit Ravioli
Chocolate Egg
Special Dinner
francesca Penoncelli

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bice restaurant offers a skillful mix of classic and modern trends in Italian Cuisine, combining local and seasonal ingredients, bold spices and European sauces. From our homemade pasta dishes and tempting desserts to our award winning “Cheese & Salumi bar and authentic Italian wine selection.

BICE - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Diego
Notable Wine List
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (47)
notable wine list (31)
See All
romantic (30)
good for groups (22)
neighborhood gem (13)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Upscale yet casual dining experience. Ex ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined a day ago

Upscale yet casual dining experience. Excellent service at all stages of the meal. Cheese course amazing! Rabbit ravioli delicious, but not overwhelmingly so. Will definitely return and try something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I read about Bice somewhere, because it ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

I read about Bice somewhere, because it was on my list of restaurants to try the next time I was in San Diego. The food and ambiance were wonderful. We had no trouble hearing each other talk. It would be a good place for a romantic evening, even though we were there for dinner with a friend/a quasi-business meeting on the last night of Comic-con. An added plus was its convenient location about two blocks from our hotel. I ordered the branzino, a plank-grilled filleted whole fish, and all three of the men I was with ordered the lasagna. We were equally happy with our choices. My son ordered the gnocchi as an appetizer, and they were light and fluffy in a pesto sauce. I had the heirloom tomato caprese with burrata, which was heavenly. They also served burrata with the amazing selection of breads that came to the table. I will definitely eat there again when I am next in San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table of 8 for 8 which took a w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a table of 8 for 8 which took a while to gather together during a very hectic Comic-Con. But the space allocated was great and they were very patient, allowing time for everyone to arrive before taking our orders. The food was of a high quality and served with grace and good humour. Did not feel rushed at any time which is important when out with clients. Just the acoustics tainted the evening slightly, somewhat echoey. Otherwise great and I will definitely go again next year as will my colleagues around the table. Thanks BICE

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Food was well prepared, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great service. Food was well prepared, very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i have been there several times and the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

i have been there several times and the food is consistently great! The service was impeccable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great Gnocchi. Went to ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great service. Great Gnocchi. Went to Bice for my wife's birthday. What a great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BICE has been a long-standing (2+ years) ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

BICE has been a long-standing (2+ years), favorite Italian restaurant in San Diego! GREAT food selection, GREAT wine selection and KNOWLEDGEABLE and FRIENDLY wait staff. Highly recommend BICE to all my friends (local friends, business associates and out-of-towners) to make sure BICE is on their "must eat" places in San Diego. My wife, an ardent Italian foody, joined me at BICE and well, she now has become a BICE-follower! GREAT job my all, keep up the GREAT work.....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food Nice ambience Helpful servers

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food

Nice ambience

Helpful servers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the restaurant. The ambience, th ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the restaurant. The ambience, the food is excellent!

We had a great time

Thank you so much! 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough good things. I'm defini ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Can't say enough good things. I'm definitely going back when I'm next in San Diego. Special mention to the bar staff and the staff at the cheese bar (unfortunately I don't remember names).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always appreciate the pasta preparatio ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I always appreciate the pasta preparation at Bice, and tonight was no exception! Flavorful fillings, a nice appetizer and great selection of cheeses!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cheese bar was amazing Food was amazing ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Cheese bar was amazing

Food was amazing

Service was amazing

All aspect of Bice was authentic Italian

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday early dinner and ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We went for a birthday early dinner and had a great cheese board experience. We enjoyed a very nice Tuscan white and went on to an excellent dinner. Two had the specials and one from the menu. Please eat here you will not regret it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

second time at this restaurant and no de ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

second time at this restaurant and no deception. Everything we ordered was wll cooked, nice presentation on the plates and we had no problem sharing our plates. Service was nice and friendly, recommendation for the wine was a hit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

super spot, GREAT cheese "bar" great win ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

super spot, GREAT cheese "bar"

great wine list, as bottle and by glass

wonderful authentic service

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time in the same week at Bice. T ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Second time in the same week at Bice. The food was great, we tried aubergines a la parmagiana, salad and lamb perfectly cooked. We don't eat much and had no problem sharing our plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well we had a 5 pm reservation for dinne ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Well we had a 5 pm reservation for dinner for the 8 pmvBilly Joel concert. Because the service was so slow and inattentive, I bet we will miss the first 1/2 hour of the concert. The food was ok but the service was slow and pretty bad. This was s birthday celebration and it is really too bad that the restaurants slow service will put a damper on what should be a terrific night. Thanks so much😔

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Lovely dinner to celebrate my wife's bir ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Lovely dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday. Wine recommendation was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth experiencing just for the cheese. ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Worth experiencing just for the cheese. Our server Ryan was fabulous - Knowledgeable, let us order and dine at our own pace. The cod special delicious. We absolutely enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with friends and it was amazing! T ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went with friends and it was amazing! The food and the service...we couldn't have asked for a better evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The detail is on the small detail

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday with my wife and it was our first time there. I asked for a quite area with a view but were given neither. The food was good but for the price it should have been better than good. The service was ok, like the food, nothing to write home about. A dessert was offered complimentary because it was my wife's birthday...no, it was actually mine. Again, pay attention to the details--guests/clients will often tell you what they want, don't make it harder than that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent, elegant meal and a great atmosphere.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was excellent, service was great and the waitress was very helpful with the meals selection and answering questions as well as very helpful with the wine selection.

The cheese were amazing and the waiter in charge was very knowledgeable and helpful.

We wanted our cheeses for desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

BICE is NICE!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We were looking for an Italian fine dining experience and we were not disappointed with anything at BICE. Fantastic service, atmosphere and ambiance, but even better was the food. Prepared with great attention to details and beautifully presented. Everything was spot on and perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Felt very special

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was incredibly authentic. I will be going back. The bread was divine and the man serving it was so knowledgable and he cared. The wait staff scraped our crumbs off the table in between courses, and always had one hand behind their back. The food was art. The look and the taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just was not impressed. Took my clients ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Just was not impressed. Took my clients here for dinner, service was SO SLOW. OVER 3 hours to get full dinner service. Everything took forever, including the food. Could never get waiter to come (because he was so busy) entire place CLEARLY UNDERSTAFFED. My dish was also- horrible!

Expected so much more for a $300 dinner considering I canceled my McCormick's Steakhouse reservation to give this place a try. Big mistake, especially when I had important clients with me. SO DISAPPOINTED.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great food , not enough choices

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

While the food was delicious , I never think food is worth such high prices, but it was delicious. Would have liked to seen a somewhat normal salad, for some of our guests... And would have liked some soup offered.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Probably the best service I've had anywh ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Probably the best service I've had anywhere in San Diego in 5 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and service was superb.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was delicious and service was superb. We ordered Lobster Pizza, Blue Cheese Cotton Candy, Calamari, Spinach Gnocchi, and 7 cheese plate with honey and marmalade. Everything was heaven in our mouth. We love the lobster pizza and blue cheese cotton candy. Also, the cheeses. Love our server. She made us feel welcome and she never forgets to ask if we want more drinks or if there is anything we need. Will come back for sure. Probably one of the best happy hour food in SD.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Cheese and Charcuterie

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We heard Bice got good reviews, and we planned on ordering some nice pasta dishes, but then we saw the cheese bar!

Amazing, high quality cheeses. We ordered 7 cheeses, plus the de luxe charcuterie plate. It turned into an amazing meal. Can't miss. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Poor service - slow kitchen

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Only 3 out of 4 meals came out - we all waited 15 minutes for ten 4 th meal to come out - very inconvenient and awkward on a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Portions very small. Absolutely Overpriced.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I am Italian and I did not like the food. The portions were so small that we had to eat when back home. My husband ordered tortellini pasta and he got six pieces of pasta in his plate. I ordered a lamb dish and I got three small pieces of meat (that I doubt was lamb because very hard) . On top of that I did not like the taste. In my dish there were tangy nectarines and sweet figs. I didn't like it but this is purely personal and should not influence the reader. The initial starters (bruschetta and prosciutto with burrata) were really small. The bruschetta plate is just a slice of bread loaf cut into three small pieces. Prosciutto was good. The dessert was also good but at the end of the dinner we paid 700$ (total) and we were all still hungry. The ambiance is good and fine. The place is not noisy and kid-friendly. The waitresses are very nice.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Dinner at Bice

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

The atmosphere was soft and pleasant. We had a group of 7 with discussion occurring for business as well as personal topics. The noise level was such that we didn't have to strain to hear over background noise, and we did not feel inhibited in our discussion. Food and service were very good. Value was good and while I thought the price was a bit high, it was not out of line for a restaurant in a convention area. Overall, a very good value.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The overall experience was good, the food however

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The overall experience was good, the food however wasn't that good

I tried a few of the plates and the only one that caught my attention was the gnocchi

I order the fruti di mare and the pasta was too dry

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The cheese and dueling prosciutto is ama ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The cheese and dueling prosciutto is amazing. I was even turned on to Italian wines. I'll be coming back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

BiCE the Best!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Thanks again for an outstanding dining experience. We received excellent service and the food was superb. We enjoyed the cheese platter, the lamb shank and the wine. All was served in a friendly, gracious manner. We dined not ate our food and the deserts were wonderful. Thanks again for making our experience super.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bice is Nice!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The sommelier assisted my wife and I with a modest priced bottle to go with our salad and entrees. The wait staff was very attentive, yet not intrusive. Even though the tables were a bit close together along the banquette, we had a wonderful time. We will be back!

We started with a three cheese plate from the wide variety of cheeses.

I had a simple salad and added chicken. Very tasty.

My wife had the risotto style barley with Maine lobster. The flavor was amazing. It could have a little more lobster meat in it to really impress.

The wine list has enough by the glass, half-bottle and bottle for all price ranges.

PS- the "beer-aminu" is clever but lacks in execution. Go for the pistachio cake dessert instead.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best veal salad in town. Extensive vino ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Best veal salad in town.

Extensive vino list

Awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The manager was extremely rude. He came ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The manager was extremely rude. He came off as patronizing and a know it all. Never going back again nor would I recommend it to a friend. The food was nothing worth getting excited about. However, the service was good.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Questionable

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We were first turned off by the call from the hostess saying if we didn't show up we would be charged for 6 meals. This is the only restaurant we know of that requires a credit card to hold the reservation. The food was OK, not great. They totally screwed up the billing and had to re run our cards 3 times. They had excuses for everything.

It is certainly not worth the hassle as there are PLENTY of great places nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Food well presented and very tasty. Port ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Food well presented and very tasty. Portions a bit small. Service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.