About BICE - San Diego

425 Island Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Ideally located in the heart of San Diego's downtown Gaslamp Quarter, BiCE San Diego offers a skillful mix of traditional and contemporary Italian cuisine prepared with the best seasonal ingredients. As recipients of the 2015 Wine List Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, we boast a temperature controlled wine cellar as well as an award-winning, full-service Italian cheese bar, which offers a constantly rotating selection of formaggi. The BiCE menu includes both classic and trend-driven Italian dishes, with standouts including homemade pastas, unique meat and seafood dishes, and decadent desserts. BiCE was recently recognized by the renowned James Beard Kitchen, where Chefs Mario Cassineri and Francesca Penoncelli were invited to share their Italian creations with some of New York City's greatest culinary minds. Awarded the 2015 ZAGAT RATED Extraordinary to Perfection for food, combined with our warm and inviting atmosphere, BiCE is guaranteed to impress.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 am - 2:00 pm; Sunday & Monday closed.
Dinner: Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2423

Website:
http://www.bicesandiego.com/

Catering:
We offer catering at events both at BiCE and events located elsewhere. Restaurant buyout is available, as well as private and semi-private reservations. For more information, please refer to our website, bicesandiego.com, or email Fabrizio Donato at events@bicesd.com.

Parking Details:
Street or valet parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop at Market and 4th ave. San Diego Trolley at Harbor and 5th ave.

Executive Chef:
Mario Cassineri

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-Close
Free Corkage: Sundays, All Day

Restaurant Photos

BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Lightly fried calamari,local Shrimp,crab,cod, mixed Seafood and Cauliflower - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Ahi Tuna Tartare - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Lobster Flat Bread - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Lamb Loin - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Beeramisu - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Beef Tenderloin Mustard crust - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Beef Carpaccio - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
calamarata pasta fava Prawn - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Mosaic Octopus - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Basil tagliolini santa barbara Prawn - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
orzotto all aragosta - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Branzino - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Trio of Fish Tartar - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Gnocchi With Black Squid Ink And Salmon - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Burrata & Prosciutto - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Imported Italian Cheeses & Tomato Jam - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
pineapple tarte,maple ice cream - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Fresh Mediterranean Sea Bass, Cooked on a Cedar Wood Plank  - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Tortelloni With Gorgonzola Sauce - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Mixed Dessert Platter - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Rigatoni - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Cheese Bar! Lugein, Romero, Verde Calde - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Cheese - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
francesca Penoncelli - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Fish Tartare - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Kale - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Wine - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Scallops - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Rabbit Ravioli - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Egg - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Cheese bar - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Beet Risotto - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
pennoni - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
piave cheese in tempura - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Special Dinner - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Clam - BICE - San Diego, San Diego, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bice restaurant offers a skillful mix of classic and modern trends in Italian Cuisine, combining local and seasonal ingredients, bold spices and European sauces. From our homemade pasta dishes and tempting desserts to our award winning “Cheese & Salumi bar and authentic Italian wine selection.

BICE - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Business Meals (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and excellent updated Ital ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service and excellent updated Italian cuisine. Will definitely return when back in San Diego!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Giancarlo was attentive, as were the sev ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Giancarlo was attentive, as were the several other staff. While the presentations were well executed, the food missed the mark. The crudos lacked seasoning...ahi/seaweed but no dressing, sea bass/citrus just a blood orange suprem- no flavor. Entrees-rabbit ravioli good, but scallopini tough, too salty. Should have stayed at front bar happy hour $5 apps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Wow! The service was impeccable and the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Wow! The service was impeccable and the food was so well crafted. They were out of one of the cheeses I ordered and substituted a cheese for it, that was so flavorful. All of the cheeses were fantastic. I had the tortelloni with spinach and ricotta. It was the best. The pasta was so fresh and the tortellonis were huge-they had a lot of filling. Usually it's more pasta than filling.

Sadly, we didn't have room for dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was AMAZING!! everyone was v ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service was AMAZING!! everyone was very friendly and knowledgeable I even got a birthday treat and a card. The food was great although I feel that the appetizer were A LOT better then the entrees. It's not that they weren't good but they just were not anything special, out of the three entrees we got the seabass plate was the best. The Ravioli was a bit hard and the marinara sauce on the seafood spaghetti was really lacking any flavor. Maybe I just didn't try the right dishes. I would definitely come back for Happy Hour since the apps were pretty amazing. The chefs choice cheese plate was perfect!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've dinned here quite a few times over ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We've dinned here quite a few times over the last 5 years. Always really enjoyed it. We haven't been in about a year, but it was clear on this visit that the chef has changed. The food was really good, but not outstanding. For example, the risotto tasted great, but was obviously prepared in advance and was not creamy. The risotto use to be the best dish on the menu, now it is a poor shadow of the former dish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food excellent service

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good food excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place, good ambiance, the comfort ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great place, good ambiance, the comfort food, and the good and friendly service have me coming back to this restaurant for the past 6 years!

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bice presents itself as an upscale, high ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Bice presents itself as an upscale, high cuisine restaurant, but the dishes were not terribly appealing, with little effort to make a tasty sauce. I had the lamb ragu pappardelle, where the ragu had the taste, consistency and flavoring of a beef sloppy joe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful! The food was great and the se ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful! The food was great and the service tremendous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the bruschetta appetizer along w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed the bruschetta appetizer along with the calamari. Bruschetta was deliscious...have had better calamari honestly. Kids split a lasagna and my youngest thought mine was better...not sure I agree. I had pappardelle which was very good and husband had the rabbit ravioli that he enjoyed. The lava cake for dessert was a bit disappointing...nothing 'lava' like when split open and my daughters were disappointed. Went with Groupon and had a nice meal overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Overall, the night was a good one at Bic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Overall, the night was a good one at Bice. The service and atmosphere were great, but the food was just okay. The fresh pasta didn't really taste all that fresh, and the sauces were average. We did enjoy our cheese plate starter and desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is amazing. Wonderful service and l ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food is amazing. Wonderful service and long wine menu

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All four in our party had wonderful meal ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

All four in our party had wonderful meals. The menu has something for everyone. Waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server Amy was just lovely. The chef ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our server Amy was just lovely. The chef made some accomodations for us and this was appreciated. The food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The seafood trio appetizer was excellent ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The seafood trio appetizer was excellent but our entrees less so. Special smoked salmon pasta was just ok and the veal in lemon prosecco sauce was tough and overpowered with lemon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

My third visit to Bice and the food, win ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My third visit to Bice and the food, wine, and service always are great. Try the cheese bar - fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food - ordered the pasta recom ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Loved the food - ordered the pasta recommended by the server.

Very friendly, helpful, and efficient service.

Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very disappointing, the fis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was very disappointing, the fish was bland and the pasta dish was under seasoned. The only good part was the server who was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food. Beautiful ambiance. Very ...

vip
 (Nürnberg)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent food. Beautiful ambiance. Very good service. Remains one of our favorites in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sea bass was excellent. Cheese bar was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Sea bass was excellent. Cheese bar was unique and good, but over-priced for what you get. We wouldn't hesitate to return though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Chef Mario and staff are such an asset t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Chef Mario and staff are such an asset to the SD food scene. His dishes are authentic Italian, ambiance is excellent and service is top notch.

I have eaten here many times and always been happy.

The black squid ink linguine is superb.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Travel zoo was solid

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Travel zoo was solid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long wait, no waitresses around to ask s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Long wait, no waitresses around to ask something even the check was late.

Food was delicious but pasta was a little undercooked, the cheeses that the chef picked for us were amazing and the busser was nice to explain what he was giving us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

They were out of 3 food items and 2 cock ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

They were out of 3 food items and 2 cocktails we ordered. We were advised they had a busy Saturday night and supplies are delivered on Monday. Unfortunately we went on a Sunday night. The manager and waitress were very apologetic and bought us a drink for the lack of inventory. The topper was when a fruit fly landed in my water and I pointed it out to waitress and was told "That's ok, I have them at my house." At that point, I ordered a Cognac, drank it and left. Menu looks great, but they need to be better prepared to have food to serve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Being French I LOVED the 'real' cheese t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Being French I LOVED the 'real' cheese they have on their menu. The Prosciutto is to die for. The service is absolutely top notch. A fabulous evening to celebrate our 23rd anniversary.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food quality was tremendous. Room was o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food quality was tremendous. Room was oddly 80's-Miami. Must have been short a server or two that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Terribly loud noisy party of around 20 p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Terribly loud noisy party of around 20 people were seated directly behind us around half way through our meal. Ruined the ambiance of the restaurant. They should have been placed in a private room away from all the couple diners trying hard to enjoy their meal and food. Shame on the Manager for not realizing how disruptive this large party would be in such an otherwise intimate setting.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was super slow!! Real quiet plac ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Service was super slow!! Real quiet place, no vibe or energy. Food was okay, overpriced in my opinion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Service exceptionally bad. For the most ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Service exceptionally bad. For the most part I was ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The veal chop is perfectly done. A rare ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The veal chop is perfectly done. A rare find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visiting San Diego for a Giants baseball ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Visiting San Diego for a Giants baseball weekend and found this place across the street from our hotel. Wow, glad I found it. Food was amazing. Authentic Italian cuisine using the freshest ingredients. My rabbit ravioli was amazing and the flavors jumped off the plate. Next time I am in San Diego, I will definitely go to Bice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Were ignored for the first 15 minutes. H ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Were ignored for the first 15 minutes. Had to go to the front desk to complains I that someone could take our cocktail order. Service was spotty. Trying too hard to be innovative with their food and they missed it. The best part of the dinner was the cheese course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Essen sehr gut Service auch. Teuer aber ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Essen sehr gut Service auch. Teuer aber das Geld wert!😃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service from Linda. Great food ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent service from Linda. Great food with wonderful presentation

.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very mediocre food and mediocre service. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Very mediocre food and mediocre service. Not worth a second trip for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We celebrated our 47th Wedding anniversa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We celebrated our 47th Wedding anniversary at Bice and were so pleased with the experience – the service, drinks and food were all superb. Our server – Indira – was outstanding, taking care of not only our table for 2 but a rather large group next to us. We were very appreciative of the celebratory sparkling wine at the beginning of our dining experience as well as the surprise sweet at the end. Everything in between was exceptional and the food divine. The kitchen really delivered! This is a well run operation yet you are made welcome and not rushed. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Subpar service spoilt the dining experie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Subpar service spoilt the dining experience. Quality of food did not make up for the mediocre service. Will not return and would not recommend, especially not for any special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Menu seems to have changed; bred and che ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Menu seems to have changed; bred and cheese offering always great. Food good but not outstanding. What WAS outstanding was our server, Linda...even on a busy Sat evening, she had to among the most helpful, fun, and friendly servers I have ever had at a fine dining restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good service and food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Very good service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Actually we never got to eat there. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Actually we never got to eat there. There were several large tables and the restaurant has not been designed with acoustics in mind. As a result, we could not even hear the waitress explain the menu to us so ended up leaving without eating anything. A real pity as the menu looked exciting.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.