About Biba Restaurant

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: 9164552422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
2 More
Notable Wine List
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

special occasion (95)
fit for foodies (76)
romantic (47)
See All
notable wine list (45)
great for lunch (38)
neighborhood gem (37)
good for groups (27)
hot spot (11)
great for brunch (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (4)
 (3)
 (3)
kid-friendly (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Biba's restaurant was everything we imag ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Biba's restaurant was everything we imagined it would be! We were able to book a reservation (albeit a little on the early side) the week prior to our night out to celebrate my husband's college graduation! We LOVED the use of local ingredients and the lasagna was amazing. I had veal, which was a special treat, and it was delicious! The wait staff was attentive, but not over-bearing. The highlight? Of course meeting the elegant and incredible Biba herself!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Usually excellent but tonight a little off

Dined on May 21, 2016

Usually Biba's is excellent but, tonight was a little off. I ordered the Ravioli special with Eggplant and Asparagus in a Lemon and light Cream Butter sauce, but it was swimming in Butter. The Beet salad was delicious! Our server was a little distracted, had to ask for our appetizers a second time, then they came out after our salads. Not the best experience we've had at Biba's.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost 30 years ago, I lived in Sacramen ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Almost 30 years ago, I lived in Sacramento; we would go to Biba's for special occasions. I no longer live in Sacramento but when I happen to be in the area, Biba's is a most stop! The food is exceptional and being greeted by the elegant owner makes the experience even more delightful!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. I was a single dine ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was excellent. I was a single diner. My server suggested half portions which akloed me to try several dishes. I would return in a heartbeat!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful!

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Biba's is a five star gem in Sacramento. Those of us who know it return again and again. If you haven't enjoyed Biba's yet, it's time you made a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasant evening, excellent foo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a pleasant evening, excellent food in a relaxing and charming locale.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best Lasagna Ever

Dined on May 13, 2016

You will never want to eat lasagna anywhere else. Biba's lasagna is like a tasty cloud - light and full of wonderful flavor. It is made with numerous layers of housemade pasta, sauce that is out of this world and just the right amount of cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious lunch, nice atmosphere, good service

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Lunch for three was wonderful. Service was attentive. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was warm and welcoming. Sometimes you can leave still hungry, but if in doubt, add a soup or salad. Biba greets you either entering or leaving, which is a nice touch. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Biba's is always exceptional ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food at Biba's is always exceptional. She is also always there to talk with you and that adds a special touch to the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As ever, it was excellent.

Dined on May 11, 2016

As ever, it was excellent.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was uneventful, and the service ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was uneventful, and the service was stiff. I was hoping that the food would be the highlight of the evening, but the wine we brought was the only good thing. The bread basket you pay for was great!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time & Biba did not disappoint.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Markus was a dynamite 'advisor! He really knows how to feature the menu, wine, digestives& desserts. He really made a positive impression. Please forward our sincere appreciation! Best, Patrick Park

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional as always!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our meal was superb and our service was excellent. It was great to have Biba stop by and chat. We love this place for special occasions!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom's 100th Birthday

Dined on May 5, 2016

Biba and her staff are the BEST. We always go on a Thursday/Friday so one of us can order her Lasagne. On this special occasion, they presented mom with a beautiful Gerbera Daisy. And, Biba came by to wish mom a 100th Birthday Greetings. Just so special. Can hardly wait for her 101st celebration.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great taste, flavor and service

Dined on May 4, 2016

We enjoyed our birthday celebration. Started with the lamb crepes then a beet salad. Next we had the special duck ravioli and entree of prime rib New York. We had the olive oil cake with a glass of sambucco. Great aromatics taste and amazing flavors paired a with a special barbers wine. We will definitely be back for more!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant was so nice!

Dined on April 28, 2016

As soon as you walked in there was a pianist playing and you have an immediately view of the bar. We sat towards the back in a corner and it was very peaceful! Our waiter was amazing and so nice. He gave us recommendations, explained the items on the menu and was on top of the food and beverages! Overall a great experience and I would for sure go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and our service was ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was amazing and our service was just as amazing! Fantastic! Will be back soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All was great except for overcharge on drink (HH)?

Dined on April 19, 2016

Arrived a little early to enjoy a drink for Happy Hour. Ordered a Prosecco, which was shown on the Happy Hour menu for $8. Paid $10 and was give 25 cents back. Charged $9 plus tax. Did not question bartender. Figured it was his tip? Other than that, food was excellent as was service and ambiance. Nice valets opened the door for me even though I did not use their service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Evening Out for Dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

This was our first time dinning at this restaurant. It was a very nice experience. The service was very good. The menu selection is somewhat limited but very appealing. I ordered the lasagna for which Biba is known for and it was very good. My wife ordered a ravioli special that was also very good. The only negative thing was that the area in which we were seated had an unusual odor. I didn't inquire about it but the building is a historical landmark known as the Old Tavern.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food and service are always great. The ambiance is very nice and the noise level is low enough to comfortably carry on a conversation. Always reliable as a place for a special occasion or just a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Biba - Classic Italian Charm

Dined on April 6, 2016

Last time I visited Biba was 10 years ago, so I was pleased to find it as vibrant and charming as I had recalled. I ordered the prezzo fisso menu, and enjoyed the chilled asparagus soup, ziti in tomato ricotta cream sauce, and veal stew. My cocktail and the wine recommendation were spot on, and although my service was slow, I wasn't in a hurry so I enjoyed it. It was wonderful to see Biba bouncing around the dining room, which was filled at 6PM on a Tuesday!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive at every turn

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food is like non other. The 10 layer lasagna must be experienced to understand just how incredible pasta can be. My husband had the carbonara and was equally impressed. Pricey but well worth the investment for an evening to remember.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Top notch Italian food.

Dined on March 30, 2016

Probably the best Italian restaurant in the Sacramento area. Was fortunate to meet the owner that evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the lasagna and veal on this ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

We enjoyed the lasagna and veal on this visit. As always, the ingredients are fresh, food delicious and service beyond excellent. The minute you walk into the restaurant you feel as though you are entering a friends home with smiling faces and warm greetings!

food2
ambience5
service5
value4

There is a time for everything.....

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Having said the above, I think it's time for Biba to retire and hand over the good name, good food and personal service to someone else. I don't know who that person is, though. I've been a customer of Biba since she opened. We have always had good food and good service; but Wednesday evening, for the second time, we got cold food, having sent it back once, we didn't want to send it back a second time. I don't like giving anything but good reviews, especially to local restaurants and restaurants that are always good; but I can't say anything good about Biba lateley except our server Gina was fabulous......Jun was't at the bar and even the drinks were just OK........what wrong here? There is a time for everything.........

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a gem. Quiet, great service, fa ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

This is a gem. Quiet, great service, fantastic Italian food, not over-done "foody" food. Guests are treated as such. Excellent wines; good bar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Didn't live up to what we expected, sad to say

Dined on March 15, 2016

Even though we had a Dealsaver coupon which gave us $50 worth of food for $30, we likely would have planned my birthday "special" dinner (as opposed to brunch and lunch here and there to celebrate) at Biba's or a similar venue. One of our daughters ordered a good bottle of wine for us and we stayed away from the pasta, which is always fantastic! Gigi, our server, was excellent, as was her young female assistant. Both hubby's butter lettuce/pear salad and my lentil soup were outstanding. There was no bread on the table, however; when I inquired, Gigi indicated there was a modest charge ($1.50); we passed. The entrees took the evening downhill. My husband ordered the veal cutlets which he described as "flavorless." My Osso Buco, sadly, reminded me of chuck roast overcooked in a too-thick tomato sauce. We shared the house made gelato for dessert, which, again was great. In retrospect, I'd have filled in the entrée portion with one of the always fantastic pasta dishes. I'm certain that would have raised my review stars significantly. We began our evening having a drink in the bar and nibbling on some of the crisp and slender bread sticks. We saw some Happy Hour specials served to fellow diners at the bar. . .they may be the way to go!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfection

Dined on March 5, 2016

Perfection- supurb meal, great service- loved everything about this restaruant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Anniversary Celebration!

Dined on March 4, 2016

I wanted to take my wife some place special to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We had never been to Biba, so I finally decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. It was a perfect evening. The classy and classic atmosphere set the right mood. The attentive service was greatly appreciated and the food was excellent. The evening was capped off with a special anniversary greeting from Biba herself! Could not have had a nicer evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aicram

Dined on February 28, 2016

As always, our experience was wonderful!! And it is always such a pleasure to see Biba!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I heard so much about this restaurant fr ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

I heard so much about this restaurant from friends... Food was good, but I got cold fish. My friend got cold pasta also. Waiter was not professional, had to read specials from his notes and he made us feel bad paying seperate. He was also not good timer at all. I dont think I'll go there again. Great location.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Biba going downhill?

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

So bummed that after several wonderful dining experiences at Biba, we now find ourselves doubtful about returning. Our dinner the other night was disappointing on several levels, but I'll get to the main gripe, which may seem petty, but is quite telling to me: They're now charging for bread. I was told that it's because they saw so much wasted bread. That's probably true, but I have a problem with restaurants charging $1.50 for bread when they charge $10 for a small salad that's 95% inexpensive butter lettuce and $30 for a normal portion of swordfish. No one told us bread now costs, although it was on the menu (which I thought, as I've seen before, is waived if people order an entree). That's just wrong. What's also wrong are servers at restaurants of these price points who need to read the specials instead of learning it and several dishes coming out way too salty. (Hadn't experienced that before at Biba.) Also, owner Biba came by only certain tables and later let us exit her restaurant without acknowledgement. She was just standing right there. Food was good other than the surprising amount of salt, but it was Olive Garden good. Expect more from Biba Restaurant. Hostess was her usual sweet self, so there's the one big positive. Il Fornaio will get our next meal when we want to eat Italian downtown/midtown.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent Excellence

Dined on February 26, 2016

I have been dining at Biba's since 1989 and it never fails to be an excellent evening. The menu runs to seasonal ingredients. Biba's serves an excellent Lasagna on Thursdays and Fridays. It is nine layers, using thin sheets of spinach pasta and layering them with both a Bolognese meat ragu and a béchamel sauce. Another pasta dish was simple but rich in flavor: Cavatelli (similar to penne but smaller and finer) with a rich sauce made of wild boar and tomato. The braised Ossobuco fell off the bone and was smothered with chopped vegetables and diced tomatoes. Don't miss the expresso creme brulee, which is infused with coffee flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superb lunch

Dined on February 23, 2016

On a recent business trip, I had a free lunch opportunity and have been wanting to try Biba's, since I use her recipes so often at home. I had the roasted beet salad and the ricotta gnocci with a smoked tomato and pancetta creme sauce. Both were outstanding. I can't wait to come back for dinner. And I especially can't wait to come back on a Thursday or Friday for the lasagna bolognese. They also have a very nice wine by the glass selection for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Genuine Northern Italian food in Sacramento!

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

I had lived in Italy for 16 years and just moved from NYC to the Sacramento area and I am still in shock that I stumbled upon this restaurant! I felt like I was in Italy again! There are dishes on the menu I never thought in a million years I would find in a restaurant on this side of the pond. Simply amazing! Biba is doing it right! I am so excited to know that genuine Italian home cooking is just around the corner! Grazie Biba! A presto!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Italian and Service

Dined on February 18, 2016

Food was very good, antipasto platter of meats was great, ribeye steaks and duck breast were excellent. Wine list very good and not overpriced. Service was very good. A little pricey but good for a special occasion or when your looking for a place for a special business dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went here for our Valentine's Dinner the Friday before. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have run out of superlatives to descri ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

I have run out of superlatives to describe the food, service, and ambiance that we experience at Biba's each time we dine there. I have been dining there for at least 15 years and I have never had less than a memorable meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Biba keeps its reputation

Dined on February 10, 2016

Biba's is known throughout Sacramento as its premier Italian restaurant with a celebrity chef who has written many cookbooks. The food last Tuesday was spectacular: the carrot soup was the best we have ever tasted; the duck breast cooked to perfect; the pasta was melt in your mouth and the salmon had a crunchy crust and perfect flesh! The three desserts we sampled were m-m-m-m-m delicious: lemon torte was tangy; the chocolate mousse was divine. We will go back for another celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boba outstanding

Dined on February 9, 2016

Everything was outstanding and Bibacoming by to converse was very special

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.