About Biba Restaurant

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: 9164552422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tomato And Mozzerella Salad
Lasagne Verdi alla Bolognese
Devilled Eggs With Salmon
Halibut
Gnocchi Del Giorno
Lattuga Romana con Pignoli e Gorgonzola
Calamari Fritti
Manhattan
Lamb
Lasagne Verdi Bolognese
Zabaglione with Fruit
Seared Duck Breast
Cheeseburger
Fegato Alla Veneziana
Sweetbreads
Lamb Chops
Zuccoto
Grilled Pork Chop
Coffee Cheesecake In A Chocolate Crust, Served With Caramel
Tiramisu
Bread
Lemon Budino
Braised Chicken
Lamb Skewer
Vitello Tonnato
Butternut Squash Raviolli
Asparagi Con Prosciutto E Uova Sode
Fettuccine Primavera
Maiale El Forno Con Verdure Di Stagione
Negroni
Insalata Al Gorgonzola
Gnocchi Di Spinaci E Ricotta
Pumpkin Ravioli
Bronx Cocktail
Scallops
Pappardelle
Fried Calamari
Ravioli
lasagna
Gniochi With Tomato Sauce And Fresh Basil

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Service
Sacramento
4 More
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Best Value
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Italian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

special occasion (107)
fit for foodies (81)
romantic (51)
See All
notable wine list (49)
neighborhood gem (44)
great for lunch (37)
good for groups (26)
hot spot (12)
great for brunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best dining experience in Sacramento ...

Dined 4 days ago

The best dining experience in Sacramento. Biba, the lady, is Awesome. Roch and Nancy LaCasse

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants.. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants... I live 3 hours away and always look for a reason to stop in.....I took my parents to celebrate their 61st wedding anniversary. They did not want to make a big deal about it...so no one knew... We had the best service (George was our waiter).. and the food as always is as good as it gets..it's not cheap but the food is well worth the price..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food , very accommodating to vege ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food , very accommodating to vegetarians, good service and a comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious! We loved the bee ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was delicious! We loved the beet salad, the house made raviolis, the halibut, the veal scallopini, and the cheesecake. The meal was paced nicely, and while the bus staff were very attentive clearing and keeping water filled, the server seemed somewhat preoccupied. However, it was not enough to detract from a delightful meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. We had a great t ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was delicious. We had a great time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always!

Dined on June 11, 2016

I have been going to Biba since they first opened, and always, always have had a wonderful meal! The veal ravioli was outstanding, and the halibut on fresh peas was insanely fresh and delicious . Biba was there as usual, greeting and mingling, assuring that her diners are feeling great in her home. Recommended without reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Biba several times and h ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been to Biba several times and have never been disappointed! Great service and fabulous food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

My first time, not my wife's first time, ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My first time, not my wife's first time, she's a native to Sac. The ambiance is classic, and the wife said it has not changed in 30 years. With that in mind, the upkeep is immaculate. Our waitress was nothing exceptional, but she was attentive and they did read my notes I made with the reservation and we're aware of food allergies and made adjustments to our dinning to suite. She had the King Salmon special and I the Lamb 2 ways. Both were delicious, the fish was absolutely perfect! A wonderful 50th birthday gift for my wife. I have read many reviews here about this establishment, and really do not understand each any of the sub par ratings....

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Loving Sac Lizzy

Dined on June 10, 2016

I ordered the gnocci and half order of ravoli. It was delicious, just a very small portion. My friend gave me part of his veal salinbocca. We had 2 glasses of wine, total was $100. I thought that was a lot for what we actually got.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful, as always

Dined on June 9, 2016

I took my two daughters for a birthday lunch celebration. The service, food, atmosphere was outstanding. I love Italian food, and this is the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A Good Iatlian Restaurant

Dined on June 9, 2016

We were in Sac for business and found Bibas. Overall, good food. Traditional menu with ordering in courses in mind. I would have like to seen some expanded pasta and meat dishes. However, what they had was good. Decent wine list with good finds for an educated wine enthusiast.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday foursome

Dined on June 7, 2016

Delightful server, Gigi, delicious food, including the homemade bread sticks, and the ricotta cheesecake with raspberry sauce was to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

This is what fine dining should be (but ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

This is what fine dining should be (but rarely succeeds at): inspired menu perfectly executed, impeccable yet unpretentious service, subdued ambiance, and fair prices. Bravo, Biba.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect meal

Dined on June 2, 2016

Wonderful taste, incredibly cooked just perfect. Service was quick, friendly and we walked away pleased.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an above average experience at Biba's

Dined on June 2, 2016

Biba's is consistently above average each time I visit. Biba herself is always out touring tables and asking for feedback and wanting to learn about you. The restaurant itself is fairly quiet and not too "sardinized". The food is always top notch, fresh, homemade and just the right size. The service, impeccable. Treat yourself!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous as always!

Dined on May 27, 2016

Biba has been an annual tradition for lunch with my dear friend. We've been coming for years. We share every course and are never disappointed. The service was spot-on, each course was split without an extra charge & we never felt rushed. I was concerned that there were so few people having lunch on a Friday. In the past this was a vibrant place perfect for a special gathering or occasion. I encourage folks to visit Biba for a not-to-forgotten, truly wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

I was disappointed in the food choices f ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I was disappointed in the food choices for vegetarians. It is my mistake because it is clear from the menu that it is oriented toward what the general population eats. Very good service and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The famous lasagna wasn't that great. Th ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The famous lasagna wasn't that great. The calamari appetizer was okay. The marina sauce that goes with the calamari is wonderful though. The fish and steak entrees were out of this world and the pasta special was too! We will definitely take any guest or people in from out of town to this place and be 100% percent confident that everyone will have a great meal.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Not on the menu

Dined on May 27, 2016

Disappointed, no osso bucco on menu. We came because the website said it was served. Unfortunately not the night we were there. A great dissappointment.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Biba's is my favorite restaurant. I alw ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Biba's is my favorite restaurant. I always love the food. We celebrated our wedding anniversary just recently. We brought along a good friend to celebrate with us. I just love it at Biba's Rebecca

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Biba's restaurant was everything we imag ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Biba's restaurant was everything we imagined it would be! We were able to book a reservation (albeit a little on the early side) the week prior to our night out to celebrate my husband's college graduation! We LOVED the use of local ingredients and the lasagna was amazing. I had veal, which was a special treat, and it was delicious! The wait staff was attentive, but not over-bearing. The highlight? Of course meeting the elegant and incredible Biba herself!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Usually excellent but tonight a little off

Dined on May 21, 2016

Usually Biba's is excellent but, tonight was a little off. I ordered the Ravioli special with Eggplant and Asparagus in a Lemon and light Cream Butter sauce, but it was swimming in Butter. The Beet salad was delicious! Our server was a little distracted, had to ask for our appetizers a second time, then they came out after our salads. Not the best experience we've had at Biba's.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost 30 years ago, I lived in Sacramen ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Almost 30 years ago, I lived in Sacramento; we would go to Biba's for special occasions. I no longer live in Sacramento but when I happen to be in the area, Biba's is a most stop! The food is exceptional and being greeted by the elegant owner makes the experience even more delightful!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. I was a single dine ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was excellent. I was a single diner. My server suggested half portions which akloed me to try several dishes. I would return in a heartbeat!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful!

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Biba's is a five star gem in Sacramento. Those of us who know it return again and again. If you haven't enjoyed Biba's yet, it's time you made a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasant evening, excellent foo ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a pleasant evening, excellent food in a relaxing and charming locale.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best Lasagna Ever

Dined on May 13, 2016

You will never want to eat lasagna anywhere else. Biba's lasagna is like a tasty cloud - light and full of wonderful flavor. It is made with numerous layers of housemade pasta, sauce that is out of this world and just the right amount of cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious lunch, nice atmosphere, good service

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Lunch for three was wonderful. Service was attentive. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was warm and welcoming. Sometimes you can leave still hungry, but if in doubt, add a soup or salad. Biba greets you either entering or leaving, which is a nice touch. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Biba's is always exceptional ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food at Biba's is always exceptional. She is also always there to talk with you and that adds a special touch to the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As ever, it was excellent.

Dined on May 11, 2016

As ever, it was excellent.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was uneventful, and the service ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was uneventful, and the service was stiff. I was hoping that the food would be the highlight of the evening, but the wine we brought was the only good thing. The bread basket you pay for was great!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time & Biba did not disappoint.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Markus was a dynamite 'advisor! He really knows how to feature the menu, wine, digestives& desserts. He really made a positive impression. Please forward our sincere appreciation! Best, Patrick Park

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional as always!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our meal was superb and our service was excellent. It was great to have Biba stop by and chat. We love this place for special occasions!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom's 100th Birthday

Dined on May 5, 2016

Biba and her staff are the BEST. We always go on a Thursday/Friday so one of us can order her Lasagne. On this special occasion, they presented mom with a beautiful Gerbera Daisy. And, Biba came by to wish mom a 100th Birthday Greetings. Just so special. Can hardly wait for her 101st celebration.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great taste, flavor and service

Dined on May 4, 2016

We enjoyed our birthday celebration. Started with the lamb crepes then a beet salad. Next we had the special duck ravioli and entree of prime rib New York. We had the olive oil cake with a glass of sambucco. Great aromatics taste and amazing flavors paired a with a special barbers wine. We will definitely be back for more!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant was so nice!

Dined on April 28, 2016

As soon as you walked in there was a pianist playing and you have an immediately view of the bar. We sat towards the back in a corner and it was very peaceful! Our waiter was amazing and so nice. He gave us recommendations, explained the items on the menu and was on top of the food and beverages! Overall a great experience and I would for sure go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and our service was ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was amazing and our service was just as amazing! Fantastic! Will be back soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All was great except for overcharge on drink (HH)?

Dined on April 19, 2016

Arrived a little early to enjoy a drink for Happy Hour. Ordered a Prosecco, which was shown on the Happy Hour menu for $8. Paid $10 and was give 25 cents back. Charged $9 plus tax. Did not question bartender. Figured it was his tip? Other than that, food was excellent as was service and ambiance. Nice valets opened the door for me even though I did not use their service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Evening Out for Dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

This was our first time dinning at this restaurant. It was a very nice experience. The service was very good. The menu selection is somewhat limited but very appealing. I ordered the lasagna for which Biba is known for and it was very good. My wife ordered a ravioli special that was also very good. The only negative thing was that the area in which we were seated had an unusual odor. I didn't inquire about it but the building is a historical landmark known as the Old Tavern.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food and service are always great. The ambiance is very nice and the noise level is low enough to comfortably carry on a conversation. Always reliable as a place for a special occasion or just a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.