Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Biba Restaurant

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: (916) 455-2422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for a Date (56)
Authentic (50)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Romantic (46)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Notable Wine List (38)
Local Ingredients (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Great for Lunch (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Business Meals (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Cozy (16)
Happy Hour (11)
Fun (10)
Healthy (10)
Seasonal (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Live Music (6)
People Watching (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
1977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is "to die for"!! The service is outstanding. We had the lasagne, short ribs and salads. I would only put one other restaurant in the same category and that would be Ruth's Chris. The only negative is the noise level. We are seniors and our hearing isn't the best so it is difficult to hear each other. We had a party of four. Thank you so much for a wonderful evening out with the food being the star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Flawless as usual.
Flawless as usual.
Flawless as usual.
Flawless as usual.
Flawless as usual.
Flawless as usual.
Flawless as usual.
Flawless as usual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was very attentive and professional. The food was delivered at the appropriate time. The presentation was beautiful, the quality of the ingredients shinned through. For an exceptional dinning experience, I highly recommend Biba.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for a business dinner with a career consultant. I asked for as private a table as possible in the reservation, and they seated us in the perfect spot. Nestled in a corner where we could have our computers up on the table, and not feel like we're bringing the office to a restaurant.

The service was impeccable. Very professional, courteous, and prompt. Food was excellent (we had the pan-seared Sea Bass, it was extraordinary) and served timely. Probably the best glass of Pinot Noir I've had in a while, perfect temperature.

All in all this is a first class place, with a very comfortable feel. They even had live piano playing for dinner. Doesn't get much better than that.

Very highly recommended.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Classic but always something new, still best in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

No wait when we had reservation. I did request a quiet spot for talking and we were placed in the middle of the room, but they moved us upon request. Food was excellent and service was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Never a bad meal here. Our waitress was very attentive and cordial and it is always nice to see her.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Very noisy and overpriced. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Sea Bass
Veal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We have not dined her often in the past, we enjoyed ourselves. It was fairly loud, so it was difficult to listen to everyone in my group.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant was really loud could not hear conversations, food was ok - just not as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Great service, superb meal and wonderful place.
The mouse level is pretty high so I was thankful the table in the back corner because with the two other people I was with who had hearing aids it wouldn't have been good.
The only thing disappointed in is my meal was supposed to be accompanied with broccoli rabe and what I got was two strands of that and the rest carrots and broccoli. Broccoli rabe is one of my favorite vegetables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 11, 2018

As always, we had a great lunch. Amazingly consistent wuality. Quiet enough to actually talk to someone!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 10, 2018

It was all I expected and more. Biba was a gracious and delightful host.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Came with my sisters to celebrate a Northern Italian meal our late mom would have made. Perfect. Our server Gina was amazing. I had the best saltimbocco I’ve ever eaten. So, perfect.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

The food at Biba never disappoints. Best pasta carbonara ever! Server Gigi friendly + able to answer any ? about food or beverage.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 9, 2018

We always enjoy a lovely meal at Biba. The food is the best version of each item. Attention to detail is obvious! The decor and atmosphere is lovely, comfortable, and not too noisy even when very busy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We've been to Biba's on two occasions, the first time about three years ago and then again last week. On our first trip, the food and service were spectacular. The lasagna and other dishes that we had were amazing. We were excited to be back in Sacramento last week so that we could try again. Unfortunately, it just didn't measure up. All of the dishes that we had, including the lasagna again, were lackluster. The service was well below average too. Our server, before even greeting us or asking if we needed anything to drink, walked up to the table and just started spouting off the specials of the night. After we had finished our appetizers, all of my utensils were cleared. When our main courses arrived I mentioned that I needed a fork. Instead of going to get me one (or a whole new set as would be customary), the server pointed out that my wife still had an extra fork and that I could use hers. Based on that, I don't think that we will return to Biba's.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Waitress was very attentive - food was well proportioned & delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Biba's. The menu is diverse, seasonally fresh and there is something for everyone. Wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 5, 2018

This is a gem. Food is great, consistent and varied. The service was excellent. My only suggestion is to update the interior, the environment is very dated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2017

One of the best Italian restaurants anywhere, including Italy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2017

High end quality cuisine and service experience with great prices. Highly regard and recommend Biba's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2017

My friend and I wanted to catch up after a long time without seeing each other. We wanted a quiet restaurant with quality food, good wine, and excellent service. Biba met all these requirements and we had a perfect catch-up luncheon. This restaurant in on my top list for Sacramento dining.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Lovely local restaurant- love to see Bibba making the rounds to connect with diners-the only misstep was our server- she was inattentive- seemed overwhelmed and tired-forgot our wine order and had to remind her to bring desserts we had ordered 15 minutes before. This restaurant on a Thursday wasn’t crazy busy- just normal busy - watched other servers checking on their tables-interactive, warm and friendly. I may ask for other server when I return. And I will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Wonderful food, great service. Best restaurant in Sacramento

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Biba has been my “go to” for many years. I love the food, ambience, service and wine list. And Biba still visits tables nightly!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Biba's is the best Italian restaurant in Sacramento. It is a lovely, upscale place. The food is excellent. The quantity served is generally very good -- typical of most good restaurants. The service was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

I met my daughter here for a Christmas Lunch. We were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful atmosphere, the professional manner of the staff and the food was fabulous! We had the sole and sea bass, probably one of the best meals I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2017

The food was superb and the service and atmosphere perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

I went to Biba with friends to celebrate a birthday. The waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive, and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

The penne pasta and vodka sauce were exceptional! Lovely ambiance.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Excellent food, well conceived menu, great ambiance. Perfect for special occasion or just a good meal.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2017

The food has always been outstanding and this last visit was no exception. One of Sacramento's finest restaurants.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

Always a great choice for Tuscan Italian food. Classic restaurant with the best in service and great tasting food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Superb meal! The seabass was perfectly prepared and the gnocchi melts in your mouth!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 9, 2017

We have gone to and loved Biba's for years, but it felt tired on our last visit. Many people probably love the fact that nothing has changed there over the years, but it felt outdated. Our server was clearly frazzled, even exchanging a few tense words with Biba herself. The food was fine, but not as exceptional as I would have expected or compared to other similarly-priced restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Biba's is always good! Never had any complaints! Staff is on top of everything and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Biba's is always great for any occasion! :) Marcus was our server and he was tops!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

We had an 8 pm reservation and did not get served until 9:15. The server disappeared after he served the salad and reappeared when he served the food. I was shocked and disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.