Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Biba Restaurant

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: (916) 455-2422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Authentic (38)
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Worth the Drive (27)
Business Meals (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Historic (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Cozy (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Healthy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Live Music (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1764 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

I made a reservation well in advance, so I was excited to try this place out. It was my husband's birthday and our 12 year anniversary was a few days prior. In the reservation notes I requested a booth or window seat. We were seated by a window so that was nice. Things started off well but then the service rapidly declined. The portions are small and bland and they charge you $1.50 for a few pieces of bread and a couple bread sticks. When I asked for more butter it never came. It got to a point anytime we asked for anything our server acted as if we were bothering him. There was a time where we had no food and our server didn't talk to us for 20 minutes, he just walked by and avoided eye contact. I feel like if you are a regular here you are treated very well but if you look young and it's your first time here they don't want to bother giving you decent service. Needless to say we won't be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent meal - Amazing flavors blended very well. Halibut was really phenomenal. Service very attentive. Biba is definitely one of Sacramemto's best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent authentic Italian menu. Owner involved every time I've been there, greeting tables and asking how everything is going. Clean, and wonderful ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Biba's is always wonderful. The food is simply outstanding and creatively presented. We were there for lunch and Biba was there and greeted us, which was an added bonus. The wait staff is second to none and incredibly accommodating to our special requests, such as providing half salads. The wine list is very good as well. We can't say enough about the ambiance. We just love Biba's.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This is authentic northern Italian cuisine. The stuffed pasta is not to be missed. If possible it should have 10 stars👏👏👏👏.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent food preparation and service, as usual. Today's gnocchi were served with an unusual prosciutto, tomato and fava bean sauce - delicious! The lamb and goat-cheese crepes were also outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Incredible food, great service, formal setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Over rated and over priced. The food lacked taste and size. Restaurant was 1/3 full and still had a problem bringing our meal on a timely basis. And get this, 1.50 for bread at your table. Really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always an amazing experience at Bina. Fine dining at it's best in Sacramento. Impeccable food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Decent Italian food. Smelled like fish when we entered. Friendly service. Good calamari. Decent lasagna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a misunderstanding regarding our reservation, however, Biba's was accomodating and we had delicious meals and great service. We will certainly return again. Barbara Damon

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Authentic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The spinach lasagne melts in your mouth...so rich and delicious! Don't tell her, but better than mamma's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The decor is very nice, bright, and somewhat elegant. Using the valet service is worth the $13 ($7 to park plus two $3 tips for each of the two attendants). We had heard great things about this restaurant and therefore were surprised that their 10 layer lasagne (served only on Thursday and Friday) was mushy, flat, and slid off to the side of the dish - looking nothing like the photographs we had seen on yelp or their webpage. The red snapper special was nicely presented with multiple textures and flavors. The Zinfandel (Robert Biale 2015 Black Chicken) was well worth the $17 per glass. Our overall experience was enjoyable and we will be going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Although we had reservations, they seated us at the end of a longer table, no privacy. Didn't bring bread with the wine. Find out it is extra! My special of the day, while tasty, was very small portion--and, might add, I am not a big eater. The waiter and bus people were attentive, but this was not enough to make up for the deficiencies. Was really glad we had a $50 gift certificate so it meal ended up costing us about what it was worth.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Biba's is a local treasure and we have never been disappointed in the food, service or any aspect of the experience going there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Had the opportunity to meet Biba....what a treat! Great food, great service, class restaurant. A must stop if your are visiting (or live in) Sacramento.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Birthday celebration for my mom and dad. We have gone to Biba's for years but not as often in the last few years. It is one of my dads favorite places which is why we chose Biba's. It never disappoints. The service is exceptional, food always a taste treat. Each of us was very happy with our meals, pork tenderloin, taggliano pasta with wild boar, pasta with cabbage and potatoes, ravioli that melt in your mouth and a yummy lemon tat. Then you add a visit from Biba herself and it makes for a very nice evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Excellent food and service.
Met biba and her husband
Charming couple.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Bibas remains one of the top restaurants in Sacramento. Thank you to our fabulous waiter and the staff for making our mother/daughter luncheon so incredibly special!

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Outstanding service, excellent food, a bit noisy due to a couple of large groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Such a classic place to eat! Food is terrific, Service as well. Biba still makes the rounds and checks to make sure you are a well satisfied guest. TIP, Take the staffs suggestion on appetizer combo's!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I've been before. Excellent food. Portions certainly not large, but taste more than makes up for it. Could be a little more generous with bread. Huge room, high ceilings make for lot of noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My friend, who currently lives in Siena Italy, was visiting and we remembered wanting to try Biba's over ten years ago when we both lived in San Francisco. After we both retired I moved to Wilton and she moved to Siena to be near her family. We finally decided now that she's in town that it was time so we did lunch at Biba's. We split the signature lasagne verdi alla Bolognese and we split the fegato alla veneziana. The service was excellent, the food was fine but there several small disappointments. The menu was "Americanized" and described the fegato as coming with "bacon". I had to verify with the waiter that the "bacon" was, in fact, pancetta before ordering it. For dessert I ordered the "house-made lemon gelato". What arrived was something that looked and tasted more like ice cream than gelato. My Italian dining partner agreed. Finally, the espresso I ordered was quit bitter. The waiter gave me the name of the supplier but I didn't recognize the name. He said that he usually describes it as similar to Illy Dark Roast. Illy Dark Roast is what I drink every morning at home and the espresso served was significantly different. Perhaps the machine was run a bit too long resulting in extraction of the bitter oils that arrive following the first ounce?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

First visit to Sacramento. We love to visit older established places and were not disappointed! Our wait staff was excellent and the food was just like that of Florence Italy! We will return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 14, 2017

As usual, the service and the food were outstanding! We have been to Biba's many times and have never been disappointed . We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Lasagna- oh those layers! So yummy! Worth the 90 mile drive. Don't forget the dessert!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very engaging waiter and the owner greeted us at our table as well. Food was beyond great, so great we visited the next night as well and had an equally great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The service was the best the best part of the evening; impeccable!
The food was good but not memorable. Veal was overdone and the spaghetti carbonara did not get to the table hot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food. Excellent service. First rate barman...excellent cocktails. Waiter was a real pro. Highly recommended!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were celebrating a friend's retirement and absolutely enjoyed every minute at Biba's. The service was excellent, the food beyond compare, and Biba herself welcomed us and even shared a photo with us. The atmosphere was sunny & light, just what we needed to share good conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food wonderful, service great and valet parking. The meal was exceptional except sauce on covatelli was slightly too salty.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is top notch. Service is outstanding. Calamari appetizer was the best ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband & I had a very nice dinner everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Biba's has delicious Italian cuisine; fresh pasta cooked absolutely perfectly al dente. We had the ravioli with cheese and black truffle. Their signature Biba's Negroni starts the meal off with a perfect balance of vodka and campari. The bib lettuce salad had a lovely combination of sweet and savory with sliced almonds, apple and a perfectly balanced gorgonzola dressing. The chocolate mousse for dessert was a great way to celebrate the birthday occasion. The waiters are always colorful and very knowledgeable about the food and wine. We were on the late side of dinner with a reservation at 8:15 so the staff seemed a bit busy finishing up, but it didn't detract from the delicious food and relaxed eating atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

What can I say about Biba? Saying that it's fantastic even seems to fall short. Biba herself is a true Sacramento treasure. My wife and I dine here regularly and for special occasions. The menu is vibrant, seasonal, fresh (not many places serve a great lamb like Biba!). The service has been on again, off again, but for the most part is excellent, professional and helpful. Example, my wife and I could not decide on an appetizer, so our server brought us a "combo" split plate so we could enjoy both items! My wife loves the beet salad. Where can you get a beet salad these days. We drive 40 miles to come here and honestly I think my wife would come just for the beet salad...lol. Seeing Biba walk around the restaurant, you can see she cares about how people enjoy her food. For us, it's our "go to" favorite.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

great relaxed evening, food experience was more than we expected. great wine selection, great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food, service and ambiance are always top notch at Biba's. It was great to be there for lunch, because it was not crowded and it felt quite relaxed - this restaurant is usually quite crowded for dinner, especially on Fridays and Saturdays, but not so at lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always a great place, for any occasion. Can't beat the food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My husband and I stopped by for lunch. What a nice date. The service, food and ambiance makes the entire experience lovely.

The beet salad and gnoccies with fennel is amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This was a special celebration for my husband and me, as it was our 60th wedding anniversary. The food was excellent. We chose salmon as our entree and cleaned our plates.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.