Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Biba Restaurant

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: (916) 455-2422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (56)
Special Occasion (55)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Romantic (41)
Authentic (39)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Great for Lunch (33)
Business Meals (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Comfort Food (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Historic (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Live Music (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (7)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service, excellent food, a bit noisy due to a couple of large groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Such a classic place to eat! Food is terrific, Service as well. Biba still makes the rounds and checks to make sure you are a well satisfied guest. TIP, Take the staffs suggestion on appetizer combo's!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I've been before. Excellent food. Portions certainly not large, but taste more than makes up for it. Could be a little more generous with bread. Huge room, high ceilings make for lot of noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My friend, who currently lives in Siena Italy, was visiting and we remembered wanting to try Biba's over ten years ago when we both lived in San Francisco. After we both retired I moved to Wilton and she moved to Siena to be near her family. We finally decided now that she's in town that it was time so we did lunch at Biba's. We split the signature lasagne verdi alla Bolognese and we split the fegato alla veneziana. The service was excellent, the food was fine but there several small disappointments. The menu was "Americanized" and described the fegato as coming with "bacon". I had to verify with the waiter that the "bacon" was, in fact, pancetta before ordering it. For dessert I ordered the "house-made lemon gelato". What arrived was something that looked and tasted more like ice cream than gelato. My Italian dining partner agreed. Finally, the espresso I ordered was quit bitter. The waiter gave me the name of the supplier but I didn't recognize the name. He said that he usually describes it as similar to Illy Dark Roast. Illy Dark Roast is what I drink every morning at home and the espresso served was significantly different. Perhaps the machine was run a bit too long resulting in extraction of the bitter oils that arrive following the first ounce?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

First visit to Sacramento. We love to visit older established places and were not disappointed! Our wait staff was excellent and the food was just like that of Florence Italy! We will return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 14, 2017

As usual, the service and the food were outstanding! We have been to Biba's many times and have never been disappointed . We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Lasagna- oh those layers! So yummy! Worth the 90 mile drive. Don't forget the dessert!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very engaging waiter and the owner greeted us at our table as well. Food was beyond great, so great we visited the next night as well and had an equally great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The service was the best the best part of the evening; impeccable!
The food was good but not memorable. Veal was overdone and the spaghetti carbonara did not get to the table hot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food. Excellent service. First rate barman...excellent cocktails. Waiter was a real pro. Highly recommended!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were celebrating a friend's retirement and absolutely enjoyed every minute at Biba's. The service was excellent, the food beyond compare, and Biba herself welcomed us and even shared a photo with us. The atmosphere was sunny & light, just what we needed to share good conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food wonderful, service great and valet parking. The meal was exceptional except sauce on covatelli was slightly too salty.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is top notch. Service is outstanding. Calamari appetizer was the best ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband & I had a very nice dinner everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Biba's has delicious Italian cuisine; fresh pasta cooked absolutely perfectly al dente. We had the ravioli with cheese and black truffle. Their signature Biba's Negroni starts the meal off with a perfect balance of vodka and campari. The bib lettuce salad had a lovely combination of sweet and savory with sliced almonds, apple and a perfectly balanced gorgonzola dressing. The chocolate mousse for dessert was a great way to celebrate the birthday occasion. The waiters are always colorful and very knowledgeable about the food and wine. We were on the late side of dinner with a reservation at 8:15 so the staff seemed a bit busy finishing up, but it didn't detract from the delicious food and relaxed eating atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

What can I say about Biba? Saying that it's fantastic even seems to fall short. Biba herself is a true Sacramento treasure. My wife and I dine here regularly and for special occasions. The menu is vibrant, seasonal, fresh (not many places serve a great lamb like Biba!). The service has been on again, off again, but for the most part is excellent, professional and helpful. Example, my wife and I could not decide on an appetizer, so our server brought us a "combo" split plate so we could enjoy both items! My wife loves the beet salad. Where can you get a beet salad these days. We drive 40 miles to come here and honestly I think my wife would come just for the beet salad...lol. Seeing Biba walk around the restaurant, you can see she cares about how people enjoy her food. For us, it's our "go to" favorite.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

great relaxed evening, food experience was more than we expected. great wine selection, great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food, service and ambiance are always top notch at Biba's. It was great to be there for lunch, because it was not crowded and it felt quite relaxed - this restaurant is usually quite crowded for dinner, especially on Fridays and Saturdays, but not so at lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always a great place, for any occasion. Can't beat the food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My husband and I stopped by for lunch. What a nice date. The service, food and ambiance makes the entire experience lovely.

The beet salad and gnoccies with fennel is amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This was a special celebration for my husband and me, as it was our 60th wedding anniversary. The food was excellent. We chose salmon as our entree and cleaned our plates.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was very good. I regrettably ordered a rather boring dish, but it was very well prepared. Biba herself hasn't aged for 30 years. I am sort of convinced that she has been cloned. She was at the hostess desk as we left and she looked amazing. I kind of felt like I was in the presence of a rock star. The service was superb. I would go again and I'd recommend it to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Biba's always satisfies in every way. Great bar keeper, great Italian food and a lovely dining room visually. The fact that the owner herself seems to come in and keep an eye on things, at least almost every time I've been there, is undoubtedly what keeps the quality up where it is.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was awesome. The service was very attentive. This is the second time I have celebrated a special occasion here. Because I am a pastry chef, my family and friends all prefer my creations. The staff here is always so gracious to store and serve my dessert and I am happy to share with the staff. This time I brought a Andes Mint Cheesecake. The staff was so kind to praise my work and even asked for my calling card. Anyone in the food industry knows the value of "compliments to the chef"!! Well for braised lamb and Swiss chard ravioli, "My compliments to your chef!!"

Lynette

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Biba's was excellent as always. Ordered some new dishes and some traditional ones as well. Everything was well prepared with fresh ingredients. Too full for dessert but ordered it anyway. Glad I did because it was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I go to Biba's often. The food is always quite good if you love italian cooking but in a less caloric fashion. Great fresh salad choices. Gorgonzola gnocchi is my absolute favorite. Lasagna is extraordinary but only on a couple of days a week. Calves liver I adore but it's generally only on the lunch menu.

Unfortunately on Tuesday evening our service was very poor. We waited for almost a half hour to get a drink. The food service was quite slow. It was really quite disappointing since I brought a business associate as a special treat. This is not typically the case but I wanted them to know in case this was a trend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Very good food as always! Mmmmmmm so yummy!!! Thanks Biba.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The mozzarella di buffala was a wonderful starter. Sea bass special was slightly overdone, but still delicious, but the real star was the brodetto - a seafood stew with generous portions of shrimp, mussels, clams and white fish in an incredible tomato fish broth. Heavenly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Authentic and well-presented dinner. Waitperson was suggesting options but not intrusive. I especially liked the pork combination. The Pinot Noir was by the glass, a great suggestion by the waitperson and a good value. Finished the meal with an excellent buttered pecan gelato. A great meal experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a fabulous place to go with others or just the two of us. The service is impeccable. Jeanene is soo welcoming as well as Beth and Gigi! John at the Bar is unsurpassed. We love it there. The food is fantastic.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Had a very special birthday. It was amazing meeting BiBa in person

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Just a great restaurant. As a New Yorker, always looking for good Italian food in Sacramento. Bibas is for special occasions and AMAZING!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I always love my meals at Biba. The food is always excellent. The meat literally fell off the bone hardly a need for a knife. I can't recommend Biba enough.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great Chef, great ambience, great wine & great service.
We enjoyed the sweet meats appetizer, La Sagretta Wine, the endive Salad, the butternut squash soup, The day boat scallops and the lamb shank. What a wonderful experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The service was specially good for the evening. Fun evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I have lived in Northern Italy, and love the flavors, the style, and the traditions of classic Italian cuisine. Biba's reminds me of all the fabulous dining I enjoyed in Italy, in private homes and wonderful restaurants.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We enjoyed good food and another birthday celebration at Biba!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Went for lunch. I had the special which was Lasagna served thursday thru sunday.It was excellent. My wife had the ravioli which also excellent .Also very good service

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Amazing service and food, 10 stars across the board!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Biba's kitchen continues to create wonderful dishes that are prepared perfectly. Dining at Biba's is always a treat, yet the pricing is very fair and the dinner is well paced and relaxed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.