About Biba Restaurant

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: 9164552422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Halibut - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Gnocchi Del Giorno - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lattuga Romana con Pignoli e Gorgonzola - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Calamari Fritti - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Manhattan - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lasagne Verdi alla Bolognese - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lamb - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lasagne Verdi Bolognese - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Devilled Eggs With Salmon - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Seared Duck Breast  - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Zabaglione with Fruit - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cheeseburger - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sweetbreads - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fegato Alla Veneziana - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Tomato And Mozzerella Salad - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Zuccoto - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lamb Chops - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Grilled Pork Chop - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Coffee Cheesecake In A Chocolate Crust, Served With Caramel - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Tiramisu - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lemon Budino - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bread - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lamb Skewer - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Braised Chicken - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Vitello Tonnato - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Butternut Squash Raviolli - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Asparagi Con Prosciutto E Uova Sode - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fettuccine Primavera - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Gnocchi Di Spinaci E Ricotta - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Maiale El Forno Con Verdure Di Stagione - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Insalata Al Gorgonzola - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Negroni - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fried Calamari - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bronx Cocktail - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pappardelle - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Scallops - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Ravioli - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pumpkin Ravioli - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
lasagna - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Gniochi With Tomato Sauce And Fresh Basil - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Service
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
6 More
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Service
Sacramento
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Italian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (64)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Authentic (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for a Date (39)
Romantic (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Great for Lunch (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Business Meals (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Comfort Food (16)
Historic (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Cozy (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Live Music (2)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We decided to celebrate the opening of t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We decided to celebrate the opening of the Christmas season with lunch at Biba Restaurant. As always, everything was perfect--5-Star rating on the food, excellent service, and lovely ambiance. We have dined at Biba several times and once again found everything to be very consistent and of the highest quality. It is a wonderful restaurant to go to for a special occasion or just a special dining treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and ambiance. Staff is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food and ambiance. Staff is GREAT and Biba herself takes the time to speak with all patrons. Also an excellent wine list with waiters that understand pairings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a medical achievement here ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated a medical achievement here. Of course we had the lasagne, but the swordfish and beet salad were as good. The home made gelato was wonderful-the choices when we visited were vanilla bean and lemon with olive oil. The latter was parcularly good. The food at this restaurant is excellent. The service is impeccable.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant. Second time in ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I love this restaurant. Second time in one month. The Italian ham and cheese ravioli (daily special) were the best ravioli I have ever had. My only regret was I didn't order more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone enjoyed our entire evening, fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Everyone enjoyed our entire evening, food,wine, service and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rarely do I write a review but after bec ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Rarely do I write a review but after becoming a regular at Biba for the past two years, all I can say is that I have NEVER been disappointed with my dining experience. Every time the food is excellent, the staff charming and Biba and Vincent are always there as gracious hosts. The prices are quite reasonable and John's wine list always has great finds at a fair price. A couple can have an amazing dining experience under $100 and it will be the best hundy you've spent in Sacramento. Their happy hour cocktails and food selection is also excellent. Some may say Biba is past its prime but they'd be wrong. A five star experience always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Biba never disappoints! We dined on eggp ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Biba never disappoints! We dined on eggplant stuffed ravioli, perfect short ribs, and Hawaiian swordfish cooked to perfection. There is always a happy energy at Biba's.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding--a wonderful evening ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Simply outstanding--a wonderful evening and great food, especially the lasagna, which you can only get on Thursday or Friday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Biba is consistently outstanding . We ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Biba is consistently outstanding . We are of Italian descent and we much appreciate the authentic, house made pasta and inimitable Presentation of Italian dishes . Wait staff on this occasion, as in the past, was excellent, very polite and yet friendly . Quail and Calamari were "Molto Bene" . Biba stopped by our table, as she often does, which is always an added delight. We shall return soon .

Davide and Giudi, Davis, CA
Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific experience

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Terrific experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything I imagined! Great experience ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything I imagined! Great experience!!! Greeted by Biba when we arrived! How special is that! Food and service was amazing! Can't wait to return!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with friends to celebrate retireme ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Lunch with friends to celebrate retirement was excellent. Gnocchi, lasagne, cavatelli, apple crostata all were wonderful. Great waiter and sommelier - his name was Jorge - who was very knowledgeable, friendly, and more than happy to answer our questions. For top food, drink, service, and mellow environment Biba's is great. I've been there many times. Valet parking too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Biba is always excellent. In addition ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Biba is always excellent. In addition to the fabulous Northern Italian cuisine which is prepared upon order, not in advance, the service is great. They attend to your needs, but never interfere with you enjoyment of your meal or conversation. We have never been rushed and they graciously allow you to sit and talk with your companions. It is always a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and fantastic food. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent service and fantastic food. Our waiter recimmende some great selections. Veal and Gnocchi were perfectly cooked. Interior is a bit dated along woth restrooms as well. I would definitey recommend. Biba stopped to say HI.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bibas is consistently great! The menu n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Bibas is consistently great! The menu never disappoints; anything you choose Will be the best choice! It's a no regret menu, only regretting you can't have more than one entre or one dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As always the food, service and ambiance ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As always the food, service and ambiance was wonderful. It is our go to place for those special days in our lives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined here multiple times over th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I have dined here multiple times over the years. The food is fantastic!!! Sometimes there can be a a significant wait between when appetizer/salads and main Entree arrives. We waited over 30 minutes for our Entree. Waiter explained to us that this sometimes happens when orders arrive in the kitchen at or near the same time. They gave us complimentary desert for the wait. Biba worked the room greeting Tables and agreed to take a picture with my 6 year old son which was nice.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I did not get to celebrat ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My husband and I did not get to celebrate our 10th anniversary last year, so we were making up for it this year. We had heard about Biba's for years and wanted to try it very much. It was so worth the wait, the food was a delight and sang on our taste buds.

Thank you again for a wonderful experience!

Donald and Tina Duncan

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Burata was wonderful. The Lasagne was d ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Burata was wonderful. The Lasagne was divine. The pork chop on farrow was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful meal. Love seeing Bib ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always a wonderful meal. Love seeing Biba, fabulous lady.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the service tonight. Very friendly ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Loved the service tonight. Very friendly and comfortable interaction. Very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food here was spectacular ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 10, 2016

As always, the food here was spectacular. Unfortunately, the service was a bit lacking this time. It was extremely slow for some unknown reason. We waited endlessly at every step. The waiter seemed to be servicing tables all over the restaurant and bar area, so perhaps they were short handed on this particular evening. On other visits, we did not have this issue -- except on the prior trip when we had the same server. So, it's either an issue with this particular server or we've simply hit the restaurant on off-nights. In every other way, this restaurant is outstanding. So, we will certainly return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of the finest restaurants in Sacrame ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

One of the finest restaurants in Sacramento. Highly recommended for any (or no) occasion

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was fine Italian dining at its best ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was fine Italian dining at its best. Carpaccio for starters - best ever, the zuchini had heirloom squash - oh man, and the sauce on the perfectly cooked scallops was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just delicious and such pleasant and acc ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Just delicious and such pleasant and accommodating employees......

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best Italian dining exper ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Absolutely the best Italian dining experience in this area..

Great food, and service.. Will be back ,very soon..!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is awesome Waiter was very efficien ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food is awesome

Waiter was very efficient and appropriately friendly

wine selection was awesome

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 52nd wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 1, 2016

It was our 52nd wedding anniversary and we had an excellent meal with which to celebrate it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful experience! The food was ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A wonderful experience! The food was excellent and the wait staff were very courteous and attentive. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely authentic Northern Italian food. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Lovely authentic Northern Italian food. Well attended at lunch. There is valet parking.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a friends birthday and had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We celebrated a friends birthday and had lunch in the bar area. It was great for conversation and the food was excellent. The waitress was very attentive as well as the bartender. I will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband, son and I went to Biba's for ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 25, 2016

My husband, son and I went to Biba's for my birthday and were extremely pleased with the service, quality of food and the environment. The menu was varied and gave a wide range of delicious choices.... as we left I was able to take a moment and thank Biba herself for letting us eat at her restaurant. She took time to chat with us and asked us to visit Italy in the near future - what a delightful woman! I will be back and recommend the establishment to friends and family!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful as always

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a great night as we celebrated my ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was a great night as we celebrated my wife's bday. I was a bit concerned because we decided to take my 6yr old and 10 year old. My kids are generally well behaved so we decided to take them. It was the perfect night as the kids, even as picky as they are, loved the food (lasagna and chicken ravioli). The owner showed up at our table and made the kids even more welcome. At the end she gave my kids a hugg as we left. We totally felt welcomed even with our kids. It was an amazing night with amazing service, and even better food. But be prepared to drop a bit of cash.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, setting & service is excellent. Ho ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food, setting & service is excellent. However, the noise level was unexpectedly high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The noise level was much too high and ve ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The noise level was much too high and very uncomfortable for carrying on a conversation.

My food was warm, but not hot.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food as always. This has to be ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent food as always. This has to be the best restaurant in Sacramento.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

To us Biba's is a classic, understated p ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on October 19, 2016

To us Biba's is a classic, understated place to dine. The service, white linens and style are

a welcome from the ordinary. The food always has been creative and delicious. It's our

"go to" place for family celebrations.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably one of the best dinners I have ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Probably one of the best dinners I have had in a very long time..delicious food, beautifully prepared and served, lovely ambiance...a wonderful experience! Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant just was not on it's game ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The restaurant just was not on it's game this night...a bit disapointing...

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.