Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Biba Restaurant

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: (916) 455-2422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Authentic (58)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
See All
Good for a Date (54)
Romantic (53)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Worth the Drive (34)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Business Meals (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Happy Hour (24)
Bar Seating (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Seasonal (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (13)
Fun (11)
Casual (8)
Live Music (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Biba's is wonderful place to meet friends or family. The food is excellent and today our group had the soup of the day and the pasta of the day and both were delicious. The raviolis were cooked perfect and the sauce was creamy and smooth. The front lobby bar is a great place to have a before dinner drink while waiting for group or guests to arrive. The service was perfect and yet not to over attentive. The pace of the meal was exactly what we had hoped.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Finally made it to Biba ! Our lunches were fabulous ! The service was great. Desserts wonderful. My next appointment in Sacramento will warrant another lunch at Biba !

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Had an amazing time. Can't wait for the next time we go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We had such a fabulous meal! Finally was there on Friday for Bibas famous lasagna . It was everything and more than I expected! Delicate layers of homemade pasta. The veal ragu gnocchi was wonderful as well with a depth of flavor in the sauce! Salads were crisp and perfectly dressed. Everything was perfect! Our service was outstanding . Even the bus girl was wonderful, sweet and kind. Very attentive. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Disappointing. Below expectations and lower quality than in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Biba's is our favorite restaurant in the Sacramento area. It has been for years.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

This time food was not up to par. New York steak was dry and flavorless. A little less than half was eaten, the waitress noticed and asked if everything was ok. My husband spoke up and told her, she said she would take it off the bill, without hesitation.
I had the fish stew. The sword fish, clams and shrimp were over cooked. Flavor was very good though. Our daughter enjoyed her two half orders of pasta and the dessert was delicious. We had the Zucotto. Service was good, as always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Biba's has long been known for outstanding cuisine, Last night was no exception. Ingenuity, skilled chefs, intelligent experienced staff. Our only reservation: it was noisier than in past years. "Energetic," in the words of the survey. We know restaurants are supposed to have "buzz" these days, but we'd like a little relaxed quiet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Sacramento. The best Italian food in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Taste of the water was very nasty... very strong taste of chlorine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Worth the trip from San Francisco to Sacramento for Biba's top notch authentic and fresh Italian classics. Superlative service! We will return.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Lovely evening with friends. Staff was friendly and attentive throughout the evening.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Never disappointed. Cuisine is excellent, service is excellent, and the lasagna is like no other - heavenly!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fabulous and I will come back again. Bar dining the best!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fabulous service
Wonderful food
Everything done well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Restaurant Biba is a local legend. Great food, a polished staff most of whom have been there for years, and a good atmosphere in general. Owner Biba still comes in every day to make sure things are going smoothly. A must try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was amazing. The food is fresh and the flavors are unlike what you get anywhere else. Ask for the waiter George. He is knowledgeable and loads of fun! This is our new fave place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The small plates/appetizers were not up to par with my previous experiences at Biba. The entres, on the other hand, were very good. I have been coming to Bibas since she opened--2 to 4 times/year. The service is exceptionsl and the table settings are elegant in their simplicity.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 3, 2017

For many years now have enjoyed Biba's for both business and personal meals.. Never had a bad meal or experience.

highlight of each visit is seeing and talking with Biba herself....

DWW

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Late-night Find, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2017

It is such a pleasure to eat Italian food that is prepared as well as that at Biba. I had the gnocchi with a lamb rage that had a nice hint of mint. My wife had the ravioli stuffed with shrimp and served with a cream sauce infused with roasted garlic. Unlike many restaurants, the ravioli pasta was light and delicate. And the selection of wines by the glass is good and the prices very reasonable. We shared a bowl of fruit with zabaglione. The fruit was well selected, particularly the tasty blueberries. We will be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food was excellent, always a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Classic and classy Italian food watched over by Biba a Sacramento icon
Fabulous wine list especially for Pinot
Excellent bar

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food was excellent although I thought there would have been more traditional pasta dinners

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This is certainly the best Italian restaurant in the Sacramento area. Have dined there many times and it never disappoints.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing as always. I LOVE Biba's Italian food. I've been there multiple times and every time is exceptional and is what keeps me coming back. The food is truly authentic Italian.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Bibas is a wonderful place with great food and stellar service.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

At Biba, one always feels pampered. Service is impeccable and the food is authentic, seasoned perfectly, and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The lasagna was wonderful! Beet salad superb! I ordered cheesecake was great as was the tiramisu. Recommend reserving table in lounge, great piano music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Biba's for lunch is a great time to dine. The food is always wonderful and the service exemplary. Love the coffee and deserts. My wife had to scallops and they were prepared to perfection and the presentation a perfect compliment to the meal. I had the pork tenderloin that were perfectly prepared as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our server was fantastic, and the food was fabulous. We went there for our anniversary and we were thrilled with the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Bibas is always fantastic. It is one of the few places town that truly has professional wait staff. However, this most recent experience was somewhat different. While the waiter was "efficient" his demeanor was very cryptic and perfunctory. Not at all pleasant and fun. "used car salesman"

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We were first timers last Thursday and had a great time. Jorge our server was great and the food was amazing.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2017

As always most enjoyable dining experience. All four entrees were prepared wonderfully and the two appetizers also were very good. Quite a good wine list and after tasting several, we were happy with our choices of a zin and a pinot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Husband always chooses Biba for his birthday dinner. Everything we ordered, from cocktails to dessert, couldn't have been better. Service was impeccable, as always. We'd asked for a quiet spot when we made reservations, and got just exactly that. Menu changes with the seasons, so always something new to try, and Biba is usually there to greet the patrons. Portion size is manageable and beautifully presented.
Biba is our go-to place for special occasions, and it never disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Biba's has always been terrific! Our service was perfect and the food beyond remarkable!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is a must for the list of best spots in Sac for serious foodies, romantic regalers, and formal fine diners. Imagine tasting the best food in town. Then stop, because you don't have to imagine. If you catch the mirrors just right at Biba, you can watch yourself enjoy amazing food in real time. And catch other people doing the same thing. All of this you can do again and again as killer after killer course is laid upon your table. I'm not a drinker, but this sure looks like a fun place to imbibe. Desserts are just so amazing its unfair.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Biba continues to shine as a classic Italian restaurant. Wasn't too crazy about our waiter; failed to mention the special appetizer (we overheard from another waiter who was very descriptive and caring) and was very matter-of-fact. Otherwise food was outstanding as always.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

First time to the restaurant to celebrate my son's birthday. The restaurant was very roomy and nicely decorated. We were quickly sat and immediately welcomed by our server. For an appetizer, we ordered the calimari, which was the best I've ever had. Crispy and very tender. The server even had the kitchen split the order which was a nice touch. For dinner I had the Orecchiette con Salsiccia. The pasta was perfectly cooked and the pork and broccoli rabe were delicious. My son had the sausage stuffed ravioli, which he could not stop raving about. All in all, it was an excellent meal and an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing as usual. The Lasagna is so freaking good. Remember only on Thursday and Friday

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Biba was okay. The food was good, however, there is no ambiance. The lighting felt canned and the decor is reminiscent of a circa 1990-2000 country club. It needs an update. Our server was a sweetheart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.