Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Biba Restaurant

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: (916) 455-2422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Romantic (38)
See All
Authentic (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Historic (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (7)
Fun (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (5)
Live Music (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Casual (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

A special place for a special dinner. Really enjoy visiting with Biba everytime we go. She makes everyone feel like a long time friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was thoughtfully prepared and delicious. The Gorgonzola vinnegrette on the butter leaf salad was exquisite and the lavender gelato was amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been to BIBA several times. It's always been OK but not exceptional. But, it's probably among the best Sacramento has to offer.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I had a fantastic ahi
The bread wasn't wonderful - break sticks were good

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A great meal as always! A special thank you to our charming, attentive & interesting waiter Jorge. Some great conversation about Spain (the birthday girls homeland) and happy birthday sung to her in Spanish for her 89th.
Muchas gracias Jorge!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Loved this place and would definitely go back ANYTIME. the food is out of this world good. want to buy her cookbook next....!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I have been going to Biba's since the 1990s and it still to me is -- along with The Kitchen, Ella's and the Firehouse-- the best restaurant in Sacramento. It is elegant northern Italian cuisine at its best with Biba herself still there to greet you at the door and roaming the restaurant talking with the guests. But, go there on a Thursday or Friday because those are the only days her famous Lasagna Verdi is served. Fantastic restaurant and a real Sacramento gem!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 14, 2017

If Sacramento is on your Travel List, then do yourself a favor and go to Biba's. She is there most every night greeting guests. She is an incredible chef, published author and even had her own television show. She specializes in northern Italian cuisine. There is valet parking in front. The servers are very friendly and very professional. There is alway a surprise like homemade vanilla gelato with homemade butterscotch sauce with a single candle for my wife's 76 birthday. I have been there at least 20 times over the last 10 years. Biba's never fails me.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I've been to Bibas several time and have never been disappointed. The food is consistently fantastic and the service is always wonderful. I brought two friends that are retiring because I knew I could count on the restaurant. I brought in two flower arrangements to give the retirees and staff was so helpful bringing them in and setting them aside while we ate. Bibas is my go to restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This restaurant is slipping. The gnocchi was not tender and melt in your mouth like they usually are - they were hard and dry. The Veal which is normally very tasty simply prepared Piccata style was smothered in a heavy mustard sauce which was way too strong a flavor for this delicate cut of meat and no one liked it. And lastly they were out of their traditional bread sticks- a small thing but one that was noticed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food was salty. Service was good. It does not match quality with other italian restaurants

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I've been to Biba many times during happy hour and very please, but my first dinner experience was very disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Beautiful ambiance and excellent food. Good is pricy but worth it. The service was outstanding and they catered to our needs.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Resting on past performance. The interior is dated and needs refreshing. The food was good, but not exceptional given the food trend in Sacramento. With a little bit of love and effort, Biba could rise again to its prior performance.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I have never been disappointed after leaving Biba's however if you do not know how to enjoy food, eat properly (i.e. how to choose properly off a menu, and are not a ridiculous picky eater, not willing to venture out of your comfort zone, this place is not for you. This is a foodie's restaurant, it is old school with class, not a young person's hot spot, for meeting friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Biba greeted us personally, and oh what a meal....fabulous lasagne and halibut cakes.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Biba's never disappoints. We shared a fresh peas with burrito appetizer, a butter leaf salad with pine nuts and the cavatelli with octopus. Everything was delicious. As usual!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We moved to the Sacramento area about three years ago and have been trying many local restaurants. We attend many theater performances nearby, and of all the restaurants we've been to Biba is our favorite. Of course, the Lasagna is probably the best in the world, but other menu items we've tried have never disappointed. Simply outstanding cuisine! Biba is a treat every time. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was our wedding anniversary. Could not have had a better experience. Seated on time. House drinks nice taste. We decided on item's on the menu, but our server told us of the specials and we picked two from the selection. The Veal Ravioli was awesome and also the Gnocchi was way above the standard restaurant fare. Service was spot on also.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The dinner was most disappointing. The pasta with a lamb bolognese sauce was mushy and unappetizing in presentation; furthermore, one could hardly find traces of lamb (was this sauce slow cooked? I think not). The cheese was bright white and not pleasing. The soup was thin and greenish and I could not determine much flavor of split pea---it was watery and bland.

Overall, this Italian food left much to be desired. The waitress did attempt to bring us a substitute dish after we had almost finished the unappealing food......but that effort was very much "after the fact." We were not wanting for more.......we were wanting for a delicious Italian dinner. Perhaps she should have offered a dessert if she wants to comp a client.

I wonder if Biba was made aware of our poor dinner experience---she might not have been. But we doubt we will ever return to this ristorante.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I love Biba, even if she can't win them all. I did not like the scallop carpaccio appetizer. I didn't care much for the flavor of the scallop slices themselves, and there was a flavor note in the topping I found downright ghastly. First dish EVER id didn't enjoy at Biba. Fortunately, the beet salad came next, with crumbled pistachios on top - an unexpected and brilliant addition. For the main course, the halibut was truly wonderful, served on a bed of chard, tomatoes and new potatoes. Pure heaven. So the meal got off to a shaky start, but by the time the meal got to the finish line, it was still a winner.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Our server Janeen did an amazing job. She's great at her job. Made it a special night. And then there was the food! Melt in your mouth, Devine. We both loved what we had. I had the halibut, he had the veal. I would go back every week if we lived here. Of a the places we've been in Sacramento this is the standout.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Best "special occasion" restaurant in Sacramento with excellent pasta, main courses and desserts. Possibly the best lamb chops I've ever had, tender and flavorful! Service was excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was annoying. waitress kept interrupting us. The food is always pricey but this time it was over the top. Even have to pay for bread on the table now. That is ridiculous given the overall cost of the food. No alcohol, only iced tea with our meals. Total was $117 for lunch for 4. That's Bibas for ya. We would go more often except for the expense.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was the first time in 20 years of going to Biba's that the service was only fair and the food was good but not great. The waitress seemed stressed out and forgot about us. The butter leaf salad was overdressed and the sauce for the veal medallions was way too thick. Sorry Biba. I know you strive for excellence. We'll try again but not soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Birthday Awesome.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Biba never disappoints. Our burrata appetizer with fresh snap peas, pea purée, pickled shallots, roasted Roma tomato, and lemon-infused olive oil was a bite of springtime, one of the very best appetizers we've ever had. Our pastas--ravioli with wild mushrooms and cavatelli with slow-braised octopus--were also delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great bar drinks and appetizers. Service in restaurant was excellent. A little pricey but food was above average

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The excellent service and the delicious food are what you would expect of "fine dining" in a high end restaurant.

John the bartender is always courteous and attentive. Jeannine makes suggestions and makes modifications to enable us to taste many of the delicious foods. Franco makes sure our table is tidy and our beverages filled.

The experience is like dining on an excellent cruise ship.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This was my first visit to Biba's and overall, it was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. I found the menu quite interesting as it offered some out of the ordinary entrees. Unfortunately, we did not visit on a lasagne day, or I am sure I would have had that! 2 of us ordered the pre fixe option and both were very good. I had the penne with vodka sauce; the other guest ordered the lamb and ricotta crepes. Unusual and very tasty. The other person in our party ordered seared scallops and said they were delicious. They looked great! We all enjoyed our dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We went to Biba for my birthday lunch and it was everything I hoped for! My beverage of choice was the perfect Pico Sour and lunch consisted of a shared beet salad (the perfect size!) and a scallop/mushroom/carrot/asparagus lunch special. My son savored every morsel of his calf's liver and polenta, and my mom enjoyed her lamb crepes, which were like Greek comfort food! Our server was delightful! All in all, an outright fabulous meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had visited Biba's once before; was anxious to visit again,
Everything was as good as or better than our previous visit.
The food, presentations, waitress, deserts, even the valet
service ... everything was wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Celebrating a milestone birthday lunch. Told that Biba only offered a candle on your purchased dessert. It would be nice to offer even 1 scoop of gelato for special occasions as other places do. We also purchased desserts.

I ordered the penne with scallops. I expected to se a couple of whole scallops-instead the scallops were ground up and in the sauce. -very disappointed

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We like Biba's because we love Italian. We also love Gigi our server who is from Italy. The food is great and we enjoy the atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always fantastic food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was excellent, booked another reservation right after the meal finished. A must try for someone looking for good Italian dining.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have heard about Biba's for years, and finally went for a birthday celebration. The Lasagna (served only on some evenings) was amazing, and so was the asparagus appetizer. We will definitely go again. The next time, we will ask to split a pasta course, so that we have room for both the pasta course and a main course.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent as always. Dinner for Wife's Birthday and everything was perfect. Make sure and go sometime on a Thursday or Friday when the lasagna is on the menu. Best ever.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I usually love Biba's lasagna, but Friday night it was too dry and had a hard charred crust on top. It was not plated very well as the whole piece fell over before it got to the table. My husband 's piece looked much better than mine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Both of my grandparents are from Italy and been looking for a good Italian restaurant since we move her in central valley from San Francisco.
We finally found the place! Great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.