About Biba Restaurant

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: 9164552422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tomato And Mozzerella Salad
Lasagne Verdi alla Bolognese
Halibut
Gnocchi Del Giorno
Lattuga Romana con Pignoli e Gorgonzola
Calamari Fritti
Manhattan
Lamb
Lasagne Verdi Bolognese
Devilled Eggs With Salmon
Seared Duck Breast
Zabaglione with Fruit
Cheeseburger
Sweetbreads
Fegato Alla Veneziana
Zuccoto
Lamb Chops
Grilled Pork Chop
Coffee Cheesecake In A Chocolate Crust, Served With Caramel
Tiramisu
Lemon Budino
Bread
Lamb Skewer
Braised Chicken
Vitello Tonnato
Butternut Squash Raviolli
Asparagi Con Prosciutto E Uova Sode
Fettuccine Primavera
Gnocchi Di Spinaci E Ricotta
Maiale El Forno Con Verdure Di Stagione
Insalata Al Gorgonzola
Negroni
Fried Calamari
Bronx Cocktail
Pappardelle
Scallops
Ravioli
Pumpkin Ravioli
lasagna
Gniochi With Tomato Sauce And Fresh Basil

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Notable Wine List
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
8 More
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Service
Sacramento
Best Value
Sacramento
Notable Wine List
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (138)
Fit for Foodies (100)
Romantic (73)
See All
Notable Wine List (57)
Great for Lunch (54)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for Groups (34)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food! But unfortunately the servic ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! But unfortunately the service was not what we expected...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Asalways, Biba's comes through! Even the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

Asalways, Biba's comes through! Even the bread sticks were scrumptios!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The specials ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service was excellent. The specials for the day were very good, but rather sparse in quantity for the price charged. The limited parking in the area requires you use their Valet service, unless one desires a long walk after parking in the mid-town area + a long walk back to the restaurant. However, this month the Valet service was offered at no charge. The $130.00 cost for four lunches with 1 beer, a mixed drink and 2 desserts before tip seems excessive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Fabulously attentive servers and quite s ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fabulously attentive servers and quite spectacular entrees. We had the halibut and the pasta special of the day, both perfectly prepared. Biba greeted her diners individually during the meal. Such a gracious and gifted woman. Always a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lunch was wonderful. Excellent serv ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our lunch was wonderful. Excellent service, great food and a nice ambiance. The braised lamb shoulder was just wonderful as was the grilled halibut. As usual the service was perfect, attentive but not over bearing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and very good food. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent service and very good food. I highly recommend Biba's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It is a great place for dinner anytime, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It is a great place for dinner anytime, but a special occasion is extra special!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent, as alwa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food and service were excellent, as always. I do not like the on-line reservation service for two reasons: It's cumbersome and not user friendly; My notice that this was my wife's birthday was not honored. The confirmation you sent did not acknowledge my note, and only did so when I followed up on my own initiative. This was apparently not forwarded to the restaurant staff as there was no acknowledgement of the occasion. A nearby table had their birthday diner acknowledged. This oversight never happened before you took over the reservation service.

I ask that you send this note directly to Biba personally, as I will be checking with her myself. We have been her customers from the time she first opened the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going here since it opened ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been going here since it opened - never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Previous reviews raved about this restau ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Previous reviews raved about this restaurant, so I was very much looking forward to it. The food was good, service was good, but neither was exceptional as I expected. Both were solid and nothing to complain about, just not a rave worthy place and not a destination restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We keep coming back to the best restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We keep coming back to the best restaurant in Sacramento. Biba is at the top of our list when anywhere near, this time for celebrating our 55th wedding anniversary. Can't be beat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Both of our entrée were nicely presented ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Both of our entrée were nicely presented and tasted delicious! Even the ordinary green salad tasted so special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here for lunch to celebrate our ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We dined here for lunch to celebrate our anniversary. Because of the excellent food and service, this has become a tradition for us. We have never been dissappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always delicious, authentic Italian food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always delicious, authentic Italian food. Great service too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite downtown Sacramento treat! ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Our favorite downtown Sacramento treat! You can always count on a fabulous meal with gracious service in a spacious and charming dining room. A bonus is when Biba actually approaches your table to say 'hello'!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Biba's is always wonderful. We go for m ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Biba's is always wonderful. We go for my husband's birthday every year and often other times during the year. I've probably reviewed it 20 times - don't think I should still be doing it every time we visit, but I'm always glad to say how much we love it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The butter lettuce salad was superb! I a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The butter lettuce salad was superb! I also ordered the sea bass special because I like sea bass and because there was an heirloom tomato sauce. The fish was dry and crusty on the outside and the inside was overcooked, and there was no taste of tomato in the sauce. Our server was inattentive and we had to practically tackle him to get him to stop at our table so my colleague could order a second glass of wine. There was no excuse for his inattentiveness as the restaurant was sparsely seated. Sorry, this was not a shining star of a meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food as always was excellent, the se ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food as always was excellent, the service outstanding and the wine selection phenomenal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was friendly and attentive wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our server was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. She had an extensive knowledge of the menu including preparation and ingredients. The food was spectacular from start to finish. To top it off we met the lovely Biba herself on our way out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us ordered different entrees; a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Three of us ordered different entrees; all were excellent, well prepared and tasty. Even though we were too full for dessert, I'm still disappointed that tiramisu is no longer on the menu. Hopeful that it will return one day.

Two of us ordered coffee at the end of the meal. My only disappointment was that the waitress never returned to ask if we wanted more coffee.

Other than that, everything was excellent--as usual. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Never disappointed

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Biba remains one of the finest restauran ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Biba remains one of the finest restaurants in Sacramento. I have been dining there for over 30 years and have never been disappointed. It is neither hip nor trendy like many of the midtown restaurants (to be fair, many of them are superb as well). Biba is old-school Northen Italian, and having spent a lot of time in Italy myself, I can testify that it is genuine and true to the Italian art of cooking and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This particular evening, there were two ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This particular evening, there were two big groups in the dining room, so it was incredibly noisy, and service was slow because of it. There was an hour time lapse between being seated and our entree's. (We had cocktails in between.) This was by no means our server's fault. We've been seated with her many times before, and she was her usual gracious self. I think the kitchen just couldn't keep up. It should be noted that our meals were top notch, as always, hot, and perfectly prepared. Had we been smarter, when we were seated and realized the exuberance at the largest table adjacent to us, (at least 20 folks there, maybe more), we should have gone into the bar to eat. Even if service was slower than usual, it would have been quiet. Biba was wandering around during this time: it would have been appropriate for her to have made this suggestion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dining experience and h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience and had the Calamari appetizer and pasta dishes for our main entree,we will return.

Mike

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It could not of been a better experience ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It could not of been a better experience... everything was perfect.... thank you Biba

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience with great ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always a wonderful experience with great food, great service and pleasant ambiance--you can talk here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect. We had the occasion to dine at ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Perfect. We had the occasion to dine at Bibi's before and decided to return for our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner, gourmet food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner, gourmet food and excellent service. We'd definitely come back and recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Biba has been my favorite Sacramento res ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Biba has been my favorite Sacramento restaurant since it opened in 1986.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanted to go there to try the l ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I really wanted to go there to try the lasagna that I have read so many good reviews about. As for my boyfriend and me, we both thought it was just okay. Yes, there were many layers, yes, it was great to have homemade noodles. The cons: there wasn't much boglanese sauce or cheese to taste. The entire lasagna was just bland, very disappointing. Other people at the table had the ravioles and the arctic char fish. The preserved lemons in the ravioli sauce gave it a nice touch and fresh taste. The cream of swiss char and the fingerling potatoes that came with the arctic char were to die for. We couldn't stop eating off the other plates. The server was excellent. He checked on us periodically and was very informative and friendly to all of his tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is 5-star all around. I love ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place is 5-star all around. I love that Biba, a local celebrity, always comes out to greet her customers. My only negative comment would be that the main dining room was a bit warm, I'm guessing between 78 and 80°. I've never experienced that there before. Then again, it was over 100° outside that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent, will visit again ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was excellent, will visit again and recommend as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The waitress was extremely helpful. My 1 ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The waitress was extremely helpful. My 15 year old niece has never been to a fine dining restaurant before, and was uncomfortable. The waitress noticed this, took extra time explaining the menu options, made thoughtful recommendations and generally put her at ease. The food was amazing, and we even got a visit from the owner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we want a special meal with service ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

When we want a special meal with service to match, we go to Biba's. Tonight we had the veal cutlet and the pork chop, both entree's cooked to perfection. Service is always excellent, cocktails and wine list the same. Never disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently simple and delicious for y ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Consistently simple and delicious for years. Outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Biba never disappoints. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

As always, Biba never disappoints. The ravioli was amazing and the service was perfect. I love eating here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The atmosphere was fantastic, was easy t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The atmosphere was fantastic, was easy to find and valet was directly outside the door. Lasagna was unbelievably good (Thurs and Fri only) our waitress was fantastic and I am definitely coming back for my birthday

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the most unpleasant dinner expe ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was the most unpleasant dinner experience. We did not receive the entrees we ordered. The waiter was rude and made the experience even more unpleasant. When i sent my entree back it came back 20 minutes later and still wrong. My guests ordered dessert and it was terrible.

when my guest were asked if they wanted to buy a cookbook on the way out of the restaurant that was to much. I wont be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I thought it was a good idea to have the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I thought it was a good idea to have the ad in the Sacramento Bee, I think about going to Biba's but the deal saver came up the day I wanted to go so was a "bonus". Going once is not enough and look forward to many more business luncheons. The best part was as we were leaving, we got to say hello to Biba, she was having lunch at the bar. Such an inspirational person, I too am a breast cancer survivor, Biba, you are looking great, keep it up as we all face this cancer with courage and a joyful heart, we will be back more often, Susan Crane/Owner/The Party Concierge Inc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

E had wanted to go to Biba's for some ti ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

E had wanted to go to Biba's for some time and took advantage of a coupon. It was a wonderful experience. Beautiful setting, yummy food and attentive waitress. A must do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.