About Biba Restaurant

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: (916) 455-2422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Halibut - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Gnocchi Del Giorno - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lattuga Romana con Pignoli e Gorgonzola - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Calamari Fritti - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Manhattan - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lasagne Verdi alla Bolognese - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lamb - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lasagne Verdi Bolognese - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Devilled Eggs With Salmon - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Seared Duck Breast  - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Zabaglione with Fruit - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cheeseburger - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sweetbreads - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fegato Alla Veneziana - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Tomato And Mozzerella Salad - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Zuccoto - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lamb Chops - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Grilled Pork Chop - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Coffee Cheesecake In A Chocolate Crust, Served With Caramel - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Tiramisu - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lemon Budino - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bread - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lamb Skewer - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Braised Chicken - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Vitello Tonnato - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Butternut Squash Raviolli - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Asparagi Con Prosciutto E Uova Sode - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fettuccine Primavera - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Gnocchi Di Spinaci E Ricotta - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Maiale El Forno Con Verdure Di Stagione - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Insalata Al Gorgonzola - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Negroni - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fried Calamari - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bronx Cocktail - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pappardelle - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Scallops - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Ravioli - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pumpkin Ravioli - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
lasagna - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Gniochi With Tomato Sauce And Fresh Basil - Biba Restaurant, Sacramento, CA

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (56)
Special Occasion (55)
Authentic (48)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Romantic (43)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Business Meals (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Local Ingredients (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Historic (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (5)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Live Music (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fireplace (4)
Fun (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disorienting. The mirrors, lighting ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Very disorienting. The mirrors, lighting, carpet, and décor transported our dining experience back to the 1980s. And then the food. If blindfolded I would've assumed the fare was from Olive Garden. Not necessarily bad, just uninspired. And bland. Will not be back and will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

We love Biba's. The food is fresh and as ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

We love Biba's. The food is fresh and as local as possible. The service is excellent with a well trained staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made our maiden voyage to Biba for part ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Made our maiden voyage to Biba for part of the Dine Downtown promotion. Reviews looked stellar so we decided to give it a try. It appears to be in a historic building, date on the front went back to the 1800's! Decor is bright, modern but also had a distinctive 1960's feel to it.

Bar area is small but inviting. Bathrooms, bar and restaurant were all well lit and very clean. Dining room lighting could stand to be dimmer for a more intimate feeling. There were only about 3 tables seated when we got there. It was full by the time we left. Very loud acoustics in the dining room. We were sitting just across the table from each other and had to give up on conversation about half-way through the meal.

Service was a little different than what we are used to. The last couple of places we've tried the service was much more proactive and assertive. This is much more laid back and some patience is required if you have a time constraint. Had to ask for water, refills...

Of all things, the complimentary bread sticks were fantastic! Must be homemade as they were light, crispy and spiced perfectly. Bread bowl was standard fare. Salad was light, fresh and was dressed with a bleu cheese vinaigrette that was very flavorful but not overly pungent.

Butternut squash soup was perfect! Full of flavor and a nice, smooth consistency.

Pasta course was a perfect al dente, sauce was bright and fresh.

Salmon dish was cooked nicely as was the beef shoulder. Sauces were tasty and did not overpower the dishes. Biba seems to let the main ingredient stand for itself without overpowering seasonings or sauces.

All in all, decent bang for the buck. I'd say the menu is geared towards guests that prefer more old school type dishes. We're currently in a phase where we prefer dishes that really pop, a more fusion approach.

This was very good. B for the food, A for cleanliness, C for service, D for noise. Parking was a little challenging.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Phenomenal meal it was the $35 3 course ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Phenomenal meal it was the $35 3 course mean down town dine couldn't have been better with butternut squash soup pasta and choice of beef shoulder or salmon burg were great!!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I give Bibas two stars because when you' ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I give Bibas two stars because when you're paying for the cost of a meal at this place you deserve and expect a certain level of service and quality of food. This did not happen.

First, the decor is ancient. Modernize!

Second, when you bring me my food don't drop off my plate then serve the next table. Stay and offer me cheese/pepper first then go check on the next table.

Don't bring me spoons for dessert when we said no thank you, put them on our table, then realize we don't need them, take them back and take them to the next table. Those spoons are now dirty!

My wife's soup wasn't garnished correctly. You forgot the toppings.

First course was delicious. Bread fantastic. Salad and soup were good. Again, soup wasn't garnished correctly.

Pasta course. Are you kidding. Not worth it. I am attending dinner at a high priced Italian restaurant. My pasta was over cooked, rabbit meat shredded to bits and over sauced. Oh and the sauce was watery. I had water at the bottom of my dish. Come on!!!!

Wife's was weird. You boiled the scallops? What? Then barely seared one side. They were chopped up and thrown in with her over done, strongly seasoned pasta. Ugh!

Finally, and this should have been our warning to get out. When we got to our table it wasn't set. The salt and pepper shakers were in the middle of the table. There it is. The fact that you put salt and pepper shakers on the table is horrible. You are supposed to be a high class, expensive, nice meal. Stand by your food and cooking abilities to season correctly. I should never see salt and pepper shakers on the table at a place like this.

You're lucky you get two stars!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I hadn't been to Biba, in close to four ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

I hadn't been to Biba, in close to four years to be honest. On Christmas Eve, my mom and I were talking to a family friend, who owns a restaurant, and so I asked him who is a recent bay area transplant where his favorite meal was in Sacramento. Well two weeks later, we were there to celebrate my mothers birthday. The staff is truly a class act, who I believe either there parents raised them right, or they all read Emily Posts book, "Etiquette". Honestly, everybody had a sincere warmth, they made you forget it had been four years from the last time I was there.

If the valet is that friendly, you know that it is only going uphill from there. Speaking on behalf of the Anzelone family, thank you so very much for the amazing food, and hospitality. See you soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dine Downtown Menu! Service w ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Dine Downtown Menu! Service was swift and accurate. Everything was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sleepy restaurant with older geriatrics. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Sleepy restaurant with older geriatrics. We were looking for the defibrillator just in case. Bar looks like the lounge on SNL with Bill Murray performing as"Nick The Lounge Singer". Server was pleasant, but long gaps between, and difficult to get their attention. The lighting was overly bright - this restaurant needs a serious makeover. However, the foundational bones of Biba remain intact, and the food delivers. House made Pappardelle with the rabbit sugo top notch. Veal Marsala above average. $1.50 for table bread. Really? Reasonable values on the wine list, though would have liked to see broader representation of the Italian reds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

We have always had good food and a good ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We have always had good food and a good time here. My bride had veal and I had quail. The best meal is the pork chops. If it's on the menu that is what I am going to have.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for the Lasagna in which thei ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Went there for the Lasagna in which their knownfor, but its not on the menu a few days a week. A big disappointment for us being from out of town. The food we ordered was excellent though.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our meal was fantastic from beginning to ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our meal was fantastic from beginning to end as always. We started our new tradition of dinner out the night before New Year's Eve. The smoked salmon appetizer was a nice change, short rib and the special double pork chop entrees were fantastic - deeply developed flavors that weren't overpowered by any one spice profile.

Service a good pace, the place was full!

Best part ofour evening was seeing Biba, and wishing her a Happy New Year!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed, would not visit again. To ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Not impressed, would not visit again. Too expensive. Food was average. Tried 4 unique dishes, none of them would I eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Was my 1st visit and it was impressive. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Was my 1st visit and it was impressive. Food was amazing and the service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent. Yummy. Very fres ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Consistently excellent. Yummy. Very fresh all house made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food; can't wait to go back!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Incredible food; can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The waiter was a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was excellent. The waiter was a tad too casual. For example, he forgot for a while a glass of wine. After we reminded him, he brought it with a friendly joke but no apologies. For a formal restaurant with fine food and rather steep prices I was expecting more traditional manners. Same goes for the serving staff that would take our plates without a single work, no "excuse me", no eye contact, no smiling.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was unbelievable! Service was exce ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was unbelievable! Service was excellent! Definetly will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to write a review because the r ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I wanted to write a review because the reviews are so mixed for Biba that I was a bit afraid to try it for our anniversary. But, I have to say, I was very pleased. I made reservations prior on Opentable and our reservation requests were met! When we entered, we were greeted very pleasantly by both hostesses. We were a bit early so we were seated in the bar until our table was ready. By the time we ordered drinks (Family Frank Cab) and an appetizer (Crespelle), our table was ready so our waitress, Beth, took us to our table and served us there. The appetizer was delicious! My husband and I shared a serving Gnocchi. My husband had the veal, which was amazing and I had the ribeye, which was also delicious. Beth was a wonderful and attentive waitress. She was thoroughly pleasant and clearly enjoyed her work. There was also a live pianist. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. When we left, Biba happened to be walking towards us and she asked us how everything was and listened attentively to my husband as he told her.

Biba seems to have a lot of regulars who sincerely enjoy visiting her establishment.

The decor had been mentioned in several reviews. We found the dining room decor to be quaint and added to the old school elegance and ambiance. As I mentioned earlier, there was a pianist. It all works well together.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was superb. Three great salad ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was superb. Three great salad options, a number of delicious entrees, and unique desserts. We all tried the dinner special--salmon and shrimp--and had different salads and desserts. The occasion was our friends' 30th wedding anniversary and they felt very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There is no substitute for Biba's. Biba ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

There is no substitute for Biba's. Biba herself is wonderful, and her positive attitude permeates the place.

I ordered the black truffled cheese raviolis, and what a wonderful deal that was. The chefs are definitely ON there. We also had the ever-popular calamari appetizer, plus we had the burrata cheese with San Marzano Tomatoes and the carpaccio. I am a HUGE fan of all those ingredients. I absolutely LOVE burrata cheese, and they sourced excellently. The olive oil in that dish was sublime - a terrific flavorful match, and there's really nothing like San Marzano tomatoes.

The black truffle raviolis are raving good. I almost wish I had ordered another full plate, they were so addictive and tasty.

Dad had the sturgeon in a tomato base. He was very happy with that, along with the calamari, which is is absolute favorite.

We finished with some gelato ice cream - Dad got chocolate topping, I got caramel. Dad ate all his so I'm pretty sure it was excellent, and I have to say, the caramel went very well with the vanilla gelato.

We love coming to Biba's. I understand why she isn't open Christmas Eve or Christmas Day, so it capped off the weekend to come in the day AFTER Christmas instead.

Thanks again, Biba! We'll be back! Take care!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my father's 89th birthday ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We celebrated my father's 89th birthday and the server was very attentive and sincere. The food is always outstanding and my father said it was the best dining experience he had had in years. Always wonderful - thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Biba herself greeted and made us feel we ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Biba herself greeted and made us feel welcime. Appetizers and salads were good. Lasagna was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Biba's is always excellent! Service is ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Biba's is always excellent! Service is attentive and friendly. The food is so well prepared...I don't think I've ever had a meal there where I wouldn't say it was excellent. Much more of a splurge, but definitely worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas time dinner with 91 year old m ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Christmas time dinner with 91 year old mom and 90 year old friend... service and food top notch...asked for a glass of Zinfandel and the choice was really tasty! Chocolate gelato is not to be missed! Only downside is tables are close together and noise level is high for such an elegant restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

for many years Biba's has been a Sacram ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

for many years Biba's has been a Sacramento favorite

it still is

it was especially nice to be able to greet the owner when we arrived

if the noise level could be controlled it would be a perfect spot

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a nice lunch with a wonderful wai ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had a nice lunch with a wonderful waitress. The food had a very nice flavor and we enjoyed our lunch. The one thing that took away from it was that afterwards, my friend and I were both soooo thirsty all day that I felt I had eaten a shaker full of salt. I thought maybe it was just me so I asked my friend and he agreed that he had been filling his water bottle and draining it since we had returned to our office.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is supposed to be the best Italian ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This is supposed to be the best Italian restaurant in town and i had to say the food was good but the atmosphere wasnt kinda boring no music at all the place is nice but a little out dated small portions and thought at a restaurant like this they would give you bread but we had to pay for salty breadsticks and plain white bread our waitress was good not very friendly the crowd is just older people not a place for younger people (anyone under 40) but our food was really good

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

We go to Biba for special occasions. Th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We go to Biba for special occasions. The food is always amazingly fresh and excellent. The wait staff is like watching a well-orchestrated symphony providing just the right amount of attention for your evening. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here on a date night with the wife. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went here on a date night with the wife. Reservation was for 8pm on a Friday night. We got there early and waited for our table. Totally understandable, we were about 15min early. Checked in with the receptionist and waited outside for our table. About 815 I went back in to check on the table, the table was ready. Did the table just so happen to be ready at that exact moment or had it been ready for 15min ? Who knows, wasn't a big deal but I made note. About 4 min after getting to our seats Mrs. Biba stopped by the table to welcome us. She said some other stuff and giggled but I couldn't hear what she said as it was very loud in there. We waited approx 20min before we saw the waiter for the first time and she took our drink order. We wanted to give our dinner order as well but she barely stopped long enough to take our drink order and left before we could stop her. Another 10min before we got our drinks - 1 beer. Another 15 before we saw her again to take our food order. We had been there for almost an hour and she barely took our dinner order. We debated walking out at that moment but decided to stay as we heard the food was soo good. We ended up waiting another 35-40min for the food. Just as we decided to tell the water girl - since she was the only constant face we saw - to pack up our food to go, the food finally came out. I ordered the lasagna. The food was very, very good but the portion size was ridiculously small. I guess that's their way of making sure people buy appetizers. The price wasn't horrible so maybe that makes up for it? We scarf the food down since we were starving, and waited another 30min unto we saw her again and got our bill. We were there for nearly 2hrs. With it being a Friday night we expected to be there quite some time but the service was so bad we were irritated and angry and couldn't enjoy each other's company or the food. The waiter came by the table for the extremely bare minimum. The food was very good but the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent service and food. This is a ye ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent service and food. This is a yearly event for us and it never disappoints.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading about the restaurant for y ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 14, 2016

After reading about the restaurant for years we finally made it. I'm sorry that I hadn't come sooner. I will come again.

It was a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience. The settin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent dining experience. The setting, service and food combine together to make Biba a very pleasant place to dine. The flavors are inventive while still being traditional which is hard to do. Although the prices are not low, you get your money's worth here. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Biba's never fails to deliver. We were ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Biba's never fails to deliver. We were there to celebrate our anniversary and everything about the evening was perfect. The food was exceptional, the service was outstanding, and the ambiance was perfect for a romantic/quiet dinner. Having dropped off a gift and special champagne earlier in the day, the wait staff had everything beautifully set for us upon arrival. Couldn't have asked for a better dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, , Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant, depending on the custome ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The restaurant, depending on the customers can range between quiet and noisy. Their waiters and waitresses are fantastic when it comes to greeting and presenting options. Will definitely dine again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Fireplace, Family Style, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks here are always amazing. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food and drinks here are always amazing. But what makes the dining experience is Jorge! He is amazing and simply the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently excellent! Great service a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Consistently excellent! Great service and always excellent food. Great that Biba is always there to mingle with diners.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Biba's has earned i ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent as always. Biba's has earned its reputation as one of the best in Sacramento.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good as always. The wine list ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was good as always. The wine list is very nice and includes very good Italian wines. There was no waiting to be seated. Overall experience was good except the waiter seemed a little uncertain of the "specials."

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Biba is always an outstanding restaurant ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Biba is always an outstanding restaurant with quality food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, , Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Biba is clearly an upscale restaurant, r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Biba is clearly an upscale restaurant, rated by Trip Advisor as #1 out of all of the restaurants in Sacramento! The environment and ambiance are excellent. The food and service was outstanding. I will definitely be back. This is by far the finest Italian restaurant I have found in the Sacramento area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.