Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Biba Restaurant

Located in the historic Old Tavern Building, just minutes from the State Capitol, Biba Caggiano, celebrated chef, cookbook author, and TV personality, brings a bit of Italy to Sacramento. Savor the flavors of Biba's award winning authentic Italian cuisine in a friendly but refined ambiance, with attentive service that will make you feel instantly welcome. Enjoy spuntini with a cocktail or glass of wine in the lounge area, kick back and listen to piano music, or order a full meal at the bar or in the dining room. Only the finest and freshest ingredients are used and the food is truly Italian...house made lasagne Bolognese on Thursday and Friday and a different stuffed pasta dish every day. Osso bucco alla Milanese (veal shanks) or stinco di agnello (lamb shanks) are just some of the entrees you may expect to find. California and Italian wines are available to complement the food. And don't skip the dessert. The Tiramisu is to die for!

2801 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & Capitol Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 455-2422

Website:
http://www.biba-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano in lounge Wed-Sat from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Parking Details:
Public parking garage accepting only credit cards available just a half block away at 28th and N St. Valet parking also available for lunch and dinner.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Capitol Avenue in either direction just a few yards away.

Executive Chef:
Biba Caggiano

Private Party Facilities:
Available only on special request.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Hand: (916) 455-2422

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Biba Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (67)
Special Occasion (67)
Good for a Date (64)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Romantic (51)
Notable Wine List (47)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Local Ingredients (41)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Business Meals (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Bar Seating (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Cozy (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Healthy (17)
Seasonal (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Live Music (10)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Organic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Always the best dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My go-to Italian when I'm in Sacramento. Food is always good. Waitress Beth was very attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

As usual, the Biba experience is one that is a fetching combination of excellent food and superb service. My petrale sole was done to perfection and my colleauges' meals also merited high praise. The wine list allowed me to pick a 2015 Bolletto Pinot Noir from the Russian River which we all thoroughly enjoyed. For the discerning diner, Biba is an absolute treasure. And if you love Bologna, you will also love Biba.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Biba's never disappoints! The food is always just wonderful regardless of what one orders, although the Lasagna is always beyond compare. I want to be going to this restaurant for the rest of my life! Keep it up, Biba! You are Sacramento's treasure!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Biba's never disappoints. The squash raviolis were amazing, in a butter sauce with cookie crumbles my husband and I split one order as an appetizer and it was perfect. We had cannoli for dessert and it was delicious.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 13, 2017

What a wonderful evening! Every dish was flawless!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Very knowledgeable, attentive, and friendly server. Delicious pasta paired perfectly with our wine that was recommended by our server. When we ordered our dessert, our waiter put a small candle for my partner’s birthday (we mentioned that he was celebrating his birthday that evening) - a nice pleasant surprise. We’ll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

At the top of our list - we need to be here more often!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

We enjoyed a delightful anniversary dinner at Biba. The meal and wine were outstanding, and the service was stellar as well. This is one of the finest restaurants in the USA.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The lasagna was really delicious. The appetizer, grilled octopus, was a little bit chewy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2017

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. We took advantage of the valet parking, a plus for any dining experience in Sacramento. We were seated on time, at a table near the window, out of the way (thank you for that!). Our waiter promptly appeared with menus, a list of specials, and took drink orders. Drinks arrived promptly (although he apologized for the delay!). We asked for the bread basket (worth the $1.50). My husband ordered the prosciutto appetizer, and I ordered the baby gems salad. The gorgonzola vinaigrette was just right, and the toasted pine nuts provided a great contrast overall. We both love fresh pasta, so my husband ordered the ravioli and I ordered the lasagna (served on Thursday and Friday only). Both dishes were simple, yet flavorful. The bolognese sauce on the lasagna had a great texture, with just enough meat to satisfy. Portions were just right, the presentation simple, yet elegant -- nothing over the top, (but food art can be so overrated.) Pacing slowed a bit between the first course and the second, but the restaurant was quite full, and I understand a busy kitchen. We had ordered the bread, and that and conversation kept us busy enough. The wine list features a number of local wines, and the prices were quite reasonable. We enjoyed a very nice evening, with fine food and good service. We recommend Biba and will definitely return.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The service was great. We brought our own bottle, which was uncorked and decanted for us. The food is delicious, but don't forget about the dessert - I will definitely be going back for the cheesecake and mousse!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Biba's is always great ... always get the gnocchi no matter what.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Wonderful dinner, great service and not as noisy as other options. I was a bit disappointed because when making the reservation, I emphasized that it was for a birthday celebration but that was not recognized at all.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Bibis restaurant has a great environment, fresh, crisp tablecloths,very inviting. The service is impeccable and and attentive. The food is outstanding....every time consistently great. And every time we are there Bibi always comes to our table checking to say hello, was everything ok and do you need anything else.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We traveled 150 miles to dine there , I've been wanting to try it since the early 1990's, and it exceeded my expectations and was worth the drive. It is a great value for the quality of the food and was worth my long wait to dine there! We will definitely go back! Five Stars in every way!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Consistently excellent over the long haul, always a great mix of the familiar and the new in Italian cuisine. The staff is extremely professional and knowledgable, with very little turnover. One of the top restaurants in Sacramento for a reason.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2017

My wife and I went here on our anniversary before going to the theater. We were under somewhat of a time constraint and they accommodated us so we could get to the theater in time. Our waiter(Marcus) provided exceptional service. His recommendations were outstanding. My wife and I split a meal and the splits were extremely generous. And the dessert that Marcus recommended was sooo good. It was a perfect place to go for our anniversary and Marcus made it even better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 4, 2017

As always, excellent meal, excellent service. Still my favorite restaurant in Sacramento. Even everyday dining feels special. The halibut special was amazing. And I always love the gnocchi, this time with a tomato sauce and eggplant. And the ravioli special was a big hit, in a corn cream sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 4, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary and on a Tues, so the restaurant wasn't as busy as a week-end. This allowed us to have a conversation without distractions of other diners which we could then enjoy one another much more. Our server was pleasant and attentive and the food was delicious! Even met Biba, our gracious hostess and chef extraordinaire!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Good as always. Went for 19th wedding anniversary. Food exceptional, wait staff and bus staff truely amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Outstanding food at Biba’s! If I’m In Sacramento again I would definitely go for another great dinning experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Our experience was disappointing from what we expected from a restaurant of this reputation. The four of us were celebrating my wife's birthday and felt the food was average overall, from the appetizer to the salads to the special entrees to the desserts. For the prices, only slightly better than Olive Garden. The service was fine but nothing exceptional. The ambiance and decor were old and tired, with obviously no reinvestment in years. Had mentioned my wife's birthday when I made the reservation on-line and was impressed the hostess as well as the waiter acknowledged it. Not that I necessarily expected a free dessert for her, but we were definitely taken back when the dessert she did order and paid for, arrived with a free candle on top. Pretty tacky we all agreed. Based on our experience and the $200 bill that night, we don't plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Made reservations for my wife's b-day. Biba's food is a good as anything we've hadin Boston, New York, or Itally. The food this night did not disappoint and the service was terrific. We shared the gnocchi, stuffed pasta, and the lasagna. We requested the fennel sausage and pesto sauce on the gnocchi to mix up our menu a bit. We loved it and will proba bbc.co my take others back for the same.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

This was a first time experience on a special occasion and i was thoroughly impressed. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

High quality northern Italian Cuisine served with utmost care. Excellent wine list with knowledgeable servers. Extensive menu and price fixe options. Comfortable dining room, valet parking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Always a special experience thanks to all; they are our family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great food, generous portions and attentive service. We had a perfect dining experience. Thank you Biba.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The lasagna was amazing, and the gnocchi was stellar. The raviolis were undercooked, but otherwise just good, not great. Excellent tiramisu.

The portions were so small we thought they were kidding. 8 gnocchi and 4 ravioli for the split plate (So you would get double that of you got a full plate of either one.) The lasagna was actually smaller than the tiramisu. And it was $21! It also is just an irritant to have to order bread and butter separately, and seriously $1.50? The bread was good and definitely worth it, but it just feels like you're being nickled and dimed when you're already paying an arm and a leg.

Finally, the ambiance was NOT romantic, a lot of reviews said it was romantic, they are wrong. Very loud, large tables, too close together. There is a front room where you enter that has the bar, a few tables, and a piano player, maybe that is more romantic, but you have people walking through constantly to get to the back rooms where the seating is.

Overall, it wad a fine dinner because the food was good to excellent, but all the negatives outweigh the positives and we will not be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent authentic Italian cuisine. The service is 5 stars.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

I absolutely don't think you could find a better Italian restaurant in Sacramento or surrounding area. Love the atmosphere it's not noisy so you can carry on a conversation. The food is wonderful and well priced.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I have been to Biba many times, but not recently as I do not get to Sacramento that often. This experience was wonderful, as usual. Certainly one of the best restaurants in Sacramento.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We would NEVER ecommend this restruant and we will never go back. We were a group of only gfour and all very disappointed. When we were arrived we were one of three tables. The restaurant filled up and we still had not been served . We observe tables that came in 35 tminutes after us receiving their entrées when we haven't even received our hors d'oeuvres. It was difficult to catch the attention of any waiters.

Their signature lasagna that's only available on Thursdays and Fridays can only be described as completely blah . The other dishes of halibut and Pasta were just okay, but not at all what I expected from what is supposed to be a great reputation, and definitely not worth the price . Their antipasto was good. We were completely unimpressed and very disappointed. We had invited our friends out for the special occasion and this experience was embarrassing .

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Went to Biba's for my birthday. I've always wanted to go there. Four in our party. We had veal, New York steak, lamb shank, and some sort of fish soup. Every dish was amazing! The service was excellent. Scallop appetizers and can press salad were off the charts delicious. We will definitely return for another meal.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent food, service and the special dessert for celebrating my sister's 65th birthday summed our evening up to a "10!"

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our waiter was the most arrogant waiter we have encountered in the Sacramento area. He was very direct that when I asked him about the evening's specials, that he would tell me, essentially, when it was the appropriate time. He corrected us when we mispronounced the names of a few menu items. Ironically, we noticed the table of four behind us whispering and making wild gestures with each other. One of the men, scooted over to our table and asked us if we were having issues with the waiter as well. They, like us, could not believe his arrogance. Between the six of us, we probably dropped $600 easily--which is probably not a lot for the average Biba customer. But I can tell you this, you probably won't be seeing them... or us... again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Another fabulous experience at Biba's. Great atmosphere, excellent food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Everyone had a great time. Biba, herself came by the table and was very pleasant. I had purchased Biba's cookbook and she personalized it for my wife, nice birthday touch. The staff was excellent and service was attentive. The food was outstanding. My wife had the lasagna and it was outstanding. We all had desert and it was a perfect ending to a great meal.

My only minor critique will be the Cotolette alla Milanese, veal cutlets. They were cooked perfectly but one of Biba's incredible sauces would have made the dish complete.

With this experience we will be back and we will not wait for a special occasion but go when we want an excellent dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It is always an amazing evening when we come to Biba's!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

As always, Biba's is the very best restaurant in Sacramento. We reserved their signature lasagna, and it was fabulous. The service is great too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.