About Bethany's Table

15325 Northwest Central Drive,Ste J-1
Portland, OR 97229
View Larger Map

Bethany's Table is a casual European style bistro offering meals made from fresh, local ingredients and served in a relaxed setting imbued with genuine hospitality.

Grass-fed beef, humanely raised (and tasty) chicken, fresh seafood, pasta, risotto, polenta complimented by unique ingredients such as foraged wild mushrooms, truffles and sea beans (wild asparagus). The menu is complemented by a thorough wine selection and a full bar.

Dinner is served nightly from 5 PM - close, and lunch Monday through Friday from 11 AM - 3 PM.

The Table is a popular neighborhood spot blessed with a loyal cadre of regular customers. This results in a large portion of diners walking in. For this reason a number of tables are held out to accommodate walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, European, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:00am - 3:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bethany Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 614-0267

Website:
http://www.bethanystable.com/

Catering:
Catering is provided for our customers. A menu is specially tailored for your group and can be picked up or delivered, with or without service personnel.

Executive Chef:
Janet O'Connor

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bethany's Table, Portland, OR

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

A recently constructed private dining area is the perfect venue for your next celebration, lunch meeting, team dinner, or other special event. Our private dining room seats 35-40 guests at two tables and 22-24 guests at a single table. The entire restaurant can host parties of up to 120 people.

Bethany's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Casual (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Healthy (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good service, good food , quite place!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Good service, good food , quite place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On short notice, provided our 8 -person ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

On short notice, provided our 8 -person party with a fantastic evening - excellent food, efficient, unobtrusive service and a perfect business ambiance for celebrating a long-tenure employee's farewell dinner. Highly recommend the menu. Expensive compared to a Front Row, but worth every penny. Adam and the owner personally took care of our party and made us feel quite special. Looking forward to future patronage for sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation through Opentable for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Made a reservation through Opentable for a group of 12. The table was ready early for us. I was the birthday girl I had such a great time! I recommended the place to my dad! Hopefully will be back( only reason for hopefully is because we live rather far away)

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great tomato soup! So nice to have this ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great tomato soup! So nice to have this restaurant in the neighbor!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have been here numerous times, and haven ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Have been here numerous times, and haven't had a bad meal or experience yet! The chicken Marsala is a favorite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love dining at Bethany's Table; rather ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I love dining at Bethany's Table; rather it be an impromptu lunch with a friend or a quiet, romantic dinner with my husband. The wine list is great & the specials are creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we had Great service ! Good wine selec ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

we had Great service ! Good wine selection. Server very knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful spot. Unbelievable food. Roman ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Beautiful spot. Unbelievable food. Romantic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great neighborhood restaurant that has r ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant that has recently been expanded/remodeled and looks lovely...it feels much more like a place to have a nice dinner out now. We love the chicken marsala. Only disappointment was that there was no regular salad option, just one with smoked blue cheese that was a little too heavy on the smoky taste.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Menu is significantly expanded since las ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Menu is significantly expanded since last year. Many quality entree choices - we enjoyed wild salmon (cooked perfectly medium rare), al dented vegetables and pork chops. Wine list was extensive with variety of price points. Lemon Meyer tart for dessert was devine and perfect for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent neighborhood bistro style rest ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent neighborhood bistro style restaurant. Visually attractive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bethany's Table never disappoints! Whet ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Bethany's Table never disappoints! Whether it's a date night or night out with friends, this restaurant is the perfect setting. The food, drinks, service, and ambiance all make Bethany's Table one of my favorites!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinners are great. Food and service usua ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Dinners are great. Food and service usually wonderful. Lunches need more attention, especially food quality

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Modern, upscale northwestern venue, unpr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Modern, upscale northwestern venue, unpretentious, and friendly. The owner/chef takes great pride in her food. I've had several of the menu items and have not been disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bethany's Table is now my favorite resta ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Bethany's Table is now my favorite restaurant on the West Side of PDX and Fit for Foodies in all of PDX.

The menu is considerate to many palates and Foodies appreciate this. I counted 5 main entrees and two Chef's specials.

At tonight's table we were served A starter from the Pantry board of: Chicken liver mousse, Hummus w/ toasted pita, and Truffle salted frites and a nice bottle of Italian wine, followed by our entrees: Short rib ragu, The short rib cooked perfectly for my wife( tender & tasty ) Chicken Marsala ( Wow) pan seared chicken breast on real mashed potatoes with porcini mushroom marsala sauce ( OMG delicious ) Chef's burger 8oz of kobe beef cooked perfectly with all the trim. A shared chocolate cake dessert and we were stuffed.

The value is great, Our normal check around town for lesser a meal usually average $160. and to my surprise the bill $138. :- ).......

The service is top notch for PDX . Thank you hostess and thank you Chef Janet, The you David and Britney for the excellent night out at your restaurant.

I strongly recommend Bethany's Table restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wonderful as always, great service, menu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Wonderful as always, great service, menu varies and best Cesar Salad. I have never had a bad meal here or poor service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, , Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good we made reservations for dinner ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

So good we made reservations for dinner on Christmasm Eve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The atmosphere is very friendly & comfor ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The atmosphere is very friendly & comfortable and the staff is wonderful! A great menu and exceptional food and wine selection. It's our new favorite dining spot and we'd highly recommend. They always have great specials in addition to the well rounded menu options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal and great service at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always a great meal and great service at Bethany's Table!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic! The service and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was fantastic! The service and cocktails were horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

This is our place if we want a consisten ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This is our place if we want a consistently good dinner out and a nice glass of wine to go with it. We usually make it a weeknight date night spot. We often love their salad special as a starter and then often are negotiating with each other on who is getting one of the specials and who is getting one of our favorite menu mainstays. We also love the vegetable side on the main is not an afterthought, well cooked and well presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Bethany's table. F ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Another great meal at Bethany's table. Food was excellent as usual, wine service was impeccable (we sent away a bad tasting bottle, replaced without issues). One of these days I will have to try the desserts !

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

BT is always good. It's my "go to" dini ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

BT is always good. It's my "go to" dining spot where I know the food, service, and wine will be EXCELLENT

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was quite good but our waiter, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was quite good but our waiter, Adam, made the evening delightful! His recommendations were all amazing. Their signature dessert, Budino, was beyond wonderful! Definitely will be adding Bethany's table to my places to dine and recommend.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice meal with friends. Dessert was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very nice meal with friends. Dessert was awesome chocolate soufflé. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The experience was good! Large group of ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The experience was good! Large group of 9 was serviced well, overall. The beginning of the night, we could have received service more quickly, but it was understandable because our entire group was not yet there. Food was delicious, portions were normal/small, and very great flavors. Friendly staff overall!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The remodel is great! Such a nice atmosp ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The remodel is great! Such a nice atmosphere. Food was fantastic and we were well taken care of with service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a very small table with others ve ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a very small table with others very close so it was kind of hard to talk but the food was very good and we will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Exceeded our expectations again. Recent ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Exceeded our expectations again. Recent remodeling really wormed Bethaney's up and the food continued to delight. We have never left disappointed, and this evening was no exception.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love the food and people that own thi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We love the food and people that own this restaurant. We had a table for four and we actually had to leave early because the noise level was so extreme that we could not hear ourselves think. we could not carry on a conversation with our friends. The tables are very close together and it leaves absolutely no room for moving around. The table next to us was a very loud and louder group and we simply could not compete with the noise. It was a very disappointing evening and we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

I've written several reviews of this, ou ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I've written several reviews of this, our favorite lunch and dining spot. Now Janet and David have finished the remodeling, and one could say the "ambience now matches the great food". On this occasion there were four of us and we had an almost two hour lunch - this is not a place for fast food addicts if one wants to appreciate what Chef Janet can offer. There are options if you need to be "in and out", but you will not really appreciate what Bethany's Table can offer. In the wilderness of the northwest just outside of Portland, Bethany's Table is a shining star of culinary excellence. Long may they reign!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal, great service. A real n ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful meal, great service. A real neighborhood gem. Why drive far when Bethany's Table is around the corner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food in the European tradition ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent food in the European tradition with local ingredients. Everything we had was expertly cooked, very well presented and the available wines complemented the meal perfectly. Prices were good for the quality of what we got. Highly recommended and my favorite spot in the area !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been going to Bethany's Table fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We have been going to Bethany's Table for year's. Chef Janet 's cuisine is superb! She frequently adds new items to the menu, so we are never bored - we can choose a new item or have one of our favorites. Thank you Janet for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Paella and warm brie were delicious! Ser ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Paella and warm brie were delicious! Service was a bit slow, but it was worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

first time back since they renovated the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

first time back since they renovated the place. the expansion looks fantastic although it seems that maybe the acoustics changed? the food however is still exemplary. Janet just nails it every time and the salmon was perfect and chicken marsala was the usual delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very disappointed. My sister's linguine ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very disappointed. My sister's linguine vongole, pasta was overlooked, too much liquid that makes pasta very soupy. Pasta bolognes, the sauce was little sweet, my grandson (9 years) even complained. The salmon dish my granddaughter ordered was so small I thought she got appetizer. The four appetizers were good. I have had much better food before but not this time. Soooo disappointed.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

After the remodel, the noise level has r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

After the remodel, the noise level has risen - they are working to correct this.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food as always! Love the remodel! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great food as always! Love the remodel! Super service too. You will have a great meal!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice quiet place with excellent food. Go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Nice quiet place with excellent food. Good selection of wines by the glass and incredible bread !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.