About Bethany's Table

15325 Northwest Central Drive,Ste J-1
Portland, OR 97229
View Larger Map

Bethany's Table is a casual European style bistro offering meals made from fresh, local ingredients and served in a relaxed setting imbued with genuine hospitality.

Grass-fed beef, humanely raised (and tasty) chicken, fresh seafood, pasta, risotto, polenta complimented by unique ingredients such as foraged wild mushrooms, truffles and sea beans (wild asparagus). The menu is complemented by a thorough wine selection and a full bar.

Dinner is served nightly from 5 PM - close, and lunch Monday through Friday from 11 AM - 3 PM.

The Table is a popular neighborhood spot blessed with a loyal cadre of regular customers. This results in a large portion of diners walking in. For this reason a number of tables are held out to accommodate walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, European, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR REMODEL
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bethany Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 614-0267

Website:
http://www.bethanystable.com/

Catering:
Catering is provided for our customers. A menu is specially tailored for your group and can be picked up or delivered, with or without service personnel.

Executive Chef:
Janet O'Connor

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bethany's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Northwest
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
4 More
Best Service
Westside
Best Value
Westside
Special Occasion
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

Neighborhood Gem (40)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Romantic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always enjoy the food and service...have ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always enjoy the food and service...have "never" been disappointed

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting is very nice, simple, yet co ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The setting is very nice, simple, yet comfortable. The menu has a great variety. My husband like to order a little from each section whereas I just wanted a salad and a protein. Easily accomplished with their menu no hassle no modification, just order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The paella was decidedly average - more ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The paella was decidedly average - more like Spanish rice topped with bits of chicken and mussels. Prior meals were much better. We'll try again to see if this was a fluke.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

We really enjoyed the food and the servi ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and the service was outstanding. We were seated on the balcony on a Sunday evening and the ambience was wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love this place and dine here as ofte ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We Love this place and dine here as often as we can. Great food; Great atmosphere; Great staff and wonderful owners who take time to meet & Greet! This Dining spot is a must for any & all who desire a place that is always a pleasure!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bethany's Table is always a winner. We ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Bethany's Table is always a winner. We snuck out at the last minute for a "date" night. The Ahi Poke was amazing, the special summer salad had pork belly on it (does it still count as a salad?), and the spicy shrimp and polenta is our stand-by favorite (one of us always has to order it). Our waiter recommended a perfect bottle of white wine for under $40. We got to talk to Janet about the upcoming re-model and all the servers were great. Let's keep this local couple in business!

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really love your quaint restaurant. Th ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I really love your quaint restaurant. The food is so flavorful. Unfortunately you let very large groups in and it uses up all the tables and it because quiet loud in a small restaurant. 20 women were in the middle of everything , so the few tables left suffered from the noise. Last time we sat through 12 family members celebrating a birthday. It's just too tight to have such big groups. Our waiter was also overwhelmed , so we (party of 2 ) suffered from lack of wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

good but not great. Decor and ambiance ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

good but not great. Decor and ambiance were confusing, there was no bar. The food was very good, but for the price, the experience wasn't there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Good was food but expensive for what it ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good was food but expensive for what it was. Service was good a little slow but they were very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Good food and great service.

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were disappointed that they were out ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were disappointed that they were out of several dishes when we arrived for our 7 pm reservation, but everything we had was wonderful. A short rib dish, a cod dish with a spicy sauce, and fettuccine with mushrooms and duck were all excellent. I am sorry I don't remember the names of the dishes. Wine by the glass was quite good too, and the server was helpful and knowledgable. I would certainly return to this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As usual, Bethany's Table fulfilled its ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

As usual, Bethany's Table fulfilled its promise as a remarkable restaurant in a surprising setting. The food was delicious. I had the steak frites and Jerri had the lobster tail braised in butter, which she found to be a bit too lemony. But tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great neighborhood spot with excellent s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great neighborhood spot with excellent service and food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!!!!!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took an out of town business contact ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We took an out of town business contact to Bethany's Table so we wouldn't have to fight downtown traffic . The food is good and prices are about what we'd pay downtown or in NW Portland and it is convenient and very pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We quite often eat at Bethany's Table be ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We quite often eat at Bethany's Table because it is great for meeting our friends, the value is good, the food is excellent and we are not rushed. Love their "Happy Hour" from 3 to 5 for a quick small plate and drink during the week.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great to see Bethany's Table maintaining ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great to see Bethany's Table maintaining consistent quality, service and value. It is a fine Northwest Portland dining experience in the suburbs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Third visit in 30 days! Our new favorit ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Third visit in 30 days! Our new favorite as opposed to driving into the city. We keep going back because of an inviting menu--we want to try it all! Very well prepared food in a simple American bistro ambiance.

Good seafood allong with all of the dishes that you would expect in a bistro. Amazing deserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Adam and Janice are terrific servers. Th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Adam and Janice are terrific servers. The food is Delicious ! A GEM in the suburbs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to Bethanys Table almost sinc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Been going to Bethanys Table almost since the day it opened. Has never let me down for food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are long-time repeat customers, we ke ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We are long-time repeat customers, we keep coming back, sometimes for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is incredible! Their new layout ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food is incredible! Their new layout is more diner friendly, and comfortable. The menu is filled with mouth-watering selections, with ingredients that you can pronounce. (so you know what you are ordering!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall outstanding. Wonderful halibut & ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall outstanding. Wonderful halibut & scallops plus service....timely yet not invasive. A tremendous place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our second visit. Wow! What a menu! S ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our second visit. Wow! What a menu! So many appealing items that I had difficulty making up my mind. Each item selected by us was outstanding--including the homemade bread. Nice by-the-glass wine selection. Pleasant NW bistro. Outdoor dining is on sidewalk of this small shopping area. Our server, Tom, was always available when we needed him. Very knowledgeable and personable . What a pleasant evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were excited to dine here post remode ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were excited to dine here post remodel. Sorry to report that the changes went much further than the layout. The new wait staff are no longer warm and smiling- maybe because they felt "slammed" even though the restaurant was only 2/3 full? Our table was never checked on to refill beverages or see how we liked our food. Good thing we were happy! Another odd thing -- we noticed repeatedly that the food came out for one table, and one table only, to the entrée, before the food began to arrive for another table. We waited 45 minutes with our menus before ordering! Once we got our order in, the flow of the dinner service was smooth (appetizers arrived with the salads, but who is going to complain at that point). Two hours later, we were done with our meal. The breezy, casual elegance was gone. The prices, maybe a half notch higher. The portions, maybe a half notch smaller. Party of 2 = $77.00, no alcohol, w/tip. Entrees - halibut, and a cheeseburger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Miss weekend breakfast so was a treat to ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Miss weekend breakfast so was a treat to do Dad's day there

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great option for a foodie who wants high ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great option for a foodie who wants high-quality food and ambience, but doesn't want to have to drive and park downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here before and loved it. The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've been here before and loved it. The appetizers and bread were great. My steak was great, but my parents ordered the Chicken Marsala and that was a mistake. It was not the normal style of a pounded thin chicken breast. This was super thick with the leg attached and it was way overcooked! The favor of the sauce was more like gravy, not Marsala sauce. I love the rest of their food, but they need to rework the Marsala recipe for remove it. Terrible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

As always, it is delicious and current w ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

As always, it is delicious and current with local fruits and veggies, and familiar and homey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful place for a quiet meal.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Janet is a marvelous and creative chef. Her willingness to spend time speaking with her dining guests makes this a special place for dinging. It is our favorite restaurant and go to place especially for special occasions and for bringing guests and family members. Even small children are welcome. The staff is attentive and well trained and the food universally well prepared and appealing visually as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot so close to home

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Love how close Bethany's Table is to our house. So nice to have such great food without having to go downtown or to the Pearl.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Busy night, enjoyed the experience--pick ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Busy night, enjoyed the experience--picky eaters, ordered seconds. This place is terrific.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic food! We had the cheese board ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic food! We had the cheese board with prosciutto wrapped dates and peppered salami. Then the cod with fingerling potatoes and my friend had the salmon. It was sooooo good. Then we had butterscotch pudding with peanut brittle for dessert. It all tasted wonderful and we recommend this for foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Overall great experience. Food was outs ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Overall great experience. Food was outstanding and service was good. The server practically had to scream the specials to us, it is very loud in there. Other than that it was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Spot for a (belated) Mother's Day Dinner.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We have been coming to Bethany's Table occasionally since it opened and as usual, the food and service were excellent. Their commitment to using local foods and creative preparation and presentation is a joy.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Crisp fresh produce, awesome scallops.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Crisp fresh produce, awesome scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food and service. Very family ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very good food and service. Very family frirndly, but an adult food experience. Will defiantly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great restaurant in the burbs

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We've eaten twice in the last month (4 and 5 guests) at Bethany's Table and we will go there again and again. The restaurant's menu items are unusually well priced, including the wine). The food is all very good, no disappointments thus far. I had the Ahi which they seared perfectly to my request (slightly more seared than usual). I liked the two-sizes salad options (we love big salads). And the service was a delight; friendly and attentive, including a visit from the owner who has some great books lining the walls that you can browse through if you are bored with your company.

The menu is not huge which is how we like it and everything tried thus far was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant in Bethany!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Head chef Janet is fabulous! Makes the best chioppino in the city

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service excelent food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We chose this place because the cocktail menu was supposed to be inventive and they did not disappoint. The food was excellent and the service was top flight.

Try the cocktails, and the appetizer boards. The Salad with Humboldt fog cheese and Champagne vinaigrette.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.