About Bethany's Table

15325 Northwest Central Drive,Ste J-1
Portland, OR 97229
View Larger Map

Bethany's Table is a casual European style bistro offering meals made from fresh, local ingredients and served in a relaxed setting imbued with genuine hospitality.

Grass-fed beef, humanely raised (and tasty) chicken, fresh seafood, pasta, risotto, polenta complimented by unique ingredients such as foraged wild mushrooms, truffles and sea beans (wild asparagus). The menu is complemented by a thorough wine selection and a full bar.

Dinner is served nightly from 5 PM - close, and lunch Monday through Friday from 11 AM - 3 PM.

The Table is a popular neighborhood spot blessed with a loyal cadre of regular customers. This results in a large portion of diners walking in. For this reason a number of tables are held out to accommodate walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, European, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:00am - 3:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bethany Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 614-0267

Website:
http://www.bethanystable.com/

Catering:
Catering is provided for our customers. A menu is specially tailored for your group and can be picked up or delivered, with or without service personnel.

Executive Chef:
Janet O'Connor

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bethany's Table, Portland, OR
Bethany's Table, Portland, OR

Private Dining

A recently constructed private dining area is the perfect venue for your next celebration, lunch meeting, team dinner, or other special event. Our private dining room seats 35-40 guests at two tables and 22-24 guests at a single table. The entire restaurant can host parties of up to 120 people.

Bethany's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Portland / Oregon
Northwest
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Westside
4 More
Best Food
Westside
Best Service
Westside
Best Value
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Local Ingredients (16)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (8)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is our place if we want a consisten ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

This is our place if we want a consistently good dinner out and a nice glass of wine to go with it. We usually make it a weeknight date night spot. We often love their salad special as a starter and then often are negotiating with each other on who is getting one of the specials and who is getting one of our favorite menu mainstays. We also love the vegetable side on the main is not an afterthought, well cooked and well presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Bethany's table. F ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Another great meal at Bethany's table. Food was excellent as usual, wine service was impeccable (we sent away a bad tasting bottle, replaced without issues). One of these days I will have to try the desserts !

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

BT is always good. It's my "go to" dini ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

BT is always good. It's my "go to" dining spot where I know the food, service, and wine will be EXCELLENT

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was quite good but our waiter, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was quite good but our waiter, Adam, made the evening delightful! His recommendations were all amazing. Their signature dessert, Budino, was beyond wonderful! Definitely will be adding Bethany's table to my places to dine and recommend.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice meal with friends. Dessert was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very nice meal with friends. Dessert was awesome chocolate soufflé. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The experience was good! Large group of ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The experience was good! Large group of 9 was serviced well, overall. The beginning of the night, we could have received service more quickly, but it was understandable because our entire group was not yet there. Food was delicious, portions were normal/small, and very great flavors. Friendly staff overall!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The remodel is great! Such a nice atmosp ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The remodel is great! Such a nice atmosphere. Food was fantastic and we were well taken care of with service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a very small table with others ve ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a very small table with others very close so it was kind of hard to talk but the food was very good and we will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Exceeded our expectations again. Recent ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Exceeded our expectations again. Recent remodeling really wormed Bethaney's up and the food continued to delight. We have never left disappointed, and this evening was no exception.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love the food and people that own thi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We love the food and people that own this restaurant. We had a table for four and we actually had to leave early because the noise level was so extreme that we could not hear ourselves think. we could not carry on a conversation with our friends. The tables are very close together and it leaves absolutely no room for moving around. The table next to us was a very loud and louder group and we simply could not compete with the noise. It was a very disappointing evening and we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

I've written several reviews of this, ou ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I've written several reviews of this, our favorite lunch and dining spot. Now Janet and David have finished the remodeling, and one could say the "ambience now matches the great food". On this occasion there were four of us and we had an almost two hour lunch - this is not a place for fast food addicts if one wants to appreciate what Chef Janet can offer. There are options if you need to be "in and out", but you will not really appreciate what Bethany's Table can offer. In the wilderness of the northwest just outside of Portland, Bethany's Table is a shining star of culinary excellence. Long may they reign!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal, great service. A real n ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful meal, great service. A real neighborhood gem. Why drive far when Bethany's Table is around the corner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food in the European tradition ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent food in the European tradition with local ingredients. Everything we had was expertly cooked, very well presented and the available wines complemented the meal perfectly. Prices were good for the quality of what we got. Highly recommended and my favorite spot in the area !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been going to Bethany's Table fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We have been going to Bethany's Table for year's. Chef Janet 's cuisine is superb! She frequently adds new items to the menu, so we are never bored - we can choose a new item or have one of our favorites. Thank you Janet for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Paella and warm brie were delicious! Ser ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Paella and warm brie were delicious! Service was a bit slow, but it was worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

first time back since they renovated the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

first time back since they renovated the place. the expansion looks fantastic although it seems that maybe the acoustics changed? the food however is still exemplary. Janet just nails it every time and the salmon was perfect and chicken marsala was the usual delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very disappointed. My sister's linguine ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very disappointed. My sister's linguine vongole, pasta was overlooked, too much liquid that makes pasta very soupy. Pasta bolognes, the sauce was little sweet, my grandson (9 years) even complained. The salmon dish my granddaughter ordered was so small I thought she got appetizer. The four appetizers were good. I have had much better food before but not this time. Soooo disappointed.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

After the remodel, the noise level has r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

After the remodel, the noise level has risen - they are working to correct this.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food as always! Love the remodel! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great food as always! Love the remodel! Super service too. You will have a great meal!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice quiet place with excellent food. Go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Nice quiet place with excellent food. Good selection of wines by the glass and incredible bread !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first visit since the recen ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was our first visit since the recent remodeling (just about completed – just the doors to form a private room were still to be installed). Finally, the big coolers from the previous “Dinners Ready” business have gone, and the restaurant now looks elegant and casual at the same time. The new wooden ceiling looks great, but is part of the one problem, as together with a wooden floor it creates an elevated noise level. We talked to owner David about it and there are plans to dampen some of the noise with some drapes. We mentioned the now-closed Fife restaurant had a similar noise problem and covered the underside of the tables with cork and this did dampen some noise bouncing between the ceiling and floor.

The food and service were excellent as always. I had a new dish, Pasta Bolognese, homemade pasta with a veal and pork sauce using a recipe owner/chef Janet had acquired in Bologna. It was lovely! My wife’s coq-au-vin was its usual excellent quality. The wine list has some excellent and interesting wines from several world regions, most of which are at modest prices as compared with some Portland restaurants. We had a red (100% Corvina) from the Veneto – went well with both dishes.

This bistro is only 0.75 miles from our home, and with its quality, it is very hard for us to consider travelling into Portland to have a fine lunch or dinner such as available at Bethany’s Table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently great food and service. Unu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Consistently great food and service. Unusually good suburban restaurant west of Portland.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really enjoy this restaurant. Great f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I really enjoy this restaurant. Great food, local produce, and excellent wine list. They have some nice outdoor seating areas, which they heat during the early fall and late spring. They recently renovated the interior, and looks great. Even the ceiling was redone with real wood planking. It's a nice restaurant in the Bethany area with personable owners and an environment you'd usually find downtown, or maybe Hawthorne.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always enjoy the food and service...have ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always enjoy the food and service...have "never" been disappointed

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting is very nice, simple, yet co ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The setting is very nice, simple, yet comfortable. The menu has a great variety. My husband like to order a little from each section whereas I just wanted a salad and a protein. Easily accomplished with their menu no hassle no modification, just order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The paella was decidedly average - more ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The paella was decidedly average - more like Spanish rice topped with bits of chicken and mussels. Prior meals were much better. We'll try again to see if this was a fluke.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

We really enjoyed the food and the servi ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and the service was outstanding. We were seated on the balcony on a Sunday evening and the ambience was wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love this place and dine here as ofte ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We Love this place and dine here as often as we can. Great food; Great atmosphere; Great staff and wonderful owners who take time to meet & Greet! This Dining spot is a must for any & all who desire a place that is always a pleasure!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bethany's Table is always a winner. We ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Bethany's Table is always a winner. We snuck out at the last minute for a "date" night. The Ahi Poke was amazing, the special summer salad had pork belly on it (does it still count as a salad?), and the spicy shrimp and polenta is our stand-by favorite (one of us always has to order it). Our waiter recommended a perfect bottle of white wine for under $40. We got to talk to Janet about the upcoming re-model and all the servers were great. Let's keep this local couple in business!

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really love your quaint restaurant. Th ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I really love your quaint restaurant. The food is so flavorful. Unfortunately you let very large groups in and it uses up all the tables and it because quiet loud in a small restaurant. 20 women were in the middle of everything , so the few tables left suffered from the noise. Last time we sat through 12 family members celebrating a birthday. It's just too tight to have such big groups. Our waiter was also overwhelmed , so we (party of 2 ) suffered from lack of wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

good but not great. Decor and ambiance ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

good but not great. Decor and ambiance were confusing, there was no bar. The food was very good, but for the price, the experience wasn't there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Good was food but expensive for what it ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good was food but expensive for what it was. Service was good a little slow but they were very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Good food and great service.

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were disappointed that they were out ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were disappointed that they were out of several dishes when we arrived for our 7 pm reservation, but everything we had was wonderful. A short rib dish, a cod dish with a spicy sauce, and fettuccine with mushrooms and duck were all excellent. I am sorry I don't remember the names of the dishes. Wine by the glass was quite good too, and the server was helpful and knowledgable. I would certainly return to this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As usual, Bethany's Table fulfilled its ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 16, 2016

As usual, Bethany's Table fulfilled its promise as a remarkable restaurant in a surprising setting. The food was delicious. I had the steak frites and Jerri had the lobster tail braised in butter, which she found to be a bit too lemony. But tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great neighborhood spot with excellent s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great neighborhood spot with excellent service and food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!!!!!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took an out of town business contact ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We took an out of town business contact to Bethany's Table so we wouldn't have to fight downtown traffic . The food is good and prices are about what we'd pay downtown or in NW Portland and it is convenient and very pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We quite often eat at Bethany's Table be ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We quite often eat at Bethany's Table because it is great for meeting our friends, the value is good, the food is excellent and we are not rushed. Love their "Happy Hour" from 3 to 5 for a quick small plate and drink during the week.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great to see Bethany's Table maintaining ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great to see Bethany's Table maintaining consistent quality, service and value. It is a fine Northwest Portland dining experience in the suburbs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.