About Bestia

2121 E. 7th Place
Los Angeles, CA 90021
View Larger Map

A multi-regional Italian restaurant in the Arts District of downtown Los Angeles

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Closed on most major holidays

Cross Street:
Santa Fe Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 514-5724

Website:
http://bestiala.com/

Executive Chef:
Ori Menashe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please email events@bestiala.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bestia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Los Angeles
Italian
Los Angeles
Most Booked
Los Angeles
5 More
Best Overall
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Food
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Service
Downtown / South and East LA
Hot Spot
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (272)
hot spot (216)
special occasion (171)
See All
good for groups (129)
neighborhood gem (109)
vibrant bar scene (94)
notable wine list (78)
romantic (70)
great for outdoor dining (65)
late-night find (48)
great for lunch (13)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top to bottom perfect

Dined 3 days ago

They run this place just perfectly... Insanely great dining experience and the service literally could not have been better. Insanely high expectations and still they BEAT our expectations!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT Experience from beginning to end! ...

Dined 3 days ago

GREAT Experience from beginning to end! Food was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

Awesome food! It indeed lives up to the ...

Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food! It indeed lives up to the hype. However, felt service was lacking.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was good, pasta way overpriced and ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was good, pasta way overpriced and silly wine list with glass starting at $20

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The best. Truly one is the best Dinning ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The best. Truly one is the best Dinning places in LA . A must!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ONE OF THE BEST IN L.A.

Dined 6 days ago

My fellow-foodie wife and I relocated from 'culinary capital of the world' London to L.A. last Summer and we have been increasingly impressed with the excellent level of quality of the emerging restaurant scene in this vibrant city. BESTIA definitely tops the list for us so far. Superb dishes including the chopped salad, the mussels and clams in nduja sauce, the alla'nduja pizza and the agnolotti all blew us away. The service was informal but impeccable and the ambiance was tolerably buzzy. We sat out on the front deck which was a bit chilly, but as soon as they put the heaters on it was very pleasant. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, romance, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food quality, with fast servic ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent food quality, with fast service, but not "considerate" service; most of the waiters there are hard sellers, and go ON and ON regarding specials and their personal recommendations even when NOT asked. However, waiters are friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazingly good! Our server ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was amazingly good! Our server was very informative and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

FOOD IS AMAZING

Dined on May 15, 2016

I love the food at Bestia, I make reservations 2 months in advance as much as I can cos it's really hard to get seats there.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian food in LA ! Definitely wil ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Best Italian food in LA ! Definitely will come back again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ugh. So good.

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was delicious. It was my first time trying the Bone Marrow and as soon as we placed the first bite in our mouths, my best friend and I were wide eyed with an orgasmic like reaction on our faces. It's that good. Our server was Peter, and rarely do I feel the need to ask the server's name with the intention of giving them a shout out later, but whoa. He was helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. He really added to our dining experience, and I didn't really know that was a thing until a few nights ago. So here's another golf clap to Bestia. Job well done and customers left satisfied and talking about their meal the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent but not up to all the hype

Dined on May 11, 2016

Italian food for the most part is one of my fav, but i cannot say that any of the dishes was very memorable. usually when i go to a hot-spot like this one, i find something that i really like and i would go back for, but i felt cheated with most of the stuff we got here. It was 4 of us and we got 7 dishes, felt full, but i think it was because we kept drinking water. Cocktails that would have been better paired with Mexican food and a wine list that somewhat covers the italian pairing but not for the price. It's questionable if this restaurant will stay as hot as it has been, maybe it will become a white dwarf and eventually die off.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bestia was the Best!

Dined on May 11, 2016

I can't say anything that hasn't been said already from the 1000's who wait the two months (as we did) to get a reservation. It's worth the wait, I had high expectations going in and they did not disappoint. My recommendation, don't come for conversation or romance, this place is loud! I had to read the lips of my server to hear what she was saying, and she stood pretty close.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food did not disappoint. The staff w ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food did not disappoint. The staff was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

All staff were welcoming and no discrimi ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

All staff were welcoming and no discrimination. My boyfriend and I dine out a lot and majority upscale resturants discriminate us for looking young. The bone marrow anti pasta was amazing. We joked about ordering it as a main dish.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came in for an 11pm! reservation after g ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Came in for an 11pm! reservation after getting off a flight. It's nice they have such late reservations available. Being our first time at this establishment, we tried to get the dishes they are known for. We got the bone marrow, the uni spaghetti, a chopped salad, and lobster crostini. Initially told that the lobster crostini was sold out, but our waiter hopped over shortly after that saying he had snagged the last one. Overall really enjoyable food. I feel like the restaurant vibe is quintessential LA. Would definitely come again to try some other dishes. It is still amazing for how long this place has been open that the reservations are still so hard to come by. Drinks also nice and stiff. Waitstaff - I have no complaints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food in DTLA

Dined on May 7, 2016

I made reservations for a friend's birthday. There were only four of us who attended. All the staff (hostess, waiter, bus people, etc.) were very attentive without being overbearing. Each dish was delicious and it was nice to share a variety of plates. The only issue we had was that it was so loud in the restaurant. Next time I would try sitting outside to get a bit more quiet as it was very hard to hear my friends. I would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely again. Tried all new menu and exc ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Lovely again. Tried all new menu and excellent all around.

food5
ambience3
service3

Overall, solid food. Can become extremel ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall, solid food. Can become extremely noisy with music and chatter. Found myself yelling during the conversation to be heard. Service was good, but not outstanding. Tables for 2 can be very small and crowded.

food5
ambience5
service5

I think Jenny was our server!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

I think Jenny was our server!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and equally great service. No ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food and equally great service. Not to be missed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent joint

Dined on May 5, 2016

Can't complain about one thing other than its hard to get in - word is out. I'll go back there a wholebunchalot

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything we had was amazing. Very fres ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Everything we had was amazing. Very fresh, and nothing was over or under cooked. I will say though, the panna cotta was more like pudding. Too soft. We did have the strawberries and creme and it was amazing. Overall, it was a great experience.

food5
ambience4
service4

Ridiculously perfect. Unreal.

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Ridiculously perfect. Unreal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No disappointments

Dined on April 30, 2016

I have to say every time I come here the staff is always very prompt and Kind. The food is decadent as always and I've never had a complaint. I always suggest to friends for a birthday or a nice night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on April 29, 2016

I loved everything about this place. It has an energy that you can feel as soon as you walk in. The food was insane. The service impeccable and the décor was cool. I want to go back. GO HERE! You will NOT be disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my faves!

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is one of my fave restos in LA, just wish it was quieter.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing bone marrow served over pasta & ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Amazing bone marrow served over pasta & the pizza was delicious! Dessert of donuts & coffee (little light donut holes served with coffee ice cream & whipped cream) was as good as it sounds!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mouth watering

Dined on April 28, 2016

Overall experience was wonderful. Food was pleasing to the eye and tantalizing to the taste buds. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Overrated

Dined on April 27, 2016

This is my first experience where a nice restaurant batches their specialty cocktails. Pre-mixed cocktails that are not called punch?? I found that very odd. I ordered a white Negroni and it was quite sweet. After I asked for it to be dryer, the waitress confirmed that the bartender could not make the drink and that I should pick something else. Be careful at this restaurant, you can easily spend a lot of money on mediocre food, have to order correctly - we ordered the chopped salad, octopus/calamari salad, Agnolotti pasta, skirt steak, homemade ginger ale. Only good things were Agnolotti alla Vaccinara + ginger ale.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on April 24, 2016

Very expensive, but every dish perfectly prepared and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

"We don't give change!" says bartender

Dined on April 24, 2016

Trendy spot and hard to get rezervations. But good food with a bit of attitude service. If your trying to make an impression it is a good spot. Lots of young aggressive asians milling about. when I asked about my change...Very noisy -man buns!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine wizard was great

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were visiting from Vancouver B.C and were recommended to check it out. The location was not ideal but with Uber it was easy to get there. We consider ourselves decent foodies along with the other couple with us. Every dish was fantastic. Some of the best pizza and pasta I have ever had. When we needed another bottle of wine the sommelier recommended a fantastic bottle within our price range. He told us they don't use the sommelier word so we called him our wine wizard. Next time in LA we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Quite honestly, I live in NY and I travel to Italy

Dined on April 23, 2016

This restaurant is all hype and less about substance. We were not impressed. Restaurants like this fade once the next "thing" moves in to occupy its space.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service

Dined on April 23, 2016

This place is one of my LA favorites. It's hard to get a reservation but well worth the trouble.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

One would think that a place like this t ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

One would think that a place like this that is almost impossible to book would be stuffy BUT on the contrary it's a very relaxed environment with excellent service. The food is absolutely fresh and delicious! Definitely a customer for life if we can get another resrvation

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian food hands down.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Best Italian food hands down.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved It

Dined on April 21, 2016

I love this place. The food was amazing. Everything was cooked perfectly. The service was really good even though the restaurant was packed. My only complaint would be how loud the restaurant is. All the tables are pretty close together and everyone is talking at a pretty high volume.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

its your bestie

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

If you'd like well-executed nuovo Italian food in a warehouse setting, you'll be pleased at Bestia. Innovative combinations in small plates and sides, Bestia's best is in the dressings. Subtle and unusual and unexpectedly refreshing combinations. Service follows the same way. Friendly, on point without pressuring, our plates were cleared and suggestions were made based on how we decided to order, not on what they suggest. However, tight reservation times and the absence of a bar - which is classified as 'chef's table' - mean that dishes come all too quickly or out of sequence. Wolf down the roasted cauliflower, the smoked fish salad and those mussels. No time for soaking up the richly complex but light chorizo broth with crusty bread, the pasta will no longer be al dente. And strangely, on the men were asked if they wanted refills on drinks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way

Dined on April 20, 2016

We were so glad we planned ahead and booked Bestia from Australia a few weeks ago. Perfect place for a last night of holidays dinner; in fact, perfect place for dinner any time! Everything we had was truly delicious. Probably the best pizza we have ever eaten. The grilled octopus was sublime and the agnolotti wonderful. Topped off with fantastic banana dessert. Excellent wines, cocktails and service. The whole place just buzzes. Just wish they'd open a branch in Melbourne, Australia!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.