About Bestia

A multi-regional Italian restaurant in the Arts District of downtown Los Angeles

2121 E. 7th Place
Los Angeles, CA 90021
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Closed on most major holidays

Cross Street:
Santa Fe Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 514-5724

Website:
http://bestiala.com/

Executive Chef:
Ori Menashe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please email events@bestiala.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Bestia, Los Angeles, CA
  • Bestia, Los Angeles, CA
  • Bestia, Los Angeles, CA
  • Bestia, Los Angeles, CA
  • Bestia, Los Angeles, CA
  • Bestia, Los Angeles, CA
  • Bestia, Los Angeles, CA
  • Bestia, Los Angeles, CA
  • Bestia, Los Angeles, CA

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bestia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (103)
Good for a Date (85)
Hot Spot (81)
See All
Creative Cuisine (81)
Special Occasion (68)
Handcrafted Cocktails (58)
Fun (57)
Open Kitchen (54)
Worth the Drive (51)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Notable Wine List (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Casual (37)
Good for Groups (37)
Modern Decor (35)
People Watching (31)
Bar Seating (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Authentic (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Family Style (20)
Romantic (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Wood Oven (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Tapas (16)
Business Meals (16)
Seasonal (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Cozy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Great Beer (6)
Organic (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been to Bestia a few times and the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

I've been to Bestia a few times and the staff is nothing but the best, the food is the best, and atmosphere is the best. I eat, drink, chill with friends, family, or that special someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! The bone marrow and lamb n ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food! The bone marrow and lamb neck were two of the best dishes we have ever had in la. DONT skip dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's just SO LOUD.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

It's just SO LOUD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Our reservation was late evening and the ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our reservation was late evening and the kitchen had run out of some dishes we were looking forward to trying. The food was excellent but I was a little annoyed that the portions seemed smaller than usual which again, was likely due to it being later in the evening, but I feel there should have been something to compensate for that at a restaurant like Bestia. Otherwise, the service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great and fresh. Service was ex ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great and fresh. Service was excellent. My husband and I shared all the plates we ordered. Make reservations . The open kitchen was a great expierence and showed how well everyone works together . One of the best meals I have had in a whil.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated. We had to make reservations 2 ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Overrated. We had to make reservations 2 months ahead of time, and the place is just hype. Some of the food was ok but nothing special, and you cant hear each other talk because it's so loud. For the price we paid, there are better places without the ridiculous wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Everything's really good except the noic ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything's really good except the noice. Can't hear the waitress and can't hear each other. Had to yell across the table when we only had 3 people.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Underwhelming, we were looking forward t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Underwhelming, we were looking forward to a great experience. Poor table to start with, so we were forgotten about by the staff. Bone marrow was good, but come on $19 for half a bone? I work in the industry and this was over the top. Pizza sauce causing a great dough to become undercooked in the centre. All in all a let down, hopefully others have a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Lovingly crafted rustic Italian food. La ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovingly crafted rustic Italian food. Lamb ragù was a standout. It is definitely elevated dining--but worth the hype and hyper-difficult reservations at a reasonable dinner hour? (7-9) No. And the cute little stool-chairs in the main dining room are the singularly most uncomfortable dining chairs I have ever used. Service is stellar. We dined early. It was getting quite noisy as we were leaving.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great. Ambience was fantast ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was great. Ambience was fantastic. Mussel and clams and marrow bone pasta were really good dishes. However, our friends hyped too much and we went in having v high expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was incredible!!! Worth the 3 m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food was incredible!!! Worth the 3 month waiting list, however if you do not want to wait that long, arrive same day, before it opens, and you will likely get a seat. Or I was told to show up around 10pm for seating. Cocktails and food are fantastic!! A must try.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bestia is amazing!!! We love the food an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Bestia is amazing!!! We love the food and the staff is so so nice!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience wasn't bad at all, just n ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The experience wasn't bad at all, just not worth the hype.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Although it took 2 months to book a week ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Although it took 2 months to book a weekend date, Bestia did live it to the hype. The small / shared plates were delicious. The ambience was nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quite a lively scene! Just visiting LA a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Quite a lively scene! Just visiting LA and had to take a 5:45 to get in but it was lively even then. Really interesting and tasty food but portions are small for the price. Expensive wine list. But I would say go there as it was fun and hip and good. Trendy style. Nice servers too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Wood Oven, People Watching, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food. Pricey but worth it. I w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious food. Pricey but worth it. I will definitely go back to try the other dishes and get the Roasted Bone Marrow again. It's loud inside with an open kitchen and felt a bit too crowded in my opinion. We ordered the roasted chicken gizzards, and a salad for our appetizers. Both dishes were good. The roasted bone marrow was amazing, and I would say is a must if you decide to eat here. I ordered the Uni pasta, which was good but I was expecting more of the uni taste. We also ordered the gorgonzola dumplings with house made sausage and truffle sauce. This pasta dish had a rich flavor that my girlfriend loved. If you love truffles you will love this dish. Service was great. Waiters were very attentive and were quick to help whenever we had any questions or needed help.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my third trip to Bestia. The fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was my third trip to Bestia. The food is increíble, but the service is even better. On this most recent visit, our server was knowledgeable about all of the foods and also helped guide our order, in terms of making sure we had a balanced meal, and not a crazy-heavy pasta-bomb. Our water glasses were never empty, and she was truly a pleasure. Incredible food experience every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is good/busy/doesn't really n ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This place is good/busy/doesn't really need reviews because it's already packed every night. That being said, the food is good and the drinks are good. Our server was terrific--probably the best part of our meal; he was very patient and helpful. Our major disappointment is that everything on the menu has garlic and my friend has a garlic allergy. If you are unfortunate to have a garlic allergy, prepare to be frustrated. :/ Only 2 things on the menu were made without garlic and/or could be modified to be served without garlic; even the bread is treated with garlic before dinner service so can't be modified. Came here several times when it first opened, but somehow forgot this was the reason we stopped going. Unfortunately, probably won't go back or at least until we forget again.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

👍🏼👍🏼. This place is awesome.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

👍🏼👍🏼. This place is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always have a great dining experience at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always have a great dining experience at this spot...worth the drive in from the South Bay...can't wait to dine here again...

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. The restaurant is ove ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Very disappointed. The restaurant is overrated. The place is loud and the seats/tables very uncomfortable. I can't believe this is one of LA's top 22 restaurants for a second year. Way too expensive for the type of food sold here. Curiosity killed the cat on this one.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Incredible special meal - each dish was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Incredible special meal - each dish was better than the next. Couldn't have been happier!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect early dinner to star the new y ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

A perfect early dinner to star the new year with family and friends. Outstanding food and service. Worth every dólar! Congratulations! Definetly I will return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with our experience ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We were very pleased with our experience. Always good to see the staff and the food retains it passion for the art regardless of how long they have been in the game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bestia is a great place for getting toge ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Bestia is a great place for getting together on special occasions. The service was excellent; the food is always palatable. It has become the place to be at.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food & amazing service!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great food & amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took an extremely long time to get our f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Took an extremely long time to get our food and main dishes didn't come out together. Pizza came out about 25 minutes after. Extremely poor value. One ravioli for $22! Also, the pizza had very little cheese or sausage; and the sausage was ground which may have been a way to use less sausage. Would not recommend.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I have heard good reviews but the place ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have heard good reviews but the place was better . Great food and service with a wonderful ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm allergic to gluten and our server wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I'm allergic to gluten and our server was quite knowledgeable about the menu and knew what options would be best for a gluten-free diet. Another server helped us out with choosing different glasses of wine. He was quite knowledgeable and kind. They're great at making you feel special here.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bestia is the benchmark when it comes to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bestia is the benchmark when it comes to food. Every dish is mouthwatering and the atmosphere is energetic. Love this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was phenomenal. My boyfriend an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was phenomenal. My boyfriend and I can't stop talking about it infact. It was pretty busy but the staff was great. My only issue was I booked a table two months in advance and we showed up early maybe 5/10 minutes and we actually didn't get sat until 9:15, when our reservation was for 8:45. The table situation is pretty crammed but I know it is a popular place and they need to accommodate but maybe a little bit more space would be nice. But again service, amazing. Food, insane. Definitely want to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Couldn't have been better. Outstanding e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Couldn't have been better. Outstanding experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always. However, we wa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great as always. However, we waited 30 min to be seated from our reservation time. What made it worse was that there was a couple in front of us that were telling the host that they didn't have a reservation and were told that they would be seated anyway. It seemed to me that the couple took our table and so proceeded the 30 min wait. Also, we made an early reservation in order to get the Country bread. Most of the times we've dined at Bestia it's late, and they run out. Somehow they ran out at 6:30 when we were there this time. How is that possible? On a Friday no less... I would still go back and recommend Bestia to friends and family but this visit was not as pleasant as normal.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great vibe and great food. The standout ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great vibe and great food. The standout was the roasted bone marrow pasta. It was very unique, and very good. The salad, pizza, pasta and deserts were all outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Bestia with a group of out ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First time at Bestia with a group of out of towners. The food was excellent. We ordered

multiple pasts dishes, all were delicious. Also a white fish and the tenderloin, salads were great.

Highly recommend this restaurant. Service was excellent. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved this place! I rsvp'd for 915pm on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved this place! I rsvp'd for 915pm on a Wednesday. Got seated with no wait. Favorite dish of the night was the persimmon and kohlrabi salad. Will be going again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food; tried many things on the men ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food; tried many things on the menu and we had no disappointments. Wine list is a bit steep ; has always been unique. We will go back again. Noise intensity doesn't make for intimate experience but love the energy. Great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came here with high expectations, yet ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We came here with high expectations, yet our expectations were surpassed. The roasted bone marrow was amazing. We did not expect to be blown away by a simple pizza, but we were. We ordered 4 entrees and shared them, and each one was top notch. The place isn't much to look at, but it has a comfortable feel to it (even if the furniture itself isn't particularly comfortable). Each dish clearly shows how much thought was put into every aspect, and how everything together.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We read about the place before we go, so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We read about the place before we go, so, we have some high expectations and glad to say - we like Bestia. We had Bone Marrow - good for me but it's not for everyone I think, it's more European food, but Bestia make it with gnocchi so its eatable for American. Salumi- good, mussels- spicy for me but boys like it, pizza margarita - very good, also, we took 3 different pastas - with homemade sausage-great, -with lamb-great, with mushrooms - no one like it.

We also took suggestion of a waitress and ordered grill cauliflower , I was very skeptical, but it was one of the best dishes. Sweets- I like donuts .

Only one complain we had - very small portions... I understand, upscale restaurants and etc, but common , if you add five more cubes of past it's not gonna hurt your profit.

Service is great, restaurant has big crew ( that one of the reason ,I think,high prices).

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was wonderful --- flavorful and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was wonderful --- flavorful and filling. However the atmosphere is lacking with tables crowded together and very loud music and noise. Definitely not the place to sit back and enjoy the great food.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.