About Bestia

2121 E. 7th Place
Los Angeles, CA 90021
View Larger Map

A multi-regional Italian restaurant in the Arts District of downtown Los Angeles

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Closed on most major holidays

Cross Street:
Santa Fe Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 514-5724

Website:
http://bestiala.com/

Executive Chef:
Ori Menashe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please email events@bestiala.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Cavatelli Alla Norcina
Roasted Marrow Bone
Grilled Octopus And Calamari
Creme Fraiche Panna Cotta
Valrhona Fair Trade Bittersweet Chocolate Budino Tart & Panna Cotta
Chicken Liver Crostino
Margherita Pizza
Veal Tartare Crostino
Grilled Calamari
Valrhona Fair Trade Bittersweet Chocolate Budino Tart
"Coffee And Donuts"
Scrambled Egg And Black Truffle Crostino
Spaghetti Rustichella
Chicken Pattie
Tagliatelle Al Sugo Di Maiale
Farro Salad
Moscato d'Asti
Bone Marrow With Spinach Gnocchetti
Roasted Bone Marrow
Creamsicle Torte
Pici
Garlic Mussels
Beets Pasta
charcuterie
Mascarello Scudetto Barbera D'alba
Homemade Country Bread
Grilled Aspen Ridge Skirt Steak
Fresh Tomato, Plum And Burratta Salad
Nectarines With Fresh Cream, Ice Cream And Coconut Macaroon
Veal Tartare Crostino. Shallots. Parsley. Lemon
Butter Poached Lobster. Chanterelles. Kabocha Purée. Pea Tendrils. Aged Balsamic. Cocoa Powder
Crème fraîche panna cotta with strawberries
Arnold Palmer
Grilled Lamb Heart
Mussels And Clams. Housemade Spicy ‘Nduja Sausage. Fennel Seed. Preserved Orange. Grilled Bread.
Crème Fraîche Panna Cotta. Mixed Winter Citrus. Meyer Lemon Cookies.   9
Pizze Salsiccia
Burrata, Peaches, Cherry Tomatoes
Butterscotch Coconut Tart, Coconut Sorbet
Quadretti Alla Carota
Ribeye Steak
Ciccioli
Marinated Ol
Smoked Mackerel  Crostino
Salsiccia Pizze
Agnolotti Alla Vaccinara
Kale Pizza
Stinging Nettle Pappardelle
Pork Chop
Hot Latte
Genevieve's Little Gems Salad
Tartufo, Black Truffle Pizza
Fusilli Al Ragu Di Angello
Zabaglione Al Moscato
Ricotta Fritters
Beef Meatballs
Squid Ink Risotto
Happy Birthday!!!
Pan Seared Octopus & Calamari
Olive Oil Lemon Poppy Seed Cake
Salumi
Porcini Pappardelle
Prosciutto Cotto Pizza
Butterscotch Coconut Tart
Toasted Collins
Ricotta Fritters With Sour Cream & Huckleberry Ice Cream And
Jerusalem artichoke soup
Chicken Gizards
Polenta
Grilled Octopus And Calamari Arugula Salad
Pizze Alla'nduja
Bill The Butcher
Mussels With Spicy Housemade ‘Nduja
Fusilli Al Ragu Di Agnello
Jerusalem Asparagus Soup
El Segundo Shady
Grilled Beef Meatballs
El Segundo White Dog Ipa
Grilled Sardines
Marscapone Rice Pudding
Margherita
Tagliatelle Allo Zafferano
Genevieve's Shaved Summer Vegetable Salad
Chestnut Zeppole
I Am Sky Cocktail
Hidalgo Palomino
Tagliolini
uni spaghetti
Housemade Salumi
Coffee
Byrrh Fizz

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bestia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Los Angeles
Italian
Los Angeles
Most Booked
Los Angeles
5 More
Best Overall
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Food
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Service
Downtown / South and East LA
Hot Spot
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (278)
hot spot (225)
special occasion (190)
See All
good for groups (132)
neighborhood gem (111)
vibrant bar scene (106)
notable wine list (89)
great for outdoor dining (87)
romantic (80)
late-night find (57)
great for lunch (18)
great for brunch (10)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food are really good!!!!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food are really good!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably one of the best meals I have ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Probably one of the best meals I have ever had! It was my second time at Bestia and just as amazing as the first time. I already made reservations to come back in a couple weeks and cannot wait! The entire experience was incredible from the food to the service. Our waiter was exceptional and had the best recommendations. I literally do not have a single negative thing to say about this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I will always love the food, but the ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

I will always love the food, but the service was so pushy this time. Every sip I took, someone was there to fill my glass so it was difficult to have an intimate conversation without having to thank someone for the overkill. They tried taking our plates twice before we were finished. I've never felt so rushed than this past dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Overall everyone enjoyed the meal. Some ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall everyone enjoyed the meal. Some highlights were, Charred corn, grilled calamari with carrot puree, Bone marrow gnocchetti and the Spaghetti Rustichella. The Uni pasta was a bit over salted for my taste, yet delicious. Meatballs and lamb and Burrata pizza were just ok, nothing to write home about. The pizza is similar to the 800 degree pizza restaurant , not really unique anymore.

Frozen Strawberry Torte and Maple Ricotta Fritters were amazing

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

extremely loud; heard everything going o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

extremely loud; heard everything going on in the kitchen. Waiter was uninterested and not attentive at all. We were seated right way as we had a reservation. The gentleman who cleared our plates and filled water glasses was very good. Complete opposite of the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Have been trying to get a reservation fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Have been trying to get a reservation for months, and finally was able to get one for while family was in town. Loved everything we had - the marrow bone gnochetti was one of the favorites of the night. Also appreciated the wine suggestion - went great with everything we ordered. Wish we could have tried everything on the menu!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Spectacular. Salsa verde pizza is one o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Spectacular. Salsa verde pizza is one of my favorite pizza's every. The cucumber salad is magical. And the fresh home made ginger beer is mind blowing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This may be the best dining experience I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

This may be the best dining experience I've had. Terrific service and the meal was well paced. Our server was able to suggest the perfect white and red whines for our food. All of the staff paid close attention to our table so that dirty tables didn't sit for long and our glasses were never empty. The music is obnoxiously loud but will definitely return for the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat inside noise level very loud so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We sat inside noise level very loud so don't go for conversation Ambiance was wonderful. Please watching fun. This was an early dinner. 5:45. Food was very good but not as fresh as when you come later. Service this time was very good and personable. Next time will come much later. It still is my favorite place to dine. Never disappointed. Farro and cucumber plum salads were great. Pizza and pasta never miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love love love! It never disappoints and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love love love! It never disappoints and the service is unbelievable!!!

Music was unreal the night we went...Bowie, Beatles, good 80s songs. It's a bit loud in there but not much you can do. We appreciated that they don't blare the music to be heard over the customers but it was a nice background. Overall our favorite restaurant in LA hands-down!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor low-end per bottle wine list. BYO w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Poor low-end per bottle wine list. BYO worth the $30 corkage to enjoy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We ordered perfect cocktails, pate, bura ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We ordered perfect cocktails, pate, burata salad, sea urchin pasta...a very nice bottle of wine. Everything was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 3 months to get in and it was wor ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Waited 3 months to get in and it was worth every penny. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Best ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Bestia. Every dish we ordered we beyond delicious and I would highly recommend this hot spot to friends and family! Def coming back to try their entire menu.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fine, but I don't believe it is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was fine, but I don't believe it is worth the hype. Rude hostesses that made us wait over 30 minutes past our reservation time for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Bestia is one of my favorite places in L ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Bestia is one of my favorite places in LA! My only wish would be that it were easier to get a reservation here :) Other than that though, when you go you MUST try to Roasted Bone Marrow appetizer and the Burrata Pizza!! Everything I've ever had there is delicious but those 2 items in particular are real stand out dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was amazing! Can't ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything we ordered was amazing! Can't wait to go back. Excellent wine list. Desserts were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the place to go for late night m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is the place to go for late night meal. Great food and very nice, warm atmosphere, perfect for date or groups. Ordered the mussels and clams they were so good, love the sauce too. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was delicious, the restaurant w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was delicious, the restaurant was hip and fun, and the wait staff was top-notch. We had a great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a date night. Loved the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place for a date night. Loved the food.ordered their mussels and clams-broth is bit spicy but for one of our favorites. Their bone marrow is must is your first time there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Bestia delivered an exception ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always, Bestia delivered an exceptional dining experience. You simply cannot lose on that menu. Exceptional service and a wine list that reminds you just how great life can be - I strongly recommend for anyone looking for a first-in-class night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service very enjoyable.Too crowded ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good service very enjoyable.Too crowded at times but that is understandable.a I would come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thisisthe7timewecamehere.. Theof foodgoi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Thisisthe7timewecamehere..

Theof foodgoingdown,someofthefoodthatweatelookingfir,it,zbeenchange...andnotasgoodas

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fantastic food. Experience kind of rest ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fantastic food. Experience kind of restaurant. Mark-up on wine is INSANE. Also it is so incredibly loud in there that I wish we had requested and held out for something outside. I literally had to yell every sentence to the person sitting next to me, at a booth.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Love the food, especially the veal tarta ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Love the food, especially the veal tartar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My husband and I love Bestia, but were n ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My husband and I love Bestia, but were not completely satisfied with our dining experience on the 12th. I indicated to Open Table and the restaurant that it was our wedding anniversary and the staff failed to recognize this event. Also, our waiter forgot one of our courses, did not apologize, and did not bother to discount our meal for his mistake. The service was poor and the late course caused my husband and I to be late to our concert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

The food and service was excellent, well ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food and service was excellent, well worth the wait. I'll be back. Thanks for making my dinning experience all of that and more...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

dissapointing experience - starters were ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

dissapointing experience - starters were good, mains nothing special. Not sure what all the fuz is about

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Food was exceptional, everything we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was exceptional, everything we had was great! The chicken liver pate, the cucumber and plum salad, and the cavatelli pasta and the veal tartare were all outstanding! The bone marrow was highly recommended by others but I found it to be just okay. Mussels and clams were great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess was rude. First impressions ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The hostess was rude. First impressions are everything. We were late due to a car accident and had been driving for 1 1/2 hours to get there. She explained how she about had to release our table even though I called to tell her we were on our way. . The restaurant is overrated and food is very heavy. Our server was great and smiled the whole time. Took two months to get a reservation to see what all the hype was about. Completely disappointing!!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

I was very excited to go after a 2 month ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I was very excited to go after a 2 month wait, the food was great, the only thing is I already decided what to order, but they don't have spaghetti rustichella anymore, so I ask the waiter to recommend, I have ordered the bone marrow, mussel and clam and cavatelli alla norcina. And the waiter recommended the roasted port belly, which set the tone to greasy for our dinner. The bone marrow pasta was great, but greasy, then there was pork belly, which we can't bear any greasiness anymore, which makes us uncomfortable later that night. If we didn't order that port belly, this experience would be nicer I think.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Service isn't very friendly, slow, not v ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service isn't very friendly, slow, not very attentive. wine program isn't very good, a huge dampener on the evening. Can't even get a proper sparkling to go with my food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Everything at Bestia was Topnorch from t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Everything at Bestia was Topnorch from the cocktails to the food. Their buratta salad was spectacular and the charcuterie platter was perfection. Farm to table on a whole other level. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious food ; especially Branzino . S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Delicious food ; especially Branzino . So fresh and light ! The strawberry desert was the best thing we ever had for a long time !

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. Great food, service ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful evening. Great food, service and atmosphere. Fortunate to sit outside on a beautiful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best Italian food I've had. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the best Italian food I've had. Great food and service. Must try!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been wanting to dine at Bestia for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I had been wanting to dine at Bestia for a while as reservations can be a bit difficult for a Friday evening. The atmosphere was lively and energetic. The food was delectable; my favorite was the ricotta dumplings, so delish! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is for some reason my reservation was moved from a 10:15 pm to 11:30 p.m. The good thing is we arrived about 30 minutes prior giving the restaurant some extra time to find us seating but it did cause us concern as I had booked months in advance. The service provided to our table was above and beyond so this made up for the reservation mix up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In the past year, we've had some fantast ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

In the past year, we've had some fantastic meals. So to say this was the best is pretty high praise. This was our first visit, and we had to reserve 3 months in advance. At most places in LA, that would be a clue that reception would be annoyingly hip and haughty. Not here -- we got a warm welcome and a wonderful table on the patio. Our server could not have been better -- smart, funny and (usually) there when we needed him. Back-up staff were uniformly fantastic. But the food -- wow. We split 4 plates (pate, calamari, gizzards, and duck ragu pasta) plus a dessert (chocolate tart) -- and each one was amazing. Together, the food, service and space are casual and comfortable -- and yet, some of the best in town. We left happy -- and ready to make reservations 3 months out so we can return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 8:15 and was se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a reservation for 8:15 and was seated around 8:40, which was a bummer. The staff was apologetic and offered us a complimentary glass of sparkling rosè. That was a sweet gesture and very much appreciated. As for the food, everything tasted delicious and was seasoned just right. The highlights for us were the mussels and clams and the pappardelle alla carota. I'm a sucker for anything spicy and anything with mushrooms. The service was on point. Our server, Camarie, suggested that we save our pizza crusts for the mussels and clams sauce. (YES, DO IT!) The other gent who occasionally checked in on us was charming and knowledgeable about the food. It gets quite loud inside the restaurant, so try to sit outside if you're looking for a quieter night. This was our 3rd visit and it was a delightful experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really good pastas and cocktails. Chicke ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Really good pastas and cocktails. Chicken liver mousse is to die for. Excellent friendly service. Can be tough to get a reservation but it's worth the wait. Negatives are minor - portions are just a bit small and the wine list is a little pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.