About Bestia

2121 E. 7th Place
Los Angeles, CA 90021
View Larger Map

A multi-regional Italian restaurant in the Arts District of downtown Los Angeles

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Closed on most major holidays

Cross Street:
Santa Fe Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 514-5724

Website:
http://bestiala.com/

Executive Chef:
Ori Menashe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please email events@bestiala.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Cavatelli Alla Norcina
Roasted Marrow Bone
Grilled Octopus And Calamari
Creme Fraiche Panna Cotta
Valrhona Fair Trade Bittersweet Chocolate Budino Tart & Panna Cotta
Chicken Liver Crostino
Margherita Pizza
Veal Tartare Crostino
Valrhona Fair Trade Bittersweet Chocolate Budino Tart
Spaghetti Rustichella
Grilled Calamari
"Coffee And Donuts"
Scrambled Egg And Black Truffle Crostino
Chicken Pattie
Tagliatelle Al Sugo Di Maiale
Roasted Bone Marrow
Farro Salad
Moscato d'Asti
Bone Marrow With Spinach Gnocchetti
Creamsicle Torte
Pici
Grilled Aspen Ridge Skirt Steak
Garlic Mussels
Beets Pasta
charcuterie
Mascarello Scudetto Barbera D'alba
Homemade Country Bread
Fresh Tomato, Plum And Burratta Salad
Nectarines With Fresh Cream, Ice Cream And Coconut Macaroon
Veal Tartare Crostino. Shallots. Parsley. Lemon
Butter Poached Lobster. Chanterelles. Kabocha Purée. Pea Tendrils. Aged Balsamic. Cocoa Powder
Crème fraîche panna cotta with strawberries
Grilled Lamb Heart
Arnold Palmer
Mussels And Clams. Housemade Spicy ‘Nduja Sausage. Fennel Seed. Preserved Orange. Grilled Bread.
Crème Fraîche Panna Cotta. Mixed Winter Citrus. Meyer Lemon Cookies.   9
Pizze Salsiccia
Burrata, Peaches, Cherry Tomatoes
Butterscotch Coconut Tart, Coconut Sorbet
Quadretti Alla Carota
Ribeye Steak
Ciccioli
Marinated Ol
Smoked Mackerel  Crostino
Salsiccia Pizze
Agnolotti Alla Vaccinara
Kale Pizza
Stinging Nettle Pappardelle
Pork Chop
Hot Latte
Genevieve's Little Gems Salad
Tartufo, Black Truffle Pizza
Fusilli Al Ragu Di Angello
Zabaglione Al Moscato
Ricotta Fritters
Beef Meatballs
Squid Ink Risotto
Happy Birthday!!!
Pan Seared Octopus & Calamari
Olive Oil Lemon Poppy Seed Cake
Salumi
Porcini Pappardelle
Prosciutto Cotto Pizza
Butterscotch Coconut Tart
Toasted Collins
Ricotta Fritters With Sour Cream & Huckleberry Ice Cream And
Jerusalem artichoke soup
Chicken Gizards
Polenta
Grilled Octopus And Calamari Arugula Salad
Pizze Alla'nduja
Bill The Butcher
Mussels With Spicy Housemade ‘Nduja
Fusilli Al Ragu Di Agnello
Jerusalem Asparagus Soup
El Segundo Shady
Grilled Beef Meatballs
El Segundo White Dog Ipa
Grilled Sardines
Marscapone Rice Pudding
Margherita
Tagliatelle Allo Zafferano
Genevieve's Shaved Summer Vegetable Salad
Chestnut Zeppole
I Am Sky Cocktail
Hidalgo Palomino
Tagliolini
uni spaghetti
Housemade Salumi
Coffee
Byrrh Fizz

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bestia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Los Angeles
Italian
Los Angeles
Most Booked
Los Angeles
5 More
Best Overall
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Food
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Service
Downtown / South and East LA
Hot Spot
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (266)
hot spot (209)
special occasion (170)
See All
good for groups (125)
neighborhood gem (102)
vibrant bar scene (98)
notable wine list (86)
great for outdoor dining (72)
romantic (70)
late-night find (44)
great for lunch (16)
great for brunch (11)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Bestia for the ...

Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I went to Bestia for the food and it did not disappoint. The two salads we had were packed with flavor, the pasta was perfect, The branzini also very good. We sat outside because the inside is so loud. The terrace is not particularly attractive but if you want to talk, it's the only option. The service was also perfect. Our waiter seemed to be there when we needed him, but wasn't hovering. I'd go back any day.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good ambiance and great recommendations ...

Dined 4 days ago

Good ambiance and great recommendations from our server

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Too loud but Best food I have eaten at a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Too loud but Best food I have eaten at a restaurant in years!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to Bestia because of all of the hyp ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Went to Bestia because of all of the hype and had a delicious meal. We definitely over-ordered because we (incorrectly) assumed the portions would be small at such a trendy restaurant. If we had ordered appropriately, the bill would've been pretty reasonable. Food was delicious, as were the cocktails. Expect to make a reservation insanely far in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best pizzas I've ever had. Al ...

Dined 6 days ago

One of the best pizzas I've ever had. Also, the desserts were phenomenal especially the donut holes with coffee ice cream.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was great and so was the ambian ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was great and so was the ambiance, but I got food poisoning. I am positive it was from Besttia because it was all I had to eat that day. I wouldn't go back because I have PTSD now.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE this place! Reservation s can be ha ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

LOVE this place! Reservation s can be hard to get and can run on the late side but totally worth it. Every entree is AMAZINGLY! Service is wonderful- very knowledgeable staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fucking great. We are on a Pizza tour of ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Fucking great. We are on a Pizza tour of the world. This is top 10. Nothing else holds a candle in Los Angeles.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food, which mostly matters to me abo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food, which mostly matters to me above all else, was quite good. The chicken liver pate was really great and the pastas were inventive and not too heavy. Especially good were the desserts (the coffee and donuts was my favorite part of the whole meal and I am not even a dessert person). They have what looks like a great and extensive wine selection. The service is very attentive and the staff friendly and knowledgable. The only detractor to this place is there is an open kitchen and the music level was a little too loud and rap based for me, so it caused the acoustics to be amplified, people talked louder, the kitchen staff shouted out on occasion to communicate with one another...I sound like an old man- and I am not...but those factors lowered my overall dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service ever! Very attentive crews! ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Best service ever! Very attentive crews! We love how they present the order.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

That the food was great is kind of a giv ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

That the food was great is kind of a given, as was the restaurant's inventive menu. What I thought was exceptional was the attentive, professional service...and I remarked so to the manager on duty.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

There is alot going on at Bestia!!! The ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

There is alot going on at Bestia!!! The food is great, the atmosphere is fun and lively and the service is friendly and timely. Pasta dishes are really good and I like the chocolate tart to finish. A bit expensive, wish they would do have portions on the pasta!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Veal Tartare, Roasted Marrow Bone and Mu ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Veal Tartare, Roasted Marrow Bone and Mussels & Calms are pretty good, but pizza is not as good as I expect. And valet parking is expense.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was so good I made another reservatio ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

It was so good I made another reservation after paying the bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, fantastic selection of f ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent meal, fantastic selection of food/wine/beverages, great service - highly recommend to family and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place, food, drink, service ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I love this place, food, drink, service ... Everything is 5 stars and beyond ... Ryan the sommelier is great and also Abraham out server!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Absolute Best

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

After trying so many restaurants in the city, Bestia is still THE best restaurant in all of LA. Delicious yet stiff cocktails Amazing flavors in all the food at super reasonable prices Impeccable service from the server, bussers, and others I honestly cannot recommend Bestia enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Each dish was unique and flavorful. I wa ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Each dish was unique and flavorful. I was impressed with the service and the special attention to details. My water cup was never empty. Excellent, will go again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place is great, even when I had a +1 to ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Place is great, even when I had a +1 to my reservation, they accommodated my group and set the time to explain any of the dishes listed on the menu along with great suggestions. Everything came out in an orderly manner for sharing so that you didn't have one dish sitting cold and 2 hours went by like nothing with the enjoyment of the experience. Definitely loved the bone marrow with pasta dish and unfortunate to not have tried the pork chop dish that everyone was raving about since it wasn't available. Will definitely plan to come back next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good but it wasn't that great t ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was good but it wasn't that great to wait for a month long reservation. I am expecting more for a month long waiting.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bestia is the BEST!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Bestia's chefs are definitely talented. If you're tired of the same old pastas, you need to get yourself down to Bestia. Go with a large group and order everything on the menu, you will not be disappointed. My out-of-town friends were all in agreement, this was the best Italian they have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING! CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Bestia is literally one of the most fun and amazing resturants that I have ever been to! I absolutely loved the food and the atmosphere. The resturant was lively and the meals were to die for! From the pizza to the bone marrow and delicious pastas I was so impressed and I cannot wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dining experience. The farro ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Delicious dining experience. The farro salad was fresh and minty. The pizza dough and toppings are so flavorful and the pasta is heavenly. The cocoa pasta is at the top of my list. Don't miss the coffee and donuts!

food4
ambience5
service5

Energetic vibe, ambience, and attentive ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Energetic vibe, ambience, and attentive staff; bus boy and server.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great restaurant but overhyped

Dined on June 6, 2016

Since I moved to LA a year ago, all my friends have been telling me about Bestia and I've tried to get reservations several times before I finally snagged the perfect dinner time on a Sunday evening while my boyfriend was in town. The restaurant is located in a pretty sketchy part of town with nothing else around. the restaurant itself looks like it's inside a giant warehouse. Street parking is pretty sketchy but on a Sunday wasn't bad so I just risked it instead of paying the $7.50 for Valet. Once you get inside the restaurant, it looks much better. I was seated in a table that looked like it didn't belong there though. It was a square table pushed against the wall so that the servers could squeeze between our table and the booths. I wouldn't even have minded that but it was also next to the door that led to the outside dining and this space was definitely not meant to fit a table because our table jutted into the doorway so now servers only had half the doorway to go in and out to serve the outside dining. now onto the food - the food itself is actually pretty good. I ordered the bone marrow and the uni spaghetti. my boyfriend originally wanted to order another pasta but it listed that there was parsley in it. Since my boyfriend can't have parsley , we asked if they can just leave that ingredient out. our server stated that they would not be able to do that since there are no substitutions or modifications to the dish so he just chose another pasta. however, our server stated that the other pasta had the parsley in it too even though it wasn't stated on the menu. so we tried with another pasta and once again, also had parsley in it even though it wasn't stated on the menu. eventually, my boyfriend gave up and just ordered the skirt steak but the process was just painful and annoying. overall, good food but not sure if it's worth the hype for the difficulty of snagging reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter and servers were awesome. Gre ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our waiter and servers were awesome. Great customer service. Food was amazing!! Those Bone marrows!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hip restaurant in an artsy area

Dined on May 30, 2016

Bestia is a hip, cool restaurant with a vibrant atmosphere. It's located in the heart of the up and coming warehouse area near the LA river. It has an energy about it with many (and I mean many) employees tending to customers' needs, the hip crowd, and the excellent food. I would recommend this restaurant for those looking for a place to hang with friends or just as a place to get a bite with your significant other. It is an excellent restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I had mixed up the date on our reservati ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

I had mixed up the date on our reservation. When we arrived our reservation wasn't listed. The restaurant was sold out The hostess was gracious and sat us at a tall table We loved the location. We had a great view of the restaurant and had plenty of room The servers were attentive and recommended entrees for us. I loved the octopus and calamari salad. we had the bone marrow, fussily, and pizza all were delicious. They have an very interesting specialty cocktail list. Worth trying

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wanted something diferent and Bestia delivered.

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was excelent. The ambience was awesome and the servers were great. This is not your tipycal restaurant. This is an amazing place hidden in the art district. Loved it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

The food and drinks were absolutely amaz ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and drinks were absolutely amazing. Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Awesome food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken pate is excellent to start and m ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Chicken pate is excellent to start and make sure you get a pasta dish!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Over-hyped

Dined on May 26, 2016

I had several friends and family that highly recommended the restaurant as they mentioned it was their favorite restaurant in LA. Thus, I had high expectations going in. The atmosphere is great and lively but the noise level was so high it was hard to talk and be heard. Seating is not great for two people as our table was placed awkwardly right by a door to the patio space. It looked like the table was stuffed into the space to fit in as many people in the space. We saw another table for two that was inconveniently butted up against a table of 4 with their backs to the other person's side. The place is designed more for groups of 4 or more. The food was great but not hype worthy. The food also came out warm and quickly became cold.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is excellent, chairs a bit uncomfor ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Food is excellent, chairs a bit uncomfortable, and restaurant is a bit noisy, but you forget all of that after tasting the delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorable meal

Dined on May 25, 2016

With the grands available to watch the kids, we opted for a night downtown. There were two same-day, early dinner reservations available so we lucked out. Our server recommended 4-5 plates for 2 people, but we opted for 3 - an antipasto, a pasta dish, and an entree. The lamb's belly starter with pickled green almonds was the MVP and the dish I've been telling everyone about. The pasta was filling, though the sausage was perhaps not as flavorful as I had expected. The steak was grilled perfectly, served on a bed of grilled heirloom carrots and onions that tasted like baked apples. And I don't normally like onions. The amount of food was just right for us. The progression of dishes was well-timed. The service was quite attentive and inconspicuous. We did not sample the cocktails. Our table on the patio was fine, though the overall noise level made it somewhat difficult to hear the server. I think the music should be a little more in the background, as the din of the diners is already enough competition for conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Bestia was incredible. The location is a ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Bestia was incredible. The location is awesome and exactly what you would want a cool downtown restaurant to look like. We had a very late reservation and we were not rushed at all. The service was excellent and the food was the best I've had in a while. My two faves were the bone marrow and the smoked chicken liver pate. I loved this restaurant and the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top to bottom perfect

Dined on May 23, 2016

They run this place just perfectly... Insanely great dining experience and the service literally could not have been better. Insanely high expectations and still they BEAT our expectations!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT Experience from beginning to end! ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

GREAT Experience from beginning to end! Food was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Bestia was truly an experience! One of T ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Bestia was truly an experience! One of THE best places to eat in LA (and the world)! I loved the location and set up. Each item was a treat in itself and was great for sharing amongst friends. The drinks (Low Profile) were delicious and unique. I can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Awesome food! It indeed lives up to the ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Awesome food! It indeed lives up to the hype. However, felt service was lacking.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.