About Bestia

2121 E. 7th Place
Los Angeles, CA 90021
View Larger Map

A multi-regional Italian restaurant in the Arts District of downtown Los Angeles

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Closed on most major holidays

Cross Street:
Santa Fe Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 514-5724

Website:
http://bestiala.com/

Executive Chef:
Ori Menashe

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please email events@bestiala.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Bestia
Cavatelli Alla Norcina
Chicken Liver Crostino
Roasted Marrow Bone
Grilled Octopus And Calamari
Creme Fraiche Panna Cotta
Valrhona Fair Trade Bittersweet Chocolate Budino Tart & Panna Cotta
Pizze Alla'nduja
Margherita Pizza
Veal Tartare Crostino
Grilled Calamari
"Coffee And Donuts"
Bone Marrow With Spinach Gnocchetti
Valrhona Fair Trade Bittersweet Chocolate Budino Tart
Scrambled Egg And Black Truffle Crostino
Chicken Pattie
Genevieve's Little Gems Salad
Tagliatelle Al Sugo Di Maiale
Butterscotch Coconut Tart
Grilled Whole Branzino
Spaghetti Rustichella
Farro Salad
Moscato d'Asti
Cauliflower
Kumquat Salad
Mast Brothers Chocolate Tart
Burrata Pizza
Creamsicle Torte
Pici
Garlic Mussels
Beets Pasta
charcuterie
Mascarello Scudetto Barbera D'alba
Homemade Country Bread
Roasted Bone Marrow
Grilled Aspen Ridge Skirt Steak
Fresh Tomato, Plum And Burratta Salad
Nectarines With Fresh Cream, Ice Cream And Coconut Macaroon
Veal Tartare Crostino. Shallots. Parsley. Lemon
Butter Poached Lobster. Chanterelles. Kabocha Purée. Pea Tendrils. Aged Balsamic. Cocoa Powder
Crème fraîche panna cotta with strawberries
Arnold Palmer
Mussels And Clams. Housemade Spicy ‘Nduja Sausage. Fennel Seed. Preserved Orange. Grilled Bread.
Crème Fraîche Panna Cotta. Mixed Winter Citrus. Meyer Lemon Cookies.   9
Pizze Salsiccia
Grilled Lamb Heart
Burrata, Peaches, Cherry Tomatoes
Butterscotch Coconut Tart, Coconut Sorbet
Quadretti Alla Carota
Ribeye Steak
Ciccioli
Marinated Ol
Smoked Mackerel  Crostino
Salsiccia Pizze
Agnolotti Alla Vaccinara
Kale Pizza
Stinging Nettle Pappardelle
Pork Chop
Hot Latte
Tartufo, Black Truffle Pizza
Fusilli Al Ragu Di Angello
Zabaglione Al Moscato
Ricotta Fritters
Beef Meatballs
Happy Birthday!!!
Squid Ink Risotto
Pan Seared Octopus & Calamari
Olive Oil Lemon Poppy Seed Cake
Salumi
Porcini Pappardelle
Prosciutto Cotto Pizza
Toasted Collins
Ricotta Fritters With Sour Cream & Huckleberry Ice Cream And
Jerusalem artichoke soup
Polenta
Chicken Gizards
Grilled Octopus And Calamari Arugula Salad
Bill The Butcher
Mussels With Spicy Housemade ‘Nduja
Fusilli Al Ragu Di Agnello
Jerusalem Asparagus Soup
El Segundo Shady
Grilled Beef Meatballs
El Segundo White Dog Ipa
Grilled Sardines
Marscapone Rice Pudding
Margherita
Tagliatelle Allo Zafferano
Genevieve's Shaved Summer Vegetable Salad
Chestnut Zeppole
I Am Sky Cocktail
Hidalgo Palomino

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bestia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Los Angeles
Best Overall
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Food
Downtown / South and East LA
2 More
Best Service
Downtown / South and East LA
Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (263)
Hot Spot (219)
Special Occasion (188)
See All
Good for Groups (125)
Vibrant Bar Scene (109)
Neighborhood Gem (99)
Great for Outdoor Dining (90)
Notable Wine List (84)
Romantic (76)
Late-night Find (59)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Brunch (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Scenic View (7)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent and the service w ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and the service was attentive. A simple corn dish was amazing; the bone marrow pasta is a must; the farro is a great salad to start with; and to end the night, go with the Peaches n Cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A group of four of us dined at Bestia on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

A group of four of us dined at Bestia on Friday evening for my birthday and it was spectacular! The food (make sure to save room for dessert), cocktails, wine list, and playlist were all perfect. My husband and I are both vegetarian, and we enjoyed the options available. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very great place for dinner. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is a very great place for dinner. Last night was my fifth time and Bestia is one of the best places to eat. My group of friends enjoyed the food and not only the food, but the drinks as well. Some items on the menu does change based on the season and does make things interesting. For the most part each plate is good from start to finish. Whether it's texture, taste from right when the food touches your tongue and to the back of your palate. The food is amazing. You just have to have an open mind. The salad with the appetizers complement with the meat. It's just a wonderful exploration of food.

The prices are very reasonable for this restaurant. It's more like $$ compared to a $$$. The plate serving size are good for four people so the portions are just right if you have that many people. That lets you try many things on the menu. The food that are very good for four people are the pizzas, pastas, steak and tomahawk pork chop. The appetizers are good if you get two or three. The expensive part of this place are the drinks, they are strong and very good drinks, but they are about $15 for one. Even if you only just have water the experience is still good. It's a very chill place and for the most part, everyone in the restaurant is having a good time.

Overall, a good experience with this place from their service, food, drinks and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food definitely amazing. Enjoyed every ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food definitely amazing. Enjoyed every

dish we ordered. Awesome food. Service unfortunately

not so much (from our server anyway). However the bussers or the men who provide fresh plates in between courses were very attentive and helpful.

Will definitely be back for the awesome food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

First time in LA. F&B GM from Vancouver ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

First time in LA. F&B GM from

Vancouver BC. Weekend getaway with my wife. Food was great. Room was buzzing. Server (from Oregon) was lovely and hospitable. Best overall dining experience while in LA. Dined at Osteria Mozza Terroni, Alimento as well. Thank you. And see you again soon... will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was okay and the thing that was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was okay and the thing that was unpleasant were the flies outside the patio that got on my foods. I ended up getting a stomachache immediately after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

After I entered the date and restaurant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

After I entered the date and restaurant name into the search fields instead of telling me that there was no availability on my date, Opentable dropped me into the next available date which turned out to be OCTOBER! Not August. When we got there the hostess figured out what happened and very kindly had a table for us anyway. The staff was great when they found out it was our wedding anniversary and even put a candle in one of our desserts and took pictures for us =) So sweet. Also the bone marrow was hands down my favorite dish. The grilled peach dessert was second.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing, love the whole place. Service ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing, love the whole place. Service was great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always this place does not disappoint ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always this place does not disappoint. Service and food was absolutely excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience, and not your ty ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great dining experience, and not your typical restaurant -- definitely a must try (especially for ambience). Food was excellent, but not far off from most of your LA restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very chic, hipster location in warehouse ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very chic, hipster location in warehouse district office of downtown LA! Food is incredible service is impeccable. Can't wait to come back with a new set of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Restaurant! Amazing Libations co ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Awesome Restaurant! Amazing Libations cool vibe and delicious !!service was top notch as well! Thank u for such a great night!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time at Bestia. Great spot. Fanta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Second time at Bestia. Great spot. Fantastic food, cool vibe, and professional service. Had dinner before Adele show.The waiter (whose name escapes) was amazing. He recognized our time constraint and worked with us on the menu. Chicken liver pate was great. We shared about five plates...all solid. Will go back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the wait, never disappoints!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Worth the wait, never disappoints!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I been to Bestia a couple times because ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I been to Bestia a couple times because I love the food there and it's always been an awesome experience until this last time. Our server was super rude/unprofessional C and threw our check on our table. We had to even call him out on it and he said sorry if he came off that way and walks back inside and rolls his eyes like we couldn't see him through the glass window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food! They were able to accommodat ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food! They were able to accommodate a last minute add on for another guest which I greatly appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is prepared with care. You can tast ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food is prepared with care. You can taste the thoughtfulness. But stop...there is no desire to analyze only to enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made reservations 2 months before and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I made reservations 2 months before and even then was only able to get a not so great time. Based on the price I had fairly high expectations. The menu presents some very interesting dishes. Unfortunately, I found the dishes to not blow my mind in taste.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved everything about this resturant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We loved everything about this resturant!!! Food was amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Over rated! Loud and not a charming plac ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Over rated! Loud and not a charming place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food, wine, waiter and atmosphere we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food, wine, waiter and atmosphere were great! I would recommend this place to anyone. The only complaints I have are the following: the hostess was not friendly, and the policy not to seat people until the entire party is present is not good. We were meeting family members coming in from different locations. I am sure this is a common scenario, so not sure why they would have this policy. The place was packed and we were not given the option to sit in any waiting area until the rest of our party arrived, so after standing in a cramped, busy area near the entrance, we inquired again and were allowed to be seated while we waited (briefly) for the rest of our party. Be aware that the restaurant charges a 3% service fee on all orders. I did not mind paying this to assist the staff, but others may not feel that way.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Bestia is incredible in every way! There ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Bestia is incredible in every way! There was not one dish that we ordered that did not receive words of praise and (embarrassingly loud) sounds of pleasure. The service was impeccable and the vibe of the chefs behind the line creating the magic was thrilling. We cannot wait to return!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bestia lived up to the hype! The food me ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Bestia lived up to the hype! The food melted in your mouth and he ambiance was simply cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing food and great service. Love the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing food and great service. Love their mussels & clams, as well as the bone marrow. The sea urchin pasta was a great find!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

WOW...as advertised. Excellent flavors ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

WOW...as advertised. Excellent flavors throughout every dish...the clams and mussels were especially outstanding. Ordered way too many items to try them all, and NONE were a disappointment. Truly excellent food...

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bestia offered quite the food experience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Bestia offered quite the food experience, especially with the roasted bone marrow pasta and spicy mussels and clams. The amount of bread offered to soak up the delicious spicy garlic sauce for the spicy mussels and clams was perfect. The salad Genevieve's Little Gems was unimpressive and the pieces of lettuce were too big (though I understand the aesthetics of it). The wait was ok given that I made the reservation around 2 months ago. The drinks were good but not the best; there was not enough flavor or any special melding of flavors. The waitress was very sweet and gave us some good advice for a mix of dishes that complimented each other.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything (from the olives & salad we s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Everything (from the olives & salad we started with to the pizza, pasta and two desserts that completed our meal) was absolutely delicious! The service was excellent. Everything be is so nice and courteous, the sommelier approached just in time to recommend fabulous wines by the glass and our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very hyped hip trendy spot that exceed ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A very hyped hip trendy spot that exceeded all the Hype. Fantastic Food, service and atmosphere. The Cavatelli Pasta maybe one of the best dishes I've ever had. The pizza was outstanding. Service was beyond outstanding. I will be back many times again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Incredible and knowledgeab ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Amazing food. Incredible and knowledgeable service. Must have the Roasted Bone Marrow Spinach Gnoghetti and the Cavatelli all Norcina. Save room for the Chocolate Decadence - Mast Brothers Bittersweet Chocolate Budino Tart. This is now one of my Faves!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful food but very noisy and servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

wonderful food but very noisy and service was slow

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Truly outstanding from front to back-top ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Truly outstanding from front to back-top to bottom. Fun place with great service and food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and cocktails are incredible! T ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food and cocktails are incredible! This place is a must!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great all the good was good

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great all the good was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food! Will be back soon. Loved ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very good food! Will be back soon. Loved the pork belly and Margherita Pizza.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Filled with hip foodies! G ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Amazing food. Filled with hip foodies! Great drinks - a bit pricey!

Will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bestia lived up to its formidable reputa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Bestia lived up to its formidable reputation. The food was incredible- even the humblest dish had impeccable presentation and surprising depth of flavor.

I recommend the chicken liver pate, tomato salad, burrata pizza and pasta with ricotta dumplings but I have the feeling that you could order anything on the menu and come away happy.

Our server was friendly and attentive but gave us time to eat and enjoy ourselves. This restaurant is a gem and I hope to go back many times (if I can just get a reservation!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, especially the m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was delicious, especially the mussels and clams and the tomato salad. The only thing we were disappointed with was the pizza. It was a bit soggy and didn't have much flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was incredibly delicious! The only ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was incredibly delicious! The only complain would be that it was very noisy to have conversations

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The BEST of downtown LA

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The BEST of downtown LA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a variety of dishes that we share ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a variety of dishes that we shared including the Faro salad which was delicious. The tomato salad was also great. We had the pizza with spicy meat that was wonderful. And we finished with the pork steak that was unbelievably tender and tasty. Finally the desert dishes including the chocolate bundino were great. The wine list seemed expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.