About Bertrand at Mister A's

2550 Fifth Avenue, Ste 406
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

You’re just a few minutes from downtown San Diego; take the elevator to the top floor. You won’t believe your eyes! Huge jetliners sweep past at eye level. Our beautiful city’s skyline, San Diego Bay; why settle for just an ocean’s view when you can see the entire city from one vantage point.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:15pm. Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 9:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm.

Appropriate attire is required. The dress code is dressy business casual, meaning nothing you would wear to the beach or a sporting event. Nice jeans or Bermuda shorts are fine with a collared shirt but nothing overly casual.
Dinner Dress Code 2 PM until Close is Fashionable evening attire is acceptable for dinner. For gentlemen collared shirts and slacks are appropriate. For ladies a dress or blouse with a skirt or slacks are appropriate.
Jeans are permitted, provided they are not ripped or torn. No shorts are allowed during the evening. Beach wear, gym attire, athletic apparel, hats, flip flops, and open toed shoes for men are never permitted.

Cross Street:
Laurel St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-1377

Website:
http://www.bertrandatmisteras.com/

Entertainment:
Bertrand at Mister A’s restaurant offers one of the most exceptional city views in all of the country. A true site seeing experience with a panoramic view; which encompasses the breathtaking city skyline, San Diego Bay and harbor, Coronado Bridge, Point Loma, Sea World, Balboa Park, the world famous zoo and Mexico high a top Bankers Hill.

Catering:
For parties of 10 or more, it is necessary to call the restaurant directly for reservations.

Parking Details:
Street and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Stephane Voitzwinkler

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bertrand at Mister A's
Bertrand at Mister A's
Bertrand at Mister A's
Bertrand at Mister A's
Bertrand at Mister A's
  Crème Brûlée
Seafood Paella
Angus Beef Tenderloin “Chateaubriand
Waffles With Fresh Berries
Chef's Burger
Shrimp Cocktail
Polynesian Punch
Doughnuts of the Day
Eggs Benedict
Champagne With A View
Chicken Liver Pâté
Butter Poached Fresh Maine Lobster
Pan Sautéed Line Caught Swordfish
Mediterranean Style Paella
Grilled Wild King Salmon
Oven Roasted Baby Rack Of Lamb With Rosemary Scented Red & Yellow Bell Peppers
Soft Shell Crab
Barrata And Tomatos
Salted Caramel And Chocolate Bar
Pan Sautéed Local Sea Bass
Cheese cake
Mac and Cheese
Pork Chop With Smashed Broccoli And Twice Baked Potato
Salted Caramel And Peanut Praline Topped With Chocolate Ganache
Dream Of Green
Lobster Bisque
Fried Calamari
Ahi Tuna Sliders
Amuse Bouche
Bread and Butter
Duo Of Brandt Farm Rib Eye And Short Rib
Apple Tartin
Dessert
Sea Scallops With Whit Corn Risotto And Asparagus
Milk Chocolate Mousse Bar With Peanut Nougat And Caramel
Pork Belly With Potato Gnocchi
Truffle Fries
Kobe Sliders
Ribeye Steak
Warm Bittersweet Chocolate Fondant With Gianduja Ice Cream
Crispy Pan Sauteed Moulard Duck Breast With Huckleberry Sauce & Smoked Potato Hash
Warm beet salad with fresh cheese, smoked salmon, and herbs
Cheese Plate
Rhubarb Cobbler
Butter Poached Maine Lobster
Classic Lobster Bisque
Jidori Chicken Provençale, Black Tiger Shrimp
Oysters
Mr. A’s Mac and Cheese
crab cake
 Salted Caramel & Chocolate Bar
Seared Scallops
Scallops with Risotto
Seared Scallops And Risotto
Froie Gras
Local Halibut- Mimutina, Oro Blanco Grapefruit, Radudhes, Hot Green Chili Oil
Kobe Beef Sliders
Mashed Potatoes
Roasted California Rack Of Lamb
Risotto Mushroom Balls
Seared Ahi
Crispy Roasted Woodland Farm Duckling
Triple Chocolate Mousse
Whole Maine Lobster
Braised Short Ribs And Filet Mignon
Peanut Butter Brownie, Snickerdoodle Cupcake, Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcake, Frosted Sugar Cookie, And Frosted Molasses Cookie
Pork Chop
Truffled Macaroni and Cheese
Seafood Pallea

Private Dining

Private spaces include our Park Banquet room seating up to 75, Boardroom seating up to 20, Rotunda seating up to 30 and a semi-private space the Downtown room seating 45. A full buyout can accommodate 300 seated, more standing reception style.

Bertrand at Mister A's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Diego
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
9 More
Scenic View
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Overall
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

scenic view (216)
special occasion (193)
romantic (174)
See All
great for outdoor dining (103)
fit for foodies (97)
notable wine list (88)
neighborhood gem (42)
great for lunch (34)
good for groups (33)
great for brunch (28)
hot spot (20)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Be sure you don't show up as a summer to ...

Dined 3 days ago

Be sure you don't show up as a summer tourist in typical attire. Dress code is shamefully strict. Food was excellent. View was spectacular. Service started out with a few hiccups (money doesn't spend the same when you're not dressed just right), but in spite of that we felt as thought we were treated well enough until the end when we were orphaned outside in the patio, having to ask several times for the server's assistance and attention. If you're going to be so darned strict as to shame your guests for where shorts (albeit designer, no matter), then you'd better darn well show what kind of service it was worth. This place fell short. Food was amazing though,

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arguably the best dining experience in S ...

Dined 3 days ago

Arguably the best dining experience in San Diego.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent on all accounts. Can't wait t ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent on all accounts. Can't wait to go back. We went for brunch, both entrees were excellent. Would recommend the eggs Benedict (beef and crab) were great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was accommodating for a ...

Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant was accommodating for a request to propose to my girlfriend there and was willing to help me out!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife & I celebrated our 1st anniversa ...

Dined 4 days ago

My wife & I celebrated our 1st anniversary Saturday evening, everything was sublime. the hostess was kind enough to sweep us to the bar for a lovely sunset cocktail prior to being seated at our table. Our server was knowledgeable and charming and made our evening memorable. the food was terrific, fortunately we saved room for dessert which was amazing. We ordered rock fruit with poundcake- it was terrific. Bravo!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Surprisingly hectic and very loud Crappy ...

Dined 4 days ago

Surprisingly hectic and very loud Crappy table despite 1 month in advance reservation Very nice wait staff Good food, not great food...the best thing we had was the bread they serve On an awkward note, they brought us a happy anniversary plate and free dessert, which was a very nice touch, except that our server then told us the dessert wasn't actually meant for us...after we had eaten half of it... Next special occasion we will go some place else. I wanted to go to the most romantic restaurant in town, this place was fine, but, just fine.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great service with amazing views ...

Dined 4 days ago

Always great service with amazing views and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Its a very nice restaurant, the food is ...

Dined 5 days ago

Its a very nice restaurant, the food is excelente, the service is nice and irá has a Beautifu view to San Diego bay

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Great as usual

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My fiance and I had been here two years ...

Dined 7 days ago

My fiance and I had been here two years before and loved it. We were on a short vacation in San Diego and were staying at the Fairmount Grand Del Mar, we were told to dine at Addison but we loved Bertrands so very much last time that we choose it again. The food was absolutely amazing, service was impeccable. Only thing that we found to be upseting was the hostess was very rude on the phone with us and then also in person,she was not friendly at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were treated exceptionally by everyon ...

Dined 7 days ago

We were treated exceptionally by everyone on staff. The cuisine is presented well and romances the palate. A view of the San Diego skyline that is unrivaled. Thank you for a memorable anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This remains one of San Diego's finest f ...

Dined 7 days ago

This remains one of San Diego's finest for European-style food. The wine list is extensive with even some well-priced wines (e.g., Gigondas for $60). Suggest siting outside fro drinks before dinner or lunch, as the view is the best of our city.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

There are fantastic SD and Coronado coas ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

There are fantastic SD and Coronado coastline views inside and outside the restaurant. My friend had to ask to be moved to the "front" of the restaurant for a better view (since there were only two other couples inside and plenty of empty tables at that time). Made us question why we were placed toward the back -- but we did get moved, and the view was fantastic!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THIS WAS A GREAT CELEBATION OF OUR ANNIV ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

THIS WAS A GREAT CELEBATION OF OUR ANNIVERSARY, THE TFOOD, THE SERVICE, HE VIEW COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER, EVERYTHING EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner. Food ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner. Food, service, etc. was spectacular! We requested a window table so we could look out below on the city and we were seated in the perfect location.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Scallops were great. Med Seabass was med ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Scallops were great. Med Seabass was mediocre at best.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food and the waiter was nice. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and the waiter was nice. On the other hand we did not have a good view. I wish we were given options

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We loved the experience. The food was d ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved the experience. The food was delicious, the service first rate, and the view spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience, and look forward to returning in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Mister A's has the best view of any ever ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Mister A's has the best view of any ever been to. It has a great ambiance and a very friendly staff. I highly recommend it for this reason. The taste of the vegetable tempura was average, but a decent portion compares to the other food got. I would recommend it. The lobster bisque my fiancé got was the smallest piece of lobster ive ever seen with a very mediocre soup poured over it. She might have eaten half of it before pushing it aside. I would not recommend it. The beef duo was very tasty. Both pieces of meat were very flavorful and perfectly cooked. I cut them into smaller pieces to savor it, but had i wanted to, probably could have eaten each cut of meat in one bite. The portions seemed small. The shepards pie that came with it was of decent size and was very flavorful. I would highly recommend this dish, but know that you will definately want an appetizer beforehand. The chocolate mousse cake was a very delicious dessert and would recommend finishing your meal off with it. Overall great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent service and a delicious ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had excellent service and a delicious meal. Mister A's will always be a special place for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to Mr. A's and it was amazing ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

First time to Mr. A's and it was amazing. My wife and I enjoyed our anniversary dinner and loved every minute of it, from the friendly and helpful staff to the awesome views. They certainly made the special occasion feel very special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food. Short ribs were the best ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful food. Short ribs were the best I've ever eaten.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was spectacular from the mom ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was spectacular from the moment we walked up and the doorman directed us to the 12th floor. Everyone on staff was extremely professional, didn't speak too loud, and acknowledged the purpose of our visit that evening. Wait service was perfect and not intrusive, just the right amount of attention. Food was spectacular as well as the view. We will go back for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite places to go!! Either ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

One of my favorite places to go!! Either for lunch, cocktails with a view or for a wonderful dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It has been 48 years since I was last th ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

It has been 48 years since I was last there, and I wish I hadn't waited so long. It is more elegant, pleasant, and beautiful than ever. Our server was unparalleled and helpful. Couldn't ask for more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very scenic place, has an overview of Sa ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Very scenic place, has an overview of San Diego downtown, a bit pricey for everyday dining, but excellent for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently outstanding

Dined on June 13, 2016

Consistently outstanding

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has one of the greatest ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This restaurant has one of the greatest views in San Diego and service hasn't disappointed me yet after being there for the second time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a fantastic dinner with beautiful ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It is a fantastic dinner with beautiful view and delicious food! The staff is very friendly and gave good suggestion!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great way to spend a staycation dinner - ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great way to spend a staycation dinner - great ambience, food staff and service. Thoroughly recommned this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service!

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service!

food4
ambience5
service4

Great view and food

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great view and food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great place to go.

Dined on June 7, 2016

Even after all these years and change of ownership, Mr. A's is still the best place to eat and enjoy the view in San Diego! Our waiter Kyle was fantastic and Ryan the GM was wonderful. And of course the food is always perfect! Please bring back the Steak Diane!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible

Dined on June 5, 2016

They got us on the patio earlier than our reservation and the view was better than we could have imagined. The food and service that followed was amazing. Perfect evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mister A

Dined on June 5, 2016

We've known about this place for many years but had never been there Had a great time!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable. We sat outsi ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The service was impeccable. We sat outside and the view was breath taking

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

waiter was not friendly

Dined on June 3, 2016

Awesome food awesome service our waiter (captain) was very cold

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mr. A's for AWESOME!!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Definitely a great anniversary dinner experience. Great food , spectacular view, excellent service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best of the best. Not just in SD but ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

The best of the best. Not just in SD but in all of S. Cal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mr. A's - Great for more than 40 years

Dined on May 30, 2016

My wife and I have been going to Mr. A's for more than 40 years now, and it is always a pleasure to dine there. The food, service and ambience are excellent. The prices are better or comparable to similar restaurants. We have paid more elsewhere. Corkage fees are the only item to plan, because the fee is on the high side. If they do not have the wine you are bringing, the corkage fee is $30, but if they do have it, the fee is half of their price. The answer is simple, check with the restaurant in advance and they are happy to tell you if they have the wine you want to bring. Mr. A's is always outstanding overall. All four of us enjoyed our meals and the excellent service.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.