About Bertrand at Mister A's

2550 Fifth Avenue, Ste 406
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

You’re just a few minutes from downtown San Diego; take the elevator to the top floor. You won’t believe your eyes! Huge jetliners sweep past at eye level. Our beautiful city’s skyline, San Diego Bay; why settle for just an ocean’s view when you can see the entire city from one vantage point.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:15pm. Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 9:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm.

Appropriate attire is required. The dress code is dressy business casual, meaning nothing you would wear to the beach or a sporting event. Nice jeans or Bermuda shorts are fine with a collared shirt but nothing overly casual.
Dinner Dress Code 2 PM until Close is Fashionable evening attire is acceptable for dinner. For gentlemen collared shirts and slacks are appropriate. For ladies a dress or blouse with a skirt or slacks are appropriate.
Jeans are permitted, provided they are not ripped or torn. No shorts are allowed during the evening. Beach wear, gym attire, athletic apparel, hats, flip flops, and open toed shoes for men are never permitted.

Cross Street:
Laurel St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-1377

Website:
http://www.bertrandatmisteras.com/

Entertainment:
Bertrand at Mister A’s restaurant offers one of the most exceptional city views in all of the country. A true site seeing experience with a panoramic view; which encompasses the breathtaking city skyline, San Diego Bay and harbor, Coronado Bridge, Point Loma, Sea World, Balboa Park, the world famous zoo and Mexico high a top Bankers Hill.

Catering:
For parties of 10 or more, it is necessary to call the restaurant directly for reservations.

Parking Details:
Street and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Stephane Voitzwinkler

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bertrand at Mister A's
Bertrand at Mister A's
Bertrand at Mister A's
Bertrand at Mister A's
Bertrand at Mister A's
  Crème Brûlée
Seafood Paella
Angus Beef Tenderloin “Chateaubriand
Waffles With Fresh Berries
Chef's Burger
Shrimp Cocktail
Polynesian Punch
Doughnuts of the Day
Eggs Benedict
Champagne With A View
Chicken Liver Pâté
Butter Poached Fresh Maine Lobster
Pan Sautéed Line Caught Swordfish
Mediterranean Style Paella
Grilled Wild King Salmon
Mac and Cheese
Pork Chop With Smashed Broccoli And Twice Baked Potato
Salted Caramel And Peanut Praline Topped With Chocolate Ganache
Dream Of Green
Lobster Bisque
Fried Calamari
Ahi Tuna Sliders
Amuse Bouche
Bread and Butter
Duo Of Brandt Farm Rib Eye And Short Rib
Apple Tartin
Oven Roasted Baby Rack Of Lamb With Rosemary Scented Red & Yellow Bell Peppers
Dessert
Sea Scallops With Whit Corn Risotto And Asparagus
Milk Chocolate Mousse Bar With Peanut Nougat And Caramel
Pork Belly With Potato Gnocchi
Truffle Fries
Kobe Sliders
Ribeye Steak
Warm Bittersweet Chocolate Fondant With Gianduja Ice Cream
Crispy Pan Sauteed Moulard Duck Breast With Huckleberry Sauce & Smoked Potato Hash
Warm beet salad with fresh cheese, smoked salmon, and herbs
Cheese Plate
Rhubarb Cobbler
Butter Poached Maine Lobster
Classic Lobster Bisque
Jidori Chicken Provençale, Black Tiger Shrimp
Oysters
Mr. A’s Mac and Cheese
crab cake
 Salted Caramel & Chocolate Bar
Barrata And Tomatos
Soft Shell Crab
Seared Scallops
Scallops with Risotto
Seared Scallops And Risotto
Froie Gras
Local Halibut- Mimutina, Oro Blanco Grapefruit, Radudhes, Hot Green Chili Oil
Kobe Beef Sliders
Mashed Potatoes
Salted Caramel And Chocolate Bar
Pan Sautéed Local Sea Bass
Cheese cake
Roasted California Rack Of Lamb
Risotto Mushroom Balls
Seared Ahi
Crispy Roasted Woodland Farm Duckling
Triple Chocolate Mousse
Whole Maine Lobster
Braised Short Ribs And Filet Mignon
Peanut Butter Brownie, Snickerdoodle Cupcake, Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcake, Frosted Sugar Cookie, And Frosted Molasses Cookie
Pork Chop
Truffled Macaroni and Cheese
Seafood Pallea

Private Dining

Private spaces include our Park Banquet room seating up to 75, Boardroom seating up to 20, Rotunda seating up to 30 and a semi-private space the Downtown room seating 45. A full buyout can accommodate 300 seated, more standing reception style.

Bertrand at Mister A's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
9 More
Special Occasion
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Overall
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

scenic view (243)
special occasion (221)
romantic (196)
See All
great for outdoor dining (115)
fit for foodies (106)
notable wine list (97)
neighborhood gem (44)
good for groups (40)
great for lunch (32)
great for brunch (32)
hot spot (27)
late-night find (14)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3338 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All the details were very well thought. ...

 
 (München)
·Dined 3 days ago

All the details were very well thought. It was an excellent experience that I would like to repeat.

Our waiter (Michael) was outstanding, knowldgable and professional.

Thank you for making this evening a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and everything wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and everything was hot unlike some experiences in other places. Presentation and care of preparation was decadent. The service was impeccable, not overbearing but always there when needed. Someone always offered to take our picture when they saw us with a camera. I look forward to returning and I won't wait for a special occasion next time.

Thank you Bertrand at Mr. A's for keeping up your high standards.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was outstanding. We had ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant was outstanding. We had a party of six and everyone ordered something different and we were all impressed with the food quality. The view is amazing you can see most of San Diego. The service matched the food quality. I highly recommend it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had such a great time! It was my boyfr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had such a great time! It was my boyfriend's bday and I made a surprise to him. He loved this restaurant. The view is the most spectacular point of the restaurant. My boyfriend loves planes and everything related to that , so in the moment that he could see the first plane landing he said: " I don't believe I can see all the planes landing this is amazing!" We loved everything. The service was wonderful. I would like to congratulate everybody that works over there; they do an excellent job. Looking forward to go again!!! It's so amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Disappointed that there were no Vegan op ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Disappointed that there were no Vegan options on the menu! They accommodated us but I would not go back - felt like an inconvenience.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for my 60th birthday. I was good bu ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went for my 60th birthday. I was good but not great. For the reputation that preceded it, it was not worth the money

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Bertrand at Mister A's is an incredible ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Bertrand at Mister A's is an incredible spot located on the hills overlooking San Diego. The view is breathtaking. This is a must-go restaurant for those who are visiting San Diego simply because of the ability to watch the commercial airliners fly in low over the city into the San Diego airport. The service was good (although they may have been a bit pushy in trying to get us to buy drinks and dessert) and the food was good (though not spectacular). The price is a little steep but not unreasonable. Think about it as if you're paying a $10 premium for the view. The dress code is "smart casual." You'll be fine with a polo and pants (even nice jeans will likely work), but you won't get in with shorts. You definitely need to check the place out if you haven't been!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely view of downtown San Diego and th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Lovely view of downtown San Diego and the airport - happy hour on the patio is a must. Food is great, but not superb. Service is wonderful, though our dinner was rushed for an evening special occasion. I would have preferred to tarry between courses.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant is elegant. The view is g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The restaurant is elegant. The view is great. The people were very friendly. The waiter forgot one salad. The food was just average. For example, I had the filet. It was tender, but not seasoned and the asparagus sauce was bland. The mashed potatoes were bland as well. For the cost, it was disappointing. We'll think twice before returning because there are so many other places to choose from, if I am paying top dollar, I expect the food to reflect that. Mr A's fell short Wednesday night.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Outstanding in every respect. Our birth ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding in every respect. Our birthday celebrating guest of honor is a chef herself and she was duely impressed in every aspect of our evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good, view is outstanding. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was very good, view is outstanding. Waiter had zero personality and was way to serious ("stuffy"'). Felt like a second class citizen when we got there at 5:30 and was seated in the way back tables...table had a nice southern view but certainly not one of the nicer tables...and the place was empty. Server was too serious and entire meal was stretched out a little too long. I ordered a scotch which for $18 was a joke as too how much scotch was in the glass...didn't even cover the ice cube...if you are going to charge $18, then pour a decent size drink.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Though the restaurant has a panoramic vi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Though the restaurant has a panoramic view of San Diego and appetizers are pleasing, our main dishes were disappointment. The lamb dish was initially served rare though we ordered it medium. Then it came well done. The local sea bass tasted better but nevertheless average.

We tasted Beignet, which perhaps was the most satisfying. The wine list is relatively large but hardly any stunning choices, at least at reasonable prices.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a very good dinner however, the s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a very good dinner however, the service was less than expected. While our waiter seemed to try and be helpful he was overwhelmed taking care of the table right behind us. That was a table of six (the owner and friends) also celebrating a birthday. If it had not been for the Maitre d' who stepped it to assist we would have been very disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

What a delightful time! Fantastic view-w ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

What a delightful time! Fantastic view-watching planes come into airport, moon rising on one side of restaurant, sun setting on other side!! David, our waiter-one of the best we've ever had and the food is exceptional .Sorry I dont live closer but will definitely be back if we ever return to San Diego!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food overall. I am vegetarian, and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food overall. I am vegetarian, and w we ordered the gnocchi from the appetizer menu. It was amazing and we suggested they turn it into an entree for more vegetarian choice. The waitress informed us that we could ask for an appetizer to be turned into an entree if we wanted the next time we came in and they would do it without a problem. Something for any vege's to consider, as the veg menu is limited...but good!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service and view are excellent as ex ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service and view are excellent as expected. The food was good but not outstanding as I would have expected from location, ambiance and price.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Bertrand at Mr. A's gets a C. 830 reser ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Bertrand at Mr. A's gets a C.

830 reservation, seated at 9. Food uninspired including foie gras, short ribs, "giant " prawns , lemon tart. Service adequate for price. Excellent wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Love the place. As good as it was years ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love the place. As good as it was years ago, which is rare; may be even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food with friendly and effic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding food with friendly and efficient service. Worth the expense. One of the best city, bay, airport, ocean views anywhere, and particularly in this beautiful city. Great for visitors and out of town friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous, personable service and outstan ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fabulous, personable service and outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best restraunt I've ever be ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was the best restraunt I've ever been too. I absolutely love the service the provide here all the waiters and waitresses were nice and helped you, the taste of the food was like nothing I've ever had before!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful evening- amazing foo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was a wonderful evening- amazing food! TOP of the line service- attentive, yet unobtrusive wait staff.

Only downside is that we were seated near the bar, so the noise level was not great- shaking martinis, etc.

Otherwise an amazing time and I would definitely recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All our visits to Bertands @ Mister A's ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

All our visits to Bertands @ Mister A's over the years have been absolutely splendid in every way. Always feel very welcome by the entire staff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and I thought this was the best f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My son and I thought this was the best food ever! The food was perfect and the people there were really nice. They have pretty scenic views near Seaport Village. I recommend that anyone try eating at this magnificent restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It may be downright impossible to have a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It may be downright impossible to have a bad meal here. Love feeling this pampered by the staff and the delightful menu!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our son visited us from Alaska and we wa ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our son visited us from Alaska and we wanted to show him thew best of San Diego. Mr. A's didn't disappoint. Perfect in every respect, including the spectacular view.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an awesome time and outstanding v ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was an awesome time and outstanding views of the skyline and aircraft flying into San Diego Airport. The food was good and an overall enjoyable and memorable outing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our waiters mentioned that they t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of our waiters mentioned that they typically take orders for customers' entrees at the same time they take orders for appetizers. This struck me as awkward, since I had not yet decided upon my entrée at the time I ordered our appetizer.

Perhaps not coincidentally, we had to wait quite a while before we had another chance to order our entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Best meal we have had in a long time. I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Best meal we have had in a long time. I would rate this in my top 5 restaurants. Food was exceptional, wait staff attentive , but allowed you to dine. The view is unbelievable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Who knew San Diego had a finer side? The ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Who knew San Diego had a finer side? The voyage up the elevator was a great departure from the flip flop cafes below and a transcendence into an array of light and fine linen. Everything from the initial greeting to the coordination of napkins to our clothing, was well orchestrated. Michael, our waiter, was entertaining and we swooned a bit over his deep voice! The food was superb as was the water-level-refill-it-before-you-noticed activity. Overall a hit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

amazing food, spectacular views, definit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

amazing food, spectacular views, definitely get a table on the patio! really fantastic.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Mr A's for the 4th of July an ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went to Mr A's for the 4th of July and it was fabulous! The service and food were outstanding. The fireworks were visible in every direction. Spectacular!! People standing in front of the windows did block the view but there is nothing that the restaurant can do to prevent this from happening. All in all we had a fantastic evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here every year for the 4th of J ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We come here every year for the 4th of July. The food is good, the service is very good, and the view is spectacular. I book our reservation about a year in advance to make sure we get the patio. I find it interesting that every year there are a number of empty tables, but the restaurant tells people calling at the last minute that they are booked even though there are literally a dozen empty tables. Oh well, just glad we always get a table and enjoy the fireworks.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We visit San Diego every 4th of July and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We visit San Diego every 4th of July and there are a few restaurants that we have on our “to do” list…Bertrand’s, Richard Walker and our latest find, Candelas on the Bay are a must do. Our Bertrand’s Maitre d’ (Nate) was so cordial and efficient as he seated us at a table in the patio with a spectacular night view of the city. Since I use a walker to assist me, he showed great concern for my walk through the restaurant onto the patio, giving great attention to my needs. Throughout the evening, the service and attention to detail by the servers, bus staff and the propane heater folks exceeded our expectations. At the conclusion of our meal, Nate returned to escort us to the elevator and take some memorable photos of us. Thank you for a special evening with the love of my life since 1978.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has been my 5th time coming to mist ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This has been my 5th time coming to mister A's. Every single time i have never left with anything less than a happy stomach and a smile on my face from the service. Perfect place for romantic date!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excelent but the most of th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was excelent but the most of the experience was the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

It was our anniversary. Everyone there t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was our anniversary. Everyone there treated us with kindness and respect, making us feel very special. It was the great start to our evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Evening got off to a rough start as we w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Evening got off to a rough start as we were placed in an area where there were no guests and told that it would be more quiet. They then sat a group of people with a child right next to us and when we asked to move tables, they reluctantly did so. The waiter that we had was excellent and made the evening enjoyable. I ordered the short rib and my husband the lamb. Since the waiter knew I had my heart set on the short rib, he might have wanted to let me know that the "horseradish" blob that they put on the meat was "silent" on the menu. Something like that should not be silent on the menu as horseradish has a very strong taste and not liked by most people. If you want to keep it silent, it should be as a side so that it doesn't ruin the rest of the meal. It was a little disappointing. I will know next time in ordering here that I need to ask what is silent.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Special restaurant in every way. Not che ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Special restaurant in every way. Not cheap but well worth the money for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great restaurant for an annive ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This is a great restaurant for an anniversary dinner or other special occasion.

This is one of the few San Diego restaurants that really is special enough to warrant a dress code.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.