About Bertrand at Mister A's

You’re just a few minutes from downtown San Diego; take the elevator to the top floor. You won’t believe your eyes! Huge jetliners sweep past at eye level. Our beautiful city’s skyline, San Diego Bay; why settle for just an ocean’s view when you can see the entire city from one vantage point.

2550 Fifth Avenue, Ste 406
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:15pm. Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 9:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm.

Appropriate attire is required. The dress code is dressy business casual, meaning nothing you would wear to the beach or a sporting event. Nice jeans or Bermuda shorts are fine with a collared shirt but nothing overly casual.
Dinner Dress Code 2 PM until Close is Fashionable evening attire is acceptable for dinner. For gentlemen collared shirts and slacks are appropriate. For ladies a dress or blouse with a skirt or slacks are appropriate.
Jeans are permitted, provided they are not ripped or torn. No shorts are allowed during the evening. Beach wear, gym attire, athletic apparel, hats, flip flops, and open toed shoes for men are never permitted.

Cross Street:
Laurel St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-1377

Website:
http://www.bertrandatmisteras.com/

Entertainment:
Bertrand at Mister A’s restaurant offers one of the most exceptional city views in all of the country. A true site seeing experience with a panoramic view; which encompasses the breathtaking city skyline, San Diego Bay and harbor, Coronado Bridge, Point Loma, Sea World, Balboa Park, the world famous zoo and Mexico high a top Bankers Hill.

Catering:
For parties of 10 or more, it is necessary to call the restaurant directly for reservations.

Parking Details:
Street and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Stephane Voitzwinkler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

  Crème Brûlée - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Seafood Paella - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Angus Beef Tenderloin “Chateaubriand - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Chef's Burger - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Waffles With Fresh Berries - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Shrimp Cocktail - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Polynesian Punch - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Doughnuts of the Day - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Eggs Benedict - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Champagne With A View - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Chicken Liver Pâté - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Mac and Cheese - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Pork Chop With Smashed Broccoli And Twice Baked Potato - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Salted Caramel And Peanut Praline Topped With Chocolate Ganache - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Dream Of Green - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Lobster Bisque - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Fried Calamari - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Ahi Tuna Sliders - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Bread and Butter - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Amuse Bouche - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Duo Of Brandt Farm Rib Eye And Short Rib - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Apple Tartin - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Oven Roasted Baby Rack Of Lamb With Rosemary Scented Red & Yellow Bell Peppers - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Dessert - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Sea Scallops With Whit Corn Risotto And Asparagus - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Pork Belly With Potato Gnocchi - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Milk Chocolate Mousse Bar With Peanut Nougat And Caramel - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Truffle Fries - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Kobe Sliders - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Warm Bittersweet Chocolate Fondant With Gianduja Ice Cream - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Ribeye Steak - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Crispy Pan Sauteed Moulard Duck Breast With Huckleberry Sauce & Smoked Potato Hash - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Warm beet salad with fresh cheese, smoked salmon, and herbs - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Cheese Plate - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Rhubarb Cobbler - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Jidori Chicken Provençale, Black Tiger Shrimp - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
 Salted Caramel & Chocolate Bar - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Butter Poached Maine Lobster - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Oysters - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
crab cake - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Mr. A’s Mac and Cheese - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Classic Lobster Bisque - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Barrata And Tomatos - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Soft Shell Crab - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Seared Scallops - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Scallops with Risotto - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Seared Scallops And Risotto - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Froie Gras  - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Butter Poached Fresh Maine Lobster - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Kobe Beef Sliders - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Grilled Wild King Salmon - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Mediterranean Style Paella - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Local Halibut- Mimutina, Oro Blanco Grapefruit, Radudhes, Hot Green Chili Oil - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Pan Sautéed Line Caught Swordfish - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Mashed Potatoes - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Pan Sautéed Local Sea Bass - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Salted Caramel And Chocolate Bar - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Cheese cake - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Roasted California Rack Of Lamb - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Risotto Mushroom Balls - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Seared Ahi - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Crispy Roasted Woodland Farm Duckling - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Whole Maine Lobster - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Triple Chocolate Mousse - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Peanut Butter Brownie, Snickerdoodle Cupcake, Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcake, Frosted Sugar Cookie, And Frosted Molasses Cookie - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Pork Chop - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Braised Short Ribs And Filet Mignon - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Truffled Macaroni and Cheese - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Seafood Pallea - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will only be offering a 3-course prix fixe menu for $115 per person

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private spaces include our Park Banquet room seating up to 75, Boardroom seating up to 20, Rotunda seating up to 30 and a semi-private space the Downtown room seating 45. A full buyout can accommodate 300 seated, more standing reception style.

Bertrand at Mister A's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (159)
Romantic (110)
Special Occasion (110)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (109)
Good for a Date (103)
Quiet Conversation (60)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Notable Wine List (49)
Business Meals (46)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Worth the Drive (35)
Historic (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Waterfront (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Great for Lunch (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Authentic (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
People Watching (14)
Cozy (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Seasonal (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Private Room (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Casual (3)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was an amazing meal with superb servi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

It was an amazing meal with superb service.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since I live in Carlsbad, I generally do ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Since I live in Carlsbad, I generally don't make it out to San Diego downtown area much but since I was with a date and I heard about the great views from Mister A's I wanted to try it out.

I have to admit that I was a bit disappointed by the service. It felt like I was at Outback as the service was about trying to get me in an out. Usually higher end restaurants allow the customers to enjoy our time and the ambiance, but it definitely felt like they wanted me out so they can take new customers. But the view was very nice and the food was enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We had a great view, and our server, Kyl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great view, and our server, Kyle, was excellent. We went for a Restaurant Week dinner. The lobster bisque was good, but the sea bass, which, unfortunately, we both ordered, was much too rich (greasy, really) for our taste, so we needed lemon to cut that, and still had to take most of it home. My best memory is of a fabulous cocktail made with pear purée, rye, etc., and my husband liked his martini, too. And we had enough time to enjoy most of it before food started coming.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything about it except the 4 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

I loved everything about it except the 4% surcharge. You need to include that in the information about the restaurant so that one can select appropriately. I would not have chosen it had I known that.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food especially with restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food especially with restaurant week they did not hold back on the quality of the dishes. Even had a happy anniversary dessert which made the night special and will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I first visited Mr. A's i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I first visited Mr. A's in 1968. We still miss the red velvet curtains and the waiters who made Caeser salad and Steak Diane at your table, but the views are awesome! Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Never have we been disappointed at Bertr ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Never have we been disappointed at Bertrands - always stellar, from the view, to the service, the exceptional cuisine : always 'right', always "on point" . . . can't wait for a return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I came here for restaurant week. I had p ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

I came here for restaurant week. I had planned to come here during a regular night but decided to try it out during restaurant week when it's a little cheaper. Now I don't mind spending a lot of money on a fancy restaurant, but this one just was not worth it. The food and complimentary bread was all mediocre. The only thing that was great was our service and my strawberry mule. The view was just okay. I think it might be because i'm an SD local so i've seen plenty of SD views. I would only recommend this place to a tourist and during restaurant week. Unfortunately, the food was not good enough to make me want to come back. But, I am glad I had a chance to finally try it. My server Alvin was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

It was a Special Occasion, plus it was R ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a Special Occasion, plus it was Restaurant Week. Terrific selections and tastes at an excellent price. Mr. A's is always special, but we had a particularly fine evening there, just recently.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My most recent visit to Mister A's was f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

My most recent visit to Mister A's was for restaurant week, but it wasn't my first visit. I've come for dinner before and brunch. The view is always amazing. It's quite fun to see the planes come into San Diego. My entree was delicious, I had the duck. I had a small gripe with the entree in that there wasn't much duck, about 5-6 small slices. I feel like I've received a healthier portion of duck at other upscale restaurants. They were amazing bites though. My SO ordered the prime filet and his portion was better. Overall a nice visit to Mister A's for restaurant week.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was GREAT, the view to die f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was GREAT, the view to die for.

The Trio that two of us had was just so so. Not worth the SDRW price.

Most of the meals I have had here are excellent. This one not so much.

I would not recommend it. The salad and the desert were good.

I actually had stomach issues from this meal that evening.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Mister A's was great as always. One of ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Mister A's was great as always. One of the best restaurants in San Diego.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation, but table was not re ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Made a reservation, but table was not ready. There was a 20 minute wait, during which time we huddled with others in the reception area. It was the first day of Restaurant Week, so there ware about 10 people in this small area, plus staff walking through and people on their way to the bathrooms. Not the best start. We had requested a water view table, but were placed at a table nowhere near a window. Yes, we could still see the water.

The food was outstanding. The RW menu was robust and had great selections. The Lobster Bisque and mussels were the winning starters. The lamb selection and the beef sampler were the main course winners. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, service, dinner, were all exc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, service, dinner, were all excellent.

10/10 recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was spectacular and service very go ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was spectacular and service very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Returned after a few years to a rich and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Returned after a few years to a rich and delightful experience. Perfect for that special event. Great food, full bar and wine cellar. We will try again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fabulous as always! Mr A's is always a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

fabulous as always! Mr A's is always a class act. A San Diego icon!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to Mr. A's. Food was good, no ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

First time to Mr. A's. Food was good, not great. For the price i would expect great. Old fashioned needs to have muddled fruit in it (any bar in the Midwest makes it better). Beets in beet salad were a little overcooked and under seasoned. salmon was a little overcooked. short ribs were a little dry.

View was fantastic!!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I am not a fancy-restaurant person, but ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I am not a fancy-restaurant person, but my significant other wanted to celebrate a special occasion here, so I took her. I'd expected this to be pretentious, but turned out to be wrong -- the service was excellent, and we had a very nice evening. Yes, the food is expensive and the portions are kind of small (though the apple fritter dessert was incredible). And there was a big group there that was probably a little noisier than they needed to be, which prompted us to have to move to a different table (with an inferior view). But I have never in my life had better service than this. That alone made the experience worthwhile and special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

I have been to this restaurant a number ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have been to this restaurant a number of times in the past and have been looking forward to this visit as my wife and I introduced a very close friend to it. Absolutely everything was perfect from the greeting from the very pleasant hostess, to our waiter and then the perfect food. I had the swordfish and have never had swordfish like this. My wife had the same and it was just as perfect. Of course, the view, well one cannot top that. Highly recommended. I realize there have been some mediocre and poor reviews but maybe those people had been somewhere else and just got confused.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll be back. The knowledge of the wait ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We'll be back. The knowledge of the waiter about gluten-free foods was very important to us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So much more than the view, which was gr ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2017

So much more than the view, which was great. The appetizer mussels were the best we have ever had. The sea bass was perfectly cooked. The paella, too, was wonderful. Staff was very cooperative in taking pictures from the patio. Overall a terrific experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After making a reservation, I called and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

After making a reservation, I called and asked for a table with a view of the runway, because I love to watch airplanes land. I repeated my table request upon arrival. I was given a table with a view of downtown, while 3 tables with the view I requested went unused. This is a historic place with an amazing view, the food is good and the staff is too, just wish someone would have listened. Guess I'll have to find a different restaurant with a view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

It was ok. I think this place is over ra ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was ok. I think this place is over rated. I've been places where you actually feel like you get what you pay for. First off we got there 20 min prior to our reservation and we wanted a drink at the bar but apparently if the bar is full you cant stand by the bar and order a drink. You would think an offer to get one for you would have happened ....but no. Two seats open up at the bar and we order two glasses of opus one from the bartender but apparently the manager has to go down to a cellar to get it. That took 15 minutes. Finally by the time the wine gets there to be poured our seats are ready and are literally right next to the bar (no one wonder you're not allowed to get a drink when the bar is full you would be right in someones table space). So we back up 2 feet to our table and the server pours our wine. He poured it from some mechanism that shot red wine all over the white table setting (thank god it missed my light colored dress!) you would think that they would change the white table cloth out on our table to avoid the eye sore of the red stains. Nope. That's when we decided to switch tables. We switch to the patio. My guest tips the guy $100 bucks to do so ....that was stupid (what some guys do still amazes me). I order the tasting menu with wine pairings and my guest ordered an entree. The wine pairings didn't quite go with the food except the pino noir and the food was sub par. Honestly if it had not been for that view on the patio I would have given this place one star. A restaurant can't make up for sup par food and bad service with a nice view. Not when you're paying $400 for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I was celebrating my wife's 50th birthda ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I was celebrating my wife's 50th birthday. From the moment we walked in, we were treated like royalty.

I highly recommend Mr. A's for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Amazing meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking for a special venue for wi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I was looking for a special venue for wife's birthday and daughters pre-deployment on Navy ship dinner. Mr. A's exceeded my expectations. Service *, Food *.

Million dollar view of city and harbor. Most highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our experience. As you enter th ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Enjoyed our experience. As you enter the restaurant you see the view of San Diego, WOW. Then comes the amazing service, then the food. Everything was perfect. Will definitely take guests back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great special occasion place. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This is a great special occasion place. We love the ambiance and the great service!

The view is amazing!

Great food and wonderful presentation.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's been a tradition for years - our cl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It's been a tradition for years - our closest friends start the new year with the Salute to Vienna concert at Symphony Hall followed by a memorable meal at Mr A's. Except for the one time that they couldn't fit us in, Mr A's has always been spot on with dining, ambiance, and of course the view. The meals, if anything, are getting better and the dining experience seems to be solidly in place to remain part of our tradition for the foreseeable future. It's great to be able to count on quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Drinks were fantastic food was good and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Drinks were fantastic food was good and the view was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent special occasion r ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was an excellent special occasion restaurant. Great service starters, mains and the perfect amount for dessert - not huge. We reAlly enjoyed our evening. Address and floor were not correct but we called and just had to walk across the street and take the elevator to the top floor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful New Year's Eve. Amazing serv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A wonderful New Year's Eve. Amazing service and the best view in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am a Veteran, who was referred by a co ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I am a Veteran, who was referred by a colleague who attended this venue before me. I made this reservation as a special occasion, to propose to my girlfriend and celebrate the New Year. I requested a change to my reservation time from early evening to a late evening set menu and informed the staff of my plans to propose. The staff took note of my requests, and as soon as the time slot became available, they accommodated me. The staff was very attentive and Maitre d' Mark was amazing in helping me make the best moment possible...he even took pictures and video of my proposal. Overall, the service, food and ambiance was fantastic. I couldn't be more pleased and would not hesitate in recommending this venue. Thank you to all!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve dinner was beyond disappo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner was beyond disappointing. We thought the prix fixe menu would be a great way to try this restaurant, but we were wrong. The food was mediocre -main beef entree similar to prime rib at a Sunday buffet. The service was slow - several minutes to clear empty plates or fill empty wine glasses (and we were in the half-empty section of the restaurant). Gratuity was included, of course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Bertrand at Mr. A's always delivers, and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Bertrand at Mr. A's always delivers, and it did for four friends celebrating

decades of New Year's Eves together were delighted. I was personally disappointed as the host however that my early request and that of our hotel consierge for a window table on the southwest side was not honored.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is nice, and the restaurant sta ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The view is nice, and the restaurant staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was just ok, and overpriced.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Great place for dinner with amazing view ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great place for dinner with amazing views of downtown. Servers were very friendly and attentive. Food was delicious and our server had great recommendations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service! We were very impresse ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful service! We were very impressed with how well we were taken care of. Server was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. Also, can't go wrong with that view! Will definitely return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant. Excellent food an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Excellent food and excellent service. Will definitely go again next time I am in Stan Diego.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.