About Bertrand at Mister A's

2550 Fifth Avenue, Ste 406
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

You’re just a few minutes from downtown San Diego; take the elevator to the top floor. You won’t believe your eyes! Huge jetliners sweep past at eye level. Our beautiful city’s skyline, San Diego Bay; why settle for just an ocean’s view when you can see the entire city from one vantage point.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:15pm. Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 9:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm.

Appropriate attire is required. The dress code is dressy business casual, meaning nothing you would wear to the beach or a sporting event. Nice jeans or Bermuda shorts are fine with a collared shirt but nothing overly casual.
Dinner Dress Code 2 PM until Close is Fashionable evening attire is acceptable for dinner. For gentlemen collared shirts and slacks are appropriate. For ladies a dress or blouse with a skirt or slacks are appropriate.
Jeans are permitted, provided they are not ripped or torn. No shorts are allowed during the evening. Beach wear, gym attire, athletic apparel, hats, flip flops, and open toed shoes for men are never permitted.

Cross Street:
Laurel St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-1377

Website:
http://www.bertrandatmisteras.com/

Entertainment:
Bertrand at Mister A’s restaurant offers one of the most exceptional city views in all of the country. A true site seeing experience with a panoramic view; which encompasses the breathtaking city skyline, San Diego Bay and harbor, Coronado Bridge, Point Loma, Sea World, Balboa Park, the world famous zoo and Mexico high a top Bankers Hill.

Catering:
For parties of 10 or more, it is necessary to call the restaurant directly for reservations.

Parking Details:
Street and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Stephane Voitzwinkler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
  Crème Brûlée - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Seafood Paella - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Angus Beef Tenderloin “Chateaubriand - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Chef's Burger - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Waffles With Fresh Berries - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Shrimp Cocktail - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Polynesian Punch - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Doughnuts of the Day - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Eggs Benedict - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Champagne With A View - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Chicken Liver Pâté - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Mac and Cheese - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Pork Chop With Smashed Broccoli And Twice Baked Potato - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Salted Caramel And Peanut Praline Topped With Chocolate Ganache - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Dream Of Green - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Lobster Bisque - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Fried Calamari - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Ahi Tuna Sliders - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Bread and Butter - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Amuse Bouche - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Duo Of Brandt Farm Rib Eye And Short Rib - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Apple Tartin - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Oven Roasted Baby Rack Of Lamb With Rosemary Scented Red & Yellow Bell Peppers - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Dessert - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Sea Scallops With Whit Corn Risotto And Asparagus - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Pork Belly With Potato Gnocchi - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Milk Chocolate Mousse Bar With Peanut Nougat And Caramel - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Truffle Fries - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Kobe Sliders - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Warm Bittersweet Chocolate Fondant With Gianduja Ice Cream - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Ribeye Steak - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Crispy Pan Sauteed Moulard Duck Breast With Huckleberry Sauce & Smoked Potato Hash - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Warm beet salad with fresh cheese, smoked salmon, and herbs - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Cheese Plate - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Rhubarb Cobbler - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Jidori Chicken Provençale, Black Tiger Shrimp - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
 Salted Caramel & Chocolate Bar - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Butter Poached Maine Lobster - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Oysters - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
crab cake - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Mr. A’s Mac and Cheese - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Classic Lobster Bisque - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Barrata And Tomatos - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Soft Shell Crab - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Seared Scallops - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Scallops with Risotto - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Seared Scallops And Risotto - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Froie Gras  - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Butter Poached Fresh Maine Lobster - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Kobe Beef Sliders - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Grilled Wild King Salmon - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Mediterranean Style Paella - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Local Halibut- Mimutina, Oro Blanco Grapefruit, Radudhes, Hot Green Chili Oil - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Pan Sautéed Line Caught Swordfish - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Mashed Potatoes - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Pan Sautéed Local Sea Bass - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Salted Caramel And Chocolate Bar - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Cheese cake - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Roasted California Rack Of Lamb - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Risotto Mushroom Balls - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Seared Ahi - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Crispy Roasted Woodland Farm Duckling - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Whole Maine Lobster - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Triple Chocolate Mousse - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Peanut Butter Brownie, Snickerdoodle Cupcake, Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcake, Frosted Sugar Cookie, And Frosted Molasses Cookie - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Pork Chop - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Braised Short Ribs And Filet Mignon - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Truffled Macaroni and Cheese - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA
Seafood Pallea - Bertrand at Mister A's, San Diego, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We will only be offering our 3- course prix fixe Christmas Eve Menu for $85.00 per person.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

We will only be offering our 3- course prix fixe Christmas Day Menu for $67.50 per person.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We will be offering a fixed a la carte menu from 5pm-7pm only.
Beginning at 715pm-close we will be offering a prix fixe menu for $135.00 per person only.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private spaces include our Park Banquet room seating up to 75, Boardroom seating up to 20, Rotunda seating up to 30 and a semi-private space the Downtown room seating 45. A full buyout can accommodate 300 seated, more standing reception style.

Bertrand at Mister A's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
6 More
French
San Diego
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Scenic View (170)
Romantic (135)
Special Occasion (129)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (97)
Good for a Date (89)
Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Notable Wine List (57)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Business Meals (41)
Worth the Drive (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Historic (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Authentic (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Waterfront (14)
People Watching (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Cozy (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (6)
Private Room (6)
Fun (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Casual (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent lobster bisque and other lunch ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent lobster bisque and other lunch entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was awesome and I like the atmosphere ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

It was awesome and I like the atmosphere their and it was a romantic place

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, my wife and enjoy this place. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, my wife and enjoy this place. The food and service are excellent!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well prepared food absolutely correct f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Well prepared food absolutely correct for this class of restaurant but not outstanding. There are no surprises, no gastronomic delights. Some way before it could be thought of as Michelin star candidate. However great for an occasion and wonderful view. Our second visit .

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The service was awful. They brought the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The service was awful. They brought the wrong appetizer, forgot the side dish entirely and did not bring my drink with the meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

An outstanding restaurant, excellent ser ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An outstanding restaurant, excellent service, great food and the view is awesome. Recommend that you schedule your time there for daylight into dark to really appreciate the view. Airplanes flying by the window make it even better. Highly recommend having a drink outside on the deck. Will definitely return on our next trip to SD.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely get valet parking. Definitely ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Definitely get valet parking. Definitely sit outside. Definitely bring a date. Definitely make your date feel comfortable. Definitely ball out. Definitely don't be cheap. Definitely dress to impress. Definitely bring a jacket. Definitely order dessert. Definitely say hi to Yvette the server from bbart (she will know who you're talking about).

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and amazing ambience, ser ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious food and amazing ambience, service was below standard for any restaurant. We felt neglected with the wait staff. Seemed like the waitress was doing all the running, clearing and service. We live to dine dinning and this was truly a disappointment. Especially when they deduct 20% for service fee automatically from your check. LOL!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Thanksgiving dinner. We were going to be ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner. We were going to be in San Diego for Thanksgiving and found this restaurant with very good reviews.

My husband and I had a wonderful turkey dinner with all the trimmings. Great prefix dinner with a great selection.

Service was superb as was the beautiful city views.

Highly recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are locals but this was our first tim ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We are locals but this was our first time to Mr. A's and we went for Thanksgiving. In my opinion, it's especially important for holiday dining that guests are welcomed warmly. We excitedly exited the elevator at the hostess stand and were quite surprised when we approached and received zero eye contact, zero smiles, zero warmth. I was completely worried that I had selected the wrong restaurant for our Thanksgiving celebration,

Fortunately though, the wait staff was superb, the food was wonderful and the view, of course, spectacular.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We dined at Mr. A's for Thanksgiving. O ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dined at Mr. A's for Thanksgiving. Overall we had a great experience with very good service with a few small exceptions. We had to ask for coffee and butter 3 times to get it. The decaf coffee was horrible - tasted like instant coffee and it was cold. The side for the pork dish was strange and unappetizing. The sides for the turkey entrée were great - very traditional; the only item on that dish we didn't enjoy was the sweet potatoes.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated a birthday with family. Best ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Celebrated a birthday with family. Best view, great service and delicious food! We were glad we chose Mister A's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yea we got to dress up.. but after - get ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Yea we got to dress up.. but after - getting the bill for $380 was a shocker... I had the scallops they were good.. not fantastic... The steak my husband had was fabulous... I guess if you went to just show you have money this would be the place to go.. beautiful views overlooking the city. The busboy was very nice and let us go out and take a look..

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Usually love this restaurant. Been many ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Usually love this restaurant. Been many times. However, disappointed last Friday:

Hostess was so unsatisfactory. Felt like I was waiting to be seated in a coffee shop. Rest of wait staff excellent.

Champagne cocktail unsatisfactory. Flat, no lemon twist. Disappointing.

Ceaser salad poor.

My duck, mediocre.

Profiteroles were so hard, needed a steak knife to cut them. Mediocre.

Wines by the glass delicious and reasonable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, terrific service, lovely set ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food, terrific service, lovely setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service! Food was pretty good ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent service! Food was pretty good but the vegetables that come with the main dishes were over cooked. They did adjust our bill for that though. Highly recommend this place.

Great ambiance and amazing views of the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch, superb, expensive restaurant ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Top notch, superb, expensive restaurant that was worth every penny!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mister A's has been a San Diego Classic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Mister A's has been a San Diego Classic for decades. It successfully reinvented itself many years back to keep up with the current expectations in cuisine, decor and service. Fantastic meal, great ambiance, and a local treasure that has a view AND great food.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in San Diego. Am ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

My favorite restaurant in San Diego. Amazing view, delicious food, and the staff is top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came her for the second year in a row fo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Came her for the second year in a row for anniversary dinner. Food and drinks are all excellent, and the view is one of the best in the entire city. Pricey, but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I have had dinners here a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I have had dinners here as well as Brunch and it never disappoints ! The views of downtown and the bay are beautiful day or night. A nice intimate but not stuffy atmosphere, and the service is flawless.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have lived in SD since 1999 and have nev ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Have lived in SD since 1999 and have never been here.....it is now on the top of my all time favorite restaurants. ( I have been to Marine Room, Addison's, The Lodge, even Mille Fleur etc...) From the moment I was greeted as the elevator doors opened, having a glass of wine at the bar, seated at our table at the exact time of our reservation, having beyond incredible service and the food, was beyond incredible. We were a 7:15pm seating and did not leave until 10:30pm. No one rushed us to order, to eat, etc....and the view is just the icing on the cake. Thank you for an incredible experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great place to go and you do no ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always a Great place to go and you do not have to wait for a special occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mr. A's was perfect for my friend's birt ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Mr. A's was perfect for my friend's birthday celebration. The view is always spectacular, the service is outstanding, the food is imaginative and delicious!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was beyond our expectations. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Everything was beyond our expectations. We will return often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bertrand's hits the ball out of the rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Bertrand's hits the ball out of the restaurant park!

It was my first return to this iconic restaurant since it has become Betrand's. What a huge difference and improvement in the ambience, service, and especially the food and wine! We were three and each had the tasting menus with coordinated wines per course. Each course was impeccably paired with wine, and the amount of wine and food was just enough, but not overwhelming. It was still possible to drive home. The decor has been successfully updated, and the outdoor dining possibilities on the heated deck are intoxicating. All around your table as you dine are the lights, planes, and sights of nighttime San Diego. It is well worth the price, which is substantial. I'm scheming to go back: a birthday gift to me? A holiday gift to me? I will think of someway to go back, and this time have someone else pay the bill!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been there for many times , when ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I have been there for many times , when You have a room outside with the great view m the service is very slow , took me 20 minutes to get my cocktail before dinner , I had to walk to the front desk to ask ...The oso bucco I ordered was not great ( was OK ) a restaurant like this should have provided better food , my date was not able to finish her filet mignon really not as expected , the soda we ordered was flat and when they replaced was not any better .

I ordered double expresso at the end it came not hot enough

Usually I get better experience there , but this time it was bad

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent every time! We've been for din ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent every time! We've been for dinner and lunch with excellence always. Mac n' Cheese a must!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate our wedding, we took j ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Went to celebrate our wedding, we took just a quick get away to San Diego, the view was amazing and the service was great. The food was good and overall not to highly priced for the type of dining. I was happy with it, and if anyone in your party is into aviation this is an absolute perfact spot to watch the planes land, they are on the glide path at or below your position.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Mr. A's is a very special restaurant. I' ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Mr. A's is a very special restaurant. I've been there several times with my husband and/or guests and it has never disappointed us in any way. The staff is very helpful. professional, friendly and accommodating. Thank you for a delightful evening with my friend.

Hilda Cohen

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Historic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular view of the city. Great serv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Spectacular view of the city. Great service. Delicious food. Overall great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience---can't beat the vi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Wonderful experience---can't beat the view and food was delicious. I felt it was a bit crowded---tables too close together and pricey! Service is top notch. Great for special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were there on a Tuesday night celebra ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We were there on a Tuesday night celebrating my daughter's birthday. Beautiful view of downtown SD, food & wine was great, service was excellent! Overall we had a wonderful time, extraordinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The views are unequalled! The menu was ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The views are unequalled! The menu was creative and the service impeccable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious, service was exceptio ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food was delicious, service was exceptional and the view is the most fabulous in San Diego! Our server, David, made sure my wine glass was never empty! This restaurant is my "go to" place for special occasions... they have never let me down in the last 10 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food beautifully presented. E ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Delicious food beautifully presented. Entrees and desserts excellent. My only fault withl this restaurant would be needs more salad choices. Service is excellent and views outstanding -all across San Diego Bay and downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome view and service. Food was most ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome view and service. Food was mostly fantastic, except the lobster on the surf and turf was a undercooked and a bit fishy tasting. Other than that, it was an great experience and we will certainly dine there again.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our first time there and won't return. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our first time there and won't return. They try to make this out to be a 'tuxedo' waiter type of place and it just doesn't work. We thought the service fawning' and over the top. Location and views are superb, and food was OK, but not worth the proce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food and ambiance - excellent serv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food and ambiance - excellent service. Perfect for dates and small groups

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.