About Bertrand at Mister A's

2550 Fifth Avenue, Ste 406
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

You’re just a few minutes from downtown San Diego; take the elevator to the top floor. You won’t believe your eyes! Huge jetliners sweep past at eye level. Our beautiful city’s skyline, San Diego Bay; why settle for just an ocean’s view when you can see the entire city from one vantage point.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:15pm. Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 9:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm.

Appropriate attire is required. The dress code is dressy business casual, meaning nothing you would wear to the beach or a sporting event. Nice jeans or Bermuda shorts are fine with a collared shirt but nothing overly casual.
Dinner Dress Code 2 PM until Close is Fashionable evening attire is acceptable for dinner. For gentlemen collared shirts and slacks are appropriate. For ladies a dress or blouse with a skirt or slacks are appropriate.
Jeans are permitted, provided they are not ripped or torn. No shorts are allowed during the evening. Beach wear, gym attire, athletic apparel, hats, flip flops, and open toed shoes for men are never permitted.

Cross Street:
Laurel St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-1377

Website:
http://www.bertrandatmisteras.com/

Entertainment:
Bertrand at Mister A’s restaurant offers one of the most exceptional city views in all of the country. A true site seeing experience with a panoramic view; which encompasses the breathtaking city skyline, San Diego Bay and harbor, Coronado Bridge, Point Loma, Sea World, Balboa Park, the world famous zoo and Mexico high a top Bankers Hill.

Catering:
For parties of 10 or more, it is necessary to call the restaurant directly for reservations.

Parking Details:
Street and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Stephane Voitzwinkler

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Private spaces include our Park Banquet room seating up to 75, Boardroom seating up to 20, Rotunda seating up to 30 and a semi-private space the Downtown room seating 45. A full buyout can accommodate 300 seated, more standing reception style.

Bertrand at Mister A's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Diego
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
7 More
Special Occasion
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

scenic view (216)
special occasion (204)
romantic (185)
See All
great for outdoor dining (100)
fit for foodies (97)
notable wine list (87)
neighborhood gem (46)
great for lunch (40)
great for brunch (35)
good for groups (32)
hot spot (27)
late-night find (15)
 (5)
 (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
kid-friendly (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Outstanding and innovative menu, excelle ...

Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding and innovative menu, excellent and helpful service, try for outside on warmer night at sunset for incredible view or main dining room, otherwise book a different night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary celebration

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We arrived early so that we could have a drink at the bar. Unfortunately the bar was full, and it was too windy to wait on the patio. The dining room manager was very gracious and offered to seat us before our reservation time. Our waiter was pleasant and inquired if we were on a time constraint for dining. He helped us choose wines and explained the special entrees and appetizers. We had the charcuterie plate which Included a pate. The lobster bisque was delicious. My entree of lamb chops were perfectly prepared. The duck my husband ordered was very good. For dessert, we shared the lemon tart. The entire meal was lovely. I was surprised at how casually dressed other diners were when the website recommended jackets and no beachwear, etc. It took away from a fine dining experience that I expected. I would recommend dining here for the view and enjoying the cuisine that is offered, but don't compare it to the French Laundry or other fine dining establishments.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Bertrand at Mister A's Gets an A

Dined 5 days ago

Bertrand knows food! This was a great re-find, as our go to restaurant is his sister company, Mille fleur in Rancho Sante Fe. Bertrand at Mister A's has a distinct reputation for delivery of high quality food and great service with attention to detail. You won't be disappointed in that regard. You will be 100% ecstatic when you couple that with the outstanding sweeping views of the city. Overall, this is an excellent choice for great food, wonderful ambiance, impeccable service and amazing views...Bertrand at Mister A's Gets an A!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated our 46th ann ...

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our 46th anniversary at Bertrand's. Though we are San Diegans, we haven't been there for years. The view is of the entire city of San Diego, including the airport, probably the best view anywhere. We normally enjoy a patio but it was quite windy the evening we were there. I would really enjoy going back for patio/cocktail dining. The food and service could not be improved. We genuinely enjoyed our experience. I should note that our server brought us a complementary dessert with "Happy Anniversary" written across the plate in chocolate syrup, a welcomed surprise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat to go here. The service ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Always a treat to go here. The service was exceptional~

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We reserve a table for 08:30pm. At the r ...

Dined 7 days ago

We reserve a table for 08:30pm. At the reception the waitress was really unfriendly!!! We have needed to wait 15 min to become pur seat ! It was the wrong seat ... We have reserved near the window... The food was good but not special !! The view is really fantastic !! We won't recommand this restaurant for our friends!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is so special we drive over 100 miles

Dined on May 22, 2016

They make our anniversary special. Great house wine

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, great dinner

Dined on May 22, 2016

Date nite for wife and me. Spectacular view of San Diego including Gillespie Field, Coronado, Pt. Loma from our table. Old school service/food which was perfect for us. Wine list good. Waitstaff impeccable. Added bonus: prom nite. Wife got a kick out of seeing kids dressed-up. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion

Dined on May 16, 2016

The place was crowed for a Sunday night. There were many large parties. The head waiter was very personable and efficient. We had a great table (too bad the weather was gray, but that is not Mr. A's fault). When it became dark, the San Diego skyline was great. Definitely a place to go for special events.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bertrand at Mister A's was my choice for ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Bertrand at Mister A's was my choice for a dinner to celebrate my graduation from my master's degree program. Every bit of the experience was wonderful, from the excellent service to the impeccable view to the delicious food. We were a little worried as we rode the elevator up to the restaurant, as it was packed with high schoolers heading out for pre-prom dinner, but it appeared that the restaurant successfully kept the prom crowd in a different area of the restaurant. We arrived early for our reservation and were able to sit on the patio and enjoy pre-dinner drinks while watching the sun set over the ocean and taking in the spectacular view of San Diego. The maitre d' politely brought us to our table when it was ready, and we enjoyed several courses of really amazing dishes. Service was top-notch (my napkin was neatly folded for me any time I left the table). The level of service and overall experience reminded me a lot of the Biltmore Hotel (Four Season's Resort) in Montecito. This is the only time I have experienced that level of service since moving from Santa Barbara to San Diego, so it was a delight. I am so happy I chose Mister A's for my celebration. I know I will be back in the future for another special occassion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The venue is beautiful. The food, howev ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The venue is beautiful. The food, however, was average at best. Our salads were served to us without salad dressing. The appetizers were just ok. My fillet was so tough I left most of it on my plate. The service was very good. My wife and I know good food and Mr A's disappointed us. We won't be back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want amazing food with amazing se ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

If you want amazing food with amazing service and an amazing view Mister As has it all.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE Mister A's! Whenever we visit San ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

LOVE Mister A's! Whenever we visit San Diego its a must on our dinner list. Overlooking the flight path, the city and the water the ambience is so unique! We would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bertrand at Mister A's is amazing - the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Bertrand at Mister A's is amazing - the food, the view, and the service. David was extremely informative and helpful with the menu (this was our first time at the restaurant). We were there to celebrate a birthday and they surprised us with a complimentary dessert and candle as well. My husband got the swordfish which was prepared perfectly and I got the halibut. Both were delicious. We started with their shrimp special for an appetizer that also had great flavor and split a bowl of the lobster bisque. Nate offered excellent wine pairings for each course for us as well. He was personable and friendly which was refreshing as sometimes that doesn't happen at upscale restaurants. We will definitely return next time we are in San Diego. Thank you for the experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, and view

Dined on May 13, 2016

We enjoyed it all: view, service, food. A must if you are a pilot or aviation enthusiast, since you are able to see the planes arriving on final to San Diego airport. Will definitely come back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great. The meal, the serv ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was great. The meal, the service, the parking, the view. The bar was great and the bartender was fun and knew his stuff. Would definitely come back.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

superb dining with a view

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent, fast service and friendly waiters. The view of the city and airport is breathtaking, well worth the money!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really wonderful dinner, and good vegeta ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Really wonderful dinner, and good vegetarian options. Terrific view and good service. A lovely evening!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Mother'sDay Brunch 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

There was a limited menu, but it was more than enough. The food was delicious. The service was great, but the highlight for us was the view. It's probably one of the best views of the city. It was a little spendy, but overall worth it. We had a great time. The sunset view must be amazing. Great place for a date or special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friggin Awesome

Dined on May 6, 2016

My names Chad Wilkerson, me and my bro visited this fine establishment couple days back. You know me and my bro where looking like two good fellas who yeah, pump iron and drink protein shakes on a daily basis BRO, anyways, we where just looking good. The lady folk where staring us down, like a trainer stares down hes trainee at the gym bro, which is familiar to us, cause yeah we work out. Anyways, we go up 12 floors, me and my bro, walk out the elevator, fist pumping out. We owned that place already,anyway,me and my bro hit on the lady at the front desk,she wasn't having it, she just offered me and my bro some specials on some pork chops,anyway, me and my bro sat outside, awesome view! Selfies where a must at that point, me and my bro flexed in everyone of those pictures, we where looking too good bro,anyway, me and my bro ordered some Kobe sliders with truffle fries, a couple of beers, couple of patron shots, next thing you know, ALL OUT FIST PUMP SELFIE AT MR.A'S, anyways, we needed to bounce cause I did not have a key and my mother closes the door at 9, anyways, good vibes at Mr.A's bro, food was off the chain #gainz. Recommend highly bro, my bro had an awesome 22 birthday party. Of course next day GYM was a must, anyways....

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another top notch dining experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

Our firm has often used Mr A's for business luncheons and/or breakfasts because of the first rate service etc. As usual the service, food, ambience and overall experience this time was fantastic. This most recent luncheon again gets rave reviews with extra kudo's for a revised/updated menu and a most wonderful dining/meeting experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Birthday!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Had a beautiful view of Mission Bay at sunset, breathtaking! Michael was a very attentive and knowledgable about the wine list and food. It was a fantastic night with delicious food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a party of 6 and agreed it was a enjoyable

Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent food, service, view and friends for a 55 anniversary. A very pleasant evening.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place for a celebration

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was fantastic and wonderfully presented, the service was great, and the view was fabulous. My only complaint is that it was too cold on the balcony so the heat lamps should have been turned on or we should have been offered a table inside (I had specified in reservation that we wanted to sit on the patio if it was warm enough outside). I will definitely go back when it's warmer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely Meal, Gorgeous Views

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our food and view were absolutely wonderful. The outdoor terrace can be a bit windy, so definitely come prepared with proper attire if you reserve a table outside.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mr A's

Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent Service, Excellent food, all helped to put together a spectacular evening. Went here for my boyfriend's birthday and couldn't be more pleased

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu was lacking

Dined on April 22, 2016

The restaurant was everything that was expected. However the menu did not lend to more simple tastes; and the portions were very, very small. A man would starve. The service was outstanding! And so nice to eat without excessive noise, but some some dinner music would have been nice. You have a great restaurant and your employees are friendly and make it so enjoyable. Thank you for providing the public so much pleasure in dining.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

sleeplessinSanDiego

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

As usual always a great place to bring visiting friends and family and watch their faces light. Always delightful,great food and stunning view .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on April 18, 2016

We dined here for a big number anniversary (50). We had a window table overlooking Mission Bay at sunset. The food, wine, and service were outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best In San Diego

Dined on April 16, 2016

Forty-five years ago, Mr. A's was the best restaurant in San Diego. Today, Bertrand at Mister A's is still the best restaurant in San Diego. The view from the 12th floor is exceptional, as is the food and the service. A meal here will be a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our entire experience

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We were visiting San Diego and my Husband had been to this restaurant once many years ago on a business trip. The service and the food were excellent. Of course, you cannot beat the best view in all of San Diego. It is amazing that the place has been kept this nice for so long. We will definitely go back next time we are in San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

The entrees and the ambience were amazin ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The entrees and the ambience were amazing!!! The escargot was not good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best

Dined on April 13, 2016

It's a great place to come to to celebrate a special occasion or if you just want to spend some time with friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mister A's should be called Mister A++

Dined on April 12, 2016

Having a view of San Diego like Mister A's has can only bring about high expectations for dining to match. Joyously, they exceeded our expectations. The staff is absolutely incredible in their demeanor and professionalism. We were asked if we were celebrating a special event, which we were, and our whole evening dining took on a celebratory mood from the staff. Appetizers were both exceptional as was the hot from the oven bread. Our main course was the Duck Confit, which was magnificent, as well as a nice size portion. For dessert, the Meyer Lemon Tart and the Rhubarb Crumb Cake were our choices. Both were delicious. The Rhubarb Crumb Cake comes with in-house Earl Grey Ice Cream, and is now my new favorite ice cream. For dessert, they also presented a complimentary Happy Anniversary plate for our enjoyment. Mister A's is one of the finest restaurants at which we have dined. The view, staff and food all work together to make an evening there a most memorable occasion. We both think that Mister A's is truly A++.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing.

Dined on April 10, 2016

the experience was just incredible. From the second my date and I got off the elevator we were taken care of. I swear the server had a sixth sense because he already knew what we wanted. The staff are amazing and friendly and they PAY ATTENTION to you too. That was a huge plus! You don't feel ignored what so ever. The food was unbelievable and blended perfectly. All in all a top rated experience and I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for my 60th birthday was outstanding!!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

This is the second time I have dined at Mr. A's and absolutely love the place! The food and service are top drawer. Wish I could win the lottery so I could move to San Diego and eat there every day!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Anniversary

Dined on April 9, 2016

The view was fantastic! The food was mediocre. My wife had scallops and they were cold. I had Sole that was hot and ok but not worth $32. We paid dearly for the fantastic view and Ok food.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Everything was spectacular, exceeded expectations. Was not expecting the food to be anything special however it was well worth the money.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Not much talent in food, it is adequate at best.

Dined on April 1, 2016

It is one of these places where it is the herd following any leader. The food is adequate at best, not many choices and I don't see the value. You are paying for the view which after it gets dark is nothing to jump up and down over either. It is an ok place and I think many who go there also say "what is the big deal" it is just over hyped.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a most enjoyable experience ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

It's always a most enjoyable experience in every way.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.