Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

Berret's Restaurant

4.4
1753 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Berret's Seafood Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for over 30 years.
Berret's Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please contact Berret's Restaurant directly.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Berret's Seafood Restaurant is 0pen Daily from 11:30 am to 9:30 pm
Berret's Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through November (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 253-1847
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Richard Carr
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Francis Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1753 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.7
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Nice place to rest feet for Williamsburg lunch. Would recommend to anyone visiting historic area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

We have been eating at Berret’s on every trip to Williamsburg since about 1989. We love knowing it’s there and are always assured of a welcome and tasty food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Our server was the highlight of the night. We also enjoyed eating outdoors very much! thanks for making my birthday special :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

My friends and I enjoyed our get together with an excellent lunch and very delicious deserts.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Took out of town friends here for dinner. Our dinner was good but atmosphere ruined due to a large, very noisy group. Could hear them over our friends sitting across the table. Members of group constantly using the restroom and our table was next to the aisle. Very annoying. Waitress was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We received a very warm welcome upon entering the restaurant. Our server, Shane, was FANTASTIC. He was super friendly and very attentive. Our food was great and the seafood imperial dish on the blue plate is worthy of a standing ovation!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We had a lovely Anniversary dinner. Great service and very good food. We will return in the future. Decor is a bit dated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food today, just like they have had for the 20+ years I have gone there. She crab soup is the best I’ve ever had. Never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Overall a enjoyable dining experience. Server was very friendly and accommodating. Food was a bit heavy handed, I.e. too much dressing on the Caesar salad , too much cheese on the flatbread. The crab cake was if reputation, filled with lump crab crispy finish but not oily. The fried green tomatoes with balsamic glaze stand on their own.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great restaurant in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg. Service is excellent, great food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Trusting the Open Table ratings we choose this restaurant for dinner on our weekend in Williamsburg. I choose Crabcakes - they were tasteless The restaurant was somewhat loud. The quality of the dinner was one of the worst I have had - in years. Not nearly worth the $.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Mike our server was very friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive to us and all of his tables. His recommendations were excellent. We had the Chefs cheese board and She Crab soup for appetizers and two of the daily specials. We were not disappointed. Fantastic!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The food was decent ...I had great expectations because we were so close to the water.. I felt like the Mahi was not fresh. The she crab dip was a bit Bland otherwise is a great night

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

This was my first time eating at this restaurant and it did not disappoint. The food was delicious, especially the crab cake (no filler, just crab). The waiter was most accommodating and quite knowledgeable on food preparation. You couldn't ask for a better location - right in the heart of Merchant's Square. I would certainly return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Berret’s was wonderful! We went for dinner on Easter Sunday, and although it got crowded the service remained impeccable throughout our experience. It’s a simple-looking restaurant in beautiful location in a quaint part of Williamsburg, and they have a super friendly staff. Food and drinks were outstanding - the sangria was awesome! We got York oysters for an app, and they were awesome. Desserts were incredible, too. We’d recommend it in a heartbeat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Sunday lunch was delicious. Our service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had Easter dinner at Berrett's. The food was delicious and there was a lot of it. Our server was friendly and attentive. All in all it was a very good choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Barrets never disappoints. Best seafood in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had an excellent dining experience at the restaurant. Our server, Taylor, was very friendly and efficient. The dessert, grilled pound cake with vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce was ‘to die for ‘.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Overall, I am impressed with the food and service. I will be back,because this is a Williamsburg gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

I was out in Colonial Williamsburg this past weekend for a day and found this GF place. They even had a GF dessert that was pretty good. So for the meal I had a great oyster soup as an appetizer and the pork chop with a crab cake on the side for dinner. The food was awesome and crab cakes are not a thing you find in a lot of restaurants served GF.

Though a bit pricey the meal was well worth it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

This restaurant was okay, but nothing special. I ordered veal Osso Bucco and expected a really super dining experience, as it is a personal favorite. When it arrived, overcooked and covered with pepper, I could not eat it and sent it back. I had a small filet mignon instead, so it could be cooked quickly and not delay the rest of the table, who were satisfied with their choices and munching away.
The staff was very accommodating and apologetic concerning my dissatisfaction with my choice of meal.
As far as recommending this restaurant, I save that for places that stand out as exceptional. I would not dissuade anyone from dining here. It is an okay place, just not great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Excellent meal! The Crab and Shrimp Quesadillas were delicious! We love Berrets!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Our meal was wonderful. The clam chowder is a must order item. Service was perfect. We will definitely be back when we're in the area. We will tell our friends to visit Berret's when in Williamsburg

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food was good service was a bit slow. Took a long time to get from one part of the meal to the next. It’s spring break though so we knew it would be a wait. But the food was good and it’s a kid friendly place.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Berret’s came highly recommended, so my friends decided to try in when we were in town. Unfortunately, the service was very slow even though we were one of two groups there after 8pm. Even our drinks too forever! The background music was so soft and the place was very quiet- we were almost scared to talk because we would make the only noise!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Delicious seafood offerings nicely prepared. Would definitely eat there our next visit to Colonial Williamsburg. The parchment paper baked seafood is wonderfully tasty. Lots of other fine dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Food great - superb warm pesto crab dip, Caesar salad was light and tasty, crab cakes wonderful, and oysters great. Terrific service. Not too busy due to off season, so had a table next to a fireplace.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Headed to Berret's Seafood Restaurant during a Williamsburg vacation. Good food and terrific service. Nice selection on the menu. We'll definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Josh was the most amazing waiter and Mr. Mahoney is wonderful. The two of them made bacon grits appear from nowhere. It was magic and above and beyond!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Wonderful! Very nice server. She was excellent. Food is delicious. First time I've seen redfish on a menu in this area. Oyster stew is good but only has 4 oysters in it. My husband asked for a couple (2) more oysters. Our server checked with the chef who said we would have to pay double - $24! Seriously!? We're only talking about 2 oysters. Our server worked it out so we only paid $2 for each additional oyster which is more in line with what we have been charged in the past. Maybe the chef didn't understand the request at first?. At $12 for a small bowl, another oyster or two is not a big deal. Creamy broth is a little too spicy/ peppery. I prefer that the oyster flavor stand out more than pepper.
If you go in winter, be sure to bundle up. The restaurant can be a bit drafty & cold. There is a fireplace in the main dining room but it is more decorative unless you're right in front of it.
In the summertime & spring, it is a great place to have drinks and food outside

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 16, 2018

My husband and I were visiting the area and wanted a nice dinner. We regret it. Food was terrible. I had she crab soup which was thick, gummy and down right terrible. My husband had a filet with grilled shrimp - there was no seasoning on anything. It was bland. On a positive note, the drinks were great and the creme brulee was good. But when we were given the receipt that has a non expiring 10% off our next meal, we trashed it. Never again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 13, 2018

The restaurant is in a great location but the food was bland. the staff were friendly and the food presentation was nice but the taste was bland; not at all what I expected for a restaurant in that price range. In the future, I will look for another seafood restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

One of our favorite restaurants. Service is always excellent. Food is well presented and
tasty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The waiter was fine so far as getting things out, etc, but he had the need to announce our food, interrupt us to ask if we needed something. We really wanted quieter service, as in we are conversing, we don’t need you to interrupt at the top of your voice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Went for a birthday celebration and food was fantastic. Exceptional restaurant and we have eaten there numerous times. Always excellent and our “go to “place whenever we are in Williamsburg.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Classic Blue Plate Special & Salmon entrees were superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Loved eating here!! You can’t beat the oysters and the other meal options they have. Great location near Colonial Williamsburg. Large parking lot!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Location, decor, service and food were all perfect for casual dining. The house made fruit cobbler with vanilla ice cream was simply outstanding and the highlight of our dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday dinner at Berret's. The food was outstanding, the quantities more than adequate, and the service was superb. My husband had the rockfish and shrimp special, and I had the crabcakes; the crabcakes were a special treat for me because they were gluten free! We also enjoyed the roasted oysters and beverages at happy hour. Our server was very attentive, but never in the way. We are so glad to have discovered Berret's - we will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
44

Tweets by Berret's Restaurant