Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Berret's Restaurant

Berret's Seafood Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for over 30 years.
Berret's Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please contact Berret's Restaurant directly.

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Berret's Seafood Restaurant is 0pen Daily from 11:30 am to 9:30 pm
Berret's Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through November (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Specials

Happy Oyster Hours

Special valid Oct 5, 2017 - Feb 5, 2018 all week from 11:30 AM - 7:00 PM

25% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Happy Oyster Hours

Special valid Oct 5, 2017 - Feb 5, 2018 all week from 11:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Details

From 11:30 to 7:00, Every day, enjoy Oysters on the Half Shell, raw or roasted for $1 each in the dining room or bar. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 5, 2017 - Feb 5, 2018 all week from 11:30 AM - 7:00 PM.

25% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

25% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on bottled wine only. Not valid with other discounting. Special valid Oct 5, 2017 - Feb 5, 2018 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (36)
Good for a Date (32)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Cozy (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fun (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Romantic (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Live Music (8)
People Watching (8)
Business Meals (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great Beer (7)
Healthy (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Things you want in a great dining experience:
1. Friendly greeting at the door.
2. No waiting
3. Excellent service but not overly in your face
4. Creative selection of freshly prepared food w/ a knowledgeable wait staff
5. Low pressure chill atmosphere
Berret's had the entire package and this is coming from a heavy travel business professional who is in restaurants all the time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

We really enjoyed our meal. Mahi mahi was outstanding along with creamy rice. Large portions so took some home and was too full for dessert but it looked awesome. Will definitely return .

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We had been there for Mother's Day last year and when our anniversary came around this year, we decided to have it there. We knew that they had oysters so we had them as an appetizer. For the entree, we ordered the Red/White/Blue plate of seafood and the steak. Both were very good.
The only mistake we made was in ordering two appetizers, as this prevented us from finishing our meals.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Hands down! Some of the finest food I’ve had. And the staff was terrific. Will definitely go back each and every time we visit Williamsburg.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Soup was great. Oysters Rockefeller was terrible. Asked twice for bread and butter. Had sparkling wine. Waiter not trained on how to open wine. Cork flew into adjoining party’s table. One entree fair. Other entree came out at room temperature at best. Caesar salad presented with a Parmesan crisp that was greasy due to it being under fried. Oyster’s Rockefeller had no taste due to the omission of Pernod and other essentials. It was our anniversary as well and nothing offered except to write me an apology note and send at a later date. Saw 2 mgt. but nothing more offered except to take off the oysters and entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Went on friends recomendation. Will not return. Good adequate. My pork chop was overcooked. My fellow diners thought the food just o.k.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Berrets bloody Mary and she crab soup are amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a great anniversary dinner at Berret's. Contrary to another review I saw, they did see the comment on our reservation that it was our anniversary and our server was sure to wish us a happy one.

Service and food were both great - not just for us, but for the tables behind us. I heard multiple servers having good, friendly dialogued with their tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Sorry, folks, but this Merchant Square restaurant never fails to disappoint me. This was my third attempt there, and we only went there since we couldn’t get in anywhere else. It was a busy weekend. My friends and I were hesitant about what to pick from the menu since previous dishes have been lousy or mediocre. I picked a salmon dish with a crust that was fair. My friend ordered fish and chips thinking it was safe. Th fries were soft, not crisp. So he asked for another order of fries.

Although we asked Nick, our server, to replace the fries, we had to ask several more times. By the time they finally arrived, my friend had finished his fish. So we had to ask repeatedly for a container. Nick should have removed the fish and chips from the check for all those mistakes they made, but he didn’t. All foodies should avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Parking is very challenging. Other than that, we had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great food as usual. This is a must go to place for us when we come to Williamsburg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Ordered She Crab soup and kept biting into pieces of shell. Ordered the herb crusted Salmon with risotto and asparagus. Risotto was not warm at all, but salmon was hot. Wine and service from waiter was good. Having come from D.C. for a mother/daughter trip I was really disappointed with the food. Your place came highly recommended by Fife and Drum where we stayed. When they asked how it was I told them and they were very surprised by our first time experience not being as good as they thought it would be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Best great food in town Try it you will enjoy everything from start to finish

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We went to Berret's on a Saturday night to celebrate a birthday and the experience was wonderful. Our server was friendly and attentive but not annoying. The food was fresh, tasty, and presented in a beautiful fashion. If I were the type to photograph my food this plate would have been worth the effort. I will return to this restaurant the next time I visit Williamsburg. We both ordered the red, white and blue plate and were pleased with the portion size, not too big. The salmon was delicious and the crab cake was one of the best I have had in a long time.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent in every respect. Been there many times over the years and always have had good experiences. First-rate food, really excellent service, not rushed and courses delivered precisely as they should be. The noise level is low; you can have a normal conversation (this applies to the restaurant inside. The Taphouse Grill is more open and a little rowdy as it should be. Often overlooked by locals because of its location in the historic area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Excellent food and service, waitresses helped my wife choose her dinner entrees. Dessert was excellent also

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had a great experience on our recent trip to Williamsburg. It was a perfect evening to dine outside. Nice lighting and live music that was not too loud added to the ambiance. We both ordered specials and were more than pleased with the flavors and generous portion. Service was attentive but not hovering. We would highly recommend and would go back anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent seafood located on Merchants Square, easily walking from Colonial Williamsburg. Nice sit-down dinner with a quick-stop grill attached for outdoor eating on the run.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food was fabulous. The server was professional, nice and there when we needed her.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We were here 2 years ago. I think they have different people in the kitchen. Shrimp had too heavy coating. Presentation of main dish was nice, but flavors were not outstanding as we had in other years. This place was always the first dinner when we visited area-sometimes 2-3 times a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a fantastic meal here over William and Mary parents' weekend. The food was outstanding across the board, and the excellent service from our female server (whose name escapes me) made our experience even more pleasant. My son's tuna arrived a bit rarer than he wanted, but they were quick to correct it so it was cooked perfectly, and the manager came to apologize ensure my son was ultimately happy (which he was!). We sat indoors because we had been out in the heat all day and welcomed the A/C, but they had a very lovely outdoor seating/patio area as well as live music and corn hole games, which would make it a nice place to eat outdoors or go to happy hour. We hope to return the next time we are in Williamsburg!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Seafood is great. Good local place to go. Central location within Williamsburg.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was ridiculously bland/uninspiring. It looked perfectly fine, but had no notable flavor. Our waitress was terrific, and the noise was minimal. But we will not be back...over $100 for dinner for 2... and blah....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Was not pleased with the service, the food, the temperature of the restaurant, the parking.. Traveling from out of state to meet an old friend for Dinner and this was not a good start to the evening..

The spring rolls? Do they come frozen and then fried for customers?? Because thats what they Tasted like. The Barrett special I believe it was called Crab Cake no good, baked imperial no good, fried oysters soggy, the shrimp overcooked.. We both got the same thing and both were exactly the same.. Being a former student at Johnson and Wales University I was extremely disappointed and was just gonna let it go as a bad experience. But then I was asked to take this survey...

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The gluten free options teamed with very well prepared cuisine made it perfect for celebrating my wife's birthday.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The menu really needs an update. The food is not appealing and not even that well prepared. Given its location and theme it could all be better. Sad really that it hasn't been updated in decades.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 12, 2017

She crab soup is wonderful. Reasonable pricing on raw oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Good enough menu to come back a second time. Decent beer selection, pleasant staff.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This restaurant should be on your list if you visit Williamsburg. They are there to really make your evening great, and they are very proud of the service they offer. We will be back when in the area and I will let my friends know about it as well.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The warm crab pesto dip was excellent! I had Shrimp Two Ways and my wife had the Blue Plate Special, both of which were very good. They had no trouble substituting scallops for the shrimp in my wife's dish. Overall a very good meal and would go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We always come to Berrets when visiting from out of town. Although we usually have seafood, our steaks were delicious and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Came recommended and did not disappoint. Would definitely come back here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We visited on a Beautiful Saturday afternoon----three adults and a child. We were impressed with the children's menu, but the service was slow. Three adults enjoyed seafood

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The decor is dated and carpet pulling up at edge of table. The food was sub par, but the service was great. The fried green tomatoes were soggy and not flavorful. The salmon, scallops, and pasta in parchment paper was lacking flavor. However the creme brûlée was to die for! Skip dinner and order dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We went on the recommendation of our hotel comprises concierge and the fantastic reviews. Unfortunately, we were let down. The meal itself was underwhelming - my wife's cream sauce was more like broth and the seasoning was very bland. My Mahi mahi was dry and also relatively tasteless. Our server was a very nice but was not well informed about the menu items. We dine out frequently so our standards may be high, but we felt disappointed in our experience at Berrets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The whole experience was fantastic. We were there on our 42nd anniversary with two old friends.
The food was really good, mostly seafood and the server Emily was great. We were in a small room with four tables by ourselves until two slightly loud guests came in. They did quiet down though.
The only downside was that I figured the tip wrong and did not give the intended 20%, but I will make it up.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

When looking for a great spot as an out of town guest to get your Colonial Williamsburg fix in, then come here. Great location, fun outside vibe one could take in while waiting and the food was delicious!!!! I wish we stayed for dessert because this place was charming, great menu, great value and had that mid-Atlantic flair to their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food, wonderful service. A very relaxing meal after a day of activity.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were celebrating our 50th anniversary and it was our first trip to Berrets. The service was exceptional and our server, Jessica, was very helpful. Her recommendations were great. Our starter, baked brie in a puff pastry with shrimp was outstanding. We tried two of the specials: seafood baked in parchment paper could not have been more scrumptious and the tuna steak was tender and quite large compared to other restaurants. The wine was paired well with the selections. Thanks, Berrets! We will be back. It is worth the drive from Chesapeake.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Celebrated our 10 year anniversary here. It was wonderful. Our server was excellent and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.