About Berret's Restaurant

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Berret's Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for 30 years.
The Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please call us at (757) 253-1847

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Lunch: 11:30am - 3:30pm; Dinner:5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Friday & Saturday: 5:00 p.m.-10 p.m.
Bar open all day serving food and beverages

Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through October (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Promotions

Happy Oyster Hours at Berret's Bar

Special valid Apr 27, 2016 - Jul 1, 2016 all week from 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Oyster Hours at Berret's Bar

Special valid Apr 27, 2016 - Jul 1, 2016 all week from 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
From 3:30 to 7:00, Every evening, enjoy Oysters on the Half Shell, raw or steamed for $1 each in Berret's Bar. Also $1 oysters are available during lunch in the dining room. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 27, 2016 - Jul 1, 2016 all week from 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM.
50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on bottled wine only. Not valid with other discounting. Special valid May 10, 2016 - Sep 10, 2016 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Virginia
Best Overall
Williamsburg
Best Food
Williamsburg
4 More
Best Service
Williamsburg
Best Value
Williamsburg
Fit for Foodies
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg
Best Restaurants in Williamsburg ›

great for outdoor dining (62)
fit for foodies (59)
special occasion (59)
See All
neighborhood gem (57)
great for lunch (46)
good for groups (34)
kid-friendly (27)
romantic (22)
great for brunch (22)
notable wine list (19)
scenic view (11)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Music would be nice

Dined 6 days ago

Music would be nice

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent dinner and service and we will ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent dinner and service and we will be going back . Berrett's has been on my list to try for a while and I'm sorry we didn't try it sooner. Everyone in our party of 4 said their dinner was excellent. A great find!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent menu options and everything at ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent menu options and everything at the table was very well prepared. Good wait staff! Would definitely go and recommend again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places to ea ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to eat in Williamsburg. The menu is varied and unique and the presentation is impressive. Service is great too. The she crab soup is fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food & service!! Flash fried o ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent food & service!! Flash fried oysters appetizer was special; crab cakes are phenomenal

food2
ambience1
service4

Just average experience. Service was goo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Just average experience. Service was good. Food just ok.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I've been to Berret's many times, though ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I've been to Berret's many times, though not recently. The dishes we ordered were uninspired, okay but not great. Blackened Mahi-mahi was served with bechamel sauce that had no flavor, over unseasoned white rice. Fried oysters and fired green tomatoes were heavy on the breading and lacked seasoning.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had been to Barrets before and had won ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I had been to Barrets before and had wonderful experience. Had wonderful evening with friends. Service was great, food fresh and delicious. Would definitely go again.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated on the patio area of the ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

We were seated on the patio area of the restaurant (not the pub area) and it was very quaint and relaxing. There was a corn hole game set up just a few yards away and several children were playing while parents enjoyed the lovely evening. I had the Blue plate that had many types of crab and some fried shrimp/oysters as well. The food was delicious and fresh. The bread was awesome as well. I would recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another perfect meal

Dined on June 8, 2016

Berrets remains our favorite restaurant and last Wednesday's lunch once again showed us why. Great calamari with both tentacles and rings and wonderful dipping sauces, Tommy Leggett oysters, and baked brie in puff pastry with a delightful chutney and grilled shrimp... and everything prepared and served perfectly. Plus a special treat as Wednesdays feature all bottles and half-bottles of wine for half price! Everything was wonderful; we can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good

Dined on June 6, 2016

This is a reliable favorite...good seafood, good outside dining, fun musical evenings outside.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Told they'd sold out of most specials. Skimpy

Dined on June 5, 2016

Waiter said they were slammed. We got very little(5 oysters in my stew). Really dissapointed. Shrimp way overcooked. Waiter and atmosphere was nice though. Unfortunately, the food this night was dissapointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious as I remember from my 2011 vis ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Delicious as I remember from my 2011 visit. Loved being able to sit outside and had beautiful weather.

food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed

Dined on June 3, 2016

The good: Great historic building in central location. Service was friendly and fast. The bad: Calamari was chewy. Overpriced for the quality of food.

food4
ambience4
service5

Very tasty food and excellent service. ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Very tasty food and excellent service. Our waitress (Ali) was very attentive and helpful, and offered excellent service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good experience.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Visited Berret's last year during Memorial Day weekend and earned a return visit. Food was very good, the blackened Mahi perhaps a little too salty, but still very good. There was a large party (6) behind us which was loud. Luckily, they left shortly after we arrived. Poor acoustics in that part of the restaurant appear to be known/addressed; cloth banners hang down across the ceiling. Despite these minor issues, I'd go back and take family and friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Extraordinary oysters! Loved the service ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Extraordinary oysters! Loved the service and quality of food! My first choice in Williamsburg

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great family get together!

Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Never rushed allowing nice rendezvous with family from Richmond area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was delicious and the presentation was exceptional. I had the crab cakes. They were nice and crisp on the outside and moist and tender on be inside. All crab and no fillers. They have a very nice wine list. The atmosphere is quaint and the food elegant. However, you can come as you are, dressy or casual.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

If you like to pay top dollar for fake m ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

If you like to pay top dollar for fake mash potatoes this is your place. We were told this was the best seafood in Williamsburg and if that is true I feel sorry for them. Coming from the SF Bay Area we are spoiled but this place is sad. The service was ok but I also don't like being call "guy" just not a professional way to treat your clients. I would not recommend this to anyone!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service by Erin. Food was delish. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great service by Erin. Food was delish. Only suggestion would be to decrease serving size ( grilled romaine) was huge!!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was very good, apps came out qu ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was very good, apps came out quickly and the raw oysters were fantastic with their signature apple cider vinegar dip.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Local Tradition

Dined on May 18, 2016

This place has become a favorite and is a tradition whenever business takes me to Williamsburg. When we arrive in town on Saturday evening, reservations were all booked up on account of W&M Graduation events, but we were able to get a seat at the adjacent Tap House and ordered great sandwiches. My friends enjoyed the meal so much that we booked reservations for later in the week so that they could sample the complete menu. The seafood and steaks are consistently good, and the menu has enough variety to satisfy all members of a group or family. If we lived locally, this would be one of our "go to" places to entertain guests, as well as a frequent favorite.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious soft shell crabs & for an appe ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Delicious soft shell crabs & for an appetizer had the fried clams and tomatoes. Cozy, pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommend!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Williamsburg was incredibly crowded beca ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Williamsburg was incredibly crowded because of W&M graduation, but they managed to provide excellent seafood with attentive service.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion

Dined on May 14, 2016

From beginning to end our experience at Berret's was excellent: the maître 'd patiently helped us find a table, set up an ice bucket for the champagne we brought, and our waitress was cheerful, solicitous and efficient

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made our 10year anniversary very special!

Dined on May 13, 2016

From the ambience to the food to the wait staff-it was a night to remember!! Loved it!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 19th anniversary with lun ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Celebrated our 19th anniversary with lunch! Excellent food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my mom (and dad) here for a Mothe ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my mom (and dad) here for a Mother's Day lunch and had a great time. The warm friendly staff made us feel welcomed from the get, and we all enjoyed our food immensely. The Crab Cakes are the best in town - ask for Niki:-)

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First time!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have seen Berret's many times, but never actually dined there. We went for Mother's Day. It was a great choice. We will definitely be back. We stuck to the regular menu, but will say the specials looked great too.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Palce for Lunch in Merchant;s Square

Dined on May 8, 2016

We came here for a Mother's Day lunch. Weather was beautiful so we sat outside. The food & the service was very good, There was a musician laying outside which was an unexpected bonus.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were a large group celebrating Mother's Day. Could not have been better, food, drinks and service. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and go back for a romantic dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious and beautifully presented, the service was great. Be sure to sit outside or at a table by a window. Interior tables lack ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for morhers day lunch. We had a reservation and were seated right away. Server was plseant and attentive and the food was awesome! We sat outside on the patio and an acoustic guitar and singing provided beautiul entertainment!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the staff delightful.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant was particularly accommodating given that my husband is on a very salt restricted diet and needed to have his dinners prepared to order. They also did a good job when we had a larger group.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RELIABLY GOOD!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Berrett's is a longtime favorite, with changes in the menu, but unlike some other local eateries, new offerings are different but not strange. Our (reserved) table was ready the instant we arrived, and next to a window, as I'd requested. Food and service were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Williamsburg staple

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food-consistently excellent Service-very attentive but not pushy Price-on the high side but well worth the experience

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Berret's the Best

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

We have visited Williamsburg many times and find Berret's to have the best food and wait-staff of any of the restaurants in Merchant's Square.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood Heaven

Dined on April 25, 2016

The menu was inspiring, the food fresh and delicious. This was a spur of the moment decision that paid of handsomely. I would dine there again when visiting Williamsburg.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

yummy!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was great and it was so nice dining outside on a beautiful day. Nice selection of gluten free choices. I ordered the crab cake sandwich which came with asparagus. I really don't care for asparagus much but the way they made them they were absolutely delicious.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.