Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Berret's Restaurant

Berret's Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for 30 years.
The Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please call us at (757) 253-1847

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Lunch: 11:30am - 3:30pm; Dinner:5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Friday & Saturday: 5:00 p.m.-10 p.m.
Bar open all day serving food and beverages

Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through October (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Cozy (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Casual (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Romantic (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Fireplace (24)
Historic (22)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (14)
Fun (14)
Seasonal (13)
Healthy (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great Beer (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
People Watching (7)
Family Style (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Music (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was very slow, wife and I both had Mai and both got ill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Never disappoints!
We have come here for 30 years and everything is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

My group met there for dinner while at a conference. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was delicious!! They accommodated a food allergy. Great meal!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Very disappointing.
Things started slowly when we had to wait 15 minutes for our reservation. When we were seated the waiter took all most as long to say hello. He the apologized for the kitchen being slow - a large group order was in front. Except that we were seated before the group arrived.

The crab bisque soup had a fishy aroma.

Too close to a college and too many tourists to be a serious restaurant.

Very forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Great seafood. Very short walk from Williamsburg Lodge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We were in williamsburg for a special art exhibit and had been warned that restaurants catered to tourists and, while ok were not exciting or especially good. We chose Berret's because seafood sounded good and we could walk from our B& B. It was a good choice. Not "the meal of a lifetime," but much better than it had to be. Good, fresh seafood (try the oysters Rockefeller for sure), nicely done. Big, not huge, portions, pleasant service.
This is a big restaurant that does a nice job. We'll go again when we're in town.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

From appetizer to dessert, the food and service were amazing!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I had the Shecrab soup. It came lukewarm and a bit salty. Our waiter replaced it. The second bowl was fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

There were a couple bumps in our meal, but issues was handled quickly and professionally. There was a wedding taking place at the same time, so the kitchen was quite busy and the cause of the mistakes understandable. I do not expect perfection when I dine out, but I do expect kind and attentive attention when there is an issue, which Berret's provided. Food was delicious and we would most definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to dine in town. The quality has been consistently high for a number of years

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel staff as the best seafood restaurant. It was very good with fresh seafood, good portion size and fair pricing. I will return and recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

There with friends for lunch after Botticelli exhibit. Easy to get to. Excellent she crab soup as well as green goddess dressing . Niki our server was delightful

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Quiet due to college being out on break! Food was fine, nothing too impressive but good all the same. Service nothing out if the ordinary, the server acted busy but we were her only table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Service here was attentive and consistent. The food varied from very good to lackluster. The crab me and grilled tuna stood out favorably while the Mahi Mahi was a bit tough, probably over cooked. We did not complain, however, when asked how everything was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had an excellent birthday dinner and I had original blue plate which was phenomenal. She crab soup is the star and the whole plate worked well together. My wife had the Rockfish which was also excellent. Service was spot on and I highly recommend this restaurant! Will be back soon!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Was recommended by a coworker and definitely all it was talked up to be. Awesome food and service in a quant setting. Nice fireplace for ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 1, 2017

wonderful service, great selections, great seafood choices, good backround music

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I had the red, white, and blue. The scallops were excellent, beyond expectations. The vegetables were just a tad under cooked, but I do like them a little softer, personally. the salmon was delesious, but after eating the scallops and the crab cake, I took most of it home and had it for lunch the next day. The crabcake was unremarkable, and appeared to be from frozen or processed. For the price, I expected lump crabmeat to be obvious, and it appeared to be a minced blend. The sauce which was served with the dish complemented the seafood and was very nice. While I couldn't put my finger on the ingredients, I really enjoyed it, and wasted not a drop.
My date order the seafood in parchment, and she took her time and enjoyed every bite of it, completely finishing the abundant portion. She had a nice white pinor noir which seemed to complement her meal, and I had the Argintine Malbec, which is one of my favorites, not a usual seafood pairing, but hey, it's what I like.
The service was excellent, the server was new, it was her first day, her lack of knowledge of the menu was made up for by her addendant care, hence our choice of what looked to be the main items on the menu. I was not disapointed. Management followup was appreciated, however, was unneeded. Just knowing that for future visits, management will followup, tells the prospective guest that the owners really care that the experience is the best possible.

Thank you Berrets, it was 2.5 hours of fine food and enjoyable conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I will just be blunt. The service and the quaint atmosphere was the only thing good about this place. My mussels appetizer had at least 7 dead ones and the rest tasted fishy. I was waiting for some kind of neurological disease after eating some of them. I got a plate with salmon, scallops and a crab cake. The salmon had 0 flavor and was slimy, the scallops were also flavorless, both painfully obvious low quality seafood. The worst part was the crab cake. Tasted like cheap crab meat, lots of filler and it was cold. I am used to Maryland crab cakes, if that tells you my standards... but for 30 bucks a plate, it should have come close. Overall, the seafood tasted old and second hand. The wine flight was good but I needed drink multiple glasses to pretend like I was enjoying the meal. My daughter just turned 21 so I didn't want to ruin it by complaining; but I did have them take off the mussels as they were really, really bad. The best part of the plate was the mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts; maybe they should try for vegan food. Never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Very friendly service, food was superb.Plenty of parking spaces available.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I generally love salty foods so when I think the food is almost too salty to eat, it's really really salty. The staff was nice but every dish from the appetizers to the soup to the main course was way too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were in Williamsburg for one night as a quick get away and decided to give Berret's a try for dinner. Despite a reservation for 2 @ 7:30, we still had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated. No big deal but their waiting area is not huge so felt a little cramped. Whole restaurant seems a little chopped up from a room perspective, but once seated we were fine. Our waiter was great - very attentive. We started with the Fried Green Tomato stack. It was good but not great, but perfect for sharing without spoiling your appetite for dinner. My wife got the beef filet with fried oysters (they were huge!) and really enjoyed them. Oysters were really amazing. I had the crab cakes and they were excellent - mostly crab with minimal to no filler. Food and table service were great and would go back despite not having quite the ambience of some of the other area restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good selection and specials. Romantic ambience and in the heart of Williamsburg

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Trip to Williamsburg and wanted to try something new and loved the selection and ambiance of Berret's. Food was outstanding. Will dine again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food--a restaurante is all about the food and Berret's food was delicious! Service was attentive but not intrusive. Portions were, well we all thought we would have some to take home, but it was so darn good, we all cleaned our plates.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food is average and not worth the price charged. The best part of my meal was the Caesar's salad. I was disappointed in the blue plate seafood platter which was their signature dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our first full day as man and wife and Berrets really served us a special dinner. Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great seafood with wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Seriously surprised by the excellence of the food at this little restaurant! We had chosen it based on the reviews of the food and it did not disappoint! The decor and ambiance weren't nearly as special as the meal itself and the excellent service provided by our knowledgeable server, Amy. As this was Valentine's Day, there was a special menu which included a really special cocktail for me and a great entree for my husband--blackened ribeye topped with spicy (but not too!) fried oysters, over risotto with asparagus. I had the "Blue Plate Special," which involved a lot of fresh crabmeat--all good, but the she-crab soup was made even more special by Amy's addition of sherry tableside. I have wished for this addition many times, but never seen it done. The special dessert was "Sticky Bun Cake." Think warm, cake-shaped sticky bun bread pudding, topped with vanilla ice cream and warm caramel sauce...We are still full two hours later. The fact that the place was completely full the entire time we were there testifies to its quality. Seriously delicious!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was good, but the seating being was really tight. You could hear every word from the tables around you. The food was OK, and it was served hot which is good!

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was delicious and was far above expectations. Our server Amy was very engaging and attentive. I would certainly recommend Berret's for their seafood. We are new to the area and have been there three times - each was a treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful Valentines Day dinner. Great food, lovely atmosphere. Service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We came here for our Valentine's Day date and it was our first time eating here. I ordered the filet mignon which came with mashed potatoes and mixed veggies. My steak was fairly undercooked and sent it back, the manager brought it out, apologized for the mistake and said dessert would be on them. My steak came back and was cooked just how I had ordered it and was very tender. The potatoes had a strange after taste and just weren't anything spectacular. My husband got the red white and blue plate which had a variety of seafood on it, it also came with mashed potatoes and veggies. He said it was very good. Our dessert we shared an apple raspberry cobbler skillet which was topped with vanilla ice cream, hands down favorite part of the meal; I would definitely order dessert every time! The waiter and hostess were both very friendly. Overall for the price I thought it was just ok, but had a decent first time experience. Special occasions only type of place for our liking.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went for a pre-Valenine's Day outing. Food was excellent as was the service. My wife and I have never been disappointed at Berret's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous service and food that was just as good, been there before and will go again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Lovely friendly greeting upon entering; warm inviting decor including faux-fireplace in rear, large dining room. BEAUTIFULLY presented and superbly delicious food. The Original Blue Plate and Red, White & Blue Plate Specials are precisely cooked, served piping hot, and are hugely proportioned. Service was appropriately attentive. Great find in Historic Williamsburg!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good atmosphere, service, and food was great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent restaurant with great original meals. Does not taste like a chain.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food and service are wonderful. Look forward to going again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The restaurant was having heating problems, which they did not tell us about when we arrived, we were with my 92 year old mother, so this greatly impacted our experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.