Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Berret's Restaurant

Berret's Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for 30 years.
The Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please call us at (757) 253-1847

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Lunch: 11:30am - 3:30pm; Dinner:5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Friday & Saturday: 5:00 p.m.-10 p.m.
Bar open all day serving food and beverages

Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through October (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Casual (31)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Cozy (27)
Romantic (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Historic (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Business Meals (15)
Fireplace (14)
Authentic (13)
Fun (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Family Style (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great Beer (10)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Music (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Highly recommend for those who like seafood. I have to say it has been a while since I had seafood this good in a while!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

The bartender needs to learn how to make basic drinks like a dacquiri and the kitchen needs to be able to accommodate large groups that come at the same time as tables of 1 - 4. I am a regular and this was not a good night for them.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We took guests from out of town and they loved the food. The bar tender and the waiter were very good and explained everything

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent dinner. Service was a little slow for an early dinner but could have been a new waiter. Food is always good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Oysters were good. Entrees (Caesar salad with grilled shrimp and seared tuna) we're very ordinary. Not great value for price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food, cull of different flavors. Must be chef made!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent meal after a day at Busch Gardens with the kids. If you are gluten free be sure to ask for the GF menu-lump GF Crabcakes were delicious and beautifully presented.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Berrets is a very nice, casual restaurant. A lot of the restaurants in and around Williamsburg do not open for dinner until 5:00 pm. We had mad a reservation for 5:00, but after touring around the Colonial City for several hours in the heat, we were done by 4:00 and needed to stop, have a daring, and eat dinner.
The lovely hostess seated us early. Tom was our server. He was just great. Professional, yet friendly and personable. We enjoyed our meals and our very crisp and cold Chardonnay.
I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a nice restaurant in the heart of Williamsburg. The food was good--not life changing but quite good--and the service was attentive and pleasant. I started with six local oysters for $1 apiece. They were tasty although a bit skimpy and I did have to pick out pieces of shell--but the price was great. The seafood combo was fresh, nicely prepared and plentiful. The veggies, asparagus and carrots, were also very fresh--a real positive.

I thought the drinks were watery and weak, and this is a family place in a tourist area, so expect kids and a fair amount of noise, but overall this is a good choice in the historic area. Despite the bargain oysters, the prices are mid range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Friendly greeting upon arrival, special hello from the manager, who also later visited us at our table. Our server, Becka, was terrific in her role. And the food was very tasty. The food is a little high priced, but for a special occasion, it is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

When we are in Williamsburg we alway eat at Berret's. I really like the seafood. The food is always well prepared and never 'overdone'

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was unbelievable! I wish we didn't "save" it as our last meal on our vacation, otherwise we would have eaten there every day! Our meals were full of flavor, perfectly cooked fish, and a hearty portion. Highly recommend!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Unfortunately, we had to wait over an hour for our entrees. The manager came out and apologized and took our 2 glasses of wine off the bill, which was a nice gesture. As for the food, the crab cakes were bland. Waiter was also very apologetic which we did appreciate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We finally were successful in getting a reservation and now we know what all the fuss is about! Our meals were all terrific (and we are all seafood snobs!) - my tuna was outstanding. I was hesitant to order it since so many restaurants botch it but Berrets got it right. And the service was great as well. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Berret's Restaurant in Wmsburg had a good restaurant feel and great food.Evening dining best with reservations to be inside. Service was excellent in a pleasing atmosphere. We go every time we are in the area.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Pleased with ambience. Located across from W&M, great location with easy parking. Food was average. Portions small. Service ok. Kid friendly.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

While recently on a field trip with my fourth graders, I booked lunch reservations at Berrets. I prepared my students for the formality of the location and prayed that things would go well. I might add that this is one of my favorite romantic spots to head with my husband whenever we are in town. My server and her trainee treated us as if we were any other customer and my students as if they were adults. She made sure the trainee followed all proper protocol and the service was impeccable! Thank you so much for giving my students a wonderful memory and I will continue to sing your praises! (P.s. The crab dip is amazing!)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Healthy, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our family of 4 with two teenagers was visiting Williamsburg this week for Spring break and made an advanced reservation. Highly recommended as people without had over an hour wait. Our server was super sweet, but took 20 minutes to get our drinks to us. She said they couldn't find the hard cider we ordered. Long story short, all 4 meals were beyond fabulous, but food took too long for our liking. Each meal feeds two, or provides a second leftover meal. Dessert of blackberry pear cobbler was divine. Price was more a $$$$ in my book, but from what I recall listed as $$$. Dinner for 4 came to $200. Would still recommend as I imagine it was just a busy night and wait is not commonplace, or ratings wouldn't be so high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Historic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were visiting Williamsburg and found this gem on Open Table. Booked simply due to having an open reservation time. So happy it worked in our favor. Outdoor dinning, fantastic apps (best calamari we had). If I could I would rate a 4.5 overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It is impossible not to return to Berret's when in Williamsburg VA. The athmosphere is extremely relaxing, the food is amazing, service is high class, wine selection fantastic. Appetizers, main courses, desserts.... all delicious. Thank you for making our evening, yet again, memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Another birthday and Berret's didn't let us down. Wonderful calamari with both sauces beyond excellent, followed by delicious James River oysters. Then crabcakes for me which were outstanding. They were served with perfectly cooked asparagus and Berret's superb goat cheese and bacon grits. Hubby had brie in puff pastry with grilled shrimp, a favorite of his there. Having said that I realize that there are no un-favorites on the menu! The restaurant was very busy but we asked for a slow leisurely lunch and our waiter paced the meal to perfection. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food and service. Would be even better with kid activities/coloring with menu. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food is always exceptional at Berret's. The wait staff is friendly and attentive. We come back to Williamsburg several times a year and always include a meal at Berret's during our visit.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always a favorite place to eat before theatre. Food is outstanding and servers are polite, knowledgeable and friendly. Like the open table experience. Enjoy eating outside once it gets warmer. Seafood is fresh and coupled with different veggies. Best cream of crab soup. Deserts are excellent so save room. Manager always stops to make sure everything is satisfactory. It's a go to restaurant.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our table was ready right on time and our wait staff was amazing. The food was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Have seen reviews complaining about the noise. Sitting outside this is not a problem. We would not have know a family with little kids we're sitting 2 tables away. Would suggest serving bread. We had to ask for it for the broth in the mussels appetizer ( which was delicious). What update absolutely come back. Ambiance would have been a five if my table didn't rock.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I remembered Berret's from a visit to Williamsburg a year prior -- and remembered the exact dish I had at that time, which I ordered again (seafood in parchment paper). It was as delicious as I remembered. The fried oysters were also fabulous, as was the lemon glazed cake (huge and shareable). One of my friends had the gluten free crab cakes and said they were the best crab cakes she ever had (and she is no stranger to crab cakes, having grown up in Maryland). All the food was delicious and the service was friendly and timely. I loved it so much I went back the day before returning home (was in Williamsburg for several days) and had yet another seafood in parchment (the tasty mushroom butter it's cooked in adds incredible flavor to the seafood). Another unique favorite at Berret's is the Almond Pear Martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food, superb service, and pleasant surrondings, a good reliable find in Williamsburg

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We went for lunch on a rainy, Spring day and it was perfect. In the middle of the colonial area with good, basic food at reasonable prices. It was quite noisy, as the walls echo everything, but that was our only negative thought. Service was attentive, I should add.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Went to celebrate for my husband's birthday with out of town guests. Had a nice quiet place for the four of us to chat. We are locals and bring company here to have some local fare. We have not been disappointed yet.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The food was warm when served and too expensive for what we got as compared to other restaurants, the menu did not offer a good fish sandwich or entrée, flounder is a favorite with almost everyone and your menu did not offer that, since your restaurant is advertised as a seafood restaurant the menu did not offer enough choices...........................

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Ordered daily special seafood trio. Fabulous preparation,presentation and taste. Accompanying vegetables were excellent and perfect compliment to entree. Took leftovers home to enjoy again.
Never disappointed when dining at Berret's.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was our first visit to this lovely restaurant and was prefaced by recommendations from other travelers and by our AAA Tour Book for the area. All of which gave glowing reviews. We will add to these by stating that the food and services provided were excellent and we will eat there again should we be in the area.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The bar is tiny, but the food is amazing. Their seafood dish cooked in parchment is highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food and service! Seafood was fresh, prepared and presented nicely by a great server.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Molly our server did the best she could to be attentive given her responsibility with many tables. We sat out on the patio this time and sooooo enjoyed munching on the best James and York River raw oysters. I have to say it was my first time trying out the French Onion Soup...OMGoodness Outrageously Awesome!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wanted seafood on last night in Williamsburg . In town attending conference. Have eaten here before and never disappointed. Enjoyed a local craft beer along with a seafood trio day special. Included oysters that melted in my mouth, shrimp and tuna. Preparation highlighted the flavor of the tuna. Served over rice and veggies. Would recommend highly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We go to Berret's every time we're in Williamsburg. My husband LOVES the she crab soup. The food is always beautifully presented and delicious. Service is great, too. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Service was very slow, wife and I both had Mai and both got ill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Never disappoints!
We have come here for 30 years and everything is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.