Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Berret's Restaurant

Berret's Seafood Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for over 30 years.
Berret's Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please contact Berret's Restaurant directly.

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Berret's Seafood Restaurant is 0pen Daily from 11:30 am to 9:30 pm
Berret's Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through November (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Cozy (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fun (17)
Great for Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Business Meals (13)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (13)
Seasonal (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Bar Seating (11)
People Watching (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Live Music (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Scenic View (6)
Historic (5)
Great Beer (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Great dinner! And service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good, served hot and in a timely fashion. Bread, made on premises, was exceptional. Very enjoyable time, with pleasant service. A bit pricey, but I knew that going in.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

My lovely wife and I dined at Berret's while in Williamsburg to celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary, something we have done several times before, and just as before, our dinner was WONDERFUL from start to finish. My wife had the crab cakes, which she characterized as "yummy" (her highest complement). I had the Country Brown Sugar & Bourbon-Crusted Mahi-Mahi Fillet with goat cheese-bacon grits, asparagus, and bacon-onion marmalade, which I have to say may be the best seafood dish ever! Desserts (bread pudding for her and ultimate brownie - to die for! - for me) were equally superb, and we were even presented a small bottle of champagne for our anniversary. Our server was terrific, and the ambiance of the indoor back room was very pleasant. All in all a wonderful evening. Many thanks to Berret's for continuing to make our anniversary special for us! See you again next time we are in Williamsburg!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Celebrating our anniversary with my family was delightful here at Berrets. They even gave us a small bottle of champagne. The staff was stellar. It was quiet so we could talk and relax. I think I have made a new find. Oh, and they give you 10% off of your next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great food with excellent service! Will certainly return next time I am in Williamsburg !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great ambiensnce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 10, 2017

One of the best seafood restaurants in town. The selection was good without being overwhelming. The seafood was fresh and prepared just as we liked it. And the children's menu was excellent. All in all a good choice in Williamsburg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent meal for me and my family. I had an entree that would stack up to any fine dining restaurant while my kids loved their meals. I would go back with either adult friends or my family in a heartbeat. Restaurant had a great vibe with an energetic wait staff as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great $1.00 oysters happy hour which lasted till 7:00. Outside seating was wonderful....waitress very helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Good food, great service, pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Berret's Seafood is located near "Confusion Corner" in the Burg and has ample parking. My dinner reservation was for 7:00 PM. Despite the busy hour, my guest and I were seated within five minutes. The waiter, Joshua, was extremely attentive and offered great suggestions for cocktails and the meal. The Berret Bloody Mary was spicy and outstanding. For dinner, I had the soft shell crab special and my guest had shrimp two ways. Both meals were prepared and presented perfectly, and accompanied by excellent side dishes. The local chardonnay (made in Williamsburg, VA) was superb and defied my expectations. Unfortunately, I had no room for dessert, although they appeared enticing. I will surely dine at Berret's Seafood on my next visit to the Colonial Capital and also will remember to save room for dessert! This restaurant is truly a tidewater Virginia gem...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a very grand and amazing meal tonight at Barrett's. the meal was delicious... the wine was delectable...dessert was fabulous. I recommend this place to anyone who craves a restaurant who can pay attention to detail. The big surprise was when we mentioned it was our anniversary, they gave us a small present---champagne bottle!! Who does this??? Berrett's does!! Amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We enjoyed family dinner here. We dined outside and the weather was perfect. We were able to enjoy the live music, a bit removed, so it provided a nice background for conversation. The food was well-prepared and presented and most importantly: delicious! Our server was attentive but not intrusive. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was wonderful! They offered gluten free crab cakes. My daughter, who has Celiac Disease, just loved them and all the other GF offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Very nice location in old Williamsburg! Good food and great service at reasonable rates. It is a cool relief from a hot day, a nice place for wine and oysters on the halfshell.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Berret's never disappoints me, we had an outstanding dinner! I suggest the crab dip and the blue plate! PS forty minutes cobbler ordered in the beginning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The service was great, the food was only ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2017

You can count on this restaurant for a consistently excellent meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great food, great service. They went above and beyond for my wife on her birthday. I had requested fresh flowers and they were on the table when we were sat. A++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

parchment salmon was okay but needed more vegetables and herbs for flavor. Cobbler for dessert was terrific.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

My boyfriend and I were at the beach for our one year of dating. We do not at all regret choosing this restaurant for our last because we enjoyed our delicious seafood! The music, service, food, and company was spectacular! Hope to back again in the future!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very good seafood restaurant. Raw oysters were fresh and reasonably priced. One of the best seafood platters that I have had in years. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful restaurant to celebrate our grandson's 18th birthday! Every food item from cream of crab, Red, White & Blue seafood plate & kalua cheesecake and peach cobbler were DELICIOUS!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everytime we come to Williamsburg VA we eat at Berrets. What a great treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with excellent food and service. Josh, our server, was fantastic!! Make a point of stopping there.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Overall, excellent food and very attentive service that was helpful in choosing dishes. We enjoyed appetizers of oysters on half shell and green fried tomatoes that were great. For dinner, I had the mahi mahi that was very tasty, though a lot of food; it was shared by the table. Others at our table had the parchment paper dish and Blue plate, all of which were said to be excellent. We all split a cheesecake dessert that was very tasty. Sat inside due to long wait for outside table, but was still very nice and not too loud. Would recommend for great seafood and a decent price considering the location.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great wait staff..Laura did great...loved the brei starter...the seafood pasta was amazing with a delicious broth..
Wife had salmon and scallops in parchment...loved it


Ample portions...fast service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My entree was terrific and everyone else enjoyed theirs. Service friendly, personable and attentive

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The calamari was delish! And, the chickpea manicotti, which doesn't sound that appealing was so good!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had a nice meal, food was presented well. Waiter was very good, it was a bit loud but that is the type of place Berret's is. Overall very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great seafood within walking distance of the Colonial Williamsburg lodgings. Our family recently had a special pre-fireworks dinner on July 4. Service was great. Food was excellent. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We were here on vacation and by far it was the best place we ate. They had a great seafood menu and the service was great!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This was our first time . I was very good for a causal dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Zero wait time for table. Oysters were exceptional. Large wine list. Outdoor seating is great on nice nights Was able to accommodate large parties. Child friendly. Easy walk to colonial Williamsburg. Would definitely go back to this place. Everything was great!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This was a terrific find during 4th of July celebrations. The drink of the day was AMAZING! The food was fabulous!! I had the mahi with brown sugar--soooo good!! And that is coming from someone who lives in Hawaii and has mahi all the time!! The deserts were fantastic also. Granddaughter had the brownie--which was more like a dark chocolate cream bar. I had the cobbler and it was also great. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Visited Williamburg for a long weekend - very happy with our choice of restaurants - both food & service were excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Much improved food and service since last visit. Bar still a bit weak. Nice overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food. Definitely worth a visit if you are ever in the Williamsburg area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very good for the most part, I think the crab cakes could use some work but everything else was excellent. We both had the blue plate, was very good. If I'm in the area again I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.