About Berret's Restaurant

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Berret's Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for 30 years.
The Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please call us at (757) 253-1847

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Lunch: 11:30am - 3:30pm; Dinner:5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Friday & Saturday: 5:00 p.m.-10 p.m.
Bar open all day serving food and beverages

Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through October (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring out the end of 2016 at Berret's. Taking reservations until 9:30 pm.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Williamsburg
Best Food
Williamsburg
Best Service
Williamsburg
2 More
Best Value
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg
Best Restaurants in Williamsburg ›

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
See All
Casual (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (19)
Fun (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Authentic (14)
Seasonal (14)
Romantic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Historic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Healthy (11)
Fireplace (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Live Music (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Family Style (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Recommended Barret's to friends visiting ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Recommended Barret's to friends visiting Williamsburg from Texas and drove from Richmond to meet them. They were so impressed with everything that they plan to return for dinner before they go home!

I have eaten here many times and have always had delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner was perfect. The parchment s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Our dinner was perfect. The parchment special was most enjoyable and topping it off we ordered the warm cobbler with vanilla ice cream. The online reservation service made it easy to get a reservation too. Please take advantage of that option!@

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience and delicious foo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

A wonderful experience and delicious food. Will definitely recommend and return

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food!

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family of 6 had a great dinner last ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our family of 6 had a great dinner last Saturday evening -- wide variety to choose from and the best She crab soup we've ever had. Great server, food was excellent -- we'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced 1980's style seafood. A plate ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overpriced 1980's style seafood. A plate with rubbery shrimp and scallops on a bowl filled with mashed potatoes and a gummy concoction deemed chowder. Bread that had no flavor served with bland olive oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Wonderful seafood at a great price. Larg ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful seafood at a great price.

Large servings took a doggy bag home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very accommodating staff and reasonable ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very accommodating staff and reasonable price for the taste quality of food. I would advise that persons with disabilities make a reservation and ask for accessible tables. The entry is very narrow and would be difficult for wheelchairs.

Also no vegan options other than 1 modified salad so be warned.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good oysters. Slow and indifferent serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good oysters. Slow and indifferent service. I definitely expected better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Despite making a reservation, we still h ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Despite making a reservation, we still had to wait about 30 minutes for our table. It was very busy, day after Thanksgiving. Dining room was very full and they had a fire going so it was quite warm. Food and service was incredible! Drinks were great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food and service! Eaten here se ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fabulous food and service! Eaten here several times for lunch and dinner and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. The food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. The food was excellent, and service exceptional! Great time was had by all!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely dinner ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely dinner at Berretts on Thanksgiving. A traditional turkey dinner was on the menu and it was very good. The service was excellent. We think the costs are very reasonable, making Berretts a great value.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for Thanksgiving lunch, the food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving lunch, the food was displayed creatively, and delicious as well. The staff and waiter were friendly and attentive. This was the first time we went, we will probably go back again sometime in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As new empty nesters, we treated ourselv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

As new empty nesters, we treated ourselves to Berret's for Thanksgiving. Our food was absolutely delicious. The location of our reserved table was disappointing. I felt like we were sitting in a closet. We could see the fireplace in the next room and were jealous of the atmosphere. Other than that, it was nice.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I have been to Colonial Williamsburg ma ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I have been to Colonial Williamsburg many times, but never before noticed Berret's because, while it is in the Market Square area, it is located on Francis Street, one block over from the main street, Duke of Gloucester. Berret's specializes in fish/seafood dishes, but offers a completed menu. I had the broiled Cod with Crawfish sauce. My Wife had a Shrimp dish. Both where excellent. Berret's has a large outdoor bar and seating area, which looked very inviting. However, as it was late November, the outdoor area was closed until spring. I will definitely try it, if I am in Colonial Williamsburg again in better weather.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good we took another c ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was very good we took another couple, their first time at Berret's, for Sunday brunch. They seemed to enjoy the food. It began with their wonderful cinnamon rolls. We ordered the cheese appetizer it was okay but not great. Two of us ordered the brunch dishes which were very good, the omelet and the crab cake with poached egg. The other two ordered off the lunch menu which was also very good. We all enjoyed our deserts. The one major complaint we all had is that we felt as though we were cramped like sardines in can. The tables are tiny and there is NO room to relax and enjoy your meal. Makes the dining experience uncomfortable.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I have been to Barret's. The food is exc ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have been to Barret's. The food is excellent which complements their wine list. I would recommend this dinning experience to anyone looking for good brunch, dinner or wine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always food is great! I always enjoy ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

As always food is great! I always enjoy my experience at Berret's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was fabulous. Food fabulous. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our waiter was fabulous. Food fabulous. One of my favourites when visiting wb. Had to send steak back and when it came back (long time), veges were not hot. Steak was delicious. Hostess was lovely. One of THE best places in wb. My friends loved oysters and brie wit cutey was so yummy. Thank you! Did I mention that waiter was charming?

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly service, very enjoyable for a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Friendly service, very enjoyable for a friends get toegther.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed delicious seafood here while ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We enjoyed delicious seafood here while on a short trip to Williamsburg. Service was good, atmosphere was sophisticated, seafood was fresh! Just what we wanted!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday Breakfast specials and wond ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great Sunday Breakfast specials and wonderful sticky buns.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great, atmosp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and service were great, atmosphere a very tired 60'S style, track lighting glaring, not warm and inviting, maybe ok during day hours but not good evening atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

We often dine here when visiting William ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We often dine here when visiting Williamsburg. Food is consistently high quality and prepared well. We are never unhappy with our food. The She Crab soup is delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zak was our waiter and he was fantastic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Zak was our waiter and he was fantastic ..................................................................................

50 characters is always not necessary

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Outside seating is magical. Great seafoo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Outside seating is magical. Great seafood. Lots of fun for a group sharing oysters shrimp and other platters of apps. One of our favorite places when visiting Williamsburg.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience. However, seafood sampl ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Good experience. However, seafood sampler appetizer to share for $15 was smaller than expected. More calamari would improve the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious. We were visiting ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was delicious. We were visiting William and Mary and this was the perfect place to come to after a long day of walking around and being in the car. The food was wonderful and the service was first rate. I would definitely come again and recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was ok, but it took forever to get ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was ok, but it took forever to get it. Not sure if it was just an off day for the kitchen or what. Lunch shouldn't take an hour and a half.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Another wonderful lunch at Berret's. Pe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Another wonderful lunch at Berret's. Perfect martinis accompanied our appetizer which was, as usual, their calamari that is by far the best around and ranks in the top three of any we've had anywhere. It's served with 2 fabulous dipping sauces. Heaven. Next two types of roasted oysters on the half-shell, Tommy Leggett oysters from the York River and also oysters from the James River. They were both terrific and it was fun to compare the two. And I can't say enough about the delicious sweet potato ravioli with asparagus and sage cream. It was an incredible entree; just writing about it makes me want to have some more of it right now. Another absolutely perfect dining experience at our favorite restaurant. How we wish it wasn't 40 minutes from home!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the seafood in parchment menu item ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Loved the seafood in parchment menu item!!! Excellent value on Wed with half priced wine bottles

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great seafood choices on the menu, food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great seafood choices on the menu, food was prepared perfect and presentation and taste were equally great, low noise, waiter was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A solid recommendation. It is one of our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A solid recommendation. It is one of our go to restaurants when in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent spot for seafood, recommend th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent spot for seafood, recommend the poarchment bake, very well done.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing service! Wine was excellent and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Amazing service! Wine was excellent and the bottle was half price. Been here many times and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed dining at Berret's while visitin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Enjoyed dining at Berret's while visiting family in Williamsburg. Sunday brunch sitting outside with a wonderful musician playing provided a wonderful ambiance. The she-crab soup was excellent. The Brie puff pastry with shrimp and chutney would have been much better if the pastry was fully cooked. Service was great. Overall. We enjoyed it and would return again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service! We sat out ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fantastic food and service! We sat outside and was a perfect day combined with a perfect dining experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon was cooked nicely, not dry bu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The salmon was cooked nicely, not dry but not much much taste. Rockfish was dry and rice over cooked, no sauce.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Servers were great. Food very wholesome ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Servers were great. Food very wholesome fresh. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.