Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Berret's Restaurant

Berret's Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for 30 years.
The Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please call us at (757) 253-1847

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Lunch: 11:30am - 3:30pm; Dinner:5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Friday & Saturday: 5:00 p.m.-10 p.m.
Bar open all day serving food and beverages

Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through October (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Casual (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Cozy (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Historic (23)
Romantic (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Business Meals (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Fun (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Family Style (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (12)
People Watching (12)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Seasonal (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great Beer (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fireplace (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Scenic View (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Live Music (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

15th Anniversary. Came for the 1st time on our wedding night. Always a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Have been there several times over the years. They are consistently good! Excellent specials, great place for local seafood (like oysters) and steaks. Family friendly, nice outside dining area. Always excellent service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first dining experience in. Williamsburg a did not disappoint
Friendly service and ex cellent food
We hit reduce d price bubbly night which was a bonus

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

First place we visit whenever we come to Williamsburg. She crab soup is the best around.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Returned to Berret's after a fabulous visit in February. It is just a marvelous dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

For a last minute choice we were so glad we chose this. The food was very good and the service was even better. We had some questions about choices on the menu and the relative new waitress didn't know the answers but was so good she immediately got the answers for us. Just the way it should be. We would go back any time we were in Williamsburg.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If it wasnt for my wife wanting to try the restaurant, I would have been happy spending my money at another place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Shrimp was under cooked. Mashed potatoes were hard as a brick. Service was ok. When we mentioned our meal to the waitress, she did not have any reply?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved the salmon! Great service even though it was a busy Mothers' Day weekend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great Mother's Day brunch there last weekend. This was a busy day but the food was very good and the service was excellent! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Berret's is consistently a great place for a special meal. It has wonderful ambiance, excellent food and prompt, attentive service. Nice to have the option of casual dining in the tap house as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were visiting from Washington, D.C. for a weekend getaway that happened to fall on William & Mary graduation weekend, as well. They were very flexible with our reservation even though they were busy; since we were traveling in that day, our arrival times kept changing with the traffic. Our server was a delight and couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Everything she recommended was amazing. We had the appetizer sampler to share, which was just enough to not be full before the entrees. We had the two seafood daily specials, followed by cobbler for dessert. Again, everything was amazing. Couldn't have asked for a better start to the weekend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was excellent. The crab cakes were excellent but the shrimp and swordfish was bland. Each visit the story is the same: excellent personnel and service but the food doesn't quite make it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 11, 2017

What we like about Barrett's is that it is a sure thing. We can count on good service and good food no matter what is going on in and around the busy place of CW. Once again, Barrett's came through for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food and impeccable service. We were made to feel as if we were important to them. Great menu selections.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Berret's was a fine experience from the moment we arrived. We were greeted warmly by the hostess and waitstaff. Our guests' questions were answered clearly and the server explained differences between the evening's specials and standard menu items. This was our first visit and it was delightful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful food. Great service. Jasmine, our server was very attentive and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Probably the best food served in a restaurant in Williamsburg, both seafood, including fresh oysters (not cheap) and meat. For two people, we were given the smallest table of the restaurant and it was a little uncomfortable, but place was fully booked that night and we were happy to be seated. And service by Jasmine was well-timed and excellent. Nice decor and ambiance too.

Tags: Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Rushed and lackluster service with food that was either from the fryer, frozen or both. Even the one piece of bread given at the beginning of the meal was stale.

On the upside, the espresso wasn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Dingy & old inside- desperately needs to be renovated. Food was not high quality & great as it should be when paying $30 some a plate. Even the kids meal mac & cheese was bland - my child has never complained about any type of mac & cheese nor left it on her plate. The only recommendation I can give is to eat outside, listen to the music, & order casual fare/beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Such a cute spot ! Service and food were both excellent !!! We were visiting from California and took a chance on an unknown and we felt very lucky to have found Berrets!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Enjoyed Barret's much - location was great, good food and would highly recommend. Our waiter was knowledgeable, and knew the menu well. They deserve the good reviews.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great she-crab soup, decent wine list without being overwhelming. We sat out on the patio, pleasantly shaded.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Perfect place for outdoor dining at lunchtime in nice weather

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were in town on vacation and it had a good buzz at lunch when we rove by. We made a reservation and had a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very good. Loved the chocolate molten cake dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Restaurant was ok. Service was terrible. Ordered dinner for 3 got 2 meals. Server said he thought we were sharing the same meal. Although, if we were, they didn't bring a plate for sharing. My husband had 2 wait 20 minutes for his meal. We were compted for his dinner but I would never return. My meal was supposed to have risoto and I got mashed potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food. The fish was very fresh and delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Nice place, clean& quiet...waiter very friendly and polite - kitchen took a very long time to bring out any food ( cup of soup and 1/2 dozen raw oysters ), almost 25 minutes.

We were both very hungry (sat at 2:05, ordered at 2:13 but no food until 2:35) so seemed like a long time - we were eating trail mix my wife had in her purse

I would recommend the place, very clean, food good, price ok

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We always enjoy Barret's and their Yorktown restaurant as well. Seafood is good quality and well prepared and the salads are fresh an crisp. Martinis not bad either :).

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Service was very good. Cocktails were good. Food was just okay. Mussels were very good. Oysters tasted good, but shucking skills need improvement. Filet was a big disappointment , it was served on top of "bottled barbecue sauce". Crab cake was very bland and dry. Crab imperial was mushy with ok taste. Fried shrimp was good, fried oysters were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great lunch. Salad was fresh and the dressing was a house made green goddess. Offered fish fillet on the salad, too. Nice lunch, good, unique choices which were interesting and not run of the mill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Blue plate was great Fish special was Mahi and it was delicious Filet was not

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

All of the wait staff was very attentive. The menu presented a range of options from light to substantial portions of carefully prepared dishes. The lump crab cakes were outstanding. The calamari, scallops and salmon were cooked to perfection. Visiting from out of state we have eaten at Berret's twice in the last week and have planned a third dinner reservation before we return home.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Any time is a good time to go. Brunch may be my favorite.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Arrived early due to inclement weather but was seated in a few minutes. Food was excellent, service was great. Will come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very tasty crab cakes with special grits. Quick and efficient service. Enjoyable!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Highly recommend for those who like seafood. I have to say it has been a while since I had seafood this good in a while!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The bartender needs to learn how to make basic drinks like a dacquiri and the kitchen needs to be able to accommodate large groups that come at the same time as tables of 1 - 4. I am a regular and this was not a good night for them.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We took guests from out of town and they loved the food. The bar tender and the waiter were very good and explained everything

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.