About Berret's Restaurant

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Berret's Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for 30 years.
The Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please call us at (757) 253-1847

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Lunch: 11:30am - 3:30pm; Dinner:5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Friday & Saturday: 5:00 p.m.-10 p.m.
Bar open all day serving food and beverages

Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through October (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Cozy (38)
Casual (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Fireplace (22)
Romantic (21)
Historic (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Authentic (17)
Fun (17)
Business Meals (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Seasonal (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Healthy (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Family Style (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
People Watching (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Great Beer (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Music (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good selection and specials. Romantic am ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Good selection and specials. Romantic ambience and in the heart of Williamsburg

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trip to Williamsburg and wanted to try s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Trip to Williamsburg and wanted to try something new and loved the selection and ambiance of Berret's. Food was outstanding. Will dine again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food--a restaurante is all about the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

The food--a restaurante is all about the food and Berret's food was delicious! Service was attentive but not intrusive. Portions were, well we all thought we would have some to take home, but it was so darn good, we all cleaned our plates.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is average and not worth the pr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is average and not worth the price charged. The best part of my meal was the Caesar's salad. I was disappointed in the blue plate seafood platter which was their signature dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Our first full day as man and wife and B ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first full day as man and wife and Berrets really served us a special dinner. Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great seafood with wonderful service.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Great seafood with wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seriously surprised by the excellence of ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

Seriously surprised by the excellence of the food at this little restaurant! We had chosen it based on the reviews of the food and it did not disappoint! The decor and ambiance weren't nearly as special as the meal itself and the excellent service provided by our knowledgeable server, Amy. As this was Valentine's Day, there was a special menu which included a really special cocktail for me and a great entree for my husband--blackened ribeye topped with spicy (but not too!) fried oysters, over risotto with asparagus. I had the "Blue Plate Special," which involved a lot of fresh crabmeat--all good, but the she-crab soup was made even more special by Amy's addition of sherry tableside. I have wished for this addition many times, but never seen it done. The special dessert was "Sticky Bun Cake." Think warm, cake-shaped sticky bun bread pudding, topped with vanilla ice cream and warm caramel sauce...We are still full two hours later. The fact that the place was completely full the entire time we were there testifies to its quality. Seriously delicious!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was good, but the seating being ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was good, but the seating being was really tight. You could hear every word from the tables around you. The food was OK, and it was served hot which is good!

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was delicious and was far above exp ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious and was far above expectations. Our server Amy was very engaging and attentive. I would certainly recommend Berret's for their seafood. We are new to the area and have been there three times - each was a treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Valentines Day dinner. Great ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful Valentines Day dinner. Great food, lovely atmosphere. Service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for our Valentine's Day dat ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

We came here for our Valentine's Day date and it was our first time eating here. I ordered the filet mignon which came with mashed potatoes and mixed veggies. My steak was fairly undercooked and sent it back, the manager brought it out, apologized for the mistake and said dessert would be on them. My steak came back and was cooked just how I had ordered it and was very tender. The potatoes had a strange after taste and just weren't anything spectacular. My husband got the red white and blue plate which had a variety of seafood on it, it also came with mashed potatoes and veggies. He said it was very good. Our dessert we shared an apple raspberry cobbler skillet which was topped with vanilla ice cream, hands down favorite part of the meal; I would definitely order dessert every time! The waiter and hostess were both very friendly. Overall for the price I thought it was just ok, but had a decent first time experience. Special occasions only type of place for our liking.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for a pre-Valenine's Day outing. Fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went for a pre-Valenine's Day outing. Food was excellent as was the service. My wife and I have never been disappointed at Berret's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous service and food that was just ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous service and food that was just as good, been there before and will go again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely friendly greeting upon entering; ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Lovely friendly greeting upon entering; warm inviting decor including faux-fireplace in rear, large dining room. BEAUTIFULLY presented and superbly delicious food. The Original Blue Plate and Red, White & Blue Plate Specials are precisely cooked, served piping hot, and are hugely proportioned. Service was appropriately attentive. Great find in Historic Williamsburg!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good atmosphere, service, and food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good atmosphere, service, and food was great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant with great original ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent restaurant with great original meals. Does not taste like a chain.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are wonderful. Look fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food and service are wonderful. Look forward to going again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was having heating proble ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The restaurant was having heating problems, which they did not tell us about when we arrived, we were with my 92 year old mother, so this greatly impacted our experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Enjoyable evening, delicious meal. Our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Enjoyable evening, delicious meal. Our waitress was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere here is always nice, but ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The atmosphere here is always nice, but the food is unpredictable. Sometimes it's very good, and sometimes it's just mediocre. Unfortunately, today was one of those more mediocre days. Got the lunch special, the cod tacos....cod was okay, but the salsa it was topped with had no flavor. The accompanying rice was HARD and undercooked - quite inedible. The appetizer sampler: calamari was very good; crab bites and Oysters Rockefeller not so much. Glazed lemon cake was very good. My friend and I had a nice time, but it was more because of the atmosphere & nice waitress....and not so much because of the food. I will continue to come back here because it's convenient and the food CAN be good....just be forewarned that the quality of the food can be unpredictable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent steak (filet). Excellent qual ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent steak (filet). Excellent quality scallops, but bland. Service was terrific. Jessica was attentive, and friendly but respectful of every table in our small dining area. She was a treat to watch as she catered to the individual needs of each table. I was traveling solo, and appreciated her approach to customer service.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a great experience. The food we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a great experience. The food we chose, from the specials was outstanding!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best seafood in Williamsburg, bar none. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Best seafood in Williamsburg, bar none. A fine selection of very fresh local (James River, York River, Eastern Shore) oysters--even an oyster du jour. They know exactly how to prepare fish, any and all varieties.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating out we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating out wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was fantastic and the food was amazing. It is on the pricier side but perfect for that special occasion when you want to splurge. This was a meal to remember.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful scenery at window seat. Staff ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Beautiful scenery at window seat. Staff was extremely friendly. Entrees were very good. High backed seats provide privacy for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Becca was fantastic, very sweet, and jus ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Becca was fantastic, very sweet, and just all out amazing. She's definitely an asset to your company. The food was great as well. The Osso Bucco was cooked perfectly...fall off the bone, and tender with every bite. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good local restaurant. Service is v ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very good local restaurant. Service is very good and the menu diversified although focus is on seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Comfortable restaurant with several dini ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Comfortable restaurant with several dining rooms and an attached bar and lounge. The seafood in parchment we had was exceptional and served promptly. Our server was attentive and helped use with our selections.

We will definitely be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was very disappointed. Staff was very ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was very disappointed. Staff was very nice, but the food was average at best. I don't recommend this place at won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

What a great pick for dinner!!!! We are ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

What a great pick for dinner!!!! We are not from the area and were deciding on this Resturant and another. We are so glad to choose this one. The waitress was so sweet and accommodating with any request. She even helped with selection of what is the best wine with a meal. She checked on us more than the usual one time ten seconds after the meal arrives!!

The general manager stopped by the table and greeted us in the beginning and also checked on how we liked the meal at the end.

The food was delicious! We both ordered a seafood dish and couldn't be more delighted. The crab cakes are to die for!!! Please tell the cook that he did a fantastic job!! We are from Philadelphia and are often more critical with food in other cities as we are so spoiled with our favorite places to eat. Also the presentation was great!

This place is an amazing place to eat. We will definitely will return here over the summer when we return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, , Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four friends welcoming in the New Year c ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Four friends welcoming in the New Year chose Berret's for great seafood on our last night in Williamsburg and were so happy! The place we chose for New Year's Eve was a little disappointing. Berret's made up for all of that. We all had different delicious entrees and shared two desserts. The soups, the seafood, the steak, the sauces....FABULOUS! And...our server, Lisa, was very attentive and a lot of fun. We will definitely come back on ththe next trip.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent appetizer and dinner selection ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent appetizer and dinner selection.

Food and service were top quality.

Enjoyed drinks in the bar before dinner.

Hostess, waitress and bartender were service oriented and did a superb job.

Thank You,

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff members were friendly & welcom ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The staff members were friendly & welcoming. They were extremely busy as it was NewYear's Eve. However, the food was delivered in a timely manner. The food was rather mediocre for the price. We think we would prefer to sit st the bar & have appetizers.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Food and service were excellent.Amy ,our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and service were excellent.Amy ,our server,although very busy was very attentive and efficient as well as professional..Entire staff was cordial and polite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service. No wait with ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great service. No wait with reservation. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food wasn't good as reviews said.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food wasn't good as reviews said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

Shane , our server, was very personable ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Shane , our server, was very personable and gave us great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was average, and only came out afte ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was average, and only came out after a 45 minute wait from the time we sat down. Server mixed up order (there were two salmon items on the menu). They removed the charge for the wrong one (we were willing to pay for it, though).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Berret's was wonderful! I thoroughly enj ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Berret's was wonderful! I thoroughly enjoyed the seafood trip and maple swordfish--all was excellent! Our hostess was very attentive and friendly, as well as the manager! Great place and definitely recommend, will be returning next time I'm in Williamsburg!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

ok, but not great. It was highly recomme ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

ok, but not great. It was highly recommended and we thought it would be great. The meals were ok. One of our group members had the seafood bisque. It tasted like it was made with two day old seafood. Very fishy. Another had crab cakes. We had had them at Seafarer on Richmond Road the day before and the carb cakes at Berret's didn't come close to them. I had a seafood combo with salmon. The salmon was very good but the oysters were tastless. It was expensive for what it was. Try another place and then Berret's to compare.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.