About Berret's Restaurant

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Berret's Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for 30 years.
The Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please call us at (757) 253-1847

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Lunch: 11:30am - 3:30pm; Dinner:5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Friday & Saturday: 5:00 p.m.-10 p.m.
Bar open all day serving food and beverages

Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through October (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on bottled wine only. Not valid with other discounting. Special valid May 10, 2016 - Sep 10, 2016 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Williamsburg
Best Value
Williamsburg
Fit for Foodies
Williamsburg
1 More
Most Booked
Williamsburg
Best Restaurants in Williamsburg ›

Special Occasion (62)
Great for Outdoor Dining (59)
Fit for Foodies (57)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Great for Lunch (42)
Good for Groups (29)
Romantic (27)
Kid-friendly (25)
Great for Brunch (25)
Notable Wine List (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Scenic View (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a family rendezvous arranged to ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a family rendezvous arranged to meet during their vacation. Once again the service, food and ambiance were outstanding. Everyone could choose from a varied menu the dish they prefer and all enjoyed. Music added to the occasion and nobody rushed us as we caught up on summer doings. A highlight were the complimentary "sticker buns" that started the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to adjust our reservation at the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had to adjust our reservation at the last minute and they worked magic. The food choices and preparation are great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food at a reasonable price. I wou ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food at a reasonable price. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have long enjoyed Berret's, but it ha ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have long enjoyed Berret's, but it has been a long time since we have dined there. We arrived a bit early and sat at the bar while waiting for tables to be ready. After asking if we needed anything, the bartender kindly set two tall glasses of ice water in front of us while we waited- so thoughtful! It set the stage for us to be pleased. We found the food delicious. Fresh and well prepared. Nothing disappointed. The service began very well. Unfortunately, we finally had to find our server after waiting quite a while when we were ready to leave. A small thing over all, but not the way you want a fabulous meal to end. Regardless, we highly recommend and will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were here three ago and decided to re ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were here three ago and decided to return because the food was so good, great service too. Prices are a bit high but that's same for the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently good seafood, fresh and wel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Consistently good seafood, fresh and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My go-to place for dining in Colonial Wi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My go-to place for dining in Colonial Williamsburg. Excellent crab cakes! The menu is simple and portions are neither too much nor too little. Their Bloody Mary is one of the best ever.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

They serve local seafood, use fresh herb ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

They serve local seafood, use fresh herbs, fresh everything!! Our Meal was better than anticipated... and the Banana Carmel Cheesecake.. oh my!! Service was great, friendly staff. We will be back....

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a pleasant lunch at Be ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My wife and I had a pleasant lunch at Berret's. While the restaurant provided a welcome respite from the brutal heat, the quality of the food and the atmosphere would have been equally worthwhile in a more moderate climate.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A very enjoyable meal. A child-friendly ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

A very enjoyable meal. A child-friendly restaurant but the children were not too noisy.

We enjoyed our meal, had a very pleasant half bottle of wine and a pleasurable evening.

We will never be in that area again, so I can't say we would return ..... but if we were-we would!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Passing through Williamsburg on a colleg ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Passing through Williamsburg on a college tour. This was our fancy meal for the trip. The food was very good, though a bit pricey. They are catering to a tourist crowd, so the other patrons were mostly that. They have a nice outdoor bar area next door but we were there during the heat wave so ate inside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Whatafind! Simple food, innovativefood ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Whatafind! Simple food, innovativefood, delicious all around! Greatservice, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Berret's Seafood was a last minute place ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Berret's Seafood was a last minute place we found and it was great. From the service to the atmosphere we loved it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and atmosphere!! Cob ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere!! Cobbler was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate here on July 24th and wish I didn't. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ate here on July 24th and wish I didn't. The restaurant was extremely hot and the food was hugely disappointing. Couldn't wait to leave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

As usual the food was fantastic and the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As usual the food was fantastic and the service was exellant. We love dining at Berret's and always take our guests to our favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our experience at Berrets was wonderful ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

our experience at Berrets was wonderful! Food and service was excellent, setting and views were extremely nice, we will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Found this restaurant last April when we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Found this restaurant last April when we visited and enjoyed it so much .

I made sure we visited again this past trip. Wonderful service and the food is really wonderful.

It will always be a "go to" when we visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone was friendly without being cree ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everyone was friendly without being creepy. The food was well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food. Had the crab blue plate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent food. Had the crab blue plate special and highly recommend it. The she crab soup was excellent and the crab cakes were chocked with crab.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent seafood. Friendly and competen ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent seafood. Friendly and competent service. Very pleasant atmosphere. We will go again when we return to Williamsburg.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants, particu ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants, particularly for seafood. She-crab soup is a great starter. The drink "flights" are perfect for sharing. And all of the seafood is excellent. No room for dessert, unfortunately.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful to work with! Great dinner and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful to work with! Great dinner and perfect private dining room for our last minute party of 16!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food presentation, attentive staff, deli ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food presentation, attentive staff, delicious food, nice sized portions. It all made my birthday dinner the best one yet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even though it was extremely hot outside ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Even though it was extremely hot outside, we had a wonderful time just relaxing and enjoying the food and the company. It was the perfect way to celebrate a dear friends birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WesatinthePostmaster room and it was jus ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

WesatinthePostmaster room and it was just right for the 7 of us. The place had plenty of character and we received the right amount of attention from our server. What an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had dinner on the 4th after a movie at t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Had dinner on the 4th after a movie at the Kimball. I had a red wine flight which is very good value--about 5 ounces of your choices of three reds off the menu. My entree was a salmon special with crab and hollandaise sauce. Very good and a generous portion. My husband had a ravioli with crab that he enjoyed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The chef is concerned about the meal and ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The chef is concerned about the meal and presentation. Portions are somewhat on the smaller side but the artistry makes up for it. Service a little lackluster ambience somewhat aged but it is quite convenient if you're downtown historic Williamsburg. Kids menus are convenient and offer All American Cuisine if not interested in Seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Seafood is absolutely outstanding, espec ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Seafood is absolutely outstanding, especially the salmon and seafood wrapped in parchment. The waitress Kaitlyn couldn't do enough to please you, and very engaging, fantastic! We will definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great oysters!!!! We always give them a ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great oysters!!!! We always give them a try. But of course everything else is wonderful. This is a place not to miss!😎

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was average at best

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Love the on-line registration. Service s ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love the on-line registration. Service staffis great- friendly, helpful and prompt. Menu selection excellent and the desserts - the best. Looking forward to many more visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and the location ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was very good and the location is nice in Merchants Square. The restaurant seemed a bit understaffed as waitresses were also busing tables. Our server was very helpful and nice. I would recommend as it was overall a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was excellent. Oyster appetizer ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was excellent. Oyster appetizer over breaded and over cooked, lost the delicacy of the oyster. In general food was rather bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Gluten Free quality food can be hard to ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Gluten Free quality food can be hard to find, but not here. The food was spot on the choices were great an overall fabulous evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We noted on our reservation that it was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We noted on our reservation that it was our 16 Wedding Anniversary, and that we wanted a "nice" table. When we arrived, the Manager at the podium did not even look up at us or say hello; he was talking to a young new hire hostess. We had to say hello, first. He did not even comment on our Anniversary. We were ushered to a bad table, and I had to ask for a better table. The manager had no personality, and was not friendly. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Wonderful seafood! We thoroughly enjoyed ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful seafood! We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the service was super friendly. Desserts were good, too, as well as our bar drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Berret's entrees were excellent. All six ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Berret's entrees were excellent. All six of us raved about how much we enjoyed our meal. Good atmosphere and good service. I choose Berret's every time I visit Williamsburg.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was terrible. We were there in ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was terrible. We were there in 2015 and it was going down hill then, we should have known better this year..shame on us.

I ordered Salad with chicken. No salad dressing and the chicken was over cooked..no flavor.

My husband ordered the Salmon with a "special sauce" that appeared and tasted like Campbell's sauce.

No more. We went to 2nd Street Cafe and it was wonderful, highly recommend this cafe. A little out of the way in that it isn't on the beaten path, but well worth the extra 5 mile drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Music would be nice

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Music would be nice

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.