Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Berret's Restaurant

Berret's Seafood Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for over 30 years.
Berret's Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please call us at (757) 253-1847

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Berret's Seafood Restaurant is 0pen Daily from 11:30 am to 9:30 pm
Berret's Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through November (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (46)
Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Local Ingredients (28)
Cozy (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Romantic (24)
Business Meals (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Historic (18)
Seasonal (16)
Fun (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Authentic (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Family Style (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Healthy (10)
Live Music (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
People Watching (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Scenic View (7)
Great Beer (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Setting is nice. Service was good. The calamari was nicely done and Caesar salad was good. All of the rest of the food was mediocre. The grits were supposed to have goat cheese and bacon but they were bland with no flavor. The magi magi was over cooked and dry. The andouille sausage was so-so. My beer was also skunked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a delicious dinner at Berret's with out-of-town family to celebrate a birthday. The food was delicious. Our server was excellent and the serving of carrot cake was enough to serve the entire table. It was a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything from soup to dessert was delicious. Our sever, Lillian, was most attentive and informative.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall a really good experience . The she crab soup was very good and seasoned well. The seared sea bass was really good but could have had a little more seasoning. The plate overall was very good as the shrimp, grits, and asparagus were all very good too. The Blueberry Basil Margarita was excellent, and the chocolate martini was too . Service was good till the end as we lost our server for about 20 mins at the end when we needed our check to get somewhere. A near 5 star but definitely recommend it for those in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoyed the Red White and Blu Plate and the Original Blue plate. Items were cooked perfectly and the prices were reasonable.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Worst crab cakes I've ever had. $80 meal, I ended up eating my sons overpriced hamburger kids meal.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The atmosphere was nice and the food was delicious! Our whole family enjoyed the experience...including 4 children!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Berret's was highly recommended by several people who love oysters because the Happy Hour is long and oysters are $1 each at Happy Hour. We don't eat oysters so, for us, it was good but not great in all areas. Another dish that was recommended was the Seafood in Parchment which I ordered. Again, good but not great--was a bit bland for my taste but ample in size. Prices are comparable to other quality restaurants in the area. Summary: If you like oysters, Berret's may be the place for you. If not, try it once and see if you like it. You won't be too disappointed but may not be thrilled either.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We were seated promptly. When we make reservations for 2 the receptionist always try to seat us at a small table usually tucked near the kitchen door. This restaurant was not an exception. When I saw several larger tables and booths available I ask to be moved to a booth by the window. They accommodated us quickly and moved us to a larger table and booth with a window. The waiter was pleasant and attentive. The food was great. I will eat here anytime I am in the area.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had lunch with friends and had a great time. Our waitress was really friendly and in tune with our kids' needs. Their kid menu was more than the typical kids fare and included things like grilled shrimp or a grilled apple and peanut butter sandwich. The adults ordered their luncheon Blue Plate, a couple other seafood entrees, and the fried tomatoes (which was served with fresh mozzarella for a neat twist on caprese). Overall we (both the kids and adults) had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend it to those visiting Williamsburg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Berretts 's is reliable, decent food at fair prices in an area where that cannot always be expected, so I'd go again, but I nevee go expecting a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The menu looks great. But the Mahi Mahi,Swordfish and shrimp were all over cooked. It's an older building and it was hot and humid inside.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Business dinner with customer and my wife. Waitress was outstanding. Very friendly and helpful with meal suggestions and nightly special , which was absolutely delicious.
highly recommend it too all visiting Williamsburg

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent meal and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Nice atmosphere, friendly service, fantastic food. Very enjoyable. I highly recommend the fried oysters.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This is one of our favorite seafood places in Williamsburg, VA. We live in PA, but when ever we are in the area on vacation we always come to Berrets. We have brought friends and family and have never been disappointed. This occasion was no different. My only complaint was it took a while for the food to come out, but we were really having a nice time so it did not matter.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent food & outstanding service. Nikki was an awesome server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Very nice setting and especially perfect for an anniversary dinner. Wait staff were very attentive and well versed on the menu selections. The bar is a great place to await your reserved seating as well. The food was absolutely amazing as well. Already planning a return visit.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Absolutely the best! When we visit Williamsburg again we will be sure to dine at Berrets.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great seafood. Excellent service. Fine ambiance. Not too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This place is so wonderful that this review is the second night review. Yes, we ate there two nights in a row. Need I say more? Fabulous seafood!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The seafood was fantastic. The crab cakes with ham were so yummy! And the mahi with onion bacon marmalade!! We ate at the bar and our bartender was so friendly and helpful. The happy hour oysters were not so good, but that was the only negative. We loved it so much, we cancelled our reservations for the next day and made reservations again for Berrets.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 22, 2017

For the price, I was expecting to be a little more wowed by the food, to be honest. I had the crab cakes, husband had the mahi. Both were underseasoned and the crab cake was tasty but more like a Phillips cake than a fancy restaurant one. Sides were the same for both dishes, and plates had a giant sprig of pointless rosemary--my pet peeve.
Service was great. I was just so underwhelmed by the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was very good and waitress was attentive and friendly. great restaurant had memorable anniversary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The waiter/waitress took longer than expected given the time of our reservation. The she-crab soup was tasty and could use some more crab meat.

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

15th Anniversary. Came for the 1st time on our wedding night. Always a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Have been there several times over the years. They are consistently good! Excellent specials, great place for local seafood (like oysters) and steaks. Family friendly, nice outside dining area. Always excellent service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was our first dining experience in. Williamsburg a did not disappoint
Friendly service and ex cellent food
We hit reduce d price bubbly night which was a bonus

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

First place we visit whenever we come to Williamsburg. She crab soup is the best around.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Returned to Berret's after a fabulous visit in February. It is just a marvelous dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

For a last minute choice we were so glad we chose this. The food was very good and the service was even better. We had some questions about choices on the menu and the relative new waitress didn't know the answers but was so good she immediately got the answers for us. Just the way it should be. We would go back any time we were in Williamsburg.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If it wasnt for my wife wanting to try the restaurant, I would have been happy spending my money at another place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Shrimp was under cooked. Mashed potatoes were hard as a brick. Service was ok. When we mentioned our meal to the waitress, she did not have any reply?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved the salmon! Great service even though it was a busy Mothers' Day weekend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great Mother's Day brunch there last weekend. This was a busy day but the food was very good and the service was excellent! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Berret's is consistently a great place for a special meal. It has wonderful ambiance, excellent food and prompt, attentive service. Nice to have the option of casual dining in the tap house as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were visiting from Washington, D.C. for a weekend getaway that happened to fall on William & Mary graduation weekend, as well. They were very flexible with our reservation even though they were busy; since we were traveling in that day, our arrival times kept changing with the traffic. Our server was a delight and couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Everything she recommended was amazing. We had the appetizer sampler to share, which was just enough to not be full before the entrees. We had the two seafood daily specials, followed by cobbler for dessert. Again, everything was amazing. Couldn't have asked for a better start to the weekend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was excellent. The crab cakes were excellent but the shrimp and swordfish was bland. Each visit the story is the same: excellent personnel and service but the food doesn't quite make it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 11, 2017

What we like about Barrett's is that it is a sure thing. We can count on good service and good food no matter what is going on in and around the busy place of CW. Once again, Barrett's came through for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food and impeccable service. We were made to feel as if we were important to them. Great menu selections.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.