About Berret's Restaurant

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Berret's Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for 30 years.
The Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please call us at (757) 253-1847

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Lunch: 11:30am - 3:30pm; Dinner:5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Friday & Saturday: 5:00 p.m.-10 p.m.
Bar open all day serving food and beverages

Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through October (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Promotions

Happy Oyster Hours at Berret's Bar

Special valid Apr 27, 2016 - Jul 1, 2016 all week from 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM

May Restaurant Dinner Special - $28

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Oyster Hours at Berret's Bar

Special valid Apr 27, 2016 - Jul 1, 2016 all week from 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
From 3:30 to 7:00, Every evening, enjoy Oysters on the Half Shell, raw or steamed for $1 each in Berret's Bar. Also $1 oysters are available during lunch in the dining room. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 27, 2016 - Jul 1, 2016 all week from 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM.
May Restaurant Dinner Special - $28

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Cajun-Style Seafood: Red Beans & Rice, Shrimp, Sea Scallops, Andouille Sausage, Crispy Crawfish Cake. Excludes Tax and Tip. Mon-Fri in May, not valid with other discounts or coupons. Special valid May 10, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on bottled wine only. Not valid with other discounting. Special valid May 10, 2016 - Sep 10, 2016 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Williamsburg
Best Service
Williamsburg
Best Value
Williamsburg
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg
Best Restaurants in Williamsburg ›

special occasion (67)
fit for foodies (61)
neighborhood gem (58)
See All
great for outdoor dining (51)
great for lunch (43)
good for groups (37)
romantic (33)
great for brunch (22)
kid-friendly (21)
notable wine list (21)
scenic view (13)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
1074 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Extraordinary oysters! Loved the service ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Extraordinary oysters! Loved the service and quality of food! My first choice in Williamsburg

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great family get together!

Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Never rushed allowing nice rendezvous with family from Richmond area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was delicious and the presentation was exceptional. I had the crab cakes. They were nice and crisp on the outside and moist and tender on be inside. All crab and no fillers. They have a very nice wine list. The atmosphere is quaint and the food elegant. However, you can come as you are, dressy or casual.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

If you like to pay top dollar for fake m ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

If you like to pay top dollar for fake mash potatoes this is your place. We were told this was the best seafood in Williamsburg and if that is true I feel sorry for them. Coming from the SF Bay Area we are spoiled but this place is sad. The service was ok but I also don't like being call "guy" just not a professional way to treat your clients. I would not recommend this to anyone!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service by Erin. Food was delish. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great service by Erin. Food was delish. Only suggestion would be to decrease serving size ( grilled romaine) was huge!!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was very good, apps came out qu ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was very good, apps came out quickly and the raw oysters were fantastic with their signature apple cider vinegar dip.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Local Tradition

Dined on May 18, 2016

This place has become a favorite and is a tradition whenever business takes me to Williamsburg. When we arrive in town on Saturday evening, reservations were all booked up on account of W&M Graduation events, but we were able to get a seat at the adjacent Tap House and ordered great sandwiches. My friends enjoyed the meal so much that we booked reservations for later in the week so that they could sample the complete menu. The seafood and steaks are consistently good, and the menu has enough variety to satisfy all members of a group or family. If we lived locally, this would be one of our "go to" places to entertain guests, as well as a frequent favorite.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious soft shell crabs & for an appe ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Delicious soft shell crabs & for an appetizer had the fried clams and tomatoes. Cozy, pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommend!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Williamsburg was incredibly crowded beca ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Williamsburg was incredibly crowded because of W&M graduation, but they managed to provide excellent seafood with attentive service.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion

Dined on May 14, 2016

From beginning to end our experience at Berret's was excellent: the maître 'd patiently helped us find a table, set up an ice bucket for the champagne we brought, and our waitress was cheerful, solicitous and efficient

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made our 10year anniversary very special!

Dined on May 13, 2016

From the ambience to the food to the wait staff-it was a night to remember!! Loved it!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 19th anniversary with lun ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Celebrated our 19th anniversary with lunch! Excellent food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my mom (and dad) here for a Mothe ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my mom (and dad) here for a Mother's Day lunch and had a great time. The warm friendly staff made us feel welcomed from the get, and we all enjoyed our food immensely. The Crab Cakes are the best in town - ask for Niki:-)

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First time!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have seen Berret's many times, but never actually dined there. We went for Mother's Day. It was a great choice. We will definitely be back. We stuck to the regular menu, but will say the specials looked great too.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Palce for Lunch in Merchant;s Square

Dined on May 8, 2016

We came here for a Mother's Day lunch. Weather was beautiful so we sat outside. The food & the service was very good, There was a musician laying outside which was an unexpected bonus.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were a large group celebrating Mother's Day. Could not have been better, food, drinks and service. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and go back for a romantic dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious and beautifully presented, the service was great. Be sure to sit outside or at a table by a window. Interior tables lack ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for morhers day lunch. We had a reservation and were seated right away. Server was plseant and attentive and the food was awesome! We sat outside on the patio and an acoustic guitar and singing provided beautiul entertainment!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the staff delightful.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant was particularly accommodating given that my husband is on a very salt restricted diet and needed to have his dinners prepared to order. They also did a good job when we had a larger group.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RELIABLY GOOD!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Berrett's is a longtime favorite, with changes in the menu, but unlike some other local eateries, new offerings are different but not strange. Our (reserved) table was ready the instant we arrived, and next to a window, as I'd requested. Food and service were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Williamsburg staple

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food-consistently excellent Service-very attentive but not pushy Price-on the high side but well worth the experience

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Berret's the Best

Dined on April 28, 2016

We have visited Williamsburg many times and find Berret's to have the best food and wait-staff of any of the restaurants in Merchant's Square.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood Heaven

Dined on April 25, 2016

The menu was inspiring, the food fresh and delicious. This was a spur of the moment decision that paid of handsomely. I would dine there again when visiting Williamsburg.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

yummy!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was great and it was so nice dining outside on a beautiful day. Nice selection of gluten free choices. I ordered the crab cake sandwich which came with asparagus. I really don't care for asparagus much but the way they made them they were absolutely delicious.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

My date had the special which was A fish ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

My date had the special which was A fish filet garnished with strawberries. She said it was the best fish dish she had ever had. I had a medley of crab dishes which was very good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent find!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Best crab cakes anywhere! Four of us had four different dishes, and every one was exceptional. Best restaurant we've found in quite a while.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

A Very Long Lunch

Dined on April 16, 2016

We went to Berret's Restaurant on a Saturday afternoon for lunch around 1:00. We sat inside a small room which was very quiet - almost uncomfortably quiet. It was a nice day and there were people sitting outside - I would imagine the atmosphere out there is much better. Our food was decent, but it took forever to come out. In fact it took forever to take our order as well and our drinks were never refilled. As we walked around the area, there seemed to be a lot of other places to go that would have had a better atmosphere. (We couldn't get reservations at any of those though - and now we know why...)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of Colonial Williamsburg

Dined on April 13, 2016

Located in Merchant Square Berret's is truly the best of the area, from service to food look no further for a great restaurant and happy hour. They have outside dining, $1 oyster, superb food with a great waitstaff. We tried their lunches, dinners and happy hour never being disappointed only looking forward to our next vacation in Williamsburg to visit again. Thank you wish you were closer!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Overall OK. Oysters are very good, howev ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Overall OK. Oysters are very good, however the tuna, crab cakes and seafood ravioli were nothing special. The tuna was overcooked, dry.and bland. Better seafood options in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. Service was wonderful. I ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Great dinner. Service was wonderful. I had a stuffed seafood pie thing that was flavorful and unique. My co-worker had amazing crab cakes. No filler at all! And our server was knowledgable and a delight! We till be back!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very nice seafood restaurant

Dined on April 6, 2016

Barret's was recommended to us for nice seafood. It is located in the shopping area of Colonial Williamsburg not too far from the College of William & Mary. It makes for a very nice evening, and the food was very tasty. I would recommend this for dinner, though there wasn't anything about it that really stood out. I think the meals were very good but other good restaurants would be on par.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our Mahi Mahi was the best seafood we ha ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Our Mahi Mahi was the best seafood we had in Williamsburg on vacation. The salads and entrees are beautifully presented as well. Excellent location when visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

All four of us ordered the crab-stuffed trout. It was absolutely delicious! Ryan provided us with terrific service ~ we love this spot in the heart of Williamsburg!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting the area and saw that B ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

We were visiting the area and saw that Berret's had really good reviews. After eating there, we can see why. Took our 7 and 5 yr olds. They liked the kids "cocktails." The salted shrimp (fried shrimp) were great. Great food and great service.

food3
ambience3
service4

New England Clam chowder was thin and n ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

New England Clam chowder was thin and not very flavorful. Tables small and very cramped. Wouldn't recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely

Dined on March 27, 2016

Delicious, service excellent! Ambiance a bit casual from what I expected. But still nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, sorry do not remember her na ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our server, sorry do not remember her name, was terrific.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Uneven

Dined on March 27, 2016

After a wonderful greeting by a very professional hostess things went downhill. Our server varied between attentive and leaving us alone way too long such as for simply taking our order. She crab soup was cold and very thick. Entrées were OK , desert good. Still we like Berrets a lot for its hometown feeling and will certainly go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome lunch

Dined on March 26, 2016

Had a great lunch here - food, atmosphere and service was great! Will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Lunch time wine and beer flights are gre ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Lunch time wine and beer flights are great when on vacation. Walking distance to local historic scene.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.