About Berret's Restaurant

Berret's Restaurant specializes in fresh regional seafood-shrimp, blue crab, scallops, oysters, and tuna. Also offering steaks, chicken, and vegetarian selections. Full beverage service, micro brews, and wines. Voted by Williamsburg locals as the best seafood restaurant for 30 years.
The Taphouse Grill features the food wines and beers of Virginia with 8 drafts, unique and hard to find wines grilled fish, steak, rotisserie chicken and burgers all in a casual outdoor seating. Weather permitting
from April until November.
ONLINE RESERVATIONS ARE FOR INSIDE DINING ONLY.
For parties over 6 people, please call us at (757) 253-1847

199 South Boundary Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Lunch: 11:30am - 3:30pm; Dinner:5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Friday & Saturday: 5:00 p.m.-10 p.m.
Bar open all day serving food and beverages

Taphouse Grill: Open daily at 4:00/5:00 p.m. April through October (weather permitting and first come, first serve basis) NO RESERVATIONS TAKEN FOR THE TAPHOUSE GRILL

Cross Street:
Francis Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 253-1847

Website:
http://www.berrets.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on the outdoor stage at Berret's Taphouse Grill on Fridays and Saturdays in the summer time. Check the website for entertainment schedule.

Parking Details:
One hour free parking available behind the restaurant- Paid parking available across the street from restaurant for $1 per hour. Berret's validates for two hours of free parking in pay lot when you dine with us. Bring your parking ticket with you to lunch or dinner and ask your server for details.

Executive Chef:
Richard Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Steal the Pint Nights at the Taphouse Grill on Thursdays throughout the summer. Live entertainment on the outdoor stage on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays through October.

Berret's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (52)
Casual (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Cozy (38)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Local Ingredients (29)
Great for Lunch (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Romantic (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Fireplace (21)
Fun (20)
Historic (19)
Seasonal (18)
Authentic (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Healthy (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Business Meals (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (7)
Family Style (7)
Great Beer (6)
Live Music (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Scenic View (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Becca was fantastic, very sweet, and jus ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined a day ago

Becca was fantastic, very sweet, and just all out amazing. She's definitely an asset to your company. The food was great as well. The Osso Bucco was cooked perfectly...fall off the bone, and tender with every bite. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good local restaurant. Service is v ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very good local restaurant. Service is very good and the menu diversified although focus is on seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Comfortable restaurant with several dini ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Comfortable restaurant with several dining rooms and an attached bar and lounge. The seafood in parchment we had was exceptional and served promptly. Our server was attentive and helped use with our selections.

We will definitely be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was very disappointed. Staff was very ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was very disappointed. Staff was very nice, but the food was average at best. I don't recommend this place at won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

What a great pick for dinner!!!! We are ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

What a great pick for dinner!!!! We are not from the area and were deciding on this Resturant and another. We are so glad to choose this one. The waitress was so sweet and accommodating with any request. She even helped with selection of what is the best wine with a meal. She checked on us more than the usual one time ten seconds after the meal arrives!!

The general manager stopped by the table and greeted us in the beginning and also checked on how we liked the meal at the end.

The food was delicious! We both ordered a seafood dish and couldn't be more delighted. The crab cakes are to die for!!! Please tell the cook that he did a fantastic job!! We are from Philadelphia and are often more critical with food in other cities as we are so spoiled with our favorite places to eat. Also the presentation was great!

This place is an amazing place to eat. We will definitely will return here over the summer when we return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, , Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four friends welcoming in the New Year c ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Four friends welcoming in the New Year chose Berret's for great seafood on our last night in Williamsburg and were so happy! The place we chose for New Year's Eve was a little disappointing. Berret's made up for all of that. We all had different delicious entrees and shared two desserts. The soups, the seafood, the steak, the sauces....FABULOUS! And...our server, Lisa, was very attentive and a lot of fun. We will definitely come back on ththe next trip.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent appetizer and dinner selection ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent appetizer and dinner selection.

Food and service were top quality.

Enjoyed drinks in the bar before dinner.

Hostess, waitress and bartender were service oriented and did a superb job.

Thank You,

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff members were friendly & welcom ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The staff members were friendly & welcoming. They were extremely busy as it was NewYear's Eve. However, the food was delivered in a timely manner. The food was rather mediocre for the price. We think we would prefer to sit st the bar & have appetizers.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Food and service were excellent.Amy ,our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and service were excellent.Amy ,our server,although very busy was very attentive and efficient as well as professional..Entire staff was cordial and polite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service. No wait with ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great service. No wait with reservation. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food wasn't good as reviews said.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food wasn't good as reviews said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

Shane , our server, was very personable ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Shane , our server, was very personable and gave us great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was average, and only came out afte ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was average, and only came out after a 45 minute wait from the time we sat down. Server mixed up order (there were two salmon items on the menu). They removed the charge for the wrong one (we were willing to pay for it, though).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Berret's was wonderful! I thoroughly enj ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Berret's was wonderful! I thoroughly enjoyed the seafood trip and maple swordfish--all was excellent! Our hostess was very attentive and friendly, as well as the manager! Great place and definitely recommend, will be returning next time I'm in Williamsburg!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

ok, but not great. It was highly recomme ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

ok, but not great. It was highly recommended and we thought it would be great. The meals were ok. One of our group members had the seafood bisque. It tasted like it was made with two day old seafood. Very fishy. Another had crab cakes. We had had them at Seafarer on Richmond Road the day before and the carb cakes at Berret's didn't come close to them. I had a seafood combo with salmon. The salmon was very good but the oysters were tastless. It was expensive for what it was. Try another place and then Berret's to compare.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice restaurant, food was good, server w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice restaurant, food was good, server was very friendly and helpful but service was a little slow BUT was fine since it gave us time to enjoy conversation and not feel rushed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never been there before. We were seated ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Never been there before. We were seated promptly and the waiter was excellent. Really enjoyed the food - tasty and well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Seafood

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent Seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had never heard of this until my wife ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I had never heard of this until my wife and I went to Christmas town in Busch Gardens on Christmas eve. She mentioned wanting to try it, so we made the drive up on her birthday. The food was great, atmosphere was awesome and the local area had us wandering around looking at the shops. I would definitely recommend this to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Historic, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, , Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Won't be back. Food disappointment. Dir ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Won't be back. Food disappointment. Dirty and tired. Needs rehab especially in the back room. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Excellent, as always!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service within walkin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and service within walking distance of historic Williamsburg. Great atmosphere surrounded by unique shops and attractions.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Berrets for many y ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been going to Berrets for many years and have enjoyed it very much. This year things did not go well. I ordered the seafood parchment which was delicious as usual. My husband ordered a seafood dish and the meal was cold. Very cold. There were a few other issues throughout the evening that did not bode well. The assistant manager gave us our desserts at no charge to make up for the meal which my husband did not eat. He had a great discussion with the manager who, after we left, called me and said she was taking the meal off of our bill and really wanted us to return. She was very kind and genuinely concerned and we did return for lunch the following day and had a great lunch. We appreciated the follow-through in wanting to make things right. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful place. Great food and fabulous ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful place. Great food and fabulous service. Will be a Williamsburg favorite from now on!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too salty, too greasy, and the crabcakes ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Too salty, too greasy, and the crabcakes too full of filler. The fried foods kept me up all night.

Staff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Not as good as usual. Food was not hot e ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Not as good as usual. Food was not hot enough and the grits were dry. Crab cakes still very good. No bread service at lunch.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We never miss a chance to dine at Barret ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We never miss a chance to dine at Barretts when we visit Colonial Williamsburg. Friendly service, WONDERFUL oysters.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Berrets prior to a William an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We went to Berrets prior to a William and Mary basketball game, and needed to eat within a specific time-frame. This we did...comfortably. The meal was extremely well prepared, the service was excellent and we all had an excellent meal. In a seafood restaurant though it would be nice to see something other than salmon, and MahiMahi. What happened to cod, plaice, haddock etc.? This is the small point department though. I will certainly go back again, it was very cosy, warm and inviting and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great selection and food is always delic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great selection and food is always delicious and hot, and there is plenty of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice dinner, good food, good service whi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice dinner, good food, good service while a bit loud

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food here is usually just o.k., but ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food here is usually just o.k., but when we reserve on Open Table we have always gotten the same booth by a window, so we continue to go. This time, the Host took our name, but then took the name from the woman behind us and seated her first, (annoying) but also in that booth, then brought us to a table in the middle of the room. They were clearing another booth, so we asked to be seated there. Waitress was fine, but service was slow. Food, as usual, was ok., not great. Probably won't go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Yummy food and drink! Try the fish in p ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Yummy food and drink! Try the fish in parchment and the hot wassail.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dinner with my two daughters and t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great dinner with my two daughters and their dates for a Christmas meal. Great service, great food and perfect environment to eat. Stayed for a long time and totally enjoyed the moment.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really good food, especially the Seacrab ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Really good food, especially the Seacrab soup and Blue plate special

Highly recommend

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food and great selection of gluten ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food and great selection of gluten free options. Cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, , Cozy, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent seafood, price comparable to o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent seafood, price comparable to other restaurants in CW. Several 'local' craft beer options on tap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Be careful - the server was attentive an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Be careful - the server was attentive and competent

The place was full but chatting wasn't difficult

It's an hour away, but going back is a pleasure

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here often and it remains ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We have dined here often and it remains one of our favorite restaurants. Tried the chicken and cured ham sandwich for the first time. It has moved to my must order again list. It was absolutely delicious. My favorite dinner item is the seafood in parchment paper.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Soup & food was cold. Crab cake tasted f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Soup & food was cold. Crab cake tasted funny. Waitress was good though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Our server did not seem very knowledgeab ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our server did not seem very knowledgeable about the food or wine on the menu. The meal I ordered did not match its description. We both thought our food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.