Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House

Coming Soon!

901 West Fourth Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm-until

Cross Street:
between Summit & Brookstown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 725-6666

Website:
http://www.bernardinsfinedining.com/

Executive Chef:
Freddy Lee

Private Party Contact:
Terry Lee, Freddy Lee: (336) 725-6666

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (15)
Cozy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

My wide and I celebrated our anniversary on 8/18.....food was excellent...service great. Will for sure go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Consistent quality with a menu that is seasonally updated but holds own to some tried and true favorites. (I've lived in FL & on Long Island yet the crab cakes at this place are one of, if not THE best I've had.) Upscale but not pretentious; this includes the staff who are attentive and knowledgeable but not snooty. This would be a wonderful time to learn more about wines by asking your server for assistance in choosing from a varied wine menu.
Charming old house can get a bit loud due to wood floors and all the happy, well-feed people having a good time but there is both a back room & outside dining if you want to whisper sweet nothing to your dining partner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Lobster lobster was delicious, my husband had the filet, but the only steak sauce they had was tobasco steak sauce and he got a surprise mouth full. The food is very expensive so we only go for special occasions. This place is not handicapped friendly, i.e. Stairs and cobble stones. The small rooms get loud as the place fills with people.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Late reservation for dessert. Fantastic, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Very delicious burrata and heirloom salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent very diverse choice of entrees which were prepared well and tasted great!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Had a great time with my beautiful wife. Food was excellent. Our server knows the menu and was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We visited for our anniversary and were very pleased with the food and service. Waitress was friendly and helpful. Food was very good. Portion sizes were exactly what they should be - just big enough to fill you up - not giant portions. Dessert was very good as well. We enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 28, 2017

A bit disappointing. Bad table location at top of stairs, not relaxing to sit there. Too noisy. Service good. Food good but not extraordinary.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I enjoyed it and enjoyed my emu. It was a little bit overcooked but I personally like it this way because I do not want to eat undercooked red meat. Other than that, the ambience and the service is top par. I will always come back but there is a catch: I can only come whenever I have the money 😂😂😂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Wonderful meal! Every time we go there we have a hard time deciding what to order, as there are so many things delicious sounding items on the menu. Cory ,our waiter , was exceptional and suggested a great bottle of wine to complement the meal. I highly recommend you try this restaurant whether you are local or visiting. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 1, 2017

As always, the staff was perfect; attentive, without being intrusive.
We were there the day before a two week closing, so one menu item had been taken off (camel), which was a little disappointing.
Instead, I had emu, and that was wonderful. The venison was also very good.
You really can't go wrong with anything on the menu here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food and service were excellent. We will return! Highly recommend the Thai chili beef salad. Excellent dining on the outdoor patio.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We've been to Bernardin's many times over many years, but our last visit was a big let down. The location is wonderful, the staff is attentive (although a couple coming in as we were finishing up were left alone so long after getting their menus, the husband finally got up and went for help) and the menu is enticing, especially if you like unusual types of meat (emu anyone?). The outdoor terrace is a gem.

But, the terrace was closed after a rainstorm and the main dining room upstairs is very loud. It has strange acoustics that let you hear some conversations quite clearly. But how can you complain when the people are just having fun?

The food was really the let down. A heritage tomato salad came with hard, mealy tomatoes that were really unexpected this far into summer. The tomato bisque, on the other hand, was creamy, fresh tasting and hit the spot. The lobster-lobster, a signature dish was good, but not great, with the lobster ravioli (the second lobster in the name) covered with a soggy, dense pasta. The desert (a freebie to replace the tomato salad - they should have just comped the salad) was a soggy, overly sweet bread pudding that was markedly below the the restaurant's usual standards.

So I don't know, was it just a bad night, or the sign of a once great restaurant in decline? Considering the cost, I'm not sure I'm going to hurry back to find out.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere were great. It is not cheap but I knew that going in.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Favorite for lobster raviolli, yummy! Both times I have had this and loved it. Would be nice to have homemade bread rather than frozen.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 9, 2017

We are regulars at Bernardin's, two times a month or more. We are not regulars at other restaurants in Winston-Salem, although there are many fine restaurants. The outdoor dining is gracious, the service is superior, and the food is the best we have encountered in W-S.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great food and service. Huge menu choices and large servings. Outside could use a little freshening up but it was a great night to be outside.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Awesome filet and french onion soup. The other guests loved their food too. While it's more expensive than the average, it was well worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had a very nice dinner. The food was fantastic and so was the service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We have heard incredible reviews and comments on this W-S landmark. Nothing needs to be said about the history, quality and standard of such a great longstanding establishment. When we went this week the restaurant had apparently closed all rooms except the front room which is very small and was full therefore somewhat noisy. Our waitress failed to mention the lobster special in her discussion of the evening's specials. I would have ordered that for sure. I did get the emu and my wife got the duck which we found satisfactory but not to the standard of what we had expected. The service was good and I will return for another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful venue with attentive but not overbearing service.
Food is presented in a timely fashion and with beautiful presentation.
Owner is present and attends to the desires of his guests

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our food was good at Bernardin's, but not sure it's worth the cost. Our biggest complaint is that we were seated in a small room with 5-6 tables. There is nothing in the room to absorb sound, so you could hear everything the other guests were saying, and conversely, they could hear everything we said. It's very awkward trying to whisper the entire meal. One couple at another table asked to be seated outside, after they sat a few minutes in the room we were in. Wish we'd thought of that!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been many times over our son's four years at Wake Forest.....menu, service and food always outstanding. This was our first time seated outside and really loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Perfect as always. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My son and his date enjoyed a lovely meal. The food was excellent. The service was great. Up until the end. They paid their check and left the tip on the table. The server approached them as they were leaving and asked them rudely why they only gave a .10 tip. My son told him the tip (20%) was on the table. At that point my son wanted to go back and take it off the table because he found that offensive. Not a good practice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service, wonderful food. We've come here 4-5 times in the last 2 years and the quality of food and service has not dipped. They have a very unusual menu that is really very tasty if you give the meats a chance.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Excellent everything! We happened to be there on an evening that was not quite as busy, which made it even better for us, since we do not care for crowds or loud conversation.
The server was very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a great evening on the patio in the summer.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious food and lovely experience. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very nice restaurant but service was a bit weird. Two waiters who seemed not to each realize the other was also waiting our table. Neighboring table talking loudly about medical issues--not the restaurant's fault, but definitely hampered the meal. Food was interesting and excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A very nice surprise and hidden gem in Winston Salem. We've dined at most restaurants in the area over the years while visiting our daughter a WF University. We decided to try Bernardin's as it somehow stayed under our radar. We enjoyed the uniqueness of the menu with influences from Asia, India and other parts of the world. All the dishes were nicely portioned and full of flavor. The setting is quaint and unique as well as the restaurant is a converted house. The service provided by Alex was excellent... he knew the menu in detail, cared for the various allergies at the table, and recommended a nice bottle of wine that was reasonably priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to Bernardin's several times but not in quite a while. This visit did not disappoint. The menu was wide ranging & offered dishes we had never tried before. Each one was fantastic. I wouldn't order camel (no kidding) just anywhere, but I was confident it would be good here, and it was. The server was comfortable describing it both in terms of preparation & taste, which made me more sure about it. (My husband had venison, which was less of a stretch for us.) All in all, it was great meal.

The one down side was that we were in the upstairs front room, and the floor shook noticeably whenever someone walked through the room. (It's an old house.) It's less noticeable if you sit on the wall-side. It certainly didn't keep us from enjoying our dinner. We just sat next to each other. ;)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed one of the best meals we have had in a long time. We were out for our 17th anniversary, and were very pleased with every aspect of our meal. Will definitely be back again soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was outstanding! I had the duck, which was excellent. My sister had the venison which had a great flavor and was very tender. Everything was very high quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Sharing a meal at Bernardin's is always a special occasion. The food is delicious, with some very unique choices available as well as beautifully prepared standard choices. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and our server was prompt and attentive without being overbearing.
The restaurant is also in a very convenient location for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It had been a while since our last visit and it certainly didn't disappoint us. Delicious food and wonderful service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Love love loved their lobster special ! Best meal in a year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was one of the best restaurants in Winston-Salem. Everything was great. We were very happy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very attentive but not overbearing service, interesting and diverse menu, nice selection of wines to compliment the food

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.