About Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House

901 West Fourth Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm-until

Cross Street:
between Summit & Brookstown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 725-6666

Website:
http://www.bernardinsfinedining.com/

Executive Chef:
Freddy Lee

Private Party Contact:
Terry Lee, Freddy Lee: 3367256666x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Cakes
Pan Fried Grouper
Filet Mignon
Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay
Belvedere Black Russion
Traditional Caesar Salad
Sea bass
Seared Scallops
Warm Bread Basket
Fried Calamari
Lobster Lobster Lobster
Peach and Blueberry Cobbler with Praline Ice Cream
Venison

Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Outdoor Dining
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
4 More
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Historic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Scenic View (1)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to have dinner. Lots of atmo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to have dinner. Lots of atmosphere, good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was close to perfection, the fo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was close to perfection, the food was exceptional, best either of us could remember in a long time! The most miserable time we can ever remember having was because of 4 LOUD MOUTH Bragging, unconcerned, rude, individuals beside us! We were squeezed beside the hearth upstairs - which I understand allowed all of their slamming voices blast us even harder! We literally could not hear each other say a thing and the poor waitress had to repeat over and over and it was pretty much she saw what we needed and just brought it! So disappointed since it was our 40th anniversary we would liked to have been able to communicate! One thing, my husband forgot to put his phone on silent and the weather alarm blasted 10 minutes after we were sitting and amazingly it got quiet for about 2 minutes after that, but then the OUTSIDE COACH-like voices started back! Unbelievable!!! Not Bernardin's fault, although I was hoping the manager would offer to move us, because he was in there quite a bit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful!!! Top 5 meals this ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Absolutely wonderful!!! Top 5 meals this year. Highly recommend

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Without a doubt, the best food in Winsto ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Without a doubt, the best food in Winston-Salem with a charming atmosphere. Exquisite!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food as always. Food very consiste ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great Food as always. Food very consistent. Varied menu. Great ambience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Get the duck- it's always a star dish

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Get the duck- it's always a star dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food , the service was also gr ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

excellent food , the service was also great. seated upstairs

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Bernardin's. We were celebrating both our birthdays and had a fabulous and romantic meal with impeccable service. We highly recommend Bernardin's and can't wait to come back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was really nice with great entr ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The menu was really nice with great entrée selections. I had the lamb and my husband had the prime rib. It was hard to decide what to order and we weren't as adventures this first visit. We will go back soon however to try the Camel and Kangaroo dishes. The servings were plentiful and we felt satisfied. Service was friendly and average. The only thing I didn't care for was the sticky rice cake that came with my lamb but the Coconut Flan dessert more than made up for it.

Overall we would recommend this restaurant and found the separate intimate and privte dining area that could easily accommodate 16-20 perfect setting for hosting a future dinner party here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

After reading the reviews, we were excit ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

After reading the reviews, we were excited about experiencing this restaurant. Upon entering the rooms were relatively dark and somewhat uninviting. We asked to change our table because the floor vent was blowing directly on us. About 10 minutes after being served our entree, the server came by to check on our meals. I told her that mine was very chewy and somewhat tough (ostrich - medium rare). The server said she had "heard that one before" and would I like something else. I refused based on the timing and knowing that it would probably take 10-15 minutes for another meal. That was the last we saw her until we received our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We dined on the patio outside the histor ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We dined on the patio outside the historic house. A perfect spot for a warm summer night, with a gentle breeze. The service was excellent, not rushed or overbearing. The food was equally excellent, well prepared and presented with more than adequate portions. If I am again visiting Winston-Salem I will be sure to put Bernadin's on the top of my list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was well prepared and delicious ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our food was well prepared and delicious, from tuna-tuna appetizer down to cobbler for dessert. The outdoor dining area is sexy and sophisticated. Our servers were knowledgeable and friendly. Great overall experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I chose Bernardin's at the Z ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I chose Bernardin's at the Zeverly House to celebrate our Anniversary. This was our first visit to the Zeverly House, but certainly won't be our last. Incredible ambiance in a cozy, romantic setting. My wife chose the ribeye while I went with a lobster dish which was a special feature for the evening. Both were wonderful with very generous portions. The young lady who was serving us that night was very gracious and helpful with our questions. This is an ideal setting for any special occasion...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great and knowledgeable service, large m ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great and knowledgeable service, large menu option for the adventurous eater to the not so adventurous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very expensive for the quality. My food ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very expensive for the quality. My food had to be sent back because the chicken was still pink and rubbery. They brought a new one out that had the same problem again. Beautiful place but the food was not up to par.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Just a few things.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The servers were good. They were nice and answered our questions professionally though I feel the service was pretty slow. Took a while to get our entrée and when we were done it took forever to get our bill. In fact, I got up to pay it when they finally came back around. The food was good. Not great but good, needed just a bit more seasoning, then again maybe it would have tasted better had it came to the table hot. Our steaks were colder than they should have been. Witch leaves me to believe they were waiting to come out for a while. Witch would go hand in hand with how long it took to get it to our table. We dined here on our anniversary. We certianly were full after but we had high hopes and they weren't met. We left feeling kinda "ehh" about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Delicious birthday dinner

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious birthday dinner here. The location is great, just downtown Winston, and the building is beautiful. The bar area looks fun for drinks with a small group as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Have always had impeccable service there. Our waitress, while adorable, friendly, and apologetic was stretched so thin that we had riduculous wait times before ordering, during dinner, ordering dessert, and waiting for bill. It was not a relaxing night to celebrate our anniversary waiting as we did.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

It was very quiet and it was very easy t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

It was very quiet and it was very easy to hear other conversations. Maybe some background music would be nice. That was the only bad thing. The food and service was Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

So So

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

For the price, it unfortunately was just not worth it. Very very expensive for mediocre food. Had a party of 6. Everyone ordered something different- the steak (just ok), seafood pasta (seafood cooked well, but flavor was nothing exciting), shrimp (simple but decent), salads were ok. Bread was nothing special. Service was great. Waitress was attentive and kind. Wine list was good. Food was nothing exciting. Felt it was very, very overpriced for what it was. Did like the old house that it was in, liked the decor. Have no plans to go back. For the money, we all agreed we would rather go to Spring House, Quanto Basta, Noble Grille, Hutch & Harris, or Mozelle's instead next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

A little bit inconsistent

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was so much better than most other "fine dining" I have experienced. Even though....The host staff is not friendly, the manager only talks to who he wants to. The servers seemed very busy. The restaurant was sooooo cold and it was 50 degrees outside. This made the food cold. Positives: Creative food, well seasoned and cooked. Downside: Temperature was horrid, bread was tasteless. I love that this isn't the Winston Salem menu which seems to be standard downtown. They actually have some creative dishes!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Unimpressed by the food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I were both displeased with our meals. His duck was tough and undercooked. My Ahi tuna was over cooked and covered with wasabi sauce. I love wasabi but want to taste some of the tuna without it. The noodles and baby boc choy were not well cooked either.

My husband asked for VO and Coke. They said they didn't have VO but it was front and center on the bar when we left! Not a big deal but that's a very basic thing for them not to know.

Won't go back...too many good choices elsewhere in town.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

It wonderful restaurant with a fun and e ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

It wonderful restaurant with a fun and exciting menu. The wine is perfect for the menu. I have never had bad service here or a bad meal. Every time has been a delightful experience. If you're in Winston-Salem and looking for a great meal look no further than Bernardins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

RECOMMEND

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Took advantage of their participation in Winston-Salem Restaurant Week and cannot wait to go back again. The sooner the better. The food was amazing, appetizer, entrée, and dessert. Service was solid and the Zevely House is a neat little spot for a fine dining establishment. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food and services was great. Our waiter was amazing. We liked the small tables, we were a party of 8 so it was nice that the table was not too large. The restaurant was a little loud so that made it hard to talk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Another wonderful experience at Bernardin's

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

A group of ten of us went to Bernardin's during the first annual Restaurant Week this past weekend, and we were all blown away with the wonderful food and service. I have visited Bernardin's previously, but some of our group were new to the restaurant. Everyone was definitely converted by the end of the evening. The food was fresh, flavorful, and inventive. I personally had the ahi tuna starter, the curried lamb shank, and the creme brulee, which were all amazing. It was worlds better than my experience at another high-end W-S restaurant that I visited a few days prior (also for Restaurant Week). Across the group, we ordered almost everything on the restaurant week menu, and everything was raves - with additional special shoutouts to the blue cheese mashed potatoes, the salmon, and the bread pudding.

Everyone truly enjoyed their meal, and Bernardin's was wonderful accommodating the gluten-free needs of two of our party. The service was attentive and never rushed, despite a scheduling snafu on my part that resulted in a last-second change to our reservation time, which Bernardin's graciously accommodated. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant for anyone's fine dining needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The start of the night was a little rough. I stood at the door by the hostess desk and the young lady walked up and never acknowledged my presence. She actually sat down at a table and never said a word to me. However, when the owner (I presume) returned he was apologetic and got me seated along with my party. From there the service was great and the food was fantastic. I would definitely return and recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best of both

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

A restaurant that not only has wonderful food but the service is just right, not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favs!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Great location and ambience. This was our second visit to Bernardin's and the food was excellent each time. The only drawback is that the tables are close together (quaint old house) so not the best place for a conversation you don't want fellow diners to overhear or chime in on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A memorable dining experience

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

My husband and I treated ourselves to a dinner at Bernardin's. Our meals were very good, but what most stands out in our memory was the warmth and good humor of our server, Danielle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

wonderful place

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

My only concern would be if it was busy it might feel cramped. Other than that it is a great place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Girlfriend is GF they make to order. Was ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Girlfriend is GF they make to order. Was awesome she had salmon I had filet

The waiter was excellent

Food great. Great Valentine's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice Date Night Spot, special occassion

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Unique menu items and everything we ordered was really good. Mid range pricing, great service. Only downside was seating was a little tight and we had large group beside us that was quite talkative. Chocolate Mousse Cake a definite buy!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful ambience

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Bernardin's. The food was great, the service was outstanding, and what a wonderful ambience. It's pricey so we will not return regularly, but will when anytime we have something to celebrate. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have enjoyed quality food and a pleas ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We have enjoyed quality food and a pleasant ambiance at Bernardin's for many years at both locations. Our Valentine's Day dinner featured entrees that were tasty and well prepared but were accompanied by disappointing side offerings including soggy Asian noodles and a greasy rice cake. Our dishes were presented in record time; this expediency no doubt in keeping with the written request on the menu to confine our dining experience to 1 1/2 hours. Never before have we been asked to limit our time at our table nor have any acquaintances been presented with such a request even in exalted culinary centers like New York City. Though phrased politely, we found this request off-putting, rude, and not worthy of a pricey restaurant that seems to want to process customers cafeteria style when faced with a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Valentine's Dinner

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Enjoyed A wonderful Valentines meal. Food was excellent and the service was good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Divine!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We have searched high and low for fine dining in the Winston Salem area, and finally found it. Bernardin's is marvelously creative and worthy of more than five stars. When you open a menu and can't decide among the offerings because you want to try them all, that's the sign of an inventive hand in the kitchen.

The arugula salad was daringly garnished with fried sweet peppers and the best blue cheese I have tasted. The braised escargots were on a bed of various mushrooms that perfectly complemented the snails.

The New Zealand venison was cunningly presented and perfectly seared medium rare. The Maine lobster with lobster ravioli was incredibly fresh for being prepared outside of New England.

The strawberry shortcake and coconut flan were elegant and light, just as you'd wish after two previous courses. Can't wait to return to try other menu offerings.

Service was efficient but not intrusive. The restaurant needs somewhere to store coats, but that was our only complaint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The dinner was divine. I had the delicious lobster and filet mignon. I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening at Bernadin's-

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was excellent, and always is in my experience.

The entire event was 2 hours and not because we lingered, in part due to long time for entrees to come out, and they gave our dessert to someone else. When delivered, we just took it as a take home.

Just an off night. We'd go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Reliably Excellent

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We are regulars at Bernardin's and have never been disappointed. We eat out frequently and, while there are many good restaurants in Winston-Salem, such as Spring House, we are prepared to say that Bernardin's has one of the most interesting menus and is consistently satisfying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.