Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House

Coming Soon!

901 West Fourth Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm-until

Cross Street:
between Summit & Brookstown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 725-6666

Website:
http://www.bernardinsfinedining.com/

Executive Chef:
Freddy Lee

Private Party Contact:
Terry Lee, Freddy Lee: (336) 725-6666

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Historic (25)
Romantic (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Cozy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fireplace (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a great evening on the patio in the summer.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Delicious food and lovely experience. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very nice restaurant but service was a bit weird. Two waiters who seemed not to each realize the other was also waiting our table. Neighboring table talking loudly about medical issues--not the restaurant's fault, but definitely hampered the meal. Food was interesting and excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A very nice surprise and hidden gem in Winston Salem. We've dined at most restaurants in the area over the years while visiting our daughter a WF University. We decided to try Bernardin's as it somehow stayed under our radar. We enjoyed the uniqueness of the menu with influences from Asia, India and other parts of the world. All the dishes were nicely portioned and full of flavor. The setting is quaint and unique as well as the restaurant is a converted house. The service provided by Alex was excellent... he knew the menu in detail, cared for the various allergies at the table, and recommended a nice bottle of wine that was reasonably priced.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed one of the best meals we have had in a long time. We were out for our 17th anniversary, and were very pleased with every aspect of our meal. Will definitely be back again soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to Bernardin's several times but not in quite a while. This visit did not disappoint. The menu was wide ranging & offered dishes we had never tried before. Each one was fantastic. I wouldn't order camel (no kidding) just anywhere, but I was confident it would be good here, and it was. The server was comfortable describing it both in terms of preparation & taste, which made me more sure about it. (My husband had venison, which was less of a stretch for us.) All in all, it was great meal.

The one down side was that we were in the upstairs front room, and the floor shook noticeably whenever someone walked through the room. (It's an old house.) It's less noticeable if you sit on the wall-side. It certainly didn't keep us from enjoying our dinner. We just sat next to each other. ;)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was outstanding! I had the duck, which was excellent. My sister had the venison which had a great flavor and was very tender. Everything was very high quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Sharing a meal at Bernardin's is always a special occasion. The food is delicious, with some very unique choices available as well as beautifully prepared standard choices. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and our server was prompt and attentive without being overbearing.
The restaurant is also in a very convenient location for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It had been a while since our last visit and it certainly didn't disappoint us. Delicious food and wonderful service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Love love loved their lobster special ! Best meal in a year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was one of the best restaurants in Winston-Salem. Everything was great. We were very happy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very attentive but not overbearing service, interesting and diverse menu, nice selection of wines to compliment the food

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Bernardin's never disappoints! We came here for 'Restaurant Week', and chose from the Price Fixe menu. The portions were perfect, they were done to perfection (Curry Lamb Shank is not always on the menu ... get it if it's available!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food is excellent. The setting is attractive. We liked that the owner (or Maitre D) came by and asked us if everything was good.

The parking lot is tight. The lighting between the parking lot and the restaurant is dim. Service is good, but not quite at the level of the cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Britanny told me the filet mignon was the best in town. It was! Always helps when my wife's favorite wine is on the list, especially on our anniversary.

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had been really excited about going to Bernadin's. The meal was pretty good, but we have had better service at less expensive places. The food could have used a little more seasoning. I had the scallops, and she she had the salmon. We would we go back....maybe, but we have better meals overall at several other establishments in the area.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is my first visit to this restaurant. I came here with my wife for her birthday. The food was great and they have a great menu. I had the Lamb chops and they were made perfectly, nice and tender and medium rare. My wife had steak and lobster and she loved it. It was a big filet, so big she had to take some of it home. the personnel were very friendly and prompt. The atmosphere is great as it is in an old house made into a restaurant near the center of Winston Salem. We are looking forward to coming back in the summer to see how it is to eat outside in their open area. Great food and a good time.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food. Great service! Thank you Alex!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great creative food and service. Always something uniques on the menu. I had the NC Emu which was delicious. First time I have had Emu and I would only try in a quality resteraunt like Bernardins. My wife had the lamb chops which were perfectly cooked and seasoned.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service was great. Just a lil stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was wonderful for Valentine Dinner. Excellent menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was wonderful, but our server was slow, and had to be asked several times for simple things like ice or lemon wedges,
and there was a strong unpleasant odor in the restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It is a nice place but I would only go there when outside dining under the arbor is available. It is very loud inside. Prices are too high. The waitstaff is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We've eaten here several times, and never been disappointed. Two of us had the 'Big Eat' special, curry lamb shank, which was spectacular.
The other had the vegetable plate, and was quite pleased with it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 5, 2017

May be the best in Winston Salem!!!!
Classy Place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Historic, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Bernardins is one of the best restaurants in town. The different types of food provided is a must for people who like a steak or different types of meat not traditionally eaten at restaurants. The staff is excellent and you walk out feeling like one of the most important people around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My correct reservation via Open Table was not received by the restaurant and the man who intervened at the restaurant was incredibly rude. It was a busy night, i.e., a discount night, so he probably felt stressed anyway and now had to figure out how to accommodate two people who he couldn't account for in his seating plan. Nevertheless, he was inappropriately rude, accusatory and defensive -- especially for a restaurant of this stature. We were seated and enjoyed the rest of our experience at Bernardin's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our second time at Bernardin's and the food was very good--as it was the first time we were there. I love the variety of meats (camel and emu not your standard fare at most places). Notable this time was the service--or maybe lack thereof. The guy was polite enough and we felt welcomed, but he was consistently "off" just a little bit with the order from start to finish. We had to remind him of the wine order..and later repeat the request for the chiller; didn't offer the right food to the right person when it finally arrived; didn't offer pepper when the food was delivered; had to ask about the dessert offerings. All minor things, but in quantity made the experience a little less than before. That said...the food is good enough to give it another chance down the road.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Was okay. Didn't meet my expectations from other reviews. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I was a bit disappointed. My husband & I went for his birthday meal . We just moved to the area and a friend suggested it . It was very average . I don't have much to say in general . It wasn't bad , just mediocre & most definitely from Our experience , not worth the cost however The staff was friendly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Historic home in downtown Winston Salem. Excellent food. Small dining rooms make for an intimate feel. Only negative is the restrooms are on the bottom floor which means if you need access to a restroom more than once during visit it can be difficult, especially if you are in one of the top floor dining rooms.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Hands down, the BEST meal I have EVER had. We chose the crab cakes as our appetizer, and they were absolutely delicious. What a crab cake SHOULD be. I had the surf and turf with goat cheese, spinach and potato cake. Everything was cooked to perfection. The lobster was tender and cooked perfect as well... which is hard to find. My fiancée, (he proposed downstairs in the romantic lounge area!!!!), had camel with a bone marrow truffle sauce... absolutely incredible. I will definitely go back while they have the camel! I also had the most amazing glass of Argentinian Malbec. Smooth and perfect. It drank as smooth as water. Our server, Brittany, was charming and knowledgeable without being stuffy. Timely without rushing us, and a very skilled and professional server. Everything was just so wonderful. Besides the fact that we got engaged there! ;)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I dined here for New Year's Eve. He had never been and really enjoyed it! The food was great - he took a risk and ordered the Emu and loved it. I tried it and it was very very tasty. I had the lamb which was wonderful. Delicious wine. Good service. We had a great NYE dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always enjoy the food. Tried the camel it was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice evening. Good food. Excellent service. Located in a historic old house that was interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic New Year's Eve/wedding anniversary dinner. Everything was perfect, even with the huge crowd. It's a great experience every time, still the best place to get fine dining in Winston Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Never been disappointed here. Food and service were great. Headed out for NYE and server made sure we were on time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my first time and we were celebrating New Year's Eve with some dear friends. It was everything I had hoped for. The food was delicious (I ordered surf and turf) and it was reasonable priced for a higher end restaurant. My filet was cooked to perfection and I could cut it with a fork if I wanted but used my knife like a big girl should, ha. I would love to take my parents here when they come in from Augusta, GA but my mother has trouble with stairs. One definitely has to do some climbing up in down, especially if you need to stop by the ladies (or gents) room which is located in the basement down a really old but super cool brick stairwell.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our 1st visit & it was New Year's Eve so any 'problems' I would attribute to this. But,man, the place was noisy. In fact, I refused to eat dessert there as I was just too uncomfortable. My guess that on a 'normal' night it would not be like this. We were at a small table & next to us was a party of 8 & they were really enjoying themselves. We enjoyed our food, tho. :)

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My wife and i were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary and every thing was great. We have been going to the Bernadrin Zevely House for 40 years. Always been a great restaurant. Outstanding cuisine . We have always loved going there.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.