About Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House

901 West Fourth Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm-until

Cross Street:
between Summit & Brookstown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 725-6666

Website:
http://www.bernardinsfinedining.com/

Executive Chef:
Freddy Lee

Private Party Contact:
Terry Lee, Freddy Lee: (336) 725-6666

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Historic (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Fireplace (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Great Beer (2)
Fun (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had been really excited about going t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

We had been really excited about going to Bernadin's. The meal was pretty good, but we have had better service at less expensive places. The food could have used a little more seasoning. I had the scallops, and she she had the salmon. We would we go back....maybe, but we have better meals overall at several other establishments in the area.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This is my first visit to this restauran ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

This is my first visit to this restaurant. I came here with my wife for her birthday. The food was great and they have a great menu. I had the Lamb chops and they were made perfectly, nice and tender and medium rare. My wife had steak and lobster and she loved it. It was a big filet, so big she had to take some of it home. the personnel were very friendly and prompt. The atmosphere is great as it is in an old house made into a restaurant near the center of Winston Salem. We are looking forward to coming back in the summer to see how it is to eat outside in their open area. Great food and a good time.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service! Thank you Al ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Great service! Thank you Alex!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great creative food and service. Always ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great creative food and service. Always something uniques on the menu. I had the NC Emu which was delicious. First time I have had Emu and I would only try in a quality resteraunt like Bernardins. My wife had the lamb chops which were perfectly cooked and seasoned.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was great. Just a lil s ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service was great. Just a lil stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful for Valentine D ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was wonderful for Valentine Dinner. Excellent menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was wonderful, but our server w ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was wonderful, but our server was slow, and had to be asked several times for simple things like ice or lemon wedges,

and there was a strong unpleasant odor in the restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

It is a nice place but I would only go t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It is a nice place but I would only go there when outside dining under the arbor is available. It is very loud inside. Prices are too high. The waitstaff is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

We've eaten here several times, and neve ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We've eaten here several times, and never been disappointed. Two of us had the 'Big Eat' special, curry lamb shank, which was spectacular.

The other had the vegetable plate, and was quite pleased with it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

May be the best in Winston Salem!!!! Cla ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 5, 2017

May be the best in Winston Salem!!!!

Classy Place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Historic, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bernardins is one of the best restaurant ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Bernardins is one of the best restaurants in town. The different types of food provided is a must for people who like a steak or different types of meat not traditionally eaten at restaurants. The staff is excellent and you walk out feeling like one of the most important people around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My correct reservation via Open Table wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My correct reservation via Open Table was not received by the restaurant and the man who intervened at the restaurant was incredibly rude. It was a busy night, i.e., a discount night, so he probably felt stressed anyway and now had to figure out how to accommodate two people who he couldn't account for in his seating plan. Nevertheless, he was inappropriately rude, accusatory and defensive -- especially for a restaurant of this stature. We were seated and enjoyed the rest of our experience at Bernardin's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

This was our second time at Bernardin's ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our second time at Bernardin's and the food was very good--as it was the first time we were there. I love the variety of meats (camel and emu not your standard fare at most places). Notable this time was the service--or maybe lack thereof. The guy was polite enough and we felt welcomed, but he was consistently "off" just a little bit with the order from start to finish. We had to remind him of the wine order..and later repeat the request for the chiller; didn't offer the right food to the right person when it finally arrived; didn't offer pepper when the food was delivered; had to ask about the dessert offerings. All minor things, but in quantity made the experience a little less than before. That said...the food is good enough to give it another chance down the road.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was okay. Didn't meet my expectations f ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Was okay. Didn't meet my expectations from other reviews. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I was a bit disappointed. My husband & I ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I was a bit disappointed. My husband & I went for his birthday meal . We just moved to the area and a friend suggested it . It was very average . I don't have much to say in general . It wasn't bad , just mediocre & most definitely from Our experience , not worth the cost however The staff was friendly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Historic home in downtown Winston Salem. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Historic home in downtown Winston Salem. Excellent food. Small dining rooms make for an intimate feel. Only negative is the restrooms are on the bottom floor which means if you need access to a restroom more than once during visit it can be difficult, especially if you are in one of the top floor dining rooms.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hands down, the BEST meal I have EVER ha ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Hands down, the BEST meal I have EVER had. We chose the crab cakes as our appetizer, and they were absolutely delicious. What a crab cake SHOULD be. I had the surf and turf with goat cheese, spinach and potato cake. Everything was cooked to perfection. The lobster was tender and cooked perfect as well... which is hard to find. My fiancée, (he proposed downstairs in the romantic lounge area!!!!), had camel with a bone marrow truffle sauce... absolutely incredible. I will definitely go back while they have the camel! I also had the most amazing glass of Argentinian Malbec. Smooth and perfect. It drank as smooth as water. Our server, Brittany, was charming and knowledgeable without being stuffy. Timely without rushing us, and a very skilled and professional server. Everything was just so wonderful. Besides the fact that we got engaged there! ;)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, , Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I dined here for New Ye ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I dined here for New Year's Eve. He had never been and really enjoyed it! The food was great - he took a risk and ordered the Emu and loved it. I tried it and it was very very tasty. I had the lamb which was wonderful. Delicious wine. Good service. We had a great NYE dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the food. Tried the camel ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always enjoy the food. Tried the camel it was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very nice evening. Good food. Excellen ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice evening. Good food. Excellent service. Located in a historic old house that was interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic New Year's Eve/wedding anniver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic New Year's Eve/wedding anniversary dinner. Everything was perfect, even with the huge crowd. It's a great experience every time, still the best place to get fine dining in Winston Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never been disappointed here. Food and s ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Never been disappointed here. Food and service were great. Headed out for NYE and server made sure we were on time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time and we were celeb ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my first time and we were celebrating New Year's Eve with some dear friends. It was everything I had hoped for. The food was delicious (I ordered surf and turf) and it was reasonable priced for a higher end restaurant. My filet was cooked to perfection and I could cut it with a fork if I wanted but used my knife like a big girl should, ha. I would love to take my parents here when they come in from Augusta, GA but my mother has trouble with stairs. One definitely has to do some climbing up in down, especially if you need to stop by the ladies (or gents) room which is located in the basement down a really old but super cool brick stairwell.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 1st visit & it was New Year's Eve so ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our 1st visit & it was New Year's Eve so any 'problems' I would attribute to this. But,man, the place was noisy. In fact, I refused to eat dessert there as I was just too uncomfortable. My guess that on a 'normal' night it would not be like this. We were at a small table & next to us was a party of 8 & they were really enjoying themselves. We enjoyed our food, tho. :)

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and i were celebrating our 46th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My wife and i were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary and every thing was great. We have been going to the Bernadrin Zevely House for 40 years. Always been a great restaurant. Outstanding cuisine . We have always loved going there.

Tags: , Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was unique and well prepared. A ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food was unique and well prepared. Always a treat to have a nice meal at Bernardin's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb cuisine,expertly described and de ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Superb cuisine,expertly described and delivered by our server. Wonderful menu and specials, wish we could have tried more. A bit pricey,but, reasonable for our special occasion. Chef was responsive to our requests. A minor problem was the noise level due to nearby obnoxious vacuous Wake Forest students who celebrate end of exams at a five star restaurant routinely. I celebrated end of exams with a whopper, with fries when I could afford it. Oh well. So, superb memorable cuisine and we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here on several occasions and ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I've been here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. It can be a little loud and the tables are a little tight, but it's well worth any small inconvenience. One of Winston Salem's treasures.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experie ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience! The food was excellent and the wait staff was knowledgeable and efficient. We would definitely visit again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I usually LOVE this place so I'm hoping ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I usually LOVE this place so I'm hoping that Saturday night was a "Saturday night during the holiday season anomaly." I order the SAME dinner each and every time we go: RARE tuna, soba noodles and bok choy. What a disappointment. My tuna was MR-M, soba noodles a pile of mush, and wasabi sauce all over the place - totally took away from the delicate flavors and overwhelmed the dish. I didn't recognize the plate and I've eaten it a least 5 times before. My husband had the surf and turf and said it was just "OK". But we'll be back. 1/5 are still good odds. We'll just wait 'til the holiday season is well-past.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food and our waiter Alex were great how ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and our waiter Alex were great however, the Receptionist was not pleasant. Got there right before reservation and was greeted with "I just called you" as if we were late. No "Welcome" or "Nice to see you".

Had requested a smaller room due to hearing problems with one friend. Owner/manager told receptionist to move us so they could close down the room we were in. We wanted to stay where we were since there was not as much noise. Waiter kindly said for us to stay. Apparently that did not set well with management. Food came, side dish of broccoli was cold. Requested to have it heated up. Owner/manager came back with side dish and just tossed it on the table with no apology.

We were finishing up our wine and apparently the last table. Owner/manager cuts off the music promptly at 10:00 to run us out. We were almost done and it wasn't like we were going to linger.

I like Bernadine's cuisine, and have been there on several occasions however, we will not be going back anytime soon do to the bad attitude some individual's exhibited. Patrons of a restaurant should not be treated this way and especially when one is paying good money for a meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was excellent. We were put in a ro ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food was excellent. We were put in a room with a VERY noisy group which diminished our enjoyment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great place! The food is superb ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 12, 2016

What a great place! The food is superb and the service was fantastic. So many meats you will not find anywhere else & the majority is locally sourced. We will be back! Wish we'd found this gem sooner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

The sophisticated fusion cuisine along w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The sophisticated fusion cuisine along with the excellent wine list is a palate pleaser. The wait staff is welcoming and attentive. The finest dinning I have experienced in Winston-Salem... Bar none. Bernardin's has been and always will be a frequent dining spot for me.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food and service coupl ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Consistently good food and service coupled with a varied menu and great environment makes this restaurant truly special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and wonderful service. B ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fantastic food and wonderful service. Beautiful location with a lovely outdoor seating area. Dining area in the house is cozy but we chose to eat outside since the weather was perfect. Close to the Steven's Theatre. Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cute place . Interesting menu. Well exec ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Cute place . Interesting menu. Well executed .

Strawberry shortcake was the only disappointment .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an outstanding experience all aro ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It was an outstanding experience all around. The only negative I have is that the firepit wasn't working as it was a bit chilly outside. I warmed up once I started drinking my delicious Grenache wine. The menu is varied for everyone's tastes which is always a concern. Our waiter was very helpful from choosing wine to our desserts. If I'm ever in NC and nearby Winston Salem, I would run back!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We visited with my brother from FLa. to ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We visited with my brother from FLa. to celebrate three birthdays. It was a beautiful evening and we dined outside. Menu was varied and interesting. Salads particularly were hard to decide on as there were many good offerings. Excellent experience and all were pleased.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.