About Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House

901 West Fourth Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm-until

Cross Street:
between Summit & Brookstown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 725-6666

Website:
http://www.bernardinsfinedining.com/

Executive Chef:
Freddy Lee

Private Party Contact:
Terry Lee, Freddy Lee: 3367256666x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Cakes
Pan Fried Grouper
Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay
Filet Mignon
Belvedere Black Russion
Traditional Caesar Salad
Seared Scallops
Sea bass
Warm Bread Basket
Fried Calamari
Venison
Peach and Blueberry Cobbler with Praline Ice Cream
Lobster Lobster Lobster

Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
6 More
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

special occasion (31)
romantic (21)
fit for foodies (19)
See All
neighborhood gem (19)
great for outdoor dining (13)
notable wine list (12)
good for groups (7)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu was really nice with great entr ...

Dined 4 days ago

The menu was really nice with great entrée selections. I had the lamb and my husband had the prime rib. It was hard to decide what to order and we weren't as adventures this first visit. We will go back soon however to try the Camel and Kangaroo dishes. The servings were plentiful and we felt satisfied. Service was friendly and average. The only thing I didn't care for was the sticky rice cake that came with my lamb but the Coconut Flan dessert more than made up for it. Overall we would recommend this restaurant and found the separate intimate and privte dining area that could easily accommodate 16-20 perfect setting for hosting a future dinner party here!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

After reading the reviews, we were excit ...

Dined 4 days ago

After reading the reviews, we were excited about experiencing this restaurant. Upon entering the rooms were relatively dark and somewhat uninviting. We asked to change our table because the floor vent was blowing directly on us. About 10 minutes after being served our entree, the server came by to check on our meals. I told her that mine was very chewy and somewhat tough (ostrich - medium rare). The server said she had "heard that one before" and would I like something else. I refused based on the timing and knowing that it would probably take 10-15 minutes for another meal. That was the last we saw her until we received our check.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined on the patio outside the histor ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We dined on the patio outside the historic house. A perfect spot for a warm summer night, with a gentle breeze. The service was excellent, not rushed or overbearing. The food was equally excellent, well prepared and presented with more than adequate portions. If I am again visiting Winston-Salem I will be sure to put Bernadin's on the top of my list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our food was well prepared and delicious ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our food was well prepared and delicious, from tuna-tuna appetizer down to cobbler for dessert. The outdoor dining area is sexy and sophisticated. Our servers were knowledgeable and friendly. Great overall experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I chose Bernardin's at the Z ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I chose Bernardin's at the Zeverly House to celebrate our Anniversary. This was our first visit to the Zeverly House, but certainly won't be our last. Incredible ambiance in a cozy, romantic setting. My wife chose the ribeye while I went with a lobster dish which was a special feature for the evening. Both were wonderful with very generous portions. The young lady who was serving us that night was very gracious and helpful with our questions. This is an ideal setting for any special occasion...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great and knowledgeable service, large m ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great and knowledgeable service, large menu option for the adventurous eater to the not so adventurous.

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Very expensive for the quality. My food ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very expensive for the quality. My food had to be sent back because the chicken was still pink and rubbery. They brought a new one out that had the same problem again. Beautiful place but the food was not up to par.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Just a few things.

Dined on May 14, 2016

The servers were good. They were nice and answered our questions professionally though I feel the service was pretty slow. Took a while to get our entrée and when we were done it took forever to get our bill. In fact, I got up to pay it when they finally came back around. The food was good. Not great but good, needed just a bit more seasoning, then again maybe it would have tasted better had it came to the table hot. Our steaks were colder than they should have been. Witch leaves me to believe they were waiting to come out for a while. Witch would go hand in hand with how long it took to get it to our table. We dined here on our anniversary. We certianly were full after but we had high hopes and they weren't met. We left feeling kinda "ehh" about it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious birthday dinner

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious birthday dinner here. The location is great, just downtown Winston, and the building is beautiful. The bar area looks fun for drinks with a small group as well.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Slow service

Dined on April 30, 2016

Have always had impeccable service there. Our waitress, while adorable, friendly, and apologetic was stretched so thin that we had riduculous wait times before ordering, during dinner, ordering dessert, and waiting for bill. It was not a relaxing night to celebrate our anniversary waiting as we did.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

It was very quiet and it was very easy t ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was very quiet and it was very easy to hear other conversations. Maybe some background music would be nice. That was the only bad thing. The food and service was Great!

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

So So

Dined on April 17, 2016

For the price, it unfortunately was just not worth it. Very very expensive for mediocre food. Had a party of 6. Everyone ordered something different- the steak (just ok), seafood pasta (seafood cooked well, but flavor was nothing exciting), shrimp (simple but decent), salads were ok. Bread was nothing special. Service was great. Waitress was attentive and kind. Wine list was good. Food was nothing exciting. Felt it was very, very overpriced for what it was. Did like the old house that it was in, liked the decor. Have no plans to go back. For the money, we all agreed we would rather go to Spring House, Quanto Basta, Noble Grille, Hutch & Harris, or Mozelle's instead next time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A little bit inconsistent

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was so much better than most other "fine dining" I have experienced. Even though....The host staff is not friendly, the manager only talks to who he wants to. The servers seemed very busy. The restaurant was sooooo cold and it was 50 degrees outside. This made the food cold. Positives: Creative food, well seasoned and cooked. Downside: Temperature was horrid, bread was tasteless. I love that this isn't the Winston Salem menu which seems to be standard downtown. They actually have some creative dishes!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Unimpressed by the food

Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I were both displeased with our meals. His duck was tough and undercooked. My Ahi tuna was over cooked and covered with wasabi sauce. I love wasabi but want to taste some of the tuna without it. The noodles and baby boc choy were not well cooked either. My husband asked for VO and Coke. They said they didn't have VO but it was front and center on the bar when we left! Not a big deal but that's a very basic thing for them not to know. Won't go back...too many good choices elsewhere in town.

food5
ambience5
service5

It wonderful restaurant with a fun and e ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

It wonderful restaurant with a fun and exciting menu. The wine is perfect for the menu. I have never had bad service here or a bad meal. Every time has been a delightful experience. If you're in Winston-Salem and looking for a great meal look no further than Bernardins.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

RECOMMEND

Dined on February 28, 2016

Took advantage of their participation in Winston-Salem Restaurant Week and cannot wait to go back again. The sooner the better. The food was amazing, appetizer, entrée, and dessert. Service was solid and the Zevely House is a neat little spot for a fine dining establishment. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food and services was great. Our waiter was amazing. We liked the small tables, we were a party of 8 so it was nice that the table was not too large. The restaurant was a little loud so that made it hard to talk.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful experience at Bernardin's

Dined on February 27, 2016

A group of ten of us went to Bernardin's during the first annual Restaurant Week this past weekend, and we were all blown away with the wonderful food and service. I have visited Bernardin's previously, but some of our group were new to the restaurant. Everyone was definitely converted by the end of the evening. The food was fresh, flavorful, and inventive. I personally had the ahi tuna starter, the curried lamb shank, and the creme brulee, which were all amazing. It was worlds better than my experience at another high-end W-S restaurant that I visited a few days prior (also for Restaurant Week). Across the group, we ordered almost everything on the restaurant week menu, and everything was raves - with additional special shoutouts to the blue cheese mashed potatoes, the salmon, and the bread pudding. Everyone truly enjoyed their meal, and Bernardin's was wonderful accommodating the gluten-free needs of two of our party. The service was attentive and never rushed, despite a scheduling snafu on my part that resulted in a last-second change to our reservation time, which Bernardin's graciously accommodated. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant for anyone's fine dining needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on February 27, 2016

The start of the night was a little rough. I stood at the door by the hostess desk and the young lady walked up and never acknowledged my presence. She actually sat down at a table and never said a word to me. However, when the owner (I presume) returned he was apologetic and got me seated along with my party. From there the service was great and the food was fantastic. I would definitely return and recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of both

Dined on February 26, 2016

A restaurant that not only has wonderful food but the service is just right, not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favs!

Dined on February 22, 2016

Great location and ambience. This was our second visit to Bernardin's and the food was excellent each time. The only drawback is that the tables are close together (quaint old house) so not the best place for a conversation you don't want fellow diners to overhear or chime in on!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A memorable dining experience

Dined on February 21, 2016

My husband and I treated ourselves to a dinner at Bernardin's. Our meals were very good, but what most stands out in our memory was the warmth and good humor of our server, Danielle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

wonderful place

Dined on February 20, 2016

My only concern would be if it was busy it might feel cramped. Other than that it is a great place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Girlfriend is GF they make to order. Was ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Girlfriend is GF they make to order. Was awesome she had salmon I had filet The waiter was excellent Food great. Great Valentine's Day!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice Date Night Spot, special occassion

Dined on February 14, 2016

Unique menu items and everything we ordered was really good. Mid range pricing, great service. Only downside was seating was a little tight and we had large group beside us that was quite talkative. Chocolate Mousse Cake a definite buy!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful ambience

Dined on February 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Bernardin's. The food was great, the service was outstanding, and what a wonderful ambience. It's pricey so we will not return regularly, but will when anytime we have something to celebrate. I highly recommend it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We have enjoyed quality food and a pleas ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have enjoyed quality food and a pleasant ambiance at Bernardin's for many years at both locations. Our Valentine's Day dinner featured entrees that were tasty and well prepared but were accompanied by disappointing side offerings including soggy Asian noodles and a greasy rice cake. Our dishes were presented in record time; this expediency no doubt in keeping with the written request on the menu to confine our dining experience to 1 1/2 hours. Never before have we been asked to limit our time at our table nor have any acquaintances been presented with such a request even in exalted culinary centers like New York City. Though phrased politely, we found this request off-putting, rude, and not worthy of a pricey restaurant that seems to want to process customers cafeteria style when faced with a busy night.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Enjoyed A wonderful Valentines meal. Food was excellent and the service was good

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divine!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have searched high and low for fine dining in the Winston Salem area, and finally found it. Bernardin's is marvelously creative and worthy of more than five stars. When you open a menu and can't decide among the offerings because you want to try them all, that's the sign of an inventive hand in the kitchen. The arugula salad was daringly garnished with fried sweet peppers and the best blue cheese I have tasted. The braised escargots were on a bed of various mushrooms that perfectly complemented the snails. The New Zealand venison was cunningly presented and perfectly seared medium rare. The Maine lobster with lobster ravioli was incredibly fresh for being prepared outside of New England. The strawberry shortcake and coconut flan were elegant and light, just as you'd wish after two previous courses. Can't wait to return to try other menu offerings. Service was efficient but not intrusive. The restaurant needs somewhere to store coats, but that was our only complaint!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

The dinner was divine. I had the delicious lobster and filet mignon. I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Evening at Bernadin's-

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was excellent, and always is in my experience. The entire event was 2 hours and not because we lingered, in part due to long time for entrees to come out, and they gave our dessert to someone else. When delivered, we just took it as a take home. Just an off night. We'd go back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Reliably Excellent

Dined on February 13, 2016

We are regulars at Bernardin's and have never been disappointed. We eat out frequently and, while there are many good restaurants in Winston-Salem, such as Spring House, we are prepared to say that Bernardin's has one of the most interesting menus and is consistently satisfying.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, a little noisy.

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was really good (I had the tuna) and the overall ambiance was also really good; however, we were in a small upstairs room which was full upon our arrival. I literally could not hear my dining companion's conversation until one of other tables left. It wasn't that they were particularly loud, but that there was nothing to absorb the noise. This seems to be a new trend in restaurants. I've been told it's so you'll eat and get out so they can turn over tables quicker. However, I go out to nice restaurants to have a good meal and to enjoy my companion's conversation. If this trend continues I'll have to find another method of spending time with my friends. This particular meal was a business dinner to go over some issues with a client. This made it particularly difficult when we couldn't hear each other speak. Otherwise, a very fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Eats

Dined on February 9, 2016

First of all, I must say that the service at Bernardin's is outstanding. The wait-staff is always very attentive and courteous. The food is a little on the high side, but still well worth the price. The entrees are very flavorful and always well accompanied. The noise level can be a little high at times due to the small rooms, but never too overpowering. Great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly a gem!

Dined on February 7, 2016

I live in Georgia, but Bernardins is one of my top 5 favorite restaurants. No matter what you choose, you will love it! And their wine list, while not huge, is very good. The owner, Terry, is friendly, interactive, and extremely knowledgeable. Overall, this is a great experience whatever the occasion (from a special occasion to your regular night out)!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Long fond of the Zeveley House property

Dined on February 5, 2016

First visited this site more than twenty years ago, and enjoyed dining in the old Zeveley house, one of the many notable early, Moravian era structures in Winston-Salem. Food was great then as well. Bernardin's has kept the dining experience at the site, exceptional, and we will indeed return (1200 miles away) again for a dinner experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Special Occasion

Dined on January 30, 2016

Whether it's relatives in town or a birthday, Bernardin's is our family go to restaurant for the Special Occasions in our lives. The menu always has a wide variety of new and exotic choices and the service is always great. After the main entree of Kangaroo or Emu, there is also a perfect dessert menu to finish off the evening. Highly recommend them for that Special occasion in your future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine food and service

Dined on January 19, 2016

Great menu selections and wine list. Truly good food and services! Will certainly look forward to the next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good

Dined on January 17, 2016

We were seated immediately upon arrival. The crab appetizer was enough for the 4 of us to split- the crostini was much better than the plain bread basket. Three of four of us had the seafood pasta, my husband had steak, we all enjoyed our meals. We had a wonderful bottle of wine that was recommended by our server, who was very attentive, and we all split the warm chocolate pecan pie (fabulous). I would highly recommend Bernardin's-

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Bernardins never disappoints. ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

As always, Bernardins never disappoints. Food was great. Our Salmon was cooked to perfection. The ribeye was great as well as the Brie stuffed chicken. Our waitress, Dannie was absolutely awesome! Couldn't have asked for a better night there! Thanks Bernardins!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.