About Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House

901 West Fourth Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm-until

Cross Street:
between Summit & Brookstown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 725-6666

Website:
http://www.bernardinsfinedining.com/

Executive Chef:
Freddy Lee

Private Party Contact:
Terry Lee, Freddy Lee: 3367256666x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Crab Cakes - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Pan Fried Grouper - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Filet Mignon - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Belvedere Black Russion - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Traditional Caesar Salad - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Sea bass - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Seared Scallops - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Warm Bread Basket - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Fried Calamari - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Lobster Lobster Lobster - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Peach and Blueberry Cobbler with Praline Ice Cream - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC
Venison - Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House, Winston-Salem, NC

Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Historic (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fireplace (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Private Room (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Organic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Historic home in downtown Winston Salem. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Historic home in downtown Winston Salem. Excellent food. Small dining rooms make for an intimate feel. Only negative is the restrooms are on the bottom floor which means if you need access to a restroom more than once during visit it can be difficult, especially if you are in one of the top floor dining rooms.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hands down, the BEST meal I have EVER ha ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Hands down, the BEST meal I have EVER had. We chose the crab cakes as our appetizer, and they were absolutely delicious. What a crab cake SHOULD be. I had the surf and turf with goat cheese, spinach and potato cake. Everything was cooked to perfection. The lobster was tender and cooked perfect as well... which is hard to find. My fiancée, (he proposed downstairs in the romantic lounge area!!!!), had camel with a bone marrow truffle sauce... absolutely incredible. I will definitely go back while they have the camel! I also had the most amazing glass of Argentinian Malbec. Smooth and perfect. It drank as smooth as water. Our server, Brittany, was charming and knowledgeable without being stuffy. Timely without rushing us, and a very skilled and professional server. Everything was just so wonderful. Besides the fact that we got engaged there! ;)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I dined here for New Ye ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I dined here for New Year's Eve. He had never been and really enjoyed it! The food was great - he took a risk and ordered the Emu and loved it. I tried it and it was very very tasty. I had the lamb which was wonderful. Delicious wine. Good service. We had a great NYE dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the food. Tried the camel ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always enjoy the food. Tried the camel it was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very nice evening. Good food. Excellen ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice evening. Good food. Excellent service. Located in a historic old house that was interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never been disappointed here. Food and s ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Never been disappointed here. Food and service were great. Headed out for NYE and server made sure we were on time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic New Year's Eve/wedding anniver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic New Year's Eve/wedding anniversary dinner. Everything was perfect, even with the huge crowd. It's a great experience every time, still the best place to get fine dining in Winston Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 1st visit & it was New Year's Eve so ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our 1st visit & it was New Year's Eve so any 'problems' I would attribute to this. But,man, the place was noisy. In fact, I refused to eat dessert there as I was just too uncomfortable. My guess that on a 'normal' night it would not be like this. We were at a small table & next to us was a party of 8 & they were really enjoying themselves. We enjoyed our food, tho. :)

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time and we were celeb ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my first time and we were celebrating New Year's Eve with some dear friends. It was everything I had hoped for. The food was delicious (I ordered surf and turf) and it was reasonable priced for a higher end restaurant. My filet was cooked to perfection and I could cut it with a fork if I wanted but used my knife like a big girl should, ha. I would love to take my parents here when they come in from Augusta, GA but my mother has trouble with stairs. One definitely has to do some climbing up in down, especially if you need to stop by the ladies (or gents) room which is located in the basement down a really old but super cool brick stairwell.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and i were celebrating our 46th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My wife and i were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary and every thing was great. We have been going to the Bernadrin Zevely House for 40 years. Always been a great restaurant. Outstanding cuisine . We have always loved going there.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was unique and well prepared. A ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food was unique and well prepared. Always a treat to have a nice meal at Bernardin's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb cuisine,expertly described and de ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Superb cuisine,expertly described and delivered by our server. Wonderful menu and specials, wish we could have tried more. A bit pricey,but, reasonable for our special occasion. Chef was responsive to our requests. A minor problem was the noise level due to nearby obnoxious vacuous Wake Forest students who celebrate end of exams at a five star restaurant routinely. I celebrated end of exams with a whopper, with fries when I could afford it. Oh well. So, superb memorable cuisine and we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here on several occasions and ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I've been here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. It can be a little loud and the tables are a little tight, but it's well worth any small inconvenience. One of Winston Salem's treasures.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experie ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience! The food was excellent and the wait staff was knowledgeable and efficient. We would definitely visit again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I usually LOVE this place so I'm hoping ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I usually LOVE this place so I'm hoping that Saturday night was a "Saturday night during the holiday season anomaly." I order the SAME dinner each and every time we go: RARE tuna, soba noodles and bok choy. What a disappointment. My tuna was MR-M, soba noodles a pile of mush, and wasabi sauce all over the place - totally took away from the delicate flavors and overwhelmed the dish. I didn't recognize the plate and I've eaten it a least 5 times before. My husband had the surf and turf and said it was just "OK". But we'll be back. 1/5 are still good odds. We'll just wait 'til the holiday season is well-past.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food and our waiter Alex were great how ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and our waiter Alex were great however, the Receptionist was not pleasant. Got there right before reservation and was greeted with "I just called you" as if we were late. No "Welcome" or "Nice to see you".

Had requested a smaller room due to hearing problems with one friend. Owner/manager told receptionist to move us so they could close down the room we were in. We wanted to stay where we were since there was not as much noise. Waiter kindly said for us to stay. Apparently that did not set well with management. Food came, side dish of broccoli was cold. Requested to have it heated up. Owner/manager came back with side dish and just tossed it on the table with no apology.

We were finishing up our wine and apparently the last table. Owner/manager cuts off the music promptly at 10:00 to run us out. We were almost done and it wasn't like we were going to linger.

I like Bernadine's cuisine, and have been there on several occasions however, we will not be going back anytime soon do to the bad attitude some individual's exhibited. Patrons of a restaurant should not be treated this way and especially when one is paying good money for a meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was excellent. We were put in a ro ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food was excellent. We were put in a room with a VERY noisy group which diminished our enjoyment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great place! The food is superb ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 12, 2016

What a great place! The food is superb and the service was fantastic. So many meats you will not find anywhere else & the majority is locally sourced. We will be back! Wish we'd found this gem sooner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

The sophisticated fusion cuisine along w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The sophisticated fusion cuisine along with the excellent wine list is a palate pleaser. The wait staff is welcoming and attentive. The finest dinning I have experienced in Winston-Salem... Bar none. Bernardin's has been and always will be a frequent dining spot for me.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food and service coupl ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Consistently good food and service coupled with a varied menu and great environment makes this restaurant truly special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and wonderful service. B ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fantastic food and wonderful service. Beautiful location with a lovely outdoor seating area. Dining area in the house is cozy but we chose to eat outside since the weather was perfect. Close to the Steven's Theatre. Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cute place . Interesting menu. Well exec ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Cute place . Interesting menu. Well executed .

Strawberry shortcake was the only disappointment .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an outstanding experience all aro ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It was an outstanding experience all around. The only negative I have is that the firepit wasn't working as it was a bit chilly outside. I warmed up once I started drinking my delicious Grenache wine. The menu is varied for everyone's tastes which is always a concern. Our waiter was very helpful from choosing wine to our desserts. If I'm ever in NC and nearby Winston Salem, I would run back!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We visited with my brother from FLa. to ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We visited with my brother from FLa. to celebrate three birthdays. It was a beautiful evening and we dined outside. Menu was varied and interesting. Salads particularly were hard to decide on as there were many good offerings. Excellent experience and all were pleased.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our meal. The venison and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Really enjoyed our meal. The venison and camel (yes, camel) were excellent. So was surf and turf. Always like crème brulee there. Excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining in available in a series of small ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Dining in available in a series of small rooms in a renovated house in downtown Winston-Salem. The menu was adventurous and flavorful. I could have easily chosen from about 5 or 6 dishes that sounded amazing. The small dining room can be a little awkward especially at an early seating since the tables are so close together that it's easy to feel like your eating with the table next to you. The waitress had friends seated at a table shortly after we arrived and our service became noticeably less attentive after that. However the food was good enough on its own to bring us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The once proud Zevely House has crashed ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The once proud Zevely House has crashed as it is now a shadow of its former self. To start the staff were combative as to the requested table--special occasion--not a good way to begin. The french onion soup was laughable as broth was substituted for what should be based off of caramelized onions. The Duck was uneatable by the two persons in our party who ordered it; it was sent back only to see upon its return that the fix was a sauce addition versus being properly cooked--did the stove break down?? With each problem came less and less qualitative service as the night progressed. Dessert? Are you kidding me? We'll cut our losses--very heavy losses indeed. How do you repair a special occasions' poor choice for dinner? Well we ask for the 'reward' of a yet again extremely rude and combative manager who basically told me I was in the wrong to protect my family from a scene at the Zevely House by calling in the complaint instead. Sorry but we already can't get this time back--why would I ask my family to wait at the Zevely House while I 'discuss' this situation with the manager; I was further instructed that there is a 'protocol' to handling such difficulties at our Zevely House. Well, my protocol or process--you ask? To walk out the door of the Zevely House never to return. Katherine's...here we come...not walking but running!!

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We have a wonderful dinner at Bernardin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have a wonderful dinner at Bernardin while visiting our son for Parents' Weekend at Wake Forest University. We highly recommend and will look forward to our return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ENJOYED DINNER HERE PRIOR TO THE THEATRE ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

ENJOYED DINNER HERE PRIOR TO THE THEATRE, AND IT WAS LOVELY FROM BEGINNING TO END. EXCELLENT SERVICE AND PERFECTLY EXECUTED MENU. GREAT OPTIONS, INCLUDING HEALTHY CHOICES. EVERYTHING WAS PERFECTLY SEASONED WITH "NOT TOO MUCH, NOT TOO LITTLE". INTERESTING VARIETY AND SOME VERY DIFFERENT CHOICES. SERVER GAVE EXCELLENT RECOMMENDATIONS (AND GREAT PLEASANT PERSONABLE SERVICE). GOOD WINE LIST. COULDN'T ASK FOR MORE. WE'LL BE BACK!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Healthy, Historic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The outside firepit wasnt working and mo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The outside firepit wasnt working and most of all they didnt offer a non alcholic beer like bush na or oduels.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We each had a salad, one with filet and ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We each had a salad, one with filet and one with salmon. The salmon was outstanding but both salad portions were stingy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a good meal!!! The swordfish was ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Always a good meal!!! The swordfish was fantastic. Service is always outstanding.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Organic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to have dinner. Lots of atmo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great place to have dinner. Lots of atmosphere, good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was close to perfection, the fo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was close to perfection, the food was exceptional, best either of us could remember in a long time! The most miserable time we can ever remember having was because of 4 LOUD MOUTH Bragging, unconcerned, rude, individuals beside us! We were squeezed beside the hearth upstairs - which I understand allowed all of their slamming voices blast us even harder! We literally could not hear each other say a thing and the poor waitress had to repeat over and over and it was pretty much she saw what we needed and just brought it! So disappointed since it was our 40th anniversary we would liked to have been able to communicate! One thing, my husband forgot to put his phone on silent and the weather alarm blasted 10 minutes after we were sitting and amazingly it got quiet for about 2 minutes after that, but then the OUTSIDE COACH-like voices started back! Unbelievable!!! Not Bernardin's fault, although I was hoping the manager would offer to move us, because he was in there quite a bit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful!!! Top 5 meals this ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Absolutely wonderful!!! Top 5 meals this year. Highly recommend

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Without a doubt, the best food in Winsto ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Without a doubt, the best food in Winston-Salem with a charming atmosphere. Exquisite!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food as always. Food very consiste ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great Food as always. Food very consistent. Varied menu. Great ambience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Get the duck- it's always a star dish

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Get the duck- it's always a star dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food , the service was also gr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 30, 2016

excellent food , the service was also great. seated upstairs

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.