About Benvenuti's

105 W Main
Norman, OK 73069
View Larger Map

Benvenuti's is artful, understated dining as conceived by executive chef Anthony Compagni. We strive to awaken the senses by utilizing seasonal ingredients, both international and local. At Benvenuti's we continuously seek the finest selection of local and organically grown produce, legumes, and grains wherever possible. We also obtain naturally raised animal products to provide foods free of antibiotics, growth hormones, and pesticides. Benvenuti’s pasta is hand made in Abruzzo, Italy by Rustichella d’Abruzzo from the finest Italian wheat. Mangiare!

Fine food is appreciated when paired with fine wine. Benvenuti’s has carefully assembled an artful collection of boutique wines. Benvenuti’s offers more than 150 wine selection to compliment the menu of Chef Compagni, available by the bottle, half bottle, glass or our exciting wine flight.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
James Garner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 310-5271

Website:
http://www.benvenutisristorante.com/

Catering:
Benvenuti’s offers full service catering…our Executive Chef Anthony Compagni will design a custom menu that fits the needs of your event…from a cocktail reception…business luncheon…outdoor Bar-B-Que…holiday celebration…to a formal sit down dinner. We offer premium bar service as well, providing all necessary ABLE off-site catering liquor permits.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Compagni

Private Party Facilities:
Benvenuti’s offers an artful choice for private dining that elevates any occasion to extraordinary. Private dining at Benvenuti’s, whether in the main dining room with its panoramic view of fine art, brick, stone, to the beautiful hand carved bar or the elegant red room for the ultimate in private dining. Benvenuti’s offers the blue room with its exclusive view of down town Norman.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Reardon: 4057089572x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Not Your Average Cookies!
Thick home-made cookies—baked with no preservatives or additives, made fresh daily.

Restaurant Photos

  • Benvenuti's
  • Filetto Rosso
  • Lobster Ravioli
Benvenuti's
Filetto Rosso
Lobster Ravioli

Benvenuti's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Notable Wine List
Oklahoma City
Romantic
Oklahoma City
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Notable Wine List
Oklahoma City
Romantic
Oklahoma City
Best Restaurants in Norman ›

special occasion (78)
romantic (62)
notable wine list (57)
See All
fit for foodies (56)
neighborhood gem (37)
good for groups (33)
hot spot (14)
great for outdoor dining (11)
kid-friendly (9)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience2
service5

Food was amazing. Server, DJ, was very i ...

Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing. Server, DJ, was very informative and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Happy Hour Deals in town!! Drank Mo ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Best Happy Hour Deals in town!! Drank Moscow Mules for $5! My friends had Martinis and Old Fashioned also for $5. We shared four appetizers between us they were full size portions and each were $5. Best kept secret in town!!

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was bland and the same that you fin ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was bland and the same that you find at a much cheaper non-Italian restaurant. Sauces were too sweet. Bread and drinks were good; just not the food. Would not recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

I would eat here every day if I could. I ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

I would eat here every day if I could. I would work my way through the entire menu because it is so amazing. Service, atmosphere, food, staff! All of it! Love this place. Do not miss the lamb rack!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was a little slow at times. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was a little slow at times. food and ambiance were great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great choice for dinner for two

Dined on June 11, 2016

wide variety of menu choices, which is not always the case with elegant restaurants. The homemade pasta is fabulous. The wine list has something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

This was our first visit to the restaura ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant based upon open table reviews. Upon arrival, we were told our table was not yet ready (not a problem). The restaurant looked inviting and we were looking forward to a dinner experience someplace where we had not been before. Once our table was ready, we were taken to the back part of the restaurant and seated at an "extended" table with 10 other guests. In addition, there were two large groups in this section. The ambience of this section was completely unlike that of the "main" seating area. It reminded us of being in a banquet hall. Our disappointment was , even with reservations and ample seating in the main restaurant, the fact that we were seated in this section. The food was delicious and we plan to return, but we will probably be sure to request main dining room seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

We are in love with this place! We came ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

We are in love with this place! We came for a birthday party in a private room! The service was great and the manager, Terrasina came by several times to make sure everything was perfect. And it was. The food is truly the best in the mid-west. Might be some of the best food I have have ever had. We had the Lamb Rack, Filetto, Bruschetta, Benvenuti Salad, and the Butterscotch Budino and Brandy Ice are a perfect finish.

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I ate there to try to decide ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

My wife and I ate there to try to decide if we will use their catering for our daughter's wedding. Before we ate, the manager was awesome because she took the time to review the options. So many and they can make it work in our budget. Dinner was nothing short of fantastic! If they put the same care into the wedding dinner as they do their food, it will be a splendid evening!!

food5
ambience5
service5

The Ahi Tuna Poke is to die for. Had it ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

The Ahi Tuna Poke is to die for. Had it as my salad. Perfect! Service was fantastic! The waitress knew just what wine to pair with my dinner! Wonderful. Will be back soon!!!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, food, wine selection, and service. Some of the best in Norman. I highly recommend it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was not exceptional, given the pri ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was not exceptional, given the pricing, I was disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food- lackluster service

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was great as ever. Had the rack of lamb and caprese, two others split the Veal Parm and shrimp shriracha. Service was sloppy on a slow Saturday.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food.

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was great but the service was inattentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining at its best!

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had the most attentive wait staff and the food was superb! We ordered the antipasto plate. It was huge and tasty. The chicken Marsala was perfectly cooked and the servings were huge! Definitely will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best HAPPY HOUR in town. Awesome meatba ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Best HAPPY HOUR in town. Awesome meatballs and bruschetta appetizer! Five bucks!!! We had Moscow Mules and Martinis also five bucks! Great selection and great prices! The patio was perfect because it is on the shady side of the building! Loved it! New regular spot!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Benvenutis is the best Italian Restauran ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Benvenutis is the best Italian Restaurant in Norman. With an extensive wine list and an original menu with many gourmet choices, it has been a fixture in Norman for years. Whether you are out for a romantic evening or celebrating a special occasion, it is a great place to spend an evening dining out. The only negative is the noise level can interfere with conversation. I would strongly suggest reservations on weekends or holidays.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous food and atmosphere!! I would h ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Fabulous food and atmosphere!! I would highly recommend to family and friends!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Premier restaurant in Norman. Food is a ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Premier restaurant in Norman. Food is always very good and service was excellent on the Monday night we visited. Salads are always great and innovative. Pasta dishes are very tasty; however, the pasta serving sizes tend to be on the smaller side. This is in contrast to the meat and chicken dishes, which tend to be larger servings. Can highly recommend the veal dish and the chicken marsala. Extensive wine list and reasonable selections of beer.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my son's graduati from OU. T ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went for my son's graduati from OU. Table was ready early on a very busy night because we had a reservation. We are all foodies who have dined around the world and we LOVED our food. We loved our salads (caesar, wedge and the tomato and burrata salad), and we loved the lobster pasta dish I ordered. The desserts were fabulous, especially the chocolate pot! We are sad that after 5 years visiting our son in Norman, we just discovered this wonderful place! Nothing else in the area compares to this place. Our server, Allison, was great, too! She really gave us good recommendations and described the dishes so well. Wine list was great--so many choices and we all got our very favorite wines (sparkling, white and red!)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Sea Bass!! Sea Bass!! Sea Bass!! So de ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Sea Bass!! Sea Bass!! Sea Bass!! So delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistent great food and wait staff. Co ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Consistent great food and wait staff. Cool outside patio. Get the rocket salad and seabass. They actually know how to cook fish.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

My service was amazing, but I thought a ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

My service was amazing, but I thought a $66 ribeye would be the best I have ever had, and I was disappointed in it!!! It was tough, fatty, I've never had a ribeye that tough before!!! I've heard so many good things about the place, that's why I wanted to go an try it out for myself. The sides were great that come with the steak, I took my steak to go and my dogs enjoyed it!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a dinning experience. We are so ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a dinning experience. We are so lucky to have chef Anthony in Norman. Myers Lemon Ravioi with crab was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent restaurant! Fabulous food and excellent service! Can't wait to go back !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Food great as always, though spouse thou ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Food great as always, though spouse thought bocce ball entree a bit on the dry side. It took a while to get, but it was a reasonable time considering the place was packed, including several large parties. Noise level was too high for our group with some hard of hearing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful evening

Dined on May 6, 2016

A wonderful evening with fabulous food, lovely wine and great service, it made a special occasion even more memorable. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Below average Dinner

Dined on May 5, 2016

I had seen many good reviews of the Mussels in tomato sauce. I ordered and the sauce was good but the mussels were small and tough and the shells were so brittle that when touched almost shattered into tiny pieces. Needless to say crushed mussel shells are not tasty. I have eaten at Benvenuti's many times and have never had anything bad. I guess there is a first time for everything. Dessert was good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent food as always

Dined on May 5, 2016

I took my family to dinner to celebrate my mother's birthday. Generally the service is very good, but not this night. We sat at the table for almost ten minutes before our server came over to tell us she would be with us momentarily. This was odd since the restaurant was not busy. She then came over and took appetizer orders, but rushed off without taking our drink orders. The appetizers came out, then she came back and took our drink orders. We sat there for quite a bit longer waiting for her to come back and take our meal orders. Meanwhile, my son's cocktail was delivered, but was the wrong drink. While she was there taking our meal orders, another waiter came over and told her it was the wrong drink she had served. She walked off after taking half of our orders, saying she needed to find out about the drink. She came back shortly and finished taking our orders. A second cocktail was then delivered, but still not what he ordered. I told her it was the wrong drink again, but she did not remedy the situation. She did not come back after our meal was served, and I eventually had to go ask the hostess for our bill. The drink was included on the tab, even though he never got the right drink. I paid for it anyway, because we had been there so long at this point I didn't want to have to wait for her to come back again. This is one of your favorite places to eat, and this will not stop us from going back, but I will ask for a different server.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Dinner Out

Dined on April 24, 2016

They food was great! The price is very comparable. They have a huge wine list. The service was okay but our server was a little distracted. It was very noisy in the room we were sitting in. Hopefully, other areas of the restaurant were not as noisy. We had difficulty hearing across the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress was very attentive and pers ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

The waitress was very attentive and personable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Food Great Ambiance

Dined on April 9, 2016

We really enjoyed dining at Benvenuti's! The food was incredible, and our server was very attentive. The best part of the experience had to be the ambiance. It was the perfect, no kids date night spot! We will be returning, for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Horrid Experience

Dined on April 4, 2016

I had the crab claws and my date had the Kobe steak. The crab claws were so over seasoned that I couldn't taste the natural flavor of the crab. My dates steak was severely charred on the outside. So much so that we had to scrape it off. We asked for the steak to be cooked medium and it came out medium well. The server was non existent.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Real wonderful food and service. We ate ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Real wonderful food and service. We ate last night and it was really great the dishes of truly excellent and a grand slam on the wine list Chefs menu is amazing. This is the only place we go out to eat for good food

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous yet again!

Dined on April 3, 2016

This is my daughter's and my favorite restaurant in Norman! Celebrated an early birthday for my 18 yr. old daughter. The mussel appetizer was the perfect blend of spicy and sweet. And don't forget to use the bread to soak up the sauce! Delicious! I had the filet. It was tender, juicy and flavor packed. They are quick to accommodate if you are interested in something not on the menu. They fixed a special pasta dish for my daughter that was just what she wanted. Tanner, our waiter, was very knowledgeable about wine pairings. Our experience was fabulous yet again! We highly recommend this gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Italian Restaurant in Norman, OK!!!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was pefect, I believe her name was Allison! Everyone is friendly and helpful and the food is always great! Love all of their salads and appetizers too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Justin was training a new waitress and s ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Justin was training a new waitress and still did an amazing job! Teaching her attention to detail and remembering customers needs and desires!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for our Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 28, 2016

Had a really lovely evening meal hear - and took full advantage of the "new" happy hour from 5-6pm - reduced price appetizers and reduction on certain drinks - lovely Cab for $15. Great food and service, plush decor but relaxed ambiance & atmosphere. Thanks all!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Benvenuti's. The atmosphere was great, the food was fantastic, and the price point was very reasonable for the dining experience we were given. A+ 5 Stars! Can't wait to dine there again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a gem

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We visit Benvenuti's three or four times a year. We've visited hundreds, if not thousands of restaurants in 40+ years; Benvenuti's ranks as one of the very best in terms of menu, food prep and flavor. Service has improved to where I'd rate it a B+ more often than not. If you love great food, make your way there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.