About Benvenuti's

105 W Main
Norman, OK 73069
View Larger Map

Benvenuti's is artful, understated dining as conceived by executive chef Anthony Compagni. We strive to awaken the senses by utilizing seasonal ingredients, both international and local. At Benvenuti's we continuously seek the finest selection of local and organically grown produce, legumes, and grains wherever possible. We also obtain naturally raised animal products to provide foods free of antibiotics, growth hormones, and pesticides. Benvenuti’s pasta is hand made in Abruzzo, Italy by Rustichella d’Abruzzo from the finest Italian wheat. Mangiare!

Fine food is appreciated when paired with fine wine. Benvenuti’s has carefully assembled an artful collection of boutique wines. Benvenuti’s offers more than 150 wine selection to compliment the menu of Chef Compagni, available by the bottle, half bottle, glass or our exciting wine flight.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
James Garner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 310-5271

Website:
http://www.benvenutisristorante.com/

Catering:
Benvenuti’s offers full service catering…our Executive Chef Anthony Compagni will design a custom menu that fits the needs of your event…from a cocktail reception…business luncheon…outdoor Bar-B-Que…holiday celebration…to a formal sit down dinner. We offer premium bar service as well, providing all necessary ABLE off-site catering liquor permits.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Compagni

Private Party Facilities:
Benvenuti’s offers an artful choice for private dining that elevates any occasion to extraordinary. Private dining at Benvenuti’s, whether in the main dining room with its panoramic view of fine art, brick, stone, to the beautiful hand carved bar or the elegant red room for the ultimate in private dining. Benvenuti’s offers the blue room with its exclusive view of down town Norman.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Reardon: 4057089572x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Not Your Average Cookies!
Thick home-made cookies—baked with no preservatives or additives, made fresh daily.

Restaurant Photos

Benvenuti's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Oklahoma City
Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Notable Wine List
Oklahoma City
5 More
Romantic
Oklahoma City
Best Food
Oklahoma City
Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Notable Wine List
Oklahoma City
Romantic
Oklahoma City
Best Restaurants in Norman ›

special occasion (92)
romantic (78)
fit for foodies (67)
See All
notable wine list (63)
neighborhood gem (40)
good for groups (35)
hot spot (19)
great for outdoor dining (12)
kid-friendly (10)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Benvenutis is the best Italian Restauran ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Benvenutis is the best Italian Restaurant in Norman. With an extensive wine list and an original menu with many gourmet choices, it has been a fixture in Norman for years. Whether you are out for a romantic evening or celebrating a special occasion, it is a great place to spend an evening dining out. The only negative is the noise level can interfere with conversation. I would strongly suggest reservations on weekends or holidays.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous food and atmosphere!! I would h ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Fabulous food and atmosphere!! I would highly recommend to family and friends!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Premier restaurant in Norman. Food is a ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Premier restaurant in Norman. Food is always very good and service was excellent on the Monday night we visited. Salads are always great and innovative. Pasta dishes are very tasty; however, the pasta serving sizes tend to be on the smaller side. This is in contrast to the meat and chicken dishes, which tend to be larger servings. Can highly recommend the veal dish and the chicken marsala. Extensive wine list and reasonable selections of beer.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my son's graduati from OU. T ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went for my son's graduati from OU. Table was ready early on a very busy night because we had a reservation. We are all foodies who have dined around the world and we LOVED our food. We loved our salads (caesar, wedge and the tomato and burrata salad), and we loved the lobster pasta dish I ordered. The desserts were fabulous, especially the chocolate pot! We are sad that after 5 years visiting our son in Norman, we just discovered this wonderful place! Nothing else in the area compares to this place. Our server, Allison, was great, too! She really gave us good recommendations and described the dishes so well. Wine list was great--so many choices and we all got our very favorite wines (sparkling, white and red!)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Sea Bass!! Sea Bass!! Sea Bass!! So de ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Sea Bass!! Sea Bass!! Sea Bass!! So delicious!

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

My service was amazing, but I thought a ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

My service was amazing, but I thought a $66 ribeye would be the best I have ever had, and I was disappointed in it!!! It was tough, fatty, I've never had a ribeye that tough before!!! I've heard so many good things about the place, that's why I wanted to go an try it out for myself. The sides were great that come with the steak, I took my steak to go and my dogs enjoyed it!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a dinning experience. We are so ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a dinning experience. We are so lucky to have chef Anthony in Norman. Myers Lemon Ravioi with crab was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent restaurant! Fabulous food and excellent service! Can't wait to go back !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Food great as always, though spouse thou ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Food great as always, though spouse thought bocce ball entree a bit on the dry side. It took a while to get, but it was a reasonable time considering the place was packed, including several large parties. Noise level was too high for our group with some hard of hearing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful evening

Dined on May 6, 2016

A wonderful evening with fabulous food, lovely wine and great service, it made a special occasion even more memorable. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Below average Dinner

Dined on May 5, 2016

I had seen many good reviews of the Mussels in tomato sauce. I ordered and the sauce was good but the mussels were small and tough and the shells were so brittle that when touched almost shattered into tiny pieces. Needless to say crushed mussel shells are not tasty. I have eaten at Benvenuti's many times and have never had anything bad. I guess there is a first time for everything. Dessert was good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent food as always

Dined on May 5, 2016

I took my family to dinner to celebrate my mother's birthday. Generally the service is very good, but not this night. We sat at the table for almost ten minutes before our server came over to tell us she would be with us momentarily. This was odd since the restaurant was not busy. She then came over and took appetizer orders, but rushed off without taking our drink orders. The appetizers came out, then she came back and took our drink orders. We sat there for quite a bit longer waiting for her to come back and take our meal orders. Meanwhile, my son's cocktail was delivered, but was the wrong drink. While she was there taking our meal orders, another waiter came over and told her it was the wrong drink she had served. She walked off after taking half of our orders, saying she needed to find out about the drink. She came back shortly and finished taking our orders. A second cocktail was then delivered, but still not what he ordered. I told her it was the wrong drink again, but she did not remedy the situation. She did not come back after our meal was served, and I eventually had to go ask the hostess for our bill. The drink was included on the tab, even though he never got the right drink. I paid for it anyway, because we had been there so long at this point I didn't want to have to wait for her to come back again. This is one of your favorite places to eat, and this will not stop us from going back, but I will ask for a different server.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Dinner Out

Dined on April 24, 2016

They food was great! The price is very comparable. They have a huge wine list. The service was okay but our server was a little distracted. It was very noisy in the room we were sitting in. Hopefully, other areas of the restaurant were not as noisy. We had difficulty hearing across the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress was very attentive and pers ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

The waitress was very attentive and personable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Food Great Ambiance

Dined on April 9, 2016

We really enjoyed dining at Benvenuti's! The food was incredible, and our server was very attentive. The best part of the experience had to be the ambiance. It was the perfect, no kids date night spot! We will be returning, for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Horrid Experience

Dined on April 4, 2016

I had the crab claws and my date had the Kobe steak. The crab claws were so over seasoned that I couldn't taste the natural flavor of the crab. My dates steak was severely charred on the outside. So much so that we had to scrape it off. We asked for the steak to be cooked medium and it came out medium well. The server was non existent.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Real wonderful food and service. We ate ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Real wonderful food and service. We ate last night and it was really great the dishes of truly excellent and a grand slam on the wine list

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous yet again!

Dined on April 3, 2016

This is my daughter's and my favorite restaurant in Norman! Celebrated an early birthday for my 18 yr. old daughter. The mussel appetizer was the perfect blend of spicy and sweet. And don't forget to use the bread to soak up the sauce! Delicious! I had the filet. It was tender, juicy and flavor packed. They are quick to accommodate if you are interested in something not on the menu. They fixed a special pasta dish for my daughter that was just what she wanted. Tanner, our waiter, was very knowledgeable about wine pairings. Our experience was fabulous yet again! We highly recommend this gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Italian Restaurant in Norman, OK!!!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was pefect, I believe her name was Allison! Everyone is friendly and helpful and the food is always great! Love all of their salads and appetizers too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Justin was training a new waitress and s ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Justin was training a new waitress and still did an amazing job! Teaching her attention to detail and remembering customers needs and desires!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for our Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 28, 2016

Had a really lovely evening meal hear - and took full advantage of the "new" happy hour from 5-6pm - reduced price appetizers and reduction on certain drinks - lovely Cab for $15. Great food and service, plush decor but relaxed ambiance & atmosphere. Thanks all!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Benvenuti's. The atmosphere was great, the food was fantastic, and the price point was very reasonable for the dining experience we were given. A+ 5 Stars! Can't wait to dine there again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a gem

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We visit Benvenuti's three or four times a year. We've visited hundreds, if not thousands of restaurants in 40+ years; Benvenuti's ranks as one of the very best in terms of menu, food prep and flavor. Service has improved to where I'd rate it a B+ more often than not. If you love great food, make your way there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!!!

Dined on March 25, 2016

My fiance and I went there for our 2nd anniversary, and it was amazing! The food, the wine, and the service were all top notch. Loved it! We will definitely be going back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I would give this place ten stars! In No ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

I would give this place ten stars! In Norman visiting family. I own three restaurants and ate here two nights in a row because I wanted to try it all! This food is fantastic! If I had Italian restaurants, I would want them to be Benvenutis! WOW. Ambiance is super with a lot of character. Service was perfect. Staff was very knowledgeable on menu and wine.

food5
ambience5
service5

I saw a couple less favorable reviews an ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

I saw a couple less favorable reviews and those folks must have had a one in a million bad night. My wife and I eat there once a week and have never been disappointed! Service is friendly and very knowledgable. The place has such character! There is NOT a better chef anywhere in Oklahoma! The Chef is a master of his trade. We have tried the entire menu. Pig and Scallops is my favorite and my wife always gets the Sea Bass! If you know good food, you eat here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE LOVE IT

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great place! We go for special occasions. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome expiernce

Dined on March 12, 2016

I wanted to surprise my wife with something special because she means the world to me. A friend suggested Benvenuti's and it didn't disappoint at all the whole experience was amazing, and the flower place that you suggested was amazing as well she was very happy which made me happy

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Sad and disappointed

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We took friends as our guests for a memorable evening as this restaurant has been a favorite for some time. Unfortunately, it was memorable for another reason, service was very, very slow. Obviously a big problem in the kitchen, when it takes more than 1/2 hour for the mains to arrive after salads. Fish special very over cooked with soggy fish. Very sad outcome, very expensive too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on March 12, 2016

Been going here for awhile . Food had gone downhill for several years, not bad, but not excellent. But, for the past 5 visits, everything has been really good to excellent. Not sure what happened, management shakeup, etc., but now its definitely the best restaurant in Norman, and one of the best in the OKC area. Not inexpensive, but definitely worth the price. Be sure and check out the monthly specials menu, these items are typically outstanding. Going to miss the Oxtail Cannelloni that was featured in February! The veal ravioli this month is also really good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

Dined on March 9, 2016

A little pricey, but worth the splurge! Will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Benvenuti's never disappoints! We celebr ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Benvenuti's never disappoints! We celebrated my 30th birthday and decided to go all out, the chef recommend a red blend that was one of the best wines I've ever had, "Cynth", I believe, next we had crab claws, mussels, and a veal ravioli for appetizers. Our Tuscan wedge was awesome but the real treat was the home made pasta and my girlfriends steal was melt in your mouth good. Brandy ice sealed the deal. Well played Benvenuti's.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was the most amazing dinner I've ev ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

This was the most amazing dinner I've ever had at Benvenuti's I cannot believe the chef has outdone himself once again from start to finish you can tell this place strives for excellence. We had a chance to meet the new general manager I believe her name was Teresina what an amazing addition to this lovely restaurant. Keep up the good work

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Complaint

Dined on February 27, 2016

We waited entirely too long for our food. It took 20 minutes to get our drinks. Then about 10 minutes after that we got some bread. Then about 15 minutes after that they finally took our appetizer order. We had asked for butter and didn't receive it until about another 20 minutes later with our second and third baskets of bread. When we finally received our appetizers only half of the table was served, the other waited for the next round. Finally our dinner order was taken and about an hour later after asking the waiter when we might receive our dinner, he said he would ask the chef. Our food came out immediately after that and it was cold. I normally LOVE this restaurant, but it was very obvious that there was a problem either in the kitchen or with the wait staff. I was very disappointed in the quality of the food we were served and the timeliness. I left without having dessert (very sad, because it is so good). In total we were there nearly 3 hours, just to have dinner and celebrate a 21st birthday.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Entire party was still talking about thi ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Entire party was still talking about this place two days later. Some of the best food available in Oklahoma.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

new favorite place

Dined on February 20, 2016

we went there in december, just to try it out, as we were in norman for an event. we waited over an hour for it to open. it was well worth the wait. we live in lawton and went again saturday because of the sea bass that my wife says is the best she has ever eaten. she had the sea bass again and i had the sicilian veal. both were excellent choices. it is a wonderful place for fine dining in sw Oklahoma.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere - Love the Food!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a good time. We showed up early and Benvenuti's sat us anyways. The service was wonderful and the food was simply superb. Alison our server ensured we had everything we needed and treated us royally. The rack of lamb and the Chef's Choice, Veal, was fantastic. Being early, we enjoyed the subdued crowd. Activity did not pick up until about the time we were leaving. We treat Benvenuti's as a special place to go when we need to relax and have a 5 star meal. They did not disappoint. We recommend them for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Experience!

Dined on February 18, 2016

Benvenuti offers delicious food, beautiful atmosphere, and excellent service. A truly great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I went on Valentines and again last nigh ...

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

I went on Valentines and again last night! Perfect both times. I love that is is dark and some of the tables are close together and the brick walls! It makes me feel like I am dining in NYC! The food certainly makes me feel like I am in NYC. This is food that belongs there, but thank God we have it in Norman!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

20th Aniversary

Dined on February 16, 2016

We were looking for a nice romantic place to celebrate our 20th aniversary. Benvenuti's was exactly what we were looking for. It was our first time to dine there and it met our expectations for a romantic atmosphere and quality Italian fare.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.