About Benihana - Wheeling

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a walk around our restaurant and learn about Japanese culture with our Japanese artifacts such as a bridal kimono, or take a seat outside and enjoy the tranquility of our outdoor koi pond. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Happy Hour at 5 p.m. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (39)
Special Occasion (33)
Kid-friendly (28)
See All
Good for Groups (26)
Fun (23)
Good for a Date (19)
Casual (13)
Family Style (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Romantic (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, excellent customer service and affordable prices

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome! Went here for my son's 11 birthday with the family and a few of his friends. He absolutely loved it!!!

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food. Fun for the kids birthday celebration.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

The service from our waiter was excellent and the food is what we expected. When we do go to Hibachi restaurants we hope for more entertaining chefs. That is what can make the night truly special. I noticed that it was not just our chef but all the chefs seemed reserved.

Too bad. That is what will keep us coming back with our family and friends.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is always tasty. We have come here for years.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, excellent chefs, good value for lunch, fast service and friendly service

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I know it was for a special night, a Valentine's Day for a family with kids, but it was too obvious to treat the customers to hurry and for guests to be rushed and not enjoy, even saw it in our chef's interaction...

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our order was confusing because some of us were splitting dinners some of us were not it always fascinates me they managed to cook everybody's dinner and get it to the right spot. Everybody got exactly what they ordered so everybody was happy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A favorite for families with youngsters or teenagers because the food is as much fun to make as it is to eat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I haven't been there in a long time. I got to say it wasn't that great. The drinks were great tho. And the service.But overall It was over priced for what we ordered. No flavor to food , shrimp was cold and stake was dry. Some of us let there still hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been going to the wheeling location for years and the only reason we keep coming back is because of Omar our chef and the entire wait staff. They always say hello and are so polite, helpful and accommodating!

Thank you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was prepared well and was very tasty but the chef seemed pre-occupied and the showmanship of cooking table side was missing. I still recommend this restaurant highly it's been a long time favorite.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Everything was good, except I ordered a passion fruit Benihana lemonade and received a regular lemonade.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wasn't happy with filet. For the price there shouldn't be any fatty pieces and mine was certainly fatty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Typical Benihana deal. Expensive for the amount of food you get, but the quality of the food is top notch. Was pretty empty on a Friday night, don't know if that is a function of its location or the poor yelp reviews I read about this particular Benihana. Our chef was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a very disappointing, I have been to many Teppan-Yaki places with much more fun experience that I have been with Benihana's overrated I mean by all about the name Benihana's that's not hyped that it is supposed to be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I hoped that our cook was more entertaining. He seemed to be going through the motions. I was celebrating my daughters birthday which felt uneventful although it was meant to be a special

experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very disappointing!!

My husband, myself, and my 7 year old child went to Benihana for my birthday. We waited 50 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. The hostess was very incompetent and placed blame on other staff members for "over booking". Our meal was mediocre, at best. The waiting staff was decent, as was the chef, but the front of house and overall experience rendered me very unsatisfied and very reluctant to ever return.

What a shame, as I have been going to Benihana for more then 25 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife and I went out for a date night. We make it a point to come at least once a month or so. The food and the chef were excellent as always. One point of note is that we made reservations for around 7:30 or so. I am fully aware that a packed house puts stress on staff and kitchen. However, it felt like our dinner was more hurried than normal. It seemed like we didn't really have time to enjoy and appreciate each course like when we make afternoons reservations. Keep up the good work

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I've had the pleasure of enjoying Benihana on many occasions and every time has been outstanding. I've been to three different locations (Lombard, Schaumburg, and Wheeling) and the quality and level of service are consistant every time. They are a little pricey but worth the extra cost for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Always a consistent meal. Good value for your money and an all around fun place to go with a group or just two.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Very crowded and service was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The area we were sitting in was very cold, to the point where it was uncomfortable. We had reservations for 7:30 pm arrived 10 minutes early but weren't seated until 7:45 pm.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Celebrating a birthday. My daughter enjoyed her birthday dinner. It was her choice to have dinner there. Obviously she likes this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Lincolnshire)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We waited about 40 minutes past our reservation time to get seated which sucked but we stayed because the food is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Staff and food were wonderful, always fun to have the food prepared in front of you. You sit with strangers at the beginning of the meal, and leave as friends.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food good, service good. We were seated at the back of the restaurant at dinner time, and the region was so cold we had to wear winter jackets while we ate. The front of the restaurant was warm enough, but our seats were in an area where the heating was far from sufficient. We complained, but nothing was done except to tell us it would improve with the flatop on and the fans running. it never got any better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

food and service was great, however the heaters was not working and it was freezing. It was so cold you could see our breath vaporizing. I wish they would have knocked off something off the bill for the inconvenience, but they did not. But other than that, was good place for a family birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the only thing negative was it was extremely cold in the restaurant. It was very cold outside, so not sure if it was the vents... I put my coat on and so did other patrons.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always enjoy Benihana. When seating multiple parties at a table, I wish they would leave a little room between families. Sometimes you feel like you are on top of strangers and sometimes uncomfortable because of all the dishes (plate, sauces, water, drink, soup, salad etc)

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was good. Very attentive and prompt. Made a reservation and everything was ready we arrived. Was not aware we would be sitting with others. Was fine. Our chef was very good and fun to watch. Food was really good. The filet mignon melted in your mouth. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good and service was fast. Was there to celebrate New year's Eve.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A Great Place to Celebrate New Year's

We were celebrating Christmas/New Year's with my daughter and her family. Our 10-year-old grandson had heard about hibachi grills and the showmanship of the chefs, and wanted to experience one. It was New Year's Eve and all the hibachi places around us were filled for the evening. But Benihana was open for lunch. The experience exceeded expectations. The food was terrific. The grandsons got kid's menus that turned into chef hats (which they proudly wore). The look of joy and astonishment on the face grandson who requested a hibachi grill was priceless. Thank you, Chef George! The grandsons even tried their hands at chopsticks. Portions were plentiful; we all took some home and made a second meal out of them. All in all, it was a great way to celebrate family time during the holidays. Kudos also to the hostesses who were gracious, and our server who was prompt and efficient.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always great!! We love it there --kid friendly... always a good choice. Very pleasing to watch your food get prepared in front of you. Food is excellent.. very nice servers and chefs are wonderful with unique style of preparation and entertainment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was good and expensive you are looking to spend at least $40 per person not including alcoholic drinks or tip. Our Hibachi Chef George was a delight very skilled, funny, and a well manner host. Also hibachi is set up so that groups of 8 sit together so this dinning experience is not good for intimate dates . Great for groups of 8 though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Jackson was an awesome waiter. Wish our Teppan cook had more personality. He was definitely on a mission to get the food to the table and the food was incredible… Just looking for a little more personality and enjoyment at the table. Our waiter, Jackson, made up for his lack of personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Even though very busy on xmas night, they had our table exactly when we had reserved it. The food was good. Staff attentive. Although they had a kids menu, our three year old was not interested in anything offered. Might be good for older kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Enjoyed ourselves but too cold inside.

Food was great!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had plans to take my father in law here for lunch for his 80th birthday. I had checked out their menu online and also made reservations online for Christmas Eve. Everything went smoothly with the reservations. When we arrived at the restaurant, they seated us without a problem. They handed out menu's for everyone. Upon looking at the menu, it was a special holiday menu. I had proceeded to ask our server about their holiday menu as the prices were astronomical compared to their normal everyday lunch prices. She told me since it was Christmas Eve, that was the only menu they could use. I proceeded to speak directly with the manager. The manager said it was out of her hands, that it was handed down from corporate and I would need to speak to them. My Father In Law was very excited to be at this restaurant, so I could not bear to disappoint him and leave. I emailed corporate immediately and still have yet to get a response from them 6 days later. Based on this experience and my bill being almost double of what it should have been, I will never go back to this restaurant. Management has no clue how to treat their guests as other parties were questioning the pricing as well. There were no advertisements on the site in regards to a special menu, nor was anything told to us until after we were seated.

Shame on you Benihana for taking advantage of your customers and not responding when confronted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great as always! Fun for me and my family celebrating my 22 year old son's birthday. His favorite place to eat since he was about 9 years old.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Benihana has never disappointed. I've been visiting this one in Wheeling for over 16 years and I've always been satisfied with the food. The service isn't as attentive as you'd expect when paying that much money for a meal, however you don't go there if you are in a hurry anyway.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went this evening and watched the crooked manager give his friends seated at our table order lobster. I watched him slip them cash to tip the cook $20 and never received a check for their meal. While we asked to use a birthday coupon for a mere $25 off our $300 tan and were refused. Last meal at Benihana. We have frequented often and tonight there were 5 of us. Bad call. Management needs to reevaluate priorities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great food and the atmosphere is what one comes to expect from a Japanese restaurant. Sushi was very well prepared and the hibachi grill meals where fantastic. Will go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Low energy wait staff and chef. Poorly lit corner cooking table. We had two birthdays in our group and they were barely recognized. Waiter never offered us the desert that came with my meal. I had trouble using my Benihana gift cards because they weren't sure how to redeem them. Overall good enough but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent food. Very good Chef. My family loves to come here for birthdays. The chicken fried rice is worth the drive all by itself!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, People Watching, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Staff rude - questioned my reservation. he said I had reservation for two when I clearly made reservation for 3. The Manager came out to verify the reservation. He did not acknowledge us. The chef was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good menu selections, good chef, good waitstaff, good value. Enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

If you like communal eating, nestled around the cooking surface with a very entertaining person preparing your food....you'll enjoy this restaurant. Kids really love the show. The food was good and the they have a nice selection of premium saki and Japanese beers. Overall, it is a fun place.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Birthday. Great time, wonderful service and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

ALWAYS good food and great service. The chef puts on a nice show while cooking up your food

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.