About Benihana - Wheeling

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a walk around our restaurant and learn about Japanese culture with our Japanese artifacts such as a bridal kimono, or take a seat outside and enjoy the tranquility of our outdoor koi pond. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Happy Hour at 5 p.m. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-wheeling - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
California Roll - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Sushi - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Trio - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Chef Trick - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Family Style (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Romantic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Low energy wait staff and chef. Poorly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Low energy wait staff and chef. Poorly lit corner cooking table. We had two birthdays in our group and they were barely recognized. Waiter never offered us the desert that came with my meal. I had trouble using my Benihana gift cards because they weren't sure how to redeem them. Overall good enough but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food. Very good Chef. My famil ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food. Very good Chef. My family loves to come here for birthdays. The chicken fried rice is worth the drive all by itself!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, People Watching, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Staff rude - questioned my reservation. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Staff rude - questioned my reservation. he said I had reservation for two when I clearly made reservation for 3. The Manager came out to verify the reservation. He did not acknowledge us. The chef was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Good menu selections, good chef, good wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good menu selections, good chef, good waitstaff, good value. Enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you like communal eating, nestled aro ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

If you like communal eating, nestled around the cooking surface with a very entertaining person preparing your food....you'll enjoy this restaurant. Kids really love the show. The food was good and the they have a nice selection of premium saki and Japanese beers. Overall, it is a fun place.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

ALWAYS good food and great service. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

ALWAYS good food and great service. The chef puts on a nice show while cooking up your food

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant, but the place was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very good restaurant, but the place was really cold❄️❄️

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very frustrated with my experience. My w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very frustrated with my experience. My wife ordered a steak entree, while the rest of the table (3 others, including me) ordered a split entree (steak and something else). The chef gave her the least amount of meat of anyone at the table, and the other lady at our table that ordered seafood and steak clearly got her portion. Considering that I had to pay full prices for this order, and did not find a host/hostess where I could bring this up, I was extremely upset, as was she. The food was good, though I do like Tsukasa a bit better, but I would not recommend going there again based on this experience. Considering how expensive it is, I would not expect this to happen.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

So much fun! Dinner and a show! The food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

So much fun! Dinner and a show! The food was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was here for husbands birthday. Greeted ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Was here for husbands birthday. Greeted and sat promptly at table with 2 other couples. Drinks and menu order taken. Chef came to table and reviewed food order and promptly started his cooking show which was fun to see. Food served warm and cooked to order appropriately. Everybody was celebrating something at our table and much happy birthday singing in English and Japanese done. Quick instant pictures taken. Enjoy the food and ambience and will return again. Kids will have a great time and are treated wonderfully. They can learn to cook and play chef for a small fee.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

what can i say? benihanna is consistentl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

what can i say? benihanna is consistently good. The food was good, the waitress attentive to our drinks and the cook was pleasant.

This location though...it was dirty. When we first walked in, there were paper and toothpicks all over the floor. This was right at the hostess podium. There were plenty of employees just standing there that could have picked it up. I used the bathroom before i left and it definitley need attention. There was toilet paper everywhere, floor was dirty, paper towels strewn about.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Amazing meal and great show! My kids lov ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Amazing meal and great show! My kids loved watching the chef cook in front of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good, and the chef's ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food is always good, and the chef's show while prepping the food at the cook top in front of us is fun to watch. Our 7 year old grandson was celebrating his birthday. Before dinner, he was entertained by the kid's menu with activities/paper chef hat. He enjoyed the soup and kid's shrimp. We loved the birthday photo they took of the three of us. They give you a copy when you leave, and a website address to view it on line and print. It was memorable, and a delicious and fun way to celebrate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent customer servic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food and excellent customer service, the chef gave a great show and I was very pleased!! 5 Star!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Organic, Modern Decor, Fun, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & fun environment. As always, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food & fun environment. As always, everyone enjoyed Benihana!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoy Benihana. Food is good.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We enjoy Benihana. Food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Poor service - waitstaff was not proacti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Poor service - waitstaff was not proactive - had to ask for everything. Waiter mumbled when we were ordering and did not even let us know what options were (that meal included free tea, ice cream flavors, etc). Mediocre performance from chef at table - did not even do the usual range of food tricks even though we had our kid with us. Overall insincere feeling from staff when greeted, etc. Restroom was not that clean. Will not be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Lots of fun!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Lots of fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a birthday lunch and we were no ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This was a birthday lunch and we were not disappointed. Our food was great or chef Rio, was also great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was a good experience. Howev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. However, it would be helpful if they could speak English clearer. I understand it is a Japanese restaurant, but they get a tremendous amount of Americans dining there, and it was difficult to understand what they were saying.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had Rio for our Chef when we celebrat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had Rio for our Chef when we celebrated a birthday dinner there recently. He was amazing!!!! Such a great personality and that really enhanced the experience. We had two toddlers and a baby and they all enjoyed the show.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going early in the evening a plus with c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Going early in the evening a plus with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The chicken I had was tough and hard to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The chicken I had was tough and hard to chew through. Also, the chef could have showed some enthusiasm as he was cooking. I was with a 10 yr old and a 13 yr old and they were looking for a good show and the chef could hardly even muster a smile.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good overall, service was good. Didn't ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Good overall, service was good. Didn't feel that the fried rice was anywhere near as good as it usually is. We think he forgot an ingredient. Fine enough but not as great as it usually is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Took my son in law and daughter, and gad ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Took my son in law and daughter, and gad a great time. My son in law had never been to a Japanese steak house! We had a great evening. Bdelicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food, decor, service. Would de ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food, decor, service. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Family Style, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The appeal of a hibachi restaurant is th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The appeal of a hibachi restaurant is the show. This experience fell flat. Our chef was not engaging with our kids 6 & 3. First timers to a restaurant such as this. For the price you pay, to get average food and not a big show was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

too many fruit flies in both the men's a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

too many fruit flies in both the men's and woman's bathroom.

Service was very good at the table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is a great Benihana. We had a grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a great Benihana. We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Benihana hits the spot. Very good food t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Benihana hits the spot. Very good food that has lots of flavor. We had Chicken Teriyaki and Yakisoba. My husband loves the steak Yakisoba a lot. Service was excellent and our table was a fun time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Part of our month long celebration of my ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Part of our month long celebration of my wife's 60th birthday 😊

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great overall.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great show, great experience ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food, great show, great experience and the customer service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambiance but prices are ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food and ambiance but prices are a little high

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Incredibly entertaining for the young an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Incredibly entertaining for the young and old. Absolutely love the food and lunch value is beyond reasonable!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Omar the Chef is the best and so is the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Omar the Chef is the best and so is the entire staff!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

sent to the restaurant a massage in priv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

sent to the restaurant a massage in privet , hope to get from them answer soon...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Greeted and sat promptly. Drinks and mea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Greeted and sat promptly. Drinks and meal discussed and ordered. Chef verified orders and noted any allergies. Usual showing off not done which was good since we all had been here before. Food was hot and very tasty. Filet and Scallops were great. Cold Sake ordered by friends were very apple smelling strong but appeared very satisfying by them. Cost was appropriate for meal. Will return again for Birthday dinner upcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always have great food! This experience ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always have great food! This experience in particular was contrary. The flavor of my filet Mignon, shrimp and chicken fried rice was not as good as it has been the other 10 times I have been. My wife also expressed the same though. The prices have always been steep.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service. Food was fresh and proper ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great service. Food was fresh and properly cooked. Enjoyed very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.