Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Benihana - Wheeling

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a walk around our restaurant and learn about Japanese culture with our Japanese artifacts such as a bridal kimono, or take a seat outside and enjoy the tranquility of our outdoor koi pond. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Happy Hour at 5 p.m. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended.

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Fun (30)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Good for Birthdays (28)
Kid-friendly (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Casual (21)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (8)
Family Style (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Fun time. Good food and drink. Service was great! The people with us who had never experienced this type of cooking really enjoyed themselves.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Good time , good food and have fun as always. My favorite is seafood diablo and soft shell crab appertizer

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

First time there and immediately you walk in and smell and see dirty carpet . I was embarrassed to bring my husband there for father's day but he always wanted to try a different habachi place from the one we usually go to in Evanston . The man preparing the food looked stressed and his interaction seemed forced. The food was beyond bland everything needed extra flavor. On top of it the man preparing the food was slow in his cooking where each item was given to you one at a time. What am I suppose to do just eat grilled onions? There is a $4 upcharge for getting the fried rice which was a turn off since all the habachi courses were $20-40 or more. It was just a really frustrating experience watching him cook each thing literally one at a time. Other places seem to know how to multi task and prepare the meats and sides together where you can enjoy the meal. I will never go back and would definitely not recommend it to anyone. Waste of money. Also they rush you to eat and pay the bill.. it was insulting honestly after watching a slow preparation yet they have the nerve to not even finish the bland food that was prepared!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

A great meal as always. Service was better than usual. Had a great time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I'm disappointed that they don't have the mustard sauce anymore. They replaced it with a cream sauce which don't taste good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I went with my dad for my birthday and the food was excellent. The Habachi chef was great and had a great time. I would recommend to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wonder dining experience as always. Rick was very entertaining and effortlessly prepared our meals to perfection. The staff at this location is professional and friendly. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Very good we ordered off the lunch entree menu. A littke too much shortening in the rice but it was still goid. We had a good time. :)

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Not a place for a quiet, romantic dinner , but perfect for birthdays and gathering with friends and family. The drinks are fun. The food is terrific and reasonably priced. The best part is watching the chef prepare your food. They are very entertaining (some are better than others) . Drinks, dinner and a show for a reasonable price. Can't beat it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent service, excellent food, great value! Great menu choices

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband and I went to celebrate my birthday; it was my first time at any Benihana location (he had dined in other states for business meals and enjoyed), and I was excited to dine there. Open Table allowed us to reserve at 9pm, but we were unaware that the closing time was 9:30pm. We arrived on time for the 9pm reservation. The server seemed rushed and distracted upon arrival. I even asked if it was alright for us to be there since it apparently was near closing time, which we were told "yes". We placed the order with the server. While cooking at the table, the chef's energy was low, he was not engaging at all with us, no cutlery experiences or visuals that tend to attract customers there, and appeared in bad mood. We ordered 1 steamed rice and 1 fried rice with the server for our meals and received 2 bowls of steamed rice instead. When I brought this to the attention of the server, he placed responsibility on the chef by asking had we ordered it via the chef but we could only place orders with the server. He then said the kitchen was closed. We also did not receive the birthday treatment of two other parties who were there celebrating birthdays as well. This was not a great first experience. I would like to visit again for a second chance but feel somewhat skeptical.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I always think Benihana in Wheeling will improve, but it never does...The front desk person is always rude, when you checkin and let them know you are onetime, respecting them, they then make you wait when no one is there...its so dumb. Our chef was running out of butter, oil, food, what the heck, I'm about to get a $200 dinner bill...Anyway, they didn't take a coupon I had which they said join our CHEF TABLE bla bla ...DONT!..its a con

In short the service is not great, the fun of cook on the table is lame as the chef has no energy and the wait staff look like they are overworked and underpaid


See you in Chapter 11 Benihana-Wheeling

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

MY Birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The only problem I had was our server wasn't at our table that much. My daughter and I sat with our drinks empty most of the meal. Didn't even have water to drink. The manager finally came around and refilled them for us at the end of our meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day . I understand that it is a holiday this is why they should have more staff. The host was extremely confused even though we had reservations we waited 20 minutes for our table. Once we got seated the issues continued it took over 15 minutes to get our chef to come and begin cooking. We were 4 people and they sat 6 others with us. The Chef put all the meat for the whole table on the cooktop. The 6 didn't order lobster but they got some of ours. Matter of fact when I said to the Chef that the Lobster was all ours he said now you say it. He didn't offer to make more. He continued to divided all the food in 10 equal parts. We brought this up to the manager but she shrugged her shoulders and told us sorry there's nothing I can do now. Unfortunately it seems like this isn't the place to go when it is a major holiday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

$50 per person for what you can get for $9 from a neighborhood Chinese restaurant So I guess that means $40 for the 10 minute 'Show".
Service was choppy at best. They hovered over us to smear the plates while some were still eating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server, Jackson was amazing. He was incredibly attentive and was able to answer all questions that we had. Our chef seemed tired and/or new. He put too much food on the grill and ended up burning peices of it as he was trying to catch up. He also did not seem to use all the seasonings that we are accustomed to. It was busy enough that it did not seem prudent to try to call a manager over, as it was Mother's Day and the food was not so over cooked that it was inedible. The restaurant was very clean and well kept.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dinner was very good tonight with our chef cooking our meal to our stated liking.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our hibachi cook, George, was super nice and enthusiastic. The kids, my parents, husband, and I had a blast. The menu has changed slightly, but we were able to order our longtime favorites. It was delicious and extremely fun!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We visited there on a Sunday evening for the birthday of my son's GF. They sat us quickly with another party of 3. It was over all wonderful experience for all of us. Excellent food, entertaining chef and fried rice is our family's favorite. Will go back there again soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I am a frequent diner at this particular location of Benihana. Tonight our food was all under cooked. Not good when you are eating chicken and shrimp. Then the steak was over cooked and definitely not medium rare as we had ordered it. Seriously made my stomach sick. Quite a disappointing dinner tonight.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great evening. Took my son out for his birthday and he loved it. It was great food and great fun.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great for birthday celebration! My sons favorite restaurant . Excellent fresh food and entertaining to watch them prepare it. Always a treat!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Would have appreciated if the waitress had checked back occasionally on our drinks. Also the chef didnt talk much no flare

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great fun spot to take the family or for a special occasion. Staff is friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere is fun an up beat!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

As always we had a great time and this time they changed up some of the chef tricks that left us talking the next day about how great they were. They are always great at service and accommodating. My only grape on this one was that all three of us did not enjoy the chicken, it was lacking flavor and possibly slightly undercooked. Otherwise we had a great experience and loved or cook!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food is ok, a little salty... service was decent. Overall good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I knew the fried rice would be an upcharge from previous experience, but that's not advertised on the menu. It's also not the most flavorful fried rice. In fact, I wouldn't say any of the food I ate (teriyaki steak, grilled veggies, soup, salad, fried rice) was very flavorful. I still used the dipping sauces on my teriyaki steak. There are other hibachi restaurants that are much better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

For all the hype about this place I would have to say my family and I were very disappointed. Ordered 4 medium rare steaks and all 4 of them were well done. Asked for no mushrooms on one.. it came loaded with mushrooms. No excitement or enthusiasm from of chef!! Lack of presentation. I will definitely still to our normal place in Vernon Hill!! And when we did complain they took off 20.00 from a 200.00 order. Will not be going back!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is always a nice place to come for a special occasion. A little pricy but food is good. Would have liked a more interactive chef.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food was great service was excellent as usual. I would recommend the wheeling location to everyone.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Chef show is great. Food is though average. Great friendly service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Spicy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Oscar was awesome! We had such a blast with him cooking for us. Made the birthdays so special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very good it was my first time there it was great to see the talent of the chef's cooking your food in front of you. Hive them a try

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Just visiting with family as usual

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The Wheeling location has a cream dipping sauce the other locations don't seem to serve - so, we drive a little further to Wheeling . It is my son's favorite. I like both - ginger and cream.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Outstanding service by Jenny and very good sushi. I had the Chicken Teriyaki. My husband had the Sushi / Sashimi dinner. We shared. I love the Chicken Fried Rice. For dessert we had the Green Tea ice cream. Very nice evening at Benihana.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved it, it was our first time there and enjoyed every minute and coming back in 2 weeks from today

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

They need to clean the vents that circulate the air while the chef is cooking. I was at one end of the table and the smoke and fumes were killing me. Had to keep leaning back to avoid the fumes! The vent was filthy and not circulating properly.
Chef was good. Probably would make this place a once a year visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service, great food and indeed telling friends about this place

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.