Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Benihana - Wheeling

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a walk around our restaurant and learn about Japanese culture with our Japanese artifacts such as a bridal kimono, or take a seat outside and enjoy the tranquility of our outdoor koi pond. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Happy Hour at 5 p.m. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended.

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fun (15)
See All
Kid-friendly (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
481 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

So different from years ago when there were no range hoods above the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Went with a group to celebrate my daughter's 7th birthday, and a great time was had by all! The food is absolutely delicious and the chef's presentation of their culinary skills is fun and exciting. It's like watching a cooking show while enjoying dinner! Our chef Omar was incredibly talented, kept the entire table laughing and paid special attention to the kids. My daughter had an amazing time and has already asked to go back. Highly recommended- it is a unique experience and the food is great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We always have a great experience. I will say that the hostess was pretty rude. Never welcomed us and did not even really look at us. Other than that it was a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The chef didn't do all the cool stuff they usually do

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

very nice chef was great along with the service and the place is very cool my sons 1st time will come back with friends!!!!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Good food the chef was not terrific. Didn't compare to the chef on our last visit

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

The food was extremely over priced. The filet was over cooked. The chef did very little in the way of entertaining and what he did do, he kept dropping the utensils. The chef also had a hard time finding things on the cart and had to go back to the kitchen at least twice. Not sure if he was just having a bad night or what, but the person that took our order was hovering around watching him. That seemed rather odd, and she even came up and whispered in his ear once. We've been to many teppanyaki restaurants before. This one is definitely not at the top of the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our service was professional and friendly however, our food was prepared one at a time. So we were faced with either waiting and eating cold food or eating one at a time and watching our companions eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great food. Kids love it. Always fun. Never had a bad time at Benihana.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Had to wait about 15 mins to have a chef for our hibachi after being seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We do enjoy Benihana. Love the shrimp sauce with the shrimp!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Poor service starting from front desk and ending on waitress, who dropped 3glasses of ice water on the floor and never ended up wiping it. Oil (I hope) dripping from the hood straight to our food!!! The cook was ok, he could share a smile since kids were so excited about his tricks and cooking. Very serious, focused on the task. Very dissapointing experience in general. Not worth the money. It was our second and last visit, at least to that location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I love Bennihana! I love the consistency in food taste. I recommend it to anyone who loves shrimp especially. Hibachi shrimps is my family's favorite. So for my older's son birthday we decided to invite his friends, all 12 years old, to Bennihana. I called to request the most entertaining chef, when we get there I mentioned it again, and we got Marco (I believe his name was) probably the least entertaining chef there is. Basically we could have taken the regular table and have the food cooked in the kitchen. I am so disappointed in Bennihana in Wheeling IL. Most of those kids were for the first time in Bennihana and what they experienced was pretty much a guy cooking on our table.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always awesome and consistent! Good for all occasions and group sizes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Terrible Food
Chef didnt put on a show
The kids menu is not very clear as to which drink are free refills
They charge extra for fried rice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

They were very accomodating and disnt cut corners on the experience and service, my family and I had a great time celebrating my Birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

I really enjoyed dinner, my chef wasn't as entertaining as I have had in the past. He seemed bored. I realize times have gotten tighter, but returning to Benihana any time soon isn't going to happen for us they have priced themselves out of my budget. 328.00 for dinner for 6 total cocktails and an extra ice cream is just beyond what I am willing to spend. The portions were much smaller than previous visits and the over all quality just wasn't there. I'm sticking to small "Mom and Pop" steak houses from now on. My last visit to a local steakhouse with the same 6 people was well over 100.00 less and we had 10 - 12 cocktails total and everyone had a nice ribeye, prime rib, filet all with extras like side lobster tail, crab legs and mushrooms.

They have replaced one of their sauces that used to be a mustard like sauce with something that resembles orange tinted mayo and has no flavor. The ginger sauce is still very good, the salad dressing is very good as was the soup.

I am not saying the food didn't taste good, because it did. I am just saying it's become far too expensive for what you get. I'd like to see that mustard sauce come back, and I'd like to see the showmanship that they used to be famous for. Maybe if my chef cared more about showing off like some of the others, the 328.00 wouldn't have hurt nearly as bad.

If this is the new norm there, it's not for me anymore.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was delicious. This was my husband's 1st time eating at Benihana and he loved it. Omar was wonderful! Kids loved it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Always love to go to Benihana. Food and props are great.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Very nice place for a birthday celebration, fun, energetic, good food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We always have the absolute bet service at this location when we are waited in by Laura. She is professional and never leaves her tables waiting for service of any type. She is a top notch server and works hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great service, and even greater food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were seated promptly. Our server was great and took our order for the kids.
The chef prepared the orders as requested and the food was served hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We were celebrating an adult birthday and with reservations we had to wait for over 15 minutes. The chef was not personable and was serving another table when we were seated.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Chef wasn't very personable. I ordered hibachi supreme and asked that my chateaubriand being cooked medium rare. My food was left on the grill until the end. Needless to say, it was cooked well done - not medium rare. Very disappointed with the man cleaning up the dishes. I had my salad bowl in front of me for the entire meal. My daughter took my soup bowl. Otherwise, that too would have sat in front of me. Finally, we were given one refill on our drinks. Service was poor and the Chex really just wanted to do his job and get out of there. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great food as always. Fun atmosphere, diverse menu. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were the last table to leave and they brought us our checks before asking if we wanted some ice cream which came with our meal. They just wanted us to leave. Then I asked for some sauce to take home with my leftovers and the server tells me it's LOCKED up for the night. What does that mean. Was very disappointed and it was only 10:00 on a Saturday night. Please.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I love Benihana in general. I typically go to the one in Schaumburg but went to this one for my birthday as it was closer to my next destination. I'm 31 and I have to admit I look forward to the tricks the chefs complete as a part of the experience. Our chef this time did only the volcano and heart but did it with no livelihood. I was disappointed. If he wasn't going to interact with us We could have simply experienced a regular hibachi station at a local Chinese eatery. This was the second time my experience was like this at this location so I will not be going back to this one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Brought the kids here for the first time and we all really enjoyed it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Waiter took every opportunity to upcharge us without explaining anything. He barely spoke english.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always a good show! Took our son and a few of his friends for a birthday dinner and they enjoyed the dinner and show!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The hostess was especially accommodating for my 5 year-old granddaughter's birthday. She took a picture and gave it to us in a frame and brought out ice cream with a candle and sang Happy Birthday. They made her feel special and the chef was entertaining and engaging.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It was mostly as expected and fun, the food was good. It was my daughters 18th birthday, but we were sat with another couple, had to wait for them, and wasn't allowed to sit at the head of the table that we wanted. The greeting seemed like this principle was displeased with us.
Otherwise, the servers and chef were wonderful, the food good, and the place is pretty and clean.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Good food and the service was pleasant. During lunch, the prices are a little less so if you're looking to save a couple of bucks come here during that time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Chef was great, waiter was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had a birthday offer sent to us by Benihana via email. We printed it and had in our possession. The restaurant refused to honor the $30 off an entree when you buy one full priced entree because we didn't have a code. There were 6 in our group and to allow the certificate value to be applied was a judgement call and they made the wrong call. The woman wasn't friendly or nice about it at all. Not a smart long term business decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Birthday party with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

It was my daughter's birthday, so I signed her up for the Birthday Club . I received, in e-mail, the $30 certificate and there was big button stating 'Print Certificate'. But alas, the certificate did not have the 'barcode'. The 'real' certificate comes 24 hours later ... and we didn't get the $30 off. Very misleading, in my opinion. Service was so-s0. The waitress could have come by more often and asked if we wanted a drink.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our grandkids favorite, quality and service generally the same. High salt content, my only negative is the food smell on your clothes after being in the dining room for one hour plus. It hangs on you, from all the open grill cooking at one time.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.