About Benihana - Wheeling

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a walk around our restaurant and learn about Japanese culture with our Japanese artifacts such as a bridal kimono, or take a seat outside and enjoy the tranquility of our outdoor koi pond. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Happy Hour at 5 p.m. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-wheeling - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
California Roll - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Sushi - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Trio - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL
Chef Trick - Benihana - Wheeling, Wheeling, IL

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (31)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Kid-friendly (19)
Fun (18)
Good for a Date (13)
Family Style (10)
Casual (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Romantic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Vegan (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a consistent meal. Good value fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a consistent meal. Good value for your money and an all around fun place to go with a group or just two.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, , Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The area we were sitting in was very col ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The area we were sitting in was very cold, to the point where it was uncomfortable. We had reservations for 7:30 pm arrived 10 minutes early but weren't seated until 7:45 pm.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Celebrating a birthday. My daughter enjo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrating a birthday. My daughter enjoyed her birthday dinner. It was her choice to have dinner there. Obviously she likes this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We waited about 40 minutes past our rese ...

 
 (Lincolnshire)·Dined 5 days ago

We waited about 40 minutes past our reservation time to get seated which sucked but we stayed because the food is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Staff and food were wonderful, always fu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Staff and food were wonderful, always fun to have the food prepared in front of you. You sit with strangers at the beginning of the meal, and leave as friends.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food good, service good. We were seated ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Food good, service good. We were seated at the back of the restaurant at dinner time, and the region was so cold we had to wear winter jackets while we ate. The front of the restaurant was warm enough, but our seats were in an area where the heating was far from sufficient. We complained, but nothing was done except to tell us it would improve with the flatop on and the fans running. it never got any better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

food and service was great, however the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

food and service was great, however the heaters was not working and it was freezing. It was so cold you could see our breath vaporizing. I wish they would have knocked off something off the bill for the inconvenience, but they did not. But other than that, was good place for a family birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

the only thing negative was it was extre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the only thing negative was it was extremely cold in the restaurant. It was very cold outside, so not sure if it was the vents... I put my coat on and so did other patrons.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy Benihana. When seating mult ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always enjoy Benihana. When seating multiple parties at a table, I wish they would leave a little room between families. Sometimes you feel like you are on top of strangers and sometimes uncomfortable because of all the dishes (plate, sauces, water, drink, soup, salad etc)

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was good. Very attentive and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was good. Very attentive and prompt. Made a reservation and everything was ready we arrived. Was not aware we would be sitting with others. Was fine. Our chef was very good and fun to watch. Food was really good. The filet mignon melted in your mouth. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good and service was fast. Was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good and service was fast. Was there to celebrate New year's Eve.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Great Place to Celebrate New Year's We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A Great Place to Celebrate New Year's

We were celebrating Christmas/New Year's with my daughter and her family. Our 10-year-old grandson had heard about hibachi grills and the showmanship of the chefs, and wanted to experience one. It was New Year's Eve and all the hibachi places around us were filled for the evening. But Benihana was open for lunch. The experience exceeded expectations. The food was terrific. The grandsons got kid's menus that turned into chef hats (which they proudly wore). The look of joy and astonishment on the face grandson who requested a hibachi grill was priceless. Thank you, Chef George! The grandsons even tried their hands at chopsticks. Portions were plentiful; we all took some home and made a second meal out of them. All in all, it was a great way to celebrate family time during the holidays. Kudos also to the hostesses who were gracious, and our server who was prompt and efficient.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great!! We love it there --kid fr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always great!! We love it there --kid friendly... always a good choice. Very pleasing to watch your food get prepared in front of you. Food is excellent.. very nice servers and chefs are wonderful with unique style of preparation and entertainment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and expensive you are ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was good and expensive you are looking to spend at least $40 per person not including alcoholic drinks or tip. Our Hibachi Chef George was a delight very skilled, funny, and a well manner host. Also hibachi is set up so that groups of 8 sit together so this dinning experience is not good for intimate dates . Great for groups of 8 though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Jackson was an awesome waiter. Wish our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Jackson was an awesome waiter. Wish our Teppan cook had more personality. He was definitely on a mission to get the food to the table and the food was incredible… Just looking for a little more personality and enjoyment at the table. Our waiter, Jackson, made up for his lack of personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even though very busy on xmas night, the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Even though very busy on xmas night, they had our table exactly when we had reserved it. The food was good. Staff attentive. Although they had a kids menu, our three year old was not interested in anything offered. Might be good for older kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed ourselves but too cold inside. F ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Enjoyed ourselves but too cold inside.

Food was great!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had plans to take my father in law he ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had plans to take my father in law here for lunch for his 80th birthday. I had checked out their menu online and also made reservations online for Christmas Eve. Everything went smoothly with the reservations. When we arrived at the restaurant, they seated us without a problem. They handed out menu's for everyone. Upon looking at the menu, it was a special holiday menu. I had proceeded to ask our server about their holiday menu as the prices were astronomical compared to their normal everyday lunch prices. She told me since it was Christmas Eve, that was the only menu they could use. I proceeded to speak directly with the manager. The manager said it was out of her hands, that it was handed down from corporate and I would need to speak to them. My Father In Law was very excited to be at this restaurant, so I could not bear to disappoint him and leave. I emailed corporate immediately and still have yet to get a response from them 6 days later. Based on this experience and my bill being almost double of what it should have been, I will never go back to this restaurant. Management has no clue how to treat their guests as other parties were questioning the pricing as well. There were no advertisements on the site in regards to a special menu, nor was anything told to us until after we were seated.

Shame on you Benihana for taking advantage of your customers and not responding when confronted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great as always! Fun for me and my famil ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great as always! Fun for me and my family celebrating my 22 year old son's birthday. His favorite place to eat since he was about 9 years old.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana has never disappointed. I've be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Benihana has never disappointed. I've been visiting this one in Wheeling for over 16 years and I've always been satisfied with the food. The service isn't as attentive as you'd expect when paying that much money for a meal, however you don't go there if you are in a hurry anyway.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We went this evening and watched the cro ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went this evening and watched the crooked manager give his friends seated at our table order lobster. I watched him slip them cash to tip the cook $20 and never received a check for their meal. While we asked to use a birthday coupon for a mere $25 off our $300 tan and were refused. Last meal at Benihana. We have frequented often and tonight there were 5 of us. Bad call. Management needs to reevaluate priorities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Great food and the atmosphere is what on ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great food and the atmosphere is what one comes to expect from a Japanese restaurant. Sushi was very well prepared and the hibachi grill meals where fantastic. Will go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Low energy wait staff and chef. Poorly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Low energy wait staff and chef. Poorly lit corner cooking table. We had two birthdays in our group and they were barely recognized. Waiter never offered us the desert that came with my meal. I had trouble using my Benihana gift cards because they weren't sure how to redeem them. Overall good enough but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food. Very good Chef. My famil ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent food. Very good Chef. My family loves to come here for birthdays. The chicken fried rice is worth the drive all by itself!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, People Watching, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Staff rude - questioned my reservation. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Staff rude - questioned my reservation. he said I had reservation for two when I clearly made reservation for 3. The Manager came out to verify the reservation. He did not acknowledge us. The chef was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Good menu selections, good chef, good wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good menu selections, good chef, good waitstaff, good value. Enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you like communal eating, nestled aro ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

If you like communal eating, nestled around the cooking surface with a very entertaining person preparing your food....you'll enjoy this restaurant. Kids really love the show. The food was good and the they have a nice selection of premium saki and Japanese beers. Overall, it is a fun place.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Birthday. Great time, wonderful service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Birthday. Great time, wonderful service and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ALWAYS good food and great service. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

ALWAYS good food and great service. The chef puts on a nice show while cooking up your food

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant, but the place was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very good restaurant, but the place was really cold❄️❄️

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very frustrated with my experience. My w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very frustrated with my experience. My wife ordered a steak entree, while the rest of the table (3 others, including me) ordered a split entree (steak and something else). The chef gave her the least amount of meat of anyone at the table, and the other lady at our table that ordered seafood and steak clearly got her portion. Considering that I had to pay full prices for this order, and did not find a host/hostess where I could bring this up, I was extremely upset, as was she. The food was good, though I do like Tsukasa a bit better, but I would not recommend going there again based on this experience. Considering how expensive it is, I would not expect this to happen.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

So much fun! Dinner and a show! The food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

So much fun! Dinner and a show! The food was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was here for husbands birthday. Greeted ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Was here for husbands birthday. Greeted and sat promptly at table with 2 other couples. Drinks and menu order taken. Chef came to table and reviewed food order and promptly started his cooking show which was fun to see. Food served warm and cooked to order appropriately. Everybody was celebrating something at our table and much happy birthday singing in English and Japanese done. Quick instant pictures taken. Enjoy the food and ambience and will return again. Kids will have a great time and are treated wonderfully. They can learn to cook and play chef for a small fee.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

what can i say? benihanna is consistentl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

what can i say? benihanna is consistently good. The food was good, the waitress attentive to our drinks and the cook was pleasant.

This location though...it was dirty. When we first walked in, there were paper and toothpicks all over the floor. This was right at the hostess podium. There were plenty of employees just standing there that could have picked it up. I used the bathroom before i left and it definitley need attention. There was toilet paper everywhere, floor was dirty, paper towels strewn about.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Amazing meal and great show! My kids lov ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Amazing meal and great show! My kids loved watching the chef cook in front of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good, and the chef's ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food is always good, and the chef's show while prepping the food at the cook top in front of us is fun to watch. Our 7 year old grandson was celebrating his birthday. Before dinner, he was entertained by the kid's menu with activities/paper chef hat. He enjoyed the soup and kid's shrimp. We loved the birthday photo they took of the three of us. They give you a copy when you leave, and a website address to view it on line and print. It was memorable, and a delicious and fun way to celebrate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent customer servic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food and excellent customer service, the chef gave a great show and I was very pleased!! 5 Star!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Organic, Modern Decor, Fun, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & fun environment. As always, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food & fun environment. As always, everyone enjoyed Benihana!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoy Benihana. Food is good.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We enjoy Benihana. Food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Poor service - waitstaff was not proacti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Poor service - waitstaff was not proactive - had to ask for everything. Waiter mumbled when we were ordering and did not even let us know what options were (that meal included free tea, ice cream flavors, etc). Mediocre performance from chef at table - did not even do the usual range of food tricks even though we had our kid with us. Overall insincere feeling from staff when greeted, etc. Restroom was not that clean. Will not be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.