About Benihana - Wheeling

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (39)
good for groups (33)
kid-friendly (23)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
great for lunch (12)
neighborhood gem (9)
romantic (9)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
notable wine list (5)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Omar was great! Very good experience!!! ...

Dined 3 days ago

Omar was great! Very good experience!!! And delicious food cooked to perfection!!!!! So much food, wish I didn't get full so fast

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The table seating so some what tight too ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The table seating so some what tight too much if us was sitting there, the food preparing in front of us took to o long to arrive at the table, he was very good when he came thou. It was still a wonderful experience and we will be definitely be visiting again .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Omar is amazing as is the managemen ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Chef Omar is amazing as is the management and entire staff! We are regular customers and this is by far the best location. Each restuarant is different a small believe me, this is the best. Don't waste your time going to any other Benihana, again this place is the best. Omar is the best chef!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very friendly staff, maybe because we ar ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very friendly staff, maybe because we are regulars. Good food, fun watching someone else do the cooking.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great place but, there was a lot of kids ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place but, there was a lot of kids activities going on. Schaumburg locations is Adult friendly then Wheeling. Great food but servings of the main course was little to nothing

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a birthday celebration. ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great place for a birthday celebration. Friendly greeting at the door started the evening. We were then promptly seated and served. The chef was very pleasant and very efficient preparing the food. We will go back.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Took my kids for first time to Benihanas ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Took my kids for first time to Benihanas and told the Chef to make sure they see a good show. He only did 2 special tricks and that was it. I was disappointed for my kids. Other than that the food is great but it still is very pricey.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Food

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was really good and the service was very good other than the chef appeared to be having a bad day before he even got to our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

We went as a large group to celebrate bi ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We went as a large group to celebrate birthdays. It was really fun being together. The food was great just know that it's not a place to sit and relax and visit.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wheeling location is terrific. My famil ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Wheeling location is terrific. My family especially loves the creamy (shrimp?) sauce. Chef Rio was fun to watch and the food was excellent. Our group had a variety of items, all were cooked to our request and tasted wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a very good lunch at Benihana. Th ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a very good lunch at Benihana. The food was very good. I like the yakisoba a lot.

food1
ambience3
service2

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times and have had consistently well cooked meals and decent service. Our recent visit proved otherwise. Unfortunately, our chef overcooked and dried out our food, was not happy to be working on a holiday and was sweating profusely. It was a weird experience and we did not enjoy our meal at all. Soup and salad came before our appetizer sushi role making for a rushed dinner with all the food coming at once. Not sure how soon we'll return. May look for an alternative teppan grill.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable experience

Dined on May 30, 2016

Staff was courteous, and Chef performed his culinary stunts perfectly. We enjoyed our luncheon as ambiance was pleasant and noise level was moderate throughout the meal, allowing us to engage in good conversation. Everyone ordered a different dish from the menu and loved their selection. Overall, it was a delightful dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

I enjoy dining at Benihana. Especially f ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

I enjoy dining at Benihana. Especially for lunch. The steak yakisoba is very good and the chicken teriyaki is pretty good too. It's a guilty pleasure to go to Benihana.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Impersonal Interaction

Dined on May 14, 2016

The personalized interaction between the chefs and customer is what defines Benihanna. But unfortunately it is lost nowdays because the chefs hardly interact with customers due to language issues. The tricks and excitements is gone for a the higher end price we pay.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food cooked to order. We consistently have great food and service. Steak cooked as well as the tuna.

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 12, 2016

Cook was not friendly and made our experience not fun..looked unhappy and made our dining experience not Fun!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

The food & dining experience was great a ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food & dining experience was great as always. Our chef was very entertaining & friendly. We also had the opportunity to take advantage of our birthday certificates which helped our dining costs to be discounted.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Something different

Dined on April 30, 2016

Going to Benihana is different then going to a regular restaurant. With strangers sitting at your table to the chef preparing dinner in front of you, the ambiance is neat.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday celebration

Dined on April 17, 2016

We come here every year for my children's birthdays. It is their favorite restaurant! We always enjoy ourselves and the food is always great!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

The chicken teriyaki was good. My husban ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The chicken teriyaki was good. My husband liked his yakisoba with steak. The fried rice was very good. We had a good time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on April 2, 2016

Awesome place and service and server kind and polite and so was the cook.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service is the key to everything.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Our server was very nice and on top of refills! Our chef was nice as well. Food is over price but it's an experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occassion

Dined on March 31, 2016

Excellent food and extremely entertaining. We had a delicious dinner and the chef was superior. We had enough for dinner the next day. I ordered the Filet and my husband had the chicken. The best part was the chef. Also the picture of the two of us. Nice souvenir to keep in honor of my birthday. I have a collection of the pictures.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday bash

Dined on March 31, 2016

Went for wife's birthday. The food was great the price was right ( six people for about $250) . Only complaint was service a bit slow and not attentive enough.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Sad Service

Dined on March 29, 2016

I was highly disappointed. The cook did nothing fun other than cook. He tossed a shrimp tale at a child eye and did not apologize. Waiter was charge crazy. Wanted to charge extra for hot sauce. Service was slow.

food4
ambience4
service3

Good experience...especially as a group ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Good experience...especially as a group or family dinner

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was a little bland. Could have use ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Food was a little bland. Could have used more seasoning.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Portions are pitiful

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Wow, the portions for the protein options are laughable. It was barley enough for a 7 year old girl. Mind you, I am not a big eater but when I pay $38 dollars for 8 oz of squid it makes me upset. I understand that you are trying to be profitable but at least make the customer feel like they are getting some type of value.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The best part was our cook!

Dined on February 27, 2016

This was my first time at Benihana but I have been to other similar restaurants. The chief at our table was very friendly and did a great job but the food was kind of average. The vegetables that come with the meal consisted of just zucchini and onions, I would have preferred more variety, but for the most the food was really good. I would have given a higher rating was it not for my experience with the fried rice. Our server asked us if we wanted fried rice or steamed rice with our meals. We both said fried rice and it was only after I had a few bites that I realized that there were small pieces of chicken in the fried rice! I do not eat chicken and the server never mentioned that there would be meat in the fried rice or I wouldn't have ordered it...I didn't want to make a fuss about it so I just didn't eat it but it would have been nice if they had asked of if we wanted steamed rice or CHICKEN fried rice....especially since they knew it was our first time there!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The Sushi Sashimi entree was very delici ...

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

The Sushi Sashimi entree was very delicious. The Chicken shrimp entree was very good. Green tea ice cream was perfect. The service was prompt, friendly and understanding. A great night out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Late Lunch before a Show

Dined on February 21, 2016

Was really happy that my friend suggested we meet here for lunch before our Marriott Lincolnshire Theater show. Good quality food, piping hot off the grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good entertainment

Dined on February 21, 2016

The chefs were very intertaining and the food was worth every penny spent. Customer service was excellent as well.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentines

Dined on February 15, 2016

Very welcoming greeting on arrival. Sat with 3 other groups who were very friendly and funny. Special menu meals explained and drinks orders taken in timely fashion. Wait staff took food orders and any allergies noted. Chef was very good putting on show with knives and food preparation. Only complaint was he didn't read ticket and note egg and mushroom allergies. he needed to be reminded 2x but overall meal went without problems. Bar and drink refills came quickly tho restaurant was very very busy and tables were all full. Dinner for 2 with upgrades of seafood entrees were a big hit with our table diners. My spouse and I ate Filets with seafood and or chicken which was cooked wonderful. I would recommend this place everytime for fun and goodhot food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always A Treat

Dined on February 14, 2016

From the appetizers to the dessert everything was great. The chef puts on a good show and you talk to fellow diners because you're sitting next to them.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Understaffed and overpriced

Dined on February 14, 2016

The restaurant was understaffed on the day before Valentine's Day. Our chef showed 15 minutes late with no explanation, but the fact that the manager took our orders suggested they were understaffed for the most romantic holiday weekend of the year. The mai tai tasted like juice and not much like rum, was missing the rum floater too. Paid $38 for steak and lobster, with not very big portions. Lobster smelled funky on the grill and tasted funky -- didn't even finish it. Definitely won't be coming back with service, food and prices this disappointing. I'd have been happy to pay what I did for better quality service and food. And while not eveyone is good at tricks, our chef missed tossing every single shrimp tail, skipped the beating heart trick and overall didn't seem to care much about the "wow" factor Benihana and hibachi are known for. Really sad.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

FREEZING COLD

Dined on February 14, 2016

I ate dinner with my winter coat and scarf on. I will never again go to Benihana in the winter. We spoke to the manager who told us that there was absolutely nothing he could do and when it is cold outside, the restaurant is cold inside - as if that is just a given. There is no reason I should have to eat dinner freezing like that -- also our meals were cold before we could finish them. Overall it was a bad experience

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Very Expensive

Dined on February 13, 2016

Did a switch to more expensive menu, had to request the regular menu.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Exceptionally accommodating

Dined on February 13, 2016

I mixed up my reservation for my son's birthday. We were supposed to come on the 13th, but showed up on the 12th. The hostess said no worries, "Let me see what I can do." She saved the evening and seated us right away!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.