About Benihana - Wheeling

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a walk around our restaurant and learn about Japanese culture with our Japanese artifacts such as a bridal kimono, or take a seat outside and enjoy the tranquility of our outdoor koi pond. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Happy Hour at 5 p.m. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (40)
good for groups (33)
kid-friendly (24)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
great for lunch (13)
neighborhood gem (9)
romantic (8)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
notable wine list (5)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service. Food was fresh and proper ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service. Food was fresh and properly cooked. Enjoyed very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great show table side and good ambiance. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great show table side and good ambiance. Food is fantastic.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooks presentation wasn't friendly enoug ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Cooks presentation wasn't friendly enough and not enough Flair

Too small portions for dinner

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The only thing i don't like is you pay ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The only thing i don't like is you pay alot for a meal but you are not given that one chicken breast, as an example, it is split between several people They should give you what you pay for

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for our anniversary. The food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went here for our anniversary. The food was good, but not great or anything special. The price was RIDICULOUS. $75 for two to eat basic hibachi dinner. The chef didn't do tricks or entertain like other restaurants I've been too. Honestly I was completely disappointed. Waste of money and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

It's great to be there as a group of 5-8 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It's great to be there as a group of 5-8 people. Then you all can sit at one table. If there're 2-4 of you, there're chances that you'll be dining with some other people at the table.

The food is good, but a little overpriced. Probably it includes the chef's fees for cooking which is fine. You just pay extra for the show. Just don't expect to have different show every time you go there. They have a standard program for every visitor and every time you can see all the same tricks. :-))

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We've gone to Benihana--either Wheeling ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've gone to Benihana--either Wheeling or Schaumburg--for about the last 16 years for my son's birthday. This year we had THE MOST INCREDIBLE & ENTERTAINING CHEF ... so much fun to watch! And who knew edamame could look so appetizing!

May Benihana live long and prosper!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Omar was great! Very good experience!!! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Omar was great! Very good experience!!! And delicious food cooked to perfection!!!!! So much food, wish I didn't get full so fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The table seating so some what tight too ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The table seating so some what tight too much if us was sitting there, the food preparing in front of us took to o long to arrive at the table, he was very good when he came thou. It was still a wonderful experience and we will be definitely be visiting again .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef Omar is amazing as is the managemen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Chef Omar is amazing as is the management and entire staff! We are regular customers and this is by far the best location. Each restuarant is different a small believe me, this is the best. Don't waste your time going to any other Benihana, again this place is the best. Omar is the best chef!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff, maybe because we ar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very friendly staff, maybe because we are regulars. Good food, fun watching someone else do the cooking.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place but, there was a lot of kids ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place but, there was a lot of kids activities going on. Schaumburg locations is Adult friendly then Wheeling. Great food but servings of the main course was little to nothing

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great place for a birthday celebration. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great place for a birthday celebration. Friendly greeting at the door started the evening. We were then promptly seated and served. The chef was very pleasant and very efficient preparing the food. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my kids for first time to Benihanas ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Took my kids for first time to Benihanas and told the Chef to make sure they see a good show. He only did 2 special tricks and that was it. I was disappointed for my kids. Other than that the food is great but it still is very pricey.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was really good and the service was very good other than the chef appeared to be having a bad day before he even got to our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went as a large group to celebrate bi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went as a large group to celebrate birthdays. It was really fun being together. The food was great just know that it's not a place to sit and relax and visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wheeling location is terrific. My famil ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wheeling location is terrific. My family especially loves the creamy (shrimp?) sauce.

Chef Rio was fun to watch and the food was excellent. Our group had a variety of items, all were cooked to our request and tasted wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very good lunch at Benihana. Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a very good lunch at Benihana. The food was very good. I like the yakisoba a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times and have had consistently well cooked meals and decent service. Our recent visit proved otherwise. Unfortunately, our chef overcooked and dried out our food, was not happy to be working on a holiday and was sweating profusely. It was a weird experience and we did not enjoy our meal at all. Soup and salad came before our appetizer sushi role making for a rushed dinner with all the food coming at once. Not sure how soon we'll return. May look for an alternative teppan grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Enjoyable experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Staff was courteous, and Chef performed his culinary stunts perfectly. We enjoyed our luncheon as ambiance was pleasant and noise level was moderate throughout the meal, allowing us to engage in good conversation. Everyone ordered a different dish from the menu and loved their selection. Overall, it was a delightful dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I enjoy dining at Benihana. Especially f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I enjoy dining at Benihana. Especially for lunch. The steak yakisoba is very good and the chicken teriyaki is pretty good too. It's a guilty pleasure to go to Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Impersonal Interaction

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The personalized interaction between the chefs and customer is what defines Benihanna. But unfortunately it is lost nowdays because the chefs hardly interact with customers due to language issues. The tricks and excitements is gone for a the higher end price we pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food.

 
 (Cancún)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food cooked to order. We consistently have great food and service.

Steak cooked as well as the tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Cook was not friendly and made our experience not fun..looked unhappy and made our dining experience not Fun!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The food & dining experience was great a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The food & dining experience was great as always. Our chef was very entertaining & friendly. We also had the opportunity to take advantage of our birthday certificates which helped our dining costs to be discounted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Something different

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Going to Benihana is different then going to a regular restaurant. With strangers sitting at your table to the chef preparing dinner in front of you, the ambiance is neat.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday celebration

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We come here every year for my children's birthdays. It is their favorite restaurant! We always enjoy ourselves and the food is always great!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chicken teriyaki was good. My husban ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The chicken teriyaki was good. My husband liked his yakisoba with steak. The fried rice was very good. We had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Awesome place and service and server kind and polite and so was the cook.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is the key to everything.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Our server was very nice and on top of refills! Our chef was nice as well. Food is over price but it's an experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special occassion

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Excellent food and extremely entertaining. We had a delicious dinner and the chef was superior. We had enough for dinner the next day. I ordered the Filet and my husband had the chicken. The best part was the chef. Also the picture of the two of us. Nice souvenir to keep in honor of my birthday. I have a collection of the pictures.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday bash

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Went for wife's birthday. The food was great the price was right ( six people for about $250) . Only complaint was service a bit slow and not attentive enough.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sad Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

I was highly disappointed. The cook did nothing fun other than cook. He tossed a shrimp tale at a child eye and did not apologize. Waiter was charge crazy. Wanted to charge extra for hot sauce. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Good experience...especially as a group ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Good experience...especially as a group or family dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was a little bland. Could have use ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Food was a little bland. Could have used more seasoning.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Portions are pitiful

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Wow, the portions for the protein options are laughable. It was barley enough for a 7 year old girl. Mind you, I am not a big eater but when I pay $38 dollars for 8 oz of squid it makes me upset. I understand that you are trying to be profitable but at least make the customer feel like they are getting some type of value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The best part was our cook!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

This was my first time at Benihana but I have been to other similar restaurants. The chief at our table was very friendly and did a great job but the food was kind of average. The vegetables that come with the meal consisted of just zucchini and onions, I would have preferred more variety, but for the most the food was really good. I would have given a higher rating was it not for my experience with the fried rice. Our server asked us if we wanted fried rice or steamed rice with our meals. We both said fried rice and it was only after I had a few bites that I realized that there were small pieces of chicken in the fried rice! I do not eat chicken and the server never mentioned that there would be meat in the fried rice or I wouldn't have ordered it...I didn't want to make a fuss about it so I just didn't eat it but it would have been nice if they had asked of if we wanted steamed rice or CHICKEN fried rice....especially since they knew it was our first time there!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The Sushi Sashimi entree was very delici ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

The Sushi Sashimi entree was very delicious. The Chicken shrimp entree was very good. Green tea ice cream was perfect. The service was prompt, friendly and understanding. A great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Late Lunch before a Show

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Was really happy that my friend suggested we meet here for lunch before our Marriott Lincolnshire Theater show. Good quality food, piping hot off the grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good entertainment

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The chefs were very intertaining and the food was worth every penny spent. Customer service was excellent as well.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.