About Benihana - Wheeling

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a walk around our restaurant and learn about Japanese culture with our Japanese artifacts such as a bridal kimono, or take a seat outside and enjoy the tranquility of our outdoor koi pond. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Happy Hour at 5 p.m. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-wheeling - Benihana - Wheeling
California Roll - Benihana - Wheeling
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Wheeling
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Wheeling
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Wheeling
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Wheeling
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Wheeling
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Wheeling
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Wheeling
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Wheeling
Sushi - Benihana - Wheeling
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Wheeling
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Wheeling
Trio - Benihana - Wheeling
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Wheeling
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Wheeling
Chef Trick - Benihana - Wheeling

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
North Suburbs
Special Occasion
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Groups (31)
Kid-friendly (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Romantic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall it was a good experience. Howev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall it was a good experience. However, it would be helpful if they could speak English clearer. I understand it is a Japanese restaurant, but they get a tremendous amount of Americans dining there, and it was difficult to understand what they were saying.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had Rio for our Chef when we celebrat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had Rio for our Chef when we celebrated a birthday dinner there recently. He was amazing!!!! Such a great personality and that really enhanced the experience. We had two toddlers and a baby and they all enjoyed the show.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going early in the evening a plus with c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Going early in the evening a plus with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The chicken I had was tough and hard to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The chicken I had was tough and hard to chew through. Also, the chef could have showed some enthusiasm as he was cooking. I was with a 10 yr old and a 13 yr old and they were looking for a good show and the chef could hardly even muster a smile.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good overall, service was good. Didn't ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Good overall, service was good. Didn't feel that the fried rice was anywhere near as good as it usually is. We think he forgot an ingredient. Fine enough but not as great as it usually is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Took my son in law and daughter, and gad ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Took my son in law and daughter, and gad a great time. My son in law had never been to a Japanese steak house! We had a great evening. Bdelicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food, decor, service. Would de ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food, decor, service. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Family Style, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The appeal of a hibachi restaurant is th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The appeal of a hibachi restaurant is the show. This experience fell flat. Our chef was not engaging with our kids 6 & 3. First timers to a restaurant such as this. For the price you pay, to get average food and not a big show was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

too many fruit flies in both the men's a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

too many fruit flies in both the men's and woman's bathroom.

Service was very good at the table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is a great Benihana. We had a grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a great Benihana. We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Benihana hits the spot. Very good food t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Benihana hits the spot. Very good food that has lots of flavor. We had Chicken Teriyaki and Yakisoba. My husband loves the steak Yakisoba a lot. Service was excellent and our table was a fun time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Part of our month long celebration of my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Part of our month long celebration of my wife's 60th birthday 😊

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great overall.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great show, great experience ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food, great show, great experience and the customer service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambiance but prices are ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food and ambiance but prices are a little high

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Incredibly entertaining for the young an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Incredibly entertaining for the young and old. Absolutely love the food and lunch value is beyond reasonable!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Omar the Chef is the best and so is the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Omar the Chef is the best and so is the entire staff!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

sent to the restaurant a massage in priv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

sent to the restaurant a massage in privet , hope to get from them answer soon...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Greeted and sat promptly. Drinks and mea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Greeted and sat promptly. Drinks and meal discussed and ordered. Chef verified orders and noted any allergies. Usual showing off not done which was good since we all had been here before. Food was hot and very tasty. Filet and Scallops were great. Cold Sake ordered by friends were very apple smelling strong but appeared very satisfying by them. Cost was appropriate for meal. Will return again for Birthday dinner upcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always have great food! This experience ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always have great food! This experience in particular was contrary. The flavor of my filet Mignon, shrimp and chicken fried rice was not as good as it has been the other 10 times I have been. My wife also expressed the same though. The prices have always been steep.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service. Food was fresh and proper ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great service. Food was fresh and properly cooked. Enjoyed very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great show table side and good ambiance. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great show table side and good ambiance. Food is fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooks presentation wasn't friendly enoug ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Cooks presentation wasn't friendly enough and not enough Flair

Too small portions for dinner

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The only thing i don't like is you pay ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The only thing i don't like is you pay alot for a meal but you are not given that one chicken breast, as an example, it is split between several people They should give you what you pay for

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for our anniversary. The food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went here for our anniversary. The food was good, but not great or anything special. The price was RIDICULOUS. $75 for two to eat basic hibachi dinner. The chef didn't do tricks or entertain like other restaurants I've been too. Honestly I was completely disappointed. Waste of money and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

It's great to be there as a group of 5-8 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It's great to be there as a group of 5-8 people. Then you all can sit at one table. If there're 2-4 of you, there're chances that you'll be dining with some other people at the table.

The food is good, but a little overpriced. Probably it includes the chef's fees for cooking which is fine. You just pay extra for the show. Just don't expect to have different show every time you go there. They have a standard program for every visitor and every time you can see all the same tricks. :-))

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We've gone to Benihana--either Wheeling ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've gone to Benihana--either Wheeling or Schaumburg--for about the last 16 years for my son's birthday. This year we had THE MOST INCREDIBLE & ENTERTAINING CHEF ... so much fun to watch! And who knew edamame could look so appetizing!

May Benihana live long and prosper!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Omar was great! Very good experience!!! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Omar was great! Very good experience!!! And delicious food cooked to perfection!!!!! So much food, wish I didn't get full so fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The table seating so some what tight too ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The table seating so some what tight too much if us was sitting there, the food preparing in front of us took to o long to arrive at the table, he was very good when he came thou. It was still a wonderful experience and we will be definitely be visiting again .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef Omar is amazing as is the managemen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Chef Omar is amazing as is the management and entire staff! We are regular customers and this is by far the best location. Each restuarant is different a small believe me, this is the best. Don't waste your time going to any other Benihana, again this place is the best. Omar is the best chef!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff, maybe because we ar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very friendly staff, maybe because we are regulars. Good food, fun watching someone else do the cooking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place but, there was a lot of kids ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place but, there was a lot of kids activities going on. Schaumburg locations is Adult friendly then Wheeling. Great food but servings of the main course was little to nothing

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great place for a birthday celebration. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great place for a birthday celebration. Friendly greeting at the door started the evening. We were then promptly seated and served. The chef was very pleasant and very efficient preparing the food. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my kids for first time to Benihanas ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Took my kids for first time to Benihanas and told the Chef to make sure they see a good show. He only did 2 special tricks and that was it. I was disappointed for my kids. Other than that the food is great but it still is very pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was really good and the service was very good other than the chef appeared to be having a bad day before he even got to our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went as a large group to celebrate bi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went as a large group to celebrate birthdays. It was really fun being together. The food was great just know that it's not a place to sit and relax and visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wheeling location is terrific. My famil ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wheeling location is terrific. My family especially loves the creamy (shrimp?) sauce.

Chef Rio was fun to watch and the food was excellent. Our group had a variety of items, all were cooked to our request and tasted wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very good lunch at Benihana. Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a very good lunch at Benihana. The food was very good. I like the yakisoba a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times and have had consistently well cooked meals and decent service. Our recent visit proved otherwise. Unfortunately, our chef overcooked and dried out our food, was not happy to be working on a holiday and was sweating profusely. It was a weird experience and we did not enjoy our meal at all. Soup and salad came before our appetizer sushi role making for a rushed dinner with all the food coming at once. Not sure how soon we'll return. May look for an alternative teppan grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Enjoyable experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Staff was courteous, and Chef performed his culinary stunts perfectly. We enjoyed our luncheon as ambiance was pleasant and noise level was moderate throughout the meal, allowing us to engage in good conversation. Everyone ordered a different dish from the menu and loved their selection. Overall, it was a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.