Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Benihana - Wheeling

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a walk around our restaurant and learn about Japanese culture with our Japanese artifacts such as a bridal kimono, or take a seat outside and enjoy the tranquility of our outdoor koi pond. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Happy Hour at 5 p.m. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended.

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Kid-friendly (31)
Good for Birthdays (26)
See All
Fun (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Family Style (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Spicy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, excellent food, great value! Great menu choices

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I always think Benihana in Wheeling will improve, but it never does...The front desk person is always rude, when you checkin and let them know you are onetime, respecting them, they then make you wait when no one is there...its so dumb. Our chef was running out of butter, oil, food, what the heck, I'm about to get a $200 dinner bill...Anyway, they didn't take a coupon I had which they said join our CHEF TABLE bla bla ...DONT!..its a con

In short the service is not great, the fun of cook on the table is lame as the chef has no energy and the wait staff look like they are overworked and underpaid


See you in Chapter 11 Benihana-Wheeling

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

MY Birthday

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The only problem I had was our server wasn't at our table that much. My daughter and I sat with our drinks empty most of the meal. Didn't even have water to drink. The manager finally came around and refilled them for us at the end of our meal.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

$50 per person for what you can get for $9 from a neighborhood Chinese restaurant So I guess that means $40 for the 10 minute 'Show".
Service was choppy at best. They hovered over us to smear the plates while some were still eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server, Jackson was amazing. He was incredibly attentive and was able to answer all questions that we had. Our chef seemed tired and/or new. He put too much food on the grill and ended up burning peices of it as he was trying to catch up. He also did not seem to use all the seasonings that we are accustomed to. It was busy enough that it did not seem prudent to try to call a manager over, as it was Mother's Day and the food was not so over cooked that it was inedible. The restaurant was very clean and well kept.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dinner was very good tonight with our chef cooking our meal to our stated liking.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our hibachi cook, George, was super nice and enthusiastic. The kids, my parents, husband, and I had a blast. The menu has changed slightly, but we were able to order our longtime favorites. It was delicious and extremely fun!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We visited there on a Sunday evening for the birthday of my son's GF. They sat us quickly with another party of 3. It was over all wonderful experience for all of us. Excellent food, entertaining chef and fried rice is our family's favorite. Will go back there again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I am a frequent diner at this particular location of Benihana. Tonight our food was all under cooked. Not good when you are eating chicken and shrimp. Then the steak was over cooked and definitely not medium rare as we had ordered it. Seriously made my stomach sick. Quite a disappointing dinner tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great evening. Took my son out for his birthday and he loved it. It was great food and great fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great for birthday celebration! My sons favorite restaurant . Excellent fresh food and entertaining to watch them prepare it. Always a treat!

Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Would have appreciated if the waitress had checked back occasionally on our drinks. Also the chef didnt talk much no flare

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great fun spot to take the family or for a special occasion. Staff is friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere is fun an up beat!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

As always we had a great time and this time they changed up some of the chef tricks that left us talking the next day about how great they were. They are always great at service and accommodating. My only grape on this one was that all three of us did not enjoy the chicken, it was lacking flavor and possibly slightly undercooked. Otherwise we had a great experience and loved or cook!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food is ok, a little salty... service was decent. Overall good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I knew the fried rice would be an upcharge from previous experience, but that's not advertised on the menu. It's also not the most flavorful fried rice. In fact, I wouldn't say any of the food I ate (teriyaki steak, grilled veggies, soup, salad, fried rice) was very flavorful. I still used the dipping sauces on my teriyaki steak. There are other hibachi restaurants that are much better.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

For all the hype about this place I would have to say my family and I were very disappointed. Ordered 4 medium rare steaks and all 4 of them were well done. Asked for no mushrooms on one.. it came loaded with mushrooms. No excitement or enthusiasm from of chef!! Lack of presentation. I will definitely still to our normal place in Vernon Hill!! And when we did complain they took off 20.00 from a 200.00 order. Will not be going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is always a nice place to come for a special occasion. A little pricy but food is good. Would have liked a more interactive chef.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food was great service was excellent as usual. I would recommend the wheeling location to everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Chef show is great. Food is though average. Great friendly service

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Spicy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Oscar was awesome! We had such a blast with him cooking for us. Made the birthdays so special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very good it was my first time there it was great to see the talent of the chef's cooking your food in front of you. Hive them a try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Just visiting with family as usual

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The Wheeling location has a cream dipping sauce the other locations don't seem to serve - so, we drive a little further to Wheeling . It is my son's favorite. I like both - ginger and cream.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Outstanding service by Jenny and very good sushi. I had the Chicken Teriyaki. My husband had the Sushi / Sashimi dinner. We shared. I love the Chicken Fried Rice. For dessert we had the Green Tea ice cream. Very nice evening at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved it, it was our first time there and enjoyed every minute and coming back in 2 weeks from today

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

They need to clean the vents that circulate the air while the chef is cooking. I was at one end of the table and the smoke and fumes were killing me. Had to keep leaning back to avoid the fumes! The vent was filthy and not circulating properly.
Chef was good. Probably would make this place a once a year visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service, great food and indeed telling friends about this place

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Honestly this was the worst show I've ever had at Benihana. The chef was terrible, he didn't do anything. He attempted to flip his utensils but apparently was to hungover to catch them, and that was the extent of the show. He did not know how to cut the protein proportionately or in a fluid motion, so it all came out butchered. I feel like alot of the food we ordered went to the other guest at our table. We asked for medium rare steak and it came out well done because he was taking forever with everything else. The only thing he did manage to do consistently was burn himself. The attitude of all the employees was terrible, every question or comment was met with an attitude. Through our the night I heard other guest complain about the service they were receiving. For $200 for 2 people I expect a five star experience, unfortunately the service here was worst than a McDonald's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A major reason you go here is for the "show". There were 3 kids at our table and our chef did a total of 2 not so great tricks and that was it. Very disappointing. Food was good but not inexpensive. If you do not get the entertainment along with it no reason to go there and pay the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

There's no better description of this restaurant other than "it was fine". Not great, not terrible, just "there". Was a little irritated the find out the gift card we were given as a holiday gift ended up being used at another Benihana. Not sure how this happened but having a $100 gift card end up only having $29.75 left on it seemed odd to say the least, given that we hadn't touched the card since receiving it. Didn't appreciate the manager saying "there's nothing I can do for you" (you're the manager - right?). Also didn't appreciate her saying "maybe your friend got multiple cards and gave you the wrong one...". No, our friend didn't get "multiple cards" and mix them up, and even if they did, who on earth buys a gift card for $29.75?! Even after showing the manager the gift card envelope that was filled out for $100 by Benihana we still got nothing. Never really wanted to visit your chain restaurant, and now I know I'll never be back.

Parking was ample.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food, excellent customer service and affordable prices

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Awesome! Went here for my son's 11 birthday with the family and a few of his friends. He absolutely loved it!!!

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food. Fun for the kids birthday celebration.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service from our waiter was excellent and the food is what we expected. When we do go to Hibachi restaurants we hope for more entertaining chefs. That is what can make the night truly special. I noticed that it was not just our chef but all the chefs seemed reserved.
Too bad. That is what will keep us coming back with our family and friends.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food is always tasty. We have come here for years.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, excellent chefs, good value for lunch, fast service and friendly service

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I know it was for a special night, a Valentine's Day for a family with kids, but it was too obvious to treat the customers to hurry and for guests to be rushed and not enjoy, even saw it in our chef's interaction...

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our order was confusing because some of us were splitting dinners some of us were not it always fascinates me they managed to cook everybody's dinner and get it to the right spot. Everybody got exactly what they ordered so everybody was happy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.