Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Benihana - Wheeling

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a walk around our restaurant and learn about Japanese culture with our Japanese artifacts such as a bridal kimono, or take a seat outside and enjoy the tranquility of our outdoor koi pond. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Happy Hour at 5 p.m. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended.

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (38)
Special Occasion (34)
Kid-friendly (33)
See All
Good for Groups (27)
Fun (27)
Good for a Date (20)
Casual (15)
Family Style (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Open Kitchen (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
People Watching (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Healthy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The Wheeling location has a cream dipping sauce the other locations don't seem to serve - so, we drive a little further to Wheeling . It is my son's favorite. I like both - ginger and cream.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service by Jenny and very good sushi. I had the Chicken Teriyaki. My husband had the Sushi / Sashimi dinner. We shared. I love the Chicken Fried Rice. For dessert we had the Green Tea ice cream. Very nice evening at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved it, it was our first time there and enjoyed every minute and coming back in 2 weeks from today

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

They need to clean the vents that circulate the air while the chef is cooking. I was at one end of the table and the smoke and fumes were killing me. Had to keep leaning back to avoid the fumes! The vent was filthy and not circulating properly.
Chef was good. Probably would make this place a once a year visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service, great food and indeed telling friends about this place

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Honestly this was the worst show I've ever had at Benihana. The chef was terrible, he didn't do anything. He attempted to flip his utensils but apparently was to hungover to catch them, and that was the extent of the show. He did not know how to cut the protein proportionately or in a fluid motion, so it all came out butchered. I feel like alot of the food we ordered went to the other guest at our table. We asked for medium rare steak and it came out well done because he was taking forever with everything else. The only thing he did manage to do consistently was burn himself. The attitude of all the employees was terrible, every question or comment was met with an attitude. Through our the night I heard other guest complain about the service they were receiving. For $200 for 2 people I expect a five star experience, unfortunately the service here was worst than a McDonald's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A major reason you go here is for the "show". There were 3 kids at our table and our chef did a total of 2 not so great tricks and that was it. Very disappointing. Food was good but not inexpensive. If you do not get the entertainment along with it no reason to go there and pay the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

There's no better description of this restaurant other than "it was fine". Not great, not terrible, just "there". Was a little irritated the find out the gift card we were given as a holiday gift ended up being used at another Benihana. Not sure how this happened but having a $100 gift card end up only having $29.75 left on it seemed odd to say the least, given that we hadn't touched the card since receiving it. Didn't appreciate the manager saying "there's nothing I can do for you" (you're the manager - right?). Also didn't appreciate her saying "maybe your friend got multiple cards and gave you the wrong one...". No, our friend didn't get "multiple cards" and mix them up, and even if they did, who on earth buys a gift card for $29.75?! Even after showing the manager the gift card envelope that was filled out for $100 by Benihana we still got nothing. Never really wanted to visit your chain restaurant, and now I know I'll never be back.

Parking was ample.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food, excellent customer service and affordable prices

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Awesome! Went here for my son's 11 birthday with the family and a few of his friends. He absolutely loved it!!!

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food. Fun for the kids birthday celebration.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service from our waiter was excellent and the food is what we expected. When we do go to Hibachi restaurants we hope for more entertaining chefs. That is what can make the night truly special. I noticed that it was not just our chef but all the chefs seemed reserved.
Too bad. That is what will keep us coming back with our family and friends.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food is always tasty. We have come here for years.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, excellent chefs, good value for lunch, fast service and friendly service

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I know it was for a special night, a Valentine's Day for a family with kids, but it was too obvious to treat the customers to hurry and for guests to be rushed and not enjoy, even saw it in our chef's interaction...

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our order was confusing because some of us were splitting dinners some of us were not it always fascinates me they managed to cook everybody's dinner and get it to the right spot. Everybody got exactly what they ordered so everybody was happy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A favorite for families with youngsters or teenagers because the food is as much fun to make as it is to eat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I haven't been there in a long time. I got to say it wasn't that great. The drinks were great tho. And the service.But overall It was over priced for what we ordered. No flavor to food , shrimp was cold and stake was dry. Some of us let there still hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been going to the wheeling location for years and the only reason we keep coming back is because of Omar our chef and the entire wait staff. They always say hello and are so polite, helpful and accommodating!

Thank you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was prepared well and was very tasty but the chef seemed pre-occupied and the showmanship of cooking table side was missing. I still recommend this restaurant highly it's been a long time favorite.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Everything was good, except I ordered a passion fruit Benihana lemonade and received a regular lemonade.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wasn't happy with filet. For the price there shouldn't be any fatty pieces and mine was certainly fatty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Typical Benihana deal. Expensive for the amount of food you get, but the quality of the food is top notch. Was pretty empty on a Friday night, don't know if that is a function of its location or the poor yelp reviews I read about this particular Benihana. Our chef was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a very disappointing, I have been to many Teppan-Yaki places with much more fun experience that I have been with Benihana's overrated I mean by all about the name Benihana's that's not hyped that it is supposed to be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I hoped that our cook was more entertaining. He seemed to be going through the motions. I was celebrating my daughters birthday which felt uneventful although it was meant to be a special
experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very disappointing!!
My husband, myself, and my 7 year old child went to Benihana for my birthday. We waited 50 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. The hostess was very incompetent and placed blame on other staff members for "over booking". Our meal was mediocre, at best. The waiting staff was decent, as was the chef, but the front of house and overall experience rendered me very unsatisfied and very reluctant to ever return.
What a shame, as I have been going to Benihana for more then 25 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife and I went out for a date night. We make it a point to come at least once a month or so. The food and the chef were excellent as always. One point of note is that we made reservations for around 7:30 or so. I am fully aware that a packed house puts stress on staff and kitchen. However, it felt like our dinner was more hurried than normal. It seemed like we didn't really have time to enjoy and appreciate each course like when we make afternoons reservations. Keep up the good work

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I've had the pleasure of enjoying Benihana on many occasions and every time has been outstanding. I've been to three different locations (Lombard, Schaumburg, and Wheeling) and the quality and level of service are consistant every time. They are a little pricey but worth the extra cost for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Always a consistent meal. Good value for your money and an all around fun place to go with a group or just two.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Very crowded and service was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The area we were sitting in was very cold, to the point where it was uncomfortable. We had reservations for 7:30 pm arrived 10 minutes early but weren't seated until 7:45 pm.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Celebrating a birthday. My daughter enjoyed her birthday dinner. It was her choice to have dinner there. Obviously she likes this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Lincolnshire)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We waited about 40 minutes past our reservation time to get seated which sucked but we stayed because the food is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Staff and food were wonderful, always fun to have the food prepared in front of you. You sit with strangers at the beginning of the meal, and leave as friends.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food good, service good. We were seated at the back of the restaurant at dinner time, and the region was so cold we had to wear winter jackets while we ate. The front of the restaurant was warm enough, but our seats were in an area where the heating was far from sufficient. We complained, but nothing was done except to tell us it would improve with the flatop on and the fans running. it never got any better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

food and service was great, however the heaters was not working and it was freezing. It was so cold you could see our breath vaporizing. I wish they would have knocked off something off the bill for the inconvenience, but they did not. But other than that, was good place for a family birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the only thing negative was it was extremely cold in the restaurant. It was very cold outside, so not sure if it was the vents... I put my coat on and so did other patrons.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always enjoy Benihana. When seating multiple parties at a table, I wish they would leave a little room between families. Sometimes you feel like you are on top of strangers and sometimes uncomfortable because of all the dishes (plate, sauces, water, drink, soup, salad etc)

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was good. Very attentive and prompt. Made a reservation and everything was ready we arrived. Was not aware we would be sitting with others. Was fine. Our chef was very good and fun to watch. Food was really good. The filet mignon melted in your mouth. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good and service was fast. Was there to celebrate New year's Eve.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.