Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Benihana - Wheeling

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a walk around our restaurant and learn about Japanese culture with our Japanese artifacts such as a bridal kimono, or take a seat outside and enjoy the tranquility of our outdoor koi pond. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Happy Hour at 5 p.m. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended.

150 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dundee Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 465-6021

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/wheeling-il-wh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Fun (25)
Good for Groups (25)
See All
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Casual (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Romantic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We were the last table to leave and they brought us our checks before asking if we wanted some ice cream which came with our meal. They just wanted us to leave. Then I asked for some sauce to take home with my leftovers and the server tells me it's LOCKED up for the night. What does that mean. Was very disappointed and it was only 10:00 on a Saturday night. Please.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I love Benihana in general. I typically go to the one in Schaumburg but went to this one for my birthday as it was closer to my next destination. I'm 31 and I have to admit I look forward to the tricks the chefs complete as a part of the experience. Our chef this time did only the volcano and heart but did it with no livelihood. I was disappointed. If he wasn't going to interact with us We could have simply experienced a regular hibachi station at a local Chinese eatery. This was the second time my experience was like this at this location so I will not be going back to this one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Brought the kids here for the first time and we all really enjoyed it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Waiter took every opportunity to upcharge us without explaining anything. He barely spoke english.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always a good show! Took our son and a few of his friends for a birthday dinner and they enjoyed the dinner and show!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The hostess was especially accommodating for my 5 year-old granddaughter's birthday. She took a picture and gave it to us in a frame and brought out ice cream with a candle and sang Happy Birthday. They made her feel special and the chef was entertaining and engaging.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It was mostly as expected and fun, the food was good. It was my daughters 18th birthday, but we were sat with another couple, had to wait for them, and wasn't allowed to sit at the head of the table that we wanted. The greeting seemed like this principle was displeased with us.
Otherwise, the servers and chef were wonderful, the food good, and the place is pretty and clean.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Good food and the service was pleasant. During lunch, the prices are a little less so if you're looking to save a couple of bucks come here during that time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Chef was great, waiter was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Birthday party with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

It was my daughter's birthday, so I signed her up for the Birthday Club . I received, in e-mail, the $30 certificate and there was big button stating 'Print Certificate'. But alas, the certificate did not have the 'barcode'. The 'real' certificate comes 24 hours later ... and we didn't get the $30 off. Very misleading, in my opinion. Service was so-s0. The waitress could have come by more often and asked if we wanted a drink.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our grandkids favorite, quality and service generally the same. High salt content, my only negative is the food smell on your clothes after being in the dining room for one hour plus. It hangs on you, from all the open grill cooking at one time.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very kid friendly. Fun family dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We usually love everything about Benihana. Unfortunately tonight we were at a table with 8 other people for a total of 10 at the table. This was too many and very uncomfortable to even eat. We asked to not sit there and we were told this was our only option. The chef didn't even have enough food and had to make more twice throughout the meal. I understand this was a holiday but not a very enjoyable meal to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our best restaurant! Always recommend for friends! Good food with good service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Fun time. Good food and drink. Service was great! The people with us who had never experienced this type of cooking really enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Good time , good food and have fun as always. My favorite is seafood diablo and soft shell crab appertizer

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First time there and immediately you walk in and smell and see dirty carpet . I was embarrassed to bring my husband there for father's day but he always wanted to try a different habachi place from the one we usually go to in Evanston . The man preparing the food looked stressed and his interaction seemed forced. The food was beyond bland everything needed extra flavor. On top of it the man preparing the food was slow in his cooking where each item was given to you one at a time. What am I suppose to do just eat grilled onions? There is a $4 upcharge for getting the fried rice which was a turn off since all the habachi courses were $20-40 or more. It was just a really frustrating experience watching him cook each thing literally one at a time. Other places seem to know how to multi task and prepare the meats and sides together where you can enjoy the meal. I will never go back and would definitely not recommend it to anyone. Waste of money. Also they rush you to eat and pay the bill.. it was insulting honestly after watching a slow preparation yet they have the nerve to not even finish the bland food that was prepared!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A great meal as always. Service was better than usual. Had a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I'm disappointed that they don't have the mustard sauce anymore. They replaced it with a cream sauce which don't taste good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The service was great as usual and the atmosphere was nice and quiet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I went with my dad for my birthday and the food was excellent. The Habachi chef was great and had a great time. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wonder dining experience as always. Rick was very entertaining and effortlessly prepared our meals to perfection. The staff at this location is professional and friendly. Thank you!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Very good we ordered off the lunch entree menu. A littke too much shortening in the rice but it was still goid. We had a good time. :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Not a place for a quiet, romantic dinner , but perfect for birthdays and gathering with friends and family. The drinks are fun. The food is terrific and reasonably priced. The best part is watching the chef prepare your food. They are very entertaining (some are better than others) . Drinks, dinner and a show for a reasonable price. Can't beat it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent service, excellent food, great value! Great menu choices

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My husband and I went to celebrate my birthday; it was my first time at any Benihana location (he had dined in other states for business meals and enjoyed), and I was excited to dine there. Open Table allowed us to reserve at 9pm, but we were unaware that the closing time was 9:30pm. We arrived on time for the 9pm reservation. The server seemed rushed and distracted upon arrival. I even asked if it was alright for us to be there since it apparently was near closing time, which we were told "yes". We placed the order with the server. While cooking at the table, the chef's energy was low, he was not engaging at all with us, no cutlery experiences or visuals that tend to attract customers there, and appeared in bad mood. We ordered 1 steamed rice and 1 fried rice with the server for our meals and received 2 bowls of steamed rice instead. When I brought this to the attention of the server, he placed responsibility on the chef by asking had we ordered it via the chef but we could only place orders with the server. He then said the kitchen was closed. We also did not receive the birthday treatment of two other parties who were there celebrating birthdays as well. This was not a great first experience. I would like to visit again for a second chance but feel somewhat skeptical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I always think Benihana in Wheeling will improve, but it never does...The front desk person is always rude, when you checkin and let them know you are onetime, respecting them, they then make you wait when no one is there...its so dumb. Our chef was running out of butter, oil, food, what the heck, I'm about to get a $200 dinner bill...Anyway, they didn't take a coupon I had which they said join our CHEF TABLE bla bla ...DONT!..its a con

In short the service is not great, the fun of cook on the table is lame as the chef has no energy and the wait staff look like they are overworked and underpaid


See you in Chapter 11 Benihana-Wheeling

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

MY Birthday

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The only problem I had was our server wasn't at our table that much. My daughter and I sat with our drinks empty most of the meal. Didn't even have water to drink. The manager finally came around and refilled them for us at the end of our meal.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day . I understand that it is a holiday this is why they should have more staff. The host was extremely confused even though we had reservations we waited 20 minutes for our table. Once we got seated the issues continued it took over 15 minutes to get our chef to come and begin cooking. We were 4 people and they sat 6 others with us. The Chef put all the meat for the whole table on the cooktop. The 6 didn't order lobster but they got some of ours. Matter of fact when I said to the Chef that the Lobster was all ours he said now you say it. He didn't offer to make more. He continued to divided all the food in 10 equal parts. We brought this up to the manager but she shrugged her shoulders and told us sorry there's nothing I can do now. Unfortunately it seems like this isn't the place to go when it is a major holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

$50 per person for what you can get for $9 from a neighborhood Chinese restaurant So I guess that means $40 for the 10 minute 'Show".
Service was choppy at best. They hovered over us to smear the plates while some were still eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server, Jackson was amazing. He was incredibly attentive and was able to answer all questions that we had. Our chef seemed tired and/or new. He put too much food on the grill and ended up burning peices of it as he was trying to catch up. He also did not seem to use all the seasonings that we are accustomed to. It was busy enough that it did not seem prudent to try to call a manager over, as it was Mother's Day and the food was not so over cooked that it was inedible. The restaurant was very clean and well kept.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dinner was very good tonight with our chef cooking our meal to our stated liking.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our hibachi cook, George, was super nice and enthusiastic. The kids, my parents, husband, and I had a blast. The menu has changed slightly, but we were able to order our longtime favorites. It was delicious and extremely fun!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We visited there on a Sunday evening for the birthday of my son's GF. They sat us quickly with another party of 3. It was over all wonderful experience for all of us. Excellent food, entertaining chef and fried rice is our family's favorite. Will go back there again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I am a frequent diner at this particular location of Benihana. Tonight our food was all under cooked. Not good when you are eating chicken and shrimp. Then the steak was over cooked and definitely not medium rare as we had ordered it. Seriously made my stomach sick. Quite a disappointing dinner tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great evening. Took my son out for his birthday and he loved it. It was great food and great fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great for birthday celebration! My sons favorite restaurant . Excellent fresh food and entertaining to watch them prepare it. Always a treat!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Would have appreciated if the waitress had checked back occasionally on our drinks. Also the chef didnt talk much no flare

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.