About Benihana - Westbury

920 Merchants Concourse
Westbury, NY 11590
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westbury is located off of Old Country Road next to Bed Bath & Beyond and less than two miles from Roosevelt Field Mall. Take a seat at the bar and enjoy one of our signature cocktails and appetizers as you root for your favorite team, or join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. in our lounge and bar. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Old Country Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 222-6091

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/westbury-ny-wy

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Sushi - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Trio - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Chef - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Chef Trick - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY

Benihana - Westbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Fun (25)
Kid-friendly (25)
Casual (22)
Family Style (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Open Kitchen (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
770 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Next time let me know if I'm going to be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Next time let me know if I'm going to be seated with a child.I would like the option to change be fore being seated.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved how they cooked the food in fron ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I loved how they cooked the food in front of us and catered to our needs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service could have been a bit better. go ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 5 days ago

service could have been a bit better. got very crowded and waitress was overwhelmed. the chef could have engaged the table more and did more of a show. food didn't come out coordinated from hibachi. was lagging in timing of food and preparation.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I am very disappointed at this place. Yo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

I am very disappointed at this place. You would think that this place would live up to its name. I made the reservations through opentable and this is the first time ever we were not seated right away. Even with our reservations, we waited for at least an hour. I would think that it's just a few minutes delay, and to top it off, no apology or anything at all to make us think that the staff or even its Manager that they have all these people waiting. Our server Dominique was awesome, but even our food was another 45 minutes wait time. We were supposed to be there for dinner, but ended up for midnight snack almost. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good Dinner. Besides the server messing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Good Dinner. Besides the server messing up my food order.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always have a good time with my family ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I always have a good time with my family there. My 2 and 5 year olds are always entertained and then even managed to finished their dinners without a fighting us to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great..The waiters was not too ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great..The waiters was not too friendly. I has a spotty cup but the mana6her immediately changed it

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Service was good 👍 but I was expecting ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was good 👍 but I was expecting more for $65 dollars taste good but not $65

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed my experience at Beniha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I really enjoyed my experience at Benihana, service was fast, food was great, hosts were very attentive.

Tags: Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience and food was delicious. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience and food was delicious. The entertain with dinner was great. Benihana is one of my favorite restaurants to visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was good. Not the best but good. Chi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was good. Not the best but good. Chicken was a little over cooked. The entertainment was ok. The servers though were pretty

Good. Everything came

Pretty quickly

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We are an adult couple and wish this res ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We are an adult couple and wish this restaurant would seat us with adults not little children. This is the only reason why we don't go here often and we eat out 3-4 times a week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love this place..food is always great... ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Love this place..food is always great...fun for adults and kids..

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef was entertaining, food was tasty an ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Chef was entertaining, food was tasty and service was excellent. Would definitely go back

Tags: Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a lot of fun with some out of town f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a lot of fun with some out of town friends. Food was great as was service. Love going here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good, but some of the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food is always good, but some of the wait staff make you feel rushed. It seems like as soon as the chef is done cooking, the waitress is bringing containers & bags asking you if you are done & do you want your food wrapped. They sometimes don't give you time to enjoy your food.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Waiter failed to provide us the correct ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Waiter failed to provide us the correct rice order.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Great overall service. Only complaint is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great overall service. Only complaint is they should have a cook at each table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our chef was probably drunk..I struggled ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our chef was probably drunk..I struggled to get all my food together and hot at the same time..Xhef took to long..He was disoriented and messed up a few orders at the table.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We dined at this restaurant on multiple ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at this restaurant on multiple occasions and never had a bad experience until now. The soup was cold, food undercooked and service was poor. In addition the filet mignon that was served was poor quality-fat and tough pieces! The entertainment was minimal at best. The cook attempted a volcano that looked like an inferno- no other entertainment was provided. We spoke to the manager after we paid our entire bill and insulted us with offering us Japanese soda for our trouble. A $300 meal that was mediocre at best and the offer was Japanese soda- not even an appropriate apology. The manager even told us they we're staffed sufficiently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

I was truly disappointed. We went on the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was truly disappointed. We went on the New Yer's Eve and they were rushing and didn't follow the usual 5 course meal . We had to ask for the sauce? they served the salad after the food and they skip on the Ice cream and the Green tea and stated cleaning the table and taking the plates away.

I made the reservation for 11:00 pm and they also had 11:30 available but they called during the day and requested that we arrive at 10:45 pm instead which was fine with us but the way they handle the Dinner was ridiculous as I have been to other Benihana branches before and this time my experience was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Never got to eat as they were 45+ minute ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Never got to eat as they were 45+ minutes behind on their reservations and we left. Wound up at a terrible diner. Not a pleasant way to spend New Year's Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

worst service ive ever had at this resta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

worst service ive ever had at this restaurant. it was new years eve and they didn't honor the reservation time. our reservation was 7:45 and we got seated at 9:00. i was with 3 small children. my son was falling asleep at the table. They told us initially they were running 40 minutes late but it turned into 1hour and 15 min and then the chef didnt come right away either. we sat and waited for him for another half hour at the table. Chef barely spoke english and he got the orders wrong. my lobster tail went to the stranger sitting next to me.will not go back on newyears eve again. we shouldve left when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Reservations were for 7:15. They didn't ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Reservations were for 7:15. They didn't seat us until after 8. Gave us a table too small for our party and didn't even have enough chairs or place settings and plates. Had to replace a few plates a few times because they were filthy and kept bringing us dirty plates. The wait staff was friendly overall and management apologized but nothing else was done for our ordeal. The food was delicious and the hibachi chef was very friendly and accommodating. For such an expensive meal however we should not have had to wait that long and they should've given us some kind of compensation. I will never be the person to ask for compensation but it should've been offered. This was our second year in a row coming for New Year's eve I don't think we would be returning next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

We always come to Benihana's. The food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We always come to Benihana's. The food is always good and the price reflects the food. But the other day I came with family from out of town and was left a little disappointed. We had a 1pm reservation. Arrived before 1:10 and was seated 45 minutes later. Then we still had to wait for our chef. He was very nice but didn't do any tricks like the heart beating, tossing the shrimp, he started the onion but didnt put the light on and off. We had little kids and they especially wanted to go to Benihana's for the fun of it all. The food was still good as always. I also ordered an app that never came (no biggie). Maybe there was a staff shortage but I think we should have been told. Especially when you have kids in your party. We left after 3pm for a simple lunch. I think it's was just one of those days; things happen but we're paying a price for good showmanship also....will be back hoping it was just a fluke.

Tags: Kid-friendly, , Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The chef was boring, not very interactiv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The chef was boring, not very interactive, it was birthday for 8 year old and the group that came with us was very unhappy with the service. Not energetic at all. the waitress kept forgetting to bring the drink orders. only two people came to sing HBd to my child, and saw other tables receive more people singing and cheering to their birthday person. the dessert wanted was not available....overall not a good experience. we have been to different HIbachi restaurants that was not as well known and had better service....very disappointed as the name is supposed to be highly recommended according to the web search.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Service was awful. I shouldn't be seate ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service was awful. I shouldn't be seated at a hibachi table for nearly 3 hours. Food was ok, nothing to write home about. Would not go back as there are much better restaurants around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We were celebrating our sons birthday. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were celebrating our sons birthday. It was a wonderful time. The food was terrific and the chef was great to watch. I would highly recommend going there for a great night out and fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious as usual. Lots of kid ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was delicious as usual. Lots of kids so the noise level was high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food.....very kid friendly. Serv ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food.....very kid friendly. Service was lacking although chef was great. Table also crowded. Make sure they don't pack 12 people at your table.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

The service was terrible. We sat at the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The service was terrible. We sat at the table for about 1/2 before our chef arrived. Prices are too high for what you get there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent service, delicious food. This ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food. This is the first time I went to Benihana for lunch -- excellent selection, reasonable prices, and large portions. Will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The area we were seated was extremely co ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The area we were seated was extremely cold. We had to dine with our coats on. It was very uncomfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Food was good. Watress was very nice. O ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was good. Watress was very nice. Only issue was with shrimp. First batch they took out not cleaned nor de-veined.

We asked for them to be removed which they did and took out a cleaned batch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Good was excellent and chef was very goo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good was excellent and chef was very good. I most definitely would go back. Although it is very pricey. Good place to celebrate a birthday

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food is always good. This time we had s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food is always good. This time we had someone in our party who was both vegetarian and gluten free, and I was amazed how well they were able to accommodate her. They had gluten free soy sauce, and cooked the tofu dish on a separate grill in the back, and she said it was delicious. Our chef wasn't one of the most fun we've ever had but he was fine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

reservation at 845pm, did not get seated ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

reservation at 845pm, did not get seated until 930pm. chef/food/waiter was good though

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

GREAT SHOW BY CHEF; VERY ACCOMODATING TO ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

GREAT SHOW BY CHEF; VERY ACCOMODATING TO EVERYONE'S NEEDS

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place to go, eat & have a go ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My favorite place to go, eat & have a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. It was for my nephew ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was great. It was for my nephews bday and he loved it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, , Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.