Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Benihana - Westbury

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westbury is located off of Old Country Road next to Bed Bath & Beyond and less than two miles from Roosevelt Field Mall. Take a seat at the bar and enjoy one of our signature cocktails and appetizers as you root for your favorite team, or join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. in our lounge and bar. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

920 Merchants Concourse
Westbury, NY 11590
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Old Country Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 222-6091

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/westbury-ny-wy

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Westbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (55)
Good for Groups (55)
Kid-friendly (44)
See All
Special Occasion (41)
Fun (39)
Casual (35)
Family Style (34)
Good for a Date (32)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Romantic (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Authentic (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Spicy (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Restaurant was messy. Vacuum for Peet's sake. Service was marginal. Like a fast food restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

As I am a member of the Benihana Birthday club this was a very good value and everything was very tasty and as always watching the chefs is most enjoyable. We enjoy our local Benihana.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Went there for our daughter's 16 the birthday and we had a blast , the onion volcano, drinks and to the food was fantastic!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Another great dinner and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The chef was not as entertaining as the other chef, he also speak low that you cant hear what he saying. The hibachi food was blan but the other food had more taste.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Got in at 7:40 had a reservation at 8. Didn't get seated til 8:40 and didn't get food on the table til 9:20.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our chef was very entertaing the food was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My family and I went to Benihana last Saturday and I must say we had a great time. Our reservation was for 7:15 and surely the staff called our name at the same exact time that we didn't had to wait. My children enjoyed their food and the entertainment by the chef. I would recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a nice family dining.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our chef was quite lame. None of the usual tricks that one typically sees at hibachi places. It was too bad because I brought 2 kids visiting from Europe there for one of their birthdays and I had told them what to expect, but chef Jesus must have been filling in because he just cooked. Period. The food was okay but the experience was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a great time with our family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food is good and the show is just an added bonus. A great place for a birthday celebration.
It is also great for large groups.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My friends and I are regulars here. We had a wonderful cook, we've had him several times before. But the food just wasn't as good tonight. He prepared it right, but the quality seemed off. Not to mention the sherbet for dessert was freezer burned and disgusting. I am hesitant to return for our quarterly dinner because we each paid $60 (with only one of us drinking alcohol), and I can go somewhere else for a lot less.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Besides being extorted for a bigger tip I had a good time and the food was great as usual.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Ordered a martini straight up with olives. Glass was only 1/2 full and gin was warm, obviously just poured in the glass not even put in a shaker with ice and no olives. Went early no crowds but service was still very slow. Filet Mignon was equal in quality to other Japenese resteurants basic steak dinner. Been there many times and this wasn't typical. Usually give them 4-5 stats straight across but not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was great and abundant. Had a great time celebrating birthdays.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Didn't like the chef was not Japanese. It took the authenticity away from the experience. I will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I live in Florida so I go quite often to your Fort Lauderdale location. That place has the best senic view and I've been to a lot of Benihana restaurants. But we always have fun wherever we go.👍

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Place sucks it's overrated the cooks don't even care to entertain anymore and the food is awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Had the lunch special excellent value and same hibachi meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

our party of 4 was seated promptly. we relaxed ordered drinks and placed our orders. the order taker was pleasant and friendly. we received our drinks, and soup followed by salad. the cgef arrived, did a great job creating/cooking our meals. all was prepared as requested. at the end, after desserts, the order taker took the birthday pictures for the 2 in our party that had birthdays that eve, and sang the happy birthday songs w the table. we had a relaxing experience and will be back

Tags: Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Informed them it was for a birthday celebration and they didn't offer the birthday person the birthday dessert nor the picture at the end.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Everything was great from our entrance to our exit. Everyone was unbelievable from bartender, waitress and cook
Will be back k real soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

No birthday pictures were taken like previous birthday diners by server.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Made a reservation for 5:30 and got seated at 6:10, after waiting entire time in crowded vestibule with other irritated diners waiting to be seated. CANNOT STAND a restaurant that takes reservations and doesn't honor them. The management needs to learn how to book it's restaurant more efficiently and also how to deal with rightfully annoyed customers. Saying "It will be a minute", repeatedly for over 50 minutes doesn't cut it. Manager couldn't even be bothered to apologize or send over a free coke to the kids...any gesture would have been appreciated. Instead I will be avoiding this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

extremely long wait this time around. Seemed to be very short staffed...wasn't the best expereince

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Granddaughter's birthday
Had great time

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food consistly good. Grand children's favorite. Reservation honored on time.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything is perfect except seating being kind of tight. You're like elbow to elbow at the table and I like to have room when I eat

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The simple truth is that this is Benihana. If you go there expecting nothing special, you will be fine. Everything was OK and that is about the best review I can give. It was nothing special. On a closing note, the staff and our cook were very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our service was horrible. The forks and salad came during the main course. Had to ask several times for rice and water. We tipped the chef and 18% gratuity was added to the bill but waitrees reminded us several time that we can add more to it if we wanted but we didn't because she stunk and was no where to be found. On several occasions, we had to ask the bus sever to get water and utensils and rice. Server:henny

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Went for my Wife's Birthday with family (8 people). They were very busy and we waited a little past our reservation time but that was not an issue. They do have a lounge if you want a drink while you wait. The service was good and the food was very good. The chef that cooks the food was outstanding and very entertaining. Although they were busy they did not rush us. All and all a very good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The service was very poor. The drinks took forever to arrive. My son was not brought his soup initially. When I asked for it, again it was never received. I asked for a refill on a drink, also never arrived. The waitress never checked on the table, everyone had to find her or flag someone else down. I asked for and finally received the check which she never came back for. I went to the front desk to pay, and that staff member took almost 10 minutes to come back. The food was over cooked and the saltiest food I have ever eaten.

My family loves hibachi, but we will never return to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

the service was terrible! we had to get up from our own table to go to the bar a few times. our waitress was doubling as the bartender. i blame poor management. didn't even get the tea at the end which is supposed to be included. when we asked for glasses to go with the beer bottles we were brought wet glasses straight from the kitchen sink.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Service was slow and chef was very messy. One example: found a piece of shrimp in the chicken fried rice. Chicken hinachi dish was not properly prepared and orders came out sporadically.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Santos the cook was sloppy
The waitress was slow to return with drinks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We have been to Benihanas many times in the past. The food and show are always excellent. This time ,however there was a great problem. We were left hanging at our table for 40 minutes -no chef cane and no one came over to explain what the problem was. Finally a manager came over and explained that they overbooked that time period and had no chefs available.That is no way to run a restaurant. A chef did finally come over and the rest of the evening was good. Despite this glitch we do recommend the restaurant because the show that the chefs do are fun and the food is good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Absolutely no point in making reservations. I want to tell them to make it a no reservation policy. Made a reservation for 7, sat down at 745. I heard many people around me complain about the same thing as well. There were people who had reservations before me that still have not sat. Management does not know how to turn tables. If it take around 1hr30min to 2hrs to complete a meal they should only offer reservations every hour or two. Ridiculous. Many people complained online about this reason and I am also after experiencing it. After we sat our server just made it even worse. As soon as we sat abouts got our menus she asked my family to order. She didn't even give us 10seconds. She handed it to us aND immediately asked to order. Excuse you. But she did not do that to the family that was sitting next to us. The chef made everything better. Thankfully we had a whimsical chef to entertain and cook for us. If we had someone else like the one behind him, who was boring with no shows and no conversation, it would have just been an unpleasant experience from beginning to end. The server never came back to our table to check up on us. We had to search for her and ended up asking other servers for our needs. We saw the other family get the wrong order. And received the right order when we all finished the meal and was waiting for desserts. Really? They equally looked amusingly annoyed. Food was alright-too much butter. Never coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I was very disappointed this past week. WE arrived early for our 6:45 pm reservation and was told we would be seated in a few minutes. The few minutes turned into a half hour. Once seated the waitress took a drink order and didn't bring it to the table until the after the chef came to the table and we probably waited - 20 to25 minutes minutes before the chef came out. When I looked around most of the tales were without a chef. Clearly something was wrong! The waitress brought our soup but didn't bring the second course- a salad until we were close to eating our main course! The first course of soup was not removed until after the salad came out. Silverware was offered after we had begun eating our meal..Again, it seemed very disjointed. I have eaten here multiple times but never experienced anything like this. We were never given an explanation for any of the delays. It didn't feel like the Benihana of times past. I don't need to revisit here...and am not inclined to tell someone else to. If I didn't know better I would say they Management was short staffed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was terrible. Waited an hour before the server took drink orders. Food was poorly prepared and over cooked. Sushi was not properly rolled. Don't waste your time or money at this place. So many better options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Took far too long to finally get a server but once he arrived service was great. Food was excellent and the waitress paid close attention to refills, etc.
A (long but) great meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.