Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Benihana - Westbury

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westbury is located off of Old Country Road next to Bed Bath & Beyond and less than two miles from Roosevelt Field Mall. Take a seat at the bar and enjoy one of our signature cocktails and appetizers as you root for your favorite team, or join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. in our lounge and bar. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

920 Merchants Concourse
Westbury, NY 11590
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Old Country Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 222-6091

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/westbury-ny-wy

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Westbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.5

ambience

3.5

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (37)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Groups (35)
See All
Fun (27)
Casual (26)
Good for a Date (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
969 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great but the service wasn't. I had a reservation but they were very disorganized when I arrived. Also, the waitress was very interested in seeing how much I tipped, even going so far to ask me directly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I normally love this place however, this visit was terrriable. The wait staff was not attentive at all .my brother waited 20 mins for silverwear. Which was horrifying since we we there to celebrate his birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

So disappointing! Thursday, September 21, 2017, our family went to Benihana of Westbury to celebrate my birthday as usual but let me tell you the place is nothing like it used to be.
We had a 5:00 reservation as our granddaughter had soccer practice at 6:30, normally plenty of time but sadly not so this time. We were sat within 10 minutes but then left waiting at the table for 25 minutes. Just as I got up to complain the waiter came over. He was very nice and apologized for delay, we told him we appreciated the apology but also explained our time limitations and told him we needed to move things along. Note: We did not fault the waiter (in his tip), totally feel this is a management fault/problem.
Anyway, waiter took drink and food order then disappeared for another 15 minutes. As our time was quickly depleting I got up yet again to ask the manager/hostess what was going on?!, and she was very cavalier. The waiter, after serving our drinks, told us he was going to help the Chef get our order together - WHAT/REALLY!? Is this normal or because I complained??
The Chef finally appeared and we told him we needed our daughter/granddaughters meals first so they could leave, he accommodated this but made more mistakes with the utensils and tossing of shrimp tails show - even I could have done better!
While two would have been missing (they made practice 10 minutes late),we didn't get the usual special occasion photo; maybe Benihana did away with the Polaroids but dang at least offer to take it on the cell phone.
Also, bathrooms were dirty and sloppy (husband confirmed same in men's room), water all over sinks and floors. Towel dispenser in ladies room so low to counter when towel is dispensed they hit the sloppy counter and get wet.
All this frustration for a cost of $225; understand cost would not be an issue if there were no problems!!
Will be a very long time, if ever, that we return to this Benihana - maybe one of the other locations will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice atmosphere. Waitress was very nice and pleasant with a great sense of humor. The cook was very good at his skills and very friendly. Enjoyed it very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been going here since it opened,the food used to be great. Twice we went and friends said they were sick after,thought it was a coincidence, last night I got hibachi chicken, but we were sitting in the sushi area so I didn't see it made,it was horrible! The chicken was so hard,had to spit some out,it was so bad,it told the waitress I never send food back but I think it was old chicken they microwaved.She didn't look surprised, just took it back. Sushi wasn't even good,fried rice was terrible, even the sauces were different, salad had a tiny drop of dressing on top.To make things worse my husband got sick when we got home.I think it is a new owner, portions much smaller, nothing tasted good.Never going back.Nasty food! Shame on benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing food great chef will definitely be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was horrible food was bland will never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Disappointed The chef not only didn't try to engage any diners in the experience, but overlooked the steak and left before we were able to say anything Much better dining options out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always love going to Benihana's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great time except reservations should be seated in a timely fashion, otherwise, whats the point?

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

MY FIANCE AND I COME HERE TWICE A YEAR FOR THE LAST 5 YEARS TO CELEBRATE BIRTHDAYS.
AND THE SERVICE HAS BEEN REALLY GREAT UNTIL LAST THURSDAY 9/7/17, JEREMY WAS OUR
HIBACHI CHEF. HE WAS A GREAT TECHNICIAN AS FAR AS DOING ALL TRICKS AND COOKING THE
FOOD BUT HE HAD NO PERSONALITY AND HE WAS IN SUCH A RUSH TO COMPLETE THE TRICKS .
OUR SERVER GAVE US FAIR SERVICE, NOT OFFERING US GREEN TEA. I ORDERED SUSHI AS AN APPETIZER BEFORE THE DINNER, THE SERVER BROUGHT IT OUT WHEN MY MAIN COURSE CAME. LASTLY I USUALLY GET A CHOCOLATE STICK IN MY ICE CREAM AND THE SERVERS COME
AROUND AND SING ME HAPPY BIRTHDAY. THESE ARE SMALL DETAILS THAT WERE NEGLECTED.
IT WON'T STOP ME FROM COMING BACK BECAUSE THE FOOD IS SO DELICIOUS AND HEY A $30 DISCOUNT ON A DINNER IS A GREAT DEAL.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Portions are shrinking as the prices increase. Service was average at best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Took my son for his bday and It was a complete disappointment. The chef did not absolutely nothing but cook our food. He was not friendly, charismatic and he didn't even flip the shrimp tails over to his hat, he didn't make a heart out of the rice. Basically we only got to see him cook that's it. I also advised them it was my sons bday so they can bring him a dessert (without any singing because he would be embarrassed) nope nothing!! They didn't bring him absolutely anything... I was definitely dissatisfied drove 25 mins to them. I will not go there again there is a better more entertaining Hibachi restaurant on Main Street in Bay Shore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Service was horrible ....food was nasty I never had a experience like this in Benihana ....management was unprofessional it was just a bad birthday experience and the hostess didn't listen to the chef food order was all wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

My reservation was for 7:30pm and we arrived at 7:05pm and was informed that we will be seated by 7:30pm. By 7:45pm I approached the hostess desk and was told we will be seated once the table was clean. A family before me had no reservation and was told an hour wait but was seated by 730pm. I asked the hostess again at 8pm, when will we be seated and the sane response, "once the table is clean". We finally got seated by 8:10pm and let's just say by 9:35pm, no chef, no appetizers or a refill of drinks. When I asked for the manager, the hostess was very rude and walked away. I was given the manager who handles the kitchen and was told that they were short handed. No apology was given and I informed the manager that I came here for birthdays and anniversaries and that I never experienced this kind of service. I left with my family without eating or getting our drinks. I will never go back after this experience. Word of advise, train your hostesses and staff properly so they know how to handle a situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Disappointed - used to enjoy this place . Noise level terrible - I made a reservation which they messed up and sat someone else . The food was very good - but the chef didn't put on much of a show and that's one of the reasons customers dine there . There are better hibachi places I've gone to local to my home - which are smaller , quieter and the chefs put on a much better cooking show - and the food is just as good if not better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I love Japanese food. For years Teppanyaki's gold standard was Benihana, now I'm not so sure. Even with our reservation and coming in a little early we had to wait over 30 minutes to get a table. Mind you we had a reservation for 2 people not, 6. I ordered a sushi appetizer and had to remind the waitress to get the item before dinner. She later admitted she "forgot" it. The whole restaurant seemed short staffed. The chef did a decent job in cooking the food to everyone liking however had to leave the table to get items; there was little or no interaction with the patrons. The food was good however the wait and the service was not the best.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My children absolutely love Benihana. I have to admit, I also find it quite tasty and satisfying. However if I could not count on my children eating so well so consistently at this restaurant, I probably wouldn't go so often. The bathroom is always kind of gross. I actually find this to be the case at both locations that I frequent. Westbury in particular can be very annoying when it comes to seating in a timely fashion. Even when we have a reservation we can be made to wait upwards of 30 minutes. Needless to say with hungry kids waiting for their favorite meal, this is very inconvenient. But I put up with it time and again because the food is consistently tasty, there are gluten-free options, and the wait staff and chefs make up for inept front-of-house and dirty bathrooms. Arrive before your party is starving and if you have children, come equipped with toilet seat covers and disinfectant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Was kind of disappointed. I've heard many stories about this place but didn't come out as it was said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

SANTOS is the real deal!!!! Diligent in his food preparation yet very entertaining!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

One of my favorites! I love the Yakisoba made table side. The fried rice it scrumptious. Lots of fun for kids with the "show" the chef puts on. The only "down side" is the restaurant can be noisy as it is usually very busy!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Honored reservation on time. Chef santos was excellent. My grandkids loved it.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Benihana restaurants can be inconsistent sometimes in terms of food prep. It really depends on your chef and the other diners at the table as to how entertaining it will be, and how good the food will be. This time, our chef wasn't very on it. He didn't seem enthusiastic, and he confused my order with the person next to me. Overall the food was fine, but not great.

On the other hand, our server was attentive and friendly. She was responsive with drink orders and non-table prepared food came out in a timely manner. I would go back, but it wouldn't be my top choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The waiting time was minimal and the chef did a great job. The food was great. Will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

WE HAD AN ENJOYABLE EVENING. I ALSO GOT THE SUSHI APPETIZER AND IT WE VERY GOOD, A GREAT VALUE ALSO. WE BOTH SIGNED UP FOR THE BIRTHDAY CLUB TOO!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

i love it here! i will never stop coming. food is amazing and very fresh.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food and service were excellent, as usual!
Great place for family celebration!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The wait was longer than usual. In fairness that may have been because they had accommodated a pretty large birthday party. However even with a reservation I waited about 10 minutes to be seated and a chef didn't come to our table for at least 15-20 min on top of that. The food was tasty. My daughters loved it as did my mom (girls lunch date). For a lunch we spent more than I had liked but overall we would return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great experience when we went with a group of 10 for my daughters 15th Birthday food was amazing staff was friendly and overall I would highly recommend this place to anyone

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I've been here a few times and really enjoy it each time. We were lucky enough to get chef Santos. He's awesome!! Very entertaining, charismatic and very funny. He's by far the best chef and I hope that when I come with my family we'll be sat on his table.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Everything was lackluster. The food was bland. Our chef was okay. Our alcoholic drinks were weak. Definitely, it was not the experience I was expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

The scallop dinner was amazing. The soup was more flavorful than I've had at other restaurants. Salad and vegetable also good. Had a really nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Good service (average); Chef was entertaining (that's the model) and accomodating to the extent he could. Food was tasty and well prepared; although there was more seafood in the appetizer than in the higher priced main course.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

For my first time here I had an amazing time, will definitely go back

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We had a great time and very tasty meals as we dined and celebrated my daughter's 15th birthday. Our server; Kay was amazing and very attentive to our party if 5. Our chef; Jose was friendly and amusing and cooked up some great meals. We had a great experience and this is why we will continue to support Benihanas.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Horrible service. Had reservations for 7:45. Was not seated until 8:20. Once seated, waited over an hour after ordering for hibachi chef to come out. Requested manager to complain. Waited quite a while to come out since he was on the phone & his phone call was more important then speaking and addressing a customer's concerns. Once I did speak with him, he did not seem to care about complaint or issue. Terrible experience. Would have walked out if we were not celebrating my son's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The level of attention given to our party of 8 was awful. We waited too long for drinks, and the waitress was apparently spread to thin among other tables. Our chef forgot many food items from his cart, and put on the most lackluster performance I have ever seen. The food was mistimed and overcooked as a result. Worst Benihana experience ever! :-(

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always a special placeus to come to on a special occasion, or with our daughter and her family, and when our other daughter and her family comes for a visit. The food, and presebation from the chef are always fun and right on target. You guys are he best s Japanese restaurant in town. Thanks for many wonderful memories.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Chef wasn't very nice and made each meal individually instead of all the shrimp at once and served onions and mushrooms at the end of the meal. Also food was very salty.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Not sure if this location is now understaffed because a lot of the waiters and waitresses that used to be there are no longer there and the new people that are there obviously have not had enough training. The soup was lukewarm when we received it. The salads was sparse and the preparation of food by someone that obviously was new seemed wrenching to him. As I have been to this location before I pretty much know the process soup salad appetizers then preparation of chicken shrimp and the rice is commenced as the food is almost done everything was done reverse so things that should've been on the plate were not . Additionally when it came to getting the desert which is the usual green tea ice cream or some other ice cream we were never asked we were told that they are not allowed to say it out loud for whatever reason I'm not sure. The place has definitely lost its luster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.