About Benihana - Westbury

920 Merchants Concourse
Westbury, NY 11590
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westbury is located off of Old Country Road next to Bed Bath & Beyond and less than two miles from Roosevelt Field Mall. Take a seat at the bar and enjoy one of our signature cocktails and appetizers as you root for your favorite team, or join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. in our lounge and bar. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Old Country Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 222-6091

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/westbury-ny-wy

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Sushi - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Trio - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Chef - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY
Chef Trick - Benihana - Westbury, Westbury, NY

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Westbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.5

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fun (18)
See All
Kid-friendly (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Casual (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Family Style (10)
Open Kitchen (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Authentic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Romantic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've dined in many Benihana restaurants ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We've dined in many Benihana restaurants in various states. This was among the top because our family was treated exceptionally well by the waitress and we all (seniors, middle-aged, children alike) felt like special customers. The food was perfectly prepared, very tasty, and enough to feed double our number. We'll return soon.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my moms birthday and little bed t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

It was my moms birthday and little bed their food. We had our own table and a great chief. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess called our name to be seated and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Hostess called our name to be seated and then disappeared. When we got to table waitress immediately came to get drink order which never gave you time to look over drink menu or decide. Felt very rushed as they brought soup and salad out at once. Never told us it would be extra for fried rice and waitress only check on us once after taking our order. Very disappointing as it is my sons favorite place to go to celebrate his birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Too cramped seating Waitress got bill wr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Too cramped seating

Waitress got bill wrong overcharged

I discovered it

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was excellent this time. We wen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was excellent this time. We went for a birthday celebration, which we tend to do for every birthday.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I don't know whether it's just this loca ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I don't know whether it's just this location or Benihanas in general, but it just seems like no one there cares...about anything. While the food was good, the floor was dirty, soiled paper receipts laid on server stations and floors the whole time we were there, the chef (who barely spoke a lick of English) went through the motions with no seeming interest whatsoever (even losing the spatula at one point and sending it within 3 inches of my daughter), they had no Japanese beers (which I mention because I saw it as lazy inventory control and ordering), the server who came by twice the whole time took a picture of our family and cut off one of my kids' faces, etc., etc., etc. If you're not going to care, Benihana, neither am I. I think we're done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

7:30 reservation. Wasn't seated until 8: ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

7:30 reservation. Wasn't seated until 8:20. No drinks until almost 8:45. Took forever and then felt like we got pushed out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Six guests in our party. Three ordered s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Six guests in our party. Three ordered salmon which was undercooked. One had filet mignon and two had a seafood combo; their meal was cooked fine and tasted very good. A little noisy but very entertaining. Our server was very good. Would definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Parts of my order never came until I men ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Parts of my order never came until I mentioned it to a different waitress. By the time it arrived the whole meal ended up to go. Felt more like a High-end drive thru.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Very poor service. Food was cool. Very ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very poor service. Food was cool. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

we always have a great time, the chef wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

we always have a great time, the chef was beyond amazing, the food was delicious. i cant wait to go back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been going for a while. Last two timesea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Been going for a while. Last two timeseasons were just average. But this time was great got Santos as a cook. Great showmanship skills personality and cook. Will say first time ever did I see a cook ask every person individualy if they were happy and needed anything special or extra after he was done cooking. Service was stepped up as well. Wonder if new management took over.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The servers were not very hospitable. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The servers were not very hospitable. They were constantly reaching over the plates while we were attempting to eat. The soup was cold, and had a hair in it. The overall area was dirty and not very well kept. I was disappointed and I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Its a nice spot but the wait to take our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Its a nice spot but the wait to take our order after being seated was wayyyyyy too long!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

my family and i had a wonderful time Wil ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

my family and i had a wonderful time

Will come back again.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was awesome. The customer servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was awesome. The customer service great. I was treated like a king. Amen to that!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible experience table space was way ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Horrible experience table space was way too tight never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Scheduled an 8:30 pm reservation, were n ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Scheduled an 8:30 pm reservation, were not seated until 9:15 pm. Food was bad, steak smelled of old meat.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

great for children, noisy, need reservat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

great for children, noisy, need reservation otherwise long wait.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I will never go back to this restaurant. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I will never go back to this restaurant. Last time we went they were 2 hours behind reservation times. So we left. This time we figured maybe it was a fluke let's try it. Yea not so much. An hour past reservation time. Manager couldn't care less. Service was terrible. Overcharged on two items. Very sneaky. Beware!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Took way too long to be seated, even wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Took way too long to be seated, even with an early reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

this is our 4th time visiting. the wait ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

this is our 4th time visiting. the wait was too long in the beginning and at the end.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The waitress kept forgetting things and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The waitress kept forgetting things and we were there for over 3 hours.... it is under new management..... can definitely tell

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Santos was my chef! He was great! He mad ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Santos was my chef! He was great! He made sure we were all satisfied before he left. Thank you very much, Santos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We've been coming here to celebrate kids ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We've been coming here to celebrate kids birthdays. Fun and predictable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

We celebrate all of our family birthdays ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We celebrate all of our family birthdays here. Kids love to watch the chef with all of his great tricks. Food is good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible. They were so overcrowded we n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Horrible. They were so overcrowded we never even got seated because we left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a 6:00 reservation and did not g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a 6:00 reservation and did not get seated till 6:45 and then when we were seated they squeezed an extra chair to the table making it very uncomfortable. I was very disappointed with the way Benihana controlled the busy dinner seating. Took a long time to get drinks and salad. They also turned off the griddle and when the chef arrived had to wait for thegriddle to heat up before he could start cooking. Not a good night at Benihana.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Hoped for a nicw dinner for our group. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Hoped for a nicw dinner for our group. One persons noodles were left on top corner of grill till last and were dried out. Other meals caused 2 of the people to spend the entire evening and night in the bathroom with unpleasantries . Have eaten at different hibachi restaurants with good experiences. this one however was one to forget.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Tell your waiters no to beg for tips. It ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Tell your waiters no to beg for tips. Its rude and not professional

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Cold soup, slow service and small portio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Cold soup, slow service and small portions. Rice quality was inferior. We spent $75 for two and left hungry. We will not return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

like the hibachi, but this time just cam ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

like the hibachi, but this time just came for sushi bar. unremarkable. sushi was so so.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Excellent food, great service. We were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Excellent food, great service. We were seated within 5 minutes of our scheduled reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The soup was cold. Sent it back and the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The soup was cold. Sent it back and the server brought it back still cold and our food was burnt, and we had to wait approximately 10 minutes to get the check. We finally told a manager and he told the waitress we were waiting for the it. If she wasn't standing right next to me while I was signing the credit card slip, her tip would have been a lot smaller. I felt very uncomfortable with her standing right there. Last time I go to this particular Benihanas. I will continue to patron the one in Manhasset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Everything was great as it always is.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Everything was great as it always is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana - Westbury was an amazing exper ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Benihana - Westbury was an amazing experience. Santos was one of the best Teppanyaki chefs I have ever seen and his food was stellar. The incredible cocktail menu selections pair perfectly with the dishes. Good stuff Benihana, we will be back VERY soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana staff does not sit the table un ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Benihana staff does not sit the table until all guests that have reserved that time have arrived. Nonetheless, once this occurs the seating is quick and the whole process begins. The chefs are entertaining. The food is good but the wait staff seem rushed. There were no mistakes but I happen to order steak which was served second to last. No big deal but five minutes after I was served the guests which were served first began to pay and leave. Needless to say because I was distracted by the wait staff coming around and collecting their dues I began to feel rushed. Ultimately, I had a great time and enjoyed both my food and the ambiance but don't necessarily enjoy eating on what I felt to be a time limit. Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always food was excellent. Our Chef p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

As always food was excellent. Our Chef put on a great show. Our waitress was ok. I had to ask for water 4 times before she brought it. I am disappointed that they have discontinued Strawberry ice cream but the sherbet was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

we had to wait 35 minutes before they st ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

we had to wait 35 minutes before they started cooking. had to flag down a waitress for a drink the service was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was good. The mixed drinks were ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The food was good. The mixed drinks were weak. Staff was very friendly and nice ombiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.