About Benihana - Westbury

920 Merchants Concourse
Westbury, NY 11590
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westbury is located off of Old Country Road next to Bed Bath & Beyond and less than two miles from Roosevelt Field Mall. Take a seat at the bar and enjoy one of our signature cocktails and appetizers as you root for your favorite team, or join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. in our lounge and bar. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Old Country Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 222-6091

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/westbury-ny-wy

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Westbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (38)
Good for Groups (37)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Kid-friendly (31)
Fun (31)
Casual (25)
Family Style (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Outstanding Value (9)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
813 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Santos the cook was sloppy

The waitress was slow to return with drinks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely no point in making reservations. I want to tell them to make it a no reservation policy. Made a reservation for 7, sat down at 745. I heard many people around me complain about the same thing as well. There were people who had reservations before me that still have not sat. Management does not know how to turn tables. If it take around 1hr30min to 2hrs to complete a meal they should only offer reservations every hour or two. Ridiculous. Many people complained online about this reason and I am also after experiencing it. After we sat our server just made it even worse. As soon as we sat abouts got our menus she asked my family to order. She didn't even give us 10seconds. She handed it to us aND immediately asked to order. Excuse you. But she did not do that to the family that was sitting next to us. The chef made everything better. Thankfully we had a whimsical chef to entertain and cook for us. If we had someone else like the one behind him, who was boring with no shows and no conversation, it would have just been an unpleasant experience from beginning to end. The server never came back to our table to check up on us. We had to search for her and ended up asking other servers for our needs. We saw the other family get the wrong order. And received the right order when we all finished the meal and was waiting for desserts. Really? They equally looked amusingly annoyed. Food was alright-too much butter. Never coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I was very disappointed this past week. WE arrived early for our 6:45 pm reservation and was told we would be seated in a few minutes. The few minutes turned into a half hour. Once seated the waitress took a drink order and didn't bring it to the table until the after the chef came to the table and we probably waited - 20 to25 minutes minutes before the chef came out. When I looked around most of the tales were without a chef. Clearly something was wrong! The waitress brought our soup but didn't bring the second course- a salad until we were close to eating our main course! The first course of soup was not removed until after the salad came out. Silverware was offered after we had begun eating our meal..Again, it seemed very disjointed. I have eaten here multiple times but never experienced anything like this. We were never given an explanation for any of the delays. It didn't feel like the Benihana of times past. I don't need to revisit here...and am not inclined to tell someone else to. If I didn't know better I would say they Management was short staffed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was terrible. Waited an hour before the server took drink orders. Food was poorly prepared and over cooked. Sushi was not properly rolled. Don't waste your time or money at this place. So many better options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Took far too long to finally get a server but once he arrived service was great. Food was excellent and the waitress paid close attention to refills, etc.

A (long but) great meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Reservation was for 6:45, but wasn't seated until 7:15. Brought to an already crowded table and placed on the corner. Staff was friendly

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The wait time was too long, especially considering that we had reservations. What's the point of making reservations if we still had to wait 40 minutes? Aside from the wait, everything else was good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It was an early lunch for my birthday between friends. Had a good time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great - fresh and tasty - Service was excellent - Server was on par and did a great job!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had a wonderful time tonight it was amazing

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Horrible experience!! Cook messed up orders and took food off of people's plates! After food was finished the hostess rushed us out and made us pay the bill while we were still eating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made reservations for me and my boyfriend for Valentine's day.Place was crowded but we did get called within 10 to 15 mins.Service was fast and food was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I wasn't happy that the cook didn't ask if anyone had allergies. I allergic to seafood and he put shrimp on my plate. I didn't like the sitting cramped at a table with strangers and ppl kids on Valentine's Day.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

While the food was delicious, the service was very slow due to the busyness of the restaurant for the occasion (Valentine's Day) which did impact the overall experience. We were late to the movie we were going to after because it took so long to get the check. I would stick to coming other times of the year, but not holidays from now on.

Tags: Family Style, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Hi I was there for Valentines Day for a 6:30pm reservation grant it I was 30 minutes late and still was not a problem being seated or anything, not my first time there so ill be back!!!

Awesome location!

Tags: Family Style, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Scheduled a time for a dinner for 2 to eat at 3:00 and I had rain 5 mins late. Spoke to the hostess of my appointment and told we were late. They accepted us and told to have a seat, saw there was no other customers around. We had waited 20 mins and no response of our table or anything, saw the chefs and waiters eating together. Did not know if we were every going to be seated or acknowledged so we left. Wouldn't recommend on coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a reservation for 7 and were seated at 8. Poorly managed. The food was delicious

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was delicious, my grandchildren love the display provided by the Chef. We were seated very quickly and we were not rushed.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great spot! Always love coming here with the family.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great Drinks & food. Friendly staff. Clean restroom but no tissue or paper towers. Oh & my salmon wasn't fully cook through

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good food & a free dinner for your birthday!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The last few times we've been here we've had to wait for a very long time for the chef to get to our table and start up. We've sat down immediately (within 10 minutes) but then sit for over 40 minutes for chef to come. My kids don't want to go back as much as they love the food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

If you like the food, go. If not, don't. It's loud, you sit shoulder to shoulder with strangers. Even if you have a reservation, you have to wait. The food is overpriced, but I enjoy going there 2-3 times a year. My kid (25 years old) loves it. I've been going for as long as I can remember.

The menu includes "traditional" Japanese food as well as classic Japanese steak. Everything is cooked in front of you and can seasoned to taste. It's part show, part food. I still enjoy the volcano and the heart beating with the Fried Rice.

Full meals include "onion" soup, salad, appetizer, main course, mushrooms, onions, zucchini and ice cream.

Don't expect to be able to hold a conversation with anyone except the person next to you.

I love it. You may too, but if you don't, then don't go there.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My experience was the absolute worst. The chef was rude (Jeremy). The quality of my food was poor. The steak was under cooked and the portions given was not acceptable. We had a party of 8, with a bill near $400.00 and I left the restaurant feeling extremely displeased. I will never return. It was my son's birthday and I was counting the minutes to just leave. The manager was very courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The soup definitely stood out the most. So light and yet so taste. And the steak.. Oh man..Lol great chefs working in there and such a fun loving staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Celebrating mother in law's birthday.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Once again our experience with this Benihana was great and this is the reason we always go back to this one. Our waiter Dominic was excellent, extremely attentive, very personable and something most waiters do not do, Dominic always had eye contact with whomever he spoke to. Our chef too showed different fun skills. A very enjoyable evening with great food and drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The service was SUPERB!! My wife and I were celebrating our 26th aniversary and the staff traded us like royalty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Had to wait for a table even though we had a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was cooked and tasted great. Chef was very friendly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was ok food way ok but i think the waiters or sitter should look at the people that is being sited and set it according to family and couple with date and groups of two

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was excellent just the chef was not as entertaining as the one that was next to us. I made a reservation for 7:45 but was not seated until 8:10 so to me what's the point of making a reservation if I still have to wait. Also our waiter took forever with our drinks once we ordered them and came back with a cup tea that had lipstick on it. Makes me wonder if their washing their dishes properly. Overall the food was good but the service was Terrible

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food here is always good. It's my daughter's favorite restaurant. The service this time was very slow and she forgot one of my guests order that had to be cooked in the back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our chef was outstanding. His name was santos. Food was good as usual. Reservation was taken on time. Our grandsons loved it. It's their favorite restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was very poor. The chef did not make my meal correctly and gave my food to someone else. No good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Next time let me know if I'm going to be seated with a child.I would like the option to change be fore being seated.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I loved how they cooked the food in front of us and catered to our needs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went for my daughter's 17th birthday everything was great

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 15, 2017

service could have been a bit better. got very crowded and waitress was overwhelmed. the chef could have engaged the table more and did more of a show. food didn't come out coordinated from hibachi. was lagging in timing of food and preparation.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I am very disappointed at this place. You would think that this place would live up to its name. I made the reservations through opentable and this is the first time ever we were not seated right away. Even with our reservations, we waited for at least an hour. I would think that it's just a few minutes delay, and to top it off, no apology or anything at all to make us think that the staff or even its Manager that they have all these people waiting. Our server Dominique was awesome, but even our food was another 45 minutes wait time. We were supposed to be there for dinner, but ended up for midnight snack almost. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good Dinner. Besides the server messing up my food order.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I always have a good time with my family there. My 2 and 5 year olds are always entertained and then even managed to finished their dinners without a fighting us to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was great..The waiters was not too friendly. I has a spotty cup but the mana6her immediately changed it

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was good 👍 but I was expecting more for $65 dollars taste good but not $65

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I really enjoyed my experience at Benihana, service was fast, food was great, hosts were very attentive.

Tags: Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great experience and food was delicious. The entertain with dinner was great. Benihana is one of my favorite restaurants to visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was good. Not the best but good. Chicken was a little over cooked. The entertainment was ok. The servers though were pretty

Good. Everything came

Pretty quickly

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We are an adult couple and wish this restaurant would seat us with adults not little children. This is the only reason why we don't go here often and we eat out 3-4 times a week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Love this place..food is always great...fun for adults and kids..

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The hostess and waitress were super friendly. And the food was fantastic!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.