About Benihana - Westbury

920 Merchants Concourse
Westbury, NY 11590
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westbury is located off of Old Country Road next to Bed Bath & Beyond and less than two miles from Roosevelt Field Mall. Take a seat at the bar and enjoy one of our signature cocktails and appetizers as you root for your favorite team, or join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. in our lounge and bar. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Old Country Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 222-6091

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/westbury-ny-wy

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Westbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (60)
special occasion (47)
kid-friendly (41)
See All
great for lunch (20)
fit for foodies (11)
romantic (10)
hot spot (8)
great for brunch (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
notable wine list (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went for a date night. Food was okay a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I went for a date night. Food was okay and service was good. A little pricy though.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

NOTHING BEATS THE BENIHANA LUNCH SPECIAL ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

NOTHING BEATS THE BENIHANA LUNCH SPECIAL!!! However, I brought my fiancé there for a late night dinner in which we each ordered hibachi, I ordered steak hibachi and she ordered twin lobster tails accompanied by our regular cocktails, mine being Ketel One & Sprite, and hers being Ketel One chilled up in a Martini Glass Chilled With Olives, respectively. However, we both left feeling underwhelmed and overcharged. Not only were the portions served to us extremely small, (I understand that we ordered each ordered a Hibachi Entree while seated at the Sushi Bar but Do Not Offer Hibachi on this side of the restaurant for such a much-to-be-desired-experience then at 9:50m on Saturday night). I will say that my fiancé IS NOT A BRAT (I am a brat enough for both of us), howvever, her Ketel One neat, tasted nothing like Ketel One, she literally took one sip, made a weird face, said it was fine, I tasted it, told her to send it back, but she politely smiled and said she had missed me (Gosh am I LUCKY!), definitely NOT KETEL ONE, I WAS STUBBORN & drank most of her drink, smiling back at her. I will say all of the food was very tasty, but a bit over salted. The sushi was nice, not as generously sized pieces of fish as you see from your favorite local sushi restaurant but BENIHANA STILL CONSISTENTLY IS DELIVERING TASTY FOOD ON BOTH THE HIBACHI AND SUSHI FRONTS. Overpriced and underwhelming.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Thanks again benihana for making another ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Thanks again benihana for making another birthday special!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here a few times, but I think ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I've been here a few times, but I think on this night, they were having a rough time of it. We had an 8pm reservation and didn't get sat at our table until 8:20 - which would have been fine if they had let us know that they were waiting to fill the hibachi table or whatever the case was. We were told to wait at the bar, so we planned to grab a drink, but there was no bartender for about 10 minutes while we were waiting. Once we got to the table, we sat there for another 15-20 minutes before our server came over. Since we had been waiting for so long, we ordered our drinks and meal simultaneously. When the drinks arrived, none of them had ice in them. It turns out that the ice machine was broken, but they didn't say anything about it nor ask if we wanted something different to drink. The other weird thing was that our waitress barely spoke to us and when she did, it was in one word sentences. This may be a personal pet peeve, but instead of saying, "What can I get you to drink" she just said "drink?". Also, when she was clearing the plates or bowls, she had to reach way across the table. Instead of saying "Can you pass me that?" or "Excuse me?" or whatever, she just pointed and waited for us to notice what she wanted - very strange.

The hibachi chef was awesome and nice and saved the evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

As usual the service was great and the f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As usual the service was great and the food was excellent!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

You are greeted at the door by a welcomi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

You are greeted at the door by a welcoming face.which ushers you to a comfortable waiting area till your table is ready. Then you are taken to your seat at the hibachi grill , make your order then the show begins. I suggest the 6 course deal you will enjoy the best this restaurant has to offer with out going to outlandish prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Foods always great. 12pm reservation, se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Foods always great. 12pm reservation, seated 12:01, but food didn't get started until 12:48, no value in a reservation if we need to wait 45 minutes for you to fill the table with others that are either late or randomly waking in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

food is always great. a little pricey bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

food is always great. a little pricey but a nice stop for our family on the way home from fire island

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast service, impressive chef. Food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fast service, impressive chef. Food was good (especially the onion soup and spicy chicken), prices were fair. Great for big groups of 8-10 so you can have your own table. A pleasurable experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was my first time dining at Benihana ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was my first time dining at Benihana last Friday evening. A friend had suggested the place for my boyfriend and me. It was absolutely wonderful. The place was nice and clean, and beautiful. The food was fantastic, the drinks were great. They didn't have sake bombs on the menu although our waitress was able to make it happen. They were very lovely!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was awful. Waitress came to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our waitress was awful. Waitress came to us after three others tables that came after us were served. She never brought my appetizer, but managed to put it on our bill. She screwed up my brothers order and he argued with the chef about what he was supposed to get, which the chef said he was wrong, yet again, we got billed for what we didn't get. We were seated with a family of three that thought we were with them, the lady never shut up and constantly kept touching my husband, thinking they were friends. Then she proceeded to come by me and talk about nasty stuff that was so inappropriate for the time, place and group of people there. We have always loved Benihana, but this experience kind of ruined all the good ones. We felt really rushed as well. Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

The food was horrible the service was ev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was horrible the service was even worse they didn't even have any ice !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

What started out as special night for my ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

What started out as special night for my family quickly turned into a nightmare!!!

My family and guests of 21 booked in advance this special day.

We wind up waiting 2 hours to be seated! After being seated it took another 20 mins. and several conversations with 2 managers to get our orders taken!

Here's a short laundry list of the rest of the experience

1. Ordered regular sodas , and received diet.

2. Dishes were dirty and sent back!

3. Pictures were taken by Benihana staff, 2 of the 3 were not ours.

4. Manager agreed to take a percentage off of the bill due to the disastrous night, and did not until confronted about the bill and bad service!

5. Had to deal with 2 managers who could not get on the same page as to remedy our issues in a timely fashion!

6. Got there at 9:15pm , our appointed time was 9:30pm. Wedid not eat until close to midnight!!

SADLY a night to be remembered by my daughter who graduated from H.S and my out of town family!

We were all GREATLY DISAPPOINTED!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

My wife and I were quite impressed by th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and I were quite impressed by the way we were treated. We live in Queens and planned to attend a concert event at the Westbury Music Fair after dinner. The traffic on the way in to Benihana was horrendous on all highways. I called from my car to inform the receiving hostess that we were late and asked to change our reservation to 15 minutes later. We were immediately accommodated without any fuss. Nevertheless, we still got to the restaurant later than the second time requested by about 10 minutes. When we arrived, we still were received very courteously and were seated in a matter of minutes with particular care that we were added to a table where we would have comfortable and adequate seating space. You don't always get this in many restaurants where if you don't make your reservation time, they just let you wait forever. Kudos to the reception and waiting staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Terrible service never even got seated . ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Terrible service never even got seated .... Will never go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Chef was great! Food was great too but t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Chef was great! Food was great too but they did not seat us at our reservation time. We had to wait a pretty long time and they were not crowded so we didn't understand. They told us to wait in the bar area that was extremely hot and stuffy with no bartender. Entire place was hot. Bathrooms felt like 100 degrees! Other than that we enjoyed the food and the chefs entertainment. Would go back for another try hoping the AC will be working and they seat me on time!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food and service was great . We were cel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food and service was great . We were celebrating Early Fathers Day Dinner and I took charge to pay for the meal , it was all my treat for my family .The only draw back was I felt there was not enough elbow room for me at our shared table , my chair stood out in the hall way as I was leaning constantly forward sandwiching myself in between two people just to join the table conversation , relief came at the end of the meal when the couple sitting next to me left after their meal . I left feeling a little cheated since I paid for the entire meal

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The host for our table Michael and the chef William were both great! They accommodated my allergy to fish by having my food fixed separately. I truly appreciated it and the food for me and my family were excellent!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we eat here...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

we eat here often. the food is delicious. BUT .. i made a reservation and still had to wait 30 minutes for a table.. for 8 people with an autistic child, 2 other kids and a senior (which they were made aware of ahead of time) I ordered sushi.. the waitress gave it to someone else across the table.. it was annoying. the food was amazing tho as always but pricey..

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Great Service and Food, Disappointing at the End.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was amazing! Food is always great! My disappointment came at the end because I have dined for the past 5 years at this location for my birthday and other events, indeed, this time, I did not get my birthday gift certificate and not having the coupon with me, I did not qualify for the $30 discount.

I had noted in the reservation about this but no attention to it was given and I got dismissed at the end with: "you have to sign up", nonetheless I explained I have had my Bty there for years but did not get the email. I was hoping to get a resolution but none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience for the birthday celebr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great experience for the birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our chef was great. We had a great time

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Our chef was great. We had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good except they cut the co ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was good except they cut the colossal shrimp into small pieces. If I wanted small shrimp I would have gotten hibachi shrimp. Other than that the meal was enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food and ambience was amazing. I only had one issue, the table was too crammed. There was 11 ppl at the table, when I enquired I was told that it's their policy

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor, poor service. Our waiter was horr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Poor, poor service. Our waiter was horrible, and keep getting all of our orders wrong. Even my drink tasted watered down.

Food was bland

I will not return here nor recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awful! Had reservation and place empty a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Awful! Had reservation and place empty and still had to wait with group of kids for 15 minutes! Seating they asked us to move twice. People next to us got annoyed and left restaurant.

Chef was shy and didn't speak! No fun and didn't engage kids! Messed up dinner orders. Waitress rushed us out cleaning table while most of us were still eating! So not a fun bday celebration restaurant. Will go to 110 Japan in Huntington from now on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great food but service didn't match

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This place is a tad expensive. However, the food is great. We had two kids In our party and would have liked to see interaction between the Chef and at least the kids but that didn't happen. He was a talented Chef but other hibachi places have their Chefs engage the guests with their skills. Our Chef didn't do that. Our waitress seemed overly dramatic. We went on a Sunday at 230 and heard nothing but complaints from her; the bus boys don't clean the tables anymore , she had too many tables. Worse of all she scratched out the word "suggested" from the tip totals. Very crass in my opinion. I won't be returning to this location.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Took grandchildren for dinner. It is th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Took grandchildren for dinner. It is their favorite restaurant. Good food as usual. Arrived 7 minutes early and was told 10-15 minute wait. We were seated in 10 minutes. Pleasant experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our chief was great!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Our chief was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with customer service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I came for mother's day and was highly disappointed with the service. First I ordered appetizers and when the appetizers were served I never received mine for which she forgot, secondly when I received my appetizers it wasn't what I ordered as well my California roll didn't come with ginger or wasabi neither soy sauce...so that was another wait on top of my first appetizer being corrected. Lastly my meal was cheated from the shrimp I ordered, I literally had 5 small pieces of chopped jumbo shrimp. Also the chef asked if my mom wanted certain vegetbles for which she said no and he given it to her anyway. I was extremely upset I didn't eat my food. Just paid the bill and left. I understand they were very busy but every customer should feel welcomed. That was my mom first visit to a restaurant I call my favorite and left disappointed, annoyed and embarassed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Expensive

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I went for my birthday in March, I loved it, loved the price. Went back for Mothers day in May and the prices were almost triple the price I payed 2 months ago. Not good for special occasions, like the "holidays"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a reservation and were told they ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a reservation and were told they were running 45-60 minutes late. What is the point of having s reservation??? I will never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

They were an hour behind reservations

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Ridiculous!!! An hour behind reservation time for Mother's Day!! How can you even operate like that? Not even sincere apology. Will never be back

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Last day we would go to Benihana

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a 4:45pm reservation at Benihana in Westbury. We arrived around 4:30pm and was told it would be a 35 minute wait. 5:15pm came and I asked why we didn't get called. I was told that it would be another 15 minutes. When I went to the counter at 5:30pm to ask again, another customer said she had a 4:15 reservation and was told when she arrived that it would be 15 minutes. She was still waiting to be seated. We didn't get seated until 6:00pm. How could a restaurant like Benihana give a 4:45pm reservation and is not able to seat the customer within 15/20 minutes? This is not the first time we had to wait a considerably long time for a table with a reservation. This was the last time it will happen because we will never go back there and I will tell everyone I know not to go there. Very unprofessional for an expensive dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Busy on Mother's day

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

35 minute wait even with reservation. Special menu so lunch menu and it was not mentioned until after we were seated.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

45 minute wait on Mother's Day with a reservation.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience once we were seated however, since it was mother's day, a reservation didnt seem to matter. We had to wait 45 minutes which was very tough with 3 kids. No warning and no time frame when we walked it. Was disappointed with that.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They made me wait 30 mins and I came a l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

They made me wait 30 mins and I came a little before my reservation time. My reservation was at 1pm I didn't get seated until after 1:30pm .

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Horrible

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Horrible service horrible seating Unfriendly host unorganized gretters where very in professional wait was long... Kept telling me your going to. E seated next it I wasn't next

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food and love watching them make the food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Good food, chef is pretty entertaining. Kids love going. Our waitress was nice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food and service. Would go back aga ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Good food and service. Would go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.