About Benihana - Westbury

920 Merchants Concourse
Westbury, NY 11590
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westbury is located off of Old Country Road next to Bed Bath & Beyond and less than two miles from Roosevelt Field Mall. Take a seat at the bar and enjoy one of our signature cocktails and appetizers as you root for your favorite team, or join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. in our lounge and bar. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Old Country Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 222-6091

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/westbury-ny-wy

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury
Benihana - Westbury

Benihana - Westbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Long Island / Hamptons
Best Restaurants in Westbury ›

Good for Groups (37)
Special Occasion (34)
Kid-friendly (31)
See All
Great for Lunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Romantic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Authentic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was extremly disappointed with my expe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was extremly disappointed with my experience this time. Waited an 1hr to seated. Ok it was saturday nite. Waited 10 mins to order drinks. 30 mins later was told my drink was not on tap. 35 mins later drinks. No appetizers. 40 mins after complaining to manager the appetizers show up. 1hr into the ordeal they finally start cooking the food. Fried rice was over cooked, eggs in rice over cooked, my medium stake was over cooked and on and on. Was not happy. Manager gave 20% off bill. Over crowded on weekends. Not worth the hassel or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Awesome experience! Food, drinks and ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome experience! Food, drinks and service was wonderful. I had a great birthday dinner. All of my guest had an amazing time as well. I will definitely come back and I will tell all of my friends and family about this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been coming to this location since ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I've been coming to this location since my kids were in their early teens. We love the choices and the chefs are always friendly and entertaining. As long as you're there, we'll keep coming back.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The waitress and che ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was great. The waitress and chef were great as well. The only negative thing was that the plates and utensils were dirty and had to be changed for clean ones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Sever wasnt attentive at all, maybe due ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Sever wasnt attentive at all, maybe due to lack of staff not quite sure.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

This use to be a good restaurant. It no ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This use to be a good restaurant. It now looks "tired" . We sat for 15 minutes ,with waiters standing around, before the drink order was taken. That happened only after I complained to management. The place seems as if it is run to accommodate the staff and turnover, rather than the diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

my chicken was overcooked & like rubber. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

my chicken was overcooked & like rubber....the vanilla ice cream was freezer burned.....& we never received the hot green tea that comes with the meal, even after I requested it.....also a language barrier with server...very difficult to understand her level of english & not a fan of not being able to get all of my dinner entree served at once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Had 7;00pm reservation and for the first ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had 7;00pm reservation and for the first time ever was seated exactly on time. Good experience with our grandchildren

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually this place is great. This time ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Usually this place is great. This time we waited an extra 15 mins for a table, but that happens. After being seated we sat for 25mins with no service at all, the entire table to be clear. It would have been longer had I not gotten up and talked to one of the managers. After I spoke with them we waited 10 add'l mins. We saw the waitress arguing with one another as to who had more tables.

To add to it we all received very small portions of our main entrees.

We've eaten at this restaurant on at least 30 other occasion , this was our first problem .

Nothing was offered to make up for any of the issues.

Hopefully it's not a trend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

First time going to this restaurant and ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

First time going to this restaurant and the service was great. The chef kept us entertained, and I will be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was decent. The chef overcooke ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was decent. The chef overcooked the chicken. One of the meals was wrong. Different from what was ordered. Chef seemed inexperienced & was sloppy.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was not good. The cook was a bit in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was not good. The cook was a bit in a rush and didn't entertain well. Waitress was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I'm always visiting Benihana Westbury an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I'm always visiting Benihana Westbury and this was the WORST experience. My reservation was for 8pm, didn't get seated until 9pm because the host just HAD to wait for more people, very unfair to my family and I. We finally sat down and the waitress didn't approach the table until 15 minutes after. The table across from us sat down after us and ate their soup and salad 10 minutes before us. Two different waitresses brought trays of bowls of soup for the table because there was no communication between them. It was awful. After years of dining there, I WILL NOT be returning to this location or franchise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Fun night. Food was excellent. Service w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Fun night. Food was excellent. Service was a little slow.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The only thing that can be improved was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The only thing that can be improved was the crazy music being piped in. A quieter Japanese themed music would make it perfect. I don't understand how anyone could fully enjoy a meal while listening to loud modern music. On the other hand, both my wife and I said it was the best food we have ever had at Benihana, and we have tried many different meals there. It was the first time I have booked a table on line and it was quick and easy. Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I came here for our third or fourth visi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I came here for our third or fourth visit and it didn't quite hit the mark , although my 10 yo enjoyed it. The chef was personable but a bit slow; Waitress tried hard, but was a bit stretched thin for the table. Food was quite good. The wait time from sitting down to eating was a bit long--- about 35 min. However, hats off to management for calling me to hear my opinion and comments and to truly express desire to do better next time. With that in mind, we will return. Hopefully the next visit will due justice to Rocky Aoki's legacy

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great waitress and server. Food was per ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great waitress and server. Food was perfect and thoroughly cooked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was very slow kept taking to frie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Waiter was very slow kept taking to friends instead of getting things that was ordered , I was the last person to get my food and all I had was rice and chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Prompt seating, attentive waitress, enjo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Prompt seating, attentive waitress, enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana never fails to provide fun and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Benihana never fails to provide fun and entertainment while also giving you your favorite dishes prepared by their entertaining chefs

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Denied my reservation, never got a table ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Denied my reservation, never got a table after a 30 minute wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

How unfortunate. We had a 7pm reservati ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

How unfortunate. We had a 7pm reservation for 7 people to celebrate my wedding engagement. After waiting half an hour in the waiting room without getting seated, we left. The restaurant was super crowded, super hot, and super loud, and I was super disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hostess, manager, waitresses all horribl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Hostess, manager, waitresses all horrible. We were 4 people there a little early, the place was empty, and it still took 1/2 hr to be seated and people after us were seated before us. Nobody knows what they're doing. Waitress had no memory. Asked for forks and got water. She couldn't get anything right and she only handles taking the orders for drinks and the chef at the table does everything. Even the Chef was shaking his head And then we get the check: We were 4 and they billed for 5 serving of a dish. And then someone else's drink was put on our tab, and the person who ordered the drink had already left. All in all, the food and the chef were good. The waitress couldn't remember anything, dishes were mixed up, we were incorrectly billed, and the 4 people standing in the front trying to seat people that weren't there had no clue what they were doing. Prepare to wait and watch every little detail!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Benihanna food is very good. We had a sl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Benihanna food is very good. We had a slower than usual experience at Benihanna, we waited 40+ minute before our chef came out to cook our food and provide the entertainment. Food was cooked well, but overall our experience didn't seem as organized as it usually does when visiting this type of restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

well to start it seems that they have c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

well to start it seems that they have cut back on the amount starting with the fried rice even the mushrooms I got about 5/6 little picies the meat seems not the same been going to the one in westbury about 10 years 5 t0 6 times a year my last visit this past monday for my wifes birthday was the worst call and spoke some one who said they were the GM and had gottin no where even the ice cream was very little hope they see this note and make some changes

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service and food were fine. A bit pricey ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Service and food were fine. A bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was HORRIBLE! The waitress t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The service was HORRIBLE! The waitress took forever to do what she had to do. I wouldn't come back here if it was for free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

I thought my chef was excellent. He kept ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I thought my chef was excellent. He kept us entertained and his food was very good. The waitress was very good as well. Its always a pleasure when i come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place. I never leave their d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I love this place. I never leave their disappointed in the food or the service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for a date night. Food was okay a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went for a date night. Food was okay and service was good. A little pricy though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

NOTHING BEATS THE BENIHANA LUNCH SPECIAL ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

NOTHING BEATS THE BENIHANA LUNCH SPECIAL!!! However, I brought my fiancé there for a late night dinner in which we each ordered hibachi, I ordered steak hibachi and she ordered twin lobster tails accompanied by our regular cocktails, mine being Ketel One & Sprite, and hers being Ketel One chilled up in a Martini Glass Chilled With Olives, respectively. However, we both left feeling underwhelmed and overcharged. Not only were the portions served to us extremely small, (I understand that we ordered each ordered a Hibachi Entree while seated at the Sushi Bar but Do Not Offer Hibachi on this side of the restaurant for such a much-to-be-desired-experience then at 9:50m on Saturday night). I will say that my fiancé IS NOT A BRAT (I am a brat enough for both of us), howvever, her Ketel One neat, tasted nothing like Ketel One, she literally took one sip, made a weird face, said it was fine, I tasted it, told her to send it back, but she politely smiled and said she had missed me (Gosh am I LUCKY!), definitely NOT KETEL ONE, I WAS STUBBORN & drank most of her drink, smiling back at her. I will say all of the food was very tasty, but a bit over salted. The sushi was nice, not as generously sized pieces of fish as you see from your favorite local sushi restaurant but BENIHANA STILL CONSISTENTLY IS DELIVERING TASTY FOOD ON BOTH THE HIBACHI AND SUSHI FRONTS. Overpriced and underwhelming.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Thanks again benihana for making another ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Thanks again benihana for making another birthday special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here a few times, but I think ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I've been here a few times, but I think on this night, they were having a rough time of it. We had an 8pm reservation and didn't get sat at our table until 8:20 - which would have been fine if they had let us know that they were waiting to fill the hibachi table or whatever the case was. We were told to wait at the bar, so we planned to grab a drink, but there was no bartender for about 10 minutes while we were waiting. Once we got to the table, we sat there for another 15-20 minutes before our server came over. Since we had been waiting for so long, we ordered our drinks and meal simultaneously. When the drinks arrived, none of them had ice in them. It turns out that the ice machine was broken, but they didn't say anything about it nor ask if we wanted something different to drink. The other weird thing was that our waitress barely spoke to us and when she did, it was in one word sentences. This may be a personal pet peeve, but instead of saying, "What can I get you to drink" she just said "drink?". Also, when she was clearing the plates or bowls, she had to reach way across the table. Instead of saying "Can you pass me that?" or "Excuse me?" or whatever, she just pointed and waited for us to notice what she wanted - very strange.

The hibachi chef was awesome and nice and saved the evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

As usual the service was great and the f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As usual the service was great and the food was excellent!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

You are greeted at the door by a welcomi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

You are greeted at the door by a welcoming face.which ushers you to a comfortable waiting area till your table is ready. Then you are taken to your seat at the hibachi grill , make your order then the show begins. I suggest the 6 course deal you will enjoy the best this restaurant has to offer with out going to outlandish prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Foods always great. 12pm reservation, se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Foods always great. 12pm reservation, seated 12:01, but food didn't get started until 12:48, no value in a reservation if we need to wait 45 minutes for you to fill the table with others that are either late or randomly waking in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

food is always great. a little pricey bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

food is always great. a little pricey but a nice stop for our family on the way home from fire island

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast service, impressive chef. Food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fast service, impressive chef. Food was good (especially the onion soup and spicy chicken), prices were fair. Great for big groups of 8-10 so you can have your own table. A pleasurable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was my first time dining at Benihana ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was my first time dining at Benihana last Friday evening. A friend had suggested the place for my boyfriend and me. It was absolutely wonderful. The place was nice and clean, and beautiful. The food was fantastic, the drinks were great. They didn't have sake bombs on the menu although our waitress was able to make it happen. They were very lovely!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was awful. Waitress came to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our waitress was awful. Waitress came to us after three others tables that came after us were served. She never brought my appetizer, but managed to put it on our bill. She screwed up my brothers order and he argued with the chef about what he was supposed to get, which the chef said he was wrong, yet again, we got billed for what we didn't get. We were seated with a family of three that thought we were with them, the lady never shut up and constantly kept touching my husband, thinking they were friends. Then she proceeded to come by me and talk about nasty stuff that was so inappropriate for the time, place and group of people there. We have always loved Benihana, but this experience kind of ruined all the good ones. We felt really rushed as well. Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.