About Benihana - Westbury

920 Merchants Concourse
Westbury, NY 11590
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Old Country Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 222-6091

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/westbury-ny-wy

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Westbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (69)
special occasion (52)
kid-friendly (46)
See All
great for lunch (24)
fit for foodies (14)
romantic (12)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Our waitress was awful. Waitress came to ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress was awful. Waitress came to us after three others tables that came after us were served. She never brought my appetizer, but managed to put it on our bill. She screwed up my brothers order and he argued with the chef about what he was supposed to get, which the chef said he was wrong, yet again, we got billed for what we didn't get. We were seated with a family of three that thought we were with them, the lady never shut up and constantly kept touching my husband, thinking they were friends. Then she proceeded to come by me and talk about nasty stuff that was so inappropriate for the time, place and group of people there. We have always loved Benihana, but this experience kind of ruined all the good ones. We felt really rushed as well. Not a great experience.

food1
ambience1
service1

The food was horrible the service was ev ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was horrible the service was even worse they didn't even have any ice !

food3
ambience3
service1
value4

What started out as special night for my ...

Dined 6 days ago

What started out as special night for my family quickly turned into a nightmare!!! My family and guests of 21 booked in advance this special day. We wind up waiting 2 hours to be seated! After being seated it took another 20 mins. and several conversations with 2 managers to get our orders taken! Here's a short laundry list of the rest of the experience 1. Ordered regular sodas , and received diet. 2. Dishes were dirty and sent back! 3. Pictures were taken by Benihana staff, 2 of the 3 were not ours. 4. Manager agreed to take a percentage off of the bill due to the disastrous night, and did not until confronted about the bill and bad service! 5. Had to deal with 2 managers who could not get on the same page as to remedy our issues in a timely fashion! 6. Got there at 9:15pm , our appointed time was 9:30pm. Wedid not eat until close to midnight!! SADLY a night to be remembered by my daughter who graduated from H.S and my out of town family! We were all GREATLY DISAPPOINTED!!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I were quite impressed by th ...

Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I were quite impressed by the way we were treated. We live in Queens and planned to attend a concert event at the Westbury Music Fair after dinner. The traffic on the way in to Benihana was horrendous on all highways. I called from my car to inform the receiving hostess that we were late and asked to change our reservation to 15 minutes later. We were immediately accommodated without any fuss. Nevertheless, we still got to the restaurant later than the second time requested by about 10 minutes. When we arrived, we still were received very courteously and were seated in a matter of minutes with particular care that we were added to a table where we would have comfortable and adequate seating space. You don't always get this in many restaurants where if you don't make your reservation time, they just let you wait forever. Kudos to the reception and waiting staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Terrible service never even got seated . ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Terrible service never even got seated .... Will never go again

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Chef was great! Food was great too but t ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Chef was great! Food was great too but they did not seat us at our reservation time. We had to wait a pretty long time and they were not crowded so we didn't understand. They told us to wait in the bar area that was extremely hot and stuffy with no bartender. Entire place was hot. Bathrooms felt like 100 degrees! Other than that we enjoyed the food and the chefs entertainment. Would go back for another try hoping the AC will be working and they seat me on time!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service was great . We were cel ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food and service was great . We were celebrating Early Fathers Day Dinner and I took charge to pay for the meal , it was all my treat for my family .The only draw back was I felt there was not enough elbow room for me at our shared table , my chair stood out in the hall way as I was leaning constantly forward sandwiching myself in between two people just to join the table conversation , relief came at the end of the meal when the couple sitting next to me left after their meal . I left feeling a little cheated since I paid for the entire meal

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

Dined on June 10, 2016

The host for our table Michael and the chef William were both great! They accommodated my allergy to fish by having my food fixed separately. I truly appreciated it and the food for me and my family were excellent!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

we eat here...

Dined on June 4, 2016

we eat here often. the food is delicious. BUT .. i made a reservation and still had to wait 30 minutes for a table.. for 8 people with an autistic child, 2 other kids and a senior (which they were made aware of ahead of time) I ordered sushi.. the waitress gave it to someone else across the table.. it was annoying. the food was amazing tho as always but pricey..

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service and Food, Disappointing at the End.

Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was amazing! Food is always great! My disappointment came at the end because I have dined for the past 5 years at this location for my birthday and other events, indeed, this time, I did not get my birthday gift certificate and not having the coupon with me, I did not qualify for the $30 discount. I had noted in the reservation about this but no attention to it was given and I got dismissed at the end with: "you have to sign up", nonetheless I explained I have had my Bty there for years but did not get the email. I was hoping to get a resolution but none.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience for the birthday celebr ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great experience for the birthday celebration.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our chef was great. We had a great time

Dined on May 20, 2016

Our chef was great. We had a great time

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was good except they cut the co ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was good except they cut the colossal shrimp into small pieces. If I wanted small shrimp I would have gotten hibachi shrimp. Other than that the meal was enjoyable.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food and ambience was amazing. I only had one issue, the table was too crammed. There was 11 ppl at the table, when I enquired I was told that it's their policy

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Poor, poor service. Our waiter was horr ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Poor, poor service. Our waiter was horrible, and keep getting all of our orders wrong. Even my drink tasted watered down. Food was bland I will not return here nor recommend to anyone.

food2
ambience1
service1

Awful! Had reservation and place empty a ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Awful! Had reservation and place empty and still had to wait with group of kids for 15 minutes! Seating they asked us to move twice. People next to us got annoyed and left restaurant. Chef was shy and didn't speak! No fun and didn't engage kids! Messed up dinner orders. Waitress rushed us out cleaning table while most of us were still eating! So not a fun bday celebration restaurant. Will go to 110 Japan in Huntington from now on!

food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food but service didn't match

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place is a tad expensive. However, the food is great. We had two kids In our party and would have liked to see interaction between the Chef and at least the kids but that didn't happen. He was a talented Chef but other hibachi places have their Chefs engage the guests with their skills. Our Chef didn't do that. Our waitress seemed overly dramatic. We went on a Sunday at 230 and heard nothing but complaints from her; the bus boys don't clean the tables anymore , she had too many tables. Worse of all she scratched out the word "suggested" from the tip totals. Very crass in my opinion. I won't be returning to this location.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took grandchildren for dinner. It is th ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Took grandchildren for dinner. It is their favorite restaurant. Good food as usual. Arrived 7 minutes early and was told 10-15 minute wait. We were seated in 10 minutes. Pleasant experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Our chief was great!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our chief was great!

food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Disappointed with customer service

Dined on May 9, 2016

I came for mother's day and was highly disappointed with the service. First I ordered appetizers and when the appetizers were served I never received mine for which she forgot, secondly when I received my appetizers it wasn't what I ordered as well my California roll didn't come with ginger or wasabi neither soy sauce...so that was another wait on top of my first appetizer being corrected. Lastly my meal was cheated from the shrimp I ordered, I literally had 5 small pieces of chopped jumbo shrimp. Also the chef asked if my mom wanted certain vegetbles for which she said no and he given it to her anyway. I was extremely upset I didn't eat my food. Just paid the bill and left. I understand they were very busy but every customer should feel welcomed. That was my mom first visit to a restaurant I call my favorite and left disappointed, annoyed and embarassed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Expensive

Dined on May 8, 2016

I went for my birthday in March, I loved it, loved the price. Went back for Mothers day in May and the prices were almost triple the price I payed 2 months ago. Not good for special occasions, like the "holidays"

food1
ambience1
service1

We had a reservation and were told they ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a reservation and were told they were running 45-60 minutes late. What is the point of having s reservation??? I will never go there again.

food5
ambience5
service1
value5

They were an hour behind reservations

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ridiculous!!! An hour behind reservation time for Mother's Day!! How can you even operate like that? Not even sincere apology. Will never be back

Tags: kid-friendly
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Last day we would go to Benihana

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a 4:45pm reservation at Benihana in Westbury. We arrived around 4:30pm and was told it would be a 35 minute wait. 5:15pm came and I asked why we didn't get called. I was told that it would be another 15 minutes. When I went to the counter at 5:30pm to ask again, another customer said she had a 4:15 reservation and was told when she arrived that it would be 15 minutes. She was still waiting to be seated. We didn't get seated until 6:00pm. How could a restaurant like Benihana give a 4:45pm reservation and is not able to seat the customer within 15/20 minutes? This is not the first time we had to wait a considerably long time for a table with a reservation. This was the last time it will happen because we will never go back there and I will tell everyone I know not to go there. Very unprofessional for an expensive dinner.

food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Busy on Mother's day

Dined on May 8, 2016

35 minute wait even with reservation. Special menu so lunch menu and it was not mentioned until after we were seated.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

45 minute wait on Mother's Day with a reservation.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience once we were seated however, since it was mother's day, a reservation didnt seem to matter. We had to wait 45 minutes which was very tough with 3 kids. No warning and no time frame when we walked it. Was disappointed with that.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They made me wait 30 mins and I came a l ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

They made me wait 30 mins and I came a little before my reservation time. My reservation was at 1pm I didn't get seated until after 1:30pm .

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible

Dined on May 8, 2016

Horrible service horrible seating Unfriendly host unorganized gretters where very in professional wait was long... Kept telling me your going to. E seated next it I wasn't next

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food and love watching them make the food

Dined on May 7, 2016

Good food, chef is pretty entertaining. Kids love going. Our waitress was nice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and service. Would go back aga ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Good food and service. Would go back again!

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Fun experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

We went for my daughters birthday. Seating was prompt. the food was excellent. My daughter has a mushroom allergy and they were very accomodating. The vent fan wasn't working and after one couple at the table complained the manager did come over and did deduct from the bill but it was very uncomfortable eating under those circumstances. The air was very heavy and smokey and our eyes were burning. Aside from that a fun night.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Expected more

Dined on April 27, 2016

It was my first visit and because everyone that I spoke with gave it such a hype ...I expected more. Overall good for first timers but I think it's not worth the cost to do it again.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our chef was very good. Food was good an ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Our chef was very good. Food was good and our server was very good. One big complaint is putting 11 people at one table. We were so packed in together that we could barely move. It was very uncomfortable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2

Not what it used to be. Maybe because we ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Not what it used to be. Maybe because we went for lunch and a different location, but not what we are used too. Won't be going back to this location again.

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Don't waste your time

Dined on April 22, 2016

Not the best hibachi place I've been to. Making a reservation is a waste of time, they mess up your order. You get overcharged for everything, go to Edo's if you can so much better! Server was a bit rude. I spent $70.00, and I regret it very much. I never regret anything but come here is what changed my mind. Do yourself a favor DO NOT go here! You'll thank me and so will your wallet.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

amazing

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was great service was awesome great time. WE loved the godzilla volcano!! Love that we didn't wait long for our reservation

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Birthday party

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a very personable waiter named Jerry. He was very attentive and had a great smile.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The only thing was they were behind sche ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The only thing was they were behind schedule . A lot of people had to wait extra even after their reservations.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Forgot our appetizer

Dined on April 16, 2016

Second time in 2 visits that they forgot to bring our appetizer. They always remember the alcohol. Will not be back to this location. Too bad as the chef cooking at our table was nice

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Good food however my order of chicken fr ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Good food however my order of chicken fried rice was confused and had to be made in the kitchen. The problem was the bowl was passed between 3 different hands that conversed over it. No good.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.