Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Benihana - Westbury

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westbury is located off of Old Country Road next to Bed Bath & Beyond and less than two miles from Roosevelt Field Mall. Take a seat at the bar and enjoy one of our signature cocktails and appetizers as you root for your favorite team, or join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. in our lounge and bar. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

920 Merchants Concourse
Westbury, NY 11590
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Old Country Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 222-6091

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/westbury-ny-wy

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Westbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.6

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (52)
Good for Groups (48)
Fun (46)
See All
Special Occasion (45)
Family Style (36)
Casual (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Kid-friendly (34)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (9)
Healthy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
People Watching (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
893 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We went with a birthday certificate which is a great deal. The hibachi show is the same everywhere but still entertaining. The food is very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere good food live chief my birthday wife birthday was an hit wife and daughter had and wonderful time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The wait staff was friendly, the chef was entertaining, food was really good!!! Thanks Benehanas!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Our Chef was super efficient and entertaining. The food was presented beautifully

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We arrived for a scheduled reservation. When we realized we were going to be at a hibachi table, (4 business folks) with a party of 9 (6 were small children), we asked if we could have a different table. We were told there was only 1 chef on duty and they could not accommodate us. We left and went to Shiro of Japan right up the street. The ambiance was much better and the food delicious there.

I've been to plenty of Benihana's. This one was by far bad compared to others I've eaten at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

They need more survive people,we waited awhile to get some food and for our chef

Tags: Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Been to other bennihanas in NY as well as out of state and this one by far is my least favorite. The place needs some updating and the staff are very unfriendly. I asked the chef several times to go easy on the salt and it fell on deaf ears... which kind of defeats the purpose of having the chef cook in front of you. The food was so salty we could hardly eat it. We take our children for the "show" the chef puts on but our particular chef didn't put on much of a show. We had a late reservation on a mother's day so perhaps the staff were tired. Still, I'll know not to go again, at least not to the westbury location.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a 7 pm reservation for Mother's Day. I called earlier saying we were running a few minutes late. They told me I have to be there within 15 mins otherwise I'll lose my reservation. When we get there they say they are running 45-1 hr behind! Why couldn't they have told me that before. What's the point of a reservation if you have to wait an hour!!!? Never ever coming here again. Save yourself some agony and go somewhere else.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Despite having a reservation, me and my family waited for nearly an hour and a half for a table before giving up and leaving. We ended up going to a different restaurant and had a lovely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day. I didn't like the fact that our reservation was for 5:30 and at 6:30 we were still waiting to be seated.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The experience was overall good, except for waiting almost an hour even we had a reservation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and drinks and service was excellent i had the steak and lobster tail very delicious highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Huge disappointment!!! Restaurant was dirty, food on the floor, leftover food on grills. Wait time was so long, no point to make a reservation. Ended up leaving because the restaurant was disgusting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day so it was jam packed and a little crazy. The waitress seemed slightly overwhelmed but was quick to correct any issues and very apologetic. The cook was great. The food was great. My mother has allergic reactions to too much soy sauce so the cook was good in making sure to cook her food first lightly sauced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The waiting time is horrible! I had a 7:30 reservation and was seated finally 9:42. What's the purpose of having reservations if I'm going to have to wait over two hours?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The host did not check us into system upon arriving, and after we waited 30 minutes, I had to discover their error by going back to the host. Never apologized for their mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

you can't beat it for the value.the chefs put on a great show.
We go there for all special occasions

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Horrible service ! Took 30 min to seat us even though we had reservations . Then took 20 min for the waitress to come and ask us for drinks . Took another 10 min to get us water . Tried to order a saki on the menu and she came back after 10 min telling me that it was not available . Overpriced for the quality of food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We made a reservation for 7:15 and was not seated until 9:00 pm. The bathroom was very dirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Tasty food, white wine peach sangria, all prepared in front of you in an entertaining manner. Nice evening out.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The service was completely horrible. The manager gave us a hard time because we didn't want the shrimp appetizer and did not offer anything else. We sat for our entire dinner and was never offered water. The server even forgot one of our guest order and this was for my mother's birthday. The only thing that was good was the food everything else was not up to standard. I would not even recommend this Benihana to anyone I know. They never even offered to make anything right for our experience.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was our first time at a Beni hana. We took our daughter for her 19th birthday. It was great to watch your food being prepared to order right in front of you, along with some entertainment from the chef. A bit pricey. Couldnt go often but fine for a special occasion.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Mother in law Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I was disappointed when the bill came I know the time I chose was dinner time but the amount of food that was given was very little for the price I had to pay. The plates was ridiculously overpriced for the amount of food and the entertainment of the chef

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This last visit I'd made a 10:15 reservation but was not seated until 10:45. It defeated the purpose of making a reservation. I felt like I'd done a walk in. My boyfriend and I brought his parents for the first time, so you can imagine that the half hour wait was not a good start. The times we've been here we've come with a reservation and have been seated pretty quickly, we've been here on Saturday nights. Once seated our orders were taken quickly which helped but then we waited about a half hour for the chef. By that time we were all starving and some of us were cranky. The chef, Santos, was absolutely fantastic!!! We loved him. Food was delicious, his tricks were impressive and his charisma and character made it a thousand times better. We would love to sit on the table the next time we come back where he'll be cooking. He was fast, efficient, entertaining and funny. He redeemed the long wait, but hopefully our next visit it won't take that long again. The Benihana mojitos was really good and as I stated before, the food was delicious. We'll be returning on our own and with others as well. Please don't make us wait that long on our next visit. The only other complaint we had are the amount of seats they have in one table. 12 is too many. You can't eat probably and your end up having your space invaded. 8 or 10 is a more comfortable and appropriate number to sit on one table in order to have a positive experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Authentic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Interesting experience that I havent realised for some time.
Plan on returning sooner than later.k

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

chief was very good. Lobster Tails were tough andsalty would recommendagainst ordering Lobster Tails. Other foodwas good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent good. Always enjoy eating there. The food is excellent. Had the trio and I had a wonderful steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The wait was longer than usual. After waiting almost an hr after my reserved time to be seated the waiter than took awhile to take our drink order and didn't come to check on us to make sure everything was good. The food is usually excellent, the cook overcooked the chicken and didn't season food correctly. Will continue to go to Manhassest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice first time experience, however food preparation took a little long compared to other hibachi places. The to go order was missing the most important component- the rice. However the food was really great and they offered the salad dressing to go which was a plus for a cheap price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wait staff were excellent. Food was delicious, and serving size was appropriate. We've been there before and it has never disappointed. In fact, we rely on it's consistency in menu, quality and service.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food, the only thing I would say is that your reservations do not hold true to the time. I assumed they would hold the table after confirmation of attendance so upon arrival the party would sit. My reservations was for 730, for 11 people and we waited about half an hour to be seated.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was just okay, nothing special. Even with our reservation, we were told the wait would be about 30 minutes. (What is the point of a reservation if you still have to wait 30 minutes?) Luckily, we were seated after 15 minutes.

Ordered the Red Plum Sake Sangria. It was okay but had no/very little alcohol.

The chef was okay but there was very little entertainment. It was so blah that the group at our squished table talked amongst themselves the whole time.

Food was just okay. Fried rice was very good but why should you have to pay extra for it?

Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were extremely disappointed. The place was dirty, the food was not good, the hostess was rude and the chef consistently ignored the dietary needs of everyone at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Place was dirty. Place smelled of grease. Floors were dirty. Japanese chef was Spanish and didn't have any fancy skills in cooking. What happened to the art of Japanese cooking. Would not return to this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Horrible service wonderful food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

At 6:00pm our party had a reservation.

At 6:45pm we sat down, even thought everyone was present.

At 7pm, our drink and food order was taken.

At 7:30pm, our soup, salad and drinks arrived.

At 7:45pm the chef started cooking.

We spoke to Management several times about the wait and we ignored!!!!

The waitress proceed to view her tip which was 15% in front of us and made several nasty comments about not being compensated properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

One of my all time favorites. Of course the atmosphere is fun for "newbies"- watching the chef prepare the food in front of you never loses its appeal. Children especially get a real kick out of the "show". The menu options are varied with something for everyone. I love eating my meal in increments - each course fresh from the grill.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 28, 2017

They didn't have tonic water, actually didn't even know what tonic water was, they didn't have beer, they had minimal things on happy hour. Would never return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.