Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Benihana - Westbury

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westbury is located off of Old Country Road next to Bed Bath & Beyond and less than two miles from Roosevelt Field Mall. Take a seat at the bar and enjoy one of our signature cocktails and appetizers as you root for your favorite team, or join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. in our lounge and bar. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

920 Merchants Concourse
Westbury, NY 11590
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Old Country Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 222-6091

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/westbury-ny-wy

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Westbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.5

ambience

3.5

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Groups (39)
Fun (35)
See All
Casual (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Good for a Date (24)
Kid-friendly (24)
Great for Lunch (16)
Family Style (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Romantic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Disabled Access (5)
People Watching (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Seasonal (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Waterfront (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

For my first time here I had an amazing time, will definitely go back

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We had a great time and very tasty meals as we dined and celebrated my daughter's 15th birthday. Our server; Kay was amazing and very attentive to our party if 5. Our chef; Jose was friendly and amusing and cooked up some great meals. We had a great experience and this is why we will continue to support Benihanas.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The level of attention given to our party of 8 was awful. We waited too long for drinks, and the waitress was apparently spread to thin among other tables. Our chef forgot many food items from his cart, and put on the most lackluster performance I have ever seen. The food was mistimed and overcooked as a result. Worst Benihana experience ever! :-(

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always a special placeus to come to on a special occasion, or with our daughter and her family, and when our other daughter and her family comes for a visit. The food, and presebation from the chef are always fun and right on target. You guys are he best s Japanese restaurant in town. Thanks for many wonderful memories.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Chef wasn't very nice and made each meal individually instead of all the shrimp at once and served onions and mushrooms at the end of the meal. Also food was very salty.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Not sure if this location is now understaffed because a lot of the waiters and waitresses that used to be there are no longer there and the new people that are there obviously have not had enough training. The soup was lukewarm when we received it. The salads was sparse and the preparation of food by someone that obviously was new seemed wrenching to him. As I have been to this location before I pretty much know the process soup salad appetizers then preparation of chicken shrimp and the rice is commenced as the food is almost done everything was done reverse so things that should've been on the plate were not . Additionally when it came to getting the desert which is the usual green tea ice cream or some other ice cream we were never asked we were told that they are not allowed to say it out loud for whatever reason I'm not sure. The place has definitely lost its luster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service and food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Not as good as it usually is. I was disappointed they could not make my California roll and the waitress forgot my appetizer.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

A very good meal. Seafood was all very fresh and cooked well. A little pricy but good for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I felt this restaurant lacks people skills when responding to customer inquiry. I went to ask at what time I would be seated for my reservation and the manager (Avery) was very rude and sarcastic with his response. Not to mention that an employee (Syria) standing behind him was laughing and being rude as well , regarding the issue I had. They did not make me feel welcomed and I will not come back to this location.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I had a great time with my friends. Our hosts and waiter was very friendly, as was the chef. I would only make one change: that the bar remain open as long as the restaurant is open and people are still eating.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Celebrating a birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Our plates were dirty, the waitress was rude, the chef didn't take enough food out on the tray so they had to go back twice, the AC was broken (not their fault), the bathrooms didn't have soap, toilet paper, or paper towels in it - and the bathroom was a mess. It was a disaster after another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Horrible. 7:15 reservation for 6 to celebrate my daughters graduation. We were seated close to 7:30.
Slowest waiter finally takes drink orders. Returns. Takes 15 minutes to come back and take dinner orders.
20 minutes after that the chef show up to cook the food in front of us. His showmanship was great. He cooked each ingredient separate. Rice first then shrimp, steak, etc. when the meal was complete the first items cooked where cold. Oh and had to flag down the waiter to request a second round of drinks. Finished eating half warm food, flagged waiter again to get the check.
We walked out after 9pm. Ridiculous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Very disappointing
Service was awful. We purposely made a reservation for 530 pm so it wouldnt be super crowded. Waitress was horrible. They never even cleared the dishes from the table and they were bringing out the desserts. We were 9 people for a birthday, every dish of ice cream was a melted mess.
Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

As always.....EXCEPTIONAL . Great food. Superb service, our waitress was wonderful. Chef was welcoming and did a great job. Benihana is our go to! Never disappoints. We love living so close. Great for lunch or dinner whether it be a special occassion or just a regular day.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I really don't want to leave a "bad" review because I believe our experience may have been impacted by our chef being new. He wasn't as precise with his grill instruments as other tables, no flames as part of the show, our food came off the grill in dribs and drabs so that all items had to be eaten separately (rather than as a one plate meal) if you wanted it to be hot. Nearly everything was dry. The rice was nearly inedible it was so dry. I don't think this is indicative of how the service is all the time. Like I said, I think our chef was new.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Unimpressive to say the least. While the food was tasty the chef was less than impressive. Usually there's a flair by the chef, not Fransisco. You pay these kinds of prices for the entire experience and for 4 people a bill of $300 (3 drinks) including tip it should have been a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Waited very long to be seated after making a reservation. Also waited long for service once we were seated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Unfortunately even with a set time reservation, it took another hour before we were seated. This place is consistently unable to honor reservations and the waiting area is tiny compared to the amount of people waiting to be seated.

On the plus side, the food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We did not get to dine at the restaurant with our reservation. We had made the reservation for Father's Day a week prior to going to the restaurant. When we arrived and gave our information, we were informed that the restaurant was running half an hour behind on reservations. The lobby, bar, and all waiting areas were filled to capacity. We waited the half an hour past our reservation time and went back to the front desk to check in again. There were 3 parties ahead of us inquiring about the same situation. One party had been waiting for 2 and a half hours. The host was unapologetic and rude. We left and went to a local hibachi restaurant and had a wonderful meal. I would highly recommend Mt. Fuji Sushi and Hibachi in Wantagh, NY. I will not be dining at Benihana again after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Restaurant was extremely loud and I missed them calling my name. They only called you once. Once you got to the dining area the room was very hot and quite uncomfortable. I've been here before but found that the service was extra slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had 5:30 reservations but it was after 6 before we were seated. I attribute that to it being Father's Day. It was very busy so a little wait before cook came to table but the wait staff were prompt with drink orders and soup and salad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I assume it was a special Father's Day menu as it was limited - yet they allowed my daughter to order just chicken which was nice. Food is always good and always more than you can eat so either you go home w a doggie bag or you go home stuffed. VERY VERY busy so much so that we weren't called for our 5:15 reservation until 6:15.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went to Benihana for Father's Day and it was really nice. Good service, good food, the drinks. Our chef was Jose he could be more friendly but still had a good show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our server was great... and the chef did a good job

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We're veterans of several Beni Hanas. Their compliance with reservations is basically non-existent. Be prepared to wait 30-40 minutes even with a reservation and even at odd times like 6pm during the week. This place is just as guilty as the others.

As long as you are prepared for the group experience (12 to a table) it's fine. Or come with your own group of 9-12 and you'll have an easier time.

This is the absolute best place to take toddlers from 3 to 7 as they will be transfixed by the show. If you are all adults, forget it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This experience was not a good one this time. Waited a half hour for a table with a reservation After seated waited another half hour for the chef to come to table. My grandchildren were starving. Once chef came all was good. Waitress was very apologetic and felt terrible. She spoke to manager on our behalf and he discounted our meal we appreciated that very much. Hopefully this won't happen next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was good not great. Took way too long to serve dinner. Waitress was nice but took to long to get us drinks. We were there for 2 1/2 hrs.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I've dined at this particular location several times, but the chef that we had on Friday, June 9, 2017 was very sloppy in his presentation and very messy when putting the food on the plates.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Overall it was good we had a terrific entertaining cook / I enjoyed it and so did my friend. Thats why we coming back for our Birthdays

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Went there for my birthday celebration and I really enjoyed the experience, I would recommend every trying it. And it was worth every penny

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food and fun! Enjoy the experience every time!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

It's good when dinning with family. The kids enjoy the show. The food is good, I feel that the price for the steak is over priced. Especially when I found that the dinner entree is more than twice the cost as the lunch price and it's the same portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Service was excellent! The waitress was on top of her game and we couldn't have been happier. Drinks were good too, well prepared.

I give it 1 star rating because my whole family got sick that night and today. In particular we think it was the shrimps as we all had that in common. The shrimps did not taste like the previous times we visited Benihana. These were a bit hard to the bite and very gummy and not flavored.

The rice was flavorless, not sure if the chef forgot to put salt, soy sauce or else.

The vegetable rolls I ordered, were like frozen, the cucumber in it was like a rock, no flavor and very hard to the bite. When you eat sushi, you expect it to be at room temperature and/or soft, not made with frozen vegetables.

It was my birthday and just wanted the night to go well, did not want to make complaints and wanted to enjoy my special occasion with my Family.

Once again though, the service was great.

As a result of poor quality food, we all got sick to our stomachs last night and today, disappointed to say the least!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were seated on time, which was great since we have 2 young children. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Would definitely come back

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great food ! Great workers !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We went with a birthday certificate which is a great deal. The hibachi show is the same everywhere but still entertaining. The food is very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great atmosphere good food live chief my birthday wife birthday was an hit wife and daughter had and wonderful time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

After making a reservation the front desk people left us waiting for more than 45 min and kept on telling me that they were just waiting for a table to be available. A larger party came in after us and they sat them first though we have been waiting for over 30 mins already

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.