Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Scottsdale

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday-Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (51)
Good for Groups (42)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Fun (38)
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Kid-friendly (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (12)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Romantic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Server and chef were nice and friendly, but the service itself was very slow. Waited quite some time to get the first course, like 10 minutes. Food was generally good, had good time overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great except that it was way to cold in the restaurant. I had a light jacket on but it did not help. Actually thought about leaving but we were celebrating my husband's birthday. Place was WAY TOO COLD!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The cook used Way to much butter and soy sauce!! Our order was incorrectly taken for both separate parties at the table. We didn't get a birthday photo or sang happy Birthday to after telling them we were celebrating a birthday. Benihana's is a regular birthday celebration restaurant that we enjoy going to but the food and service have gotten worse over the years.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Roberto our chef was excellent! He had some suitable magic tricks that were unbelievable! Manager (Bald white guy) was hilarious singing his Disney songs. Our server was very efficient as well. Best Birthday night yet. We have been coming there every year for my birthday for the past 13 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Awesome! 12 year old boys loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2017

It was my birthday dinner. I really enjoyed my meal and the waiter and chef was AWESOME!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Love Benihana! The food is always fantastic and the service great. Tim was our chef and he did a wonderful job!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 9, 2017

It had been over 7 years since we had been here. Told my hubby I wanted to celebrate my birthday here with all the kids since I knew it would be fun for them too. Our server was outstanding. She was more than willing to split my kiddos soup for them in the back of the house. I was blown away when she asked if I wanted my kids to get another refill on lemonade or to bring out water. We usually do 1 "sweet" drink and then water so I appreciated this extra attention.
Our cook was exceptional and totally engaged the kids.
All in all we had a great time. Note to self...join their email list or whatever as someone else at our table was celebrating a birthday and produced some sort of coupon; perhaps half off or free dinner?

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Our Chef Roberto made the whole visit enjoyable with his humor and tricks. Great dining experience and the food was excellent. We will return to this location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Roberto was lovely and made us all laugh. Son turned 15 and it was dinner and a show for the family. Something new each time and yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

My mothers 70th birthday.
Everything was over cooked. The fried rice had black on the tips. The lobster was like rubber as it sat on the grill for 20 minutes. My steak had a blackened crust as I ordered medium rare.

I’ve been to this and many other Benihana over the years. The chef was a month old past his training and needs significant more time before he get in front of a table.

Additionally I had to remind my waiter for my wife’s wine, which I had order prior to soup and wasn’t served until after the salad. Overall, for the $300 I spent, plus 20% tip, I have never had a worse experience in this restaurant.

Vince Nagy
602-690-3584

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Our server was great and very friendly we were celebrating my daughter's birthday and they were very sweet to her and all of us

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

Our chef Roberto was AMAZING!!!!!

We met some very colourful people also at our table, which really enhanced our experience
Our waitress seemed overwhelmed and forgot about our orders, but the manager was very apologetic and the entire table received a discount

This was our first time at a Benihana and the next time we visit south of the border we will be going again!!!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Food fresh food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Felt that host and who we percieved to be manager were more interested in training and seating than were to attending to our family. Overall the resturant needs to be updated and cleaned. Reached under my seat to pull it in and touched a large wad of gum made me change my mind about dining there and lead me to taking my family else where. Was also disappointed to find out we had to sit at a table with another party who we did not know. Made it uncomfortable for both parties. Hope thag they can make the changes necessary to provide a better dining expierence for future customers. Would recommend for an extremely casual dinner with little to no expectations on food and cleanliness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2017

The worst service I've ever experienced in a restaurant. We had reservations and were seated at 6pm and received our soup at 6:42pm. Then the chef finally showed up at 7:19pm. We watched several tables fill up and then get a chef while we waited patiently and our server was clueless and unprofessional. To add insult to injury we saw a table that was seated after us, leave the restaurant just as our chef appeared at the table. The waitress ruined our fun evening out. I was really upset. The manager "comp'd" our additional dessert of tempura banana that was equivalent to 1/3 of a banana deep fried with a plate full of powdered sugar to make it up. None of the other 3 couples were up for arguing so we just paid and left. That was hardly a way to make it up to us. None of the couples at the table knew each other but all of us were pretty upset with the experience. I felt bad for the couple across from us as they were married just 2 days before and had to wait 23 minutes for a beer. I'm sure the restaurant made them feel really special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The food and presentation of the meal is always wonderful and we enjoy this restaurant a lot! On this visit they were short staffed so it took a long time to get a drink and for the food but we were not in a hurry so it was acceptable to our group. If you have a hearing aid on, it's very loud and you will want to turn them off. Otherwise, I find the noise to be fun and environment interesting :)

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2017

My fiancee took me here for dinner on my birthday last Saturday night. I was pretty excited because I had not been to a Benihana in over 20 years. We had reservations for 7:00 pm and arrived on time. They were not ready to seat us and left us standing in the front, so we told them we were going to the bar to have a drink. Not only did we get seated late after everyone else was already at the table enjoying drinks and conversation, but we had saved our appetites for this occasion and were starving. We finally got our little bowl of soup and then the small salad, but our chef did not arrive for a long time. He was very Caucasian with blonde hair (not Japanese/Oriental) with little personality and either very new or having a bad night, because he did not do the knife tricks like the others and was totally inefficient on the grill. He cut each individual item one-at-a-time into bite-size pieces, which was actually painful to watch. This may be restaurant policy, but he cooked the vegetables first and I did not want to eat them alone, so they were cold long before we got our protein. We were half-way into the meal when I had to request the rice that comes with all entrees and no one had gotten--although Mike ordered fried rice and he got that early on. I had steak and lobster and the food was good, but not better than other places [and I missed the butter with my lobster]. There was no particular flavor except salt and pepper. The whole reason to go to Benihana is for the experience of the Chef entertaining us during dinner. We felt very let down. Our meal took two hours, and the table next to us was on their salad course when we arrived, yet they were done and gone about an hour before us. Someone obviously knew it was a bad experience because after the tabs were delivered, a man came around and collected them, returning them back with a 20% discount. I will say our male server was very pleasant and attentive with drinks. All-in-all a disappointing birthday dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Horrible. No waitress for over 15 mins, food at table didnot begin to cook until over 1 hr! Worst ever!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Service was unusually slow. Ordered drinks and it was 20 minutes before we even got water - then we had a hard time flagging down our server to refill water glasses. We had to go to the manager to have him help us get our one alcoholic drink.
We got our soup after an unusually long while, but the salad didn't come out until the chef was at the table starting to prepare our meal.
Chef seemed more interested in what was going on at other tables that what he was doing at ours. He did his job with very little interaction with HIS table guests.
I could have handled it any other night, but we were there celebrating an early birthday for my 22 year old son who is being deployed to Quatar in a few days... :-\

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

This restaurant is very reasonable during lunch. I highly recommend going during lunch hours. It was quite and enjoyable. There lunch menu is very reasonable and even better than going to a generic chain restaurant. I took my partner for his Birthday and he absolutely loved it. You wont regret coming here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 17, 2017

The food was average at best. You're paying for the teppanyaki experience I suppose. Our waitress left for a good 10-12 minutes while our party was left waiting to order drink refills. She came back at the end after the manager gave us to-go boxes - to offer to box them up! The only thing that would get me to go back is the $30 coupon they send you for your birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Our grandchildren had a wonderful time as did the adults. The experience depends heavily on who cooks your food and their comfort level. I would tell you who we ask for but if I did that, then everyone would ask for him.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

While celebrating a birthday Girl’s Trip in Scottsdale, we decided to have dinner at Benihana. It’s a FAVORITE of ours but this one was awful . It took forever for a waiter to come and take our food and drinks orders. Then the cook took forever to come out and prepare our food. And to top it off he was so slow in the preparation of cooking the food. He did no tricks or nothing, very mediocre to say...This has been the worst experience I EVER had at Benihana!!! I won’t be returning to this one when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Wonderful food and great cook great time good prices

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Fantastic service with a great server, she had a great smile every time she showed up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We have been to Benihana several times before and had great experiences so were looking forward to celebrating my daughter's birthday here. Unfortunately, it was not nearly the experience we were expecting. Our server was inattentive (didn't see him the entire time our chef was there and had to go to the front several times to make requests) and our chef practically yelled at us! I'm not sure what happened but we were sharing several entrees and he got confused so snapped at us and just said he'd put it all on one plate and let us figure it out. We were fine with that solution but his tone and attitude was unnecessary. He was not engaging at all and just didn't have the outgoing personality that usually makes this place so much fun - he is better suited for the back kitchen, not in the front with customers. To make matters worse, our food was rather bland. I noticed the last time we went our guy used a lot of the garlic butter and think it made a huge difference. Regardless, it just didn't taste the same as in the past. It was good but not nearly as flavorful as I've had in the past and wasn't any better than what I can grill up at home.
Lastly, we made it clear my daughter was celebrating her birthday. Usually they take a picture of our group and put it in a nice folio but our server didn't even offer to do that (back to the inattentiveness). I would have mentioned it but forgot about it until after we left when my daughter tearfully pointed it out.
For the price of this dinner and the attitude and bland food, we will likely take our business elsewhere when we celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2017

as usual, the benihana experience is fun, casual entertainment, with good food and great staff.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Took daughter and friends for 22nd Birthday. Everyone had a good time and food was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a great time at Benihana - Scottsdale. It was a little pricey, but the food was very well made and delicious. Plus it was lots of food. Tim the chef put on a great show for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Awesome!!!
If you like QUIET Then go EARLY!!!
4:30 or 5:00 PM
TWO (2) People alone at ONE (1) Table
NOT Crowded at all!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 4, 2017

My husband and I used the birthday promotion at the same teppan table as another birthday celebrant with her family at the 4:30pm reservation. We were all quickly seated and provided swift preliminary service. Then came the entertaining quick and delicious dinner preparation by the veteran chef, Michael. The final special birthday attentions by the staff and following photos were the finishing touches. Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great food and service. Great place to celebrate any occasion with a big or small group of all ages — Excellent food is a bonus. We all LOVE the chicken fried rice!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We had a table at 7 and our food came at 9-15. They need to be more professional .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food was amazing!!! Thank you!!! Chef was wonderful. We will be back over and over!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on September 30, 2017

From the UK. Special holiday meal. We love Benihana restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Everything was fantastic: food, chef and manager who sings!
Great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The hostess was the rudest person to me and I never saw the waiter after I ordered my food until I found the manager and complained. The place is very loud and the food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2017

This visit was for my granddaughter's birthday and we had the best chef we have ever had at Benihana. He was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.