Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Scottsdale

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (48)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Groups (39)
See All
Fun (35)
Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Kid-friendly (23)
Family Style (22)
Casual (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Healthy (14)
Authentic (13)
People Watching (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (3)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Sports (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Cozy (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

This experience was such a bummer. It was my birthday and I invited some of my family to come to dinner. Our reservation was at 7, we weren't seated until 7:30 and then we had the slowest service of all time. It was like 10 minutes before we got to order drinks and then just as long before we actually got them. It was at least 30 minutes before we had the chance to order food. It was 8:15 before we finally got anything to eat (the soup) and then they forgot our salads until after the chef had already started our entees, a full hour and a half after our reservation. We were all starving and getting grouchy. Everyone in the restaurant looked miserable like they were having similar experiences. The food is yummy, but I felt bad asking my family to come out and spend so much money for such a bummer of an experience. I have no desire to ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The wait is ridiculous but the food is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day dinner. Our chef was wonderful!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were seated right on time.
The restaurant was very crowded for the Mothers Day Brunch.
The food was excellent and cooked to order.
The show was great by our chief.
We sat with another group of 5.
It was enjoyable for their young set of twin girls...
We all had a great Mothers Day....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service and food. Place was a little bit noisy with some young children. Very good and ample dishes. We will definitely come back in another special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went here for an early Mother's Day dinner on Saturday. We ended up sitting with a random family, but they were very friendly. Our chef was entertaining, albeit a little quiet. It was hard to hear his jokes, but he did a great job with the food and showcasing his skills. Our waiter was fine but also a little quiet. Overall, we enjoyed our food and the atmosphere. Would like to see more from the waiter and for the chef to speak up. Outside of that, the value we got for the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vegan, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family loves Benihana for special occasions. We try to go several times a year. The food is always excellent, and where else can you get dinner and a show? We love the entertainment value of the teppanyaki preparation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Even though our reservation was several days in advance, the table was not ready and we waited 35 minutes. There were two attempts to take our group to the serving table and failed because of issues. There was so much noise it was hard to hear the server's questions about the food and drink order. The chief was a "Rookie" and did not have the tricks of the trade we were expecting. We believe our table and chief was given to someone else even after we arrived on time. Need to know someone at this restaurant to get the highest level of service and food experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

School grades/mothers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The waiter had no attention to detail. We never got the sushi my husband ordered. He forgot to tell the chef that there was someone with a shellfish allergy at the table. No one told us what was going on until after my husband had finished his tuna steak dinner and other diners has finished their seafood, and after the chef had completely cleaned the grill. I then had to wait for my hibachi steak to be cooked. Even though I told the waiter it was my husband's birthday, the staff didn't sing to him or bring him a birthday dessert like they did the other two birthdays at the table. The restroom was hot, and kind of smelly and dirty. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Birthday dinner.. thx for the great experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Went for My Birthday. Food was good and the chef was great! Had a reservation so no waiting. Sign up so you can get a free Birthday dinner! Like this one better than the Chandler location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I have eaten at Benehana several times, this time the chef spent the time chatting with the family that sat at the table with us and ignored us. The food was over cooked and the chef seemed unorganized. The waiter we had was excellent. This was disappointing since we were celebrating birthdays and anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Good food, relaxed dining, fun. Great place for a special celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I went to Benihana in Scottsdale on 5/6/17 for dinner. We had a fantastic meal and a wonderful chef but our service was not up to par. We were seated at 7 pm and our drink orders were taken at about 7:10, entree orders about 7:20. Our first course (soup) was not brought out until 7:40 then followed by salad a little while later. Our chef didn't start cooking until a little after 8:00. A full hour after our reservation time and after we had been sitting. The other customers at our table had finished their cocktails before the soup even arrived so they were not able to enjoy their drink with their meal. My husband and I only drank water and were without for long stretches during our meal. We really enjoyed our meal. The chef did an incredible job and was very entertaining. Everything tasted fantastic. However, I don't know if we will be back soon due to the length of time we had to wait before eating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Must stop in at least a couple times a season.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had a wonderful fun and tasty celebration birthday dinner with a lovely picture to bring home!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good food, only down side is that we some how got passed up a few times with a reservation.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Usually this restaurant is spectacular. The food, service, and presentation. But my last visit I was extremely displeased. The chef was very quiet and almost shy. The server was polite, but once the chef came, we didn't see him again until the bill was due. Nobody at the table got a refill on their drink, until a manager came to check on us. After the fact, the server didn't just give us the wrong bill, but put the wrong items on it twice, going back and redoing it each time. I'm sure this was just a bad night for them, but I was still very disipointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good experience very accommodating for my wife's onion allergy. Table mates a little annoying making a cramped table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I hadn't eaten at Benihana's for about 15 years and while recently in Scottsdale on business decided to eat there.

Everything was good with the exception of my Hibachi steak........seeing as I ordered the Hibachi steak teppan dinner, I was expecting an enjoyable steak. Unfortunately, this was not the case.......I believe it was a NY steak, which is my favorite that I cook for myself at home all the time. The steak I was served was very tough which I never encounter when I buy the basic NY strip steaks at my Smith's grocery store. I expected at least that quality if not better but was surprised that it was subpar to the basic grocery store steaks that I buy ongoingly........

It may take another 15 years before I forget how disappointed I was and try Benihana's again......

Overpriced for a tough piece of meat.........What's up with that?!

David C

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had big group, the food and service were excellent. We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Benihana Scottsdale finally got a GREAT manager(DYLAN)...the restaurant is run sooo well...if you've been afraid to eat there you can try it again...you will be glad u did...food was GREAT!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Been going to Benihana's for decades. Very disappointed to see how far it has fallen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food was good but the servers lacked their normal enthusiasm. We go there for the fun as well as the food so maybe we just caught them on a bad night :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was not at the level expected based on previous visits. Had a 1pm reservation, waited until 1:35pm to get sat, and 2:00pm to get our first round of drinks. Refills were only offered at the very end of the meal. We ended up asking another server for our check as ours had disappeared. The place was only about 1/2 full, so not real busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our chef was great but our server was very slow with refills. Did not get water until after 20 minutes we got there. Other than that, great food and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First time at Benihana in many years. Our chef, Roberto, did a great job. Food was very good and a lot of it. Not inexpensive but a great time

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The wait staff took forever. Didn't acknowledge birthday. Totally skipped over the hot tea. Place seemed like it needed a serious remodel. Vent didn't even work. Chef was ok, but seriously lacked showmanship and lost attention to other chefs close by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food was spot on this visit. Last 2 times we visited really was not good at all. Shouldn't have to continuously ask for drink refills or to have to wait so long between ordering, then salad, then way long wait for chef when we are the only table for lunch. This time was 180 degree different and food tasted absolutely perfect this last visit. Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We loved every minute of it! Great food! Fun atmosphere ! We will defiantly be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a good time. We have been to Benihana several times and the food a service is always consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Here for my birthday and FABULOUS as usual. WE`ve been never disappointed and it`s always a great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and fun to watch the chefs cook, they are amazing and keep you entertained throughout your meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I will never come back to this location again. The service was absolutely terrible. I wish I could have jumped back behind the bar to help subside the 20 minute ticket times on drinks. Even the manager was back there helping out and still the drinks were coming out like molasses in winter time. The hibachi chef had no life to him and was just there for the paycheck and the expected tip from diners. I wish I had never taken my girlfriend here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our experience was either one of or just flat out the worst I've ever had at a restaurant. The food was seasoned AFTER being overcooked. We didn't even get drinks ordered until a half hour after we were seated, which was a half hour after our reservation and the first time I mentioned my food allergies to the manager, as they pulled all of the waiters all around the restaurant to sing happy birthday. The manager assured me he'd have the cook make my food first. THEN, our drinks didn't come for another 15 minutes at which time our orders were taken. About 15 minutes later, they began bringing our courses out. Mine had 3 of my 4 food allergies on it. The waiter was reminded of my allergies and acted shocked. Then, the cook came over and began cooking the meal. He asked who wanted fried rice and began cooking with 2 ingredients on my allergy list. Dumbfounded, another lady told the cook about it and the rest of the night he asked if EVERY ingredient INDIVIDUALLY was okay. I had my food cooked in the back at this point. They did not serve all of the courses i paid for and charged me for the fried rice, which was no where disclosed to be an extra charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Getting to see and catch up with a wonderful friend, we try to meet once a month and always dine at Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This is one of the best Beni Hana's! Some fall low but this one has great food great chefs great fun! Toshi our chef was a master of cooking and humor!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Family Style, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.