Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Scottsdale

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (48)
Special Occasion (46)
Good for Groups (39)
See All
Fun (35)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for a Date (21)
Authentic (16)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (12)
People Watching (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Business Meals (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Family Style (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
834 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

The chef's uniform was filthy. The place was not clean. The service was awful. We ordered plain noodles for a child. She got hers after all of the adults and there was pepper on it. They offered to make yet another portion and again it had pepper on it. We ordered sushi as an appetizer. Had to remind the waitress twice and finally got it halfway through. No intention of going back. Do not think this is a good offering for open table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Well...can only agree with the other recent reviewers. Have been to Benihana's in Los Angeles before and it was terrific. Great atmosphere. Here there was a complete lack of it. Entering the restaurant, the front staff was lackluster. She couldn't even look at us when we checked in for a reservation. Her monotone response was, "We are running 15-20 minutes behind." minus 1 for delay in seating. Minus another 1 for lackluster front of restaurant staff. Once seated (25 minutes after our appointed reservation) we waited another 20 minutes before another lackluster waiter came. Once my wife complained to a manager we received better service but not the type you expect in an "event" like restaurant. Minus 1 for the length of time it took for wait staff to come. The chef was fun but rushed through the service. He engaged us some but clearly was told to get our table finished. He finished up in about 10 minutes, which in our other Benihana experiences the chef is usually with the table for 20 or so minutes creating a fun atmosphere. Plus 1 for the chef but take away one for the rushed food being cooked and served. Therefore after getting the bill and seeing that it was over $250 another minus 1 for cost. So overall a terrible experience and 1's across the ratings. Until management figures out better staffing, it won't change. Bummer...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Took over hour to be seated with reservation and initial service was very slow. Front of restaurant staff seemed frantic and not too friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The person who sat us appeared to be irritated, the young person who takes the orders prior to the chef arriving seemed nervous and his voice was very difficult to hear, the chairs were sticky, bathrooms dirty, we were given the correct bill yet the waiter charged someone else's tab on it. No apologies were made whatsoever. Third time being here and it will be my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Eh it was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was great and chef was nice. Our waitress was a little short and snappy with us! Otherwise great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Nice birthday experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always love the "show" you get while they cook your meal....
Thanks for birthday picture

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great evening out with good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Waited at the table for an hour before the chef came out. Once he finally started cooking, it was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Our food selections were delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Worst waiter ever. Took 20 min to get drinks. We said it was a special occasion and no one sang happy birthday at the end of the meal. Not coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Dining was nice. Very well kept facility. Friendly staff but nervous in front of table. Service could have been more informative for first time patrons. Food was 4 star quality, chef was very sociable and well experienced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Always good food/drinks & an Awesome atmosphere with culinary show. You could never go wrong coming here for any occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Benihana was a amazing place to celebrate my birthday. I'm very happy my wife took me here and were able to celebrate my special day

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We have been to the Benihana multiple times in San Diego and the experience was completely different than we received in Scottsdale. Server took our order and then never came back. We had to grab another server walking by to get water and utensils. The chef was pleasant but did not put on the same show as the chefs in San Diego. He did a couple of tricks and told a couple of jokes and that was the end of the experience. Very disappointed. Will continue to go to the San Diego location but will skip Scottsdale in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

A bit of a wait to be seated but once done it was fun for my boys. Good waiter and Freddy our chef wad entertaining and made a great meal. This is a must do with children.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food ok. Depending on the time of day and where you are seated, the frosted windows are blinding if you have to face one, and very distracting if off to side. The soup and salad are really very lacking in flavor and substance
The chef's are very entertaining and the grilled food good, but way, way overpriced. Hopefully you have a birthday coupon, it's the only time we go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food and overall experience

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I love Benihana! This experience wasn't so great. I don't like complaining or leaving bad reviews. I was told the cook was new. I do think that during the training the cook should be told to not cross contaminate using the same knife for shrimp, chicken, veggies and beef. I watched this happen more than 5x. It ruined my appetite because I don't eat beef. Also, the cook should really clean off the grill after each food prepared that way there will not be any burned marked or taste. Either way, I hope later she gets better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Love Benihana always a treat, love the fried rice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Reservations are a must but everything was great. We were seated right away, service was excellent. Excellent food, servings are large. Even our (very picky) kids loved it. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I was quite disappointed in the restaurant, service, food. The food was mediocre (steak was tough - I think it was lack of quality more than preparation. Preparation seemed ok). The waiter was also mediocre... refilled half the water glasses and then disappeared. The young man that prepared the meals did ok.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great job! We had a terrific Anniversary dinner. Service was prompt and professional from walking in the door, waiter, chef and staff. Good family atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Immediately everyone at our table noticed something had dripped from the overhead hood onto the cooking surface. EEEWWWUUU. We could barely hear our server speaking over the "ambient" noise. We both ordered seafood; scallops, lobster, shrimp and ALL of it was overcooked. The two birthday people at the table got a few spoonfuls of whip cream and a candle but the server first brought two bowls of ice cream, left them sit while he returned to get the whip cream for one birthday person. We all said that there were two birthday people. The server left again and got another whip cream bowl. The original ice creams were sitting on the serving tray for about 5 minutes! Huh. What a cheezy way to "celebrate" your birthday. Most restaurants give you a regular desert for your birthday. I had arranged for a girls lunch the following Saturday and determined we should pick another restaurant. I had to call 5 times because no one picked up the phone. Finally I called the to go ordering number. Absolutely frustrating and awful phone service. Im trying to do the right thing and notify you of the change of plan, and Benihana made it almost impossible for me. Won't be going back. Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The host were a little rude, the food was great and the chief was fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Chaloula was our chef and he was great! I thought he was fun! The food was good but way overpriced - but it was a special occasion and it was ok. It seemed to make my daughter happy - one of the gals in the front that seats was SUCH A WITCH and I really wanted to complain, but I always try to say that everyone has a bad day - but they should really watch her - she knows who she is and so does everyone that works there - I almost left with a party of 6. Anyway - Chaloula made it ok again! The filet is great - and normally, I only like rib eye - it's awesome - scallops and lobster were ok.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I have to say this is the last chance I'm going to give this place. Food came cold, service was poor, tables and menus were sticky and the express lunch took 90 min. Unless they get new management I feel that they are doomed to close

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We Were very disappointed in the Scottsdale Benihana's on June 22, 2017. We booked our reservation three months out, requested two end seats with the two next to it and twice were offered the middle seats, which we refused. We also requested no children be at our table, and in the end there was one. It was like Our request was not important and was ignored. In order to get the seats that we wanted at a table they asked people that were already sitting at the end seats to move. We were very embarrassed and wanted to leave, but because we were celebrating two birthdays we stayed. The service was very slow and disappointing as well. I really feel that they need a group meeting To learn customer service. We frequent Benihana's often in Newport Beach California as well as other places. We will not return to Scottsdale location when we go back to Scottsdale.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2017

As usual, food was great. We were there for our 29th wedding anniversary and only had about a one hour wait after we were seated for the chef to appear.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our server was very inefficient and disorganized. We had to ask for what we ordered more than once. I did not get my wine until I was almost finished with my meal. The lady next to us was given a different wine than what she ordered, but did not complain.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First of all we had a reservation at 6pm, when we arrived we still waited to be seated until 6:35pm, given it was fathers day. Hostess was rude and snappy. When we were finally seated the group that sat with us, never received their orders of hot green tea until the end of the habatchi meal. Now Caleb the cook was awesome, energetic, good vibes, entertaining, and have a great showing. Caleb was the only thing that made our experience worth it. Food was great. Another thing that was upsetting, they never stated that three would be set menus for fathers day. So they jacked yippy the prices and eye gauged me for basically way to much money. and i repeat never get the alcohol grim that place, my wife and i shared the punch bowl priced. All I can say is at 36 bucks You figured there would be a reasonable amount of alcohol? Not even a minor buzz. Food was over priced to get the treatment that we received from the hostesses and waiting staff. But thank you Caleb for making the dinner portion at least worth the trip.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Upon arriving on time for our 4:30 reservation, we were told we would be seated in 5 minutes or so. The "or so" turned into 35 minutes, all the while we watched people with reservations after ours being seated ahead of us. My partner adores the teppanyaki meals, me, not so much, but when I saw the ahi tuna steak on the menu I was willing to give it a try. I ordered it rare...on the website it shows a beautifully seated steak. By the time it got to my plate, after sitting on top of the garnish on the grill, it was medium well done at best. All the sides are standard Benihana fare...but the entertainment factor is the only reason to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Worst experience I have ever had . Got there at 8pm when my reservation was and they didn't seat me almost until 9pm ! It was my birthday dinner , didn't get birthday ice cream or sung to . My chef didn't acknowledge that it was even my birthday or if we were there for a special occasion ! Disappointing service! Will never recommend going there again, and I will make sure to tell everyone I know the service wasn't great. Next time I'll put my money else where with better cooked quality food at ahso !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 15, 2017

It was great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Crowded table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We always love going to Benihana. Great food and we love the entertainment that comes along with it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Nice family dinner and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was my first time at a Benihana. So I wasnt exactly sure what to expect. However, the community dining was awkward. My husband and I were not ready to order but the rest of our table was. So we felt like jerks and just ordered something instead of taking the time to look at the menu. It was SO Smokey! The tables did not vent well so I was breathing the smoke all night. We ordered one of the bowls of alcohol. (It was my bday!) There was no alcohol! For a drink that is $35 I was hoping for a little buzz. There was another person at the table who was celebrating her birthday. The cook spent the whole dinner talking to her and didn't even ask if there was any other celebrations at the table. It was so loud I couldn't hear his set up and what he was saying during the cooking. When the meal was over my waiter comes up to us and yells "Kiss Cam". So my husband kisses me and the waiter snaps a photo of us. I asked him why he just took our photo and if they were going to put in online. I was told to wait and see. They printed out the photo which would have been cute, but since we didn't know what they were doing it was a terrible photo of me and my husband's face was cut off. The waiter was nice but that situation was awkward!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Took my grand in laws they loved it......they never get to eat like this so was a treat for them.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.