About Benihana - Scottsdale

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-scottsdale - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
California Roll - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Sushi - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Trio - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Chef Trick - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Phoenix / Arizona
Special Occasion
Scottsdale

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Groups (31)
See All
Fun (29)
Good for a Date (25)
Kid-friendly (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Family Style (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Authentic (13)
Casual (13)
Romantic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
People Watching (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Spicy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

So delicious and fun to watch the chef! ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

So delicious and fun to watch the chef! We always come here to celebrate birthdays.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef was amazing. Server disappeared & o ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Chef was amazing. Server disappeared & other servers helped us. Bartender was very nice

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a great time at this restaurant. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time at this restaurant. The waitstaff and chef were amazing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the wait when you arrive(with a reservat ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

the wait when you arrive(with a reservation) is RIDICULOUS

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It took quite awhile. 2 1/2 hours from s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It took quite awhile. 2 1/2 hours from start to finish

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Always a fun time. Soup was cold. Rest ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always a fun time. Soup was cold. Rest of food was very good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing, our cheif and waitress were ama ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing, our cheif and waitress were amazing. Hands down best food and fun.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Michael was awesome. Ver ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was great. Michael was awesome. Very entertaining. Seating was a little too close for comfort, thankfully it wasn't a full night. Remove 2 seats to increase guest comfort but other than that it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server Brittany was so gracious and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our server Brittany was so gracious and accommodating! Michael, our cook was fun and entertaining. The food was very good. It's a nice way to celebrate a birthday. The staff come out to celebrate with you. It's also a nice way to share your meal with strangers at your table.. You leave as friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going for the last several ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We have been going for the last several years to celebrate our birthdays, we have 3 November birthdays in our family, so it is a perfect way to celebrate. We love the food and the teppanyaki style dining. However, this year we noticed that the food portions and size of the shrimp have decreased dramatically. If you think people wouldn't notice this you are wrong, it was very obvious. The funny thing is, my sister who is a birthday celebrant with us usually here in Scottsdale, could not be with us this year, so she went to the Benihana near her home in Burlingame, CA. When we talked about it, she noticed the same thing with the portions and sizes, before I said anything about our experience. While the food is delicious, it was a disapointment.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant time, food was tasty, coctail w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Pleasant time, food was tasty, coctail was delicious I always enjoy going and look forward to my birthday each year. This was the 1st time the steak was not done to my liking but was corrected.

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Healthy, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually go to Benihana to celebrate b ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We usually go to Benihana to celebrate birthdays and other special occasions. The kids love it and the food is really good. The chef did a great job and took time to include the kids, which was nice. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Chef was funny but attempt at humor exce ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Chef was funny but attempt at humor exceeded cooking skills. Appetizer shrimp were tough and chewy. Entrée food was overcooked. Shrimp and lobster were extremely chewy. Timing of food preparation was inconsistent. Rice, vegetables and entrees were delivered in strange order. Rice was cold by the time entrees were ready. Some vegetables were delivered at end of meal. Even the corn served with the Kid's meal was served as last item for the entire table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

It was my birthday and I had a total bla ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was my birthday and I had a total blast. the chef Jim was so funny and creative. He make butter fly hahaha. definitely coming back a tad expensive but with a birthday certificate sooooooo worth it

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef Roberto was great and we had a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our chef Roberto was great and we had a great time. Food was good as always. One of our guests has a severe shell fish allergy and they cooked her food first so that there was no contamination!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time coming to Benihan ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 7, 2016

This was my first time coming to Benihana I very much enjoyed every second of it. The service all around was outstanding. The host was very welcoming and the server and chef were very tentative and talkative. They made my first time enjoyable and I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our tradition of coming here yearly to c ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our tradition of coming here yearly to celebrate my birthday has been going on for almost ten years. We love the food. The service was much slower this time. Granted it was a Saturday night, but 20 minutes after our reservation time we were seated, and ate last another 20 minutes before we were able to order etc... I miss my birthday coupon. Food was delicious. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From MI to AZ, you will not be disappoin ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

From MI to AZ, you will not be disappointed. The waiter was cool and we even tried some samplers.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 8 and we wanted a plac ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a group of 8 and we wanted a place where we could talk and visit with each other. The food was excellent and the chef was very entertaining. Our group had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We go to benihana because my daughter lo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We go to benihana because my daughter loves the whole chef cooking in front of you idea. This time our chef wasnt very energetic and wasnt entertaining at all. My daughter was bummed. It's the whole reason most people go here.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We had a great experience with great foo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a great experience with great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Benihanas is always enjoyable, always me ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Benihanas is always enjoyable, always memorable! Wish it was closer to Surprise, AZ as Its our tradition to go for all our birthdays! We never bother with Ah So or Hayashi - the quality of food just isn't like Benihanas!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food as it is always. Our teppan ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great food as it is always. Our teppan chef was very good.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, perfect for special occasions ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 20, 2016

As always, perfect for special occasions. Our server and chef were great entertainment! The new entertainment with the volcano was amazing. My son was mesmerized. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to meet friends and family w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great place to meet friends and family with awesome food

Thank you again for a GREAT dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner for 7 to celebrate my daug ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had dinner for 7 to celebrate my daughter's 21st Birthday. Every one had a great time and the food was delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I called ahead of time to let the resta ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I called ahead of time to let the restaurant know that two car seat slings were needed in addition to the number of guests had reserved seats for, and as soon as we got there, alerted the host of a last minute addition. We were still crammed for space. The cook, Caleb, was disorganized and did not season the vegetables whatsoever. He did not start cooking the steak until after all chicken was served, and I had to ask for the onions and mushrooms to be served as part of the appetizer and he forgot that mushrooms were also supposed to be served with the chicken. I also found the cook to be friendly in general, but when he spoke in a mock Japanese accent, it was a little culturally insensitive (he is from South Carolina). Finally, while a few employees offered to sing Happy Birthday to me, nobody offered to take pictures or told the guests about The Chef's Table. In all, I don't think I'll be going to this location again in the future and will stick with the Chandler location.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

It was great to celebrate my Birthday wi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2016

It was great to celebrate my Birthday with my daughter BUT I didn't get my birthday SONG or my Birthday PICTURE with my daughter!! Nor did I get a desert. WOW!! Not a very good experience when I've had better, years before at the Chandler location!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was slow and terrible on a slow ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service was slow and terrible on a slow Thursday night. Also they allowed a woman to be on a phone call the entire two hour dinner spouting profanity with a child at the table. Outrageous!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Great service & our Chef Yin was very go ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great service & our Chef Yin was very good. Be sure to save your $$ for this place or use a coupon. Very pricy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Never have I had a bad experience at ben ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Never have I had a bad experience at benihana , but I guess there is a first for everything . Really bad service to the point that the manager gave us the meal for free but never said sorry or helped make our dinner more enjoyable . Sorry to say that benihana is a no go in my book now 😯

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

the service was not what it should of be ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 5, 2016

the service was not what it should of been. our reservations were for 7pm we had to wait to be seated, then when we were at the table had to wait another 15 min. I had the pork & yuzu very very disappointed (will not order it again). I asked the busser to have it cooked med. was cooked very done and pork was dry. my friend had seafood diablo and that was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our experience was great, we had a great ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Our experience was great, we had a great time! The food was great, like always!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife found a long blond hair in her r ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My wife found a long blond hair in her rice and she's a brunette

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Had one of the best chefs, Cimino. Fun, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Had one of the best chefs, Cimino. Fun, modest, clever. The food was delicious and service by our waitress excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining at Benihana for well ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We have been dining at Benihana for well over forty years, it is my wife's favorite restaurant. Their Scottsdale location has a hit or miss reputation for us, but recently they have really improved. The service on this visit wasn't perfect, but close. the food was great

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We took the kids and had a blast! Server ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We took the kids and had a blast! Server was friendly and the chef was entertaining ! Definitely will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friends and I had a reservation for 8 ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My friends and I had a reservation for 8:30. It took 20 minutes to be greeted at our table. We didn't start eating until around 10. The chef that cooked at our table was terrible and kept dropping things. The waitress stopped by every 30 minutes or so. I expect much better service for the amount of money we spent!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I will never use open table again.They d ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I will never use open table again.They do not give or honor credits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.