About Benihana - Scottsdale

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-scottsdale - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
California Roll - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Sushi - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Trio - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Chef Trick - Benihana - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (46)
Special Occasion (45)
Fun (32)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Groups (27)
Kid-friendly (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Family Style (20)
Casual (20)
Authentic (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Lunch (12)
People Watching (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Romantic (9)
Healthy (8)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went to Benihana Scottsdale with my wi ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

I went to Benihana Scottsdale with my wife and kids on a Tuesday at 6 pm. The service was EXTREMELY SLOW!!!!! We were there for almost 3 hours!!!! My kids and I were falling asleep toward he end of the meal. Food was ok, nothin exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We love going to Benihana!! I hate to le ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

We love going to Benihana!! I hate to leave a bad review but our chef was really slow. Served one item at a time and took forever for the following food. The food was cold.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

When we walked in, we waited to be greet ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

When we walked in, we waited to be greeted. Lunch time and not very busy. Once the host came, asked for our reservation. Few minutes to be seated. We sat with a couple who was there waiting. We all told the host and waiter we all felt cold air blowing on us. Please, make it warm. Never really got warm.

We ordered, meet our chef. He did a wonderful job. We all enjoyed our food. The waiter was attentive, friendly.

My neighbor and I would like come back for dinner services.

Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, , Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservation at 7:30 and didn't get ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Made reservation at 7:30 and didn't get seated until 8:00. We were very patient, but were only checked on once to be seated and wasn't recognizing the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was great (as always) and the c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great (as always) and the chef had great tricks with the cooking! Fun time !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place, I would only suggest ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I love this place, I would only suggest a bus boy to help the server

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roberto is the best chef...magical... Fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Roberto is the best chef...magical...

Food and seasons where perfect...

The table of other guests high energy... fun time...

Tags: Kid-friendly,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Place great location with great ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Amazing Place great location with great food everyone was friendly and respectful!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great chef took some first ti ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food great chef took some first timers they loved it

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Teppanyaki is more about the chef and th ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Teppanyaki is more about the chef and the group at he table than anything. We were welcomed and seated in short order. Our server Junko was warm, efficient, and friendly. She easily made the evening memorable. The chef was excellent, funny, talented. The food was prepared perfectly. Junko kept our glasses full and plates cleared. It was a great evening and we were very pleased.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time. Super fun. Definitely ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Had a great time. Super fun. Definitely going back for another dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, , Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Decent food and service but the restaura ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Decent food and service but the restaurant is in need of a remodel on the interior

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I've dined at Benihana before but this w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I've dined at Benihana before but this was my first time in Scottsdale. What a misarable experience... It took 15 minutes past the reservation to be seated. 45 minutes before the waitress took our drinks order and an hour before she took the lunch order. 3 tables that were seated after ours received their chef before us. When we called the manager, he said that they went by ticket order and that was it. Only when we got up to leave they asked us to stay and said they would comp the meal. The chef was clearly upset by something (he was probably asked to stay past his shift to speed up our turn) so not particularly entertaining. Food was just ok. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was great, the order we got it ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was great, the order we got it was very different and some of our steaks were over cooked but it still was a good time

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our visit didn't start off well. Online ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our visit didn't start off well. Online menu showed they had draft beers. I asked for a Kirin Draft and was told they had no draft beers. Then I asked for a Non Alcoholic Beer. The server returned and told me they had no non alcoholic beers or wines. I wanted SAKI with dinner and did now want to drink to much so I just ordered water after all of that. After the initial problem everything went surprisingly well. Service was good - food was OUTSTANDING and the cost was acceptable. I should also mention that on arrival we were greeted pleasantly (we had a reservation) and had about a 10 minute wait to be seated. I really enjoy Benihana and their menu and try and stop there whenever I am in a city that have one with an available reservation. I would definitely return to Benihana Scottsdale.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food at this location. Gave less ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food at this location. Gave less vegetables than normal, wish they would have a larger portion Had about 4 pieces of onion and 3 pieces of zucchini. Otherwise fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great filets. Japanese beer is gr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always great filets. Japanese beer is great. Service is great, the folks are over-worked. Usually a wait, even with reservations.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very elegant

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very elegant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef at our table was good and the f ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The chef at our table was good and the food was pretty good except for the sauces, which were awful. The decor was so dated and unappealing I nearly walked out. Like a cheap strip mall Chinese food place. The Benihana we went to is in north Scottsdale where competitors are hip and even old places have refreshed decor, so it fails the market completely. We ordered drinks off the specialty drink menu immediately when we sat down at the table and it took until the food came to get them. Of course they were the wrong specialty drinks, so we had to re-order. Over priced for what we got: two alcoholic drinks and two entrees = $100 before tip. Won't go there again and won't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Very enjoyable from start to finish espe ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very enjoyable from start to finish especially sharing a table with a family over here for the holiday from the U.K.

Portions were just right, both the preparation and service was top notch and we didn't feel like we were rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and great waitperson! Will ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Awesome food and great waitperson! Will look forward to going back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roberto, our chef, was excellent. Very e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Roberto, our chef, was excellent. Very entertaining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants! Never be ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! Never been to Benihana and not had a great meal. Food is always consistantly awesome, drink selection is vast, and food options are huge!! If i had to say a negative, it would be the alcholic beberages are a bit pricey, but it's in Scottsdale, and right in line with all the other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Spicy, Healthy, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Granted, it was a busy night, but the se ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Granted, it was a busy night, but the service was horrible. The manager apologized and refunded the cost of half of our meal, but the experience was still very substandard. The food was great, and the ambience as expected but there were so many screw ups with the service, it would take more space than I have here to list them. So, will probably go back and hope that this was not a new trend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great place for friends and family. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place for friends and family. The food never disappoints.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Healthy, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad, slow service, got our order wrong. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Bad, slow service, got our order wrong. The seafood tasted like rubber.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor service, terrible greeting, you hav ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Poor service, terrible greeting, you have to pay the guy seating folks if you don't want to wait for 30 min no matter if you have a reservation or not. Food was mediocre, too many better choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Benihana provided a wonderful place to e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Benihana provided a wonderful place to enjoy birthdays with family and friends!

Great food- funny and fabulous chef!

Thank you guys

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were accommodating in my me prefere ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

They were accommodating in my me preferences, which I appreciated. We sat at the bar in order to be served quicker Hibachi tables require you to wait until the table is full before they will start taking orders and the food ends up cold once they're done with their show. If you've sen it once you've seen it a thousand times. Sitting at the bar yielded colder food than a Hibachi table, which was nit expected. I was also quite disappointed that there was no effort put into my free bday souvenir picture. We go every year and get quality pics. This year it came out horrible with no option for a retake. Memory spoiled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The host was very short and unfriendly. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The host was very short and unfriendly. The waiter told us we could only order from the lunch menu, after asking a cook we were informed that we could order anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Roberto was good and entertaining. Had h ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Roberto was good and entertaining. Had him also 6 months ago. The waitress was excellent. I don't think she ever stopped to catch her breath.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The Filet Mignon is incredible, and the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The Filet Mignon is incredible, and the chef's put on an incredible show.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After calling for a reservation and expl ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 18, 2016

After calling for a reservation and explaining the need for a private chef table, (2 elderly guests and 1 with mild dementia) and being assured that they would accommodate us, we were seated with another group of 4 and the hostess could not have cared any less. She simply said there was nothing that could be done and walked away never to be seen again. This was a 2:30 reservation and still least 4 other chef tables were completely empty. Food was good, but when we spend $200+ on a meal I expect better treatment and service. Called the store manger the following day, he was polite, looked into it, called back and apologized. Just too little and too late. Will take our dining dollars elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

good fun,good food.appreciated staff he ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 17, 2016

good fun,good food.appreciated staff helping us celebrate my sons b-day.the steak its self will get me back

\

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

There's a reason I go there for my birth ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

There's a reason I go there for my birthday almost every year. The food is fantastic, the service is great and the experience is fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, it was a little loud ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was great, it was a little loud, we had to ask our server for things multiple times before we received them, but overall we would come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a great experience, good for a sp ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was a great experience, good for a special date or for your birthday 👌🏼🔥 service was great also the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff and the teppanyaki chef w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The wait staff and the teppanyaki chef were excellent. However, waiting to be seated for 45 minutes beyond the reservation time was unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Everything was fabulous again

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Everything was fabulous again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.