Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Scottsdale

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (48)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Groups (38)
See All
Fun (35)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (18)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (11)
Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Spicy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
890 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

My experience was terrible. We used to go several times a year. I went with my husband and three boys for a nice birthday dinner for me and one of my sons. We had 6:00 reservations and didn't see a waiter until 6:47 after we got someone to come over and told them we were going to leave. It took a long time to get even our soup, the salad came after the chef was working on our meals, the manager was singing "let it go" at the top of his lungs to a table near by and that happened more than once. Once the meal was over no one came again until we flagged someone down to get our check. The meal was way too expensive for the crappy experience. We were never offered dessert even though it came with a few of our meals and we were celebrating birthdays and no picture was taken. I will never go back and will not recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was good and the chef was fun, but I feel like they rushed out of the restaurant. It was quick fast and out the door.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was bland (not enough salt) except for the Spicy Hibachi Chicken that was so hot that neither party who normally like spicy food could eat the chicken. Drink refills were almost non-existent.

While we were seated and waiting to be served, we watched a customer at another table choking from smoke blowing directly in his face. He held his napkin in front of his face because his eyes were burning from the smoke, then he moved his chair to the other corner which crowded
everyone at his table. The chef seemed oblivious to the problem.

We were asked if we had been to the restaurant before but nothing about our Special Occasion.

There should be more choices for Noise Level in the survey.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were quite disappointed! As luck would have it, we got a new guy I guess. He dropped a knife 2 TIMES! He was quite slow. Had a hard time trying to make the volcano! A couple with their 12 yr old son and 7 yr old daughter from Seattle were there FOR THE FIRST TIME! They will never go to a Benihana's again! The other 2 ladies were Asian and did not get the filet mignon they ordered. Those who ordered white rice waited and waited so long, I was finished with my chicken fried rice when their rice was finally brought out! The guy that brought out soup and salad was fine. The cook was the problem!!! We usually celebrate our Anniversary and both of our brother's at Benihana's but no birthday dinner there this year! And my birthday is coming up October 2nd. We usually get the coupon from THE CHEF'S TABLE every year but won't be using it there this year. VERY DISAPPOINTED CUSTOMER....USE TO BE CUSTOMER!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:30. We Were THERE At 7:30. We did not get seated for another 30 minutes a group of 18 people went ahead of us there was so much confusion we had to meet with a manager but he really didn't help that much. Also at the very end there was another huge delay.
Our waiter had gone to another table. Our dishes had not been cleared. We were not asked about dessert until very lste. Weleft as soon as we could.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our chef Michael and server John were outstanding. Two of the best we have had. Food always fresh, tasty & healthy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Service was very slow when it came to getting our bill. Waited 20 minutes just for our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Normally a good experience, but we had a waiter who was pretty much non existent. Had to wait a while for refills and our check, and got a lot of it wrong too. All was good except the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and the anniversary of our first date - 41 years ago! The evening was a lot of fun, very entertaining and delicious from beginning to end...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We frequent Benihana probably once a month and usually have a great experience, BUT NOT THIS TIME. This visit (party of 7) we had poorly cooked food, not the usual Benihana show (barely any show at all), and slow service. 3+ hours from the time we sat until the time we received our dessert. My wife and I had the ocean treasures and the seafood was overcooked, the fried rice was overcooked, the vegetables we soggy, the onions came at the end of cooking with mushrooms mixed in them which also was not ok. Not everyone likes that mixed! The poor food quality applied to the rest of my party, with it being dry and overcooked We were also celebrating 3 birthdays which the waiter was aware of, again no candle on the ice cream and they did not sing happy birthday. Our picture was taken but it was never giving to us. Just an overall bad experience and very sad because of the birthdays we were celebrating with friends in town from California. We will return to Benihana Scottsdale, but they really need to work on quality control with all their staff for both service and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We come to Benihana every year for my daughter's birthday. We have been doing this for 12 years. Our chef was Caleb, and he was outstanding! Seth was our server and he did a wonderful job, as well. Not too much to say positively about the hostess. We were not greeted at the door, the girl with the long dark hair had a bad attitude, and she was fighting with the other hostess with the short blond hair - in front of all the guests. She was pretty obnoxious. We have never had this experience before, so I can only assume it was a bad night. But, if I owned a restaurant, that girl with the long dark hair would be looking for a job somewhere else. She is certainly not what you should want greeting your guests as they come in the door. Overall the experience was great, but I hope that someone there can address the hostess stand.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very good. I liked it a lot and got a table for the time I wanted

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, we didn't get seated right away. We had to wait a good 10 minutes before the hostess came up.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I come to Benihanas pretty often and have never had bad service. Unfortunately the one time I do come with a party of 13, my waitress was incredibly rude. She talked down on some of my college friends for not wanting to get a $30 meal and talked down on others for simply not wanting a huge portion of food. When asking to switch waitresses, she came up and tried to tell me what she did and didn't do and when I sad I just wanted a new waitresss she rolled her eyes and walked off. When the new waitress arrived she said "here's your new waitress, she's a lot nicer than me I suppose" and continued to walk by my table and instigate. Whispering to the other waitress (who told me she was talking bad about the group) and purposely gave our food to the table across from us.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great hostess and food. The chef and waitress was wonderful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Chef Jordan was very accommodating however slow in cutting up meat/veggies and figuring out portions. As a result, food was overcooked--some meat was actually burnt by the time
he removed it from the grill. I asked for another steak to be prepared since he made in error in the cooking temperature. Perhaps when he has more experience at the tables the speed will pick up and avoid overcooked entrees.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food is always good but very understaffed for a lunch.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Always good at Benihana
Last few times the cook has not been much in the
Entertainment area Which is why we take grandkids. 😡😡😡

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

I believe my chefs name was Toshi. He was very fun and we had a great time. I've told lots of people about my wonderful birthday experience at benihana 😋

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Friends enjoyed the food, cooked in front of us, but We did not like that we were not allowed to sit at the table before all 8 guests arrived and had to wait for late arrivals...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a great time with friends who had never been there, they loved it and will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

I always LOVE coming to Benihana to celebrate my birthday. This year I was able to go with 4 friends who had not been there previously and they each loved it. I can't wait for next year, or find another excuse to go.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Excellent choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 23, 2017

It was so much fun! Food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

I asked for no shellfish well otheres at table ordered it and my food was mixed with shellfish in same area and same utensils were used i didnt even eat

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Love this place! Benihana is easily my favorite restaurant. Especially for special occasions like birthdays. I've been to this location dozens of times and have always had a good a good time and excellent service. The chefs there are sure to put on a good show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Waiter was not attentive, very slow poor service. Waiter forgot forks, did not refill drinks in timely manner. Had to wait 15 mins just for the check.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Benihana is consistent, to be sure. We have 4 grandkids and they love the place. Personally, I think the prices are a little high, but the chefs make it fun for kids. Pretty noisy though.
Maybe it's just me, but i always feel a little "greasy" when I leave.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great show and experience. Food portions are declining over time.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I had a great time and I'll definitely be back. My chef was super awesome as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 11, 2017

was completely UNDERSTAFFED....poor management(NO manager visible)..wait staff does NOT cover each other at all(if it's not your server and you ask for something forget about it)

get your act together...this is NOT the Benihanas I have known since the 1980s!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

It was a bit weird to sit with two other parties we did not know. The prices were outrageous. So Much so I didn't feel as though I could even leave a tip, So I didn't I hope they pay their servers.
This was a birthday party of 4 and somehow we sat with other people that well were quite snobby and, well I didn't really enjoy myself.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food and cook was great. The restaurant was filthy, every utensil plate cup we had was dirty. There was a nasty smell at our table. Service was terrible we never got a refil on our drinks throughout the whole meal.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always good but the portions seem to be getting much smaller! Especially the fried rice. Not even a full bowl. Surprising. But the food taste is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is an awesome place to celebrate, party but also family friendly. I loved the setting and we had an early dinner so the lighting was perfecto! A must do for birthdays- for both kids and adults!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great to see the chef to cook in front of you and they will make the fried rice with heart shape or onion like volcano which is really entertaining with many good deals during lunch time! Great to gather and chat with friends for a two hour lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 4, 2017

4 years we've been going to this Benihana and this was the worst TC the cook was good but the waitress was having a bad day with attitude and had to take it out on her customers the place had a bad smell throughout and the RR had not been kept up pretty gross all in all. This is the third time in 3 months that we've had a bad experience, not sure what they are going to do but it has turned into the dump of Scottsdale.... if you like Benihana you may need to try the Chandler location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We go to Benihana frequently -but they were OFF their game across the board this time. Started with the hostess who acted like she couldn't care less. Reservation at 7 -didn't seat us until 7:15 and then waited until 7:20 to bring final 2 people over...who I saw come in and sit at the bar when I arrived. And the waitress wouldn't take our order until whole table was full. Basically went along like this...ended up being 2 + hour dinner. Ugh!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Dinner at Benihana's was great. We were celebrating two family birthdays (as mentioned in detail/name-ages in the reservation). I had to remind them twice since only one was recognized. The food was wonderful as was the experience. Our chef was skilled at cooking - not so much at antics and laughter as others. Antics (like the egg or shrimp tails flipped into the chef hat...or the "choo-choo" with the onions would have added to the experience for our grandson's first Teppanyaki experience but overall...high marks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our chef, Yin, was very personable and put on a good show as well as attending to diner's special needs. A number of tables were outrageously loud. While they were having a good time, it was not appropriate and made it uncomfortable for everyone at our table. The food was ok. Our waiter was very attentive, really nice guy. Food is on the pricy side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.