Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Scottsdale

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday-Friday: 3:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (50)
Good for Groups (48)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Fun (40)
Good for a Date (29)
Kid-friendly (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Casual (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Great for Lunch (12)
People Watching (10)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Romantic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (3)
Spicy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
1013 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a very enjoyable dinner at Benihana's. Our chef had a great personality and prepared a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

As usual a great dinner and wonderful food. Will probably return!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Been to many hibachi grills and other Benihana’s before. Food was good but disappointed in the chef overall presentation. We came here to celebrate my daughters 11th birthday with her buddies and the chef barely put on a show... very disappointed! No shrimp thrown in your mouth, egg in the hat, bouncing egg on spatula etc. you think for kids he would do the old stand bys but no.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

Service was very slow. We were asked only once about refills and empty dishes were not cleared away. I don't blame the waitress; she was trying to cover several tables. It took a while for the chef to come and when he finally did, he was in a rush. After he left, it took another long while for our check to come. Our experience was 1 hour and 50 minutes. Too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

Everything was wonderful, until I went to pay with gift cards I bought at same resturant and found that were no good - tried to contact corporate, but haven't heard back yet. Looks like I am out $100 - doesn't make me happy. Hope I hear form someone soon

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Fun place for group dinner. A lot of food for the price Good service!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

I do not want to name the chef, but poor guy... he just did not do a very good job. Dropped everything, awkward, and the food was just okay / overcooked to be honest. I have been to other locations and had an incredible time, with amazing food, and overall amazing experience... it just was not the way I pictured spending an anniversary. We did get a good laugh out of it all. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Excellent service and entertaining chef. Roberto made us all feel welcome and kept our attention on his skills.
Very fun time with family and friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Lots of food! Very entertaining presentation and the food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We enjoyed the dinner but the servers seemed to very busy and unable to take care of tables for normal requests like water refills or getting a new drink. The noise level was very high, making a conversation with others at the table very difficult.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Our server and the tableside cook were outstanding. One note on host stand; when we tell 2 of the hostess our whole party is here, please don't make us keep waiting another 24 minutes while you seat tables who are walk ins. We had to remind the girls we were still waiting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Cholula is one of the great chefs there. His humor and dazzling dexterity are a step above the rest.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Waited along while, but the service was good. Food was delicious and the atmosphere was fun. Next time, I’d like to try their sushi bar.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2018

The food was great as always, and the show was great too. The value for the food here is pretty affordable. I got the filet steak 5 course meal and it was under $30. It includes the steak, shrimp, rice,soup,salad and sautéed veggies and the show of coarse. The only issues we had were in regard to timing. I made a 6:30 reservation and we did not get seated until about 7, and then we still waited about 10-15 minutes in between our courses. From the time we got there until the time we left we had been there for about 3 hours. While I understand the show and everything takes time, there was a lot of lag time that added to this and I’m glad we didn’t have any plans after.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2018

The service was extremely slow. Our family of 8 made a reservation for dinner at 530. We showed up on time and were seated within a few minutes. We were a family of 5 with 3 kids being treated for the holidays, grandparents and an adult cousin. We set the time early to avoid a rush and make sure our kids would be fed. The waiter was nice but was seriously over seated. We got our drinks and soup an hour later. Although we were a full table to be seated, other tables who waited for seats to fill up were served ahead of us. I placed a drink order for a beer (unbeknownst to me) they didn’t have and the bartender brouhht over my husband beer but failed to mention they didn’t offer the type I ordered on their menu and walked away without even addressing my order. I finally asked my husband to get up and go to the bar to get me another drink.

The meal finally started to get underway, 1.5 hours after our reservation time. Had to request check and dinner was expensive at 250.00 with only 3 drinks. Over priced, slow service and okay food. The plus was our chef was decent and kids enjoyed the meal prep. Would not recommend and after speaking to manger would have thought service would have improved or discount provided. Meal ended 2.5 hours later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2018

My experience last night at Benihana is an example on how poor service, poor communication, and lazy management can ruin an otherwise wonderful evening.

When we arrived for our reservation, I presented the hostess with an eGift Card I had received back in 2014. I asked if they could check to see if I could use it tonight. The hostess instructed to me to present it to my server before ordering.

Once seated, I gave the eGift Card to our server, Andie, and made the same request. She returned a few minutes later with our drink orders and confirmed the eGift Card had a $50 value and could be used.

We order our meals. The chef is entertaining. Our fellow diners at our table are good company. Our food is delicious.

When presented with the check, I reminded Andie that she still had the eGift Card. I asked her to apply it, and then put the remainder on my card.

A few minutes later, a manager, Melinda, returned with my eGift card and asked me for a PIN. She told me that she was unable to process the eGift card without a PIN. I carefully reviewed my printout. There is no PIN. The instructions on the card match my actions:

"Print this page. Bring this printed page to any Benihana location within the continental U.S. Give this page to your server at the time of payment."

I point this out to Melinda, who repeats that it cannot be processed without a PIN. When I asked her how she was able to validate the remaining value of the eGift card at $50, she told me that she has the capability to do that. When I asked her to accept the card since she was able to validate it, she refused. When I asked what my options were, she told me I had to call the corporate office. When I asked her to call it for me, she told me it was closed and I would be unable to speak with them until the following day. When I asked for any consideration, as I had followed the instructions on the eGift card and the restaurant had validated its value, Melinda again refused.

Lazy.
Rude.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

Enjoyed the meal, expected more entertainment from the chef , more interaction. Seems a little pricey for what you got. Did enjoy the experience overall though.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Sadly this was not the best experience. Our chef was unable to do any of what the other chefs can, leaving my six year olds birthday a bust. The gentlemen was incredibly nice, but he had zero knife skills and didn’t do any of the food tricks (adding to the experience) that Benihana is known for. The food was also very over cooked as timing seemed to be an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Unfortunately I am unable to rate my dining experience. We have celebrated New Year's at Benihana for the past few years and were looking forward to it but when we arrived there was chaos in the waiting area. Waiting times were well over an hour past the reservation time. After waiting for 30 minutes past our reservation time we learned there were still 3 tables that needed to be filled before us. We ended up leaving and going somewhere else. Several other people with reservations were upset and I was disappointed that nothing was done to promote customer satisfaction.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Entertainment value for this restaurant was great and the food was tasty. We did wait a very long time for our waiter to begin cooking which is why I cannot give 5 stars.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was very good the service was terrible we did not have a chef at our table for over an hour after sitting down took an hour and 15 minutes for them to even start cooking any of our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Really good food, but unfortunately the great food experience was overshadowed by the really bad smoke from the grill. We could barely breathe, couldn't see, and our eyes were watering. Our four-party group had to split into twos and move to the ends of the table where it was a little better, but still bad. When we asked the chef why it was smoking so bad, he said the "fan was broken." So you decided to still sit people at a broken table? When the manager came by we told him about the horrible smoke throughout the meal. He said "the chef used too much oil" and then he clicked on the fan. Huh??? Seems some kind of comp would have been in order. A round of drinks? A percentage off our meal? Why should customers pay full price for having to breathe smoke all night? A small comp would have gone a long way...Also server rushed us at the end and wasn't going to bring the included dessert until we asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We will be back again. It was our 26th Anniversary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Excellent food and presentation!!

This restaurant is well worth the drive and time. I’m not a huge fan or oriental cuisine, but the place is fantastic!!!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Recently went for my birthday $30 dining coupon and we get a chef who just finished training and when cooking the fried rice he slips and burns his fingers on the grill and continues to cook the rice without cleaning the grill and starting over. Good thing i ordered steamed rice instead is obviously hurt but trys to make it through, food was not good i had steak and lobster which was pricey and steak was thin and of poor quality lobster tail was very small and skimpy when he was almost done he finally told the waitress what had happened and they brought in another guy to Finnish... They never apologized or anything its not like its cheap they want top dollar when its not top quality we had to one drink each and even with the 30 dollars off it still came to over $70 dollars before tip...we will never go back to any benihanas restaurant ever again....

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2017

We had a great time and the food was yummy as usual

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

I was so happy to receive the email saying Benihana's was open on Christmas Day! As busy as the restaurant was, I'd say 600+ people were also happy Benihana's was open. The bartender told us there were reservations for 600+ people. The restaurant did run out of filet and something else, but there were still plenty of options from their special "Holiday menu." The calamari, scallop & shrimp teppan yaki meal was delicious! And watching the chefs prepare the food and add in jokes is always entertaining. Thank you Benihana for being open on Christmas Day!

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2017

They were not prepared for the crowds of Christmas. Ran out of a variety of food, did not have enough cooks and took over an hour just to get our soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Reservation at 7 we were there until 10pm. Took a while for the service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Really tough service all around. Slow on every front. Lots of mistakes at check time too.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 26, 2017

We have had the same server two times in a row and he is not getting any better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2017

It’s always great at Benihana’s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Roberto was our chef—fantastic! The Ahi steak was perfect! The manager was engaging and had no problem upgrading our steak to a filet mignon with the lobster at no upcharge! It was Christmas dinner with friends and everyone was happy and fun...considering they had to work on Christmas Day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Bennihana is a great family restaurant that is great for special occasions. The chef was personable and interacted with guests. Our waiter was not always available to refill drinks or remove dishes. Overall it is great place for a night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Good experience and food was delicious! However, reviews are getting to be a pain in the butt. Everybody wants their "pat on the back". In my line of work if I do a good job I get paid, get a thank you, and at best another job and referral. Are you so insecure that your restaurant is doing what it should that you constantly need to get reassurance?

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Andy was our waitress and she was so sweet and attentive she made our experience so nice we really appreciated her attitude and service. The manager also came over and asked how we were doing we felt welcome and comfortable thank you so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Benihana is always a fun experience. Our chef was a lot of fun and the food was excellent. However, the service was a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

Our server's name was Kevin, his uniform was too small and the bottom was unclean. There was a time when the chef put on a show the patrons, this is no longer true. I wish I could get my money back. I could go to any Asian establishment and would have had better tasting food at a must lower cost. Benihana is not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

A watered down version of traditional Japanese dining at best. Having never been to a benihana before I was expecting a lot more. The chef was nice but not very good at putting on the show. Food was okay but didn't care for all the butter that was used.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.