About Benihana - Scottsdale

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (39)
Special Occasion (34)
Fun (25)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Kid-friendly (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Family Style (20)
Authentic (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Outstanding Value (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Romantic (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

We made a reservation for 10 am on Opentable but the restaurant doesn't open till 11:30 am so we had to wait about 30 minutes for a table. We were not very happy about that.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Greated quickly and by very friendly manager.

Waited reasonable time for table to fill.

Waitress was responsive to requests.

Chef Michael tried to be engaging, but people at our table were very quiet.

Chef had to go over the orders several times, they weren't in order for him on the list and one order was incorrect, making it confusing. He had to take everything back to kitchen to retrieve correct protein.

Chef did lovely job ... tho one piece of my chicken was not done and more vegetables would have been nice. Shrimp were quite small. Scallops were lovely.

Setting was quiet as it was very early in the day and tables weren't full yet.

Restaurant was very clean and welcoming.

Love eating this way, will certainly be back.

Will be interested to see differences in lunch and dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dinner itself was ok. The problem came when I presented an e gift card that I had recently received (electronically) from my sister and the manager came over and said it was declined with a zero balance!

He gave me a toll free number to call- during normal business hours. It turns out the number was not in service!

I called the restaurant and spoke to the general manager who gave me another number to call.

It went to voicemail (what else).

After playing phone tag, I eventually spoke to someone who said they'd look into it and I'd receive an email w/in 48 hours with their decision to either refund my sisters credit card, reissue the $75 gift card, or ??

Well, it's been over 48 hours and the only message I received stated they had no record of ever selling the gift card! My sister sent me Ann image of her card statement clearly showing the charge and I received a congratulatory email from Benihana informing me I received it!

Do Not ever buy an egift card or take a chance you'll get the run around and end up paying for the gift card AND your own dinner - twice!!

Based on Benihana's lack of interest in doing the right thing, My sister plans to dispute the charge with her card issuer and effect a merchant charge-back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyed Valentine's Evening with friends (and some new friends). Was fun watching the food being prepared. Our chef was new so not particularly adept with his utensils but fun watching him learn. We were able to watch the shows at surrounding tables, tho. Steak was tasty, lobster a bit dry. All in all, a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I think it was BS that you showed only one reservation open @745. We got to the restaurant around 6pm and it was dead in there.

Food was good but felt rushed through the whole meal. If I'm dropping a couple hundred, dont rush us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had to wait 30 mins after our appointed time. Then the waiter gave us our bill with another couples bill added on ours so it had to be voided out. He did get it fixed after our discovery. The filet was very tender and good the fried rice was marvelous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

As usual, Benihana keeps it spot in my book as a Teppanyaki restaurant with great service and sub-standard food. The nigiri sushi was okay (tuna, yellowtail and salmon) but mushy. They were out of quail eggs which was disappointing. The filet was tough and stringy, the shrimp was dry and tasteless and the fried rice needed lots of soy sauce to give it flavor. Very loud ambiance. I only go there when others want to (thankfully it's maybe once a year) and it's the same every time ... never changed. I call it the cheap low-cost version of a real teppanyaki place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We waited to be seated for 20 minutes, even though we had a reservation... Not very friendly managing personnel and don't really care about you ... unfortunately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere was great. Everyone in our party enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great place to celebrate a birthday, upbeat atmosphere. Chef's performance was outstanding, unique preparation of various menu choices. Serving portions were just right. Looking forward to a repeat visit soon.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went there for my husband's birthday, and shared the table with another family celebrating a son's birthday. Food was delicious and plentiful. There was so much, I had to take some home. I am still enjoying it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went for my birthday (and received a birthday coupon to use!). It was a blast! I fondly remembered going as a child, and my kids loved it as much as I did this time too! We have fairly picky eaters and everyone was happy and had fun too!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were there 2 hours before we got a waiter. An hour and half before we got seated, it seems like everyone else was getting served and it was my birthday. Horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Had a wonderful time here having my Birthday dinner! As usual the food and experience was very nice! Will be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was good

The chef was okay. A couple if his tricks of flipping his tools and throwing food around didn't work. I noticed another Chef at the next table doing a much better job.

The chef took a long time to come out and serve us, I ran out of water often with no one refilling it and it took way too long to get my bill.

2 1/2 hours for dinner is too long.

It'll be awhile before I go back. Maybe you'll have some better people working for you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Benihana's is just not as good as it used to be. Used to get the fried rice free, now we have to pay for it and the bowl isn't full as it used to be. Less veggies as it used to be as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I went to Benihana Scottsdale with my wife and kids on a Tuesday at 6 pm. The service was EXTREMELY SLOW!!!!! We were there for almost 3 hours!!!! My kids and I were falling asleep toward he end of the meal. Food was ok, nothin exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We love going to Benihana!! I hate to leave a bad review but our chef was really slow. Served one item at a time and took forever for the following food. The food was cold.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 17, 2017

When we walked in, we waited to be greeted. Lunch time and not very busy. Once the host came, asked for our reservation. Few minutes to be seated. We sat with a couple who was there waiting. We all told the host and waiter we all felt cold air blowing on us. Please, make it warm. Never really got warm.

We ordered, meet our chef. He did a wonderful job. We all enjoyed our food. The waiter was attentive, friendly.

My neighbor and I would like come back for dinner services.

Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Made reservation at 7:30 and didn't get seated until 8:00. We were very patient, but were only checked on once to be seated and wasn't recognizing the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was great (as always) and the chef had great tricks with the cooking! Fun time !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I love this place, I would only suggest a bus boy to help the server

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Roberto is the best chef...magical...

Food and seasons where perfect...

The table of other guests high energy... fun time...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Amazing Place great location with great food everyone was friendly and respectful!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food great chef took some first timers they loved it

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Teppanyaki is more about the chef and the group at he table than anything. We were welcomed and seated in short order. Our server Junko was warm, efficient, and friendly. She easily made the evening memorable. The chef was excellent, funny, talented. The food was prepared perfectly. Junko kept our glasses full and plates cleared. It was a great evening and we were very pleased.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Had a great time. Super fun. Definitely going back for another dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Decent food and service but the restaurant is in need of a remodel on the interior

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I've dined at Benihana before but this was my first time in Scottsdale. What a misarable experience... It took 15 minutes past the reservation to be seated. 45 minutes before the waitress took our drinks order and an hour before she took the lunch order. 3 tables that were seated after ours received their chef before us. When we called the manager, he said that they went by ticket order and that was it. Only when we got up to leave they asked us to stay and said they would comp the meal. The chef was clearly upset by something (he was probably asked to stay past his shift to speed up our turn) so not particularly entertaining. Food was just ok. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was great, the order we got it was very different and some of our steaks were over cooked but it still was a good time

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our visit didn't start off well. Online menu showed they had draft beers. I asked for a Kirin Draft and was told they had no draft beers. Then I asked for a Non Alcoholic Beer. The server returned and told me they had no non alcoholic beers or wines. I wanted SAKI with dinner and did now want to drink to much so I just ordered water after all of that. After the initial problem everything went surprisingly well. Service was good - food was OUTSTANDING and the cost was acceptable. I should also mention that on arrival we were greeted pleasantly (we had a reservation) and had about a 10 minute wait to be seated. I really enjoy Benihana and their menu and try and stop there whenever I am in a city that have one with an available reservation. I would definitely return to Benihana Scottsdale.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food at this location. Gave less vegetables than normal, wish they would have a larger portion Had about 4 pieces of onion and 3 pieces of zucchini. Otherwise fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always great filets. Japanese beer is great. Service is great, the folks are over-worked. Usually a wait, even with reservations.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very elegant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The chef at our table was good and the food was pretty good except for the sauces, which were awful. The decor was so dated and unappealing I nearly walked out. Like a cheap strip mall Chinese food place. The Benihana we went to is in north Scottsdale where competitors are hip and even old places have refreshed decor, so it fails the market completely. We ordered drinks off the specialty drink menu immediately when we sat down at the table and it took until the food came to get them. Of course they were the wrong specialty drinks, so we had to re-order. Over priced for what we got: two alcoholic drinks and two entrees = $100 before tip. Won't go there again and won't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very enjoyable from start to finish especially sharing a table with a family over here for the holiday from the U.K.

Portions were just right, both the preparation and service was top notch and we didn't feel like we were rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Awesome food and great waitperson! Will look forward to going back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Roberto, our chef, was excellent. Very entertaining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! Never been to Benihana and not had a great meal. Food is always consistantly awesome, drink selection is vast, and food options are huge!! If i had to say a negative, it would be the alcholic beberages are a bit pricey, but it's in Scottsdale, and right in line with all the other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Spicy, Healthy, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Granted, it was a busy night, but the service was horrible. The manager apologized and refunded the cost of half of our meal, but the experience was still very substandard. The food was great, and the ambience as expected but there were so many screw ups with the service, it would take more space than I have here to list them. So, will probably go back and hope that this was not a new trend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place for friends and family. The food never disappoints.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Healthy, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Bad, slow service, got our order wrong. The seafood tasted like rubber.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Poor service, terrible greeting, you have to pay the guy seating folks if you don't want to wait for 30 min no matter if you have a reservation or not. Food was mediocre, too many better choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Benihana provided a wonderful place to enjoy birthdays with family and friends!

Great food- funny and fabulous chef!

Thank you guys

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

They were accommodating in my me preferences, which I appreciated. We sat at the bar in order to be served quicker Hibachi tables require you to wait until the table is full before they will start taking orders and the food ends up cold once they're done with their show. If you've sen it once you've seen it a thousand times. Sitting at the bar yielded colder food than a Hibachi table, which was nit expected. I was also quite disappointed that there was no effort put into my free bday souvenir picture. We go every year and get quality pics. This year it came out horrible with no option for a retake. Memory spoiled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The host was very short and unfriendly. The waiter told us we could only order from the lunch menu, after asking a cook we were informed that we could order anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Roberto was good and entertaining. Had him also 6 months ago. The waitress was excellent. I don't think she ever stopped to catch her breath.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.