About Benihana - Scottsdale

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Good for Groups (72)
Kid-friendly (49)
See All
Great for Lunch (20)
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Place was pretty great. We made reserva ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Place was pretty great. We made reservations ahead of time, and our table was ready right when they said it would be. Bar staff were friendly and helpful. Dinner was amazing, the cook was decent with flair but the food he made was absolutely perfect. I went big and had the Hibachi Supreme, and it was definitely worth it. Wait staff were friendly and frequently came back to check on everything or give us refills. Overall, very good experience. Thanks!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for a family birthday party! I h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect for a family birthday party! I highly recommend for all ages.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a fun birthday dinner. The hoste ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It was a fun birthday dinner. The hostess sat two other birthday patrons at our table and they were very nice. The chef was very entertaining and fun to watch. The chicken fried rice was excellent and happy that our server recommended it! I had the salmon and it was alright, nothing great, but not bad either. Just be prepared to spend around 90 minutes for dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

was a fun evening. would be a great pl ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

was a fun evening. would be a great place for a group dinner. had 6 strangers at our table at the beginning of the evening and left with 6 friends. cook was good and had a great time working. food was very good and service was great. everytime i though about needing something the waitress was there with it

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Horrible service no vegetarian options. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Horrible service no vegetarian options. Food quality bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

They took great care of us and made our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

They took great care of us and made our anniversary special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not very good. Food is average at best. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Not very good. Food is average at best. 3 hours to have dinner ?- not again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great resturant , outstanding service , ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great resturant , outstanding service , overall I had a wonderful time. They made me feel at home when I first walked through the door , the cook was great & energetic .. We also sat with a couple and I must say they were very warming and great communicators ..... We'll be back soon !!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. It took an hour just ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was great. It took an hour just for the cook to come. That wasn't an enjoyable experience. Eating so late, not a fan of it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service were good. Had a proble ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food and service were good. Had a problem with the Hood Fan over the grill, it was blowing the smoke in my face all during the meal. I was told there was nothing that could be done. I questioned whether the fan was set on High and was told it was working.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall a very good experience deserving ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Overall a very good experience deserving of four stars. Only complaint is the decor, design is a little below what you would normally see. Service was really, really good. Five stars for that, and the food was excellent. Will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

It was such a fun birthday experience. I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

It was such a fun birthday experience. I brought a friend with celebrate of our birthdays.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihanas isn't always fun and delicious ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Benihanas isn't always fun and delicious. The flab ours haven't changed in years and no matter where you go the food is delicious.

Tags: Child Friendly, Group Bookings, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Benihana's for my birthday. O ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went to Benihana's for my birthday. Our group consisted of our friends (married couple), my husband, and myself. We sat at a table with another married couple and their 6-year old child. I had a marvelous time. The chef was a wonderful showman and cook, the service was outstanding, the atmosphere was relaxing, and I was treated royally! The meal was incredible! SO GOOD! I informed the chef about my allergy to shellfish, so he prepared the shellfish last. I got an ice cream sundae for dessert, and to my surprise, the servers sang happy birthday in both English and Japanese! It was awesome!!! Then, our server took a photo of our group, printed two copies and gave one to us and one to our friends! I couldn't have had a better experience! It was my first time at Benihana's and it will certainly NOT be my last!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was the best. We had an enjo ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our server was the best. We had an enjoyable meal. The ahi tuna was tasty!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love that some places and traditions sta ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love that some places and traditions stay true over the years. All time favorite restaurant when I was a kid, we celebrated my daughters 7th birthday and I'm excited to make Benihana a family tradition of our own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Husband and I went to celebrate an anniv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Husband and I went to celebrate an anniversary. The service was great and the chef preparing food at the table was great. The seafood we each had (scallops and collasal shrimp) were tasty. The steak (filet mignon and new york strip) not so much. Although cooked correctly, they were both bland and the strip was chewy. There was no salt and pepper at the table nor soy sauce. I felt bad that I had to keep asking the chef to borrow his bottle of sauce. Overall for the entertainment value, it was okay. Quite a distance for us so we won't be going back anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Family visiting from Midwest. Spe ial tr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Family visiting from Midwest. Spe ial treat for grandkids. They were entertained by chef.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I LOVE the teppan grill....food never di ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I LOVE the teppan grill....food never disappoints...LOVE all the seafood items(shriimp, scallops,lobster although the steak s fabulous too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for my Birthday and had a great ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went for my Birthday and had a great time!! Our chef was very funny and made the dining experience fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

not enough chefs, food was cold by the t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

not enough chefs, food was cold by the time I got my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

it was a wonderful experience. it was a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

it was a wonderful experience. it was a wonderful experience. it was a wonderful experience.

it was a wonderful experience. it was a wonderful experience. it was a wonderful experience. it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

was good. Service was a little slow. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

was good. Service was a little slow. The people we sat with were nice and did not detract from the meal. More of a fun group meal than anything. I would go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

had a very enjoyable meal with family , ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

had a very enjoyable meal with family , chef was very entertaining and fixed a good meal at the same

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

rice was a bit undercook. Don't think ma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

rice was a bit undercook. Don't think many will notice but Asians who eat a lot of rice will.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal - the chef was very sweet. A ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great Meal - the chef was very sweet. All of our food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was extremely warm due to a supposed ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It was extremely warm due to a supposed A/C issue. Our reservation was at 6:30 and they could have called to explain the situation and that reservations were back up. They told about a half hour delay, they sat us at the table at the half hour mark but from there it was another 40 minutes before the chef came to the table. It was hot and uncomfortable. We didn't eat until 8:30. Not acceptable. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We went for a 5:30 reservation, and we d ...

 
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went for a 5:30 reservation, and we did not get sat until 6:30pm. I think this defeats the purpose of a reservation. I was not the only one. The entire waiting area was full of people who were waiting on their "reservation." I think they should have called people and said they were running behind. They did nothing to compensate people for the inconvenience. I know reservations aren't to the minute, but an extra hour???!! My kids love eating there though so the experience was fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Service provider was amazing. Fun dinne ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service provider was amazing. Fun dinner. Enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It never disappoints. Food and service i ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It never disappoints. Food and service is excellent. The chefs are very entertaining and do a great job in the food presentation. We go to Benihana's for birthdays all the time. A family favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dreadful Experience

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This was an awful evening which ended with a complaint to the corporate office and some unsatisfactory follow up. We recommend saving your money and skipping Benihana. Sapporo is right down the block and we'll be going there for Teppanyaki the next time we want it. Poor food, bad service, corporate disinterest. Zero Stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The service as always was amazing and th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service as always was amazing and the food is to die for!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the chefs, have to be a people pe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I love the chefs, have to be a people person to perform as they do!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rude Dining Partners

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We were seated at a table with just four other people. Two of them were fine. The other two were fat, loud and obnoxious and talked through dinner and cackled like mad cows. The food was good, but it was hard to ignore them and it ruined meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a great time celebrating our son' ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a great time celebrating our son's graduation with family members. Food was delicious and the server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's simply the best food and people for ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

It's simply the best food and people for the hot spot in town

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My hubby enjoyed not only a date night w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My hubby enjoyed not only a date night with me but his birthday as well. Thanks much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Change in menu should be expected

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I've been coming here for many years, throughout the country - I've been lucky they are where I am. The other evening,however, I noticed the menu has been revised, and several small changes are employed. The children's meals usually have corn and zucchini, this time no corn :-(

The kids meals used to have both the soup and a salad, if I'm remembering right, but this time she had to pick one, leaving me naturally - to share my salad. Portions are smaller all around, I had two small shrimp in the "appetizer" and it used to be portioned larger than that. In the 8 years I've dined at this location, I always had leftovers, but not that evening. The green tea ice cream had a fishy flavor/aftertaste. Server and cook were fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Benihana Birthday

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I have been to Benihana's at least 30 times over the years. This past visit was spectacular!!! The food was particularly excellent and tasty. Our table chef was absolutely one of the very best ever. We had so much fun and a really great meal. The Chateaubriand could NOT have been better. The scallops were great, as was the shrimp and the chicken. All the employees really helped to make my birthday very special!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was very friendly and accommod ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We felt very well taken care of. The chef. Tim, was very entertaining and the food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.