About Benihana - Scottsdale

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale
Benihana - Scottsdale

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (87)
good for groups (80)
kid-friendly (51)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
great for lunch (22)
romantic (16)
neighborhood gem (14)
hot spot (14)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (4)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were good. Had a proble ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service were good. Had a problem with the Hood Fan over the grill, it was blowing the smoke in my face all during the meal. I was told there was nothing that could be done. I questioned whether the fan was set on High and was told it was working.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall a very good experience deserving ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall a very good experience deserving of four stars. Only complaint is the decor, design is a little below what you would normally see. Service was really, really good. Five stars for that, and the food was excellent. Will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

It was such a fun birthday experience. I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was such a fun birthday experience. I brought a friend with celebrate of our birthdays.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihanas isn't always fun and delicious ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Benihanas isn't always fun and delicious. The flab ours haven't changed in years and no matter where you go the food is delicious.

Tags: child friendly, group bookings, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Benihana's for my birthday. O ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Benihana's for my birthday. Our group consisted of our friends (married couple), my husband, and myself. We sat at a table with another married couple and their 6-year old child. I had a marvelous time. The chef was a wonderful showman and cook, the service was outstanding, the atmosphere was relaxing, and I was treated royally! The meal was incredible! SO GOOD! I informed the chef about my allergy to shellfish, so he prepared the shellfish last. I got an ice cream sundae for dessert, and to my surprise, the servers sang happy birthday in both English and Japanese! It was awesome!!! Then, our server took a photo of our group, printed two copies and gave one to us and one to our friends! I couldn't have had a better experience! It was my first time at Benihana's and it will certainly NOT be my last!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was the best. We had an enjo ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our server was the best. We had an enjoyable meal. The ahi tuna was tasty!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love that some places and traditions sta ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love that some places and traditions stay true over the years. All time favorite restaurant when I was a kid, we celebrated my daughters 7th birthday and I'm excited to make Benihana a family tradition of our own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Husband and I went to celebrate an anniv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Husband and I went to celebrate an anniversary. The service was great and the chef preparing food at the table was great. The seafood we each had (scallops and collasal shrimp) were tasty. The steak (filet mignon and new york strip) not so much. Although cooked correctly, they were both bland and the strip was chewy. There was no salt and pepper at the table nor soy sauce. I felt bad that I had to keep asking the chef to borrow his bottle of sauce. Overall for the entertainment value, it was okay. Quite a distance for us so we won't be going back anytime soon.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Family visiting from Midwest. Spe ial tr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Family visiting from Midwest. Spe ial treat for grandkids. They were entertained by chef.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I LOVE the teppan grill....food never di ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I LOVE the teppan grill....food never disappoints...LOVE all the seafood items(shriimp, scallops,lobster although the steak s fabulous too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for my Birthday and had a great ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went for my Birthday and had a great time!! Our chef was very funny and made the dining experience fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

not enough chefs, food was cold by the t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

not enough chefs, food was cold by the time I got my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

it was a wonderful experience. it was a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

it was a wonderful experience. it was a wonderful experience. it was a wonderful experience.

it was a wonderful experience. it was a wonderful experience. it was a wonderful experience. it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

was good. Service was a little slow. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

was good. Service was a little slow. The people we sat with were nice and did not detract from the meal. More of a fun group meal than anything. I would go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

had a very enjoyable meal with family , ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

had a very enjoyable meal with family , chef was very entertaining and fixed a good meal at the same

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

rice was a bit undercook. Don't think ma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

rice was a bit undercook. Don't think many will notice but Asians who eat a lot of rice will.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal - the chef was very sweet. A ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great Meal - the chef was very sweet. All of our food was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was extremely warm due to a supposed ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It was extremely warm due to a supposed A/C issue. Our reservation was at 6:30 and they could have called to explain the situation and that reservations were back up. They told about a half hour delay, they sat us at the table at the half hour mark but from there it was another 40 minutes before the chef came to the table. It was hot and uncomfortable. We didn't eat until 8:30. Not acceptable. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We went for a 5:30 reservation, and we d ...

 
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went for a 5:30 reservation, and we did not get sat until 6:30pm. I think this defeats the purpose of a reservation. I was not the only one. The entire waiting area was full of people who were waiting on their "reservation." I think they should have called people and said they were running behind. They did nothing to compensate people for the inconvenience. I know reservations aren't to the minute, but an extra hour???!! My kids love eating there though so the experience was fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Service provider was amazing. Fun dinne ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service provider was amazing. Fun dinner. Enjoyed the experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It never disappoints. Food and service i ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It never disappoints. Food and service is excellent. The chefs are very entertaining and do a great job in the food presentation. We go to Benihana's for birthdays all the time. A family favorite.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dreadful Experience

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This was an awful evening which ended with a complaint to the corporate office and some unsatisfactory follow up. We recommend saving your money and skipping Benihana. Sapporo is right down the block and we'll be going there for Teppanyaki the next time we want it. Poor food, bad service, corporate disinterest. Zero Stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The service as always was amazing and th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service as always was amazing and the food is to die for!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the chefs, have to be a people pe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I love the chefs, have to be a people person to perform as they do!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rude Dining Partners

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We were seated at a table with just four other people. Two of them were fine. The other two were fat, loud and obnoxious and talked through dinner and cackled like mad cows. The food was good, but it was hard to ignore them and it ruined meal.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a great time celebrating our son' ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a great time celebrating our son's graduation with family members. Food was delicious and the server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's simply the best food and people for ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

It's simply the best food and people for the hot spot in town

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Change in menu should be expected

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I've been coming here for many years, throughout the country - I've been lucky they are where I am. The other evening,however, I noticed the menu has been revised, and several small changes are employed. The children's meals usually have corn and zucchini, this time no corn :-(

The kids meals used to have both the soup and a salad, if I'm remembering right, but this time she had to pick one, leaving me naturally - to share my salad. Portions are smaller all around, I had two small shrimp in the "appetizer" and it used to be portioned larger than that. In the 8 years I've dined at this location, I always had leftovers, but not that evening. The green tea ice cream had a fishy flavor/aftertaste. Server and cook were fantastic!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Benihana Birthday

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I have been to Benihana's at least 30 times over the years. This past visit was spectacular!!! The food was particularly excellent and tasty. Our table chef was absolutely one of the very best ever. We had so much fun and a really great meal. The Chateaubriand could NOT have been better. The scallops were great, as was the shrimp and the chicken. All the employees really helped to make my birthday very special!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was very friendly and accommod ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We felt very well taken care of. The chef. Tim, was very entertaining and the food was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my daughter's birthday

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The manager on duty (one from hostess stand) was exceptional. She was very helpful in coordinating our party of 15- two tables and 11 kabuki glasses to my daughter and friends on her birthday! She was anticipating our needs and so pleasant.

The chefs did a great job entertaining our guests.

After an hour an a half of sitting and eating dinner. With the service of ice cream and pictures the children got up to pose for photos and had a slight up tick in energy (I recognize) however, the manager who stood by the kitchen door and gave stink eye to us through the meal now came up and told me all of the children must remain in their seats (other guests were complaining) - only one small table next to us- and I doubt they complained. The chefs were gone and we were settling the bill- she did not have to tell the children they had to remain in their seats. There was no danger or disruption.

We spent a large amount of money on our group of 15 and we were respectful to others, I think that manager was looking at this party of children like we were a problem from the beginning. These are well behaved children and it was a bad way to end the evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday dinner

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I was disappointed that we were the first table seated but three other tables finished before we did and I noticed they had group pictures taken. - we did not? Thought you automatically included pictures for special occasions? Meal was good but cannot afford to come back frequently at these prices.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great time. The food and the s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Always a great time. The food and the service was outstanding. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal! We go a lot for lunc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Always a good meal! We go a lot for lunch and sit in the sushi bar. Great lunch menu for crazy good prices. Love our wait staff in the sushi bar. Alway feel welcome even when they are super busy. Sometimes the staff is stretched with too many tables - even so they do a great job making sure we have everything we need!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The chef was clearly new. He was incred ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The chef was clearly new. He was incredibly slow - mostly serializing the cooking rather than cooking multiple things together. He over cooked the shrimp. No performance aspect at all - none of the usual tricks were done except for the beating heart which he did with white rice. And he didn't have enough rice for all the fried rice that was ordered AND he didn't have enough zucchini. Also - he should rotate where he starts when he passes out the cooked food so the same guy isn't stuck with being last every round. The waiter was equally terrible. He completely didn't bring one of the appetizers ordered and when he asked how our meal was and we started to give feedback, he completely didn't listen and moved on to asking if we wanted dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Not a great birthday celebration

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Birthday coupon from Benihana. Sat us next to the kitchen. Awful spot. Requested no mushrooms in dinner, so waitress, who was new, brought soup with mushrooms in it. Offered to replace it, but by then had waited so long, just picked the mushrooms out. The worse part was where we were seated. No one wants to have constant traffic around the table from waitstaff exiting and entering the kitchen. Also, no happy hour drink prices at the table -- you have to go to the bar. Ridiculous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Everything was delicious

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was great. Service was GREAT!! But it was too pricey for quality of food. Overall we all loved the food and if it wasnt for the price we would go back

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was ok, the chef did a good ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

The service was ok, the chef did a good job, but he was not that entertaining. The food was delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Early Mother's Day

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We decided to celebrate Mothers Day on Saturday to avoid the craziness on Sunday. We (myself, my wife , and our 4 year old) arrived at Benihanas a few minutes early but were seated promptly at a table. The dining room was much more crowded than I would've expected on a Saturday afternoon at 2pm but we arrived at the perfect time- we had a table just to ourselves. The chef, Toshi, cooked our orders to perfection, put on a good show, and was great with our son, who has the attention span of a tennis ball. Toshi kept the boy interested while he was cooking and answered his questions.

The rice and our main courses were very good but I thought the onion soup was a little bland. The 4 year old loved the soup, however, so what do I know.

All in all , our meal was good and we all had a good time. I'd recommend it highly to family's looking for something nicer than Dave & Busters, McDonalds, or the usual places they take their kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great time

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Despite what I read about the service at Scottsdale Benihana, my wife and I had a great time. The server, the chef were both great and very entertaining. We would absolutely go again.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.