Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Scottsdale

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Scottsdale is close to champion golf courses and luxurious spas, as well as Westworld, home of the annual classic Arabian Horse show and the renowned Jackson-Barrett car auction. The restaurant is located in The Promenade at the corner of Scottsdale Rd. and Frank Lloyd Wright Drive. It features 20 teppanyaki tables and a comfortable sushi bar and lounge where Happy Hour is available each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and on Friday from 4-7 p.m.

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (47)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for Groups (32)
See All
Fun (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Family Style (26)
Kid-friendly (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (18)
Casual (18)
Authentic (13)
Outstanding Value (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Romantic (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (2)
Spicy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been here before and it was good but this time we were at a table with 3 other couples and it took all of us an hour after being seated to get the appetizer soup and salad. Finally we got the manager and from that point on the food and service was every good and to their credit, the manager recognized their disappointing service and provided a discount off of each of our bills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Date night was great! Our Server Margarita she was great! Craig I believe was our chef was amazing and good customer service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and Chef were awesome. Server was a little busy so slow with the drinks, salad and soup. absolutely will go back though. Management took care of us.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We had a great time celebrating a birthday. The food at Benihana is always wonderful and freshly prepared.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Very slow service. Was there at 11am for lunch and didn't finished until after 1pm.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Awesome! Chahula is an amazing chef so request him!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The wait for the chef was over an hour. Other than that, it was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We celebrated my son's 33rd birthday at Benihana (his choice, I had never been there before)

The food was good, the preparation was fun to watch and we had a good time. They provided a high chair for my granddaughter and she enjoyed herself, too!

I will add that even though our reservations were for six people at 6 PM, we did not get seated for nearly 15 minutes (which seemed like a long wait) - but other than that, we all had a pleasant evening and enjoyed the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our seating was on time, service staff were very attentive and management was engaged with the patrons. This all made for an enjoyable evening and a fun experience.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great Dinner for my B-Day! Thank you. Great chefs and great entertainment!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We have gone to Benihana for many years and it has changed. The service was slow and poor. It took 2 hours for dinner. The appetizer we ordered was cold and served after the soup. The shrimp that came with the dinner were small and so was the portion. There were also less vegetables. It took 1/2 hour to get the check after we finished eating. No chef's specials. The menu has changed and the prices have greatly increased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

7:00 reservation. Dinner took over 2 hours. That was not because of the show with the Benihana chefs. It took about 40 minutes just to get through the salad course without any special appetizers or copious amounts of cocktail orders - service was just abysmally slow. It appeared as though we were purposely delayed to allow for the rotation of chefs - perhaps one of the chefs called in sick? . On one hand I can understand this logic - on the other hand - it makes for a painful dining experience. Also, the flaming train/volcano of raw onions and flipping shrimp bits all over the restaurant while reciting the same old tired jokes is just getting to be such old news. Food still stands up pretty well once we got to the cooking/eating part. Although we were a bit shocked at the enormous amounts of butter still added to every dish especially with the current restaurant trends moving towards healthier choices and preparations.

Benihana - you need an update!! And I am talking more than just the prices in your menus!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Horrible the food was awful the cook didn't know what he was doing everything was burnt. I go to Benihana all the time and now I will be no returning when I got home I was so sick to my stomach 60$ dollars later 👿👿👿

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Chief was great with our two year old. Kept her entertained. The food was good and a good value.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It's a nice place to go eat. The dinners are very expensive however. That's really the only bad side. Tough to recommend a place where you can't walk out spending $100. The noise level is a bit too high for my liking as well. The food was delicious. It was my birthday when I went so they sang to me, gave me free ice cream, and took a pic of me on my special day. All nice!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 1, 2017

John the waiter was excellent and so was Tim the Chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

What a train reck of service. Arrived early for our scheduled reservation and never got seated well after that time. Finally left to find other restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Chris and Lin were outstanding we all had a wonderful time - thank you all so much for a great evening!!!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was delicious! Service was amazing! Chef was funny, energetic and friendly!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We made a reservation for 10 am on Opentable but the restaurant doesn't open till 11:30 am so we had to wait about 30 minutes for a table. We were not very happy about that.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Greated quickly and by very friendly manager.
Waited reasonable time for table to fill.
Waitress was responsive to requests.
Chef Michael tried to be engaging, but people at our table were very quiet.
Chef had to go over the orders several times, they weren't in order for him on the list and one order was incorrect, making it confusing. He had to take everything back to kitchen to retrieve correct protein.
Chef did lovely job ... tho one piece of my chicken was not done and more vegetables would have been nice. Shrimp were quite small. Scallops were lovely.
Setting was quiet as it was very early in the day and tables weren't full yet.
Restaurant was very clean and welcoming.
Love eating this way, will certainly be back.
Will be interested to see differences in lunch and dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyed Valentine's Evening with friends (and some new friends). Was fun watching the food being prepared. Our chef was new so not particularly adept with his utensils but fun watching him learn. We were able to watch the shows at surrounding tables, tho. Steak was tasty, lobster a bit dry. All in all, a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I think it was BS that you showed only one reservation open @745. We got to the restaurant around 6pm and it was dead in there.

Food was good but felt rushed through the whole meal. If I'm dropping a couple hundred, dont rush us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had to wait 30 mins after our appointed time. Then the waiter gave us our bill with another couples bill added on ours so it had to be voided out. He did get it fixed after our discovery. The filet was very tender and good the fried rice was marvelous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

As usual, Benihana keeps it spot in my book as a Teppanyaki restaurant with great service and sub-standard food. The nigiri sushi was okay (tuna, yellowtail and salmon) but mushy. They were out of quail eggs which was disappointing. The filet was tough and stringy, the shrimp was dry and tasteless and the fried rice needed lots of soy sauce to give it flavor. Very loud ambiance. I only go there when others want to (thankfully it's maybe once a year) and it's the same every time ... never changed. I call it the cheap low-cost version of a real teppanyaki place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We waited to be seated for 20 minutes, even though we had a reservation... Not very friendly managing personnel and don't really care about you ... unfortunately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere was great. Everyone in our party enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great place to celebrate a birthday, upbeat atmosphere. Chef's performance was outstanding, unique preparation of various menu choices. Serving portions were just right. Looking forward to a repeat visit soon.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went there for my husband's birthday, and shared the table with another family celebrating a son's birthday. Food was delicious and plentiful. There was so much, I had to take some home. I am still enjoying it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went for my birthday (and received a birthday coupon to use!). It was a blast! I fondly remembered going as a child, and my kids loved it as much as I did this time too! We have fairly picky eaters and everyone was happy and had fun too!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were there 2 hours before we got a waiter. An hour and half before we got seated, it seems like everyone else was getting served and it was my birthday. Horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Had a wonderful time here having my Birthday dinner! As usual the food and experience was very nice! Will be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was good

The chef was okay. A couple if his tricks of flipping his tools and throwing food around didn't work. I noticed another Chef at the next table doing a much better job.

The chef took a long time to come out and serve us, I ran out of water often with no one refilling it and it took way too long to get my bill.

2 1/2 hours for dinner is too long.

It'll be awhile before I go back. Maybe you'll have some better people working for you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Benihana's is just not as good as it used to be. Used to get the fried rice free, now we have to pay for it and the bowl isn't full as it used to be. Less veggies as it used to be as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I went to Benihana Scottsdale with my wife and kids on a Tuesday at 6 pm. The service was EXTREMELY SLOW!!!!! We were there for almost 3 hours!!!! My kids and I were falling asleep toward he end of the meal. Food was ok, nothin exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We love going to Benihana!! I hate to leave a bad review but our chef was really slow. Served one item at a time and took forever for the following food. The food was cold.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 17, 2017

When we walked in, we waited to be greeted. Lunch time and not very busy. Once the host came, asked for our reservation. Few minutes to be seated. We sat with a couple who was there waiting. We all told the host and waiter we all felt cold air blowing on us. Please, make it warm. Never really got warm.

We ordered, meet our chef. He did a wonderful job. We all enjoyed our food. The waiter was attentive, friendly.
My neighbor and I would like come back for dinner services.

Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Made reservation at 7:30 and didn't get seated until 8:00. We were very patient, but were only checked on once to be seated and wasn't recognizing the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.