About Benihana - Scottsdale

16403 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 444-0068

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/scottsdale-az-so

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (100)
good for groups (99)
kid-friendly (60)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
romantic (21)
great for lunch (19)
hot spot (17)
neighborhood gem (8)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana Birthday

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have been to Benihana's at least 30 times over the years. This past visit was spectacular!!! The food was particularly excellent and tasty. Our table chef was absolutely one of the very best ever. We had so much fun and a really great meal. The Chateaubriand could NOT have been better. The scallops were great, as was the shrimp and the chicken. All the employees really helped to make my birthday very special!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was very friendly and accommod ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We felt very well taken care of. The chef. Tim, was very entertaining and the food was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

my daughter's birthday

Dined on May 21, 2016

The manager on duty (one from hostess stand) was exceptional. She was very helpful in coordinating our party of 15- two tables and 11 kabuki glasses to my daughter and friends on her birthday! She was anticipating our needs and so pleasant. The chefs did a great job entertaining our guests. After an hour an a half of sitting and eating dinner. With the service of ice cream and pictures the children got up to pose for photos and had a slight up tick in energy (I recognize) however, the manager who stood by the kitchen door and gave stink eye to us through the meal now came up and told me all of the children must remain in their seats (other guests were complaining) - only one small table next to us- and I doubt they complained. The chefs were gone and we were settling the bill- she did not have to tell the children they had to remain in their seats. There was no danger or disruption. We spent a large amount of money on our group of 15 and we were respectful to others, I think that manager was looking at this party of children like we were a problem from the beginning. These are well behaved children and it was a bad way to end the evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday dinner

Dined on May 20, 2016

I was disappointed that we were the first table seated but three other tables finished before we did and I noticed they had group pictures taken. - we did not? Thought you automatically included pictures for special occasions? Meal was good but cannot afford to come back frequently at these prices.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time. The food and the s ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always a great time. The food and the service was outstanding. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The chef was clearly new. He was incred ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The chef was clearly new. He was incredibly slow - mostly serializing the cooking rather than cooking multiple things together. He over cooked the shrimp. No performance aspect at all - none of the usual tricks were done except for the beating heart which he did with white rice. And he didn't have enough rice for all the fried rice that was ordered AND he didn't have enough zucchini. Also - he should rotate where he starts when he passes out the cooked food so the same guy isn't stuck with being last every round. The waiter was equally terrible. He completely didn't bring one of the appetizers ordered and when he asked how our meal was and we started to give feedback, he completely didn't listen and moved on to asking if we wanted dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Not a great birthday celebration

Dined on May 12, 2016

Birthday coupon from Benihana. Sat us next to the kitchen. Awful spot. Requested no mushrooms in dinner, so waitress, who was new, brought soup with mushrooms in it. Offered to replace it, but by then had waited so long, just picked the mushrooms out. The worse part was where we were seated. No one wants to have constant traffic around the table from waitstaff exiting and entering the kitchen. Also, no happy hour drink prices at the table -- you have to go to the bar. Ridiculous!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was delicious

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was great. Service was GREAT!! But it was too pricey for quality of food. Overall we all loved the food and if it wasnt for the price we would go back

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was ok, the chef did a good ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The service was ok, the chef did a good job, but he was not that entertaining. The food was delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Early Mother's Day

Dined on May 7, 2016

We decided to celebrate Mothers Day on Saturday to avoid the craziness on Sunday. We (myself, my wife , and our 4 year old) arrived at Benihanas a few minutes early but were seated promptly at a table. The dining room was much more crowded than I would've expected on a Saturday afternoon at 2pm but we arrived at the perfect time- we had a table just to ourselves. The chef, Toshi, cooked our orders to perfection, put on a good show, and was great with our son, who has the attention span of a tennis ball. Toshi kept the boy interested while he was cooking and answered his questions. The rice and our main courses were very good but I thought the onion soup was a little bland. The 4 year old loved the soup, however, so what do I know. All in all , our meal was good and we all had a good time. I'd recommend it highly to family's looking for something nicer than Dave & Busters, McDonalds, or the usual places they take their kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on May 7, 2016

Despite what I read about the service at Scottsdale Benihana, my wife and I had a great time. The server, the chef were both great and very entertaining. We would absolutely go again.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scrumptous

Dined on May 5, 2016

Benihana is my favorite place to eat. The food is amazing . What's sets them apart from the rest is the seasoning and garlic butter used to prepare the entire meal. Everyone should experience Bemoans at least once before they are gone. The finest dining and top notch chefs and servers are all a part of the benihana experience. Trust me it is an experience. It's not your average place to eat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Special night out

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great place for big groups! Very interactive dinner and very delicious! Plan to spend a couple hours dining and hanging out with friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food. The waitress was very nice.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Good food. The waitress was very nice.

food4
ambience4
service4

We had a great time watching our grandda ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We had a great time watching our granddaughter watch the meals being prepared - great fun, great meal, great time was had by all.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Our chef Nick, had mor ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great experience. Our chef Nick, had more than a few tricks up his sleeve. This was our fourth time there in the past 9 months and we enjoyed it as much as the first time.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fun

Dined on April 22, 2016

It was fun but loud. It was fun to watch but I would have liked it better if there wasn't so much time between the different components of the dinner. Everything was cold by the time the steak was done cooking.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely a unique dining experience. T ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Definitely a unique dining experience. The food was fantastic, enjoyed the cook preparing and cooking our delicious food. Thank you for the birthday gift! And my girlfriend, well she's awesome to dine with too. God bless!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Experience, food was fantastic. We ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great Experience, food was fantastic. We did have to wait for Teppan Chef for about 20 minutes, but we were there for a celebration so kept ourselves entertained. Will definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Did not feel like a special event, usually does.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Had just been to the Beaverton, OR, location a few weeks ago and had a very nice meal. The Scottsdale, AZ location is much larger and better ventilated. Plenty of parking. Nice bar staff and greeter. Once we were seated the evening lost steam. The entire array of food seemed bland compared to the Beaverton location. Our table had 7 orders of fried rice with chicken yet only 3 eggs were used. The veggies were cooked so were several minutes apart and the entrees did not overlap. I got my entrée before some of the other guests had their entrée start cooking. I will never be back to that location. Seems something is off about the food prep and training for the cook so entrees finish within 5 minutes or so of each other.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love it

Dined on April 16, 2016

I went to there my and sister. Service was nice and very friendly!! Our chef spoke Spanish which was great for my mom. We will definitely be going back soon!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always an amazing time

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and the best chefs in town!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday Fun!

Dined on April 15, 2016

I took my 14 year old son and 5 of his buddies out to celebrate his birthday. He picked Benihana and we had a fantastic time! Great food and drinks and a very entertaining Roberto the chef.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable experience!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Birthday dinner. Service was great and Tim did a great job entertaining us while making a fabulous meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a good meal

Dined on March 29, 2016

This restauraurant is consistent and the quality of the food is very high. Fun and what you'd expect from a Benihana.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

First off I never have bad service at th ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

First off I never have bad service at this location ever. I would like to say thank you to our waitress Ericka she is always a pleasure to deal with, gets the order right, always keeps your drink full, and always has a smile on. Now for the chef typically I have not had the same chef more than a few times and they all are great but tonight Chef Yin was amazing not only was the food great and the theatrics good, for the first time not only did they tell us what the sauces are food with but actually as he was cooking dared us to try the sauces with the food instead of letting them go to waste and I was amazed how good they actually are.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great for a small group

Dined on March 22, 2016

Benihana was a great place to have a group of 10 for a birthday dinner. We were all able to chat during dinner without yelling too much, and had entertainment right in front of us!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at the Benihana in Scottsdale ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

First time at the Benihana in Scottsdale and the service/show at the table was the best I have ever had at a Benihana! Hiro, our chef, was amazing and really wow'ed the whole table. As always, the food was fresh, hot and delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

TK Scottsdale

Dined on March 12, 2016

Always love the dinner and a show. We did seafood this time after always getting steak. It was excellent. The cooks/performers always knock it out of the park. 27th Anniversary Dinner. It was memorable. We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

We go often to this location. We had Hi ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We go often to this location. We had Hiro as our chef today and he was the best. Great show and very skilled.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a great time a Benihanas. The Chef was great! and management was awesome.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

I had a good experience, but at the end ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

I had a good experience, but at the end of our meal I wished I had gone to another tepanyaki restaurant because our chef lacked the enthusiasm I had seen elsewhere, and our server didn't seem to want to be there. Our server was efficient and got everything perfect, and our chef prepared delicious courses for us, but both lacked the enthusiasm I expected from Benihana. Good service, just not the experience I was looking for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on February 25, 2016

It was amazing! The food was great the people were friendly and a fun environment to go to

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect myself and family ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Everything was perfect myself and family truly enjoyed celebrating my birthday there

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is consistently good. It's grea ...

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

The food is consistently good. It's great to see how and what the chef is cooking because they cook in front of you. It's always a fun and good tasting experience at Benihana.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best chefs and Milinda is the best

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

The best chefs and Milinda is the best

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on February 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating my son's birthday!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wonderful Night Out.

Dined on February 17, 2016

My dining guest and I had a reservation for dinner. We were initially seated with a group of four women and a young boy. We had to be seated at another table for what I think were either cultural or religious reasons. The manager apologized and gave us a complimentary appetizer. The rest of the evening was without any other incidents. Our chosen dinner meals were very delicious and well prepared.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The chef took a really long time to prep ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

The chef took a really long time to prepare our food. He was pleasant but inexperienced so that disappointed us.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We have eaten at Benihana before but thi ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

We have eaten at Benihana before but this time was below par. It seems they did not have enough chefs and did not have them scheduled properly. A table that was seated after us had a chef to cook their dinner well before us. It took so long to get a chef that we were give Edame to nibble on. Our server was also very slow. My medium rare steak did not have an pink. 2 1/2 hours for a mediocre meal was too much.

Tags: kid-friendly

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.