Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Benihana - Santa Anita

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.6

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (27)
Fun (25)
Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (6)
Family Style (6)
Spicy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Romantic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 15 hours ago

The waiter was really courteous and cute 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The Benihana in Arcadia is arguably the worst run restaurant I've ever been to. I had reservations of 745 and was not sat down until 8pm. I waited twenty mins before anyone took my drink order. Service was soo slow that I didn't leave until 1020pm. That is unacceptable! No one should be there that long. I spoke to the GM and told her I would not be returning. It was my birthday and no one sung happy bday to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place, awesome chef Tan, best food, our server was very good :) Everything was Great

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Waited half hour for our table even with reservations, good for special occasion and when you are not in a rush. We celebrated birthday here and they make an effort to make it special for you. Our waitress was customer service oriented and our chef did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Service was awfull and the manager was rude and condescending. We made reservation for 4 people but one of our guess was on the parking lot. The manager gave us attitude and made me open my phone to show him that I made a reservation for 4. Long story short we ended up leaving because we felt we were being harassed. Never going there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The ambiance is great, however the steak was a little disappointing. The steak they brought out looked like it was sitting out for a while so we asked for a different one. The waiter brought it out in no time. Fried rice was a lil burnt but over all ok. The waiter was also ok, and brought out drinks fairly quickly. I gave it 3 stars over all everything was average.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service is slow. My entrée came out without my side order of rice. The rice was an additional 15 mins later. Steak requested medium. It came medium well. Won't even discuss the overcooked 3 baby shrimp put on my plate. I dined by the bar not the hibachi side. Manager was apologetic but how do you apologize to a hungry customer who primarily came to this Resturant for fried rice. Won't be returning unless I am

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This place was unorganized. After we checked in with the host/hostess, they just kept us waiting and waiting. Despite having a reservation, we waited for 1/2 hour without getting seated. Other people before us with reservations also had the same problem. This place needs to call one of their competitors such as Tokyo Wako or Shogun and figure out how to seat customers within a reasonable time of their reservation. Got tired of waiting and we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Andrew the cook was great made us feel very welcome. Just by him speaking to us in Spanish made us feel very comfortable there. And our server let me tell you is was awesome too. Explain how it works being our first time there. Overall a great experience

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Chef Salvador was great. The server was all over the place. Forgot our orders. Took a bit of time to get our check back. Our reservations were at 730. Came at 700 to make sure we would be seated on time. We got seated at 750 and were the last to be seated in the waiting area. What was the point of making reservations?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Sorry to have to give a bad review but everything was horrible from the food to the atmosphere to the service. We wont go back to this location. Without having to go into a lot of detail here's a list of what was wrong: Incorrectly prepared meals, poor quality steak teriyaki, totally forgotten birthday recognition by chef and staff after they asked if there was a special occasion, watered down cocktails, dirty floors and filthy, disgusting bathrooms, no ice cream included with certain dinners, no more souvenir pictures for customers, staff took forever to bring to go containers and check after meal, PLUS I got intestinal sickness the next day (dont know if that was from Benihana's or not).
The whole place seemed to be in disarray and some kind of dysfunction. I hope all these things arent a sign that Benihana's is going downhill. Its been a favorite place for our family for the last 15-20 years. Get well soon, Benihana's!! 🤢🤢🤢

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The chef was great and kept my kids engaged. However, the bus boy began clearing our plates as we were still eating. He even put dirty silverware in my sisters drink, that she was still drinking out of. He did not even ask if she was done. My niece was in the middle of a bite and he reached over and grabbed her bowl right off her plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Made a reservation at 6 pm. Got there about 5 minutes to 6 pm. We had to wait about 20 minutes before we were seated. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our seEver and cook were bothe entertaining and attentive.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The Manager Frank is terrible! We don't like how he handled. He should be fired.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Order a Trio but only get Steak and Shrimp (no chicken).
Some waiting time to get the ice cream.
Overall experience is good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The server never came back to the table after the chef started cooking. My drink was empty the entire meal and the server only cane back to give us the bill. The Chef was great. I have gotten better service at Del Taco. For the price of your meal you should get better service. If you don't care about service come here. The front desk was rude and the severs if you want to call them that are terrible. Good luck if you end up here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Benihana is always a great choice for consistently good food, ambiance, entertainment, and service.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The reservation was for 7:45 PM and we finally got seated at 8:30Pm. It was a weeknight no crowds. But still there were not enough chefs available. You supposed to get an entertainment value when you go there. The chef was inexperienced and made many mistakes. We got a better entertainment show watching the chef next to us while we waited. Never again.
The carpets were disgustingly dirty. Because the chef tried to flip the shrimp tails Into their hats at the end of the show and they are flying all over the floor. And then he kicks them under the table. They can borrow my rug shampooer if they like. I nicknamed him Shaquille O'Neil. Just like the shrimp tails into the hat, he could never make a free-throw.
I got the "Benihana Trio"and everything was good until I got my piece of chicken breast. I watched it sit on the grill for about 20 minutes. I did not know the Benihana trio included filet mignon, colossal shrimp and crispy chicken jerky. And I paid 40 bucks for that? Holy Cow, what are you kidding me?
And there were two birthdays at our table. But since we got seated so late, our server had to go try and find some of the girls to sing to us. Everybody had already left.
And on your last section where it says what would you recommend this restaurant for. "Select all that apply", I did not have the choice of "none of the above".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The service was excellent. Isaac was our chef and the meal was delicious. He was entertaining and the young girls at our table seemed to enjoy very much. He did a couple of things we hadn't seen before.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fun experience. First time at Benihanas for my 14 y.o. son. Our chef, Salvador, was super fun, engaging and entertaining. The seafood was scrumptious, but too much! We needed a doggy bag for half the meal. I think the challenge with reservations is that you're at a table for 8, and you have to wait for the other families to sit at your communal table. So, if you have a reservation for 2, you'll need to wait a bit before your table of 8 fills, and then wait again until your chef has all your orders. But this is the way it works. Order some drinks and appetizers from the bar, make friends with the others at your table, and enjoy the experience. Each chef has their own personality. Talk to them, engage. We had a fun night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was my childrens first experience and they completely loved it. The cook put an amazing show while he cooked and had both children very involved which made it so much fun for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Chef Tan is fun and a great cook :) a very good entertainer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

good food great customer service bar has good mixed drinks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Pleasantly surprised. Hadn't been to Benihana's recently and had a wonderful lunch with great food. Our hibachi chef was very friendly and entertained the kids. Service staff was very attentive. A nice time was had by all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

WE WERE DISAPOINTED.... OUR MEAT WAS OVER COOKED, THE SERVER DIDNT FILL OUR DRINKS AS THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN AND WE HAD TO WAIT A LONG TIME TO BE GREATED BY THE SERVER WHEN WE FIRST SAT DOWN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Usually Love Benihana, not this night at all! It's like they took all there trainees & put them to work tonight.
Terrible service by the waiter :
1. Forgot ordered appetizers for us and the customers next to us.
2. Got the orders wrong for them as well.
3. Had to ask him constantly for things he should have been offering us & everyone ealse.
4. When he served us soup & salad his thumb was in all the bowls as he served them.
5. Every drink of soda he served the table was completely flat & we had to ask for them, alot.
6. Because he got the extra orders of rice wrong for the people next to us the cook didn't gave enough fried rice for all of us who ordered it so we all got half filled bowls? ?
There is more but enough.....

The cook was obviously new & severely undertrained ,not just in showmanship but he abasultly did not know how to cook. Everything he made was just terrible ,everything! Not just in our opinion but all the people at the table. The women next to us refused to pay for some of the items & was told by the manager she had no choice. My stake for just one instance had so much salt on it it was like eating a salt lick. I could actually belive it or not go on and on with more , no cook should be allowed to surve guest till they are a top notch chef to the old standards of what used to be " the master chef of Benihana"
That is why we pay a premium to dine there over say Fridays or Applebee's
We are extremely unsatisfied and Disappointed that Benihana has lowered it's standards to this low level. Absolutely inexcusable!
A waste of hard earned money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This was my second time to this location. It was for my son's birthday. The food could have been a bit better for the price you pay. The service was horrible. They kept forgetting to bring us items we ordered and also were very delayed in getting our drinks refilled. Also had water spilled in my wife's purse. Won't eat there again and probably can find a better overall value for eating out at another place next time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Instead of the usual Teppan Table experience, our group celebrating my birthday decided to eat in the "regular" dining room. A very nice menu, especially we were early enough to take advantage of the Happy Hour menu specials. Our server was quite attentive, especially with refilling our beverages. And the dining area was quiet enough that we could carry on a good conversation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very good we love it
My kids were surprise to see the chef do his little trick

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The hospitality was very poor. Front desk was very rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 19, 2017

It was excellent, food was outstanding. Birthday girl loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Was charged for a banana something that I did not order but didn't realize it until I looked at the receipt and I got home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a good time. My only issue was that we had a 6:45 reservation and we didn't get seated until 7:20.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was amazing. We came to celebrate fathers day. Best time ever 😘😘

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great chef, great good, fun place for a party of 8

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Make a reservation for nothing, wait for 45m because the restaurant not enough chefs!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Tasty food, but a little underseasoned this time. For whatever reason, once the cook left it took 25-30 minutes to get our plates cleared, our dessert, and our bill. Everybody just vanished. But that is not typical for this restaurant. Deeply appreciate the free birthday entree, however!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

smallest zucchini ever!!! the show is great, but they are getting cheap on the food.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.