About Benihana - Santa Anita

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (83)
special occasion (74)
kid-friendly (43)
See All
great for lunch (34)
fit for foodies (25)
romantic (22)
late-night find (19)
hot spot (13)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

For our first time there was a very wond ...

Dined 4 days ago

For our first time there was a very wonderful experience I will be back

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Entertaining birthday dinner

Dined 7 days ago

Got there and still had to wait to be seated even though we had a reservation. Once we were seated we waited for about 5 minutes for our drinks to be ordered. Then we waited about 15 minutes for our chef. Our drinks and entrees where worth the wait. Everyone was friendly and we enjoyed out show.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

I've been coming to Benihanas for about ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I've been coming to Benihanas for about 16 years. Of course not this location. My family and I usually go for birthdays part because they sing happy birthday . This day we went to celebrate my sons bday. I had several issues. One my daughter orders vegaterian fried rice. She got fried with chicken which she's doesn't eat chicken. Second my other daughter ordered shrimp and beef and she got shrimp and chicken. When the show was over the waitress came and was giving everyone boxes which we felt rushed . No one finished there food yet. I told her not ready she left then when I was ready by giving her eye contact and just sitting there. She didn't come give us a box. I waited 15 mins then I asked if we can get a picture . She didn't ask if anyone on the table wanted a picture nor did anyone get singed to. There was other pl on the table with bdays and they all left unhappy

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Fun and festive dining atmosphere. The ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Fun and festive dining atmosphere. The food was good but not outstanding, but it was fun to watch it being made. Our dinner took 2 hours, which was too long.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place for a birthday tradition. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

A great place for a birthday tradition. The chef's entertainment, fresh food and responsive service will meet your expectations.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Lunch

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great staff, good food and a fun occassion lunch. I haven't been here in years but would return based on this experience. Go with a party of 7-8 and you should get your own teppenyaki table. The reservations are only for the teppenyaki tables.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a first time! We'll definitely ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great for a first time! We'll definitely coming back👏👏👏

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It's ok

Dined on May 8, 2016

The place is not big, we waited for 10 minutes even with reservation. the service is ok. the food is ok. Nothing really stand out for us to remember. I would not come back to this place since nothing really special about this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Was hoping for better

Dined on May 7, 2016

I was there with my family to celebrate my son's 16th birthday and was hoping for a better show. The host was terrible and so was the girl who greets you at the front. It didn't feel welcoming at all. The food was good, but my son was very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went here to celebrate our anniversary. Food was delicious. Service was great. The chef made a show for us that was very enjoyable. I'm planning on going back soon. You can't go wrong with Benihana!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Bad customer service/waitress had an attitude

Dined on May 1, 2016

I have never had such a bad dinning experience as this resterant. I have been to other benihanas and the waiters are usually pretty good. But the waitress we had at this one acted like I was bugging her everytime I asked her for something . And half the time I landed up asking someone else for what I needed because she would not even bring what I asked for. We will not be returning to this one. And half way through the meal she just disappeared. Then the table started asking the manager for items then her sent over someone else to help with the table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday celebration

Dined on April 29, 2016

Went there with my two boys (10 and 13 years old) to celebrate a birthday. We had a great time. Our chef, Oscar, was funny and entertaining while still cooking a very tasty meal. They even gave us a picture after our meal to commemorate our occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a female chef for the first time she was excellent. This place is also good for kids the chef was very outgoing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent experience

Dined on April 4, 2016

I must say we had an amazing experience at the Santa Anita location I shocked with the customer service we received on our visit .the waitress was on point with all of order and just kept checking up on us to make sure we were still OK with drinks,food etc . from pass experiences this is by far the best location for service.Thank you Jasmine for such an amazing experience .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

not good srvice overall

Dined on April 3, 2016

not good srvice overall at this Benihana in santa anita

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chefs are awesome!

Dined on March 31, 2016

We always ger great service by the chefs & servers. Love the birthday certificate! Makes me & my husband come back a few more times! And the chicken fried rice... Oh my! The best!! Yumm!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

Well the food was blah. Was not very int ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Well the food was blah. Was not very intrigued your basic dishes of fried rice and grilled vegetables. The drinks were pretty good and with vibrant colors. I don't know if it was the couple seated across from us or the girl who took the order but there were to many mistakes, From the order taken to actually cooked food. But the staff was very nice and helpful...

food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for my husband birthday with $ ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Came here for my husband birthday with $30 birthday cerfiticate. Everything was good. We got seat right away when we got in.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This location is the worst Benihana's ever

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food taste was not the usual I should have know when the onion soup looked so dark and weird my Benihana delight shrimp & chicken was not good shrimps tasted weird just a bad experience except price that was still 100 dollars chef seemed to be on his first day was sloppy and not good

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Poor experience this time

Dined on March 16, 2016

Usually you can't go wrong with Benihana, but this particular experience was just not good. This was a birthday dinner for my friend, so I wanted a really great experience. First, the server forgot his steamed rice & green tea, and even after reminders never brought it. 2nd, if you sit a table and the chef is Adam....move! His personality or lack thereof was so boring...as dull as a wall stud. All the other chefs around us were hooping...hollering...laughing...turning on disco lights....our chef did NONE of that. He just mumbled to himself, couldn't hear what he was saying, wasn't sure if we were supposed to laugh or not. He cooked the food fine, but had zero presence & personality. 3rd, this was my friends birthday, and another person's birthday at our table, neither of them got the birthday song! All other tables around us were getting birthday songs, but we didn't get one. On the plus side, we sat at the bar after a poor dining experience, and the bartender Marcos was great! He made one of the best drinks we ever had, and had a very friendly personality as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

It's still very expensive.

Dined on March 15, 2016

It's still very expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5

The chef was great, he wasn't corny but ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

The chef was great, he wasn't corny but was a good entertainer and had good knife skills

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, wonderful exp ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great food, great service, wonderful experience.

food2
ambience2
service5
value1

The food is poor quality and small portions.

Dined on March 12, 2016

I love the salad and sauces, I was looking forward to the sprouts and the abundance of vegetables. We were served two thin slices of suchini and very thin grilled onions. The chef told us they don't serve sprouts and that was one of my favorite vegetables. We used to frequent the Benihana in Marina del Rey and I loved it. Since then, too much has changed. The music in the background was Japanese and the servers wore Kimonos. It was the whole package that made it a great place. My grandchildren had fun and they enjoyed it so really that's all that really matters.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food but it's a new location so th ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great food but it's a new location so they need to work customer service and a bit.

food5
ambience5
service5

service was great as alwAys

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

service was great as alwAys

food5
ambience5
service2

Food was good and the chef was entertain ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Food was good and the chef was entertaining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Time

Dined on February 27, 2016

Getting reservations for this place via e-mail was perfect and simple. Everything was accurate and on time. Great staff/cook and friendliness!! My son's birthday celebration was perfect!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a date nite

Dined on February 24, 2016

I have made reservations here and when I was running late I called to inform them. Once I arrived I was pleased that I was seated within minutes even though I arrived a bit late. While waiting the bartender was nice and pleasant when we ordered our drink. The sweet n refreshing blue ocean punch bowl for 2 is what we ordered. My date instantly loved it. Once seated and our orders was taken, it wasn't long before the chef arrived. Once he started cooking, he was amazing and very entertaining. He even had a few of us participate in his acts. But more importantly, the food he cook was great and perfectly made to our requests. In all, it is a great place to take a date who has never had a Benihanas experience before. She was very impressed and had a great time here. Whenever I do go to a Benihanas, it's usually when I redeem the birthday gift dinner certificate. Yet, on this night I was happy to pay full price for the both of us because of the experience we had.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there n it was really fun n t ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

First time there n it was really fun n the food was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great service, chef Adam was great and h ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Great service, chef Adam was great and hilarious. Food was delicious, just right on spices. Will come back again!

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

need better server

Dined on February 15, 2016

A server spill the food that I want to To-Go on the table, although he bring new food to us, but the portion is just half of it. I would prefer just give us the regular portion of the food that we ordered

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Faifaidelcampo

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was my husband 1st time and our chef that night was AWSOME!!! BUT our waiter appointed a female waitress who did not bother to check on us or to see if we needed anything! So much for customer service! We had to get her attention and next time I will make sure she is not our server again! But overall we did not let that ruin our night!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Chef Eric was amazing! Took my fianc ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our Chef Eric was amazing! Took my fiancé for Valentine's Day...great show and incorporating special day with hearts and simply romantic! Highly recommend this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Animated chef

Dined on February 14, 2016

First off we arrived at 8:35 (our res was for 8:45) we were seated within 5 min "awesome". Next service was great had our drinks super quick. Our chef (we've had him before) chef Allen this guy is top notch we will request him from now on. There was never a boring moment and he even sang some "Vicente Fernandez" lol crazy. He was very talkative with everyone at the table and always made everyone laugh. We felt very much at home with him. The server was very tentative and our drinks were always full. My girl and myself were there for an early valentines dinner and it was GREAT!!! Thanks BH Santa Anita. Regards, Jose C.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Slow service... maybe novice chef?

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was great as usual, but the service was slower than I remember it being. It took about 2 hrs from seating to leaving, and that's a little too long for me. The main reason was due to the chef not being able to cook multiple dishes at once. I understand they are there to also put on a show, but some chefs can multi-task better to keep things moving along.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Good but could have been better.

Dined on February 13, 2016

I really love coming here because it doesn't get as crowded as other locations. Only thing I would suggest is never seat couples with a family that comes with little children. I understand they sit random people at one table but to sit a couple who are spending their time to celebrate a birthday shouldn't be put at the same table with little children, it's not peaceful nor romantic at all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved having a female teppan chef! Sh ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

We loved having a female teppan chef! She was more attentive and this is the first time my chicken wasn't dried out. It was so juicy!

food3
ambience4
service3

Shrimp overlooked . Lobster such a small ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Shrimp overlooked . Lobster such a small portion for the price. I never received my white rice because I was the only one that ordered it thought it was coming and never did I was already finished with my food and they were going to bring it to me and said never mind. Did have them give it to my sister-in-law as a doggy bag since it was her birthday. Overall, overly buttered.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food service out standing

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Great food service out standing

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.