Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Benihana - Santa Anita

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fun (25)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Casual (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Seasonal (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (3)
Romantic (3)
Spicy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

The hostess was rude. We eat at Benihana monthly and surprised how dirty this location is now. It is one of the newest locations.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Always consistent at Benihana- this place seems to go the extra mile with the show!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

We were overcharged and the food was too salty, low quality and mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice place to have a good meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great meal and terrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Good experience. They forgot to give us our hot tea but gave ice cream instead .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our chef Isaac really made our meal enjoyable and fun, would come more often with this kind of service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Usually we watch the show for dinner, but this time we decided not to watch the show. The food that came out was COLD and the portion was smaller than the portion from watching the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Horrible service. Took forever for a waiter to approach and for the chef to appear. Waiter was argumentative and salad was not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food was terrible, dry meat, overcooked packaged chicken..... $3.61 extra for each vegetable fried rice on top of the cost.... We spent over $24 dollars on fried rice alone.....

Service was terrible.... and there were ONLY 4 full tables going

How far they have fallen

Only good thing was Tan, the cook he was fund and tried the best he could....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fantastic service and friendly staff from the moment you walk in to when u leave!! GREAT food and everyone knew the menu inside and out and gave great recommendations !!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

DONT COME HERE!!. Unless you want insects on your food. Very bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Terrible service. Had to wait for our reservations and a chef. Really disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2017

It just takes too long! Even with a reservation you aren't seated for 20-30 minutes. Once you are seated and place your order, it takes another 45 minutes to get all of your order. The food is prepared , and served, in such a way that most things are cold by the time you get to eat your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We have enjoyed our fair share of Benihana locations, and now that we live in Pasadena, this is the closest location for us.
The restaurant is on the newer side and not as dimly lit (seemingly higher ceilings) like a typical Benihana’s. The restaurant also has a patio area which is very nice. The restaurant & bathrooms are clean. The actual menus however, are not. Both of our menus (& it appeared, others at our table) were sticky & not been wiped or checked.
The service is poor. Probably the worst in our experience of Benihana. The hostesses (3) were not friendly and quite abrupt. Our server was slow & not attentive. Our table were continuously searching for him. They took the table ice cream order, did not take away the dinner plates so everyone was left looking for space to eat the ice cream. (Our server was pleasant, just not good).
Our Chef (Alex or Adam?)was excellent. His show was better than your standard chef show. We had a couple at the table with “food requests” that he dealt with very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Isaac was an amazing Chef and very attentive would gladly watch his show again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The server did not visit the table enough for refills or condiments. half the table which included my bf and I didn't get mustard sauce because the chef ran out. He said he would bring us some but never did. I was there for my birthday and we told the server but she only celebrated the other person at our tables birthday brought them ice cream and sang. the other people seated with us told her it was my bday but she ignored them and us. I ordered shallots and some pieces tasted like they had tiny bits of sand or rock on them, other than that they were cooked well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Birthday. It toook soooooo Long just to get our cook. It’s not like they were booked there were hardly any people there. We were there over 2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Adam the chef was awesome. Rocky the server needs to improve on his quality of service. Got lost for more than a half our. If he took his break, he didn't notify us. We were left wondering where he was and who we could ask for assistance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Service was great, Sam was awesome & food was amazing!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Food taste so so. The chief cooked 3 same orders in one order and then split them in 3 portions. The got 2/3 of the shrimp tails. My friend she got 2/3 of the tail portion of the lobster tail. Don't feel it worth the money for that portion of food. The chief put very little oil of every food he cooked, all the food are burnt on the surface.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

It was really good! It was my wife’s birthday, and it couldn’t of gone any better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was great. Service is always great. You don’t really wait around for the waiter to come and help you out with your order. Our food was great and so were the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I love this place.. the food is always so yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We had a reservation and then waited 45 minutes to share a table with some strangers who acted annoyed that we all wanted to sit together. Did not stay for the meal and instead went to the Cheesecake Factory and had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Celebrate Grandparents Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Had reservations and still seated late. Once sat at table plates were dirty. Our server was slow and rude. The cheff cooled our food wrong and almost forgot one of my plates. It's sad to see a establishment like this provide this kind of service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The service was wonderful. Our chef was very friendly and funny, made the children very happy. Would love to go back soon and it would be nice to have the same Chef Tan. Made my daughter a memorable birthday experience, it was our first time there.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Reservation was so easy and staff was quick to seat us. Overall, great experience. Would definitely recommend and come back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was my sister birthday and the first thing that started off wrong was the air condition was completely out we sat until 930 and waited for the chef! Our reservation was at 8:00pm. When they chef came out he didn't have the ticket wit the order on it so he was very sloppy putting food on the wrong plates and then I asked him to make my shrimp well done he said they were done and I told him they wasn't and he put my food on someone else's plate at this time I went to speak the manager and which she came and told me she'll have my food cooked in the back and when she brung my told the chicken was under cooked the shrimp were not done! So I told he I didn't like the food she took it off the bill which was fine but I l left hungry! The chef accidentally put garlic butter in my water also this was a very horrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

My cooks name was Isaac he was awesome not just the food or cool cooking skills but the conversation was spot on .. Great energy and truly loves his job

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I received a notification that my reservation was cancelled when we arrived for this reservation. Additionally, the hostess seated our party & we just sat there and no one came to take our order after she told us our server's name. Not sure what happened, but when we saw another table get their drinks and we didn't even order, we asked a server close by what happened & she gave us a "deer in the headlight" look & didn't give us a response. It wasn't until we went to the manager that they sent someone our way. Didn't really explain anything, just that there was a "miscommunication" with the hostess. He brought us some complementary sushi to hold us over because we were SO HUNGRY & waiting. Overall, it was a mediocre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our server Derek took forever to come back to ask for refills . Our cook was nice but our chicken fried rice was lacking flavor.
I think he was a bit nervous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We went at a quiet time so it wasn't busy at all for an early dinner. Food was good and tasty as always! Chef Sam was a bit more creative in his presentations with the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 24, 2017

As usual a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Celebrating our birthdays. Hardly saw our server. Our soup and salad bowls were picked up quite late. I understand he was assisting other tables but we were ignored quite a bit.

We didn't even have our picture taken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Make sure you print your certificate, if I counted on our waitress we would not got the discount since the certificate was not printer.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I've been going to Benihana as a kid. My daughter was leaving for school so we wanted our last dinner with family here. My appointment was 8:00 pm we got seated at 8:30. Our cook didn't start cooking until 9:15 . We sat there at the table with out our salad or soup until around 9:25. When our cook finally came he ran out of soy sauce . Our rice was on the grill burning when he was turning and asking another cook for more and the guy just laughed at him and gave him back the old soy sauce . Then the cook seen his manager walking by and asked him while of course our rice was burning . Then I asked the server just for water. I waited for 30 mins then I had to ask her again for my water. She never came by with forks for the table instead she left the tray behind the cook and the poor cook had to multitask and cook for us then turn his back to give the table forks . This was like the worst service I ever got at a Benihana and I didn't enjoy my food cuz I was so upset . We were the last table to leave for the night . We got out at 10:15 when our reservation was at 8

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We frequent Benihana Arcadia. On this occasion, our chef was Eric. He was fun, but more importantly, he cooked our meals perfectly, with all the right amounts of seasonings. No complaints at all other than they could have floated a bit more dark rum over the Mai Tai.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was great. Great service, great food. Overall a really good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.