Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 67 times today
Special offers available. See details

Benihana - Santa Anita

4.2
816 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Fun
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(626) 340-2276
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Huntington
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Happy Father's Day! Don't just give a gift. Give an experience unlike any other. For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in
Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a
$10 Benihana Promotional Card. Offer available 5/15/18 - 6/17/18. Promotional Cards valid 6/18/18 - 7/23/18.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 816 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.0
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
66% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 18 hours ago

The food was great. The chef cooked a good meal. The god was very tasty. Thank you to our chef Sergio

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Graduation from CalState LA

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 3 days ago

I have been signed up for a few years now with open table and I've never had issues. Although this year gave me trouble. I was under the impression I hadn't received my birthday certificate and made it known to the staff, but all they did was give me a number to call. Thankfully I found the email but it had been sent to my spam. Out of all the email offers I get from open table why would this specific one go to spam? I showed the staff the email but they still gave me issues because the certificate wasn't printed out. Finally someone told me to forward the email to the Santa anita email address so they could print, which is what I did. When it came time to pay the bill my certificate hadn't been applied. I brought this up with my server who said he never received an email. Had that been the case why didn't he mention this before the meal? I tried several more times to forward the email but for some reason it wouldn't work. The process of printing the certificate and paying for our meal took half an hour which made me and my party late to other appointments I had made. Our server kept on disappearing for long periods at a time. And no one acknowledged my birthday even though it was asked by the server, and we didn't get our complimentary photo or Benihana birthday song. Those experiences were one of the main reasons I would go. I was very let down by this experience because I've been going to this location for years. Our food was good and our chief was very entertaining. That was the only highlight of the night.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Chef was GREAT! Service was so bad. There for belated birthday celebration and we order 2 dish for 3 peoples. All of those order do come with ice cream and for birthday person. I order green tea and chocolate. Out of nowhere he mess up everyone order. I didn’t get my green tea ice cream.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 5 days ago

We had to wait for our table for an extra 10 mins after we arrived timely at 6:30. We were not offered to take photo. So we took our own. We were celebrating my husband’s birthday it was as if we were there just for dinner.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Worst service . Let’s start off with the hostess . She had an attitude when ask on the status of the table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

It was good and food was delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Birthday
Parking was very bad

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Great food and wonderful service, an all around excellent experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 15, 2018

This Beni Hanas has always needed help since it opened. Our reservations were for 520 and didn't actually eat until 630 pm!.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We came to celebrate Mother's Day! Restaurant was short on cooks so they moved a worker from the sushi bar to cook for us. From the beginning he had no clue how to mix the rice! The meat was salty and the shrim was not cooked completely. We spent close to $300.00 for a dinner with out flavor. All items were either burned or raw. Benihanas was deceiving by not telling us that they had assigned to us a cook without any knowledge of cooking. They should refund our money since they ruined our mothers day celebration. Hopefully management reads this review and does something about this.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This is my second time dining at Benihana at this particular location, and I will definitely come back! Both times, my experience has been awesome. Great, entertaining chefs, and attentive service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had 3 different servers. And neither one of them were doing a good job checking up on the table. Despite that issue, Randy our chef was a amazing chef! Definitely requesting him on my next visit here. The food was very flavorful and my steak was cooked exactly how I asked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Good experience good service and great food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We love benihana’s except waiting for the chef to start cooking always takes forever!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Overall experience was terrific! The only disappointment was that we had to wait 30 minutes before we got seated on a Monday night for a relatively early seating at 5:30pm. We had a reservation and we arrived on time. The little kids in our group were restless.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

My boyfriend and I went for our 2 year anniversary yesterday and it Walsh’s great. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Cook was rude to kids
He failed on tricks
He overcooked rice & vegetables

Bill tips percentages were incorrect

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Food was ok

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

went for lunch with my family yesterday. nephews had a fun time. lunch menu very reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Took my daughter and her friends here for her 17th Birthday. They all loved it. The service was great. The chef kept everyone entertained throughout the dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We have a wonderful time in BENIHANA ,And the service is very good ,the chef also very good and funny ,but maybe it's a new chef don't know how to control both the lobster and beef cook too dry 1!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

I was a little disappointed. The fried rice is usually my favorite, but this time it was dry and almost crunchy. My steak was a little tough. I think Benihanas has started scrimping on some of their ingredients especially the garlic butter.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Our family loves Benihana and go for our kids birthdays and special occasions. Normally we are very happy with our experience, but this time we didn't. Our chef was less than enthusiastic to say the least. Our main complaint is that we repeatedly asked our chef for the two dipping sauces they usually give you at the beginning of the meal. He said he would get them, but just continued cooking. Finally my husband got up from the table to ask someone else for he sauces. They brought the ramekins to the table and the chef still didn't poor the sauces. He didn't do it until all the food was already cooked. By that point half of our food was already cold because we had been waiting so long. We did not enjoy our meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

We love going to Benihana Santa Anita for birthdays and anniversaries. The food is very fresh and the chefs are fun & great at what they do.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Did not like that the dinners were served hit and miss, meaning that I was finished with my meal before my husband's was served. He did order salmon well done, but the chef knew that and should have put the fish on the grill earlier. Shrimp was overcooked. Will use up the remaining balance on the gift crd at lunch, Hopefully, that will be better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Good food, good dhow!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Worst Benihana experience ever. It took our cook 2 hours to finish cooking the tables meals from the time he started at the grill. We ordered fried rice and when it came to distributing the fried rice he was 2 short so didn’t serve us any until he made a new batch at the end of the meal. This will be the last visit to this location. Manager never came by to check how our experience was going and at the end the waitress was still going to charge us for 4 fried rices because she thought we ordered 2 additional ones.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My family and I enjoyed our experience with Benihana. Very much so that we will be going back very soon.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Didn't respect the online reservation brushed off when trying to check in and ingored seating us had to wait additional 30min after reservation to get seated and didn't even come to speak with us. HORRIBLE FRONT SERVICE!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Always love going to this benihanas, Our chef Adam always puts on a show. Never a dull moment with him

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Came to celebrate my birthday. Service was bad. Chef arrived very late . Took forever to get drinks. At the end of dinner , server took birthday photo, which never arrived..! Never coming back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

This was my third time at benihanas ever, it's always been this location that I come too. The waitress was very nice & attentive, and our chef was sweet but you could tell he was new and still learning so I wish him the best (': the food was excellent as always, and our bill wasn't too bad either considering I had the birthday certificate 😎 just like my first two times here, I loved every moment especially in the end when they surprised us with a photo aw that was truly the icing on the cake. Can't wait to come back, until next time !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food was good as usual and the service, the chef Adam is very nice performer, was totally different what we experience a year ago at the same place. I am wondering how I can request same chef on next visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The food and service was very good. We were seated around 8:15 when our reservation was at 7:30, but we understood they were short staffed that night. It made for a very late dinner with my 10 year old. The value of the meal was in the entertainment of course. I found the onion soup with all the onions in the meal to be too much onions. I suggest incorporating a different soup, less onions, and less salt. Last, better desserts with more choices including Mochi ice cream with dairy free options as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Celebrated a birthday
We had a great chef and food was delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

We had a great time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great experience, and the food was delicious! Will definitely be bringing my family back to this location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Service was horrible!! 6 course meal but if you don’t ask they won’t offer what’s in the meal

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Major problem with chief: dirty hands and nails, dropped everything he touched : knifes, spatula, forks, and worse yet, reused the dropped fork til I reminded him. It’s understandable to train new chief and let him practice during lunch hours, but he does not even care about basic cleanliness and basic cooking. Made my lunch gross, burnt, and very uncomfortable

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21

Tweets by Benihana - Santa Anita