About Benihana - Santa Anita

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita
Benihana - Santa Anita

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Los Angeles
Best Restaurants in Arcadia ›

Special Occasion (54)
Good for Groups (44)
Kid-friendly (37)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Late-night Find (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was excellent, compliments t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service was excellent, compliments to the chef and he was very entertaining.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great the cook made it fun ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was great the cook made it fun the service was on point thanks

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except for the rece ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything was great except for the reception desk. People kept walking by us and didn't greet us until a manager walked up. I think the girls working need bit more training at the reception desk. The waitress was awesome and the cook was really good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went on a Tuesday night and the service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Went on a Tuesday night and the service was horrible. Everyone in the restaurant had a coupon but our party did not, plus four of us were drinking. Our waitress completely ignored our party but was all over the parties with coupons and they did not order any drinks, bad decision. Almost as bad as ours to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

I celebrated my last birthday here. We h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I celebrated my last birthday here. We had a great time except for the fact our reservation was at 8:15 and they didn't seat us until 8:30

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Perfect for celebration and get together ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Perfect for celebration and get together for family and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would recommend Benihana City of Indus ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I would recommend Benihana City of Industry Brand. Ambiance and staff more efficient and alive. Santa Anita was dreary and service was ok. We didn't even get a souvenir picture taken or asked if we even wanted one. Not my best experience for being the first time at this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The chicken was horrible Need to get be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The chicken was horrible

Need to get better quality food !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

the waitress was hard to find after she ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

the waitress was hard to find after she took our order.

We ordered two sake and she only bring one. We ordered stream rice and she brought NONE, and she was nowhere to be found and we end up to ask another waitress for our stream rice.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE. THE "COOK" D ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE. THE "COOK" DID A FABULOUS JOB AND COOKED THE FOOD JUST THE WAY WE LIKED IT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here, I absolutely lov ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

First time dining here, I absolutely loved it!! The food was delicious, can't wait to go back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, Every time we go we ask ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Love this place, Every time we go we ask for Zack. Zack is a great chef, we know how to put up a good show. My whole family love him. Next time you go ask for him.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely loved the experience. First ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I absolutely loved the experience. First time at Benihana's. It was well worth it and the cook, Andrew, was funny, entertaining and engaging. I was a little worried having gone with my toddler, but she was entertained and sat the whole time. The food was the best! We definitely plan to return! Thank you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best birthday dinner my mom has had ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The best birthday dinner my mom has had ! Thanks to the server and chef ! On top of everything and made us feel at home

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation for 12:30 on Saturday ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Made a reservation for 12:30 on Saturday. Got there on time and we were told that they were not ready due to not having staff. Had to wait 25 minutes to be seated. Food was very salty. Restaurant was very hot, all of us were sweating. Gave us a free appetizer for the inconvenience.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food and chef were great. Service was no ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and chef were great. Service was not so great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Great chef Adam! Entertaining as they co ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great chef Adam! Entertaining as they come and very skilled!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food and great service. Very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Incredible food and great service. Very happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and great food. Enjoy ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent service and great food. Enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent chef and service. For a small ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent chef and service. For a small table the chef didn't skimp on the cooking or the show. Made my birthday meal a fun one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef and food were very good. The wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The chef and food were very good. The wait staff and greeting people were not friendly. I guess they are overworked. We never received our drink orders in a timely manner. At one point , I asked our chef if he could get someone to deliver another beer we had been waiting a long time for. At one point, we started taking bets on how long it would take to get our drinks. Overall a good experience, the chef and food make up for the mundane attitude and service of the staff

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The hostess completely ignored us and so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The hostess completely ignored us and so the manager very rude rude rude. My girlfriend got there early so they told her with attitude that they could not sit her into everyone was there it's understandable. I was impressing my 4 little princesses my daughters. So when I got there the hostess acknowledged that so there I was waiting longer then my reservation was. Time 820pm I waited an hour and then I went and told the hostess if the table was ready she said again it's the full party already here ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!!!!! I got irritated so anyone would then the manager came and did nothing. They say us with a young couple too. They are the worst service ever they need new staff there the corporate would not appreciate this kind of treatment to any guest

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Like how clean it is every time that we' ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Like how clean it is every time that we've been there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but not great. I requested ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was good but not great. I requested no mushrooms with my chicken and I still got mushrooms. I didn't know which chicken was mine when he was cooking so how was I supposed to stop him from mixing mushrooms in my chicken. Seating on the middle was kind of tight. I had an okay time. Most likely won't come back in a long time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress was horrible. Daniel our ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our waitress was horrible. Daniel our chief was great and he ask if Matt another server could help us. We spoke to Jim (I believe was the Manager in charge) and still did not feel comfortable. My family and I eat at benihana at minimum two times a week however, we go to the Torrance or Santa Monica facilities mostly. I have been to benihana as far as Gold Coast- Australia, Port of Spain-Trinidad and Tobago and never experience disappointment I have received at this complex.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The chief was ok, but I had better servi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The chief was ok, but I had better service before ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The chef was exquisite and humorous! He ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The chef was exquisite and humorous! He kept us very entertained and also cooked us a delicious meal! The service was great. Refills were brought very often and the place was very clean and enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time at the Santa Anita Benihan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My first time at the Santa Anita Benihana certainly did not disappoint! I(I had previously only been to the Ontario restaurant)! The chef was great, of course, service was prompt--and I much enjoyed my "late" birthday dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and the chef was as well. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was great and the chef was as well. Our sever wasn't. Hardly saw her through our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Very noisy and difficult to converse wit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Very noisy and difficult to converse with others. Odd sitting next to strangers. They drank too much. Uncomfortable

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The A/C was broken the day we where and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The A/C was broken the day we where and sitting at the grills it was unbearable. I had to push my chair away from the grill to try to get my

body temperature down but that did not work. I tried going outside but it was 110 outside and 2 fires with in miles. It was a miserable night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

This place is great for a double date, a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This place is great for a double date, a nice relaxing dinner or special occasion. The food is great and the atmosphere fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cooked the meat before the rice, wouldn' ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cooked the meat before the rice, wouldn't let us order from lunch menu even though it was lunch time, felt rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was one of the best Bennihana's we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was one of the best Bennihana's we have been too and our cook was THE BEST!! (Zachary)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun family place to celebrate something. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fun family place to celebrate something. If you consider the jokes and antics of the hibachi cook as sort of a dinner show, then the $30-$40 per person price tag seems reasonable. The food was better than okay, but nothing special. We went for a belated Father's Day gathering and had a noisy festive good time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

the chef was ok, did not do much of the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

the chef was ok, did not do much of the cooking show. the food was way too salty, way too much seasoning, i would tell them to go easy on the seasoning ( large amount of soy sauce and salt and pepper ) next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We love Benihana and go there very often ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We love Benihana and go there very often, 4+ times a month but this last time we went I was very disappointed. We received poor service, I was without a drink for a very long time. When my drink finally arrived it was the wrong drink. Our chef decided it'd be fun to make our rice at the end when the people right beside us ordered steamed rice and they were able to enjoy their rice along with their food. Our chefs food was flavorless and didn't put butter in our meat, lobster, and scallops. He also seemed to have burned everything. We also noticed how the onions are smaller, only one egg was used for our rice, less noodles were served and how when we ordered ice cream only one small scoop was served.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Benihana's is ALWAYS GOOD !! Always mak ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Benihana's is ALWAYS GOOD !! Always make a reservation because is always busy, if you don't, the wait tends to be long. Even on a weekday, so don't be fooled ! :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I need to go back soon and need the name of the cook who attended us so can pick him again!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana Arcadia

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Good place to celebrate birthdays. If you sign up for their birthday club, they give you $30coupon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.