About Benihana - Santa Anita

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Ben-santa Anita - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
California Roll - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Sushi - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Trio - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Family Style (21)
See All
Good for Groups (20)
Fun (17)
Kid-friendly (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Authentic (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Romantic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food was delicious our chef Erik was ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Our food was delicious our chef Erik was great he made sure to cook our food to our taste and he was funny, also our waitress was great too she kept making sure we were taken care of such as with refills and explaining to us how the birthday coupon worked. Was a very pleased and satisfied birthday dinner for me and my husband.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chef we had was a great cook, but he ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The Chef we had was a great cook, but he spoke about racism, and tips, not what I wanted to hear on my Birthday celebration. He needs to keep it lighter that those types of subjects. Also spoke about his future dreams, and not being a Chef for ever. He was not really funny, but again did a great job on the cooking aspect. The food was great, and made sure that my special request of no sesame seeds was followed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We celebrated my sons 11th birthday here ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated my sons 11th birthday here at his favorite restaurant. Our large group was laughing and enjoying every moment. Food was great and service was even better.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our cook Elena was excellent! She made o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our cook Elena was excellent! She made our evening very enjoyable!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The guy that cook for us was not that gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The guy that cook for us was not that great... we have been here before and they all have been great..but this one no imagination...or not as created or the enthusiasm level was not there.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food we liked that wait was minimal ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Good food we liked that wait was minimal. Our server was on top of things and knew menu choices well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cook Zachary has been the best by fa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The cook Zachary has been the best by far that we have had at this restaurant. He's funny and very entertaining. I would request him every time we would come back. He's a great asset to the company ☺️

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I give this review a 4 stars instead of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I give this review a 4 stars instead of 5 because "Everything is great except that night there is no Benihana staff taking birthday picture which we could retrieve from your website".

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our chef as so entertaining, he made us ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our chef as so entertaining, he made us laugh so hard, and his cooking was delicious! Ask for Chef Sheridan next time you dine at Benihana of Arcadia-Santa Anita Mall, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Benihana was a delicious and enterta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Benihana was a delicious and entertaining experience for everyone! Every staff member was very friendly, accommodating and gracious. We would definitely return for another enjoyable treat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andrew is the best!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Andrew is the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated a little before our reser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We were seated a little before our reservation. The service was very good. Adam, our chef, was a very entertaining and played off the guest. I had a very good experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The wait was too long , 45 min before we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The wait was too long , 45 min before we were seated, then 30 min before our order was taken, another 30 min before chief arrived. No more

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Janessa was wonderful took her time to a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Janessa was wonderful took her time to appreciate the fact we were celebrating my Daughter's Birthday. Chef Sheriden kept us entertained and wanting more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pour experience overall was good our che ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Pour experience overall was good our chef was very funny and entertaining , my only concern is that our waitress at the end of the dinner didn't offer the complimentary ice cream that is included in the meal . We have to ask for it and even the other party in the table after seen us eating they have to requested . My kids were asking for ice cream since we eat there most of the time

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Celebrated our son's birthday and had a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Celebrated our son's birthday and had a lot of fun. Our chef was the best and we request him whenever we go to Benihana's. Ask for Michael and get superior cooking skills and friendly, fun service at Santa Anita Benihana. We love our dinners and celebrations at this restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was ok but not that great. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was ok but not that great. The thing I enjoy the best was he chef he was funny, entreating and he had a very nice attitude. I will not want to go there for the food again. I thought there was going to be more entertaining during the cooking . I took my daughter for her birthday nobody sang happy birthday:(

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Out chef was amazing and hilarious. Grea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Out chef was amazing and hilarious. Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was awesome! He made us laugh a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The chef was awesome! He made us laugh and the food was deeelish he was a great cook!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Manager Michael made it a truly special ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Manager Michael made it a truly special night and our server Raelynn was on point!

Bartender Travis did a wonderful job creating cocktails for my wife.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Family Style, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dinner and show. Bar area Sucks ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Awesome dinner and show. Bar area Sucks for service... Needs improvement..!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

everything was great. Our waiter Lorenzo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

everything was great. Our waiter Lorenzo was excellent and the cook was perfect!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good experience. Unfortunately, th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very good experience. Unfortunately, the bar's sitting area doesn't serve coffee.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Family Style, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was horrible and the food u get ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was horrible and the food u get for the money is ridiculous , I was still hungry after , the only good thing was the chief we had

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We were in a rush so decided to sit in t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were in a rush so decided to sit in the bar area instead of the teppan tables. The food came out very cold and salty. This is a great Benihanna but it is better to sit inside and watch the chef cook for you. We will definitely go back but only with plenty of time to enjoy the teppan table chef preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Delicious food as always. Good entertain ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Delicious food as always. Good entertainment. One of my favorite places to eat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fresh, healthy and tasty. T ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was fresh, healthy and tasty. The place was comfortable and quiet. The the price was right and we had left overs to take home. Our chef Ellena was delightful, she just added joy to our meal. I already recommended your place, and of course Ellena-The Chef. ( I hope I spell her name right)

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a reservation and it took an hour ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a reservation and it took an hour to seat us then we were between our waiters breaks so they switched our waiter the waiter completely forgot about us. They took forever to bring the check and forever to return it. They didn't give my friend anything for her birthday even though we mentioned it was her birthday. I would not come back here the service is really slow and the host greeting in the front is really rude even though I told him three times we have a reservation and the whole party was there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Erick the (cook) did NOT know how to coo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Erick the (cook) did NOT know how to cook, this was our worst experience, he was making dumb comparisons to el pollo loco???

also why do some of the cooks wear an open beard? it is a health issue. Please fix it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

I had a reservation here for my wife's b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I had a reservation here for my wife's birthday. We got there on time for our reservation and we were seated within 5 mins. Then wehad to wait over an hour for the chef to show up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Nelson was our chef, the way he seasoned ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Nelson was our chef, the way he seasoned and cooked or food was amazing. He is very amusing, the kids loved Him. This was our second time at the Santa Anita Benihana's and surprisingly we got Nelson again. I highly recommend this Benihana's than others I visited. My husband and myself agreed we will only come to this Benihana's for now on.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only bad thing was that I charged 16 ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The only bad thing was that I charged 169 dollars. In a different transaction the same day and I have to cancel me card and get a new one

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daniel had a great personality but doesn ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Daniel had a great personality but doesn't know how to cook!! Sad to say I've never written a bad experience out of 20+ visits at this particular location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Place sucks. Food is not tasty. Service ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Place sucks. Food is not tasty. Service sucks. Over priced for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Waitress worked hard, but pulled in many ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Waitress worked hard, but pulled in many directions due to the amount of people she was serving. So, she neglected to bring me what I requested from her the first time. The dinner took a long time (2 hours) to get completely. Food was hot, but bland and small portions. Salmon was just okay. Steak was tough to chew and stringy. Over-priced for what you do get.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was excellent, compliments t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service was excellent, compliments to the chef and he was very entertaining.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the lunch however I was very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We enjoyed the lunch however I was very very surprised that the waitress would touch the rim of the glasses, when she placed them on the table. She did this repeatedly. I thought everyone in the restaurant industry knew not to touch the rim of the glass when serving.

The other alarming thing she would hardly be of customer service to two African American gentleman. She pretty much ignored them. It was confirmed when they left only a penny as a tip. My employer is Asian, I think she immediately judged him as having money therefore she would be presumptuous in thinking she was going to receive a large tip.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great the cook made it fun ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was great the cook made it fun the service was on point thanks

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except for the rece ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything was great except for the reception desk. People kept walking by us and didn't greet us until a manager walked up. I think the girls working need bit more training at the reception desk. The waitress was awesome and the cook was really good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went on a Tuesday night and the service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Went on a Tuesday night and the service was horrible. Everyone in the restaurant had a coupon but our party did not, plus four of us were drinking. Our waitress completely ignored our party but was all over the parties with coupons and they did not order any drinks, bad decision. Almost as bad as ours to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.