Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Benihana - Santa Anita

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (41)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for Groups (39)
See All
Fun (35)
Good for a Date (32)
Kid-friendly (26)
Casual (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Family Style (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Healthy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Authentic (8)
People Watching (8)
Romantic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (0)
Great for Outdoor Dining (0)
Sort By:
S
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good we love it
My kids were surprise to see the chef do his little trick

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The hospitality was very poor. Front desk was very rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It was excellent, food was outstanding. Birthday girl loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Was charged for a banana something that I did not order but didn't realize it until I looked at the receipt and I got home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We had a good time. My only issue was that we had a 6:45 reservation and we didn't get seated until 7:20.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was amazing. We came to celebrate fathers day. Best time ever 😘😘

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great chef, great good, fun place for a party of 8

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Tasty food, but a little underseasoned this time. For whatever reason, once the cook left it took 25-30 minutes to get our plates cleared, our dessert, and our bill. Everybody just vanished. But that is not typical for this restaurant. Deeply appreciate the free birthday entree, however!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

smallest zucchini ever!!! the show is great, but they are getting cheap on the food.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Chef did not engage himself with the guest. No enthusiasm what so ever. When you go to any Benihana it should be expected for the chef to make the place more enjoyable. I mean for the price I expected more of a show then what I experienced. Not sure if I’ll go again knowing I’m gonna be shorted an entertaining time

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The birthday's luncheon went very well and, I believe, everyone really enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The chefs at Benihana are very entertaining. Benihana is very kids friendly and keeps older children engaged as well. The pricing of the food is extremely worth it and it tastes heavenly. Beinihana is great for birthdays, get togethers, and has a cozy atmosphere. The waiters are very friendly and the manager makes us feel welcome to Benihana.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The Chef was so entertaining! Nothing like I've seen before. He did different things such as the pac-man instead of the usual heart that every chef makes and he used some sort of lights and not only did he make the food on point, but he was very entertaining. Thank you Michael!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The vent has huge problem, the smoke kept coming to the customers, and the trick from the chef failed couple times, some ingredient dropped on the floor but he didn't tell someone to replace for him, he just made without and less so overall taste is bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I've come to the Santa Anita Benihana's several times, and at most part has been pretty good in both food and service. However, this recent gathering was at best fair/almost poor. Here's the breakdown.

SERVICE/ENVIRONMENT
(PRO) Waiter/Host were friendly/ Sat us down in a timely manner.
(CON) They didn't bring my friend's tea after twice confirming with them/ They messed up on the birthday dessert by giving it to the wrong customer/ Chef arrived an hour after we sat down/ The location was near the bathroom and at time to time we could just smell the cleaning products as people went by.

CHEF
(PRO) Chef was friendly
(CON) New to the table or at least not very experienced yet/ Dropped the spatula twice during his trick and almost hit the birthday customer/ Food was all over the place especially when it came to making the fried rice/ Not enough tricks or failed at most part/ Cleaning around the food as opposed to moving the food aside and then cleaning sections./ Process of making food took way too long because he kept looking back and forth at the food prep order. Also kept measuring the food portions which took extra time/ Shrimp wasn't properly proportioned to each person as some people only got three pieces and the others received a lot more.

FOOD
(PRO) At most part the food was okay/ My friends liked their steaks/ Chicken was good.
(CON) The order of making the fried rice was off which caused the cooking process to take longer than usual/ Zucchini was over-cooked. Left it there too long.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 1, 2017

They were running a little late so we went into the bar & Patrick was very attentive. When we were seated the group we joined was friendly & our chef Adam was very entertaining. Overall we enjoyed our afternoon out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We had an 8:45 PM Sunday Evening reservation for our last meal in Pasadena area while on vacation. We arrived 10 minutes before our reservation and we did not get seated until almost 9:15 PM. Then after being seated, we were not served until 9:50 PM, when our Chef finally arrived at our table to cook our food. They tried to apologize with a Free Tempura appetizer - that was cold.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The steak was in chunks that were hard to eat and the chicken was rubbery. The process of getting things cooked and delivered seemed a bit off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My young son and I enjoyed a nice lunch here. Our Chef, Michael, was friendly, funny and enthusiastic. Our server was attentive and the food was delicious! We look forward to returning with the whole family.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Out of the 3 local Benihana's I've been to, I enjoy the Arcadia location best. Once you get through the challenge of parking (especially on the weekend) the restaurant itself is great.
The staff is top notch and I've had better luck with getting a more entertaining chef here than at other locations. Sometimes I get a rookie chef, but they're pretty good, too.
And the food is always great, of course! I highly recommend this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 25, 2017

It was our first time visiting this location. Our reservation was at 4pm. We were not seated until 4:40. When we were seated a drink order was not taken for about 10 more minutes. The chef lacked professionalism and our food was burned (rice and meat). We ordered a 6 course meal and only received 4 (and the check) until we asked for the dessert. The tea that came with our order was never served. We were celebrating my friend's bithday. We were expecting to get the classic Benihana picture that they usually give (at other locations). When we paid the check one of my friends needed change for the tip. She tried to get change at the bar. She was told they couldnt help her. Needless to say we will not be returning to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Felt it was overpriced for what we got. Family of four for dinner with one drink no apps and the bill was $135 plus tip...just like Melting Pot overpriced for average food

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We were seated at a table with no napkins of chop sticks. Our server took a long time to get the other guests at our table what they requested. She did not realize we still had no napkins until I requested it yet no cloth napkins were giving to us but a big stack of paper napkins. The server also only got my guest and I one soft drink refill. Our chef Nelson was amazing. He engaged with the guests at the table and his food was delicious and well seasoned. He met every one of the guests requests. He was superb!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Was fine till they changed the server
Ordered a 6 course meal and wasn't even asked about my ice cream and the other group there with us was there for there little sons Birthday and she never bothered to even try to sing happy birthday to him.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

adam was amazing, very good chief and very entertaining.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had reservation but i still have to wait 30 more minutes to be sitted just like walked in customers other than that service was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Horrible service our chef was boring he looked too much in a hurry . Our waitress disappeared on us I was really thirsty no drinks for 30 min had to swallow food dry
I never had this problem at beninahas in city of industry . Never coming back to this place omg horrible can't express that enough .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Michael the best cook! Not to mention Alberto the server! Loved the food so fresh!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Everything is quote good however the wait time is a little bit too long between seated and service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Zack was a great chef! He really livened up the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Zack of course was wonderful preparing our food. The shrimp fried rice was great amd well worth the extra. The look of overall enjoyment on my grandmothers face was priceless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day. There were too few servers and chefs. This created a chaotic situation where we had to get our own drinks and napkins. It was compounded by our table being monopolized by a large family at our communal table custom designing their food and driving the chef crazy. This should NOT be allowed!!! Management was non existent. I don't want to spend $150 on cafeteria atmosphere and wait over one hour for it to be prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

There were 8 people in the table plus a child which we ordered fried rice for my son. The chef should have made 9 total but the chef only made 8 bowls and did not make my husband fried rice which he had to wait until all the main entree was cooked and we were almost done with our meal.
Hostess who sat us was not friendly at all!! The server did not come to refill our drinks until we were done with our meals.
Horrible experience for Mother's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The attention is 5 stars, Chef was awesome my birthday kid love the attention.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Expensive , bad gift card system, Expensive , bad gift card system

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

So happy to have been able to celebrate my Mom's birthday here. The food was tasty, made to order, absolutely perfect! Zach, our chef was amazing, fun, a perfect find for the job!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Overall the service sucked 😠 First of all the hostess weren't friendly at all, Second they didn't even sing happy birthday 🎉 to me and another guest that was the occasion😞We did tell our server. Finally I wanted a photo 📷of my family and I we didn't get one wth. I won't go to this location(Arcadia)ever again 😝The food was good though👍😋

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Omar, our chef was great! Super friendly, funny, and cooked the food perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My family and I had a very bad experience dining here for my birthday celebration. With a small child, our reservation was a 8pm. We got seated at 8:20pm. The drink order was at 9pm. For water, it takes 20 min to arrive! The people at our table rolled their eyes. Everyone was on the edge and hungry. We didn't get to eat until 9:40! Andrew our chef was entertaining. He made it up for all the hungry hippos! Would I return, maybe not. The service was not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.