Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Benihana - Santa Anita

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (47)
Fun (46)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Good for Groups (41)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Family Style (31)
Kid-friendly (27)
Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (9)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Spicy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The table is too cramped and awkward seating with strangers. It would've been much more comfortable with one less chair. Service was horrible and medium rare means raw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The Chef was great (Sal) and had a great attitude. Next time I go I hope I sit at his table again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

I've been going to Benihana for years was happy when they opened one in Arcadia. I had 2 horrible experiences there, & they don't accommodate you for their bad business, but I went back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I don't like the fact that the person cleaning the table next to ours just wipe half the crumps off the table to the floor. Then, while we are being served, someone came and vacuum the floor next to our table. This is disgusting and should not happen at any restaurant. Why is this a practice at many restaurants? Why vacuum next to a table when someone is being served and/or eating!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My food was very cold cook took forever to cook 👨‍🍳 and I was eating as served but if your thinking of waiting for the cook to finish your whole meal would be cold my date was very disappointed her food was cold and mine was done before the cook was done cooking my steak I was very disappointed that I just date steak warm at the end I want both of meals warm at the end and my date would never come back

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The service and the enthusiasm of the chef was overall great, he interacted well with the customers and got as along on his jokes.
Although, the food was ok...it wasn't great (and I've been to other Benihana's). The chicken was slightly undercooked and it was hard to eat it when the rice and the entree.
My party had an idea that the chef was a trainee and it was confirmed by the manager after we told them about what we thought.
Hopefully, it works out in the long run.
Overall though, the experience was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Our chef, Adam, was awesome. Took a while for us to get seated even though we checked in early for our reservation. Also waited a while for the chef to arrive, but once he arrived the food/show were worth the wait.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Service was ok. Our chef Michael was awesome. Food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating our son's 13

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Last two times here have been very underwhelming. Service was really poor- very friendly but items were late and uncoordinated all night. After two reminders about our daughter's sushi order we just said forget about it. It was time for dessert. The excuse? "There're just really backed up in there." (Well they must have been because the order was placed 90 minutes ago). Definitely detracted from the experience. Chef was very pleasant but lacked any flair and left our birthday boy wondering when the "fun stuff" was coming. Sadly, I think we've had our last special occasion dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Service was slow and our server kept forgetting things we asked for. The chef was great and entertaining as usual. Took a long time for the soup to come out. Still, a fun place for birthdays.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This is our first time at this location. I have been to the one in Las Vegas many years ago.
The lunch was very reasonably priced, the food excellent.
Our chef Michael was the best. I'm going to ask for him next time we go, and the next and next!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, People Watching, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This particular Benihana is terrible at seating customers. We had an open table reservation and still had to wait 40 minutes to be seated. It would have been faster if we just walked in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Had a fantastic time as always at our fave place. Service, ambiance and food as usual was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Not only was our dinner delicious but it was also a fun gastronomical spectacle. Our chef Derek was exceptional and he trated us with the warmth family does. Our server Chelsea complemted him so well and they both made us feel at home for our meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. We are never disappointed always a+

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Daniel was our cook and he was great. I've been going to Benihana for 20 years and this visit was fun and inviting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great service. Awesome show. Good food. Fun energetic loud time. Good value. Overall fantastic dining experience!! :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Chef's cooking stove was dirty with prior cooked food upon seating. Waiter never checked for further drinks. Very poor customer service. We advised waiter we were there for a birthday. No one came and sang happy birthday for family friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was a very lovely experience as always our chef was Daniel very friendly and entertaining I give him a 10 🌟

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I made my reservations for 10 people at 7:15. We're show up 10 minutes before 7, but we won't have a table until 8.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always a good experience at Benihana, which ever location you go. Food was great and chef was awesome. He did some tricks I've never seen before.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The chef we had was fun. He showed some tricks I had not seen any other do. So it was a lot of fun.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a new chef his name is Henry a.k.a Slow. He was super cool and funny. (It was his first day)

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything went as planned my girlfriend got her flowers at Benihana's

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were disappointed in the Chef.. he did nothing special like we saw some of the other chefs doing. He wasn't very talkative and wasn't really wanting us to have fun. They good was a little too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The overall experience was great the service was wonderful

The only problem is the management shadowing the service makes the chef nervous..... Asking question about the food while the chef is cooking its better for the manager to ask question until after the chef is done doing his work

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was great and Chef Michael is funny. Not crazy like some chefs.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

i love this place! the food is soooo good!!! i have been there three times and planning to go more. it's a bit pricey but totally worth it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Chef was great. Very entertaining. He had some creative commentary. Service was sloooow. After 1 hour, all we had were drinks. We hadn't even ordered yet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Chef was on point had guest laughing most of all chef has been working on his craft big up's👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best Benihana's I've been to. Our Chef Andrew was great and I would definitely recommend requesting him. I'll definitely be going back. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food was great as usual. We had fun, but our chef was not as fun in terms of interacting with us as previous ones.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Celebrated my son's 8th birthday at Benihana's. The staff, food and service were great. My son woke up the next morning and said that was the best day ever.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The only problem I had with the service was that our waiter did not provide full service. He failed to ask for the ice cream that was included with our meal, instead made an excused that he was not informed. All he could've done was check what we ordered instead of making an excuse that he was not inform. We had to remind them as well that it was my friend's bday. While they sang, they just left and never even took a picture to keep as a momentous. We just decided to leave after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A great experience for a special occasion. We were seated quickly and had time to look over the menus. The show was fun and made the experience great. Our chef Nelson was wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our chef was Sam. He was great. I took my grandson to dinner for his birthday. Sam paid special attention to him while cooking our food. Being playful and explaining things being cooked. That brought such joy to my grandson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I took my family for my birthday and spent $185, which makes sense for what and where we ate. However, it took almost an hour after sitting on table to receive the soup. By the time everything was cooked, it almost two hours after first sitting down . I am dissatisfied with how long, and performance of server assisting table. I even made a comment to one of the supervisors. The chef was great. Everything else I felt was not worth the cost. Thank you,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We enjoyed the food and the drink I ordered was delicious and something I had never seen at other restaurants. They make you feel special for birthdays and special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always a great time. Always entertaining and always delicious food. Only thing we missed this time was we mentioned we were there for a bday and they didn't take our picture as usual. Our son was sad to have no memory. He collects the Benihanas pictures.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.