Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Benihana - Santa Anita

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

MAKE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON SIZZLE.
The more you give, the more you get.
For a limited time, RECEIVE A $10 PROMOTIONAL CARD WHEN YOU PURCHASE $50 IN GIFT CARDS. Offer available 11/14/17 – 12/31/17. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

MAKE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON SIZZLE.
The more you give, the more you get.
For a limited time, RECEIVE A $10 PROMOTIONAL CARD WHEN YOU PURCHASE $50 IN GIFT CARDS. Offer available 11/14/17 – 12/31/17. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

MAKE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON SIZZLE.
The more you give, the more you get.
For a limited time, RECEIVE A $10 PROMOTIONAL CARD WHEN YOU PURCHASE $50 IN GIFT CARDS. Offer available 11/14/17 – 12/31/17. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18.

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fun (25)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Casual (19)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (7)
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Cozy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic place to share a great meal and conversations with everyone at your table! Our chef, Derek, was so awesome and made our night! Recommend reservations and to know it is not intended to be a fast meal. Relax and enjoy!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Cranberry mojito was to die for! Always a great experience at this location. But be sure to make a reservation. The tables get to fill up quickly. Love the chateaubriand, so moist and tender!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It was kinda more hype than actual value but having the chef cook in front of the group made for a cool show.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service, good food. Friendly staff and atmosphere was lively

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Benihana is always delicious and entertaining. White peach sake sangria is delightful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was pretty disappointing. Green tea was room temperature, I received the wrong order, etc.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great show and great food with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Overall good experience. We requested a certain chef but was told they could not guarantee. We were unable to get the chef requested but the meal and experience were still pretty good. We ordered an ice cream for dessert and he received the smallest scoop of ice cream for $4.50. Totally not worth it. Also felt that the veggies (mushrooms, zucchini) we much smaller portions than I have ever had before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Wait too long, half hour from reservation time to sit at table, another 45 min to have chief at table. Chief is messy in his cooking. Table is too crowded to eat comfortably. Food is just ok. Won’t come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Adam was wonderful! Great with the kids and grandparents.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Waited over an hr and 20 minuets at the table and our chef never came out while the table across sat down 20 minuets after us and their chef came out before ours I had gave myself 2 hrs for dinner before a movie we planned for after but had to leave without eating..
Ruined my Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Our chef, Sal, was amazing. Great show and great flavor. Customer service was great and the food was awesome.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Host was friendly and courteous. Got sat before reservation time which was great. Service was attentive and food was delicious. Will definitely make this my regular eat out place .
Very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Our chef wasn't that great ! Food wasn't like it has been before! they take way too long way chef to come out and start cooking.. you wait like 2 hours before you get your food,

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Went for my birthday, the have a great birthday special. Enjoyed food, food quality, but only thing that needs improvement on is the showmanship. My chef was a little lazy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Everything was good except our waitress seemed get bothered when we were not ready to sign happy birthday. In addition we did not received a complementary special occasion photo. We have been to this location several times throughout the years and left disappointed with this service.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Chef Geremie was very entertaining. Our little boys enjoyed his “show”.
Wait staff was very slow and inattentive. We had to cancel appetizer because our dinner was prepared first. It also took awhile to get our cocktails.
Even though we had a 5:00 reservation, we had to wait 15-20 minutes for our table, despite there being several available tables.
A tip to the management: families dining with young kids should be served promptly. We had to leave before a birthday dessert since kids were getting restless. It was a bit disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Our server was Joe, at first he was attentive, but as more tables were assigned to him I noticed he disappeared. We saw him when he brought over our appetizers and drinks, but then we didn't see him again until dessert time. Ryan was our cook. He was still new, but he tried. Not at all the show we are used to, but still tasty.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Had a reservation , checked in early and was sat early, which was great because we were hungry! Eddie was very attentive and had an outgoing personality. Sam's cooking was on point. Steak was tender and juicy and his show was very entertaining. A lady manager came by to check on us which was a very nice gesture . Kudos to all of them for doing such a wonderful job . We will definitely come back to this location. No doubt!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 15, 2017

I was not happy at my last visit. I was there celebrating my Birthday & told this to the waiter at the beginning, but somehow he ended up forgetting. Also, both waiter & server took alcohol shots from the other party sitting at our table. I wasn't aware workers are able to drink OTJ - maybe that's why the waiter forgot I was there celebrating my Birthday. We also did not get our picture taken, not sure if that's something Benihana no longer does or again, the waiter forgot. Other than that, food was great.

Tags: Great Beer
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

The service was bad didn’t get my lobster roll until I had to enquirer if it was still coming I was ready to cancel it. I got a drink glass that had left over residue in the glass then my plate still had sauce from the patrons before us. Then We felt like we were rushed out... the cook had just finished cleaning the grill from cooking and we were asked if we needed to go boxes... and we were handed the check for over 200 I you would think the service would be better... sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 11, 2017

chef was not experienced and food had very little flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Our experience was absolutely amazing, our waitress was amazing. She was on top of everything, very helpful. Our chef was so energetic and fun, we loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

The waiter was extremely inattentive and very rude, no regard for time management or customer service. We complained to the manager twice and she was apologetic but that was after 45 min of waiting on appetizers and our entree chef had already started making our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

So many things wrong with our visit. Had a reservation for 4 pm didn't get seated until 4:30. Then we didn't order for ANOTHER 30 min. Meanwhile my baby was screaming bc he was hungry so we had to take him outside and order something quick so he had something to eat. We had a dirty broom next to our table with the dustpan and we moved it and 20 min later it's back at our table and when we asked them to take it away they looked at us like we were crazy for asking them to put a DIRTY BROOM AND DUSTPAN out of sight at a nice sit down restaurant!!!! Food was super salty. Very disappointed on so many levels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

This is our second visit in the past few months with the same chef. The food was severely over cooked and salty...AGAIN. We’ve been going to Benihana’s for years and have always had excellent food and service. The past two experiences have been entirely due to having a chef who just doesn’t have any basic cooking skills. You don’t slow cook seafood on a hot hibachi grill. Nice guy...awful chef. If you happen to go to this location, be sure to request “NOT Isaac”.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2017

This was our best experience ever and we have been coming to Benihana for 18 years regularly. Our server was amazing and very attentive. Our chef remembered us and was really great! He cooked the best meal I have ever had in my 18 years of coming to Benihana. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Authentic, Great Beer, Casual, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

I requested to have my bday dinner at this restaurant , unfortunately the service was horrible , the food was not great , our chef made things a little better but still not worth the almost $300 we spent here . I've had better service at other location! Sorry to say but don't think we'll be back to this location .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Waiter was rude but everything else was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

Everything was good but the wait was too long considering we had reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 20, 2017

I've been going to Benihana since I was a little girl and there was only the flagship one in Beverly Hills. It's always been a real treat - the chefs are truly entertaining! The only reason that I go to this particular one, attached to the Santa Anita Mall in Arcadia, is that it's close to my parents' house. Otherwise, I would go to another Benihana. Several times the service has been lacking, mostly slowness is seating and taking our orders. This occasion was for my birthday, and while the service wasn't quite as bad, it still dragged. I can't blame our server entirely. One of our tablemates (if you're not aware, it can be several parties at one table) was constantly on the phone and not only wasn't ready to order, but kept changing his order. Perhaps Benihana could request no cell phone calls at the table? It inconveniences the entire table when one person slows down the ordering process because he's been on the phone and is indecisive. Our chef, Derek, whom we have had cook for us before, was fabulous. His charm and cooking skills made up for everything else.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 18, 2017

I love Benihana's! It is my 'go to' place for celebrations and always my favorite for my birthday dinner. The food is top notch and always prepared perfectly. There is an extensive menu to choose from so if you are a foodie, go to Benihana's. Many thanks to Isaac, our Samurai chef for our recent visit. He was a skilled chef, my meal was delicious, and he was so entertaining. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The hostess was rude. We eat at Benihana monthly and surprised how dirty this location is now. It is one of the newest locations.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Always consistent at Benihana- this place seems to go the extra mile with the show!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We were overcharged and the food was too salty, low quality and mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Nice place to have a good meal

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great meal and terrific service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Good experience. They forgot to give us our hot tea but gave ice cream instead .

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our chef Isaac really made our meal enjoyable and fun, would come more often with this kind of service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Usually we watch the show for dinner, but this time we decided not to watch the show. The food that came out was COLD and the portion was smaller than the portion from watching the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.