About Benihana - Santa Anita

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (76)
special occasion (66)
kid-friendly (43)
See All
great for lunch (30)
fit for foodies (19)
romantic (12)
late-night find (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (8)
great for brunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

The A/C was broken the day we where and ...

Dined 5 days ago

The A/C was broken the day we where and sitting at the grills it was unbearable. I had to push my chair away from the grill to try to get my body temperature down but that did not work. I tried going outside but it was 110 outside and 2 fires with in miles. It was a miserable night.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is great for a double date, a ...

Dined 6 days ago

This place is great for a double date, a nice relaxing dinner or special occasion. The food is great and the atmosphere fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Cooked the meat before the rice, wouldn' ...

Dined 6 days ago

Cooked the meat before the rice, wouldn't let us order from lunch menu even though it was lunch time, felt rushed

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was one of the best Bennihana's we ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the best Bennihana's we have been too and our cook was THE BEST!! (Zachary)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

the chef was ok, did not do much of the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

the chef was ok, did not do much of the cooking show. the food was way too salty, way too much seasoning, i would tell them to go easy on the seasoning ( large amount of soy sauce and salt and pepper ) next time.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We love Benihana and go there very often ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We love Benihana and go there very often, 4+ times a month but this last time we went I was very disappointed. We received poor service, I was without a drink for a very long time. When my drink finally arrived it was the wrong drink. Our chef decided it'd be fun to make our rice at the end when the people right beside us ordered steamed rice and they were able to enjoy their rice along with their food. Our chefs food was flavorless and didn't put butter in our meat, lobster, and scallops. He also seemed to have burned everything. We also noticed how the onions are smaller, only one egg was used for our rice, less noodles were served and how when we ordered ice cream only one small scoop was served.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana's is ALWAYS GOOD !! Always mak ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Benihana's is ALWAYS GOOD !! Always make a reservation because is always busy, if you don't, the wait tends to be long. Even on a weekday, so don't be fooled ! :)

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

Dined on June 7, 2016

I need to go back soon and need the name of the cook who attended us so can pick him again!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Benihana Arcadia

Dined on June 7, 2016

Good place to celebrate birthdays. If you sign up for their birthday club, they give you $30coupon.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2

I wanted to order some sparkling wine to ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

I wanted to order some sparkling wine to pair with my salmon meal, and wasn't sure what "split" meant. I assumed it meant half a portion or less, but decided to ask our server for clarification. She wasn't sure herself and told me it meant "red" wine. She went to double check and brought back 2 small bottles of the mumm Napa & rosa regale to show me which clearly were not "red" wines. My companion ordered a beer and she served it and left without opening the bottle. I also requested that my meal be prepared with something else in lieu of butter and she said since I ordered the salad, that the meal was prepared in the back which is not true. I eat there quite often and know that the chef prepares the salmon on the grill still, but the salad itself is prepared in the kitchen. She checked again and informed me that my salmon can be prepared with oil instead of butter. My salad took extremely long to come out (I heard the chef ask the server twice) and my companion was almost finished with his food by the time my salad did finally arrive. When it finally arrived, they forgot the dressing. At this point, I didn't bother asking and just ate the salad with the ginger sauce instead. My concern is with the waitstaff. While I understand that the waitstaff may not know everything, they should be well educated about the menu and if they are new, they should inquire as opposed to providing customers a wrong answer they fabricated themselves. It is important for a large chain such as Benihana to provide excellent service to uphold their name. The chef was great as usual, he's cooked for us in the past so no complaints there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adam was fantastic and my parents loved him!

Dined on June 5, 2016

I took my parents to dine here and they absolutely loved it. Adam was fantastic and kept us entertained the entire time were were there.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Something different. Everything is made ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Something different. Everything is made in front of you, our chef was entertaining. It was our first time there, it was a group of 7. Food was delicious. There was some raised eyebrows when the bill came, but it was a special occasion and everyone had a good time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our chef was very entertaining

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Our chef was very entertaining

food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservations for my fiancé & some f ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Made reservations for my fiancé & some friends to celebrate my bday & our friends bday. I got the Benihana delight & my fiancé did as well! Our friends both chose the trio. Our food was delicious & our chef was awesome! He interacted with us & with the kids! He made sure our food was good & made sure we had everything we needed! Our server was also very nice & helpful.. always checking up on our refills & anything else we needed! Sad that I don't remember both of the guys names but it was a job well done! 👍🏼😊

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 24, 2016

Had a great time. Food was great. Employees were awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

For our first time there was a very wond ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

For our first time there was a very wonderful experience I will be back

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The chef Didn't have much experience, th ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The chef Didn't have much experience, the food was ok, not what I expect it. The food got served little by little, took time to get everything in the plate. we got seated next to a couple that had 2 kids that did not stay still, climbing on the table yelling etc. it would have been nice if the host asked us if we were ok seating with little kids. It was my husband birthday and it was not enjoyable having kids on our table.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our daughter has sesame seed allergy and they were very helpful

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Entertaining birthday dinner

Dined on May 19, 2016

Got there and still had to wait to be seated even though we had a reservation. Once we were seated we waited for about 5 minutes for our drinks to be ordered. Then we waited about 15 minutes for our chef. Our drinks and entrees where worth the wait. Everyone was friendly and we enjoyed out show.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

I've been coming to Benihanas for about ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I've been coming to Benihanas for about 16 years. Of course not this location. My family and I usually go for birthdays part because they sing happy birthday . This day we went to celebrate my sons bday. I had several issues. One my daughter orders vegaterian fried rice. She got fried with chicken which she's doesn't eat chicken. Second my other daughter ordered shrimp and beef and she got shrimp and chicken. When the show was over the waitress came and was giving everyone boxes which we felt rushed . No one finished there food yet. I told her not ready she left then when I was ready by giving her eye contact and just sitting there. She didn't come give us a box. I waited 15 mins then I asked if we can get a picture . She didn't ask if anyone on the table wanted a picture nor did anyone get singed to. There was other pl on the table with bdays and they all left unhappy

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Fun and festive dining atmosphere. The ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Fun and festive dining atmosphere. The food was good but not outstanding, but it was fun to watch it being made. Our dinner took 2 hours, which was too long.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place for a birthday tradition. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

A great place for a birthday tradition. The chef's entertainment, fresh food and responsive service will meet your expectations.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Lunch

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great staff, good food and a fun occassion lunch. I haven't been here in years but would return based on this experience. Go with a party of 7-8 and you should get your own teppenyaki table. The reservations are only for the teppenyaki tables.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a first time! We'll definitely ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great for a first time! We'll definitely coming back👏👏👏

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It's ok

Dined on May 8, 2016

The place is not big, we waited for 10 minutes even with reservation. the service is ok. the food is ok. Nothing really stand out for us to remember. I would not come back to this place since nothing really special about this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Was hoping for better

Dined on May 7, 2016

I was there with my family to celebrate my son's 16th birthday and was hoping for a better show. The host was terrible and so was the girl who greets you at the front. It didn't feel welcoming at all. The food was good, but my son was very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went here to celebrate our anniversary. Food was delicious. Service was great. The chef made a show for us that was very enjoyable. I'm planning on going back soon. You can't go wrong with Benihana!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Bad customer service/waitress had an attitude

Dined on May 1, 2016

I have never had such a bad dinning experience as this resterant. I have been to other benihanas and the waiters are usually pretty good. But the waitress we had at this one acted like I was bugging her everytime I asked her for something . And half the time I landed up asking someone else for what I needed because she would not even bring what I asked for. We will not be returning to this one. And half way through the meal she just disappeared. Then the table started asking the manager for items then her sent over someone else to help with the table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday celebration

Dined on April 29, 2016

Went there with my two boys (10 and 13 years old) to celebrate a birthday. We had a great time. Our chef, Oscar, was funny and entertaining while still cooking a very tasty meal. They even gave us a picture after our meal to commemorate our occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a female chef for the first time she was excellent. This place is also good for kids the chef was very outgoing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent experience

Dined on April 4, 2016

I must say we had an amazing experience at the Santa Anita location I shocked with the customer service we received on our visit .the waitress was on point with all of order and just kept checking up on us to make sure we were still OK with drinks,food etc . from pass experiences this is by far the best location for service.Thank you Jasmine for such an amazing experience .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

not good srvice overall

Dined on April 3, 2016

not good srvice overall at this Benihana in santa anita

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chefs are awesome!

Dined on March 31, 2016

We always ger great service by the chefs & servers. Love the birthday certificate! Makes me & my husband come back a few more times! And the chicken fried rice... Oh my! The best!! Yumm!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

Well the food was blah. Was not very int ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Well the food was blah. Was not very intrigued your basic dishes of fried rice and grilled vegetables. The drinks were pretty good and with vibrant colors. I don't know if it was the couple seated across from us or the girl who took the order but there were to many mistakes, From the order taken to actually cooked food. But the staff was very nice and helpful...

food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for my husband birthday with $ ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Came here for my husband birthday with $30 birthday cerfiticate. Everything was good. We got seat right away when we got in.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This location is the worst Benihana's ever

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food taste was not the usual I should have know when the onion soup looked so dark and weird my Benihana delight shrimp & chicken was not good shrimps tasted weird just a bad experience except price that was still 100 dollars chef seemed to be on his first day was sloppy and not good

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Poor experience this time

Dined on March 16, 2016

Usually you can't go wrong with Benihana, but this particular experience was just not good. This was a birthday dinner for my friend, so I wanted a really great experience. First, the server forgot his steamed rice & green tea, and even after reminders never brought it. 2nd, if you sit a table and the chef is Adam....move! His personality or lack thereof was so boring...as dull as a wall stud. All the other chefs around us were hooping...hollering...laughing...turning on disco lights....our chef did NONE of that. He just mumbled to himself, couldn't hear what he was saying, wasn't sure if we were supposed to laugh or not. He cooked the food fine, but had zero presence & personality. 3rd, this was my friends birthday, and another person's birthday at our table, neither of them got the birthday song! All other tables around us were getting birthday songs, but we didn't get one. On the plus side, we sat at the bar after a poor dining experience, and the bartender Marcos was great! He made one of the best drinks we ever had, and had a very friendly personality as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

It's still very expensive.

Dined on March 15, 2016

It's still very expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5

The chef was great, he wasn't corny but ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

The chef was great, he wasn't corny but was a good entertainer and had good knife skills

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, wonderful exp ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great food, great service, wonderful experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.