About Benihana - Santa Anita

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (45)
Special Occasion (40)
Fun (40)
See All
Good for Groups (38)
Family Style (36)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Kid-friendly (24)
Casual (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Happy Hour (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Authentic (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great Beer (4)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Chef's cooking stove was dirty with prior cooked food upon seating. Waiter never checked for further drinks. Very poor customer service. We advised waiter we were there for a birthday. No one came and sang happy birthday for family friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a very lovely experience as always our chef was Daniel very friendly and entertaining I give him a 10 🌟

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

I made my reservations for 10 people at 7:15. We're show up 10 minutes before 7, but we won't have a table until 8.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a good experience at Benihana, which ever location you go. Food was great and chef was awesome. He did some tricks I've never seen before.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a new chef his name is Henry a.k.a Slow. He was super cool and funny. (It was his first day)

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything went as planned my girlfriend got her flowers at Benihana's

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were disappointed in the Chef.. he did nothing special like we saw some of the other chefs doing. He wasn't very talkative and wasn't really wanting us to have fun. They good was a little too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The overall experience was great the service was wonderful

The only problem is the management shadowing the service makes the chef nervous..... Asking question about the food while the chef is cooking its better for the manager to ask question until after the chef is done doing his work

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was great and Chef Michael is funny. Not crazy like some chefs.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

i love this place! the food is soooo good!!! i have been there three times and planning to go more. it's a bit pricey but totally worth it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Chef was great. Very entertaining. He had some creative commentary. Service was sloooow. After 1 hour, all we had were drinks. We hadn't even ordered yet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Chef was on point had guest laughing most of all chef has been working on his craft big up's👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best Benihana's I've been to. Our Chef Andrew was great and I would definitely recommend requesting him. I'll definitely be going back. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Celebrated my son's 8th birthday at Benihana's. The staff, food and service were great. My son woke up the next morning and said that was the best day ever.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The only problem I had with the service was that our waiter did not provide full service. He failed to ask for the ice cream that was included with our meal, instead made an excused that he was not informed. All he could've done was check what we ordered instead of making an excuse that he was not inform. We had to remind them as well that it was my friend's bday. While they sang, they just left and never even took a picture to keep as a momentous. We just decided to leave after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A great experience for a special occasion. We were seated quickly and had time to look over the menus. The show was fun and made the experience great. Our chef Nelson was wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our chef was Sam. He was great. I took my grandson to dinner for his birthday. Sam paid special attention to him while cooking our food. Being playful and explaining things being cooked. That brought such joy to my grandson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I took my family for my birthday and spent $185, which makes sense for what and where we ate. However, it took almost an hour after sitting on table to receive the soup. By the time everything was cooked, it almost two hours after first sitting down . I am dissatisfied with how long, and performance of server assisting table. I even made a comment to one of the supervisors. The chef was great. Everything else I felt was not worth the cost. Thank you,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We enjoyed the food and the drink I ordered was delicious and something I had never seen at other restaurants. They make you feel special for birthdays and special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always a great time. Always entertaining and always delicious food. Only thing we missed this time was we mentioned we were there for a bday and they didn't take our picture as usual. Our son was sad to have no memory. He collects the Benihanas pictures.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We like the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Zach is an amazing chef! All your chefs should shadow his performance! Wasn't too happy with Raelyn but well hopefully she can make her rounds a little more often. Seating was a bit of a wait and took forever to get our evening started even with reservations. We will return but only for Zach! Our family had an amazing experience thanks to him! The only reason I am rating 5 stars would be due to our chef! Thank you for the great evening!

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Teppan show was good, but general service was pretty poor. Took forever for the hostess to get drinks, finalize checks take orders etc. despite the fact that the restaurant was not busy that evening.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Had such a great time and experience at the Benihanas in Arcadia. We celebrated my sisters' and nieces' birthday and Zach (our chef) was OUTSTANDING!! He made the entire dining experience so much fun and exciting for all of us. He also cooks a great meal. Overall, my family and I had a great time. I also want to include our server, she was also very friendly and funny. I would definitely recommend this place for a group event.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere. Our chef Adam was fun!!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 23, 2017

There were only 3 of us in our party and then a party of 5 that we did not know. I noticed almost all did not eat their onion soup. Salad was ok. The cook was excellent and very funny. Service was ok but had to ask for refills on tea and soda. In our party we all got steak and it was very good. I had gift certificates so that is the main reason we went, not sure I would go there again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Adam our chef was fantastic!! We had a lot of fun with him. He cooked our just like we asked.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was great. The staff was even better. Made my birthday perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Waitress was horrible, seen her maybe 2x. Had to ask several times for something, would see he coming or way and see us then would remember we asked for something. Took her 20 after boxing our food to bring bill then anther 10 or so to bring change. Manager was rude too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Decided to brinv a friend here for thier bday as a 1st time experience for them and we arrived a fee mins late and the later at the front desk wasnt too friendly about it..but after 15mins after that we were seated..the server was good...chef Vanilla Rice was very entertaining Lol...kept us all engaged...overall my friend was please and wondered why we hadnt been there sooner than now

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our chef was very entertaining and cook us a very delicious meal.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Reservation meant nothing at all ... they were backed up when we arrived ... reservation was for 730 .. they didn't start cooking at our table until close to 9pm. It was too late at that point for our daughter to truly be into it ... ordered a Sierra Mist .. had to ask the waitress for it four times . Was ready to just say forget it . Not a good visit .

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Our chef was named Zach...and he was just AMAZING. He had so much personality, got us all involved with dinner and made the night very special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We celebrated my mothers birthday at Benihana's for the second year in a row. She loves teriyaki chicken so anytime we take her out for dinner it usually involves some sort of Japanese inspired food. Benihana's offers free dinner in your birthday month. Unfortunately we did not get that this year because we could not remember what email address we used to register so we weren't sure if we received the certificate. However she enjoys Benihana's so we decided to go anyway. The food was delicious, service was wonderful, and we had a lot of fun.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We loved the ambiance of Benihana It was my wife to be birthday..... Good Job

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have been going to Behihana's for my birthday for the past several years. This year was no exception. Our teppan chef, Sheridan, was the best. He kept the table entertained and had updated jokes (much appreciated). In addition, he cooked everyone's meat to perfection. I have to say this was one of the more enjoyable experiences at Benihana and I have Sheridan to thank for it.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Chef was inexperienced. Portion is small as for the dinner price at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It is a pleasant place to go for lunch. The food was tasty, the service was good and the chef was fun and engaging.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Greatest place on earth hands down. Great food there lunch menu is beyond amazing.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Cozy, Spicy, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I loved the fact they followed the instructions for my request through the entire meal. We also had a great waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Manny was our server and he was excellent. Adam was our chef and his food was very good. He was fun and friendly in a casual way that my kids appreciated. Benihana San Francisco has to be one of your worst franchises in my opinion on all categories. I would definitely go back to Santa Anita.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was a little pricey but it was overall worth it, you think your just paying for a small entree but your really paying for the experience. Our chef Andrew was wonderful. He amazed my nephew who has a very short attention span, kept him in awe the whole time even sang jinle bell with him.

The people that say at the table with us was not fun at all, so if you go with less then 6 people it not worth going because they add other people that you don't know to the table.

Overall we had a great time except for the other two people that was at the table and didn't inact with anyone nor did they eat their food, so go and go with a full table of friends and family to have a great time.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The chef was the worse I have ever had at this location. I come here because they have the best of any other but that night was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

👍👌🏻excelente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was delicious and the chef was entertaining.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our chef was kind of new and it showed in his abilities with the food, but the food was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Although we had reservations, there was an unexpected wait of 27 minutes before we were seated. To appease our dissatisfaction of the long wait, the maître d apologized and provided 2 complimentary appetizers to our table valued at approximately $17. We received a tuna roll and a shrimp tempura appetizers. Our chef was a newbie at the restaurant and it happened to be his first day. I thought that he was entertaining and tried unsuccessfully to get the group of silent patrons at his station to react to his humor and cooking skills. The lobster I ordered had too much salt and so it was disappointingly salty. The vegetables shrimp and steak were very good and were seasoned to perfection though. I think it would be a good idea for Benihana to have comment cards with ratings of various aspects of the restaurant experience in order to improve on what needs improving. I've had much better past experiences at Benihana but overall this visit to the Santa Anita Benihana was satisfactory.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great place to have my birthday dinner with my friend! Fun table and excellent chef! Food was so good! Really enjoyed it! I would bring a light jacket though if you are seated behind the entrance as it was a bit chilly at times.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was my mothers birthday, we made reservations for 8pm, it took them a few moments to set up the table which was fine. When we were sat, we were completely ignored and was not approached by any wait staff for about 20 mins. It wasn't until the hostess noticed that we've been without service for that entire time was when she approached me to check in. The server came over to apologize stating that it had been a busy night. The only issue I took with that was that there were two other tables that were sat after us that were not full, telling me otherwise. Just didn't feel like I should be lied to just to appease for bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Nice family restaurant great service fast and good food over all great i love to bring my family here

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.