About Benihana - Santa Anita

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (56)
special occasion (54)
kid-friendly (33)
See All
great for lunch (22)
fit for foodies (18)
late-night find (12)
hot spot (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
romantic (8)
great for brunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great chef Adam! Entertaining as they co ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great chef Adam! Entertaining as they come and very skilled!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food and great service. Very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Incredible food and great service. Very happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and great food. Enjoy ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and great food. Enjoyed our evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent chef and service. For a small ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent chef and service. For a small table the chef didn't skimp on the cooking or the show. Made my birthday meal a fun one.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef and food were very good. The wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

The chef and food were very good. The wait staff and greeting people were not friendly. I guess they are overworked. We never received our drink orders in a timely manner. At one point , I asked our chef if he could get someone to deliver another beer we had been waiting a long time for. At one point, we started taking bets on how long it would take to get our drinks. Overall a good experience, the chef and food make up for the mundane attitude and service of the staff

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Like how clean it is every time that we' ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Like how clean it is every time that we've been there.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but not great. I requested ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was good but not great. I requested no mushrooms with my chicken and I still got mushrooms. I didn't know which chicken was mine when he was cooking so how was I supposed to stop him from mixing mushrooms in my chicken. Seating on the middle was kind of tight. I had an okay time. Most likely won't come back in a long time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress was horrible. Daniel our ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our waitress was horrible. Daniel our chief was great and he ask if Matt another server could help us. We spoke to Jim (I believe was the Manager in charge) and still did not feel comfortable. My family and I eat at benihana at minimum two times a week however, we go to the Torrance or Santa Monica facilities mostly. I have been to benihana as far as Gold Coast- Australia, Port of Spain-Trinidad and Tobago and never experience disappointment I have received at this complex.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The chief was ok, but I had better servi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The chief was ok, but I had better service before ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The chef was exquisite and humorous! He ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The chef was exquisite and humorous! He kept us very entertained and also cooked us a delicious meal! The service was great. Refills were brought very often and the place was very clean and enjoyable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time at the Santa Anita Benihan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My first time at the Santa Anita Benihana certainly did not disappoint! I(I had previously only been to the Ontario restaurant)! The chef was great, of course, service was prompt--and I much enjoyed my "late" birthday dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and the chef was as well. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was great and the chef was as well. Our sever wasn't. Hardly saw her through our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Very noisy and difficult to converse wit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Very noisy and difficult to converse with others. Odd sitting next to strangers. They drank too much. Uncomfortable

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The A/C was broken the day we where and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The A/C was broken the day we where and sitting at the grills it was unbearable. I had to push my chair away from the grill to try to get my

body temperature down but that did not work. I tried going outside but it was 110 outside and 2 fires with in miles. It was a miserable night.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

This place is great for a double date, a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This place is great for a double date, a nice relaxing dinner or special occasion. The food is great and the atmosphere fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cooked the meat before the rice, wouldn' ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cooked the meat before the rice, wouldn't let us order from lunch menu even though it was lunch time, felt rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was one of the best Bennihana's we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was one of the best Bennihana's we have been too and our cook was THE BEST!! (Zachary)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun family place to celebrate something. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fun family place to celebrate something. If you consider the jokes and antics of the hibachi cook as sort of a dinner show, then the $30-$40 per person price tag seems reasonable. The food was better than okay, but nothing special. We went for a belated Father's Day gathering and had a noisy festive good time.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

the chef was ok, did not do much of the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

the chef was ok, did not do much of the cooking show. the food was way too salty, way too much seasoning, i would tell them to go easy on the seasoning ( large amount of soy sauce and salt and pepper ) next time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We love Benihana and go there very often ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We love Benihana and go there very often, 4+ times a month but this last time we went I was very disappointed. We received poor service, I was without a drink for a very long time. When my drink finally arrived it was the wrong drink. Our chef decided it'd be fun to make our rice at the end when the people right beside us ordered steamed rice and they were able to enjoy their rice along with their food. Our chefs food was flavorless and didn't put butter in our meat, lobster, and scallops. He also seemed to have burned everything. We also noticed how the onions are smaller, only one egg was used for our rice, less noodles were served and how when we ordered ice cream only one small scoop was served.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Benihana's is ALWAYS GOOD !! Always mak ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Benihana's is ALWAYS GOOD !! Always make a reservation because is always busy, if you don't, the wait tends to be long. Even on a weekday, so don't be fooled ! :)

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I need to go back soon and need the name of the cook who attended us so can pick him again!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana Arcadia

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Good place to celebrate birthdays. If you sign up for their birthday club, they give you $30coupon.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I wanted to order some sparkling wine to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I wanted to order some sparkling wine to pair with my salmon meal, and wasn't sure what "split" meant. I assumed it meant half a portion or less, but decided to ask our server for clarification. She wasn't sure herself and told me it meant "red" wine. She went to double check and brought back 2 small bottles of the mumm Napa & rosa regale to show me which clearly were not "red" wines. My companion ordered a beer and she served it and left without opening the bottle. I also requested that my meal be prepared with something else in lieu of butter and she said since I ordered the salad, that the meal was prepared in the back which is not true. I eat there quite often and know that the chef prepares the salmon on the grill still, but the salad itself is prepared in the kitchen. She checked again and informed me that my salmon can be prepared with oil instead of butter. My salad took extremely long to come out (I heard the chef ask the server twice) and my companion was almost finished with his food by the time my salad did finally arrive. When it finally arrived, they forgot the dressing. At this point, I didn't bother asking and just ate the salad with the ginger sauce instead. My concern is with the waitstaff. While I understand that the waitstaff may not know everything, they should be well educated about the menu and if they are new, they should inquire as opposed to providing customers a wrong answer they fabricated themselves. It is important for a large chain such as Benihana to provide excellent service to uphold their name. The chef was great as usual, he's cooked for us in the past so no complaints there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Adam was fantastic and my parents loved him!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I took my parents to dine here and they absolutely loved it. Adam was fantastic and kept us entertained the entire time were were there.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Something different. Everything is made ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Something different. Everything is made in front of you, our chef was entertaining. It was our first time there, it was a group of 7. Food was delicious. There was some raised eyebrows when the bill came, but it was a special occasion and everyone had a good time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Our chef was very entertaining

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our chef was very entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservations for my fiancé & some f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Made reservations for my fiancé & some friends to celebrate my bday & our friends bday. I got the Benihana delight & my fiancé did as well! Our friends both chose the trio. Our food was delicious & our chef was awesome! He interacted with us & with the kids! He made sure our food was good & made sure we had everything we needed! Our server was also very nice & helpful.. always checking up on our refills & anything else we needed! Sad that I don't remember both of the guys names but it was a job well done! 👍🏼😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Had a great time. Food was great. Employees were awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For our first time there was a very wond ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

For our first time there was a very wonderful experience I will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef Didn't have much experience, th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The chef Didn't have much experience, the food was ok, not what I expect it. The food got served little by little, took time to get everything in the plate. we got seated next to a couple that had 2 kids that did not stay still, climbing on the table yelling etc. it would have been nice if the host asked us if we were ok seating with little kids. It was my husband birthday and it was not enjoyable having kids on our table.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great service

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our daughter has sesame seed allergy and they were very helpful

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Entertaining birthday dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Got there and still had to wait to be seated even though we had a reservation. Once we were seated we waited for about 5 minutes for our drinks to be ordered. Then we waited about 15 minutes for our chef. Our drinks and entrees where worth the wait. Everyone was friendly and we enjoyed out show.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been coming to Benihanas for about ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

I've been coming to Benihanas for about 16 years. Of course not this location. My family and I usually go for birthdays part because they sing happy birthday . This day we went to celebrate my sons bday. I had several issues. One my daughter orders vegaterian fried rice. She got fried with chicken which she's doesn't eat chicken. Second my other daughter ordered shrimp and beef and she got shrimp and chicken. When the show was over the waitress came and was giving everyone boxes which we felt rushed . No one finished there food yet. I told her not ready she left then when I was ready by giving her eye contact and just sitting there. She didn't come give us a box. I waited 15 mins then I asked if we can get a picture . She didn't ask if anyone on the table wanted a picture nor did anyone get singed to. There was other pl on the table with bdays and they all left unhappy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Fun and festive dining atmosphere. The ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Fun and festive dining atmosphere. The food was good but not outstanding, but it was fun to watch it being made. Our dinner took 2 hours, which was too long.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

A great place for a birthday tradition. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

A great place for a birthday tradition. The chef's entertainment, fresh food and responsive service will meet your expectations.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Lunch

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great staff, good food and a fun occassion lunch. I haven't been here in years but would return based on this experience. Go with a party of 7-8 and you should get your own teppenyaki table. The reservations are only for the teppenyaki tables.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a first time! We'll definitely ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great for a first time! We'll definitely coming back👏👏👏

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's ok

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The place is not big, we waited for 10 minutes even with reservation. the service is ok. the food is ok. Nothing really stand out for us to remember. I would not come back to this place since nothing really special about this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Was hoping for better

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I was there with my family to celebrate my son's 16th birthday and was hoping for a better show. The host was terrible and so was the girl who greets you at the front. It didn't feel welcoming at all. The food was good, but my son was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.