Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Benihana - Santa Anita

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (57)
Fun (53)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Good for Groups (45)
Good for a Date (41)
Family Style (33)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Kid-friendly (29)
Casual (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Romantic (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Happy Hour (10)
People Watching (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great Beer (6)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Spicy (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Waited 40 min to be seated after reservation and then an additional 30 after being seated to eat. Server came around twice. Once to bring our waters and then only to pick up our plates. Our check was brought to us before we were offered desert and finished eating. Chef was great but the rest of the other service was horrible! This was my moms B-day and we expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

My reservation was for 6:45, but we didn't get seated until 7:15. The management was apologetic but there were no extensions of comps to appease our very long wait. The waitress was friendly and attentive to special food preparation requests which she relayed to the teppanyaki chef. The chef was very friendly and entertaining as with most of the Benihana chefs. My filet mignon was seasoned a little too salty for my taste and some of the morsels of meat were more rare than the medium rare that I had requested. The shrimp, fried rice, mushrooms, and squash were all cooked to perfection. Our waitress gave all 6 of us ice cream even though there was 2 people's meal which did not include ice cream. I thought that was a nice gesture. In the room next to us was a group of 30+ teenage girls wearing athletic uniforms. They were laughing and having a jolly good time, but the waves of 30+ girls laughing simultaneously and along with high decibel screams made it seem like I was on the main floor of a rock concert. This was definitely not my best experience at Benihana, but it won't be my last either.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

We love this restaurant. We always plan family get-to-gathers, birthdays and anniversaries
Here. Our cook was amazing. He did different things that other chefs at the same kind of restaurants never did for us. He captivated our attention and made our dining experience excellent. He also cooked our meal to perfection and the customer service from the waitress and other staff was excellent as well. We didn't have to wait for our food long and loved celebrating my birthday here.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Food portions are a bit small. Im referring to the fried rice wasn't enough to last me until the main course was cookdd.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Be more enthusiasm, more vibration, other than that everything good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My daughter chose this place for her birthday dinner. Her reason was dinner and a show and it didn't disappoint. The food was delicious and Chef Andrew was quite entertaining . Our waitress Yasmine was welcoming and efficient. I would love to celebrate another occasion at Benihana .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Happy birthday Jenni

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had the absolute worst waitress (Alexandra or Lexi). 1) We had to wait over 30 minutes before our bottle of Sake came. 2)She brought out the wrong bottle & 2 dirty shot glasses (one had lipstick mark on it). 3)The 2nd bottle she brought out was the correct bottle but was a bottle that was 80% empty (meaning someone else's left over bottle) Yuck!. 4) She brought our brown rice an hour later (rice should be brought out the same time the food is served). 5) She was never around for our water to be refilled & our salad & soup bowls weren't taken away when we were done. 6) She never once apologized nor gave us any explanations. 7) She had the audacity to interupt us TWICE when we were complaining to the manager. The chef (Sam) was wonderful & the only reason we even stayed the entire meal. I believe Benihana needs to re-evaluate their training process before allowing someone new to work there. We were there celebrating 2 people's birthday. Needless to say we had a very irritating & aggravating experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went for my son's birthday and realized most of the tables were celebrating birthdays too. I scaned other chefs and they were all fun and entertaining. Our chef was fun and make sure we got everything we wanted. The waitress was so-so. After chef finished cooking and I was just eating my steak, my waitress asked if we needed boxes. I said no, I am a slow eater so I want to take my time. Not sure if they have time limit for each table. Overall my son had great birthday dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service ok but appetizers cane near end of meal. Iced tea refills took longer than usual.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It's a hit or miss depending on who you get as a cook. Other cook/performers were much more animated than the person we had and I've experienced better at other locations. Our food was also doused with salt which we all still ate because we didn't want the cook to feel bad. Also our waitress was MIA for most of the night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Typical Benihana but newer than most and it is large so easier to get reservations.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I love Benihanas and go there often!

Tags: Spicy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Even with a reservation, we had to wait over 30 minutes to get seated.
The food was a bit salter than usual but not too bad.
The chef and servers were very friendly and entertaining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Jack is amazing. Best Benihana chef, hands down! New location. Great food. Really a fun experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I love the chicken fried rice the steak and chicken. The staff is really friendly

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a craving for Benihana chicken dinner...our chef Adam gave us a good show very talented and entertaining... the food was delicious we enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was awesome the staff was rear everything worked out promptly and it was very family friendly

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Another awesome Benihana. Our cook was awesome and all food came out perfectly cooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Celebrated my birthday and I ordered the Land and Sea. I love Benihana because the quality of the food is excellent. Our chef, Michael was very entertaining and friendly. I liked that he pointed out that it was my birthday to the group and he cooked the zucchini to perfection! The garlic butter and sesame seed combo on the steak and scallops always hits the spot. Chef Michael comes off as very friendly, nice, pleasant and nurturing. Very talented with the knives. Our server was very accommodating too. Made my birthday dinner a night to remember!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I brought my friend for his birthday along with us was three more family members . I mentioned the birthday when I made the reservation. When we arrived the host sat us at our table and asked what the occasion was. I told them it was my friends birthday. We all placed our orders, I ordered the 6 course meal which includes a desert. After we had our dinner the waiter came over with the check. I had to ask for my desert at this point. Then waiting for the Happy birthday that never came. It was embarrassing for me and my friends. I didn't bring a cake because usually the restaurant brings the birthday party a desert for the guest. This never happened and we left without singing happy birthday to my friend. He was disappointed because it was his birthday and it was not acknowledged. Not even a picture. Sad

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I went for the first time to Benihana for my birthday last week. We started with a drunk patron picking a fight with my husband 5 minutes after sitting at the bar to wait for our table. He was harassing me with horrible random questions while butting in on our date. My husband was polite but it was clear the guy was intoxicated and on something. I had to ask someone for help and was forced to walk to another table alone while my husband tried to calm the guy down. He kept screaming "why don't you love Jesus" and some other profanities. Surprised he wasn't kicked out right away. A Manager came but he just stood with the guy while the guy kept screaming at us. I think the guy was a regular. We were innocent, new customers and he should of been kicked out sooner or cut off! Then we waited 30+ minutes for our dinner to start. Maybe longer since we were all sitting there with no food for a good 20 mins trying to be polite. We didn't get all the courses like the menu said, no tea. Just soup, rice and meat. And on top of it, I forgot to use my birthday voucher, the whole reason we went there to try the restaurant. I would like my check adjusted for at least that. I've never been so offended and scared and expected to come back from that kinda atmosphere and drama just to sit and wait because our cook was busy with another table. We just sat there. So awkward. Wish I would of left when we were harassed by the drunk man in the beginning. Not worth the $30 voucher. I didn't know Benihana was so ghetto. Did I just get a bad first impression?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Staff attentive. There was a little wait from getting drinks and "show" to start

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I went with my boyfriend to try Benihanas for our very first time as a late birthday present for me since they'd sent me the birthday gift certificate & I wanted to use it before it expired. Our chef was not only super friendly, but he went above and beyond our expectations, so ask for Isaac when you go ! The food tasted absolutely AMAZING and the best part was that even though we'd got there a little after our reservation time, they still took us in no problem and seated us immediately. They even sang me happy birthday at the end of it all, which really finished the night off perfectly! The service was excellent, the food was even better, and the staff were very welcoming . I will most DEFINITELY be back ! I was more than satisfied with this experience as our first time at any benihanas .

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Always great food. Had a great chef that was fun and creative. Have to admit the chef at the next table was too loud. He was giving his table a good time with creative stuff, but it was too loud for those next to him. Our waiter was very good, constantly clearing used plates and filling glasses. All around another great treat for my birthday dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

March 31 I went in as my first time at Benihana. I was excited to take my wife for a nice date. When we got there we sat down quickly but it took over an hour for us to start getting our food. And when our cooker finally came close to two hours of wait, he still managed to take longer and coook things so slow. I would look over to other tables and they were already eating and sat down way before us.i can't complain about the food it was delicious but it was way too long for us to get our food. Sadly I won't be going back I don't want to wait 2 hours or more for my food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our steak was over cooked & the chicken was rubber.

Also what makes Benihana fun is the showmanship & personality of the chef but it was unusually flat.

Normally, Benihana Arcadia has been a fun dining place that's why it's particularly Disappointing this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The service was slow. But the food was great. The cook was not really into tricks but my daughter still enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our chef Issac was awesome!! Food was great! Definitely recommend for any occasion. Our granddaughters loved our chef and the food.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our cook and servers were great. Everyone was very welcoming and fun. We had my two kids and the staff made sure to cater their needs. A high chair was waiting for us and the cook concentrated on mainly keeping the kids entertained, as they were beginning to fuss. It was a great experience for us all.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service is no good. Receptionist and service crews were not approachable. Their food is alright. They were taking forever but they were not too busy when we were there and they even tried to bill us twice. But we already paid in cash and gift certificate, we were just waiting if we were good to go. So for sure not coming back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We were dining out to celebrate a birthday and Benihana's was a great choice! Adam was our cook and he was sooo entertaining and very good at making out visit fun and exciting! We would request him again anytime.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Horrible experience. Chef wasn't doing right. Kept dropping things. Food was delayed by far. My daughter fell asleep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Friendly staff, good food, quick service

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Family Style, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love Benihana! Food is amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The table is too cramped and awkward seating with strangers. It would've been much more comfortable with one less chair. Service was horrible and medium rare means raw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Chef was great (Sal) and had a great attitude. Next time I go I hope I sit at his table again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I've been going to Benihana for years was happy when they opened one in Arcadia. I had 2 horrible experiences there, & they don't accommodate you for their bad business, but I went back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I don't like the fact that the person cleaning the table next to ours just wipe half the crumps off the table to the floor. Then, while we are being served, someone came and vacuum the floor next to our table. This is disgusting and should not happen at any restaurant. Why is this a practice at many restaurants? Why vacuum next to a table when someone is being served and/or eating!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My food was very cold cook took forever to cook 👨‍🍳 and I was eating as served but if your thinking of waiting for the cook to finish your whole meal would be cold my date was very disappointed her food was cold and mine was done before the cook was done cooking my steak I was very disappointed that I just date steak warm at the end I want both of meals warm at the end and my date would never come back

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.