About Benihana - Santa Anita

400 S. Baldwin Avenue, Suite 901-L
Arcadia, CA 91007
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Arcadia sits grandly poised at the south entrance to Westfield Santa Anita Mall. It’s within walking distance to Santa Anita Racetrack, home of Seabiscuit and the famous Santa Anita Derby, as well as the L.A. County Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. No day of shopping would be complete without stepping into Benihana for lunch, dinner or cocktails and appetizers in the spacious restaurant and lounge. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
Huntington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 340-2276

Website:
http://benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-santa Anita - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
California Roll - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Sushi - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Trio - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Santa Anita, Arcadia, CA

Benihana - Santa Anita Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Family Style (28)
Fun (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Kid-friendly (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Casual (15)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Authentic (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great. The staff was even b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was great. The staff was even better. Made my birthday perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was horrible, seen her maybe 2x ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Waitress was horrible, seen her maybe 2x. Had to ask several times for something, would see he coming or way and see us then would remember we asked for something. Took her 20 after boxing our food to bring bill then anther 10 or so to bring change. Manager was rude too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Decided to brinv a friend here for thier ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Decided to brinv a friend here for thier bday as a 1st time experience for them and we arrived a fee mins late and the later at the front desk wasnt too friendly about it..but after 15mins after that we were seated..the server was good...chef Vanilla Rice was very entertaining Lol...kept us all engaged...overall my friend was please and wondered why we hadnt been there sooner than now

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our chef was very entertaining and cook ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our chef was very entertaining and cook us a very delicious meal.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation meant nothing at all ... the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Reservation meant nothing at all ... they were backed up when we arrived ... reservation was for 730 .. they didn't start cooking at our table until close to 9pm. It was too late at that point for our daughter to truly be into it ... ordered a Sierra Mist .. had to ask the waitress for it four times . Was ready to just say forget it . Not a good visit .

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Our chef was named Zach...and he was jus ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Our chef was named Zach...and he was just AMAZING. He had so much personality, got us all involved with dinner and made the night very special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated my mothers birthday at Ben ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We celebrated my mothers birthday at Benihana's for the second year in a row. She loves teriyaki chicken so anytime we take her out for dinner it usually involves some sort of Japanese inspired food. Benihana's offers free dinner in your birthday month. Unfortunately we did not get that this year because we could not remember what email address we used to register so we weren't sure if we received the certificate. However she enjoys Benihana's so we decided to go anyway. The food was delicious, service was wonderful, and we had a lot of fun.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the ambiance of Benihana It was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We loved the ambiance of Benihana It was my wife to be birthday..... Good Job

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to Behihana's for my b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have been going to Behihana's for my birthday for the past several years. This year was no exception. Our teppan chef, Sheridan, was the best. He kept the table entertained and had updated jokes (much appreciated). In addition, he cooked everyone's meat to perfection. I have to say this was one of the more enjoyable experiences at Benihana and I have Sheridan to thank for it.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Chef was inexperienced. Portion is small ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Chef was inexperienced. Portion is small as for the dinner price at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It is a pleasant place to go for lunch. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It is a pleasant place to go for lunch. The food was tasty, the service was good and the chef was fun and engaging.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greatest place on earth hands down. Grea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Greatest place on earth hands down. Great food there lunch menu is beyond amazing.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Cozy, Spicy, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the fact they followed the instr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I loved the fact they followed the instructions for my request through the entire meal. We also had a great waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Manny was our server and he was excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Manny was our server and he was excellent. Adam was our chef and his food was very good. He was fun and friendly in a casual way that my kids appreciated. Benihana San Francisco has to be one of your worst franchises in my opinion on all categories. I would definitely go back to Santa Anita.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was a little pricey but it was over ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was a little pricey but it was overall worth it, you think your just paying for a small entree but your really paying for the experience. Our chef Andrew was wonderful. He amazed my nephew who has a very short attention span, kept him in awe the whole time even sang jinle bell with him.

The people that say at the table with us was not fun at all, so if you go with less then 6 people it not worth going because they add other people that you don't know to the table.

Overall we had a great time except for the other two people that was at the table and didn't inact with anyone nor did they eat their food, so go and go with a full table of friends and family to have a great time.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The chef was the worse I have ever had a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The chef was the worse I have ever had at this location. I come here because they have the best of any other but that night was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

👍👌🏻excelente

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

👍👌🏻excelente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the chef was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was delicious and the chef was entertaining.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef was kind of new and it showed i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our chef was kind of new and it showed in his abilities with the food, but the food was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Although we had reservations, there was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Although we had reservations, there was an unexpected wait of 27 minutes before we were seated. To appease our dissatisfaction of the long wait, the maître d apologized and provided 2 complimentary appetizers to our table valued at approximately $17. We received a tuna roll and a shrimp tempura appetizers. Our chef was a newbie at the restaurant and it happened to be his first day. I thought that he was entertaining and tried unsuccessfully to get the group of silent patrons at his station to react to his humor and cooking skills. The lobster I ordered had too much salt and so it was disappointingly salty. The vegetables shrimp and steak were very good and were seasoned to perfection though. I think it would be a good idea for Benihana to have comment cards with ratings of various aspects of the restaurant experience in order to improve on what needs improving. I've had much better past experiences at Benihana but overall this visit to the Santa Anita Benihana was satisfactory.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great place to have my birthday dinner w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great place to have my birthday dinner with my friend! Fun table and excellent chef! Food was so good! Really enjoyed it! I would bring a light jacket though if you are seated behind the entrance as it was a bit chilly at times.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my mothers birthday, we made rese ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was my mothers birthday, we made reservations for 8pm, it took them a few moments to set up the table which was fine. When we were sat, we were completely ignored and was not approached by any wait staff for about 20 mins. It wasn't until the hostess noticed that we've been without service for that entire time was when she approached me to check in. The server came over to apologize stating that it had been a busy night. The only issue I took with that was that there were two other tables that were sat after us that were not full, telling me otherwise. Just didn't feel like I should be lied to just to appease for bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Nice family restaurant great service fas ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Nice family restaurant great service fast and good food over all great i love to bring my family here

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow keeping in mind th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was very slow keeping in mind there was a limited number of seated tables and they had mostly been served. Almost an hour for the chef to show up! Imagine that with hungry boys and that was me.

Another hour for us to be all of our food(yep 2 hours at Benihana) and my chicken was raw and I wouldn't let me son eat his because I wasn't sure if his was any better .

Benihana on Ventura has always been pretty good but my first experience with this location left me really wondering about whether I'll go back to any of them again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Our food was delicious our chef Erik was ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our food was delicious our chef Erik was great he made sure to cook our food to our taste and he was funny, also our waitress was great too she kept making sure we were taken care of such as with refills and explaining to us how the birthday coupon worked. Was a very pleased and satisfied birthday dinner for me and my husband.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chef we had was a great cook, but he ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The Chef we had was a great cook, but he spoke about racism, and tips, not what I wanted to hear on my Birthday celebration. He needs to keep it lighter that those types of subjects. Also spoke about his future dreams, and not being a Chef for ever. He was not really funny, but again did a great job on the cooking aspect. The food was great, and made sure that my special request of no sesame seeds was followed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We celebrated my sons 11th birthday here ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We celebrated my sons 11th birthday here at his favorite restaurant. Our large group was laughing and enjoying every moment. Food was great and service was even better.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our cook Elena was excellent! She made o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our cook Elena was excellent! She made our evening very enjoyable!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The guy that cook for us was not that gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The guy that cook for us was not that great... we have been here before and they all have been great..but this one no imagination...or not as created or the enthusiasm level was not there.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food we liked that wait was minimal ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Good food we liked that wait was minimal. Our server was on top of things and knew menu choices well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cook Zachary has been the best by fa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The cook Zachary has been the best by far that we have had at this restaurant. He's funny and very entertaining. I would request him every time we would come back. He's a great asset to the company ☺️

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I give this review a 4 stars instead of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I give this review a 4 stars instead of 5 because "Everything is great except that night there is no Benihana staff taking birthday picture which we could retrieve from your website".

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our chef as so entertaining, he made us ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our chef as so entertaining, he made us laugh so hard, and his cooking was delicious! Ask for Chef Sheridan next time you dine at Benihana of Arcadia-Santa Anita Mall, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Benihana was a delicious and enterta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Benihana was a delicious and entertaining experience for everyone! Every staff member was very friendly, accommodating and gracious. We would definitely return for another enjoyable treat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andrew is the best!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Andrew is the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated a little before our reser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We were seated a little before our reservation. The service was very good. Adam, our chef, was a very entertaining and played off the guest. I had a very good experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The wait was too long , 45 min before we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The wait was too long , 45 min before we were seated, then 30 min before our order was taken, another 30 min before chief arrived. No more

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Janessa was wonderful took her time to a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Janessa was wonderful took her time to appreciate the fact we were celebrating my Daughter's Birthday. Chef Sheriden kept us entertained and wanting more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pour experience overall was good our che ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Pour experience overall was good our chef was very funny and entertaining , my only concern is that our waitress at the end of the dinner didn't offer the complimentary ice cream that is included in the meal . We have to ask for it and even the other party in the table after seen us eating they have to requested . My kids were asking for ice cream since we eat there most of the time

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Celebrated our son's birthday and had a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Celebrated our son's birthday and had a lot of fun. Our chef was the best and we request him whenever we go to Benihana's. Ask for Michael and get superior cooking skills and friendly, fun service at Santa Anita Benihana. We love our dinners and celebrations at this restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.