About Benihana - San Diego

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (133)
Special Occasion (116)
Fun (99)
See All
Good for Groups (99)
Good for a Date (79)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Casual (53)
Worth the Drive (46)
Authentic (43)
Great for Lunch (37)
People Watching (32)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Comfort Food (26)
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (24)
Happy Hour (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Family Style (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Spicy (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Cozy (9)
Seasonal (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Great Beer (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vegan (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Live Sports (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Waterfront (2)
Historic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
2013 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

It was an entertaining dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great 100%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Our chef Armando is a great host and an skilled grill professional. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

It was fun for kids. Josh was great. Food was OK, but too much butter.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Always fun, always great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great. Not a good place if conversation is important to you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Very bad experience on the cooking part Ray the cook had a very bad additude ! He made many mistakes in our food didn't make a show and overall was very rude! I go to benihanas often and have never experienced any bad service until now! Ray the cook needs improvement in customer service! The waitress was very nice and good service from her l!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I love this place! Sadly this visit we waited a long time to get drinks and the restaurant noise level was a lot louder do to a party next to us that had a little to much to drink. I will still come here as it is a great restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We have been going to Benihana's for 40 years for my husbands birthday. He lives the food and the show. We have see a bunch of changes over the years but it's always a super fun time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

My birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Only problem is parking in that there is not enough.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent
Just waiting for my next time there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Went to celebrate my with my mother for her 82nd birthday, she had never been there, staff was warm and friendly (mom uses a wheelchair and it wasn't a problem) our waitress was wonderful and our Chef, Max, was funny and an excellent cook. The food was tasty😀 We Will be back. One more thing having a photo to take home as a keepsake is extra special. Thank you Benihana.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Walking into Benihannas, I was worried as to what our dinner would be like. The entry way was old and dingy, the bathrooms were disgusting and the hostess was mediocre. However, once seated and our dinner experience has started my expectations were more ambitious. We had great service and our chef was very talented (very filthy apron though). The food was spectacular- as always. I would return again, and hope they did some upkeep to the lobby and restrooms.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great fun ! Part of our vacation, good fun, overall a good time !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

It was really nice dinner and the chief was amazing , the servers was doing perfect job for birthday party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Amazing food, good show, the chef was cool, had a good time

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food is is as good as ever. The entertainment was great and the service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great birthday deal when you join Chef's table. But VERY noisy and same thing every time. Need to change up presentation a bit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

The bar tender and our cook were wonderful. The staff at the front door had no idea what was going on and our waiter forgot part of our order. It was not the experience that I was hoping for on my Birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

It would be helpful for the chef or wait staff to asked if anyone has any food allergies or don't eat certain meats ie pork since there will be cross contamination.

**Our chef also mixed up our meals ie someone who had steak he gave chicken and when alerted proceeded to take most of the chicken off of the customers plate and put it on the other plate, "very tacky"...

**Our waitress had other tables + it was very busy, so there was a wait for service at times. I think she was trying...

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I visit this Benihana restaurant at least two times per year. I've been going there for over five years. I've always loved the food. However, my most recent visit was unpleasant because the cook put waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much pepper on the fried rice and on my chicken Teriyaki dish. It made my throat burn and ruined my dining experience. It's the first time I was very unhappy with my meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My husband and I were very excited to spend our Anniversary here but wasn't what we hoped and expected. Had a reservation and still needed to wait! Then couldn't offer the lounge. Had to ask where it was...being our first time here! We didn't get our Sushi Roll we ordered. Waitress was hard to find. Service and Customer Service was very poor!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

ive been twice here, Max our cook was awesome and Sarah the server was great!. will definitely come for a third time because the food as always is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Was expecting more. Heard a lot about it but was very disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Everyone was great! We were there to celebrate our 4 year old twins birthdays, and there staff really focused on them and made it special and entertaining for everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Our chef was AMAZING!!!! He had us all laughing so hard and we had the best time. I've been to Benihana 1,000 times and this was the best. Thanks for the wonderful birthday dinner.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Everything about our service was great except our waitress Apple she had a bit of an attitude and was rude at times. Overall though I give Benihana 4 stars I love eating there and it has become tradition around my birthday to go and have a meal. The chiefs are fun to be around and they preform the act to a T! Sebastian was our chef and he didnt miss a beat.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Authentic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We had issues with the receptionist not finding our reservation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We love Benihana! We were there for a club dinner and birthday. So much fun and food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

B O M B D O T C O M and the rest of this is to fill the 50 character requirement for the review.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Always a good time at Benihana. Great food and atmosphere. The "show" is always interesting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

FOR ENEGETIC COOKING AT YOUR TABLE THIS IS A MUST DO EXPERIENCE.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I'm glad we have a female chef, first time in the 20 years I have been at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

It was great! Can't wait to go back! First time taking the kids. They loved it especially the volcano 🌋.
It was fun for the whole family. The food was delicious 😋 ‼️

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Cooking the food is part of the show which we enjoyed. The food is also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Absolutely loved the environment and the ambiance of this place. It was not only entertaining but fun and decently priced. I am surely going back soon especially since the food was awesome.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 20, 2017

They forgot my b day dessert! 😏
Otherwise the food was very good 👍
Dinner is too expensive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.