About Benihana - San Diego

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Sushi - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Trio - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chef - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chef Trick - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
WOW Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Fried Rice - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Onion Soup - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Sashimi Ceviche - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Las Vegas Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Gyoza - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
California Poppers - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Seaweed salad - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Rainbow Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
edamame - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Blue Ocean Punch Bowl - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Ahi Tuna Steak - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Vanilla Ice Cream - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Deluxe - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Green Tea Ice Cream - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Land & Sea - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Tempura Calamari - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chicken Love Boat - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Spider Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Rocky's Choice - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Hot Sake - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Mission Valley ›

Special Occasion (101)
Good for Groups (88)
Fun (78)
See All
Good for Birthdays (76)
Good for a Date (57)
Family Style (56)
Kid-friendly (52)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Casual (42)
Great for Lunch (39)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Worth the Drive (28)
Authentic (20)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Late-night Find (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
People Watching (12)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (9)
Spicy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1502 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and entertainment. They u ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and entertainment. They use a LOT of butter and oil, so it isn't the healthiest meal around. A fun time though !!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been celebrating our son's birth ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been celebrating our son's birthday at Benihana's for the last 29 years. It cannot be beat for the ambiance, enjoyment and the quality of the food.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son love this place for his bday dinn ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My son love this place for his bday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you think you are going to get an aut ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

If you think you are going to get an authentic Japanese teppan yaki, you are not going to get it. There are no Japanese chef or waiting staff. Very noisy and over-crowded front desk. I was at the same restaurant at the same location about 30 years ago. What a difference. As a Japanese, I was very disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was excellent and we didn't hav ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was excellent and we didn't have to wait for a long time. Great chefs serving us fresh steaks, seafood and fish. The birthday person got a free dessert any types of ice cream was served. Plus we got a $30 coupon for our meal

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our group went for our annual birthday c ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our group went for our annual birthday celebration. We had decent service, much better than a few past visits. There was a little snag with the bill and how it the 3 coupons were going to be applied for our group of 7, but our waitress handled it gracefully and professionally.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The cook's performance and flavor.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The cook's performance and flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I was disappointed as soon as I walked i ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I was disappointed as soon as I walked in. The decor and feel of the restaurant was old and worn out and in need of a major renovation. The food was better than I expected, but our "teppanyaki chef" went through the motions required to prepare our meal without any enthusiasm or flair. Servers assisting the chef provided minimal service and were rarely seen to offer refills on drinks.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Had a beautiful time. It was my 50th. Bi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had a beautiful time. It was my 50th. Birthday. Had a blast.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time celebrating my daughter ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had a great time celebrating my daughter's birthday there! Excellent Service!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok my friend didn't ever receiv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food was ok my friend didn't ever receive her free birthday meal coupon but she was still happy the food is just ok nothing you can't get somewhere else cheaper like at sushi deli over all it was ok waitress was kinda hard to understand though

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great as always... Food was delicious an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great as always... Food was delicious and service was great too!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it like always. Very nice & execele ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Love it like always. Very nice & execelent cook "Pedro"

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but a little high for what ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was good but a little high for what you get. Also this place was swarming with kids. I love kids but didn't expect that EVERY table seemed to be a 5 years olds birthday party. We were told by another couple that goes there that every time they go it is full of kids....just so you know

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Awesome for a birthdays and other occasi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Awesome for a birthdays and other occasions. My daughters love this place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service from our waitress Yuki ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very good service from our waitress Yuki and chef Tonny

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 5 and we all had a gre ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a party of 5 and we all had a great time. Food was outstanding and our chef was entertaining. Our server, I'm so sorry I forget her name, was great! She brought drink refills before we ever needed to ask for them and she was so funny singing Happy Birthday to us. We had two birthdays and she led the traditional Happy Birthday and then continued to sing the Benihana Happy Birthday song all by herself. We really liked her!

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef seemed to be rushed. Overall food w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Chef seemed to be rushed. Overall food was great! Not quite entertaining like my past visits. Waiter never came to refill water until the end!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was fantastic for my birthday ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was fantastic for my birthday! Perfect for the kids! Great choice if entrees. Staff is friendly and fun!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come here often... so I know every tri ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I come here often... so I know every trick before they do it! However, this visit was different. The cook added his own personal entertainment. Left everyone amazed!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I went there to celebrate my birthday. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I went there to celebrate my birthday. They sent me a coupon for $30.00 which was very useful.

Great service, great food and had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is always fun! Great food, fun ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Benihana is always fun! Great food, fun atmosphere! Both our server and Chef were delightful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 7, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. We were there to celebrate two birthdays and had an outstanding time. Food was great and well worth the excitement of the chef cooking it right in front of you. All orders were cooked to perfection. I would recommend to friends and family to come and experience the excitement and outstanding food and drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh. The quality of the experience is ve ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Meh. The quality of the experience is very dependent on the quality of the chef. There is very little standardization of service. That said it's a fun and jovial atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Had a great Birthday dinner. It's been ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great Birthday dinner. It's been a while since I was last there and appreciate all of the little changes. The spicy tuna roll offered while waiting was a nice touch and the complimentary photos taken by your server before dinner and brought to the table during the meal was another nice touch. As well the service was efficient and pleasant. Great drinks (3 each), Steak & Scallops plus all the extras that accomied each meal, was an overall good value. Dinner for two, drinks & gratuity ... $190. Fun fun fun.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I'm disappointed in service...In the foo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I'm disappointed in service...In the food. .I ordered shrimp. .paid for shrimp & they gave me chicken. .took a little long to cook our foid..tge chef wasn't that good. The lady who sat us at our table was a little agressive. ..The guy who took our order was the only one who gave us hood service. I still left a good tip...However I don't think I'll be going back. I wasn't impressed at all.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was very good as usual -- we ha ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was very good as usual -- we have dined at Benihana's for a lot of years. We did notice the prices were higher and the portions were smaller. The chef did a great job and was very entertaining.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food. Get the Hibachi table s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food. Get the Hibachi table side for dining. Easy to get to. Valet only $5. Will definitely be returning. Made reservation through Open Table and was very easy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Came here for my husband's birthday. Ric ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Came here for my husband's birthday. Rico was our chef and was very good. Parking was terrible had to park on street, even though there were several spots available for valet overall great experience.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good place to celebrate birthday, f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very good place to celebrate birthday, family occasions.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cook victor was very awesome and wel ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The cook victor was very awesome and welcoming. 6 stars

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service by waitress and chef.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great service by waitress and chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere is great. The staff are f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The atmosphere is great. The staff are friendly and helpful. They do not carry yum yum sauce. We enjoyed our time there.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, chef entertaining. The p ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was good, chef entertaining. The problem was the loud and obnoxious people at the table next to us.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Five years straight I have been for my b ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Five years straight I have been for my birthday... this was absolutely horrible. Service was good. Chef was terrible.. makes me think... maybe I will never go back. Complained but manager didn't seem to care.. He was like.. "Yea, Whatever."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

One of my most favorite places. Happy ho ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

One of my most favorite places. Happy hour id's always a great value

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana is always a great dining experi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Benihana is always a great dining experience, the chefs are entertaining and the service is

top notch

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

He absolutely loved his birthday because ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 25, 2016

He absolutely loved his birthday because of this experience! It's a great place to go :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress made a mistake for adding e ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The waitress made a mistake for adding extra items and did not realize until I looked at the receipt. Also, my son left his favorite shirt at his seat, but it was never found right after I requested them to look for it twice. I liked the cook. She was nice.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Overall a good dining experience. Little ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Overall a good dining experience. Little disappointed with the limited amount of fish selections (i.e. no halibut, mahi mahi (as in some similar dining establishments). The seasoning was a bit too peppery for my taste, but overall good.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.