About Benihana - San Diego

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (117)
Special Occasion (110)
Fun (106)
See All
Good for Groups (94)
Family Style (90)
Good for a Date (82)
Good for Anniversaries (81)
Kid-friendly (58)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Great for Lunch (49)
Casual (43)
Worth the Drive (39)
Authentic (34)
Romantic (31)
Open Kitchen (28)
Happy Hour (27)
Business Meals (26)
Healthy (25)
Outstanding Value (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Hot Spot (16)
People Watching (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Cozy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Spicy (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Seasonal (6)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (4)
Vegan (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the food at Benihana, always top no ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Love the food at Benihana, always top notch. Having the tables so close, my friends and I got a preview of what our dining experience would be before our chef came out. Sadly, the chef at our table didn't put on a performance that was worth 5 stars. He did the basic tricks, but as for jokes, he really lacked. Ehh. I'll definitely be back for the food, not the service. & maybe I'll get lucky next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Our server Sam was awesome and attentive ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Sam was awesome and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, maybe a bit more table space ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, maybe a bit more table space. I feel a bit crammed at times. Other than that, everything else is A+++

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We do it every year for Valentines Day. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We do it every year for Valentines Day. Service is great, food is great and the chefs are very friendly and funny.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I received a call 15 minutes before my r ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

I received a call 15 minutes before my reservation saying the restaurant was closed due to a water main break. Not once did the receptionist apologize or offer some sort of rescheduling. Very disappointed and will not be planning another dinner to this specific location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Went for my birthday and the experience ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for my birthday and the experience was great. Cook was friendly and entertaining. Food was yummy! Can't beat the birthday club reward discount

Tags: Family Style,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience overall the chefs reall ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience overall the chefs really know what they are doing, and was a fun date.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The table chef was quite entertaining. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

The table chef was quite entertaining. The restaurant was crowded and very loud, hard to hear any conversation. The steak was cooked as ordered. Unfortunately the shrimp were cooked as long as the steak and became rubbery and hard to eat. I would go back , but stick to the steak which seems to be their specialty.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We've been at Benihana many times over t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

We've been at Benihana many times over the past few years usually for birthdays or anniversaries. The food is always really good. The chef entertainment is usually very good also. The kids really enjoy it too.

The only minor complaint at this visit, was that they seemed to have a problem with the reservation I made through Open Table. We had a 6 P.M. reservation, and we got there about 12 minutes early. They said the wait would be 20 to 25 minutes, and it was at least that. I think that I will make the reservations via telephone next time. That seems to work better.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though I don't have issues with chi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Even though I don't have issues with children it is challenging to have adult conversations when there are kids on the table and they are not yours. Cooking salmon was not the best but the soup, snacks, and veggies are great.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been a loyal customer for more than ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I've been a loyal customer for more than 35 years and have never been disappointed. My lady and I have standing dates to celebrate our birthday's there annually. Thank you for many wonderful memories!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's was amazing!! Our chef was Ray and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It's was amazing!! Our chef was Ray and he was the absolute best!!

Thank you for an awesome evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, , Romantic, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time! We went to celebrat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a great time! We went to celebrate Valentine's Day and the chefs are always outstanding! The waiters are always helpful and really nice!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef Hector was amazing. Made our ev ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our chef Hector was amazing. Made our evening memorable! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place. Not enough food for the p ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome place. Not enough food for the price. Other than that everything else was great.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, great service. Very entertai ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great service. Very entertaining and enjoyable atmosphere :-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and The Culinary ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was delicious and The Culinary show was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually a very good experience for me, B ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Usually a very good experience for me, Benihana's was not on point during this visit. The service was horrible. The food was good but without service, it really hurt the overall experience. Maybe a 3 out of 10.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

The food was good and the service was gr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food was good and the service was great. The noise is just way to much to be able to talk to the people you are with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent prices food tasted wonderful a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent prices food tasted wonderful all Personnel were friendly and very accommodating wish I would have brought more people with me definitely going back again

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud. Hard to have a conversation and th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Loud. Hard to have a conversation and there were only two of us.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The quality of their steak has declined ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The quality of their steak has declined since I was there last time. The teppan chef was great, but the fan wasn't working properly and the smoke from the grill was continually blasting me in the face.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

They seat us right away, first waiter wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

They seat us right away, first waiter was great, Cook was excellent, very funny and good entertainer, cook the food incredible delicious, he said he was from Santiago de Chile, Italo, waiter #2 not so much, we were 8 and she forgot to deduct my certificate I received for my birthday. It was corrected at the end.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My whole family got food poisoning! Ate ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My whole family got food poisoning! Ate from the menu in the bar, was told by the hostess it was the full menu, but it wasn't. Only 8 entree selections. Won't eat in the bar again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful experience. The service was gr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful experience. The service was great and fast. The chef was entertaining and the food was terrific.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything delicious as always, I took m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

everything delicious as always, I took my son for lunch on his birthday and we had a great time.

On the wine list I wish you had La Crema Chardonnay

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef was great

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Chef was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time celebrating my fi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We had an amazing time celebrating my fiancée's birthday! Our server and our cook Crystal were amazing! Thank you guys for the lovely memories and the picture you gave us! I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration! Been here many ti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Birthday celebration!

Been here many times! Niko was the best chef by far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our chef was awesome! Great positive att ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Our chef was awesome! Great positive attitude and attentive to everyone's needs! :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were rushed in and rushed out --- foo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We were rushed in and rushed out --- food was served almost all at once. I have never Benihana and pushed out with barely being there for an hour. The food at Benihana is good, but what you pay for is the experience which was terribly lacking this time. This wasnt just an issue for our table, others around us were complaining also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

We have a family birthday tradition.. ev ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We have a family birthday tradition.. every birthday we are at Benihana's.. been doing it now for over 20 yrs.. my oldest is now 28 yrs old

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

love the food, great. chef is nice and f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

love the food, great. chef is nice and friendly. Overall amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, good time, come in and plan t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good food, good time, come in and plan to have some silly fun.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Terrible experience! The chef skipped th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Terrible experience! The chef skipped the show which I went there for, made a messy table. Not even friendly.

Even the girl who checked in us was RUDE!!

I always had a good time there, but not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

So I've been to Benihana's mini mini tim ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

So I've been to Benihana's mini mini times, however this time was a bit unusual. Our table chef seemed a bit tired and not as lively as the others. For me it's OK however there was someone at our table who hadn't been to Benihana's before and I feel like they were given the short end of the stick . We asked if he was OK and he said he had been working long and it seemed like his hand was in pain so I don't believe he gave us the full Benihana experience. The food was good as usual just was the chef had been feeling better that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fun time, chef was so entertaining and m ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fun time, chef was so entertaining and made everyone feel special.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Always a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was great and so was the food, d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

service was great and so was the food, delightful evening, the chef was outstanding and alot of fun, great food and wonderful drinks,

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noisy great fun. Outstanding fresh food. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Noisy great fun. Outstanding fresh food. A unique experience. Worth every penny!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, , Healthy, Authentic, Fun, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.