About Benihana - San Diego

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (130)
Special Occasion (121)
Fun (112)
See All
Good for Groups (95)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Kid-friendly (82)
Good for a Date (76)
Family Style (68)
Worth the Drive (47)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Casual (39)
Authentic (35)
Open Kitchen (33)
People Watching (29)
Happy Hour (23)
Romantic (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Healthy (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Tasting Menu (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Business Meals (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Spicy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Private Room (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Music (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1877 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We eat here often and our server was terrible. She messed up our order and NEVER refilled my water. During the "show" our chef nearly pierced a boy's face with a meat fork because he messed up on a trick. This worries me because I have two little children. Chef was messy and not very entertaining - frustrating because we are paying for an entertaining show and the reason for dining there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing. If you go get Tyler. He was the best and funniest cooks I have ever had. I went for prom and service and food was amazing like every time I go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Worse experience ever. Was my daughters 4th bday and they didn't even sing her HBD
Server messed up my order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

This place is Always Amazing! Great Service, Great Food!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

As a first time Guest at this Restaurant, I felt happily welcomed. Our Server was very friendly and explained to us in detail the different courses. The cook was amazing! Would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to eat during a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

“The hibachi chef was hilarious, great sense of humor and even teased us with his tricks.”

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had a great Mother's Day experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

great customers service, and great food,Tyler is really good chef,nice presentation on his food

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had a great Mother's Day dinner with my beautiful wife! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Neat experience and nice people but food was a little expensive for my taste. Overall great time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service by the staff. We were seated right on time. Great service serving the meals, handling special requests ( we had 3 kids in the group of 7). Chef cooking the meal was great interacting with the kids. They enjoyed the show. Food was great! Overall we had an enjoyable meal. It was worthwhile.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our party comprised of many children under the age of 11, Luis our cook was amazing with them. He made our Mother's Day lunch memorable for them. We made an open table reservation and everything was ready when we walked in the door. Simple and easy. Great food and greats service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Not too pleased, first time for the family. Staff was great, polite and courteous. Food wasn't very flavorful for the price. Definitely expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I had a great time . I was on a date . Everything was perfect. Didn't have to wait that long to be seated . The people were great. Server and chef were on point . Thanks a lot . Will return again next month.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Average chef who was non-inspiring and of average engagement. Food was of average quality and expensive. Our server was very accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It's stunt food done the right way. You'll laugh, you'll eat, you'll have a good time.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This is my second time at this Benihanna location - the noise level has been improved by a decrease in the decibels however it is still quite noisy; makes talk to fellow diners difficult. The seafood was delicious - as well as the freshly grilled vegetables but the onion soup was weak in flavor and composition (do something about this)

The hostess, wait staff and chef where all very professional and customer oriented

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a great time celebrating my 50th birthday with friends. Service, atmosphere, and food was exceptional. I recommend dining here with a group of friends rather then sitting with people with whom you unfamiliar with.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is mediocre, there isn't enough seasoning which makes everything take bland and boring.
The price is also ridiculous for the amount of food that you receive, or should I say lack there of.
Not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This is a place for a meal that is not just same old thing. Grill tables add some fun to the experience. Drink prices are WAY high for my taste. Would rather see them about $2-$3 less.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A fun and new experience! The food is great and the service wonderful and right there at all times. Definitely would recommend for fun and great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Spicy, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The foodd was great! A little pricey for the food. Great place. Chef we had was not entertaining. But overall ok

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

too loud, also the tepanyaki cooks. Too many tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

All my guests enjoyed the food and presentaion . The cocktails 🍹 are really good . The chef presentation excellent . Overall our experience are very good .

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We always go to benihana for the kids birthday. Or any occasion Always great food. The only thing when we make reservations at a certain time I'm expecting to be seated at that time not 15 or 20 min after.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Our family has always celebrated birthdays with Benihana. Love the atmosphere and get to meet new people as well. Thank you

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent show lol

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Friendly service, entertaining and delicious food/cocktails Great for Birthday's - like our occasion. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The chef we had was great. The whole hibachi experience kept my kids entertained. Plus the food was excellent. Its a fun dinner experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The portions have gotten smaller. There's another chain Ah-So and you get more for the same price

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Birthday great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always one of my favorite special occasion restaurants and a fun date night, too. I tend to avoid chain restaurants, but this is one I will always come back to.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It was ok nothing compared to all the hype I been hearing over the years. If I would go next time I rather have a bigger group of my own. Not too comfortable sitting with people I don't know it kinda ruins the ambience for me when it's a special day.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our chef Nico had our kids going nuts. In a good way! SO MUCH FUN. He made the night and gave us some great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our Chef Luis was unbelievable great!!! He made our lunch fun and without expecting it, he made us laugh.
I would come back and ask for him to be our Chef!

Tags: Disabled Access, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was the First time going to Benihana and everyone of the staff where really helpful and nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.