About Benihana - San Diego

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

MAKE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON SIZZLE.
The more you give, the more you get.
For a limited time, RECEIVE A $10 PROMOTIONAL CARD WHEN YOU PURCHASE $50 IN GIFT CARDS. Offer available 11/14/17 – 12/31/17. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

MAKE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON SIZZLE.
The more you give, the more you get.
For a limited time, RECEIVE A $10 PROMOTIONAL CARD WHEN YOU PURCHASE $50 IN GIFT CARDS. Offer available 11/14/17 – 12/31/17. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

MAKE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON SIZZLE.
The more you give, the more you get.
For a limited time, RECEIVE A $10 PROMOTIONAL CARD WHEN YOU PURCHASE $50 IN GIFT CARDS. Offer available 11/14/17 – 12/31/17. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18.

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (106)
Good for Birthdays (104)
Fun (101)
See All
Good for Groups (86)
Good for a Date (77)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Kid-friendly (62)
Casual (56)
Worth the Drive (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Authentic (26)
Healthy (25)
Romantic (21)
Business Meals (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Comfort Food (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Hot Spot (15)
People Watching (15)
Spicy (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Tapas (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great Beer (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vegan (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort by
S
2178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

Very rude parking attendant made the trip to this restaurant a horrible experience. We’ve been coming here for years and always parked in the lot across the street with no issues, since the restaurant’s parking lot has only a few non-valet spots which are never available. We parked there last night and the valet attendant came running across the street towards us, stopped us in the middle of the busy road where I almost got hit by a car, and demanded $5 from us! He said he had rights to that lot now and he stood in front of us preventing us access to the Benihana parking lot until we paid him. There are no signs in that parking lot stating any such thing, plus why would Benihana charge $5 for their patrons to park in a lot across the street? Either way, I find it extremely unacceptable and I’m never coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The service was great and the show that the Chief did was fun and entertaining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Our experience was dissapointing. Food was good but service was bad. We were there for 3 hours and waited almost two hours until we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

By far my favorite location of the many I've been to great food great service and a great show. It is loud but it's a good time highly reccomend

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My daughter loves you and we always spend her birthday there.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

As always - we had a great time celebrating my daughter's birthday. It's loud and crazy and so fun! The food is delicious - always consistent. The chefs are fun and talented. One of my fav places for celebrations!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Super loud & poorly vented. But fit the bill to celebrate our 6 year old's birthday.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It took over an hour after being seated for the chef to start cooking. The portions were very small. They used to be larger. Especially for the rice. It was a special birthday (60th) but we left very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Best place to have 5 star quality Japanese food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Was very nice and had a good time with the family for our birthday party. 8 seated comfortably, 10 might of been alittle tight.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Organic, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

it was nice to have some action.. while dining great food

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Tyler was the best Chef I have had at a Benihana! He was so talented when tossing the tools and had the best personality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

Our waiter was great , amazing she was so kind and happy :)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 7, 2017

I really Loved it, great cook and great attitude !!! The service was great as well

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Nice atmosphere for a pleasant date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

Good food I recommend best in San Diego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Several years since last at Benihana. Nice to be back. Enjoyed the routine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Delicious as always! We enjoyed every single bite. Lots of fun and worth the wait. Our kids enjoyed it. Lots of laughter and excellent customer service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The food was delicious and the chef was entertaining.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Our server was new but she did really well. Our chef was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Birthday celebration. My kids favorite place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

Our food was excellent, our chef Ray was awesome! My only complaint wold be that you are seated 8 to a table which was a bit too snug for our comfort

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 28, 2017

We went for my birthday and had an awesome time, the staff was Great. We will be t e turning soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 28, 2017

It was my husbands birthday and we took his mom for the first time since she was here on vacation from out of town. She really enjoyed it. My husband also enjoyed the food and company. I was disappointed that the server didn’t take a picture of anyone at our table. I did notice other people had their pictures taken at other tables. This was our first time at this location. It wasn’t the greatest experience since our chef was also more of a novice and cooked each persons food almost individually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Disappointed that the “show” was not as much fun as usual. No shrimp tails flipped into hat and pocket or train made of onions puffing steam. Our grandchild missed them. I hope they will be back next time!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Chef Crystal was great! We went for my mom’s birthday and she loooooved it :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Great spot for a date or any special occasion. You enjoy a great show, chef's are always awesome and at the end of your meal, if it is a special occasion then you get a picture. Food is always on point but there ice cream is the best part.... AMAZINGGGG!!! See you soon Benihana.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Chef Italo was hilarious!!!. Japan, Tokyo LOL ... good times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Don't come here if you're looking to get serviced. It took us over an hour to get after we sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great food and great service, love the environment and the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

I have been eating there for a long time the portions were smaller with the fried rice and vegetables appt but I always enjoy my self and my family loves to eat there we all left hungry this time

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2017

My daughters birthday it was our first time at Benihana. Enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 21, 2017

Good food but very pricey. Service was bad at first but improved when server Michiko was relieved due to work sked. Receptionist was slow in seating. Cooking in front of customers was a good but expensive novelty. If you don't care for the show, bigger for the buck at other newer Japanese eatery.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2017

We had a wonderful time and the food and service were exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Always great food and enjoy watching the Chef! Took my 10 year old nephew for the first time and it was fun watching him too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Our chef was the best we have had.
He was entertaining. Great cook. Made the dinner the best. It was my grand daughters birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

food was good but service was awful.
Chef completely forgot to provide appetizers for everyone at the table. The appetizer is part of the meal and price so we paid for something we didn't get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great food. I asked for no mushrooms but still got them with my meal. Other than that it was great.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Everything was great. Highly recommend, you will enjoy it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2017

It is always a pleasure to have your dinner made before your eyes. The chef was amazing talented.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.