About Benihana - San Diego

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
WOW Roll
Fried Rice
Onion Soup
Sashimi Ceviche
Las Vegas Roll
Gyoza
California Poppers
Seaweed salad
Rainbow Roll
edamame
Blue Ocean Punch Bowl
Ahi Tuna Steak
Vanilla Ice Cream
Deluxe
Green Tea Ice Cream
Land & Sea
Tempura Calamari
Chicken Love Boat
Spider Roll
Rocky's Choice
Chicken Fried Rice
Hot Sake

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Kid Friendly
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
1 More
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Mission Valley ›

Special Occasion (174)
Good for Groups (153)
Kid-friendly (79)
See All
Great for Lunch (56)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Fun (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Great for Brunch (19)
Family Style (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Casual (15)
Worth the Drive (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (6)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (3)
Spicy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been here many times but last nig ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

I have been here many times but last night was the best!! The waiter DERRICK was so great!! He was the best waiter I have ever had very attentive and exceptional customer service!! So friendly and had a great smile! MANNY our cook/chief was Awesome as well best experience we have had here! I will be calling the manager/Corp to let them know as well! They deserve recognition!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place. My wife and I are visiting ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place. My wife and I are visiting San Diego and thought we would try Benihana's as it was very close to our lodging. It's a great place, the food was delicious, the chef/server was the very best and the others at our table were fun.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish there were gluten free options li ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

I wish there were gluten free options like gluten free soy sauce.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

Everything on the food was fine. It is a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything on the food was fine. It is always good. The chef was also quite entertaining.

The only down part was the service. It was good, but it sure was slow. I suspect that the restaurant was understaffed. Our server was attentive, but she wasn't around too much.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I will always love going to Benihanas. N ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

I will always love going to Benihanas. No other Japanese grill places can compare at all. They are the BEST! We always have great food, great service and a great time

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our cook and waitress were outstanding O ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our cook and waitress were outstanding

Our total experience was excellent

It was the first of many trips for my young daughter

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate a birthday! We ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great place to celebrate a birthday! We enjoy being part of the Chef's Table club (and getting $30 toward the entree for one celebrating a birthday).

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it ! Been going for over 18 years a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Love it ! Been going for over 18 years and quality of food is just as good! Thank you! Another great birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious Cousine!! & Fun Dinning Athmo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delicious Cousine!! & Fun Dinning Athmosphere! 😃

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT FOOD AND GREAT TIME. LOVED OUR CH ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

GREAT FOOD AND GREAT TIME. LOVED OUR CHEF TYLER, HE WAS NICE, ENERGETIC AND FOOD WAS EXCELLENT.

DID NOT LIKE THE FACT THAT WE WAITED FOR A WHILE TO GET SEATED EVEN THOUGH WE HAD RESERVATIONS. WE WERE EARLY FOR OUR RESERVATIONS AND WERE ASKED TO WAIT, ANOTHER COUPLE CAME IN 15 MINUTES AFTER THEIR RESERVATION AND THEY WERE SEATED IMMEDIATELY. i REALLY DIDN'T CARE FOR THE HOSTESS AND HOW WE WERE TREATED. WE WERE SITTING FOR OVER 30 MINUTES EVEN THOUGH WE WERE EARLY. EVERYONE WAS SEATED BEFORE US. i DID NOT APPRECIATE THAT AT ALL.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place to go for an entertaining me ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great place to go for an entertaining meal. It's a little over priced but food was made to our taste. The service is quite slow to get started. Had a reservation, arrived on time but waited 10-15 min to be seated, once seated waited an additional 30min for chef. Another 30 min for food. Needless to say starving by the time we got our food. Faster service closer to reservation time would be a huge upgrade for meeting expectations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the diablo sauce makes every dish D ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love the diablo sauce makes every dish DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we had a reservation, we st ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Even though we had a reservation, we still had to wait at least 15 minutes for a table. Our service was decent, and the "cooking show" was ok. The food was lacking in flavor, though, and was disappointing. When we got our bill, I was surprised to find we had been basically tricked into ordering and paying extra for chicken fried rice (we were only asked if that's what we wanted, no other option was presented).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The cook was terrible. Low energy, insis ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The cook was terrible. Low energy, insisted on speaking to me in Spanish despite me telling him I don't speak it, and prepared food poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Overall it ended up being a good night. ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Overall it ended up being a good night. We went to celebrate my birthday and it started off a tad rough as we waited a bit of time even though we had a reservation. We waited for almost 30 minutes and it was only because of my husband kept on them to get us a table. They also were apologetic and offered us a free item for our troubles. The food was excellent. The chef was just okay - meaning his personality. He wasn't as energetic as I've had in the past. Again, it ended up pretty well, but we almost left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Go with a good attitude and you will hav ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Go with a good attitude and you will have fun. Wait staff always seems to have too many tables, but the real show is the chef and they are always great.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Max gave an amazing show and everything ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Max gave an amazing show and everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, atmosphere and customer ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere and customer service. Chef went out of his way to please everyone. We had a great time celebrating my birthday. Everyone was friendly. The lunch prices were affordable. Great entertainment watching the chef prepare the meal before you.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awful service Horrible horrible horrible ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Awful service Horrible horrible horrible. Food have me diarrhea all night long. Waiter never put order in. Cool took over an hour to start the dinner show. Telling everyone I know not to come here. Food poisoning every time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

As always, this was a great dining exper ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

As always, this was a great dining experience. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly. The chef was great - even making suggestions for items that were being cooked - extra spices, etc. Love, love, love Benihana's!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant for all the amazing ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The best restaurant for all the amazing fopd I enjoy! Love this place!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Reservations was scheduled for 5:30. We ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Reservations was scheduled for 5:30. We were not seated until 5:50 where we were not greeted by a chef for almost 45 minutes. Luckily, Crystal was entertaining and very efficient which made for an overall good experience just wish there was less waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was my wife´s birthday and we didn´t rec ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Was my wife´s birthday and we didn´t receive any special attention for that.

And we showed a discount cupom but the waitress didn´t accept and didn´t worry about that.

Finally, our bill was wrong with a drink from another family seated in our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The taste and freshness of their food is ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The taste and freshness of their food is high valued and delicious. Together with the service, it makes a special night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a fun place to go if you have 2 ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is a fun place to go if you have 2 plus hours for lunch.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Benihana is the best teppan experience i ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Benihana is the best teppan experience in the the San Diego area. Great place for special occasions!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

perfect , after a holiday weekend and no ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

perfect , after a holiday weekend and not crowded , got a regular table so we could stay longer and have a few drinks ,Annie our server was great always keeping the glasses full :)

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! We will be back We en ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great experience! We will be back

We enjoyed our entire experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

David, our chef was very entertaining an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

David, our chef was very entertaining and prepared our dinner very well. Our granddaughter loved the food and the show.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly staff; entertaining dinner; del ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Friendly staff; entertaining dinner; delicious personalized food; great dinner

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great place for a lively meal.Good food, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place for a lively meal.Good food, great service and entertaining.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great, but they should bring ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Service was great, but they should bring back the free picture for special events . Also the wait time for the chef was really long

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This place has really gone downhill. The ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This place has really gone downhill. The chef was flinging food all over the place. While cooking the fried rice, pieces of rice were flying all over the table and one piece landed on my shirt. The fried rice had no flavor. The chicken was chewy and the beef was salty. I used to think the price was worth it but now it's just over priced bland food with too much salt and a sloppy performance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great chef at our table and very imagina ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great chef at our table and very imaginative. You MUST get reservations ahead of time or you are in for a long wait...

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place knocked it out of the park!! ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place knocked it out of the park!! The service was outstanding for our anniversary! Chef Trevor was awesome! I complimented the staff to the GM. I emailed a review on their corporate website and was contacted as a courtesy by the GM later. He told me the email made it all the way to the top and he appreciated the kind words. He also recognized the chef and server during a staff meeting. Must eat in Mission Valley / Hotel Circle area!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy place. Difficult to hold con ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very noisy place. Difficult to hold conversation. Pricy, and the shows need to change and they should have different shows and have different libations of cooking magic.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I celebrated my birthday an ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

My wife and I celebrated my birthday and we had a great meal.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cook could have been more entertaining . ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Cook could have been more entertaining . But love the place and food

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The best to go for a special occasion t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The best to go for a special occasion the food is great especially the hockey right rice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service and chef were both great. Lo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service and chef were both great. Love celebrating birthdays at Benihana!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.