About Benihana - San Diego

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Sushi - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Trio - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chef - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chef Trick - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
WOW Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Fried Rice - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Onion Soup - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Sashimi Ceviche - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Las Vegas Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Gyoza - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
California Poppers - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Seaweed salad - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Rainbow Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
edamame - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Blue Ocean Punch Bowl - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Ahi Tuna Steak - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Vanilla Ice Cream - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Deluxe - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Green Tea Ice Cream - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Land & Sea - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Tempura Calamari - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chicken Love Boat - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Spider Roll - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Rocky's Choice - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Hot Sake - Benihana - San Diego, San Diego, CA

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (100)
Good for Birthdays (99)
Special Occasion (97)
See All
Good for Groups (90)
Family Style (79)
Good for a Date (78)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Kid-friendly (55)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Casual (45)
Great for Lunch (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Authentic (35)
Business Meals (29)
Romantic (25)
Happy Hour (23)
Open Kitchen (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Tasting Menu (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
People Watching (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Outstanding Value (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Cozy (15)
Healthy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Spicy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great Beer (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vegan (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not great at all ... service was ok , bu ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Not great at all ... service was ok , but food portion was not what I expected compared to other Benihana's... they're too cheap with the veggies and meat portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

I was there for my wife birthday party a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

I was there for my wife birthday party and did not have a good time there. It was kinda too crowded when we got there we have to wait and there wasn't any chairs for us to sit and wait. I think the price was too high for something that looks kinda okay and food did not taste good. Hard to find parking.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Always consistent and a favorite of ours ...

vip
 (Dublin)·Dined 4 days ago

Always consistent and a favorite of ours . Add fried rice !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely delicious. Very frie ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was absolutely delicious. Very friendly service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fun, Bar Seating, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is very tasty, you can see how ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is very tasty, you can see how they cook it , they chef are very friendly and funny. We love to dine there. The only thing that we miss is coffee at the end, everything else is excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Spicy, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go if you never been but ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to go if you never been but it is very pricey and over rated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Chicken was overlooked, dry rice, steak ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Chicken was overlooked, dry rice, steak was tough, vegetables were soggy, everything tasted like leftovers. Birthday celebration was ruined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Our chef, Fausto, was great!!! He engag ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Our chef, Fausto, was great!!! He engaged the little ones at our table

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music, Private Room, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and presentation.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zeji, Kaley, and Will did a phenomenal j ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Zeji, Kaley, and Will did a phenomenal job in servicing and entertaining my family!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took almost 20 minutes to be seated d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It took almost 20 minutes to be seated despite having a reservation. The hostess admitted she forgot about us. The sushi was average. The room was very cold. Our waitress was the only good part to the evening. She was very attentive and prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

This is a great place for a group of fri ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is a great place for a group of friends and family. It's a place you can enjoy good food and entertainment. It does get crowded and noisy but it's definitely a fun experience.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and chef was excellent. H2O and so ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food and chef was excellent.

H2O and some food was left on the floor under chef's cooking space once cooking was complete.

Child sitting at our table had a strip of plastic that she found in her bowl of ice cream. All the waitress did was apologize. Manager should have been informed. Was not my families child.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very flavorful and an awesome e ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was very flavorful and an awesome experience watching it being prepped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cook was very quiet I could barely h ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The cook was very quiet I could barely hear him. He wasn't as interactive. We had a good time overall though.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Authentic, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Benihana's a lot. Erick was our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We go to Benihana's a lot. Erick was our chef. Victor was our chef the time before that. They are both excellent and the food somehow tasted even better with them as the chef's. Food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating two birthdays and th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were celebrating two birthdays and there were 9 of us. We were seated shortly after arriving. Our hostess was very nice. Our server Fro was awesome! He has a great personality and made our visit a great one. Our cook was Nico, he was very energetic and entertaining. The food was great and we will be returning for our next get together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic time. The staff were ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a fantastic time. The staff were kind, the food was amazing and out chef "Felipe" was hilarious. Our group of 8 including 2 children really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was good , server didn't show up fo ...

 
 (México)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was good , server didn't show up for refills while eating, or ask if we needed it somenthing else , i need it forks and napkins and refills, but beside that everything else was fine .

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great lunch date. Food was fast and cook ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great lunch date. Food was fast and cooked well. Made a reservation for the hibachi grill, and was seated with a small party. Everything was exactly as expected and I would definitely recommend going.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had an appt and I still had to wait.Fo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I had an appt and I still had to wait.For the other party to come in before we got seated. It's never happened before! Other then that it was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It is a very entertaining evening and th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It is a very entertaining evening and the food is good. The parking however, is terrible.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I love eating here I come here about twi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I love eating here I come here about twice a month

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great as always, our chef howev ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food was great as always, our chef however was not very talkative and didn't do the normal show. We'll still be back!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was amazing ! I've been here a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was amazing ! I've been here a couple times but it's never been this good. Our chef added a lot of seasoning and was the life of the party. I was here celebrating my birthday with the birthday coupon and boy they never disappoint. Again, food was amazing, it was juicy and filling. I had the rocky's choice because it's the best bang for your buck!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although quite friendly, our chef Erick ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Although quite friendly, our chef Erick seemed to be in a hurry. He was done way before the chef at the next table, and they started at the same time. My friend's fillet mignon was way too oily and that is never good. I have to admit that my scallops were amazing! I also noticed there was a girl chef at one of the tables...about time! I wish the birthday certificate did not take so long to arrive. In this day in age, waiting a month for the certificate is ridiculous. Other than that, Benihana is one of my favorite places to dine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server, Elyse, for the table was lov ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our server, Elyse, for the table was lovely. She was very pleasant, friendly and accommodating. Everything else was below average. The hostess's were rude and being this is the first impression of the restaurant, I didn't get a great first impression where I would want to come back. However, the food was delicious, so I would do take out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Never asked if it was a special occasion ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Never asked if it was a special occasion, other times they ask and we have a picture taken with the group

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Tyler was our chef and he was great!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Tyler was our chef and he was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing evening there. Our se ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had an amazing evening there. Our server was awesome and our chef was amazing for our kids and us, too. Oh....and the food was great!!! Two thumbs up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For my first time was very nice to have ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For my first time was very nice to have dinner and celebrate my daughter birthday, Erick our cheff was amazing !🎉great customer service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertaining & great for all ages. Great ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Entertaining & great for all ages. Great appetizers. Great place for families, friends, dates, business associates. Celebrations of all types. Food cooked to your tastes. Love the gyoza, edamame, shrimp, steaks, specialtys & exotic drinks. We go there every week to celebrate our special time together

Tags: People Watching, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place ever!!!!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best place ever!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait time and greeting upon arrival ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The wait time and greeting upon arrival needs work.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing food and performace everything w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing food and performace everything was great no wait for reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!!! Amazing food!!!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love this place!!! Amazing food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef was very personable and friendl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our chef was very personable and friendly. He was aware and attentive to children. Which made the dinner that much better.

The steak melts in your mouth. It was delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is probably among the best rest ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Benihana is probably among the best restaurants not only in the United States, but the world!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would like a better vegetable, and sal ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I would like a better vegetable, and salad mix, with more variety, and increased portion sizes.

I thought the new york steak was quite good, but i would be interested to know what grade it was. I was told at the benihana in honolulu that they made special arrangements to use only prime, but i suspect that was not the case with the san diego evening hours, as we were all birthday celebrates, with all of us using a special discount.

I think from observation, and a nice taste sharing that the fish/seafood meals were much better, and tasty and of better quality.

It was a very nice evening, and the crew from greeters to chef were fine , but rooms were very crowded,and with out any noise reducing decor etc, so very high background noise. if your going to celebrate a birthday, or to ask a very surprised happy woman to marry you, please use it's ambiance it is a fine place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I was able to make the reservation that ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I was able to make the reservation that morning for 4:15 pm that same day! We did share a table but that was very okay. Bit messy around the table but it is to be expected since he gave a great performance during the cooking of our dinners. The girl made sure our drinks were full at all times as well. Overall a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.