About Benihana - San Diego

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

WOW Roll
Fried Rice
Onion Soup
Las Vegas Roll
Gyoza
Sashimi Ceviche
Seaweed salad
Rainbow Roll
California Poppers
edamame
Blue Ocean Punch Bowl
Ahi Tuna Steak
Deluxe
Green Tea Ice Cream
Tempura Calamari
Land & Sea
Vanilla Ice Cream
Spider Roll
Chicken Love Boat
Rocky's Choice
Hot Sake
Chicken Fried Rice

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Mission Valley ›

good for groups (195)
special occasion (193)
kid-friendly (89)
See All
great for lunch (65)
fit for foodies (57)
hot spot (38)
romantic (27)
neighborhood gem (24)
late-night find (22)
great for brunch (18)
vibrant bar scene (7)
notable wine list (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chef Italo was absolutely fantastic!!! ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 2 days ago

Chef Italo was absolutely fantastic!!! Will ask for him again. We celebrated a birthday party here and it was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Benihana because my girlfrien ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

We went to Benihana because my girlfriend always wanted to go to one and see the food cooked in front of us. What we didn't expect was how entertaining it would be. The food was great and the staff were very informative about the menu and were very helpful in deciding on dishes.

It is a loud environment and I do not recommend bringing kids or younger family members. This is definitely an adult restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived an hour early for the reserva ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

We arrived an hour early for the reservation and we were told they'd seat us early. We were actually seated 15 minutes after our original booking (and that was because I complained). The service was below average but the food was pretty good.

We will not go to benihana again because this is actually the third time this has happened. After seating us we waited nearly 30 minutes before we ate. Arrived and hour early and ate an hour late. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Had a great meal and Ray our chef was gr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great meal and Ray our chef was great as was Johnathan our waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Understaffed for a busy night. We were ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Understaffed for a busy night. We were there for an hour extra because of this. It was unfortunate since it was a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

I love Benihana's & gather a group of fr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

I love Benihana's & gather a group of friends every year to celebreate my birthday. I love the happy hour drinks, but wouldn't pop in just to hang out for drinks. I find the acoustics unnerving in the bar area. It is too loud for chatting with friends. And, although it is fun to sidle up to the bar before our dinner meal, it's too small for the entire group & so are the small 4-top tables. I'm not complaining, just giving you my input as requested.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When someone asks for no seeds. The cook ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

When someone asks for no seeds. The cook needs to note it well!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed the group of 6 sitting with u ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We enjoyed the group of 6 sitting with us at a table for 8. Our chef was only 22 yrs old, but he had all tricks down - very entertaining and the food was very good. This could be fun for large parties of 8. Grab your friends and go!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always delicious, service is exc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food is always delicious, service is excellent, chefs go all out to entertain.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luis was a fantastic chef, very nice guy ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Luis was a fantastic chef, very nice guy, and he cooked our filet mignon just as we asked.

The ice cream was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana our go to spot for special occ ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Benihana our go to spot for special occasions and celebrations. The food is great and prepared right front of us.

Open table was convenient easy to use.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Horrible service and customer service fr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Horrible service and customer service from the second you walk into the establishment. The bathrooms were very dirty and not stocked. The food is overpriced. I got real upset because there was a couple at our table who were sharing an entree so the chef would take from our portions and give them to the couple when we clearly each paid for our own entrees. I was very disapointed and will never be returning here. The service was terrible. The server brought out soy sauce 13 minutes after he brought us our sushi. He did not come to refill our drinks. He also messed up one of our entree orders where he wrote we ordered the julienne steak when we really ordered the Samurai treat. Never coming here. The chef was horrible and really disapointed how he kept taking our portions and giving them to the couple who split one meal and not each get there own just because it was one of there birthdays. Not fair! Our bill was 170$ and very disapointed because we left here hungry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This restaurant is a staple for birthday ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant is a staple for birthday dinners with a group of kids. Reasonably priced for everything you get, and always a great show for the young ones. The food was much better than anticipated.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ray our chef was awesome! We had newbie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Ray our chef was awesome! We had newbies in our group and snapped their experience, for it was an exciting night out! Thanks again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always spend special occasions for ou ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We always spend special occasions for our family at benihannas and always have had good experiences. This time however wasn't pleasant. Our chef Felipe spent 90% of the time speaking in Spanish to the other party at our table. And when we would try to get his attention were often unsussessful. This was Very disappointing since this was my parents 30th anniversary and we spent a lot of money here. The cooks need to have better manners. Ignoring and alienating half of your table isn't polite and that isn't how you keep customers.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I loved the food... Thank you for hostin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I loved the food... Thank you for hosting my birthday celebration

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the food! The chefs are entertain ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I love the food! The chefs are entertaining and exciting to watch. Avoid the wait by making a reservation!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience all around! Food was gr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great experience all around! Food was great and server was entertaining. I gave 4 stars overall because I felt that we were upgraded to fried rice without being told there was an extra charge. $4 for each child!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ambiance lively. The place was packed fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Ambiance lively. The place was packed for a Monday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my first visit to Bennihana and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my first visit to Bennihana and I have lived in San Diego for 50 years. I have herd nothing but good things about the restaurant and I am so glad that that I chose Bennihana for my daughters birthday. Everyone of my guests had a great time and enjoyed their food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We go to Benihana's for special occasion ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We go to Benihana's for special occasions - this time for a birthday. Sadly, people lingered at their tables for quite a while and we weren't seated until almost 30-minutes past our reservation time, and then waited a bit more before our server arrived. However, once seated, we had a great time and enjoyed the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

It was my birthday and we had our dinner ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was my birthday and we had our dinner at benihana with my family it was great company and great food they intertained us and was a great birthday thank you

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I enjoyed the food very mu ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My family and I enjoyed the food very much. My children loved watching how the food was being cooked right in front of them. Over all an excellent time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exellent food and service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Exellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for birthdays and family's, our se ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great for birthdays and family's, our server Santiago was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and show are really nice but th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food and show are really nice but the prices are ridiculously high. I paid almost $300 for 5 adults and only two had one glass of wine. The others drank water. They fill you up on salad and about two cut up shrimp. But once a year it's fun.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I wouldn't know how to rate it. Made a r ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I wouldn't know how to rate it. Made a reservation for 9pm and by 930 still wasn't seated so I left. Don't see what the point of making a reservation is if I still have to wait a long time to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was a good night overall. Usually the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It was a good night overall. Usually the service is excellent, but our server was just okay that night.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Had an issue with Staff an a Dog. I ques ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had an issue with Staff an a Dog. I questioned the guest if the dog was registered, she got upset and demanded a different table. The dog did not even have a license let alone a Registration ID. The Hostess talked to her but let it slide. It was a small Yorkie type. Even Emotional support dogs require registration and ID. I watched as the dog was held on her lap, it wasn't on a leash, and it ate from the table. Ruined my entire night. What other animal has been on my table? You might ask why I am so upset. I am a recent transplant recipient the risked going out to Celebrate my 35th Anniversary, to be ignored.

Makes me wonder, if this goes on in the front of the house, what are conditions in the back?!

Was just really disappointed in the entire issue and how it was handled.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Good good good ambience and there's alwa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good good good ambience and there's always fun time with the chefs making it a good time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Great food, awesome atmosphere. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Amazing! Great food, awesome atmosphere. Perfect place for any special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super show at the Chef's table. The foo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Super show at the Chef's table. The food is always fresh.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I love coming here with my family! Staff ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I love coming here with my family! Staff is always friendly and chefs are always fun to watch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the fact that the food is cooked ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I love the fact that the food is cooked at your table. The chef was very personable and entertaining. The food was incredibly delicious especially the teriyaki chicken, the sauce was the best I have ever had. The place is a bit expensive however I felt the food and wonderful service made it worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wish our waitress would of had a much be ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wish our waitress would of had a much better service ... This was my first time dinning here and to be honest I was disappointed.... We did get a discount on our check but it was my husband birthday and I wish it would of been a great experience..

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Our server, Matthew, is the best! I've ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server, Matthew, is the best! I've been going to this Benihana several times a year and I never had a most attentive server like Matthew. He's always around to pick up empty plates and refill our drinks.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time. Excellent food, ser ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Always a great time. Excellent food, service and the show the chef's put on is very entertaining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Benihana! Easpesially the chicke ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love Benihana! Easpesially the chicken fried rice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Benihana quite a number of ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We've been to Benihana quite a number of times, to the point that their food shows started getting stale and outdated. They must've recognized this, because this time we got a chef with mostly new show material and he was quite the pleasure! He did pander a bit by making the shrimp do the 'whip and nae nae' dance, and this could be offensive to some, but it was okay. Food, as always, was great and the service was good, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went to celebrate my daughter's birth ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to celebrate my daughter's birthday. None of us had been there before. The ambiance was fun and the presentation was entertaining and enjoyable. Next time we will try to fill a table but it was ok dining with strangers. The food was pretty good but I do think I will ask to see the full menu next time. The staff was very attentive and pleasant and the picture for my daughter's birthday was an added bonus. We plan to take my sister for her birthday later this year. Overall, very enjoyable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.