About Benihana - San Diego

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

WOW Roll
Fried Rice
Onion Soup
Las Vegas Roll
Gyoza
Sashimi Ceviche
Seaweed salad
Rainbow Roll
California Poppers
edamame
Blue Ocean Punch Bowl
Ahi Tuna Steak
Deluxe
Green Tea Ice Cream
Tempura Calamari
Land & Sea
Vanilla Ice Cream
Spider Roll
Chicken Love Boat
Rocky's Choice
Hot Sake
Chicken Fried Rice

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Kid Friendly
San Diego
1 More
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Mission Valley ›

good for groups (199)
special occasion (190)
kid-friendly (103)
See All
great for lunch (71)
fit for foodies (66)
hot spot (42)
romantic (25)
neighborhood gem (22)
late-night find (20)
great for brunch (19)
vibrant bar scene (7)
notable wine list (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Had an issue with Staff an a Dog. I ques ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had an issue with Staff an a Dog. I questioned the guest if the dog was registered, she got upset and demanded a different table. The dog did not even have a license let alone a Registration ID. The Hostess talked to her but let it slide. It was a small Yorkie type. Even Emotional support dogs require registration and ID. I watched as the dog was held on her lap, it wasn't on a leash, and it ate from the table. Ruined my entire night. What other animal has been on my table? You might ask why I am so upset. I am a recent transplant recipient the risked going out to Celebrate my 35th Anniversary, to be ignored. Makes me wonder, if this goes on in the front of the house, what are conditions in the back?! Was just really disappointed in the entire issue and how it was handled.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good good good ambience and there's alwa ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Good good good ambience and there's always fun time with the chefs making it a good time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Super show at the Chef's table. The foo ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Super show at the Chef's table. The food is always fresh.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I love coming here with my family! Staff ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

I love coming here with my family! Staff is always friendly and chefs are always fun to watch!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I love the fact that the food is cooked ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

I love the fact that the food is cooked at your table. The chef was very personable and entertaining. The food was incredibly delicious especially the teriyaki chicken, the sauce was the best I have ever had. The place is a bit expensive however I felt the food and wonderful service made it worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Wish our waitress would of had a much be ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Wish our waitress would of had a much better service ... This was my first time dinning here and to be honest I was disappointed.... We did get a discount on our check but it was my husband birthday and I wish it would of been a great experience..

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Matthew, is the best! I've ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server, Matthew, is the best! I've been going to this Benihana several times a year and I never had a most attentive server like Matthew. He's always around to pick up empty plates and refill our drinks.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time. Excellent food, ser ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Always a great time. Excellent food, service and the show the chef's put on is very entertaining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Benihana! Easpesially the chicke ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We love Benihana! Easpesially the chicken fried rice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

We've been to Benihana quite a number of ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We've been to Benihana quite a number of times, to the point that their food shows started getting stale and outdated. They must've recognized this, because this time we got a chef with mostly new show material and he was quite the pleasure! He did pander a bit by making the shrimp do the 'whip and nae nae' dance, and this could be offensive to some, but it was okay. Food, as always, was great and the service was good, too.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to celebrate my daughter's birth ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to celebrate my daughter's birthday. None of us had been there before. The ambiance was fun and the presentation was entertaining and enjoyable. Next time we will try to fill a table but it was ok dining with strangers. The food was pretty good but I do think I will ask to see the full menu next time. The staff was very attentive and pleasant and the picture for my daughter's birthday was an added bonus. We plan to take my sister for her birthday later this year. Overall, very enjoyable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

You can always count on good food, fun e ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

You can always count on good food, fun entertainment, and great service at Benihana!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time, great food, and gre ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Always a great time, great food, and great service.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Foods good .. Just a bit salty.. Though ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Foods good .. Just a bit salty.. Thought I would have an Asian cook not Hispanic

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was the best I have had there. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was the best I have had there. I had the Hibachi Salmon. My parents had the steak and shrimp. We all had the fried rice. We all enjoyed our meal and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here to celebrate birthdays. The ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We came here to celebrate birthdays. The certificate was easy to use. Service here has been 5/5 each and every time I come here. The chefs are all amazing and their tricks are fun to watch. Everyone should experience eating at Benihana at least once.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Wait staff was not very attentive. Our c ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Wait staff was not very attentive. Our chef was not fun like all the other Chefs around us. Took forever to get our food and they forgot our rice. Will not go back.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had agreat time with friends food was go ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had agreat time with friends food was good service was good and fast. The chef was good. Overall had a great time definitely will come back again.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place

Dined on June 9, 2016

Love this place

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

About as bad as it can get.

Dined on June 8, 2016

Waited an hour for our chef to show up. In my past experiences here the chef is either already at the table or shows up a few minutes later. This one hour delay ruined our experience. Also, the quality of the seafood they use is the lowest and cheapest available.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treat yourself! You deserve it.

Dined on June 7, 2016

I'm a frequent flyer at Benihanas and I wanted to treat my best friend who's never been. I recommended one of the 6-course entrees and she was in love. The food was great, the service was spectacular - overall great experience. I especially want to thank our lady chef, Crystal, for her incredible skills around the grill and even more incredible attitude. She was absolutely fantastic and I hope to see more of her! I recommend Benihanas - San Diego to anyone who's looking for a fun night out with a group or a special someone. Be aware the 5 and 6 course meals do run a little higher price wise, but you without a doubt get your money's worth. Cheers!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Benihana never disappoints. Festive envi ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Benihana never disappoints. Festive environment perfect for special occasions. Meet new people at a communal table setting. Chefs always entertaining. And last but not least the food is on point and always prepared perfectly!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Service

Dined on June 3, 2016

My family and I had a great time at the restaurant . The service was amazing and the food was great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined there twice this week

Dined on May 31, 2016

Took one part of the family on Monday and the other half on Wednesday. We all had a great meal and the kids had a fun time. We will be back soon..

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great show, food excellent and met new friends

Dined on May 30, 2016

Had a very nice time at this Benihana. Very convenient to the hotel we were staying at in Hotel Circle in San Diego. Shared a table with another small group and had a nice time making new friends. Food was wonderful as usual and the show is a lot of fun. Highly recommend

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Felipe was the best cook we've ever had ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Felipe was the best cook we've ever had at a Teppan place. I will be sure to ask if he is going to be there the next time I visit with my family.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, good service, price is a litt ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Good food, good service, price is a little high for steak and chicken but the salad, the soup and the fried rice make up for it. If you like sushi the Las Vegas role is pretty good

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Server changed after order taken new ser ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Server changed after order taken new server never came back to check on us

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

celebration

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our chef was so good, the food was great. It was such a fun night

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always an excellent experience where ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

As always an excellent experience where everyone in a celebratory mood. Food is expertly cooked and of high quality.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I was

Dined on May 24, 2016

The chef, Angel, was rather boring and di not put on a very good show. He seemd tired and uniterested.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone should try this place at least ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Everyone should try this place at least once. It's a very memorable experience for birthdays, graduations, or whatever one wants to celebrate.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, I never hear a No Fro ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent service, I never hear a No From any of them

food2
ambience1
service3
value3

Too noisy. Too many cooking tables with ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Too noisy. Too many cooking tables with 8 people each close together. End of table seats have a work cart next to them, for a large part of the meal. Tables face each other with carts on both sides for most of the meal, while cooks are literally back-to-back for each table. My scallops were over cooked, the cook noticed and said dip them in the sauce, no effort to replace, or discount bill. Fried chicken rice is awesome, but you can get it as a take out or in the sushi area with drinks. We eat out often, and usually will overlook many issues, but loud noise and poorly prepared meat, fish, eggs is not acceptable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3

Wonderful like always. If ever a proble ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful like always. If ever a problem make sure to let manager know and they will handle it right there and make things right.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great! Server and chef were fr ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was great! Server and chef were friendly and we were seated within 15 minutes of our reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Benihana never disappoints! Fun and good ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Benihana never disappoints! Fun and good food - a little pricey for me ($225 for 4) but special occasion so why not?!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Checking in for our reservation took too ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Checking in for our reservation took too long. We had to dispose of our water bottles then we had to wait 15 minutes before we were actually seated. Ordering our food seemed to take too long and it was very confusing as the orders were taken by 2 or 3 different people. The table seemed crowded. Our chef was very nice and somewhat entertaining. The type of food was not really to my liking, but others in our group really liked the food. Most of the group enjoyed watching our food being prepared by the chef. It was too noisy to hear anybody so talking among ourselves was difficult.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hector and Andrea were great!!!! We have ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Hector and Andrea were great!!!! We have been to Benihana several times and this was the best experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

We were sat in the back by the kitchen l ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were sat in the back by the kitchen lots of traffic but when we make a reservation for a time we expect to be seated it was 45 minutes after our time .

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.