About Benihana - San Diego

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (130)
Fun (120)
Special Occasion (120)
See All
Good for Groups (96)
Good for a Date (88)
Good for Anniversaries (88)
Family Style (75)
Kid-friendly (74)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Great for Lunch (50)
Worth the Drive (48)
Casual (45)
Authentic (36)
Open Kitchen (34)
Romantic (29)
People Watching (28)
Healthy (27)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Tasting Menu (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Happy Hour (22)
Business Meals (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Spicy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Private Room (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Live Music (3)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to celebrate a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Chef crystal was amazing. very funny and very good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome dinner prepared perfectly by Pedro who put on a good show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great overall experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ray "our chef" was INCREDIBLE. He was energetic and made sure we also had water and extra sauces. Food was cooked perfectly!
Wish I could say the same for our waiter. Not attentive and I think Ray saw that so he was filling our waters and even was removing our dirty plates.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was amazing , it was my friends first time and she really had a blast!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

All in all it was a great experience. I'm not sure if it was the noise level or another reason but when placing our orders a few items were forgotten or not heard but the issues were quickly resolved after we made it known.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Really amazing place for live cooking in front of your face

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups, Authentic, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was good, Chefs are entertaining and fun. Food was good, would have like to had more seafood in my dish. Restrooms are not very clean could use a little revamping.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was a great experience and my husband really enjoyed his Birthday celebration at this restaurant. I would recommend this restaurant for any type of celebration. The Chef and hostess were excellent and the service was very good. Thanks for offering such a fun place to eat. Food was very tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Benihana's is a lively, noisy, active, and fun place to go to dinner for special occasions, or for just a unique dining experience. Most of their Teppan tables seat about 8 people, and the main course prices are about $28 and up. Combos are a bit more, and of course Lobster or Chateaubriand is higher priced. It is hard to carry on a discussion with a date or family member in the noisy dining room due to the cheering going on when the various table's chefs build fiery onion volcanoes or flip shrimp tails into their chef hats. All in all food was overpriced for what it was, and beef and chicken flavors were minimally tasty, while the shrimp and the lobster tails were terrific. The atmosphere and unique experience is why you would go here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Siempre es buena opción el benihana trío!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Splash n Meadow was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We celebrate birthdays here! Always great entertainment and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Everything was great, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Sam made our dining experience fun. The food was good, as usual.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It was nice , I wish hey had yum yum sauce. Our waitress forgot our Japanese green tea so that was disappointing but I made sure to ask for it before we left. Overall it was a nice experience though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food was good. Experience was a little off. Our chef seemed like he was tired of his own shtick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful experience here! Made reservations a few hours before hand and were seated within 5 minutes of the reserved time.

Meal was prepared beautifully and entertainingly. The filet mignon was cooked to a delicate medium rare (just as I requested), and everything was seasoned well.

It's a bit on the pricier side but definitely worth it for special evenings and date nights. I'd request to be seated by the grill so you can get the full experience otherwise it might not be entirely worth the price you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was good. 👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was very bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Easy reservation and great dining experience. Puko was very entertaining and our host William was extremely attentive. Going back on my bday for that bday gift card

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food and service was wonderful.
However. I tried Sakae for the first time with my son it was his Bday
I ordered 2 Sake I thought the price would be $12.50 each and I was charged over $40 for just the two Sakae's
This was not a good start of the dinner since we could not transfer our bar bill to the dinner bill and I was over charged ?
I will not be back to this Location

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good steak and lobster. The place is very loud and it is hard to hear. Max our chef was great. I had a bottle of wine that was exceptional. That was a shock. We sat with another group of nice people.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Too crowded. Extremely noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Had a really nice dinner and as always the food was excellent!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Everything was excellent, was not my first time eating at Benihana. Only problem was there was a small hair in my boyfriends soup. It was small enough to be a facial hair. We didnt cause a scene just politely asked the server to bring us another soup. Other than that everything was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Best dining experience ever it was my girl friend first time dining in on Sunday it was her favorite experience. I thank the staff for the great service thank you guys for completing our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

i enjoy benihana of course not only the food but also for the entertainment of the chef. Our chef Armando was not very engaging, he did his job and that was about it. There was a person at our table that was there for the first time and I guarantee she will not recommend the experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a good dining experience, Tyler our chef did an amazing job . The food was excellent

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Made a reservation and was seated as soon as everyone in my party arrived. The chef was very outgoing and friendly. He put on a little show as he cooked the food which was very entertaining. The food was delicious and very filling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Was a really great time, my girlfriend enjoyed eating at Benihana's for the first time in ever! She really loved the food an the chiefs characteristics, they're all very funny an excellent!! cooks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great place to celebrate our Grandsons return from deployment.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Robert, the manager is excellent at his job. Him and Nicole took great care of us

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 28, 2017

David provided an excellent show as he prepared our meal! Food was tasty, but getting pricy. Not a fan of the charge for fried rice. Also not a fan of people bringing dogs into the restaurant, especially at the teppan tables.

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The "show" was great, the cooks were very entertaining and interacted with each other when they were cooking. The food was okay. We are used to a small, local place, that offers less show and focuses more on the food. It was a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I like coming here for birthday dinners and with groups of people. It's a relaxed atmosphere and you pay for the entertainment, essentially (the show the cooks put on while cooking your food). The food isn't bad either and coming here to use the birthday coupon is worth it. Be sure to make a reservation, as it does get really busy. I would definitely come here again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We only visit once a year on my birthday. Great two for one value (birthday certificate $30). But the last few times going, the cook has been lacking energy throughout the meal. Also, they do not always give you your fair portions. Try to other something no one else is ordering to get your fair share. But, besides that, a great atmosphere and place to eat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.