About Benihana - San Diego

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (133)
Special Occasion (123)
Fun (122)
See All
Good for Groups (96)
Good for a Date (90)
Good for Anniversaries (88)
Family Style (87)
Kid-friendly (71)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Great for Lunch (50)
Worth the Drive (44)
Casual (39)
Authentic (38)
Open Kitchen (36)
Romantic (32)
Outstanding Value (26)
People Watching (26)
Business Meals (25)
Happy Hour (25)
Healthy (25)
Tasting Menu (22)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Spicy (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great Beer (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Private Room (6)
Historic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vegan (3)
Live Music (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Dancing (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We love the foid and never tire of the habachi rice.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Totally my favorite place in the world. The food is always amazing! I've never had a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome is all i have to say! The service was great from beginning to end. Miguel the chef was on point!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, People Watching, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Our chef David was the best chef we have ever had the pleasure to serve us. We have been to many Benihana's around the country. He should us new tricks and the food was some of the best we've had. We always love Benihana's but this time, David made it extra special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

it was ok. very poor service. food was good super super super loud. chef seemed bored with job

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Benihana used to be a great place to enjoy a fantastic meal---good food and lively people. This time was not the same any more. Food was way too much salt and black pepper. People were yelling and we had to scream to talk to our next couple. The chef was rushing and the server was rushing. We all felt that we had to leave at the very moment the chef pushed his cart away. It was not a very good experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

The server forgot to heat up the table, so we had to wait 15 min more. Hungry and didnt get recompensates for it. Then she frgot the rice bowls and miscounted how many people were in our table.instead of bring 7 soups she brought 6. Slow start but food was great and the chef was superb.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a fantastic time with friends.. Service was excellent, as was the food.. The wine, and beer selection was extensive.. Overall a very pleasurable experience...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place to eat with the family. Chefs are always fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Crystal was an excellent, entertaining, and very professional chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I was disappointed in our chef. He hardly spoke to anyone at the table. We could hear and see other tables having more fun! This was our first time and celebrating birthday. Was a little bummed when we left!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The 8 of us have been celebrating two March birthdays, for over 15 years, at the San Diego Benihanas and have truly been amazed and awed each and every time by the talents and expertise of the chef and the care afforded our group by the server. This was the first time each of them said this was the BEST "team" we have ever had.
Haley was very consientious of everyone's needs and very easy to interact with...
Tyler was not only a wonderful chef, but his demeanor was entertaining, genuine and definitely contagious. ..he brought out the fun in all my friends!!!
Thank you from all of us !!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Birthday
Will and Sam were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Last minute gathering with my friends. We had a great time and our chef was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful place to enjoy an afternoon meal. Chef was highly entertaining and food is great. Reservations are highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We go to Benihana for mostly birthdays, and when we do, we always feel comfortable and excited to see the chefs perform/ cook. It's fun for the kids. They love it. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Cook/entertainer totally captivated my four year old grandson even though he's been there several times. While he only ate the white rice (thanks for bringing it quickly!) and a little chicken, his 19 month sister tried everything and really liked daddy's scallops. Fun evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Good times at Benihana! Great atmosphere and everyone has fun.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Fun, entertaining, tasty experience. Staff is friendly, helpful and they help you keep your large party on track. If a loud noisy environment would ruin your experience don't go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Birthday celebration.
We've been coming here for many years and always enjoy ourselves, although lately the various chefs seemed tired and not as energetic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Always a fun place to enjoy a meal with friends & family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

GREAT service great and friendly employees. All GREAT

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Chose this restaurant because I have not been here in over 30 years. Just as great as I remember. Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Robert, one of the managers was exceptional! The food was great, and the atmosphere lots of fun!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant and we celebrate every special occasion there. We even get our family to drive over 100 to eat at there. It was our first time to have Crystal as our chef, she was great, givinging special attention to some of our guests who were visiting from Australia.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a Rev 8:15 and weren't seated for 20min , so load inside that the waitress got the order wrong ..... Just a bad visit !!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Hector was an amazing chef! He was probably the most entertaining chef I have had in all the years I've been going to Benihana. Our server seemed to be a bit overwhelmed but luckily we had Hector to keep us entertained and occupied.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Some of my family members had never been to benihana My grandson granddaughter ENJOYED IT I REALLY REALLY ENJOYED MY SELF THE SERVICE THE FOOD WAS AWESOME MY son Loved the cocktails he had

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awesome had been over 10 years since last visit Hector the chef was funny talented and a reason for recommending

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We went on a Sunday afternoon to celebrate three birthdays. Our party of 7 was seated ahead of our reservation and, as usual, service was great. There were some technical difficulties with the grill that delayed our chef's performance about 20 minutes. Our waiter didn't miss a beat and offered us appetizers while we waited. The food as usual was fantastic and even our picky kiddos enjoyed their food. Benihana is always a great time as long as you're not in a hurry and don't mind the prices.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have been to Benihana many times, but none like this! Our chef was spectacular and the food was amazing! We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We arrived 10 minutes before our reservation time (5:00) and were given a beeper and told they would call us. After watching numerous people being seated, it was now 5:15. I asked the woman at the front desk how much longer and she asked if we had checked in because she didn't have us on her list...about that time another girl came from the back and called our name. We were there for a special occasion and were on a time limit so this did not sit well with me. The reason we made a reservation was so we wouldn't have to wait. No apology...the table they sat us at had a group that had been waiting (I saw them be seated before us and they said they didn't have reservations). For the price of the evening I expected better attention to detail. The seating was very crowded with all four of us on the long side of the table. Our server and chef were very nice, attentive and entertaining.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We love Benihana! It is our favorite restaurant. The food is always excellent and so is the staff. The chefs are fun and entertaining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great food as always ands great entertainment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Went there for my birthday, Monday 2/27/16 and we had only had our soup, salad, shrimp, and our chef had just finished our vegetables, and then there was a huge power outage. All the grills went off. Everything went off. We didn't get to eat really anything. I know it wasn't the restaurants fault but it was unfortunate. The bright side was our chef, Puko. He was entertaining, funny, gracious, and really made me feel special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Benihana's Japanese atmosphere has deteriorated since I first went about 20 years ago. Used to have Japanese chefs that yelled out some Japanese words. Plus, the food (every single cooked portion from veggies to meat) is now smothered in garlic butter, which made it pretty tasty; however, I was left with the feeling like my mouth and clothes were covered in butter. We went to celebrate 2 birthdays, but they don't offer anything for the b-day people, not even a scoop of ice cream. Nonetheless, we (adults and kids) were seated close to the reservation time, enjoyed the satisfying meal (meat portions were adequate), and left entertained. Whole experience lasted about 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were seated at our reservation time. The staff was attentive and friendly. The food was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was burned, requests not followed may change to samurai

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our waitress was attentive, super nice, really helped us have a wonderful evening! Our Chef didn't seem to be having a good night. He dropped tools, seasonings, missed throwing the tails. He didn't seem to want to be there. It was disappointing to spend THAT much for a celebration dinner and have a chef that wasn't in the mood. I understand we are all human and have bad days. I feel for the guy, but not sure we got our money's worth.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.