About Benihana - San Diego

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
Benihana - San Diego
WOW Roll
Fried Rice
Onion Soup
Sashimi Ceviche
Las Vegas Roll
Gyoza
California Poppers
Seaweed salad
Rainbow Roll
edamame
Blue Ocean Punch Bowl
Ahi Tuna Steak
Vanilla Ice Cream
Deluxe
Green Tea Ice Cream
Land & Sea
Tempura Calamari
Chicken Love Boat
Spider Roll
Rocky's Choice
Chicken Fried Rice
Hot Sake

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Mission Valley ›

Special Occasion (203)
Good for Groups (193)
Kid-friendly (96)
See All
Great for Lunch (66)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Hot Spot (39)
Romantic (31)
Late-night Find (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Brunch (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Scenic View (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Benihana is always fun! You can count on ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Benihana is always fun! You can count on the food being good and the chef to be entertaining.We love to go here for lunch and dinner--especially for special occasions!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place,I enjoy the friendly peo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place,I enjoy the friendly people and cook

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good show and food, service was spo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Very good show and food, service was spotty, too a long time for our chef to come to the grill, once there it was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Terrible piece of chicken that was rubbe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Terrible piece of chicken that was rubbery and inedible. Left on the plate. Told the waiter and expected to be take Lin off the bill. Surprised it was not. Left disappointed. Shrimp was good. Boiled rice and fried rice was good. Expected more from Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

I love this place. Every time I come her ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I love this place. Every time I come here, I have an amazing time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Female cook, Crystal was excellent

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Female cook, Crystal was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tyler was our chef and he did a fantasti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Tyler was our chef and he did a fantastic job, very professional, charming, funny and professional! Our table waitress was also very conscientious and both provided excellent service! Our family was having a last dinner out before our son leaves for college and we had an excellent time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server, Miyoko, was the sweetest!! O ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server, Miyoko, was the sweetest!!

Our chef, Angel, was amazing!!

Will definitely visit again!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my boyfriend there for his first ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I took my boyfriend there for his first time as a surprise for his birthday-the experience was better than I had even anticipated. We will definately be returning! Food was delicious and our service was 5 stars!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the experience. The food is ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoyed the experience. The food is just not too good. Everything tastes the same. Bland.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Fun and a great time with family.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fun and a great time with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Server was rude and never refilled drink ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server was rude and never refilled drinks, didn't ask about additional alcoholic beverages, didn't bring rice, tables weren't bused. The cook was amazing, very entertaining. But the food quality wasn't that great. Plain white walls with maybe one red or blue wall throughout. The focus is on the cook I agree, but at least put up a decorative fan or watercolor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

They scrunched extra people at our table ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

They scrunched extra people at our table. I made reservations on purpose because of the occasion and they still scrunched people in. It was hard to eat and no place for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

It was ok, our grandkids eenjoyed. It wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was ok, our grandkids eenjoyed. It was very nice of them to take a picture for the special occasion. Food was ok, nothing special. But my grandkids enjoyed it's done have a good time

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Cook was a little sl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was very good. Cook was a little slow. We had been to similar type restaurant in Columbus. There all the food is cooked together. At Benihanas, the rice is cooked first then the entrees are cooked. Not saying which is better, just different.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I came here about 3 years ago for a frie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I came here about 3 years ago for a friend's birthday and really enjoyed it but was not really impressed this time around. We were seated in a tight space with a whole lot of people so the "ambience" felt more like Chuck E Cheese. The dinner was good but nothing special. I would equate it to Red Lobster. My daughter suggested I sign up for your website since we were going for my birthday but you guys have one of the most restricted birthday offers I have ever seen from a restaurant. Aside from having to wait 24 hours to actually get the coupon, which meant we could not use the coupon for my birthday dinner, I noticed the other restrictions when we were looking at the menu and it just seems very excessive. I don't think I'd recommend your restaurant without the disclaimer of the aforementioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

We came here at 6:00 pm. Waited too long ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We came here at 6:00 pm. Waited too long before we get our food. The chef is boring . I was expecting the chef to do some tricks but did not meet my expectation. Ended up leaving before we even get our main dish cause the environment overall is not good and paid 80$ for what? Fried rice? Not a place where I can recommend. Not a happy customer at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent food and fun chef. Server was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food and fun chef. Server was especially nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome chef! Super fun experience. Can' ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome chef! Super fun experience. Can't wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a fun place to go. Specialy for ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is a fun place to go. Specialy for people who have never been there. Children love it because of the show. It is so different as any other place.

The food is goodand fresh.

The only big problem.....very, very noisy. Not because of music, but it is bad accoustic. We

could not talk to our own family at the other side of our table. Really a pity

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Chef entertained kids while enjoyed coco ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Chef entertained kids while enjoyed coconut mojitos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a dinner and a show

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It's a dinner and a show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was very fun and friendly and it was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It was very fun and friendly and it was a lively experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have never experienced prejudice the w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I have never experienced prejudice the way I did tonight. Tobin R. Bell is possibly the worst General Manager I have ever encountered. Our server began the night with condescending remarks, I think I noticed first, my husband asked him if he could get us another waiter. He got the general manager, the GM came with a presupposition that he didn't want us there. No one was yelling or arguing, we just asked for another waiter. We could tell he wasn't taking us serious. He finally said he can't help us and asked us to leave. What makes me upset is that we had no voice, how we felt didn't matter and now we are no longer welcomed. Mr. Tobin R. Bell needs to be reminded that the position he holds has the power to bring joy or grief ... The 10 of us that came left overwhelmed with grief.

By the way, we were celebrating my husbands 40th birthday... Thanks for ruining it for him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My family, friends and I enjoyed our din ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My family, friends and I enjoyed our dinner party . We were seated 15 minutes past our reservation time, but it was worth the wait. The server was friendly and attentive, the Chef was entertaining and made all are dishes with patients and took much pride in making us our awesome meals. The atmosphere was quite loud and crowded. Over all this is a great place for celebrations of all sort. Children meals are provided at a great price. Parking is limited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tyler was an awesome chef very entertain ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Tyler was an awesome chef very entertaining he was rel fun and personable

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best location I have ever been too. Food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Best location I have ever been too. Food was super

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a great place to celebrate specia ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It is a great place to celebrate special occasions. The food is delicious and the chefs do an amazing job at entertaining all guests while cooking your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as I expected. Facility was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Not as good as I expected. Facility was run down and dated. Waitress made a lot of mistakes with our table's orders, including forgetting to bring out the appetizer we ordered. Our assigned chef was not very lively...or at least at the level that the restaurant chain advertises their service to be.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Ray the cook was wonderful. Food was AMA ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Ray the cook was wonderful. Food was AMAZING!!! So was the service by BriAn who helped us out with an Anniversary(and hostess). It was a great experience! Thx !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hostess are unfriendly didn't smile. Wai ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Hostess are unfriendly didn't smile. Waiter very inattentive had to ask him several times for extras and refills. Steak was dry and gross asked for Medium and it was very chewy ( took my leftovers home and fed it to my dog ) not coming back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Awesome place for special occasions

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Awesome place for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy hour has the best deals for sushi. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Happy hour has the best deals for sushi. Dinner was OK...hibachi steak not as tender as in the past.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and excellent service. Our ch ...

 
 (Raum Hamburg)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Our chef was very funny. There was a family on the same teppanyaki grill and the chef did some funny things just for the kids. I definitely recommend this Restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

as usual great experience

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

as usual great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Benihana's! They took our pictur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We love Benihana's! They took our picture and gave us a link to download if we wanted to share it with family and friends. The show is always fun and the food yummy! Spend a little extra for the chicken fried rice. Bon a petite!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I absolutely love Benihana!!! My first v ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I absolutely love Benihana!!! My first visit to Benihana was in 1979; I was 15 years old. Although some things have changed over the years; the quality and value remains the same!

I visit Benihana at least 2 times a year for special occasions; I must say that I've never beendisappointed!!!

My all time favorite is the Habachi Steak and Chicken (Rocky's Choice) cooked with Spicy Sauce; it's a must try!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entire experience was awesome! We ha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our entire experience was awesome! We had a 6:00 p.m. reservation on a Sunday, we were on time and so was Benihana. Our server was articulate and knowledgeable, she Really knew Everything! I wish I could remember her name... :( Our Chef was Manny... HE WAS UNBELIEVABLE!!! The table was full and the orders were varied. We were a mixed table of first timers and many timers including a small child and we were all handled with equally superior attention to our individual needs and expectations... We Loved This Place, our Chef, and our Server!!! Benihana-San Diego deserves My Highest recommendations. Thank You!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall experience was nice, first time ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Overall experience was nice, first time to bring our girls (9 and 11). They really enjoyed it. Chef was short of food tho for my family. Rice and shrimp, not sure what happened there. Margaritas were delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was extremely bland. It had no ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our food was extremely bland. It had no seasoning. Not at all worth the $72 bill I had. You can go to a regular Japanese place and get better food for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.