About Benihana - San Diego

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Kid Friendly
San Diego
1 More
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Mission Valley ›

good for groups (207)
special occasion (204)
kid-friendly (120)
See All
great for lunch (69)
fit for foodies (59)
hot spot (46)
romantic (37)
late-night find (30)
great for brunch (21)
neighborhood gem (16)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (4)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great! Server and chef were fr ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was great! Server and chef were friendly and we were seated within 15 minutes of our reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Benihana never disappoints! Fun and good ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Benihana never disappoints! Fun and good food - a little pricey for me ($225 for 4) but special occasion so why not?!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Checking in for our reservation took too ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Checking in for our reservation took too long. We had to dispose of our water bottles then we had to wait 15 minutes before we were actually seated. Ordering our food seemed to take too long and it was very confusing as the orders were taken by 2 or 3 different people. The table seemed crowded. Our chef was very nice and somewhat entertaining. The type of food was not really to my liking, but others in our group really liked the food. Most of the group enjoyed watching our food being prepared by the chef. It was too noisy to hear anybody so talking among ourselves was difficult.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hector and Andrea were great!!!! We have ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Hector and Andrea were great!!!! We have been to Benihana several times and this was the best experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

We were sat in the back by the kitchen l ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were sat in the back by the kitchen lots of traffic but when we make a reservation for a time we expect to be seated it was 45 minutes after our time .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time here. Food was amazing! Fun pla ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

1st time here. Food was amazing! Fun place for all ages.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience for mothers day, chef w ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great experience for mothers day, chef was awesome! Great food and had lots of laughs. Thanks

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We took our mom and sister to Benihana in Mission Valley (San Diego), for Mother's Day, as Mom hadn't ever eaten at the teppan yaki grill. We were also able to order from the lunch items menu. Our chef was, I believe, Yuchi, and, unlike some of the other chefs, was very personable and animated. He joked alot, which didn't detract from preparing a delicious meal for all 8 of us. What was most important was our mom seemed to enjoy Yuchi's "antics". She also really liked the scallops that she ordered. Overall, it was a very enjoyable celebration for the mothers in our family, and we would consider Benihana again for a special occasion. I would like to add that they have a great happy hour, with reasonable drink and sushi specials.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Benihana=Awesome

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was great and kids were entertained by the chef.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Great App"!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I used OpenTable for a Mothers Day reservation. Was very pleased to be able to be booked so easily and quickly. Arrived on time to Benihana's on Camino Del Rio South, and was seated within minutes of reservation time. Had a blast with all the entertainment, good food, and of course celebrating with my lovely Mother. She enjoyed the whole stress- free affair. Thank you!!! I highly recommend that anyone who is looking to make reservations in the near future, make them on OpenTable. "Great App to have"!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Birthday Dinner Date

Dined on May 8, 2016

Me & my Boyfriend were first timer here & we absolutely love it food was amazing waiter was so attentive we got a drink refill without even asking. We were in San Diego for the weekend & for first timers @ Benihana's we enjoyed it. 😋

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a great time. Lots of good food and friendly service .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Rocky would be very disappointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have eaten for years at Benihana's, and used to be a guest of the original owner, Rocky. He would be very disappointed. Eating at Benihana used to be an entire experience, lasting for hours. We were in and out in under 1.5 hours (seated and less than 1hr15min later were present our bill). The food was bland and I doubt I will be returning. Very saddened by this!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I celebrated my birthday on May 6th by going o Benihana - what a great experience! Aside from the food being delicious (as it always is) we had exceptional service from our server Michiko and our chef Erick. Michiko was sweet, attentive, and very personable, and Erick put on an incredible display of talent and humor and made a wonderful dinner for us. We will definitely be back - thanks to both of them!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Depends on your cook!

Dined on May 6, 2016

The last time I was here our cook didn't do a very good job as far as tricks and actually flavoring our food. Suffice to say, our second visit we had an outstanding cook (Tyler) and our food was awesome! As expensive some items are it really makes a difference when your cook knows how to cook!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you Chef Fausto

Dined on May 5, 2016

Thank you so much to Faust. He was the Chef who made my daughter's BDay Special. We go there for our family birthdays, but we never got a chef like Faust. Maybe because we go at dinner and this is the 1st time going during lunch time. I love the way Fausto handle our table. Kudos to FAUSTO. YEAAA!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Didnt get soup and salad... dissapointed

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter was very slow and we were there for 3 hours. No salad or soup was to us which is my favorite part. Chef also forgot my shrimp and had to remind her. Other than that it was fun

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Richie's Birthday

Dined on April 30, 2016

First time going there and it's different from any restaurant that I've been. Our Server and the Chef was very friendly, even gives you hint on making your food taste better. Watched the chef cook and performed technique on how food is prepared. Very Entertaining and we had good time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Respect the reservation

Dined on April 30, 2016

It's difficult to have a pleasant experience when you make a reservation for a restaurant, arrive on time, and are then handed a pager and told to hang out a bit. Around 20 minutes to be precise. The waiter was very amateur, not at all Japanese, and lacked the skill set to perform they tricks Benihana is famous for. All of the food did taste good once it was all prepared, and the sushi rolls were terrific.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun Food

Dined on April 29, 2016

Good food cooked in front of you with flair & jest.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience!

Dined on April 27, 2016

As always, we had a great dining experience to help celebrate two birthdays in our family. Great food! Great show!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Time for all ages!!!

Dined on April 27, 2016

We had a fantastic time. It was our 38th Anniversary and 3 days late my 67th Birthday. Our waiter was very attentive to all at the table, courteous and mad our evening enjoyable. Our chef went out of his way for our anniversary and spelled it out in the rice on the cooktop. He even used my phone to take pictures for us. Couldn't have for a better time. THANK YOU ALL.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3

Same old Beni... always a good time and ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Same old Beni... always a good time and they did a great job with the cake I brought for my wife's birthday

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Meal

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday and had a great time.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable and fun!

Dined on April 26, 2016

I came here with some of my friends to celebrate our achievements. It was our first time here, except for one of us whom has been here once before. We all enjoyed our food and the neat tricks our chief performed. I will definitely be back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Tradition at Benihana

Dined on April 25, 2016

As a family with 4 kids we our at Benihana celebrating a birthday 4-6 times a year. We've eaten at the Mission Valley, Carlsbad, and Newport locations. It is always fun, delicious and memorable. It has become a family tradition.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 25, 2016

First visit in a long time---still just as good as we remember. Great place for special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

Unpleasant

Dined on April 24, 2016

Cook very serious...quiet probably so tired to entertain guests and cook no more than 3 tricks .

food3
ambience2
service3

It was fun for my 10year old son. Old s ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was fun for my 10year old son. Old school, it's a classic. Benihana delight.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and special treatment very good atntion

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a good time great dinner the food was very good ambiance familiar the chef was excellent

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Horrible Front of the house

Dined on April 20, 2016

The front of the business is one of the most important parts of the experience. When you walk in and you have to say hello to the hostess that are leaning on the front desk talking about the night before is not a professional way of doing business. This is the second time I have had this problem in this restaurant, unfortunately the first time I was there I did not have reservations and had to wait over two hours with five children. This time I expected a little better service specially because the restaurant was not busy, but it was not. We got there fifteen minutes early and still made us wait until our reservation time even though nobody else was there, are you kidding me.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience!

Dined on April 19, 2016

I visited Benihana for the first time on a Monday night and it was surprisingly packed! I had previously made an online reservation just in case and I'm glad I did! I have to say...our chef was HILARIOUS. I've been to a few hibachi restaurants before and this one was by far the funniest! (His name is Angel of you want to request him!) we will definitely request him when we go back to Benihana. He made us laugh so hard. The food is expensive, but it's comparable to any other hibachi restaurant. You get a good amount of food for the price you pay. I loved that the hibachi dinners included hot green tea afterwards; it was delicious! The only thing is, I wish they served more vegetables with the dinners. I also wish they served noodles like Some other hibachi restaurants. Other than that, the flavor was awesome and our food was cooked perfectly. We had such a good experience for my first time and I was very pleased. I would definitely recommend Benihana for any occasion!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sensational

Dined on April 19, 2016

Always great food and drinks . Been going for 20 plus years and food still great

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful night. Fun shoe and delicious ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Wonderful night. Fun shoe and delicious entre. Ate filet ignore with colossal shrimp. Wonderful choice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on April 16, 2016

This place is great I have been to many Benihana and by far this was the best! The food was AMAZING! The chef was awesome and the staff was friendly and kind!! Totally will be back again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment

Dined on April 16, 2016

My family and I decided to go on the spur of the moment. As usual the chefs are entertaining and the food was delicious.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Bday rewards

Dined on April 15, 2016

Join their club - good for 1 free meal, with purchase of similar, so you'd need to dine with at least one other in your party - or just order 2 meals and take home leftovers... Main teppanyaki dining room is pretty compact/packed, so the noise levels can get pretty loud. As far as the food, though, it is outstanding value, and everything cooked to order in front of you with the chef/entertainer. Also items cooked cut up in nice bite-sized pieces. The price is paying for the experience. I'd eat there again, maybe try happy hour specials in the future.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food great time!!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Love the fried rice. Service is amazing w fun "food show"!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3

Great food. Server was hustling but over ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great food. Server was hustling but over worked. Too many tables. Still, benihanas always delivers.

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

love the food

Dined on April 12, 2016

Problem with timing. Took over 2 hours to complete meal. It was a birthday occasion and we always look forward to the picture. No one at the restaurant knew how to put new paper in the printer so we never got our picture. Disappointed group...I will go there again but the long wait for food and not getting our picture was disappointing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.