About Benihana - San Diego

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana’s famous showman chefs are legendary in San Diego. The restaurant is located near hotel row off the 8 Freeway, exit Mission Center Drive. Visit our large sushi bar and lounge for Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great specials starting at just $3.00. Benihana is near Mission Bay, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo.

477 Camino del Rio S
San Diego, CA 92108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8 FWY and 163 FWY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 298-4666

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/sandiego-ca-sd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (116)
Fun (107)
Special Occasion (103)
See All
Good for Groups (91)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
Good for a Date (81)
Casual (61)
Creative Cuisine (60)
Great for Lunch (43)
Worth the Drive (42)
Authentic (36)
People Watching (27)
Business Meals (24)
Romantic (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Happy Hour (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Tasting Menu (17)
Spicy (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Disabled Access (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great Beer (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Seasonal (6)
Tapas (6)
Vegan (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good, table a little cramped, service was great, noise level a little high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Disgusting place! Terrible food. Just a horrible depressing place.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a really great time .. my daughter is 6 years old and she said that she want to celebrate her birthday there , the food was amazing and the waitress and chef where awsome too .. we will definitely go back again soon

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

It was my sons birthday choice. We had a great time as usual. Great service, great food and spectacular presentation.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

It was an awesome experience as always. The food and service was great.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I was very disappointed at my experience at Benihana's. I went for my birthday, but it was such a let down. Our entree was so expensive, yet it had very little food on the plate. The waitress asked if we wanted rice or fried rice, but she never mentioned that it was an extra fee. It bothered me for a couple of days that one entree with a sake could be $45 dollars. Yikes! I felt like it was not a very good experience or good value and kind of deceiving. The girl next to our table was drumming her chopsticks for about 15 minutes, which was super annoying, so even the ambiance was a let down. I don't think we will be coming back anytime soon I am afraid to say. Just thought you should know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Always love Benihana's for special occasions. It's a little on the loud side, but that's what you expect when you have a chef cooking at your table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great place to celebrate birthdays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Everything went well and expectations exceeded.
Edgar

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

I was disappointed with our food service. Me and my girlfriend had decided to go with the chicken five course meal. Unfortunately this meal had shell fish, something we are both allergic to. We asked if we could have something else instead of the shrimp, but we were denied that. So our only option was to give our shrimp to the guess across the table from us. So our loss their gain.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

It’s the best love the entertainment that comes with your meal

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Chef was so funny and the food was delicious and service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Service and people were awesome/ Very kind! I had better habachi but I lived in Japan too so maybe It would be different for first-timers. Would I go back? Yes, It was enjoyable and cute

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2017

While the chef's presentation is cute, the food that is prepared really isn't worth the price you pay. If you like soy sauce, it's great. Your food will be overwhelmed with the predominant taste of that. I ordered the spicy chicken. I like spicy food, but this was just plastered with tons of their spicy sauce. The fried rice is great. The bites of appetizer items they provide are also good. But our entrees were just not appealing. If I ever have to go there again I thought the shrimp and scallops dinner that someone got at my table looked edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our chef Felipe was fun and accommodating. We all had a great time.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

My niece Paulina’s birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner experience for my exchange student. We had a lot of fun! She loved it! It is awesome that you do birthday dinners!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We have been here many times. The service this time was exceptional. Our Chef was great. Just the right amount of humor. I think his name was Fausto. The server was Will. Loved the food... As always!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We had Victor and he was awesome! The wait was a bit much. We were seated around 8pm for a 7:15 reservation. The service was excellent however and the food was excellent. Will be back again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Our cook Victor was the best! Great attitude great conversation, great interaction! Very funny and profesional! I've been there plenty of times and by far he was the best chef ! The food was amazing! Very satisfied

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Disabled Access, Spicy, Healthy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a great time!! We will definitely go back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We come here every year for my husband's birthday. We had a wonderful dinner with our family . Fun atmosphere, great service and delicious food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

It was great. The chefs are entertaining and food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Service has been better in the past. They were very very busy but the server didn't take our photo and then we had to wait over 20 min to get a copy of it. Food was excellent and the new spicy fried rice is AmaZing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

First and foremost: my wife and I truly enjoyed the cozy feel of this place; it definitely has a welcoming feel to it. The food was amazingly delicious. It's a unique experience seeing your dinner being cooked. Definitely adds a cool spin to it. Our cook (Edwin) was nice, funny, and energetic. Overall, it was a great dining experience. My wife and I will definitely come back to try more dishes and spend a fun night of creative cuisine and exotic drinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2017

What can I say? This was by far thee best Benihana experience ever. I took my son for his 16th all the way from Las Vegas. The food was so delicious, I almost cried (lol). Manny was so fun and perfect for our table.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Manny was a great chef! We had a great time celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our food was excellent. The restaurant is really loud with all the groups. Everything was great. Only negative was our server had tables on either side of the room and wasn't around very much to make sure waters were full.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great place for celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Puka was an excellent chef/comedian and kept our whole group engaged!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food was good our chef...Max was great overall we had an awsome.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had a great time! Puko, our chef must do stand-up comedy. He was so entertaining (other table seemed envious). I ordered the ahi and he made it perfectly. He also was very attentive to dietary restrictions. I would definitely repeat this experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

My fiancé and I went to celebrate his birthday month. We both loved it and the waiter was awesome and made him feel special as well as the chef. Thank you Benihana for making our night wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Our chef was amazing. He kept us laughing the entire time, he was so much fun! The food was incredible!!! It was our first time going to Benihana outside of Ontario and it was well worth the drive!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Tapas, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

The food was delicious. Sadly my dining experience was ruined by the rude bartender, he was probably not having a good day but the should keep his personal problems at home. People come to this restaurant expecting amazing food and customer service, unfortunately I only received one.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Loved it, our chef was the best, the food was incredible, we had lots of fun

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great food and show! We belong to the birthday club and always go for that. We try to go at other times, but is so popular you must have a reservation. They need to put a Benihana in downtown SD!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

It was VERY noisy for us senior citizens -- could not hear the announcements preceding our experience. I had not been to Benihana's for probably over 30 years and did not expect that kind of noise level. The experience was fun and a new one for my birthday guest. Wish I woud have known about the birthday club before I chose to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.