Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Tue, 5/22
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 28 times today
Special offers available. See details

Benihana - Salt Lake City

4.3
862 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana sits poised in downtown Salt Lake City directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. It’s tucked behind the Janet Quinney Lawson Capitol Theatre, within easy walking distance from the world-renowned Mormon Temple. Only a 15-minute drive from Salt Lake International Airport, Benihana is popular year-round with tourists, convention-goers, and skiers alike. Validated parking is available in the parking structure on West Temple at 200 South.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

BANZAI HOUR:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 322-2421
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
W.200 South
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking tickets are validated by our host.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Happy Father's Day! Don't just give a gift. Give an experience unlike any other. For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in
Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a
$10 Benihana Promotional Card. Offer available 5/15/18 - 6/17/18. Promotional Cards valid 6/18/18 - 7/23/18.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 862 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great service, good food and so much fun! Will recommend to friends and family any time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

It was great food, but too noisy to talk to people we came with.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

I registered for the chefs table and went for my birthday but they never sent me a coupon. Our reservation was for 7pm and we didn’t get seated until 7:40pm. Not the best experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was mediocre and I expected better, especially for the price we paid.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We were there to celebrate a birthday, we were sat in a very back corner and they crammed the three of us (two larger guys) on the side of the hibachi table where they typically only seat two people. The sake came out with a dirty cup and had to be sent back. The food was subpar, you are definitely paying a premium for the “experience”. The chef we had was obviously new and did about half the “show” that the table next to us got. The appetizers were fine, nothing special. My steak was tough and the fat gristly even though I had it medium rare and the shrimp were over cooked. They forgot about they birthday as well despite a few reminders that it was why we were there.

Overall we will stick to the hibachi knockoffs in the future, the meal is half the price and the experience is better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Amazing food and service. Will come back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

we always enjoy eating at your restaurant. The "show" is always fun and entertaining. and the food is excellent!!
Your handicap access leaves a lot to be desired. You need to make improvements on that situation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

It was great! The executive chef is very fun!
The food was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Chef Steve, the golfer, was excellent. I dinned on my birthday 5-7-18 and unfortunately, my Chef's table Birthday Certificate came the day after my birthday, so I wasn't able to use it. The restaurant could do nothing about it. Other than that everything was great.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

My husband and I went to Benihana on Sunday and I ordered teriyaki chicken and it’s wasnt cooked through all of the way. It was very hard to chew, and still pink and slimy in the middle.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

went here for prom and the food was delicious but there was other prom groups there who were very loud

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 4, 2018

My wife and I had not been to Benihana’s for quit some time and decide to celebrat our anniversary and were excited. We were excited to return. It was a Friday night and made reservations and were sitted right away upstairs. The floor along with the stations were a mess a unkept. Disgusting to say the least. Our chief forgot what he was doing and over cooked the chicken and shrimp to the point of them both being like rubber. For the price of $100 for the 2 of us, the food was without flavor and very disappointing. We could have gone anywhere with in 100 yards of this place and had much better tasting food and prepared like it was supposed to. I truly wonder how long it’s been since the health Dept has stepped foot in this restaurant. Wow, won’t be going there back every again. Period.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

I think we had a new chef. He seemed like he didn’t know everything yet. He was nice just unsure of himself.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Love Benihanas! Great food! Love to go anytime we are in SLC.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 1, 2018

This was our first time to Benihana and we didn’t love it. The food hardly had any taste compared to other hibachi grills we have been to. We will not be coming back unfortunately.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Great staff and even better food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great time. Funny chef. Delicious food. Went before the theater.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Made reservations for my sons birthday. Food was great. Teppan chef seemed new but was pleasant and personable. Our waiter seemed in a hurry to get us out the door, but we stayed and finished our meal including dessert. Overall a nice experience. We would certainly come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

First time there and everyone was very nice and outgoing. The chef was originally from Tibet and told everyone how he came to be in the states. It was a fun experience and the food was wonderful. My son definitely wants to return and order the lobster now.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great entertainment while watching the experts cool great food right in front of you with hibachi style cuisine. Always fun and delicious. I appreciated being Ble to request no bitter or oil and have the chef accommodate my dietary needs. Thanks guys!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 26, 2018

The food was just average. The seating arrangement allows for 8 people around a countertop grill for the preparation of the meal. I was with my daughter. The other 5 people dining were in one group celebrating a birthday. We felt like we were intruding on their celebration. It may be more useful to seat small 2-3 parties with other 2-3 parties rather than making the small party feel like an "add-on" Our chef seemed like he had done these culinary tricks a million times and was just short of rolling his eyes at how silly they are. The waiters were very friendly but getting the check to leave was a bit slow. I am glad I visited, but I would not plan on ever returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Everything was perfect! Great food, great service, great show!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Had the best chief there Ridoelgo. Been there at least once a month he is by far the best

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent food. Great service. Very fun place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great over all great meal and an amazing show

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 18, 2018

I told our server I had a shell fish allergy and she said my food would be prepared separately, it was not. It was cooked with shellfish on the table, I was sick for the next 2 days.
Their prices are ridiculous, I paid $95 to be super sick for 2 days.
The restaurant itself is not very clean, the menu prices do not reflect the ambience inside.
I’d recommend steering clear of this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 16, 2018

We were seated at a table alone, then sent a chef who was new and not very good. The food was not seasoned at all, and although the chef was very friendly, he did not know how to cook the meat and had to ask us several times.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

The experience was overall a very pleasant and enjoyable one. Food was OUTSTANDING and we had such a fun chef! Everyone was very polite. Sharing a table with strangers is always awkward so better to come with a big group and have a table to yourself (so you avoid listening to a vegan spout out to her friend the whole meal about misinformed politics and such). However, the table is ridiculously small and with almost no elbow room, so be prepared. Hard to eat without bumping the people next to you so, again, come with a big group you know so it’s less awkward. Overall a fun experience, well worth the delicious food, but the table and seating situation was too awkward to feel comfortable coming regularly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food and service was amazing. Great for a date made the night perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Our choice for b-days and anniversaries. Great food. Get to meet other people and share a common experience. Noise not too loud. Little cramped for eating and crowded (busy) but fun.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

First let me say, we arrived later than our reservation however the parking lot closest to the restaurant was not available and we had to walk a good distance to go there.

Upon arrival they checked us in without so much as a “you’re late and will have to wait” ... we were seated in the lobby not realizing our reservation.had been given away. After about 30 minutes my daughter finally asked what was going on. We had seats at the symphony and needed to be done by 7:15. We were told the next table was ours. Another 30 minutes passed before we were able to be seated.

We have eaten at Benihana in too many locations to count, but this experience was by far the worst. The chef was not up to par in terms of his cooking skills and his tricks need a bit of practice. He was, however very good with service. He remembered who didn’t eat vegetables and was mindful not to put them on those plates. He was kind enough and funny enough, he just over salted and over cooked most of our meal. The female waitress was everything you’d expect from a Benihana server. She was excellent.

Overall I spent about $150 on a meal that was not anywhere close to worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Delicious as always. Great cooks and entertainment 😁

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Building was old and run down. Carpet was disgusting. Chef was not very engaging/entertaining as other locations. Food was excellent and service was fantastic so that helped!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The service was great. The food overall was okay, some food were overcook.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

The prices here are quite a bit above other Japanese places we have been in Salt Lake. The mixed drinks were horrible and the sodas were flat. The server messed up a few of our items. The chef at our table was the only one who seemed like he knew what he was doing. Very loud. Be prepared to spend money and come out smelling like grease.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Daughters birthday and Easter celebration

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

I booked reservations for my husbands birthday. Our waiter ever even mention his birthday nor acknowledged it. I was extremely disappointed. She didn't ask us if we were celebrating a special occasion but I specifically mentioned it on my reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Really enjoyed our time here. Our chef was entertaining. The food was fabulous. My only complaint is that we made a reservation for 6pm. We arrived a bit early (maybe 1/2 hour). We asked if we could be seated early as there were MANY walk-ins just being taken to a seat. The hostess at the front was very disengaged. She pretty much ignored us for at least fifteen minutes. My husband then approached her again and asked if we could be seated as a walk-in. She looked at us very oddly and said "go upstairs...it's your turn now". We just found it strange. The remainder of the evening was wonderful once we got past her rudeness. It is a bit more pricey than I would normally choose for a family evening out, but we were on vacation and decided to splurge a bit. My teenage daughter really enjoyed the chef. He was fun and engaging.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great service. It was my first time there and i love it.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Very very disappointed in our service and dinner at Benihana's. I was in town from Texas visiting my family and made 2 reservations for 12 people. We were celebrating my moms and sons birthdays and thought it would be fun to have dinner here together. We arrived at 515 for our reservation at 530 and were quickly told that our party would not be able to sit at tables next to each other. However earlier that I week I called and specifically told them we would need 8 at one table and 4 at another and they said sure that won't be a problem. I spoke to the manager who was incredibly rude and not accommodating at all. I told him the situation and that we had 2 birthdays, I called earlier that week, and that I lived in Texas but he didn't care. He said we could wait 30 minutes to an hour for 2 tables next to each other but couldn't guarantee it. We ended up being split into 2 groups of 6 with 3 random people at each of our tables and sitting nowhere near each other. Our service was mediocre. We got our salads the same time as our veggies and our fried rice the same time as our meat which I've been to Benihana's several times and this is not the order. We never got drink refills, our chefs didn't do any special tricks and I had 3 kids under the age of 7 at our table. We waved to my mom across the room who was also celebrating her birthday. I got charged for miso soup in place of the mushroom one which they always just substitute for us. We had our birthday pictures taken separately and finished at different times. It was a very expensive dinner for the service and food we had. At the end they validated our parking but didn't give us enough stickers so we still had to pay $4 which is also super frustrating after the experience we had. I won't ever be going back to Benihana's again, very very disappointing for our family dinner celebration.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22

Tweets by Benihana - Salt Lake City