About Benihana - Salt Lake City

165 S West Temple Bldg #1
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana sits poised in downtown Salt Lake City directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. It’s tucked behind the Janet Quinney Lawson Capitol Theatre, within easy walking distance from the world-renowned Mormon Temple. Only a 15-minute drive from Salt Lake International Airport, Benihana is popular year-round with tourists, convention-goers, and skiers alike. Validated parking is available in the parking structure on West Temple at 200 South.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Sushi - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Trio - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Chef - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Chef Trick - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards
The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM
The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Utah
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Utah
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (30)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fun (25)
Family Style (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Casual (11)
Open Kitchen (9)
People Watching (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Romantic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Easy to get to, food is what should be e ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Easy to get to, food is what should be expected, and atmosphere is fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's one of my favorite birthday places ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

It's one of my favorite birthday places and they give you a $30 coupon on your birthday Monday-Thursday for dinners. They have a great show while they cook your food in front of you! Definite must try at least once!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing staff, The food was amazing. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing staff, The food was amazing. The drinks were cold. All eight of us had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I hope this review gets back to the Mana ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

I hope this review gets back to the Manager, I have been in the food industry for 30 years. the food was great, the cook at our table did a very nice job. The waiter was not at all good. He needed to stop worrying about himself and worry about his customers. He was in a hurry from the start. We asked him about the menu and splitting a course. His answer was well I think the meals are pretty big. Huh.... come on. your Waiters need to understand your menu. He came out just after we had rec. our last session of meat and rice, not more than 2 mins. he comes out and ask's my son if he needs a box. Timing is every thing. we spent over 100 dollars and were not pleased with your service just because your waiter was not on his game. Lots of money for sup - par service. Hope he get's this feedback if not I would love to come in and give it to him in a development way. He was not good what so ever....

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The entire experience of Benihana is the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

The entire experience of Benihana is the show of your chef doing tricks and interacting/talking with you. Our chef did NOTHING but prepare our food (poorly). No talking, no tricks - except for the volcano onion, which he prepared quickly and silently without any flair and then dismantled without so much as a smile. He also did not prepare my food how I requested it - I can't tolerate much oil or butter - and my chicken was somehow both dry and oily.

The chef at the table next to us, meanwhile, was joking with the customers and flipping shrimp into their mouths while he spun tricks on the grill. Methinks we got the short straw in the deal. Even with a free birthday dinner, it was a huge waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My husband and I dined at the Salt Lake ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I dined at the Salt Lake City Benihana on our first anniversary 33 years ago. We were seated aside a family with four children. We said to each other that night "someday we will bring our kids here." Fast forward three decades and we have four children that have celebrated birthdays and vacations in many many Benihana locations. It is consistently fun, delicious and a nice evening for our family. We have so many happy memories seated around the grill. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Family Style, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I celebrated a friends birthday for dinn ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I celebrated a friends birthday for dinner and she has extreme dietary needs/restrictions. The staff was very diligent in preparing the food correctly and being courteous with our needs. It was a wonderful experience. Thank you!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried rice really good. Sea food and bee ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Fried rice really good. Sea food and beef are ok. Chicken is bad no taste and meat too dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and excellent service by host ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and excellent service by hostess and our server Jordan. I certainly would recommend this restaurant and would consider going back again. Thank you again for a lovely evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was delicious, the service was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was mediocre. We enjoy the family serving atmosphere and the show.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I brought a group of students out to cel ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I brought a group of students out to celebrate our work at the SC'16 conference. Everyone enjoyed their dinner. The chef was very talented, as well as entertaining.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I am a huge fan of tepanyaki food, but t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I am a huge fan of tepanyaki food, but this place was Chaotic. There is no samurai chef entertainment for lunch. So there is no point visiting a tepanyaki restaurant. Appetizers are not worth the price. Srimp appetizer has just 4 pieces of shrimp and costs $8.50. hibachi chicken was undercooked. Veggies had a lot of onion in it. Overall, a bad experience. I have visited atleast 10-12 tepan restaurants in different states in USA till now and this was the worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was very good but our server wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was very good but our server was not. She did not get our order correct and could not get things to our table in a timely manner like water and soy sauce. The chef was O.K. but not their best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Everything were in salt lake we stop and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything were in salt lake we stop and eat there. The atmosphere is family friendly and the staff is just like extended family. The chefs entertain and cook your food to perfection. A must go if your in town!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihanas never fails to be entertaining ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Benihanas never fails to be entertaining and delicious. Great place for a fun experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was overcooked and salty. The ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was overcooked and salty. The chef was nice, but even my 5 year old boys were bored with the "show." The restaurant carpets were filthy from years of grease. I tried to air out my jacket outside for a couple days from the gross smell but I'll have to send it to the dry cleaners. All of that for $80 is absurd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Our server, Luis, was rushed and unenthu ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Our server, Luis, was rushed and unenthusiastic. The steak was fatty. I was so disappointed with the whole experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This was my first experience at a Beniha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was my first experience at a Benihana. It was good, but not great. Even though I had a reservation we still had to wait at least 20 minutes. I was surprised by the amount of kids dining here and ended up seated next to some. Of course that is not something the restaurant can necessarily control, but it was definitely a lot more of a casual place than I expected. Maybe that's just because it's Utah. As for the food, again, it was good but not great. I have had better hibachi other places. It's nice that they still give you little bites of shrimp, as some places have discontinued that. But then the way they presented the sides was a bit odd. You just got some grilled zucchini, a pile of onions, and then rice in a separate bowl. I prefer when places give you a mix of vegetables together. I might go back some time if we don't find a better hibachi restaurant, since the price wasn't bad, but it's not at the top of my list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was very good (steak and scallo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was very good (steak and scallops), and the chef put on a great show. The atmosphere was good. The front desk seemed confused and seated groups out of order, which was somewhat annoying.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Fun, entertaining, and delicious meal. A ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fun, entertaining, and delicious meal. And the chef and staff were very accomidating to get my date and I out in time for the theater.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ausser dass die Atmosphäre (laut, eng, s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Ausser dass die Atmosphäre (laut, eng, stinkend) war, ist dort alles super!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great experience! Food was awesome. Gr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great experience! Food was awesome. Great for family occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there with my wife to celebrate m ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 27, 2016

I went there with my wife to celebrate my Birthday. We had a very good time. The other people at our "table" were nice fun people. The chef was wonderful and had a lot of fun. I had the Filet Mignon and Shrimp and it was prepared very well. The fried rice was well worth the extra $3.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time ever feeling rush ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was my first time ever feeling rushed dining at this location. I ate steak and chicken and my chicken wasn't cooked all the way through . So I had to set it aside . Although this did happen , I will be back of course, it's one of my favorite places to eat .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

we went to celebrate a birthday on a tue ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 21, 2016

we went to celebrate a birthday on a tuesday night which we thought would make it less hectic. It was very hectic. Our server was slow and we went long periods of time without drinks. Typically we receive a coupon for the birthday but it hadnt shown up. When we asked about why, or what they could do for us they handed us a card to contact and the company was closed. The pic they took was terrible but by the time it was all said and done we were ready to hit the road. Usually we have a great experience but this was lacking. The food was good and the chef was lovely.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My favorite place for special occasions. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 20, 2016

My favorite place for special occasions. Such a fun, entertaining atmosphere and the food is so delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome experience as ALWAYS 🙌🏼

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Awesome experience as ALWAYS 🙌🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Chef was talented and funny - great ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our Chef was talented and funny - great showman. Our server was exceptional. She was always there to take care of us. Best service I have had a this restaurant!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining area was almost full when I a ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The dining area was almost full when I arrived for my reserved time. The manager advised I would have to wait for my express lunch. But a minute later, he found me a spot and I was able to order and get my meal within a half hour. The manager worked alongside the server (Maria) by bringing drinks and sides in order to service diners quickly. He was even bussing tables. The meal itself was alright. I ordered the hibachi steak and shrimp. The portions were very small. The vegetable portion was even smaller and did not include the carrots that have accompanied the zucchini and onions in the past. But, what I did get was tasty and seasoned well. On the whole, it was a good experience-I never had to wait for a refill and was in/out in less than an hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

This location is nestled in the crevices ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This location is nestled in the crevices of a few office buildings. The size of the restaurant is surprisingly large. The cleaning agent used to clean the grill however has a very pungent odor and several of the guests at my grill/table were coughing due to the fumes. The chef was entertaining however the food could use a bit more seasoning. The table side service was very good and timely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great experience, had fun for my birthda ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great experience, had fun for my birthday and the food was awesome !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Was my wife's first time she really enjo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Was my wife's first time she really enjoyed it and watching as they made the meals.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and very entertaining. The f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food and very entertaining. The food keeps coming from the time you sit down until your dinner is over. Prices are reasonable considering what you get and the fact that it is prepared right in front of you. Our chef, Louis, was super!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was rude

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The waiter was rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great customer service from the hostess ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great customer service from the hostess to the chef that grilled our dinner for us! Our table had lot s of seafood ordered from scallop, salmon, and tuns and he cooked it perfectly! Nice clean restaurant with a great side section for non-teppanyaki meal. He was also very entertaining with his show with the onion rings stacked with a zucchini as steam come out like a train for a 6year old girl celebrating her birthday! Would definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was extremely hot and noisy. Food was j ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Was extremely hot and noisy. Food was just okay for the price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We love going to Benihana, especially fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We love going to Benihana, especially for birthdays. My only suggestion/complaint is the temperature. I know the grill is 450 degrees, but even in the wintertime I sweat to death. The A/C needs to be updated or upgraded. Other than that the food and entertainment value is great and we'll keep coming back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have not eaten at Benihana's for many ye ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Have not eaten at Benihana's for many years. Food was great! Fun place to dine while on vacation in Salt Lake City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very fun for a birthday party! Knocked a ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very fun for a birthday party! Knocked a little for being a bit too loud and too hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was okay however they did not offer ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was okay however they did not offer the type of sauces we like to add to hibachi cooked food. They only offered hot mustard or ginger and I don't care for either so will not go to a Benihana again. Did not use either sauce so food was very bland. Guess it is all in what you like but I would not recommend although it seemed like a nice place. Definitely over priced for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.