About Benihana - Salt Lake City

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana sits poised in downtown Salt Lake City directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. It’s tucked behind the Janet Quinney Lawson Capitol Theatre, within easy walking distance from the world-renowned Mormon Temple. Only a 15-minute drive from Salt Lake International Airport, Benihana is popular year-round with tourists, convention-goers, and skiers alike. Validated parking is available in the parking structure on West Temple at 200 South.

165 S West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fun (28)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Groups (19)
Casual (19)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Authentic (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (5)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Cozy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Spicy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Disappointing experience. Meal served one item at a time. If you want to eat warm food, you eat as it's served (who wants to eat a side of onions???). If you want to enjoy your rice, veggies and protein together, you eat it cold. Really hard not to compare this to Teppanyaki...where the experience is completely different. Won't be back. ☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our server was great and our chef was professional and fun.
My husband had never been and I took him for his birthday.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very good food, little bit too much pepper and seemed like our cook was having a bad day but overall very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

If you can ask for James, he's the best server you can have!! These types of places are always so fun for big groups, and Benihana does not disappoint! We all had a great time celebrating our birthdays!! Great food, great ambiance, an all-around great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was great and we had a lot of fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Delicious food and a wonderful environment to have a good time whole eating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Cook and server were great!! Food was cooked really well. Luis did a great job and we would like to have him as our cook the next time we come in. Which will be this month.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great night for our 23rd Anniversary was great food and enjoyed our dinner

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

A standard, reliable teppanyaki meal delivered by a well trained organization.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Tommy was great, a little slower on cooking. I had flowers ordered for my wife for her birthday and no body knew where they were so I spent 20 minutes trying to call the flower place and having staff look around and they finally found them in the fridge. Great experience. Food wasn't the best, but definitely a good time.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The only positive thing I have to say about this last dining experience is that Maria (server) is wonderful. After a fairly long absence, I went to see if anything had improved, and Maria remembered my usual drink and even what I normally order. I was in/out in less than an hour-never had to ask for a refill. The bad news--the meat and shrimp portions continue to dwindle down to practically nothing, while they give you a massive side of veggies impossible to finish in one seating...which I normally wouldn't mind, IF the veggies were softer and seasoned well. They weren't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 19, 2017

food was good and the service was great, sat in front of the sushi chef, great conversation.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Good hibachi but I've had better from smaller restaurants. I expected more from a nationwide recognized establishment. From lesser known and local hibachi I've had better taste, more food and cheaper prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We held a team lunch meeting at Benihanas. The food was great and it was fun to watch it prepared right in front of you. A few of us missed the tricks or "food flinging" but the chefs may not be allowed to do that any more.

Despite the heat at first, all enjoyed a great meal and due to the configuration of the seating, our group was well accommodated and could hear each other.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We made reservations for three on Sunday evening at 6:30. We arrived at the restaurant just before 6:30 and were seated immediately at a table with five other people already seated. The table server took our drink orders then came back for our dinner orders. All was okay until the chef arrived. His attitude was not pleasant at all, telling us if we were hot (outside temperature was 100 degrees), we should try his job. It was downhill from there. The chef asked which sauces we wanted for dipping, either mustard or ginger (normally Benihana provides both). When my wife asked for both, he was dumbfounded! He did give her both, but with an attitude. While the meal was pretty good, it should have been fun. The chef obviously did not enjoy his job!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

STAY AWAY!!! This is not the Benihana of the past. Our granddaughter was visiting, and she loves sushi. We thought we'd go with what we thought was a dependable standard. Sadly, we were disappointed. The space needs a total gut-job....old, dated, smelly, the carpet is disgusting, couldn't guess when it was last cleaned. Our server was loud, rude, too rushed, making repeated scenes with other employees, generally out-of-control. The sushi was decent. Definitely not good enough to make up for any of the other detriments. Had it not been for our granddaughter, we wouldn't have stayed. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My family has been going to Benihana SLC for many many years. It was a birthday tradition for many family members. It was nice to be able to come back after some time & still have a fabulous experience. Thank you so much for an amazing birthday experience. :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our first time to this

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Poor service.. the food was good,but the chief didn't know how to entertain like others only knew how to make noise. Very hot no air conditioning on the 2nd floor. Poor access for the disabled. Very poor service had to find waiter to get even water,and the order was incorrect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Not the Benihana it used to be. Floors dated and unclean. Atmosphere is almost like a cheap Chinese restaurant. The chef was good however, banging the knife and spatula was supposed to be entertaining? I remember when it was part of the cooking. Now it is almost a mandatory step before cooking and the chefs expression said it all, our waiter forgot our drinks, left some of the peoples salads on an empty table and we had to get it. Had to be reminded many times before we got our drinks. for $114.00 for two us us? I have always been a fan and yet it is getting harder and harder to justify the cost. I think the competitor down the road is more like Benihana that used to be. Benihana is surviving by its past reputation that is quickly fading. What a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We love Benihana. We go to the Salt Lake location every year for our anniversary. The food is always superb! My only complaint is how to change your address for the birthday mailer. We are in the birthday club but have moved since signing up and the website won't let me change address or join the club again. Such a bummer since we'd love to go for our birthdays as well as our anniversary.
We love the dinner and a "show" aspect and the service is always great! The food can't be beat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We had a terrific chef, the first time we've ever had a female chef at Benihana's, but she was fantastic! Even with a reservation, we did have to wait awhile for a table, and again at the table for a chef. While they did sing to my husband for his birthday, there was no photo taken, which had become a souvenir for us as we go out with friends on the occasion every year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The quality of my meal was a bit lower at this location. The signature tastes were not as special here. I have been a fan for 30 years, and this may be the worst location. The place was rundown as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Both Sobsang the cook and waiter were amazing!!! My two favorite people in the industry, they made our experience very memorable and put up with our craziness! Thank you both... We love you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a great time, the only thing thing that would keep us is from returning is the price it is really high. Over all we had a great time..

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Had a great chef, friendly, congenial, flashy, entertaining.
The server took 15 minutes to get our drinks and seemed to be in a feud with his co-workers; "move, move, move" he said to a fellow worker, and outright confrontation with the chef.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Delicious!! Consistently good food and service! Always such a fun experiencefoe kids and adults.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food and very entertaining. Good menu with a variety of prices and options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was my son's birthday great time great service I would recommend to all and I will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service. Chef Luis did a great job.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent service and food. Friendly, helpful and humorous staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Waitress spoke in a tone of voice that could barely be heard. Someone at our table ordered a box of food to go. Once the cook showed up he confirmed meals and to go order was not on his receipt all kinds of crazy occurred of this. Once meal got on the table food was find.
I am not sure how the meal calories are set but with all the oil and butter used I am sure they were way off.

Finally this place needs a face lift it doesn't feel clean and people are packed in to very little space.

I go here once every 5 years or so it's not at the level it use to be. Cocktails very flat

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had fun with the chef and enjoyed the food. It is a little awkward sitting close to strangers but we tried to have fun with it but they really weren't into it. Whatever, overall a fun night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our family went to celebrate a birthday and Benihana did not disappoint. My child was entertained from beginning to end. The service was quick, attentive and efficient. The children's meals are a great value and high-quality food. Our meals were more than ample, especially considering you get six courses, made from high-quality ingredients, skillfully prepared.
For the birthday boy, we got whipped cream and a candle on the scoop of ice cream for dessert. The staff even took our picture, framed it, and gave us a code to get the digital download, all at no extra charge. We'll be talking about Chef Tommy's tricks and skills for days to come.

Such a great, entertaining and delicious evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Food is consistently great, chefs are fun, our family always enjoys this for a fun night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I took my hubby here for his birthday, and invited our family and closest friends. It was fun to sit together at the grill and enjoy each other's company and the entertainment! 😄

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was good and we had a good time. It was very loud though and hard to hear. It took awhile to get refills on drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Yeah, you're going to pay up, but it is SO worth it.

Everything was delicious, from the salad and soup (soup was amazing) to the shrimp appetizer and the chicken fried rice and finally to the main course with the best steak I have ever had - it is worth every penny. My husband especially enjoyed the hot sake. Even the ice cream was great. The "show" you get is also very entertaining and our chef was very fun.

It's even better if you interact with your chef!

We will definitely be lobbying hard for an outing here with the whole family!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.