About Benihana - Salt Lake City

165 S West Temple Bldg #1
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana sits poised in downtown Salt Lake City directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. It’s tucked behind the Janet Quinney Lawson Capitol Theatre, within easy walking distance from the world-renowned Mormon Temple. Only a 15-minute drive from Salt Lake International Airport, Benihana is popular year-round with tourists, convention-goers, and skiers alike. Validated parking is available in the parking structure on West Temple at 200 South.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Utah
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

special occasion (71)
good for groups (62)
kid-friendly (30)
See All
great for lunch (24)
fit for foodies (21)
romantic (18)
hot spot (17)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (6)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very delightful , every time I visit . T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very delightful , every time I visit . The food is the best , always on point , the waitress was awesome and friendly . It's the best restaurant in salt lake city..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was really slow the night we wen ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was really slow the night we went, which is out of the normal. We were there for over 2 hours and had a reservation. Also, I am hoping they will install some sort of fan(s) at each table, it was really hot, we were antsy to get out of there because of the heat and sitting there for 2 hours did not help the situation. But the food was good as usual.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

As always, the food at Benihana was exce ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 7 days ago

As always, the food at Benihana was excellent, and the Sake/wine selection was fantastic. The service at the table was really, really good, but the front of house experience was pretty poor, actually.

We had a 6:30 reservation and arrived a few minutes early. Because they were apparently more busy than usual for a Thursday night, we were told that our table wasn't quite ready yet. Not only were we not encouraged to go have a drink at the bar given the delay, but because there is very, very little space near the host stand for patrons to await their table, we were scolded several times by a very rude young host for standing near the doors.

We waited more than 15 minutes *after* our reservation time before we were finally shown to a table, which wouldn't have been too bad had we not been crammed in a very small space and repeatedly chastised by an impertinent host who should not be greeting guests until he received a lesson in basic manners and common courtesy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I made a reservation for a party of 18 p ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I made a reservation for a party of 18 people for a birthday party. A few people had to cancel last minute which brought our party down to 15. The hostess was not friendly or very clear in why would could not be seated.

Our reservation was for 7:30pm and 13 of us arrived on time, but the hostess insisted we could not be seated until the last two showed up, which seemed odd. The last two of our group arrived 10 minutes later and we were ready to be sat. Then the hostess told us we had to wait for the chefs. So we waited around in the lobby another 30 minutes! Which was frustrating for everyone.

Once our group was sat, one chef started while the other half of our group waited. It took about another 30 minutes for the 2nd chef to arrive. One half of our group was done with their entrees and eating dessert before we even had started our meals yet?! The delay in timing was so awkward for our group setting. One half had paid and was ready to leave, while the other half was still eating.

Although the food was delicious and the chefs were talented... I'm really disappointed in the delayed timing of the chefs and how long it took to be seated even with a reservation. I would not recomend large groups to this location and will most likely not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

We came here for my birthday. It was my ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We came here for my birthday. It was my first visit. The service is unbelievable. The restaurant staff is really out going and attentive. I brought my four kids and they were thoroughly entertained and ate some great food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Benihana was a lot of fun. The chef (wha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Benihana was a lot of fun. The chef (whatever the title is?) was great, did fun tricks with the utensils and food, told a few jokes, it was a really fun experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a terrific dinner and were surpri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a terrific dinner and were surprised by how much food comes with an entree. We were more than satiated with the Diablo Chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were really hoping for an animated ch ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were really hoping for an animated chef that would do different tricks while cooking, but what we got was a friendly chef that tapped the cooking area a lot with his cooking fork. Some of the other chefs were doing different tricks as they cooked and were interacting with the guests and we found ourselves wishing we had gotten someone else as a chef. One other thing that happened that we did not expect is that we ended up sharing a table with other people. We had 5 in our group and were told that we had to do this. We went here to celebrate a special event and were looking for something different exciting but just got a guy making a lot of noise with a fork and a waitress who really tried but had difficulty communicating. They could benefit if they had a short video of the chef using his entertainment skills and allowing customers to book the chef they want.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food and service was good but the ch ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food and service was good but the chef we had was not as entertaining as the previous dining experiences I've had at Benihanas.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Overall the food was decent and the chef ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Overall the food was decent and the chef was very entertaining. The servers were quick to get our drinks and anything else we asked for. The food prep time for a party 8 was about an hour. We spent about 2.5 hours there total. The thing that really was annoying was having to wait for our entire party to show up, they got there about 15 minutes later than I did. We then had to wait almost 30 more minutes for the table we had a reservation for. So we were left sitting in the waiting area for almost 45 minutes.

Not sure that I'll be back as I don't like to wait that long for something I put a reservation in for.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Was a lot of fun. Our chef was an older ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Was a lot of fun. Our chef was an older man, so he wasn't all that animated and FUN, but the people at the table made it more amusing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Would I recommend? Yes & no. There was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Would I recommend? Yes & no. There was no "maybe" option.

Food: Unfortunately, standard fare, wasn't great/ wasn't bad.

Ambiance: We went on a Friday nite for a b'day celebration, 2 adults, 1 teen and 2 tweens. Most of the tables were full by the time we left (about 7ish), but it was pretty quiet for that many people.

Service: We were expecting to be entertained by our chef, like other Teppananki type restaurants (including other Benihana's) that we've gone to. Their chefs are pretty subdued. They were all certainly nice, but very subdued. I also noticed it at the other tables around us. There was no fun, no excitement at all, which was pretty disappointing. Just another over-priced restaurant, which is too bad. We won't be going back.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This is my favorite restaurant. However, ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant. However, the last couple times i have gone prices raised, smaller portions. when the entree comes with rice, even though you order the chicken fried rice, you should be offered the rice anyways.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The waiter was marvelous I don't remembe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The waiter was marvelous I don't remember his name but I'm going to do another review off my receipt when I see it

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

Great food with a very fun and accommoda ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food with a very fun and accommodating staff. I highly recommend this dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and service is great. I have always ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food and service is great. I have always had a good experience here except for this last time. They have one table that is off to the side which provides a little more privacy but there is no air conditioning at this specific table. IT WAS SO HOT! Everyone was miserable and sweating for the full 2 hours we were there. Stepping outside into the 90 degree heat felt refreshing after sitting in there for 2 hours. Go to Benihana's but just request to not sit at that table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

The food was great! The only issue was t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was great! The only issue was the heat. It was super hot inside the restaurant which took away from the experience. I will hesitate to go back in the summer due to the heat.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

This was our fourth trip to Benihana in ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our fourth trip to Benihana in four months. ( Nancy has been our waitress every time and we love her!!!!). It's safe to say it's one of our favorite places. My husband and I have been together for 31 years and have been coming here for as many years. The food is always delicious! There has not been one time that we were disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined several times in Benihanas ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have dined several times in Benihanas in London UK,and also New York and generally had a good experience - it has been a family favourite for birthday celebrations for our kids. This was well below par. The quality of the meat and fish was lower than those other locations, and the seating was very close together, and the ceiling low, which along with less than adequate extractors fabs made it very warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The Salt Lake location was a little diff ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The Salt Lake location was a little difficult to find, but once we did it was a great time. The service was cheerful and efficient. The hibachi cook was funny and delightful. It was the perfect way to celebrate that day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not so romantic

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The staff and food was good, but we went for our 10th anniversary and was sat with a family with 4 kids. The mom and dad were yelling at their kids the whole time, not too romantic and fun for us. Next time maybe not make a couple sit with a big family that takes up a whole table on their own.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Fantastic Food - A lot of Fun!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food at Benihana is fantastic, and it's served with the chef cooking it right in front of you. The chefs are skilled and are entertaining as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is the place to go.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Over the past 30 years my family has chosen Benihana's as the place to go to celebrate birthdays, graduations and taking out of town guest. This tradition has been past down to the fourth generation of our family. We can't get enough of the salad with the special dressing or the mushroom soup yum! The chicken fried rice is the best. It's always entertaining to see the chef's do their tricks while preparing our food that is delicious every single time. The added bonus is that we now get a birthday certificate when we sign up for the chef table. This is my favorite restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was good

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our chef could have been a lot better and more fun and involving with us. Did not really do much

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good to be back

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I hadn't been to Benihana in a long time. It was great to experience it again. Part of the reason to return is that we'll be making our first visit to Japan this fall.

The waitress (Nancy) and the cook (Tommy) did a great job, and made the evening special. The food was well prepared, and the show was good - as always. Thanks a lot.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service to Help, Not Hinder

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I came to Benihana's because our friend told us about it. I had never even heard of Benihana before, and was excited to experience it. We really enjoyed ourselves, but we were frustrated when we left. Our waitress upon ordering didn't like what my husband chose and told him to get something else(not in a pleasant way). After that she insisted we have rice, we passed, but she insisted and we reluctantly accepted. Although the food she gave us was amazing, we were not happy with how she forced it on us.

Upon paying she singled us out again (after collecting everyone's bills) by looking only at ours and then complaining about how we didn't give her a big enough tip. Isn't it OUR job to say how much we should give, not her? We were quite embarrassed because it was out loud so that people could hear her. We did not leave Benihana's feeling happy or pleased with our experience because of her attitude towards us. We would like to come again, but not if we have service like what we had received.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great food. Fun atmosphere.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great food. Fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and great service!! I cou ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent food and great service!! I could eat there every day!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time, great food, fun atmosphere! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Good time, great food, fun atmosphere! Menu is comprehensive, with many good seafood, chicken, beef, and vegetarian choices. Service is always very good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. We are here again for my bi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Always good. We are here again for my birthday and we are always impressed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food great staff and the restaur ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Amazing food great staff and the restaurant is beautiful

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my husbands birthday and it ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We went for my husbands birthday and it was sweltering hot. The waitress didn't get three people's orders correct and forgot it was my husbands birthday but managed to remember someone else's at the table. We've been here before but it's becoming not really worth the money charged. Also, if your going to offer a birthday meal to club members, you should let it be used any day of the week you're open.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

I hate when I pay for a premium drink an ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I hate when I pay for a premium drink and don't get refills until it's almost time to leave. I get that the lunch crowd got busy, but, if that is the case, either reduce the price of your drinks so I don't feel more cheated, or, at least comp it if you can't keep up with reasonable service. Beyond that faux pas, the rest of the service wasn't terrible. What was terrible was the food portion. Usually, I get a nice blend of veggies (the carrot/onion/zucchini), but, this time, I got almost a half onion, no carrot and about 5 pieces of zucchini. That wasn't the worst part...I ordered the steak and shrimp combo meal. I counted the meat and shrimp. I had 11 small pieces of steak and 6 half pieces of shrimp (so, basically, 3 medium pieces cut in half to make it look like there was more on the plate. Nevermind the fact that they were cold and rubbery when they were served... Really wish they would be consistent with their portions. Some days, it's great; other days, it was like today. The only thing one can rely on is the rice portion, because they put it in the little bowl, so it's uniform. Otherwise, it really is beginning to be a gamble to eat at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

the food was good we were seated quickly ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

the food was good we were seated quickly and the chef that prepared our food was fun!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun and Relaxing

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Really good food, fun atmosphere, great service and reasonable prices. Dinner takes a while to prepare and serve, so be prepared for 90 to 120 minutes after being seated.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana's food does not disappoint !

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, good service, fun atmosphere!

But be prepared...we went on a cool, almost cold rainy day, but the temperature in the restaurant upstairs - where our table was - was at least 85 degrees. They turned on the air twice during the hour and a half we were there, which was great- but they only left it on for two or three minutes each time. Be prepared to be overheated during dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

All of the menu items are perfectly matc ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

All of the menu items are perfectly matched. The food and seasonings uses are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night out with family

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The experience was great. Having your food cooked right in front of you was awesome. The food was very fresh and cooked just the way we asked for it. The server was very accommodating. We had our glasses refilled regularly. It was fun to sit next to another couple who was celebrating a birthday as well. We cant wait until we can join you again. I love the big cat display as you enter the restaurant. The greeter was very friendly. Please keep us in formed if you have any specials that come about. Thank you

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Japanese Hibachi

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

All other hibachi type restaurants try to imitate the original and nothing even compares!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dinner and a fun atmosphere prob ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Awesome dinner and a fun atmosphere probably one of the best Hibachi style restaurants I've ever been to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.