About Benihana - Salt Lake City

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana sits poised in downtown Salt Lake City directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. It’s tucked behind the Janet Quinney Lawson Capitol Theatre, within easy walking distance from the world-renowned Mormon Temple. Only a 15-minute drive from Salt Lake International Airport, Benihana is popular year-round with tourists, convention-goers, and skiers alike. Validated parking is available in the parking structure on West Temple at 200 South.

165 S West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Fun (34)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Casual (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (14)
Family Style (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Romantic (9)
Business Meals (8)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (7)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Spicy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

The quality of my meal was a bit lower at this location. The signature tastes were not as special here. I have been a fan for 30 years, and this may be the worst location. The place was rundown as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Both Sobsang the cook and waiter were amazing!!! My two favorite people in the industry, they made our experience very memorable and put up with our craziness! Thank you both... We love you.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great chef, friendly, congenial, flashy, entertaining.
The server took 15 minutes to get our drinks and seemed to be in a feud with his co-workers; "move, move, move" he said to a fellow worker, and outright confrontation with the chef.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great time, the only thing thing that would keep us is from returning is the price it is really high. Over all we had a great time..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious!! Consistently good food and service! Always such a fun experiencefoe kids and adults.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was my son's birthday great time great service I would recommend to all and I will be back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent service and food. Friendly, helpful and humorous staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Waitress spoke in a tone of voice that could barely be heard. Someone at our table ordered a box of food to go. Once the cook showed up he confirmed meals and to go order was not on his receipt all kinds of crazy occurred of this. Once meal got on the table food was find.
I am not sure how the meal calories are set but with all the oil and butter used I am sure they were way off.

Finally this place needs a face lift it doesn't feel clean and people are packed in to very little space.

I go here once every 5 years or so it's not at the level it use to be. Cocktails very flat

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had fun with the chef and enjoyed the food. It is a little awkward sitting close to strangers but we tried to have fun with it but they really weren't into it. Whatever, overall a fun night out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our family went to celebrate a birthday and Benihana did not disappoint. My child was entertained from beginning to end. The service was quick, attentive and efficient. The children's meals are a great value and high-quality food. Our meals were more than ample, especially considering you get six courses, made from high-quality ingredients, skillfully prepared.
For the birthday boy, we got whipped cream and a candle on the scoop of ice cream for dessert. The staff even took our picture, framed it, and gave us a code to get the digital download, all at no extra charge. We'll be talking about Chef Tommy's tricks and skills for days to come.

Such a great, entertaining and delicious evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food is consistently great, chefs are fun, our family always enjoys this for a fun night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I took my hubby here for his birthday, and invited our family and closest friends. It was fun to sit together at the grill and enjoy each other's company and the entertainment! 😄

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was good and we had a good time. It was very loud though and hard to hear. It took awhile to get refills on drinks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Yeah, you're going to pay up, but it is SO worth it.

Everything was delicious, from the salad and soup (soup was amazing) to the shrimp appetizer and the chicken fried rice and finally to the main course with the best steak I have ever had - it is worth every penny. My husband especially enjoyed the hot sake. Even the ice cream was great. The "show" you get is also very entertaining and our chef was very fun.

It's even better if you interact with your chef!

We will definitely be lobbying hard for an outing here with the whole family!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

After reading some of the hit or miss reviews I was a bit worried, but our food was excellent, the chef was good, it is more expensive than I would have liked.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The seafood was a touch overdone, aside from that, it was a great place for a team building dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I had a delicious meal, and the entire staff was very friendly! 10/10, will come again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Birthday party

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Benihana's was Great as usual. Thanks!
The service was efficient, even though half of our party were late for the reservation. We had a nice evening and plan to go back in the future.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

It was fun and a new experience for a birthday lunch. Our chef was a bit nervous but overall the food was good!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We took our teenagers to Benihana -- they'd never been, and thought it would be fun. I think they enjoyed themselves. But what the parents noticed: REALLY worn and dirty restaurant, needs new carpeting among other things. Dingy glasses. Ambiance is not Japanese -- loud contemporary/rock music in the background. Server was nice but timid. We were seated with another couple that was a real mismatch (them: trans/LGBT "gals" with tattoos, heavy drinkers; us: mild family, teetotalers); an introduction to the table and how the restaurant works would have been nice. Really complicated menu for what really isn't complicated food. Everybody seemed to want free birthday desserts -- surely there can't be that many "birthdays" in the place. Food was nice, chef was skilled, but I wouldn't go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our chef was obviously new, he struggled.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We celebrated our son's 21st Bday. The service couldn't have been better. We'll remember this experience forever. Thank you Benihana!!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

As always the food was great. They seated us at our reservation time. The full table was seated within 5 mins. But they waited 40 mins before the chef came out to cook our meals. Our orders had been placed after 5 mins of seating. Our soup and salad was brought out 25-30 mins after we ordered. Not ideal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

First off, the air conditioning wasn't working. Normally we would've just left, but they said they were fixing it and we drove from Orem to specifically go to Benihana because we had a gift card. The air conditioning was never fixed. At the end of the meal, instead of giving a discount for eating in a sweltering hot restaurant, they gave us one free scoop of ice cream...whoop de doo. When the waiter brought us our check we gave him a gift card and a credit card for the left over amount. The waiter brought back the gift card saying it didn't have a pin number so he couldn't use it and he just went ahead and put the full amount of our check on the credit card we provided. It's one thing that they wouldn't accept the gift card we provided, but to just charge the full amount on the card without giving us a heads up? How do you know that we didn't need to switch cards now that we will be paying double what we expected? We tried to complain to the manager and he just blew us off and acted like we were such a burden on his night. Also, three out of the four of us in our party got chicken and it was so overdone and rubbery we couldn't even eat it. We were already miserable from the heat we weren't going to sit there and wait for them to make new chicken. And to top it off our hibachi chef didn't successfully complete one trick. He was constantly dropping his tools and the onion
"volcano" was just a big ball of fire. Part of the reason you pay so much for this food is for the show and ours was sub par at best. We will definitely not be returning and will be passing on our terrible experience to our friends and family.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Benihana has become a Birthday tradition for us, since we celebrate 4 family birthdays within a week in April!
We always have a fun and happy time enjoying the good food and antics of our chef and wait staff!!! They are always awesome!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The steak and fish options were good and the vegetables and rice were great. The chicken was not as good. It was tough and chewy not tender. It seems really expensive for the amount of food. I wish there were options for less money and not the extra courses unless you want to pay extra for the soup salad, etc.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was a huge dissapointment. It was our 2nd time there, we decider to give it another try. The food is just not very good. Very expensive and not worth it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We went there to celebrate my Grandson's 14th birthday. We had a wonderful time. The Chef was from Mexico but he was wonderful. My son thought he was the best one so far!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Overall our dinner was good, however it was Prom night and the place was over run with teenagers. I asked to get a different table, and they weren't very accommodating. I can understand the busy night, but get us another table for my wedding anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was so noisy we could not hear. It was packed. We were put at a table in between 6 prom tables. It was horrible. We had hoped to have a nice dinner to talk to friends and someplace fun for the kids. It was neither of these. I was actually sorry I booked it. I have not been there for a long time so I was unprepared for the noise level.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Severely disappointed with this first time Benihana experience. The lack of hygiene between the table side chef and the server was appalling. Even prior to the meal starting the grill showed remnants of the prior guests dining selection, which was barely scraped off by the chef with a visibly dirty rag.
If cross contamination between beef, chicken and seafood resulting in a long night hanging out on the porcelain thrown is your thing, Benihana is definitely a choice destination. The choice is yours, but seriously go somewhere else.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Enjoy watching food prepared in front of me. The food is always good. Love the seafood diablo.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food was great but not recommended for a large party. You don't get your food as the same time as everyone else and at times have to wait for certain side dishes to become complete.
I imagine this would be fun for a family maximum of 4. We had 12 in our party hard to talk to one another and a wait for the food. Overall, great ambiance and great staff & chef.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

For a large group or a smaller group celebration, this is the place to go. It was my dad's 86th birthday and even though he has Alzheimer's, he still enjoyed watching his food being prepared. He especially loved the birthday song, complete with drum, and the souvenir photo. Once the table is on, it gets a bit warm so dress accordingly. Also, the place is usually packed with people and the eating space around the table is tight. Make a reservation or you will be waiting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Birthday :)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They never let us down, food and entertainment Is always great- a definite place we go for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We felt rushed from the start, wanted to order some sushi was not asked about appetizers. I guess if there are other people at the table not in your party they must skip that part. The portions of food seemed small, granted I am comparing to Tepanyaki which seems to be way more generous on the veggies and a way more relaxing environment. The whole restaurant needs an entire makeover. Just walking up the stairs and the state of the carpet on them I was questioning if I made the right decision. Our cook Lois(?) rocked however. He was personable and had a great sense of humor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food. Chef Tommy was nice . Our server , Thomas was unpleasant . It was obvious he had a long day , he even said it when he handed the bill. We needed low sodium salt , the helper he handed it complained that he had to grab it upstairs . We had a reservation and we still waited for 20 minutes . It was so crowded and loud . The positive thing was the food . Our family looks for customer service , atmosphere and good tasting food . Since this location didn't possess all three , we won't come back especially if you re spending more than $130 for a family of three .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.