About Benihana - Salt Lake City

165 S West Temple Bldg #1
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Utah
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

special occasion (63)
good for groups (59)
kid-friendly (30)
See All
great for lunch (21)
fit for foodies (18)
hot spot (17)
romantic (15)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (5)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Food and service is great. I have always ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food and service is great. I have always had a good experience here except for this last time. They have one table that is off to the side which provides a little more privacy but there is no air conditioning at this specific table. IT WAS SO HOT! Everyone was miserable and sweating for the full 2 hours we were there. Stepping outside into the 90 degree heat felt refreshing after sitting in there for 2 hours. Go to Benihana's but just request to not sit at that table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

The food was great! The only issue was t ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was great! The only issue was the heat. It was super hot inside the restaurant which took away from the experience. I will hesitate to go back in the summer due to the heat.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fourth trip to Benihana in ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our fourth trip to Benihana in four months. ( Nancy has been our waitress every time and we love her!!!!). It's safe to say it's one of our favorite places. My husband and I have been together for 31 years and have been coming here for as many years. The food is always delicious! There has not been one time that we were disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We have dined several times in Benihanas ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We have dined several times in Benihanas in London UK,and also New York and generally had a good experience - it has been a family favourite for birthday celebrations for our kids. This was well below par. The quality of the meat and fish was lower than those other locations, and the seating was very close together, and the ceiling low, which along with less than adequate extractors fabs made it very warm.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Salt Lake location was a little diff ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The Salt Lake location was a little difficult to find, but once we did it was a great time. The service was cheerful and efficient. The hibachi cook was funny and delightful. It was the perfect way to celebrate that day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Not so romantic

Dined on June 11, 2016

The staff and food was good, but we went for our 10th anniversary and was sat with a family with 4 kids. The mom and dad were yelling at their kids the whole time, not too romantic and fun for us. Next time maybe not make a couple sit with a big family that takes up a whole table on their own.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food - A lot of Fun!

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food at Benihana is fantastic, and it's served with the chef cooking it right in front of you. The chefs are skilled and are entertaining as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Benihana is the place to go.

Dined on May 31, 2016

Over the past 30 years my family has chosen Benihana's as the place to go to celebrate birthdays, graduations and taking out of town guest. This tradition has been past down to the fourth generation of our family. We can't get enough of the salad with the special dressing or the mushroom soup yum! The chicken fried rice is the best. It's always entertaining to see the chef's do their tricks while preparing our food that is delicious every single time. The added bonus is that we now get a birthday certificate when we sign up for the chef table. This is my favorite restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was good

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our chef could have been a lot better and more fun and involving with us. Did not really do much

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good to be back

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I hadn't been to Benihana in a long time. It was great to experience it again. Part of the reason to return is that we'll be making our first visit to Japan this fall. The waitress (Nancy) and the cook (Tommy) did a great job, and made the evening special. The food was well prepared, and the show was good - as always. Thanks a lot.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Service to Help, Not Hinder

Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I came to Benihana's because our friend told us about it. I had never even heard of Benihana before, and was excited to experience it. We really enjoyed ourselves, but we were frustrated when we left. Our waitress upon ordering didn't like what my husband chose and told him to get something else(not in a pleasant way). After that she insisted we have rice, we passed, but she insisted and we reluctantly accepted. Although the food she gave us was amazing, we were not happy with how she forced it on us. Upon paying she singled us out again (after collecting everyone's bills) by looking only at ours and then complaining about how we didn't give her a big enough tip. Isn't it OUR job to say how much we should give, not her? We were quite embarrassed because it was out loud so that people could hear her. We did not leave Benihana's feeling happy or pleased with our experience because of her attitude towards us. We would like to come again, but not if we have service like what we had received.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food. Fun atmosphere.

Dined on May 25, 2016

Great food. Fun atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great service!! I cou ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent food and great service!! I could eat there every day!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time, great food, fun atmosphere! ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Good time, great food, fun atmosphere! Menu is comprehensive, with many good seafood, chicken, beef, and vegetarian choices. Service is always very good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. We are here again for my bi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Always good. We are here again for my birthday and we are always impressed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food great staff and the restaur ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Amazing food great staff and the restaurant is beautiful

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We went for my husbands birthday and it ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went for my husbands birthday and it was sweltering hot. The waitress didn't get three people's orders correct and forgot it was my husbands birthday but managed to remember someone else's at the table. We've been here before but it's becoming not really worth the money charged. Also, if your going to offer a birthday meal to club members, you should let it be used any day of the week you're open.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I hate when I pay for a premium drink an ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I hate when I pay for a premium drink and don't get refills until it's almost time to leave. I get that the lunch crowd got busy, but, if that is the case, either reduce the price of your drinks so I don't feel more cheated, or, at least comp it if you can't keep up with reasonable service. Beyond that faux pas, the rest of the service wasn't terrible. What was terrible was the food portion. Usually, I get a nice blend of veggies (the carrot/onion/zucchini), but, this time, I got almost a half onion, no carrot and about 5 pieces of zucchini. That wasn't the worst part...I ordered the steak and shrimp combo meal. I counted the meat and shrimp. I had 11 small pieces of steak and 6 half pieces of shrimp (so, basically, 3 medium pieces cut in half to make it look like there was more on the plate. Nevermind the fact that they were cold and rubbery when they were served... Really wish they would be consistent with their portions. Some days, it's great; other days, it was like today. The only thing one can rely on is the rice portion, because they put it in the little bowl, so it's uniform. Otherwise, it really is beginning to be a gamble to eat at Benihana.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the food was good we were seated quickly ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

the food was good we were seated quickly and the chef that prepared our food was fun!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and Relaxing

Dined on May 10, 2016

Really good food, fun atmosphere, great service and reasonable prices. Dinner takes a while to prepare and serve, so be prepared for 90 to 120 minutes after being seated.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Benihana's food does not disappoint !

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, good service, fun atmosphere! But be prepared...we went on a cool, almost cold rainy day, but the temperature in the restaurant upstairs - where our table was - was at least 85 degrees. They turned on the air twice during the hour and a half we were there, which was great- but they only left it on for two or three minutes each time. Be prepared to be overheated during dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the menu items are perfectly matc ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

All of the menu items are perfectly matched. The food and seasonings uses are delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out with family

Dined on April 22, 2016

The experience was great. Having your food cooked right in front of you was awesome. The food was very fresh and cooked just the way we asked for it. The server was very accommodating. We had our glasses refilled regularly. It was fun to sit next to another couple who was celebrating a birthday as well. We cant wait until we can join you again. I love the big cat display as you enter the restaurant. The greeter was very friendly. Please keep us in formed if you have any specials that come about. Thank you

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Japanese Hibachi

Dined on April 16, 2016

All other hibachi type restaurants try to imitate the original and nothing even compares!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dinner and a fun atmosphere prob ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Awesome dinner and a fun atmosphere probably one of the best Hibachi style restaurants I've ever been to!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was amazing!! Most defi ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food and service was amazing!! Most definitely will return

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for Birthdays!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We like to come for birthday's. Service is great and it's always a crowd pleaser.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful good cooked while watching

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Love the food at Benihana. The food cant get any fresher than receiving it the second it comes off the grill. I don't know that any food choice would be a bad one. Everything I have every ordered there tastes very good. My only complaint is that we ordered a salmon dish that is served with noodles. The noodles were put on the grill at the same time as the salmon. The noodles were done within a couple minutes while the salmon took some time to finish cooking. So by the time the salmon was done, the noodles were cold.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Less show, more quality

Dined on March 28, 2016

The show was toned down a bit from previous experiences, but the menu was enhanced from my last visit (a while ago), and the food quality was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NBC

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Outstanding as always. Food was great, service excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night

Dined on March 20, 2016

Food was great, better than similar dining experiences. Hostess was young and a bit short. Had to wait almost 20 min past reservation time. Overall, I would go again preferably with a larger group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A good place to dine in Salt Lake

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was good. The chef was entertaining. It is fun to go with people you know or if you are out going you can make new friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

PAB

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

We were in Salt Lake for a trade show with a group of 7 employees. This was a great option for a good fun meal that didn't break the bank. The food was good and so was the service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and Atmosphere

Dined on March 16, 2016

I would highly recommend eating here. The food is fantastic, and the chefs are top notch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Noisy and hot, but the food was great!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We have been to Benihana many times over the years, so we are veterans. We have been to this location once before. We arrived just about 15 minutes before our reservation and we were asked to wait. We went into the sushi area to order a drink. When we were taken upstairs it was really noisy and really hot. We asked if the air could be turned down and we were told it already was. There was a huge table of children running around and making a lot of noise. Eventually the manager came over and asked them to sit back down. Our waiter seemed to be having some trouble that night. We each ordered an extra fried rice to take home, and that was not communicated to the chef. One of our dinners wasn't communicated to the chef, and had to be cooked at the end of the meal when I spotted the problem. Overall, it was a fun night, but the small problems really stood out to us.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3

Way too hot! Need better AC. Was not an ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Way too hot! Need better AC. Was not an enjoyable dinner. Food was good but the heat killed my appetite.

food4
ambience5
service5

Live chef is always fun, fun to meet new ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Live chef is always fun, fun to meet new people if you go with a smaller group.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience tonight. The s ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had a great experience tonight. The service was great and so was the food. We definitely will go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was great! We took our 3 ye ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Our waitress was great! We took our 3 year old niece for the first time and the waitress came back with extra maraschino cherries just for her. I think it made her night. Even with the cool volcano, I think the cherries were her favorite part. For the rest of us, the food was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5

The sushi chef that talked to us while w ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

The sushi chef that talked to us while we waited for my party was super nice and we ended up giving him a piece of cake. Our hibachi chef was super nice and made for a great dinner show. Thank you!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.