About Benihana - Salt Lake City

165 S West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana sits poised in downtown Salt Lake City directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. It’s tucked behind the Janet Quinney Lawson Capitol Theatre, within easy walking distance from the world-renowned Mormon Temple. Only a 15-minute drive from Salt Lake International Airport, Benihana is popular year-round with tourists, convention-goers, and skiers alike. Validated parking is available in the parking structure on West Temple at 200 South.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Fun (32)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Family Style (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Authentic (13)
Casual (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Healthy (9)
Romantic (8)
People Watching (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Poor ventilation from cooking, food is nice and fresh.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Waitress could not get out orders correct and out in a timely manner. She even had the manager come over to our group and ask us to come up to the register and pay individually because they could not split up our bill correctly. Cook was awesome and food was great but service was poor.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great. Steve was our chef and he did awesome. My lobster was cooked perfectly and the filet mignon melted in my mouth. I was pretty disappointed with the rest of the staff/servers. We made a reservation 3 weeks in advance and were still forced to wait 30 minutes, the host did not make us feel welcome in any way at all, she seemed more annoyed than pleased we were there. When we walked up and checked in she was playing brick breaker on her phone right in front of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Benihana was an amazing experience! Our chef was Ramon and he was excellent. It was fabulous seeing your food cooked right in front of you, and his tricks were entertaining. The food was delicious and the service was fast. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Loved it! We came for Valentine's Day and they took great care to make it wonderful.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The restaurant was nice, we enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Our waiter was skilled, our meals were parpare by a professional. This is my wife and son favorite place .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

If you are looking to have some delicious food, in a really fun atmosphere, while also being able to talk with very nice people; this is the place for you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience.Very entertaining chefs .Will come back for sure!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Steve, our chef was great! He was very entertaining and the food was cooked just right.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The only complain I have is its wayyy too hot in there they need to open a window or turn up the AC. Other then that our server, food and experience was amazing for ojr Anniversary Dinner with our kids.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Been years since going. Decor not updated. Facility was dirty, ripped carpeting and the food was less than good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We absolutely LOVED Benihana! We went for the first time to celebrate my husbands birthday. The chef was very energetic and entertaining and the food was AMAZING!! We recommend getting a side or two of the chicken fried rice :) We had the Sushi/Sashimi platter and it was perfect! Will definitely be back again and again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Good dinner and very delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

While I still would recommend Benihana to friend, if given the choice due to location, I have had better service and not a wait time (especially having a reservation!) to be seated at Kobe in South Ogden.

As far as the food is concerned, both establishments produce excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was a lovely night people were laughing ,food was awesome,and our chef Ramon was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very poor service. Once seated we waited 15 minutes for a server. We arrive early for our reservation but took a party of 35 before us even though they did not have all their guests arrive. We actually were seated late even though we arrived prior to the party of 35. Both parties had a reservation at 8. Not likely to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Good place to eat and welcoming atmosphere..... but you cloths will smell..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This restaurant is amazing! I've eaten here a hand full of times and never fails to please!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Left a tip for the server and he didn't appreciate the tip, so he walk to us and said this isn't enough money for me, I still have to tip out the chef, then he gave me the most dirtiest and rudest look.. I was disappointed in the server. But everything else was good!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food is always fresh and prepared to your liking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Good food, even better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great place. I've been there several times and I'll be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Just a heads-up: much of the dining is upstairs, and there was no sign of elevator. If you have mobility issues, call first.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Once again another great dining experience while celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Jo our chef was stupendous! I really appreicated his enthusiasm and impressive entertaining skills. Our food was delicious and was put together in a creative manner. We appreciate the manager and waiting staff for being so hospitable. They did read our request and honored it as well as made sure we were comfortable throughout our experience. We will be coming back and referring Jo out to all our friends and family. Mahalo :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

great time as always - nice of benihana to give 30.00 off for birthdays

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our chief was excellent and very entertaining. He kept a couple of young children very engaged

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food at Benihana's is amazing and we enjoy to experience the skill of the chefs. We strongly recommend this restaurant to everyone and always share our experiences. Chef Luis has been #1 thus far! Thank you to everyone at Benihana's!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Thank you, the meal was amazing and the service was spectacular thank you so much for a great evening my date and I will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My past experience has been very good. Been many times and everything has been good. This time the food as tasteless and the noise was terrible. Could hear nothing. to many kids I suppose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fun to watch food being prepared in front of you. Love the chicken fried rice and the seafood diablo. Service is good and chef is always entertaining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This was the best experience here we have ever had. Our chef had us in tears we were laughing so hard. Joe Mama was an absolute hoot. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our chef, Joe, was amazing!!! We would definitely request him in the future!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Benihana was a great dinner date! My boyfriend and I got a gift card for Christmas and went as soon as we could. We are frequent diners of Timpanyaki, which is like Benihana but cheaper. The price was worth it. We though the food was better, more menu options, and the service was great at Benihana. I would highly recommend as long as you know it will be a spendy date!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Birthday tradition. Always a good time. The chef was personable, funny, and skilled.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very cramped. Not like the Benihana's I remembered as a child. Didnt appear very clean. Our chef wasn't very entertaining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We made reservation for 2.00 PM with Open Table. When we arrived the restaurant was closed. We saw people inside and another group of 6 arrived, all of us outside in the cold. Someone knocked and asked if they where going to open, the answer was that service started at 3.00 PM they let all of us in to wait. As soon as they where ready about 2.45 PM took the parties to the table. It is a classic Teppan restaurant with nice level of service and good enough food. Location is kind of odd, in an alley between some buildings. Teppan service in the second floor. The restaurant has to update their info with Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My family and I eat here a lot. This is the first time we have not been satisfied with the food. It had no taste, and my daughters chicken was pink inside. My steak had no flavor, and egg fried rice, was left because of no flavor. The cooks name started with a T, big guy that looked confused. The last time we had Mario, and it was great. You would think for over a hundred dollars for the three of us, it should be a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This restaurant is a family favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Stopped in for the Christmas special - they were able to seat us early despite being about an hour ahead of our reservation. Our Chef was Tommy. Funny and personable. I'm always a little reserved about hitting up Benihana for the price point but when entertaining a group the floor show always makes up for pricier ticket. Overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was excellent! The only complaint is that everyone's jacket smells like grilled food even after several days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have gone to Benihana on Christmas Eve for over 20 years. Each year it has gotten busier and busier, and we found that it is now so crowded that they rush every aspect of the dinner.

This year was no exception, as we were given our bill literally before they brought us our dessert. I feel that they need to slow up the process just a little so that their customers can enjoy the entire experience.

One big disappointment this year was with the cleanliness of the restaurant. We arrived fairly early (5:30), and when we were seated there was food all over the floor. The edges of the cooking area were filthy as well. They tried to clean the floor a little, but it was pretty gross. Maybe they should consider tile instead of carpet?

Worse, the bathroom was totally flooded with water everywhere. I am glad I went in AFTER I ate, I literally could not have eaten otherwise.

I suppose most of my complaints occurred because of the busy holiday, but it was disheartening just the same.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was a very new expirience for us. One thing I didn't know about before going is that this was a 5 course meal. You should also have an open mind when eating here because there isn't much choice in most of the courses, the soup, salad, and shrimp are all the same, fried rice is available for extra money instead of white rice. Then there were quite a few options for the entrée and a few come with ice cream for dessert. one dissapointment was the terriakki chicken, the chicken was good, but when you add the sauce it just didn't have enough flavor to really make it good. However the salad was to die for even though I wasn't sure if I would like it. The chef was nice, but not nessisarily in his element, he lacked a bit in his theatricality. Also it was hard to have a conversation because of all the grill noises, and you share a table with others. But an overall nice expirience.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Hands down the best dining experience we've had in a long time!

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great time for an office Christmas luncheon. Our chef was entertaining and talented.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food tatses good but gave us all the dookies when i returned to my lavoush hotel i spattered there toilet prefusively

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

we went for my birthday and it was an amazing family time!!

thankyou for the amazing food and great service!!

we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Cook was very professional, funny, his performance was outstanding!!! Everybody liked him a lot!

Waitress was not very patient, friendly, didn't ask everybody what they need. Her birthday song performance was not sincere: when she sang the song she wasn't even looking at me (birthday person), she didn't congratulate me, didn't offer to blow the candle. After all when we were discussing tips she said that we had to pay 20% because of the big party (10 people) and she said that the tip is going to be split for cook, her and other personal. We felt like paying big tip to the cook and not so big to the waitress and it should be our choice!

She forgot to offer me bonus for $30 meal for my birthday (I read about it on your web) and when I wanted to ask her about it she disappeared.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great atmosphere. Hard to hear our servers but food was tasty. Definitely make a reservation, walking in was a 3 hour wait.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Overall, the food was great. Our waiter was great and made sure that drinks were always full. We were sat quick, service was quick and the ambiance was overall great as well. The price is comparable to Teppanyaki or Kobe so expect to pay a little more than just a night out to eat. I will defiantly recommend!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.