About Benihana - Salt Lake City

165 S West Temple Bldg #1
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (74)
good for groups (73)
kid-friendly (39)
See All
hot spot (23)
fit for foodies (22)
great for lunch (20)
romantic (15)
neighborhood gem (12)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (9)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. We are here again for my bi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Always good. We are here again for my birthday and we are always impressed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food great staff and the restaur ...

Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food great staff and the restaurant is beautiful

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We went for my husbands birthday and it ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went for my husbands birthday and it was sweltering hot. The waitress didn't get three people's orders correct and forgot it was my husbands birthday but managed to remember someone else's at the table. We've been here before but it's becoming not really worth the money charged. Also, if your going to offer a birthday meal to club members, you should let it be used any day of the week you're open.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I hate when I pay for a premium drink an ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I hate when I pay for a premium drink and don't get refills until it's almost time to leave. I get that the lunch crowd got busy, but, if that is the case, either reduce the price of your drinks so I don't feel more cheated, or, at least comp it if you can't keep up with reasonable service. Beyond that faux pas, the rest of the service wasn't terrible. What was terrible was the food portion. Usually, I get a nice blend of veggies (the carrot/onion/zucchini), but, this time, I got almost a half onion, no carrot and about 5 pieces of zucchini. That wasn't the worst part...I ordered the steak and shrimp combo meal. I counted the meat and shrimp. I had 11 small pieces of steak and 6 half pieces of shrimp (so, basically, 3 medium pieces cut in half to make it look like there was more on the plate. Nevermind the fact that they were cold and rubbery when they were served... Really wish they would be consistent with their portions. Some days, it's great; other days, it was like today. The only thing one can rely on is the rice portion, because they put it in the little bowl, so it's uniform. Otherwise, it really is beginning to be a gamble to eat at Benihana.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the food was good we were seated quickly ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

the food was good we were seated quickly and the chef that prepared our food was fun!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and Relaxing

Dined on May 10, 2016

Really good food, fun atmosphere, great service and reasonable prices. Dinner takes a while to prepare and serve, so be prepared for 90 to 120 minutes after being seated.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Benihana's food does not disappoint !

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, good service, fun atmosphere! But be prepared...we went on a cool, almost cold rainy day, but the temperature in the restaurant upstairs - where our table was - was at least 85 degrees. They turned on the air twice during the hour and a half we were there, which was great- but they only left it on for two or three minutes each time. Be prepared to be overheated during dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the menu items are perfectly matc ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

All of the menu items are perfectly matched. The food and seasonings uses are delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out with family

Dined on April 22, 2016

The experience was great. Having your food cooked right in front of you was awesome. The food was very fresh and cooked just the way we asked for it. The server was very accommodating. We had our glasses refilled regularly. It was fun to sit next to another couple who was celebrating a birthday as well. We cant wait until we can join you again. I love the big cat display as you enter the restaurant. The greeter was very friendly. Please keep us in formed if you have any specials that come about. Thank you

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Japanese Hibachi

Dined on April 16, 2016

All other hibachi type restaurants try to imitate the original and nothing even compares!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dinner and a fun atmosphere prob ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Awesome dinner and a fun atmosphere probably one of the best Hibachi style restaurants I've ever been to!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was amazing!! Most defi ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food and service was amazing!! Most definitely will return

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for Birthdays!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We like to come for birthday's. Service is great and it's always a crowd pleaser.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful good cooked while watching

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Love the food at Benihana. The food cant get any fresher than receiving it the second it comes off the grill. I don't know that any food choice would be a bad one. Everything I have every ordered there tastes very good. My only complaint is that we ordered a salmon dish that is served with noodles. The noodles were put on the grill at the same time as the salmon. The noodles were done within a couple minutes while the salmon took some time to finish cooking. So by the time the salmon was done, the noodles were cold.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Less show, more quality

Dined on March 28, 2016

The show was toned down a bit from previous experiences, but the menu was enhanced from my last visit (a while ago), and the food quality was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NBC

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Outstanding as always. Food was great, service excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night

Dined on March 20, 2016

Food was great, better than similar dining experiences. Hostess was young and a bit short. Had to wait almost 20 min past reservation time. Overall, I would go again preferably with a larger group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A good place to dine in Salt Lake

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was good. The chef was entertaining. It is fun to go with people you know or if you are out going you can make new friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

PAB

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

We were in Salt Lake for a trade show with a group of 7 employees. This was a great option for a good fun meal that didn't break the bank. The food was good and so was the service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and Atmosphere

Dined on March 16, 2016

I would highly recommend eating here. The food is fantastic, and the chefs are top notch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Noisy and hot, but the food was great!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We have been to Benihana many times over the years, so we are veterans. We have been to this location once before. We arrived just about 15 minutes before our reservation and we were asked to wait. We went into the sushi area to order a drink. When we were taken upstairs it was really noisy and really hot. We asked if the air could be turned down and we were told it already was. There was a huge table of children running around and making a lot of noise. Eventually the manager came over and asked them to sit back down. Our waiter seemed to be having some trouble that night. We each ordered an extra fried rice to take home, and that was not communicated to the chef. One of our dinners wasn't communicated to the chef, and had to be cooked at the end of the meal when I spotted the problem. Overall, it was a fun night, but the small problems really stood out to us.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3

Way too hot! Need better AC. Was not an ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Way too hot! Need better AC. Was not an enjoyable dinner. Food was good but the heat killed my appetite.

food4
ambience5
service5

Live chef is always fun, fun to meet new ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Live chef is always fun, fun to meet new people if you go with a smaller group.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience tonight. The s ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had a great experience tonight. The service was great and so was the food. We definitely will go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was great! We took our 3 ye ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Our waitress was great! We took our 3 year old niece for the first time and the waitress came back with extra maraschino cherries just for her. I think it made her night. Even with the cool volcano, I think the cherries were her favorite part. For the rest of us, the food was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5

The sushi chef that talked to us while w ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

The sushi chef that talked to us while we waited for my party was super nice and we ended up giving him a piece of cake. Our hibachi chef was super nice and made for a great dinner show. Thank you!

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food and service, not easily accessible.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food and service were wonderful, however, the actual dining area is upstairs and there was no way, at least not provided to my group and me, to transport my child's stroller up to the dining area. If is preferred that children are not brought, that should be mentioned. I also wondered how someone in a wheelchair or with a physical disability would be able to dine in this location? Also, it was extremely hot in the dining area. We were very anxious to get out of there because we were literally sweating. Other than those things, I would recommend as long as you are not trying to bring a child with you.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and Entertaining

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Benihana is always a great experience for our family and friends. The food is always fresh and the preparation of it in front of the guests makes it great fun for all of us. The service is always courteous and on the spot with drinks filled as soon as they are empty and additional requests taken care of quickly. Highly recommend Benihana of Salt Lake City if you want a completely satisfying experience for all ages.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and always a fun atmosphe ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Delicious food and always a fun atmosphere! We love Benihana for special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and had a great time with m ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Amazing food and had a great time with my family. I made a reservation and they had our table ready for us when we walked in. I am recommending this place for any occasion. I have a 4 yr old and a 10 yr old and my kids loved it. They are really good with checking if we were in need of anything else great service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

The restaurant was loud & the service was too slow

Dined on February 26, 2016

The restaurant was very loud & the service started good, but then it took a very long time to get our chef to come to our table to make our food. Our soup & salads were gone & then we had to wait another 15 before we even saw the chef. Everyone at our table was grumbling & very irritated. We were there to celebrate a birthday. They took our photo & then made us wait another 15 minutes after we were done eating to receive our photo. :( I was not impressed especially being that the meals were very expensive. :(

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun birthday dinner

Dined on February 24, 2016

We came here for my husband's birthday with three small children ages seven and under. We had a great time and the food was delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Dissatisfied

Dined on February 23, 2016

I was super dissatisfied, for the amount I spent, I would expect a kind server. The server was not kind and I had to wait extra long for any help And often more than twice. I did not appreciate the feeling that I was somehow annoying her by my being there. I brought my 15 year old and 10 year old to celebrate my birthday and the server basically did less than the bare minimum for us. However the three oriental ladies that sat on the other end from us received smiles and their check and their service long before we did and they came after us. Just because the server would not take care of our basic needs. Water refills were slow for me and didn't even happen for my 10 year old even after she asked. I thought for sure that by bringing my girls here they would love it so much they would pick Benihana for the place they would want me to take them for their birthday dinners. However they also were unimpressed because they also care about how the servers make them feel when we go out to eat. After this experience I don't think I want to go to Benihana again. Also, they are supposed to do a picture for you for your birthday and the server was like, "oh, you want a picture?" With a tone begging me to say, oh never mind if it's too much trouble. And when I said, yes I really would like one she seemed put out. They served me half nowls of rice, because they "ran out" and said I can get you more if you really want it later. I said, "I will want it please bring me more when it is ready." I then had to ask when my rice was gone for more. She acted irritated that I asked. She is bring me two bowls of rice. But then looked at me weird. It wasn't my fault they ran out of rice and what does rice really cost like $.25 a bowl tops?!? Really?!? I was so disappointed...

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

A Little Dissapointed...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We are regulars at Benihana in SLC and we love the food. This last time we went though I was proposing to my girlfriend later that night and the experience there left something to be desired. Our waiter wasn't very attentive, she got our order wrong and then she argued that she had it right when we told her. I love this restaurant but wasn't overally impressed the last time I went.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Very poor service

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

If I were to base this review solely on the latest dine, I would not feel comfortable recommending Benihana to anyone. Unfortunately, I happened to bring a guest with me who found the experience so stressful, she said she won't be back. Our server did not know the menu, or what sashimi was, even after the cook tried to explain it. It took about five minutes to explain to him that she simply wanted all salmon on her sashimi instead of any other fish. I ordered the express lunch, but it wasn't done until it was almost time for me to leave, almost an hour later. It was extremely awkward for my guest to eat her lunch in front of me while I waited for my meal. When the meal finally came, it was not like it usually is--the portions of everything (especially the vegetables) were smaller than normal. I won't go into everything that was wrong with this service; suffice it to say that it was substandard in every way. To try to make things right, the manager on duty comped my meal, which was very much appreciated since I had to scarf it down in about ten minutes so I could get back to work on time. So, basing this review on this particular service, I wouldn't be back or encourage anyone else to eat here. However, I eat here often, and can say that the service is normally very good; the food portions are fine for the money (although, the portions seem larger when the men cook versus the lady), and I almost never have any complaints. I hope this was a one-time thing.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, great show.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Had the deluxe treat. It was great. Not much else to say. Show was good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Best chateaubriand we had at a Benihana. ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Best chateaubriand we had at a Benihana. We've been to many.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Show and Good Food

Dined on February 13, 2016

High quality food with a great 'show' and provide a great level of entertainment at the hibachi tables. I have been to several Benihana's and the more fun and banter you have with them, the better the show and presentation. So if you don't have a party of 8 you will be sharing the table with others that may dictate the dinner ambience. Unfortunately, we had a group of 4 teenagers ("spoiled") that were with us and another couple. The teenagers were downers and I don't think they tipped at all - but that's a whole other story (lack of respect and entitled - Daddy paid for his son and date and the other two) We went on a Friday night (Valentine's weekend), so it was busy and noisy, but that's pretty much the norm. Highly recommend to get reservations prior or you could wait for a longer period of time. Our reservation was at 8:00 pm and they were pretty much right on time getting us seated; which is always a bonus. If you go at least once a year, I would recommend signing up for the Chef's table promotion - you get a $30 gift certificate to use in your birthday month. Definitely a bonus there. Overall, I would recommend Benihana's as a fun evening with friends and family. We'll be back again with my $30 gift certificate in hand!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We did arrive a little early for our res ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

We did arrive a little early for our reservation and was seated right away. Our service was excellent. We were not rushed to order and received exactly what we ordered, was not disappointed. The atmosphere was fun and enjoyable, I would say very entertaining. I look forward in returning again and trying other menu items.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites

Dined on February 7, 2016

I always love visiting benihanas. Lunch is good but I especially love the dinner atmosphere. Great place to take someone who has never been to something like it. Food is wonderful. I dream of the salad dressing and sauces and garlic butter yum!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.