About Benihana - Salt Lake City

165 S West Temple Bldg #1
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana sits poised in downtown Salt Lake City directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. It’s tucked behind the Janet Quinney Lawson Capitol Theatre, within easy walking distance from the world-renowned Mormon Temple. Only a 15-minute drive from Salt Lake International Airport, Benihana is popular year-round with tourists, convention-goers, and skiers alike. Validated parking is available in the parking structure on West Temple at 200 South.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City
Benihana - Salt Lake City

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:00PM 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Utah
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

Special Occasion (62)
Good for Groups (55)
Kid-friendly (24)
See All
Great for Lunch (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waiter was rude

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

The waiter was rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great customer service from the hostess ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great customer service from the hostess to the chef that grilled our dinner for us! Our table had lot s of seafood ordered from scallop, salmon, and tuns and he cooked it perfectly! Nice clean restaurant with a great side section for non-teppanyaki meal. He was also very entertaining with his show with the onion rings stacked with a zucchini as steam come out like a train for a 6year old girl celebrating her birthday! Would definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was extremely hot and noisy. Food was j ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Was extremely hot and noisy. Food was just okay for the price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We love going to Benihana, especially fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We love going to Benihana, especially for birthdays. My only suggestion/complaint is the temperature. I know the grill is 450 degrees, but even in the wintertime I sweat to death. The A/C needs to be updated or upgraded. Other than that the food and entertainment value is great and we'll keep coming back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have not eaten at Benihana's for many ye ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Have not eaten at Benihana's for many years. Food was great! Fun place to dine while on vacation in Salt Lake City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very fun for a birthday party! Knocked a ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very fun for a birthday party! Knocked a little for being a bit too loud and too hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was okay however they did not offer ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was okay however they did not offer the type of sauces we like to add to hibachi cooked food. They only offered hot mustard or ginger and I don't care for either so will not go to a Benihana again. Did not use either sauce so food was very bland. Guess it is all in what you like but I would not recommend although it seemed like a nice place. Definitely over priced for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed the Food and Drink. Our Cook see ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Enjoyed the Food and Drink. Our Cook seemed a little new at his position and the typical Benihana Show while preparing the meal was far short of the normal experience!

We still had a good evening.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had wonderful service and the food wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had wonderful service and the food was amazing! We couldn't have asked for a better experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our chef was wonderful. The food was jus ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our chef was wonderful. The food was just ok....where was the flavor? Our waiter was charming. My biggest complaint...when is the last time you remodeled? It felt very dirty and greasy to me. And everything just seemed wore out and tired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Very blah experience, no showmanship any ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very blah experience, no showmanship anymore and just going through the motions.

Filet Mignon was terrible, mushy and tasted like bland cow!

Very small portions and waitstaff has no personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Very delightful , every time I visit . T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very delightful , every time I visit . The food is the best , always on point , the waitress was awesome and friendly . It's the best restaurant in salt lake city..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was really slow the night we wen ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was really slow the night we went, which is out of the normal. We were there for over 2 hours and had a reservation. Also, I am hoping they will install some sort of fan(s) at each table, it was really hot, we were antsy to get out of there because of the heat and sitting there for 2 hours did not help the situation. But the food was good as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

As always, the food at Benihana was exce ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

As always, the food at Benihana was excellent, and the Sake/wine selection was fantastic. The service at the table was really, really good, but the front of house experience was pretty poor, actually.

We had a 6:30 reservation and arrived a few minutes early. Because they were apparently more busy than usual for a Thursday night, we were told that our table wasn't quite ready yet. Not only were we not encouraged to go have a drink at the bar given the delay, but because there is very, very little space near the host stand for patrons to await their table, we were scolded several times by a very rude young host for standing near the doors.

We waited more than 15 minutes *after* our reservation time before we were finally shown to a table, which wouldn't have been too bad had we not been crammed in a very small space and repeatedly chastised by an impertinent host who should not be greeting guests until he received a lesson in basic manners and common courtesy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I made a reservation for a party of 18 p ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I made a reservation for a party of 18 people for a birthday party. A few people had to cancel last minute which brought our party down to 15. The hostess was not friendly or very clear in why would could not be seated.

Our reservation was for 7:30pm and 13 of us arrived on time, but the hostess insisted we could not be seated until the last two showed up, which seemed odd. The last two of our group arrived 10 minutes later and we were ready to be sat. Then the hostess told us we had to wait for the chefs. So we waited around in the lobby another 30 minutes! Which was frustrating for everyone.

Once our group was sat, one chef started while the other half of our group waited. It took about another 30 minutes for the 2nd chef to arrive. One half of our group was done with their entrees and eating dessert before we even had started our meals yet?! The delay in timing was so awkward for our group setting. One half had paid and was ready to leave, while the other half was still eating.

Although the food was delicious and the chefs were talented... I'm really disappointed in the delayed timing of the chefs and how long it took to be seated even with a reservation. I would not recomend large groups to this location and will most likely not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

We came here for my birthday. It was my ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We came here for my birthday. It was my first visit. The service is unbelievable. The restaurant staff is really out going and attentive. I brought my four kids and they were thoroughly entertained and ate some great food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Benihana was a lot of fun. The chef (wha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Benihana was a lot of fun. The chef (whatever the title is?) was great, did fun tricks with the utensils and food, told a few jokes, it was a really fun experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a terrific dinner and were surpri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a terrific dinner and were surprised by how much food comes with an entree. We were more than satiated with the Diablo Chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were really hoping for an animated ch ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were really hoping for an animated chef that would do different tricks while cooking, but what we got was a friendly chef that tapped the cooking area a lot with his cooking fork. Some of the other chefs were doing different tricks as they cooked and were interacting with the guests and we found ourselves wishing we had gotten someone else as a chef. One other thing that happened that we did not expect is that we ended up sharing a table with other people. We had 5 in our group and were told that we had to do this. We went here to celebrate a special event and were looking for something different exciting but just got a guy making a lot of noise with a fork and a waitress who really tried but had difficulty communicating. They could benefit if they had a short video of the chef using his entertainment skills and allowing customers to book the chef they want.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food and service was good but the ch ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food and service was good but the chef we had was not as entertaining as the previous dining experiences I've had at Benihanas.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Overall the food was decent and the chef ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Overall the food was decent and the chef was very entertaining. The servers were quick to get our drinks and anything else we asked for. The food prep time for a party 8 was about an hour. We spent about 2.5 hours there total. The thing that really was annoying was having to wait for our entire party to show up, they got there about 15 minutes later than I did. We then had to wait almost 30 more minutes for the table we had a reservation for. So we were left sitting in the waiting area for almost 45 minutes.

Not sure that I'll be back as I don't like to wait that long for something I put a reservation in for.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Was a lot of fun. Our chef was an older ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Was a lot of fun. Our chef was an older man, so he wasn't all that animated and FUN, but the people at the table made it more amusing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Would I recommend? Yes & no. There was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Would I recommend? Yes & no. There was no "maybe" option.

Food: Unfortunately, standard fare, wasn't great/ wasn't bad.

Ambiance: We went on a Friday nite for a b'day celebration, 2 adults, 1 teen and 2 tweens. Most of the tables were full by the time we left (about 7ish), but it was pretty quiet for that many people.

Service: We were expecting to be entertained by our chef, like other Teppananki type restaurants (including other Benihana's) that we've gone to. Their chefs are pretty subdued. They were all certainly nice, but very subdued. I also noticed it at the other tables around us. There was no fun, no excitement at all, which was pretty disappointing. Just another over-priced restaurant, which is too bad. We won't be going back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This is my favorite restaurant. However, ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant. However, the last couple times i have gone prices raised, smaller portions. when the entree comes with rice, even though you order the chicken fried rice, you should be offered the rice anyways.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The waiter was marvelous I don't remembe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The waiter was marvelous I don't remember his name but I'm going to do another review off my receipt when I see it

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

Great food with a very fun and accommoda ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food with a very fun and accommodating staff. I highly recommend this dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and service is great. I have always ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food and service is great. I have always had a good experience here except for this last time. They have one table that is off to the side which provides a little more privacy but there is no air conditioning at this specific table. IT WAS SO HOT! Everyone was miserable and sweating for the full 2 hours we were there. Stepping outside into the 90 degree heat felt refreshing after sitting in there for 2 hours. Go to Benihana's but just request to not sit at that table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

The food was great! The only issue was t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was great! The only issue was the heat. It was super hot inside the restaurant which took away from the experience. I will hesitate to go back in the summer due to the heat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

This was our fourth trip to Benihana in ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our fourth trip to Benihana in four months. ( Nancy has been our waitress every time and we love her!!!!). It's safe to say it's one of our favorite places. My husband and I have been together for 31 years and have been coming here for as many years. The food is always delicious! There has not been one time that we were disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined several times in Benihanas ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have dined several times in Benihanas in London UK,and also New York and generally had a good experience - it has been a family favourite for birthday celebrations for our kids. This was well below par. The quality of the meat and fish was lower than those other locations, and the seating was very close together, and the ceiling low, which along with less than adequate extractors fabs made it very warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The Salt Lake location was a little diff ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The Salt Lake location was a little difficult to find, but once we did it was a great time. The service was cheerful and efficient. The hibachi cook was funny and delightful. It was the perfect way to celebrate that day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not so romantic

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The staff and food was good, but we went for our 10th anniversary and was sat with a family with 4 kids. The mom and dad were yelling at their kids the whole time, not too romantic and fun for us. Next time maybe not make a couple sit with a big family that takes up a whole table on their own.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Fantastic Food - A lot of Fun!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food at Benihana is fantastic, and it's served with the chef cooking it right in front of you. The chefs are skilled and are entertaining as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is the place to go.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Over the past 30 years my family has chosen Benihana's as the place to go to celebrate birthdays, graduations and taking out of town guest. This tradition has been past down to the fourth generation of our family. We can't get enough of the salad with the special dressing or the mushroom soup yum! The chicken fried rice is the best. It's always entertaining to see the chef's do their tricks while preparing our food that is delicious every single time. The added bonus is that we now get a birthday certificate when we sign up for the chef table. This is my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was good

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our chef could have been a lot better and more fun and involving with us. Did not really do much

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good to be back

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I hadn't been to Benihana in a long time. It was great to experience it again. Part of the reason to return is that we'll be making our first visit to Japan this fall.

The waitress (Nancy) and the cook (Tommy) did a great job, and made the evening special. The food was well prepared, and the show was good - as always. Thanks a lot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service to Help, Not Hinder

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I came to Benihana's because our friend told us about it. I had never even heard of Benihana before, and was excited to experience it. We really enjoyed ourselves, but we were frustrated when we left. Our waitress upon ordering didn't like what my husband chose and told him to get something else(not in a pleasant way). After that she insisted we have rice, we passed, but she insisted and we reluctantly accepted. Although the food she gave us was amazing, we were not happy with how she forced it on us.

Upon paying she singled us out again (after collecting everyone's bills) by looking only at ours and then complaining about how we didn't give her a big enough tip. Isn't it OUR job to say how much we should give, not her? We were quite embarrassed because it was out loud so that people could hear her. We did not leave Benihana's feeling happy or pleased with our experience because of her attitude towards us. We would like to come again, but not if we have service like what we had received.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great food. Fun atmosphere.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great food. Fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and great service!! I cou ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent food and great service!! I could eat there every day!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time, great food, fun atmosphere! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Good time, great food, fun atmosphere! Menu is comprehensive, with many good seafood, chicken, beef, and vegetarian choices. Service is always very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.