About Benihana - Salt Lake City

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana sits poised in downtown Salt Lake City directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. It’s tucked behind the Janet Quinney Lawson Capitol Theatre, within easy walking distance from the world-renowned Mormon Temple. Only a 15-minute drive from Salt Lake International Airport, Benihana is popular year-round with tourists, convention-goers, and skiers alike. Validated parking is available in the parking structure on West Temple at 200 South.

165 S West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Sushi - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Trio - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Chef - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT
Chef Trick - Benihana - Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (43)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for Groups (33)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Fun (31)
Kid-friendly (23)
Family Style (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Worth the Drive (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Casual (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (8)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Romantic (3)
Spicy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food at Benihana's is amazing and we ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

The food at Benihana's is amazing and we enjoy to experience the skill of the chefs. We strongly recommend this restaurant to everyone and always share our experiences. Chef Luis has been #1 thus far! Thank you to everyone at Benihana's!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you, the meal was amazing and the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Thank you, the meal was amazing and the service was spectacular thank you so much for a great evening my date and I will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My past experience has been very good. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

My past experience has been very good. Been many times and everything has been good. This time the food as tasteless and the noise was terrible. Could hear nothing. to many kids I suppose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Fun to watch food being prepared in fron ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Fun to watch food being prepared in front of you. Love the chicken fried rice and the seafood diablo. Service is good and chef is always entertaining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

This was the best experience here we hav ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This was the best experience here we have ever had. Our chef had us in tears we were laughing so hard. Joe Mama was an absolute hoot. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our chef, Joe, was amazing!!! We would d ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our chef, Joe, was amazing!!! We would definitely request him in the future!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Benihana was a great dinner date! My boy ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Benihana was a great dinner date! My boyfriend and I got a gift card for Christmas and went as soon as we could. We are frequent diners of Timpanyaki, which is like Benihana but cheaper. The price was worth it. We though the food was better, more menu options, and the service was great at Benihana. I would highly recommend as long as you know it will be a spendy date!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday tradition. Always a good time. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Birthday tradition. Always a good time. The chef was personable, funny, and skilled.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very cramped. Not like the Benihana's I ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very cramped. Not like the Benihana's I remembered as a child. Didnt appear very clean. Our chef wasn't very entertaining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We made reservation for 2.00 PM with Ope ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We made reservation for 2.00 PM with Open Table. When we arrived the restaurant was closed. We saw people inside and another group of 6 arrived, all of us outside in the cold. Someone knocked and asked if they where going to open, the answer was that service started at 3.00 PM they let all of us in to wait. As soon as they where ready about 2.45 PM took the parties to the table. It is a classic Teppan restaurant with nice level of service and good enough food. Location is kind of odd, in an alley between some buildings. Teppan service in the second floor. The restaurant has to update their info with Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My family and I eat here a lot. This is ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My family and I eat here a lot. This is the first time we have not been satisfied with the food. It had no taste, and my daughters chicken was pink inside. My steak had no flavor, and egg fried rice, was left because of no flavor. The cooks name started with a T, big guy that looked confused. The last time we had Mario, and it was great. You would think for over a hundred dollars for the three of us, it should be a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

This restaurant is a family favorite.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This restaurant is a family favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stopped in for the Christmas special - t ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Stopped in for the Christmas special - they were able to seat us early despite being about an hour ahead of our reservation. Our Chef was Tommy. Funny and personable. I'm always a little reserved about hitting up Benihana for the price point but when entertaining a group the floor show always makes up for pricier ticket. Overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was excellent! The only complaint ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was excellent! The only complaint is that everyone's jacket smells like grilled food even after several days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have gone to Benihana on Christmas Ev ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have gone to Benihana on Christmas Eve for over 20 years. Each year it has gotten busier and busier, and we found that it is now so crowded that they rush every aspect of the dinner.

This year was no exception, as we were given our bill literally before they brought us our dessert. I feel that they need to slow up the process just a little so that their customers can enjoy the entire experience.

One big disappointment this year was with the cleanliness of the restaurant. We arrived fairly early (5:30), and when we were seated there was food all over the floor. The edges of the cooking area were filthy as well. They tried to clean the floor a little, but it was pretty gross. Maybe they should consider tile instead of carpet?

Worse, the bathroom was totally flooded with water everywhere. I am glad I went in AFTER I ate, I literally could not have eaten otherwise.

I suppose most of my complaints occurred because of the busy holiday, but it was disheartening just the same.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

This was a very new expirience for us. O ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was a very new expirience for us. One thing I didn't know about before going is that this was a 5 course meal. You should also have an open mind when eating here because there isn't much choice in most of the courses, the soup, salad, and shrimp are all the same, fried rice is available for extra money instead of white rice. Then there were quite a few options for the entrée and a few come with ice cream for dessert. one dissapointment was the terriakki chicken, the chicken was good, but when you add the sauce it just didn't have enough flavor to really make it good. However the salad was to die for even though I wasn't sure if I would like it. The chef was nice, but not nessisarily in his element, he lacked a bit in his theatricality. Also it was hard to have a conversation because of all the grill noises, and you share a table with others. But an overall nice expirience.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Hands down the best dining experience we ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Hands down the best dining experience we've had in a long time!

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time for an office Christmas lunch ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great time for an office Christmas luncheon. Our chef was entertaining and talented.

Tags: Kid-friendly, , Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food tatses good but gave us all the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food tatses good but gave us all the dookies when i returned to my lavoush hotel i spattered there toilet prefusively

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

we went for my birthday and it was an a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

we went for my birthday and it was an amazing family time!!

thankyou for the amazing food and great service!!

we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cook was very professional, funny, his p ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Cook was very professional, funny, his performance was outstanding!!! Everybody liked him a lot!

Waitress was not very patient, friendly, didn't ask everybody what they need. Her birthday song performance was not sincere: when she sang the song she wasn't even looking at me (birthday person), she didn't congratulate me, didn't offer to blow the candle. After all when we were discussing tips she said that we had to pay 20% because of the big party (10 people) and she said that the tip is going to be split for cook, her and other personal. We felt like paying big tip to the cook and not so big to the waitress and it should be our choice!

She forgot to offer me bonus for $30 meal for my birthday (I read about it on your web) and when I wanted to ask her about it she disappeared.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great atmosphere. Hard to hear our serve ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great atmosphere. Hard to hear our servers but food was tasty. Definitely make a reservation, walking in was a 3 hour wait.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, the food was great. Our waiter ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Overall, the food was great. Our waiter was great and made sure that drinks were always full. We were sat quick, service was quick and the ambiance was overall great as well. The price is comparable to Teppanyaki or Kobe so expect to pay a little more than just a night out to eat. I will defiantly recommend!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tenzin was our chef, very good at what h ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Tenzin was our chef, very good at what he does. GREAT tasting food, good "show". A little crowded for me (I'm a bigger guy) I kept bumping the knees of the gal next to me, who I didn't know.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our chef Luis I believe was fantastic. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our chef Luis I believe was fantastic. Really great with the kids and engaging. Food was good and everyone had a great time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Really really noisy and really crowded. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Really really noisy and really crowded. Don't expect to be able to have a conversation with anyone except the people sitting right next to you. They really pack the tables in there as tightly as possible, you feel cramped and squished the entire time.

The food was great though, lots of seafood and steak options. The filet mignon was really good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

The food is always delicious at Benihana ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food is always delicious at Benihana and it's a fun place to dine with a group!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were not happy with the quality of fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We were not happy with the quality of food and quantity of food for the cost overall. We were disappointed overall and we were hoping for a better experience especially on a special occasion that we celebrated with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The food and evening was fun, but after ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food and evening was fun, but after making a reservation, it still took 20 minutes to be seated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Easy to get to, food is what should be e ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Easy to get to, food is what should be expected, and atmosphere is fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's one of my favorite birthday places ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It's one of my favorite birthday places and they give you a $30 coupon on your birthday Monday-Thursday for dinners. They have a great show while they cook your food in front of you! Definite must try at least once!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing staff, The food was amazing. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Amazing staff, The food was amazing. The drinks were cold. All eight of us had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I hope this review gets back to the Mana ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I hope this review gets back to the Manager, I have been in the food industry for 30 years. the food was great, the cook at our table did a very nice job. The waiter was not at all good. He needed to stop worrying about himself and worry about his customers. He was in a hurry from the start. We asked him about the menu and splitting a course. His answer was well I think the meals are pretty big. Huh.... come on. your Waiters need to understand your menu. He came out just after we had rec. our last session of meat and rice, not more than 2 mins. he comes out and ask's my son if he needs a box. Timing is every thing. we spent over 100 dollars and were not pleased with your service just because your waiter was not on his game. Lots of money for sup - par service. Hope he get's this feedback if not I would love to come in and give it to him in a development way. He was not good what so ever....

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The entire experience of Benihana is the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The entire experience of Benihana is the show of your chef doing tricks and interacting/talking with you. Our chef did NOTHING but prepare our food (poorly). No talking, no tricks - except for the volcano onion, which he prepared quickly and silently without any flair and then dismantled without so much as a smile. He also did not prepare my food how I requested it - I can't tolerate much oil or butter - and my chicken was somehow both dry and oily.

The chef at the table next to us, meanwhile, was joking with the customers and flipping shrimp into their mouths while he spun tricks on the grill. Methinks we got the short straw in the deal. Even with a free birthday dinner, it was a huge waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My husband and I dined at the Salt Lake ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

My husband and I dined at the Salt Lake City Benihana on our first anniversary 33 years ago. We were seated aside a family with four children. We said to each other that night "someday we will bring our kids here." Fast forward three decades and we have four children that have celebrated birthdays and vacations in many many Benihana locations. It is consistently fun, delicious and a nice evening for our family. We have so many happy memories seated around the grill. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Family Style, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I celebrated a friends birthday for dinn ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I celebrated a friends birthday for dinner and she has extreme dietary needs/restrictions. The staff was very diligent in preparing the food correctly and being courteous with our needs. It was a wonderful experience. Thank you!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried rice really good. Sea food and bee ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Fried rice really good. Sea food and beef are ok. Chicken is bad no taste and meat too dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and excellent service by host ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and excellent service by hostess and our server Jordan. I certainly would recommend this restaurant and would consider going back again. Thank you again for a lovely evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was delicious, the service was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was mediocre. We enjoy the family serving atmosphere and the show.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I brought a group of students out to cel ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I brought a group of students out to celebrate our work at the SC'16 conference. Everyone enjoyed their dinner. The chef was very talented, as well as entertaining.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.