About Benihana - Salt Lake City

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana sits poised in downtown Salt Lake City directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. It’s tucked behind the Janet Quinney Lawson Capitol Theatre, within easy walking distance from the world-renowned Mormon Temple. Only a 15-minute drive from Salt Lake International Airport, Benihana is popular year-round with tourists, convention-goers, and skiers alike. Validated parking is available in the parking structure on West Temple at 200 South.

165 S West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Fun (33)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Groups (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Family Style (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Authentic (17)
Casual (17)
Open Kitchen (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Healthy (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (9)
People Watching (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful time as usual! Never gets old going to Benihana!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a lot of fun and a great meal. The fried rice was the best!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been to Benihana's here in Salt Lake City, UT, Houston, and Dallas, TX... We haven't been disappointed ever. The staff is excellent, attentive, and the chef's are very skilled and make the meal both entertaining and delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

not a good experience, will not go here again. go to tepanyaki instead, 100 times better. seems we went on an off day as my friend i was with loved it last time she was there, but it was enough of a disaster that i will never be back. we dine out at least a few times a week & this was one of the worst experiences i've ever had. from getting our appetizers about 45 min into our meal, to them not being very good by then, to my food not being cooked right & a waitress that had no clue & cook that didn't get along with her and the best part was the staff huddling around us like vultures trying to get rid of us while we were still trying to eat. this place needs help on tuesday nights!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Benihana is a great location for groups. Our chef was very talented and had some fun tricks. It is the perfect place for groups of 10 to get together and have a fun meal with entertainment and great conversation. The food was great, the service was excellent. I would definitely recommend it and go back.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious food, and who doesn't like dinner and a show?! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Terrible experience!
Our reservation was at 8:00 pm. When we showed up, we were told by the unpleasant host that even though we had a reservation, we would have to wait for our table because they were very busy. The upstairs was terribly uncomfortable...extremely hot, dirty (my feet stuck to the bathroom floor which had no towels), crowded and noisy. Our service was TERRIBLE! Among many other things (having to ask several times for things before getting up and asking someone else ourselves, being served another drink when we didn't ask for it), the server asked, "Do you need any boxes?" as soon as we began eating!!! Our cook was nice and gave it a decent effort, but was boring and seemed uninterested in what he was doing. Horrible, very expensive experience. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It is what it is. Can be fun time with the right mood and friends

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was a amazing meal the staff was amazing as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Our waitress, Maria, has always been the best. Our chef Luis was the very, very best. We will request these two always. So good!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Awesome door. We go regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 6, 2017

mucho ruido y es muy difícil ordenar del menú, por que tienen paquetes muy raros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

It wasn't very clean. They sat us with a very young family whose child literally screamed the entire dinner. It was very cramped. It had been 20 years since I went to a Benihana, it'll be at least that long till we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

New waitress was terrible. She took to long to get drinks, too long to check up on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food, fun environment. Very fast service without sacrificing quality. Fun for families.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was awful. We had a new chef at our table and had no idea what he was doing. I have eaten at Benihana before and been impressed but this was an awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Chef Joe was an incredible chef and comedian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Portions continue to dwindle. Meat was tough, shrimp was tough. A lady who was seated after me and ordered the exact same thing I did was served before me. This place is hit and miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service was rushed. Food was not prepared as ordered. Forgot our birthday request in the reservation.

Overall nice and fun place for entertainment and dinner. cook was very entertaining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Awesome wonderful amazing yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Amazing as always.My favorite place to dine.Thank you to everyone who works hard to give the best dine experience.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall great taste. Expect to pay for quality food. Maybe because they were busy that night but out of all the benihana's I've gone too this one felt rushed to leave while we were finishing our food. They started to clean the other side of our table and put menus. For that 3.5 stars.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Was a nice 5 year anniversary wished the table had a little more room

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Its a very fun environment and the food does taste really good but is pretty pricey at average 30$ a plate. Also parking kinda sucks based on location and you may have to pay to park.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Poor ventilation from cooking, food is nice and fresh.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Waitress could not get out orders correct and out in a timely manner. She even had the manager come over to our group and ask us to come up to the register and pay individually because they could not split up our bill correctly. Cook was awesome and food was great but service was poor.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great. Steve was our chef and he did awesome. My lobster was cooked perfectly and the filet mignon melted in my mouth. I was pretty disappointed with the rest of the staff/servers. We made a reservation 3 weeks in advance and were still forced to wait 30 minutes, the host did not make us feel welcome in any way at all, she seemed more annoyed than pleased we were there. When we walked up and checked in she was playing brick breaker on her phone right in front of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Benihana was an amazing experience! Our chef was Ramon and he was excellent. It was fabulous seeing your food cooked right in front of you, and his tricks were entertaining. The food was delicious and the service was fast. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Loved it! We came for Valentine's Day and they took great care to make it wonderful.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The restaurant was nice, we enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Our waiter was skilled, our meals were parpare by a professional. This is my wife and son favorite place .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

If you are looking to have some delicious food, in a really fun atmosphere, while also being able to talk with very nice people; this is the place for you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience.Very entertaining chefs .Will come back for sure!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Steve, our chef was great! He was very entertaining and the food was cooked just right.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The only complain I have is its wayyy too hot in there they need to open a window or turn up the AC. Other then that our server, food and experience was amazing for ojr Anniversary Dinner with our kids.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Been years since going. Decor not updated. Facility was dirty, ripped carpeting and the food was less than good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We absolutely LOVED Benihana! We went for the first time to celebrate my husbands birthday. The chef was very energetic and entertaining and the food was AMAZING!! We recommend getting a side or two of the chicken fried rice :) We had the Sushi/Sashimi platter and it was perfect! Will definitely be back again and again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Good dinner and very delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

While I still would recommend Benihana to friend, if given the choice due to location, I have had better service and not a wait time (especially having a reservation!) to be seated at Kobe in South Ogden.

As far as the food is concerned, both establishments produce excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was a lovely night people were laughing ,food was awesome,and our chef Ramon was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very poor service. Once seated we waited 15 minutes for a server. We arrive early for our reservation but took a party of 35 before us even though they did not have all their guests arrive. We actually were seated late even though we arrived prior to the party of 35. Both parties had a reservation at 8. Not likely to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.