About Benihana - Salt Lake City

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana sits poised in downtown Salt Lake City directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. It’s tucked behind the Janet Quinney Lawson Capitol Theatre, within easy walking distance from the world-renowned Mormon Temple. Only a 15-minute drive from Salt Lake International Airport, Benihana is popular year-round with tourists, convention-goers, and skiers alike. Validated parking is available in the parking structure on West Temple at 200 South.

165 S West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm,
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
W.200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-2421

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/saltlakecity-ut-sl

Parking Details:
Parking tickets are validated by our host.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Fun (30)
See All
Good for Groups (27)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Family Style (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Casual (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Authentic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
People Watching (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Healthy (7)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

For a large group or a smaller group celebration, this is the place to go. It was my dad's 86th birthday and even though he has Alzheimer's, he still enjoyed watching his food being prepared. He especially loved the birthday song, complete with drum, and the souvenir photo. Once the table is on, it gets a bit warm so dress accordingly. Also, the place is usually packed with people and the eating space around the table is tight. Make a reservation or you will be waiting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We felt rushed from the start, wanted to order some sushi was not asked about appetizers. I guess if there are other people at the table not in your party they must skip that part. The portions of food seemed small, granted I am comparing to Tepanyaki which seems to be way more generous on the veggies and a way more relaxing environment. The whole restaurant needs an entire makeover. Just walking up the stairs and the state of the carpet on them I was questioning if I made the right decision. Our cook Lois(?) rocked however. He was personable and had a great sense of humor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food. Chef Tommy was nice . Our server , Thomas was unpleasant . It was obvious he had a long day , he even said it when he handed the bill. We needed low sodium salt , the helper he handed it complained that he had to grab it upstairs . We had a reservation and we still waited for 20 minutes . It was so crowded and loud . The positive thing was the food . Our family looks for customer service , atmosphere and good tasting food . Since this location didn't possess all three , we won't come back especially if you re spending more than $130 for a family of three .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I love Benihana's. It's where I want to eat out for my special occasions. The hibachi rice is my comfort food! I have my favorite chefs and staff. I don't like it when they aren't there. Thanks for many years of service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The chief was great prepping the food! But as soon as he cleaned up and left to the next table I took my first bit into my food and the chicken was RAW. Are server was great! And removed the chicken from are bill.. but in all honesty the whole meal should of been free because that chicken touched my entire plate... just feel like it could of been handled a lot better than it was!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

If Steve would drop by and play during dinner that would be fine by me. No, in all seriousness it was a little pricey but it was worth it. The food was on point.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Went back 30 years after our first visit. Been living across country for many years and just returned. Was just as we had remembered it. Even had a chef who had been there for 30 years as well. He was great. Chatted with us while he cooked. Food was great. Service was super. We'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Reservation was set for 6...finally seated around 6:20. Slowish service. Loud, tight restaurant. Very good chef and food.

Not thinking we'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food flavor was good. Left the restaurant hungry! Helpings should be larger for the price paid. Variety was good. Show was fair. Seemed the chefs with the better shows were working on tables with kids... Kind of left us adults with minimal shows.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I had an amazing time and they were so helpful and personable!!! This was by far one of the best times...our cook and server were amazing with the kids!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great place before going to the theater. Food was great. Fun place to dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

not only is the food terrific the show from the chef was great, I would recommend to everyone

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It's benihana... What can I add? Everybody was very nice and the food was as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food and chef were wonderful. Server was not attentive at all. Ask for tommy when you go he is great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Family trip. Lots of fun

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Benihana's has turned into a yearly tradition for our family to celebrate my spouse/dad's birthday. The kids really enjoy the whole experience. The food was absolutely delicious and cooked perfectly. Thanks Benihana for a memorable night.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fun, Spicy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Overall good service. Chef was knew. He forgot some of the items in the recipe but no big deal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

It's been a few years since I've been to this place, but I was sorely disappointed. The food wasn't to par with what I remember and have experienced at other similar restaurants. He over cooked then vegetables to the point of being burnt and mushy. The various meats we had were also over cooked.

Very disappointed especially for the price of taking a family of 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Fun place. Expensive. Took 45 minutes from the time we sat down till a chef started cooking out food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful time as usual! Never gets old going to Benihana!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a lot of fun and a great meal. The fried rice was the best!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to Benihana's here in Salt Lake City, UT, Houston, and Dallas, TX... We haven't been disappointed ever. The staff is excellent, attentive, and the chef's are very skilled and make the meal both entertaining and delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

not a good experience, will not go here again. go to tepanyaki instead, 100 times better. seems we went on an off day as my friend i was with loved it last time she was there, but it was enough of a disaster that i will never be back. we dine out at least a few times a week & this was one of the worst experiences i've ever had. from getting our appetizers about 45 min into our meal, to them not being very good by then, to my food not being cooked right & a waitress that had no clue & cook that didn't get along with her and the best part was the staff huddling around us like vultures trying to get rid of us while we were still trying to eat. this place needs help on tuesday nights!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Benihana is a great location for groups. Our chef was very talented and had some fun tricks. It is the perfect place for groups of 10 to get together and have a fun meal with entertainment and great conversation. The food was great, the service was excellent. I would definitely recommend it and go back.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious food, and who doesn't like dinner and a show?! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Terrible experience!
Our reservation was at 8:00 pm. When we showed up, we were told by the unpleasant host that even though we had a reservation, we would have to wait for our table because they were very busy. The upstairs was terribly uncomfortable...extremely hot, dirty (my feet stuck to the bathroom floor which had no towels), crowded and noisy. Our service was TERRIBLE! Among many other things (having to ask several times for things before getting up and asking someone else ourselves, being served another drink when we didn't ask for it), the server asked, "Do you need any boxes?" as soon as we began eating!!! Our cook was nice and gave it a decent effort, but was boring and seemed uninterested in what he was doing. Horrible, very expensive experience. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It is what it is. Can be fun time with the right mood and friends

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was a amazing meal the staff was amazing as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Our waitress, Maria, has always been the best. Our chef Luis was the very, very best. We will request these two always. So good!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Awesome door. We go regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 6, 2017

mucho ruido y es muy difícil ordenar del menú, por que tienen paquetes muy raros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

It wasn't very clean. They sat us with a very young family whose child literally screamed the entire dinner. It was very cramped. It had been 20 years since I went to a Benihana, it'll be at least that long till we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

New waitress was terrible. She took to long to get drinks, too long to check up on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food, fun environment. Very fast service without sacrificing quality. Fun for families.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was awful. We had a new chef at our table and had no idea what he was doing. I have eaten at Benihana before and been impressed but this was an awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Loved being able to have our own chef for the 8 of us. Special time together with friends.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Chef Joe was an incredible chef and comedian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Portions continue to dwindle. Meat was tough, shrimp was tough. A lady who was seated after me and ordered the exact same thing I did was served before me. This place is hit and miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.