Benihana - Plymouth Meeting

4.1
685 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is conveniently located next to the Plymouth Meeting Mall and directly across AMC theaters. Stop in for a pre-movie dinner show or join us after your shopping spree. Enjoy your Benihana favorites in half the time with our Express Lunch, Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(610) 832-5924
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Plymouth Meeting Mall Parking Lot. Between Boscov's and AMC Movie theater.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Septa Bus Routes include 27, 98 and the L bus.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Happy Hour (In Lounge Only)
Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu, 4pm-7pm
Fri, 5pm-7pm

Happy Hour Specials include 1/2 price sushi rolls, appetizer's, wine and specialty cocktails.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 685 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.0
service
4.0
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Food was great. Dinner is a little pricey even for children. Kids loved it

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We usually enjoy Benihana’s but this time not so much. First the waiter was very unprofessional (yawning while taking our orders). She also rang up our orders incorrectly that when the cook came it was very confusing. Steam rice was brought out to table before the cook even got there and way before the meals were even started . So by the time the meat was cooked, the rice was very cold and not enjoyable as a meal. Prior to beginning, we stressed that one in our party was vegan however what he ordered was cooked while touching chicken that was on the grill instead of it being away from it. We had to stress that to the cook several times. Unfortunately, overall this visit was not enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

945p reservation. No problem with the front staff. Overall, I was pretty disappointed. None of us had been to Benihana which is considered the pinnacle hibachi experience. Our chef was pleasant but really didn’t give us an “experience”. We could tell he was rushing. There wasn’t any humor or fun, just cooking to get it done. He also forgot to cook half my order, and serviced us in the incorrect order. Our waiter did notice and did rectify the issue. I was was supposed to have ice cream with my order which at the point, I saw no point to bringing it up.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 9, 2018

This was my first time.. the overall experience was nice but way too slow.. Im not interested in returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Very nice dinner with family for my daughters graduation. Everyone had a nice time. Our chef Andrew was great and entertaining. Very good meal!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Been here many times always terrific.

We were at a large table & then 5 blacks sat down.
I went to say HELLO & the 3 adults put their backs towards us.

They got on their cell phones til their food came Then looked every way 'cept at us.

The waitress, a young black woman, saw us sitting at the empty table & waited on the other 5 while we sat. & watched Had to ask her for tea, water, she did nothing on her own
My friend still left a 20% tip..I would have left next to nothing..service poor.

When the 5 left, they walked away..we were invisible.
That never happened here before & many times people of color sat w/us & we all talked & laughed.

This crowd was ignorant & ruined our meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Love the show! Went out with friends really enjoyed the food and service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Overall everything was very good. The entertainment value wasn't anywhere as good as I remember it from years ago. Would I go again? Maybe. Probably not. It is fun if it you haf nevet been therw before.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I didn't think that the food was seasoned, and the chef may have possibly been new but he was very hard to understand and food took an extremely long amount of time to prepare. We had the chicken fried rice was and it was really over cooked and hard because it had sat on the grill for so long. The steak had no flavor or seasoning added so it was really bland. The server brought out everything back to back(sushi, salad, soup) and due to space and the chef started cooking we ended up not being able to enjoy those items.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Favorite place for my granddaughters. People are always so nice to them.
Good food/good venue

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

It's Benihana. It's pretty much what you would expect. There were a lot of loud families. Not somewhere to go if you want a romantic date night. But the staff is wonderful and the food was good as always.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Food was good and made quick

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We were seated with a teenage girl birthday party which was very uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great drinks and fun time with a group - plus the food is always delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

If you have never gone to Benihana, it’s certainly an experience everyone should try at least once.
The food is excellent and watching these skilled chefs prepared it in front of you on the hibachi grill is certainly entertaining. I cannot recall a time that I have had a bad meal at a Benihana. The meets are always tender and the vegetables are always fresh.
If you are a party of 2 be prepared to share a table with strangers. I hibachi table sits between 8 to 10 people and small parties get put together around hibachi grill. The atmosphere is loud because you have the chef banging and clanging his spatula and other equipment Plus the exhaust fan which is on while he’s cooking.
The chef prepares a little show for you in stacking up onions and making a volcano and making it a train and that’s where the show gets repetitive but then perhaps maybe it’s the same show At all Benihana.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Always a fun show and dinner for annual birthday

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for Mother’s Day and while the Chef was very kind and did a great job the food was over priced for no reason. The server who gets the drinks... was matter of fact and did nothing to deserve a tip although we still gave one. He took the ordered and messed it all up and I asked for shrimp fried rice they literally give you 2 shrimp. They said they have had many complaints about this. On my opinion Hibachi restaurant is better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always a great time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I had a small graduation party with friends and family. It was the perfect , fun setting! The food was great and Juan our chef was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Great waiter and thanks to my Open Table reservation, the restaurant was able to call me after I left my credit card there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Angel is the best chef!! Great personality and Cooke’s the food perfectly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Very nice lunch experience very reasonable and the food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Food was EXCELLENT and our hibachi chef was very talented and entertaining!
Service was good as well....Great place to celebrate a special occasion or gather some friends.
Not a cheap meal but totally worth the splurge!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Birthday cele

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food was bland barely any seasoning waste of money I took it home and had to season it to eat it people want seasoning !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

It was great! It was my mother’s 1st time and she enjoyed it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had 3:00 PM reservation and arrived around 2:40 PM. We were seated immediately; our server was very friendly she had some suggestions for us. Overall the meal was good would recommend to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Very friendly

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Horrible service. Dirty . Food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

All time favorite! Never fails to impress! The food and the experience not to be missed. It just keeps getting better!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

We gather every year for my father’s birthday at Benihana. Every year the meal is delicious, the staff is attentive and the guest around the grill are lively also. Good times always.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 27, 2018

We usually love benihana for birthday and our daughter loves watching the chefs cooking in front. This occasion, one of our party had their entire meal basically forgotten (steak and fried rice) with the fried rice not prepared, and then at the end of the entrees being cooked, the chef had to request an additional steak be brought out.

Also, there is usually a photo taken with the birthday dessert, but this was also missing.

We had tried to do the Plymouth Meeting location instead of the Cherry Hill, but we haven't been impressed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 17, 2018

This wasn’t the first time we had dinner at Benihana that’s why I was kinda surprised when cook forgot to make spicy fried rice for us. He gave it everyone on table besides us, our waitress did bring it from the kitchen however, we paid extra for hibachi to get fresh food right away... if we were okay with eating food from kitchen then we could have just set at regular table. Our hibachi chef ignored my husband when he told him that we have fried rice too. we had to bring it our waitress attention and after all that chef didn’t even apologize. I understand that it’s too much to remember when there are four groups of ppl sitting around and wants different things but I was not very impressed by how they handled it! We love hibachi, however not sure if we will ever go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Food was very good. Prepared to order. Only thing that was disappointing was the fact we were almost finished meal before we received our rice after we flagged down another waitress and mentioned we never received it. Never cleared away dirty dishes before bringing check and after we payed, were asked if we would like dessert. Think our waitress had to may tables to handle.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 14, 2018

I was severely disappointed in this visit. I will start with the fact that when we walked in there was no one standing at the host stand to greet us, and we honestly stood there for a good 5 minutes without anyone acknowledging us. We were seated at our table, and another large party was seated at the table next to us. This larger party was greeted first and by two different waitresses, meanwhile my table was not touched at all. Finally I guess when the mix up was realized, a waitress came over and finally took our order. I ordered a draft beer, and everyone else at the table ordered mixed drinks and sake bombs and other beverages like that. You would think that a draft beer wouldn't be hard to come by, however the waitress brought everyone's drink but mine, I would say it was a good 10 minutes before I even got my beer. I quickly ordered another one and the running joke at the table was everyone was on their third round and I was still on my first beer. Dinner was fabulous, our chef was funny and creative and interactive, definitely the best part of the entire meal. Dessert came and I was disappointed in that too, in the past there was whipped cream and little chocolate sticks with the dessert, this time there was nothing, and frankly my sherbert looked like it was half melted already by the time it made it out to the table. I've been a waitress for longer than I can remember and it honestly takes a lot for me to complain or make a fuss, but this was just terrible in so many aspects. I don't know if they were short handed, not expecting that much business on a Wednesday night or what...but it will be a while before I return.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Horrible!!!! It was noisy, they forgot my son's food, we had drink empty glasses for most of our meal, the chief spilled stuff all over the stove top before we started, full of smoke, and dropped things repeatedly. The food was bland with no flavor. We would typically come here 1x a year at dinner time and it was much better. This time was for lunch, not sure if that makes a difference, small kids running around. We will not go there again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Went with a group of friends. Our server seemed very eager to get us out of there from start to finish. We felt rushed. There was no one else waiting for our table or anyone near us. And, it was only 9:00 ish when we finished eating. The food was just ok. I had to put soy sauce on my fried rice - never had to do that at a hibachi restaurant before. So overall, it could’ve been better.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Service was horrible. Waitress barely attended to us. We constantly had to put our dirty trays on an empty table next to us and track her down for everything from utensils to water. Chef was entertaining but got order wrong although did make up for it by cooking what I ordered. Enough food for 1 dish to serve 2 people. Enjoyed that a salad and soup and Ice cream came with $40 meal. A bit over priced. No privacy. So At a table with strangers n no option otherwise. FYI, there is a $30 coupon if it's ur birthday & sign up for their emails... wish we would've known that beforehand.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

This place is nothing special whatsoever. If you live for eating onions you might enjoy this place, but otherwise we were not impressed. This place is entirely hibachi for those that aren’t aware. Like most hibachis they serve soup, salad, hibachi veggies, then the meat selection that you choose. The starter was onion soup, then salad with onion flavored dressing, then the hibachi veggies were zucchini and a plate full of fried onions. At every other hibachi there is a selection of mixed veggies, not a plate full of onions. Then on top of all the onions already served, the fried rice was full of onion as well. Needless to say unless you’re an connoisseur this place may not be for you. Go to a non-chain hibachi for a much better experience. I recommend Kome in center valley which is excellent.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18

Tweets by Benihana - Plymouth Meeting