About Benihana - Plymouth Meeting

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is conveniently located next to the Plymouth Meeting Mall and directly across AMC theaters. Stop in for a pre-movie dinner show or join us after your shopping spree. Enjoy your Benihana favorites in half the time with our Express Lunch, Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.

508 W Germantown Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Meeting Mall Parking Lot. Between Boscov's and AMC Movie theater.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 832-5924

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plymouth-meeting

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Routes include 27, 98 and the L bus.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour (In Lounge Only)
Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu, 4pm-7pm
Fri, 5pm-7pm

Happy Hour Specials include 1/2 price sushi rolls, appetizer's, wine and specialty cocktails.

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Plymouth Meeting Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (25)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Fun (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Kid-friendly (14)
Casual (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Family Style (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (3)
Spicy (3)
Authentic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Waiter & Waitress was very nice. Chef wasn't very friendly but food was Excellent! Enjoy the special time with my man and watching the chef prepare our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Celebrating my sisters birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We hadn't been I awhile , everything was great! Our waitress and our chef, Angel were both great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This place is ehhh at best. The food was okay, sushi nothing to write home about. I don't do hibachi, so that's just a no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We visited Benihana for the second time ever to celebrate my husband's promotion. Although our server was attentive, the chef's skills and our overall experience left a lot to be desired. We could barely understand a word the chef said. We are both immigrants and my husband has a thick accent so we definitely are quite sensitive when it comes to paying attention to the way others speak. Also, he got our orders mixed up and served my husband's chicken to me. I tried to explain to him that he gave me my husband's order but he didn't understand me. Further, the food was pretty tasteless. We ordered some of the most expensive dishes from the six-course specialty section of the menu. Despite this, there was no flavor to the food. Even the Hibachi fried rice turned out tasteless. We were both pretty disappointed with the experience and will not plan to ever visit Benihana again. I guess it's a good place for kids due to the presentation and showmanship of the chefs. Bu bid you're looking for tasty food, look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

First Time and truly not my last, enjoyed the delicious food options and the drinks we on time. Our server and cook were amazing and attentive .

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Unique experience

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome experience every time! Keep up the good work Benihana's Plymouth 👍

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our waitress was very polite and professional but she forgot our sushi sampler, and took way too long in between coming to our table and bringing our drinks. That might be more of a management issue than hers in that they may need more than 1 waiter/waitress per table. Otherwise that was my second time there and my gf and I LOVE this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great. Nice place.




Love it

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great time, Jason our chef truly engaged the entire table!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome food love it every time I go! Always get yourself the chicken fried rice with meal...it's worth the upgrade!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Took my family here for my son's First Reconciliation. Fantastic! All the kids loved it and the chef put on quite the show.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fun for the kids..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good and service were fantastic! Everyone was very friendly. Had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I understand you have to sit with others, but special accommodations should be made for guests with at least five people in their party, especially when they are celebrating a birthday. We were always served last by the chef, and the other individuals were rude and uncouth individuals who didn't even have the decency to be polite and well mannered. As soon as the staff came to sing happy birthday, the other individuals at the table bolted straight for the door, as if they were disgusted. Needless to say, the experience was subpar and the restaurant needs to be more accommodating. Definitely not a place for family and celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service experience was awful. The waiter did a horrible job on every level. He forgot to bring out the soup and salads before the chef came out to cook our food. I had to say something , otherwise we never would have received them. When the dinner was cooking I had to ask for our rice which he never would have brought out either.

A complete breakdown on every level. Frankly, this was the worst service experience I have ever had at any restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The chef was good, but the waiter lacked professionalism.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised on how well the food was prepared. Different from any other Hibachi experience I've ever had... I really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I've been to this location several times and never had a problem in the past. However this night was different. The hostess on duty was extremely rude and disrespectful. I wish I would have caught her name but if she doesn't like her job she shouldn't be working there. I work in the service industry so I understand that things happen but she needs to learn how to talk to guests properly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We come to this location pretty often and while the food is amazing the service has been less than great every single time! Somehow we always end up with a waiter/waitress that pays no attention to our table...we get drinks at the beginning and then we're left stranded and thirsty until the end of service. Super disappointed by the service here - this may have been our last time coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Benihana was excellent. We were there for a celebration and the Chef made it a very memorable time. Food is great and cooked on a grill right in front of you. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

They are understaffed . Service was awful. Very nice people but they had too many tables to work on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great experience!!! Awesome way to start my birthday

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First table was dirty. Service was spotty I know you get what you pay for with chain restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Was a great visit. Food was excellent. Area vert clean. Arrived a little early bar area slow with drings. Server was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Waited 40 minutes for chef to start cooking and we were the only full table in the place. No other table was being served, so we were not alone. Very small portions as well this time. Very slow, poor service and food was just ok. We come there for team meetings a few times a year. Won't do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Even though the chef was cool you can tell he was battling a bad cold and over cooked the food a little. The waitress also seemed a bit over whelmed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My son was asked what he wanted to do for his 11th birthday and he wanted to take some friends to his favorite restaurant, Benihana. They didn't disappoint; the boys had a blast and the interaction with the chef was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Benihana at one point was our favorite restaurant but with the new rules from corporate, we have been very disappointed lately. They charge extra for the use of garlic butter. Really??? So I can spend $35-$40 for my meal but when I ask that you use garlic butter in lieu of regular butter, I'm told that there is an extra charge. It immediately reminded me of McDonald's charging 27 cents for an extra BBQ sauce. I thought Benihana was better than that! Smh

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was really good - we had a new chef and he really took his time and made the food with love. However l, our waitress did not pay as much attention...she came to us at the beginning of our experience and gave us our drinks, appetizers, soup, and salad...after that we didn't see her again until the very end when we were ready for our check. At the end of the day the manager did realize that we hadn't been cared for as all of our Pre-meal plates were crowding up the table and he heard our concerns and helped us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was a little slow, and we were seated with a family of 4 with 2 children that were split on either side of the grill. I think it would have been more enjoyable if we had not been seated with them as the parents were disconnected and the children did not want to be there. Our waitress could have been more attentive with plates and drinks. The chef was good, and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Entertaining and food is delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great experience for a night out with friends. Our chef was entertaining with many tricks and knife skills. My filet was perfectly cooked medium rare. The drink menu was very nice with a variety of flavors. Portions were generous and everything was tasty.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a good time and really enjoyed the service. The place is pretty pricy for what you get though. We'd go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food was perfect. The chef was great and the food was cooked the way we asked .

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Every person I encountered seem to have an attitude and was very unpleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.