About Benihana - Plymouth Meeting

508 W Germantown Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Meeting Mall Parking Lot. Between Boscov's and AMC Movie theater.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 832-5924

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plymouth-meeting

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Routes include 27, 98 and the L bus.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour (In Lounge Only)
Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu, 4pm-7pm
Fri, 5pm-7pm

Happy Hour Specials include 1/2 price sushi rolls, appetizer's, wine and specialty cocktails.

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Plymouth Meeting Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Plymouth Meeting ›

good for groups (61)
special occasion (44)
kid-friendly (41)
See All
great for lunch (12)
fit for foodies (10)
romantic (10)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (6)
scenic view (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
notable wine list (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The hostess used racial expression like ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The hostess used racial expression like "yous" my family and I didn't like that use of words towards us. The rice was really hard after the cook cooked it, and it was very small portions of protein. The server was really nice though.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service5

Our host did an amazing job. She was nat ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our host did an amazing job. She was naturally present and attentive to detail as well.

food5
ambience2
service1
value1

We were here to celebrate a bday & the w ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were here to celebrate a bday & the waitress went to sing happy bday she did not seem to be interested. She was non caring and rushed thru the song. Her facial expression gave us the look that she just wanted to get out of here and dont bother her.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience was wonderful!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The experience was wonderful!

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Birthday Dinner

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Our appetizer were very slow to serve. The service was bad. It took forever for the hibachi chef to come. We complained for 45 minutes for the hibachi cook to show up. Once he starting cooking it was fast.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very entertaining and an absolutely deli ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Very entertaining and an absolutely delicious meal. The staff was top notch and took care of our requests immediately. I very much look forward to going again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great chef, interacted well. Staff were ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great chef, interacted well. Staff were friendly and available

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place for special occasions!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great place! We came for my daughters birthday food was delicious and service that the cook gave as awesome! Also our server was very nice!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Overall Very Good!!!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Overall Very Good!!!

food4
ambience3
service3

Went for a birthday party. Always a fun ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Went for a birthday party. Always a fun time with a group. Good food and decent service.

food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter and cook were very nice and a ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The waiter and cook were very nice and accommodating to our group. We had a four year old member of the family who felt very special and included by our waiter and cook. We had an amazing time!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Value

Dined on March 28, 2016

I like the hibachi grilled meals. The servers and chefs have always been cordial. I feel the complete meal is a good value especially considering the chef's presentation at the grill. I always look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Good food, higher prices

Dined on March 28, 2016

This restaurant struggled for a while, but appears to have turned the corner. The food is good, but the prices are high. Service is just ok.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always!

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great as always!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always delicious! Worth the hour ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Food is always delicious! Worth the hour drive!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun night out

Dined on March 12, 2016

We went with another couple for dinner. Service was a little slow but we liked that we weren't rushed. The only thing I do not like about this style restaurant is that you are given the food as it is cooked - now everyone gets their food at the same time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

too much onions, not enough zucchini. ne ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

too much onions, not enough zucchini. needs larger rice portions

food3
ambience3
service2

The hibachi chef was great but supportin ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

The hibachi chef was great but supporting staff was lacking. We waited long enough to receive our soup that someone else at our table thought they forgot about us and had to ask about food and their drinks. The actual chef was great, excellent cook, and personable but could only do so much on his own. He cooked the fried rice and waited so long for bowls to serve it in that he left the grill to get them himself. Food was good but I don't know that I'd risk subpar service for that price again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First female Chef

Dined on March 5, 2016

We visited with our daughter in early March 2016. Our chef was Lauren, one of a handful of lady chefs in the entire Benihana dynasty. She was confident and super-clean with her food preparation. When I requested garlic butter and sesame seeds on my filet (which she forgot) she stopped and made it right before moving on. None of the food was burned as occasionally happens. We had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not like it used to be...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The ambiance is fun and festive. The food is overpriced and mediocre at best. Service is good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent food, very fresh and it's cooked to order in front of you! Really good sushi. Staff is friendly and helpful. Upbeat, family friendly restaurant!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Server

Dined on February 19, 2016

Our server seemed a bit stressed which in turn made us feel rushed. He did not bring out our rice until after the chef finished cooking our meals which we already began to eat without the rice. We never got our hot tea until after he asked how we were splitting up our check for the second time. Then he brought the tea out and pretty much threw in front of each person. He was more concerned on how we were taking care of our check then anything else. We were there for my daughter's sweet 16 birthday and he dampened my excitement and celebration for the evening. I felt very rushed and offended. He really needs a refresher in customer service. I am a supervisor in a medical facility and I stress to my staff how important it is to keep our customers happy and make sure they have a pleasant visit. That applies no matter what field you work in! Other then the poor service with one of the servers, I would definitely go back to Benihana's. The chef was incredible and the food was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First time

Dined on February 15, 2016

I had a wonderful time on my date there .. It was a great experience and I will be back soon !

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great atmosphere!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Such a friendly crew! Great amosphere and great for a family or if your trying to be romantic. Tasty food and great entertainment

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, great staff, and even greater drinks. Wouldn't mind coming back a second time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great birthday lunch for our son.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our server and chef were very good. Our party of 9 had a wonderful time. We had 11:30 reservations but when the doors opened the restaurant was very cold and only started to warm up as we were leaving. Also, the restrooms were being cleaned and unable to be used for the first half hour.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food but...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our overall experience was good. The chef was awesome and entertaining as well as a very good chef. He engaged our table with conversation and expertise with the grill and utensils.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

not thrilled

Dined on February 14, 2016

After our dinner we were offered tea and given our checks (along with the rest of the table). Noone asked if we wanted dessert. My husband remembered that we were to get dessert with what we ordered (this was Valentine's weekend). The rest of the table left and our waitress came back and we asked about dessert. She said, "Oh yeah, your meal did come with a dessert." It then came out. While we were still eating people were clearing the table. It was evident that we were being rushed out. Although the food was great, we will not return.

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Frigid Experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

We went on 2/13. I felt having to wait an additional 20 minutes after our reservation time was a bit much. The restaurant was so cold - we actually had to keep our coats on - not sure if the heat wasn't working or what -- but it was a bit extreme. The server didn't seem that engaged - the fact that only one full menu could be given to a table was ridiculous, but I guess when you only want to sell the expensive cuts that is what you do. Our chef was great. But overall, I think it was an overpriced experience that I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

bad experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

We made reservation for 6:15 pm and did not get seated until 6:45pm. The restaurant was very cold, everyone was complaining how cold it was and had to keep their jackets on. It was very loud and the food was bland and over priced. I would not go there again.

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Many Patrons Eating with their Jackets/Coats On

Dined on February 13, 2016

Arrived at 5:40PM, reservation for 6:00PM, and seated at 6:20PM. Got to the table, and it was sooooo cold in the restaurant. Patrons were still wearing their jackets while eating. We asked about the heat, and the server said that it was on (but since it was cold outside, it was cold in there). Server forgot to bring rice for one patron, lemon for another, and spilled the wine that someone brought (BYOB). Chef forgot to make chicken fried rice for another patron. Despite the chef forgetting that, he was very friendly and professional. The food was pretty good. The only reason I am not rating the overall experience as "poor" is because of the chef and food. Other than those two factors, the experience was horrible and I will not dine here again.

food1
ambience1
service1

Terrible. Freezing cold and food was ju ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Terrible. Freezing cold and food was just ok.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Terrible time

Dined on February 13, 2016

Usually great, we go once a month, but this time food was terrible. Chef forgot shrimp app and over cooked steaks. Waitress was not attentive and could care less

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Know What You're Getting

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Food and energy are good. Understand that unless u have a large enough party, u will be added to strangers. Food can and should be prepared to serve all at once rather than piece meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Tween Birthday Party

Dined on February 6, 2016

Brought our family and 5 of my son's 12-year-old friends for his birthday. The kids enjoyed trying new things and loved all of the food and drinks they ordered. The chef was enough entertainment to keep them engaged. The celebration went over way better than I expected. The only drawback was the poor waitress service. Drinks took 15-20 minutes to receive. They were supposed to sing happy birthday and deliver a treat to the birthday boy but it took so long my husband took the kids back to our house. The singers eventually showed up and were surprised to have no audience. It took about 20 minutes to get the check after that! More servers and bartenders would have made this a 5-star event, but the kids didn't mind at all, just us grownups.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and fun chef

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

Went for my birthday and had a ball! Our chef was funny and kept us entertained! Great food!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A Fun and Yummy Dinner

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

Always a fun experience eating at Benihana's...our chef was fun and did all the tricks we expected...our 5 year old granddaughter was mesmerized! Food was good..steaks were cooked perfectly and were tasty and tender. Overall a fun place to take the kids..tho it can get pricey!!

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

3rd year in a row New year s celebration ...

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

3rd year in a row New year s celebration was fantastic

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining Experience

Dined on December 31, 2015

Although I really like this restaurant I'm not 100% comfortable being seated with strangers. If your dinner party is less than eight you may be seated with another family to fill all available seats at the table. Being seated with strangers can be a little uncomfortable if your desire is to have a private outing with family.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

AWFUL! The people are RUDE and nasty.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Not worth it....rude nasty people. Held us up on our reservation, then talked about us as we waited!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.