About Benihana - Plymouth Meeting

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is conveniently located next to the Plymouth Meeting Mall and directly across AMC theaters. Stop in for a pre-movie dinner show or join us after your shopping spree. Enjoy your Benihana favorites in half the time with our Express Lunch, Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.

508 W Germantown Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Meeting Mall Parking Lot. Between Boscov's and AMC Movie theater.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 832-5924

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plymouth-meeting

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Routes include 27, 98 and the L bus.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour (In Lounge Only)
Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu, 4pm-7pm
Fri, 5pm-7pm

Happy Hour Specials include 1/2 price sushi rolls, appetizer's, wine and specialty cocktails.

Benihana - Plymouth Meeting Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Fun (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Casual (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Spicy (3)
Romantic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Neighborhood Gem (0)
Sort By:
S
552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The best part about Benihana is the food! It is delicious. It's always fun to have it cooked in front of you, but the taste is amazing. Never disappoints! Appetizers and Sushi are wonderful, too. I would like the service and seating to be quicker, but it's still acceptable. I always enjoy eating at Benihana!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Really disappointed ... hibachi is always overpriced but the "vegetables" were zucchini, onion and mushroom, period. They also upcharge you for fried rice. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Really really salty, and not a very good chef, but overall ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Our only issue was how late our sushi appetizer came out. At the time it finally got to our table, about 30 minutes after we ordered it, we were already being served our dinner and really didn't want the sushi anymore.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was very fresh and delicious. The service was excellent and it was a very nice night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The cook was awesome and very good and very friendly.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Little over cooked than ordered, on my steak and my son's steak( med. rare), no scallops the night we went, the restaurant walls and rugs needs to be cleaned due to the cooking at the tables, you feel the grease on the surfaces. Staff friendly, foods was good my family enjoy ourselves. Chef and server were funny..

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I enjoyed my experience at Benihana, it was a Father's Day occasion. Definitely would visit again!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great entertainment for a night out with family. Highly recommended.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great Good and Great Ambiance! Great experience for anyone interested in a Traditional Japanese Dining Fun.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful!! Graduation celebration party of 17 and service was impeccable. Everyone enjoyed themselves. We had the best time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I made reservations for 5 people on my Boyfriends 21st Birthday. When we first arrived the host was not very welcoming and we were told that we could sit wherever we wanted. The table we sat at was a teppanyaki table , one of the servers yelled at us and said "hey it's not self seating don't sit there!". I told him I was told to sit anywhere in the restaurant, and he replied in a nasty way "you can't sit there, you can go to the lounge but not there". Moving right along, the same guy who was rude became my server for the whole evening. I was very uncomfortable with his service and my family members also felt the same way. When were getting our drinks at our dinner table, they brought over a family of three people that we did not even know. My boyfriend and his family found it very rude that they put random people at our dinner table,especially since I've put in a reservations a month in advance. Overall the food and experience was good, I liked being able to have my food cooked in front of me but my server just rubbed me the wrong way. I definitely plan on going to Benihana again, maybe another location or I'll just make sure that I don't get the same guy as my server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We went to Benihana's for my daughter's 16th birthday (a total of 8 people) and were seated right away. While the waitress was friendly she was not very knowledgeable about the menu as we had someone in our party who has a gluten allergy and needed to know if the noodles that came with the salmon were rice or wheat based. It took more than 10 minutes for her to come back and let us know that they were wheat based. In addition, I had ordered a beer and she had served everyone else's drinks but forgot my beer and started to take our dinner order (I had to remind her about my beer). We felt that the service was rushed as we had not even finished our soups when the salads came and we had barely touched our salads when the table chef came out and started the show. We were disappointed in the table chef as it appeared his skills were still being perfected (the flaming onion / onion train fell apart as he was moving it across the grill and we noticed it happened to him at another table after ours). Overall we felt rushed on a Wednesday evening and would have expected better service for the price paid.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Good was good. For the most part, so was service from chef and waitress. Had reservations, arrived 115 minutes early but still had to wait about 10 minutes after our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Initially the greeting/host/hostess was not warm and encouraging but after being seated they warmed up. We liked the food although there were too many onions in our dishes. This is the 2nd time I got sick after lunch at Benihana. I won't go back but my family would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Birthday for my daughter. Service was fine the cook awesome. They sang happy birthday and all the staff was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We went for our 10-year-old's birthday. Are we trust was Simone and was very friendly and patient with us. We were there on a Sunday at 7 PM and it was really busy. It took a little while to get drinks but she came back to tell us that she was still waiting for them to be served at the bar. I appreciated that we didn't have to find her and ask her what was going on.

Our chef was Chef Yasso(?). He was very competent and friendly. He cooked my steak to the exact temperature that I asked for. All three of my kids were delighted with their meals, as was my husband. I didn't realize that they had changed their policy so you only get chicken fried rice (for an additional charge) or white rice. We asked for white rice thinking it would be just plain fried rice with no chicken. It was a bowl of white rice on the side which was fine. Simone made sure that they served the cake that we brought and my daughter enjoyed having happy birthday sung to her in English and Japanese.

All in all a very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

All I have to say is "eh" pretty much sums up the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I was surprised to see that there are smaller chained hibachi restaurants that provide more food than Benihana at a lower price. At other restaurants I have received noodles along with rice and greater amount of vegetables. Although the restaurant was big, it felt cramped in the seating with leather benches. The food tasted good and the service was excellent but I expected more from Benihana.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fun night! Great value, we were stuffed by the end of the night. The soup that comes as part of your hibachi meal is surprisingly delicious. Festive cocktails. 🍹🍣

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was horrible. I could've bought all my food and cooked it myself for everyone with the time we waited. Reservations were at 8PM. We didn't get to place our drink orders for another half hour. Food didn't start cooking until 9:30! Waited a long time for the simplest things to come out. We had so many more plans for after dinner. But had to cancel due to the time it took for food to come out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our experience on Mother's Day was outstanding. The food was delicious, the service was great and we all really enjoyed ourselves. I have recommended this place to friends at work.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food and chef were awesome. Food was prepared as we asked.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fun for a group or to celebrate a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a family tradition of eating at Benihana for our three kids birthdays. We've done so in San Diego, Dulles, VA and now Plymouth meeting. It was always a guaranteed great time with great food all all the above locations, until this past visit. The server, not the grill chef, was SO obnoxious it ruined the experience of three adults and the 12 year old birthday boy. The things he said with such a rude tone took us all by surprise: any allergies I should know about, the birthday boy said just seasonal, the server said, do you think I need to know that for your food? At one point our ten year old pointed at something on the server's clothing with a question, and the server said, put your hand down, do you know how rude it is to point at someone? He brought the edamame cold, granted not his fault, but when i said these are cold, he said they may not be as warm as you want but they're steamed from frozen and that's how they come. I just put my foot down and said take them back, they're both late and cold, touch them yourself and tell me you'd eat them. Well that put him in a mood for the rest of the night. There was the server and only one other singer. He said that's all I can round up. No birthday photo as we've gotten every other time. In short this server should be fired and the entire meal should be comped. The only reason we left a tip was b/c the grill chef did such an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My sons birthday

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were traveling from NC to PA for a wedding and chose this restaurant on our first night in town. The service was great, the food delicious and we were not rushed. Everything was prepared to order correctly. I wish we had a Benihana in Raleigh NC.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Birthday. Sister took me out for birthday.
There were two other parties at our table, one woman traveling for work alone, and 3 guys (son, dad & brother) out for the dad's birthday.....we all ended up socializing towards the end of the meal.....barely anyone was on there phone.....awesome! 😉

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our dinner was great. We went on a Saturday night at 8:30p and the food was good. It wasn't packed and our chef was fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great hibachi Chef - animated, polite, & friendly. Did an outstanding show while preparing the food just right. The server was notable as well in attending to the whole table keeping our water and drinks full and very welcoming. They made a great team! Very nice experience for me and my children.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Little slow starting out but it got better as tine went on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We were very disappointed with the food at Benihana. It was very flavorless and way to expensive for the quality of food presented to us. It was what you would expect from a chain restaurant but worse. Would not recommend to anyone and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The waitress constantly keep forgetting our requests which became a bit annoying after a while. In addition, the dish ware was not clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

While the food and service was good... our cook was horrible!! We could not understand him, he dropped food on the floor while doing his tricks, he burned the vegetables while trying to stack the onions and when he lit them on fire it was a huge flame and was way too close to the young boy sitting near that side of the table!! It seemed as if it was his first time cooking and trying to entertain the table. Also, he put all of the food in one pile while cooking it and then distributed it to everybody at the table and gave the small kids huge portions so with that when he got to our side of the table we barely got any!! Very disappointed with our experience with the cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fun experience! Kids loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Usually pleased but this last visit the cook seemed new and not experienced... our food was burnt and overcooked not as tasty

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

It was great, it's was a BDay occasion. The food was great and the ambience was nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Husband and I went here for date night, movies followed. Overall service was great however our first waiter was BOMBED!! He tried to get everyone to drink (at our table) including a pregnant woman. He was eventually sent home however we felt someone from the manager's office should have come out to apologize as well as offer us something/anything complimentary. We waited a good amount of time for another waiter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This place can be hit or miss depending on your chef. Our chef prepared an exceptional meal tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I really like the food at Benihana but I never really enjoy going to this location. The bar staff is usually pretty nice and has good customer service but the service in the regular dining area is a crap shoot. This last time we went for my mom's birthday and the server never even acknowledged it even though we presented the birthday certificate. He forgot to bring me rice and the chef had to tell him after he had already prepared my meal. The server never apologized for the delay. He never offered us tea after our meal or even ice cream for her birthday. He also didn't offer to take a birthday picture (which we've gotten every year in the past). He was just a really lousy and sad server. If it weren't for the birthday certificates I would never come here- especially this location. It just happens to be the closest one to me but I've been to the one in Cherry Hill and it was a much better experience. This location needs better management and staff.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.