About Benihana - Plymouth Meeting

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is conveniently located next to the Plymouth Meeting Mall and directly across AMC theaters. Stop in for a pre-movie dinner show or join us after your shopping spree. Enjoy your Benihana favorites in half the time with our Express Lunch, Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.

508 W Germantown Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Meeting Mall Parking Lot. Between Boscov's and AMC Movie theater.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 832-5924

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plymouth-meeting

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Routes include 27, 98 and the L bus.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour (In Lounge Only)
Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu, 4pm-7pm
Fri, 5pm-7pm

Happy Hour Specials include 1/2 price sushi rolls, appetizer's, wine and specialty cocktails.

Benihana - Plymouth Meeting Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fun (14)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Casual (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent location, great restaurant for you and old and this trip happened to be at the request of our 11 year old for his birthday dinner. Staff is always friendly, the chefs put on a great show and the food portion is plentiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Benihana is always one of our favorite places to eat even though it is about 45 minutes away from home. The food and service during this trip was probably the best we've had and it was the first time we had a table to ourselves. The food was, as always, fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

New corporate policy on garlic butter... how cheap can you be??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Neither service or food was good. The server was not attentive. The food was expensive for what it was and there seemed to be quite a few upcharges.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our server twice didn't get the drink order correct and wasn't very attentive in making sure the whole party had water or refilling them. The show was meh but good was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Had a great birthday meal with my family. Food and service was excellent tonight.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

They forgot to make my food, so by the time I got my food, everyone else was done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

The worst experience ever at Benihana.
Food was good , wait was horrible. Beer glasses were dirty waitress did not speak loud enough, and ended up yelling. We were given a free hourdourv and it was cold. I'm sorry but I will not recommend your place ever...
And to let you know , we love Benihanas ...
I guess I will continue to visit Benihana in Orange county .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was just okay and the chef was nice and fun, but my server kept forgetting and mishearing my orders it was evident to the other parties at the table. Over all it was ok for the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I would have given this 5 stars but we were celebrating my daughter's birthday and although they did come out and sing, they brought her a small bowl of WHIP CREAM! This was not an inexpensive meal and for them not to give her a scoop of ice cream or piece of cake, I was disappointed as was she. : (

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

My husband and I took our daughter there on August 7 for her 10th birthday celebration. We enjoyed our experience very much, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great atmosphere the employees are friendly. Fun experience for adults and children.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Chef would not accommodate needs of customer. Server messed up bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My mom's Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The chef was the worst this time. I love Benihana but the chef was horrible not entertaining at all. The food still came out okay. Just not the best time I had there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Everyone had a great time and the food was great. We come back every year to celebrate my son's birthday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Awsome evening! The chef was great and the service was wonderful! Party of 8 got our reserved seating right away...no wait on a Friday night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The best part about Benihana is the food! It is delicious. It's always fun to have it cooked in front of you, but the taste is amazing. Never disappoints! Appetizers and Sushi are wonderful, too. I would like the service and seating to be quicker, but it's still acceptable. I always enjoy eating at Benihana!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Really disappointed ... hibachi is always overpriced but the "vegetables" were zucchini, onion and mushroom, period. They also upcharge you for fried rice. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Really really salty, and not a very good chef, but overall ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Our only issue was how late our sushi appetizer came out. At the time it finally got to our table, about 30 minutes after we ordered it, we were already being served our dinner and really didn't want the sushi anymore.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was very fresh and delicious. The service was excellent and it was a very nice night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The cook was awesome and very good and very friendly.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Little over cooked than ordered, on my steak and my son's steak( med. rare), no scallops the night we went, the restaurant walls and rugs needs to be cleaned due to the cooking at the tables, you feel the grease on the surfaces. Staff friendly, foods was good my family enjoy ourselves. Chef and server were funny..

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I enjoyed my experience at Benihana, it was a Father's Day occasion. Definitely would visit again!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great entertainment for a night out with family. Highly recommended.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great Good and Great Ambiance! Great experience for anyone interested in a Traditional Japanese Dining Fun.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful!! Graduation celebration party of 17 and service was impeccable. Everyone enjoyed themselves. We had the best time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I made reservations for 5 people on my Boyfriends 21st Birthday. When we first arrived the host was not very welcoming and we were told that we could sit wherever we wanted. The table we sat at was a teppanyaki table , one of the servers yelled at us and said "hey it's not self seating don't sit there!". I told him I was told to sit anywhere in the restaurant, and he replied in a nasty way "you can't sit there, you can go to the lounge but not there". Moving right along, the same guy who was rude became my server for the whole evening. I was very uncomfortable with his service and my family members also felt the same way. When were getting our drinks at our dinner table, they brought over a family of three people that we did not even know. My boyfriend and his family found it very rude that they put random people at our dinner table,especially since I've put in a reservations a month in advance. Overall the food and experience was good, I liked being able to have my food cooked in front of me but my server just rubbed me the wrong way. I definitely plan on going to Benihana again, maybe another location or I'll just make sure that I don't get the same guy as my server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We went to Benihana's for my daughter's 16th birthday (a total of 8 people) and were seated right away. While the waitress was friendly she was not very knowledgeable about the menu as we had someone in our party who has a gluten allergy and needed to know if the noodles that came with the salmon were rice or wheat based. It took more than 10 minutes for her to come back and let us know that they were wheat based. In addition, I had ordered a beer and she had served everyone else's drinks but forgot my beer and started to take our dinner order (I had to remind her about my beer). We felt that the service was rushed as we had not even finished our soups when the salads came and we had barely touched our salads when the table chef came out and started the show. We were disappointed in the table chef as it appeared his skills were still being perfected (the flaming onion / onion train fell apart as he was moving it across the grill and we noticed it happened to him at another table after ours). Overall we felt rushed on a Wednesday evening and would have expected better service for the price paid.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Good was good. For the most part, so was service from chef and waitress. Had reservations, arrived 115 minutes early but still had to wait about 10 minutes after our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Initially the greeting/host/hostess was not warm and encouraging but after being seated they warmed up. We liked the food although there were too many onions in our dishes. This is the 2nd time I got sick after lunch at Benihana. I won't go back but my family would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great option when I'm in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Birthday for my daughter. Service was fine the cook awesome. They sang happy birthday and all the staff was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We went for our 10-year-old's birthday. Are we trust was Simone and was very friendly and patient with us. We were there on a Sunday at 7 PM and it was really busy. It took a little while to get drinks but she came back to tell us that she was still waiting for them to be served at the bar. I appreciated that we didn't have to find her and ask her what was going on.

Our chef was Chef Yasso(?). He was very competent and friendly. He cooked my steak to the exact temperature that I asked for. All three of my kids were delighted with their meals, as was my husband. I didn't realize that they had changed their policy so you only get chicken fried rice (for an additional charge) or white rice. We asked for white rice thinking it would be just plain fried rice with no chicken. It was a bowl of white rice on the side which was fine. Simone made sure that they served the cake that we brought and my daughter enjoyed having happy birthday sung to her in English and Japanese.

All in all a very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

All I have to say is "eh" pretty much sums up the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I was surprised to see that there are smaller chained hibachi restaurants that provide more food than Benihana at a lower price. At other restaurants I have received noodles along with rice and greater amount of vegetables. Although the restaurant was big, it felt cramped in the seating with leather benches. The food tasted good and the service was excellent but I expected more from Benihana.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fun night! Great value, we were stuffed by the end of the night. The soup that comes as part of your hibachi meal is surprisingly delicious. Festive cocktails. 🍹🍣

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was horrible. I could've bought all my food and cooked it myself for everyone with the time we waited. Reservations were at 8PM. We didn't get to place our drink orders for another half hour. Food didn't start cooking until 9:30! Waited a long time for the simplest things to come out. We had so many more plans for after dinner. But had to cancel due to the time it took for food to come out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our experience on Mother's Day was outstanding. The food was delicious, the service was great and we all really enjoyed ourselves. I have recommended this place to friends at work.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.