About Benihana - Plymouth Meeting

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is conveniently located next to the Plymouth Meeting Mall and directly across AMC theaters. Stop in for a pre-movie dinner show or join us after your shopping spree. Enjoy your Benihana favorites in half the time with our Express Lunch, Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.

508 W Germantown Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Meeting Mall Parking Lot. Between Boscov's and AMC Movie theater.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 832-5924

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plymouth-meeting

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Routes include 27, 98 and the L bus.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour (In Lounge Only)
Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu, 4pm-7pm
Fri, 5pm-7pm

Happy Hour Specials include 1/2 price sushi rolls, appetizer's, wine and specialty cocktails.

Benihana - Plymouth Meeting Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Fun (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Family Style (9)
Great for Lunch (6)
Romantic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great. Nice place.

Love it

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great time, Jason our chef truly engaged the entire table!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome food love it every time I go! Always get yourself the chicken fried rice with meal...it's worth the upgrade!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Took my family here for my son's First Reconciliation. Fantastic! All the kids loved it and the chef put on quite the show.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fun for the kids..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good and service were fantastic! Everyone was very friendly. Had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I understand you have to sit with others, but special accommodations should be made for guests with at least five people in their party, especially when they are celebrating a birthday. We were always served last by the chef, and the other individuals were rude and uncouth individuals who didn't even have the decency to be polite and well mannered. As soon as the staff came to sing happy birthday, the other individuals at the table bolted straight for the door, as if they were disgusted. Needless to say, the experience was subpar and the restaurant needs to be more accommodating. Definitely not a place for family and celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service experience was awful. The waiter did a horrible job on every level. He forgot to bring out the soup and salads before the chef came out to cook our food. I had to say something , otherwise we never would have received them. When the dinner was cooking I had to ask for our rice which he never would have brought out either.

A complete breakdown on every level. Frankly, this was the worst service experience I have ever had at any restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The chef was good, but the waiter lacked professionalism.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised on how well the food was prepared. Different from any other Hibachi experience I've ever had... I really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I've been to this location several times and never had a problem in the past. However this night was different. The hostess on duty was extremely rude and disrespectful. I wish I would have caught her name but if she doesn't like her job she shouldn't be working there. I work in the service industry so I understand that things happen but she needs to learn how to talk to guests properly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We come to this location pretty often and while the food is amazing the service has been less than great every single time! Somehow we always end up with a waiter/waitress that pays no attention to our table...we get drinks at the beginning and then we're left stranded and thirsty until the end of service. Super disappointed by the service here - this may have been our last time coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Benihana was excellent. We were there for a celebration and the Chef made it a very memorable time. Food is great and cooked on a grill right in front of you. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

They are understaffed . Service was awful. Very nice people but they had too many tables to work on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great experience!!! Awesome way to start my birthday

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First table was dirty. Service was spotty I know you get what you pay for with chain restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Was a great visit. Food was excellent. Area vert clean. Arrived a little early bar area slow with drings. Server was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Waited 40 minutes for chef to start cooking and we were the only full table in the place. No other table was being served, so we were not alone. Very small portions as well this time. Very slow, poor service and food was just ok. We come there for team meetings a few times a year. Won't do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Even though the chef was cool you can tell he was battling a bad cold and over cooked the food a little. The waitress also seemed a bit over whelmed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My son was asked what he wanted to do for his 11th birthday and he wanted to take some friends to his favorite restaurant, Benihana. They didn't disappoint; the boys had a blast and the interaction with the chef was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Benihana at one point was our favorite restaurant but with the new rules from corporate, we have been very disappointed lately. They charge extra for the use of garlic butter. Really??? So I can spend $35-$40 for my meal but when I ask that you use garlic butter in lieu of regular butter, I'm told that there is an extra charge. It immediately reminded me of McDonald's charging 27 cents for an extra BBQ sauce. I thought Benihana was better than that! Smh

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was really good - we had a new chef and he really took his time and made the food with love. However l, our waitress did not pay as much attention...she came to us at the beginning of our experience and gave us our drinks, appetizers, soup, and salad...after that we didn't see her again until the very end when we were ready for our check. At the end of the day the manager did realize that we hadn't been cared for as all of our Pre-meal plates were crowding up the table and he heard our concerns and helped us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was a little slow, and we were seated with a family of 4 with 2 children that were split on either side of the grill. I think it would have been more enjoyable if we had not been seated with them as the parents were disconnected and the children did not want to be there. Our waitress could have been more attentive with plates and drinks. The chef was good, and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Entertaining and food is delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great experience for a night out with friends. Our chef was entertaining with many tricks and knife skills. My filet was perfectly cooked medium rare. The drink menu was very nice with a variety of flavors. Portions were generous and everything was tasty.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a good time and really enjoyed the service. The place is pretty pricy for what you get though. We'd go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food was perfect. The chef was great and the food was cooked the way we asked .

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Every person I encountered seem to have an attitude and was very unpleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A fun presentation and the food is done well. You go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I booked this for my boyfriends birthday a little disappointed that they didn't have a small booth for smaller parties but I figured we would be at the big table. I also noted online that we were celebrating a birthday but the serving staff didn't seem to know that and did not sing Happy Birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating my 40th bday and dinner was delicious. Thank you

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always enjoy the food-- the service for drink refills or if you need something is slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ate at bar. Sat awhiie, once waited in, service ok. Had maki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was my first time dining here. Four of us had a late lunch on a weekend. The food was very good, but diners are seated at shared tables with other patrons. We did not appreciate the couple who got seated at the other end of our table - the man must have been a heavy smoker because he reeked so badly we smelled the smoke our entire meal, and the woman he was with was on her cell phone for at least 15 minutes, which was totally rude. We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We always have an amazing time!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Went with my 4 yr old Granddaughter and she loved it...so did her Mom and I. Chef was great and waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good food, great service. I have no idea what else might be of interest to you. What I wanted to say is that I am satisfied with my experience at Benihana. Thanks !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Disappointed. I was expecting better atmosphere and service. Food was good, charging extra for fried rice was annoying and it took forever to get our check. Some people want to spend two hours at dinner, but I like to be able to get a check and go when I am done. I had to go to the front desk and ask for it, which required finding the waiter, getting the wrong check and waiting more. I was hoping for something better than Hibachi in Gateway, but it wasn't worth the aggravation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great time - Kenzie was great! I'd definitely go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great spot for the kids! The only problem is that it takes a while to get things going so be sure that the little ones aren't starving when they arrive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Casual, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fun for the kids. Lots of animation...Be ready for your clothing to smell smokey from all the cooking at the table. Food was good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The chef we had did not know what he was doing. It was my son's birthday party. some of his friends didn't get everything they ordered. Had to get a refund for the missed items. Usually is wonderful. Not this time. Not sure we will be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Was celebrating my 11 year olds birthday. Our chef did a great job and had a good sense of humor to engage both our young kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our service was good from start to finish. We arrived 30 minutes prior of our reservation and we were seated immediately. We were quickly served our drinks and our chef cam over not too long after. He seemed to be new however we still hadon't good service. This was nothing over the top but we enjoyed ourselves. This was our first time at this location as we usually go to Cherry Hill. I would visit here again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a nice time for my mom's birthday a few weeks ago. Food was decent, but nothing to rave about. I was actually very disappointed in the quality, quantity, and taste. Our chef was great. Put on a good show for us, and the kids loved it. Sushi was pretty good, but fell apart easily. Onion Soup was delicious. Drinks (Saki and wine) were good. Loved the selections. Our waitress was very sweet, and on top of everything for us. Was as if she were a mind reader. Each time we needed something, she was right there and ready. Restaurant was loud, and design of table did not allow for easy conversation before or between courses. Overall, it was a nice night. The kids (5, 6) had the most fun. Would I run back? Nah. But I would not cross off m y list for a similar situation. Also, be careful not to wear heavy fabric to the restaurant or make plans for after (I promise you will stink like grease, which becomes nauseating to you and those around you...)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Overall, a good experience. Don't mind when a server tries to up sell you on something, just doing their job. But, they need to tell you there will be an additional cost associated. 4 out of our party of 5 said yes to the question, "Would you like fried rice instead of white rice"? To me, that indicates a choice. We were charged an additional $3.50 per person for the fried rice.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.