About Benihana - Plymouth Meeting

508 W Germantown Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is conveniently located next to the Plymouth Meeting Mall and directly across AMC theaters. Stop in for a pre-movie dinner show or join us after your shopping spree. Enjoy your Benihana favorites in half the time with our Express Lunch, Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Meeting Mall Parking Lot. Between Boscov's and AMC Movie theater.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 832-5924

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plymouth-meeting

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Routes include 27, 98 and the L bus.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour (In Lounge Only)
Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu, 4pm-7pm
Fri, 5pm-7pm

Happy Hour Specials include 1/2 price sushi rolls, appetizer's, wine and specialty cocktails.

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Sushi - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Trio - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Chef - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Blue Ocean Punch Bowl - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Sushi Sampler - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Seaweed salad - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Rainbow Roll - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Shrimp Crunchy Roll - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Sashimi Variety - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Steak - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Plymouth Meeting Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Family Style (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Spicy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Cozy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I were celebrating my 40t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating my 40th bday and dinner was delicious. Thank you

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate at bar. Sat awhiie, once waited in, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ate at bar. Sat awhiie, once waited in, service ok. Had maki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great place!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with my 4 yr old Granddaughter and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Went with my 4 yr old Granddaughter and she loved it...so did her Mom and I. Chef was great and waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great service. I have no ide ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good food, great service. I have no idea what else might be of interest to you. What I wanted to say is that I am satisfied with my experience at Benihana. Thanks !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointed. I was expecting better atm ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Disappointed. I was expecting better atmosphere and service. Food was good, charging extra for fried rice was annoying and it took forever to get our check. Some people want to spend two hours at dinner, but I like to be able to get a check and go when I am done. I had to go to the front desk and ask for it, which required finding the waiter, getting the wrong check and waiting more. I was hoping for something better than Hibachi in Gateway, but it wasn't worth the aggravation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a great time - Kenzie was great! I'd ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great time - Kenzie was great! I'd definitely go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for the kids! The only probl ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great spot for the kids! The only problem is that it takes a while to get things going so be sure that the little ones aren't starving when they arrive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Casual, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun for the kids. Lots of animation...B ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fun for the kids. Lots of animation...Be ready for your clothing to smell smokey from all the cooking at the table. Food was good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chef we had did not know what he was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The chef we had did not know what he was doing. It was my son's birthday party. some of his friends didn't get everything they ordered. Had to get a refund for the missed items. Usually is wonderful. Not this time. Not sure we will be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Was celebrating my 11 year olds birthday ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Was celebrating my 11 year olds birthday. Our chef did a great job and had a good sense of humor to engage both our young kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our service was good from start to finis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our service was good from start to finish. We arrived 30 minutes prior of our reservation and we were seated immediately. We were quickly served our drinks and our chef cam over not too long after. He seemed to be new however we still hadon't good service. This was nothing over the top but we enjoyed ourselves. This was our first time at this location as we usually go to Cherry Hill. I would visit here again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a nice time for my mom's birthday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a nice time for my mom's birthday a few weeks ago. Food was decent, but nothing to rave about. I was actually very disappointed in the quality, quantity, and taste. Our chef was great. Put on a good show for us, and the kids loved it. Sushi was pretty good, but fell apart easily. Onion Soup was delicious. Drinks (Saki and wine) were good. Loved the selections. Our waitress was very sweet, and on top of everything for us. Was as if she were a mind reader. Each time we needed something, she was right there and ready. Restaurant was loud, and design of table did not allow for easy conversation before or between courses. Overall, it was a nice night. The kids (5, 6) had the most fun. Would I run back? Nah. But I would not cross off m y list for a similar situation. Also, be careful not to wear heavy fabric to the restaurant or make plans for after (I promise you will stink like grease, which becomes nauseating to you and those around you...)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall, a good experience. Don't mind w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Overall, a good experience. Don't mind when a server tries to up sell you on something, just doing their job. But, they need to tell you there will be an additional cost associated. 4 out of our party of 5 said yes to the question, "Would you like fried rice instead of white rice"? To me, that indicates a choice. We were charged an additional $3.50 per person for the fried rice.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I like the restaurant. This was my secon ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I like the restaurant. This was my second time going. I had the same chef both times.But he must have had a bad night on that last visit because he forgot to season the steak and put too much butter and salt on the lobster and shrimp. Also, the steak didn't taste fresh. My daughter's chicken was forgotten about and also became dry.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything was fine until My sister in l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything was fine until My sister in law's drink glass shattered in her hand. The waitress and the manager really did not seem friendly. They gave us money off after I bandaged my sister in laws finger. And I had to ask for a discount. Tacky service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Food is always wonderful. It is entertai ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food is always wonderful.

It is entertaining.. soba noodles are outstanding.

A wonderful place e for lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Benihana! Everyone were great and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I love Benihana! Everyone were great and made me and my fiancé first experience tons of fun.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Spicy, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

love this place its about an hour from ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2016

love this place its about an hour from my home. but my Husband and I really enjoy it. we don't get there often but when we do we never have a complaint.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bday lunch!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Bday lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was absolutely superb. Our Ch ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything was absolutely superb. Our Chef was awesome along with our waitress.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of friends and I planned to do a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A group of friends and I planned to do a hibachi dinner before a movie at plymouth meeting. I made an appointment for 730pm and we waited until 8 pm to be seated. We sat at the hibachi section. Once seated, our drink orders were taken about 15 minutes later. After this, we noticed shards of broken glass on the grill (where our food was supposed to be cooked). This caused some concern and we let one of the staff members know immediately. We waited another 15-20 minutes for the glass to be wiped off the grill. We were then given our drinks around 845. At that point we were concerned we wouldn't make the movie at that rate and they confirmed that indeed we would be very late to our movie if we chose to dine there.

At this point, we had seen shards of glass on our grill (which we had to point out but didn't seem to concern the staff) and had 15 minutes to find another place to have dinner. Eventually, when we were about to leave, a manager came to our station and apologized for everything and let us know that the drinks we received would be on the house. A slight redemption, but I probably will not be returning to this Benihana again and would not recommend it from a safety and service perspective.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Going here for an amazing meal is a mist ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Going here for an amazing meal is a mistake. But, going here for a mediocre meal but an entertaining, fun time is a great idea. It feels like this restaurant hasn't changed since I was a kid--same decor, same food, same chef's routine. That being said, it was a great place to take my 10 year old for her birthday. Lots of entertainment value abd decent enough food was a bit hit. Would definitely go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Shatiequa (I hope I got her name right) ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Shatiequa (I hope I got her name right) was our server & she was, in a word, phenomenal. I had the Manager come over to echo these sentiments. She was funny, responsive, took great care of us and just had an awesome positive attitude. You put 10 of those in every location and you'll be set. I only have one small complaint and it's really not even the fault of the restaurant, some very lazy parents allowed their children to run around the floor, to the point the Mother was running behind them feeding them instead of making them sit down. Had one of those kids hit their head on the side of one of those grills, they would have tried to blame Benihana. You can't win in those situations, if you say something they complain, if you don't other patrons complain. We will be back soon!!! SHATIEQUA ROCKS!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Fun, Spicy, Cozy, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The experience was great , but the seati ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The experience was great , but the seating was way too tight and congested.i am 5'6 and I had no leg room.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to Benihana for my birthday as I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2016

I came to Benihana for my birthday as I do every year for the last four years. This by far was my worst experience. And I frequent the same location. When we arrived, it was smoky as if the food had been burnt. We waited ten minutes for our table even though we had a reservation and the restaurant was relatively empty. The waitress was super slow with everything and repeatedly forgot items we requested. Therefore, we had to request them twice. And I never received my soy sauce for my sushi, so I waited and borrowed some from our chef once he arrived. We also informed the waitress that my wife had a shellfish allergy and we needed her food cooked separately. The waitress forgot to tell the chef and he began cooking my wife's food with the shrimp only to have to throw it away and have it prepared at another booth. When our food was done, hers was not done for another five minutes so we sat and watched the other couples eat. The food was not very flavorful and that is not what I'm used to from Benihana. My food was also cold since I waited for my wife's. I ate a portion of it and boxed the rest to go. There were other issues but I think you get my point. Maybe we just came on a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Not very intimate, but not bad! Enjoyed ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Not very intimate, but not bad! Enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Took 45 mins for the chef to come out to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Took 45 mins for the chef to come out to cook. Only went down hill from there with there Mediocre food. Overly priced Scallops were over cooked and extremely small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Good meal and excellent entertainment du ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good meal and excellent entertainment during dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken was overcooked and dry. We ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The chicken was overcooked and dry. We had to ask our server several times for food/drinks we had ordered and she never brought out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

There was dust and fuzz blowing out of t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

There was dust and fuzz blowing out of the vent onto our plates, they didn't have ingredients for 2 drinks that I ordered, and no discount and the manager didn't apologize for the dirt falling from the vent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We enjoy Benihana to celebrate birthdays ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoy Benihana to celebrate birthdays ! We have always been fortunate to have good service and we've never had any complaints about the food !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I ordered two california rolls. When it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I ordered two california rolls. When it came out it looked a little different than what i am used to so I thenasked if it was gluten free. The waiter said he didnt think it was. I asked him what was it that had gluten and he told me it was the mayo. Mayo does not contain gluten. I then asked him to ask the chef. The waiter returned to let me know that it was not gluten free. I asked for a box

Not through all of that (answering each question and then walking right away) did the waiter ask of I wanted something else to eat. I grabbed something to eat later after I left. Such an odd exchange. I also didnt see within reservation process online that you only need a reservation for hibachi. So makimg that was a waste too since I was meeting friend and we wanted to talk to each other not eat with a whole group. Overall the experience just didn't feel good from the customer service side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Well, we conversed with our Chef that wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Well, we conversed with our Chef that wasn't even Japanese... It is always pleasurable to watch food being prepared and cooked before you. Word to the wise: do not order the Blue Ocean drink. It is watered down and sugared up with blue curaçao... So much of it there's no liquor to taste for $28...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

We were party of 7. Not all of our group ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We were party of 7. Not all of our group members arrived on time so we had to wait until everyone was there in order to be seated. It was very entertaining to watch our cook do little tricks. The food was okay but it was a bit buttery. We saw the cook putting butter to literally everything.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I was disappointed with the menu. I cam ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2016

I was disappointed with the menu. I came for lamb chops. They are no longer on the menu. The special rice was a little dry compared to the last time I was there. Not much of variety chicken, steak, shrimp, lobster.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Delicious and fun. We all loved it!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious and fun. We all loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I think this restaurant was overrated an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I think this restaurant was overrated and overpriced. A chain that left little to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

From host stand to signing the check, th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2016

From host stand to signing the check, the service was deplorable. The food was passable, but for the amount of money we paid I expected much more. At a minimum, they should have remembered the fact that it was my son's birthday after we mentioned it twice, but they did nothing to acknowledge it while other tables got candles and songs. I cherish my own Benihana memories from growing up but this place ruined it and I doubt we'll ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.