About Benihana - Plymouth Meeting

508 W Germantown Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is conveniently located next to the Plymouth Meeting Mall and directly across AMC theaters. Stop in for a pre-movie dinner show or join us after your shopping spree. Enjoy your Benihana favorites in half the time with our Express Lunch, Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Meeting Mall Parking Lot. Between Boscov's and AMC Movie theater.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 832-5924

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plymouth-meeting

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Routes include 27, 98 and the L bus.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour (In Lounge Only)
Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu, 4pm-7pm
Fri, 5pm-7pm

Happy Hour Specials include 1/2 price sushi rolls, appetizer's, wine and specialty cocktails.

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Benihana - Plymouth Meeting
Blue Ocean Punch Bowl
Sushi Sampler
Seaweed salad
Rainbow Roll
Shrimp Crunchy Roll
Sashimi Variety
Steak

Benihana - Plymouth Meeting Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (28)
Kid-friendly (22)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Great for Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Romantic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoy Benihana to celebrate birthdays ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoy Benihana to celebrate birthdays ! We have always been fortunate to have good service and we've never had any complaints about the food !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I ordered two california rolls. When it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I ordered two california rolls. When it came out it looked a little different than what i am used to so I thenasked if it was gluten free. The waiter said he didnt think it was. I asked him what was it that had gluten and he told me it was the mayo. Mayo does not contain gluten. I then asked him to ask the chef. The waiter returned to let me know that it was not gluten free. I asked for a box

Not through all of that (answering each question and then walking right away) did the waiter ask of I wanted something else to eat. I grabbed something to eat later after I left. Such an odd exchange. I also didnt see within reservation process online that you only need a reservation for hibachi. So makimg that was a waste too since I was meeting friend and we wanted to talk to each other not eat with a whole group. Overall the experience just didn't feel good from the customer service side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Well, we conversed with our Chef that wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Well, we conversed with our Chef that wasn't even Japanese... It is always pleasurable to watch food being prepared and cooked before you. Word to the wise: do not order the Blue Ocean drink. It is watered down and sugared up with blue curaçao... So much of it there's no liquor to taste for $28...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

We were party of 7. Not all of our group ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We were party of 7. Not all of our group members arrived on time so we had to wait until everyone was there in order to be seated. It was very entertaining to watch our cook do little tricks. The food was okay but it was a bit buttery. We saw the cook putting butter to literally everything.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I was disappointed with the menu. I cam ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I was disappointed with the menu. I came for lamb chops. They are no longer on the menu. The special rice was a little dry compared to the last time I was there. Not much of variety chicken, steak, shrimp, lobster.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Delicious and fun. We all loved it!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious and fun. We all loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

From host stand to signing the check, th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

From host stand to signing the check, the service was deplorable. The food was passable, but for the amount of money we paid I expected much more. At a minimum, they should have remembered the fact that it was my son's birthday after we mentioned it twice, but they did nothing to acknowledge it while other tables got candles and songs. I cherish my own Benihana memories from growing up but this place ruined it and I doubt we'll ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

It was my birthday dinner. Everything wa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was my birthday dinner. Everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a great experience at here. The ch ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had a great experience at here. The chef was amazing the atmosphere was calm and the food was delicious. I will definitely be coming back. I want to try some of the other dishes on the menu. The drinks were also good. Very entertaining and provided a different vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Weekday visit, only one bar tender and t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Weekday visit, only one bar tender and two servers for the whole restaurant. Hosting staff rushed us to our table only to have to wait 30 minutes because others could not close out bar tab. Chef was excellent but the light staff took a toll- we couldn't get drinks, dessert, or our check. Staff was very polite and were clearly overworked. This is a similar problem experienced last year at same location. Food is great, they are adding seasonal specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

The chef that we had didn't cook well at ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The chef that we had didn't cook well at all. And I love this place. All depends on the cook / chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Chef didn't provide much entertainment a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Chef didn't provide much entertainment and we took our 10 year old daughter for her birthday. He could of made much more effort and he kept dropping his tools. Food was prepared well though just not the normal good entertainment we get at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was extremely Over priced and so bl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was extremely Over priced and so bland. No flavor what so ever. Only my shrimp appetizer had a little sauce. The entree was disgusting. Crab cake was not fresh. Frozen and thrown on the grill. Overall I did not like would not recommend. Stick to hibachi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

From the beginning it was horrible. Ne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

From the beginning it was horrible. Nephew is allergic to seafood . So when the cook started cooking he put seafood on the grill and then put it on my nephews plate. With him just having a bone marrow transplant this would not be a great time to have a allergic reaction. Second the food was wayyyyy to salty. I felt like i swallowed a bottle of salt. Its to costly. 100 for 2 people to eat and 1 kids meal. I will never ever come back. Sorry but no thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was good but we all got sick ri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good but we all got sick right afterwards.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

I hadn't been to Benihana in years. I'm ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I hadn't been to Benihana in years. I'm sorry I hadn't been. The food was just so tasty, the cooking show was fun, and the service was the best. Expect to pay $55 including tip per person if you order the best dishes. Truly worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a fun restaurant Benihana is!!! The ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

What a fun restaurant Benihana is!!! The food is delicious! The "show " is fun and entertaining especially with a table full of strangers. By the end, you may end of with some new friends!! Excellent place for food, laughter, and great memories!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our chef was fantastic however our waitr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our chef was fantastic however our waitress was not. It was literally an hour before our chef ever came to our table and our waitress was not around for about a half hour at one point. We spent over 2 hours there. I know hibachi is a time commitment but that was ridiculous. What's the point of having a reservation if it's an hour before your food even starts cooking?

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

We had the absolute best Chef & server! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had the absolute best Chef & server! Definitely are wonderful with people. Truly an asset to your restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place with great food great chef ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A great place with great food great chefs and a great staff!! Look forward to returning many many times again !!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here at the resta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was my first time here at the restaurant. The food was great but I wish their website would have indicated that they don't seat you at a table until they can fill a table of 8 people. Also, I wish the would have given an estimated time for how long dinner would take as we had scheduled to go to the movies after dinner was done and had to push our movie time because dinner was not over in time. Other than all of that, the food was great. The chef was amazing especially the show that he puts on when cooking your food. Enjoyed myself tremendously!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed every aspect. Great experienc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We enjoyed every aspect. Great experience and the other dinners at our table were charming. It was my 23 yr old daughter's birthday and we wanted something different and it was. We could not eat all the food. Just a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was just ok. Atmosphere was grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Service was just ok. Atmosphere was great. Good was over cooked. Nice of you have a group.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Better than I remembered

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Always leery of ordering hibachi seafood. I Got the hibachi steak and shrimp. Shrimp was not overdone like it has been in the past. I would not order a nice steak at a hibachi restaurant. The risk of it being over done is too great.

I was here a few years back and my steak was overdone and my seafood was too. I really think it depends on who is doing the cooking.

I didn't get the rice, just asked for extra veggies. Extra onion was $2.00 as was the extra squash. If I had a do over, i'd only get the extra squash. it was too much onion.

Happy Eating!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place to bring grandkids also

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place to bring grandkids also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

My review

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our server (Britanny) was amazing!!! Had a rowdy group of kids next to us for a party, but it was our normal level of enjoyment once they left. Did I mention how great Brittany was!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess used racial expression like ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The hostess used racial expression like "yous" my family and I didn't like that use of words towards us. The rice was really hard after the cook cooked it, and it was very small portions of protein. The server was really nice though.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our host did an amazing job. She was nat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our host did an amazing job. She was naturally present and attentive to detail as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We were here to celebrate a bday & the w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were here to celebrate a bday & the waitress went to sing happy bday she did not seem to be interested. She was non caring and rushed thru the song. Her facial expression gave us the look that she just wanted to get out of here and dont bother her.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

The experience was wonderful!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The experience was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Dinner

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our appetizer were very slow to serve. The service was bad. It took forever for the hibachi chef to come. We complained for 45 minutes for the hibachi cook to show up. Once he starting cooking it was fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Very entertaining and an absolutely deli ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Very entertaining and an absolutely delicious meal. The staff was top notch and took care of our requests immediately. I very much look forward to going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great chef, interacted well. Staff were ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great chef, interacted well. Staff were friendly and available

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fun experience and great food! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Always a fun experience and great food! Definitely a good outing with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great place for special occasions!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great place! We came for my daughters birthday food was delicious and service that the cook gave as awesome! Also our server was very nice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall Very Good!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Overall Very Good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Went for a birthday party. Always a fun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Went for a birthday party. Always a fun time with a group. Good food and decent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The waiter and cook were very nice and a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The waiter and cook were very nice and accommodating to our group. We had a four year old member of the family who felt very special and included by our waiter and cook. We had an amazing time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Value

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

I like the hibachi grilled meals. The servers and chefs have always been cordial. I feel the complete meal is a good value especially considering the chef's presentation at the grill. I always look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, higher prices

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

This restaurant struggled for a while, but appears to have turned the corner. The food is good, but the prices are high. Service is just ok.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.