About Benihana - Plymouth Meeting

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is conveniently located next to the Plymouth Meeting Mall and directly across AMC theaters. Stop in for a pre-movie dinner show or join us after your shopping spree. Enjoy your Benihana favorites in half the time with our Express Lunch, Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.

508 W Germantown Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Meeting Mall Parking Lot. Between Boscov's and AMC Movie theater.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 832-5924

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plymouth-meeting

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Routes include 27, 98 and the L bus.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour (In Lounge Only)
Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu, 4pm-7pm
Fri, 5pm-7pm

Happy Hour Specials include 1/2 price sushi rolls, appetizer's, wine and specialty cocktails.

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Plymouth Meeting Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (28)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (24)
See All
Fun (20)
Good for a Date (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Family Style (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Casual (7)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Spicy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
People Watching (4)
Romantic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Cozy (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was horrible. I could've bought all my food and cooked it myself for everyone with the time we waited. Reservations were at 8PM. We didn't get to place our drink orders for another half hour. Food didn't start cooking until 9:30! Waited a long time for the simplest things to come out. We had so many more plans for after dinner. But had to cancel due to the time it took for food to come out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our experience on Mother's Day was outstanding. The food was delicious, the service was great and we all really enjoyed ourselves. I have recommended this place to friends at work.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food and chef were awesome. Food was prepared as we asked.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My sons birthday

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a family tradition of eating at Benihana for our three kids birthdays. We've done so in San Diego, Dulles, VA and now Plymouth meeting. It was always a guaranteed great time with great food all all the above locations, until this past visit. The server, not the grill chef, was SO obnoxious it ruined the experience of three adults and the 12 year old birthday boy. The things he said with such a rude tone took us all by surprise: any allergies I should know about, the birthday boy said just seasonal, the server said, do you think I need to know that for your food? At one point our ten year old pointed at something on the server's clothing with a question, and the server said, put your hand down, do you know how rude it is to point at someone? He brought the edamame cold, granted not his fault, but when i said these are cold, he said they may not be as warm as you want but they're steamed from frozen and that's how they come. I just put my foot down and said take them back, they're both late and cold, touch them yourself and tell me you'd eat them. Well that put him in a mood for the rest of the night. There was the server and only one other singer. He said that's all I can round up. No birthday photo as we've gotten every other time. In short this server should be fired and the entire meal should be comped. The only reason we left a tip was b/c the grill chef did such an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were traveling from NC to PA for a wedding and chose this restaurant on our first night in town. The service was great, the food delicious and we were not rushed. Everything was prepared to order correctly. I wish we had a Benihana in Raleigh NC.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Birthday. Sister took me out for birthday.
There were two other parties at our table, one woman traveling for work alone, and 3 guys (son, dad & brother) out for the dad's birthday.....we all ended up socializing towards the end of the meal.....barely anyone was on there phone.....awesome! 😉

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our dinner was great. We went on a Saturday night at 8:30p and the food was good. It wasn't packed and our chef was fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great hibachi Chef - animated, polite, & friendly. Did an outstanding show while preparing the food just right. The server was notable as well in attending to the whole table keeping our water and drinks full and very welcoming. They made a great team! Very nice experience for me and my children.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Little slow starting out but it got better as tine went on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We were very disappointed with the food at Benihana. It was very flavorless and way to expensive for the quality of food presented to us. It was what you would expect from a chain restaurant but worse. Would not recommend to anyone and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The waitress constantly keep forgetting our requests which became a bit annoying after a while. In addition, the dish ware was not clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

While the food and service was good... our cook was horrible!! We could not understand him, he dropped food on the floor while doing his tricks, he burned the vegetables while trying to stack the onions and when he lit them on fire it was a huge flame and was way too close to the young boy sitting near that side of the table!! It seemed as if it was his first time cooking and trying to entertain the table. Also, he put all of the food in one pile while cooking it and then distributed it to everybody at the table and gave the small kids huge portions so with that when he got to our side of the table we barely got any!! Very disappointed with our experience with the cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fun experience! Kids loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Usually pleased but this last visit the cook seemed new and not experienced... our food was burnt and overcooked not as tasty

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

It was great, it's was a BDay occasion. The food was great and the ambience was nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Husband and I went here for date night, movies followed. Overall service was great however our first waiter was BOMBED!! He tried to get everyone to drink (at our table) including a pregnant woman. He was eventually sent home however we felt someone from the manager's office should have come out to apologize as well as offer us something/anything complimentary. We waited a good amount of time for another waiter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This place can be hit or miss depending on your chef. Our chef prepared an exceptional meal tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I really like the food at Benihana but I never really enjoy going to this location. The bar staff is usually pretty nice and has good customer service but the service in the regular dining area is a crap shoot. This last time we went for my mom's birthday and the server never even acknowledged it even though we presented the birthday certificate. He forgot to bring me rice and the chef had to tell him after he had already prepared my meal. The server never apologized for the delay. He never offered us tea after our meal or even ice cream for her birthday. He also didn't offer to take a birthday picture (which we've gotten every year in the past). He was just a really lousy and sad server. If it weren't for the birthday certificates I would never come here- especially this location. It just happens to be the closest one to me but I've been to the one in Cherry Hill and it was a much better experience. This location needs better management and staff.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Waiter & Waitress was very nice. Chef wasn't very friendly but food was Excellent! Enjoy the special time with my man and watching the chef prepare our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Celebrating my sisters birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We hadn't been I awhile , everything was great! Our waitress and our chef, Angel were both great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This place is ehhh at best. The food was okay, sushi nothing to write home about. I don't do hibachi, so that's just a no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We visited Benihana for the second time ever to celebrate my husband's promotion. Although our server was attentive, the chef's skills and our overall experience left a lot to be desired. We could barely understand a word the chef said. We are both immigrants and my husband has a thick accent so we definitely are quite sensitive when it comes to paying attention to the way others speak. Also, he got our orders mixed up and served my husband's chicken to me. I tried to explain to him that he gave me my husband's order but he didn't understand me. Further, the food was pretty tasteless. We ordered some of the most expensive dishes from the six-course specialty section of the menu. Despite this, there was no flavor to the food. Even the Hibachi fried rice turned out tasteless. We were both pretty disappointed with the experience and will not plan to ever visit Benihana again. I guess it's a good place for kids due to the presentation and showmanship of the chefs. Bu bid you're looking for tasty food, look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

First Time and truly not my last, enjoyed the delicious food options and the drinks we on time. Our server and cook were amazing and attentive .

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Unique experience

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Dinner was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome experience every time! Keep up the good work Benihana's Plymouth 👍

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our waitress was very polite and professional but she forgot our sushi sampler, and took way too long in between coming to our table and bringing our drinks. That might be more of a management issue than hers in that they may need more than 1 waiter/waitress per table. Otherwise that was my second time there and my gf and I LOVE this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great. Nice place.




Love it

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great time, Jason our chef truly engaged the entire table!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome food love it every time I go! Always get yourself the chicken fried rice with meal...it's worth the upgrade!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Took my family here for my son's First Reconciliation. Fantastic! All the kids loved it and the chef put on quite the show.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fun for the kids..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good and service were fantastic! Everyone was very friendly. Had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I understand you have to sit with others, but special accommodations should be made for guests with at least five people in their party, especially when they are celebrating a birthday. We were always served last by the chef, and the other individuals were rude and uncouth individuals who didn't even have the decency to be polite and well mannered. As soon as the staff came to sing happy birthday, the other individuals at the table bolted straight for the door, as if they were disgusted. Needless to say, the experience was subpar and the restaurant needs to be more accommodating. Definitely not a place for family and celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service experience was awful. The waiter did a horrible job on every level. He forgot to bring out the soup and salads before the chef came out to cook our food. I had to say something , otherwise we never would have received them. When the dinner was cooking I had to ask for our rice which he never would have brought out either.

A complete breakdown on every level. Frankly, this was the worst service experience I have ever had at any restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The chef was good, but the waiter lacked professionalism.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised on how well the food was prepared. Different from any other Hibachi experience I've ever had... I really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I've been to this location several times and never had a problem in the past. However this night was different. The hostess on duty was extremely rude and disrespectful. I wish I would have caught her name but if she doesn't like her job she shouldn't be working there. I work in the service industry so I understand that things happen but she needs to learn how to talk to guests properly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.