About Benihana - Plymouth Meeting

508 W Germantown Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is conveniently located next to the Plymouth Meeting Mall and directly across AMC theaters. Stop in for a pre-movie dinner show or join us after your shopping spree. Enjoy your Benihana favorites in half the time with our Express Lunch, Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Plymouth Meeting Mall Parking Lot. Between Boscov's and AMC Movie theater.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 832-5924

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plymouth-meeting

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Routes include 27, 98 and the L bus.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour (In Lounge Only)
Mon, Tues, Wed, Thu, 4pm-7pm
Fri, 5pm-7pm

Happy Hour Specials include 1/2 price sushi rolls, appetizer's, wine and specialty cocktails.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Sushi - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Trio - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Chef - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Blue Ocean Punch Bowl - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Sushi Sampler - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Seaweed salad - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Rainbow Roll - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Shrimp Crunchy Roll - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Sashimi Variety - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA
Steak - Benihana - Plymouth Meeting, Plymouth Meeting, PA

Benihana - Plymouth Meeting Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fun (12)
See All
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Family Style (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Romantic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Authentic (2)
Spicy (1)
Cozy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience!!! Awesome way to start ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great experience!!! Awesome way to start my birthday

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First table was dirty. Service was spott ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

First table was dirty. Service was spotty I know you get what you pay for with chain restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Was a great visit. Food was excellent. A ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Was a great visit. Food was excellent. Area vert clean. Arrived a little early bar area slow with drings. Server was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waited 40 minutes for chef to start cook ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Waited 40 minutes for chef to start cooking and we were the only full table in the place. No other table was being served, so we were not alone. Very small portions as well this time. Very slow, poor service and food was just ok. We come there for team meetings a few times a year. Won't do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Even though the chef was cool you can te ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Even though the chef was cool you can tell he was battling a bad cold and over cooked the food a little. The waitress also seemed a bit over whelmed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My son was asked what he wanted to do fo ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

My son was asked what he wanted to do for his 11th birthday and he wanted to take some friends to his favorite restaurant, Benihana. They didn't disappoint; the boys had a blast and the interaction with the chef was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Years!

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Benihana at one point was our favorite r ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Benihana at one point was our favorite restaurant but with the new rules from corporate, we have been very disappointed lately. They charge extra for the use of garlic butter. Really??? So I can spend $35-$40 for my meal but when I ask that you use garlic butter in lieu of regular butter, I'm told that there is an extra charge. It immediately reminded me of McDonald's charging 27 cents for an extra BBQ sauce. I thought Benihana was better than that! Smh

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really good - we had a new ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was really good - we had a new chef and he really took his time and made the food with love. However l, our waitress did not pay as much attention...she came to us at the beginning of our experience and gave us our drinks, appetizers, soup, and salad...after that we didn't see her again until the very end when we were ready for our check. At the end of the day the manager did realize that we hadn't been cared for as all of our Pre-meal plates were crowding up the table and he heard our concerns and helped us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

The service was a little slow, and we we ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was a little slow, and we were seated with a family of 4 with 2 children that were split on either side of the grill. I think it would have been more enjoyable if we had not been seated with them as the parents were disconnected and the children did not want to be there. Our waitress could have been more attentive with plates and drinks. The chef was good, and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Entertaining and food is delicious

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Entertaining and food is delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience for a night out with fr ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great experience for a night out with friends. Our chef was entertaining with many tricks and knife skills. My filet was perfectly cooked medium rare. The drink menu was very nice with a variety of flavors. Portions were generous and everything was tasty.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a good time and really enjoyed the s ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a good time and really enjoyed the service. The place is pretty pricy for what you get though. We'd go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Overpriced

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was perfect. The chef was great an ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food was perfect. The chef was great and the food was cooked the way we asked .

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Every person I encountered seem to have ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Every person I encountered seem to have an attitude and was very unpleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

A fun presentation and the food is done ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

A fun presentation and the food is done well. You go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I booked this for my boyfriends birthday ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

I booked this for my boyfriends birthday a little disappointed that they didn't have a small booth for smaller parties but I figured we would be at the big table. I also noted online that we were celebrating a birthday but the serving staff didn't seem to know that and did not sing Happy Birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My husband and I were celebrating my 40t ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating my 40th bday and dinner was delicious. Thank you

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the food-- the service for ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always enjoy the food-- the service for drink refills or if you need something is slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Ate at bar. Sat awhiie, once waited in, ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ate at bar. Sat awhiie, once waited in, service ok. Had maki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great place!

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time dining here. Four ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was my first time dining here. Four of us had a late lunch on a weekend. The food was very good, but diners are seated at shared tables with other patrons. We did not appreciate the couple who got seated at the other end of our table - the man must have been a heavy smoker because he reeked so badly we smelled the smoke our entire meal, and the woman he was with was on her cell phone for at least 15 minutes, which was totally rude. We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Went with my 4 yr old Granddaughter and ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Went with my 4 yr old Granddaughter and she loved it...so did her Mom and I. Chef was great and waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great service. I have no ide ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good food, great service. I have no idea what else might be of interest to you. What I wanted to say is that I am satisfied with my experience at Benihana. Thanks !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointed. I was expecting better atm ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Disappointed. I was expecting better atmosphere and service. Food was good, charging extra for fried rice was annoying and it took forever to get our check. Some people want to spend two hours at dinner, but I like to be able to get a check and go when I am done. I had to go to the front desk and ask for it, which required finding the waiter, getting the wrong check and waiting more. I was hoping for something better than Hibachi in Gateway, but it wasn't worth the aggravation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a great time - Kenzie was great! I'd ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great time - Kenzie was great! I'd definitely go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for the kids! The only probl ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great spot for the kids! The only problem is that it takes a while to get things going so be sure that the little ones aren't starving when they arrive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Casual, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun for the kids. Lots of animation...B ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fun for the kids. Lots of animation...Be ready for your clothing to smell smokey from all the cooking at the table. Food was good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chef we had did not know what he was ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

The chef we had did not know what he was doing. It was my son's birthday party. some of his friends didn't get everything they ordered. Had to get a refund for the missed items. Usually is wonderful. Not this time. Not sure we will be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Was celebrating my 11 year olds birthday ...

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

Was celebrating my 11 year olds birthday. Our chef did a great job and had a good sense of humor to engage both our young kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our service was good from start to finis ...

 
·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our service was good from start to finish. We arrived 30 minutes prior of our reservation and we were seated immediately. We were quickly served our drinks and our chef cam over not too long after. He seemed to be new however we still hadon't good service. This was nothing over the top but we enjoyed ourselves. This was our first time at this location as we usually go to Cherry Hill. I would visit here again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a nice time for my mom's birthday ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a nice time for my mom's birthday a few weeks ago. Food was decent, but nothing to rave about. I was actually very disappointed in the quality, quantity, and taste. Our chef was great. Put on a good show for us, and the kids loved it. Sushi was pretty good, but fell apart easily. Onion Soup was delicious. Drinks (Saki and wine) were good. Loved the selections. Our waitress was very sweet, and on top of everything for us. Was as if she were a mind reader. Each time we needed something, she was right there and ready. Restaurant was loud, and design of table did not allow for easy conversation before or between courses. Overall, it was a nice night. The kids (5, 6) had the most fun. Would I run back? Nah. But I would not cross off m y list for a similar situation. Also, be careful not to wear heavy fabric to the restaurant or make plans for after (I promise you will stink like grease, which becomes nauseating to you and those around you...)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall, a good experience. Don't mind w ...

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

Overall, a good experience. Don't mind when a server tries to up sell you on something, just doing their job. But, they need to tell you there will be an additional cost associated. 4 out of our party of 5 said yes to the question, "Would you like fried rice instead of white rice"? To me, that indicates a choice. We were charged an additional $3.50 per person for the fried rice.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I like the restaurant. This was my secon ...

 
·Dined on September 29, 2016

I like the restaurant. This was my second time going. I had the same chef both times.But he must have had a bad night on that last visit because he forgot to season the steak and put too much butter and salt on the lobster and shrimp. Also, the steak didn't taste fresh. My daughter's chicken was forgotten about and also became dry.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything was fine until My sister in l ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything was fine until My sister in law's drink glass shattered in her hand. The waitress and the manager really did not seem friendly. They gave us money off after I bandaged my sister in laws finger. And I had to ask for a discount. Tacky service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Food is always wonderful. It is entertai ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food is always wonderful.

It is entertaining.. soba noodles are outstanding.

A wonderful place e for lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Benihana! Everyone were great and ...

 
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I love Benihana! Everyone were great and made me and my fiancé first experience tons of fun.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Spicy, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

love this place its about an hour from ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

love this place its about an hour from my home. but my Husband and I really enjoy it. we don't get there often but when we do we never have a complaint.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.