Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Benihana - Plano

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Good for Groups (39)
See All
Fun (39)
Kid-friendly (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Romantic (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Authentic (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Business Meals (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Spicy (4)
Waterfront (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1017 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Reservation was at 7:15. We were not seated until almost 8:00. Seated only black patrons at our table (we are black as well) then asked a white couple if they were ok sitting with us to which the couple stated, “thank you for letting us integrate your table.”

Group of people that came after us, seated after us some how still got their chef and food started 10 mins before our table.

Service took several minutes to receive anything when requested. Hostess took my credit card and forgot she had it and proceeded to give me the check. I had to go find her and “remind” her she had my card.

The whole experience seemed very “race based.” I have never had an experience like this during my several visits to your location but I will make sure that it doesn’t happen again by choosing not to visit again, not recommending to anybody location or visiting any of thank you our other locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was slow. We had a 40 minute delay between the salad course and the chef arriving at his station resulting in nearly an hour between courses. The place was not very busy and we were not offered a reason for the delay or addressed by any management. I get that one pay's for the show as much as the food but both were poorly executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great but made reservation at 6:30 and weren't seated until 6:50

Tags: Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a party of 7 and 1 of the guests recently had a heart attack and is on a very strict no sodium diet. From the manager to the server to the chef they were very cautious and ensured the food was prepared accordingly. Even when we asked for the sauce they informed us it was very high in sodium and not suggested.

Benihana's is always a family hit and this proves the level of service and attentiveness they pay to their guest.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Perhaps because of the time of the reservation(9:30pm) and waiting until 10:15 before the cook came to begin the experience, our cook did not interact or talk to the table. There was no real hibachi experience. He didn’t perform any tricks and didn’t prepare the orders as requested.

I would like to see the hours of operation extended as The Shops OF Legacy is active and lively until 2am. I propose closing as early as midnight would be benificial to consumers as well as company profits.


Thanks for listening !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Far too smoky and not well ventilated. Service extremely slow today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We love eating here! It is family friendly and offers a great birthday reward. The food tastes great and is plenty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Highly recommend dinner at Benihana. We have been to many different Benihana throughout the United States, and have found the restaurant in Plano to be one of the best. The chef's put on an excellent show and the food is cooked perfectly. It is a family friendly restaurant, that is both fun and tasty.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants and the location is great surrounded by other establishments.
The staff is very nice and accommodating. It was really crowded but we were able to get seated right away because of utilizing open table.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Celebrated birthday with family at the Plano location and chef was excellent as well as the wait staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Bday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This was a moderate dinner for a homecoming dinner date. Realistically, it was okay and it took a long time to get the food and to start. What was weird was my date and I had to wait 20 minutes even though we placed a reservation far in advance at 6:15pm.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Benihana's food was really good. I will definitely be returning for the next homecoming date.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Chief was outstanding. He made everyone comfortable and was very funny food was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great food and atmosphe. Chef was funny but the people we sat with where jerks.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great food and awesome chef entertainment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Everyone had a good time. Felt rushed, not the show I remember. Still enjoyable. Food was good. We left happy and full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We went for my girlfriends birthday and we seated a large party and the young adults had a blast.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

This restaurant was great! My friends and I went for a pre-dance dinner and it was amazing. When I called to add one more person, they were great about it and happy to serve. When we arrived it took a little longer than our reservation time but it was worth it. Our chef was amazing! I loved the food and the waiters always made sure our drinks were ful!! My only complaint would be we didn't get the green tea included and it took FOREVER to get the check. But overall great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

You need to be really into Japanese Food in order to enjoy Benihana’s. It was a great experience, but it is just not for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our waiter and chef was extremely accommodating to a quick change order with our food. They both really made sure everyone at the table enjoyed the experience. Great Job!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our chef was extremely rude. He called my adult 34 year old son "boy" several times. He cooked my daughters Terriyaki steak "rare" and did not include the Terriyaki sauce. When she asked for it to be cooked longer he refused. He then thru the Terriyaki sauce on her rice rather than her steak. He then told her "Do you think you can get me fired, are you trying to get me fired". He was also rude to our server to the point that we were embarrassed for him. He told him "you hurry up and pick up these plates. Hurry and moved out of the way". There was no reason for this as our server was excellent. I have never experienced such rude behavior. This particular chef has a history of being rude to customers. I cannot believe he is still employed here. If you don't get this particular chef, then the experience is always great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Groups, Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 19, 2017

It used to be our tradition to celebrate our birthdays here but we missed the past two years due to traveling but I made it a point to come back to one of our favorite spots for this year and we had the best time ever.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good Benihana restaurant in the North Dallas area. Had OpenTable reservations for 8PM but did not get seated until 8:40PM - note that it was a busy Friday evening. Our chef did a nice job preparing the Benihana basics, nicely seasoned, with the usual Benihana flair and antics.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Extremely poor management of time and reservation. Please take tips from other busy restaurants or give disclaimers about hibachi style seating.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was my girls first time and they thoroughly enjoyed the experience! They cleaned their plates and that was more than I could ask for. We hadn't even left yet and they were already asking when would we be back! It definitely will be sooner than later!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I'd like to start off by saying that I love Benihana's and will continue to dine there. This was my worst experience that I have ever had. The only grip would be with management and the server. First he spilled hot sake down my back, which was an accident so that's forgivable. After that, he stopped coming to our table unless we called him over which was a bit weird since other people at the table still needed service. Then the managers did not acknowledge nor made an attempt to talk to me until it was time for me to pay. They just asked if I was okay and by that time I was already over it so I didn't care to bring it up. Other than that, the food was great as always, the atmosphere was great, and the location is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Are used to be quite regulars at this Benihana's. This time it was really a disappointment. Are used to love the salads with the ginger dressing. As a matter fact, I ordered an extra salad for myself to start things off. Both of the salads I received had meager amount of salad lettuce etc. One actually had no dressing at all on it and the other had maybe a teaspoon of ginger dressing on it. That was a disappointment to me because I've looked forward specifically to having that salad. Then, when the main courses came, there were big discrepancies from prior experiences. Other people at the table who ordered steak etc. were served first. By the time our shrimp order was prepared and delivered to us, the others had already finished their steak. Timing was incredibly poor as opposed to prior occasions. We used to have more food on our plate then we could actually eat before the main course was delivered. I don't know if there is new management or not. But I do know that it will be a long time before we try Benihana is again. We used to go several times a year.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was good as always. 4 stars because I like my salmon well done and wasn't. Service 3 stars due to fact I asked for well done salmon once to waiter and twice to chef, then chef seemed irritated when I asked it to be cooked longer. Waiter almost forgot our salads, and never came back to table after the chef started the hibachi except to give check.
I love Benihana in general so will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Reservation was on time. There was no wait time at all for reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

was hoping for a more lively hibachi experience. tapping the spatula/fork and spinning an egg was cool, but where's the personality excitement behind the presentation? our cook could have certainly been more into providing an exciting/fun/party type experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I love hibachi and Benihana is a classic. The variety of choices and fresh ingredients are always a treat! And it is a place I can bring my picky 9 year old and she gobbles everything up! My only complaint would be that our chef was very, very quiet. And where the show is part of the event, it would have been more fun for all of us if he hadn't been so quiet. I was seated closest to the chef and I could not understand a single word he said. He muttered at best. Also our server (the person that took the orders and brought us our drinks) only came back once to check on us during the entire time we were there. And when I tried to order another glass of wine he quickly turned his back and left before I could place my order. I felt he was doing his "job" to ask the question, but in reality he didn't want to do actually do the extra work of bringing the wine. He never refilled our water. For the price this restaurant charges, I would expect exceptional service from start to end. With that said I would return and hope to get better service. I do love Benihana and perhaps we just had bad luck with service that night. The food was delicious and that is the bottom line most important thing! :-)

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We have visited Benihani for many years. I know the restaurant business is tough. However the quality of the food , the quality of the staff, and overall experience has slowly gone downhill. It used to be a great place to eat for a special occasion. Now there isn't a whole lot that is special about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were there to celebrate my 10 year old's birthday. I mentioned it to the hostess, to the waitress, and to the chef. We heard 2 other tables/staff sing to birthday people. No one came over to sing to my daughter. What a disappointment, will not celebrate there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The overall feeing of this restaurant was fun but I wished that we had a better show by our chef and the food had a little more flavor.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Fantastic food. A little pricey but worth it. Fun entertainment while getting food. Our chef was hilarious and a lot of fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner. Menu not very clear but hibachi chef and food was very good.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always a great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My family had a great time. Service and food were great! Thank you!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I have eaten here many times. On this visit the food and flavors were not as palatable as they have been in past. Thanks for providing me a opportunity to provide feedback. May try other locations moving forward.. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.