Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Benihana - Plano

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Fun (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
See All
Good for Groups (40)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Casual (30)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Hot Spot (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Romantic (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Spicy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Waterfront (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vegan (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My family had a great time. Service and food were great! Thank you!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I have eaten here many times. On this visit the food and flavors were not as palatable as they have been in past. Thanks for providing me a opportunity to provide feedback. May try other locations moving forward.. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Stop in with my grandson, they all love eating here. Had the samurai treat, filet and shrimp. So much that I bought leftovers home. Will be back when in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

A great experience. The chef was very entertaining and kept us at the edge of our seat throughout.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Big disappointment...the service, the hosts and our server, all a disaster. The only great staff member was our chef, who did a great job.
We got there and within 15min we were seated, which in general is OK but we had a reservation and there were open seats at some tables and open tables as well. After we sat, it took 20min to get our drinks and our soup. The server only cared about taking our order and from them on, disappeared. I had to stand up 2 times to ask him for a refill of our drinks because we would not make eye contact with us and it wasn't because he was busy with other tables.
The food was good but nothing amazing. The portion size is abundant.
Definitely not coming back to this overpriced and under serviced place. I get a much better service at any other Hibachi Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Went for my daughters birthday. Our chef was fun at first, but went quiet towards the middle- end of his time with us. We heard tables clapping until the very end. I looked up at one point and he was done. My girls loved it. They ate everything, especially the rice!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

An uninspiring venue, with impersonal attention by the hosts and an always overcrowded, cramped waiting area. We had the pleasure of waiting almost 25 minutes past our reservation time - and we're brought to our table where another party of four had been waiting to get started for almost 15 minutes.
Waitstaff appeared too stretched and while chefs go through the required routines, they don't seem to really want to connect with their diners.
If you really want to have a Japanese cooked at table experience, the Plano Benihana's is an okay place to go for good food, but don't set high hopes for the balance of the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My wife and sons birthday.
Loved our chef, I think his name was Bawi. I'm getting it wrong. My apologies. He was very entertaining, and of course , skilled.

The food is always great.

We'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We celebrated our son's 25th birthday. It is always fun to watch the chef cook. The jokes and fanfare are always the same, but it is fun all the same. The food was as expected. The only thing was that the drink service was a little slow. It took 10-15 minutes to get our bottle of sake.

Overall, good experience, but nothing exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had never been to Benihana before and my experience was amazing I will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had reservation/booked earlier but still had to wait for 30 plus minutes and then the whole process took over 2 hours. Have been there too many times, this time was not fun at all.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was great and my chef was cool! He made the whole experience fun!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Benihana is a great place to share laughs with friends. The food is great and yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

This was our first time at this location. My husband and I loved everything about this Benihana's. Our only issue is that we would have loved to have the hibachi for just the two of us.
Sometimes being seated at a table with unfriendly patrons can cause a very unpleasant dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Fun, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had a nice time I do think the cook did cut the meat small enough the pieces were a lot bigger than they usually are

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

I was really excited about going you Benihanna..1. Bc it was my first time going and 2. Bc it was my birthday. Let me say his was the worse experience ever. I will point out that I was about 15 min late. The host seated us then it was about 30-35 min before anyone came to take a drink order or anything for that matter. When the gentleman came I asked about flavored tea and I was advised they had rose tea...I think but what I got was unsweet tea and it took 2 addtl attempts to get it right and one of them was a alcohol beverage. I ordered. Double salad for my son because the other option was onion soup and I knew he wouldn't eat that and has brought the soup anyway and when I brought it to his attention he got an attitude saying that he was bringing it with the next set of appetizers but my son had nothing. Also, there was a table behind ours that was seated about 15 minutes after us and their chef was there before ours. This prompted to get the manager and he said he was going to check on the situation but only ducked off bc my cousin had to go and ask again for him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This was one the lower end experiences we have had. The time for the chef to cone to the table was VERY long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great dinner! Great entertainment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The chef who cooked for our table had ZERO conversation or personality!! He didn't say one word or do any of the presentation that you normally get at Benihana. The food was bland, which is unusual, and he was practically throwing it at us. The restaurant was also extremely hot before they turned on the hibachi. Benihana is usually on point with their presentation and food, but we were very disappointed in both. Put a little bit of a damper on my daughters birthday.

Our waitress was outstanding and very personable. She saved the night with her energy and personality.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Waitress disappointed us. Never brought out my credit card back. Ruined the rest of my night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food and service were good. We had reservations but were crammed at a table with 1 too many people which lessened our experience as we weren't able to truly enjoy everything since there was barely enough room for our plates and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

I've never had a bad experience with this restaurant. The service and food is always great and the staff is very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Love love the experience every time we dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was my first time at Benihana and I had a really had a great time celebrating my mom's birthday. I don't know why I hadn't been there yet but now that I know how good it is I'll be going back for sure!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The cook was horrible! He tried to do a trick and dropped the spatula and then once left to go get a new one he tried another trick and the spatula almost hit the lady next to us in the chest. We had to tell him not do any more tricks just cook. There was nothing he tried to do to make up for the near tragic experience. It made the entire dinner really awkward after that. The cooks name started with a B and he had his name tag upside down which I advised him. I don't know if I'll be coming back or not. Sad thing is the waitress was really sweet and the food was pretty good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My experience at this location was awesome! I came for my birthday and I had a few extra guests and the hostess and manager were soooo understanding and accommodated me! It was very much appreciated!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner at Benihana. We had such a great time, delicious dinner, and met new friends at our table! Thank you for your service Benihana!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Enjoyable site for special occasion to celebrate birthdays with friends and family

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This review really compares my experience at Benihana Dallas and the location in Plano. Benihana is always a fun place to go, however, I did not enjoy the "atmosphere" at the Plano location as much as the one in Dallas. Seemed to be a much smaller space -more tables crammed in an area and more people crammed in per table. There were 5 adults, 2 children and 1 teen at our table. Needless to say we were sitting arm to arm. The atmosphere is more "modern" which does not necessarily lend itself to the overall experience. In general, always a good time and food is consistent (although pricey to eat there).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We came here for lunch with our 11 yr old son to celebrate a birthday. We were a bit disappointed that although we were there for lunch and not dinner, we didn't get a "show". Our cook flipped the egg around a couple times and that was about it. Money would have been better spent elsewhere for the same food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Awesome time! Good was great . The chef was funny and kept us all in stitches as he prepared our food. Will be back

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had reservations at 5:30 pm on a Friday evening. When we walked in, it felt like they had been closed for the winter and were setting up.

We finally got seated at about 5:50. Then the waitress forgot to put our appetizers in.

I spent almost $300 there and was hoping for better service. Food was great as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Chef Martin was great! The filet mignon he prepared for me was delicious, so tender to cut with a chop stick! Savory!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

AWESOMENESS every time we're here!!! Thank you so much for making every visit special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I really love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This was our 2nd visit and I was very pleased with their constancy of good service, good food, awesome drinks and bar tenders, and the food is excellent. Those Chef's are very talented and super hilarious. NOT one single disappointment..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was not cooked properly the chef must be new because he made the meat like beef jerky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great service, food and entertainment. We highly recommend!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We were celebrating my birthday. It was the best experience I had at Plano's Benihana or any Benihana. Our chef was Renny, he has a sense of humor and enjoyed his job. We played food toss. Some guests were better at it then others. The food was great. I ordered the lobster it was cooked perfectly. My daughter enjoyed the chicken and shrimp. I ordered tempura shrimp as an appetizer. It was good, I think it was over priced. Plano's Benihana food and service has been consistently great but this time it was very fun and entertaining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Needless to say while the food and atmosphere were fantastic a near perfect night was ruined by poor management.

My friend brought a birthday certificate for $30 that he received. At the end of the meal we asked to have our checks split as our meals were being expensed as we were on business travel. The server explained to us that if the checks are separate that my friend could not use his certificate, (work policy is we could not have the meal listed on the receipt of the other person even if it was free). Under standing that this was something that our server would be unable to override we asked to speak to the Manager. She came over and we explained the issue however not only would she not honor the certificate but had the audacity to laugh in my friends face when he brought up the fact that yes we are paying separate but technically we still purchased a meal as the certificate stated. While my friend did lose his temper I admit it probably would not have happened if the manager did not laugh and seem to take pleasure at his dilemma.

I am very disappointed in the way she felt empowered to treat a customer in this way.Especially a customer who eats at this location every other week at least twice week if not more.

I hope that there are some changes in how customers are treated at this location as both my friend and I enjoy the food at Benihana's immensely and go every time we are traveling in a city with one in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.