About Benihana - Plano

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Sea Scallops
Grilled Colossal Shrimp
Filet Mignon
Rainbow Sherbet
Hibachi Shrimp
Chicken Fried Rice
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Steak
Emperor's Belini
edamame
Hibachi Lobster
Strawberry Ice Cream
Benihana Salad
The Grape Escape
Strawberry Sparkling Sangria
Rising Sun Lemon Drop Martini
Strawberry Cucumber Spritz Cocktail
Benihana Onion Soup
Beni-Tini
Hibachi Fried Rice
Hana Awaka "Sparkling Flower" Cold Sake
Red Plum Sake Sangria
Las Vegas Sushi Roll
Strawberry Saketini
Vanilla Ice Cream
Ramune
Onion Soup
Banana Tempura
Shrimp Fried Rice
Mojit
Spicy Tofu Steak
Spicy Hibachi Chicken

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Plano ›

Good for Groups (75)
Special Occasion (65)
Kid-friendly (54)
See All
Great for Lunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place. Great food. Great chef. Gre ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place.

Great food.

Great chef.

Great atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. The chef amazing I w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great atmosphere. The chef amazing I will recommend it. The price is reasonable

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a dinner with our niec ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were there for a dinner with our niece, but a young man (in his early twenties) at our table was there for his birthday. There were others with birthdays at the restaurant and they seemed to be well taken care of. The young man himself told the wait staff that it was his birthday and all he was hoping for was one of their birthday hats to wear during his meal.

Even though their party and ourselves reminded the waitress of his request, she waited until after the check was disbursed before bothering to show up with the hat and enough of an attitude about it to feel the cooling of the mood around the table.

It seems like a small thing, and it is, but it is a memory that will last for everyone at the table and keep any of us from going back for a special occasion at this restaurant based on the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Our kids love this place! They always ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our kids love this place! They always eat so well here! Ono was a great chef and wish I could remember bartenders name but he was great !

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lobster was tough and kind of tasteless. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Lobster was tough and kind of tasteless. Streak had great flavor but was kind of tough on the edges.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

We celebrated my daughter's birthday wit ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's birthday with some close friends. It was 3 adults and 4 children. We had an awesome experience from the reservation to the complimentary valet service at the end of our visit. The employees all have great hospitality and the food was delicious! We will be back soon!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go here for all our birthdays and I f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We go here for all our birthdays and I felt the lady that was waiting our table was not very good she would forget to get you something. We had to ask about having our picture taking for my daughters birthday. She was very slow.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was terrific and the wait staff ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was terrific and the wait staff was far better than any other Benihana in the DFW area. We went to the Plano restaurant because we weren't able to get a reservation at our usual location in Dallas. However, the service in Plano far exceeded what we received from the stoned out waiter - who couldn't remember anything (or even return to the table near the end of the meal) - that we had the last time we dined at the Dallas location. We will return to Benihana's Plano.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My family really enjoyed our dining expe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My family really enjoyed our dining experience the food was great. It was a little cramped with 4 people on the side. Everything else was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at Binihana's was amazing! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My experience at Binihana's was amazing! The scenery was great, the service was very polite and amazing, and the food was soooooo good. Me and my wife went. We ordered one entree and an extra side of brown rice, me and her both was very full. I was skeptical about going due to the high prices I was hearing about, but the amount and the quality of the food, it is very worth it. The cook, he was very nice and funny aswell. He actually made the experience a lot more fun for the entire table. My overall experience I would say I have found my new favorite restaurant, but the best part of the night is that the total bill for me and my wife came out to be 12 dollars and some change.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, chef was great, food ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was great, chef was great, food was great...we had a blast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great fun. Gustavo was excel ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Good food, great fun. Gustavo was excellent. I will definitely plan another reason to return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only confusing thing was the parking ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The only confusing thing was the parking. I had not been in this area before and driving up to the restaurant you could only see a valet option. Ended up parking in a place that almost towed my car because it was not a public garage. The atmosphere was loud, but the seating at the table allowed you to still have conversations. The food was great, a bit pricy but I knew that a head of time so was not surprised. Overall I would come again with a group of friends its a nice way to have a fun dinner and just hang out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I Wish they change the seating at the hi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I Wish they change the seating at the hibachi table. It feels very cramped and too close to the person next to u.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were celebrating my daughter's 29th b ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were celebrating my daughter's 29th birthday on a Sunday afternoon. Everything was going well until the table chef began his orchestrations - my daughter, her mother, and myself all ordered the same thing - filet mignon. Two filet mignons were brought out and served along with what appeared to be "standard" steak - we brought this to the waitress' attention late in the meal process but no attempt was made to replace the "standard" steak with filet mignon. The waitress offered to "comp" my daughter's meal which we agreed to - I didn't check my receipt until I got home and saw that I was charged for three filet mignon meals with no "comp" shown. We won't be back. If you go be prepared to pay attention to everything and do not believe any commitment made by Benihana staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Need to turn the AC down. The seat I was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Need to turn the AC down. The seat I was at was right behind another hibachi table and basically I was stuck between two hibachi grills.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I waited 15 minutes for my 8:30 reservat ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I waited 15 minutes for my 8:30 reservation. Then waited at the table for over 30 minutes for a cook to arrive. I had to ask a random server to get me a glass of wine because my waiter disappeared. Was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

really enjoyed the service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

really enjoyed the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I request for guest check and receipt by ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I request for guest check and receipt by email ,get no answer

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Delicious dishes

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great until the cook felt ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great until the cook felt the need to criticize my wife about the way she ordered her steak. I'll never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Always an entertaining show and great fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always an entertaining show and great food! Our chef was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been taking kids there for 30 years ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Have been taking kids there for 30 years and now grandkids. Food and service generally excellent and all very familiar. Unfortunately favorite little tricks have disappeared along with actual Japanese chefs. The old shrimp in the hat trick now replaced by a trick ketchup bottle; kind of sad.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Benihana needs to improve on food qualit ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Benihana needs to improve on food quality. The taste is horrendous...what I would equate to a $5 cheap chinese food restaurant.

- up charge for chicken fried rice is ridiculous for the few measley pieces

- everything (meat, shrimp,) all taste the same as it was smothered with Soy sauce.

- shrimp was chewy, not fresh

- steak was over done

- taste was so bland

Disappointed that we chose to celebrate there! Not what I would expect. There are other hibachi restaurants in area that out ranked benihana.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Always an entertaining experience making ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always an entertaining experience making it fairly enjoyable eating, but the a/c was non-existent with a room temperature making it uncomfortable. The Price of food is reasonable for the experience, and the soup is better tasting, but you do get more veggies and appetizers included at "sho-gun". Just saying

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Took our son for a birthday dinner with ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Took our son for a birthday dinner with friends. The gentleman (Juan Carlos) that cooked for us was excellent; the server not so much. I explained we were all fairly new to the experience and would she provide an overview of the menu. This did not happen and it felt like we ordered things not necessary since it was a 5 course meal. However, we didn't receive all items for our 5 course meal. Didn't say anything at the time as it was late and we still had other birthday plans scheduled back at home. My son and his friends had a great time - so that was what was most important.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I asked for a quiet table, but they sat ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I asked for a quiet table, but they sat us with a birthday party for a teenager. They were loud and constantly snapping photos of each other on their phones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Was very disappointed with the entire ex ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Was very disappointed with the entire experience. Shrimp and scallops were very over done (rubbery) and portions were small. Chef did not engage with the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

It was a Belated Father's Day Celebratio ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a Belated Father's Day Celebration. We always have a Great time at Benihana. The food is good and fresh, the chefs are amazing, especially "Ohno" who has a brother named "Ohmygod". Simple greatness with knife skills and food prep.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. I just hate how it takes ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was great. I just hate how it takes an entire hour for the chef to actually come to the table. Overall, food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

My family and I had a great time celebra ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My family and I had a great time celebrating my nephew's birthday. The food was great and the chef was entertaining. Very kid friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food wasn't as good this time.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food wasn't as good this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great food, chef started out pretty good ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food, chef started out pretty good but then became more interested in the basketball game. Very casual which is fine, just not what I was expecting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great place for occassions

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great place for occasions, especially with toddlers who will watch the cook and you can eat with out interruption.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here several times, I always ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been here several times, I always make a reservation. I arrive 5 minutes before my reservation and still wait 15-20 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Benihana Doesn't Dissapoint

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We've enjoyed Benihana's for several years. Each time we are enthralled at the chef's skill in preparing our meal and how delicious it tastes!

This occasion was to celebrate our son's high school graduation. They seated us at our assigned reservation time and took our orders promptly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High School Graduation Dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Took my daughter here for her high school graduation dinner. Our party of 8 had one that was 40 minutes late. We waited of course but were seated within 5 minutes of her arrival. This was a busy Friday night too. Carlos was our Chef and was great. But the best part was the quality of the food. I had the Surf Side and added a crab cakes. It was all very impressive. Hard to decide if the calamari or the crab cake was better. But the best part was that my daughter really enjoyed it. Lots of good interaction from Carlos…..throwing food, etc. They gave her a free dessert as well We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Night with Family

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Had reservation and was seated immediately. Server and cook did an amazing job. Great evening celebrating a Kindergarten graduate and college 4.0 this semester. Food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OK but pricey for experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We went here to celebrate my boy's sixth birthday. The chef was good but it went fairly quickly. The server wasn't specific about extra costs when he gave us choices. We just thought it was part of the entree we were purchasing (because it was noted that it was a 5 course meal). We ended paying almost twice as much due to that. In addition, I wanted to order sushi rolls off of the happy hour menu....but they told me I had to walk over to the bar, order it, and bring it back to my seat when it was done. The bar was literally behind me.... I felt embarrassed to do so and felt very discouraged to order happy hour. At least my kids had a good time but we probably will end up going back to the Dallas location since they're more experienced, courteous, and informative of what we got.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Place if you are with the right people

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

It was just the wife and I and we were fortunate to be seated with some friendly people and we all enjoyed an entertaining meal. (Not always the case).

My wife ordered the Chateaubriand And I did the. Steak and chicken combo. Both meals were tasty and properly prepared. The chef had a good sense of humor. Not cheap but reasonable for the quality and quantity.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.