Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Benihana - Plano

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (47)
Fun (44)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Kid-friendly (38)
Good for Groups (34)
Casual (29)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Family Style (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (12)
Romantic (11)
Authentic (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (4)
Cozy (4)
Spicy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Waterfront (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Needless to say while the food and atmosphere were fantastic a near perfect night was ruined by poor management.

My friend brought a birthday certificate for $30 that he received. At the end of the meal we asked to have our checks split as our meals were being expensed as we were on business travel. The server explained to us that if the checks are separate that my friend could not use his certificate, (work policy is we could not have the meal listed on the receipt of the other person even if it was free). Under standing that this was something that our server would be unable to override we asked to speak to the Manager. She came over and we explained the issue however not only would she not honor the certificate but had the audacity to laugh in my friends face when he brought up the fact that yes we are paying separate but technically we still purchased a meal as the certificate stated. While my friend did lose his temper I admit it probably would not have happened if the manager did not laugh and seem to take pleasure at his dilemma.

I am very disappointed in the way she felt empowered to treat a customer in this way.Especially a customer who eats at this location every other week at least twice week if not more.

I hope that there are some changes in how customers are treated at this location as both my friend and I enjoy the food at Benihana's immensely and go every time we are traveling in a city with one in it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved our Hibachi chef. He was very fun!! The food was really good too. We will definitely be going back and asking for Renny!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Fathers Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Another home run for Benihana. Our chef was excellent and had our 9 year old laughing the entire time. What a blast!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Very family friendly. Upscale...and their food is very tasty. Will go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Disabled Access, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

It took over an hour for our cook to begin making the food. The extractor was not working properly, and the smoke was unbearable. It was fun for the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We are regulars and we love Benihana. It seems it's taking longer each time for them to start cooking. Our table was full immediately but we still waited 30 minutes for them to start cooking. By the time the entire dinner was done, it was an hour and a half after we arrived. Much too long of a wait.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We go every year for family bday and fathers day celebration. Every year we have a blast!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Benihana in Plano never disappoints for special occasions

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Even with a reservation and checking in twice we were never seated. The staff was very rude. We will never return again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Thang was amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Marco is the best Chef at this location!

The food is always prepared very well and his showmanship is the same whether you are his first table of guests or his last.

Our waiter forgot a few items that we ordered, but other than that, we had a great time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Birthday Party Celebration- Would have liked to been seated away from the waiters door. At first seemed ok, but hearing that door open and closed just isn't what a customer would want to have with their dining experience. Overall: Nice experience of food, preparation and fun with my family.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I love this place! It's an awesome experience and we always meet friendly and exciting people.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

One of the special places to enjoy lunch or dinner with my wife and when the children are in town, making it a family affair. Reservations are recommended. Open Table is a great way to reserve at Benihana.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Awesome staff and drinks are awesome! Will definitely come back again bext year

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The food was excellent as was the performance, however the service was lacking. Green tea and ice cream were two of the items listed as part of our order. We were not offered either. The waiter did not come back except to give us our check. We at that time asked for the two items and he brought them.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Need to work on refilón beverages
I have to ask several times fo my refill

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The server appeared to be new, which is not a bad thing. However, I was somewhat forgetful and unsure of himself.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Our hibachi chef Gustavo was great food wise and company wise great conversations and food prepared to our entire expectation.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Fun, enjoyable experience, and not to mention the wonderful food item that were prepared and cooked for us, was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We've been to this Benihanas for about every birthday in or family. We usually go on the weekends but we went on a Tuesday night for my husbands birthday. Let me just say it's a different experience on a weeknight. We had a reservation at 515, the service was so slow. Our waiter was not in a hurry to do anything, I had to ask him to do the birthday picture, bring out the birthday sundae and they never sang happy birthday to my husband, I had to ask for our steamed rice that we ordered, we never got drink refills that we paid for. Part of the reason people pay their food prices is because of the experience and this one was not good. Even my 4 and 6 year old asked why didn't they sing to you dad? Why didn't they throw chicken in our mouths? Why didn't they bring us ice cream? Why didn't we get more lemonade? We also had gift cards that we bought at Christmas time. They advertised buy $50 and get $10 for free. They couldn't figure out how to use them and told me they were from a 3rd party company but I bought them from
Benihanas website. A very very bad experience and lame birthday dinner. Won't be coming back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great time and food! Ask for Renny as he'll have you laughing the whole time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Restaurant was NOT clean and service was not great. Bathroom was filthy and no paper. The chef was very friendly and cooked well. Couldn't seem to get a refill on my unsweet tea and utensils were dirty. We had little attention from waitress I don't mind paying the price for special occasion but i expect service and cleanliness!! Won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Came for my 30th birthday. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was great. Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Our chef for the night was the best entertainment we have ever had. Can't beat great food and entertainment with your family!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The service is always very good once seated and the entire family loves the cuisine. I think its good value. I also think that the way the chef engages the table and its occupants is entertaining.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Even though we had reservations and arrived 10 early, we were seated almost 45 minutes AFTER the reservation time. We then had to wait 15 minutes before being served drinks, and 25 more minutes before the chef came to the table to begin preparing the meal. We were only provided the Holiday Menu with limited choices from which to order., and were not made aware we could order from the regular menu until another couple complained. The floors were dirty. This was the WORST dining experience I have had. Definitely will not return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Considering it was a holiday I made reservations but still had a little longer wait then anticipated but food and service was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been going to Benihana since I was a kid. The routine didn't change much so I stopped going for a few years. This experience showed me that Benihana is thinking on creative ways to up their entertainment. Marcos was a great guy to watch cook and perform!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great experience, despite the busy crowd. Accommodating to different food requirements in our party (vegan, seafood allergy, etc). Also shoutout to Chef Martin- we enjoyed your presentation and energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I think our waiter was new but he wasn't bad. Really busy for a Wednesday night. Great food, really fun.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Remmy our cook was amazing. He made our meal. I would go back and ask for him. We laughed and enjoyed our time so much.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went to Benihana for my birthday with my family. Always love the good and the show. Renny is our favorite Chef and the management is superior.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our chef was very entertaining and did a great job with our hibachi entrees. The chateaubriand steak is excellent!! We will go back.😊

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

it was great. i had fun and my date had fun also. the cooks were funny,kind, and warmhearted.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went to BJ for my wife's birthday. She was quite surprised with gifts from friends & family. The staff was quite hospitable with taking photos & cutting the cake a friend brought. Definitely an enjoyable time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The atmosphere was friendly and happy. We were entertained well. Our whole party could not make it. The one we wanted to entertain was missing. He was visiting from Russia and we thought this would have been a treat for him. Maybe next time. We had a good time anyway.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was great, from the food to the service, nice atmosphere, and the location was nice, there was shops all around the resturant to walk around and shop in. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

great place to celebrate a birthday! They went out of their way to help make it special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.