About Benihana - Plano

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-plano - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
California Roll - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Sushi - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Trio - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Chef Trick - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Sea Scallops - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Grilled Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Filet Mignon - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Rainbow Sherbet - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Hibachi Shrimp - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Spicy Tuna Rolls - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Steak - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Emperor's Belini - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
edamame - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Hibachi Lobster - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Strawberry Ice Cream - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Benihana Salad - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
The Grape Escape - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Strawberry Sparkling Sangria - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Rising Sun Lemon Drop Martini - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Strawberry Cucumber Spritz Cocktail - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Benihana Onion Soup - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Beni-Tini - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Hibachi Fried Rice - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Hana Awaka "Sparkling Flower" Cold Sake - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Red Plum Sake Sangria - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Las Vegas Sushi Roll - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Strawberry Saketini - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Vanilla Ice Cream - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Ramune - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Onion Soup - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Banana Tempura - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Shrimp Fried Rice - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Mojit - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Spicy Tofu Steak - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX
Spicy Hibachi Chicken - Benihana - Plano, Plano, TX

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Fun (35)
See All
Good for Groups (34)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Kid-friendly (24)
Family Style (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Casual (21)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Romantic (11)
Authentic (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Healthy (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Music (2)
Waterfront (2)
Live Sports (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service And a great atmospher ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service And a great atmosphere Really enjoyed myself

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. We enjoyed ha ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a great experience. We enjoyed having our anniversary dinner. There and we are looking foward to come back on several different occasions.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Fun, Modern Decor, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. Renny was our ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful time. Renny was our tableside chef, He was as entertaining as he was great. He entertained our entire table, and didn't leave anyone out. The food was great, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I'd recommend Benihana's to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wayyyyyyy too much smoke. Chef u ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

It was wayyyyyyy too much smoke. Chef used waaaaaayyyyy too much oil and it burned off in my face. Burned my nose and chest. Let the table several times. Had to forgo the final course because I couldn't breathe. Manager said they'd make it right and credited me 50% and then sat around chatting about how the vena don't always work right. I think he thought I was just agree a credit. NO. I was trying to tell him that my son (my date) and I both have asthma and because of this issue I'm afraid to come back. His flippant explanation only solidified my resolve. I'm giving my gift card to a friend.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

Brody was a great chef and entertaining! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Brody was a great chef and entertaining! food was great! Loved the bar had a "Cherry Blossom" signature drink..food was well seasoned fresh and tasty! Hope to return soon..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was rude, food was not worth the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Server was rude, food was not worth the money go down the street to jinbeh, they are a 5 out of 5 everytime. Tried this place since it was for a birthday and came recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Good food and good times! I really enjoy ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Good food and good times! I really enjoyed myself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok...Chef was great and enterta ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was ok...Chef was great and entertaining... Prices are too high... overpriced...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We celebrated a. Birthday with three gen ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We celebrated a. Birthday with three generations. Perfect spot - fun for the kids and good food and entertainment for all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were fantastic! Gr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food and service were fantastic! Great atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for male teen birthday - action, p ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great for male teen birthday - action, plenty of food, good value!!

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We eat here a few times per year. Like ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We eat here a few times per year. Like the food and presentation. The chef's routine is the same as it has been for years. Still fun. Our chef this night did an exceptional job with both his routine and cooking the food. Everything was spot on. Even the sushi was better than usual. Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was very helpful and energetic ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The staff was very helpful and energetic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!!!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my kids' birthday. It is a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We went for my kids' birthday. It is a great family restaurant. My kids are teens so I wasn't expecting so many small kids so be prepared for that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The place is always nice but this visit ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The place is always nice but this visit the service was very slow and instead of warm and welcoming, as usual, seemed to be more that we were an after thought of group.

All in all the restaurant is usually good and the service is typically great. This just appeared to be an off night for them.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was very sloppy, we had a birthd ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service was very sloppy, we had a birthday celebration a d they didnt ask to sing. We added that we had a shellfish allergy and it was not noted. Very dissapointed

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Land & Sea was delicious! Banana dessert ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Land & Sea was delicious! Banana dessert was amazing! So enjoyable!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great place for dinner with girlfriends! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great place for dinner with girlfriends!! Definitely requires a reservation!!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Benihana's several times an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I've been to Benihana's several times and everytime I go I am never disappointed. It is a lot of fun and great food!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, , Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic, the service was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was fantastic, the service was great, and the chef was pretty awesome. 10/10 would eat here again.

P.s. The filet minion was delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Family Style, , Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Christmas Lunch today with a fr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas Lunch today with a friend and had a wonderful time!! We both had steak and lobster and it was cooked perfectly! Our chef, Thang, was amazing and so entertaining! Diego made sure we had everything we needed in the most fluid and engaging way possible. Could not have asked for a better experience! Thank you everyone for making our day so great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a Holiday Lunch by our boss, an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This was a Holiday Lunch by our boss, and it was great food and good service. We were seated as per our reservation. Food was very good and the lunch prices were very reasonable.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was all good until the wait staff sta ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was all good until the wait staff started to wash the table etc while I was still there waiting for my final bill. It really was bad, they could have waited a few more minutes, other tables we empty .... that left a really bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The hostess staff seemed flustered and q ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The hostess staff seemed flustered and quite rude. We waited nearly 10 mins after being seated for someone to come take a drink order. Our table chef, Alfredo, was fantastic and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was one of the worst experiences I ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was one of the worst experiences I have had in a restaurant, lately. We were greeted by rude staff (the shift manager) who really didn't care about whether we dined there or not. The wait staff were impolite and service in general was lacking. We were celebrating a birthday and had the birthday girl not wanted to dine there, we would have walked out.

The food was disappointing! The food quality has degraded significantly. The shrimp used on the hibachi table was not even deveined.

This was my last time dining at this Benihana or any other Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Food was good although the chicken was n ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was good although the chicken was not cooked long enough. It was almost raw. Too many kids plus the banging and clanging of chef utinsels made it very noisy. The entertainment was good and our waitress was really great. My main problem was the price. Much too high for what is provided. The dining area had the look and feel of a plain concrete basement. But we had fun anyway.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Memorable service!!!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Memorable service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent! Service was extreme ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was excellent! Service was extremely fast! Overall was a great experience for our family holiday get together!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. My wife and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. My wife and I wanted to try something new as we were celebrating our 2 month wedding anniversary. From the moment we walked in until we left top notch service. We went during dinner time so of course there was a wait in which we did not have to wait long. I would highly recommend this restaurant and we definitely will be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, , Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

0 for 2 at this location. Terrible ser ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

0 for 2 at this location. Terrible service, inexperienced cooks on the grill, way too many people crammed in, and they do their best to rush you through your meal and out the door. We won't be back to this location. I suggest looking elsewhere in Shops of Legacy or visiting the Dallas location which is far better in all regards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Too crowded and loud. Not intimate at al ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Too crowded and loud. Not intimate at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

As always excellent service.

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

As always excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a birthday celebration at Ben ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We enjoyed a birthday celebration at Benihana's. Had a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, , Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anyone that knows Benihana, knows they c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Anyone that knows Benihana, knows they can put on a show. In the evenings the try harder for the show, but they will do a good job any time. lots of choices, so if fish is not your thing, they have chicken and steak as well.

Always lots of fun and you can take nearly any group and have a good time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't been to Benihana in 20 years. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I haven't been to Benihana in 20 years. We brought our 12 year old daughter so she can experience the chef show, and they didn't disappoint. Just like I remembered it when I was young, very talented and funny!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was happy with the chef and the people ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I was happy with the chef and the people we were seated amongst. Most of the staff were friendly and the one who was not we made the managers aware. There were no problems afterwards. The food was great, but our reservation was for 8pm and when we arrived we were told there were no tables. After about 30 minutes we were seated.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I love Benihana's, but Monday night was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I love Benihana's, but Monday night was subpar. Our waitress was slow and did not get in a hurry for anything until it was time for the checks. The one positive for her was that my tea glass was never empty. However others that had other types of drinks did have empty glasses for a while before they were asked if they would like another. Our chef was not really into providing the "show". I am not sure if Benihana was under staffed Monday nigh or what. But I do know that our chef had just came off another table straight to ours. I have never seen this before.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service staff was very friendly and prof ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Service staff was very friendly and professional. Chef seemed new as it took quite awhile for the food to be cooked. Food was disappointing this time - steaks were not cooked to proper temperature and was quite chewy, not fresh tasting.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I had an amazing evening at Benihana. T ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I had an amazing evening at Benihana. The staff were friendly. The cook was great and entertained us with his trixs and his humor. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.