Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 48 times today
Special offers available. See details

Benihana - Plano

4.3
1195 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(469) 467-2242
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bishop
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Happy Father's Day! Don't just give a gift. Give an experience unlike any other. For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in
Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a
$10 Benihana Promotional Card. Offer available 5/15/18 - 6/17/18. Promotional Cards valid 6/18/18 - 7/23/18.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 1195 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My wife and I had a reservation with our 12yr old and two children 4 and 2 year olds. We waited 50 min then left because we asked twice when will we be seated and every time we were told your next we’re cleaning the table for y’all. 7 groups of people where seated before us, so much for being next.

I would never recommend this location to anyone

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Never got seated. Reservation was for 2pm. Eventually left and luckily got a table at Kobe. Terrible experience. No apology.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had a 1:30 reservation but waited over 30 minutes for a table. A group came in after us without a reservation and was seated quickly. When I questioned the manager I was told the reservation only guarantees I get a table and has nothing to do with how quickly we get seated. After being taken to a table we waited another 45 minutes before the chef arrived. Very dissenting and poor service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 10, 2018

We went on a Wednesday night for my daughter's 19th birthday. We had reservations for 8, but still had to wait for a table and then once we got to our table, we had to wait another hour before the hibachi chef arrived to make our meal. He seemed disinterested and therefore it was not the fun experience we expected. We kept having to find our waiter to ask for more drinks. In the end, it wasn't worth the money...at all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

It was great and on time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We took our grandkids and their parents to Benihana’s and really enjoyed ourselves. We always do. Thank you

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We love this place and have celebrated many birthdays there but the service was horrible on the night we went :(

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Me and my girlfriends went here on a date and loved it. Our service was great and the food was just as good. Would definitely recommend and will for sure return!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Well I used the open table app for a reservation even had the confirmation number ended up waiting for an extended period of time because they said it didn’t exist in the system

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2018

They were extremely under staffed and slow on Monday dinner. We sat at the table for an hour before getting any food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Well, I've finally found the first thing more expensive in Dallas v. New Jersey in 6mo of living here.

Experience was okay, certainly nothing wrong, but for $200 including tip I was expecting more. Actually, scratch that. I was expecting what I got, but I was expecting it to be $60 less.

Filet had fat on it (?!?), shrimp was pretty flavorless, it took about 15min to get mustard sauce and we had to ask to receive the ice cream that explicitly came with the meal because the manager was hustling us off (he needed the table)

Dallas 50, NJ 1 (hibachi)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The service was terrible tonight. The show is non existent. If you want food hibachi steaks there are other places

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The day we dined there they were short staffed and it caused us to wait longer than expected for our meals. What could have been a terrible experience was actually a very good experience due to the manager and wait staff being honest and offering us a discount as an apology for the slow service. I was very impressed by how professional they were that evening.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Made a reservation five days in advance, still had to wait around 45 minutes to be seated. Then they explained that they had 2 chef's not show up for work (how is that my problem?) so it would be an additional wait for the meal to begin. Another 45 minutes and the meal began.

The food was a disappointment, mediocre at best, and definitely over priced. That is including the "20%" discount for the delay... which covered the mandatory tip...

My beef is if they knew there was an issue at the beginning of the day, why didn't they plan better? I would have appreciated a call so that I could make other plans with my family. Very disappointing and will not visit again.

I quipped to the others at the table that the cooking shtick reminded me of Chucky Cheese. His retort was at least Chucky Cheese would have gotten our food faster... No argument, and about the same quality....

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The reservation was for my son and his friends for prom. The reservation was for 7:15pm and the group was there at 7:05. At 8:25pm my son called to say that they would not get a chance to eat, because they were just now about to take their order. The only guest who had been to Benihana before was my son . Not only did this have an impact on the night of their Senior Prom (they were starving), they didn't have the dining experience they had been looking forward to for weeks. While, we understand that there were a lot of parties there, no one expects to have their special night impacted by extremely poor service and planning. We received no apology or even an acknowledgement.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We were seated promptly. The cook was very entertaining. The waiter was a bit off and would disappear from time to time but was not bad enough to ruin the dinner experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

It was a Saturday night , I know it’s always busy , the table was reserved for 5:45 but it took a while for the party to get seated , then had to wait for a chef to get the order started , it took at least 30-45 min before they got the meals ordered..

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Came for my son’s 13th Birthday. Was trying to use his $30 birthday coupon, but once they send you the email they require you to wait 24 hours before you can use it. Waitress nor manager did anything to accommodate. Waitress was very dry and lacked personality. But I guess this was a direct reflection of the manager on duty for the day. We had a situation where the our table’s grill was not turned on and we had to wait an additional 20mins before our dinner could start in addition to our long wait before the chef arrived. The manager came over to apologize but that was dry and did nothing to accommodate again, not even free rice or comp our sodas! The restaurant was not very clean there were some table that were untouched after the table had left for the evening for the full duration of our time there. The only thing that really saved this experience for my son on his birthday was the Chef Renny. His show was really nice and he has great personality. Overall the experience was just meh... I’ve been been to this location in the past, the experiences were nothing like this. I hope this experience isn’t foreshadowing the current direction this restaurant is headed. I guess next time I’ll try the Dallas location to see if the service improves.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Filet a little fatty so couldn’t eat some of it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Overall good experience. Food was delicious as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Celebrating a birthday dinner. Drinks and dinner were great. I think the chef was new but he did a great job. It was very entertaining & quick service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Although the food was good, the service was AWFUL! It took over 30 minutes to get a drink and in between courses our plates were never cleared. Awful dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We eat at Benihana’s every April for a special occasion (last 12 years.). The restaurant was great but we were slightly disappointed that they didn’t cut up all the veggies as they have in the past. The squash and onions were precut instead of cutting them up on the grill as in the past. Also, we were not offered the green tea at the end of the meal even though it was included as part of the meal. Overall, great experience—these were small things we noticed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was made to order and was what I expected with a great menu with many options. Our server was prompt, friendly, and made our dining experience superb. She helped my 9 year old who did not want to order off the kid's menu. Our chef entertained with his special skills. My husband's filet minion was cooked perfectly. The sushi came at just the right time. This dining experience was everything we expected

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Packed us in too tight. Added 2 more chairs than they usually do.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We were at table with a rude guest. Manger quickly got us to another table and even comped us a couple appetizers. Went above and beyond to ensure an enjoyable experience. We had a great time

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was good and the chef cooking for us was nice as well but the service sucked. We had a reservation which we were on time for but we had to wait for another party to be able to be seated with us because our group wasn’t big enough. It’s way over priced for the service, I’d rather go to Panda Express and their food is disgusting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

This is one of our favorite restaurants and the food is always amazing. We enjoy the liveliness of the restaurant and the chefs are always entertaining. We love it and will always eat here while in the Dallas /Plano area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We come here regularly for birthdays and some holidays. Always great food and a good experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

As always, the food was delicious! Our chef, Oh, was funny and fun. He made the experience even better than we expected. The wait was longer than we had hoped despite the fact that we had a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

I was there for my birthday 20 days ago. Some friends wanted to take me to dinner again for my birthday. And I chose this spot again. I love it

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Always a fun place to go for a celebration. Food and service is consistent and fresh, cooked right in front of you. Less than impressed with the bar staff. Not friendly the night we were there and service was slow and it was difficult to get a beverage.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

went for granddaughter birthday celebration. Drinks and food were excellent. Our cook was very entertaining and interacted with the entire table. A great time. looking forward to my celebration this month

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We had so much fun. Our cook Tai was fantastic. He was very involved with us and my son loved it. No matter how packed the restaurant was you felt comfortable not rushed. Thank u we will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Our young kids love this place and we love it because it is family friendly and delicious. They were also able to cater to my husbands mushroom allergy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We were not able to apply the birthday coupon for my dad's birthday, even though it was his actual birthday and we had an ID to verify. Would not recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Love Benihana have been coming here for years. This location is smaller but still great food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Reservation was at 8 - we were seated at 8:30. Had to wait 40 minutes for a chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Great food and service!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Took my daughter for her birthday dinner and service was terrible. We had to wait even though we had reservations. They took forever to get the cook to our table. Cook gave her rice to another customer at the table. And they sang happy birthday to several other customers but not to her!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30

Tweets by Benihana - Plano