About Benihana - Plano

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sea Scallops
Grilled Colossal Shrimp
Filet Mignon
Rainbow Sherbet
Hibachi Shrimp
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Chicken Fried Rice
Steak
edamame
Emperor's Belini
Hibachi Lobster
Strawberry Ice Cream
Benihana Salad
Benihana Onion Soup
Strawberry Cucumber Spritz Cocktail
Strawberry Sparkling Sangria
The Grape Escape
Rising Sun Lemon Drop Martini
Beni-Tini
Hibachi Fried Rice
Hana Awaka "Sparkling Flower" Cold Sake
Red Plum Sake Sangria
Las Vegas Sushi Roll
Strawberry Saketini
Ramune
Vanilla Ice Cream
Onion Soup
Banana Tempura
Shrimp Fried Rice
Mojit
Spicy Tofu Steak
Spicy Hibachi Chicken

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (69)
special occasion (60)
kid-friendly (48)
See All
great for lunch (28)
fit for foodies (17)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (13)
romantic (11)
late-night find (10)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Need to turn the AC down. The seat I was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Need to turn the AC down. The seat I was at was right behind another hibachi table and basically I was stuck between two hibachi grills.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I waited 15 minutes for my 8:30 reservat ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I waited 15 minutes for my 8:30 reservation. Then waited at the table for over 30 minutes for a cook to arrive. I had to ask a random server to get me a glass of wine because my waiter disappeared. Was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

really enjoyed the service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

really enjoyed the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I request for guest check and receipt by ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I request for guest check and receipt by email ,get no answer

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Delicious dishes

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great until the cook felt ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great until the cook felt the need to criticize my wife about the way she ordered her steak. I'll never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Always an entertaining show and great fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always an entertaining show and great food! Our chef was great

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been taking kids there for 30 years ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Have been taking kids there for 30 years and now grandkids. Food and service generally excellent and all very familiar. Unfortunately favorite little tricks have disappeared along with actual Japanese chefs. The old shrimp in the hat trick now replaced by a trick ketchup bottle; kind of sad.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Benihana needs to improve on food qualit ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Benihana needs to improve on food quality. The taste is horrendous...what I would equate to a $5 cheap chinese food restaurant.

- up charge for chicken fried rice is ridiculous for the few measley pieces

- everything (meat, shrimp,) all taste the same as it was smothered with Soy sauce.

- shrimp was chewy, not fresh

- steak was over done

- taste was so bland

Disappointed that we chose to celebrate there! Not what I would expect. There are other hibachi restaurants in area that out ranked benihana.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Always an entertaining experience making ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always an entertaining experience making it fairly enjoyable eating, but the a/c was non-existent with a room temperature making it uncomfortable. The Price of food is reasonable for the experience, and the soup is better tasting, but you do get more veggies and appetizers included at "sho-gun". Just saying

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Took our son for a birthday dinner with ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Took our son for a birthday dinner with friends. The gentleman (Juan Carlos) that cooked for us was excellent; the server not so much. I explained we were all fairly new to the experience and would she provide an overview of the menu. This did not happen and it felt like we ordered things not necessary since it was a 5 course meal. However, we didn't receive all items for our 5 course meal. Didn't say anything at the time as it was late and we still had other birthday plans scheduled back at home. My son and his friends had a great time - so that was what was most important.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I asked for a quiet table, but they sat ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I asked for a quiet table, but they sat us with a birthday party for a teenager. They were loud and constantly snapping photos of each other on their phones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Was very disappointed with the entire ex ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Was very disappointed with the entire experience. Shrimp and scallops were very over done (rubbery) and portions were small. Chef did not engage with the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

It was a Belated Father's Day Celebratio ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a Belated Father's Day Celebration. We always have a Great time at Benihana. The food is good and fresh, the chefs are amazing, especially "Ohno" who has a brother named "Ohmygod". Simple greatness with knife skills and food prep.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. I just hate how it takes ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was great. I just hate how it takes an entire hour for the chef to actually come to the table. Overall, food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

My family and I had a great time celebra ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My family and I had a great time celebrating my nephew's birthday. The food was great and the chef was entertaining. Very kid friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food wasn't as good this time.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food wasn't as good this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great food, chef started out pretty good ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food, chef started out pretty good but then became more interested in the basketball game. Very casual which is fine, just not what I was expecting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great place for occassions

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great place for occasions, especially with toddlers who will watch the cook and you can eat with out interruption.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here several times, I always ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been here several times, I always make a reservation. I arrive 5 minutes before my reservation and still wait 15-20 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Benihana Doesn't Dissapoint

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We've enjoyed Benihana's for several years. Each time we are enthralled at the chef's skill in preparing our meal and how delicious it tastes!

This occasion was to celebrate our son's high school graduation. They seated us at our assigned reservation time and took our orders promptly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High School Graduation Dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Took my daughter here for her high school graduation dinner. Our party of 8 had one that was 40 minutes late. We waited of course but were seated within 5 minutes of her arrival. This was a busy Friday night too. Carlos was our Chef and was great. But the best part was the quality of the food. I had the Surf Side and added a crab cakes. It was all very impressive. Hard to decide if the calamari or the crab cake was better. But the best part was that my daughter really enjoyed it. Lots of good interaction from Carlos…..throwing food, etc. They gave her a free dessert as well We will definitely be returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Night with Family

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Had reservation and was seated immediately. Server and cook did an amazing job. Great evening celebrating a Kindergarten graduate and college 4.0 this semester. Food was delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OK but pricey for experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We went here to celebrate my boy's sixth birthday. The chef was good but it went fairly quickly. The server wasn't specific about extra costs when he gave us choices. We just thought it was part of the entree we were purchasing (because it was noted that it was a 5 course meal). We ended paying almost twice as much due to that. In addition, I wanted to order sushi rolls off of the happy hour menu....but they told me I had to walk over to the bar, order it, and bring it back to my seat when it was done. The bar was literally behind me.... I felt embarrassed to do so and felt very discouraged to order happy hour. At least my kids had a good time but we probably will end up going back to the Dallas location since they're more experienced, courteous, and informative of what we got.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Place if you are with the right people

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

It was just the wife and I and we were fortunate to be seated with some friendly people and we all enjoyed an entertaining meal. (Not always the case).

My wife ordered the Chateaubriand And I did the. Steak and chicken combo. Both meals were tasty and properly prepared. The chef had a good sense of humor. Not cheap but reasonable for the quality and quantity.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

sad to report a bad experience

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were looking forward to a birthday celebration at Benihana. We had never dined at the restaurant before. I'm sad to say that the server was unfriendly and short. The "chef" was mildly entertaining but overcooked all the food. He left my husband's shrimp on the grill for at least 20 minutes! Most of the food was tasteless. Also, he didn't prepare and serve all of the items listed in the menu that are supposed to accompany the children's entrée. The service was so slow that we didn't even want to stay for the ice cream dessert. Such a disappointment. We will not return to Benihana. I am shocked that so many people dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We did not get a waitress for 20 min aft ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We did not get a waitress for 20 min after we were seated. My sons order was incorrect twice. We went to celebrate his birthday! The chief split a bowl of garlic on the floor right before cooking and split it all over my daughters jeans and shoes. The experience was stressful and very disappointing. Lunch took over two hours.

The food was great, but left feeling exhausted and not in any hurry to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The hostesses that night were more than ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The hostesses that night were more than patient with the people getting frustrated about the wait. They handled it very well and deserved a big tip that night. Our server and cook were amazing and on top of everything. Definitely was worth the wait for my daughters birthday!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites places for us and with family

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was wonderful. the Beef Filet is always melt in you mouth. Chef was colorful and an expert. As always, thanks for the fantastic adventure.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was Awesome. Except we had to ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was Awesome. Except we had to wait for 30 mins past our reservation time to get a table. Total turn down, whats the use of reserving the table?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday fun

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The restaurant was nice and the service was excellent

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our worst experience at Benihana

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We usually have a good meal and good service at Benihana. This time was so different. We made a reservation and had to wait 30 minutes. We also had to wait a very long time before the chef got to our table. The waitress was rude and we kept having to ask for everything more than once. She hit me in the head with my bowl of rice when giving it to me. She also spilled water on my daughter. The problem was she didn't even apologize. We were celebrating my daughter's birthday. I had to tell the waitress three times that we were celebrating her Birthday. The food was good once we finally got it but the service ruined her 11th Birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great place for preteens

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great place for preteens

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Overcharged

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The waitress who was horrible, overcharged my card and didn't say anything. I called to the restaurant who explained what she did.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

VIPreview

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

First I only have myself to blame for ever coming back here however a family member from out of town really wanted to try it. This is the song that never ends. If you go here expecting the tradition of Benihana forget about it…they are long gone. What is very consistent is the lack of management. I believe this place runs on auto-pilot. I felt bad for the other 4 people at the table with us. You could tell they had saved for a special occasion and they were very disappointed in the food, presentation, service, basically all the things I have come to accept from this chain. I have stated nothing less in other posts on OpenTable. Long gone is the tradition that once enveloped this restaurant. 25 years ago it was fun, special, a treat it you will. For me I will most likely not give them another opportunity to rob me of an evening. RIP Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Great restaurant for family events

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great restaurant for family events

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The staff is not trained

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The server charged for an extra entree and messed the order up. My friend ordered a filet mignon but was given a steak. He asked for filet when chef started cooking so we were charged double. Then the server hand write the gratuity on the bill 38.00

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I've seen better

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Chef wasn't very impressive had request that went in answered didn't know how to properly grill a steak didn't follow directions veggies were bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not their finest hour.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We went to Benihana to celebrate my grand daughter's birthday. The chef did not have his best day. He had trouble with our order. Forgot one of the items that should have been included with my meal. Put another guest's entrée on my grandson's plate. The chef did replace the food serving error and management made it right for us on the bill. The food was good in spite of the serving errors. We have in the past and will in the future go to Benihana to celebrate special occasions. It just wasn't their finest hour this night.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Lacking

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We've been to Benihana several times for birthday celebrations. This was our first trip to the Plano location. I had issues with the reservation from the start and had to call twice to make sure that they got it right - they had not. When speaking with the employee on the phone about the problems with the reservation she started explaining why they couldn't seat us all together before I had a chance to explain the problem - which was not what she was talking about. Once there we had a fine evening but the chef forgot several things while preparing. Two of our party ordered steamed rice - he prepared everyone fried rice and then realized his error - asked someone to get them steamed rice and it didn't come until he was done preparing the entire meal. He also left off the mushrooms from two of our orders. He was pleasant but a bit absent minded. I don't think we will be headed back to Benihana in the future as there are other options closer to home with better experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.