About Benihana - Plano

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for Groups (49)
Good for Birthdays (43)
See All
Fun (42)
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Kid-friendly (28)
Family Style (28)
Casual (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Open Kitchen (17)
Romantic (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Scenic View (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Live Sports (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
855 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Food is great! Love me some benes we will be back when we have another birthday

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Really disappointed. Food was bland. Not good at all.

Steaks thin and chewy.

Rice plain and not seasoned

Service poor.

Birthday party of 15 screaming kids ruined everyone's dining experience around us.

Sorry. But it was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Arrived a little earlier than expected but that was not an issue. We were seated promptly and without any issues. Service stated quickly but you could tell they were a little understaffed. Our waiter understood the issue and moved as quick as possible to ensure things were not delayed. He really made a difference to the entire night.

The chef arrived and he was very engaging and paid a lot of attention to both details and the kids that were sitting at the same table. Food was cooked good and flavorful. Drinks were stiff and checkout was easy. Will be back? Sure will

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Went for birthday dinner. Service was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good, entertaining, little pricey for what you get.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I had a horrible experience at Benihana Plano. The waitreaa "MiMi" was not attentive. The chef "KO" was late to the table, could not recall what the table ordered, and did not entertain very well. I ordered the Benihana delight but did not get the chicken until the very end. My food was cold by the time KO finished my dish. I am so disappointed in the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Me n my wife usually go to the one in dallas wich is also a great location but this one is the one we will be going back to , the vibe and food is outstanding . The scenery is also a plus , i love this place

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Superb food with a fabulous chef, Gustavo. Everything was prepared like requested. Even the service was excellent. Wow, can still taste that mouth watering steak with the chicken fried rice. Everything was fixed to perfection!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was terrible. Service was slow. To spend 150.00 on a meal and be this dissatisfied is ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food fun chef

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and drinks. Entertaining Chefs. Great environment for dates and group dining.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Martin was the chef that was cooking at our station. He was funny and full of energy made the seafood diablo amazing!!!! Will definitely go back and make sure to be where he is cooking!!

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great chef and enthusiastic ..food was AWESOME..will definitely go again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our chef "O No" was very good. He took the time to prepare and coolk the meat slowly - everything was juicy and tender. Great job

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place to entertain guests, have a great meal and have fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Perfect, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I would of given 5 stars on everything but our server was not wayyyy too serious and when my mom ordered another margarita he completely ignored her.

But our chef was AMAZING! Martin was super funny and got my brother laughing through the whole experience.

He was just all around amazing!

Will definetly be coming back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were seated promptly upon arrival and the staff was polite. The meal was very entertaining and tasted great.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I will not be returning to this location. We had to wait almost 15 minutes for someone to return to the front and greet us forour reservation. The server forgot my order completely. Once he cook started a hour later he had to rush and fail to do any of the usual food entertainment and cut the small portion of shrimp and chicken. Oh, and my drink turned to water before my 1st refill came.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The place was nice food was great, but I felt like we intruded on a group of people who was there for a birthday/anniversary dinner

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I had a beautiful night out. Our chef was a riot lol! He kept us entertained and food was cooked beautifully. We plan to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great time. The food was good but it was a little loud and while our chef was extremely talented he didn't seem to be as personable as other chefs I've seen. Nonetheless I would still go back as it's good and fun

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dirty, tableside chef did not speak English, no show as promised. Absolute disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:30. Didn't get seated until after 8.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We all enjoyed the food and had a great time!! I ordered the hibachi shrimp and beef julienne. Only complaint was the fried rice and veggies were cold by the time the beef was done. I understand the meats can't be cooked together but seems like there is a way to all food served warm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was decent. Food was alright, we had the dragon roll, salmon roll, and a salmon lunch boat. This location just has all hibachi tables and bar seating, and when we went it was quite smoky. Not sure if they can be more well ventilated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It would've been nice if there were more veggie options.

The wait with a reservation was still an hour so that was awesome.

The wait area is damn near non existent.

Chef was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic birthday event for my husband - great vibe and excellent food. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We visited for my son's 21st birthday. The chief was amazing and very entertaining, and the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We decided to pick Benihana ,PLANO as restaurant to selebrate my mom birthday. Experience was great - we booked table for 6 and were seated just after we arrived. Our shef , Gustavo, ,cooked fenomenal. We enjoyed both from cooking process show and from the food. We would highly recommend on this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waited 20+ minutes past our pre-booked reservation time. Service was good, chef did a good job. Food was OK at best. Shrimp was small and chewy, steak very thin, and the bill was much more than what the overall value. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent show, great price. A place to repeat the

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great lunch experience. Less expensive than dinner, but almost the same amount of food as a dinner experience! Love the hibachi grilling experience...always entertaining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We eat here about twice a year. Kids like it and the food is consistently good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Results are unpredictable. The food on the evening was so overcooked it was not eatable. It really epends on who you get as your table chef. Ask for Martin if you want food prepared right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had the best time when we went, everything was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great to watch such talented chefs! enjoyed the show :) Food was great!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and service are always good. Noise level is high, and ambiance is just okay. This location is close by, or we might drive a bit further to an older location, simply for the old Japanese feel. Encorporate some of that into this location, turn down the noiae a bit, and it'd be perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was great but chef didn't listen when we said no butter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Made my reservation for 715p got there at 700p did have to wait till 715 to be seated. It was 745 before we got to order our food. We waiting after our order for almost 45 more minutes due to shortage of chefs (per the other people sitting at our table were informed by the waitress) Chef was great and very interactive with my kids. Food was great even my kids loved it. A bit pricey in my opinion as the prices i saw online were very different from the actual menu but none the less the food was great that I wouldn't complain about that.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Renny our chef was awesome! Can't wait to come back to learn the sex of his 2nd child on the way!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent service And a great atmosphere Really enjoyed myself

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was a great experience. We enjoyed having our anniversary dinner. There and we are looking foward to come back on several different occasions.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Fun, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Renny was our tableside chef, He was as entertaining as he was great. He entertained our entire table, and didn't leave anyone out. The food was great, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I'd recommend Benihana's to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It was wayyyyyyy too much smoke. Chef used waaaaaayyyyy too much oil and it burned off in my face. Burned my nose and chest. Let the table several times. Had to forgo the final course because I couldn't breathe. Manager said they'd make it right and credited me 50% and then sat around chatting about how the vena don't always work right. I think he thought I was just agree a credit. NO. I was trying to tell him that my son (my date) and I both have asthma and because of this issue I'm afraid to come back. His flippant explanation only solidified my resolve. I'm giving my gift card to a friend.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Brody was a great chef and entertaining! food was great! Loved the bar had a "Cherry Blossom" signature drink..food was well seasoned fresh and tasty! Hope to return soon..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Server was rude, food was not worth the money go down the street to jinbeh, they are a 5 out of 5 everytime. Tried this place since it was for a birthday and came recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.