Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Benihana - Plano

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Fun (43)
See All
Good for Groups (42)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (27)
Casual (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Romantic (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Hot Spot (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Cozy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Spicy (5)
Waterfront (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
999 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant was great! My friends and I went for a pre-dance dinner and it was amazing. When I called to add one more person, they were great about it and happy to serve. When we arrived it took a little longer than our reservation time but it was worth it. Our chef was amazing! I loved the food and the waiters always made sure our drinks were ful!! My only complaint would be we didn't get the green tea included and it took FOREVER to get the check. But overall great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

You need to be really into Japanese Food in order to enjoy Benihana’s. It was a great experience, but it is just not for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter and chef was extremely accommodating to a quick change order with our food. They both really made sure everyone at the table enjoyed the experience. Great Job!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our chef was extremely rude. He called my adult 34 year old son "boy" several times. He cooked my daughters Terriyaki steak "rare" and did not include the Terriyaki sauce. When she asked for it to be cooked longer he refused. He then thru the Terriyaki sauce on her rice rather than her steak. He then told her "Do you think you can get me fired, are you trying to get me fired". He was also rude to our server to the point that we were embarrassed for him. He told him "you hurry up and pick up these plates. Hurry and moved out of the way". There was no reason for this as our server was excellent. I have never experienced such rude behavior. This particular chef has a history of being rude to customers. I cannot believe he is still employed here. If you don't get this particular chef, then the experience is always great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Groups, Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 19, 2017

It used to be our tradition to celebrate our birthdays here but we missed the past two years due to traveling but I made it a point to come back to one of our favorite spots for this year and we had the best time ever.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good Benihana restaurant in the North Dallas area. Had OpenTable reservations for 8PM but did not get seated until 8:40PM - note that it was a busy Friday evening. Our chef did a nice job preparing the Benihana basics, nicely seasoned, with the usual Benihana flair and antics.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Extremely poor management of time and reservation. Please take tips from other busy restaurants or give disclaimers about hibachi style seating.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was my girls first time and they thoroughly enjoyed the experience! They cleaned their plates and that was more than I could ask for. We hadn't even left yet and they were already asking when would we be back! It definitely will be sooner than later!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I'd like to start off by saying that I love Benihana's and will continue to dine there. This was my worst experience that I have ever had. The only grip would be with management and the server. First he spilled hot sake down my back, which was an accident so that's forgivable. After that, he stopped coming to our table unless we called him over which was a bit weird since other people at the table still needed service. Then the managers did not acknowledge nor made an attempt to talk to me until it was time for me to pay. They just asked if I was okay and by that time I was already over it so I didn't care to bring it up. Other than that, the food was great as always, the atmosphere was great, and the location is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Are used to be quite regulars at this Benihana's. This time it was really a disappointment. Are used to love the salads with the ginger dressing. As a matter fact, I ordered an extra salad for myself to start things off. Both of the salads I received had meager amount of salad lettuce etc. One actually had no dressing at all on it and the other had maybe a teaspoon of ginger dressing on it. That was a disappointment to me because I've looked forward specifically to having that salad. Then, when the main courses came, there were big discrepancies from prior experiences. Other people at the table who ordered steak etc. were served first. By the time our shrimp order was prepared and delivered to us, the others had already finished their steak. Timing was incredibly poor as opposed to prior occasions. We used to have more food on our plate then we could actually eat before the main course was delivered. I don't know if there is new management or not. But I do know that it will be a long time before we try Benihana is again. We used to go several times a year.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was good as always. 4 stars because I like my salmon well done and wasn't. Service 3 stars due to fact I asked for well done salmon once to waiter and twice to chef, then chef seemed irritated when I asked it to be cooked longer. Waiter almost forgot our salads, and never came back to table after the chef started the hibachi except to give check.
I love Benihana in general so will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Reservation was on time. There was no wait time at all for reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

was hoping for a more lively hibachi experience. tapping the spatula/fork and spinning an egg was cool, but where's the personality excitement behind the presentation? our cook could have certainly been more into providing an exciting/fun/party type experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I love hibachi and Benihana is a classic. The variety of choices and fresh ingredients are always a treat! And it is a place I can bring my picky 9 year old and she gobbles everything up! My only complaint would be that our chef was very, very quiet. And where the show is part of the event, it would have been more fun for all of us if he hadn't been so quiet. I was seated closest to the chef and I could not understand a single word he said. He muttered at best. Also our server (the person that took the orders and brought us our drinks) only came back once to check on us during the entire time we were there. And when I tried to order another glass of wine he quickly turned his back and left before I could place my order. I felt he was doing his "job" to ask the question, but in reality he didn't want to do actually do the extra work of bringing the wine. He never refilled our water. For the price this restaurant charges, I would expect exceptional service from start to end. With that said I would return and hope to get better service. I do love Benihana and perhaps we just had bad luck with service that night. The food was delicious and that is the bottom line most important thing! :-)

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We have visited Benihani for many years. I know the restaurant business is tough. However the quality of the food , the quality of the staff, and overall experience has slowly gone downhill. It used to be a great place to eat for a special occasion. Now there isn't a whole lot that is special about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were there to celebrate my 10 year old's birthday. I mentioned it to the hostess, to the waitress, and to the chef. We heard 2 other tables/staff sing to birthday people. No one came over to sing to my daughter. What a disappointment, will not celebrate there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The overall feeing of this restaurant was fun but I wished that we had a better show by our chef and the food had a little more flavor.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Fantastic food. A little pricey but worth it. Fun entertainment while getting food. Our chef was hilarious and a lot of fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner. Menu not very clear but hibachi chef and food was very good.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always a great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My family had a great time. Service and food were great! Thank you!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I have eaten here many times. On this visit the food and flavors were not as palatable as they have been in past. Thanks for providing me a opportunity to provide feedback. May try other locations moving forward.. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Stop in with my grandson, they all love eating here. Had the samurai treat, filet and shrimp. So much that I bought leftovers home. Will be back when in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

A great experience. The chef was very entertaining and kept us at the edge of our seat throughout.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Big disappointment...the service, the hosts and our server, all a disaster. The only great staff member was our chef, who did a great job.
We got there and within 15min we were seated, which in general is OK but we had a reservation and there were open seats at some tables and open tables as well. After we sat, it took 20min to get our drinks and our soup. The server only cared about taking our order and from them on, disappeared. I had to stand up 2 times to ask him for a refill of our drinks because we would not make eye contact with us and it wasn't because he was busy with other tables.
The food was good but nothing amazing. The portion size is abundant.
Definitely not coming back to this overpriced and under serviced place. I get a much better service at any other Hibachi Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Went for my daughters birthday. Our chef was fun at first, but went quiet towards the middle- end of his time with us. We heard tables clapping until the very end. I looked up at one point and he was done. My girls loved it. They ate everything, especially the rice!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

An uninspiring venue, with impersonal attention by the hosts and an always overcrowded, cramped waiting area. We had the pleasure of waiting almost 25 minutes past our reservation time - and we're brought to our table where another party of four had been waiting to get started for almost 15 minutes.
Waitstaff appeared too stretched and while chefs go through the required routines, they don't seem to really want to connect with their diners.
If you really want to have a Japanese cooked at table experience, the Plano Benihana's is an okay place to go for good food, but don't set high hopes for the balance of the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My wife and sons birthday.
Loved our chef, I think his name was Bawi. I'm getting it wrong. My apologies. He was very entertaining, and of course , skilled.

The food is always great.

We'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We celebrated our son's 25th birthday. It is always fun to watch the chef cook. The jokes and fanfare are always the same, but it is fun all the same. The food was as expected. The only thing was that the drink service was a little slow. It took 10-15 minutes to get our bottle of sake.

Overall, good experience, but nothing exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had never been to Benihana before and my experience was amazing I will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had reservation/booked earlier but still had to wait for 30 plus minutes and then the whole process took over 2 hours. Have been there too many times, this time was not fun at all.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was great and my chef was cool! He made the whole experience fun!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Benihana is a great place to share laughs with friends. The food is great and yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

This was our first time at this location. My husband and I loved everything about this Benihana's. Our only issue is that we would have loved to have the hibachi for just the two of us.
Sometimes being seated at a table with unfriendly patrons can cause a very unpleasant dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Fun, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had a nice time I do think the cook did cut the meat small enough the pieces were a lot bigger than they usually are

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

I was really excited about going you Benihanna..1. Bc it was my first time going and 2. Bc it was my birthday. Let me say his was the worse experience ever. I will point out that I was about 15 min late. The host seated us then it was about 30-35 min before anyone came to take a drink order or anything for that matter. When the gentleman came I asked about flavored tea and I was advised they had rose tea...I think but what I got was unsweet tea and it took 2 addtl attempts to get it right and one of them was a alcohol beverage. I ordered. Double salad for my son because the other option was onion soup and I knew he wouldn't eat that and has brought the soup anyway and when I brought it to his attention he got an attitude saying that he was bringing it with the next set of appetizers but my son had nothing. Also, there was a table behind ours that was seated about 15 minutes after us and their chef was there before ours. This prompted to get the manager and he said he was going to check on the situation but only ducked off bc my cousin had to go and ask again for him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This was one the lower end experiences we have had. The time for the chef to cone to the table was VERY long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great dinner! Great entertainment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The chef who cooked for our table had ZERO conversation or personality!! He didn't say one word or do any of the presentation that you normally get at Benihana. The food was bland, which is unusual, and he was practically throwing it at us. The restaurant was also extremely hot before they turned on the hibachi. Benihana is usually on point with their presentation and food, but we were very disappointed in both. Put a little bit of a damper on my daughters birthday.

Our waitress was outstanding and very personable. She saved the night with her energy and personality.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Waitress disappointed us. Never brought out my credit card back. Ruined the rest of my night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.