About Benihana - Plano

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Fun (36)
See All
Good for Groups (36)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Family Style (23)
Kid-friendly (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Casual (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Open Kitchen (14)
Authentic (10)
Romantic (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Sports (2)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We eat here about twice a year. Kids lik ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

We eat here about twice a year. Kids like it and the food is consistently good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Results are unpredictable. The food on t ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Results are unpredictable. The food on the evening was so overcooked it was not eatable. It really epends on who you get as your table chef. Ask for Martin if you want food prepared right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had the best time when we went, every ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

We had the best time when we went, everything was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to watch such talented chefs! enj ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Great to watch such talented chefs! enjoyed the show :) Food was great!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service are always good. No ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service are always good. Noise level is high, and ambiance is just okay. This location is close by, or we might drive a bit further to an older location, simply for the old Japanese feel. Encorporate some of that into this location, turn down the noiae a bit, and it'd be perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great but chef didn't listen wh ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great but chef didn't listen when we said no butter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made my reservation for 715p got there a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Made my reservation for 715p got there at 700p did have to wait till 715 to be seated. It was 745 before we got to order our food. We waiting after our order for almost 45 more minutes due to shortage of chefs (per the other people sitting at our table were informed by the waitress) Chef was great and very interactive with my kids. Food was great even my kids loved it. A bit pricey in my opinion as the prices i saw online were very different from the actual menu but none the less the food was great that I wouldn't complain about that.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Renny our chef was awesome! Can't wait t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Renny our chef was awesome! Can't wait to come back to learn the sex of his 2nd child on the way!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service And a great atmospher ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent service And a great atmosphere Really enjoyed myself

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. We enjoyed ha ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was a great experience. We enjoyed having our anniversary dinner. There and we are looking foward to come back on several different occasions.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Fun, Modern Decor, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. Renny was our ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Renny was our tableside chef, He was as entertaining as he was great. He entertained our entire table, and didn't leave anyone out. The food was great, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I'd recommend Benihana's to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wayyyyyyy too much smoke. Chef u ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It was wayyyyyyy too much smoke. Chef used waaaaaayyyyy too much oil and it burned off in my face. Burned my nose and chest. Let the table several times. Had to forgo the final course because I couldn't breathe. Manager said they'd make it right and credited me 50% and then sat around chatting about how the vena don't always work right. I think he thought I was just agree a credit. NO. I was trying to tell him that my son (my date) and I both have asthma and because of this issue I'm afraid to come back. His flippant explanation only solidified my resolve. I'm giving my gift card to a friend.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

Brody was a great chef and entertaining! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Brody was a great chef and entertaining! food was great! Loved the bar had a "Cherry Blossom" signature drink..food was well seasoned fresh and tasty! Hope to return soon..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was rude, food was not worth the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Server was rude, food was not worth the money go down the street to jinbeh, they are a 5 out of 5 everytime. Tried this place since it was for a birthday and came recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Good food and good times! I really enjoy ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Good food and good times! I really enjoyed myself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok...Chef was great and enterta ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was ok...Chef was great and entertaining... Prices are too high... overpriced...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We celebrated a. Birthday with three gen ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We celebrated a. Birthday with three generations. Perfect spot - fun for the kids and good food and entertainment for all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were fantastic! Gr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food and service were fantastic! Great atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for male teen birthday - action, p ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great for male teen birthday - action, plenty of food, good value!!

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We eat here a few times per year. Like ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We eat here a few times per year. Like the food and presentation. The chef's routine is the same as it has been for years. Still fun. Our chef this night did an exceptional job with both his routine and cooking the food. Everything was spot on. Even the sushi was better than usual. Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was very helpful and energetic ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The staff was very helpful and energetic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!!!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my kids' birthday. It is a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We went for my kids' birthday. It is a great family restaurant. My kids are teens so I wasn't expecting so many small kids so be prepared for that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The place is always nice but this visit ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The place is always nice but this visit the service was very slow and instead of warm and welcoming, as usual, seemed to be more that we were an after thought of group.

All in all the restaurant is usually good and the service is typically great. This just appeared to be an off night for them.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was very sloppy, we had a birthd ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service was very sloppy, we had a birthday celebration a d they didnt ask to sing. We added that we had a shellfish allergy and it was not noted. Very dissapointed

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Land & Sea was delicious! Banana dessert ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Land & Sea was delicious! Banana dessert was amazing! So enjoyable!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great place for dinner with girlfriends! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great place for dinner with girlfriends!! Definitely requires a reservation!!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Benihana's several times an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I've been to Benihana's several times and everytime I go I am never disappointed. It is a lot of fun and great food!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, , Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic, the service was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was fantastic, the service was great, and the chef was pretty awesome. 10/10 would eat here again.

P.s. The filet minion was delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Family Style, , Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Christmas Lunch today with a fr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas Lunch today with a friend and had a wonderful time!! We both had steak and lobster and it was cooked perfectly! Our chef, Thang, was amazing and so entertaining! Diego made sure we had everything we needed in the most fluid and engaging way possible. Could not have asked for a better experience! Thank you everyone for making our day so great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a Holiday Lunch by our boss, an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This was a Holiday Lunch by our boss, and it was great food and good service. We were seated as per our reservation. Food was very good and the lunch prices were very reasonable.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was all good until the wait staff sta ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was all good until the wait staff started to wash the table etc while I was still there waiting for my final bill. It really was bad, they could have waited a few more minutes, other tables we empty .... that left a really bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The hostess staff seemed flustered and q ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The hostess staff seemed flustered and quite rude. We waited nearly 10 mins after being seated for someone to come take a drink order. Our table chef, Alfredo, was fantastic and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was one of the worst experiences I ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was one of the worst experiences I have had in a restaurant, lately. We were greeted by rude staff (the shift manager) who really didn't care about whether we dined there or not. The wait staff were impolite and service in general was lacking. We were celebrating a birthday and had the birthday girl not wanted to dine there, we would have walked out.

The food was disappointing! The food quality has degraded significantly. The shrimp used on the hibachi table was not even deveined.

This was my last time dining at this Benihana or any other Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Food was good although the chicken was n ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was good although the chicken was not cooked long enough. It was almost raw. Too many kids plus the banging and clanging of chef utinsels made it very noisy. The entertainment was good and our waitress was really great. My main problem was the price. Much too high for what is provided. The dining area had the look and feel of a plain concrete basement. But we had fun anyway.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Memorable service!!!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Memorable service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent! Service was extreme ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was excellent! Service was extremely fast! Overall was a great experience for our family holiday get together!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. My wife and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. My wife and I wanted to try something new as we were celebrating our 2 month wedding anniversary. From the moment we walked in until we left top notch service. We went during dinner time so of course there was a wait in which we did not have to wait long. I would highly recommend this restaurant and we definitely will be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, , Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

0 for 2 at this location. Terrible ser ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

0 for 2 at this location. Terrible service, inexperienced cooks on the grill, way too many people crammed in, and they do their best to rush you through your meal and out the door. We won't be back to this location. I suggest looking elsewhere in Shops of Legacy or visiting the Dallas location which is far better in all regards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Too crowded and loud. Not intimate at al ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Too crowded and loud. Not intimate at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.