Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Benihana - Plano

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Fun (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
See All
Good for Groups (29)
Kid-friendly (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Casual (14)
Romantic (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (12)
Healthy (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
People Watching (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Scenic View (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Spicy (4)
Vegan (4)
Waterfront (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1031 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 10, 2017

My husband ordered a 50.00 meal. His lobster was extremely overcooked. My friends and i all ordered expensive steaks and requested different levels of temperature for each, medium, medium well, well done.... all steaks were cooked at the exact same time... and all ended up being overcooked. Very disappointed. Will not be coming back. Too much money for overcooked and tough steaks and seafood. Horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

It was just ok...We love hibachi and usually just go to our local spot but thought I’d treat my Hubby to a fancier hibachi place. Unfortunately there was nothing “fancy” about Benihana. The chef was AWESOME but the ambiance, the restaurant layout, the taste of the food wasn’t special. Bummer!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Was amazing from the time we got there till the time we paid our

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

All was good- food, service, wine. Place was a bit noisy for my taste

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Had a 10:15pm reservation. They let us seat at 8:40. We waited an hour for a Chef only to discover that the grill had not been turned on. Salad with no ginger dressing, room temperature soup and two spoons full of veggies to go with my combination dinner. 80 dollars of a crappy experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Went here for a birthday party, it was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Seafood - shrimp and lobster - was terribly overcooked and tough. Not what I expect when paying $30+ per entree. Also, we always have to wait to be seated, usually 20 minutes or more...that is with a reservation. I would expect that on a weekend, but our last visit was on a Wednesday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Great. Enjoyed it very much. Celebrated my sons birthday there. Would go again and recommend it to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

Great service. Fast and food was exvellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

My reservation was at 6:00 and we got in 30 minutes early and the chef was very entertaining.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Birthday. Everyone made my daughter feel welcome. Especially enjoyed Oono, our chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Fun to watch food being cooked, chef is friendly, and foo is delicious!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Poor customer service at check in. Poor service from waiter. Excellent service from bartender and manager. Manager Josh made a bad experience better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Got to restaurant with no one there to greeting us after standing for 5 minutes had to go into restaurant and ask someone to seat us and that person said they would go get someone. After funalky being seated. They let us sit there for 10 to 15 minutes before asking us if we wanted anything to drink. Wasn’t impressed. Much better experiences in other Benihana’s in other cities

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Reservation was at 7:15. We were not seated until almost 8:00. Seated only black patrons at our table (we are black as well) then asked a white couple if they were ok sitting with us to which the couple stated, “thank you for letting us integrate your table.”

Group of people that came after us, seated after us some how still got their chef and food started 10 mins before our table.

Service took several minutes to receive anything when requested. Hostess took my credit card and forgot she had it and proceeded to give me the check. I had to go find her and “remind” her she had my card.

The whole experience seemed very “race based.” I have never had an experience like this during my several visits to your location but I will make sure that it doesn’t happen again by choosing not to visit again, not recommending to anybody location or visiting any of thank you our other locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Service was slow. We had a 40 minute delay between the salad course and the chef arriving at his station resulting in nearly an hour between courses. The place was not very busy and we were not offered a reason for the delay or addressed by any management. I get that one pay's for the show as much as the food but both were poorly executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great but made reservation at 6:30 and weren't seated until 6:50

Tags: Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had a party of 7 and 1 of the guests recently had a heart attack and is on a very strict no sodium diet. From the manager to the server to the chef they were very cautious and ensured the food was prepared accordingly. Even when we asked for the sauce they informed us it was very high in sodium and not suggested.

Benihana's is always a family hit and this proves the level of service and attentiveness they pay to their guest.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Perhaps because of the time of the reservation(9:30pm) and waiting until 10:15 before the cook came to begin the experience, our cook did not interact or talk to the table. There was no real hibachi experience. He didn’t perform any tricks and didn’t prepare the orders as requested.

I would like to see the hours of operation extended as The Shops OF Legacy is active and lively until 2am. I propose closing as early as midnight would be benificial to consumers as well as company profits.


Thanks for listening !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Far too smoky and not well ventilated. Service extremely slow today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

We love eating here! It is family friendly and offers a great birthday reward. The food tastes great and is plenty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Highly recommend dinner at Benihana. We have been to many different Benihana throughout the United States, and have found the restaurant in Plano to be one of the best. The chef's put on an excellent show and the food is cooked perfectly. It is a family friendly restaurant, that is both fun and tasty.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants and the location is great surrounded by other establishments.
The staff is very nice and accommodating. It was really crowded but we were able to get seated right away because of utilizing open table.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Celebrated birthday with family at the Plano location and chef was excellent as well as the wait staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Bday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This was a moderate dinner for a homecoming dinner date. Realistically, it was okay and it took a long time to get the food and to start. What was weird was my date and I had to wait 20 minutes even though we placed a reservation far in advance at 6:15pm.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Benihana's food was really good. I will definitely be returning for the next homecoming date.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Chief was outstanding. He made everyone comfortable and was very funny food was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great food and atmosphe. Chef was funny but the people we sat with where jerks.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great food and awesome chef entertainment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Everyone had a good time. Felt rushed, not the show I remember. Still enjoyable. Food was good. We left happy and full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We went for my girlfriends birthday and we seated a large party and the young adults had a blast.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

This restaurant was great! My friends and I went for a pre-dance dinner and it was amazing. When I called to add one more person, they were great about it and happy to serve. When we arrived it took a little longer than our reservation time but it was worth it. Our chef was amazing! I loved the food and the waiters always made sure our drinks were ful!! My only complaint would be we didn't get the green tea included and it took FOREVER to get the check. But overall great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

You need to be really into Japanese Food in order to enjoy Benihana’s. It was a great experience, but it is just not for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our waiter and chef was extremely accommodating to a quick change order with our food. They both really made sure everyone at the table enjoyed the experience. Great Job!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our chef was extremely rude. He called my adult 34 year old son "boy" several times. He cooked my daughters Terriyaki steak "rare" and did not include the Terriyaki sauce. When she asked for it to be cooked longer he refused. He then thru the Terriyaki sauce on her rice rather than her steak. He then told her "Do you think you can get me fired, are you trying to get me fired". He was also rude to our server to the point that we were embarrassed for him. He told him "you hurry up and pick up these plates. Hurry and moved out of the way". There was no reason for this as our server was excellent. I have never experienced such rude behavior. This particular chef has a history of being rude to customers. I cannot believe he is still employed here. If you don't get this particular chef, then the experience is always great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Groups, Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 19, 2017

It used to be our tradition to celebrate our birthdays here but we missed the past two years due to traveling but I made it a point to come back to one of our favorite spots for this year and we had the best time ever.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good Benihana restaurant in the North Dallas area. Had OpenTable reservations for 8PM but did not get seated until 8:40PM - note that it was a busy Friday evening. Our chef did a nice job preparing the Benihana basics, nicely seasoned, with the usual Benihana flair and antics.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Extremely poor management of time and reservation. Please take tips from other busy restaurants or give disclaimers about hibachi style seating.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was my girls first time and they thoroughly enjoyed the experience! They cleaned their plates and that was more than I could ask for. We hadn't even left yet and they were already asking when would we be back! It definitely will be sooner than later!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.