About Benihana - Plano

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for Groups (51)
Good for Birthdays (47)
See All
Fun (45)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Family Style (29)
Kid-friendly (28)
Casual (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Open Kitchen (18)
Romantic (14)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Business Meals (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Live Music (2)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for birthday dinner. Service was ve ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 21 hours ago

Went for birthday dinner. Service was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Superb food with a fabulous chef, Gustav ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Superb food with a fabulous chef, Gustavo. Everything was prepared like requested. Even the service was excellent. Wow, can still taste that mouth watering steak with the chicken fried rice. Everything was fixed to perfection!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrible. Service was slow. To ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was terrible. Service was slow. To spend 150.00 on a meal and be this dissatisfied is ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Good food fun chef

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food fun chef

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and drinks. Entertaining Chefs ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food and drinks. Entertaining Chefs. Great environment for dates and group dining.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Martin was the chef that was cooking at ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Martin was the chef that was cooking at our station. He was funny and full of energy made the seafood diablo amazing!!!! Will definitely go back and make sure to be where he is cooking!!

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great experience!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great chef and enthusiastic ..food was A ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great chef and enthusiastic ..food was AWESOME..will definitely go again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef "O No" was very good. He took t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Our chef "O No" was very good. He took the time to prepare and coolk the meat slowly - everything was juicy and tender. Great job

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to entertain guests, have a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to entertain guests, have a great meal and have fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Day

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect, as always!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would of given 5 stars on everything b ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

I would of given 5 stars on everything but our server was not wayyyy too serious and when my mom ordered another margarita he completely ignored her.

But our chef was AMAZING! Martin was super funny and got my brother laughing through the whole experience.

He was just all around amazing!

Will definetly be coming back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were seated promptly upon arrival and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

We were seated promptly upon arrival and the staff was polite. The meal was very entertaining and tasted great.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I will not be returning to this location ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

I will not be returning to this location. We had to wait almost 15 minutes for someone to return to the front and greet us forour reservation. The server forgot my order completely. Once he cook started a hour later he had to rush and fail to do any of the usual food entertainment and cut the small portion of shrimp and chicken. Oh, and my drink turned to water before my 1st refill came.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was nice food was great, but I ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The place was nice food was great, but I felt like we intruded on a group of people who was there for a birthday/anniversary dinner

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

My husband and I had a beautiful night o ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I had a beautiful night out. Our chef was a riot lol! He kept us entertained and food was cooked beautifully. We plan to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. The food was good ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great time. The food was good but it was a little loud and while our chef was extremely talented he didn't seem to be as personable as other chefs I've seen. Nonetheless I would still go back as it's good and fun

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dirty, tableside chef did not speak Engl ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dirty, tableside chef did not speak English, no show as promised. Absolute disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We had a reservation at 7:30. Didn't get ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:30. Didn't get seated until after 8.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We all enjoyed the food and had a great ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We all enjoyed the food and had a great time!! I ordered the hibachi shrimp and beef julienne. Only complaint was the fried rice and veggies were cold by the time the beef was done. I understand the meats can't be cooked together but seems like there is a way to all food served warm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was decent. Food was alright, we ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was decent. Food was alright, we had the dragon roll, salmon roll, and a salmon lunch boat. This location just has all hibachi tables and bar seating, and when we went it was quite smoky. Not sure if they can be more well ventilated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It would've been nice if there were more ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It would've been nice if there were more veggie options.

The wait with a reservation was still an hour so that was awesome.

The wait area is damn near non existent.

Chef was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Fantastic birthday event for my husband ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic birthday event for my husband - great vibe and excellent food. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited for my son's 21st birthday. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We visited for my son's 21st birthday. The chief was amazing and very entertaining, and the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to pick Benihana ,PLANO as re ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We decided to pick Benihana ,PLANO as restaurant to selebrate my mom birthday. Experience was great - we booked table for 6 and were seated just after we arrived. Our shef , Gustavo, ,cooked fenomenal. We enjoyed both from cooking process show and from the food. We would highly recommend on this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 20+ minutes past our pre-booked r ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waited 20+ minutes past our pre-booked reservation time. Service was good, chef did a good job. Food was OK at best. Shrimp was small and chewy, steak very thin, and the bill was much more than what the overall value. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent show, great price. A place to ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent show, great price. A place to repeat the

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great lunch experience. Less expensive t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great lunch experience. Less expensive than dinner, but almost the same amount of food as a dinner experience! Love the hibachi grilling experience...always entertaining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here about twice a year. Kids lik ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We eat here about twice a year. Kids like it and the food is consistently good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Results are unpredictable. The food on t ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Results are unpredictable. The food on the evening was so overcooked it was not eatable. It really epends on who you get as your table chef. Ask for Martin if you want food prepared right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had the best time when we went, every ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had the best time when we went, everything was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to watch such talented chefs! enj ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great to watch such talented chefs! enjoyed the show :) Food was great!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service are always good. No ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and service are always good. Noise level is high, and ambiance is just okay. This location is close by, or we might drive a bit further to an older location, simply for the old Japanese feel. Encorporate some of that into this location, turn down the noiae a bit, and it'd be perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great but chef didn't listen wh ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was great but chef didn't listen when we said no butter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made my reservation for 715p got there a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Made my reservation for 715p got there at 700p did have to wait till 715 to be seated. It was 745 before we got to order our food. We waiting after our order for almost 45 more minutes due to shortage of chefs (per the other people sitting at our table were informed by the waitress) Chef was great and very interactive with my kids. Food was great even my kids loved it. A bit pricey in my opinion as the prices i saw online were very different from the actual menu but none the less the food was great that I wouldn't complain about that.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Renny our chef was awesome! Can't wait t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Renny our chef was awesome! Can't wait to come back to learn the sex of his 2nd child on the way!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service And a great atmospher ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent service And a great atmosphere Really enjoyed myself

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. We enjoyed ha ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was a great experience. We enjoyed having our anniversary dinner. There and we are looking foward to come back on several different occasions.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Fun, Modern Decor, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.