About Benihana - Plano

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sea Scallops
Grilled Colossal Shrimp
Filet Mignon
Rainbow Sherbet
Hibachi Shrimp
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Chicken Fried Rice
Steak
edamame
Emperor's Belini
Hibachi Lobster
Strawberry Ice Cream
Benihana Salad
Benihana Onion Soup
Strawberry Cucumber Spritz Cocktail
Strawberry Sparkling Sangria
The Grape Escape
Rising Sun Lemon Drop Martini
Beni-Tini
Hibachi Fried Rice
Hana Awaka "Sparkling Flower" Cold Sake
Red Plum Sake Sangria
Las Vegas Sushi Roll
Strawberry Saketini
Ramune
Vanilla Ice Cream
Onion Soup
Banana Tempura
Shrimp Fried Rice
Mojit
Spicy Tofu Steak
Spicy Hibachi Chicken

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Plano ›

good for groups (66)
special occasion (55)
kid-friendly (42)
See All
great for lunch (21)
fit for foodies (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (10)
romantic (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (5)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

I asked for a quiet table, but they sat ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I asked for a quiet table, but they sat us with a birthday party for a teenager. They were loud and constantly snapping photos of each other on their phones.

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Was very disappointed with the entire ex ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Was very disappointed with the entire experience. Shrimp and scallops were very over done (rubbery) and portions were small. Chef did not engage with the table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a Belated Father's Day Celebratio ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a Belated Father's Day Celebration. We always have a Great time at Benihana. The food is good and fresh, the chefs are amazing, especially "Ohno" who has a brother named "Ohmygod". Simple greatness with knife skills and food prep.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2

Food was great. I just hate how it takes ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was great. I just hate how it takes an entire hour for the chef to actually come to the table. Overall, food was great

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My family and I had a great time celebra ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My family and I had a great time celebrating my nephew's birthday. The food was great and the chef was entertaining. Very kid friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

Food wasn't as good this time.

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food wasn't as good this time.

food5
ambience3
service3

Great food, chef started out pretty good ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food, chef started out pretty good but then became more interested in the basketball game. Very casual which is fine, just not what I was expecting

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for occassions

Dined on June 7, 2016

Great place for occasions, especially with toddlers who will watch the cook and you can eat with out interruption.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

I have been here several times, I always ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been here several times, I always make a reservation. I arrive 5 minutes before my reservation and still wait 15-20 minutes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana Doesn't Dissapoint

Dined on June 4, 2016

We've enjoyed Benihana's for several years. Each time we are enthralled at the chef's skill in preparing our meal and how delicious it tastes! This occasion was to celebrate our son's high school graduation. They seated us at our assigned reservation time and took our orders promptly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

High School Graduation Dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

Took my daughter here for her high school graduation dinner. Our party of 8 had one that was 40 minutes late. We waited of course but were seated within 5 minutes of her arrival. This was a busy Friday night too. Carlos was our Chef and was great. But the best part was the quality of the food. I had the Surf Side and added a crab cakes. It was all very impressive. Hard to decide if the calamari or the crab cake was better. But the best part was that my daughter really enjoyed it. Lots of good interaction from Carlos…..throwing food, etc. They gave her a free dessert as well We will definitely be returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night with Family

Dined on May 28, 2016

Had reservation and was seated immediately. Server and cook did an amazing job. Great evening celebrating a Kindergarten graduate and college 4.0 this semester. Food was delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

OK but pricey for experience

Dined on May 27, 2016

We went here to celebrate my boy's sixth birthday. The chef was good but it went fairly quickly. The server wasn't specific about extra costs when he gave us choices. We just thought it was part of the entree we were purchasing (because it was noted that it was a 5 course meal). We ended paying almost twice as much due to that. In addition, I wanted to order sushi rolls off of the happy hour menu....but they told me I had to walk over to the bar, order it, and bring it back to my seat when it was done. The bar was literally behind me.... I felt embarrassed to do so and felt very discouraged to order happy hour. At least my kids had a good time but we probably will end up going back to the Dallas location since they're more experienced, courteous, and informative of what we got.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Place if you are with the right people

Dined on May 23, 2016

It was just the wife and I and we were fortunate to be seated with some friendly people and we all enjoyed an entertaining meal. (Not always the case). My wife ordered the Chateaubriand And I did the. Steak and chicken combo. Both meals were tasty and properly prepared. The chef had a good sense of humor. Not cheap but reasonable for the quality and quantity.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

sad to report a bad experience

Dined on May 20, 2016

We were looking forward to a birthday celebration at Benihana. We had never dined at the restaurant before. I'm sad to say that the server was unfriendly and short. The "chef" was mildly entertaining but overcooked all the food. He left my husband's shrimp on the grill for at least 20 minutes! Most of the food was tasteless. Also, he didn't prepare and serve all of the items listed in the menu that are supposed to accompany the children's entrée. The service was so slow that we didn't even want to stay for the ice cream dessert. Such a disappointment. We will not return to Benihana. I am shocked that so many people dine there.

food4
ambience3
service1

We did not get a waitress for 20 min aft ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We did not get a waitress for 20 min after we were seated. My sons order was incorrect twice. We went to celebrate his birthday! The chief split a bowl of garlic on the floor right before cooking and split it all over my daughters jeans and shoes. The experience was stressful and very disappointing. Lunch took over two hours. The food was great, but left feeling exhausted and not in any hurry to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostesses that night were more than ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The hostesses that night were more than patient with the people getting frustrated about the wait. They handled it very well and deserved a big tip that night. Our server and cook were amazing and on top of everything. Definitely was worth the wait for my daughters birthday!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites places for us and with family

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was wonderful. the Beef Filet is always melt in you mouth. Chef was colorful and an expert. As always, thanks for the fantastic adventure.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was Awesome. Except we had to ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was Awesome. Except we had to wait for 30 mins past our reservation time to get a table. Total turn down, whats the use of reserving the table?

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday fun

Dined on May 5, 2016

The restaurant was nice and the service was excellent

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Our worst experience at Benihana

Dined on May 1, 2016

We usually have a good meal and good service at Benihana. This time was so different. We made a reservation and had to wait 30 minutes. We also had to wait a very long time before the chef got to our table. The waitress was rude and we kept having to ask for everything more than once. She hit me in the head with my bowl of rice when giving it to me. She also spilled water on my daughter. The problem was she didn't even apologize. We were celebrating my daughter's birthday. I had to tell the waitress three times that we were celebrating her Birthday. The food was good once we finally got it but the service ruined her 11th Birthday dinner.

food4
ambience3
service4

Great place for preteens

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great place for preteens

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Overcharged

Dined on April 28, 2016

The waitress who was horrible, overcharged my card and didn't say anything. I called to the restaurant who explained what she did.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

VIPreview

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

First I only have myself to blame for ever coming back here however a family member from out of town really wanted to try it. This is the song that never ends. If you go here expecting the tradition of Benihana forget about it…they are long gone. What is very consistent is the lack of management. I believe this place runs on auto-pilot. I felt bad for the other 4 people at the table with us. You could tell they had saved for a special occasion and they were very disappointed in the food, presentation, service, basically all the things I have come to accept from this chain. I have stated nothing less in other posts on OpenTable. Long gone is the tradition that once enveloped this restaurant. 25 years ago it was fun, special, a treat it you will. For me I will most likely not give them another opportunity to rob me of an evening. RIP Benihana.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant for family events

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great restaurant for family events

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The staff is not trained

Dined on April 22, 2016

The server charged for an extra entree and messed the order up. My friend ordered a filet mignon but was given a steak. He asked for filet when chef started cooking so we were charged double. Then the server hand write the gratuity on the bill 38.00

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I've seen better

Dined on April 22, 2016

Chef wasn't very impressive had request that went in answered didn't know how to properly grill a steak didn't follow directions veggies were bland

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not their finest hour.

Dined on April 19, 2016

We went to Benihana to celebrate my grand daughter's birthday. The chef did not have his best day. He had trouble with our order. Forgot one of the items that should have been included with my meal. Put another guest's entrée on my grandson's plate. The chef did replace the food serving error and management made it right for us on the bill. The food was good in spite of the serving errors. We have in the past and will in the future go to Benihana to celebrate special occasions. It just wasn't their finest hour this night.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Lacking

Dined on April 18, 2016

We've been to Benihana several times for birthday celebrations. This was our first trip to the Plano location. I had issues with the reservation from the start and had to call twice to make sure that they got it right - they had not. When speaking with the employee on the phone about the problems with the reservation she started explaining why they couldn't seat us all together before I had a chance to explain the problem - which was not what she was talking about. Once there we had a fine evening but the chef forgot several things while preparing. Two of our party ordered steamed rice - he prepared everyone fried rice and then realized his error - asked someone to get them steamed rice and it didn't come until he was done preparing the entire meal. He also left off the mushrooms from two of our orders. He was pleasant but a bit absent minded. I don't think we will be headed back to Benihana in the future as there are other options closer to home with better experience.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great for the experience, food not as much

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was my 8 yr olds choice. and honestly I'm not a fan of Japanese steak houses. There are all the same tricks but our chef was a little flat. the food was good for some but just ok for others. I think the higher end items were more flavorful. There wasn't the excessive salt I've had at other places. The wait staff was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

We've eaten at a number of Benihana locations. The Plano, TX restaurant is one of the best we've enjoyed. The location, finish out and service are fantastic. As you can imagine, at a busy location like this the quality of chefs that provide the show and cook the food are great!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice weekend lunch

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our dining group enjoyed the lunch. The chef prepared good, fresh entrees and a fun presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is always great. The food the ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

This place is always great. The food the atmosphere everything. It is always fun for birthdays and stuff.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good time...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Was a really good time, the Chef SANCHEZ make the difference and he was so good cooking and interacting with us.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Monthly visit for us, good time.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Monthly visit for us, good time.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Not so Hot!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We choose this restaurant to celebrate my family members 70th birthday, at the recommendation of my work colleague we had gone the week before to Irving to celebrate her husband and was pleased at the things they did to celebrate his birthday. We were seated promptly and it went downhill from there. Our waitress was two weeks in and need additional training as well as a class on customer service. Our chef came to the grill and started his routine only to find out the grill wasnt hot enough so he took off the chicken and raised the heat and walked away for a while. When he resumed his routine he wished my sis a HBday, sang a few bars of a song and then preceded to make the rice and shaped it into a "sexy lady" with two egg shells for breast (inappropriate). The rest of the dinner was uneventful, had to get our waitress attention several times (talking with other staff member). Overall for the money we paid for this meal and the difference in celebrating from one location to another, we won't be returning.

food3
ambience5
service5

My favorite chef was busy, so tried sitt ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

My favorite chef was busy, so tried sitting at the bar for a faster dining experience. Food was good, but not great. Service was outstanding, as usual. Doubtful I will eat at the bar again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Steak

Dined on March 24, 2016

The steak here at Benihana is the absolute best. It simply melts in your mouth. I always order an extra side of rice to go with my leftovers.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

We have been coming here for many years and were very disappointed this time. We were seated then had to wait over an hour before they started. The soap was not hot, and the meat chicken was tough. then the picture they took of our group had a big blur in the middle of it. Overall very disappointing.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

VIPReview

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

It is my job to write these reviews and I always try to write each one with a level of objectivity. Benihana has been a long standing tradition for me dating back 25+ years to Park Central. There has always been a certain expectation to the experience. Over time what I have observed is a consistent level of inconsistency. Before I go into more detail let me also throw out a needed observation…when you pull all your wait staff to a table to sing happy birthday you leave a huge service gap for all other patrons. Initially we sat for about 10 minutes before someone came by to take our drink order. This gave me the opportunity to observe other tables and to see how they were being represented. Our table’s experience was categorically on the lower end of the experience. The cook was flat from the onset. I had a simple request for my meal which he ignored and not until he had finished everyone’s meal and cleaned the grill did he re-fire mine which noticeably did not make him happy. By this point everyone else was done dining and so was I. Another point of frustration was I had to leave the table and go to the bar to get drinks because the waitress disappeared for extended periods. I mentioned this to the bartender which should have raised a red flag for the manager to check into the situation; that unfortunately never happened. I flagged the manager, Valentine, as we were leaving and shared the experience. I’m not sure why he wasn’t circulating the restaurant to ensure quality service in the first place? To net this out I dropped about $250 for a party of 4 and feel like I left $200 on the table. In fairness to Valentine I did call him back today and he said he discussed this with the staff and has set a flag to ensure we are taken care of if we should come back. I hope what he was saying is he has set that flag for everyone who walks in the door expecting to experience a quality evening that Benihana’s was traditionally built on.

Tags: notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.