About Benihana - Plano

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Benihana - Plano
Sea Scallops
Grilled Colossal Shrimp
Filet Mignon
Rainbow Sherbet
Hibachi Shrimp
Chicken Fried Rice
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Steak
Emperor's Belini
edamame
Hibachi Lobster
Strawberry Ice Cream
Benihana Salad
The Grape Escape
Strawberry Sparkling Sangria
Rising Sun Lemon Drop Martini
Strawberry Cucumber Spritz Cocktail
Benihana Onion Soup
Beni-Tini
Hibachi Fried Rice
Hana Awaka "Sparkling Flower" Cold Sake
Red Plum Sake Sangria
Las Vegas Sushi Roll
Strawberry Saketini
Vanilla Ice Cream
Ramune
Onion Soup
Banana Tempura
Shrimp Fried Rice
Mojit
Spicy Tofu Steak
Spicy Hibachi Chicken

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Dallas - Fort Worth
Japanese
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Plano ›

Good for Groups (67)
Special Occasion (62)
Kid-friendly (45)
See All
Great for Lunch (21)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (7)
Family Style (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Casual (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great service. The restau ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and great service. The restaurant was very warm that night

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Spent my daughter's 14th birthday dinner ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Spent my daughter's 14th birthday dinner at the Plano site. Good food with good entertainment.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

waitress was curt and short with my step ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

waitress was curt and short with my step mom and i. we split a meal and she kept promptly reminding us that we only got one serving while neither of us were asking for more. the chef was great and very good with the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Kitchen messed up our order and sent wro ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Kitchen messed up our order and sent wrong ingredients out to chef. Chefs cart was not fully stocked with needed items, chef had to borrow from another chef.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food is always good, sometimes service i ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food is always good, sometimes service is slow. Invariably we are seated with small children in a group and not so enjoyable for us listening to crying kiddo's for our evening out !

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Wonderful food. Great services. Great ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful food. Great services. Great value for what you pay. Excellent fried rice. Great steak also.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited 1 hr at table for a cook. Wai ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We waited 1 hr at table for a cook. Wait staff good but restaurant was terribly under staffed. Food good but not great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Ca!!n't wait to go back...had the best ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Ca!!n't wait to go back...had the best people that sat with us. Made my birthday great

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait 10 minutes after arriving ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had to wait 10 minutes after arriving even though I was on time for my reservation and the restaurant was completely empty. Other people arriving after me were seated immediately with no reservation. Restaurant was full of crickets. Our waitress was extremely slow and forgot to bring several of the items we ordered. For the entrees, my chicken and noodles were extremely overcooked and almost burned. Would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The chef was too low key compared the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The chef was too low key compared the other chefs that were making laugh. The chicken was semi dry and the shrimp were diced up way too much.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to the Plano loc ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was our first time to the Plano location (we have been to the Dallas one a few times) and we weren't all that impressed overall. It was loud, busy, order messed up, rushed and food was not seasoned much. Manager did accommodate my son's shellfish allergy by cooking his food in the back which we appreciated. Our chef was fun and outgoing. Since my son had his filet pre-made in back, they threw away the extra filet that was cooked. I thought they could of at least asked if we wanted it instead of being wasteful and throwing it away. We were not offered dessert. But they did bring out ice-cream for my son's birthday but he couldn't eat it because he was allergic. We will go back to the Dallas location in the future.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This was the absolute best benihana expe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was the absolute best benihana experience we have ever had. The chef was fantastic, we went for a family birthday and he had everyone laughing the whole time.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, our chef was a little in the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food, our chef was a little in the quiet side.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cooked perfectly. I felt our co ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food was cooked perfectly. I felt our cook didn't do too many tricks while he was cooking, but we also didn't have any children at the table. The members of my group appeared to be happy with the 'show', so I guess a plus there. Would definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was probably the worst experience w ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was probably the worst experience we've had at a Benihana. We've been to this location before, and it's always been good, but not this time. We got a reservation ahead of time, but came early in case they had any cancellations. They told us the wait was two hours, but that they would call us if they had any earlier slots open up. They never called, and we came 90 minutes later at our regular time. The restaurant was half empty with no wait. Very frustrating. It took forever for our chef to arrive, and the food was overly salty and the meat was overcooked. We won't be back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great place. Great food. Great chef. Gre ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great place.

Great food.

Great chef.

Great atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. The chef amazing I w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great atmosphere. The chef amazing I will recommend it. The price is reasonable

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a dinner with our niec ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were there for a dinner with our niece, but a young man (in his early twenties) at our table was there for his birthday. There were others with birthdays at the restaurant and they seemed to be well taken care of. The young man himself told the wait staff that it was his birthday and all he was hoping for was one of their birthday hats to wear during his meal.

Even though their party and ourselves reminded the waitress of his request, she waited until after the check was disbursed before bothering to show up with the hat and enough of an attitude about it to feel the cooling of the mood around the table.

It seems like a small thing, and it is, but it is a memory that will last for everyone at the table and keep any of us from going back for a special occasion at this restaurant based on the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Our kids love this place! They always ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our kids love this place! They always eat so well here! Ono was a great chef and wish I could remember bartenders name but he was great !

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lobster was tough and kind of tasteless. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Lobster was tough and kind of tasteless. Streak had great flavor but was kind of tough on the edges.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

We celebrated my daughter's birthday wit ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's birthday with some close friends. It was 3 adults and 4 children. We had an awesome experience from the reservation to the complimentary valet service at the end of our visit. The employees all have great hospitality and the food was delicious! We will be back soon!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go here for all our birthdays and I f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We go here for all our birthdays and I felt the lady that was waiting our table was not very good she would forget to get you something. We had to ask about having our picture taking for my daughters birthday. She was very slow.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was terrific and the wait staff ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was terrific and the wait staff was far better than any other Benihana in the DFW area. We went to the Plano restaurant because we weren't able to get a reservation at our usual location in Dallas. However, the service in Plano far exceeded what we received from the stoned out waiter - who couldn't remember anything (or even return to the table near the end of the meal) - that we had the last time we dined at the Dallas location. We will return to Benihana's Plano.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My family really enjoyed our dining expe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My family really enjoyed our dining experience the food was great. It was a little cramped with 4 people on the side. Everything else was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at Binihana's was amazing! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My experience at Binihana's was amazing! The scenery was great, the service was very polite and amazing, and the food was soooooo good. Me and my wife went. We ordered one entree and an extra side of brown rice, me and her both was very full. I was skeptical about going due to the high prices I was hearing about, but the amount and the quality of the food, it is very worth it. The cook, he was very nice and funny aswell. He actually made the experience a lot more fun for the entire table. My overall experience I would say I have found my new favorite restaurant, but the best part of the night is that the total bill for me and my wife came out to be 12 dollars and some change.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, chef was great, food ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was great, chef was great, food was great...we had a blast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great fun. Gustavo was excel ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Good food, great fun. Gustavo was excellent. I will definitely plan another reason to return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only confusing thing was the parking ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The only confusing thing was the parking. I had not been in this area before and driving up to the restaurant you could only see a valet option. Ended up parking in a place that almost towed my car because it was not a public garage. The atmosphere was loud, but the seating at the table allowed you to still have conversations. The food was great, a bit pricy but I knew that a head of time so was not surprised. Overall I would come again with a group of friends its a nice way to have a fun dinner and just hang out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I Wish they change the seating at the hi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I Wish they change the seating at the hibachi table. It feels very cramped and too close to the person next to u.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were celebrating my daughter's 29th b ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were celebrating my daughter's 29th birthday on a Sunday afternoon. Everything was going well until the table chef began his orchestrations - my daughter, her mother, and myself all ordered the same thing - filet mignon. Two filet mignons were brought out and served along with what appeared to be "standard" steak - we brought this to the waitress' attention late in the meal process but no attempt was made to replace the "standard" steak with filet mignon. The waitress offered to "comp" my daughter's meal which we agreed to - I didn't check my receipt until I got home and saw that I was charged for three filet mignon meals with no "comp" shown. We won't be back. If you go be prepared to pay attention to everything and do not believe any commitment made by Benihana staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Need to turn the AC down. The seat I was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Need to turn the AC down. The seat I was at was right behind another hibachi table and basically I was stuck between two hibachi grills.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I waited 15 minutes for my 8:30 reservat ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I waited 15 minutes for my 8:30 reservation. Then waited at the table for over 30 minutes for a cook to arrive. I had to ask a random server to get me a glass of wine because my waiter disappeared. Was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

really enjoyed the service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

really enjoyed the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I request for guest check and receipt by ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I request for guest check and receipt by email ,get no answer

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Delicious dishes

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great until the cook felt ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great until the cook felt the need to criticize my wife about the way she ordered her steak. I'll never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Always an entertaining show and great fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always an entertaining show and great food! Our chef was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been taking kids there for 30 years ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Have been taking kids there for 30 years and now grandkids. Food and service generally excellent and all very familiar. Unfortunately favorite little tricks have disappeared along with actual Japanese chefs. The old shrimp in the hat trick now replaced by a trick ketchup bottle; kind of sad.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Benihana needs to improve on food qualit ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Benihana needs to improve on food quality. The taste is horrendous...what I would equate to a $5 cheap chinese food restaurant.

- up charge for chicken fried rice is ridiculous for the few measley pieces

- everything (meat, shrimp,) all taste the same as it was smothered with Soy sauce.

- shrimp was chewy, not fresh

- steak was over done

- taste was so bland

Disappointed that we chose to celebrate there! Not what I would expect. There are other hibachi restaurants in area that out ranked benihana.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Always an entertaining experience making ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always an entertaining experience making it fairly enjoyable eating, but the a/c was non-existent with a room temperature making it uncomfortable. The Price of food is reasonable for the experience, and the soup is better tasting, but you do get more veggies and appetizers included at "sho-gun". Just saying

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.