Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Benihana - Plano

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Plano is located in The North Shops at Legacy near the fountain, whose colorful dancing waters provide a dazzling background from which to enjoy your Teppanyaki meal. For those with a limited amount of time during the day, try Benihana’s Express Lunch, available Monday through Friday from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. Enjoy the food you love cooked fresh and served quickly, to get you back to your busy day.

5840 Legacy Circle
Suite D130
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Bishop

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 467-2242

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/plano-tx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (43)
Fun (43)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Good for Groups (37)
Kid-friendly (36)
Casual (28)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Family Style (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Business Meals (12)
Romantic (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Authentic (9)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (4)
Spicy (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Organic (2)
Cozy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
957 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I've never had a bad experience with this restaurant. The service and food is always great and the staff is very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Love love the experience every time we dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was my first time at Benihana and I had a really had a great time celebrating my mom's birthday. I don't know why I hadn't been there yet but now that I know how good it is I'll be going back for sure!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The cook was horrible! He tried to do a trick and dropped the spatula and then once left to go get a new one he tried another trick and the spatula almost hit the lady next to us in the chest. We had to tell him not do any more tricks just cook. There was nothing he tried to do to make up for the near tragic experience. It made the entire dinner really awkward after that. The cooks name started with a B and he had his name tag upside down which I advised him. I don't know if I'll be coming back or not. Sad thing is the waitress was really sweet and the food was pretty good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My experience at this location was awesome! I came for my birthday and I had a few extra guests and the hostess and manager were soooo understanding and accommodated me! It was very much appreciated!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner at Benihana. We had such a great time, delicious dinner, and met new friends at our table! Thank you for your service Benihana!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Enjoyable site for special occasion to celebrate birthdays with friends and family

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This review really compares my experience at Benihana Dallas and the location in Plano. Benihana is always a fun place to go, however, I did not enjoy the "atmosphere" at the Plano location as much as the one in Dallas. Seemed to be a much smaller space -more tables crammed in an area and more people crammed in per table. There were 5 adults, 2 children and 1 teen at our table. Needless to say we were sitting arm to arm. The atmosphere is more "modern" which does not necessarily lend itself to the overall experience. In general, always a good time and food is consistent (although pricey to eat there).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We came here for lunch with our 11 yr old son to celebrate a birthday. We were a bit disappointed that although we were there for lunch and not dinner, we didn't get a "show". Our cook flipped the egg around a couple times and that was about it. Money would have been better spent elsewhere for the same food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Awesome time! Good was great . The chef was funny and kept us all in stitches as he prepared our food. Will be back

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had reservations at 5:30 pm on a Friday evening. When we walked in, it felt like they had been closed for the winter and were setting up.

We finally got seated at about 5:50. Then the waitress forgot to put our appetizers in.

I spent almost $300 there and was hoping for better service. Food was great as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Chef Martin was great! The filet mignon he prepared for me was delicious, so tender to cut with a chop stick! Savory!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

AWESOMENESS every time we're here!!! Thank you so much for making every visit special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I really love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was not cooked properly the chef must be new because he made the meat like beef jerky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great service, food and entertainment. We highly recommend!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We were celebrating my birthday. It was the best experience I had at Plano's Benihana or any Benihana. Our chef was Renny, he has a sense of humor and enjoyed his job. We played food toss. Some guests were better at it then others. The food was great. I ordered the lobster it was cooked perfectly. My daughter enjoyed the chicken and shrimp. I ordered tempura shrimp as an appetizer. It was good, I think it was over priced. Plano's Benihana food and service has been consistently great but this time it was very fun and entertaining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Needless to say while the food and atmosphere were fantastic a near perfect night was ruined by poor management.

My friend brought a birthday certificate for $30 that he received. At the end of the meal we asked to have our checks split as our meals were being expensed as we were on business travel. The server explained to us that if the checks are separate that my friend could not use his certificate, (work policy is we could not have the meal listed on the receipt of the other person even if it was free). Under standing that this was something that our server would be unable to override we asked to speak to the Manager. She came over and we explained the issue however not only would she not honor the certificate but had the audacity to laugh in my friends face when he brought up the fact that yes we are paying separate but technically we still purchased a meal as the certificate stated. While my friend did lose his temper I admit it probably would not have happened if the manager did not laugh and seem to take pleasure at his dilemma.

I am very disappointed in the way she felt empowered to treat a customer in this way.Especially a customer who eats at this location every other week at least twice week if not more.

I hope that there are some changes in how customers are treated at this location as both my friend and I enjoy the food at Benihana's immensely and go every time we are traveling in a city with one in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Loved our Hibachi chef. He was very fun!! The food was really good too. We will definitely be going back and asking for Renny!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Another home run for Benihana. Our chef was excellent and had our 9 year old laughing the entire time. What a blast!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very family friendly. Upscale...and their food is very tasty. Will go back.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Disabled Access, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It took over an hour for our cook to begin making the food. The extractor was not working properly, and the smoke was unbearable. It was fun for the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We are regulars and we love Benihana. It seems it's taking longer each time for them to start cooking. Our table was full immediately but we still waited 30 minutes for them to start cooking. By the time the entire dinner was done, it was an hour and a half after we arrived. Much too long of a wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We go every year for family bday and fathers day celebration. Every year we have a blast!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Benihana in Plano never disappoints for special occasions

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Renny is the best chef. PERIOD. We were celebrating a birthday!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Even with a reservation and checking in twice we were never seated. The staff was very rude. We will never return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Thang was amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Marco is the best Chef at this location!

The food is always prepared very well and his showmanship is the same whether you are his first table of guests or his last.

Our waiter forgot a few items that we ordered, but other than that, we had a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Birthday Party Celebration- Would have liked to been seated away from the waiters door. At first seemed ok, but hearing that door open and closed just isn't what a customer would want to have with their dining experience. Overall: Nice experience of food, preparation and fun with my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I love this place! It's an awesome experience and we always meet friendly and exciting people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

One of the special places to enjoy lunch or dinner with my wife and when the children are in town, making it a family affair. Reservations are recommended. Open Table is a great way to reserve at Benihana.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Awesome staff and drinks are awesome! Will definitely come back again bext year

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The food was excellent as was the performance, however the service was lacking. Green tea and ice cream were two of the items listed as part of our order. We were not offered either. The waiter did not come back except to give us our check. We at that time asked for the two items and he brought them.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Need to work on refilón beverages
I have to ask several times fo my refill

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The server appeared to be new, which is not a bad thing. However, I was somewhat forgetful and unsure of himself.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This is my favorite local location out of the 3. Our cook was very entertaining and pleasant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Our hibachi chef Gustavo was great food wise and company wise great conversations and food prepared to our entire expectation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Fun, enjoyable experience, and not to mention the wonderful food item that were prepared and cooked for us, was delicious!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.