About Benihana - New York

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Enjoy one of the best shows in NYC at the original Benihana. Start with drinks and sushi at our first floor contemporary sushi and cocktail bar, great for after-work drinks and meeting friends. Or, go to our second-floor dining room where your personal chef will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds. See what made Benihana the legend that it is today. Looking to host an event or private party? Our private dining rooms are always a crowd pleaser. Call for more details and price options. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Fried Rice
Steak
Surf Side
Assorted Sushi
Zumo Roll
Tempura
Chocolate Icecream
Grilled Shrimp
Filet Mignon
Green Tea Ice Cream
Chicken Fried Rice Close Up
Grilled Zucchini
Chicken Fried Rice
Salad With Romaine Lettuce With Ginger Dressing
Onion Soup
White Peach Sake Sangria
Green Tea
Agedashi Tofu
Lunch Boat With Chicken
Mango Roll
Rolls
Benihana Excellence- Teriyaki Beef* Julienne With Scallions And Colossal Shrimp.
Hibachi steak and shrimp
Salad
Hibachi Grilled Vegetables
Clear soup
Uramaki Rolls
Baked Roll
Gotham Roll
Crispy Spicy Tuna
Philidelphia And Spider Rolls
Benihana Delight
Sushi
Lobster Tail Sauted In Butter
Salmon Skin Roll
Gotham Rolls
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Grape Crush
Shirmp Lover Roll
Sushi Rolls
Present Roll
Sumo Roll
Hibachi Shrimp
Colossal Shrimp with Grouper

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (154)
Special Occasion (114)
Kid-friendly (86)
See All
Great for Lunch (70)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Hot Spot (33)
Romantic (32)
Late-night Find (31)
Great for Brunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Scenic View (11)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner was delicious as usually!!we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Dinner was delicious as usually!!we had great time I took my boyfriend for his birthday dinner he was very satisfied

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Private Room, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was my 1st time here and it was amazi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was my 1st time here and it was amazing chef Emmanuel was amazing my kids n husband loved it as well

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced and a litle ignorant servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Over priced and a litle ignorant service, but realy good food and a interesting exprriance with the chef at your table preparing the food with tool fencing and fire. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Like your restaurant to Much. I Will alw ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Like your restaurant to Much. I Will always visit your restaurant

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

9 people to a table is too many, we were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

9 people to a table is too many, we were very crammed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Huge dissapointment! We had guests from ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Huge dissapointment! We had guests from overseas. Reserved place for 4:30. Chef did not arrive for 50 minutes and stuff kept telling us table is getting set. We had to leave after 50 min without eating so we are not late for show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was really slow. Had 8:45 reserv ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was really slow. Had 8:45 reservation got seated around 9:30 and didn't start to eat until close to 10 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

They didnt seat us when we arrived for o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

They didnt seat us when we arrived for our reservation. We had to wait 20 minutes to be seated. I had to ask to be seated because we had a play to catch an 75 minutes after our reservation. When we were seated we told the waitress our urgency. She later told us we had to wait 20 minutes because no chefs were available. I dont understand why there wouldnt be any chefs available when the whole concept of the restaurant is to have chefs were table. We asked for the check early so that we could pay first and leave. The waitress ended up cancelling our order and giving us a hard time about her misunderstanding and that she will try to our our order back in - when we havent even started eating let alone had the chef start cooking. The food was way too salty. I requested for gluten free and it was amazing that the restaurant accommodates this dietary restriction but the chef put so much soy sauce in my meals. I couldnt enjoy my food even after asking the chef to fix this - he was unable to. On top of that the chef (although an accident) while doing his fancy moves on cooking while trying to look cool he ended up hurling food on my dress which left a large brown stain. I must say though, I appreciate the chef serving us the food first because I was gluten free.

we were late for our play and the food was not even worth being late for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The food is amazing. They are always loo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food is amazing. They are always looking for new items to put on their menu. The employees always make you feel valued. And always are so respectful

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very bad management of the reservation. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very bad management of the reservation. When we arrived already a lot of costumers where waiting for a table. After 40 minutes waiting and still no information we give up.

We remember the time when Benihana NY was a good place to go. That’s long time ago. There are a lot other good restaurants in NY, don’t waste your time and your money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

They should limit seating to 8 per table ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

They should limit seating to 8 per table. We were 9 at it was not comfortable.

Also, if I book at 7:45 I expect to be seated and start eating at the latest by 8:15. Here it was almost nine. first we had to wait for 15 minutes to be seated, then 30 minutes before our chef was able to start cooking for us: Tables are paired and only one cook at a time can prepare food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Went on 4pm early dinne, wait is not tha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went on 4pm early dinne, wait is not that long & food was great

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not at all impressed with our serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was not at all impressed with our server. She was not friendly and did not smile once. She was very curt with her responses and we all felt uncomfortable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall it was ok. I just was upset that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Overall it was ok. I just was upset that I had made a reservation at 7:15 and wasn't seated until 7:50. It was my birthday and that pushed back all my plans. I didn't understand why I had made a reservation in the first place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Horrible food, horrible everything plus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Horrible food, horrible everything plus the smell of food on my dress, unbelievable bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I had made a reservation here for my fia ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I had made a reservation here for my fiancee's birthday and it was an amazing time! Loveddddddddd it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was much better some years ago !!! Pi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It was much better some years ago !!!

Pitty !

Down.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Decent food but service too way too long ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Decent food but service too way too long. We got hibachi at 7, but because of slow service, we didn't leave until 9:30. Speed it up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great place our server Robin was AWESOME ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great place our server Robin was AWESOME!!!! and our cook Pedro was extraordinary!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant I really appreciate I w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good restaurant I really appreciate

I will always visit and eat there

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and i absolutely lovveeeee ben ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My friend and i absolutely lovveeeee benihanas and we decided to go as an after work dinner date. Our waiter was Mario and he was amazing! He kept checking on us and was so friendly. He made us feel so comfortable. I only disliked the fact that we were a party of two and we were joined by a party of 6 where 4 of the patrons were 11 year olds! Thats should be left up to the parties to decide if they are OK sitting with a bunch of children. Nevertheless, Benihanas will always be a restaurant of choice for me. Also, you guys are known for your garlic butter dont change that! No one wants regular butter! The garlic butter is amazing!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Everything was fine up to the moment 2 l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything was fine up to the moment 2 ladies came with 2 young children. The youngest one, may be 1 and 1/2 or 2 did not stop crying and screaming. I have grand children, when they were very young, if they started crying my son would taken them out of the restaurant's room.

It was quite unbearable. It ruined our lunch, we enjoyed meeting and chatting, impossible to talk, that was too bad. I wonder if the staff could have said something.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We wait for long time to get served, in ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We wait for long time to get served, in our table a lady expressed that she had seafood intolerance but the cooker was not taking this into account, so he went inside to cook for her while we were waiting... I studied this restaurant as Harvard bussines school case and I m very dissapointed, they are no more an exampke to learn from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Very smokey in the hibachi room. Could ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very smokey in the hibachi room. Could have better exhaust fans.. Chef very entertaining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was absolutely delicious!!! We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious!!! We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go there every year for my bday. Took wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Go there every year for my bday. Took way too long to get served. Our server would disappear for long periods leaving the whole table thirsty for more drinks. The rice came out as everyone finished all of thier food as if it were dessert. No one ate it. They kept bringing and cooking into the food what one lady clearly said she was allergic to. And on top of it all, I didnt even get offered the usual pic that you get after spending $200 on your bday dinner. It was the worst experience I've had at Benihanas. Definitely rethinking my bday tradition. Rebekah

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Our first time at a "brand name" hibachi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our first time at a "brand name" hibachi restaurant. We were seated a few minutes after our reservation time which was fine. They gave my party and another smaller party a private room which was more than we expected. The tropical drinks were really good. Our chef was fairly skilled at performing/cooking. This was the first hibachi experience for two of my guests and they enjoyed it. I have been to smaller family-owned hibachi restaurants where the shows are more entertaining. I didn't experience too much of that but the food was delicious regardless.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was the worst meal I may have ever ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was the worst meal I may have ever had. Bad food, bad service, cook was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Going to Benihana has become a yearly tr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Going to Benihana has become a yearly tradition for birthdays, however I was disappointed this year because I took my nephew and niece for their birthday and informed staff at least 5 times, during reservation, during confirmation at time of arrival and even when seated at the table yet no one came over to sing which was disappointing. Other than that the food as always was delicious.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We went to Benihana for an informal team ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went to Benihana for an informal team meal and it was a lot of fun! We found sitting at the Teppan table highly enjoyable and the food and drinks were great. Although slightly pricey as we were a large group, we felt this was worth paying for in light of the overall experience. Would definitely recommend for a group - we were 10 people and had our own private room. We booked the day before and felt very welcomed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thought there would be more knife skills ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Thought there would be more knife skills / theatrical like movements. Was disappointed. Food is satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Waiters were careless and slow. Otherwis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Waiters were careless and slow. Otherwise the food and the ambiance was really good. The cook was great too and we liked the show when he was cooking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Was excited to go but was thoroughly dis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Was excited to go but was thoroughly disappointed. Reservations were made but our table was not seated until 20-30 minutes later, I assume to get additional parties to make a full table. After being seated, the wait staff was okay although we did feel as though we were rushed to place our order. The hibachi cook was very friendly, made it an entertaining night. The worst part though, after eating the typical hibachi meal (shrimps, fried rice, veggies) and my order of chicken, I IMMEDIATELY got a bubbling feeling in my stomach. We had to leave shortly after and use the bathroom even faster. i believe the chicken may have been undercooked. Very disappointing

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

That chicken fried rice 😍😍😍

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

That chicken fried rice 😍😍😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Booking online worked perfect Got perfec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Booking online worked perfect

Got perfect drinks fast

Got the talbe on time

The food was excellent

The service was good

Super experience

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably delicious and entertaining. Lun ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Reliably delicious and entertaining. Lunch special was reasonably priced too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The cooker was uncredibly nice but the w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The cooker was uncredibly nice but the waiter was not really correct with us.

It is not comfortable that all the clothws get smell of food.

The food was really good. And the quantity was few but with execellent quality.

I will recommend to my friends visiting NYC your restaurant.

The style of restaurant should be extended to Europe (where we are from, exactly from Barcelona).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Great service food was amazing the wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great service food was amazing the waiter made sure to get everyone's order correctly .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is very kind. Food can be heavy ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service is very kind. Food can be heavy unless you ask for little butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Not my first time her but, the experienc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Not my first time her but, the experience here this time wasn't as pleasant. My rice was hard, and the wait time was an hour even though I made reservations. I hope that they can do better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.