About Benihana - New York

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Enjoy one of the best shows in NYC at the original Benihana. Start with drinks and sushi at our first floor contemporary sushi and cocktail bar, great for after-work drinks and meeting friends. Or, go to our second-floor dining room where your personal chef will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds. See what made Benihana the legend that it is today. Looking to host an event or private party? Our private dining rooms are always a crowd pleaser. Call for more details and price options. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Benihana - New York
Fried Rice
Steak
Surf Side
Assorted Sushi
Zumo Roll
Tempura
Chocolate Icecream
Grilled Shrimp
Filet Mignon
Green Tea Ice Cream
Chicken Fried Rice Close Up
Grilled Zucchini
Chicken Fried Rice
Salad With Romaine Lettuce With Ginger Dressing
Onion Soup
White Peach Sake Sangria
Green Tea
Agedashi Tofu
Lunch Boat With Chicken
Mango Roll
Rolls
Benihana Excellence- Teriyaki Beef* Julienne With Scallions And Colossal Shrimp.
Hibachi steak and shrimp
Salad
Hibachi Grilled Vegetables
Clear soup
Uramaki Rolls
Baked Roll
Gotham Roll
Crispy Spicy Tuna
Philidelphia And Spider Rolls
Benihana Delight
Sushi
Lobster Tail Sauted In Butter
Salmon Skin Roll
Gotham Rolls
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Grape Crush
Shirmp Lover Roll
Sushi Rolls
Present Roll
Sumo Roll
Hibachi Shrimp
Colossal Shrimp with Grouper

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (129)
Special Occasion (97)
Kid-friendly (76)
See All
Great for Lunch (51)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Hot Spot (32)
Romantic (28)
Late-night Find (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Fun (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Family Style (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Scenic View (10)
Casual (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (7)
Private Room (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (5)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have been to benihana before and never h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Have been to benihana before and never had an issue with who we were sat with but they put my husband and I with a family who was celebrating an event- the family was very loud and celebrated the event toasting every 5 minutes and had some rather intensive food needs that made our dinner come out so much later than their food. It felt like we were a fly on the wall of their family dinner- perhaps benihana should review peoples food needs prior to putting people at tables

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Huge disappointment!!!!!!!!!! I have b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Huge disappointment!!!!!!!!!! I have been other Benihanas in the past that were a fun experience and food was great. Here everything was pathetic and food awful. Do not go to the Benihana in NY. My husband said, this place feels "pre-bankruptcy", that says it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

6 PM reservation Sunday night. Waited 15 ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

6 PM reservation Sunday night. Waited 15 minutes for table with 2 toddlers (party of 9) Sat in main dining room. Chef was very good. Waiter was very good. TONS of smoke because exhaust fan wasnt working as well as it should have. Food was very good. Place was packed with families as well as adults only. Everyone had fun. Will return but will request a private room for the children to walk around. We took up entire table so it shouldnt be a problem if we reserve in advance hopefully

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had to reschedule my reservation due t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I had to reschedule my reservation due to heavy traffic and without hesitation my reservation was pushed up an hour later. The food was delicious and the service was great. It was a bit noisy but everyone was having a great time so hard to blame the restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here many times, usually good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Have eaten here many times, usually good. On this night they were 1/2 hour behind schedule and very disorganized. Our chef was obviously new and did not know any of the knife handling tricks, so was very, very disappointed as It was an 8 year olds birthday and we were looking forward to the show. I think if you are going to pay the stiff prices, one should expect the full show.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Fast seating but slow time from order to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Fast seating but slow time from order to start of cooking. Almost an hour from them taking the order to them coming to cook. Other people felt the same way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

it is what it is. nothing spectacular, a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

it is what it is. nothing spectacular, and if you've experienced hibachi style cooking before, this is nothing special. Our cook got the order of the dishes incorrect, missed a few 'tricks' and seemed generally uninterested. I don't blame him, i'd feel the same doing the same schtick over and over. the food is ok, nothing special. they use a lot of butter in everything, so it can't be half bad. i had the seafood udon since i've had the chicken/steak before. it was ok, not huge portions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Dated, bad service, messy cooks. This pl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Dated, bad service, messy cooks. This place needs a serious makeover

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The waiter we had was confused. His serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The waiter we had was confused. His service wasn't good at all.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Took my boyfriend for his first hibachi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Took my boyfriend for his first hibachi experience, the food was great tasted fresh and the chef was amazing. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and show were great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service and show were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The host at front desk was not friendly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The host at front desk was not friendly at all! I also thought it was strange that none of the chefs were Japanese at all! They were all Indian and Hispanic! Our chef was not very enthusiastic about being there which lead to a not so great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Made a reservation for a birthday dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Made a reservation for a birthday dinner. Dined with Chef Kanai, and sat with relatively conservative people (thankfully). Some others sitting at other tables were more rowdy, but can't blame them! Love the performance, and enjoyed the food. Would love to go again in the future!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall, this is a fun place. It tends t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Overall, this is a fun place. It tends to get loud, but be prepared for fun

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Overall the customer service was poor. H ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Overall the customer service was poor. Host at the door did not even look up to make eye contact, as we entered, or even welcome me or my guest to Benihana. Waiter did not have personality required of a waiter. Did not demonstrate skills for excellent customer service. His greeting was poor. No smile. Did not seem enthusiastic whatsoever. No follow-up and the the food took a while. Chef took a while to arrive.

The food was good but not worth going back to Benihana. I've been to other hibachi houses and this is by far the poorest customer service hibachi house.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

It was far from my first time at a hibac ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was far from my first time at a hibachi restaurant, but my first time at Benihana. I had the absolute WORST experience here and will never go back. So disappointing. And I wrote a message to the restaurant personally describing everything that happened (because it was that disrespectful) and never heard back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Great place to celebrate a birthday with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great place to celebrate a birthday with complimentary dessert and Happy Birthday sung in English & Japanese! Also delicious cocktails!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's great when you get an amazing Chef ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It's great when you get an amazing Chef like Mizan! He makes the experience entertaining even if you have been there before!

I can't say how much I love the chicken fried rice! It is the best. Add some special garlic butter sauce (garlic butter and teriyaki heated up) and it's heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I loved this restaurant. The reservation ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I loved this restaurant. The reservation was set and they had it ready when I arrived. I was escorted upstairs after a few minutes. Our order was taken almost immediately and our server was very courteous. The chef was nice and our food was excellent. My party had an excellent experience and plan to return at our earliest convenience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very long wait (~1hr) to be seated even ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very long wait (~1hr) to be seated even if we had a reservation, then more wait for drinks, for the chef to arrive etc...

Poor service. It was a birthday and although reminded twice the server forgot to bring the dessert.

Overall the food was good and a fun experience but they take their success for granted ... I dont think I would go twice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was very bland and had no flavo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food was very bland and had no flavor. The rice was hard. I will make sure that I do not have the same chef when I return.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Benihana is by far my favorite restauran ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Benihana is by far my favorite restaurant and the perfect place for a loud get together for friends and families.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Benihana. I've been to many diffe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I love Benihana. I've been to many different locations. They are all nice and the food is delicious. Never a problem. Chicken fried rice the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would recommend to all my friends. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I would recommend to all my friends. They had great food and the service was great. It was i a good location. We were seated right away. It was perfect evening of dining.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Fun atmosphere! Always a rio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food!

Fun atmosphere!

Always a riot to have dinner here!

The chefs are the best part!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was delicious as usually!!we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Dinner was delicious as usually!!we had great time I took my boyfriend for his birthday dinner he was very satisfied

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Private Room, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was my 1st time here and it was amazi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was my 1st time here and it was amazing chef Emmanuel was amazing my kids n husband loved it as well

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family friendly

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Family friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced and a litle ignorant servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Over priced and a litle ignorant service, but realy good food and a interesting exprriance with the chef at your table preparing the food with tool fencing and fire. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Like your restaurant to Much. I Will alw ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Like your restaurant to Much. I Will always visit your restaurant

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

9 people to a table is too many, we were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

9 people to a table is too many, we were very crammed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Huge dissapointment! We had guests from ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Huge dissapointment! We had guests from overseas. Reserved place for 4:30. Chef did not arrive for 50 minutes and stuff kept telling us table is getting set. We had to leave after 50 min without eating so we are not late for show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was really slow. Had 8:45 reserv ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was really slow. Had 8:45 reservation got seated around 9:30 and didn't start to eat until close to 10 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

They didnt seat us when we arrived for o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

They didnt seat us when we arrived for our reservation. We had to wait 20 minutes to be seated. I had to ask to be seated because we had a play to catch an 75 minutes after our reservation. When we were seated we told the waitress our urgency. She later told us we had to wait 20 minutes because no chefs were available. I dont understand why there wouldnt be any chefs available when the whole concept of the restaurant is to have chefs were table. We asked for the check early so that we could pay first and leave. The waitress ended up cancelling our order and giving us a hard time about her misunderstanding and that she will try to our our order back in - when we havent even started eating let alone had the chef start cooking. The food was way too salty. I requested for gluten free and it was amazing that the restaurant accommodates this dietary restriction but the chef put so much soy sauce in my meals. I couldnt enjoy my food even after asking the chef to fix this - he was unable to. On top of that the chef (although an accident) while doing his fancy moves on cooking while trying to look cool he ended up hurling food on my dress which left a large brown stain. I must say though, I appreciate the chef serving us the food first because I was gluten free.

we were late for our play and the food was not even worth being late for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The food is amazing. They are always loo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food is amazing. They are always looking for new items to put on their menu. The employees always make you feel valued. And always are so respectful

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very bad management of the reservation. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very bad management of the reservation. When we arrived already a lot of costumers where waiting for a table. After 40 minutes waiting and still no information we give up.

We remember the time when Benihana NY was a good place to go. That’s long time ago. There are a lot other good restaurants in NY, don’t waste your time and your money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

They should limit seating to 8 per table ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

They should limit seating to 8 per table. We were 9 at it was not comfortable.

Also, if I book at 7:45 I expect to be seated and start eating at the latest by 8:15. Here it was almost nine. first we had to wait for 15 minutes to be seated, then 30 minutes before our chef was able to start cooking for us: Tables are paired and only one cook at a time can prepare food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Went on 4pm early dinne, wait is not tha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went on 4pm early dinne, wait is not that long & food was great

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not at all impressed with our serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was not at all impressed with our server. She was not friendly and did not smile once. She was very curt with her responses and we all felt uncomfortable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall it was ok. I just was upset that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Overall it was ok. I just was upset that I had made a reservation at 7:15 and wasn't seated until 7:50. It was my birthday and that pushed back all my plans. I didn't understand why I had made a reservation in the first place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.