About Benihana - New York

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first serve basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fried Rice
Steak
Surf Side
Assorted Sushi
Zumo Roll
Tempura
Chocolate Icecream
Grilled Shrimp
Green Tea Ice Cream
Filet Mignon
Chicken Fried Rice Close Up
Grilled Zucchini
Chicken Fried Rice
Salad With Romaine Lettuce With Ginger Dressing
Onion Soup
White Peach Sake Sangria
Green Tea
Agedashi Tofu
Lunch Boat With Chicken
Rolls
Mango Roll
Benihana Excellence- Teriyaki Beef* Julienne With Scallions And Colossal Shrimp.
Clear soup
Hibachi steak and shrimp
Hibachi Grilled Vegetables
Salad
Uramaki Rolls
Baked Roll
Gotham Roll
Crispy Spicy Tuna
Philidelphia And Spider Rolls
Benihana Delight
Sushi
Lobster Tail Sauted In Butter
Gotham Rolls
Salmon Skin Roll
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Grape Crush
Sushi Rolls
Sumo Roll
Shirmp Lover Roll
Present Roll
Hibachi Shrimp
Colossal Shrimp with Grouper

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (167)
special occasion (117)
kid-friendly (112)
See All
great for lunch (82)
fit for foodies (54)
late-night find (38)
hot spot (37)
romantic (30)
great for brunch (23)
neighborhood gem (22)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for outdoor dining (13)
scenic view (9)
notable wine list (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

The food is terrific and the spectacle o ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food is terrific and the spectacle of the cooking at the grill, in front of you, great fun. Good for children. They were extremely busy when we came, on time, for our dinner. That said it was far too long before we shown to our table, fifty minutes. The service was really slow once we were seated. and it is too cramped for normal sized people at the group tables. Elbow to elbow. No thanks. The food is the saving grace.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service2

It is frustrating to wait 30 mins inspit ...

Dined 5 days ago

It is frustrating to wait 30 mins inspite of making reservations on a weekday (Monday evening). The food was good but our Chef Jimmy barley uttered a word. I have been there before and all the other Chefs were super friendly and interactive.that adds up to your total experience...so Jimmy was disappointing, even though the food for super amazing. Beautiful experience. The Best part was that they clicked our picture for a birthday party and handed over the hard copy to the Birthday girl right away!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place to take friends and family ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing place to take friends and family! :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my boyfriend for fathers day .he's ...

Dined 6 days ago

Took my boyfriend for fathers day .he's very hard to please but when the chief started cooking and doing little tricks HE LOVED IT experience was amazing

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Great atmosphere

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food. Great atmosphere

food1
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my second visit to your New Yor ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was my second visit to your New York restaurant. My first visit the food was outstanding. My visit on June 19, 2016 was not good at all. The service was good but the food was not. The chicken was tough and I saw very little chicken in my fried rice, if any. The food was not seasoned at all. my visit in April, I was completely satisfied and wanted to take my family of 4. I was very disappointed in the food, not happy with that chef cooking at all. If I visit again, which I may because I like the place, but I will try another location.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and my family and i h ...

Dined 6 days ago

It was my birthday and my family and i had a wonderful time everything was great

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time with my family. It was ...

Dined 7 days ago

Had a great time with my family. It was the first having dinner there everyone was full.the food is great and my husband enjoyed his father's day .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the second year in a row that my ...

Dined 7 days ago

This is the second year in a row that my sister, niece, and I had lunch at Benihana's for Father's day. Last year they had a special menu for Father's day, but we were able to order off of the lunch menu. This year however, we were made to order off of the dinner menu, even though we were there for lunch. The food was very good, but our lunch for 3 , even with my niece ordering off of the kid's menu, came to $132 including tip. If we happen to be in town next Father's day, we will probably have lunch elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service2

Our chef had a lot of difficulty getting ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our chef had a lot of difficulty getting the people at our table in to the whole experience. We were three small groups and he couldn't get anybody to crack a smile. The bartenders are very nice though!!

food1
ambience1
service1

The waiter was horrible she forgot to me ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The waiter was horrible she forgot to mention things to the chef and therefore our food was horrible! It was also my birthday and they forgot to sing and make my night special. I've been here an abundance of times and I won't come back after this experience!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef kam was the best, he made the food ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Chef kam was the best, he made the food entertaining and enjoyable truely an enjoyable experience

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Very nice restaurant, with good food and ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Very nice restaurant, with good food and very nice service.

food5
ambience3
service1

Awful service by host and manager. Ridic ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Awful service by host and manager. Ridiculous wait times. Even with reservations, you need to wait an additional 45 + minutes. The host likes to slide people with no reservations in front of those who do. This is my 2nd time having an awful experience with service at the NYC location so I will not be returning anytime soon

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Worst Hibachi experience I have ever had ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Worst Hibachi experience I have ever had with my kids. The chefs do not even try to be entertaining; no spirit to them; jokes are delivered in flat monotone, and they have no dexterity with the knife. Food quality is awful! How do they even survive with that kind of food in NYC?! Stay away; not worth even for kid birthday party; did I mention we waited for 30 min despite having a reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana dining is so much fun and alway ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Benihana dining is so much fun and always delicious!! You can dine there every day or on special occasions. You will always be pleased with their food and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on June 10, 2016

As always the food was delicious. The staff were friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service3

Too crowded....

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Too crowded....

food2
ambience1
service2
value3

overbooked and out-of-control

Dined on June 4, 2016

Benihana's was clearly way overbooked. Reception crew had no clue of how badly they were overbooked, for if they had, we'd have gone elsewhere. ended up being seated an hour after our booking time. once seated service was slower than usual. disappointing evening overall.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always look forward to my next time

Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing dining experience! AWSOME food & atmosphere ‼️

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely

Dined on June 3, 2016

It's always refreshing to visit Benihana! On this specific occasion, it was my graduation day. I invited family from out of town and they loved and enjoyed experiencing Benihana! Thanks again

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3

While the food was delicious and our ser ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

While the food was delicious and our server/chef were great, the restaurant made us wait 45 minutes past our reservation. When I asked the host approx how much longer he said we'd be the next ones seated and that we would get complimentary appetizers. Well, no appetizers ever came and other parties were seated before us despite the fact that we came in before them.

food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 30, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at a hibachi restaurant until now. Our service from both the waitstaff and chef was subpar. The chef didn't do any of the normal "normal tricks" to add the chicken was so over cooked it was not edible. There are plenty of other restaurants you can go to in NYC and pay $40 plus per person and have both a much better meal and experience.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice, good food and funny

Dined on May 29, 2016

Every time I come to NYC this is like a must, like the food, ambiance and it's funny ... They play with you during the food preparation right in front of you. Tables usually for 8 people, so you get mixed with another people if you don't bring your own group but that's far from disturbing. It's also good for late dinner after theater or whatever late Go for it and have fun

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was amazing and the show was ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our service was amazing and the show was fantastic. The food was perfect, what a great price for great food in midtown! We will be back with more people for sure. Also, those drinks are amazing

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

just way too loud; seating arrangement n ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

just way too loud; seating arrangement not ideal and the hostess did not manage it properly

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service1

Went midweek to celebrate a child's reci ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Went midweek to celebrate a child's recital. We arrived 30 minutes before our reservation but had to wait over an hour for our table. Once we got to the table it was another hour before we

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Awesome

Dined on May 25, 2016

Took my husband here for his birthday and he loved it. Great food, great service !

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

What ruined my food experience was payin ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

What ruined my food experience was paying about $26 for Hibachi Steak that was at least 35% fat and grizzle. It was so disappointing and the kitchen should be aware of this when prepping for the chef. In the presence of a group celebration I had to discretely remove the fat and grizzle from my mouth and left a particularly bad piece untouched. To make a scene in the midst of the celebration of my daughter's graduation from medical school would have put a damper on the event. So I chose to just bear it. Now very happy to have this opportunity to provide feedback. I should have gone with the Scallops. The Filet Mignon and Shrimp were also superb! If you avoid the Steak this could be a five star experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our cook was nice and funny, he added some creativity ans had a real capacity for repartee! Good foof, seafood and beef were excellent, the spinach as well. A little bit noisy, but understandable! A relaxed atmosphere and excellent neighbors!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Been going for years to Benihana and it' ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Been going for years to Benihana and it's sad to see that much has changed and not for the better. Little things like the usual plates, now it's a generic white plate. Salad had no life to it. Waited almost 25 minutes for chef and it wasn't busy. Little things go a long way...just wasn't like past experiences.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Even though I had a reservation I still ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Even though I had a reservation I still had to wait for 45 minutes which was abode little ridiculous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

They do no honor reservations

Dined on May 18, 2016

Have been going to Benihana for years. As the staff smiles well, and has learned the art to make you feel all is going well, they hand you a buzzer so that you can wait an extra 15-20 minutes to be seated WITH a reservation. Hmm-the point of a reservation is for customers to come in and reasonably sit at the table within 5 minutes...AND for the restaurant to manage their earlier seating correctly. NOT the case here. Staff is untrained-does not respect the request to speak with managers and juggle you for the 20 plus minutes you wait for a table so that they don't have to answer directly why there isn't a table ready. Zero accommodation to a family with a child's birthday for the delay. AND we were not the only one on this particular night. They over book and take in walk ins and don't balance nor honor a reservation over 50% of the time. Not acceptable.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Very noisy. Very bad ventilation. The pl ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Very noisy. Very bad ventilation. The place was filled of food smoke. Even the interior of my purse smelled food. The cook was fun. However the waitress was somewhat impolite.we were a party of 6. I had to remind them of my food. So by the time I got my plate the rest of our group was already done.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Even though I had a reservation, it took ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Even though I had a reservation, it took a long time to be seated (about 20 mins). When we got upstairs, the restaurant was not full. Also, it took our chef a long time to show up and cook for us. The food was delicious and our waitress was very attentive and nice.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hostess was rude. Wait time was horrendo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Hostess was rude. Wait time was horrendous even with reservation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my mom's birthday. We real ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated my mom's birthday. We really enjoyed it. Special thanks to our chef who was really funny. The food was great

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was amazing and I would go back ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was amazing and I would go back for that reason But I was not expecting it to be so loud but every other table was a birthday so the staff would come together and song this super loud obnoxious song. It was not spaced out very well either . I was say on the end and the cooks portable table kept hitting my white coach purse. There was a sense of claustrophobic going on. I was there with just one other person looking to have some good hibachi. If I had gone with a group looking to wild out a little I probably would have enjoyed it more and not dressed as nice.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

The performance of the cooks is wonderfu ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The performance of the cooks is wonderful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is the home of fun

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Benihana is the home of fun. I dare you to find a restaurant to eat at that's more fun. Good for birthdays or ANY days!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.