About Benihana - New York

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Enjoy one of the best shows in NYC at the original Benihana. Start with drinks and sushi at our first floor contemporary sushi and cocktail bar, great for after-work drinks and meeting friends. Or, go to our second-floor dining room where your personal chef will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds. See what made Benihana the legend that it is today. Looking to host an event or private party? Our private dining rooms are always a crowd pleaser. Call for more details and price options. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (93)
Good for Birthdays (84)
Fun (58)
See All
Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (57)
Family Style (56)
Casual (49)
Kid-friendly (46)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Great for Lunch (31)
Open Kitchen (28)
Comfort Food (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
People Watching (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Authentic (17)
Romantic (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Cozy (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Private Room (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Healthy (10)
Business Meals (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Spicy (7)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

the performance of the chefs, which is what Benihana is famous for, is mesmerizing and makes your taste buds salivate. but, if I was a regular I'd rather quickly become indifferent towards them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hi, so we booked this for Valentines during a holiday in New York

Booking Process and acquiring table was fine - but man alive did they want to be efficient that day! The room with all the tables was PACKED. One or two too many tables in my opinion. It was crowded and worse yet since we were sat near a couple with a baby... Not restaurant's fault I know but still... Just a nuisance. Looked around and fat chance we'd be moved to another table...

Also our chef just, well, sucked... Maybe he was distracted by the toddler? I could sense some sort of effort I guess

I reckon we were just unlucky - its a shame as I do generally did like Benihana. What I'd recommend is that you book in a big group, so at-least 6 or 8-10 so you take up a whole table. I wouldn't take the gamble of going as a couple. Not worth it.

Bar was really nice though

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The wait time is extensive along with slow service, even with a reservation! The chefs are so boring with their old tricks that they still haven't mastered! The food is good a little over priced but hey, this is NYC. Overall, its not my favorite place to eat hibachi as itsover priced, congested, and you have not privacy. your forced to eat with strangers! Totally over rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great and the chef made the night so much better! He was very friendly and funny. Definitely worth trying, and the cooking in front of you is just amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My family enjoyed the food and service we had on Valentine's Day. It was their first time and they found it fun and great.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a wonderful Valentine's Day lunch with my husband. We both had a great time and were really able to enjoy our food. Our Chef, Nirmal was very entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I felt extremely rushed. I understand that you have people waiting, but my Monday is my day off, expected to enjoy it. It's not my first time to Benihana, but today you made me feel like I was in a fast food restaurant. I didn't even have time to finish my five course meal, you kept on picking up plates and running to bring the bill to us!!! Very rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good food for an affordable price. Nice to see the cook preparing your meal in front of you. Perfect for a first Teppanyaki experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great lunchtime spot! server and cook were both awesome! Monday's are a good low key day to go for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great meal with great people. Got to interact with very pleasant people at our table.

Will do this again some time soon.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Me and 4 of my friends came to eat at Benihana for my birthday. Even though we had a reservation (made several weeks prior), we still had to wait for 30 minutes in an incredibly crowded area. The hostess was cranky and did not think A waitress came around with pieces of sushi, but kept skipping us. Our waiter was incredibly rude the entire time and when there was a mistake made in the bill, he kept arguing with me about the mistake and said that it wasn't a mistake. When he finally, grudgingly took it to fix it, he did not apologize and seemed extremely disgruntled. He then TOLD me that I had to give him an 18% tip and hovered right over my shoulder as I wrote the tip down. He also charged us each $4 extra for fried rice instead of steamed rice even though he did not say anything about it costing extra and presented it like an either or choice. In addition to all of this, the atmosphere was crowded, loud, and extremely smokey (our hair stank of smoke when we left). Though the food was good, the experience on the whole was quite bad, and I will never return and make sure to tell everyone I know not to waste their money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Making reservation here is a waste of time. I had reservations for 6:45 on a Sunday and we didn't get seated until almost 8pm. All the orders got mixed up, I ordered an appetizer and I had to wait and get it with my meal instead of eating that while I waited, but was soup I didn't ask for kept being brought to me. Bad service and experience overall with the exception of the bar service downstairs which is where I sat for atleast a hr even tho I made reservations. The chef was rude and he couldn't complete any of the TWO tricks he tried. So much for putting on a show

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everyday is a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a party of 8 and some of is were extremely late and they did not bother much and let is waited for our friends to arrive.

It also was 2 of us birthday and the service was impacable, ou waitress was OH MY GOD wonderful.

I will recommend this place in a heart beat.

Atmosphere was amazing, really no complaint what so ever.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Kid-friendly, definitely, and a high noise level...but the service was good and so was the food. They were out of most sakes the night we visited, which seems odd for a restaurant like that. I wouldn't go for a date or a serious business dinner. For a family gathering, perfect.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My experience was definitely terrible! From having to wait to be seated, taken to wrong table & bill being wrong. I would not recommend this restaurant to no one and my least favorite out of all the other ones we been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nirmal was the best cook, kept us laughing all dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Best experience as a first timer! Chef was entertaining. I'll always remember him saying "O Yeah!"Cant wait to return. Downside was that we were led there after finding them on Restaurant Week with Open Table. They indeed DID NOT participate in Restaurant Week and the bill was cray for 2 yet worth it. Unexpected but worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I celebrated my birthday in New York with a friend and we had so much fun! It was my friend's first time at Benihana's restaurant so I wanted her to get the true Benihana experience. Her favorite part was the chef, who was amazing! We all received ice cream at the end of the night. Hands down, one of the best birthdays ever!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food is always fresh. They always try to make the food to your request. Our chief Roy is absolutely wonderful. We seem to get him every time we go so he knows what we like---- a lot of garlic butter on our food. It is the best on everything.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Benihana is exactly what you expect. They pace the dinners so 10 people eat at the same time with one chef at a time. It's fun, they ask about allergies, and the food is good. I wouldn't say it's top shelf for a meal, but it's certainly fun.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was my niece's birthday celebration. Everyone enjoyed the food and had a good time -- she was happy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

5:45 reservation on a Sat night and didn't get seated until 6:15. Took 10 mins to place drink order and another 10 to get drinks. Had to ask 4 times for a high chair for toddler. However, once we got drinks and chef arrived, we had a great and delicious experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The sauce was different than it normally is a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Host was rude and very unfriendly. Service was avg and he good was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I had dinner with my fiancée to discuss wedding plans. We sat downstairs at the bar so we weren't disturbed. The food was excellent and so were the drinks. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the bartender seemed to be rushing us with our food; every few minutes he would ask if we were done. Perhaps they're not used to people eating at the bar but we weren't the only ones. And I specifically asked if it was OK to eat at the bar for a quiet conversation or if it's better to go upstairs; we were told it's perfectly fine to eat downstairs so we were confused as to why he kept rushing us. Anyway, still an excellent restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Normally we love this place but our last visit was really disappointing. The soup was good but the dressing on the salad was way off and not the usual ginger dressing. The fried rice which we normally love had no taste as did most of the rest of the food. The chicken was hard as a rock and overall the meal was just way off. Not sure if this was a one time experience or they are cutting back on quality.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It's been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

40 minute wait

endless amounts of soy sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a reservation and had to wait almost on hour to be seated.

The service was awful and the chef seemed like he didn't want to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our reservations were at 6:45 and we were seated at 8:00. We had children in our party and it was an awful experience. We were finally seated and then we waited another 30 min to add two more people to our table of 7. We got there at 6:45 and left at 9:30. Food was great, chef was talented, waitress was kind. But not being seated for over an hour was unacceptable and ruined our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a 10:45 reservation. When we arrived at 10:40 they told us they were running a few minutes behind but have a seat at the bar. At 11:10 I asked what was going on and was told they are clearing your table now so it will be just a few more minutes. At 11:30 we had still not been seated and I asked for a manager who never came. At 11:45 we left and went somewhere else to eat without having ever been seated. We spent a lot of money at the bar waiting the whole time for a table for which we had a reservation yet never got seated.

This restaurant is an absolute joke. Don't bother making reservations as they clearly don't honor them. I wish I had read the other reviews before I wasted my time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a awesome time loved the drinks will deff go again

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our family of 4 was seated 45 mins late after complaining several times to the manager. My 4 year old ended up with a stomach ache from hunger and fell asleep at the table. Not once did your manager come over to see how we were doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Even though the we book a table couple of weeks ahead, we needed to wait more than hour for the table. This after being noticed that if we arrived 10 minutes late, we will lose our table. We were almost leaving the place, but finally we got a table. The night was saved by the cook, he was very interactive and with good sense of humor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was maybe an additional 45min wait from my initial appt time even though I arrived an extra hour early from my apt time, but the food was great and the chefs were awesome and funny and my boyfriend enjoyed his first experience there... thank you guys but pleas do something about the waiting experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I was dissatisfied with the staff at Benihana. When asked to be moved to a table with no kids since we were celebrating a friend's birthday, we were given a look of disgust by the hostess. We finally settled on a table on the first level, yet the hostess continued to give us nasty looks for wanting another table. The experience was extremely pricey for the service and quality of food. As a result, I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I made a reservation for 2 at 11:15pm (with the last time slot available on the system being 11:30pm). While on my way to the restaurant with my date, someone called Dee or something called me from the restaurant to let me know that they decided to close at 11:45pm because they wanted to go home and asked me if I would be there before that. I told them that I would be there by 11:50pm but a very rude employee kept screaming at me about how they would not sit me and that they don't care about my reservation and that its my problem now. Unacceptable behavior. I work in the business and I would never go there the way they treated me on the phone, especially with my date next to me. Avoid these people who claim to be working at the "hospitality" industry at all costs.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I went there for my birthday. They took a picture for me. That's sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great Service! Friendly Staff! Kind People! Awesome Food! Reasonable Price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Tourist trap, overpriced but completely expected for hibachi in NYC. $80 for 3 people for lunch, no alcohol is pretty steep, considering 2 of the 3 were kids!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was a Saturday I understand it was a busy night .. but we had reservations for 1045 didn't get seated till about 1145 didn't get to order not even a glass of water until midnight .. staff didn't Seem to know where to go .. food was great as always but wouldn't go back on a Saturday evening

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The server only came to the table once for drinks in the beginning and never came back to see if we needed anything else until when we were all finish eating and by the time he did refill the water we needed the check.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

8:15 reservation, we were seated at 9:15. That's horrible.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Benihana was an great experience that I will always remember and love. I enjoyed the food and meeting people also that family style setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

IVE BEEN TO BEINHANAS SO MANY TIMES I CANT EVEN COUNT ON MY HANDS BUT THIS TIME BY FAR WAS THE WORST TIME I HAVE EVER BEEN THERE MY FOOD WAS BURNT. NOTHING TO DRINK. IT WAS JUST HORRIBLE

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We always have a great meal and a good time at Benihana.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

While I generally never do this, my post-dining experience with Benihana has permanently turned me off this restaurant. I had dinner with friends and family on the evening of MLK and subsequent to that dinner could not locate my credit card. Hoping I had left it at the restaurant and could reclaim it as opposed to concluding it was lost or stolen and having to replace it, I called the restaurant to see if they had it. I was told my request would be shared with a manager and the manager would call me back. No one called me that day. I tried again the next day and was told the same thing. After waiting for hours and again not hearing back from anyone I tried calling the restaurant again and asking to speak with a manager. I was told the manager was too busy to talk to me and would have to get back to me. The person who answered the phone assured me they would get back to me as soon as possible. Again no one followed up. This scenario repeated itself two more times. I called again and was again told no one could talk to me and they would have to get back to me. It is unbelievably rude and reflects terrible customer service that not a single person in this restaurant could take 2 mins of time to just see if in fact a credit card was left behind and get back to me one way or another. I literally begged them the third time I called to please check and if they had it would spare me the inconvenience of having to change multiple online accounts to a new card. But after 5 calls not a single person deigned to call back. I will never go back to there and have shared my experience friends and family who are outraged at the restaurant's absolutely blatant disregard for their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Fun, delicious and topnotch service! Always a party.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.