Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Benihana - New York

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Enjoy one of the best shows in NYC at the original Benihana. Start with drinks and sushi at our first floor contemporary sushi and cocktail bar, great for after-work drinks and meeting friends. Or, go to our second-floor dining room where your personal chef will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds. See what made Benihana the legend that it is today. Looking to host an event or private party? Our private dining rooms are always a crowd pleaser. Call for more details and price options. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (96)
Good for Birthdays (76)
Fun (61)
See All
Good for a Date (58)
Special Occasion (55)
Family Style (49)
Kid-friendly (44)
Casual (43)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Open Kitchen (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Comfort Food (19)
People Watching (19)
Romantic (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Authentic (13)
Cozy (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Business Meals (9)
Private Room (8)
Spicy (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We were bringing 18 clients to the restaurant and had a significant amount of stress with our reservation - securing the 2 tables together and a 90 minute time limit per table. There was attitude from the manager and a lack of understanding of the our situation. In the end, we were not kicked out of the tables but I believe that was because of the size of our bill. I was a huge fan of benihana but after this experience I am not sure i will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Despite an online booking, we had to wait almost an hour to be seated. We waited at the bar with a quite unpleasant bartender.
Once in the restaurant, it's was a really good time we spent. Our cook was good, funny and professionnal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I love going to Benihana but you never know how your experience is going to be. Mainly because the people they seat you with can enhance or put a damper on your dining experience. The waiter was nice, the bartender was good and made us strong drinks, and the chef tried his best. Our table had 9 people and was too cramped. And to make things worse everybody at the table was a snooze fest during the chef's performance. I find it more entertaining when the whole table is engaging in the chef's act and encouraging him when he messes up his shrimp toss or something along those lines. Either way, I would've preferred more room to breathe had it been one less person at our table. Other than that, everything was okay and the food was good as usual. Not my best experience here, but not my worse.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

It was wonderful spending time with my loved one at such a lovely place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Too smoky. Vents not working. Friendly chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The hostess was unfriendly and the wAitress was rude. The ladies' room was a disaster and I told the hostess ther was no toilet paper when I used it the first time then again when I used the facility on the way out. While the chef was entertaining, the food was average.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of my Favorite restaurants...I love that the food is freshly prepared right in font of u with a lil entertainment..The ginger dressing on the salad id what I usually crave...Yummy in my tummy

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Worst place ever the cook didn't even know what he was doing and he messed the orders

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food tasted good but quite bland. Very loud and smokey

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

second time coming here the drink was very good it was worth the $35 better than the one i had the first visit and the food was also good i just wished they gave more meet in the order

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

As first timers we absolutely loved the place. The chef worked hard at incorporating the show aspect with the incredible food he prepared. The 6 other people at our table seemed to not care much for the show. Taking, not paying attention to the chefs requests for dietary info/preferences. I'd love to see those people have to sit at one of the tables without the show service. I suppose there's no way to know ahead of time but we found it disrespectful to the chef.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My boyfriend and I love benihanas. Any chance we get to have date night here is always a pleasure. Our chef CAM was awesome!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Took an hour after our reservation to get SEATED. Total time spent was 3 hours. Miscommunication between server and chef left our orders wrong or incomplete. Had a to go order got half the amount of fried rice (which you pay extra for) as did the rest of the hibachi diners. Poor service, small portions an for price and all in all not that good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Worst dinner in a long time. We had a 7:30 reservation that we checked in at 7:35 for. After habding us a buzzer and saying we would be seated by 7:45, we waited as several couples were let through before us. Suddenly large group with two empty spots shows up that we were closer in age to around 8:30. Then and only then, the restaurant seated us. We waited for another 30 minutes before getting our orders in. I complained to the hostess on duty and she just brushed me away. Worst service ever. It's one thing if you don't take reservations to have a long wait, but benihana with a 1.5 hr wait to get food. That is despicable. I am never coming back and hope no one else comes here either. The manager at the restaurant should have apologized or addressed the manner in a professional way. I had a medical condition with low blood sugar and these kinds of waits for a place with reservations is really disrespectful and gave me severe pain / headaches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Birthday. Why make a reservation if you have to wait 40 minutes for a table

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My best friends jackie birthday 🎉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I've been many times to this Benihana... I've always enjoyed it but this time was a mess. We waited well over an hour for our table, as did many other angry customers. With no real explanation or apology. The actual hostess and the servers themselves were as helpful as they could be but the management completely abandoned them doing nothing to help get control of the situation. Even the food wasn't as good as usual although that might have just been because we were all frustrated and angry by the time we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Overall experience was good, but the price is a bit too high. Everything was very good until I saw what they had charged from my credit card. So I would say, that if you dont have any coupons etc, I would recommend this only for very special occasions. You need to be prepared to pay 100dollars for two person awerage meal ja ofc, the show.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Classic Benihana experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (México)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was good as always but I got one of the tables downstairs without the tepabyaki grill and the service was very bad. I will never choose one of these tables again. The upstairs area is better but that night I was in a hurry and I thought this would be faster. Big mistake!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My drink had a hair inside, the bathroom lacked toilet tissue, the stairs smelled dirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Benihana's is a fun spot for family or just hanging out with your friends. I would definitely go again. Especially since the food was really good too.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Took forever to get the ball rolling in this place. Got in and hostesses scrambled to get us seated even though we had a reservation. It was at least is not more than a half an hour till our chef came to prepare the food. The guy was from the DR and tried really hard to convince us he was Asian. Entertainment aspect of the meal was mediocre. Food was alright, definitely could have gotten a better meal for the price. It's cute if you're coming with kids but just for a get together lunch it was a bit too loud and busy to have a conversation with the whole table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was my first time eating at Benihana's and the food and ambiance was amazing.... Can't wait to go back❤
Ps> There is a parking lot next door

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Spicy, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food was really good & the chef did a great job but the server was annoying, even though it was not crowded at all he attempted to rush us throughout the entire meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Went in for teppanyaki grill, steak gave me serious blowing few hours after, and we gave 20% tip but the waiter stopped us on our way out to ask for more, we have to force to pay more. Very shameless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Had a private room. When we entered, a cook was asleep on the table with his "lunch" half eaten in front of him. Constantly had to chaise down the waiter. He was great when present but clearly overbooked on number of tables he was serving. When I asked a hostess for help, she turned and walked away. Then told me it wasn't her job. Place was dirty. Food had no flavor. Hibachi table "show" was lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Awful wait time, even with a reservation sadly. The bar is completely unattractive - or else I would have chosen to eat there. The steak was lacking flavour and our sushi seemed like it had been prepared earlier in the day and not fresh. I was sadly disappointed as the Benihana in San Diego is amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Reservation was cancelled because they changed birthday coupon policy to send on Wednesdays. Reservation was for 2 days prior to birthday while visiting family in NY. They absolutely refused to make an exception.

We've been going to Benihana in FL 3 to 4 times a year for 20 years. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

the performance of the chefs, which is what Benihana is famous for, is mesmerizing and makes your taste buds salivate. but, if I was a regular I'd rather quickly become indifferent towards them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Benihana is a must every time I'm in NYC. LOVE THE CHEFS.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hi, so we booked this for Valentines during a holiday in New York

Booking Process and acquiring table was fine - but man alive did they want to be efficient that day! The room with all the tables was PACKED. One or two too many tables in my opinion. It was crowded and worse yet since we were sat near a couple with a baby... Not restaurant's fault I know but still... Just a nuisance. Looked around and fat chance we'd be moved to another table...

Also our chef just, well, sucked... Maybe he was distracted by the toddler? I could sense some sort of effort I guess

I reckon we were just unlucky - its a shame as I do generally did like Benihana. What I'd recommend is that you book in a big group, so at-least 6 or 8-10 so you take up a whole table. I wouldn't take the gamble of going as a couple. Not worth it.

Bar was really nice though

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The wait time is extensive along with slow service, even with a reservation! The chefs are so boring with their old tricks that they still haven't mastered! The food is good a little over priced but hey, this is NYC. Overall, its not my favorite place to eat hibachi as itsover priced, congested, and you have not privacy. your forced to eat with strangers! Totally over rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great and the chef made the night so much better! He was very friendly and funny. Definitely worth trying, and the cooking in front of you is just amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My family enjoyed the food and service we had on Valentine's Day. It was their first time and they found it fun and great.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a wonderful Valentine's Day lunch with my husband. We both had a great time and were really able to enjoy our food. Our Chef, Nirmal was very entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I felt extremely rushed. I understand that you have people waiting, but my Monday is my day off, expected to enjoy it. It's not my first time to Benihana, but today you made me feel like I was in a fast food restaurant. I didn't even have time to finish my five course meal, you kept on picking up plates and running to bring the bill to us!!! Very rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good food for an affordable price. Nice to see the cook preparing your meal in front of you. Perfect for a first Teppanyaki experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great lunchtime spot! server and cook were both awesome! Monday's are a good low key day to go for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great meal with great people. Got to interact with very pleasant people at our table.

Will do this again some time soon.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.