Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Benihana - New York

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Enjoy one of the best shows in NYC at the original Benihana. Start with drinks and sushi at our first floor contemporary sushi and cocktail bar, great for after-work drinks and meeting friends. Or, go to our second-floor dining room where your personal chef will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds. See what made Benihana the legend that it is today. Looking to host an event or private party? Our private dining rooms are always a crowd pleaser. Call for more details and price options. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (79)
Good for Birthdays (76)
Special Occasion (70)
See All
Kid-friendly (62)
Fun (55)
Casual (48)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Family Style (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Comfort Food (17)
People Watching (16)
Authentic (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Business Meals (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (10)
Healthy (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Private Room (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Spicy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Scenic View (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Live Sports (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Live Music (2)
Dancing (2)
Historic (2)
Vegan (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

No respetan las reservas!! Espera de 1 hora con reserva confirmada

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I often go to Benihana often, with family and friends.
Yesterday, as we do every July or August I went with 2 friends for lunch to celebrate our birthdays. Next table had a family with children. The young one about 1 to 1/2 year old did NOT stop screaming to the top of his lungs, not crying, but really screamingthe whole time we were there. It made our lunch not enjoyable, we hardly could talk, it was truly unbearable. I told the waiter that it was not fair to us, he replied that he could not do anything.
I will think twice about going back to one of my favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

great for kid, family, and large grouos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Nizam was our chef, he was terrible this was my second time coming to the NYC Benihana and Sudid was our chef. Being that the experience was so amazing we opted to go again the next night, the worst mistake ever! I had spoken to the manager about my experience and he acted as if he could care less, and for that reason I left not only hungry but aggravated! Choose your aced wisely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

we always love the food here, but this location is terrible with honoring reservations. we were seated over 30 mins after our reservation time. why bother taking reservations if they can't honor them.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nasty and extremely dirt!! i came here twice in one day, and i had to wait over an hour with reservation!!! on top of that when i am finally seated, the table is extremely dirty, i ended up leaving after the soup arrived i was completed grossed out. This restaurant needs more upkeep, and a better staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and excellent service. A total different experience for all kinds of occasions.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We were regulars at Benihana's on the upper east side but have not been to the west side in years. We were shocked at the atmosphere. It seemed so dingy and dirty we voted on whether or not to stay once we were seated. When we arrived they were unpleasant at the front desk. There was a significant wait and the staff at the bar was exceptionally slow - no sense of urgency. We enjoyed the food except the warm salad. The key issue was cleanliness. We watched on busboy clean down another table with used napkins. The carpet was grimy. A patron got sick on the floor and they cleaned it up with guest napkins and a broom. It was insane to watch. The birthday celebration was minimal. So sad to see this wonderful institution go so far downhill. We hope they invest in a renovation and staff training on cleaning and bring this back to life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We made a note that we were coming in for a bachelorette and we had to ask them several times for a cake for her at the end. The chef was all over the place and made each item one at a time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The kids had a great time, the kids were fascinated with the chef, ,and they enjoy the food, my drinks were on the money, and my food was delicious, definitely will return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was not good. Even the salad dressing was bad, and the sushi was mostly rice, with some not so right tasting carrots and not all of the veggies mentioned on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Still offers good food and value for money after all this years! The hibachi chefs are still tops!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

No more then 8 people to a table but they put 9 at mines. Too small, people kept on bumping the back of my chair. I will neva go there again. Food could of been better. Very plain no flavor, i could of done a better job at home. Make sure your a party of 8 if you to go Benihana. 14$$ for plain vegetable fried rice and there was only onions n mushrooms. Not worth another 200$$ for only 5 people.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Never been to a worse Benihana. The service from the front desk to the bill was absolutely horrible. Went with a friend for her birthday because I grew up going to Benihana in California. However this one was seriously a waste of money and time. Waited twenty minutes to be sat for a reservation to then be sat to wait upstairs to then be sat with no water or server in sight for another twenty minutes until I had to get up to get a server for water. Then waited an hour for a cold appetizer and every time I asked about it they said it was on the way. Then went through the food it was sub par for Benihana but when it came to the bill waited twenty minutes for someone to get our check after they charged us for the other party at our tables entrees. Had to get up to get someone to take our cards then go 15 mins later to get someone to bring them back. Such a disappointment and won't be going back to this one ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Onion soup was watery and arrived cold. Some diners were not aware that there was a charge for fried rice versus free steamed rice. No option for kid for under 12 dining was offered. Place was dark and smoky ... inadequate toilet stalls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

When booking a table for more than 8 don't come here unless you do not mind waiting for 2 hours. We arrived 30 minutes earlier to guarantee a room or table to accommodate our party, which did not work in our favor. Overall it was a nice experience once we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I set a reservation at 8:00 PM, and I still had to wait an hour to get a table.. I don't understand what's the point of making a RESERVATION if I still ended up having to wait! Then I tell the lady who was taking orders it's my birthday at the beginning of the night and she asks me are you sure. I felt very offended why would I lie about it being my birthday. I went with 4 of my friends to celebrate my 17th birthday. My friend told the host who searched up our reservation it was my birthday. And he wrote it down in the reservation. So we get a table merged with another party. After we finished getting our meal. The lady who took care of us came with one ice cream for the young lady in the other party sitting right beside us. She sung happy birthday to her and all. And I was just sitting there wondering where is my ice cream and happy birthday? It was so embarrassing. This lady literally asked me at the beginning of the night am I sure that it's my birthday, and then at the end of the night she still doesn't believe it was my birthday! That's BULL. Worst experience of my life. Other than that, the chef was very good the and the meal was absolutely terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Service once we got to table (had to wait 20 minutes for table despite reservation).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

felt like leaving and going to red lobsters. The service and food is not worth the price or time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food is unremarkable, at best. They made us wait at the bar, that is dated and does not look like the entrance to a nice reastaurant at all. The silly jokes while cooking for us where ok maybe years ago but now they are just a cover up for lack of actual skills. Even the children at the table where rolling their eyes at them. The whole thing was lackluster, felt dated, and the cooks jaded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our chef was Emanuel. He kept us entertained while cooking a delicious meal and not to mention he had the enitre table laughing! By far one of the best chefs I have had at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Wonderful food & service! Entertaining and delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This is the second time I had Baptista as a chef and I have to say that he is an exceptional chef. Everyone at the table was praising the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

It was my birthday and I really enjoyed the food and then singing happy birthday in English and Japanese to me was very fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I had a 745 reservation and had to wait for almost 45 mins to be seated and they had more then 8 people at a table so it was very tight and uncomfortable this was my worst experience there and I've been there before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Overall our experience was great. Mainly because, it was my Mother's birthday & it was entertaining for my 8 year old. I can't remember our waiters name, but he screwed up 1 of our apps & instead of Steak, he put Shrimp for my son. Again, other than that, it was great & yes, we will be back. Oh & WE went on a Saturday evening & was seated almost right away.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I had a couple of issues with the service of the server and the food quality was pour I have been to Benihanas plenty of times and never received chicken fried rice that had very few pieces of chicken and the shrimp was over cooked

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I was celebrating my birthday and it was an amazing experience. The chef was amazing. The server was amazing. The staff was great. They accommodated my every need. I would definitely be going back.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great for groups! The chefs are all awesome!! TU was the bomb!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

It was cold and loud! Service was exceptional. Food value has gone down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

No yum yum sauce ! Other than that a typical Benihana experience. Would have liked a Buddha drink. The one that came with my punch was a woman with a fan. I wanted the Buddha like in the picture in the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Total disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Best servicer Mario Made the experience perfect, the food was amazing and the space was wonderful

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

On a Tuesday night with a reservation we still had to wait 45 minutes to be seated despite us arriving 10 minutes early. Service was not much better. Dinner has been cleared for over 20 minutes and nobody has come by to offer desserts or checks or even to fill all of our empty glasses of water. I am horribly disappointed with this entire evening. This location continues to shame the Benihana name. Also, food wasn't as good as it used to be here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The table wasn't ready for our reservation. Our reservation was at 8 and we didn't start eating until almost 9

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

My husband and I have been going to this restaurant for a couple of years now and it is always a great experience. We like the service and although the chefs have been changed over and over the food is still amazing. The alcoholic drinks can use a little tuning but at least the food was good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

A great place for anybody.. the food was good. Will come back again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great first time experience for me and my girlfriend, she loved it so thanks for making her night as well as mine great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food! Be aware you will leave the place smelling like meat and grease... but it's worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.