About Benihana - New York

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Enjoy one of the best shows in NYC at the original Benihana. Start with drinks and sushi at our first floor contemporary sushi and cocktail bar, great for after-work drinks and meeting friends. Or, go to our second-floor dining room where your personal chef will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds. See what made Benihana the legend that it is today. Looking to host an event or private party? Our private dining rooms are always a crowd pleaser. Call for more details and price options. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fried Rice
Steak
Surf Side
Assorted Sushi
Zumo Roll
Tempura
Chocolate Icecream
Grilled Shrimp
Green Tea Ice Cream
Filet Mignon
Chicken Fried Rice Close Up
Grilled Zucchini
Chicken Fried Rice
Salad With Romaine Lettuce With Ginger Dressing
Onion Soup
White Peach Sake Sangria
Green Tea
Agedashi Tofu
Lunch Boat With Chicken
Rolls
Mango Roll
Benihana Excellence- Teriyaki Beef* Julienne With Scallions And Colossal Shrimp.
Clear soup
Hibachi steak and shrimp
Hibachi Grilled Vegetables
Salad
Uramaki Rolls
Baked Roll
Gotham Roll
Crispy Spicy Tuna
Philidelphia And Spider Rolls
Benihana Delight
Sushi
Lobster Tail Sauted In Butter
Gotham Rolls
Salmon Skin Roll
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Grape Crush
Sushi Rolls
Sumo Roll
Shirmp Lover Roll
Present Roll
Hibachi Shrimp
Colossal Shrimp with Grouper

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (162)
special occasion (116)
kid-friendly (100)
See All
great for lunch (79)
fit for foodies (49)
late-night find (34)
hot spot (34)
romantic (32)
great for brunch (21)
neighborhood gem (20)
great for outdoor dining (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
scenic view (10)
notable wine list (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service is very kind. Food can be heavy ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Service is very kind. Food can be heavy unless you ask for little butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

This place never disappoints, great food ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This place never disappoints, great food and atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I loved the decor of this place this was ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I loved the decor of this place this was my first time eating here. I chose Benihana's as a late birthday celebration because it had good reviews and great customer service. However I think I should have looked at the food reviews, my food was extremely salty, the chef hands were definitely heavy with the salt even the sauce for the entrées were unbareably salty. The food itself was delicious I would have enjoyed it if it was less salty though. Notably it did seem as though the chef was in training however I would not bring my older family memebers here because of the salty experience, I'd be afraid that they'll pass out. Nonetheless my first time was ok.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation to celebrate my husb ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were on vacation to celebrate my husband 's birthday, and while other people in the restaurant were being sung Happy Birthday enthusiastically by a staff of 4 or 5 and taken a picture by the staff, my husband was ignored until the last second. A staff of 2 sung Happy Birthday and handed us the check. No picture. Immediately after this the table right next us got better "birthday" service even though the lady's birthday wasn't until August.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I thing that the teppanyaki cooking of t ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I thing that the teppanyaki cooking of the food is a very good way for bringing out the natural flavor of meat, fish and vegetables.

All should try this experience at least once.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It seems the food portions are smaller t ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It seems the food portions are smaller than last year & the service was not stellar but nevertheless it was a good experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was terrible. Sauces were bland. Ov ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was terrible. Sauces were bland. Overall a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

This location is so bad in that it made ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This location is so bad in that it made never want to go back to benihana ever again. both times i've been here i had to wait 1 hour beyond my time of reservation in order to be seated...the service once you sit down is incredibly slow, had to wait 45 minutes for my water to arrive, the waiter's highly defensive attitude to me asking politely where the drinks were was that he was managing two tables at once...2 tables at once, oh the horror that must be...food is also a step below other benihanas, my meat was overcooked and the slice of it was super thin...tasted like rubber. My friends who have also been here have experienced the same exact thing. I'm in shock that this place continues to operate this way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I go to Benihana 3-5 times a year and pe ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I go to Benihana 3-5 times a year and people think I'm nuts because it's always crowded and a chain. It wouldn't thrive and always be packed if it wasn't good. It's an experience for newbies but the food is actually really good. If you're not counting calories my absolute favorite is anything on the hibachi. I've never had a bad meal and I keep forgetting how much I actually enjoy my visit. It's not fine dining but a great time with good friends. Be prepared to smell like food and you MUST wash your clothing but the smell is worth it. They've fixed up this location a little while ago but either way, I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice show by the chef affordable good fo ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Nice show by the chef

affordable good food

getting to know new people

easy table reservation

cosy atmosphere

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was great and the chef and wait ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was great and the chef and waiter were amazing however the hostess was very rude and could not get oue seating arangement squared away

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The chef seemed new and the portions ser ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The chef seemed new and the portions served to each guest was uneven . The chef served from his right to his left however the first 3 guest received generous portions while the end of the table got the scraps . Not worth the value

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

GREAT SERVICE MY KIDS LOVE THE PLACE, I ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

GREAT SERVICE MY KIDS LOVE THE PLACE, I would be coming back again

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here, and the food was much ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Second time here, and the food was much better. Lunch prices are fantastic, and the quality of the food is fantastic. The service was a little slow, but the chef was very funny and engaging. Overall, my second experience left a lasting impression. Better for lunch than dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We have dined at the Benihana back home ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We have dined at the Benihana back home dozens of times. It one of our children's favorite, especially our 2 year old because of the entertainment of the chef cooking the food at your table. The tables was right ad they fit 9 of us when they usually fit 8 but he kids didn't mind it and my husband and I sat on one of the ends which was better. The food is consistent to what we are used to back home. Only difference I just saw was the dressing in the salad for me tasted better here as well as the ginger sauce for the vegetables and seafood. Be aware that when you leave you will smell like grease and I wouldn't recommend going anywhere afterward that you would feel conscious of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The only reason I'm giving one star is b ...

 
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The only reason I'm giving one star is because the food was edible. We had a reservation for 8:30. We were seated at a table promptly but then had to wait ALMOST 45 minutes for someone to come greet us and get our DRINK order. Apparently they had to travel to the other side of the city to get our drinks, and they finally arrived at 9:45. The guy cooking our food then didn't arrive until almost 10:30 to cook for us...?!?! WHAT?!?! We watched 3 other tables get seated after us and get drinks/food yet our table seemed to be invisible. The cook screwed up my order, along with two other people's orders at the table. I thought at least the food might be amazing...IT WAS NOT. Incredibly disappointing! Stay away if you have anywhere to be after dinner, because you won't make it! It's now 11:00 and we're still waiting to get our check! No manager ever stopped by the table and when asked to speak with one, there wasn't one available.

*Update* We ended up finding the manager when we were told all of our cards were declined by our server...he didn't even care about what happened and smiled when he said "sorry." It took everything we had not to just walk out. Somehow when the manager ran all of our cards they went through just fine. I'm sure we will have several transactions on our accounts tomorrow. UNBELIEVABLE. 😡

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was decent, but it was nothing ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was decent, but it was nothing to rave about. The service was absolutely terrible, and the prices are way too high for the food and service provided. One girl with food allergies had to wait an hour to get her food from the kitchen, and it was cold when it arrived. The chef of the table was fun and engaging, but the food was mildly decent. When I go to a restaurant like this, I expect to pay higher prices, but I also expect a higher quality of service and food. I suggest looking for another venue if you are looking for hibachi.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Though the food was decent our service w ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Though the food was decent our service was alarmingly bad. We were the forgotten table it seemed and didn't receive any food until about 50 minutes into our service. An acknowledgement of poor service would have gone a long way but the staff didn't regard the lack of service as a big deal. Our chef was lovely and the food was fine but the frustration of poor service may make it difficult for me to return ...

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Good place to celebrate Birthday w/famil ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Good place to celebrate Birthday w/family and or group.

Server was attentive and chef was fun!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I visited Benihana to celebrate my birth ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I visited Benihana to celebrate my birthday. Luckily I made a reservation - the restaurant was completely filled on a Wednesday at 5:30! After being seated, the other's at our hibachi seemed more into their cell phones and phone conversations then the show in front of us. I had visited a few months ago and felt that the servers were much more attentive and speedy. It took about 30 minutes just to receive our salad and soup. By the time the chef finally appeared, he kept scanning the restaurant and was not focused on his performance, leading to missed tricks and a rude demeanor. It seems like a lot has changed in a short span of time....and not for the better. With all of the restaurants in the city, try a more authentic restaurant where the service is worth the money instead of another chain attracting tourists.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

The food was excellent the chef was very ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was excellent the chef was very entertaining the only negative the drinks are not so strong I ordered the margarita and it was very watery.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Benihaha was a dining "experience" back ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Benihaha was a dining "experience" back in 1965 in NYC. Very few Japanese restaurants were in NYC in those ancient days. It became a spot for our family celebrations as dining,child centered entertainment. My son and girlfriend requested Benihana as the spot for their high school graduation lunch in 1993. Skipping forward to the next generation, took my grandson and family in 2012. It was still the same menu,setup, child centered fun with the chef at the Teppanyaki table. Grandson very happy. Currently my visit with my 40 yo son for " old times sake" was a far different as Benihana obviously was responding to the competition in Manhattan. It has become much more of a tourist restaurant rather than local families. The menu was expanded with more Japanese fare such as sushi. I found the receptionist very rude. He was very busy talking into his speaker and basically ignored me until he finished his conversation. Quite a turn off for this guest. Other staff were well trained in customer service and customer satisfaction. Most evident. We ordered from the traditional teppanyaki menu. Still tasty. The family that shared our table enjoyed the whole " show" especially the two younger of the three kids. Our table waiter was so excellent and accommodating.

BUT our clothing reeked of fish and grease odors, so much that it was offensive. The ventilation system is inadequate. A smokey haze was evident throughout. A recent renovation created more space and tables to turn over. The bar was large and it looked like those in the covered outside patio and in the bar were happy campers. The sameness over the years must provide comfort and security for families who also enjoy the familiarity with McDonalds.

In conclusion, my son and I are not the target customers for Benihana . When the newest grandchildren are older will they dine at Benihana? Probably. Get the ventilation under control please.

Tags: kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Benihana NYC is one of my favorite resta ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Benihana NYC is one of my favorite restaurants. I'm there for all my special occasions with 10-20 people for Mother's Day, Father's Day and birthdays.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a bad experience last year but de ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a bad experience last year but decided to try it again because we have gone for years to celebrate the end of the school year with my children. Waiter spilled a drink all over a customer and the food was just not that great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Yikes- the horrible experience started w ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Yikes- the horrible experience started with the hostess who seemed mad to be there- she seemed annoyed with everyone. Waited forever every time we ordered drinks. Food was barely edible. With prices like this the service needs to be decent- should have gone to Nobu around the corner.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

telephonist was dour and unhelpful. told ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

telephonist was dour and unhelpful. told us we only had 1.5 hrs. waited 40 mins for table despite being on time. waitresses seem unhappy but nice enough. poor ventilation.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

My daughter got sick within an hour of e ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My daughter got sick within an hour of eating here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The restaurant made our fifth grade grad ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The restaurant made our fifth grade graduation lunch very special. The waitress was fantastic and even presented us with a group photo at no extra charge. The chef put on a great show for the children and really kept their attention. Highly recommended.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is terrific and the spectacle o ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food is terrific and the spectacle of the cooking at the grill, in front of you, great fun. Good for children. They were extremely busy when we came, on time, for our dinner. That said it was far too long before we shown to our table, fifty minutes. The service was really slow once we were seated. and it is too cramped for normal sized people at the group tables. Elbow to elbow. No thanks. The food is the saving grace.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

the wait takes forever. they will make y ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2016

the wait takes forever. they will make your wait a longass time until they can fit their quota per table. good if you have a large group that can fit a table or else you are going to have to wait.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

It is frustrating to wait 30 mins inspit ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It is frustrating to wait 30 mins inspite of making reservations on a weekday (Monday evening). The food was good but our Chef Jimmy barley uttered a word. I have been there before and all the other Chefs were super friendly and interactive.that adds up to your total experience...so Jimmy was disappointing, even though the food for super amazing. Beautiful experience. The Best part was that they clicked our picture for a birthday party and handed over the hard copy to the Birthday girl right away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Amazing place to take friends and family ...

 
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Amazing place to take friends and family! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my boyfriend for fathers day .he's ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took my boyfriend for fathers day .he's very hard to please but when the chief started cooking and doing little tricks HE LOVED IT experience was amazing

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Great atmosphere

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious food. Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second visit to your New Yor ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was my second visit to your New York restaurant. My first visit the food was outstanding.

My visit on June 19, 2016 was not good at all. The service was good but the food was not. The chicken was tough and I saw very little chicken in my fried rice, if any. The food was not seasoned at all. my visit in April, I was completely satisfied and wanted to take my family of 4. I was very disappointed in the food, not happy with that chef cooking at all.

If I visit again, which I may because I like the place, but I will try another location.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my birthday and my family and i h ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was my birthday and my family and i had a wonderful time everything was great

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time with my family. It was ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great time with my family. It was the first having dinner there everyone was full.the food is great and my husband enjoyed his father's day .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second year in a row that my ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is the second year in a row that my sister, niece, and I had lunch at Benihana's for Father's day. Last year they had a special menu for Father's day, but we were able to order off of the lunch menu. This year however, we were made to order off of the dinner menu, even though we were there for lunch. The food was very good, but our lunch for 3 , even with my niece ordering off of the kid's menu, came to $132 including tip. If we happen to be in town next Father's day, we will probably have lunch elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our chef had a lot of difficulty getting ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our chef had a lot of difficulty getting the people at our table in to the whole experience. We were three small groups and he couldn't get anybody to crack a smile. The bartenders are very nice though!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The waiter was horrible she forgot to me ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The waiter was horrible she forgot to mention things to the chef and therefore our food was horrible! It was also my birthday and they forgot to sing and make my night special. I've been here an abundance of times and I won't come back after this experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.