Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 102 times today

Benihana - New York

4.0
2704 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for Groups
  • Fun
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Enjoy one of the best shows in NYC at the original Benihana. Start with drinks and sushi at our first floor contemporary sushi and cocktail bar, great for after-work drinks and meeting friends. Or, go to our second-floor dining room where your personal chef will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds. See what made Benihana the legend that it is today. Looking to host an event or private party? Our private dining rooms are always a crowd pleaser. Call for more details and price options. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Sunday: 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 581-0930
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between 5th and 6th Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

View Private Dining Details
What 2704 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
food
3.7
service
3.7
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
73% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Amazing. The chef did an excellent job cooking the food and with the show

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food was great. Chef came within 20 minutes after us being seated. Chef was entertaining and funny. Waiter was overwhelmed with table next to us. He forgot my drink and my brown rice, but he was clearly overwhelmed so that was excused.

Manager didn't handle the table next to me too well, i guess they were waiting for over an hour after being seated, for a chef. They were shouting and cursing and upset. Messed up my dining experience there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

It was a great time

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2018

I scheduled a dinner for 15 people two months in advance and when I arrive with my party there were no tables avaliable for my party. I was told we had to wait 20 Minutes for our table. We waited 1hr and a half for a table. I talk to the manager and still nothing was done. We had children who were hungry. We were told they don't offer appetizer unless we have a table. When we finally got seated the customer service was horrible. There were no plates, cups, utensil set up on the tables. Took the chef 20mins to come serve us. This place is highly over rated and needs better service. This was my first and last time going here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The restaurant itself was ok. The location was great. The food was mediocre. It really did not have a good taste. The rice (for it to cost extra) had no taste at all. We spent a great deal of money and were still hungry afterwards. I don't know what the hype is all about. I should have just purchased a hotdog or pizza slice from one of the vendors on the street. At least I would have gotten a "real taste" of New York. My family was very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I went for my anniversary. It was my first time going. I didnt know that it would be at a shared table, but the service and food was so excellent it didnt bother me. Everything was excellent.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 7, 2018

This was the most vile meal ever served in Manhattan. From the horrible service where drinks had to be remade 3 times, to the soup being placed with the servers finger in the soup to the filthy floors and bathroom this was the worst dining experience ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Was excellent. Great service. Very attentive. Had a great time and will likely come back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We booked table for 7pm, were seated at 7:45pm and had food at8:20pm. I was very disappointed with the whole service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2018

This particular location views sushi as an "appetizer". If you only want sushi, you can only sit in the bar. First cone, first served. Different than the other Benihana's I've eaten in.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Good for kids

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Everything was nice until the server tied to be sneaky and double tip himself. Management wasn’t much help either.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Our chef was very good on the day, just a bit of a novelty to have your food cooked in front of you. Food was lovely.
Only thing you need to be wary of is the added tax at the end plus the service charge. Our service charge came to roughly $60 which we thought was a bit much. It states “optional/ recommended” amounts on the bill. We decided to pay this separately and paid what we thought was suitable. As it was less than the suggested $60 ,we were approached by our waiter as we were leaving who basically said it wasn’t enough which was quite forward. I understand in the US tips are a big deal but it was quite surprising to be approached and ended up giving another $20. Overall the meal and atmosphere was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Was fun to eat at the original one. We were on vacation and it was a fun night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great experience and helpful staff

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2018

This has to be one of the worst restaurant experiences you could possibly subject yourself to. If the smoke inhalation, doesn’t end you first, the universal studios atmosphere will do you in

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The chef was engaging but the server who took our order seemed frustrated whenever we asked a question about a dish on the menu.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

My husband and I decided to go full tourist and come to Benihana. It was a lot of fun. It would have been more fun if the people we were sharing the table with were a bit more friendly, but that's not Benihana's fault. It's a lot of food and I feel a great value for the amount of food you receive.

It was fun and we'll go again, but next time with friends!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 2, 2018

food is always consistent but service continues to decline. 6 pm reservation with 2 small children, seated at 6:50 after watching several people pay off the host to seat right away. almost zero apology. fun place but service headache may not be worth it.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Terrible experience there where the chef was spewing homophobic jokes. Not appropriate and personally, very offensive. Definitely ruined the night. Will never return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

we arrived 5 mins before our reservation. it took us 20 mins to even check our name in. and then another hour wait beyond our reservation time. they sat us in the newly renovated downstairs tables, which had no ventilation, and it was almost too hot too stay.

love Benihana since childhood, but ya'll really need to get it together.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 2, 2018

They couldnt handle the sittings before us so we had over a 2 hour wait and decided to leave and eat elsewhere

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 1, 2018

I just wanted to say that on the day that I went with my wife on my birthday. We were not too impressed.
We have made a tradition of it to go every year on my birthday. This year didn’t seem too special .
When we sat down, the first thing I noticed was the grill not adequately Cleaned. Also, The grill kept shutting off which is un usual for a restaurant that makes so much money.
What really did it for us was that the manager came over. after the cook prepared the sauces the manager proceeded to remove them with his bare hands.
without regard to whom thet cook was serving it to. Despite the manager being told that they were sauces in them by other people at our table. Some of the sauces did spill out a bit. That was uncalled for.
Then the chef served those same dishes with the sauces, after the manager touched them. Not once did we observe him purelling his hands. That’s bad management and little regard for us patrons that are paying top dollar for there plates.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Wonderful dining experience. Energetic chef, excellent wait staff and incredible food. Great value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

The food was good as usual. I come here often. I would recommend

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Everything was great about the experience other than the chef. He was very sarcastic and rude because I asked for more garlic butter(which this chain is know for). Each item came out much more bland than the locations I’ve visited in other cities because he refused and ignored me when I requested the garlic butter. The atmosphere was nice, & the actual server was courteous. Still wouldn’t return because no one likes bland food & rude service at their diner table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

No complaints...who doesn’t love hibachi?!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Made reservations for 6 , waited two hours and then was seated, there plates were dirty .i will never go back to this place poor service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our Chef Table B-day Discount. We ate so well and we were entertained so perfectly. The staff were friendly and even sang happy bday to me in english and in japanese!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

I brought my mom here last minute as a surprise for her birthday and i didn't expect it to be this wonderful. The staff was amazing and polite, our chef Pedro was entertaining and our waiter who unexpectedly took our pictures was so inviting and he took care of us to perfection. We appreciate the experience! Thank you Benihana

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We had to wait forever to be seated

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Our kids love Benihana, the show table side is great and all the chefs & servers are friendly and attentive. Which is pretty amazing since the place is always packed. Food is good, not great, but you’re mostly there for the “show”.

The biggest downside is the waiting time. We had a 7pm Reservation...yes Reservation and we were not seated until 8pm...a full hour later. Just a note about seating - since we were a party of 4 they seat you with others...no issue..they have to fill the tables....but your dining experience can be positively or negatively impacted by the other guests. Best bet is to go with a group of 8 and Book the whole table or reserve a private room.

Dinner for 4 with 2 drinks each for adults with tip came to $250

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food was good and good value drinks a little expensive. Had a great experience dined with some really nice people

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 27, 2018

all of us got sick

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Always delicious and entertaining! We love eating at Benihana!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Service was great the food was good and very welcoming

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 26, 2018

It was incredibly hot where we were seated on the first floor. The staff kept mentioning something about central air. When I went to the bathroom upstairs I noticed it was nice and cool up there. Overall a terrible experience. Will never return to this location again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We waited an hour past our reservation to be seated and then another half hour to even get our drink orders taken... horrible.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Wow how the mighty have fallen. The only thing worse then the chef's atrocious knife skills / showman ship, the entire point of going to a hibachi restaurant, was the waiter's service. The food was bland and the portion sizes reduced from what they used to be. This place has fallen on some seriously hard times despite the recent renovation. There are other Hibachi options in Manhattan now, I highly suggest going to one of those.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 23, 2018

I strongly believe that the establishment can provide better service and be a bit more organized, 1st. The hostess was extremely rude (talked very ghetto) sat my son, his girlfriend and I on a overcrowded baby. The cook had several meals to cook and had to cook a particular portion first, but then when ready to eat the food was cold, because of the time it took him to cook all the meats (vegetable was first, followed by the chicken, then the rice, and like 20 minutes after was the rest of the portion of meat. In which I ordered the trio. I have eaten here plenty of times, but the experience on may 23rd was awfull. Yet it was my sons birthday and he thought it was cool but that the food was cold when ready to eat

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
68

Tweets by Benihana - New York