About Benihana - New York

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first serve basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (172)
special occasion (118)
kid-friendly (117)
See All
great for lunch (68)
fit for foodies (53)
hot spot (42)
late-night find (39)
romantic (24)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for brunch (20)
vibrant bar scene (16)
scenic view (9)
great for outdoor dining (9)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Been going for years to Benihana and it' ...

Dined 3 days ago

Been going for years to Benihana and it's sad to see that much has changed and not for the better. Little things like the usual plates, now it's a generic white plate. Salad had no life to it. Waited almost 25 minutes for chef and it wasn't busy. Little things go a long way...just wasn't like past experiences.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Even though I had a reservation I still ...

Dined 5 days ago

Even though I had a reservation I still had to wait for 45 minutes which was abode little ridiculous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

They do no honor reservations

Dined 6 days ago

Have been going to Benihana for years. As the staff smiles well, and has learned the art to make you feel all is going well, they hand you a buzzer so that you can wait an extra 15-20 minutes to be seated WITH a reservation. Hmm-the point of a reservation is for customers to come in and reasonably sit at the table within 5 minutes...AND for the restaurant to manage their earlier seating correctly. NOT the case here. Staff is untrained-does not respect the request to speak with managers and juggle you for the 20 plus minutes you wait for a table so that they don't have to answer directly why there isn't a table ready. Zero accommodation to a family with a child's birthday for the delay. AND we were not the only one on this particular night. They over book and take in walk ins and don't balance nor honor a reservation over 50% of the time. Not acceptable.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Very noisy. Very bad ventilation. The pl ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very noisy. Very bad ventilation. The place was filled of food smoke. Even the interior of my purse smelled food. The cook was fun. However the waitress was somewhat impolite.we were a party of 6. I had to remind them of my food. So by the time I got my plate the rest of our group was already done.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Even though I had a reservation, it took ...

Dined 7 days ago

Even though I had a reservation, it took a long time to be seated (about 20 mins). When we got upstairs, the restaurant was not full. Also, it took our chef a long time to show up and cook for us. The food was delicious and our waitress was very attentive and nice.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hostess was rude. Wait time was horrendo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Hostess was rude. Wait time was horrendous even with reservation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my mom's birthday. We real ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated my mom's birthday. We really enjoyed it. Special thanks to our chef who was really funny. The food was great

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was amazing and I would go back ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was amazing and I would go back for that reason But I was not expecting it to be so loud but every other table was a birthday so the staff would come together and song this super loud obnoxious song. It was not spaced out very well either . I was say on the end and the cooks portable table kept hitting my white coach purse. There was a sense of claustrophobic going on. I was there with just one other person looking to have some good hibachi. If I had gone with a group looking to wild out a little I probably would have enjoyed it more and not dressed as nice.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

The performance of the cooks is wonderfu ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The performance of the cooks is wonderful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is the home of fun

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Benihana is the home of fun. I dare you to find a restaurant to eat at that's more fun. Good for birthdays or ANY days!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had an excellent time celebrating our daughters birthday!! She loves Benihanas!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The chef are very entertaining and the f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The chef are very entertaining and the food is delicious. Needless to say the noise level is loud. The ambiance can be a bit ghetto depending on the holiday or special occasion i.e. Mother's Day. For Mother's Day Party of 6, 7 with a 3 month old infant. I asked to sit at another table because we were right next to the kitchen swinging doors. There wasn't enough room to place the car seat ( in which baby was in) or stroller. Manager's could careless about the customers accommodations. It's all about packing the table. Horrible customer service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nothing special for the price

Dined on May 6, 2016

I went to many Benihanas in California and Hawaii. The one in NY was disappointing. Had to pay extra for the fried rice! The cook and waiter were not Japanese when one expects Japanese staff in a Japanese restaurant especially when they cook in front of you! The happy birthday song was sang in a "lets get it over with" manner! They rushed us away from the table in order to sit the next group, by putting the next set of plates in front of us!

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Fun -- but beware "reservation" times

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

This is the second time we've made a reservation at BH (once for a party of 3 and once for a party of 6). And it is the second time that we've been kept waiting an hour for the table, with very little explanation and no apology (we had five kids celebrating my son's 15th birthday and were seated at 9:45 for an 8:45 reservation). The restaurant is otherwise what you'd expect -- fun, festive, tasty, and pretty steeply priced. But I am concerned that the business model involves overbooking significantly --- and banking on the fact that customers who have their heart set on the BH experience will wait it out (and order drinks in the mean time).

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The bartenders where fantastic. They mad ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The bartenders where fantastic. They made suggestions, explained saka rating, and made fantastic drinks.

food3
ambience3
service3

The portions have gotten extremely small ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The portions have gotten extremely small here.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great birthday spot!

Dined on April 27, 2016

After a 10-year absence, my wife and I returned to Benihana for my birthday, and it brought back all of the great memories from our last visit - the "egg roll", the onion volcano, the beating heart made of rice, the flying shrimp tails, and the great drinks! We also made friends with the couple sitting next to us, who were visiting from Switzerland.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was GREAT as always!!!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was GREAT as always!!!

food4
ambience1
service2

We was making the reservation from Swed ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

We was making the reservation from Sweden and have been on Benihana in more places in the world. This place is comparable to McDonalds on a Saturday. Very messy and families with noicie children. Also very smoky air premises. The food was good although the salmon was a bit dry because they fried it too long.

food2
ambience3
service1

Well from the very start the staff was r ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Well from the very start the staff was rude had a reservation and still had to wait 10/15 minutes Won't be visiting this place again thanks for the experience a bad one my opinion this place is overrated

food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Disappoiting food

Dined on April 25, 2016

We were very disappointed with the food here - it is very basic and doesn't really taste of anything. The starter was a soup and salad - very boring and tasteless! Besides that, you have to choose a main course - we chose scallops and lobster and beef. There was anything wrong with any of it, but it doesn't really taste of anything and the sidings was just boring, plain boiled white rice. Overall, very disappointing experience..

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience1
service1

The service was horroble,we wait one hou ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

The service was horroble,we wait one hour only to take the order. And the check was incorrect 2 times. The fiod is exceltent , but the service of the waiter id verybut very bad.

food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Horrible service

Dined on April 24, 2016

I was in NY for the weekend since there is no Benihana locations in the surrounding Boston,MA area I brought my mom to experience the good food I was introduced to by a good friend months ago. I was highly embarrassed to bring my mother to a place where we waited 30 minutes for our drinks and soup/salads. A party that had arrived well after we had arrived were waited on and brought their drinks before us. I proceeded to say something to the young woman at the front who went on to seek our waiter Yusif. Once our cook came over he could not read what our orders were and had to continuously ask each of us at the table for our orders. The last straw was when our bill came and there were 3 additional meals we did not have on our tab. I seaked a manager who was slightly apologetic and explained to Yusif that he had to pay more attention to his dining guests. It was not the best experience. I was disappointed and again embarrassed not for myself but for my mom's first experience at this Benihana location.

food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Unsatified

Dined on April 24, 2016

The indian chef was terrible. He kept dropping things and would argue with customers when It wasn't to their liking. The waitress was not that great either. We kept having to track her down to get items. Several guest wanted a refill and was not able to do so because she only came back at the end with the check. This was our third time here and the first time for our friends and they were not impressed at all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful show! very good food! kindly service.

Dined on April 22, 2016

wonderful show! very good food! kindly service. I want to go to again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the food, great customer servic ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

I loved the food, great customer service

food5
ambience5
service3

We go to Benihana all the time but more ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We go to Benihana all the time but more and more we have been noticing that making a reservation is useless. For example tonight when people were just walking in they were telling them a 45 minute wait time. We had an 8:30 reservation and weren't seated until 9:10, so it was basically the same. Very annoying and takes away from the amazing food and experience.

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Benihana celebration

Dined on April 20, 2016

I have been to benihana many times i am so disappointed that the service has dropped so much. The waitress was nice and friendly but the chef and very quiet. Smiled occasionally and only did half of the show. Chefs name was roque not funny its like he didnt want to be there or looks for the crowd that will "tip" him the best. Such a shame!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great for birthday fun

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

tons of fun for tourists and native New Yorkers alike-- can't beat a fun Hibachi meal in the heart of the city

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Special Dinner

Dined on April 18, 2016

When I called for reservations I told them this was for a Birthday of my guest for dinner. At dessert time, I had to remind my waiter that it was my friends Birthday. Poor coordination among staff. The restaurant is for tourists not for native NY'ers. The food is mediocore at best. The serving chef was rude and not pleasant. I will not go back there period.

Tags: late-night find
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I've eaten better hibachi.

Dined on April 15, 2016

I've eaten better hibachi in small places, not as famous or fancy, but better food. It's a fun meal if you want to go in a group.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

With some trepidation agreed to son's desire for birthday dinner at Benihana. Fearful of mobs of tourists, long wait, lousy food. My son, daughter and their mates plus my wife attended. I was totally amazed, having spent small fortunes and the city's finest steak houses and restaurants, with the way things went. With entire party there we waited less than 5 minutes and were brought upstairs and taken to a room with only 2 stations. After getting my son's wine choice we were treated to a wonderful 2 hour dinner. The service was excellent from all. "Jimmy" our chef was fabulous--entertaining, fun-- and an excellent chef. All the food was prepared in front of us and was superb. Steak, shrimp, scallops, chicken, vegetables all prepared to perfection. The steak was so tasty and tender. They took a complimentary group picture and gave it to my son within minutes. Free ice cream sundae for the birthday guy. A fabulous success and highly recommended. Reasonably priced.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Poor overall experience.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Seated an hour after reservation time. First drink arrived 30 mins after that with food coming in another 30 mins. Overall 2 hours between reservation time and eating is far too long.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on April 9, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and he loved it! Service was really good, food was amazing, and the vibe tops it off really well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service3

Seated 20 minutes past reservation time ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Seated 20 minutes past reservation time no apology were offered Food MacDonald league Chef quite entertaining It's just for little kids

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Mixed Bag

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was good, chef "show" was very good but the overall service was poor. We had an 8:15 reservation but did not end up getting seated until 9. What is the point of a reservation at that point? When we first arrived we were told it would be about 5-10 min to be seated which is reasonable but it kept getting pushed further and further...Would gladly come back in the future if they can manage this issue better.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihanas 56th

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food and service was good . The cook could of been better

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The NY Benihana is far past its prime.

Dined on April 4, 2016

What used to be a fun hibachi place is now a sad shadow of itself. The service is poor and the wait times are long. The former highlight of the experience, the hibachi chefs, are bored, lackluster and not interactive. I'm sure that dealing with tourist crowds day after day is soul-killing, but I'm paying to be entertained. And entertained we were not. We took our children to Benihana for our youngest daughter's seventh birthday. She loves hibachi places and asked to go for her birthday. It was a very lackluster experience.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Benihana Experience

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

I go here all the time however I don't recommend on the weekends. It gets super busy and at times the reception downstairs can be rude.

food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Great for the family

Dined on April 3, 2016

Kids will enjoy. Ideal for a birthday with family members

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.