Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Benihana - New York

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Enjoy one of the best shows in NYC at the original Benihana. Start with drinks and sushi at our first floor contemporary sushi and cocktail bar, great for after-work drinks and meeting friends. Or, go to our second-floor dining room where your personal chef will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds. See what made Benihana the legend that it is today. Looking to host an event or private party? Our private dining rooms are always a crowd pleaser. Call for more details and price options. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (86)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Special Occasion (72)
See All
Fun (65)
Casual (61)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Comfort Food (22)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Romantic (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Authentic (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Business Meals (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (10)
Late-night Find (10)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Spicy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
2187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was great. I enjoyed my birthday dinner. I'm going to go again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The waiting time for a table has always been a problem. Even with a reservation

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We never got to swat as he hostess was rude even if we had reservations
Bathroom was dirty and tables were so tight so good thing we never sat. But again hostess was so rude

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were very disappointed because we had reservations at 8 pm, arrived at the restaurant 7:50 pm and the table was available only 8:40 pm. Long await!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I didn't like the fact that the bartender was rude and told me credit card declined when I knew it wasn't. Very disrespectful!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

This was my 1st visit of many more to come. Thoroughly enjoyed everything.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (大阪)·Dined on September 6, 2017

we had a reservation at 9:30, but they didn't make us the seat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

I went here for my birthday. The service was great. Nice people and the staff is so friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We always love to eat at Benihana. The food is great. The chefs are polite and entertaining. Its fun to watch the reactions of the children to the "cha-cha train," " the beating heart of rice, and the other antics of the chef. The service is great and the whole dining experience is fun.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went here with a date and she loved it both of our first time in a hibachi restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The experience was good as always. I just love it. The only thing is, that we had a reservation at 8pm and had to wait until 8:30pm to be seated. This is not a big deal. But for example in MIAMI, you can not make reservations and you know, that you may have to wait up to 1hour. but when I have a reservation i do expect, that the restaurnt meets the confirmed time for the reservation made.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Worst experience I have ever had dining at Benihana. Our chef hated his job, did not perform a show for us and put no effort in. Our entire table was livid, and disappointed. I will never go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Had a great time, food was lovely, chef was great, very noisey. But fun:

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Benihana is one of my favorite restaurants. The service was great and the food was great. What more can I ask for? You can have both casual or romantic dinner here. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Les prestations du cuisinier , sensées être l attraction et La valeur ajoutée du repas ont été minables .
Les engagements du menus non respectées et La nourriture plus que quelconque .
L endroit est à éviter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

My son asked if we could go for tepinyaki whilst on holiday, as he had enjoyed this style of dining before. We had a fantastic evening, good food, entertainment from the chef and a good time was had by all. So glad we prebooked also, as the restaurant was totally full when we arrived.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

My experience was horrible. Its was my wifes bday and i asked the waiter and other patrons too sing happy birthday and they all ignored my request.. It ruined our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

I really enjoyed taking my son, the service from the waiters were great !!! They were really on top of everything! The food was Really good even ate some things I've never ate before. I just wished the chief was a little friendlier ! Did not speak to use , did not crack a joke nothing . You expect a little bit of friendliness in these dinners. But everything else was super!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Lots of fun, good food - great for a group/special occasion

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Waited 40 minutes to be seated and service is to be expected. But I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Average food , tight spaces. Over priced and underwhelmed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Visited New York and it was close to walking distance from my room. Made reservations and walked right in to a table. Service was friendly and fast and made me feel comfortable. Cook was funny and made us strangers feel like a group!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This restaurant location does not honor reservations at all! We arrived at 710 for a 715 reservation only to be told to wait at the bar for our table to be ready and then we were give one of those restaurant beepers. When I asked the host if our table would be ready on time (we had our young daughter with us) she pointed to a crowd at the bar whose reservations were much earlier than ours e.g. 645, 700 pm and that they would be seated first! Supposedly they could not predict how long each party would take to finish their meal? Why this restaurant accepts reservations is beyond comprehension! It's a shame when children love the place and we had intended to celebrate our daughter's grades. We ended up going to a neighborhood fave, JAMS by Jonathan Waxman. We will not return to Benihana!

*this review form forced me to give one star or else my review would not be submitted. I would NOT give this place any stars otherwise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

A fun hibachi restaurant serving an extensive menu of classic and unique hibachi choices. Loved that there was a kids menu! There were also sushi selections available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a reservation for 8 but didn't get seated until 8:45. What was the point of the reservation?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Awesome , fun, great food, nice people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The overall experience was slow moving. Didn't make much of an effort to present a great show. Mediocre at its best. I've been to this type of restaurant before I'm punts Cana and it was spectacular. I was excited to bring my daughter to Benihana so she can experience what I did. But that was a failure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The servant was so rude, she doesn't give options or answer with more information to our questions. She was rushing to get orders to the point they made us feel like rushed. Out of the branches I've been in London with significant experience. This New York branch is very poor and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Relatives from Hawaii, Texas and a family of 5 who drove to New York from Canada. With them and my family in New York enjoyed the open table. thanks to the male staff who carefully and patiently served us, i salute him. With us was a 6 year old hyper boy, but the male staff dealed with him with a wide smile. This is my 4th time at Benihana New York and i will keep on coming back especially when friends and relatives come visit us in New York; food, needless to say, was awesome.. Mr Chef was a pro in that field. Thank you, Mr Chef...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Got there 5 mins early for reservation. Got seated 10 mins late. Long meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

It was so much fun! We went for our 8 year olds birthday and they made her feel so special

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My daughter and I have been going to Benihana's for years to celebrate our birthdays. We love it

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food is excellent and the live cooking of it is sommuch fun. The training it must take to make this happen is exetemsive. It was a birthday and a perfect place for a special occasion

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

This place has great food and a wonderful dining experience. They also have great sushi and drinks and can accommodate large groups for dinner. Its a hotspot near Times Square that is always a good time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wait was longer than expected but once seated, it was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

always great!!! something new to the show each time

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food is tasty. Have eaten here several times, I think chef must have been new from the order he prepared food. Ordered steak and chicken, the steak was put on grill after everyone received meal we thought he may have forgotten we ordered steak. Maybe it was because we went at lunch time, if so I prefer going for dinner. But I must say once again for was tasty

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

It was my boyfriends birthday and we had reservations for 9:15 we didn't get seated until 9:50 other than the long wait after making reservations the overall was great. They could've sat us next to some better company but hey the food and chef were awesome !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Very bad experience they made us wait almost 3 hours. Also they took forever to serve the food. Our reservations were for 8.30 and we had dinner at 11.30 which is super late for us. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It took us 30 minutes to get seated (7:45 reservations, sat at 8:15pm). Food was as good as expected. Above average server.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.