Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Benihana - New York

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Enjoy one of the best shows in NYC at the original Benihana. Start with drinks and sushi at our first floor contemporary sushi and cocktail bar, great for after-work drinks and meeting friends. Or, go to our second-floor dining room where your personal chef will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds. See what made Benihana the legend that it is today. Looking to host an event or private party? Our private dining rooms are always a crowd pleaser. Call for more details and price options. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (72)
Good for Birthdays (61)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Kid-friendly (44)
Fun (44)
Family Style (40)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Good for a Date (38)
Casual (32)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Open Kitchen (26)
Great for Lunch (20)
Comfort Food (18)
People Watching (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Romantic (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Authentic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Cozy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Private Room (9)
Spicy (8)
Business Meals (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Live Sports (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Live Music (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Dancing (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 10 hours ago

The food was excellent and our server Justin was amazing and very attentive. We were celebrating Dominican Mother's Day and we decided to take my mom to Benihana for the first time. She's never been to a restaurant where the chef cooks right in front of her. I just wish that our chef Mizan was a little more entertaining. While waiting on our chef, we were watching the chef at the next table and he was very entertaining with his group. He made them laugh a lot. My mom was very excited to get the same type of entertainment at our table but she was slightly disappointed. Our chef was a little serious, he did a couple of tricks but nothing that wowed us. I've been to Benihana before but this was my mom's first visit and I wish she would of enjoyed the really Benihana experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Could not seat us for an hour past our scheduled reservation time... Laughably poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

It's was really amazing. First time going to a venue like this where the drinks, food and establishment was very exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I love Benihana.... the food is everything😍😍😍😍😍

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Schweiz)·Dined 4 days ago

Worst experience in NY. Huge delays with reservation and no explanation. We left the restaurant and took a table elsewhere. Thumbs Down!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

They did not honor the reservation- arrived with the full group including kids at 6- was told they were running 15min behind- didn't get seated until 6:40 and then had trouble getting the chef to the table. Waiter never refilled water or came to see if we needed anything even to see if we wanted to order more drinks! Was actually terrible overall and a huge disappointment! They also brought the ice cream while we were still eating dinner without asking what flavor anyone wanted. When we complained about that they took ice cream orders and brought it back later on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent just the waiting part to be seated but other than that everything was great

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I made a reservation and was there 45 minutes early and the waiter call me 2 hours later . Very disorganized.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The meal was good but you are rushed to finish. Once the meal is finished being cooked a service will come over and ask you to leave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I reserved a table here for a birthday celebration with three other people. While the food was good and the performance of its preparation was entertaining, we were given our check before our (included in the meal) tea and dessert which they seemed to have forgotten. They began cleaning (and partially resetting!) our table as we were waiting for them, and when they did arrive, we'd barely begun to eat before a manager asked us "politely" to hurry up and leave, right after a waiter apologized and told us to take our time. The tea was still too hot to actually drink, so we barely sipped it, basically inhaled what we could of the ice cream, and left. I understand they were busy, but the delay in our ordered food wasn't our fault and we'd already been charged for them. The request was intrusive and made us immediately uncomfortable, putting a huge damper on what was meant to be a special occasion.

As we were also seated about 20min after our actual reservation time, it's clear that this place overbooks and/or underestimates how long it takes people to eat. They are packing people in and rushing them out. This is my third visit to this location and, while I've never felt welcome to leisurely finish my meal or order additional food items after the main course, this time was exceptional in how quickly they wanted us out. We did leave, but we also will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Staff at reception are extremely rude and made a full party with a reservation wait for over 30 minutes. That is unacceptable and ruined the atmosphere for the special occasion we were celebrating. This is also not the first time we have been treated like this at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Loud but fun. Good for kids. Service feels rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Reservation is meaningless, we had to wait more than 30 min. before getting to the table, then another 30-45 minutes before getting the food. The skill of the chefs varies and some are not impressive and not entertaining. The food is under seasoned. The pleace is very noisy.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Loved Benihana's birthday package -- $30 off plus a birthday ice cream with candle and the staff singing Happy Birthday -- also, a souvenir photo taken by staff! Best birthday package ever!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Service was terrible this day. Bad bad bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The worst service I've ever had . I will be contacting the general manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had lots of fun enjoyed the chef's and the food was great going back real soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a bit of an issue with reservations. The chef Roy wasn't as engaging as other chef's (some in our party has been here before). Food was great.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I tried calling to change my table by 15 minutes and was told you but yet waited 30 minutes to get seated. The food was good, however prices have increased substantially and the service was slow (except for the chef). I think I will go back to my regular place that I discovered while they were closed for renovations.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall Experience was nice but although you made a reservation for a specific time you still have to wait 20-30 mins extra which was a bummer .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sevice very gd, chef gd, food not so gd, I've tasted & eaten better

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The host made us feel very uncomfortable he was yelling at every worker there i dont remember his name but he was a young indian guy . My food was good but that guy was very disrespectfull towards his coworkers. I hope you guys speak to this person because i dont want to have to change restaurants.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They sat us 1.5 hour late despite having reservation which was upsetting as I have a scheduled nanny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I went to Benihana for my birthday. I had a group of 6 people and it was amazing. The food was wonderful, all of my guests enjoyed it. The chef was also very entertaining as well. However, two of my guests showed up late and could not have the table I reserved. I ended up waiting for two hours in order to get a table that had two people who weren't apart of my party. It was a very inconvenient. Nonetheless, it was an amazing experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Such a great experience ! My mom loved it for her birthday

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant was dirty upon arrival. Several of the shrimp I saw needed to be deveined. Our server disappeared and everyone at the table was in need of drinks. I thought I'd have a fun time, but left disappointing and disgusted. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

40 min waiting for the cook in hot room full of smoke
food was average
the cook was not entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I expected much more out of the presentation and the food. The chef wasn't very enthusiastic and didn't do much. The food was not great, the chicken was tough and chewy and the vegetables were soggy and overcooked.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Amazing time and it was fun and energetic. But if your looking for a quiet romantic dinner this is not your Resturant. But we'll worth the noise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was great, and the service fine. Only problem was the disgusting ladies' bathroom.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My reservation was for 10pm, while I did arrive early and they had availability for seating, they wouldn't´t accommodate me although I was with young children and asked for it. Dinner was finally served at 11pm to the usual franchise standard and the cook was polite. Will definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The ambiente is not as nice as Benihana in London but the value for money is way better! Compared to London prices and food quality I would definitely recommend this place even though the interior is not as nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Amazing and delicious enjoyed the experience. Went there my birthday and I had a lot of fun.

Tags: Fireplace, Fun, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Arrived on time for reservation. At first host didn't acknowledge us, was on a personal call and was in no rush to get off. When the host finally lifted his eyes, we mentioned our reservation and he claimed it wasn't in the system. We showed him the email confirmation from open table, and then he said it was in the system and it would be a 20-30 minute wait. No apologies, extremely unpleasant person. We left without dining there and I would never go back and I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is a great place to attend with family, friends and co-workers. Make your reservation in advance to avoid a long wait. Best time to go is at lunch time when meals are half the price of dinner. Note that kids prices went up $2 so be sure to ask as the menu does not reflect it yet but your bill will.
Kids can have a blast as they give children coloring sheets to do while you order.
It's best to go with a group so you can get a whole table.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Never got our table. Waited for an hour.. The people working there were busy eating leftovers from a cake instead of seating guests. Got nothing but rude answers from the staff when we asked about our table. Ended up going somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wasted my time. They couldn't give us an estimated wait time after waiting 15mins after scheduled reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our wait staff was very efficient and polite. The cook was great and food was amazing. Loved that we can park in the garage next to the restaurant and only pay $17 for the entire time. That's a bonus right there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It's crazy crowded. No real space, our half table stared within 6 feet directly into the faces of the facing table of 8. Appetizers were pretty low-end. Everyone was with a child under ten and they seemed to appreciate the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.