About Benihana - New York

47 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Enjoy one of the best shows in NYC at the original Benihana. Start with drinks and sushi at our first floor contemporary sushi and cocktail bar, great for after-work drinks and meeting friends. Or, go to our second-floor dining room where your personal chef will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds. See what made Benihana the legend that it is today. Looking to host an event or private party? Our private dining rooms are always a crowd pleaser. Call for more details and price options. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am, Saturday: 3:00 pm - 12:00 am, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-0930

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/newyorkwest-ny-we

Parking Details:
Street parking & Discount central parking garage available next door.(51 W56th street)

Public Transit:
F Train ( 57 street stop)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-newyork-west - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
California Roll - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Chef Cooking - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Chef Cooking - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Sushi - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Trio - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Lunch Boat - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Chef Trick - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Fried Rice - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Steak - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Surf Side - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Assorted Sushi - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Zumo Roll - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Tempura - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Chocolate Icecream - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Grilled Shrimp - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Filet Mignon - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Green Tea Ice Cream - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Chicken Fried Rice Close Up - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Grilled Zucchini - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Salad With Romaine Lettuce With Ginger Dressing - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Onion Soup - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
White Peach Sake Sangria - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Green Tea - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Agedashi Tofu - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Lunch Boat With Chicken - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Mango Roll - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Rolls - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Benihana Excellence- Teriyaki Beef* Julienne With Scallions And Colossal Shrimp. - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Hibachi steak and shrimp - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Salad - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Hibachi Grilled Vegetables - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Clear soup - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Uramaki Rolls - Benihana - New York, New York, NY
Baked Roll - Benihana - New York, New York, NY

Private Dining

Benihana New York City features two private dining areas and one semi-private dining area perfect for your large group or private party.

Benihana - New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.4

ambience

3.5

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (70)
Good for Groups (67)
Special Occasion (56)
See All
Fun (54)
Family Style (48)
Good for a Date (44)
Kid-friendly (40)
Casual (35)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Open Kitchen (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Comfort Food (21)
People Watching (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Romantic (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Authentic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Private Room (11)
Healthy (10)
Cozy (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Historic (3)
Vegan (3)
Waterfront (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1774 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took forever for chef to come out (maybe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Took forever for chef to come out (maybe 45 mins) and waiter was never anywhere to be found

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

The chef and food was excellent. I'll be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The chef and food was excellent. I'll be there again soon

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go to Benihana when my friends and I g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I go to Benihana when my friends and I get together to catch up. It's a fun place and the food is always good. We love the hibachi-style cooking! Usually service is pretty good but this time, it was not. The chef was good and entertaining but we were not pleased with our waiter. We each had the 6-course hibachi dinner and when we sat down, I asked if tea was included. The waiter said yes and yet he did not bring us our tea until we asked for it later on. Then at the end of our meal when all our plates were removed, he did not come back to ask if we wanted dessert. We waited for a while until we found him and motioned for him to come to our table. When I asked again if dessert was included, he just said yes and didn't even apologize or explain why he didn't check if we wanted it. We had to ask what the dessert was and finally he brought them over. This is the first time in our dining experiences at Benihana that we've had mediocre service. We hope this kind of service will not be the norm going forward.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

The food was excellent. Service was gre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was excellent. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Rather overpriced tourist trap.. we went ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Rather overpriced tourist trap.. we went because I had ancient gift cards that needed to be used

Food was ok, tended to be overcooked, nothing particularly special

amusing to watch the hibachi chef of course though we did not get to see the "volcano"

Tables are cramped so be aware if you are being squished into one with large-sized people

Bill came to $100 after tiptax for 2, no alcohol

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

An entire hour's wait despite the reserv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

An entire hour's wait despite the reservation, bad service, loud and crowded.

Food was pretty good and the "show" the chef put on were quite nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Server was slow. Took over 20 minutes t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Server was slow. Took over 20 minutes to get drinks. Menu said soda was refillable and server said it was not and that I would be charged. I pointed out the menu and he said it was wrong.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The service at Benihana - New York was s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service at Benihana - New York was significantly below the expected level. The servers consistently either forgot or took forever to provide drinks. Furthermore, the hibachi chef/cook appeared confused about "who" was to receive "what" food order. As an example, a child at my table who order a split plate (chicken & shrimp) received a larger serving of each food than I did for my singular order of chicken.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We never ate there because they made us ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We never ate there because they made us wait 30 minutes post reservation time. Then squeezed us in on a table with 2 other groups. We were incredibly tight and therefore, we walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Muy mal servicio. Tienen que esperar que ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Muy mal servicio. Tienen que esperar que se llene tu tepanyski para atenderte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Great food, but way too long to be seate ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, but way too long to be seated. Enjoyed the night overall.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Even if you make a reservation you still ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Even if you make a reservation you still have to wait which doesn't make any sense. That's the whole reason of making a reservation so you could avoid the wait. The waiter and the cook was nice and the food was good just didn't like the wait. It was at 815 on a Thursday night.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

They made us wait 45 min to be seated fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

They made us wait 45 min to be seated for our reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Took my boyfriend there for his 21st bir ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Took my boyfriend there for his 21st birthday, it was a great experience! The people were very friendly and the food was yummy! I'll definitely be back :0)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Host was terrible, waited 90 minutes aft ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Host was terrible, waited 90 minutes after reservation time to be seated and eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE FOOD AND THE ATMOS ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE FOOD AND THE ATMOSPHERE. EVERYTHING WAS GREAT MY KIDS REALLY ENJOYED THE COOKING IN FRONT OF THEM.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Like most people we turned up and we wer ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Like most people we turned up and we were told the table was not ready. I asked when it might be ready and I was told, we don't know. We waited 25 mins and noticed people complaining, that arrived before us, so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Made a reservation but they were running ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Made a reservation but they were running 30 mins behind. Reservation fail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Made a reservation and still had to wait ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Made a reservation and still had to wait over an hour for a table. Our server was great, but the chef was a little too quiet and withdrawn. He had an accent as well so it was hard to understand him. He wasn't energetic or exciting like I've had in my past visit. The overall experience was just ok, the food was pretty good, but could have been better and for the prices you charge that was unacceptable. I will not be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a reservation for dinner but got the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had a reservation for dinner but got there early to enjoy a drink and some sushi at the bar- we waited over 40 minutes for the sushi to get to the table despite checking in periodically. We told them we had a reservation that was coming up soon and they said its fine we can bring it upstairs- no reason given why it was taking so long for the food to come.

We rushed to eat the sushi prior to getting seated upstairs ten minutes after our reservation time. Food was good- service for drinks was slow upstairs.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

our chef was funny and very talented. fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

our chef was funny and very talented. food was delicious especially the tuna steak.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been to Benihana's a few times. This vis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Been to Benihana's a few times. This visit was just okay. Food was fine but the service was really absent. First off I have a reservation, get there on time with a group of six and have to wait 20 minutes for our tables. Then we get to the table and have to wait another 10 minutes for a waiter to come take our drink order. ten minutes later we get the drink s and place the order. Long story short, we got there at 1pm and started eating at about 2:15. There were other items, like our waiter disappearing for an eternity and our check being 90% incorrect, but I'm not aiming to butcher the restaurant. This was a family trip, the day after New Years and the kids had a ball with the hibachi chef doing a great job, so I stayed calm and collected. Had I been with clients and this was a business lunch or dinner, it would have been a big damn problem. So service was not great at all this visit but I've been there before and had better. The food was delicious and the chef did a great job.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Portions are small and are cookie cutter ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Portions are small and are cookie cutter. Inevitably, something is always missing, thus, one part of the meal is ice cold while the remainder is hot.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Even after having a open table reservati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Even after having a open table reservation we waited for 2 hours to get seated. Not sure if you need more description

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Such a fun experience, 3rd time in with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Such a fun experience, 3rd time in with a group in a year. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I went for my son's 12th birthday dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I went for my son's 12th birthday dinner and we had a blast. There was a bit of delay in seating us although we made reservations (about 15 minutes) but other than than our dining was great. The chef was very interactive with my son and the entire table. Can't wait to dine again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Went there for my son's 12th birthday. A ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for my son's 12th birthday. An intimate family dinner turned out very fun. The chef was very interactive with my son and acknowledged his birthday. The waiter was very nice and attended to all of our needs. My son received ice cream and they sang happy birthday in English and Japanese. Have a great time and will definitely be back again

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always; waiter disappe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was great as always; waiter disappeared after first 20 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Go frequently, service was much faster a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Go frequently, service was much faster and more efficient than usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing for the last night of the year b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing for the last night of the year but we left smelling smoke...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good meal, kids had a good time. Chef w ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good meal, kids had a good time. Chef was entertaining and the food was simple but perfectly prepared.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Able to get seated in a reasonable time ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Able to get seated in a reasonable time and staff friendly. Service incredibly slow but given it was New Years willing to give them some slack. But it was still horrendous service. I was charged for drinks I never received which I had to correct when I finally got the bill. Then the worst part of all was they used handheld credit card processors (like the ones used in Europe) but it couldn't connect to wifi! Our server had to fight with other servers to get the one device and had to walk all over restaurant to find signal to process cards. Ultimately it took over 30 minutes to process our transaction. Due to the multiple failures and time outs from the card processor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

The hibachi grill was dirty, we had to g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The hibachi grill was dirty, we had to get it cleaned twice. We waited 2 hours to be served. Horrible experience never again! It's a little expensive for the food's worth. The price wasn't worth it since the food didn't taste well. Yet we had an okay server. But overall I don't recommend it. I rather pay the toll to eat at New Jersey hibachi instead. It's a little cheaper and worth every penny you spend. I was disappointed in Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

This is such a good restaurant to go out ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is such a good restaurant to go out on a date. My boyfriend and I have visited twice and love the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The show that the cook perform while pre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The show that the cook perform while preparing your meal in front of you is a must see! Have your smartphone ready

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Noisy and hectic. Frying smell in your c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Noisy and hectic. Frying smell in your clothes and hair. Good food but not worth the dry cleaning after...

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Milton is an excellent cook. The food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Milton is an excellent cook. The food was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & service. We waited a bite l ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food & service. We waited a bite longer than normal. I think they were kind of short on staff. Evening over heard some of the staff arguing about lunch & clearing the table. I visit often to eat especially at dinner time. I just tried lunch this time and I don't think I would do that again. I will stick to dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We made reservations and waited a bit be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We made reservations and waited a bit before getting to our table but other than that, it was a good experience. The space is small so you're sitting pretty close to the person next to you though. The food was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

An entertaining and yummy treat! The se ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 29, 2016

An entertaining and yummy treat! The service was terrific!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.