About Benihana - Minneapolis

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail in our beautiful bar and lounge. Relax before your meal with one of our specialty cocktails or sushi in our beautiful bar and lounge. Our bar is the perfect place to host your next networking event. Need to host a large event? We offer several private rooms to choose from. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Give us a call for more details or to reserve one of the private dining rooms. Benihana Minneapolis is conveniently located off of I-394 and seven minutes from downtown Minneapolis.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-minneapolis - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
California Roll - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Sushi - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Trio - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Chef Trick - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Onion Soup - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Red Plum Sake Sangria - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Hibachi Steak - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Strawberry Sangria - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Las Vegas Roll - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Chicken & Beef Julienne - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Hibachi Chicken - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Ginger Salad And Miso Soup - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Las Vegas Roll & Philly Roll - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
ginger salad  - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Green Tea Ice Crean - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
steak & chicken - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Sumo Roll - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Shrimp Sauce - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Green Tea Ice Cream - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Hibachi Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Rainbow Icecream - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Seaweed salad - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Spider Roll - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Exotic Colada - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Lobster Tail, Scallops And Shrimps - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Fried Rice :) - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Scallop - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN
Fillet Mignon - Benihana - Minneapolis, Golden Valley, MN

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (59)
Special Occasion (57)
Good for Groups (41)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Fun (39)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Casual (29)
Kid-friendly (26)
Family Style (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
People Watching (13)
Authentic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Romantic (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Private Room (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lunch with my Neicey pooh Zari

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Lunch with my Neicey pooh Zari

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Birthday

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

My Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bathrooms dirty, waitress inattentive an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Bathrooms dirty, waitress inattentive and 3 out if 4 in our party was sick afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We went to celebrate my cousin's Birthda ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to celebrate my cousin's Birthday and were late to our reservation but the staff was very accommodating and seated us after a short wait. The food was delicious and my nieces loved Chef Rafael. He really made us feel welcome and celebrated with our family. The Hibachi preparation was very enjoyable and the service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always great! A little exp ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

This place is always great! A little expensive but I guess is in the price for sea food and steak. Delicious meal!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite for the past 20years I highl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite for the past 20years I highly recommend this place! Make sure to get extra garlic butter!Yum

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

It's was very nice we enjoyed ourselves ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

It's was very nice we enjoyed ourselves and can't wait to return

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our reservation was at 8:00 on..the chef ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our reservation was at 8:00 on..the chef did not start until 9:00. So, was a bit unsatisfied with the wait but, food was great as always

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an amazing lunch at Benihana. Br ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had an amazing lunch at Benihana. Brought relatives that had never been there and they thoroughly enjoyed the chef! We went at lunch but ordered from the dinner menu! Delicious and entertaining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a group from work that go to Ben ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We have a group from work that go to Benihana's every January to celebrate after Christmas and New Years and as a bonus there are a couple of Birthdays in January we celebrate also. It is a special treat to go to Beni's because it is a bit pricy for lunch but we deserve it at least once a year. If there is another occasion that we are able to all do lunch again in the year Benihana's is our go to place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and fun. Chefs are entertain ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food and fun. Chefs are entertaining and kid friendly

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Live Sports, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very thing was available when we needed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very thing was available when we needed it and the food was great.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall entertainment was excellent but, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall entertainment was excellent but, what I did not like was that my reservation was for 6 and they would not seat us until "everybody was there" so by the time my later person showed up apparently my reservation was non existent because I had to wait until 8:30 to be seated.... Food was great but portions were small... 2 dinners and a bill over $100 and nothing to take home is kind of upsetting especially with the huge plates they have for you to eat off of. Like I said the entertainment was excellent and the taste of the food was phenomenal but, making a reservation is pointless and make sure you order extra so you can enjoy the food later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Very enjoyable and relaxing. The food w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very enjoyable and relaxing. The food was excellent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Too many bday copoun stipulations. Could ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Too many bday copoun stipulations. Couldn't use. Didn't get a happy bday song. No picture. Waitress was whack! Had to go to the bar to order another drink as took too long to come back. Waitress was "experienced" so no real customer service. Chef was "timid." His name was Reyes. Knew he was amateur as soon as he brought the cart. No tricks just a whack heart that even that wasn't done right! Think Ima take the few extra minute drive and try my luck with Maple Grove from now.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

We had a great time and wonderful chef!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a great time and wonderful chef!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate my mother's 50th birth ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Went to celebrate my mother's 50th birthday, was sad we didn't get a birthday coupon in time but outside of that the service was awesome. The tables are awkward for waitresses though, I noticed it was harder to refill drinks. The guy who cooked the food was very humorous and seemed very experienced. The food tasted great as expected. I never sit at the cooking tables because it doesn't usually take longer but it was my mom's first time. The drinks we ordered were average I'd have to say- definitely not somewhere I'd go just for drinks- but the food is good!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience as always! Plenty of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

A great experience as always! Plenty of delicious food and entertaining teppanyaki chefs. You don't leave here hungry or unhappy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed that my group was tol ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I was disappointed that my group was told we couldn't get happy hour drink & sushi happy hour pricing once we were seated at our table even though it was still before 6pm happy hour cutoff time. I didn't see any fine print stating this and they missed out on another round or drinks and sushi for a group of 7. This left a bad impression for this visit. I might need to rethink my next family dinner location for somewhere else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The service was great, my family enjoyed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The service was great, my family enjoyed the dining experience as usual. We had reservations at 3, didn't get seated until 45 min after we arrived. People were waking in without prior reservations & were seated before we were. I was a bit disappointed with that, that's usually why people place reservations so they aren't waiting for 45 min to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we made a reservation they were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Although we made a reservation they were behind 15 to 20 minutes. The waiter was very good however the chef was very experienced but looked bored and we had to engage him several times to acknowledge we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went here on a date. Ou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I went here on a date. Our reservation was for 4:00 and we didn't get seated until 4:30. We weren't greeted very friendly by he staff. We finally sat down and the plates were full of grease. The table was sticky. My husband sent his glass of wine back because the glass was dirty. Our server seemed impatiently when taking orders. The only positive thing from our meal was the hibachi cook. He was really sweet and quite entertaining.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We came for New Year's Eve and brought m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came for New Year's Eve and brought my parents and in-laws. All had a very enjoyable time and loved the food. Being a weekend night and New Year's Eve it was very noisy so it made it difficult to talk, but overall a great experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was prepared well our chef was pers ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was prepared well our chef was personable and entertaining unlike our server who did not know how to smile seemed impatient and did not serve the table frequent enough. This place is extremely loud and the temperature was extremely warm.quite spendy from the drinks to the meals definitely not an inexpensive evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

New years eve

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For being New Years Eve they had minimal ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For being New Years Eve they had minimal waiting. Although dinner was a bit expedited due to the overwhelming number of tables we had a great time as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The order was incorrect and was not hand ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The order was incorrect and was not handled well. Additionally, the server needs to learn how to serve bowls properly. Placing his hand over the entire bowl of soup or salad makes it less appetizing to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Our chief was amazing, food had great fl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our chief was amazing, food had great flavor, we didn't have to wait for our table long, but our server wasn't very good I ordered another drink and I never received it and she never asked if anyone needed a refill on there drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

We had to wait 25 minutes to be seated a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had to wait 25 minutes to be seated although we arrived on time. Were not told that others would be at our table. Rushed through meal, plates not cleared timely *& given to go boxes within 5 minutes of chef leaving the table

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

Carlos needs to work on evening out the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Carlos needs to work on evening out the portions given to guest. They were extremely inconsistent but he seasoned the food well and he and the server were very polite. She had some issues with mixing up guest food items but she remained calm and was very kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this place! We celebrated my birthd ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love this place! We celebrated my birthday with my kids and boyfriend. It was lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations for 7 pm and still h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had reservations for 7 pm and still had to wait 40 minutes to be seated. Our chef also seemed disinterested in putting on a show. The waiter was slow after the meal with bills and boxes. Overall, the whole experience was a disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Saw some recent bad reviews for this loc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Saw some recent bad reviews for this location (excessive heat, unfriendly staff, incredibly slow service) but we did not experience any of that. Our food was delicious, the timing of the courses was just right. The only service issues were at the bar before our dinner when they wouldn't let us order sushi because the sushi chef was busy making a platter. Get more staff then. Our table server was decent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall we had a great time ... the wait ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Overall we had a great time ... the waitress was overbusy so we didn't get silverware or refills without asking. Table chef was excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful as always! We celebrated 4 Dec ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful as always! We celebrated 4 December birthdays 3 adults and a child , a December tradition. Thanks Benihana!

Tags: Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

I had such a great time at the restauran ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I had such a great time at the restaurant that I recommend it to everyone!!! It was my birthday and it was one of my favorites!!! Thank you so much for giving my such a great Birthday.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for kids and adults. Lots of fun!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great for kids and adults. Lots of fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was my daughter's 10 year old birthda ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was my daughter's 10 year old birthday that day and at no time did anyone ask if we were celebrating a birthday at the table we did not get a photo taken! she did not get Happy Birthday song to her! as well as she ordered a kids drink and it came 20 minutes later

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

It's a very fun experience and most of t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It's a very fun experience and most of the chefs there are of high quality. The service this time was very poor in that he kept forgetting things (water, tea, other beverages), messed up our order slightly and charged 2 people incorrectly on their final bill. He was polite and friendly, just not what you would expect when you are paying that much money. We've eaten here many times and the service is usually good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Family Style, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Employees that speak english a little be ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Employees that speak english a little better. Otherwise food was good as usual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.