About Benihana - Minneapolis

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail in our beautiful bar and lounge. Relax before your meal with one of our specialty cocktails or sushi in our beautiful bar and lounge. Our bar is the perfect place to host your next networking event. Need to host a large event? We offer several private rooms to choose from. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Give us a call for more details or to reserve one of the private dining rooms. Benihana Minneapolis is conveniently located off of I-394 and seven minutes from downtown Minneapolis.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (61)
Special Occasion (60)
Fun (58)
See All
Good for Groups (53)
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Casual (38)
Family Style (35)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Kid-friendly (29)
Worth the Drive (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Romantic (18)
People Watching (18)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Private Room (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
1268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

It was good we went for a family night! Always good food! Chef was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful time and it accommodated all of our family members. It was a fun experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Was very loud and the group me and my wife was seated with were out of line and very disrectful. The worst of the night was when a woman became hostile with a bartender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Always fun..fun to watch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

The manager was extremely unhelpful. It was my birthday and I was unable to use my coupon and he said their was a glitch with the third party vendor. Which is not my fault and I feel he should have given me the discount anyways. There was another lady at our table with a birthday too and she was also denied her coupon. He was extremely rude and unhelpful and we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Our friends did not receive their $30 off for a birthday coupon and didn't realize it until after they'd left the restaurant. (They are in the process of trying to get this resolved.)

We had a party of 11 people. While we were put in a room with two hibachi tables, all 11 of us were crammed into a table that normally seats 8 comfortably. It was very difficult to eat because we were basically sitting on each other's laps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It just needs to be cleaned better. I don't think it's very sanitary. Restrooms seem messy. Tables are always sticky. I love the food, the messiness just grossing me out a little

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I hope Benihana stops using styrofoam containers as to-go boxes. Compostable boxes would show a commitment to sustainability which I highly value as a consumer. Fun for a group of people celebrating something special!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The theme is so tired and our service was terrible. I try to avoid angry, petty reviews based on service but I was hanging out with my empty drink glasses and my wife's empty drink glasses all night. The staff was more interested in some ** who showed up late and smelled like she fell in a vat of perfume than cleaning up glassware from our crowded table space. My money will be spent better elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Good dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

it was a relay nice restaurant, the service was good and fast. had a lot of fun.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always great food. Good for special events, date nights, lunch or any occasion. Come on an empty stomach! Never a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was excellent, our chef was fun and very good. The fried rice is unbelievable!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great evening! Raphael , our table chef , wowed us with his skill and perfectly done filet, chicken and shrimp. The wait staff was timely and attentive. We all left saying "I'd come back here".

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food, fun atmosphere, good beer, totally over priced. Dinky portion of steak and shrimp not worth $35 per person.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The chef provided a great atmosphere for the table and made the food to my liking. Overall it was a nice evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent for steak chicken or seafood. A little expensive but worth it

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Over priced, over cooked and questionable cooking practices, will no longer eat there. They need to take cooking lessons, everything was dry, over cooked and covered in butter, even through I told them I was lactose intolerant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our cook was HORRIBLE..he had no interaction with us..didn't talk no tricks with the food..overall he was just rude to us!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were celebrating two birthdays, had a wonderful time, lots of delicious food and great ambience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The server Helen was very kind and accommodating. We took food to go and she had it all ready by the time we were done with our meal. The Chef was very entertaining and the steak and scallops were perfect. I don't generally get the Land N Sea but I'm glad I did. Steak was a perfect med-rare. I always have a wonderful time when I go.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always a blast we friends get together here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was okay. I love the chicken fried rice but it time it was under seasoned. My lobster tail and steak was over cooked. With a family of 4 with a 4 and 5 year old, our check was still $170. It wasn't that good.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our food was great, service was good and for my first time ever at that restaurant chain we had a phenomenal time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was my first experience at a Benihana restaurant. I was not disappointed. I thought this would be a good experience to share with friends on a Saturday night and it turned out to be unique and fun. We arrived 30 minutes before our reservation so we could visit the bar while we waited for everyone to arrive. The bartender was great and she made sure our drinks were to our liking. Two of our friends got caught in traffic and the hosts were very accommodating to extend our reservation by nearly 30 minutes. When everyone finally arrived we were seated promptly. The manager greeted us and checked back with us after the evening to ensure our first Benihana experience was memorable.

Overall, we were very pleased with our first experience here and plan to go back in the future.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service, great chef. Very comfortable. Worth the price for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pleasantly surprised! Arrived half hour early expecting to wait for our table and they seated us right away. Our server was very attentive and good but our Chef Pedro was excellent!! The food was fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My experience was awesome. My children and grandchild love the entire experience.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was fast and quality. It's all about the shrimp sauce!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was overlooked - hibachi meat chewy

Price does not match quality of food

The birthday song was entertaining. Chef was fun to watch

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

They were running 20+ minutes behind in their reservations seating, but bought us all complimentary drinks once seated :)

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We don't often visit this location, and it's highly unlikely we'll return. Our reservation was at 6:30, and we weren't seated until 7. There were several people at the hostess station who did not look to be enjoying their job. One was even slouching/leaning on the station! We were seated- 30 minutes late, remember- at a table where something plastic had melted onto the cooktop. Our server turned on the heat and took our drink orders, and it was at least fifteen minutes before someone came out to clean the burning, melting plastic off of the cooktop (the fans were causing the black smoke to blow directly at my husband and myself).

Additionally, a member of our party ordered white rice with her meal and it was not brought to her until our meal was completely done being cooked- and only after we asked for it. Our hostess was not very present. However, our chef- Rafael- was absolutely incredible.

I love Benihana, but this visit left a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Little disappointed - usually the chefs are entertaining and engaging. This one was just trying to get food prepared and move on. Food was not as good as it usually is-he was overly generous with seasoning and butter mix but not in a good way.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were seated 20 minutes after our reservation time, we were rushed with our soup and salad and the chef hadn't even left the table when the server came with boxes and the checks. Other than that, the food was really good and the chef did an amazing job!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We loved our chef the food was very good but our waitress was very inattentive other than that it was a nice lunch

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I went to Benihana for the fisrt time to celebrate my birthday and I had an amazing time. Our chef was Pedro and he was exceptional. He was cracking jokes and was very personable. You get a lot of food, definitely enough to bring home leftovers. It was a great experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had Chef Sergio tonight, phenomenal! Great staff, friendly and inviting... always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Staff are rude they were rushing us will never go back to this location

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Awesome food and great service! Reservation was right on time.

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Really enjoyed celebrating for my birthday :) I come here often so I'm never disappointed at this location. Antonio was our cook and he was great!! And the great thing was we came early so it wasn't as busy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We came for my birthday celebration. We come to Benihana-Minneapolis a lot, not just for special occasions. I had my $30 chef's table certificate to use, plus gift cards. Unfortunately, we were not allowed to use more than one gift card per person. This has not been the case in the past. We will now be going to Maple Grove's Benihana where they allow more than one gift card per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I love this place. I go every year for my birthday

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I have always loved the food and just the overall feel of the restaurant. It has always been a fun place to go and I love that they have The Chef's Table for Birthdays. My Best Friend and I go on my birthday and I pay for her, then on her birthday, she takes me. It has been a tradition for many, many years!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Felt rushed after the chef finished cooking. We were given to go boxes already.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Benihana is always a favorite - the chef was funny and talented, the food was great, our kids were happy, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Outstanding chef. Worked great with 3 little kids one had a birthday. Really made the meal a treat.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Lunch with my Neicey pooh Zari

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Bathrooms dirty, waitress inattentive and 3 out if 4 in our party was sick afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went to celebrate my cousin's Birthday and were late to our reservation but the staff was very accommodating and seated us after a short wait. The food was delicious and my nieces loved Chef Rafael. He really made us feel welcome and celebrated with our family. The Hibachi preparation was very enjoyable and the service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.