About Benihana - Minneapolis

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Golden Valley ›

good for groups (134)
special occasion (121)
kid-friendly (59)
See All
great for lunch (54)
fit for foodies (40)
romantic (28)
hot spot (20)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
notable wine list (6)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
995 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Denise

Dined 7 days ago

Always enjoy eating at Benihanas. Food is consistantly incredible. Staff is always curtious and seemed to really enjoy what they do and really involve each person during the meal prep. You can not help but be smiling the whole time you are there it is so wonderful and it is a great gathering spot. Love it!!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Benihana is always a fun experience and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Benihana is always a fun experience and the food is great. The chef's are entertaining if you pay attention there are a lot of tiny jokes hidden in what they say. It's on the expensive side for dinner or course depending on what you order. My family of 5, with drinks and tip is usually close to $250. We go there for special occasions like birthdays etc.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, awesome and wondering!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great, awesome and wondering!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good but Bad

Dined on May 19, 2016

I paid $250 to hold a party room and wasn't able to be seating until everyone came.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Very slow service mid day. Long wait wh ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Very slow service mid day. Long wait while not busy and had reservations .

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation for a specific time ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a reservation for a specific time. They made us wait until that time even though we were a half hour early and the restaurant seemed not so busy. Other time, we arrive at the reservation time but didn't get seated until20 minutes later despite having the reservation. I don't like that

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on May 13, 2016

Diana and Enriqur were excellent chefs and servers! Love how Diana kept our drinks filled! We loved how high Enrique's energy was! Keep up the good hiring!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Most Memorableal

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Beinhana's for our Mother's Day dinner and had a blast! Even my 2-year old enjoyed the japanese style cooking. The shrimp sauce for the rice and food is the reason why it's one of my favorite restaurants. The chef was nice and personable and seemed to enjoy what he was doing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

There was a screaming child the entire visit

Dined on May 8, 2016

THE CHEF PUT TOO MUCH SALT on the food, and there was a screaming child two tables down which too away from the ambiance and our relaxing dinner we wanted toto have on mothers day. And we were quite cold air conditioning down too low. Ive been to benihana a zillion times over the years and this experience was not what I'm use to especially when out tab was over $200.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Mediocre

Dined on May 6, 2016

The experience was no thing spectacular, I have been to this location a few times and enjoyed myself had great food and walked out not being able to wait till my next visit. This last time I visited has made me rethink if I should come again. The food was plain with little taste, and the atmosphere was not fun and welcoming as it usually is. It just disappointed me, I brought someone who had never been here before and they walked out let down saying that maybe their expectations were set too high. This is never the case. I will defiantly think twice before coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Willow's birthday

Dined on April 26, 2016

My family loves Benihana. I have been bringing them for dinner since the children were four years old. I definitely cannot afford it and feel like I left a too small tip for the server although she did a wonderful job. I do think some of your menu items are priced too high, but the wonderful food makes it worth it to me. I think I am sending a mixed message. I love it and I will be back!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's birthday---first trip to Benihana and it was a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Yum! Can't get enough shrimp sauce. Fir ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Yum! Can't get enough shrimp sauce. First time I tried the sushi and it was great!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great time and service

Dined on April 15, 2016

Benihana's servers are always very hospitable and pleasant, they always make the occasion special and keep me coming back for more.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the customer service and the food ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Loved the customer service and the food was excellent

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

They need service training for staff.

Dined on April 7, 2016

Either the management has a short staffing problem or thier working with a limited staff to boost profit margin. Water never gets filled, never ask for another drink. Forget to bring items, the staff seems robitic and forgetfull. This isn't the 1st time, I've seen it on numerious occasions. As for the chefs you get, it all depends who you get. About 50% of them just go through the motions and not really ingaged. Hopefully Bennihana will retrain or hire some new people so the place is a more enjoyable place to eat. Overall the food is great and the tools are there. Just a bad staff or not trained correctly.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good! Perfect for the kids but unfo ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Very good! Perfect for the kids but unfortunately sometimes we have to sit with adults that do not consider the kids when they are conversing amongst each other.

food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 30, 2016

The chef was great. Food was great. Veg tempora was greasy. Usually very good. Besides that I didn't like that I ordered fried rice and the waitress ordered with chicken for all 4 of us. So that was a higher bill then expected. I paid because we did eat it. Besides those two issues it was great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Too Salty

Dined on March 27, 2016

Chef over salted the meat otherwise it was good as usual.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Prices were rediculous. $350 for dinner ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Prices were rediculous. $350 for dinner for 4 people before the tip. that included only 2 drinks. The food was only so so. The service was good but for $80 per person I would rather go where the food is exceptional.

food5
ambience4
service4

My 6 year old Niece thoroughly enjoyed h ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

My 6 year old Niece thoroughly enjoyed her bday dinner! Quiet for Easter which was surprising! The chefs cooking was exceptionally good! Wish there was consistency to their cooking styles so that you know your food would taste the same every time you go! None the less our food this day was wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun for the family

Dined on March 24, 2016

I was nervous about bringing my 3 year old son but LOVED it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always reliable and fun!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Benihana always provides a fun, energetic dining experience. Having been a number of times, I know that I can expect good food, great entertainment and a fun time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent as usual

Dined on March 19, 2016

This is a once a year spot for birthdays. And it didn't disappoint. In fact our chef was outstanding and I would say he's the best we've had. His name was Trinidad and I would ask for him again. Great food as usual.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef was Amazing!!!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Enrique was our chef and he was amazing with our kids!!! The food was delicious as well!! Great night!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great steak, great service all around, ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great steak, great service all around, excellent entertainment!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

good as always

Dined on March 16, 2016

very good as always although the their was a long wait for server/cook

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2

Food was good as always. 12:00 reservati ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was good as always. 12:00 reservation. Didn't sit until almost 12:30. Left about 2:00. The service just isn't good at this location...

food5
ambience5
service5

We loved our cook! Everything we go he d ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

We loved our cook! Everything we go he does a wonderful job.

food2
ambience1
service2
value3

Disappointing Visit

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times with no complaints, but this was different. Four of us went for our birthdays in March. We were put in a small room with another party. They were so loud we could not even talk. The cook lit the little train and must have put in too much fluid because it burned high and long and even he had trouble putting it out. The shrimp tails were not removed cleanly. The fried rice was crunchy and burnt.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I only scheduled this lunch for Tim. Th ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

I only scheduled this lunch for Tim. The feedback was that everyone who attended thought that the food and ambiance were great and they would come back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

SLOWWW Service

Dined on March 5, 2016

As usual the food was very good. The service was horrible. After being seated it was almost 15 minutes before our waitress took a drink order. Another 15 minutes before the drinks arrived. When the waitress brought our soup and we still didn't have our drinks I asked her to tell the bartender to pick up the pace. Shortly thereafter I saw a a person walking around overseeing everything. I called him over and then things started to happen. He even helped serve the salads and clear dishes. We normally have decent service but this night was horrible. I hope this was a fluke.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for kid's birthday

Dined on March 5, 2016

Octaviano was amazing -- I'd ask for him by name!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an awesome experience

Dined on March 4, 2016

My family loves coming here. We have a new foster kid who had the BENIHANA'S Experience for the first time

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

The chef was very skilled and was great ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

The chef was very skilled and was great about me and my husbands request for our food to not be cooked with any butter. The food was delicious as usual. It did however take almost 30 minutes of sitting at the table before the chef arrived which caused me to have to leave my husband before paying for the check as I had to be somewhere and my 2 hour time frame wasn't long enough. Also it disappointed us a little that with our 5 course dinner, we were bit given an option of getting anything else when we both requested no side of rice or ice cream. :( Most places usually offer me something else when one of their choices don't work for me. I had a coupon so I didn't worry too much about it, but to pay $50 and be shorted a side and a dessert... Because for dinner you really only have the 5 course meal options even if you don't want it all. I wish they had a la carte choices. Oh well. I would still go back, but only if I had another coupon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server and chef was great. The food ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Our server and chef was great. The food was delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the filet mignon!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Love the filet mignon!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Meh

Dined on February 22, 2016

Food was good as always, chef was very personable and fun. Waitress service was poor as usual. But my biggest complaint has to be with the three 16 year old kids they have working the front. They were visibly high, couldn't remember who checked me in (2min after check in) and when speaking they spoke so quietly I had to lean my head in OVER the counter and cup my ear just to hear them because they would not speak up. After that happened, they proceeded to talk poorly about my party and myself and insulted us all for being "too white" What a fucking joke. Fire those kids.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 13th Anniversary! Great experience

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our chef for the evening was Kenny, and he was amazing, we've been to Benihana before but this was the best time ever! we had some special needs in our group because of allergies, and Kenny handled it with ease, everyone was happy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, tables are very tightly spac ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food, tables are very tightly spaced together. Normally very energetic chefs who put on a good show.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.