Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Benihana - Minneapolis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail in our beautiful bar and lounge. Relax before your meal with one of our specialty cocktails or sushi in our beautiful bar and lounge. Our bar is the perfect place to host your next networking event. Need to host a large event? We offer several private rooms to choose from. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Give us a call for more details or to reserve one of the private dining rooms. Benihana Minneapolis is conveniently located off of I-394 and seven minutes from downtown Minneapolis.

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (70)
Birthdays (65)
Groups (61)
See All
Fun (47)
GoodForDates (42)
Anniversaries (31)
ChildFriendly (28)
WorthTheDrive (26)
Casual (24)
FamilyStyle (24)
Lunch (21)
CreativeCuisine (21)
Authentic (13)
BarSeating (11)
Romance (11)
HappyHour (11)
SundayLunch (11)
ComfortFood (10)
HotSpot (10)
BusinessMeals (10)
HandcraftedCocktails (9)
TastingMenu (7)
PrePostTheatre (7)
Foodies (7)
OutstandingValue (6)
NeighborhoodGem (6)
VegetarianOptions (6)
OpenKitchen (6)
DisabledAccess (6)
PrivateRoom (5)
PeopleWatching (5)
Brunch (5)
Healthy (4)
VibrantBarScene (3)
LateNightFind (3)
ModernDecor (3)
Cozy (3)
OutdoorDining (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
Spicy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
GlutenFree (2)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
Vegan (1)
QuietConversation (1)
ScenicView (1)
QuickBite (1)
NotableWineList (1)
GreatBeer (1)
Sort By:
S
1372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined a day ago

Really good food ambience is really nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for my sons 16th birthday, the food was amazing I forgot my sons coupon & the manager unsure of her name (she had dark hair) took time from her busy schedule & printed it off for us. Our cook was amazing I wish I could remember his name very interactive with the table. The waitress was also amazing she sang a amazing Happy Birthday song to my son. This location ran smoothly on the night I was there & I have been there when it was not run smoothly & I thank the staff & managment duty on that night for everything!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to this location many times but I have not had a bad experience. They treat everyone special and that means a lot when on a date.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a fabulous time, EXCELLENT table-side chef, and good timing of food for 3 kids under 7. Food was great, sake EXCELLENT too.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was perfect but the service sucked. We had to ask for refills. We asked for extra garlic butter and the waiter stated it would be a extra charge. We asked how much? He said he didn't know and asked a cook and the cook verified one dollar. Ok so when we got our checks we noticed we were charged an extra .50 cent for extra garlic butter when we were told it was only one dollar. So we ask for the manager and she states well we will have to train harder on coaching and training. That was her answer for that and walked off. Very rude. I feel if you tell us a price we are looking for that price on the check not higher then what we were told. I will not be returning to that location ever again. It's not even about the money. It's the service and accuracy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is the best Benihana location in the Twin Cities! Always courteous, prompt, clean and best presentation!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Healthy, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Birthday- great service & food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food as always, fun experience! Service was unusually slow this visit, as some items arrived late.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I was surprised to find the restaurant very dirty. From the chairs, to the plates, to the bathroom. If it weren't for the group dinner, we would have walked out before ordering.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Graduation

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 31, 2017

These guys are always fun, funny, entertaining, filling, flavorful, and satisfying. A well paced meal. Nice job!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Benihana is consistently great for shrimp, zucchini and fried rice. I also love the ginger salad. I am not as big of a fan of the chicken or any beef except the tenderloin. Scallops and lobster pretty good too but the small hibachi shrimp are to die for - of course with the shrimp sauce. But come hungry- a LOT of food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Food is always good per usual. Service was horrible. Worst I've ever had from there.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We go twice a year and love it. They did however change something in their food because it did not taste like I remembered. Still really good but was better before.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 23, 2017

great food and a fun spot to celebrate birthdays! We had an awesome server who sang happy birthday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We celebrated a birthday. Was better than we spected: tasty and healthy food, great show, nice waitress and great experience in general.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Came to Minneapolis for my birthday and my fiancé recommended this restaurant. Although we had to wait about 20mins for a table reserved for 7.30, we had a very good time. The server and chef were both very friendly and entertaining. Thanks for a beautiful birthday celebration! Would definitely recommend it to everyone for an awesome experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was my husbands birthday and we had the best time... food and drinks! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day and the food and service was great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a Great Time celebrating Mother's Day Lunch with my daughter and daughter -in-law (who are also Mother's) and my son's 35th Birthday! The Grandkids really enjoyed it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Birthday and mothers day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Benihana is always our kids' requests for their birthdays. The food and service by the waitstaff and chef is always very good. We are getting extremely frustrated with always having a 10-15 minute wait when we have a reservation. It is clearly a ruse to have you "wait in the bar" and spend more money. Every. Single. Time. It was also prom season. I have no problem with these guests being a little loud, but I do have a problem with large groups of teens smoking in front of the restaurant. Many were probably not 18 and it was unpleasant to walk through with my kids and other family. This restaurant should really make the front area off limits for smoking.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I surprised my wife for early mother's day dinner, she had wanted to go for a long time, she had heard very good reviews. We were seated at a table with dirty dishes and food particles still on the grill, we were not the only ones to observe this, both of the other couples noticed this as well. The server's​ english was horrible, we could not understand a word she said, so she had the manager come to the table to speak with us. While waiting for the manager and employee was setting up the table behind us and it sounded as though he was slamming the dishes down, it was quite loud. The manager agreed to move the 3 couples, us included, to another table. When we sat at the new table the dishes there appeared to be dirty as well. The manager tried to pass it off as spots from the dishwasher, but when running my finger along it it looked and felt greasy. The manager's response was "you don't have to stay, so we talked, heard the others thinking of leaving, me and my wife felt that just didn't sit right with us, that was some of the poorest customer service we had ever witnessed. My wife is extremely disappointed and would like to try a different location, but after that incident I'm not so sure I should waste my time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful food & service. Seated right away. Definitely going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very good food! Fun atmosphere. Was kinda loud. Server was very upbeat and happy!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Tried this as an alternative for employee service anniversary lunch. Very disappointed with service. Multiple people in our group had to track down server after 30+ minutes to get drinks. One employee with seafood allergies had his meal brought out well in advance if anyone else and it was already cooked down. Had the opportunity to be a good meal but may evaluate if we want to continue with this as an option for our employees.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

You can't go wrong with a visit to Benihana. Always great food prepared before you-though I confess if you've been here multiple times it gets familiar-like seeing Star Wars for the umpteenth time. The fried rice is outrageous good. This visit I wonder if I got a little short changed on my seafood, seemed like a smaller portion for my money. Quality was excellent though.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Reservation for 2 at 7:30 (we arrived at 7:30), we were told there would be a 10 minute wait, seated at 8:10.

Waiter brings all 3 parties to the dining area and stands between 2 empty tables and starts talking to a coworker while we are trying to get her attention to figure out which table to sit at.

We ordered food at the same time as drinks and i gave them my birthday coupon. Another 25 minute wait before we are brought drinks and the salad. They forgot my wife's drink. And no silverware or chopsticks on the table or offered. They were one salad short (mine). 5-7 minutes later we were brought my salad and the soups and the utensils.

Waiter comes out and says my coupon is no good. I point out that he has already compared my drivers license to confirm my birthday, and the coupon expiration date is the next day (waiter was not aware of the current date, he then had to ask someone what the date was) situation resolved. He then moves to the other side of the table and has exact same conversation with another group at our table, which once again, seems to be immediately resolved.

Chef arrives was friendly, and put on a good show. However, makes shrimp appetizer and passes it out to the rest of the table before realizing he didn't make enough. Leaves food cooking on the table to track down the waiter. Makes the replacement and an additional order divides it up and passes out as evenly as he can to the entire table, remainder he gives to a different party (so i guess we got our full order, but the rest of the table gets extra?).

Forgets that one person ordered white rice (it doesn't come until the very end of the meal).

Takes orders for ice cream at the end, forgets to bring out my wife's ice cream. Wife had to remind them after they brought out the checks. We were told that was intentional, they figured the birthday guests would want to eat theirs first (what?)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was awful. Table space is at a premium and if you have empty glasses and bowls it takes up all our space which makes it hard to eat. They forgot the white rice for one of the guest and the chef said he didn't have mushrooms for the other guest on the cart. The server never came back after she took our orders and when she did she complained they did not have enough people waiting tables. First time service was awful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went on Sat. afternoon for lunch but ordered off the dinner menu. My 45 year old brother in law from out of the country was carded and because he didn't have an ID on him was refused to be served one beer so I ended up ordering one for him. Our drinks were late arriving and a second drink order placed before the meal was served after all of our food was prepared and a lot of the drinks served were the incorrect order. Pretty sure the dinner menu comes with complimentary ice cream but our server never asked if we wanted dessert. The food was good as usual and our chef was awesome. However, the service was horrible and so slow I don't want to ever go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Golden valley Benihanas is the best in the twin cities

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had a 9:00pm reservation. The host was not prepared at all and didn't know what OPEN TABLE was. She said they don't seat after 8:30pm. I told her OPEN TABLE had reservations for as late as 9:30pm. Finally someone else came to help her. We didn't get seated until 9:25pm. The server was very slow. We waited ten minutes before we got water then another 10 minutes before we got drinks. The chef was not very good. He seemed in a hurry and was cooking food quickly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food as always! Nice touch for kids day! Gift bag was great!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The manager, I think her name was Paula, went out of her way to make our date special. I told her in an email that I just got engaged and she made it a point to come out and congratulate us, she even brought us some ice creams with congratulations and hearts drawn in chocolate. The food was sublime, the service was exceptional. I really enjoyed everything!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Love the birthday song. There is no other like it in the world. Even if you go to another bennihanna you will not be as impressed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Birthday celebration

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We took my son there for his birthday. The food was horrible! We spent $150 for three of us and it was a fail dinner! They cooked in front of us, the chefs can't even read who had what to serve to, by the time he figure it out our food was cold and the fries rice was dried!!! after dinner they sing a birthday song and they brought out a small scoop of chocolate ice cream. I will not go there for any occasion..
Disappointed ' ☹️

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food was not cooked well ( asked for my steak to be medium and got it well done)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I love going to Benihana, but this time it was kind of a disappointment. Chef could hardly speak English, probably didn't understand what we wanted when asked. He hardly spoke, only did 1 trick. Didn't do normal tricks like I normally see. Feels like he was rushing. Just a disappointed night out. Could have been better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great experience and show. Our chef was very entertaining and made the visit unique and fun. The lobster is a must try!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.