Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Benihana - Minneapolis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail in our beautiful bar and lounge. Relax before your meal with one of our specialty cocktails or sushi in our beautiful bar and lounge. Our bar is the perfect place to host your next networking event. Need to host a large event? We offer several private rooms to choose from. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Give us a call for more details or to reserve one of the private dining rooms. Benihana Minneapolis is conveniently located off of I-394 and seven minutes from downtown Minneapolis.

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Good for Groups (72)
Good for Birthdays (71)
See All
Fun (62)
Good for a Date (53)
Family Style (43)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Kid-friendly (32)
Casual (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Great for Lunch (20)
Romantic (16)
Authentic (14)
Business Meals (14)
People Watching (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Private Room (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful time. Antonio was great and friendly to kids

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

They need to increase their service staff and they were very slow and not around when needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointed in the chef as he was not as fun as I have had there before. I like it when the chef is very playful but that was not the case that night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Always good to eat here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Everything (except the time it took to get our meal) was excellent. The manager did give the whole table a discount because of how long it took for the server to get to our table. Really enjoyed the meal and atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had so much fun and the chef that cook for us was a great time

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Made reservation for 6:00, but restaurant had it for 8:00. They weren't very accommodating at all until I showed them my OpenTable reservation (prior to, they basically said "well our system shows 8:00"). Once they were able to seat us, our chef was incredibly grumpy (literally never smiled, barely said anything - all while spinning an egg and throwing shrimp tails in his hat. Never had a sad/grumpy Benihana chef). All other servers and staff were very nice and friendly. Overall, it's Benihana. You can't expect too much - go for the shrimp sauce and experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was delicious and for a great price. The chef was very creative and it was a nice atmosphere. Convenient parking.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I go to Benihana's at least three times a year and I have maybe only had a bad experience with some people who had to much to drink, Otherwise, I would say it is a great place for Lunch or Dinner. Always Outstanding food as well.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food was really good, like always, and service was good. However, it is not the place for healthy meal. Next day, I was dealing with swelling from the too much salt intake form their seasoning. Maybe that was the reason food tasted so good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

chef was to slow the chef next to us syarted 30 mins. later than ours and they were paying when we were paying. he the other chef finisged their food ours was doing the last thing. our chef was soo damn slow n i think he new never seen him before he talked to much.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Birthday dinner for the birthday girl dinner was overall delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Such a great experience. The food was AMAZING and the service was in point. Best hibachi experience I've had.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We enjoyed out dinner!! The food was great and the service was outstanding. The chef was very good and personable - made it fun for all of us!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We've never had a bad experience here. Fantastic food and a great show of skill. My wife's choice for her birthday dinner every year!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Benihana was delicious and our server was very helpful and nice. It's always so fun to go on occasion to see the "show" while eating and drinking. My only complaint is that they don't have a salmon and chicken option for Hibachi. It is difficult being allergic to shellfish since it's really everywhere there. They did a nice job by preparing my meal in back and bringing out when everyone at my table was getting food so I didn't feel as if I missed out nor was a bother to the other diners.
Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Benihana would benefit from larger tables so when strangers are sitting next to each other it would be more comfortable. We had a nice time and the food was excellent as usual but we were seated at a table that was full and got squeezed in the middle. The other guest made room for us and were very courteous so all in all it was a nice time.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our chef was a 10-year veteran and his experience showed. My 4-year-old granddaughter was captivated by his performance. The food was excellent and the service was great. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very enjoyable evening ... food, service and company was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Our chef was awesome and really friendly. We had a five year old at the table and the chef kept him in awe.
Server was Johnny on the spot with refills on beverages.
Would recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Adults love the food while the kids enjoy the food preparation entertainment. Perfect for family gathering.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Sergio was awesome! Server was nice and friendly as well. Great time.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The waitress and chef were amazing. Every time I come here it's a great experience. The manager, Kim is friendly, professional and is always on top of things.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Most of the food and ambiance was as it always is, good food and fun atmosphere.
However I did order the calamari, and it had changed, it was thick sticks, not the usual delicate rings we normally get. They were like fish sticks and not very good.
Some of the staff (host and bartender) seemed a little new and didn't seem to have a handle on the job yet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Our server seemed off her game. She has previously served us with enthusiasm. Subsequently, our service was slow and interrupted by poor pacing. Thankfully, at this serving there were enough zucchini slices, but that is not always the case. I would think each adult at the table warrants a slice. There was too large a break between soup and salad service and until our chef arrived. Our chef Moises was OUTSTANDING and saved our celebration. In addition, We LOVE mushrooms and fail to understand why they are not always served immediately with our meat. We had steak and chicken. I expect mushrooms with my steak, but instead, got them with my chicken. Still tasted great. Please free the mushrooms and provide them with meat. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had Moises and he was amazing! He seasoned the food perfectly and cooked it to perfection!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The server who sings happy birthday is priceless..give her a raise NOW. Love this place...

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food is always delicious, not too far from home. Have been going there for years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I've always enjoyed Benihana. I was a little disappointed with our shift. It seems like he didn't have very much experience. Or he was tired.

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I felt hat the service has declned. Our chef seemed distracted during our meal and hids performance was lackluster. There was a gluten free patron in our group and her meal was finally served right when dessert orders were being taken. There were three birthdays being celebrated and the waitress asked if we really wanted happy birthday sung to us. She came back after our desset was being cleaned up with someone to sing. Also, what happened to having pictures taken? I will not be going back for any special occaissions as three couples had their's ruined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great place for a group of people. Fun place for having a family and friends get together.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Double birthday my daughter and family loved the food and our chef was outstanding

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our reservation was at 4pm, by the time we got sat it was 4:30, by the time we got a beverage it was 5pm! Why make a reservation? This happens every time we dine here ( which is at least 1 time a month). We love the food, but the service is never fast or attentive to needs... like more water! The gal manager is really kind and friendly!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My chef Carlos was amazing & funny. It was my fiancé first time at Benihana's and he enjoyed the show.... Thanks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great night. Atmosphere is fun! Food was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had my sons 7th birthday and it was his first time there. He had a blast but we found the service a bit slow

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It's was really nice. I went for my birthday which happened to be my first time as well. It did not disappoint ❤️️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Absolutely horrible service. The waitress should concentrate more on asking what the table wants as far as drinks and be timely with them and less time giving her phone number out to the patrons. I'll never go to that location again. Thoroughly disappointed. Also sorry my daughters​ had to hear the "F" word multiple times from an intoxicated patron at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great for birthday celebrations with family

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our lunch was great. It was my girlfriend's first time. They didn't explain how things work very well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.