About Benihana - Minneapolis

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail in our beautiful bar and lounge. Relax before your meal with one of our specialty cocktails or sushi in our beautiful bar and lounge. Our bar is the perfect place to host your next networking event. Need to host a large event? We offer several private rooms to choose from. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Give us a call for more details or to reserve one of the private dining rooms. Benihana Minneapolis is conveniently located off of I-394 and seven minutes from downtown Minneapolis.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Onion Soup
Hibachi Steak
Red Plum Sake Sangria
Colossal Shrimp
Strawberry Sangria
Las Vegas Roll
Chicken & Beef Julienne
Hibachi Chicken
Ginger Salad And Miso Soup
Chicken Fried Rice
Las Vegas Roll & Philly Roll
ginger salad
Green Tea Ice Crean
steak & chicken
Sumo Roll
Shrimp Sauce
Green Tea Ice Cream
Hibachi Chicken Fried Rice
Rainbow Icecream
Seaweed salad
Spider Roll
Exotic Colada
Lobster Tail, Scallops And Shrimps
Fried Rice :)
Scallop
Fillet Mignon

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Golden Valley ›

Good for Groups (92)
Special Occasion (80)
Kid-friendly (42)
See All
Great for Lunch (37)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Romantic (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Brunch (9)
Fun (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1088 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made reservations ended up waiting 45 mi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Made reservations ended up waiting 45 min while they were seating people that were walking in off the street then had to wait 1hr for the chef to start service some of my party never got parts of what they ordered then ordered sushi did not get till after got the bill after 3 hrs total time food was great chef was great just lots of mistakes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Our chef Sergio was excellent. Ask for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our chef Sergio was excellent. Ask for extra shrimp sauce!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I think the food was too salty and butte ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

I think the food was too salty and buttery. The service was okay, but waiting time before meals was too long.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I love Benihana. Even if you make a rese ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

I love Benihana. Even if you make a reservation, there is usually a wait before getting your table but totally worth the wait.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and my husband's first time coming there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service but was slooooow. Was over ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Good service but was slooooow. Was over 30 minutes before we got a chef.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This is the worst experience we had at B ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

This is the worst experience we had at Benihana, they are normally better. Service was horrible, we were sat late even though we had a reservation, then it took the chef 40 min to even come to our table to start, won't visit this location again!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

wonderful meal, really like the fried ri ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

wonderful meal, really like the fried rice and shrimp

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had great table mates and the service ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had great table mates and the services was great.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service we received was really good, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service we received was really good, however we we're there for our wedding anniversary and were sat with 6 girls under 21 complaining about their parents throughout the whole dinner. I know as staff there really wasn't anything you could do about that, but being we were trying to have a special date night, I immediately thought about asking for a different table before we were sat down. Somewhere we could have sat with a family to be able to have a nice night out. Kind of wish I would have done this as it brought down the experience. The staff were great however and our food was amazing as always.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We waited over 40 minute for our chef to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We waited over 40 minute for our chef to arrive at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

As always "the show" -- cooking with fas ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

As always "the show" -- cooking with fast moving knives and skillets -- was very well done. As for the food itself, parts were very good, other parts only average.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Once a year we meet our friends at Benih ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Once a year we meet our friends at Benihian's for our August birthdays. The food was awesome as usual. Only that our chef was almost an hour late. However, we were treated with sushi and it gave us more time to visit. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The special that evening (a spicy pork d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The special that evening (a spicy pork dish) was VERY dry, almost inedible. The cook was OK, nothing exceptional. There were two birthdays in our group.... No pictures were offered, even when asked. No birthday singing, nothing special. Was disappointing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Benihana accepts reservations, but you c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Benihana accepts reservations, but you can't be seated or even given a buzzer until your entire party is there. We had a 6PM reservation, had our whole group there at 630, got seated at 7. The food is good, but over-priced. The kids love the experience, so we will probably return until they outgrow it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The entire experience. I love this lovat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The entire experience. I love this lovation of benihana. The cook was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a birthday and the atmospher ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went for a birthday and the atmosphere was great as was the food! Definitely would recommend coming here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana did not have our reservation in ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Benihana did not have our reservation in spite of our having received a confirmation! However, we had it on our iPhone and were seated promptly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dining was good, but this option for mak ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Dining was good, but this option for making reservations was the best for me. I normally have to wait a long time but having a reservation made things much simpler. I will use this option everytime.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we did have a good time - we were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

While we did have a good time - we were seated half an hour after our reservation, even though our entire party was there on time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

75 minutes after being seated past our r ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

75 minutes after being seated past our reservation time, we still had no chef at our grill. Our soup and salad were long gone, our drink glasses were empty, and no one had checked in with us to offer refills or to explain what was happening with timelines.

When the manager came to the table at our request when we were about to pay the bill, she offered excuses about the volume of guests at the time than rather than apologizing for missed opportunities to serve us better during the delay. To her credit, she did discount the bill.

I'm glad that we've had other Benihana experiences that were positive, or we would have a very negative impression about the way this location is managed. I wish that this experience hadn't included our guests who had never been at Benihana before. Despite the problems the management may have encountered, there is so much that the staff could have done to make us more comfortable and to encourage cheerful patience during the long wait.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We chose Benihana at the request of our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We chose Benihana at the request of our 8 year old daughter for her birthday celebration. As the evening approached Our entire group of 9 was all thrilled, my husband and I , conjuring memories of countless trips as youngsters of chefs bravely juggling knives, tossing shrimp into our mouths and endlessly giggling as fun was poked at the eager guests around the table.

Sadly, this was not even close to what we experienced this time.

The staff looked tired and harried. The host was distracted and seemingly annoyed at any questions about table ETA.

The wait to be seated (despite a reservation) was almost an hour. No apology from anyone.

The waitress who finally greeted us needed multiple reminders of forgotten drinks.

Our children morphed from giddy participants into frustrated, starving and exhausted grumps.

When our chef showed up he did his best to spar with us but his face spoke a different language. This guy was tired and powering through being completely overworked and overextended.

I wish we could recount a different tale but I fear that Benihana may have gone the way of all too many restaurant chains. It seems, rather, that the profit chase has left little room for "the magic" that used to exist and in its place an atmosphere of chaos and overwhelmed, overworked staff. The food however was the same as it always has been which is a plus I'll add. Good and fresh but could dial back seriously on the salt.

Maybe we'll give it another try next year. Or maybe not. I can't imagine my kids begging to return for another birthday. Bummer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Our hibachi grill master was great, very ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our hibachi grill master was great, very nice. Our server was a little slow and not attentive. I ordered the tofu hibachi and it came with 4 big cubes of tofu- definitely a large portion. The food was good, everything was clean which is really important, and the wait wasn't too long for our table considering we had 10 people in our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The cook used the fork that he planned t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The cook used the fork that he planned to cook with to scrape up old food that he had scraped from the edges of the table. He tried to just wipe the fork with his towel but I said something and he got mad and another guest agreed with me. I asked him to get a clean fork he was visibly upset and made me wait. I was planning to go talk to the manager until he saw me watching his every move so he went and exchanged the fork. The zucchini wasn't cooked all the way through or cut in bite size chunks. I as well as another guest had to ask him to leave my food on a little longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food, favorite restaurant. Tony wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great food, favorite restaurant. Tony was our chef, was excellent as always. Dino again was our bartender, the best! Love coming here for great food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Never disappointed.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Love this place! Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was wonderful but even though w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was wonderful but even though we had a reservation, did not get served for one and one-half hours. Very noisy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

There was very little chicken in the chi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

There was very little chicken in the chicken fried rice, the chef needled more training

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

There is no place that does Teppan than ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

There is no place that does Teppan than Benihana! Only thing is they spread their servers very thin where they are taking multiple tables of 8. So getting refills is non existent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food is always delicious, well prepa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food is always delicious, well prepared, and served with great showmanship.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We waited way too long for our chef and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We waited way too long for our chef and then the food was not as good as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Awesome, as usual!!! My whole family lo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Awesome, as usual!!! My whole family loves to go there and even the fussiest are always pleased!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing, as usual. I've n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Everything was amazing, as usual. I've never had a thing to complain about at this restaurant, and I'm known to be very picky. Thank you, Benihana Minneapolis, for outstanding service, meal and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food wasn't as good ordering from the me ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food wasn't as good ordering from the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I think it is too expensive. I don't li ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I think it is too expensive. I don't like how your only choice is to get the 5 course meal. I don't eat that stuff so it ended up a waste of money. The habachi way is fun and entertaining and I like how the food is made fresh.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We went to benihana for my birthday on t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went to benihana for my birthday on thursday. They cooked my chateaubriand medium well when I asked for medium rare, which was my first disappointment. Then the waitress kept screwing up my bill. She first charged me for something I didn't order (fried rice) then when she did the bill again she forgot my $30 birthday coupon, so the second bill was way more than the first. She ended up charging my credit card 3 times and never bothered to send the manager over to apologize and try and remedy the situation. We had to sit and wait for a half hour while she tried to fix it (when we were in a hurry). It was a terrible experience. I won't be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I go to Benihana 2-3 times a month. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I go to Benihana 2-3 times a month. This was for my Birthday. So nice that they give you a $30.00 free meal the month of your birthday. Very special.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place just feels dirty! Need to up ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This place just feels dirty! Need to update!

It was my daughter's 10th bday dinner & the waitress just went through the motions without genuinely wishing her a happy birthday! Will never go to this location again!

Oh & I finally feel better this afternoon. I was sick all morning after eating there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

I always make a reservation when going b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I always make a reservation when going but I always wait about 30 minutes once we get there. It is frustrating to wait when we are on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were visiting from out of town and ce ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and celebrating a birthday. best decision all weekend had a blast and good food and excellent service. THANK YOU

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.