Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Benihana - Minneapolis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail in our beautiful bar and lounge. Relax before your meal with one of our specialty cocktails or sushi in our beautiful bar and lounge. Our bar is the perfect place to host your next networking event. Need to host a large event? We offer several private rooms to choose from. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Give us a call for more details or to reserve one of the private dining rooms. Benihana Minneapolis is conveniently located off of I-394 and seven minutes from downtown Minneapolis.

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (46)
Special Occasion (46)
Fun (39)
See All
Good for Groups (38)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Casual (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (14)
Romantic (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Business Meals (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (7)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Excellent food! Great service! A little pricey but it was a fun experience. Having a reservation from Open Table was a great idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

It was great. Love the new spicy fried rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Love Benihana. Great Service, Tasty Food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Our hibachi chef was excellent & the food he prepared was absolutely delicious!! Unfortunately, the service was horrible. It took over 20 minutes to get our drinks, with 1-2 drinks served in 10-15 minute increments. This was very frustrating, especially since we were there on my birthday. We've had issues with the service before at this location. They obviously have issues with being short staffed. We may have to try a different location next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a 6:30 reservation and they didn't even start cooking until 7:30. There were a lot of empty tables. This location is very run down and poorly managed. We could see our waitress chatting with a friend as we just sat at an empty table. She brought out the rice after we finished our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Incredible food, entertaining cooking, and very good service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food was very good, it's always hit or miss but it was all very delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The food was fabulous as always, but our waitress wasn't very friendly and she was pretty slow. Also, we've always had so much fun with the chefs before, but this time he wasn't very engaging or friendly. Disappointing from what I've usually experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Amazing! I love this location! I recommend this to all my coworker and friends

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

It has been awhile since I have been to a restaurant that is so dirty. The chairs were sticky, the table surface around the Hibachi grill was greasy and sticky. I am normally an easy going customer, but this place was pretty gross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

The food was good. The womens bathroom was not clean which was unappetizing. Also, one of our group was unable to locate her $30 birthday coupon. It somehow disappeared from her email. The staff at the restaurant weren't able to help with the coupon issue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Our twin birthday celebration with six people including my 100 year old mother in law was an event to remember! My wife and I have been to Benihana many times across the country and we rated this meal the best ever! Our chef Moises was fabulous and his artistry of cooking display was nothing short of awesome. He prepared everyone's meal to perfection. Our table server Trey was incredible as well. Trey literally was at our beckon call and did not miss a single detail of any order. Trey together with Moises made a spectacular power team that did your Minneapolis restaurant proud - BRAVO!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food was amazing but it took well over an hour just waiting on our cook to start cooking

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

From the very beginning we were treated as if we were a second thought to the table. As we ordered all we wanted were extra vegetables that come with the meal and that was just never understood nor accommodated but we were charged for it. We have been here numerous times before with no issues and I am not sure what the problem was this time. We spent a total over $100 and it was not worth it at all. We will no longer be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Took my two grandsons, 10 and 8. They were amazed. The look on their faces was priceless
Will do again soon

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our family goes to Benihana at least twice a year to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries. The food is spectacular, the chefs are entertaining, and the servers make sure your drinks stay full and you have everything you need. Great place for kids and adults. Fantastic for celebrations or just an awesome meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Everything was OK. The table was a little over crowded and the shrimp over a little over cooked. But we love eating here and will come back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food @Benihana is good at most times, service is often a let down, for a 8:00 PM reservation, they took the order at 8:45, a 45 minute wait, with kids in the party it makes the whole experience of waiting for someone to the order a bad experience. We will probably return because of the food and the fact that our kids love it and hope for a better experience next time.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

being 65 years old, i thought of "Carding" me to get a beer was an insult of the highest
degree. They looked disorganized while they worked. They never followed up with a
check to see if anyone wanted another drink from the bar. Service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Delicious food and entertaining dining experience! My favorite place to eat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

They forgot to acknowledge my sisters birthday 😔 and i have to make this 50 characters so the food was great as always

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 6, 2017

the chef we had really didn't entertain the table - all he did was the onion volcano and tossed shrimp in the air and his hat, didn't do the rice heart thing or balancing the rice bowl. not saki in the mouth thing... seemed like he was in a hurry to get to other tables, but we were already waiting on him too. service should always be the same at each table regarding if running late or not - people go there for the entertainment factor... we could have just sat at the dining table and ordered the food cooked and brought out to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

I loved it it's one of my favorite places to eat and I love them cooking in front of us it's my favorite place I went there in 5th grade with my mom and dad for my 10th birthday and it was fun Going after skating

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had a great time and great food again at the Mpls Benihana. We go once a year with another couple to celebrate birthdays. The fried rice, shrimp and shrimp sauce is amazing.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Manager was very unpleasant and inflexible. Server and chef were amazing and made the experience much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always fun times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The service is always wonderful!! The good is always great. The show, cooking is always fun and engaging for diners. In all the years we have been doing Benehana we have never had a problem. Thank you!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had a reservation for the hibachi. The thing I disliked the most was that although we had a reservation for two, we have to wait for another group of people to even start. That should be changed. Otherwise, food was great and overall wasn't too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We had a work group of 5 ladies, 2 had not been to Benihana before. When we got there, police officers were talking to some girls in the parking lot. Our chef, Carlos did 1 "trick", he spun the egg and it broke. He did accomplish getting an egg flipped into his hat. He had no personality. We chose this place for the "show". It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food and presentation is always stunning (in a good way). A few unusual things on this trip: seating was delayed 15 minutes for a Wednesday 6:00 pm reservation, only cash and chip credit cards were accepted (no gift cards, or stripe cards), and the wine delivered ($13.80 a glass) was substituted for the wine ordered ($8.80 a glass) because the ordered wine was unavailable (this switch was not announced, but noticed on the bill. The wine issue was quickly resolved, so that was nice. It is preferred that issues like the above could be announced in advance (they know the email of people making reservations), especially the limited form of payments that could truly surprise some folks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

The Chef was super great !!Food was awesome - the waitress who sang was sooooo sooooo Great ! the atmoshere was great all around !

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My husband and I had reservations for 8:00 on a Sunday. We were seated around 8:15. Got our drinks. Waited until 9:00 for the chef to come to our table. Too long of a wait. Chef was good but we were sitting with other customers who just kept to themselves. This is not a place to go for dinner if you want to be by yourselves. More fun when everyone gets involved in the preparation with the chef. Food was good. Staff was ok barely friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was delicious. It was my 1st time eating Hibachi, would of liked more inaction wIth the Chef. My girlfriend said that Osaka was a more entertaining experience in that aspect. I will soapy be going back tho!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The waiter and the chef were both so entertaining & welcoming. We made reservations at Benihana to celebrate our niece's college graduation. We all had a great time & would certainly come back again especially for a group get-together. The food was wonderful - we all agreed on that and will definitely recommend this dining experience to friends & other family.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very very disappointed with this restaurant!! We had our appointment at 8:30 my husband ask them at 8:45 if it was going to take longer they said give us a few and then sat us at 8:50pm our chef did not started at our table until 9:40 pm!!!! We waited more than hour !! Our server was not the best my husband had to be after him all time to refill our glass with water and tea. The Chef was great but the wait and service time was very disappointing
My husband talk to a manager before chef came out and all she said oh is the chefs fault they are behind !! We love Benihanas and ee usually go to the Maple Grove location, we decided to go to this Minneapolis location cause they had the 8:30 appointment and it was the worse mistake we could of done !! Base on our terrible experience at this location it only gives a bad name for Bennihana chain. To end things worse after having to wait more than an hour wait, our server then at that time he was very quick to bring out to go boxes not even 10mntd after chef was done, statting restaurant closed at 9:39 and it was 10 already !! Wow !!! They made it us more than hour but then very quick to try to kick us out !!!! I would never never go back to this location defenately terrible location , bad service all over!!!! For first time I could say it was a waste of money this time !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had a reservation and were seated about 10 minutes late. They didn't start cooking for over an hour and then the chef seemed rushed.
They offered a free scoop of ice cream for the long wait.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The worst experience I've ever had at a Benihana. We were told we should have presented our birthday coupon at the beginning of the meal and that because we didn't it would take fifteen extra minutes. Then they told us the gift card we had wasn't valid and we couldn't use it. We asked for a birthday photo and they came back 20 min later asking if they could take another because it was blurry. Not one thing went right. We sat waiting/dealing with our tab longer than we actually experienced dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was very good we were there for our Anniversary but the music was very loud tonight (not usually like that).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Awesome first time experience for my kids! We were there for my mother's birthday which was also her first time there and she also fully enjoyes the experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.