About Benihana - Minneapolis

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Onion Soup
Hibachi Steak
Red Plum Sake Sangria
Colossal Shrimp
Strawberry Sangria
Hibachi Chicken
Chicken & Beef Julienne
Las Vegas Roll
Green Tea Ice Crean
Sumo Roll
Las Vegas Roll & Philly Roll
Ginger Salad And Miso Soup
steak & chicken
ginger salad
Chicken Fried Rice
Shrimp Sauce
Green Tea Ice Cream
Spider Roll
Exotic Colada
Seaweed salad
Lobster Tail, Scallops And Shrimps
Hibachi Chicken Fried Rice
Rainbow Icecream
Scallop
Fillet Mignon
Fried Rice :)

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Golden Valley ›

good for groups (111)
special occasion (97)
kid-friendly (57)
See All
great for lunch (43)
fit for foodies (32)
romantic (21)
hot spot (16)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (5)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1007 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten Tepanyaki and Hibachi many ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten Tepanyaki and Hibachi many times. Locally this place was.is WAY better than places like Osaka, etc. Starting with the delicious yet simple soup. The broth as full flavored and full bodied. The chef cooked the vegetarian dishes first: tofu, zucchini slabs, onions, etc. The chef seemed expert but had an off night I think (no worries). (The chef did not seem to get the audience involved: e.g. no sake shots from across the grill, no catch it in your mouth, etc. But he sure did cook our food well. ) My seafood trio was outstanding. The fried rice as WAY better than most. And get this: they have an email club with a $30 birthday gift/coupon. And then a nicely presnted bowl of free birthday ice cream and the obligatory 'Happy Birthday" song. It was my/our first time here. I WILL BE BACK Soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming here for years and e ...

Dined 7 days ago

We have been coming here for years and everytime and all but a few times its been amazing. Food is great and chefs are always kid friendly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

I was not happy at all with the service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I was not happy at all with the service we received when we were being seated. There was a glass of water on our table and the lady whom seated us asked us to move the glass (like really) that's your job, then another group of four people was coming to join us at the table and she wanted us to move and pick a different spot after we had already sat down. While waiting for our beverages another person was cleaning the table next to us and he spilled a drink on my boyfriends leg and shoe and didn't say sorry or anything he looked at him like he did something wrong. Mind you this was FATHERS DAY he said she would never come back to this location and I felt bad because I made the reservation thinking of convenience/location only to be treated this way and it was the day after my birthday. I still haven't used my birthday coupon yet and will not use it at this location.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

The service was terrible. We waited 35 m ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was terrible. We waited 35 minutes just for water/sodas.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is always outstandi ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food and service is always outstanding. Keep up the good work!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is always great! Will always go ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Benihana is always great! Will always go back. May take a while, but the whole experience is just great!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a good chef the night we visited ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

We had a good chef the night we visited and the food was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent ambiance

Dined on June 1, 2016

tableside chefs are engaging and worth the visit. staff is friendly and want to make your visit memorable. as many stars as you would like to see.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 30, 2016

Very thing was excellent except for one minor issue. The chef did an excellent job of preparing our food and it was delicious. The room that we were in was nice but a little too warm. When the fan was on it was comfortable but when it was turned off the room got very warm. We asked one the clean up people if we could have the fan turned back on and she said that she would check into it. Nothing ever happened, so when we were enjoying our main course it got very warm where we were at.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

It's a fun experience but not intimate a ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

It's a fun experience but not intimate and service there will always leave something to be desired. Hibachi chef was good and took care to cook my mom's chicken without any butter. Food was delicious.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but.....

Dined on May 28, 2016

My guest has an allergy to mushrooms and the chef was very careful however we inquired about the soup and were assured that they would not add the but needless to say, she had very sever reaction after only a few sips of the "soup w/o mushrooms". Aside from that, it was great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

always a fun experience

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

LOVE THE FOOD AND THE SHOW. ALWAYS LEAVE TOO FULL THOUGH.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Denise

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always enjoy eating at Benihanas. Food is consistantly incredible. Staff is always curtious and seemed to really enjoy what they do and really involve each person during the meal prep. You can not help but be smiling the whole time you are there it is so wonderful and it is a great gathering spot. Love it!!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Benihana is always a fun experience and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Benihana is always a fun experience and the food is great. The chef's are entertaining if you pay attention there are a lot of tiny jokes hidden in what they say. It's on the expensive side for dinner or course depending on what you order. My family of 5, with drinks and tip is usually close to $250. We go there for special occasions like birthdays etc.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, awesome and wondering!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great, awesome and wondering!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good but Bad

Dined on May 19, 2016

I paid $250 to hold a party room and wasn't able to be seating until everyone came.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Very slow service mid day. Long wait wh ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Very slow service mid day. Long wait while not busy and had reservations .

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation for a specific time ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a reservation for a specific time. They made us wait until that time even though we were a half hour early and the restaurant seemed not so busy. Other time, we arrive at the reservation time but didn't get seated until20 minutes later despite having the reservation. I don't like that

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on May 13, 2016

Diana and Enriqur were excellent chefs and servers! Love how Diana kept our drinks filled! We loved how high Enrique's energy was! Keep up the good hiring!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Most Memorableal

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Beinhana's for our Mother's Day dinner and had a blast! Even my 2-year old enjoyed the japanese style cooking. The shrimp sauce for the rice and food is the reason why it's one of my favorite restaurants. The chef was nice and personable and seemed to enjoy what he was doing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

There was a screaming child the entire visit

Dined on May 8, 2016

THE CHEF PUT TOO MUCH SALT on the food, and there was a screaming child two tables down which too away from the ambiance and our relaxing dinner we wanted toto have on mothers day. And we were quite cold air conditioning down too low. Ive been to benihana a zillion times over the years and this experience was not what I'm use to especially when out tab was over $200.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Mediocre

Dined on May 6, 2016

The experience was no thing spectacular, I have been to this location a few times and enjoyed myself had great food and walked out not being able to wait till my next visit. This last time I visited has made me rethink if I should come again. The food was plain with little taste, and the atmosphere was not fun and welcoming as it usually is. It just disappointed me, I brought someone who had never been here before and they walked out let down saying that maybe their expectations were set too high. This is never the case. I will defiantly think twice before coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Willow's birthday

Dined on April 26, 2016

My family loves Benihana. I have been bringing them for dinner since the children were four years old. I definitely cannot afford it and feel like I left a too small tip for the server although she did a wonderful job. I do think some of your menu items are priced too high, but the wonderful food makes it worth it to me. I think I am sending a mixed message. I love it and I will be back!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's birthday---first trip to Benihana and it was a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Yum! Can't get enough shrimp sauce. Fir ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Yum! Can't get enough shrimp sauce. First time I tried the sushi and it was great!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great time and service

Dined on April 15, 2016

Benihana's servers are always very hospitable and pleasant, they always make the occasion special and keep me coming back for more.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the customer service and the food ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Loved the customer service and the food was excellent

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

They need service training for staff.

Dined on April 7, 2016

Either the management has a short staffing problem or thier working with a limited staff to boost profit margin. Water never gets filled, never ask for another drink. Forget to bring items, the staff seems robitic and forgetfull. This isn't the 1st time, I've seen it on numerious occasions. As for the chefs you get, it all depends who you get. About 50% of them just go through the motions and not really ingaged. Hopefully Bennihana will retrain or hire some new people so the place is a more enjoyable place to eat. Overall the food is great and the tools are there. Just a bad staff or not trained correctly.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good! Perfect for the kids but unfo ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Very good! Perfect for the kids but unfortunately sometimes we have to sit with adults that do not consider the kids when they are conversing amongst each other.

food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 30, 2016

The chef was great. Food was great. Veg tempora was greasy. Usually very good. Besides that I didn't like that I ordered fried rice and the waitress ordered with chicken for all 4 of us. So that was a higher bill then expected. I paid because we did eat it. Besides those two issues it was great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Too Salty

Dined on March 27, 2016

Chef over salted the meat otherwise it was good as usual.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Prices were rediculous. $350 for dinner ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Prices were rediculous. $350 for dinner for 4 people before the tip. that included only 2 drinks. The food was only so so. The service was good but for $80 per person I would rather go where the food is exceptional.

food5
ambience4
service4

My 6 year old Niece thoroughly enjoyed h ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

My 6 year old Niece thoroughly enjoyed her bday dinner! Quiet for Easter which was surprising! The chefs cooking was exceptionally good! Wish there was consistency to their cooking styles so that you know your food would taste the same every time you go! None the less our food this day was wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun for the family

Dined on March 24, 2016

I was nervous about bringing my 3 year old son but LOVED it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always reliable and fun!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Benihana always provides a fun, energetic dining experience. Having been a number of times, I know that I can expect good food, great entertainment and a fun time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent as usual

Dined on March 19, 2016

This is a once a year spot for birthdays. And it didn't disappoint. In fact our chef was outstanding and I would say he's the best we've had. His name was Trinidad and I would ask for him again. Great food as usual.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef was Amazing!!!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Enrique was our chef and he was amazing with our kids!!! The food was delicious as well!! Great night!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great steak, great service all around, ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great steak, great service all around, excellent entertainment!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

good as always

Dined on March 16, 2016

very good as always although the their was a long wait for server/cook

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2

Food was good as always. 12:00 reservati ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was good as always. 12:00 reservation. Didn't sit until almost 12:30. Left about 2:00. The service just isn't good at this location...

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.