About Benihana - Minneapolis

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail in our beautiful bar and lounge. Relax before your meal with one of our specialty cocktails or sushi in our beautiful bar and lounge. Our bar is the perfect place to host your next networking event. Need to host a large event? We offer several private rooms to choose from. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Give us a call for more details or to reserve one of the private dining rooms. Benihana Minneapolis is conveniently located off of I-394 and seven minutes from downtown Minneapolis.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Onion Soup
Hibachi Steak
Red Plum Sake Sangria
Colossal Shrimp
Strawberry Sangria
Hibachi Chicken
Chicken & Beef Julienne
Las Vegas Roll
Green Tea Ice Crean
Sumo Roll
Las Vegas Roll & Philly Roll
Ginger Salad And Miso Soup
steak & chicken
ginger salad
Chicken Fried Rice
Shrimp Sauce
Green Tea Ice Cream
Spider Roll
Exotic Colada
Seaweed salad
Lobster Tail, Scallops And Shrimps
Hibachi Chicken Fried Rice
Rainbow Icecream
Scallop
Fillet Mignon
Fried Rice :)

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Golden Valley ›

good for groups (113)
special occasion (102)
kid-friendly (54)
See All
great for lunch (45)
fit for foodies (31)
hot spot (20)
romantic (19)
great for brunch (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (6)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was not as good as other times.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was not as good as other times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Benihana's is one of my favorite restaur ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 3 days ago

Benihana's is one of my favorite restaurants. This location close to Golden Valley was okay, but not fabulous like the one in Maple Grove. The staff was courteous and the food was good; however, nothing felt exceptional. We were celebrating a special birthday and while the staff did the normal singing of "Happy Birthday", it all felt VERY ordinary. The staff, the bar tender at the regular bar, our server, or our chef didn't make things really fun as we've had in Maple Grove and other locations around the country....Maybe we were there too early on a Friday for the "fun" time because the restaurant design and bar area appears like it could be a happening place to go and enjoy.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Still my favorite Japanese food place. G ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Still my favorite Japanese food place. Great and friendly bartenders. Dino was there at the bar and doing his usual great job. The food was extra good this time also. Overall great as usual !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation and still had to w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

We made a reservation and still had to wait 30 mins then when we got seated we still was waiting because the host wanted to wait to fill the table . The food was great though on the upside

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Expensive -$250.00 for a family of 5 wit ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Expensive -$250.00 for a family of 5 with no alcohol. Food was great and kids enjoyed

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Chefs and waitstaff are spot on, very pr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Chefs and waitstaff are spot on, very professional and proficient. Absolutely love the food....my only problem is with your drink prices, they are really way to expensive.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated a birthday party and had a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We celebrated a birthday party and had a lot of fun. The service was great and the food was delicious

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food and great entertainment a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful food and great entertainment all combined into one! Great place for a special occasion like a birthday or just a wonderful place for a family or friends get-together.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our 6 grandchildren ranging from ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We took our 6 grandchildren ranging from 10 - 18 for dinner. The chef was fantastic. He entertained all of us and did a wonderful job impressing the children. The food was delicious. Would recommend it anytime.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter and I enjoyed our meal.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a birthday and got exactly w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We went for a birthday and got exactly what we expected. The birthday photo was a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hibachi chef was entertaining. Food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Hibachi chef was entertaining. Food was average. Hard to visit because of fan noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Very enjoyable evening food was great an ...

vip
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very enjoyable evening food was great and our chef was outstanding both with his technique and personality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy coming here for a meal - be ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always enjoy coming here for a meal - best-of-its-kind place that consistently delivers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I'm a fan of this place normally, unfor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I'm a fan of this place normally, unfortunately they have done their best to remove all signs of class from their employees, food, ambiance and expectations of their clients. It took well over an hour after being seated to have even a glimpse of a chef. That's after we were sat by an obnoxious white trash family. We will not be returning after years and years of eating at this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Love love love this restaurant! The staf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Love love love this restaurant! The staff are great and try to make it a pleasant experience for everyone. There were kids at our table and the Chef did a great job entertaining not only them, but us adults too. The food is A++. So good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was not the best she could ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our waitress was not the best she could have been more attentive and polite , I wanted to order another Beni tini but she never came back to check on us until we were done eating she was a bit rude to our table from the time she came to serve us until the end. This was the 2nd time having this server and she had a bad attitude both times.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a great dinner and the man who co ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a great dinner and the man who cooked are food was very good!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server this time was scarce...we had ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server this time was scarce...we had to track her down with the chef one time and thru the busboy for a cup of tea. Benihana's and the Samarai used to leave the pot right on the table as the tea comes with the meal. It's getting to the point I feel that I'm having to beg for items at times...and I come there pretty frequently...however, I may now change over to MOA as that is much closer but I have always stayed faithful to Golden Valley. You do have some top notch staff...your chefs of course,Jennifer the server and there is another lady server who has been there for years (she is so good she could probably serve people blindfolded)

I am hoping some things go back to the way service was....that is when you were lucky to score a seat for lunch or dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything was really good. Wait staff ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was really good. Wait staff and Chef were all very efficient.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great but we had reservatio ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was great but we had reservations for 4pm and our cook had a delay due to the grill would not heat up.They had us sit way in the back and it was freezing.Our cook couldn't get started until 5pm.I had to ask our waitress for the tea and the ice cream before we got ready to leave,and it was suppose to be part of the meal.Overall I still enjoyed my Birthday dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We had an 8 pm reservation.Once we were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had an 8 pm reservation.Once we were seated at our table we waited an hour and 15 minutes for our chef.A member at the table complained to management and that guy came over and just looked at us and walked away.By the time the Chef arrived no one was interested in the show.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

This was one of the worst experiences we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was one of the worst experiences we have had at Benihana and we eat there frequently. We had reservations for 8, were seated at 8:10 and it took another 30 minutes for a waitress to come. The hibachi chef came at 9:15, over an hour and 15 min after our reservation time. The plates were dirty and even when asking for replacements, those were dirty. The waitress was waiting tables all around the room and was stressed, she would forget refills, requests for water. She was apologetic and it wasn't her fault it was so poorly organized. The appetizers we're fine, but the shrimp and lobster was inedible it was so salty (even when asked to make it again with no salt it was terrible. Most likely it was the garlic butter.) Someone on our table complained to the manager, who did nothing. Over a hundred dollars per couple and it was a terrible experience. The service at this location has really declined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

The Tuna Steak is awesome! The chef at o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Tuna Steak is awesome!

The chef at our table was very entertaining and did fun tricks.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was great, like always, but service ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

food was great, like always, but service was a little lacking this time.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our server and chef were amazing! I wish ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our server and chef were amazing! I wish I could remember their names so I could call them out personally here. Our chef was quite the artist with his food creations. It was also awesome for our group of six to be able to sit at our own table without getting crammed in by two more outsiders. I've never experienced that before and it was so nice. Our food was perfect and drinks were always filled. This experience definitely made up for a bad experience I had back on May 17, 2016 for my mom's birthday.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far is the best benihana loc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is by far is the best benihana location in MN

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Benihana has become something of a tradi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Benihana has become something of a tradition in our family for celebrations of all types, (e.g. birthdays, graduations).

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A visit to Benihana is always fun -- the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A visit to Benihana is always fun -- the cooktop-to-plate immediacy can't be beat. Food quality was noticeably superior this time. The $30 birthday coupon was especially generous. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have eaten Tepanyaki and Hibachi many ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have eaten Tepanyaki and Hibachi many times. Locally this place was.is WAY better than places like Osaka, etc. Starting with the delicious yet simple soup. The broth as full flavored and full bodied. The chef cooked the vegetarian dishes first: tofu, zucchini slabs, onions, etc. The chef seemed expert but had an off night I think (no worries). (The chef did not seem to get the audience involved: e.g. no sake shots from across the grill, no catch it in your mouth, etc. But he sure did cook our food well. ) My seafood trio was outstanding. The fried rice as WAY better than most. And get this: they have an email club with a $30 birthday gift/coupon. And then a nicely presnted bowl of free birthday ice cream and the obligatory 'Happy Birthday" song. It was my/our first time here. I WILL BE BACK Soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been coming here for years and e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been coming here for years and everytime and all but a few times its been amazing. Food is great and chefs are always kid friendly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not happy at all with the service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was not happy at all with the service we received when we were being seated. There was a glass of water on our table and the lady whom seated us asked us to move the glass (like really) that's your job, then another group of four people was coming to join us at the table and she wanted us to move and pick a different spot after we had already sat down. While waiting for our beverages another person was cleaning the table next to us and he spilled a drink on my boyfriends leg and shoe and didn't say sorry or anything he looked at him like he did something wrong. Mind you this was FATHERS DAY he said she would never come back to this location and I felt bad because I made the reservation thinking of convenience/location only to be treated this way and it was the day after my birthday. I still haven't used my birthday coupon yet and will not use it at this location.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

The service was terrible. We waited 35 m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was terrible. We waited 35 minutes just for water/sodas.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

The food and service is always outstandi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food and service is always outstanding. Keep up the good work!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is always great! Will always go ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Benihana is always great! Will always go back. May take a while, but the whole experience is just great!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good chef the night we visited ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We had a good chef the night we visited and the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

excellent ambiance

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

tableside chefs are engaging and worth the visit. staff is friendly and want to make your visit memorable. as many stars as you would like to see.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Very thing was excellent except for one minor issue. The chef did an excellent job of preparing our food and it was delicious. The room that we were in was nice but a little too warm. When the fan was on it was comfortable but when it was turned off the room got very warm. We asked one the clean up people if we could have the fan turned back on and she said that she would check into it. Nothing ever happened, so when we were enjoying our main course it got very warm where we were at.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It's a fun experience but not intimate a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It's a fun experience but not intimate and service there will always leave something to be desired. Hibachi chef was good and took care to cook my mom's chicken without any butter. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.