About Benihana - Minneapolis

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail in our beautiful bar and lounge. Relax before your meal with one of our specialty cocktails or sushi in our beautiful bar and lounge. Our bar is the perfect place to host your next networking event. Need to host a large event? We offer several private rooms to choose from. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Give us a call for more details or to reserve one of the private dining rooms. Benihana Minneapolis is conveniently located off of I-394 and seven minutes from downtown Minneapolis.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Benihana - Minneapolis
Onion Soup
Hibachi Steak
Red Plum Sake Sangria
Colossal Shrimp
Strawberry Sangria
Las Vegas Roll
Chicken & Beef Julienne
Hibachi Chicken
Ginger Salad And Miso Soup
Chicken Fried Rice
Las Vegas Roll & Philly Roll
ginger salad
Green Tea Ice Crean
steak & chicken
Sumo Roll
Shrimp Sauce
Green Tea Ice Cream
Hibachi Chicken Fried Rice
Rainbow Icecream
Seaweed salad
Spider Roll
Exotic Colada
Lobster Tail, Scallops And Shrimps
Fried Rice :)
Scallop
Fillet Mignon

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Golden Valley ›

Good for Groups (115)
Special Occasion (102)
Kid-friendly (51)
See All
Great for Lunch (40)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Hot Spot (19)
Romantic (19)
Great for Brunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1056 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome, as usual!!! My whole family lo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome, as usual!!! My whole family loves to go there and even the fussiest are always pleased!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing, as usual. I've n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Everything was amazing, as usual. I've never had a thing to complain about at this restaurant, and I'm known to be very picky. Thank you, Benihana Minneapolis, for outstanding service, meal and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food wasn't as good ordering from the me ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food wasn't as good ordering from the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I think it is too expensive. I don't li ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I think it is too expensive. I don't like how your only choice is to get the 5 course meal. I don't eat that stuff so it ended up a waste of money. The habachi way is fun and entertaining and I like how the food is made fresh.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We went to benihana for my birthday on t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went to benihana for my birthday on thursday. They cooked my chateaubriand medium well when I asked for medium rare, which was my first disappointment. Then the waitress kept screwing up my bill. She first charged me for something I didn't order (fried rice) then when she did the bill again she forgot my $30 birthday coupon, so the second bill was way more than the first. She ended up charging my credit card 3 times and never bothered to send the manager over to apologize and try and remedy the situation. We had to sit and wait for a half hour while she tried to fix it (when we were in a hurry). It was a terrible experience. I won't be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I go to Benihana 2-3 times a month. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I go to Benihana 2-3 times a month. This was for my Birthday. So nice that they give you a $30.00 free meal the month of your birthday. Very special.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place just feels dirty! Need to up ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This place just feels dirty! Need to update!

It was my daughter's 10th bday dinner & the waitress just went through the motions without genuinely wishing her a happy birthday! Will never go to this location again!

Oh & I finally feel better this afternoon. I was sick all morning after eating there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

I always make a reservation when going b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I always make a reservation when going but I always wait about 30 minutes once we get there. It is frustrating to wait when we are on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were visiting from out of town and ce ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and celebrating a birthday. best decision all weekend had a blast and good food and excellent service. THANK YOU

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why make a reservation for 5:30 when we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Why make a reservation for 5:30 when we didn't get seated until after 6pm? We just wanted sushi, but the host thought we wanted a teppanaki table. Maybe he should have asked when we checked in? Sushi is open seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Our chef was fabulous. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our chef was fabulous. Our waitress was very rude, not nice, no smiles and brought my husbands sushi after we were all done eating. This was the first of many times eating there that we had a problem!!! As a server myself that person sets the tone for the night!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I love the food. This time one of the ot ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I love the food. This time one of the other diners had a one year old child. She kept moving all their stuff into my area. I had no room to eat. She kept ordering sushi, building up towers of plates. The child started to get cranky. I have to say Benehahais NO place for an infant or one year old. Or mayby try to keep kids with kids, or ask diners iif they mind dining with babies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Will not return to this location. We arr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Will not return to this location. We arrived 25 mins early, checked in, received a pager and was told we could wait at the bar. 45 mins passed and we went back to ask about our reservations and were told that they had forgotten about us and that we didn't check in. Clearly if we are holding a pager given by them we had. Manager blew us off and tried to make an excuse, never did apologize. This is the 2nd time at this location and have decided that for the cost of this restaurant, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I had reservations for 630 was not sat u ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I had reservations for 630 was not sat until 7 did not even receive my first drink until 730. The restaurant was dirty and the service was slow. Five of us were attending to celebrate my birthday which was the following day however Benihana would not give me my birthday coupon since it was one day before my birthday. I'm very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We arrived early and had sake at the bar ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We arrived early and had sake at the bar. Food was great, service was great and very entertaining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fresh and very tasty, with ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was fresh and very tasty, with the exception of the chicken, which was overdone. It can be a fun atmosphere if with a group. It is pricey however for what you get.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was not as good as other times.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was not as good as other times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Benihana's is one of my favorite restaur ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Benihana's is one of my favorite restaurants. This location close to Golden Valley was okay, but not fabulous like the one in Maple Grove. The staff was courteous and the food was good; however, nothing felt exceptional. We were celebrating a special birthday and while the staff did the normal singing of "Happy Birthday", it all felt VERY ordinary. The staff, the bar tender at the regular bar, our server, or our chef didn't make things really fun as we've had in Maple Grove and other locations around the country....Maybe we were there too early on a Friday for the "fun" time because the restaurant design and bar area appears like it could be a happening place to go and enjoy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The food was very tasty but I did order ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was very tasty but I did order my steak rare and got it medium well instead. Also my husband ordered white rice and got the fried rice and had to pay extra for that.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still my favorite Japanese food place. G ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Still my favorite Japanese food place. Great and friendly bartenders. Dino was there at the bar and doing his usual great job. The food was extra good this time also. Overall great as usual !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation and still had to w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We made a reservation and still had to wait 30 mins then when we got seated we still was waiting because the host wanted to wait to fill the table . The food was great though on the upside

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Always a fun place to go and good food!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a fun place to go and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive -$250.00 for a family of 5 wit ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Expensive -$250.00 for a family of 5 with no alcohol. Food was great and kids enjoyed

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Chefs and waitstaff are spot on, very pr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Chefs and waitstaff are spot on, very professional and proficient. Absolutely love the food....my only problem is with your drink prices, they are really way to expensive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated a birthday party and had a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We celebrated a birthday party and had a lot of fun. The service was great and the food was delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food and great entertainment a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful food and great entertainment all combined into one! Great place for a special occasion like a birthday or just a wonderful place for a family or friends get-together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our 6 grandchildren ranging from ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We took our 6 grandchildren ranging from 10 - 18 for dinner. The chef was fantastic. He entertained all of us and did a wonderful job impressing the children. The food was delicious. Would recommend it anytime.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter and I enjoyed our meal.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a birthday and got exactly w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We went for a birthday and got exactly what we expected. The birthday photo was a nice touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hibachi chef was entertaining. Food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Hibachi chef was entertaining. Food was average. Hard to visit because of fan noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Very enjoyable evening food was great an ...

vip
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very enjoyable evening food was great and our chef was outstanding both with his technique and personality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy coming here for a meal - be ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always enjoy coming here for a meal - best-of-its-kind place that consistently delivers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I'm a fan of this place normally, unfor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I'm a fan of this place normally, unfortunately they have done their best to remove all signs of class from their employees, food, ambiance and expectations of their clients. It took well over an hour after being seated to have even a glimpse of a chef. That's after we were sat by an obnoxious white trash family. We will not be returning after years and years of eating at this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Love love love this restaurant! The staf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Love love love this restaurant! The staff are great and try to make it a pleasant experience for everyone. There were kids at our table and the Chef did a great job entertaining not only them, but us adults too. The food is A++. So good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was not the best she could ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our waitress was not the best she could have been more attentive and polite , I wanted to order another Beni tini but she never came back to check on us until we were done eating she was a bit rude to our table from the time she came to serve us until the end. This was the 2nd time having this server and she had a bad attitude both times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a great dinner and the man who co ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a great dinner and the man who cooked are food was very good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server this time was scarce...we had ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server this time was scarce...we had to track her down with the chef one time and thru the busboy for a cup of tea. Benihana's and the Samarai used to leave the pot right on the table as the tea comes with the meal. It's getting to the point I feel that I'm having to beg for items at times...and I come there pretty frequently...however, I may now change over to MOA as that is much closer but I have always stayed faithful to Golden Valley. You do have some top notch staff...your chefs of course,Jennifer the server and there is another lady server who has been there for years (she is so good she could probably serve people blindfolded)

I am hoping some things go back to the way service was....that is when you were lucky to score a seat for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything was really good. Wait staff ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was really good. Wait staff and Chef were all very efficient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great but we had reservatio ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was great but we had reservations for 4pm and our cook had a delay due to the grill would not heat up.They had us sit way in the back and it was freezing.Our cook couldn't get started until 5pm.I had to ask our waitress for the tea and the ice cream before we got ready to leave,and it was suppose to be part of the meal.Overall I still enjoyed my Birthday dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We had an 8 pm reservation.Once we were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had an 8 pm reservation.Once we were seated at our table we waited an hour and 15 minutes for our chef.A member at the table complained to management and that guy came over and just looked at us and walked away.By the time the Chef arrived no one was interested in the show.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.