Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 38 times today
Special offers available. See details

Benihana - Minneapolis

4.1
1674 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for Groups
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail in our beautiful bar and lounge. Relax before your meal with one of our specialty cocktails or sushi in our beautiful bar and lounge. Our bar is the perfect place to host your next networking event. Need to host a large event? We offer several private rooms to choose from. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Give us a call for more details or to reserve one of the private dining rooms. Benihana Minneapolis is conveniently located off of I-394 and seven minutes from downtown Minneapolis.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(763) 542-9922
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hwy 94
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Happy Father's Day! Don't just give a gift. Give an experience unlike any other. For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in
Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a
$10 Benihana Promotional Card. Offer available 5/15/18 - 6/17/18. Promotional Cards valid 6/18/18 - 7/23/18.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 1674 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.4
food
3.9
service
4.0
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Food was great, service was extremely slow. We go twice a year for birthdays and this was by far the slowest service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Benihana (MPLS) did a good job catering to dietary needs. One person with wheat and other food allergies, and one vegetarian, in a party of 5.

My recommendations is have a party of 8 or be prepared to share a grill with others.

Noise level can get loud sometimes hard to hear people only a few chairs away from you, we were in a corner so no one 2 sides, and still it was loud.

Food wise - the chef did a great job of cooking to order, note given the food needs timing was a challenge. The Salmon for the allergies came out well ahead of the rest of the food, the tofu meal was also cooked well ahead of the rest. (understanding that the meal was cooked first to keep as vegetarian as possible)

Only real nit at the MPLS location was that we were never offered dessert - the bill was delivered and the server left.. never returning.

Avoid the MOA location - had a bad experience earlier in the month, our table was 2 groups of 4, the server delivered the soup to a woman with a wheat allergy, luckily she knew not to eat it. Server also spilled soup on one of my party. And again bill was delivered without offering dessert, when dessert was delivered I was served (initially) the wrong variety...

Only really mentioning MOA as it seems to be a trend that they skip the ice cream/sherbet course. If I am paying $30-$40+ for a meal that includes dessert I would like to at least be offered dessert...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I LOVE BENIHANAS ONE OF MY FAVORITE RESTAURANTS I ALWAYS MAKE A RESERVATION EVEN WHEN I DONT I ALWAYS GET RIGHT IN I ALWAYS ORDER THE SHRIMP AND STEAK WITH CHICKEN FRIED RICE AND EXTRA SHRIMP SAUCE THATS THE BEST

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 6 days ago

We went to celebrate my son's birthday. My Mom and I ordered the same thing, and both woke up sick in the middle of the night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Excellent quality of seafood served. Our meal preparer was very charismatic and very good at his job. Great place to dine. Will go again when I'm in Minneapolis.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We have been to the MOA Benihana prev, and I must say, this one was MUCH better! The food was awesome. Our server was very friendly, very attentive. She found out that it was our daughter's graduation, and they included a photo in a benihana frame of our table. FUN!! and special. Our cook was ok. He didn't really interact much. He also didn't do as much as the cook behind us was doing with his group?!? but his cooking skills were spot on, so that's what counts, Overall we loved the experience, and would go here again for sure.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Chef was good. Server was inexperienced and little bit lost , drink orders were a chore and werent attended to well. Then I felt very rushed during the dinner. My daughter and I ordered Tuna which was awesome but is cooked later than the other entrees. We had eaten about 4 bites when the server asked if we wanted boxes. Again, probably just inexperienced but kind of a bummer when you're spending $250 and up for dinner. It was a special occasion (birthday) and we normally have a really fun experience there. 🙁

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The food was really good, but the service in this location is absolutely terrible.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Horrible service. Was not given $30 off dinner certificate because there was no bar-code on it. It was my birthday. No acknowledgement what so ever! No apologies or anything

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My boys ordered filet mignon and they were serve some other steak it was not filet tje other group at the table got there filet the other guests were suppose to get the steak in the trio not filet We go there just for the filet my boys love it

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Chef was fantastic-entertaining. Food was good but really salty. Prices have really gone up 2 adults 2 kids-no alcohol was a couple hundred. They've changed the menu and started charging extra for the fried rice....which is a big part if the chefs show anyway. Cleanliness..Don't look up at the nasty ceiling tiles, bathroom was disgusting, table was sticky, one party at our table asked the waiter to wipe it again...he never did. Chairs were sticky too. Saw the waiter pour water from his tray onto grill...I understand germs are probably killed but still-gross. waiter also set tray on part of grill and was slightly melting, prior to chef coming- yuck. waiter did keep everyones drinks full and all orders were right. They had a security guard on site....on Mothers Day. The place has really gone down hill the last few years.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our Chief was AMAZING! He lighted up the mood at our table and included each member at the table. He was the best Chief we have ever had and we go to many locations of Benihana's.

The most annoying things was the person at the table had their cell phone on the whole time and was face timing with another person. EXTREMELY RUDE!!! I wish we could say no cell phones but I know that isn't the case....would be nice to limit access or inform them not to use cell phones unless they step away from the table. Was rude for us for they weren't apart of our family and we don't even allow our daughter to use volume even in a restaurant. They were rude to the waitress too and I felt sorry for her. She still put a smile on and just dealt with it. She shouldn't have too but she did...she was very pleasant it is isn't her fault the menu was different do to Mother's Day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Absolutely amazing atmosphere. Our chef had a great sense of humor! Food was excellent! Would definitely recommend and go again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We loved it! The food was fantastic and the service was everything we’d ever need.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

It’s getting to be very expensive and the portions and quality are going down. Bar drinks are extremely expensive. But food is still very good but they need to stop changing the quality and quantity.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was not worth the cost. It was just OK. It was fun watch the food being prepared but that was it. Very loud and the seating makes it hard to have a conversation

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The poor service rating was completely for the front host/hostess. We had a reservation at 4:30 for a party of 6. We were asked if we were all there and we confirmed we were. Then we got a pager and were told they were getting a table ready. After 15 minutes, we inquired about the table since we had a reservation. Got the same answer, they're getting the table ready. Finally, 10 minutes later, a party of 2 showed up and then we were all seated. So, apparently, they were hoping and waiting for a party of 2 to make the 8 person table complete. Useless reservation.

Once we were seated, the experience was good. Our waiter was friendly and the teppanyaki chef was humorous. Food was good as well. Our elementary school-aged kids thought it was a blast. Not the cheapest meal but you are definitely getting entertainment with it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

It was my first visit. Everyone was friendly, the staff, the cook and the tables mates we had. Lots of fun and very filling.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Benihana's has a fantastic atmosphere, the food is awesome and they always put on a good show. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Good good good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great food great service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

One of my favorites and has been for years. Every time that I go to benihana the food is pretty great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The tuna and shellfish were excellent while the chicken and steak were good but unspectacular. If you get the five-course meal be prepared for an enormous amount of food. Seriously, these portions would founder an NFL linebacker. Advise anyone to nibble at the apps and salads to leave room for the entrees, which were better than expected from a restaurant I expected would put the flashy presentation above quality. I would go again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 26, 2018

A disappointing experience. First we were placed with a group that had 2 noisy children and we would have been crammed next to them. We did get moved. The server forgot to bring rice and had we not asked for it, never would have received it. The atmosphere has changed. It appears to be a rough crowd and we were wondering if that is why a security guard was present. Not sure if we want to continue celebrating our birthdays here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

It can get expensive real quick.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We had a reservation for 5:30pm and got sat at 6pm which was frustrating. Getting drinks took a long time both initially and when we ordered a second. We finally got the first course at 6:30pm which when you come hungry seems like an eternity. Also, the server made a inappropriate comment when my son asked if he still got something for his birthday (referring to ice cream) that was jarring and made the entire table uncomfortable. The chef who cooked our food was great and salvaged the experience. My son likes to go to Benihana for his birthday each year, but I think we may try somewhere else next year due to the wait and service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Even though we had a reservation, still had to wait

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Was a great place for food,cheer and friends looking forward to a return visit. Chef was awesome

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

First time at this location. We a had reservations at 7:30 and didn't get seared until after 8:00. The bar was really neat. The service after being seated wasn't the greatest. We've never had any problems in the past at the Mall of America location. However, it was much more convenient being able to park close by rather than going throughout the mall.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Have eaten at lots of Benihana locations but never seen a worse one than this location. Was 30 mins late to sit us than original check-in time of 7pm and food was only served at 0810pm. Inexcusable as I had two young kids and their moods, appetite and schedule was completely spoilt. Place seems understaffed and the chef even had to go and get some items they had forgotten. Chef was pretty good but the delays spoilt the evening and plans. This location seems to be on a downward trajectory in terms of service. Even the check-in desk folks were not very good and I had to follow up three times on our reservation seating. Avoid this location...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

This experience was so fun for me and my sister birthday! Thank you for your good customer service we will be back for my birthday ❤️

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Food was very good and cooked to perfection. Server and chef were both very friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

It was our daughters Birthday

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Very entertaining and quick

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Birthday lunch, excellent service, and very clean!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food is always a hit or miss depending on the chef. On this particular night the food was a little bit salty than usual. The service often sucks when it comes to extreme long waits even if you have reservation.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 12, 2018

The chef did not seem to know what he was doing. Served onion as a first course?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Service was awesome. Food was excellent. Manager on site was very friendly and beautiful inside and out

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Prepare to wait even when having a reservation. The wait-time and meal took over one hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We were seated promptly, our server was friendly and efficient, kept the drinks full and the food coming, chef was fun, entertaining, and the food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
42

Tweets by Benihana - Minneapolis