Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Benihana - Minneapolis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail in our beautiful bar and lounge. Relax before your meal with one of our specialty cocktails or sushi in our beautiful bar and lounge. Our bar is the perfect place to host your next networking event. Need to host a large event? We offer several private rooms to choose from. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Give us a call for more details or to reserve one of the private dining rooms. Benihana Minneapolis is conveniently located off of I-394 and seven minutes from downtown Minneapolis.

850 Louisiana Ave
Golden Valley, MN 55426
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 94

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 542-9922

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/minneapolis-mn-mp

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Good for Groups (48)
See All
Fun (42)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Casual (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Bar Seating (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Authentic (12)
Romantic (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (6)
Family Style (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The waiter and the chef were both so entertaining & welcoming. We made reservations at Benihana to celebrate our niece's college graduation. We all had a great time & would certainly come back again especially for a group get-together. The food was wonderful - we all agreed on that and will definitely recommend this dining experience to friends & other family.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very very disappointed with this restaurant!! We had our appointment at 8:30 my husband ask them at 8:45 if it was going to take longer they said give us a few and then sat us at 8:50pm our chef did not started at our table until 9:40 pm!!!! We waited more than hour !! Our server was not the best my husband had to be after him all time to refill our glass with water and tea. The Chef was great but the wait and service time was very disappointing
My husband talk to a manager before chef came out and all she said oh is the chefs fault they are behind !! We love Benihanas and ee usually go to the Maple Grove location, we decided to go to this Minneapolis location cause they had the 8:30 appointment and it was the worse mistake we could of done !! Base on our terrible experience at this location it only gives a bad name for Bennihana chain. To end things worse after having to wait more than an hour wait, our server then at that time he was very quick to bring out to go boxes not even 10mntd after chef was done, statting restaurant closed at 9:39 and it was 10 already !! Wow !!! They made it us more than hour but then very quick to try to kick us out !!!! I would never never go back to this location defenately terrible location , bad service all over!!!! For first time I could say it was a waste of money this time !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had a reservation and were seated about 10 minutes late. They didn't start cooking for over an hour and then the chef seemed rushed.
They offered a free scoop of ice cream for the long wait.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The worst experience I've ever had at a Benihana. We were told we should have presented our birthday coupon at the beginning of the meal and that because we didn't it would take fifteen extra minutes. Then they told us the gift card we had wasn't valid and we couldn't use it. We asked for a birthday photo and they came back 20 min later asking if they could take another because it was blurry. Not one thing went right. We sat waiting/dealing with our tab longer than we actually experienced dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was very good we were there for our Anniversary but the music was very loud tonight (not usually like that).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Awesome first time experience for my kids! We were there for my mother's birthday which was also her first time there and she also fully enjoyes the experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always a great idea! Reliable, consistent, good quality, delicious Tepanyaki!! Friendly, attentive service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our chef Leo was the best hibachi chef we have ever had. He was creative, funny and played off our energy. My little guy had the best birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

My mom and I make this our special birthday dinner. It has become our tradition for the last 4 years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great experience always, I'm a Realtor bringing my clients here to celebrate closing on their new home for 3 years now.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

It was my grandson's third birthday and he likes to cook. So I thought he would like this in the chef was great however the service was very different. And according to the birthday postcard we were to get a picture of us at the end and we never did . So this experience was a little disappointing plus I feel the kids meals are way overpriced for what little kids eat. The steak was not as good as the last time I was there a few months ago. And there was one that had a big piece of chris The steak was not as good as the last time I was there a few months ago. And there was one that had a big piece of gristle . I just spoke this time it lacked some flavor. Thank you for your time

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

8:30 rsvp didn't get seated until 9:15

Water wasn't brought out until 9:30

I had to get my own high chair

Food was good but chef didn't get to table until 10:20

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great service and food as always. Love this place . Go in hungry come out stuffed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had a reservation for noon but we had to wait until 12:05 to be seated in an empty dining room which was a little weird but it worked out. Food was good. Stiff drinks. Would go back again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Tray was our waiter and he did a great job. He informed us it was his first night going solo and I think he did a wonderful job. He was attentive and never forgot anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We celebrated our Son's birthday and were not disappointed. The chef we had was great and the food wonderful as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Had steak and chicken 6 course meal--very good! Enjoyed our birthday celebration with a blue ocean specialty cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food and chef were great, the service was adequate. Drink prices were a little expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Worst Benihana experience ever! From the beginning there were servers and wait assists crashing dishes around right behind us. They didn't start making our food until and hour and a half after sitting down. We ordered a crunch roll and when they brought it and hour after we ordered they gave it to a girl who had a seafood allergy. When I pointed out that it might be mine, the server said no it was a California roll when clearly it had shrimp in it with crunch on top. Which the people next to us also ordered a crunch roll that he brought out at the same time. So you're telling me that you have two identical rolls in your hand but tell the guest they are two different rolls? Needless to say the woman with the allergy had to leave because she got sick. The woman complained to a manger and told us that someone was going to stop by by. When the manager came by she never said sorry. She asked how everything tasted as she walked by the table without even looking at anybody. Cleary, customer service is not at the top of this restaurant list of how to treat guests. Then to top it all off when we got the tab we were charged for two sushi rolls. That worst part is that she was training a new guy!! If this is who he's learning from I can't imagine good quality and attention to detail this guy is going to get from his training. I won't be back any time soon which is sad because we dine at benihana once every month or two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Horrible experience from server. Ended up leaving. She didn't explain the menu to us and the other guests at all. She took 20 minutes to bring us our waters and after she took our orders she dissapeared for another 20 minutes only to come back with another staff member and say we can't order from the lunch menu. Horrible service and rude customer service from the staff. Will never eat here again and would advise nobody else to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The food is as good as always. The service is going down hill. The poor cooks lose tips because their waiters or waitresses are terribly slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We got there on time but did not get seated despite making reservations until 20 plus minutes after. This happens constantly at this restaurant. If we are early they still make you wait. That part is frustrating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The server was slow presenting our bill. We waited for half hour because he was busy serving other table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I always luv going there. The food is great and I enjoy watching it get prepared by the entertaining chefs.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had an excellent chef! We always go for birthdays & he did thing we hadn't seen before. Very talented & funny and the food was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service sucked. It took nearly 1 hour after our reservation time to even get seated. Drinks were ridiculously expensive. Once we were seated, it was almost another hour before food started showing up. After dinner, I had to ask multiple times for my wifes birthday desert, even tho it was on the reservation. Then, she brought deserts for everyone who ordered one and my wife (I was the only one who didn't order one), and she announced to the table she wasn't charging for the deserts. So I said if you aren't charging for them due to the long wait times, I'll have one as well.

Overall, a really bad experience. Also, most of the chefs were very boring, that was the only thing about our even that was good, we apparently got the 1 good chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This location in my opinion has a management issue which is a shame because the chief was awesome. I'd recommend you take the trip to the Mall of America location it will be worth it. I had an 8:00pm reservation and we were not seated until 8:45. Then we had to wait for the chief to finish another table so it was well past 9:30 before the food was started. The manager could not give me an answer and said it was policy. Although we had an appointment they could bump people ahead based on the numbers in each party. So the reservation you put in may or may not be honored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

It took 45 minutes before the cook came out and prepare our food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The service is always wonderful! Employees are always friendly.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Always great meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great dinner prepared while you watch by a skilled chef. Very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great food as always! Perfect for birthdays with the birthday coupon with family or friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My food was very plain tasting, not much flavor; steak was over cooked, not medium/rare as ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Always enjoy the food and ambiance. Service was a little slow this time

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Consistently good Hibachi food served with fun. A great celebration or fun night out place to go with good food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Had the land and sea combination and a Philadelphia roll, and a large Kirin beer. I stopped by the bar to get the Benihana punch. You cannot go wrong with happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Everything was great. It gets crowded so I never have good drink service and am thirsty through the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Really good food ambience is really nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food and service were ok. I have had much more entertaining hibachi experiences and better food at other places.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We went for my sons 16th birthday, the food was amazing I forgot my sons coupon & the manager unsure of her name (she had dark hair) took time from her busy schedule & printed it off for us. Our cook was amazing I wish I could remember his name very interactive with the table. The waitress was also amazing she sang a amazing Happy Birthday song to my son. This location ran smoothly on the night I was there & I have been there when it was not run smoothly & I thank the staff & managment duty on that night for everything!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.