About Benihana - Miami Beach

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables while overlooking the beautiful Biscayne Bay, or visit our sushi bar, where you can enjoy one of our specialty rolls and signature cocktails while taking in the beautiful view. We offer complimentary valet parking for dinner starting at 5 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-miami Beach - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
California Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Sushi - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Trio - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Chef Trick - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Dragon Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Rainbow Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Shrimp Lover's Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Sumo Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Blue Roof - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Haiku Colada - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Fried Rice - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Gotham Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Clossal Shrimp - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (26)
Family Style (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Kid-friendly (19)
Casual (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Open Kitchen (14)
Waterfront (13)
Scenic View (13)
Authentic (11)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was amazing, it was my first ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was amazing, it was my first time there. I was visiting from New york for my birthday and i'm so glad i had my birthday dinner there. The food was amazingggg!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We order a Filet mignon, shrimps and add ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

We order a Filet mignon, shrimps and add a lobster tail ×2 for me and my husband,the only type of steak I eat is Ribyte and Filet (medium)because how soft and juicy they are ,specially the Filet,well they bring to the table a lite pink color thin steak and the cut was just not Filet,I told the chef,then I let him finished and tried but just from looking I knew,a manager came and told me it was Filet, just to pull a piece appart with my fingers was hard, so upset of that fraud.

I took pics of the steak and that look exactly like a piece of new York or sirloin,I did not receive any credit and no apologies,so upset for that and paying for a steak I di t get.

Going to reported and got pics of that steak to the BBB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Bad service a times chaotic

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Bad service a times chaotic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We love ❤️ Beni Hana's and have a family ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

We love ❤️ Beni Hana's and have a family tradition of celebrating our birthdays 🎉 there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have been coming here for a long time ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

we have been coming here for a long time the only thing that needs to be done is make the whole table wider and comfortable by all side . both corner are wide and the rest of the table is tight and uncomfortable to eat

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Casual, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Japanese Hibatchi Restauran ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been to Japanese Hibatchi Restaurants before, so this was nothing new. The food was plentiful and well prepared. One the down side, we felt rushed. No sooner had the chef left the grill, we were being given the bill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Demorado el servicio una hora para q lle ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Demorado el servicio una hora para q llegue el cocinero y la comida estuvo bien pero nada del otro munfo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

We went to celebrate my Birthday on a Tu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We went to celebrate my Birthday on a Tuesday night. Not a restaurant holiday!. Even though we had a reservation we had to wait 20-30 minutes to be seated. Once we were seated there was a long wait for the waitress to come and take our orders. After the orders were taken the wait for the chef was even longer. The show and the food were AMAZING . Perhaps Worth the wait! However we made a reservation for 8pm since we were coming with our son (3 yrs old) and by the end of the meal he was obviously getting cranky because how long it had taken and how late it was. There's was a really long wait to get the check and then even longer To pay. We didn't leave the restaurant until well passed 11pm.... so much for an early night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

been going to this restaurant for years ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

been going to this restaurant for years but will no longer be going or recommend to anyone the food was terrible the chefs are a joke and the tables,floors and hibachi tables were filthy just terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

They always salt the food so much.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

They always salt the food so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very long wait. My friends and I had res ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very long wait. My friends and I had reservations at 9pm, and the cook didnt start cooking until 10:30! Totally ridiculous! I was furious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

They took long to serve drinks and to to ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

They took long to serve drinks and to top it off chef arrived an hour late to table . Very disappointed this time

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great for family and friends celebration ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great for family and friends celebrations!

Great show by the cooks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious! I hadn't been t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was delicious! I hadn't been to a Benihana in 30+ years and had forgotten how good the food tastes. The decor needs updating, the carpet inside the restaurant was a little worn and the ladies bathroom is very small, it's tight and awkward around the sink area. But the food just totally makes this place. :)

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Took 3 hours from the time we sat down.. ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Took 3 hours from the time we sat down...that was too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We h ad a reservation for 8.30 pm and th ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We h ad a reservation for 8.30 pm and the seatting was a 9.15.

The chef was terrible..need more training

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Awesome service great food everything wa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Awesome service great food everything was just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a perfirmance. Have never seen a t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It's a perfirmance. Have never seen a teppanyaki before. The ambiance is average and so the food. You share a table with strangers, but it is comfortable. You may have fun; but do not expect for fabulous food.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Worse dinner ever. I will never waste my ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Worse dinner ever. I will never waste my time or money at another Benihana. Waited for an hour for the Chef to show up and the weather got over charged for dinner and on top of that the food was horrible. Totally waste of time, I will leave this in 2016 and move into the new year making sure never to waste my money or time at another Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

i got 15 years going to benihana at leas ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

i got 15 years going to benihana at least twice a month on weekends, is my favorite restaurant, expensive but worth every pennie...i hope i get a discount one day..jijij

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Historic, Late-night Find, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef was not very animated. Did not perf ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chef was not very animated. Did not perform the show. She salted the food WAY too much that it really wasn't edible. The waitress seemed disinterested and took so long to take our order.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Jean was an awesome chef, the way he mad ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Jean was an awesome chef, the way he made the food was amazing. Soon as I got there for my reservation I was seated. The customer service was also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and delicious food cook ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great experience and delicious food cooked to order.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Horrible reservation system in the front ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Horrible reservation system in the front. Alway waiting.. Slow staff, good food, little expensive, fun cooks (the best part of the place), and great location

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

The food was great as usual. The waitres ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was great as usual. The waitress seemed to be forgetting a lot and taking a long time

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Terrible experience. The chef had no ide ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Terrible experience. The chef had no idea which plates belonged to who nor how the orders went. She took 2.5 hours to make our food; the shrimp was burnt and the chicken was basically shredded powder. The waitress was on her phone texting, sitting, while we were in need of refills. Whenever we asked her for something she was rude and rolled her eyes. Not to mention - she started arguing with the chef in front of the whole table. It was just a very uncomfortable and unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Front reception staff was less than frie ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Front reception staff was less than friendly, making my elderly mother wait until the whole party arrived even though our table was actually open. Natalia, our server, was excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent tepanyaki Food food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent tepanyaki

Food food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was incredibly noisy and not fun for ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was incredibly noisy and not fun for two people on business trying to talk and unwind over a nice meal. The tepanyaki chef was in a bad mood (very apparent), and it carried over into his performance.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Muy buen lugar, algo fuera de lo comun. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Muy buen lugar, algo fuera de lo comun. La comida riquísima

Tags: Ideal para cumpleaños, Auténtico, buena opción para grupos
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great and the experience was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Dinner was great and the experience was awesome. The chef did a great job and the bartender and wait staff were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was great! It was o ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food and service was great! It was our anniversary, they took a picture of us and printed it for me !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun time with the kids. Always a pleasu ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fun time with the kids. Always a pleasure :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For a place with such a fame and charact ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

For a place with such a fame and characteristics (reservation only and valet parking only) the waiting time was too much, almost two hours. Also some details like cleanliness of the place and cutlery.

We apreciated the discount on our bill, however to maintain the restaurant level these are points to improve and maintain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I love Benihana I love this location it' ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I love Benihana I love this location it's on the water it was my birthday when I went really made my day I always go for lunch my number one spot

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husbond and I have invited all our ch ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My husbond and I have invited all our children with their Familys to celebrate my 60 years birthday - we were 11 adult and 7 children - it was fantastic. I was recommend Benihana and I must say that I am glad for the recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great Beer, Fun, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Historic, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It had three tier dinning, and has a bea ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It had three tier dinning, and has a beautiful ocean view!! While you eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good place, fun. But desperately needs r ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good place, fun. But desperately needs renovation. It's dated and too worn.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Although we had a very small issue with ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Although we had a very small issue with the valet service upon arrival it cleared up right away. We were sit rather quick. Jason the table chef was very good he engaged with my 10 year old son very well and with entire party as well. We chose the restaurant to dine with friends and family for the season holidays and we al had a very good time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service I really enjoyed this plac ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great service

I really enjoyed this place everytime .

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.