About Benihana - Miami Beach

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Rainbow Roll
  • Dragon Roll
  • Shrimp Lover's Roll
  • Sumo Roll
  • Blue Roof
  • Haiku Colada
  • Fried Rice
  • Gotham Roll
  • Clossal Shrimp
Rainbow Roll
Dragon Roll
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Sumo Roll
Blue Roof
Haiku Colada
Fried Rice
Gotham Roll
Clossal Shrimp

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

good for groups (57)
special occasion (50)
kid-friendly (38)
See All
scenic view (34)
great for lunch (27)
romantic (20)
fit for foodies (16)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (10)
hot spot (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5

It is amazing to see the chef performing ...

Dined 2 days ago

It is amazing to see the chef performing his cooking abilities right in front of us! My kids loved it. The seafood was very good.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

As I was amazing food the kids always e ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

As I was amazing food the kids always enjoy the show all the chefs do.. Food is good value is fair

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great the time the staff was ama ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I had a great the time the staff was amazing. My kids enjoyed the enitre day from the walk in the door and out...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

I was pleased with the chef, the food wa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I was pleased with the chef, the food was great. The ceiling needs upgrading and less guest to one table is highly recommended. I made reservations for lunch on Father's Day and after being seated we were told that there weren't any lunch menus for Father's Day which I was not informed prior to seating or the day of.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Is very unhappy. I'm a usual customer th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Is very unhappy. I'm a usual customer that goes there one a week and I hadn't been there for 1 month. I went there that day 2 feel miserable because the service was terrible. Then on top of that I went for lunch and they charged me dinner prices.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently fun & fabulous food. Alway ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Consistently fun & fabulous food. Always look forward to dining here , especially on special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Reservationd for teppan are strongly rec ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Reservationd for teppan are strongly reccomended, if not you are at risk of waiting over 90mins. Ask for lunch menu, they don't offer if you don't ask and it's half price

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great birthday celebration.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Friends shared the occasion with me, plus we met others at the same table as we. All great fun! And, to boot, the chef put on a good show, as usual.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service4

Too crowded on Sunday. Long wait, even w ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Too crowded on Sunday. Long wait, even with reservation.

food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Unprofessional Host station

Dined on June 5, 2016

Part of our party arrived early and we were told we couldn't be seated without the whole party. That's fine given the nature of the place , the fact that this is not an umcommon policy and that we were 15 minutes early. But not fine when other parties - who didn't have reservations - were seated before their parties were complete. The rest of our party showed up right before our reservation time but we still had to wait another 15 minutes after our reservation time to be seated. That was particularly bad because in some cases what we were waiting for was for those non-reserved and incomplete parties to be seated ahead of us. VERY uncool.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food....

Dined on May 30, 2016

Had a reservation but still had to wait. Once at our table we waited even longer. We were seated with a family that was not friendly. Not to us or the chef. Once the chef arrived he put on a good show, very entertaining. The food was awesome and will definitely dine there again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great for people with Allergies!

Dined on May 29, 2016

My friend and I were in town for the weekend and were having a hard time finding an allergy friendly place for dinner. Benihana was beyond accommodating and even made sure my friend and I still got to have an amazing meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and entertainment

Dined on May 28, 2016

I have been going to this location for some years and I enjoy every minute. It is a family restaurant but can be romantic if need be. We dine in for special occasions, happy hour, and on regular basis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1

Jason ~ the Chef was amazing

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Jason ~ the Chef was amazing

food5
ambience4
service5

Waiting time was very long. Other than t ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Waiting time was very long. Other than that, everything was good

food4
ambience1
service1

They need to work on customer service a ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

They need to work on customer service a lot they need to improve the place restrooms were close its not really up to stander of how a Benihana should look I felt I was in a Chinese buffet then a nice Benihana

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Good meal for family celebration. Wish o ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Good meal for family celebration. Wish our chef had been more engaged and his"show" was more animated - the 4 kids under 8 would have loved that. Other chefs where fun and animated, ours was distracted and forgot to serve our shrimp appetizer until we were eating individual meals.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service1

Not pleased.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Not pleased.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Every year my family invites my daughter ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Every year my family invites my daughter and I for a birthday dinner in May. This last time, Monday, 5/16/16, we noticed that the food quantity had diminished. All 10 of us ordered Rocky's Choice, and when it came time for the shrimp appetizer we all received 5 pieces of shrimp, not whole shrimp, but pieces. That hardly constitutes as an appetizer! Then when the vegetable came, those were skimpy as well. What's happening???? This is not a $15 plate, this is almost $30.00! We will try it again soon, and if the skimping happens again I will call the manager and complain, and if it not rectified we will not return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, as always. However, we must h ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Good food, as always. However, we must have had a new cook as he barely spoke and gave virtually no show. Nice guy, tho.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1

Yesterday I went to Benihana with my dau ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Yesterday I went to Benihana with my daughter. We were both anxious to live a new experience which was the first time for my daughter. She is very sensitive when it comes to eating. When I made a reservation for a table for two people, when I arrived there they told me that it's not part of their philosophy to have reservations for two people. I told her that you need to tell me this or let me know and this ruined the planned moment that I had with my daughter. She made me wait 20 minutes to sit me down and was waiting for other people not of color to put me sitting down with them. I can confirm this because she took me to a table with other families 20 minutes later while other ones we're being seated as soon as they arrived. I didn't know that you had to wait in order to sit down with people of the specific color is that part of their philosophy too? We told her that we were about to leave and she just said OK go which disappointed my daughter and I. I will never return to that restaurant. I could take this restaurant to court But I won't. However I'm still very disappointed and will be certain not to go back there ever again. I can imagine that this restaurant used to be good but now it has fallen to other standards not what you see on television.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

What a wonderful evening! Hibachi, drinks, FUN!

Dined on May 13, 2016

What a wonderful evening. We were a party of 9 celebrating my daughter's birthday. I reserved trough OPEN TABLE and my table was waiting for me! Our waiter was kind, sweet and very helpful. The Hibachi chef was the star of the night, we really enjoyed our FOOD SHOW with a great dose of humor! And delicious, to say the least. The service in general was superb. Drinks were awesome and my daughter ended the night with a - "That was fun mom, thank you! And there is no price I could pay to hear something like that from my teenage girl! VALET IS COMPLIMENTARY!! hello?

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

The chef Jean really respect me ,I asked ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The chef Jean really respect me ,I asked all my food easy on.butter and he always served me 1st and added butter for the other guests..We really appreciated his concerns. ..

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Has always Benhana out did themselves wi ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Has always Benhana out did themselves with good food and great cooks. The Service was great.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Trickle Effect!

Dined on May 9, 2016

For starters when we get there the hostess made a mistake and over sat the table , when they could have easily moved a party of 2 that was there to another table. But instead they decided to add a regular table to make up for the space they clearly didn't have and on top of it all the party was not complete only 4 out 5 were there. The server made us wait about 20 min before putting in order because we were "waiting" on the last person!! We had to tell her to please put in and bring us at least the sushi we ordered since its was an Appetizer and then is when she put that order in( ONLY for sushi) If the PARTY isn't complete guess what you don't sit which I have been told in the past but since they had made a mistake already they let it go making the rest of us pay the price by having to wait . After waiting all this time the 5th person shows up only to order 1 order of fried rice. So we waited an extra 30 min so he could be super late and order rice!Ridiculous! We sat at 7:15 and the chef didn't come till 8:15 .The server was overwhelmed and had to be repeatedly reminded to bring a DR.Pepper, which after asking 3 times she finally brought it. So when the chef gets there his upset as well because they added the table to the side where his cart goes. So now he had to put his Cart in the middle which was uncomfortable for him and the people trying to get behind his cart to walk by the walkway. What should have been a regular 2 hr at most dinner turned into a 3 hour dinner . This is very close to my house and we go all the time because we enjoy the food but this last time the experience was beyond horrible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Experience with a view

Dined on May 9, 2016

They upheld my reservation and extremely accommodating! I ran roughly 30 minutes late and they still provided my 15 persons party with the ocean view as requested! There was quite a delay with the server bein. Present but our chef was friendly and entertaining! Overall great way to bring family and friends together for my boyfriend's graduation!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The checf was not friendly nor did he ha ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The checf was not friendly nor did he have a sense of humor,

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

Waitress was very slow we sat on hood 1 ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Waitress was very slow we sat on hood 1 I think that explains where we were sitting and the waitress was really distracted I waited over 20 minutes for waters.i asked for a full menu and she did not want to get me one. Not the best services I have had... Now Louis the cook was very interactive and tried to keep the mood upbeat if not for him the night would have been a disaster.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Front desk service is horrible

Dined on May 8, 2016

Front desk service is very bad, ladies are very rude, they have no respect for customers.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat and v ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat and visit. The cooking show and the food are great. The location amazing!!!! Thanks again!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

A lot has changed from my last time here ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

A lot has changed from my last time here, I found the restaurant to be outdated, the front desk was very disarray , the chef was very sloppy in preparing the meals, the overall ambiance was not good at all. The view was the only great thing that I enjoyed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Omg! It was alot of people there seeing how after graduation lots of people went there. It was awesome ! The wait was ok not too bad! But they made up for it with my chef! This guy Chan was amazing! The food was delicious ! The prices for lunch was like heaven! Next Saturday same time! I love this place !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This place was horrible. Train your staff.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Avoid this place at all cost. It was horrible. Terrible service, average at best food.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun for special occasions.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Was the perfect place to celebrate my daughter's birthday. The staff went out of their way to make her feel special.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Customer Service

Dined on April 17, 2016

The service was horrible! The waitress couldn't handle all the tables given to her. She made the whole table wait 20 minutes before finally coming to take our drink order. Once she brought out the soup and salads she forgot two. She never went to get them either. Worst service I've ever experienced!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Great family fun. The food is always fan ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great family fun. The food is always fantastic. We are never disappointed.

food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The food and service were decent. Howeve ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food and service were decent. However the restaurant was old and out dated. Very stale and congested.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great lunch there, the service was ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Had a great lunch there, the service was great as usual

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Getting Dated

Dined on March 20, 2016

Benihana is fun, but it is getting a little dated. Took the kids for a fun birthday, but seriously...the act hasn't changed in 30 years. Freshen it up a little, Beni!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

What happened to you guys?

Dined on February 29, 2016

This used to be a nice place, actually it was one of my daughter's favorites place to eat. We go there because it was her birthday and she request to eat there. First, they took a long time to sit us (even with the reservation) Second (then most important), They have a bad waitress that was slow to the point it affected the chef's performance. She also misses one of the party member's order. The manager apologizes to all of us, even he offered us a discount, but the experience was all damaged. I hope you guys improve this.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.