About Benihana - Miami Beach

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables while overlooking the beautiful Biscayne Bay, or visit our sushi bar, where you can enjoy one of our specialty rolls and signature cocktails while taking in the beautiful view. We offer complimentary valet parking for dinner starting at 5 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Dragon Roll
Rainbow Roll
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Sumo Roll
Blue Roof
Haiku Colada
Fried Rice
Gotham Roll
Clossal Shrimp

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (52)
Special Occasion (45)
Scenic View (33)
See All
Kid-friendly (31)
Great for Lunch (29)
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sort By:
Newest
551 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very fun place to dine with family or fr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very fun place to dine with family or friends. The cooks are friendly and entertaining and they will cook the food how you want it and any other requests you might have.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was very poor. ...we had to wait ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was very poor. ...we had to wait a ling time for our table and an even longer time for our chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

I love Benihana! Their food is always ve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

I love Benihana! Their food is always very fresh & cooked to order and the chefs are fun to watch. This location also has a nice view overlooking the water.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped while on vacation. Very clean, g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Stopped while on vacation. Very clean, great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was very bad. Even we had reserv ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was very bad. Even we had reservation had to wait for an hour. Chef was not entertaining at all. Bad experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value4

Terrible! Food was good, ambiance terrib ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Terrible! Food was good, ambiance terrible. Chef not interested in being there. Benihana is not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Went to dinner for my husband's birthday ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went to dinner for my husband's birthday. The chef was great and the food was super delicious! The Mai Tai was great too!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst experience ive had. My husband and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Worst experience ive had. My husband and our three boys took me out for lunch for my birthday,they sat us next to a table with 12 children. It was so loud! The cook didn't act like he wanted to Be there,he didnt put on a show and was very boring. They over charged us and i couldnt even use my birthday certificate. The waitress put my husbands leftovers in someone's else's bag!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good Experience overall but we had to wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good Experience overall but we had to wait 30m for our table even though we had a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent evening with my mom. The food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent evening with my mom. The food and service were very good. Couldn't finish our five course meal and we were happy to have leftovers for the next day. My seafood Diablo is definitely something I would try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love Benihana, is one of our favorite ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love Benihana, is one of our favorite restaurant!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

One of the chefs was entertaining, the o ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

One of the chefs was entertaining, the other wasn't. One of the nice things about going there in a large group is the entertainer. It was boring for 1/2 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Service is quite slow, the only positive ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Service is quite slow, the only positive was our cook and that food was great. From the start, I made a reservation for 1 pm, they did not let us in until 1:15 with no explanation . Service was awfully slow, it tooks us two hours to be out of the place and we did not order dessert. A table next to us call for the manager as they were also upset on the waiting. The Highlight is the view, and if you are lucky to get a good cook .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

The food was great, as usual. Prices ar ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was great, as usual. Prices are a bit high, but does include soup and salad. For the cost they should include ice cream (the only dessert option).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This location was awesome! Luis was an a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This location was awesome! Luis was an awesome and entertaining chef! I even got pictures of dolphins as we were leaving.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really love going to dinedine here. My ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I really love going to dinedine here. My chef was awesome (Jason) vey entertaining and polite. The food was delicious taste exactly how it smelled when the chef sent a wiff my way. Lol. I had a great time. My waitress kind of kept forforgetting my refills but oter than that A ++

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Had a great time! We went for my girlfr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had a great time! We went for my girlfriends birthday, and really enjoyed the food, performance and service. My daughter loves seeing the chef cook , and my girlfriend and i had a great overall experience. We will definitely be back and will continue recommending the restaurant to family and friends. Make the customer experience #1 and the satisfaction will continue to rise.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was not how I remember Benihana !!! ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was not how I remember Benihana !!! This place was filthy!food everywhere on the floor! Gone are the Japanese chefs only to be replaced with short order cooks who turn out third rate food! We believe we all came down with food poisoning the next morning!!!!! This place should be closed down!i never give bad commentary but this was beyond unacceptable!💩

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very loud , very old and dirty house. Ve ...

 
 (Bonn & Umgebung)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very loud , very old and dirty house. Very unfriendly waitress who served us. Very expensive. Never again

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

My daughters and I had a marvelous lunch ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My daughters and I had a marvelous lunch. I made reservation the day before for 2. We only waited 10 minutes before we were called. The food was delicious and tasty. Enjoyed our chef and our waitress she was busy and awesome, she did a good job accommodating four tables. Job well done!😌

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had three children at the table, all ver ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

had three children at the table, all very hungry , we were 35 minutes since we sat waiting for the chef, conditinal Air freezing, place very dirty, food Good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

I love the energy of the chef, was an un ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love the energy of the chef, was an unforgettable dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef did a great job of entertaining ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The chef did a great job of entertaining our three kids during his dinner preparation. The waiting area was cramped and very plain looking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

we like everything the food, the chef, c ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

we like everything the food, the chef, congratulations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't come here, if you do you'll regret ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Don't come here, if you do you'll regret it for the rest of your stay!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We took my mother out for her birthday. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We took my mother out for her birthday. We've heard about the dining experience and decided that we would give it a try. I was greatly disappointed. We were seated approximately 40 minutes past our reservation time. The restaurant had a dirty feel to it (dingy carpets, dusty display). Food was good (not great or exceptional) but the service was absolutely horrible! Our chef had such a hard time getting the table back into a good mood due the poor service that the waitress had been providing prior to that. Went on a Saturday night, not only was the place busy (which was expected) but it was extremely loud. I had to practically yell at someone who was sitting two seats away from me and even the individual had issues hearing me. I requested a high chair in my reservation yet we didn't receive one. If you have allergies, reconsider this restaurant. The shrimp, lobster, and tofu were cooking simultaneously on the same stove top. I had to request my tofu be moved to the far from the seafood. If you have breathing issues/asthma, I'd recommend stay away as well. Two of our friends has asthma and due to such poor ventilation of the restaurant, they both left the dinner (before the chef even came to our table). Our chef and the food made up for the experience but I truly doubt I'll be visiting the Miami Beach Benihana's location again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was okay. We didn't like the fac ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was okay. We didn't like the fact that the chef Chinese and there was no authentication to the place anymore. While he was cooking our food (rice) he proceeded to give a bowl of the fried rice to another employee. So we were paying with our money an employees lunch. He was not social and didn't do anything special at the table. It was my daughters 10th birthday and it was not that great. Sad to say, but I will never go back again. It was also run down and smelled. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

We had a nice and "tasty" last night din ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a nice and "tasty" last night dinner during our vacation in Miami Beach. The personnel was very friendly, but maybe a little slow at the table. Anyway, a great evening which we all enjoyed. Recommendable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Needs urgently a remodeling! Its very di ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Needs urgently a remodeling! Its very dirty and old.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

The place is in dire need to a complete ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The place is in dire need to a complete overhaul. Not only does the restaurant need to be shut down for renovation but it's filthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

I think the experience would have been b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I think the experience would have been better if we didn't have to wait 2 hours after being seated to get our food. The manger was great and he tried to make it up to us. The waitress we had seemed lost at times.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

It's a interesting and creative restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It's a interesting and creative restaurant. Although the dinner had been expensive, the food was delicious and everybody was happy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food but WAY TOO MUCH SALT, PEPPER ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Good food but WAY TOO MUCH SALT, PEPPER AND GARLIC BUTTER!!! Must tell chef to use salt in moderation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

My family and I frequent Benihana quite ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My family and I frequent Benihana quite often but the air conditioning was broken and it was miserably HOT! The staff mentioned that the air had been broken for 3 days. Had I been notified I would have gone another day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Service was extremely slow. The air con ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was extremely slow. The air conditioning was not working properly. I was there for a birthday celebration and we ended up leaving because after a hour and a half our cook had not even started .

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Well unlike most Benihanas this location ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Well unlike most Benihanas this location did not have yum yum sauce which threw the whole night off to start. Our chef was VERY INEXPERIENCED and cooked as if he had just started that day. Everything was cooked out of order which made us have a longer wait to get our food. It was too hot in the restaurant as well and for a place known for flaming fire it's normally pretty chilly. Overall I wouldn't go back to this location...id just stick to the ones in Atlanta

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

AS A FREQUENT DINER OF BENIHANA I WAS VE ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

AS A FREQUENT DINER OF BENIHANA I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED. I WAS CELEBRATING MY 28TH BIRTHDAY AND NOTED THAT ON MY OPEN TABLE RESERVATION. AS I WALKED INTO THE RESTURANT THE HOSTESS DID NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THAT I WAS CELEBRATING MY BIRTHDAY NOR DID SHE ASK IF I HAD A RESERVATION. SHE TOLD US TO SIT DOWN FOR 30 MINUTES UNTIL SOMETHING WAS AVALIABLE AND I ASKED HER IF IT WAS GOING TO BE 30 MINUTES EVEN IF I MADE A RESERVATION AND SHE THEN SAID IT SHOULD ONLY BE ABOUT 10 MINUTES. AS WE SAT DOWN THE SERVER DID NOT ACKNOWLEDGE MY BIRTHDAY EITHER, WHILE FOUR OTHER TABLES AROUND US WERE HAVING THE BEST BIRTHDAY CELEBRATIONS WITH THE CHEF DOING BIRTHDAY JOKES AND FLICKING THE SHRIMP IN HIS HAT. FINALLY, WE ASKED FOR THE CHECK AND AFTER WE CASHED OUT AND ON OUR WAY OUT TO LEAVE THATS WHEN SHE ASKED IF WE WANTED HER TO SING HAPPY BIRTHDAY. AT THAT POINT WE WERE JUST READY TO LEAVE, IT REALLY SUCKS BECAUSE I CELEBRATED MY BIRTHDAY THERE LAST YEAR AND I HAD SUCH A GREAT TIME. THEY SANG TO ME, I GOT THE BIRTHDAY HAT, THE CHEF WAS VERY ENTHUSIASTIC, AND THE MANAGER CAME TO THE TABLE AND ASKED HOW I WAS DOING AND TOLD ME HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

This visit was horrible. I had a 6:00 r ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This visit was horrible. I had a 6:00 reservation and did not get seated until 6:30. Normally this would not bother me but when the restaurant is empty it seems a bit extreme. Additionally the A/C was broken and it was extremely hot once they turned on the grill. Last but not least the woman's bathroom was out of order and they only had one stall available for women. This bathroom was disgusting. Toilet paper on the floor etc. The bathroom light was motion sensored so while I was on the toilet the lights turned off. Then they turned off once while I was washing my hands. This place really needs an overhaul. Very disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The food was excellent. But there were ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was excellent. But there were only 3 of us, and the other 6 people at our table were not interested in the fun part . . . the "show", where the chef/cook chops and starts things on fire, etc. As a matter of fact, 3 of them were face down on their phones, while the cook was addressing us . . . it was rude and I felt bad for the guy. But really, I felt bad for us too because he sort of tuned out and just cooked our food, with very little of the entertainment or even interaction. We were relegated to the side seats, so the 6 could sit in a row together, so we didn't even get any eye contact. The experience was disappointing . . . perhaps Benihana could seat groups together that are first timers, and interest or something like that? Or the cooks could be trained to pay attention to the people who are interested, even if it's only a few a the table . . . . we did laugh, try to engage and pay attention to everything he was doing. But because we were off to one side, I think we lost out. Also, other tables were having a great time . . . lots of laughing, whooping, etc. I wouldn't go again unless I had a bigger group (which we usually do).

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

AWFUL! You walk into a muggy, smelly wai ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

AWFUL! You walk into a muggy, smelly waiting area and begin to rethink dinner plans. Took my kid to the bathroom, ladies is closed so we go to unisex and the smell is so repulsive my daughter refuses to use it! Luckily (no help from the hostesses) we find another womens room to use. We get a table far away from the window view and since it was a quiet early Tuesday evening I asked if we could sit at one of the 3-4 empty tables by the window, the hostess looked confused by the request and the manager who happened to be walking by brusquely said we were too few people (2 adults 2 small kids) and too many if we were to sit with the other family we had been paired with (5)so I let it go. This place is a dump. Look at the ceiling!

The waitress has zero friendliness. Chef comes and begins-not much of show but he was nice enough. He had trouble keeping the orders straight.

Waitress never comes back to see if we need more drinks - I had to flag her down for a wine. I'm not familiar with how this whole thing works so it wasn't until the chef was cleaning the grill that I said, when do I get my dinner? He had accidentally given it to the girls in the other family! I had no dinner, just some bits and pieces and veggies! The waitress comes back and yells at him and says it's all his fault and proceeds to tell the other family they should be grateful since their girls got extra meat!! It was so embarrassing! The poor girls offered to give me bits of meat from their dinner plates! The chef offered to make me the dinner but at this point I was fed up and not hungry and asked it to be taken off the bill since I didn't get it. There are booster seats and kids chopsticks and she never offered them to my kids. She brought bill w/out asking if we wanted dessert. Kids meal comes with dessert! I asked for it and she said it was too hot and the ice cream was "melty"! I don't care, I said bring it anyways. and it was perfectly fine. Worst experience ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.