About Benihana - Miami Beach

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

good for groups (78)
special occasion (59)
scenic view (44)
See All
kid-friendly (40)
great for lunch (28)
romantic (26)
fit for foodies (22)
great for brunch (16)
late-night find (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (12)
great for outdoor dining (10)
vibrant bar scene (5)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience1
service1

Not pleased.

Dined 5 days ago

Not pleased.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Every year my family invites my daughter ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Every year my family invites my daughter and I for a birthday dinner in May. This last time, Monday, 5/16/16, we noticed that the food quantity had diminished. All 10 of us ordered Rocky's Choice, and when it came time for the shrimp appetizer we all received 5 pieces of shrimp, not whole shrimp, but pieces. That hardly constitutes as an appetizer! Then when the vegetable came, those were skimpy as well. What's happening???? This is not a $15 plate, this is almost $30.00! We will try it again soon, and if the skimping happens again I will call the manager and complain, and if it not rectified we will not return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, as always. However, we must h ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Good food, as always. However, we must have had a new cook as he barely spoke and gave virtually no show. Nice guy, tho.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1

Yesterday I went to Benihana with my dau ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Yesterday I went to Benihana with my daughter. We were both anxious to live a new experience which was the first time for my daughter. She is very sensitive when it comes to eating. When I made a reservation for a table for two people, when I arrived there they told me that it's not part of their philosophy to have reservations for two people. I told her that you need to tell me this or let me know and this ruined the planned moment that I had with my daughter. She made me wait 20 minutes to sit me down and was waiting for other people not of color to put me sitting down with them. I can confirm this because she took me to a table with other families 20 minutes later while other ones we're being seated as soon as they arrived. I didn't know that you had to wait in order to sit down with people of the specific color is that part of their philosophy too? We told her that we were about to leave and she just said OK go which disappointed my daughter and I. I will never return to that restaurant. I could take this restaurant to court But I won't. However I'm still very disappointed and will be certain not to go back there ever again. I can imagine that this restaurant used to be good but now it has fallen to other standards not what you see on television.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

What a wonderful evening! Hibachi, drinks, FUN!

Dined on May 13, 2016

What a wonderful evening. We were a party of 9 celebrating my daughter's birthday. I reserved trough OPEN TABLE and my table was waiting for me! Our waiter was kind, sweet and very helpful. The Hibachi chef was the star of the night, we really enjoyed our FOOD SHOW with a great dose of humor! And delicious, to say the least. The service in general was superb. Drinks were awesome and my daughter ended the night with a - "That was fun mom, thank you! And there is no price I could pay to hear something like that from my teenage girl! VALET IS COMPLIMENTARY!! hello?

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

The chef Jean really respect me ,I asked ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The chef Jean really respect me ,I asked all my food easy on.butter and he always served me 1st and added butter for the other guests..We really appreciated his concerns. ..

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Has always Benhana out did themselves wi ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Has always Benhana out did themselves with good food and great cooks. The Service was great.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Trickle Effect!

Dined on May 9, 2016

For starters when we get there the hostess made a mistake and over sat the table , when they could have easily moved a party of 2 that was there to another table. But instead they decided to add a regular table to make up for the space they clearly didn't have and on top of it all the party was not complete only 4 out 5 were there. The server made us wait about 20 min before putting in order because we were "waiting" on the last person!! We had to tell her to please put in and bring us at least the sushi we ordered since its was an Appetizer and then is when she put that order in( ONLY for sushi) If the PARTY isn't complete guess what you don't sit which I have been told in the past but since they had made a mistake already they let it go making the rest of us pay the price by having to wait . After waiting all this time the 5th person shows up only to order 1 order of fried rice. So we waited an extra 30 min so he could be super late and order rice!Ridiculous! We sat at 7:15 and the chef didn't come till 8:15 .The server was overwhelmed and had to be repeatedly reminded to bring a DR.Pepper, which after asking 3 times she finally brought it. So when the chef gets there his upset as well because they added the table to the side where his cart goes. So now he had to put his Cart in the middle which was uncomfortable for him and the people trying to get behind his cart to walk by the walkway. What should have been a regular 2 hr at most dinner turned into a 3 hour dinner . This is very close to my house and we go all the time because we enjoy the food but this last time the experience was beyond horrible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Experience with a view

Dined on May 9, 2016

They upheld my reservation and extremely accommodating! I ran roughly 30 minutes late and they still provided my 15 persons party with the ocean view as requested! There was quite a delay with the server bein. Present but our chef was friendly and entertaining! Overall great way to bring family and friends together for my boyfriend's graduation!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The checf was not friendly nor did he ha ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The checf was not friendly nor did he have a sense of humor,

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

Waitress was very slow we sat on hood 1 ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Waitress was very slow we sat on hood 1 I think that explains where we were sitting and the waitress was really distracted I waited over 20 minutes for waters.i asked for a full menu and she did not want to get me one. Not the best services I have had... Now Louis the cook was very interactive and tried to keep the mood upbeat if not for him the night would have been a disaster.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Front desk service is horrible

Dined on May 8, 2016

Front desk service is very bad, ladies are very rude, they have no respect for customers.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat and v ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat and visit. The cooking show and the food are great. The location amazing!!!! Thanks again!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

A lot has changed from my last time here ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

A lot has changed from my last time here, I found the restaurant to be outdated, the front desk was very disarray , the chef was very sloppy in preparing the meals, the overall ambiance was not good at all. The view was the only great thing that I enjoyed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Omg! It was alot of people there seeing how after graduation lots of people went there. It was awesome ! The wait was ok not too bad! But they made up for it with my chef! This guy Chan was amazing! The food was delicious ! The prices for lunch was like heaven! Next Saturday same time! I love this place !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This place was horrible. Train your staff.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Avoid this place at all cost. It was horrible. Terrible service, average at best food.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun for special occasions.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Was the perfect place to celebrate my daughter's birthday. The staff went out of their way to make her feel special.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Customer Service

Dined on April 17, 2016

The service was horrible! The waitress couldn't handle all the tables given to her. She made the whole table wait 20 minutes before finally coming to take our drink order. Once she brought out the soup and salads she forgot two. She never went to get them either. Worst service I've ever experienced!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Great family fun. The food is always fan ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great family fun. The food is always fantastic. We are never disappointed.

food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The food and service were decent. Howeve ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food and service were decent. However the restaurant was old and out dated. Very stale and congested.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great lunch there, the service was ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Had a great lunch there, the service was great as usual

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Getting Dated

Dined on March 20, 2016

Benihana is fun, but it is getting a little dated. Took the kids for a fun birthday, but seriously...the act hasn't changed in 30 years. Freshen it up a little, Beni!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

What happened to you guys?

Dined on February 29, 2016

This used to be a nice place, actually it was one of my daughter's favorites place to eat. We go there because it was her birthday and she request to eat there. First, they took a long time to sit us (even with the reservation) Second (then most important), They have a bad waitress that was slow to the point it affected the chef's performance. She also misses one of the party member's order. The manager apologizes to all of us, even he offered us a discount, but the experience was all damaged. I hope you guys improve this.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun place for family dinner. Good qualit ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Fun place for family dinner. Good quality food.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

One of the worst places I have ever been.

Dined on February 22, 2016

One of the worst places I have ever been. The staff seemed completely clueless. Even though we had booked a table for 5 they tried to jam is into a table that already had another group. There was no room to breath, never mind eat anything. It did not seem very clean either, so we just had to leave without eating anything.

food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Benihana Fan, but I am disappointed.

Dined on February 19, 2016

I am constantly eating at Benihana. But, this time, I was a big disgusted. My food was way undercooked, the stove top was not working because the food was nearly boiled, it was horrible.

food1
ambience5
service2

Overall experience wasn't up to par... I ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Overall experience wasn't up to par... I have been visiting this place for 6 years and never have had this bad of an experience.. the chef didn't prepare the food to enjoy it.. chicken wasn't cooked fully.. server and chef were disrespectful to each other.. man it was just bad.. never would I have thought it would be this bad for lunch...

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing, was kind of sad that this locat ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Amazing, was kind of sad that this location doesn't offer yum yum sauce. Will not return for that reason

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Valentines Day Ever

Dined on February 15, 2016

We came to Miami from Texas for Valentines weekend and chose Benihana for dinner on Vday night. It was my first time ever dining at Benihana's and just like everything else during our trip it was fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

Restaurant needs renovation

Dined on February 14, 2016

Good food, nice water view. Disliked the red cloth napkins on the roof covering holes. Waited 35 minutes after my appointment time, although I came in 1/2 hour early. Not impressed, the restaurant is in deep need of renovation. Food was very good.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My Birthday

Dined on February 14, 2016

I Went to Benihana in My Birthday ,Was great,we arrived with a reservatio and wait 15 min to Go The table,and in The table The waitress take to long to order our food..but The food Was super,and The cookman Jean Were perfect and funny!i recomend,great price!value for hungers!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter, Sean, was excellent. I enjoy ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our waiter, Sean, was excellent. I enjoyed the high level of service and attentiveness he showed. This made our time there even better!

food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Slow service / they were confused about the order

Dined on February 8, 2016

The food was good but it took at least 30 minutes to start prepering. Service was slow and confuse. Took a long time to bring the beverages +/- 15 minutes and the waitress didn´t explain how we should order. I noticed a big difference between MIA Benihana and Orlando / NY Benihana.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Love the food

Dined on February 6, 2016

We been going to this place for years. The food is always yum yum!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First timers

Dined on January 30, 2016

For the first time there I didn't know what to expect but a grand evening was enjoyed by all

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food

Dined on January 30, 2016

Next time I will ask not to be sat by the exit. It was cold outside, and people kept going in and out the exit. That also affected the ambience of the restaurant . The food was good but the last time it was great. I had to tell the chef to put more seasoning on the food this time. But other than that he was great .

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on January 30, 2016

I took my wife and family to celebrate my wife's birthday. Everything was feat except that there was so much noise that everyone has to talk loud to hear each other. Our server got our orders wrong because he could not hear over the noise. But we had a good time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3

I had a reservation for 21:00 and arrive ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

I had a reservation for 21:00 and arrived 20:50; got my table at 21:40 for a confution!! They gave me 3 drinks for the mistake...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you!

Dined on January 26, 2016

We had dinner at Benihana for my sons 11th birthday, we were a group of 8. Our chef (Chen I believe) was great! He was animated, friendly and the food was great. We had a great time! Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant, nice show.

Dined on January 24, 2016

I love Benihana. Excellent quality of food. The chef is fun, friendly and entertaining. An ideal place for a lunch with family. Children are entertained to see the show by the chef. Excellent performance quality / price

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.