About Benihana - Miami Beach

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables while overlooking the beautiful Biscayne Bay, or visit our sushi bar, where you can enjoy one of our specialty rolls and signature cocktails while taking in the beautiful view. We offer complimentary valet parking for dinner starting at 5 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wine

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (38)
Family Style (32)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Fun (28)
Kid-friendly (27)
Good for a Date (22)
Waterfront (19)
Casual (19)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Scenic View (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

I went with high expectations and was quickly disappointed! My birthday was ruined! The waitress seemed timid and not sure of what to do! They didn't have lids to the children's cups, they didn't have carry out brown bags! The chef threw the food on our plates! We had to stop another waitress to give us eating utensils! They tried to have 2 people from the staff sing happy birthday to me!! They should be glad they added the tip onto our table which had 11 people, because the tip would have been minimal!! Very disappointed in Benihana's!!!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

No comments...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was slow and parking ridiculous. No Valet either. Chef and waitress dull, even kids said it and chef continue to be uninterested. Even the heart was blah. Explanation of kids meal not clear until Bill nor did waitress seem to know ice cream was part of kids meal. This was my 3rd birthday celebrated there in a row and always the same. Benihana's experience is no longer.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant has changed a lot. It's not what it used to be. It's run down, the bathrooms are dirty and un kept, the service is poor. The chef's are still wonderful though. Service meaning the server and the hostesses looked unhappy, messy and frazzled.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

I just love this place . Kind of noise only because of the chef performance but, also great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Horrible service!!! First of all there was hardly room to walk by the tables. Every time a waiter walked behind me, they bumped my chair. Second of all the waiter was horrible, apparently he was aware that he was guaranteed an 18% tip so he didn't care to keep us hydrated. We waited 20 minutes for him to come back and refill our drinks. Even our chef had to call someone to get him because he was embarrassed. He also didn't attempt to be charming at all. He was very dry and seemed annoyed. Our chef was pretty dry too. If we wouldn't make him laugh he wouldn't smile. If I'm paying the ridiculous high prices of that meal, I expect to not have to make the jokes. I want to be entertained. And the last issue was our chef screwed up my order. He gave me regular chicken instead of spicy chicken. He gave another guest the spicy chicken, which he said it was too spicy but didn't want to make a thing of it. Also, instead of making my chicken again he asked another waiter to bring the spicy sauce in a to-go container for me to put it on the chicken myself. All in all, they did NOT deserve the 18% tip we HAD to give them. We were OBGLIGATED to give them that amount because we were a party of 8. Even though he gave us all separate checks. We spoke to someone who said she was the manager and told us that there was NOTHING she could do about the tip and if we wanted to we could call corporate. I will NEVER return to that Benihana's, let alone return to ANY other Benihana's. It was very unprofessional and their tip was undeserving. The servers need to WORK for their tip and not be lazy because they know it's coming either way. UNACCEPTABLE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

It was not as good as it used to be. I always go once a month. Before the customer services was better now since u get into the restaurant and ask a question to the hosts they answer with attitude. After you wait an hour to be seated having a reservation and being on time. When I did the reservation I was available the time I choose. Then I believe the eating experience have changed a lot. The food was not cook as good as they used to be before I was very disappointed

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

As always excellent place for family fun! This time I can feel the service has been improved.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day 2017. The food and ambiance were awesome as usual! However, the service was slightly below average to average, at best. Everything was going pretty well with the server, but at the end of our meal, she did not offer anyone at the table the 6th course, the dessert, which was included as part of the meal. We had to ask for it to get it. Also, our chef, whose name I won't disclose, was just ok; he prepared the food just fine, but he lacked energy and personality. My wife and I had a good time, but it was not one of our best experiences at this particular Benihana. Looking forward to a better experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We chose Benihana's for our Valentines Day dinner out. As always, the food was good and the server was very attentive.

For this trip, for the first time we chose the table service rather than the grill side seats. That was not a good choice. The main course, filet and lobster, had obviously been prepared for some time before being served and was not nearly as fresh and tasty as when those deliciously morsels go directly from the grill to your plate. We'll know better next time.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good experience

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was grate, the service fantastic , I'll be back soon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The cooker was great.his name was Jason! So good food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We often visit Benihana for especial occasions, but I'm always disappointed that we never get the table location we request. I always make reservations and even call in advance, but time and time again, we are seated wherever is available.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Need authentic cooks! The cooks you emergency Loy now try real hard but they didn't not come close to othe restaurants that you have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our waitress,Erika, was great :) our chef was wonderful as well. Great experience for my husband's birthday. The hostess/manager was wonderful too. We really do love Benihana - Miami Beach!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Sat at the bar on the far corner at the bar for about 15min we were not noticed I had to get up to let the waitress know we where there she asked if we could move to the other side we did it took awhile for our food to come soon as it did we had to get it to go because we had to be somewhere at 2pm we really wanted to sit and have lunch but unfortunately that was unable to happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Even after I had reservations with OpenTable, we got seated after 10 min. But that's ok. The waiter didn't take our order after 1 hour of being seated. I've been here numerous times and this by far was the worst service. My other experiences have been better but not this particular night. Food was delicious as always. I've been coming to Benihana since I was a kid and it's always been one of my favorites for special occasions. Thumbs up on the food and restaurant but thumbs down on the waiter. The chef was very good and nice.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

WE were pleased

Food was well prepared at our table

Chef was very good and had a nice attitude

We enjoyed the food and chefs entertainment

Drinks were always late

The server was not well organized and did not attend the table well

It's a shame ..!!!

We will go back to Benihana ...!!!

BUT wish fir a better luck on the waiter

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food, chef and service were great as usual. Chef really stood out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It was ok, the chef cooked the food kinda fast and I've been a several times and it has always been longer, and we both had upset stomachs afterwards!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We always enjoy eating here and love the food. However, we brought some for their birthday and they were disappointed that there were so few vegetarian choices.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The route from the entrance to the bar goes through the bathroom corridor and smells like them. Quality of food not great - tasteless tuna shashimi, bland cooked food.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food excellent!

Place a bit rundown...needs desperately renovations

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Made my birthday worthwhile. Enjoyed the food and the chefs entertainment. Thank you!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 18, 2017

great dinner as always, great show will continue to go

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The service was amazing, it was my first time there. I was visiting from New york for my birthday and i'm so glad i had my birthday dinner there. The food was amazingggg!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We order a Filet mignon, shrimps and add a lobster tail ×2 for me and my husband,the only type of steak I eat is Ribyte and Filet (medium)because how soft and juicy they are ,specially the Filet,well they bring to the table a lite pink color thin steak and the cut was just not Filet,I told the chef,then I let him finished and tried but just from looking I knew,a manager came and told me it was Filet, just to pull a piece appart with my fingers was hard, so upset of that fraud.

I took pics of the steak and that look exactly like a piece of new York or sirloin,I did not receive any credit and no apologies,so upset for that and paying for a steak I di t get.

Going to reported and got pics of that steak to the BBB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Bad service a times chaotic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love ❤️ Beni Hana's and have a family tradition of celebrating our birthdays 🎉 there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

we have been coming here for a long time the only thing that needs to be done is make the whole table wider and comfortable by all side . both corner are wide and the rest of the table is tight and uncomfortable to eat

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Casual, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I've been to Japanese Hibatchi Restaurants before, so this was nothing new. The food was plentiful and well prepared. One the down side, we felt rushed. No sooner had the chef left the grill, we were being given the bill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Demorado el servicio una hora para q llegue el cocinero y la comida estuvo bien pero nada del otro munfo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We went to celebrate my Birthday on a Tuesday night. Not a restaurant holiday!. Even though we had a reservation we had to wait 20-30 minutes to be seated. Once we were seated there was a long wait for the waitress to come and take our orders. After the orders were taken the wait for the chef was even longer. The show and the food were AMAZING . Perhaps Worth the wait! However we made a reservation for 8pm since we were coming with our son (3 yrs old) and by the end of the meal he was obviously getting cranky because how long it had taken and how late it was. There's was a really long wait to get the check and then even longer To pay. We didn't leave the restaurant until well passed 11pm.... so much for an early night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

been going to this restaurant for years but will no longer be going or recommend to anyone the food was terrible the chefs are a joke and the tables,floors and hibachi tables were filthy just terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

They always salt the food so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very long wait. My friends and I had reservations at 9pm, and the cook didnt start cooking until 10:30! Totally ridiculous! I was furious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

They took long to serve drinks and to top it off chef arrived an hour late to table . Very disappointed this time

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great for family and friends celebrations!

Great show by the cooks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was delicious! I hadn't been to a Benihana in 30+ years and had forgotten how good the food tastes. The decor needs updating, the carpet inside the restaurant was a little worn and the ladies bathroom is very small, it's tight and awkward around the sink area. But the food just totally makes this place. :)

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Took 3 hours from the time we sat down...that was too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We h ad a reservation for 8.30 pm and the seatting was a 9.15.

The chef was terrible..need more training

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Awesome service great food everything was just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It's a perfirmance. Have never seen a teppanyaki before. The ambiance is average and so the food. You share a table with strangers, but it is comfortable. You may have fun; but do not expect for fabulous food.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Worse dinner ever. I will never waste my time or money at another Benihana. Waited for an hour for the Chef to show up and the weather got over charged for dinner and on top of that the food was horrible. Totally waste of time, I will leave this in 2016 and move into the new year making sure never to waste my money or time at another Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

i got 15 years going to benihana at least twice a month on weekends, is my favorite restaurant, expensive but worth every pennie...i hope i get a discount one day..jijij

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Historic, Late-night Find, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chef was not very animated. Did not perform the show. She salted the food WAY too much that it really wasn't edible. The waitress seemed disinterested and took so long to take our order.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Jean was an awesome chef, the way he made the food was amazing. Soon as I got there for my reservation I was seated. The customer service was also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great experience and delicious food cooked to order.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Horrible reservation system in the front. Alway waiting.. Slow staff, good food, little expensive, fun cooks (the best part of the place), and great location

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.