Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Benihana - Miami Beach

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables while overlooking the beautiful Biscayne Bay, or visit our sushi bar, where you can enjoy one of our specialty rolls and signature cocktails while taking in the beautiful view. We offer complimentary valet parking for dinner starting at 5 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (39)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Groups (36)
See All
Family Style (33)
Fun (30)
Good for a Date (28)
Casual (27)
Kid-friendly (25)
Waterfront (24)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Scenic View (14)
Authentic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Healthy (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
People Watching (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had not been to this restaurant in a long time, but find that it's always consistent and we have never left disappointed. I had also requested a window seat with a water view. When we were taken to our table, it was the furthest away from the window. Although I explained my request, the person seating us was not budging. However, the manager on duty that day heard us talking, came over, and quickly instructed for us to be taken to a window table and rearranged the other party which was going to be seated at our same table. She deserves a shout out for properly addressing the problem and resolving it...well done!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was great. She was the best in terms of actual service. But she made it really fun and had a great attitude. To me that's what serving is all about. Connecting with the diners.

I've seen better Benihana chefs, it seemed very forced and routine, but he was still skilled. Food was great. Overall a great time.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The chef was boring good food but no entreteiment .

Tags: Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Only thing great about this visit was the cook, valet and food. The waitress and hostess were rude. I made a reservation and I was on time. As I was told to wait people that came in after me seated before me. They were told it was a 45 min wait but they were seated with in 5 minutes. Once seated the waitress denied my 10 year niece a kids menu. With the an attitude she replied "the kid's menu for ages 12 and under!" She also took forever to bring out the salad and refills. It was my sister's first time and the was a horrible experience. I will return to the Miramar location.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Service was great , server was amazing ,chef was outstanding but hostess was the worst the whole time I was smiling she had that mean face it was an asian server, even when leaving we say bye she didn't even reply . People like this cannot be working in hospitality. Overall great experience

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

No one should eat here but desperate tourists. As a customer from old days, let me tell you this place has slipped. I do not blame the poor training on the staff, I blame it on management. The only person that knew what he was doing was the chef. The restaurant also needs a complete facelift. The hostess had zero experience on how to speak to a customer...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was great, however the cook did not do all the traditional parts of cooking, flip shrimp tails, etc. served my appetizer shrimp after the rest of the food was cooked, not an appetizer at that point.

Nice cool, just missing normal Benihana show boating. He did some singing and fun, do not totally out of it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Food was ok, typical hibachi grill quality and menu. Restaurant interior is very tired. Looks like they haven 't done any maintenance in 10 years. Carpet is old and tired, paint is worn off everything. Looks like they are just running it as long as they can before having to shut it down.

Also, service was very slow - went to the bar to buy a beer directly as it was taking so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I miss the old Benihana with the authentic staff and the mounds of food ! We decided on this location because of the view , but we were seated in the corner facing the parking lot. We waited at the table for an hour before the cook came out. The whole thing was chaotic and loud , pots banging and metal spatula slamming on the cook top. Really not pleasant. In the end not even the usual ice cream w a candle for my husband. We wont return. The place needs a good deep clean as well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The dishes was dirty the chef took forever, the chef thre oil on my daughter shirt, there was several dirty sauce cups, plates. The table edge was sticky...... I hated will not return

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

They changed rules without notice . MELTED garlic butter with pepper and lemon is the best. Now they do not allow you to melt your butter , nor give you a lemon... AND Igot ONE packet of pepper

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The waitress was not attentive I had to wait for over 40 minutes to get a refill of soda the cook was not interactive we had A table of eight and all the orders were served in correctly two of the adults at the table didn't even get the fried rice they ordered when we informed the waitress she didn't even try to correct the error The lobster was dry we were not even given any sauce to dip The shrimp was also hard and over cooked this was not worth the price I will honestly never come to this Benihana's ever again

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The service was okay. They forgot about us during the check in and various parties that came in after were sitting down first. Noise level was too loud and we where almost yelling. The food was good.l but they need a LOT more desserts other than plain Ice Cream or a Banana. We only had our server sing Happy Birthday, no other staff members came to sing Happy Birthday. It was a depressing Birthday Celebration. Next time I'll go some where else for a celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our chef was terrible. He was in a huge rush and didn't do any of the traditional Benihana tricks and show that you go there for. I wouldn't go back to the 79th street location again. We were celebrating a birthday (14 years old) and they asked if we were celebrating anything special. Then they didn't do anything at all. No singing, no candle, no photo. When we told the person at the front about our experience and asked for the manager she said they were not available and she would pass the message on. They didn't even offer a discount or free something on our next visit. Must miss place. It was much better years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very Nice Place, Superb Service and Live Cooking Show. Food was excellent

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Heavy food but kids favorite restaurant. They call it cooking ninjas

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Terrible service, terrible food , nasty environment. Replace carpets and furniture immediately

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The show was boring the food was terrible. My husband's filet mignon was fatty and actually made his stomach sick after dinner. My lobster tail tasted old and fishy. This will be my last visit to Miami Beach Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great atmosphere and delicious food! Chef had a great sense of humor and prepared meal to perfection.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Awesome place for families, it is always packed so i dont understand why they dont invest a little more in their appearance like the carpet.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was my second time less than a month my reservation was 830pm saturday3/25/17 not as fun as my first time and this time no picture was taken ?and our chef needed to be like More happy he did what he did but did not enteract to much.greecy.food was great anyway and Service 🤗

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great place to have fun with friends and family. A different experience, good food. Restrooms needs to be remodel and clean.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We took our grandchildren on Friday night, they loved the theatrics but were not interested in the food. My husband and I thought the food was absolutely tasteless. Will never go back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Had a great meal. Their drinks are good too. Had a view of the bay so overall a great evening

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I'm not going to be coming to Benihana For a while the food was overcooked and I asked for medium well steak over cooked my fry rice the rice was hard again over cooked I've been coming to Benihana's 20 times in the past six months Really disappointed in the service the waitress service was bad I have to repeat things really disappointed I will not be coming anytime soon thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent food! Came here for my birthday dinner !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Please get yum yum sauce on the menu. Food was good other than that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food! But took almost 30 minutes to get us seated. That was a bit frustrating because I made reservations and got there 10 minutes early. I was only a party of 3 so a little bit bad on that part. But service and chef that prepared our food (hibachi style) was great! So yummy. You leave very full

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We was there for birthday March 11, Saturday at 2;30 pm... . First, I did the reservation before, but still was suppose to wait in the waiting area for 15 minutes with kids. Second, it took another 15 minutes for waiter to bring the menu, then another 10 minutes to take a drink order, then another 10 minutes to bring the drinks, then another 15 minutes for Chef to come over and start cook. BUT THIRD is the worst that they Brought a SUSHI ROLLS to other 2 boys after the rest of us ate already. THAT was SOMETHING!! I will never ever recommend this place to my friends at all! You guys are nuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The service was great. Both the chief and the waiter was great.

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Historic, Private Room, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great as always !

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very difficult to have a nice dinner with my wife due to the extremely long wait to be served by the waitress/chef! Had to look for a manager and wait some more. The upstair dinning area is very unkept and outdated. Our experience with the Ft. Lauderdale one was so much better, will go there from now on.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

we try to go on sundays for lunch the cooks are all friendly and happy

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I went with high expectations and was quickly disappointed! My birthday was ruined! The waitress seemed timid and not sure of what to do! They didn't have lids to the children's cups, they didn't have carry out brown bags! The chef threw the food on our plates! We had to stop another waitress to give us eating utensils! They tried to have 2 people from the staff sing happy birthday to me!! They should be glad they added the tip onto our table which had 11 people, because the tip would have been minimal!! Very disappointed in Benihana's!!!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

No comments...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was slow and parking ridiculous. No Valet either. Chef and waitress dull, even kids said it and chef continue to be uninterested. Even the heart was blah. Explanation of kids meal not clear until Bill nor did waitress seem to know ice cream was part of kids meal. This was my 3rd birthday celebrated there in a row and always the same. Benihana's experience is no longer.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The restaurant has changed a lot. It's not what it used to be. It's run down, the bathrooms are dirty and un kept, the service is poor. The chef's are still wonderful though. Service meaning the server and the hostesses looked unhappy, messy and frazzled.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I just love this place . Kind of noise only because of the chef performance but, also great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Horrible service!!! First of all there was hardly room to walk by the tables. Every time a waiter walked behind me, they bumped my chair. Second of all the waiter was horrible, apparently he was aware that he was guaranteed an 18% tip so he didn't care to keep us hydrated. We waited 20 minutes for him to come back and refill our drinks. Even our chef had to call someone to get him because he was embarrassed. He also didn't attempt to be charming at all. He was very dry and seemed annoyed. Our chef was pretty dry too. If we wouldn't make him laugh he wouldn't smile. If I'm paying the ridiculous high prices of that meal, I expect to not have to make the jokes. I want to be entertained. And the last issue was our chef screwed up my order. He gave me regular chicken instead of spicy chicken. He gave another guest the spicy chicken, which he said it was too spicy but didn't want to make a thing of it. Also, instead of making my chicken again he asked another waiter to bring the spicy sauce in a to-go container for me to put it on the chicken myself. All in all, they did NOT deserve the 18% tip we HAD to give them. We were OBGLIGATED to give them that amount because we were a party of 8. Even though he gave us all separate checks. We spoke to someone who said she was the manager and told us that there was NOTHING she could do about the tip and if we wanted to we could call corporate. I will NEVER return to that Benihana's, let alone return to ANY other Benihana's. It was very unprofessional and their tip was undeserving. The servers need to WORK for their tip and not be lazy because they know it's coming either way. UNACCEPTABLE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.