About Benihana - Miami Beach

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables while overlooking the beautiful Biscayne Bay, or visit our sushi bar, where you can enjoy one of our specialty rolls and signature cocktails while taking in the beautiful view. We offer complimentary valet parking for dinner starting at 5 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Benihana - Miami Beach
Dragon Roll
Rainbow Roll
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Sumo Roll
Blue Roof
Haiku Colada
Fried Rice
Gotham Roll
Clossal Shrimp

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (40)
Special Occasion (33)
Kid-friendly (24)
See All
Scenic View (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Romantic (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Fun (8)
Casual (8)
Family Style (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Waterfront (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Horrible experience . Never saw a restau ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Horrible experience . Never saw a restaurant so dirty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is the first time I got bad experie ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This is the first time I got bad experience in this Benihana.

Too much time waiting for service. The food was not what I ordered.

I was in the first floor. Mean not group dinner.

I always have good experience here. I will keep trying because I believe this doesn't reflect management desires.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The food is great! Our server was super ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is great! Our server was super awesome the cook was good but i think he was tired or over worked he was not enthusiastic like other cooks on other tables above all it was a first great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a $30 off coupon for my birthday. Th ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Had a $30 off coupon for my birthday. They always have warm, hospitable chefs and servers, in a fun table setting especially if kids are present. The food is delicious and overlooking the bay. For my birthday I got an ice cream Sunday with a candle , everyone singing to me, and they now give you a picture of the occasion. A nice gesture for this restaurant experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there to dine with a group of 6. I ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went there to dine with a group of 6. I made a reservation for 7pm and I got there at 7:07pm. We waited for a table for about 13mns but we didn't mind because someone from the group was stuck at work. After we were seated, the waitress came over and was very nice as well as understanding. She gave us a few mins to wait for our friend. After everybody was finally present, the chef came over 3 mins later. He did his show, we ate our meal. In my opinion, the food lacked flavor and was on the salty side but my sister did not share my opinion. Overall I had a good time and would definitely return.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there with kids and had a chef w ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were there with kids and had a chef who did not do ANY tricks or any kind of show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

It was my birthday and I had a very bad ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was my birthday and I had a very bad experience. The chef Frantz was very late arriving to table. He was not entertaining nor was he socialable. He did little to no interacting with the other diners. Most of all I was the very last person to get my meal. I asked him not to use lemon on my shrimp pasta because I'm allergic to citrus but he used it anyway. I asked for fresh shrimp to be cooked without lemon so I guess as my punishment I got my food served last. Plus the table dining next to us was very loud and distuptive. They banned on their tables and talked/cursed very loudly that the other dinners in my party were unhappy with the evening. The entire mood of the night was not celebratory. I asked for the manager and it took another 10 mins before he arrived. They took something off the bill at my complaint, out it's safe to say i won't be visiting this particular location anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

When I arrived the restaurant they could ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

When I arrived the restaurant they couldn't find my reservation? I will not book next time from opentable!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the food was delicious, but all of us ha ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

the food was delicious, but all of us had stomachache the day after. And also we took 3 hours to east, is was too much time even for Sunday

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Worst Birthday ever for my little sister ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Worst Birthday ever for my little sister. Our waitress was horrible, took our orders and got them wrong of course and then tried to over charge us for rice. She insisted on getting a tip saying that we have to tip her, when asked for the manager she never showed. I will never spend my money at this location again, horrible start to our vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hostess unattentive to the guests long w ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Hostess unattentive to the guests long wait for check at the end of the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Our chef did not care about the sesame s ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our chef did not care about the sesame seed allergy at our table . When he was instructed to cook another order of rice sesame seed free, he refused and left the table without finishing the meal. The General Manager CHAN was the absolute worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Very loud. Chicken was was tough and our ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Very loud. Chicken was was tough and our waiter barely did any tricks or entertainment. Wasn't happy at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I had reservation 7pm. We got there 7.18 ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had reservation 7pm. We got there 7.18pm and our reservation was cancelled.

Totally embarrassed in front of my guests. Host told me that we need to wait now in general line and sent us to bar. Both hosts were laughing and blaming we were too late, not even trying to solve the situation or help customer. So we had to wait in the bar for 45 minutes.

Will not suggest open table or this place to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

This place is the one my daughter loves ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This place is the one my daughter loves a lot! It's totally kid-friendly, the kids love all the show involved and the great food.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

we had a nice evening great for birthday ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

we had a nice evening great for birthday celebration

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Chief was excellent very ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service. Chief was excellent very entertaining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. They increased there ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was good. They increased there menu prices. They removed the menu prices from their online menus. The drinks are very expensive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Family Style, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I had terrible service on my birthday di ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I had terrible service on my birthday dinner at this specific Benihana. It was my first time ever at Benihana and the staff was rude and very catty, with an " I don't care" type of attitude . My server didn't take my order down correctly, and it seemed like no one cared to fix mistakes that were made. Very underwhelmed by the service and staff. The chef was rude as well and at one point even walked away and left the food unintended, When he was told he made a mistake with our order. I didn't get served a full dinner entrée. My dinner entree was supposed to come with a soup and side salad, I never got that with my meal. I spoke to two mangers that night, both not doing much to resolve the issues I had. Worst experience I could ever have, especially on a night that was suppose to be special with my friends.

At the end of the night we complained about how terrible the service was and ended getting our meals for free, but to me it doesn't make up for how bad that night was. I have never had such bad service before.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Very fun place to dine with family or fr ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very fun place to dine with family or friends. The cooks are friendly and entertaining and they will cook the food how you want it and any other requests you might have.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was very poor. ...we had to wait ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was very poor. ...we had to wait a ling time for our table and an even longer time for our chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

I love Benihana! Their food is always ve ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love Benihana! Their food is always very fresh & cooked to order and the chefs are fun to watch. This location also has a nice view overlooking the water.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped while on vacation. Very clean, g ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Stopped while on vacation. Very clean, great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was very bad. Even we had reserv ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was very bad. Even we had reservation had to wait for an hour. Chef was not entertaining at all. Bad experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value4

Terrible! Food was good, ambiance terrib ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Terrible! Food was good, ambiance terrible. Chef not interested in being there. Benihana is not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Went to dinner for my husband's birthday ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went to dinner for my husband's birthday. The chef was great and the food was super delicious! The Mai Tai was great too!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst experience ive had. My husband and ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Worst experience ive had. My husband and our three boys took me out for lunch for my birthday,they sat us next to a table with 12 children. It was so loud! The cook didn't act like he wanted to Be there,he didnt put on a show and was very boring. They over charged us and i couldnt even use my birthday certificate. The waitress put my husbands leftovers in someone's else's bag!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good Experience overall but we had to wa ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good Experience overall but we had to wait 30m for our table even though we had a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent evening with my mom. The food ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent evening with my mom. The food and service were very good. Couldn't finish our five course meal and we were happy to have leftovers for the next day. My seafood Diablo is definitely something I would try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love Benihana, is one of our favorite ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love Benihana, is one of our favorite restaurant!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

One of the chefs was entertaining, the o ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

One of the chefs was entertaining, the other wasn't. One of the nice things about going there in a large group is the entertainer. It was boring for 1/2 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Service is quite slow, the only positive ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Service is quite slow, the only positive was our cook and that food was great. From the start, I made a reservation for 1 pm, they did not let us in until 1:15 with no explanation . Service was awfully slow, it tooks us two hours to be out of the place and we did not order dessert. A table next to us call for the manager as they were also upset on the waiting. The Highlight is the view, and if you are lucky to get a good cook .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

The food was great, as usual. Prices ar ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was great, as usual. Prices are a bit high, but does include soup and salad. For the cost they should include ice cream (the only dessert option).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This location was awesome! Luis was an a ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This location was awesome! Luis was an awesome and entertaining chef! I even got pictures of dolphins as we were leaving.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really love going to dinedine here. My ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I really love going to dinedine here. My chef was awesome (Jason) vey entertaining and polite. The food was delicious taste exactly how it smelled when the chef sent a wiff my way. Lol. I had a great time. My waitress kind of kept forforgetting my refills but oter than that A ++

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Had a great time! We went for my girlfr ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had a great time! We went for my girlfriends birthday, and really enjoyed the food, performance and service. My daughter loves seeing the chef cook , and my girlfriend and i had a great overall experience. We will definitely be back and will continue recommending the restaurant to family and friends. Make the customer experience #1 and the satisfaction will continue to rise.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was not how I remember Benihana !!! ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was not how I remember Benihana !!! This place was filthy!food everywhere on the floor! Gone are the Japanese chefs only to be replaced with short order cooks who turn out third rate food! We believe we all came down with food poisoning the next morning!!!!! This place should be closed down!i never give bad commentary but this was beyond unacceptable!💩

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very loud , very old and dirty house. Ve ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very loud , very old and dirty house. Very unfriendly waitress who served us. Very expensive. Never again

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

My daughters and I had a marvelous lunch ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My daughters and I had a marvelous lunch. I made reservation the day before for 2. We only waited 10 minutes before we were called. The food was delicious and tasty. Enjoyed our chef and our waitress she was busy and awesome, she did a good job accommodating four tables. Job well done!😌

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had three children at the table, all ver ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

had three children at the table, all very hungry , we were 35 minutes since we sat waiting for the chef, conditinal Air freezing, place very dirty, food Good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.