About Benihana - Miami Beach

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables while overlooking the beautiful Biscayne Bay, or visit our sushi bar, where you can enjoy one of our specialty rolls and signature cocktails while taking in the beautiful view. We offer complimentary valet parking for dinner starting at 5 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Rainbow Roll
  • Dragon Roll
  • Shrimp Lover's Roll
  • Sumo Roll
  • Blue Roof
  • Haiku Colada
  • Fried Rice
  • Gotham Roll
  • Clossal Shrimp
Rainbow Roll
Dragon Roll
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Sumo Roll
Blue Roof
Haiku Colada
Fried Rice
Gotham Roll
Clossal Shrimp

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Japanese
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

good for groups (51)
special occasion (40)
kid-friendly (33)
See All
scenic view (32)
great for lunch (24)
romantic (15)
neighborhood gem (13)
fit for foodies (13)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Don't come here, if you do you'll regret ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Don't come here, if you do you'll regret it for the rest of your stay!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We took my mother out for her birthday. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We took my mother out for her birthday. We've heard about the dining experience and decided that we would give it a try. I was greatly disappointed. We were seated approximately 40 minutes past our reservation time. The restaurant had a dirty feel to it (dingy carpets, dusty display). Food was good (not great or exceptional) but the service was absolutely horrible! Our chef had such a hard time getting the table back into a good mood due the poor service that the waitress had been providing prior to that. Went on a Saturday night, not only was the place busy (which was expected) but it was extremely loud. I had to practically yell at someone who was sitting two seats away from me and even the individual had issues hearing me. I requested a high chair in my reservation yet we didn't receive one. If you have allergies, reconsider this restaurant. The shrimp, lobster, and tofu were cooking simultaneously on the same stove top. I had to request my tofu be moved to the far from the seafood. If you have breathing issues/asthma, I'd recommend stay away as well. Two of our friends has asthma and due to such poor ventilation of the restaurant, they both left the dinner (before the chef even came to our table). Our chef and the food made up for the experience but I truly doubt I'll be visiting the Miami Beach Benihana's location again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was okay. We didn't like the fac ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was okay. We didn't like the fact that the chef Chinese and there was no authentication to the place anymore. While he was cooking our food (rice) he proceeded to give a bowl of the fried rice to another employee. So we were paying with our money an employees lunch. He was not social and didn't do anything special at the table. It was my daughters 10th birthday and it was not that great. Sad to say, but I will never go back again. It was also run down and smelled. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Needs urgently a remodeling! Its very di ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Needs urgently a remodeling! Its very dirty and old.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

The place is in dire need to a complete ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The place is in dire need to a complete overhaul. Not only does the restaurant need to be shut down for renovation but it's filthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

I think the experience would have been b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I think the experience would have been better if we didn't have to wait 2 hours after being seated to get our food. The manger was great and he tried to make it up to us. The waitress we had seemed lost at times.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

It's a interesting and creative restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It's a interesting and creative restaurant. Although the dinner had been expensive, the food was delicious and everybody was happy.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food but WAY TOO MUCH SALT, PEPPER ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Good food but WAY TOO MUCH SALT, PEPPER AND GARLIC BUTTER!!! Must tell chef to use salt in moderation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

My family and I frequent Benihana quite ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My family and I frequent Benihana quite often but the air conditioning was broken and it was miserably HOT! The staff mentioned that the air had been broken for 3 days. Had I been notified I would have gone another day.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Service was extremely slow. The air con ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was extremely slow. The air conditioning was not working properly. I was there for a birthday celebration and we ended up leaving because after a hour and a half our cook had not even started .

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Well unlike most Benihanas this location ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Well unlike most Benihanas this location did not have yum yum sauce which threw the whole night off to start. Our chef was VERY INEXPERIENCED and cooked as if he had just started that day. Everything was cooked out of order which made us have a longer wait to get our food. It was too hot in the restaurant as well and for a place known for flaming fire it's normally pretty chilly. Overall I wouldn't go back to this location...id just stick to the ones in Atlanta

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

AS A FREQUENT DINER OF BENIHANA I WAS VE ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

AS A FREQUENT DINER OF BENIHANA I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED. I WAS CELEBRATING MY 28TH BIRTHDAY AND NOTED THAT ON MY OPEN TABLE RESERVATION. AS I WALKED INTO THE RESTURANT THE HOSTESS DID NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THAT I WAS CELEBRATING MY BIRTHDAY NOR DID SHE ASK IF I HAD A RESERVATION. SHE TOLD US TO SIT DOWN FOR 30 MINUTES UNTIL SOMETHING WAS AVALIABLE AND I ASKED HER IF IT WAS GOING TO BE 30 MINUTES EVEN IF I MADE A RESERVATION AND SHE THEN SAID IT SHOULD ONLY BE ABOUT 10 MINUTES. AS WE SAT DOWN THE SERVER DID NOT ACKNOWLEDGE MY BIRTHDAY EITHER, WHILE FOUR OTHER TABLES AROUND US WERE HAVING THE BEST BIRTHDAY CELEBRATIONS WITH THE CHEF DOING BIRTHDAY JOKES AND FLICKING THE SHRIMP IN HIS HAT. FINALLY, WE ASKED FOR THE CHECK AND AFTER WE CASHED OUT AND ON OUR WAY OUT TO LEAVE THATS WHEN SHE ASKED IF WE WANTED HER TO SING HAPPY BIRTHDAY. AT THAT POINT WE WERE JUST READY TO LEAVE, IT REALLY SUCKS BECAUSE I CELEBRATED MY BIRTHDAY THERE LAST YEAR AND I HAD SUCH A GREAT TIME. THEY SANG TO ME, I GOT THE BIRTHDAY HAT, THE CHEF WAS VERY ENTHUSIASTIC, AND THE MANAGER CAME TO THE TABLE AND ASKED HOW I WAS DOING AND TOLD ME HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

This visit was horrible. I had a 6:00 r ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This visit was horrible. I had a 6:00 reservation and did not get seated until 6:30. Normally this would not bother me but when the restaurant is empty it seems a bit extreme. Additionally the A/C was broken and it was extremely hot once they turned on the grill. Last but not least the woman's bathroom was out of order and they only had one stall available for women. This bathroom was disgusting. Toilet paper on the floor etc. The bathroom light was motion sensored so while I was on the toilet the lights turned off. Then they turned off once while I was washing my hands. This place really needs an overhaul. Very disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The food was excellent. But there were ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was excellent. But there were only 3 of us, and the other 6 people at our table were not interested in the fun part . . . the "show", where the chef/cook chops and starts things on fire, etc. As a matter of fact, 3 of them were face down on their phones, while the cook was addressing us . . . it was rude and I felt bad for the guy. But really, I felt bad for us too because he sort of tuned out and just cooked our food, with very little of the entertainment or even interaction. We were relegated to the side seats, so the 6 could sit in a row together, so we didn't even get any eye contact. The experience was disappointing . . . perhaps Benihana could seat groups together that are first timers, and interest or something like that? Or the cooks could be trained to pay attention to the people who are interested, even if it's only a few a the table . . . . we did laugh, try to engage and pay attention to everything he was doing. But because we were off to one side, I think we lost out. Also, other tables were having a great time . . . lots of laughing, whooping, etc. I wouldn't go again unless I had a bigger group (which we usually do).

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

AWFUL! You walk into a muggy, smelly wai ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

AWFUL! You walk into a muggy, smelly waiting area and begin to rethink dinner plans. Took my kid to the bathroom, ladies is closed so we go to unisex and the smell is so repulsive my daughter refuses to use it! Luckily (no help from the hostesses) we find another womens room to use. We get a table far away from the window view and since it was a quiet early Tuesday evening I asked if we could sit at one of the 3-4 empty tables by the window, the hostess looked confused by the request and the manager who happened to be walking by brusquely said we were too few people (2 adults 2 small kids) and too many if we were to sit with the other family we had been paired with (5)so I let it go. This place is a dump. Look at the ceiling!

The waitress has zero friendliness. Chef comes and begins-not much of show but he was nice enough. He had trouble keeping the orders straight.

Waitress never comes back to see if we need more drinks - I had to flag her down for a wine. I'm not familiar with how this whole thing works so it wasn't until the chef was cleaning the grill that I said, when do I get my dinner? He had accidentally given it to the girls in the other family! I had no dinner, just some bits and pieces and veggies! The waitress comes back and yells at him and says it's all his fault and proceeds to tell the other family they should be grateful since their girls got extra meat!! It was so embarrassing! The poor girls offered to give me bits of meat from their dinner plates! The chef offered to make me the dinner but at this point I was fed up and not hungry and asked it to be taken off the bill since I didn't get it. There are booster seats and kids chopsticks and she never offered them to my kids. She brought bill w/out asking if we wanted dessert. Kids meal comes with dessert! I asked for it and she said it was too hot and the ice cream was "melty"! I don't care, I said bring it anyways. and it was perfectly fine. Worst experience ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

great food, positive vibe from the walk ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

great food, positive vibe from the walk in, great service. Aj our waiter was cool and I will be visiting again.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is amazing to see the chef performing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It is amazing to see the chef performing his cooking abilities right in front of us! My kids loved it. The seafood was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

As I was amazing food the kids always e ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As I was amazing food the kids always enjoy the show all the chefs do..

Food is good value is fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I had a great the time the staff was ama ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I had a great the time the staff was amazing. My kids enjoyed the enitre day from the walk in the door and out...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was pleased with the chef, the food wa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was pleased with the chef, the food was great. The ceiling needs upgrading and less guest to one table is highly recommended. I made reservations for lunch on Father's Day and after being seated we were told that there weren't any lunch menus for Father's Day which I was not informed prior to seating or the day of.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Is very unhappy. I'm a usual customer th ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Is very unhappy. I'm a usual customer that goes there one a week and I hadn't been there for 1 month. I went there that day 2 feel miserable because the service was terrible. Then on top of that I went for lunch and they charged me dinner prices.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Consistently fun & fabulous food. Alway ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Consistently fun & fabulous food. Always look forward to dining here , especially on special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservationd for teppan are strongly rec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Reservationd for teppan are strongly reccomended, if not you are at risk of waiting over 90mins. Ask for lunch menu, they don't offer if you don't ask and it's half price

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

A great birthday celebration.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Friends shared the occasion with me, plus we met others at the same table as we. All great fun!

And, to boot, the chef put on a good show, as usual.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Too crowded on Sunday. Long wait, even w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Too crowded on Sunday. Long wait, even with reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Unprofessional Host station

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Part of our party arrived early and we were told we couldn't be seated without the whole party. That's fine given the nature of the place , the fact that this is not an umcommon policy and that we were 15 minutes early. But not fine when other parties - who didn't have reservations - were seated before their parties were complete. The rest of our party showed up right before our reservation time but we still had to wait another 15 minutes after our reservation time to be seated. That was particularly bad because in some cases what we were waiting for was for those non-reserved and incomplete parties to be seated ahead of us. VERY uncool.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Great Food....

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Had a reservation but still had to wait. Once at our table we waited even longer. We were seated with a family that was not friendly. Not to us or the chef. Once the chef arrived he put on a good show, very entertaining. The food was awesome and will definitely dine there again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for people with Allergies!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My friend and I were in town for the weekend and were having a hard time finding an allergy friendly place for dinner. Benihana was beyond accommodating and even made sure my friend and I still got to have an amazing meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and entertainment

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I have been going to this location for some years and I enjoy every minute. It is a family restaurant but can be romantic if need be. We dine in for special occasions, happy hour, and on regular basis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason ~ the Chef was amazing

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Jason ~ the Chef was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Waiting time was very long. Other than t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Waiting time was very long. Other than that, everything was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They need to work on customer service a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

They need to work on customer service a lot they need to improve the place restrooms were close its not really up to stander of how a Benihana should look I felt I was in a Chinese buffet then a nice Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Good meal for family celebration. Wish o ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Good meal for family celebration. Wish our chef had been more engaged and his"show" was more animated - the 4 kids under 8 would have loved that. Other chefs where fun and animated, ours was distracted and forgot to serve our shrimp appetizer until we were eating individual meals.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Not pleased.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Not pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Every year my family invites my daughter ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Every year my family invites my daughter and I for a birthday dinner in May. This last time, Monday, 5/16/16, we noticed that the food quantity had diminished. All 10 of us ordered Rocky's Choice, and when it came time for the shrimp appetizer we all received 5 pieces of shrimp, not whole shrimp, but pieces. That hardly constitutes as an appetizer! Then when the vegetable came, those were skimpy as well. What's happening???? This is not a $15 plate, this is almost $30.00! We will try it again soon, and if the skimping happens again I will call the manager and complain, and if it not rectified we will not return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, as always. However, we must h ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Good food, as always. However, we must have had a new cook as he barely spoke and gave virtually no show. Nice guy, tho.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Yesterday I went to Benihana with my dau ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Yesterday I went to Benihana with my daughter. We were both anxious to live a new experience which was the first time for my daughter. She is very sensitive when it comes to eating. When I made a reservation for a table for two people, when I arrived there they told me that it's not part of their philosophy to have reservations for two people. I told her that you need to tell me this or let me know and this ruined the planned moment that I had with my daughter. She made me wait 20 minutes to sit me down and was waiting for other people not of color to put me sitting down with them. I can confirm this because she took me to a table with other families 20 minutes later while other ones we're being seated as soon as they arrived. I didn't know that you had to wait in order to sit down with people of the specific color is that part of their philosophy too? We told her that we were about to leave and she just said OK go which disappointed my daughter and I. I will never return to that restaurant. I could take this restaurant to court But I won't. However I'm still very disappointed and will be certain not to go back there ever again. I can imagine that this restaurant used to be good but now it has fallen to other standards not what you see on television.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

What a wonderful evening! Hibachi, drinks, FUN!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

What a wonderful evening. We were a party of 9 celebrating my daughter's birthday. I reserved trough OPEN TABLE and my table was waiting for me! Our waiter was kind, sweet and very helpful. The Hibachi chef was the star of the night, we really enjoyed our FOOD SHOW with a great dose of humor! And delicious, to say the least. The service in general was superb. Drinks were awesome and my daughter ended the night with a - "That was fun mom, thank you! And there is no price I could pay to hear something like that from my teenage girl!

VALET IS COMPLIMENTARY!! hello?

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The chef Jean really respect me ,I asked ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The chef Jean really respect me ,I asked all my food easy on.butter and he always served me 1st and added butter for the other guests..We really appreciated his concerns. ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Has always Benhana out did themselves wi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Has always Benhana out did themselves with good food and great cooks. The Service was great.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.