About Benihana - Miami Beach

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables while overlooking the beautiful Biscayne Bay, or visit our sushi bar, where you can enjoy one of our specialty rolls and signature cocktails while taking in the beautiful view. We offer complimentary valet parking for dinner starting at 5 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-miami Beach - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
California Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Sushi - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Trio - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Chef Trick - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Dragon Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Rainbow Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Shrimp Lover's Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Sumo Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Blue Roof - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Haiku Colada - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Fried Rice - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Gotham Roll - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL
Clossal Shrimp - Benihana - Miami Beach, North Bay Village, FL

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

Special Occasion (22)
Fun (21)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Kid-friendly (18)
Family Style (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Scenic View (14)
Casual (12)
Waterfront (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place was awesome. The food was ter ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

This place was awesome. The food was terrific! My wife and I loved it . The only flaw was the chef took about an hour to come out . But everything else was great. Can wait to back !

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Waterfront, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved the food. Excellent service from o ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved the food. Excellent service from our waitress and cook. Hostess was a bit rude. Enjoyed the ambiance and loved the experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This Miami Beach location has been plagu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This Miami Beach location has been plagued by a/c and leaky roof problems for years! I can not imagine the level of mold that must be hidden in the ceilings. I sat under a leaking a/c. The prices are high; service just ok and food quality just ok. The kids like it. That's the only positive thing I can honestly say.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Absolutely terrible experience. Seafood ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely terrible experience. Seafood was over cooked, steaks were over cooked, Kid's portions from the kids menu were larger than adult portions, took forever for meal to be prepared, and many elements of the regular "show" were missing. Probably will not go back... ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was terrific, the white sangria ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was terrific, the white sangria was awesome, it wasn't too strong or too light.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The customer service wasn't that great , ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The customer service wasn't that great ,could've been better,the food was delicious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The service was terrible. We had a serve ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service was terrible. We had a serve who was not attentive to our needs an/or wants. She never brought our party of seven our salads, we never received a refill on our soft drinks and it wasn't until I requested a manager (who might I add was not a help) that our serve Courtney decided to bring us our appetizers which might I add were ICE COLD when they reached our table.

I have had poor experiences here before but NEVER like this. Our chef was awesome and the food that was prepared before us was delicious but the over experience was a mess!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I haven't been to this location in years ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I haven't been to this location in years... I normally visit the location in Miramar since it's closer to me. BUT to accommodate family and guest I went to this location and the food quality has went down (i.e. Over seasoned, too much of everything used by the chef)....

I purchased a cake (pink and black) for the occasion and gave them candles that spelled out a word. One of the guest brought a cake (red & white) as well and the waitress decided to used the candles for both cakes and didn't spell the word correctly. The candle didn't match the cake the guest brought. They should have just the candle for the cake it was attached too. I believe this was happen because they were rushing and trying to get us checked out...

And then the valet guy was upstairs and just handed people their keys instead of going to get the vehicle for you... the services has went down at Benihana's...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

I heard so much about Benihana. I was ex ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I heard so much about Benihana. I was expecting a classy experience, however I felt like I was dinning at a mom and pop restaurant. The food was less than par, the servers acted as if we were bothering them asking questions because this was our first time visiting the restaurant. The area where we dined had mold on the ceiling. Thanks for asking for my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Smiling ladies at the front hostess desk ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Smiling ladies at the front hostess desk.

The waitresses are fast and very quick on their feet. They also apologize for the tiniest bit of wait if anything took a lil extra time.

Table chef was funny but not over the top. Funny subtle jokes and very entertaining with the knives and spatulas.

The downstairs bar is AWSOME for after dinner drinks! The 10$ cocktails that are signature to Benihana are a MUST TRY!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, People Watching, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everytime I'm in Miami I visit this Beni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Everytime I'm in Miami I visit this Benihana!! We don't have one in New Orleans so I'm always happy to enjoy a great meal here.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for families! Beautiful views! Our ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great for families! Beautiful views! Our waitress was so sweet and attentive!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waited for a while for service but overa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Waited for a while for service but overall it was great. The cook was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great place, this time was a lot better ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great place, this time was a lot better than the last time. The service was improved!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my daughter's birthday and they k ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 27, 2016

It was my daughter's birthday and they knew about it. The cook was bland and I t showed he wasn't in the mood for anything. My daughter was a little disappointed not to see the show like other Benihanas. But the waitress, Julia, was fast and smart. The food overall was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I love this place it was my son 10th bir ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I love this place it was my son 10th birthday and the chef made it amazing

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the guy was really nice and funny ... gr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 26, 2016

the guy was really nice and funny ... great experience .... staff service was excellent

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! Our server was on it, I wish ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fantastic! Our server was on it, I wish I could remember her name, she was amazing!

Mauricio our chef did a few new tricks that I hadn't seen before. Thank you to all for a fantastic evening. Oh yes almost forgot the food was also very yummy:)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fun, Family Style, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This dining experience was average to ab ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This dining experience was average to above average for a Beni Hana restaurant, with one exception. When paying our bill, we opted to pay with a credit card. Our (attentive) server was unable to allow us to pay the bill at that time as this location only has two portable credit card processing terminals. From what I understand they tend to become 'lost' or I imagine are likely in very high demand in a restaurant the serves the volume that this Beni Hana does. As a result, my wife, kids, and I had to wait ~15-20 mins to pay out bill by credit card after the meal. Our server was very apologetic and understanding of our frustration, but it is the one thing that colored an otherwise enjoyable meal.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was great

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We made an 8:30 reservation and didn't g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We made an 8:30 reservation and didn't get seated until 9:15. The atmosphere was not nice at all, just a bunch of tables thrown on a carpeted area. When our chef finally came over to start cooking, the roof started leaking onto the grill so we had to move. They did move us quickly and start cooking again right away. However, I've had better hibachi and was a bit disappointed since Benihana is supposed to be one of the best.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Had an amazing time with my family food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Had an amazing time with my family food was great the chef was great overall everything was great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess' attitudes were horrible as ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The hostess' attitudes were horrible as soon as we walked in. While sitting in the waiting area we saw one of the hostess kicked the refrigerator door in the break room. Then we weren't able to hear our name being called so we asked if they had called us and the hostess said NO in a very rude way. So we ended up leaving before being seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

We had the best time! The food was great ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had the best time! The food was great and the service was excellent. Our chef made our Birthday dinner very fun and memorable! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The front receptionist was so rude that ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The front receptionist was so rude that I wanted to leave but since my friend wanted to eat there we stayed. The whole building is falling apart. Everybody that works there is clueless. The show sucked , the guy had no enthusiasm what so ever. I could barely understand what he said. There aren't the traditional Asian people that used to work there that really would put on a show. Not to discriminate but that's part of what made it authentic. The sauces don't taste the same. If it ain't broke don't fix it. They did not bring us the green tea at all. The prices are way too high for the little amount they serve. They don't clean up the tables and bowls just pile up making it uncomfortable to eat when the area is already cramped. It's a shame that such a genius concept has gone to hell. Will never go there again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Service level was reasonable , not outst ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Service level was reasonable , not outstanding as in other occasions. Food was not quite as good as I remembered it. In general, this visit to Benihama did not meet the expectations I had based on previous visits.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Horrible experience . Never saw a restau ...

 
·Dined on September 26, 2016

Horrible experience . Never saw a restaurant so dirty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is the first time I got bad experie ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This is the first time I got bad experience in this Benihana.

Too much time waiting for service. The food was not what I ordered.

I was in the first floor. Mean not group dinner.

I always have good experience here. I will keep trying because I believe this doesn't reflect management desires.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The food is great! Our server was super ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food is great! Our server was super awesome the cook was good but i think he was tired or over worked he was not enthusiastic like other cooks on other tables above all it was a first great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a $30 off coupon for my birthday. Th ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Had a $30 off coupon for my birthday. They always have warm, hospitable chefs and servers, in a fun table setting especially if kids are present. The food is delicious and overlooking the bay. For my birthday I got an ice cream Sunday with a candle , everyone singing to me, and they now give you a picture of the occasion. A nice gesture for this restaurant experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there to dine with a group of 6. I ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went there to dine with a group of 6. I made a reservation for 7pm and I got there at 7:07pm. We waited for a table for about 13mns but we didn't mind because someone from the group was stuck at work. After we were seated, the waitress came over and was very nice as well as understanding. She gave us a few mins to wait for our friend. After everybody was finally present, the chef came over 3 mins later. He did his show, we ate our meal. In my opinion, the food lacked flavor and was on the salty side but my sister did not share my opinion. Overall I had a good time and would definitely return.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there with kids and had a chef w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were there with kids and had a chef who did not do ANY tricks or any kind of show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

It was my birthday and I had a very bad ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was my birthday and I had a very bad experience. The chef Frantz was very late arriving to table. He was not entertaining nor was he socialable. He did little to no interacting with the other diners. Most of all I was the very last person to get my meal. I asked him not to use lemon on my shrimp pasta because I'm allergic to citrus but he used it anyway. I asked for fresh shrimp to be cooked without lemon so I guess as my punishment I got my food served last. Plus the table dining next to us was very loud and distuptive. They banned on their tables and talked/cursed very loudly that the other dinners in my party were unhappy with the evening. The entire mood of the night was not celebratory. I asked for the manager and it took another 10 mins before he arrived. They took something off the bill at my complaint, out it's safe to say i won't be visiting this particular location anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

When I arrived the restaurant they could ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 13, 2016

When I arrived the restaurant they couldn't find my reservation? I will not book next time from opentable!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the food was delicious, but all of us ha ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

the food was delicious, but all of us had stomachache the day after. And also we took 3 hours to east, is was too much time even for Sunday

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Worst Birthday ever for my little sister ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Worst Birthday ever for my little sister. Our waitress was horrible, took our orders and got them wrong of course and then tried to over charge us for rice. She insisted on getting a tip saying that we have to tip her, when asked for the manager she never showed. I will never spend my money at this location again, horrible start to our vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hostess unattentive to the guests long w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Hostess unattentive to the guests long wait for check at the end of the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Our chef did not care about the sesame s ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our chef did not care about the sesame seed allergy at our table . When he was instructed to cook another order of rice sesame seed free, he refused and left the table without finishing the meal. The General Manager CHAN was the absolute worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Very loud. Chicken was was tough and our ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Very loud. Chicken was was tough and our waiter barely did any tricks or entertainment. Wasn't happy at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I had reservation 7pm. We got there 7.18 ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had reservation 7pm. We got there 7.18pm and our reservation was cancelled.

Totally embarrassed in front of my guests. Host told me that we need to wait now in general line and sent us to bar. Both hosts were laughing and blaming we were too late, not even trying to solve the situation or help customer. So we had to wait in the bar for 45 minutes.

Will not suggest open table or this place to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.