Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Benihana - Miami Beach

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables while overlooking the beautiful Biscayne Bay, or visit our sushi bar, where you can enjoy one of our specialty rolls and signature cocktails while taking in the beautiful view. We offer complimentary valet parking for dinner starting at 5 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (41)
Family Style (34)
Good for Groups (32)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Kid-friendly (27)
Fun (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Waterfront (21)
Casual (21)
Open Kitchen (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Authentic (12)
Scenic View (10)
Business Meals (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Historic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
People Watching (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
706 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

We took our grandchildren on Friday night, they loved the theatrics but were not interested in the food. My husband and I thought the food was absolutely tasteless. Will never go back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I'm not going to be coming to Benihana For a while the food was overcooked and I asked for medium well steak over cooked my fry rice the rice was hard again over cooked I've been coming to Benihana's 20 times in the past six months Really disappointed in the service the waitress service was bad I have to repeat things really disappointed I will not be coming anytime soon thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent food! Came here for my birthday dinner !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Please get yum yum sauce on the menu. Food was good other than that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food! But took almost 30 minutes to get us seated. That was a bit frustrating because I made reservations and got there 10 minutes early. I was only a party of 3 so a little bit bad on that part. But service and chef that prepared our food (hibachi style) was great! So yummy. You leave very full

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We was there for birthday March 11, Saturday at 2;30 pm... . First, I did the reservation before, but still was suppose to wait in the waiting area for 15 minutes with kids. Second, it took another 15 minutes for waiter to bring the menu, then another 10 minutes to take a drink order, then another 10 minutes to bring the drinks, then another 15 minutes for Chef to come over and start cook. BUT THIRD is the worst that they Brought a SUSHI ROLLS to other 2 boys after the rest of us ate already. THAT was SOMETHING!! I will never ever recommend this place to my friends at all! You guys are nuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The service was great. Both the chief and the waiter was great.

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Historic, Private Room, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great as always !

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very difficult to have a nice dinner with my wife due to the extremely long wait to be served by the waitress/chef! Had to look for a manager and wait some more. The upstair dinning area is very unkept and outdated. Our experience with the Ft. Lauderdale one was so much better, will go there from now on.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

we try to go on sundays for lunch the cooks are all friendly and happy

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I went with high expectations and was quickly disappointed! My birthday was ruined! The waitress seemed timid and not sure of what to do! They didn't have lids to the children's cups, they didn't have carry out brown bags! The chef threw the food on our plates! We had to stop another waitress to give us eating utensils! They tried to have 2 people from the staff sing happy birthday to me!! They should be glad they added the tip onto our table which had 11 people, because the tip would have been minimal!! Very disappointed in Benihana's!!!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

No comments...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was slow and parking ridiculous. No Valet either. Chef and waitress dull, even kids said it and chef continue to be uninterested. Even the heart was blah. Explanation of kids meal not clear until Bill nor did waitress seem to know ice cream was part of kids meal. This was my 3rd birthday celebrated there in a row and always the same. Benihana's experience is no longer.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The restaurant has changed a lot. It's not what it used to be. It's run down, the bathrooms are dirty and un kept, the service is poor. The chef's are still wonderful though. Service meaning the server and the hostesses looked unhappy, messy and frazzled.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I just love this place . Kind of noise only because of the chef performance but, also great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Horrible service!!! First of all there was hardly room to walk by the tables. Every time a waiter walked behind me, they bumped my chair. Second of all the waiter was horrible, apparently he was aware that he was guaranteed an 18% tip so he didn't care to keep us hydrated. We waited 20 minutes for him to come back and refill our drinks. Even our chef had to call someone to get him because he was embarrassed. He also didn't attempt to be charming at all. He was very dry and seemed annoyed. Our chef was pretty dry too. If we wouldn't make him laugh he wouldn't smile. If I'm paying the ridiculous high prices of that meal, I expect to not have to make the jokes. I want to be entertained. And the last issue was our chef screwed up my order. He gave me regular chicken instead of spicy chicken. He gave another guest the spicy chicken, which he said it was too spicy but didn't want to make a thing of it. Also, instead of making my chicken again he asked another waiter to bring the spicy sauce in a to-go container for me to put it on the chicken myself. All in all, they did NOT deserve the 18% tip we HAD to give them. We were OBGLIGATED to give them that amount because we were a party of 8. Even though he gave us all separate checks. We spoke to someone who said she was the manager and told us that there was NOTHING she could do about the tip and if we wanted to we could call corporate. I will NEVER return to that Benihana's, let alone return to ANY other Benihana's. It was very unprofessional and their tip was undeserving. The servers need to WORK for their tip and not be lazy because they know it's coming either way. UNACCEPTABLE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was not as good as it used to be. I always go once a month. Before the customer services was better now since u get into the restaurant and ask a question to the hosts they answer with attitude. After you wait an hour to be seated having a reservation and being on time. When I did the reservation I was available the time I choose. Then I believe the eating experience have changed a lot. The food was not cook as good as they used to be before I was very disappointed

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As always excellent place for family fun! This time I can feel the service has been improved.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day 2017. The food and ambiance were awesome as usual! However, the service was slightly below average to average, at best. Everything was going pretty well with the server, but at the end of our meal, she did not offer anyone at the table the 6th course, the dessert, which was included as part of the meal. We had to ask for it to get it. Also, our chef, whose name I won't disclose, was just ok; he prepared the food just fine, but he lacked energy and personality. My wife and I had a good time, but it was not one of our best experiences at this particular Benihana. Looking forward to a better experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We chose Benihana's for our Valentines Day dinner out. As always, the food was good and the server was very attentive.
For this trip, for the first time we chose the table service rather than the grill side seats. That was not a good choice. The main course, filet and lobster, had obviously been prepared for some time before being served and was not nearly as fresh and tasty as when those deliciously morsels go directly from the grill to your plate. We'll know better next time.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good experience

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was grate, the service fantastic , I'll be back soon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The cooker was great.his name was Jason! So good food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We often visit Benihana for especial occasions, but I'm always disappointed that we never get the table location we request. I always make reservations and even call in advance, but time and time again, we are seated wherever is available.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Need authentic cooks! The cooks you emergency Loy now try real hard but they didn't not come close to othe restaurants that you have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our waitress,Erika, was great :) our chef was wonderful as well. Great experience for my husband's birthday. The hostess/manager was wonderful too. We really do love Benihana - Miami Beach!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Sat at the bar on the far corner at the bar for about 15min we were not noticed I had to get up to let the waitress know we where there she asked if we could move to the other side we did it took awhile for our food to come soon as it did we had to get it to go because we had to be somewhere at 2pm we really wanted to sit and have lunch but unfortunately that was unable to happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Even after I had reservations with OpenTable, we got seated after 10 min. But that's ok. The waiter didn't take our order after 1 hour of being seated. I've been here numerous times and this by far was the worst service. My other experiences have been better but not this particular night. Food was delicious as always. I've been coming to Benihana since I was a kid and it's always been one of my favorites for special occasions. Thumbs up on the food and restaurant but thumbs down on the waiter. The chef was very good and nice.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

WE were pleased
Food was well prepared at our table
Chef was very good and had a nice attitude
We enjoyed the food and chefs entertainment
Drinks were always late
The server was not well organized and did not attend the table well
It's a shame ..!!!
We will go back to Benihana ...!!!
BUT wish fir a better luck on the waiter

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food, chef and service were great as usual. Chef really stood out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It was ok, the chef cooked the food kinda fast and I've been a several times and it has always been longer, and we both had upset stomachs afterwards!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We always enjoy eating here and love the food. However, we brought some for their birthday and they were disappointed that there were so few vegetarian choices.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The route from the entrance to the bar goes through the bathroom corridor and smells like them. Quality of food not great - tasteless tuna shashimi, bland cooked food.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food excellent!
Place a bit rundown...needs desperately renovations

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Made my birthday worthwhile. Enjoyed the food and the chefs entertainment. Thank you!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My son's 8th bday was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 18, 2017

great dinner as always, great show will continue to go

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The service was amazing, it was my first time there. I was visiting from New york for my birthday and i'm so glad i had my birthday dinner there. The food was amazingggg!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We order a Filet mignon, shrimps and add a lobster tail ×2 for me and my husband,the only type of steak I eat is Ribyte and Filet (medium)because how soft and juicy they are ,specially the Filet,well they bring to the table a lite pink color thin steak and the cut was just not Filet,I told the chef,then I let him finished and tried but just from looking I knew,a manager came and told me it was Filet, just to pull a piece appart with my fingers was hard, so upset of that fraud.
I took pics of the steak and that look exactly like a piece of new York or sirloin,I did not receive any credit and no apologies,so upset for that and paying for a steak I di t get.
Going to reported and got pics of that steak to the BBB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Bad service a times chaotic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.