Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Benihana - Miami Beach

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables while overlooking the beautiful Biscayne Bay, or visit our sushi bar, where you can enjoy one of our specialty rolls and signature cocktails while taking in the beautiful view. We offer complimentary valet parking for dinner starting at 5 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

3.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Fun (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Waterfront (14)
Casual (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Scenic View (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Romantic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and experience, absolutely worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The air conditioner was NOT WORKING!! It was uncomfortably HOT!! We should have been notified while making the reservation so we could choose to endure the stifling HOT ambiance or not!!😡

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Here on vacation, great food , good service portions are huge

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

It was my first time and maybe last . We were celebrating 2 birthdays I put notes in my OT reservation but nobody even acknowledge the fact. Service is ok ,the whole place feels dated and old. It really needs a face lift. Food was best part but not as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food is great here. Service is always the same. Lacking attention to customers. I understand the process here. Although they lack customer service. As a server i always tip 20% and i still did today because who knows how they pay out at this restaurant. The cook was fine, sometimes better than others. Most of the time I haven't had a "great" show. Usually it's been 2 jokes and shows here and there and that's all. Nothin fun! I don't mind that. What i mind is the service. It takes forever for the drink order. They never know what they have available at the bar. And after the drink order it takes forever for them to come back and clear plates and ask if we want a refill or another drink. That is so important. To ask if everything is okay or any other needs. You don't come back 20 mins later to ask if you want some more water or another drink.no! Ugh. So disappointing. It's always the same here with service. They are always busy and hurried. Get more employees pleaae.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2017

the food was great however the reservation was for 3 and the place was a bit crowded so I guess the hostess couldn't place everyone at their scheduled time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Thanks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very nice and food was great

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 21, 2017

great chef chan, always amusing and the food prep really amazing. early dining is the best not too many people and the ambiance is comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service and food was great, but air conditioner was broken so it was veeeery hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

We waited 45 minutes after reservation due to short staff. The front desk host brushed us off and stated they didn't have enough servers and they will seat us when one arrives. There was no apology or since of sincerity.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have been fans of this location for years, but lately, it seems that they are lacking a bit, when it comes to customer service and cleanliness of the interior. Also, this last time that we visited, they were remodeling the outside, so the terrace was out of limits. Inside, the noise produced by portable AC units, was not pleasant, and the inside, felt a little too hot for comfort.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was great. The A/C wasnt working so it was really hoy, especially in front of the grill. Other than that, everything great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was horrible definitely not Authenticate habachi they have the name and location but food is terrible not a real habachi place at all I was amazed they didn't even have real sushi just imation fish in it yuck yuck habachi guy didn't even do tricks just scared us with knives and loud banging not one Asian in the place beside hostess I came for the experience and left with a huge bill for nothing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The manager Kervin was excellent. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Never recommend. Terrible. Long time to just order drinks. Then had to wait for table to be full before taking orders. I am vegetarian but eat fish. Others ordered chicken rice for extra charge. I did not. Cook mixed my rice with chicken and I had to wAit for kitchen to make me new which took 20 min at least! I ordered shrimp for main dinner. Others at table asked for their shrimp "appetizer" extra garlic and butter. Cook made my main shrimp dinner same way which was not happy. Put tons of butter in it I did not want. Couldn't handle individual orders and all for a couple of guys that were requesting a lot ! Not a good place if entire table doesn't eat same way. And the veggies came after everyone was done with meal as he burnt the first time and had to remake. Comedy of errors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Birthday party all went well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 2, 2017

this was our worst restaurant experience, the AC was working at half capacity, the Chefs were sweating and their sweat was dripping on the cooking table,
the ambiance was Zero and really not enjoyable, very Loud stand alone AC units were placed at random through out the restaurant that made us feel like sitting in a construction zone.
This restaurant should be closed down and or removed from Open Table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

the food prep was great - with authentic asian chef chang great great great
they made up for bumping our rsvp by giving us our own table - it was great

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This Benihana used to be my favorite especially for the view of the ocean. I won't go there again . The air conditioning was broken and it was super hot and dirty. The poor chef was so hot and sweaty that his sweat was dripping in the food. Completely disappointed and turned off. It was my birthday and the waitress did not bring me my birthday ice cream or even offer it nor did I get my picture. This was a total let down. Complained to management and he did not care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Me and three others tried out Benihana in Miami for our vacation. The food and our chef was great, however the waitress was a bit of that evening, she never asked us for drinks and when we finally managed to order a bottle of wine it did not arrive untill we were finnished eating. A shame but atleast we did not have to pay for the opened wine that we returned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Our server was terrible, took a lot of time to serve our food and brought a lot of things wrong. She didn't bring additional sides we order. Although we had a bad service experience, food was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Not what it used to be or what I'm accustomed to at other locations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Horrible place, i am never coming back again.
Firstly, we made a reservation for 8pm, we got there 15 minutes earlier, and there was no table ready, we had to wait until 8:30pm to seat, secondly the person at the reception was very rude, like she didnt want to be there. The entire place was dirty, the floor was sticky, and not only in a particular place, but the entire restaurant, the tables were also very dirty, you couldt seat.
To make matters worse, the air condicioning was broken, we couldnt stand staying there for any longer, it was very hot inside, me and my entire family were sweating. We had to leave, and i am never coming back again, worst experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great dining experience and food! Our drinks were horrible and had to be exchanged for sodas; and the air conditioner was broken. The restaurant had portable units around the restaurant to cool the area and the waitress was great at solving our drink issue. We love Benihana and would never stop dining there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 27, 2017

the food and experience was great... the only problem was that the AC was nos working good... FIX IT ASAP the place rocks...
It was fun and the people is very kind

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 25, 2017

I am very sad that the A.C. still has not been fixed. I was hoping that a few months was enough time to have this taken care of. The food was great as always and service was wonderful. However I should not leave a restaurant with a $200+ bill and be sweating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wie immer sehr gut

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My first time there was amazing I really enjoyed my food the chef was amazing he was really nice to us.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I actually came after my set reservation I had a great time as usual but the cook was not so good.. He did not speak, did none of the tricks, wasn't very interactive with us especially since I had a child with me. Even the group that was also in the table complained to me about his service/behavior. He looked very upset like he didn't want to be here cooking/ at work. I was very disappointed with this cook. Even when we asked for something he would give attitude. His attitude made the whole experience and food so bland. I didn't even eat my food, I took it home with me. Very disappointing

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Place was terrible, no air conditioning, WITH FANS IN THE CORNER, NOT ENOUGH!!!, ceiling with humedity, bad service, super expensive, we will never visit this place again, food was good.
IF the owner of this concept will visit it, i am sure he will close it...
WE WERE 6, AND SPENT 350, A TIP WAS IN THE BILL FOR 50 DOLLAR, AMAZING!!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food was good but the restaurant looks old, the ac is not working properly, the service is awful. I don't think I want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The chef we usually get is excellent. In addition we've been getting him for years. His name is Duke and shares the same birthday as our son , which is today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 14, 2017

If you like Hibatchi in Miami during the summer without air conditioning, then this is your spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Good was great, service was wonderful. A.c. was an issue it was warmer than it should be but wasn't hot. Had restroom issues for females but hope they will be fixed soon

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I made a reervation in ord err to avoid an unecessary wait and make it to my daughter's soccer practice. However, I eneed up waiting half an hour before the waitress took my order anyway. I was at Benihana a total of an hour and a half. Needless to say, we missed soccer practice. It was very frustrating and uncomfortable sick there is no a/c and there are portable a/c units scattered throughout the facility.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We love the food here but their air conditioning hasn't been working for over a month and they have some portable units that just don't help. Everyone was hot and sweaty there. Employees don't look happy because of the conditions they are working in. You can see the quality of this location has gone way down. They don't do anything to fix the problem.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Restaurant undergoing renovations. AC not sufficient. They have portable units to help, but they are an eyesore and not located well. Ours was pointed away from our table. We were sweating while we ate so made the experience less enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Ghetto trash. No fire show the cook we had show was flaunting his behind to the table and the order the food was cooked was terrible. The veggies are served last after your rice is gone. The noodles were God awful and ruined with this nasty expired tasting sauce that also ruined an entire steak when he dumped it on that too. Over priced for ghetto Chinese tasting meal that you can find anywhere else. The heat is also unbearable and the waitress was clueless on all asked questions

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The AC was not working and they needed extra units to keep the place not so cool. The staff seemed to be more interested in each other then the guests. Our cheff was the best part but the rest of the staff, not so much. We even talked with the manager, he said he would look into the slow service and never came to the table to check in. The food was really good. The waitress did not let us know that when we ordered and she suggested something that there was an up charge. Over all, a very disapointing evening. I would not reccommend nor would I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Air conditioning non existant
Food portions not served as before
Waitress firget to bring our soup & salad

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.