Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Benihana - Miami Beach

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables while overlooking the beautiful Biscayne Bay, or visit our sushi bar, where you can enjoy one of our specialty rolls and signature cocktails while taking in the beautiful view. We offer complimentary valet parking for dinner starting at 5 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

1665 NE 79th Street Causeway
North Bay Village, FL 33141
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 2:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 2:00 pm - 11:30 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hispanola Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 866-2768

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/miamibeach-fl-mb

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Benihana - Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Waterfront (24)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Special Occasion (21)
Casual (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Great for Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Scenic View (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Family Style (7)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Cozy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Dancing (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Place was terrible, no air conditioning, WITH FANS IN THE CORNER, NOT ENOUGH!!!, ceiling with humedity, bad service, super expensive, we will never visit this place again, food was good.
IF the owner of this concept will visit it, i am sure he will close it...
WE WERE 6, AND SPENT 350, A TIP WAS IN THE BILL FOR 50 DOLLAR, AMAZING!!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good but the restaurant looks old, the ac is not working properly, the service is awful. I don't think I want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

The chef we usually get is excellent. In addition we've been getting him for years. His name is Duke and shares the same birthday as our son , which is today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 14, 2017

If you like Hibatchi in Miami during the summer without air conditioning, then this is your spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Good was great, service was wonderful. A.c. was an issue it was warmer than it should be but wasn't hot. Had restroom issues for females but hope they will be fixed soon

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I made a reervation in ord err to avoid an unecessary wait and make it to my daughter's soccer practice. However, I eneed up waiting half an hour before the waitress took my order anyway. I was at Benihana a total of an hour and a half. Needless to say, we missed soccer practice. It was very frustrating and uncomfortable sick there is no a/c and there are portable a/c units scattered throughout the facility.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We love the food here but their air conditioning hasn't been working for over a month and they have some portable units that just don't help. Everyone was hot and sweaty there. Employees don't look happy because of the conditions they are working in. You can see the quality of this location has gone way down. They don't do anything to fix the problem.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Restaurant undergoing renovations. AC not sufficient. They have portable units to help, but they are an eyesore and not located well. Ours was pointed away from our table. We were sweating while we ate so made the experience less enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Ghetto trash. No fire show the cook we had show was flaunting his behind to the table and the order the food was cooked was terrible. The veggies are served last after your rice is gone. The noodles were God awful and ruined with this nasty expired tasting sauce that also ruined an entire steak when he dumped it on that too. Over priced for ghetto Chinese tasting meal that you can find anywhere else. The heat is also unbearable and the waitress was clueless on all asked questions

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The AC was not working and they needed extra units to keep the place not so cool. The staff seemed to be more interested in each other then the guests. Our cheff was the best part but the rest of the staff, not so much. We even talked with the manager, he said he would look into the slow service and never came to the table to check in. The food was really good. The waitress did not let us know that when we ordered and she suggested something that there was an up charge. Over all, a very disapointing evening. I would not reccommend nor would I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Air conditioning non existant
Food portions not served as before
Waitress firget to bring our soup & salad

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food was good a/c was not working but the service and food was great

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Good meal excellent service
Great view
Very puntual!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Cook was amazing, food was well seasoned and he was very entertaining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I love that Benihana has something for adult and children. The shows are entertaining and the chefs are also very involved with the guests, Luckiky we had our chef of choice (Jerry) HE IS THE BEST! Overall loved everything but I would have appreciated if they told me over the phone that the AC was broken that way we could have dressed according.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The cook was partial to the other family at the table. Even though it was my birthday I received what appeared to be leftover lobster. He was not entertaining at all and he kept giving the other family additional food. We felt discriminated against. It did not feel like much of a special occassion.

The food was not the best. The yum yum sauce was not so yum yum! Next year I will celebrate elsewhere!!

The servers were attentive and very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 21, 2017

It was ok. The food was decent and the service was ok.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The evening was so much fun. I got to sit with a group of people who overall was amazing. The chef, Duke, was amazing. I would recommend Benihana's always to friends and family.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My reservations was at 7:30pm and did not get seated till almost 8pm. We were seated finally, to only have to move from the table because we were seated in the wrong table and the table we were moved to was the same as the original table we were seated at so I don't understand why we were moved. Service tool way too long, didn't leave the restaurant till almost 10 pm. If we would have been seated at the time of our reservation we would have been running so late. I think the hosting staff is not organized what's so ever.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I've been to Benihana in Fort Lauderdale before and there food was amazing. I was down on that in so I decided to go to this particular one, I would've taking the drive to Fort Lauderdale anyday. The chicken wasn't fully cooked, the waiter never came back to the table to refill drinks, and also give the checks out. They over charged my fiance card. The manager seemed as if she didn't know what she was doing. Never again will I go back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I had a nice birthday dinner in Benihana.Good customer Service.They sang for me .And the food was a delight.Higly recommend.I do love my birthday picture from them thank you

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The restaurant's a/c was not working. It was very warm in spite
Of the portable a/cs. There was a very long gap between the serving of the drinks, salad and soup and the cooking of the food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was good and the chef was very attentive. This restaurant needs an urgent renovation. It is outdated and the bathrooms are filthy

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The ocassion wad my son's 18th birthday and high school graduation. It was a sur prise for m son. We were a little disappointed when we got there bc the A/C was broken, they had portables but was very hot in the first floor. The carpet going up the stairs was disgusting, it needs to be changed. The chairs in our table the back were super sticky, yucky! For the reputation this restaurant has and the pricing it should be top notch in decor, and especially cleaniness. The womens bsthroom the soap dispenser was coning off the wall and very messy.Once we got to the 2nd floor the A/C was better. I gave the hostess a birthday cake for my son. The people in our table were great. The chef he was a little boring. The quality of food was good, but I remember back in days it was much better. We got the 6 course meal and they forgot to offer us the hot tea and the ice cream. When they came with the ice cream to sing happy birthday the hostess forgot to tell our waitress about the cake. So she had to look for it and see where it was. I felt a little rushed at that point. I was not going to make a big deal about it bc it was my son's special day. We have of always loved coining to this location on Miami Beach, but if we go again we will go to Miramar location which is much closer to us. I would suggest that Benihana take a closer look at the inside of their restaurant and get it up to par. There are an abundance of restaurants in Miami to go to and if this was my only choice I would go somewhere else for sure. It's a shame. I'm sorry I had to leave this review, but I had to. BENIHANA has been such an icon of Miami it saddens me to see how it has gotten. They can correct it and should!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2017

No AC, slow waitress service, chef was terrible....after telling the chef I had a seafood allergy, he still cooked it and accidentally place shrimp on my plate... causing me to use my Epipen! Management's responded with 'I'm sorry'... and then it took another hour just to get the check so we could go! This use to be my favorite place... not anymore! :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

It is a must that this restaurant gets updated, everything seems very old. Also try to hire more Japanese cooks so that the atmosphere feels more accurate in relation with the food. The cook I had was not bad but had no charistma what so ever and dinner for 2 means dinner for 2 not to be seated with a whole bunch of strangers. Unless changes are made to this restaurant I will not be coming back..I am sorry. I do love the Hibachi experience but I would rather go to Kobe had a way better time there eery time I have gone. I am not saying all this to be negative or rude just take it as constructive critisism and I do hope to hear that changes are made so that I can be persuaded to come back. Thanks

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Loved our chef! He was awesome but the place was dirty... egg shells on the floor, good on the floor .. took forever to get utensils.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food is always good, however the place needs a good cleaning. My chair was sticky and the uncleaned carpet looks circa 1977.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Place needs refurbishment. Great food but low level of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Amazing I love Benihana I go there quite often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent place to go for any occacion...we always enjoy the food

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We've been going to Benihana's since the 80's , It's so disappointing how the level of service and the restaurant has gone down. Starting with our reservations they had an issue, no air conditioner, the service was horrible! Our server never came back to see if we wanted drinks, never cleaned our salad/soup plates and to get the bill that was another ordeal! I am never going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We made our reservation for 8:00, however we were not seated until 9:00. By 9:45, we still did not have a chef and at least two other tables who sat after us were being cooked for or were almost done eating. Especially because it was a birthday celebration and we had two young children with us, it was a big disappointment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Was not impressed with the level of fun and interaction that could have been had. The chef was disappointing. On the other hand, the food and the view were absolutely beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Everything was amazing. My only complaint was that the A/C was broken and my 4 month old son was sweating at the table because of the stove. I had to leave the table several times and walk over to the temporary A/C machine and stand in front of it so he could cool down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was my girl's birthday and I was fascinated by the view and the attention. Excellent customer services, excellent food and a great and romantic waterfront view. I recommend this restaurant for any kind of occasion. Really nice for birthdays.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I had a very enjoyable Birthday cerebration at this Benihana, lots of fun, good food and good people.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The receptionist was not so welcoming, the black lady

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.